PlanGrid

PlanGrid

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.8 out of 100
PlanGrid

Overview

Recent Reviews

PlanGrid!

7 out of 10
February 25, 2020
Currently, PlanGrid is used by our organization. As a way to view PDFs of the layout or plans of a building. Nearly all use the mobile …
Continue reading

PlanGrid for Plan Management

8 out of 10
December 10, 2019
PlanGrid is used by the field for plan management only. We distribute documents to the field to make sure everyone is using current plans. …
Continue reading

PlanGrid for the future

10 out of 10
January 08, 2019
We use PlanGrid to distribute project and design documents to our field personnel, communicate design changes from the field to the design …
Continue reading

Plangrid

9 out of 10
December 22, 2018
It is being used within the different groups of the company. Not as a whole organization.
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2018

Popular Features

View all 10 features

Mobile app (54)

9.4
94%

Plan distribution & viewing (56)

8.6
86%

Plan markups & sharing (56)

8.6
86%

Document sharing (55)

7.6
76%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of PlanGrid, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Nailgun

$39

Cloud
user per month

Dozer

$59

Cloud
user per month

Crane

$139

Cloud
user per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://app.plangrid.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Construction Project & Field Management

7.9
79%

Product Details

What is PlanGrid?

PlanGrid is construction productivity software used on more than 500,000 projects around the world. The company provides contractors and owners in all construction verticals the tools to collaborate effectively and collect and manage project information throughout the project’s construction and operations lifespan.

PlanGrid aims to increase team productivity by: streamlining document management and control, providing collaborators with easy access to all project information from any device, and enabling seamless collaboration. This leads to building the most comprehensive record set for the entire construction and operations lifecycle and consistently delivering on time and on budget.

PlanGrid Features

Construction Project & Field Management Features

  • Supported: Plan distribution & viewing
  • Supported: Plan markups & sharing
  • Supported: Document sharing
  • Supported: Issue tracking & punchlists
  • Supported: Photo documentation
  • Supported: Jobsite reports
  • Supported: RFI tools
  • Supported: Collaboration & approvals
  • Supported: As-built drawings
  • Supported: Mobile app

PlanGrid Screenshots

No confusing folders - all your plans at your fingertips.Easy overlay to visually detect changes or clashes.Track issues directly on the plan, including descriptions, photos, cost, and schedule impacts.Mark up plans for instant communication between field and office.Attach any kind of construction documents to your plans, including 360 photos.Track, review, and submit all your field reports on a mobile device.

PlanGrid Videos

Welcome to the new era of construction productivity
How Level 10 Construction Completes Projects Faster with PlanGrid
How Power Design uses PlanGrid to deliver quality construction projects

PlanGrid Integrations

PlanGrid Competitors

PlanGrid Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported LanguagesEnglish, Spanish, French, Finnish, Hungarian, Italian, Chinese, Korean, Polish, Swedish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is PlanGrid?

PlanGrid is construction productivity software. The company provides tools to collaborate, collect, and manage project information throughout the project’s construction and operations lifespan. It enables document centralization and tracking.

What is PlanGrid's best feature?

Reviewers rate Mobile app highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses PlanGrid?

The most common users of PlanGrid are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Construction industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (143)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 69)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
November 01, 2021

