PlanGrid Reviews

132 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 69)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is used in our organization to document and communicate project plans and specifications in a quick and efficient manner. We utilize the software across all of our projects big or small. One of the major challenges in the industry is dealing with change management; anytime a change is made, the change needs to both be documented as a reference point, but also communicated with every party (from management to installer).PlanGrid is a tool that helps overcome the inherent challenges of communicating change.
  • The user interface is extremely easy to use for both the advanced and not-so-advanced computer users. This is huge in an industry that has a high diversity of computer skills among end-users of technology.
  • Rendering speed of documents is extremely quick on every device/platform.
  • The application can be used on every platform from Windows/iOS/Andriod (mobile or desktop) as well as the web, without diluting platform features.
  • The ability to import 3D models and maintain accompanying metadata is extremely beneficial.
  • It would be ideal to see a free viewer license that would allow some users (subcontractors) the ability to view the documents and be notified of updates. These users, of course, would be limited only to "viewing" permissions.
  • It would also be beneficial to be able to customize daily job log fields.
PlanGrid performs really well in all aspects of construction from the general to the sub/trade. The platform distributes and communicates project documentation in an extremely user-friendly manner. As with most software, it is cheaper the larger the scale of the project. In situations where the project is relatively small, and the trade contracts are also of relatively low dollar value, the product can be cost-prohibitive.
They are professional and timely in their response. I know that PlanGrid as a company does not skimp on resources for support issues.
Read this authenticated review
February 29, 2020
Jeffrey Rudacille | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently in the process of integrating Plangrid in all of our departments except accounting. We initially used it just for doing punch-lists but now require all projects to use it for progress photos, plan viewing and markups, as well as the aforementioned punch-lists. It immediately saves us money in requiring less printing of plans as well as better documentation of punch-lists with attached pictures. Plangrid also breeds collaboration by allowing easy sharing of all data within the program.
  • Plangrid is the best SaaS I have seen for ease of uploading construction plans and automated organization of those plans.
  • For companies that are not using other products for mobile access, the Plangrid mobile apps are perfect to allow people on and off site to share and collaborate in many phases of construction project documentation.
  • Plangrid has a very responsive technical support team (although it is pretty much email only).
  • Plangrid's website layout is easy to use and understand and allows new users to jump right in and do basic to moderate tasks without little training.
  • Plangrid is in the process of adding enhanced construction documentation such as better Submittal, RFI, and Field Reporting modules, but the ones in place right now will not be up to par for some people used to more full-featured applications such as Sage or Procore.
  • Like other SaaS Construction applications, Plangrid is very expensive. Too expensive in my opinion. They should find ways to offer more tiers of cost so smaller companies can use the application is a limited manner and not have to pay the same cost as the larger companies which may get more use out of advanced features.
  • On the same theme of cost, many of Plangrids collaboration features require all collaborators to have a license. Try telling all 30 subs on your project that they have to run out and pay an extra $50-$100/MO per employee to collaborate with you. Does not always go over well.
  • Plangrids Field Report, Submittal and RFI modules are still a bit of a work in progress.
Plangrid is well suited for companies (that are not currently using a different SaaS construction package) to make their construction document management more collaborative and mobile friendly. Companies requiring/wanting their subs and owners to collaborate with them as part of the life of a construction project will find Plangrid very helpful in fulfilling this goal. On the negative side, companies that are fully entrenched in using other construction suites will struggle to fully use Plangrid to its potential as pre-built integration between Plangrid and other packages is limited.
Support professionals working with Plangrid are always helpful and understand that different users come with different skill sets. Each time I have contacted them they have shown familiarity with their software and did their best to ask leading questions of me (or my users) to find out the true reason behind the question or issue.

