TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/gY/BN/3X0N7O5FG2BQ.PNGChoose Plangrid and your users will love you.We are currently in the process of integrating Plangrid in all of our departments except accounting. We initially used it just for doing punch-lists but now require all projects to use it for progress photos, plan viewing and markups, as well as the aforementioned punch-lists. It immediately saves us money in requiring less printing of plans as well as better documentation of punch-lists with attached pictures. Plangrid also breeds collaboration by allowing easy sharing of all data within the program.,Plangrid is the best SaaS I have seen for ease of uploading construction plans and automated organization of those plans. For companies that are not using other products for mobile access, the Plangrid mobile apps are perfect to allow people on and off site to share and collaborate in many phases of construction project documentation. Plangrid has a very responsive technical support team (although it is pretty much email only). Plangrid's website layout is easy to use and understand and allows new users to jump right in and do basic to moderate tasks without little training.,Plangrid is in the process of adding enhanced construction documentation such as better Submittal, RFI, and Field Reporting modules, but the ones in place right now will not be up to par for some people used to more full-featured applications such as Sage or Procore. Like other SaaS Construction applications, Plangrid is very expensive. Too expensive in my opinion. They should find ways to offer more tiers of cost so smaller companies can use the application is a limited manner and not have to pay the same cost as the larger companies which may get more use out of advanced features. On the same theme of cost, many of Plangrids collaboration features require all collaborators to have a license. Try telling all 30 subs on your project that they have to run out and pay an extra $50-$100/MO per employee to collaborate with you. Does not always go over well. Plangrids Field Report, Submittal and RFI modules are still a bit of a work in progress.,9,8,Plangrid saves a tremendous amount of time when it comes to onsite plan viewing. With a tablet, someone can walk the site and have all plans at their fingertips without the need to return to a trailer for reviewing plans or markups. This frees up onsite personnel for other duties and in some cases saves money by requiring less people on the job. Their punch-list/issues feature is another big time and money saver by making the entry and distribution of punch-lists much easier than more archaic methods. Users have the ability to create reports by sub/trade and send the sub a punch-list with just their specific issues on it. Despite their RFI and Submittal features still being a work in progress they too speed up turn around time and entry time vs. older methods. This frees up POM's for other tasks and again, in some cases, allows a great ROI with less manpower needs.,Procore and Sage 300 Construction and Real EstatePlanGrid is greatWe use PlanGrid to communicate information to the field. It allows us to share information with the field staff immediately. Our estimators also use it when attending pre-bid walks.,One of the things that we like about Plan Grid is when we receive an updated plan sheet we can upload it and have a record of the changes that have been made along the way. Information can be shared in real time. Our field team has all of the information that they need at their fingertips.,Uploading revised plans is a little cumbersome. It would be nice if you didn't have to add a new version every time you updated a sheet. Sometimes the sheet number and name recognition does not work properly when adding a new job or updating sheets. There is a workaround but it would be nice if it was more consistent. The cost seems a little high. It would be nice if they increased the plan limit for each pricing tier. They got rid of their free version, 50 sheet limit. We used to have our estimators use this option, but now we have to pay for a subscription for a service that is only used once in a while.,9,9,I am not sure if the subscription cost per user is a cheaper option than paper, but it certainly saves us the hassle of getting documents printed, updated, delivered, etc. The timeliness of the information being shared does certainly help us avoid rework. We seem to have fewer communication problems now. It is nice to have all of the information in one program. The teams seem to like it better. However, with anything, new some prefer paper over an iPad.,Bluebeam Revu,20,8,The biggest thing for us is the real time information sharing between the team members. One of the other benefits is that it works both ways. If the field has a question about a scope issue they can snap a picture, push it to master, and the Project Manager can see what they are asking about and address it immediately. We also share company specific documents that all of our field leaders are required to have access to when they are on site. We can change these documents and share to all of the teams with relative ease.,We have stated to use some of the other functions that PlanGrid seems to add periodically. Some of our field supervisors are using the daily logs and seem to like it better than hand writing the information daily. We are starting to use it for time cards. The punch list feature has saved us a few times because we were able to document damage before the punch list was generated.,As mentioned in the previous question we would like all of our time cards to be electronic. We are utilizing the daily logs and adding photos so we can have better documentation of the issues that become disputes at the end of the job.,10,Bluebeam Revu, Procore, Microsoft Office 365Expanding Use of PlanGrid FeaturesWe love using PlanGrid for it ability to put all the documents, questions and images in one place for a project team. It's extremely useful to us during the program verification and design stages. We can track issues that need resolved during the detailing at the construction documents stage later on in the process. We've used the app on iPhones and iPads as well as Windows devices, but much prefer iOS.,Reliability Progress Photos IssuesLog,Sharing access with non-users,10,7,Improved Coordination Issues in one place,Asana, Bluebeam Revu and Adobe Acrobat DCBest Plan Management Software I've Used So Far!PlanGrid is used mainly out in the field on our construction jobsites. 100% of all project engineers use PlanGrid, and is the main platform we use to view drawings in the field. It is mainly used by the operations department that are located offsite and not in the corporate office. It addresses the need for physical copies of plans and the tiresome re-printing and re-updating your plan set.,Great at updating and consolidating plan sets! The filter option on plans is particularly helpful when you want to vie wa specific plan set, like electrical drawings only or fire protection and plumbing only. Great with incorporating and managing RFI's, ASI's and punchlist items.,I wish there were an option to git rid of a notification once you've seen it, e.g. "you're viewing an old plan sheet - do you want to continue?" There should be an option on this pop-up to say "Noted - do not show this message again". Better markup options, similar to BlueBeam. I feel like the options available are limited. Better able to view linked sheets. Some sheets do not link automatically to the detail they are referenced in.,10,10,Saved time and paper Ease of communication with the subcontractors Easy to use for all users so quick implementation for companyPlanGrid as a Project Management/Documentation Control ProgramPlanGrid is used to share drawings and documents with the entire project team. Team members can use it to markup/measure plans, as well as overlay previous iterations. The calibration feature is usually pretty accurate and allows users to create complete quantity takeoffs as well as check dimensions. It is used on a few project teams.,Measurement Calibration Drawing Overlay Facilitates collaboration,System updates are slow Can only have one measurement calibration per page Slow to download PDFs,9,9,Saved paper Improved coordination Easy to use,Bluebeam Revu
Unspecified
PlanGrid
121 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