Nothing for Something

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While PlanGrid seems to be a good program it really did not fit into our company [and] our employees found it difficult to navigate and use. We quickly discontinued use and just planned to not renew. This is where the user needs to beware they have a renewal clause in the contract which requires you to cancel 30 days prior to renewal. [In my experience] they conveniently do not send any renewal notices until you are inside that window and then require you to pay for a product you don't use. I have ZERO trust in a company that [I believe] operates like this.
  • [In my opinion] sell their product.
  • [In my experience] invoice for a product you don't use
  • Make product more user friendly.
  • Get rid of shady billing practices.
If you are purchasing with plans to integrate into your operations in the field you need to have computer-savvy employees.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for all aspects of our construction process. It is being used by our whole organization. It helps us get the information to all that need it faster and easier and allows us to collaborate together.
  • PlanGrid is great for updating drawings. In the fast-paced world we live in, and with drawings constantly changing, it is nice how the sheets are automatically updated and slip sheeted in.
  • It is very helpful at writing RFI's and tracking them. The ease of writing them and allowing others to see an answer is very helpful.
  • The picture log is great how all pictures taken to PlanGrid are stored even if they are deleted from a tablet.
  • The field reports need to be improved greatly. It is a very basic idea right now. Collaboration on the same report by other usernames would be great.
  • The fact that I can access my photo library when writing RFIs is very frustrating. You have to add pictures to PlanGrid and then add them to the RFI. Should be allowed access to photo library and add them while writing. The current process requires a lot of upfront work to be able to write and RFI.
The access to drawings is great. Being able to pack several different drawing to various jobs in my pocket on my phone or on my tablet is awesome.
The support is great and always very helpful. The problem is that the program doesn't do some of the desired functions
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is used in our organization to document and communicate project plans and specifications in a quick and efficient manner. We utilize the software across all of our projects big or small. One of the major challenges in the industry is dealing with change management; anytime a change is made, the change needs to both be documented as a reference point, but also communicated with every party (from management to installer).PlanGrid is a tool that helps overcome the inherent challenges of communicating change.
  • The user interface is extremely easy to use for both the advanced and not-so-advanced computer users. This is huge in an industry that has a high diversity of computer skills among end-users of technology.
  • Rendering speed of documents is extremely quick on every device/platform.
  • The application can be used on every platform from Windows/iOS/Andriod (mobile or desktop) as well as the web, without diluting platform features.
  • The ability to import 3D models and maintain accompanying metadata is extremely beneficial.
  • It would be ideal to see a free viewer license that would allow some users (subcontractors) the ability to view the documents and be notified of updates. These users, of course, would be limited only to "viewing" permissions.
  • It would also be beneficial to be able to customize daily job log fields.
PlanGrid performs really well in all aspects of construction from the general to the sub/trade. The platform distributes and communicates project documentation in an extremely user-friendly manner. As with most software, it is cheaper the larger the scale of the project. In situations where the project is relatively small, and the trade contracts are also of relatively low dollar value, the product can be cost-prohibitive.
They are professional and timely in their response. I know that PlanGrid as a company does not skimp on resources for support issues.
Jeffrey Rudacille | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently in the process of integrating Plangrid in all of our departments except accounting. We initially used it just for doing punch-lists but now require all projects to use it for progress photos, plan viewing and markups, as well as the aforementioned punch-lists. It immediately saves us money in requiring less printing of plans as well as better documentation of punch-lists with attached pictures. Plangrid also breeds collaboration by allowing easy sharing of all data within the program.
  • Plangrid is the best SaaS I have seen for ease of uploading construction plans and automated organization of those plans.
  • For companies that are not using other products for mobile access, the Plangrid mobile apps are perfect to allow people on and off site to share and collaborate in many phases of construction project documentation.
  • Plangrid has a very responsive technical support team (although it is pretty much email only).
  • Plangrid's website layout is easy to use and understand and allows new users to jump right in and do basic to moderate tasks without little training.
  • Plangrid is in the process of adding enhanced construction documentation such as better Submittal, RFI, and Field Reporting modules, but the ones in place right now will not be up to par for some people used to more full-featured applications such as Sage or Procore.
  • Like other SaaS Construction applications, Plangrid is very expensive. Too expensive in my opinion. They should find ways to offer more tiers of cost so smaller companies can use the application is a limited manner and not have to pay the same cost as the larger companies which may get more use out of advanced features.
  • On the same theme of cost, many of Plangrids collaboration features require all collaborators to have a license. Try telling all 30 subs on your project that they have to run out and pay an extra $50-$100/MO per employee to collaborate with you. Does not always go over well.
  • Plangrids Field Report, Submittal and RFI modules are still a bit of a work in progress.
Plangrid is well suited for companies (that are not currently using a different SaaS construction package) to make their construction document management more collaborative and mobile friendly. Companies requiring/wanting their subs and owners to collaborate with them as part of the life of a construction project will find Plangrid very helpful in fulfilling this goal. On the negative side, companies that are fully entrenched in using other construction suites will struggle to fully use Plangrid to its potential as pre-built integration between Plangrid and other packages is limited.
Support professionals working with Plangrid are always helpful and understand that different users come with different skill sets. Each time I have contacted them they have shown familiarity with their software and did their best to ask leading questions of me (or my users) to find out the true reason behind the question or issue.

