Microsoft Power BI Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
652 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 87)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Using Power BI for reporting dashboards

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Previously I was using Power BI in a more "manual" effort. That included having to import .csv files every time I wanted to update data. That process was somewhat painful so I looked into creating an API connector to my data source. Now that I have real-time data, creating & updating dashboards is much easier!
Read this authenticated review
Richard Crane | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

Power BI is So Easy and So Good

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
If I know where the data is, and I always know what format it's going to be in, then bringing in data to Power BI is very easy, especially if it's coming from an Excel or .csv format. However, if it's from a PDF, it's a little tougher. I haven't quite mastered that piece yet. But the data is as real-time as possible. As soon as it's updated, it is reflected in Power BI.
Read Richard Crane's full review
Rick Botha | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Beautiful Reports and Useful Data, but configuration is not easy!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
The data source connectivity in Microsoft Power BI is one of the widest ranges available in the industry. The software is able to to use Direct Query to services from Amazon Redshift, to Google Big Query, to SAP S/4 Hana, and normal SQL Server. Merging disparate resources is simple if the key field is identified and selected correctly. All reports across data sources are available in real-time if the sync schedule is configured as such.
Read Rick Botha's full review
Steffany Winkelmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Power BI - Excel on Steroids and So Much More

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
It's pretty easy to connect any type of data source to Power BI. You can also bring in various reports that may have only one thing in common (such as a purchase date for example), and you can create relationships with the data so you can cross-compare information across multiple data sets and find action-items you may not have otherwise noticed. In addition, you can create reports from real-time data sources, although this will require pinging that server each time and downloading the data at that time (which takes up time). Instead, you can set up daily refreshes so that, for example, every morning at 4am, the data syncs and those viewing particular reports in the morning will see the updated data on their dashboards.
Read Steffany Winkelmann's full review
Marco De Angelis | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Power BI: powerful and easy tool to build complex data model

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Power BI offers a lot of data sources and also real-time data connection, out of the box. For in-house data, a data gateway is necessary and the usage is very simple and reliable. It is possible to schedule data refresh. There is also a two-level data management using dataflow feature.
Read Marco De Angelis's full review
Shreshthi Mehta, PMP®, PHR® | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Simplified metrics using Power BI

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
We interface Power BI with Dayforce. The report from Dayforce feeds into Power BI once everyday and the metrics are updated. We realized that there could be an issue with obtaining real time data as the two systems are different. Hence, we use data only for the previous day or date for our analysis. It works as per our needs.
Read Shreshthi Mehta, PMP®, PHR®'s full review
Guillermo Villamizar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Power BI: Great solution for reporting and dashboards!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
At the company, we perform an ETL process every night, where the information is extracted from different data sources, such as ERP, HR SW, ticketing system, etc, and the process is quite simple, although depending on the size of the information it could consume a lot of resources and network traffic.
Read Guillermo Villamizar's full review
Chris Widner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Look like a genius with your reports with PowerBI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
I found it far too difficult to get MySQL data connected to Power BI. Considering how common MySQL data is in the world I found this surprising. If you're using Azure hosting SQL then this won't be a problem. Otherwise you're really going to need to spend some time getting set up.
Read Chris Widner's full review
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Decent, but far from awesome

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
The software plays well with most data sources. It does an ok job of working with various alternative data sources. Microsoft just is a little behind the curve with the software compared to other visualization providers. the real-time aspect of the software is quite slow on a comparative basis.
Read Thomas Young's full review
Che Odom | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Power BI is a great reporting tool, particularly for leadership teams that don't want to dive deep, but want accurate and timely information presented to them to make choices

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
We have been able to source all of the data that we want without any hiccups. We have been able to source our data from two different software locations, Procore and Viewpoint, and integrate that information together in accurate and up to date reports. We have not used real time reporting but have updates hourly so it is close to real time, which works for our business.
Read Che Odom's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Power BI: Best BI tool for companies that use Microsoft products.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
You can import data from many different sources, such as Access, SQL, SharePoint List, Excel, and many others. All of them are easily implemented and connected to your report. You can also create live connections so that you don't have to import the same data source multiple times. Creating relationships between data sources is very easy, All it takes is two columns in different tables that have the same name.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