I only gave it an 8 because their support is almost 100% email and chat driven with little to no voice offering.
Read Jeffrey Rudacille's full review
February 24, 2020
Kyle Montague | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PlanGrid to communicate information to the field. It allows us to share information with the field staff immediately. Our estimators also use it when attending pre-bid walks.
  • One of the things that we like about Plan Grid is when we receive an updated plan sheet we can upload it and have a record of the changes that have been made along the way.
  • Information can be shared in real time.
  • Our field team has all of the information that they need at their fingertips.
  • Uploading revised plans is a little cumbersome. It would be nice if you didn't have to add a new version every time you updated a sheet.
  • Sometimes the sheet number and name recognition does not work properly when adding a new job or updating sheets. There is a workaround but it would be nice if it was more consistent.
  • The cost seems a little high. It would be nice if they increased the plan limit for each pricing tier.
  • They got rid of their free version, 50 sheet limit. We used to have our estimators use this option, but now we have to pay for a subscription for a service that is only used once in a while.
PlanGrid works for almost every project that we do, large or small. We can share company specific documents that are required regardless of the project dollar value.
Everytime that I have needed help they have been available and were able to help me solve my problem.
Read Kyle Montague's full review
February 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGird is used by our Project Management and Field Team to manage and publish drawings, documents, RFIs, and submittals. The company has a standard process to use for PlanGrid that is uniform throughout the company, and our subcontracts explicitly state that they must purchase and hold a PlanGrid license and account. Using PlanGrid help us centralize all of the document management activities involved with Construction Project Management.
  • Keeping an up to date set of documents and sharing it instantly with front line workers.
  • Keeping a history set of drawings, documents, etc. for use in change or schedule management.
  • Integration of other software such as BlueBeam or Asta Scheduling Software.
  • Response times on the web based application.
PlanGrid is an excellent option for medium to large general contracting companies in general building construction. PlanGrid provides a single-source solution for all things document-related that previously were spread between multiple software packages or juggled in a hybrid email/fire management system that was easy to lose track of documents.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is used by the field for plan management only. We distribute documents to the field to make sure everyone is using current plans. Punchlist is done this way. We also generally walk an area and mark up what needs to be corrected then assign a contact or sub symbol to complete in PlanGrid.
  • Plan management
  • Ease of use
  • Punchlist implementation and tracking for items through to completion
  • Document storage
  • Unlicensed client access for issue corrections
  • Mark up tools. Need symbols that relate to construction industry (outlet, fire alarm, light switch, drain etc.) that can be selected from a list to update better on redline drawings
  • Issue symbols should not be limited to 2 characters. I have run into several scenarios that I need a 3rd character to identify the issue symbol with
Again, with plan management, we use a self-developed program for dailies, pictures, RFI's, etc. so we have no need for the RFI’s, dailies, submittals, or tasks functions. We would use more of the task capabilities in PlanGrid if we could keep an ongoing log for our QC program rather than having to update and send daily.
I don't feel we can ever be perfect, but the support that I have gotten is very close.
Read this authenticated review
February 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, PlanGrid is used by our organization. As a way to view PDFs of the layout or plans of a building. Nearly all use the mobile version for the iPad.
  • Ease of use
  • Mobile app
  • Management of users
  • License Management
For viewing hundreds of PDFs, PlanGrid allows users to view them for a specific project without having to open each individual file manually.
Read this authenticated review
August 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for all aspects of our construction process. It is being used by our whole organization. It helps us get the information to all that need it faster and easier and allows us to collaborate together.
  • PlanGrid is great for updating drawings. In the fast-paced world we live in, and with drawings constantly changing, it is nice how the sheets are automatically updated and slip sheeted in.
  • It is very helpful at writing RFI's and tracking them. The ease of writing them and allowing others to see an answer is very helpful.
  • The picture log is great how all pictures taken to PlanGrid are stored even if they are deleted from a tablet.
  • The field reports need to be improved greatly. It is a very basic idea right now. Collaboration on the same report by other usernames would be great.