I only gave it an 8 because their support is almost 100% email and chat driven with little to no voice offering.
February 25, 2020

PlanGrid!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, PlanGrid is used by our organization. As a way to view PDFs of the layout or plans of a building. Nearly all use the mobile version for the iPad.
  • Ease of use
  • Mobile app
  • Management of users
  • License Management
For viewing hundreds of PDFs, PlanGrid allows users to view them for a specific project without having to open each individual file manually.
February 24, 2020

PlanGrid is great

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PlanGrid to communicate information to the field. It allows us to share information with the field staff immediately. Our estimators also use it when attending pre-bid walks.
  • One of the things that we like about Plan Grid is when we receive an updated plan sheet we can upload it and have a record of the changes that have been made along the way.
  • Information can be shared in real time.
  • Our field team has all of the information that they need at their fingertips.
  • Uploading revised plans is a little cumbersome. It would be nice if you didn't have to add a new version every time you updated a sheet.
  • Sometimes the sheet number and name recognition does not work properly when adding a new job or updating sheets. There is a workaround but it would be nice if it was more consistent.
  • The cost seems a little high. It would be nice if they increased the plan limit for each pricing tier.
  • They got rid of their free version, 50 sheet limit. We used to have our estimators use this option, but now we have to pay for a subscription for a service that is only used once in a while.
PlanGrid works for almost every project that we do, large or small. We can share company specific documents that are required regardless of the project dollar value.
Everytime that I have needed help they have been available and were able to help me solve my problem.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGird is used by our Project Management and Field Team to manage and publish drawings, documents, RFIs, and submittals. The company has a standard process to use for PlanGrid that is uniform throughout the company, and our subcontracts explicitly state that they must purchase and hold a PlanGrid license and account. Using PlanGrid help us centralize all of the document management activities involved with Construction Project Management.
  • Keeping an up to date set of documents and sharing it instantly with front line workers.
  • Keeping a history set of drawings, documents, etc. for use in change or schedule management.
  • Integration of other software such as BlueBeam or Asta Scheduling Software.
  • Response times on the web based application.
PlanGrid is an excellent option for medium to large general contracting companies in general building construction. PlanGrid provides a single-source solution for all things document-related that previously were spread between multiple software packages or juggled in a hybrid email/fire management system that was easy to lose track of documents.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is used by the field for plan management only. We distribute documents to the field to make sure everyone is using current plans. Punchlist is done this way. We also generally walk an area and mark up what needs to be corrected then assign a contact or sub symbol to complete in PlanGrid.
  • Plan management
  • Ease of use
  • Punchlist implementation and tracking for items through to completion
  • Document storage
  • Unlicensed client access for issue corrections
  • Mark up tools. Need symbols that relate to construction industry (outlet, fire alarm, light switch, drain etc.) that can be selected from a list to update better on redline drawings
  • Issue symbols should not be limited to 2 characters. I have run into several scenarios that I need a 3rd character to identify the issue symbol with
Again, with plan management, we use a self-developed program for dailies, pictures, RFI's, etc. so we have no need for the RFI’s, dailies, submittals, or tasks functions. We would use more of the task capabilities in PlanGrid if we could keep an ongoing log for our QC program rather than having to update and send daily.
I don't feel we can ever be perfect, but the support that I have gotten is very close.
Nicholas Bittner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We love using PlanGrid for it ability to put all the documents, questions and images in one place for a project team. It's extremely useful to us during the program verification and design stages. We can track issues that need resolved during the detailing at the construction documents stage later on in the process. We've used the app on iPhones and iPads as well as Windows devices, but much prefer iOS.
  • Reliability
  • Progress Photos
  • IssuesLog
  • Sharing access with non-users
  • Best suited for construction progress and documentation of existing field issues.
  • Not as well suited for design and sharing with non-paying users. Sometimes it's helpful to share the project site with the project's owner. They often are not in the construction industry and would only be accessing the site during this project with our firm. It would be good to create guest access.
I have had limited interactions with customer service. I recently upgraded to the submittal log, but have not used the functionality yet on a project. The sales rep was helpful and was able to answer my questions about billing and refund of my yearly subscription. We also changed to the invoice billing which our Controller prefers over credit card.
January 08, 2019