PlanGrid Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
PlanGrid
121 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 121 vetted PlanGrid reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 65)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jeffrey Rudacille profile photo
December 26, 2018

Review: "Choose Plangrid and your users will love you."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently in the process of integrating Plangrid in all of our departments except accounting. We initially used it just for doing punch-lists but now require all projects to use it for progress photos, plan viewing and markups, as well as the aforementioned punch-lists. It immediately saves us money in requiring less printing of plans as well as better documentation of punch-lists with attached pictures. Plangrid also breeds collaboration by allowing easy sharing of all data within the program.
  • Plangrid is the best SaaS I have seen for ease of uploading construction plans and automated organization of those plans.
  • For companies that are not using other products for mobile access, the Plangrid mobile apps are perfect to allow people on and off site to share and collaborate in many phases of construction project documentation.
  • Plangrid has a very responsive technical support team (although it is pretty much email only).
  • Plangrid's website layout is easy to use and understand and allows new users to jump right in and do basic to moderate tasks without little training.
  • Plangrid is in the process of adding enhanced construction documentation such as better Submittal, RFI, and Field Reporting modules, but the ones in place right now will not be up to par for some people used to more full-featured applications such as Sage or Procore.
  • Like other SaaS Construction applications, Plangrid is very expensive. Too expensive in my opinion. They should find ways to offer more tiers of cost so smaller companies can use the application is a limited manner and not have to pay the same cost as the larger companies which may get more use out of advanced features.
  • On the same theme of cost, many of Plangrids collaboration features require all collaborators to have a license. Try telling all 30 subs on your project that they have to run out and pay an extra $50-$100/MO per employee to collaborate with you. Does not always go over well.
  • Plangrids Field Report, Submittal and RFI modules are still a bit of a work in progress.
Plangrid is well suited for companies (that are not currently using a different SaaS construction package) to make their construction document management more collaborative and mobile friendly. Companies requiring/wanting their subs and owners to collaborate with them as part of the life of a construction project will find Plangrid very helpful in fulfilling this goal. On the negative side, companies that are fully entrenched in using other construction suites will struggle to fully use Plangrid to its potential as pre-built integration between Plangrid and other packages is limited.
Read Jeffrey Rudacille's full review
Kyle Montague profile photo
January 16, 2019