  • The fact that I can access my photo library when writing RFIs is very frustrating. You have to add pictures to PlanGrid and then add them to the RFI. Should be allowed access to photo library and add them while writing. The current process requires a lot of upfront work to be able to write and RFI.
The access to drawings is great. Being able to pack several different drawing to various jobs in my pocket on my phone or on my tablet is awesome.
The support is great and always very helpful. The problem is that the program doesn't do some of the desired functions
Read this authenticated review
January 08, 2019
Nicholas Bittner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We love using PlanGrid for it ability to put all the documents, questions and images in one place for a project team. It's extremely useful to us during the program verification and design stages. We can track issues that need resolved during the detailing at the construction documents stage later on in the process. We've used the app on iPhones and iPads as well as Windows devices, but much prefer iOS.
  • Reliability
  • Progress Photos
  • IssuesLog
  • Sharing access with non-users
  • Best suited for construction progress and documentation of existing field issues.
  • Not as well suited for design and sharing with non-paying users. Sometimes it's helpful to share the project site with the project's owner. They often are not in the construction industry and would only be accessing the site during this project with our firm. It would be good to create guest access.
I have had limited interactions with customer service. I recently upgraded to the submittal log, but have not used the functionality yet on a project. The sales rep was helpful and was able to answer my questions about billing and refund of my yearly subscription. We also changed to the invoice billing which our Controller prefers over credit card.
Read Nicholas Bittner's full review
December 21, 2018
Sheila Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is used mainly out in the field on our construction jobsites. 100% of all project engineers use PlanGrid, and is the main platform we use to view drawings in the field. It is mainly used by the operations department that are located offsite and not in the corporate office. It addresses the need for physical copies of plans and the tiresome re-printing and re-updating your plan set.
  • Great at updating and consolidating plan sets!
  • The filter option on plans is particularly helpful when you want to vie wa specific plan set, like electrical drawings only or fire protection and plumbing only.
  • Great with incorporating and managing RFI's, ASI's and punchlist items.
  • I wish there were an option to git rid of a notification once you've seen it, e.g. "you're viewing an old plan sheet - do you want to continue?" There should be an option on this pop-up to say "Noted - do not show this message again".
  • Better markup options, similar to BlueBeam. I feel like the options available are limited.
  • Better able to view linked sheets. Some sheets do not link automatically to the detail they are referenced in.
PlanGrid really gets the job done when it comes to organizing your project documents, especially out in the field. If your subcontractor has old plans, it is really easy to pull up PlanGrid and show them the documents that they should have and show them right then and there. It's great when you don't want to print out an 11x17 sheet or bring out a whole roll of plans to show a specific detail to your installer as well.
I have never had a problem with receiving help from all PlanGrid support / staff. If there is an issue or feedback they'd like me to give, they readily receive it and are readily accessible. I've used them when they first started out and I don't see much that they have to improve as far as support.
Read Sheila Nguyen's full review
December 21, 2018
Natalee Easthom | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is used to share drawings and documents with the entire project team. Team members can use it to markup/measure plans, as well as overlay previous iterations. The calibration feature is usually pretty accurate and allows users to create complete quantity takeoffs as well as check dimensions. It is used on a few project teams.
  • Measurement Calibration
  • Drawing Overlay
  • Facilitates collaboration
  • System updates are slow
  • Can only have one measurement calibration per page
  • Slow to download PDFs
PlanGrid is well suited for most project management drawing coordination aspects. You cannot use it for document communications such as submitting/approving RFIs and submittals. However, you can store the final product of these documents in PlanGrid for posting purposes. The takeoffs you do are generally accurate, however, they take a lot of manual work on your part.
I currently don't really ever need to use PlanGrid support. However, at project startup, the team was put in a training session that was thorough. The program itself is very self-explanatory and easy to use. I don't foresee a user needing to contact PlanGrid support for help very often.
Read Natalee Easthom's full review
December 21, 2018
Mike McKeown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plan Grid allows us to send out plans to our subcontractor during the bidding process. By allowing the subcontractors to obtain the plans electronically they receive the plans immediately. This allows for more time for the subcontractors to bid on the project, cutting down at least a few days in shipping time. Additionally, it saves us a large amount of mailing costs.