PlanGrid for the future

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PlanGrid to distribute project and design documents to our field personnel, communicate design changes from the field to the design department, and as a repository for project or system related documents. This allows us to gain faster access to changes or issues for faster build markups and increased productivity. PlanGrid's measurement tools also allow our field personnel to supply more accurate installation tracking information and accurate information for change order related work.
  • Drawing markups: The ability to annotate drawings with pictures and their exact locations helps eliminate guesswork and production slowdowns related to design questions
  • Issue tracking: The ability to note issues and communicate them and their resolution between the field and office help limit miscommunication.
  • Linking drawings: PlanGrid makes it simple to link drawings to one another, as well as, linking purchase orders, specifications, and listing drawings.
  • The lack of auto reports requires users to check in on projects daily and creates extra work should we want to push issues out to our clients.
PlanGrid is a great tool to pass annotated installation drawings and questions between field and office personnel.
Issues and questions are resolved quickly and are often followed up on at a later date.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PlanGrid in multiple departments within our company. It connects the field teams to those in the office and in other locations across the country. It is also good for tracking changes in construction, as well as documenting progress for closeout packages in the end.
  • Works well on computers, phones, tablets. Great for a large team on many different platforms.
  • Ease of use. Very user-friendly on all devices.
  • Can be used for complicated tasks as well as simple tasks. Good tool for taking photos of equipment and assigning to a plan, or for more detailed drawing changes and tracking.
  • Pricey for small team users. Would be nice to have team pricing or at least lesser than a nailgun account for users that use under 50 pages.
  • Some UI improvements are still needed, such as reviewing images that have been uploaded; there is no way to scroll to the next image.
It is appropriate for companies that need to track construction. You can track red-lines, update as-builts, assign images, etc. You can also run reports on action items. If you want to keep all your drawings and updates electronic PlanGrid is a great tool. Also, it is great at getting information from the field back to the designers in the office instantly. Not needed for companies that don't work with floor plans regularly.
Anytime I have reached out to support they have been very helpful.
December 22, 2018

