WebSphere Application Server Reviews

60 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 23, 2020
Rajesh Chandramohan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WAS is an IBM product and gels with IBM database product. So, we have decided to go with IBM WAS. WAS supports more data sources than Oracle web logic. So, ideally it can be used with multiple databases.
Read Rajesh Chandramohan's full review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WebSphere Application Server admin console is very detailed and there are a huge number of configurations available to maintain and configure. JBoss is complex where stand vs full configuration is confusing sometimes. Modularity proved complex there, so I love WebSphere Application Server.

Tomcat is easiest to use and ready in minutes, while WAS has a heavy installation owing to its properties and scalability features.
Read this authenticated review
September 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Websphere Application Server provides better Security, high availability, easy troubleshooting, and good 24/7 support. Websphere Application Server has an easy to use interface.
Read this authenticated review
October 04, 2018
Frank William | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We considered Apache Tomcat and Oracle Glassfish but ended up going with IBM WAS because of its robustness and easy integration with other IBM products we already use
Read Frank William's full review
September 27, 2018
Bryan Salerno | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

IBM support is better than Oracle, from past experience. Weblogic and WebSphere Application Server are somewhat similar versus the open source JBOSS. For many applications we had selected WAS to have a supported platform and used some of the competitors in other various use cases.
Read Bryan Salerno's full review
June 20, 2016
Quashar Jamal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have worked on JBOSS and WEBLOGIC Application servers apart from Websphere application servers. WebSphere Application Server has a more user friendly admin console GUI. I believe WAS administration and maintenance activities are more easy and effective as compared to other products. To troubleshoot a particular problem, we have lots of options and different types of traces available in WAS which makes it a more preferable product.
Read Quashar Jamal's full review
June 10, 2016
Fareed Abolhassani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Websphere Application Server supports enterprise Java open standards, streamlines deployment, has very flexible management capabilities and better reliability and availability.
Read Fareed Abolhassani's full review
August 15, 2014
Manoj Prasad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • tomcat,jboss,jetty,glassfish
I did not choose IBM WAS, it was a coporate decision. We are glad that we have been using this for a number of years and are quite happy as a corporation. However, it does take more time to learn WAS because of its complexity in terms of installation, various features and special deployment and packaging needs.
Read Manoj Prasad's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

IDE support (9)
8.0
Security management (13)
7.8
Administration and management (13)
9.2
Application server performance (13)
8.5
Installation (12)
8.6
Open-source standards compliance (9)
8.3

What is WebSphere Application Server?

IBM WebSphere Application Server provides... an application server and infrastructure.

WebSphere Application Server Integrations

WebSphere Application Server Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Application Server$88.50Per Month

WebSphere Application Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No