  • Allows the subs to view the plans electronically
  • Subs get the plans within minutes instead of days
  • Saves printing cost and saves trees
  • Sometimes the plans take too long to get to subcontractors
  • Certain items are difficult to understand in the program
  • Short cuts would be helpful while using the product
Plan Grid allows us to send out plans to our subcontractor during the bidding process. By allowing the subcontractors to obtain the plans electronically they receive the plans immediately. This allows for more time for the subs to bid the project, cutting down at least a few days in shipping time.
PlanGrid allows us to save costs with printing and mailing. A profitable business is all about cutting costs that are not necessary. Additionally, we are able to save time, which also makes us more profitable and allows us to concentrate on other tasks rather than printing plans. Plan Grid was well worth the initial investment.
Read Mike McKeown's full review
December 21, 2018
Nicholas Yager | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our project team has utilized PlanGrid to create an issue log to track constructability issues regarding our construction project.
  • User-Friendly
  • Easy to share information
  • Automatically creates review documents from your markups
  • Easy to use in the field
  • A better way to implement User-Friendly to control who can view specific items
  • Create a takeoff application
Great to use for creating a constructability issues log. Easy to communicate issues within the drawing set to project team members in real time. Perfect to mark up documents on a tablet in the field. Office uses are more limited.
Have always received a quick answer/solution to any questions regarding PlanGrid from customer support.
Read Nicholas Yager's full review
December 21, 2018
Michael Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we use PlanGrid across all departments, starting with estimating for proposals all the way through punch list before turnover. It has been a valuable tool with job tracking and management.
  • PlanGrid is ideal with the submission of RFI’s directly to the design team
  • PlanGrid makes real time Punch List creation and tracking easy
  • PlanGrid is much easier with an Ipad to perform job walks than carrying a full set of construction drawings
  • Revisions and changes are a breeze and update quickly
  • I would like to see PlanGrid assist in supporting photos from the user device not taken within PlanGrid
  • I would like to be able to manipulate documents loaded to PlanGrid similar to sheet markups
  • Adding a few more document templates for daily reports would be nice
PlanGrid is perfect for job site meetings and punch list walks. It is less than ideal for large conferences unless you have an available monitor to plug the laptop/desktop into.
Support usually responds within 24 hours (many times lots quicker) which is great for troubleshooting.
Read Michael Carter's full review
August 24, 2017
James Nolan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using plangrid company wide for about 2 years now as a solution to document distribution issues. We offer access to the plangrid software to anyone willing to use it, it is our best resource for ensuring our entire team is up to date with the latest drawings available.
  • Plangrid is still the quickest PDF reader on the market. It's the only app that keeps pace with our industry.
  • The unlimited storage of attachments means that on projects where the number of RFIs can often reach into the hundreds, we never have to make a decision regarding which documents to share with the field.
  • The simple to use tools, such as quick document mark-up and photo capture have made generating RFIs simpler than ever before.
  • It'd be nice to have access to upload and edit documents from the app. Only for certain users.
  • A small business billing option that addresses multiple users of a single account would make managing access simpler. Being able to load unlimited sheets, but only access a specific limit on your team's devices.
  • Allow users to integrate their own RFI templates into the app, so RFIs can be generated in your own format right from the field, immediately ready to ship.
Plangrid is an excellent document sharing software within your internal team, but it does not serve as a full document management software similar to Procore. It is top notch for viewing and working with drawings, but is no use for distributing drawings for bidding or other purposes.
Plangrid's support team has always been responsive. I have had the Android since the beta and have never had a problem getting help when needed.
Read James Nolan's full review
August 18, 2017
Melissa McCain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use PlanGrid in the hospital facilities maintenance world regularly to view our life safety drawings and confirm the integrity of fire and smoke barriers, etc., during environmental rounds, and to note any life safety deficiencies found during weekly rounds or unscheduled inspections. We are also able to check the size of suites and smoke compartments while in the field, and to capture any changes in life safety features (due to remodels., etc) so our LS plans are updated accordingly.