User Review: "PlanGrid is great"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PlanGrid to communicate information to the field. It allows us to share information with the field staff immediately. Our estimators also use it when attending pre-bid walks.
  • One of the things that we like about Plan Grid is when we receive an updated plan sheet we can upload it and have a record of the changes that have been made along the way.
  • Information can be shared in real time.
  • Our field team has all of the information that they need at their fingertips.
  • Uploading revised plans is a little cumbersome. It would be nice if you didn't have to add a new version every time you updated a sheet.
  • Sometimes the sheet number and name recognition does not work properly when adding a new job or updating sheets. There is a workaround but it would be nice if it was more consistent.
  • The cost seems a little high. It would be nice if they increased the plan limit for each pricing tier.
  • They got rid of their free version, 50 sheet limit. We used to have our estimators use this option, but now we have to pay for a subscription for a service that is only used once in a while.
PlanGrid works for almost every project that we do, large or small. We can share company specific documents that are required regardless of the project dollar value.
Read Kyle Montague's full review
Nicholas Bittner profile photo
January 08, 2019

User Review: "Expanding Use of PlanGrid Features"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We love using PlanGrid for it ability to put all the documents, questions and images in one place for a project team. It's extremely useful to us during the program verification and design stages. We can track issues that need resolved during the detailing at the construction documents stage later on in the process. We've used the app on iPhones and iPads as well as Windows devices, but much prefer iOS.
  • Reliability
  • Progress Photos
  • IssuesLog
  • Sharing access with non-users
  • Best suited for construction progress and documentation of existing field issues.
  • Not as well suited for design and sharing with non-paying users. Sometimes it's helpful to share the project site with the project's owner. They often are not in the construction industry and would only be accessing the site during this project with our firm. It would be good to create guest access.
Read Nicholas Bittner's full review
Sheila Nguyen profile photo
December 21, 2018

PlanGrid Review: "Best Plan Management Software I've Used So Far!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is used mainly out in the field on our construction jobsites. 100% of all project engineers use PlanGrid, and is the main platform we use to view drawings in the field. It is mainly used by the operations department that are located offsite and not in the corporate office. It addresses the need for physical copies of plans and the tiresome re-printing and re-updating your plan set.
  • Great at updating and consolidating plan sets!
  • The filter option on plans is particularly helpful when you want to vie wa specific plan set, like electrical drawings only or fire protection and plumbing only.
  • Great with incorporating and managing RFI's, ASI's and punchlist items.
  • I wish there were an option to git rid of a notification once you've seen it, e.g. "you're viewing an old plan sheet - do you want to continue?" There should be an option on this pop-up to say "Noted - do not show this message again".
  • Better markup options, similar to BlueBeam. I feel like the options available are limited.
  • Better able to view linked sheets. Some sheets do not link automatically to the detail they are referenced in.
PlanGrid really gets the job done when it comes to organizing your project documents, especially out in the field. If your subcontractor has old plans, it is really easy to pull up PlanGrid and show them the documents that they should have and show them right then and there. It's great when you don't want to print out an 11x17 sheet or bring out a whole roll of plans to show a specific detail to your installer as well.
Read Sheila Nguyen's full review
Natalee Easthom profile photo
December 21, 2018

Review: "PlanGrid as a Project Management/Documentation Control Program"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is used to share drawings and documents with the entire project team. Team members can use it to markup/measure plans, as well as overlay previous iterations. The calibration feature is usually pretty accurate and allows users to create complete quantity takeoffs as well as check dimensions. It is used on a few project teams.
  • Measurement Calibration
  • Drawing Overlay
  • Facilitates collaboration
  • System updates are slow
  • Can only have one measurement calibration per page
  • Slow to download PDFs
PlanGrid is well suited for most project management drawing coordination aspects. You cannot use it for document communications such as submitting/approving RFIs and submittals. However, you can store the final product of these documents in PlanGrid for posting purposes. The takeoffs you do are generally accurate, however, they take a lot of manual work on your part.
Read Natalee Easthom's full review
Mike McKeown profile photo
December 21, 2018