Plangrid

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used within the different groups of the company. Not as a whole organization.
  • Incorporating multiple collaborators.
  • Being able to perform constructability reviews.
  • Identify what changed from previous drawing sets.
  • PDF viewing quality.
Really good when there is a lot of field staff on a project.
There is always someone there to help.
Sheila Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is used mainly out in the field on our construction jobsites. 100% of all project engineers use PlanGrid, and is the main platform we use to view drawings in the field. It is mainly used by the operations department that are located offsite and not in the corporate office. It addresses the need for physical copies of plans and the tiresome re-printing and re-updating your plan set.
  • Great at updating and consolidating plan sets!
  • The filter option on plans is particularly helpful when you want to vie wa specific plan set, like electrical drawings only or fire protection and plumbing only.
  • Great with incorporating and managing RFI's, ASI's and punchlist items.
  • I wish there were an option to git rid of a notification once you've seen it, e.g. "you're viewing an old plan sheet - do you want to continue?" There should be an option on this pop-up to say "Noted - do not show this message again".
  • Better markup options, similar to BlueBeam. I feel like the options available are limited.
  • Better able to view linked sheets. Some sheets do not link automatically to the detail they are referenced in.
PlanGrid really gets the job done when it comes to organizing your project documents, especially out in the field. If your subcontractor has old plans, it is really easy to pull up PlanGrid and show them the documents that they should have and show them right then and there. It's great when you don't want to print out an 11x17 sheet or bring out a whole roll of plans to show a specific detail to your installer as well.
I have never had a problem with receiving help from all PlanGrid support / staff. If there is an issue or feedback they'd like me to give, they readily receive it and are readily accessible. I've used them when they first started out and I don't see much that they have to improve as far as support.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use PlanGrid to connect our office to the field. Our project managers setup projects in PlanGrid that then our site supervisors and foreman can then get the most up to date plans and information about the project. It helps us point out issues that then can get handled quickly from the office and then prevents delays of production in the field.
  • Very easy to use, and training takes less than a few hours for field staff.
  • Connects office to field quickly and efficiently.
  • Uploading , naming, and tagging sheet is the best in the business.
  • Sheet and document manager always display most current information and also gives you the ability to look back at previous versions for changes.
  • Their sheet system by user could use some revisions. Their plans only allow a certain number of sheets per user.
  • Pricing
  • Customer service and local sales reps could be more responsive.
We work in construction and PlanGrid is well suited to connect our office and field staff with the most up to date plans and specs. We can also attach documents to the project for the foreman to track labor, products, and product data sheets. Our site supervisors and foreman can fill out a number of daily forms on site with ease that can be sent into the office for review. Lastly, general contractors can invite subcontractors to collaborate on projects, and they can place punchlist items and take photos of the items that need to be fixed. Subcontractors then can mark the items pending for review for the GCs to then mark complete.
Contacting customer service is very easy and quick. Getting sales and implementation to get the ball rolling seemed to drag on a bit.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid will be used for 1 specific project, across our organization. It solves the issues of coherent communication. Right now, we rely on e-mail attachments in order to have up-to-date drawings. This becomes confusing internally, as well as for our subcontractors. PlanGrid enables us to always have the most up to date drawings, accessible from PC or phones, anywhere there is internet available. It also helps to coordinate RFIs, schedules, etc.
  • PlanGrid syncs drawing sets across users and devices. This is a strength because everyone on PlanGrid has the most up-to-date drawings without any effort, other than uploading. For subs, it is easy to distribute the latest drawing uploads.
  • PlanGrid is quite easy to use. Unlike other CM software, PlanGrid only has a few features but it uses all of them well.
  • PlanGrid has a great iPhone and Android app, so users on site can have the entire document and RFI log on their phone, with full access to all features.
  • The photo attachment process is a bit complicated. In Procore (another similar software I've used), you can upload photos directly into RFIs for your reference, or into e-mails. For PlanGrid, you have to first upload the photo into the documents tab, then link them into the RFI. It's not intuitive and can add confusion to the documents tab.
  • Photos can't be directly uploaded. Between different devices and colleagues, it's possible you'll get an important photo outside of the PlanGrid photo capture feature within its app. Again, it's complicated for users to use.
  • In their new drawings viewer, the icons for actions do not have icons available. I had to use them all in order to understand what they meant, and I'm fairly tech savvy. I'm not sure if a new person to PlanGrid will pick up on each icon's abilities very easily.
  • There's no all-in-one solution in CM, but PlanGrid is fairly barebones, and I don't believe it has any ability to connect to other software. There's no ability to take meeting munites; you can hack the field reports feature to accomplish this, but it's clear that was not the intent of the designers.
PlanGrid is very good for drawings, tasks, punch lists, and the like. Unlike Procore, it's not an all-in-one solution, which is good because I don't need even half of the features Procore offers. But it will require other software for office use (i.e., financials, finish schedules, and corporate documents) and the company will need to be on top of coordinating all of the information between software. I do not use financials or corporate docs; I just want to keep up with RFIs and drawings, and for that, it is very good.
I haven't used PlanGrid support much, because I'm getting used to it. But the few times I have, they seem very good. A rep has reached out to me for help, scheduling a demo, etc. Once I get my team on board to buy the software we will use the video and web demos more often and I'd imagine they could be quite useful.
Natalee Easthom | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is used to share drawings and documents with the entire project team. Team members can use it to markup/measure plans, as well as overlay previous iterations. The calibration feature is usually pretty accurate and allows users to create complete quantity takeoffs as well as check dimensions. It is used on a few project teams.
  • Measurement Calibration
  • Drawing Overlay
  • Facilitates collaboration
  • System updates are slow
  • Can only have one measurement calibration per page
  • Slow to download PDFs
PlanGrid is well suited for most project management drawing coordination aspects. You cannot use it for document communications such as submitting/approving RFIs and submittals. However, you can store the final product of these documents in PlanGrid for posting purposes. The takeoffs you do are generally accurate, however, they take a lot of manual work on your part.
I currently don't really ever need to use PlanGrid support. However, at project startup, the team was put in a training session that was thorough. The program itself is very self-explanatory and easy to use. I don't foresee a user needing to contact PlanGrid support for help very often.
December 21, 2018