We used PlanGrid on an iPad while walking portions of our 6m S.F. academic health center campus during our most recent joint commission survey, and the LS code surveyor loved it! Carrying one iPad where we had everything he might ask for at our fingertips sure beat carrying around 4 or 5 sets of LS drawings, some of which have up to 40 pages!

Now that joint commission engineers (LS surveyors) are being forced into the digital age and utilizing tech more, I expect more of them will expect to see hospital facility managers utilizing mobile access to their building floor plans during the survey, and PlanGrid is perfect for this.

  • Accessing drawings on the fly. By having the PDFs readily available, you don't have to worry about internet connection issues or lagging issues by going to your plans on a website.
  • Being able to measure suite sizes, mark issues etc right on the iPad while out in field, instead of carrying a note pad.
  • PlanGrid has been focused on design & construction; I'd like to see more focus on user-friendly features (and marketing) to those of use MAINTAINING those facilities once they are built.
  • We met with rep from PlanGrid last summer here in our office and listed some features we'd like to see included eventually. We were told she would take these notes home to the development team, but no one ever followed up with us for more details or to give us an update.
  • PlanGrid missed a huge opportunity to market itself to healthcare facilities (where the need for such a product is increasing constantly) by not having a booth or presence at the national ASHE (Healthcare Engineering) conference. Many companies with similar technology were there; I was disappointed PlanGrid was not.
Great for hospital facilities team members who need to access Life Safety (LS) drawings - and document deficiencies - in the field!
Improving features for building operations- instead of just building construction- would improve my rating.
Read Melissa McCain's full review
August 16, 2017
Kara Hermann, PE, LEED AP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PlanGrid in our construction division - mostly Project Managers, Project Engineers and Foreman. We use it to update drawings to the field to ensure they have the latest plans. The biggest issue it addresses in making sure the field has the latest drawings, easily referencing past drawings, and a tool for communication between the office and the field. Prior to PlanGrid, there were many instances where architectural or owner updates were not communicated to field efficiently and a lot of time was spent either slip-sheeting or updating paper binders of changes, resulting in re-work and lost time/money.
  • Organize plans and reference past drawing sets.
  • Communicate with the field.
  • Make sure the field has the latest plans.
  • Link architectural or owner changes (by way of attachments) on the drawings so the field has the latest changes (vs previous paper model where RFI's were stuck in a binder somewhere and stuff got missed).
  • Post submittals and schedules so the field has everything they need in one place.
  • We are an electrical firm. I would love to specify which drawings to view first in a whole set of drawings. Currently I label E1.0 to "_E1.0" so it will be up top, but update the drawings with the latest set means I need to manually add the "_" in front which is a pain.
  • Quick count.
  • Turn off specific markups, organized by date. I think you can do this on web but haven't been able to do on iPad.
  • Send an email summary of changes to the team so the field (who often does not refresh PlanGrid on a regular basis) knows that there has been an update.
I am always able to tell the field "update your plangrid" to make sure they are viewing the latest. This is critical so they are building the correct thing. Fixing mistakes is a waste of time and money. I believe one paper full-sized set is useful on the jobsite at the start for coordination and planning, then the iPad can be used for capturing changes or zeroing in on particular issues. I have found it incredibly useful when walking the jobsite and coordination questions come up from other trades. I am able to view their drawings and resolve the issue right there. The "big picture" is still hard to get using PlanGrid on a standard iPad. Perhaps the iPad Pro would help but not sure this is necessary in most cases. We have also gotten Apple TV's for the trailer and it is incredibly useful for viewing plans on the big screen from your iPad for coordination.
I regularly submit questions online and they are always prompt and give accurate solutions.
Read Kara Hermann, PE, LEED AP's full review
August 16, 2017
Brandon Zahrt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is currently being used within our company to deliver up to date plans, specifications, and addendum between our office an supervisors in the field. We currently have three subscriptions of PlanGrid. One large subscription (5000 pages) for the main office to upload all documents for ongoing projects, and two smaller subscriptions (500 pages) that are utilized by our in field staff. The in field staff manages their downloads based on the projects they will be on over the next few weeks. PlanGrid has greatly reduced the time it takes to get accurate information from our estimating/project management staff out to our field staff, and eliminated costly errors generated from working off old project documents. In addition it helps keep the office staff aware of any issues on site during the course of our daily operations. The foreman is able to send RFI's, document damaged or incorrect work, and provide daily as built markups so adjustments to scheduling can be made as required.
  • PlanGrid gives us the ability to maintain the most current set of drawings for a project. When plans change the user still has the ability to review the old version to determine where and why something has changed.
  • PlanGrid lets the user include PDF documents for the project without using up the number of sheets in the subsctiption. This allows us to provide the field staff with specifications, addendum write-ups, and other internal documents our company uses to make sure things are done correctly the first time.
  • PlanGrid allows our users in the field to submit RFI's, document issues, scale drawings, and provide daily markups of the work completed. This keeps our office staff informed of what is going on in the field and make adjustments to increase productivity and profitability.
  • PlanGrid lacks in the scaling/measuring of plans. We would like to see an improvement in setting up the scale for a sheet and make it easier to measure in ways other than a straight line.
  • I would like to see PlanGrids sheet recognition improve when uploading plan sheets. Sometimes it picks up the plan number and title, but not consistently.
PlanGrid is a useful tool for contractors both small and large. It is easy to use and helps with production and profitability.
We have not had many issues with the online or mobile app versions of PlanGrid, but when we have had to make a call for help we have never been let down. The customer service staff at PlanGrid is always pleasant, helpful, and informative. They have even shown us better ways to use certain functions of the app to make it more user friendly.
Read Brandon Zahrt's full review
August 16, 2017
Rick Crouch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Our company is using PlanGrid nation-wide.