User Review: "PlanGrid is great for us"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plan Grid allows us to send out plans to our subcontractor during the bidding process. By allowing the subcontractors to obtain the plans electronically they receive the plans immediately. This allows for more time for the subcontractors to bid on the project, cutting down at least a few days in shipping time. Additionally, it saves us a large amount of mailing costs.
  • Allows the subs to view the plans electronically
  • Subs get the plans within minutes instead of days
  • Saves printing cost and saves trees
  • Sometimes the plans take too long to get to subcontractors
  • Certain items are difficult to understand in the program
  • Short cuts would be helpful while using the product
Plan Grid allows us to send out plans to our subcontractor during the bidding process. By allowing the subcontractors to obtain the plans electronically they receive the plans immediately. This allows for more time for the subs to bid the project, cutting down at least a few days in shipping time.
Read Mike McKeown's full review
Nicholas Yager profile photo
December 21, 2018

"PlanGrid Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our project team has utilized PlanGrid to create an issue log to track constructability issues regarding our construction project.
  • User-Friendly
  • Easy to share information
  • Automatically creates review documents from your markups
  • Easy to use in the field
  • A better way to implement User-Friendly to control who can view specific items
  • Create a takeoff application
Great to use for creating a constructability issues log. Easy to communicate issues within the drawing set to project team members in real time. Perfect to mark up documents on a tablet in the field. Office uses are more limited.
Read Nicholas Yager's full review
Michael Carter profile photo
December 21, 2018

User Review: "PlanGrid has been awesome"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we use PlanGrid across all departments, starting with estimating for proposals all the way through punch list before turnover. It has been a valuable tool with job tracking and management.
  • PlanGrid is ideal with the submission of RFI’s directly to the design team
  • PlanGrid makes real time Punch List creation and tracking easy
  • PlanGrid is much easier with an Ipad to perform job walks than carrying a full set of construction drawings
  • Revisions and changes are a breeze and update quickly
  • I would like to see PlanGrid assist in supporting photos from the user device not taken within PlanGrid
  • I would like to be able to manipulate documents loaded to PlanGrid similar to sheet markups
  • Adding a few more document templates for daily reports would be nice
PlanGrid is perfect for job site meetings and punch list walks. It is less than ideal for large conferences unless you have an available monitor to plug the laptop/desktop into.
Read Michael Carter's full review
No photo available
December 21, 2018

PlanGrid Review: "Easy to Use Document Distribution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use PlanGrid to connect our office to the field. Our project managers setup projects in PlanGrid that then our site supervisors and foreman can then get the most up to date plans and information about the project. It helps us point out issues that then can get handled quickly from the office and then prevents delays of production in the field.
  • Very easy to use, and training takes less than a few hours for field staff.
  • Connects office to field quickly and efficiently.
  • Uploading , naming, and tagging sheet is the best in the business.
  • Sheet and document manager always display most current information and also gives you the ability to look back at previous versions for changes.
  • Their sheet system by user could use some revisions. Their plans only allow a certain number of sheets per user.
  • Pricing
  • Customer service and local sales reps could be more responsive.
We work in construction and PlanGrid is well suited to connect our office and field staff with the most up to date plans and specs. We can also attach documents to the project for the foreman to track labor, products, and product data sheets. Our site supervisors and foreman can fill out a number of daily forms on site with ease that can be sent into the office for review. Lastly, general contractors can invite subcontractors to collaborate on projects, and they can place punchlist items and take photos of the items that need to be fixed. Subcontractors then can mark the items pending for review for the GCs to then mark complete.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2018