PlanGrid Review

Nicholas Yager | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our project team has utilized PlanGrid to create an issue log to track constructability issues regarding our construction project.
  • User-Friendly
  • Easy to share information
  • Automatically creates review documents from your markups
  • Easy to use in the field
  • A better way to implement User-Friendly to control who can view specific items
  • Create a takeoff application
Great to use for creating a constructability issues log. Easy to communicate issues within the drawing set to project team members in real time. Perfect to mark up documents on a tablet in the field. Office uses are more limited.
Have always received a quick answer/solution to any questions regarding PlanGrid from customer support.
December 21, 2018

PlanGrid has been awesome

Michael Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we use PlanGrid across all departments, starting with estimating for proposals all the way through punch list before turnover. It has been a valuable tool with job tracking and management.
  • PlanGrid is ideal with the submission of RFI’s directly to the design team
  • PlanGrid makes real time Punch List creation and tracking easy
  • PlanGrid is much easier with an Ipad to perform job walks than carrying a full set of construction drawings
  • Revisions and changes are a breeze and update quickly
  • I would like to see PlanGrid assist in supporting photos from the user device not taken within PlanGrid
  • I would like to be able to manipulate documents loaded to PlanGrid similar to sheet markups
  • Adding a few more document templates for daily reports would be nice
PlanGrid is perfect for job site meetings and punch list walks. It is less than ideal for large conferences unless you have an available monitor to plug the laptop/desktop into.
Support usually responds within 24 hours (many times lots quicker) which is great for troubleshooting.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses PlanGrid for a mobile plan and specification sharing platform. It has been the easiest to use for storing plans, updating them with current drawings and being able to share them via the mobile app with our field staff.
  • Their upload process is fast.
  • The takeoff and markup tools work very well.
  • The mobile application works very well.
  • The price point for sharing between employees is missing a level I feel...between the free and the next level version.
  • More integrations with other project management platforms would be great.
Smaller companies it may not be good for simply due to the cost of it. Otherwise, a company that has multiple teams of project managers, engineers, and foreman. this is a great platform for.
Our rep is great and has even come to our business to update us on the most recently changed parts of the platform such as the submittal functions.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of our project managers, project engineers, and superintendents use plangrid. We use it to review drawings, submittals, and RFIs. We also use it to process RFIs and close out punch lists.
  • It gives us the fingertip access we need in the field. For example, an inspector questioned a product we were using. We opened the submittal in the field and showed him the designer's stamp approving the product. This eliminated the concern making his report, which would have required emails and paperwork to resolve.
  • I have spent time naming drawings, because there is trouble recognizing the name.
  • I have also noticed at times the auto hyperlink is incorrectly linked.
It is well suited for our use in the field. Everything is at our fingertips. It is not well suited for markups. We prefer to use the Bluebeam suite for markups and various drawing manipulation.
When I'm on line the live chat is awesome. Support in seconds.
Chip Stadnyck, AIA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize PlanGrid to streamline the punch list process. PlanGrid allows multiple users to contribute to the punch list without a lengthy process to compile the results. Being able to take a picture of the issue and have it instantly attached to the note regarding the issue is helpful. As the contractor completes the items the list is updated and a current report can be issued at any time to update the team of the progress.
  • Compile punch list items from multiple team members.
  • Create reports on the current status.
  • Visual documentation of the issues.
  • Easily group like issues in order to distribute to sub-contractors.
  • Filtering
  • Moving items to different sheets after the fact
  • Options to condense reports
  • When there is a team working on a project.
  • The ability to have 5 people add items at 5 different times, and still be able to create a report without having to collate 5 different reports is great.
Responses from the team have always been quick.
August 25, 2017