We use it on our iPads to document changes, show RFI's, do existing conditions reports, and help subcontractors with layout.

We keep all the submittals as attachments so you always have everything you need right in your hand at any time. It makes it so much easier to cross reference drawing and items such as Millwork shop drawings or Appliance Submittals to verify clearances. It's one of the best tools we have in the field.

  • It's great for Layout because you can get measurements with the scaling tool then have Architects verify on Layout approval.
  • Using it to store all the submittals and ASK's from everyone is really useful when you're walking around and want to be able to verify that something is going to fit or make sure needed clearances are being meet.
  • Best tool for doing existing conditions report because you can mark right on the drawings where there is a problem and even take pictures to prove the existing damage and its all kept together.
  • Overall it make my day a lot easier.
  • I would like to be able to save a page as an update without having to keep everything on the original plan.
Overall it's the best tool we have in the field. It saves time and makes it easier to show subcontractors where there may be problems that needs to be addressed without fumbling through a lot of drawings and submittals.
Nevr had to actually use the support. they are always updating and every time they do there is a little tutorial to let you know the what and how.
Read Rick Crouch's full review
August 25, 2017
Chip Stadnyck, AIA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize PlanGrid to streamline the punch list process. PlanGrid allows multiple users to contribute to the punch list without a lengthy process to compile the results. Being able to take a picture of the issue and have it instantly attached to the note regarding the issue is helpful. As the contractor completes the items the list is updated and a current report can be issued at any time to update the team of the progress.
  • Compile punch list items from multiple team members.
  • Create reports on the current status.
  • Visual documentation of the issues.
  • Easily group like issues in order to distribute to sub-contractors.
  • Filtering
  • Moving items to different sheets after the fact
  • Options to condense reports
  • When there is a team working on a project.
  • The ability to have 5 people add items at 5 different times, and still be able to create a report without having to collate 5 different reports is great.
Responses from the team have always been quick.
Read Chip Stadnyck, AIA's full review
August 25, 2017
Les Yager | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this in project management, field supervision and estimating. This addresses real-time information gathering, such as built drawings, photo records, the RFI process, to name a few. We are able to review previous changes to drawings and compare these to current. We can take photos of issues and email them directly to the engineer, architect, owner, and construction manager, for quicker response.
  • Real-time, cloud based project data - keeps everyone on the same page
  • Photo history allowing issues, concerns and documentation of conditions for owner
  • Easy to navigate site, able to be used on multiple platforms from mobile (IOS or Android), desktop or web based
  • RFI format
  • Adding a pricing request log
  • More detail on punch list
It's great for the mobile QC individual. He can use an iPad for instant access for all projects; not having to unroll and carry 20 to 30 sets of drawings and spec books. Keeps everyone working off the same set of drawings and easy to update. Photos of existing conditions and problems can be quickly documented and emailed out.
Quick response from the support team. They follow up on any issues we have reported. They are always willing to try something or give us a way that we can perform a task with the current system, while they try to come up with a better one.