Review: "PlanGrid is simple and efficient; the best value for the money if its features do what you want."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid will be used for 1 specific project, across our organization. It solves the issues of coherent communication. Right now, we rely on e-mail attachments in order to have up-to-date drawings. This becomes confusing internally, as well as for our subcontractors. PlanGrid enables us to always have the most up to date drawings, accessible from PC or phones, anywhere there is internet available. It also helps to coordinate RFIs, schedules, etc.
  • PlanGrid syncs drawing sets across users and devices. This is a strength because everyone on PlanGrid has the most up-to-date drawings without any effort, other than uploading. For subs, it is easy to distribute the latest drawing uploads.
  • PlanGrid is quite easy to use. Unlike other CM software, PlanGrid only has a few features but it uses all of them well.
  • PlanGrid has a great iPhone and Android app, so users on site can have the entire document and RFI log on their phone, with full access to all features.
  • The photo attachment process is a bit complicated. In Procore (another similar software I've used), you can upload photos directly into RFIs for your reference, or into e-mails. For PlanGrid, you have to first upload the photo into the documents tab, then link them into the RFI. It's not intuitive and can add confusion to the documents tab.
  • Photos can't be directly uploaded. Between different devices and colleagues, it's possible you'll get an important photo outside of the PlanGrid photo capture feature within its app. Again, it's complicated for users to use.
  • In their new drawings viewer, the icons for actions do not have icons available. I had to use them all in order to understand what they meant, and I'm fairly tech savvy. I'm not sure if a new person to PlanGrid will pick up on each icon's abilities very easily.
  • There's no all-in-one solution in CM, but PlanGrid is fairly barebones, and I don't believe it has any ability to connect to other software. There's no ability to take meeting munites; you can hack the field reports feature to accomplish this, but it's clear that was not the intent of the designers.
PlanGrid is very good for drawings, tasks, punch lists, and the like. Unlike Procore, it's not an all-in-one solution, which is good because I don't need even half of the features Procore offers. But it will require other software for office use (i.e., financials, finish schedules, and corporate documents) and the company will need to be on top of coordinating all of the information between software. I do not use financials or corporate docs; I just want to keep up with RFIs and drawings, and for that, it is very good.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 07, 2019

User Review: "PlanGrid for the future"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PlanGrid to distribute project and design documents to our field personnel, communicate design changes from the field to the design department, and as a repository for project or system related documents. This allows us to gain faster access to changes or issues for faster build markups and increased productivity. PlanGrid's measurement tools also allow our field personnel to supply more accurate installation tracking information and accurate information for change order related work.
  • Drawing markups: The ability to annotate drawings with pictures and their exact locations helps eliminate guesswork and production slowdowns related to design questions
  • Issue tracking: The ability to note issues and communicate them and their resolution between the field and office help limit miscommunication.
  • Linking drawings: PlanGrid makes it simple to link drawings to one another, as well as, linking purchase orders, specifications, and listing drawings.
  • The lack of auto reports requires users to check in on projects daily and creates extra work should we want to push issues out to our clients.
PlanGrid is a great tool to pass annotated installation drawings and questions between field and office personnel.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 07, 2019

User Review: "Plangrid is a move towards the future"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PlanGrid in multiple departments within our company. It connects the field teams to those in the office and in other locations across the country. It is also good for tracking changes in construction, as well as documenting progress for closeout packages in the end.
  • Works well on computers, phones, tablets. Great for a large team on many different platforms.
  • Ease of use. Very user-friendly on all devices.
  • Can be used for complicated tasks as well as simple tasks. Good tool for taking photos of equipment and assigning to a plan, or for more detailed drawing changes and tracking.
  • Pricey for small team users. Would be nice to have team pricing or at least lesser than a nailgun account for users that use under 50 pages.
  • Some UI improvements are still needed, such as reviewing images that have been uploaded; there is no way to scroll to the next image.
It is appropriate for companies that need to track construction. You can track red-lines, update as-builts, assign images, etc. You can also run reports on action items. If you want to keep all your drawings and updates electronic PlanGrid is a great tool. Also, it is great at getting information from the field back to the designers in the office instantly. Not needed for companies that don't work with floor plans regularly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2018

User Review: "Plangrid is so easy to use and learn"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for all aspects of our construction process. It is being used by our whole organization. It helps us get the information to all that need it faster and easier and allows us to collaborate together.
  • PlanGrid is great for updating drawings. In the fast-paced world we live in, and with drawings constantly changing, it is nice how the sheets are automatically updated and slip sheeted in.
  • It is very helpful at writing RFI's and tracking them. The ease of writing them and allowing others to see an answer is very helpful.
  • The picture log is great how all pictures taken to PlanGrid are stored even if they are deleted from a tablet.
  • The field reports need to be improved greatly. It is a very basic idea right now. Collaboration on the same report by other usernames would be great.
  • The fact that I can access my photo library when writing RFIs is very frustrating. You have to add pictures to PlanGrid and then add them to the RFI. Should be allowed access to photo library and add them while writing. The current process requires a lot of upfront work to be able to write and RFI.
The access to drawings is great. Being able to pack several different drawing to various jobs in my pocket on my phone or on my tablet is awesome.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2018