More bang for the buck

Les Yager | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this in project management, field supervision and estimating. This addresses real-time information gathering, such as built drawings, photo records, the RFI process, to name a few. We are able to review previous changes to drawings and compare these to current. We can take photos of issues and email them directly to the engineer, architect, owner, and construction manager, for quicker response.
  • Real-time, cloud based project data - keeps everyone on the same page
  • Photo history allowing issues, concerns and documentation of conditions for owner
  • Easy to navigate site, able to be used on multiple platforms from mobile (IOS or Android), desktop or web based
  • RFI format
  • Adding a pricing request log
  • More detail on punch list
It's great for the mobile QC individual. He can use an iPad for instant access for all projects; not having to unroll and carry 20 to 30 sets of drawings and spec books. Keeps everyone working off the same set of drawings and easy to update. Photos of existing conditions and problems can be quickly documented and emailed out.
Quick response from the support team. They follow up on any issues we have reported. They are always willing to try something or give us a way that we can perform a task with the current system, while they try to come up with a better one.
Brett Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plangrid is being used on a project-by-project basis. We use it as our primary document control protocol, for rolling completion lists, punchlists, owner update reports, QC and sub coordination.
  • Plan sheet organization, renderings speed and image quality in the field are all great.
  • UI is simple, attractive and easy for users of most experience levels.
  • Slipsheeting, updating or changing drawings is easy and effective.
  • Photo quality in printed reports is low. If markups or dimensions are made on an image within the system it's oftentimes difficult to see once printed.
  • Clouding and markups sometimes obstruct you from seeing the actual drawing. Clouds for instance, grow and shrink when zooming. This makes sense, but sometimes on sheets with a large number of markups, when you zoom out it's just a mess of illegible bulky clouds/bubbles.
I've yet to manage a project and not used plangrid (in the last 5/6 years).
Customer support has always been great. Fast and helpful. Instant messaging is very convenient.
August 24, 2017

PlanGrid makes my day.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is used primarily by our turnkey framing division to keep everyone involved on a particular project up to date with current plans. It is also used in our estimating department for various take off of any material we may be bidding.
  • Everyone is looking at the same set of plans.
  • PlanGrid makes it easy to highlight and note issues to involve any one person or the whole team on working on resolutions.
  • Easy access to addendums, bulletins, SK's and even previous versions of plan pages.
  • I always seem to struggle when printing an individual page or detail.
  • It would be nice to be able to view more than one page at a time.
It's great when you have a number of people on a team who all need to be working off a current set of plans and allows for easy communication between team members.
Any time I've needed help someone at PlanGrid has been able to take the time to walk me through how to get something done.
Bryan Musgrove | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plangrid is strictly used by the development department, in connection with our architect, and general contractor. We upload everything from the plans and plan revisions to RFIs and schedules. It is extremely convenient and makes everything readily accessible on the tablet or phone while on the job site. It is great for punch walks as you to dictate detailed notes along with photos of the exact location. Then once you are complete you hit print and the list is ready to send. There is no delay in waiting for a punch list to be transposed. Subs are able to mobilize immediately to complete their tasks.
  • Convenience- Gone are the days when you had to take the time to walk back to the job site trailer before being able to review the plans. Now every plan in detail is available on your tablet or right in your pocket on your phone.
  • Construction documents- All construction documents can be stored on plan grid making it easier than in the past when you had to haul around a set of plans and a binder full of all changes and RFIs.
  • All notes, needed corrections, and issues can be documented directly on PlanGrid and seen by everyone with access.
  • Not extremely user-friendly. At times it is difficult to figure out how to print, access certain applications, etc.
Plangrid is well suited for plan accessibility and Punch walks. Plangrid is less suited when you would like to share a specific detail or plan sheet.
Plangrid does great at support by having 24 hour internet availability and regular webinars