A great tool for the analyst's toolbox and for sharing reporting within a team or department.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

5
It works great with many different files at a time spread all over the place (within your firewall). Connects to most things, but not a lot of speed when leaving your home internal network. I would not consider it to have its own built in ETL tool like Qlik does. I think it’s great on number crunching and dashboard building, but super slow on managing the data or getting the data into the tool. Power BI is like Excel on steroids, where other tools are more robust and environmentally inclusive of the data like SQL.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Nice dashboards and easy to adapt when you know Excel.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
Database connections on premise can be different to configure if you are not using a common one. Connection to Azure SQL Database is enough. Data refresh and real time data calculation is good as it is always connected and synchronized. ( as far I know it is for the case when Power BI is on Cloud)
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Great software for data visualization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Wide range of data sources available, both online and offline.

However, connection to SAP businesswarehouse and Oracle database requires additional add-in on top.

Also, live connection cannot be combined with other sources in 1 dashboard.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

King of Self Service Business Intelligence

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
We use most of the enterprise software from Microsoft, Salesforce and other tools like Mailchimp etc. Microsoft Power BI comes with inbuilt data connectors to all these sources. Microsoft is also coming with more data connectors as we write. So it has an expanding library of data connectors. Currently, it has over 100 data connectors available.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Really Great!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
We have a massive number of data sources that populate the information used to present us with visualizations of analytics, anomalies, and areas for remediation. We love that we can automatically restore a device using ansible based on the configuration files collected and stored by Power BI. It makes finding the source of the problem super easy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2019

Strengths and Weaknesses of Microsoft Power BI

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
It is a tool from Microsoft and hence it has good connectivity to link to Excel data sources. But when it comes to merging and cleaning, it gives lot of errors and the user really needs to have understanding of MS-BI
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

PowerBI is a great tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
There is a very very wide range of data source options available. Further, that range keeps on growing. Static data works best.
Read this authenticated review
Gabriel Oliveira | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2019

Microsoft Power BI review: A way to optimize and improve visualization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
The way it connects to various sources is impressive. It has the resources for you to manipulate and merge the data. It meets all of our business optimization needs by talking about the excellent integration with other tools such as the Office 365 package. So it turns out to be an extremely strong tool in this matter.
Read Gabriel Oliveira's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (77)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (91)
8.6
Report Formatting Templates (83)
8.4
Drill-down analysis (91)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (90)
8.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (65)
8.4
Report sharing and collaboration (88)
8.8
Publish to Web (84)
9.0
Publish to PDF (75)
8.5
Report Versioning (63)
8.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (62)
8.6
Delivery to Remote Servers (43)
8.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (84)
8.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (77)
8.5
Predictive Analytics (64)
8.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (75)
8.6
Role-Based Security Model (62)
8.5
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (68)
8.6
Single Sign-On (SSO) (48)
9.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (73)
8.5
Dedicated iOS Application (55)
8.2
Dedicated Android Application (59)
8.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (73)
8.3
REST API (41)
8.4
Javascript API (32)
8.5
iFrames (33)
8.1
Java API (27)
8.0
Themeable User Interface (UI) (36)
8.4
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (26)
8.3

About Microsoft Power BI

Microsoft Power BI is a business analytics service from Microsoft. It allows users to convert data into visuals and graphics, visually explore and analyze data, collaborate on interactive dashboards and reports, and scale across their organization with built-in governance and security.

Key features

  • Free initial setup with no required training
  • Connectivity with Excel spreadsheets, cloud services, streaming data, on-premise databases, and more
  • Dashboards that update in real-time
  • Natural language processing for data visualization tools
  • Shareable reports and datasets
  • Collaborative framework
  • Remote accessibility
  • Integrates with most applications and services using REST API
  • Publish data directly from service with publish-to-web feature

Microsoft Power BI Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No