User Review: "Plangrid"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used within the different groups of the company. Not as a whole organization.
  • Incorporating multiple collaborators.
  • Being able to perform constructability reviews.
  • Identify what changed from previous drawing sets.
  • PDF viewing quality.
Really good when there is a lot of field staff on a project.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 13, 2018

PlanGrid: "Drawing Storage & Mobile Solution Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses PlanGrid for a mobile plan and specification sharing platform. It has been the easiest to use for storing plans, updating them with current drawings and being able to share them via the mobile app with our field staff.
  • Their upload process is fast.
  • The takeoff and markup tools work very well.
  • The mobile application works very well.
  • The price point for sharing between employees is missing a level I feel...between the free and the next level version.
  • More integrations with other project management platforms would be great.
Smaller companies it may not be good for simply due to the cost of it. Otherwise, a company that has multiple teams of project managers, engineers, and foreman. this is a great platform for.
Read this authenticated review
James Nolan profile photo
August 24, 2017

User Review: "PlanGrid for subcontractors"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using plangrid company wide for about 2 years now as a solution to document distribution issues. We offer access to the plangrid software to anyone willing to use it, it is our best resource for ensuring our entire team is up to date with the latest drawings available.
  • Plangrid is still the quickest PDF reader on the market. It's the only app that keeps pace with our industry.
  • The unlimited storage of attachments means that on projects where the number of RFIs can often reach into the hundreds, we never have to make a decision regarding which documents to share with the field.
  • The simple to use tools, such as quick document mark-up and photo capture have made generating RFIs simpler than ever before.
  • It'd be nice to have access to upload and edit documents from the app. Only for certain users.
  • A small business billing option that addresses multiple users of a single account would make managing access simpler. Being able to load unlimited sheets, but only access a specific limit on your team's devices.
  • Allow users to integrate their own RFI templates into the app, so RFIs can be generated in your own format right from the field, immediately ready to ship.
Plangrid is an excellent document sharing software within your internal team, but it does not serve as a full document management software similar to Procore. It is top notch for viewing and working with drawings, but is no use for distributing drawings for bidding or other purposes.
Read James Nolan's full review
Melissa McCain profile photo
August 18, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Great resource for hospital facilities staff; perfect way to access & verify Life Safety drawings & features in the field!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use PlanGrid in the hospital facilities maintenance world regularly to view our life safety drawings and confirm the integrity of fire and smoke barriers, etc., during environmental rounds, and to note any life safety deficiencies found during weekly rounds or unscheduled inspections. We are also able to check the size of suites and smoke compartments while in the field, and to capture any changes in life safety features (due to remodels., etc) so our LS plans are updated accordingly.

We used PlanGrid on an iPad while walking portions of our 6m S.F. academic health center campus during our most recent joint commission survey, and the LS code surveyor loved it! Carrying one iPad where we had everything he might ask for at our fingertips sure beat carrying around 4 or 5 sets of LS drawings, some of which have up to 40 pages!

Now that joint commission engineers (LS surveyors) are being forced into the digital age and utilizing tech more, I expect more of them will expect to see hospital facility managers utilizing mobile access to their building floor plans during the survey, and PlanGrid is perfect for this.

  • Accessing drawings on the fly. By having the PDFs readily available, you don't have to worry about internet connection issues or lagging issues by going to your plans on a website.
  • Being able to measure suite sizes, mark issues etc right on the iPad while out in field, instead of carrying a note pad.
  • PlanGrid has been focused on design & construction; I'd like to see more focus on user-friendly features (and marketing) to those of use MAINTAINING those facilities once they are built.
  • We met with rep from PlanGrid last summer here in our office and listed some features we'd like to see included eventually. We were told she would take these notes home to the development team, but no one ever followed up with us for more details or to give us an update.
  • PlanGrid missed a huge opportunity to market itself to healthcare facilities (where the need for such a product is increasing constantly) by not having a booth or presence at the national ASHE (Healthcare Engineering) conference. Many companies with similar technology were there; I was disappointed PlanGrid was not.
Great for hospital facilities team members who need to access Life Safety (LS) drawings - and document deficiencies - in the field!
Read Melissa McCain's full review
Kara Hermann, PE, LEED AP profile photo
August 16, 2017