Read Les Yager's full review
August 24, 2017
Brett Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plangrid is being used on a project-by-project basis. We use it as our primary document control protocol, for rolling completion lists, punchlists, owner update reports, QC and sub coordination.
  • Plan sheet organization, renderings speed and image quality in the field are all great.
  • UI is simple, attractive and easy for users of most experience levels.
  • Slipsheeting, updating or changing drawings is easy and effective.
  • Photo quality in printed reports is low. If markups or dimensions are made on an image within the system it's oftentimes difficult to see once printed.
  • Clouding and markups sometimes obstruct you from seeing the actual drawing. Clouds for instance, grow and shrink when zooming. This makes sense, but sometimes on sheets with a large number of markups, when you zoom out it's just a mess of illegible bulky clouds/bubbles.
I've yet to manage a project and not used plangrid (in the last 5/6 years).
Customer support has always been great. Fast and helpful. Instant messaging is very convenient.
Read Brett Thompson's full review
August 24, 2017
Bryan Musgrove | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plangrid is strictly used by the development department, in connection with our architect, and general contractor. We upload everything from the plans and plan revisions to RFIs and schedules. It is extremely convenient and makes everything readily accessible on the tablet or phone while on the job site. It is great for punch walks as you to dictate detailed notes along with photos of the exact location. Then once you are complete you hit print and the list is ready to send. There is no delay in waiting for a punch list to be transposed. Subs are able to mobilize immediately to complete their tasks.
  • Convenience- Gone are the days when you had to take the time to walk back to the job site trailer before being able to review the plans. Now every plan in detail is available on your tablet or right in your pocket on your phone.
  • Construction documents- All construction documents can be stored on plan grid making it easier than in the past when you had to haul around a set of plans and a binder full of all changes and RFIs.
  • All notes, needed corrections, and issues can be documented directly on PlanGrid and seen by everyone with access.
  • Not extremely user-friendly. At times it is difficult to figure out how to print, access certain applications, etc.
Plangrid is well suited for plan accessibility and Punch walks.
Plangrid is less suited when you would like to share a specific detail or plan sheet.
Plangrid does great at support by having 24 hour internet availability and regular webinars
Read Bryan Musgrove's full review
August 24, 2017
Holly Hudson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plangrid is used for construction projects across the construction planning and design department within facilities. It is also used to note deficiencies during different inspections. It addresses being able to use it on the fly to note items that are deficient.
  • You can use the default buttons to note deficiencies or you have the option to make your own buttons.
  • It's easy to load and sync dwgs.
  • The reports that PlanGrid makes are very well suited to what I use it for.
  • It lacks the ability to delete buttons in one action. If I have a sheet that has multiple buttons on it but things have been resolved and I want a fresh sheet, I have to individually delete all of the buttons. Time consuming task.

PlanGrid is well suited for sharing of projects between team members as well as using it to make notation for inspections.

I don't know any scenarios where it would be less appropriate.