Review: "PlanGrid is a No-Brainer for Construction Productivity"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PlanGrid in our construction division - mostly Project Managers, Project Engineers and Foreman. We use it to update drawings to the field to ensure they have the latest plans. The biggest issue it addresses in making sure the field has the latest drawings, easily referencing past drawings, and a tool for communication between the office and the field. Prior to PlanGrid, there were many instances where architectural or owner updates were not communicated to field efficiently and a lot of time was spent either slip-sheeting or updating paper binders of changes, resulting in re-work and lost time/money.
  • Organize plans and reference past drawing sets.
  • Communicate with the field.
  • Make sure the field has the latest plans.
  • Link architectural or owner changes (by way of attachments) on the drawings so the field has the latest changes (vs previous paper model where RFI's were stuck in a binder somewhere and stuff got missed).
  • Post submittals and schedules so the field has everything they need in one place.
  • We are an electrical firm. I would love to specify which drawings to view first in a whole set of drawings. Currently I label E1.0 to "_E1.0" so it will be up top, but update the drawings with the latest set means I need to manually add the "_" in front which is a pain.
  • Quick count.
  • Turn off specific markups, organized by date. I think you can do this on web but haven't been able to do on iPad.
  • Send an email summary of changes to the team so the field (who often does not refresh PlanGrid on a regular basis) knows that there has been an update.
I am always able to tell the field "update your plangrid" to make sure they are viewing the latest. This is critical so they are building the correct thing. Fixing mistakes is a waste of time and money. I believe one paper full-sized set is useful on the jobsite at the start for coordination and planning, then the iPad can be used for capturing changes or zeroing in on particular issues. I have found it incredibly useful when walking the jobsite and coordination questions come up from other trades. I am able to view their drawings and resolve the issue right there. The "big picture" is still hard to get using PlanGrid on a standard iPad. Perhaps the iPad Pro would help but not sure this is necessary in most cases. We have also gotten Apple TV's for the trailer and it is incredibly useful for viewing plans on the big screen from your iPad for coordination.
Read Kara Hermann, PE, LEED AP's full review
Brandon Zahrt profile photo
August 16, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Increased production and profitability with minimal effort"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is currently being used within our company to deliver up to date plans, specifications, and addendum between our office an supervisors in the field. We currently have three subscriptions of PlanGrid. One large subscription (5000 pages) for the main office to upload all documents for ongoing projects, and two smaller subscriptions (500 pages) that are utilized by our in field staff. The in field staff manages their downloads based on the projects they will be on over the next few weeks. PlanGrid has greatly reduced the time it takes to get accurate information from our estimating/project management staff out to our field staff, and eliminated costly errors generated from working off old project documents. In addition it helps keep the office staff aware of any issues on site during the course of our daily operations. The foreman is able to send RFI's, document damaged or incorrect work, and provide daily as built markups so adjustments to scheduling can be made as required.
  • PlanGrid gives us the ability to maintain the most current set of drawings for a project. When plans change the user still has the ability to review the old version to determine where and why something has changed.
  • PlanGrid lets the user include PDF documents for the project without using up the number of sheets in the subsctiption. This allows us to provide the field staff with specifications, addendum write-ups, and other internal documents our company uses to make sure things are done correctly the first time.
  • PlanGrid allows our users in the field to submit RFI's, document issues, scale drawings, and provide daily markups of the work completed. This keeps our office staff informed of what is going on in the field and make adjustments to increase productivity and profitability.
  • PlanGrid lacks in the scaling/measuring of plans. We would like to see an improvement in setting up the scale for a sheet and make it easier to measure in ways other than a straight line.
  • I would like to see PlanGrids sheet recognition improve when uploading plan sheets. Sometimes it picks up the plan number and title, but not consistently.
PlanGrid is a useful tool for contractors both small and large. It is easy to use and helps with production and profitability.
Read Brandon Zahrt's full review
Rick Crouch profile photo
August 16, 2017

Review: "PlanGrid: The best tool in a Superintendent's Tool Bag."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Our company is using PlanGrid nation-wide.

We use it on our iPads to document changes, show RFI's, do existing conditions reports, and help subcontractors with layout.

We keep all the submittals as attachments so you always have everything you need right in your hand at any time. It makes it so much easier to cross reference drawing and items such as Millwork shop drawings or Appliance Submittals to verify clearances. It's one of the best tools we have in the field.