The person who reaches out to PlanGrid for me is always prompt with an answer. That leads me to believe that PlanGrid is prompt to answer him.
Read Holly Hudson's full review
August 24, 2017
Ron Glunt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using PlanGrid for all of our large projects that we are running in our service/special projects department. The biggest item addressed by PlanGrid for us is that we can instantly download the drawings to PlanGrid and our foreman have at their finger tips the most up to date set of drawings without us ever having to print out a set and have the foreman run to our office to pick up these drawings wasting time and money. We will have the set of paper drawings sitting in our offices until the foreman need to make a specific trip to our office then we can turn over to them.
  • Foreman have access to drawings on their iPads or laptops instantly.
  • As drawings are updated the most current drawing is always the first drawing foreman see.
  • Keeps us GREEN since we don't need to print out large sets of drawings.
  • Love it as it is currently so anything you do to make it better only makes it better for us.
If general you are working with us on PlanGrid then every time a new drawing or RFI is uploaded we are notified of these changes through PlanGrid's site.
Any questions I have I receive answers immediately.
Read Ron Glunt's full review
August 17, 2017
Tad Rivenbark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PlanGrid for organizing our projects as they are constructed. We keep all drawings, RFI responses, Shop Drawings, and other documents in PlanGrid for easy access while at the jobsite. The ability to have all of these documents in one place makes things so much easier and more efficient compared to the old days of lugging around rolls of drawings and books full of paperwork. We also use PlanGrid for generating punch lists and tracking their completion.
  • Punchlists. I have not found another product that is as simple to use for punchlists.
  • Drawings, including updated versions of sheets. It's great to be able to simply swipe down on a sheet and see the older version(s) of the sheets.
  • Sheet comparisons are good and getting better. It's nice to be able to simply overlay different versions of sheets and clearly see what has changed.
  • More customization for punchlists would be appreciated. The ability to add the company logo and creating lists were nice additions to help the process. However it would be nice to be able to select items created by more than one person in the filters.
PlanGrid is great for punchlists. We also use it for generating reports of existing conditions on renovation projects. Its not really tailored to that type of use but is flexible enough that we have made it work. There is another product that we also use for documenting existing conditions that works better in the field, but the reports are not as good.
We have had issues in the past, some self inflicted and some were glitches on PlanGrid's end. We have never had a problem speaking to somebody either via chat or by phone. Additionally nearly all of the issues were resolved within a day, thru conversations with tech support and/or some behind the scenes black magic.
Read Tad Rivenbark's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (57)
8.8
Plan markups & sharing (57)
8.8
Issue tracking & punchlists (52)
7.8
Photo documentation (49)
7.3
Jobsite reports (37)
6.7
Document sharing (56)
7.6
RFI tools (39)
8.1
Collaboration & approvals (43)
7.4
As-built drawings (43)
8.4
Mobile app (55)
9.3

What is PlanGrid?

PlanGrid is construction productivity software used on more than 500,000 projects around the world. The company provides contractors and owners in all construction verticals the tools to collaborate effectively and collect and manage project information throughout the project’s construction and operations lifespan.

PlanGrid aims to increase team productivity by: streamlining document management and control, providing collaborators with easy access to all project information from any device, and enabling seamless collaboration. This leads to building the most comprehensive record set for the entire construction and operations lifecycle and consistently delivering on time and on budget.

Categories:  Construction

PlanGrid Features

Construction Project & Field Management Features

Has featurePlan distribution & viewing
Has featurePlan markups & sharing
Has featureDocument sharing
Has featureIssue tracking & punchlists
Has featurePhoto documentation
Has featureJobsite reports
Has featureRFI tools
Has featureCollaboration & approvals
Has featureAs-built drawings
Has featureMobile app

PlanGrid Screenshots

PlanGrid Videos (3)

PlanGrid Integrations

Box, CMiC Construction Platform, Dropbox, Egnyte, eSUB Construction Software, Google Drive, EarthCam, Kahua, Pavia Systems, RedTeam Software, Drononomy

PlanGrid Competitors

PlanGrid Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Nailgun$39user per month
Dozer$59user per month
Crane$139user per month

PlanGrid Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

PlanGrid Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Finnish, Hungarian, Italian, Chinese, Korean, Polish, Swedish