  • It's great for Layout because you can get measurements with the scaling tool then have Architects verify on Layout approval.
  • Using it to store all the submittals and ASK's from everyone is really useful when you're walking around and want to be able to verify that something is going to fit or make sure needed clearances are being meet.
  • Best tool for doing existing conditions report because you can mark right on the drawings where there is a problem and even take pictures to prove the existing damage and its all kept together.
  • Overall it make my day a lot easier.
  • I would like to be able to save a page as an update without having to keep everything on the original plan.
Overall it's the best tool we have in the field. It saves time and makes it easier to show subcontractors where there may be problems that needs to be addressed without fumbling through a lot of drawings and submittals.
Read Rick Crouch's full review
Chip Stadnyck, AIA profile photo
August 25, 2017

User Review: "A PM's take on PlanGrid"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize PlanGrid to streamline the punch list process. PlanGrid allows multiple users to contribute to the punch list without a lengthy process to compile the results. Being able to take a picture of the issue and have it instantly attached to the note regarding the issue is helpful. As the contractor completes the items the list is updated and a current report can be issued at any time to update the team of the progress.
  • Compile punch list items from multiple team members.
  • Create reports on the current status.
  • Visual documentation of the issues.
  • Easily group like issues in order to distribute to sub-contractors.
  • Filtering
  • Moving items to different sheets after the fact
  • Options to condense reports
  • When there is a team working on a project.
  • The ability to have 5 people add items at 5 different times, and still be able to create a report without having to collate 5 different reports is great.
Read Chip Stadnyck, AIA's full review
Les Yager profile photo
August 25, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "More bang for the buck"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this in project management, field supervision and estimating. This addresses real-time information gathering, such as built drawings, photo records, the RFI process, to name a few. We are able to review previous changes to drawings and compare these to current. We can take photos of issues and email them directly to the engineer, architect, owner, and construction manager, for quicker response.
  • Real-time, cloud based project data - keeps everyone on the same page
  • Photo history allowing issues, concerns and documentation of conditions for owner
  • Easy to navigate site, able to be used on multiple platforms from mobile (IOS or Android), desktop or web based
  • RFI format
  • Adding a pricing request log
  • More detail on punch list
It's great for the mobile QC individual. He can use an iPad for instant access for all projects; not having to unroll and carry 20 to 30 sets of drawings and spec books. Keeps everyone working off the same set of drawings and easy to update. Photos of existing conditions and problems can be quickly documented and emailed out.
Read Les Yager's full review
Brett Thompson profile photo
August 24, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Solid Product, Wouldn't Manage a job Without it"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plangrid is being used on a project-by-project basis. We use it as our primary document control protocol, for rolling completion lists, punchlists, owner update reports, QC and sub coordination.
  • Plan sheet organization, renderings speed and image quality in the field are all great.
  • UI is simple, attractive and easy for users of most experience levels.
  • Slipsheeting, updating or changing drawings is easy and effective.
  • Photo quality in printed reports is low. If markups or dimensions are made on an image within the system it's oftentimes difficult to see once printed.
  • Clouding and markups sometimes obstruct you from seeing the actual drawing. Clouds for instance, grow and shrink when zooming. This makes sense, but sometimes on sheets with a large number of markups, when you zoom out it's just a mess of illegible bulky clouds/bubbles.
I've yet to manage a project and not used plangrid (in the last 5/6 years).
Read Brett Thompson's full review
Bryan Musgrove profile photo
August 24, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Top notch construction document organization program"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plangrid is strictly used by the development department, in connection with our architect, and general contractor. We upload everything from the plans and plan revisions to RFIs and schedules. It is extremely convenient and makes everything readily accessible on the tablet or phone while on the job site. It is great for punch walks as you to dictate detailed notes along with photos of the exact location. Then once you are complete you hit print and the list is ready to send. There is no delay in waiting for a punch list to be transposed. Subs are able to mobilize immediately to complete their tasks.
  • Convenience- Gone are the days when you had to take the time to walk back to the job site trailer before being able to review the plans. Now every plan in detail is available on your tablet or right in your pocket on your phone.
  • Construction documents- All construction documents can be stored on plan grid making it easier than in the past when you had to haul around a set of plans and a binder full of all changes and RFIs.
  • All notes, needed corrections, and issues can be documented directly on PlanGrid and seen by everyone with access.
  • Not extremely user-friendly. At times it is difficult to figure out how to print, access certain applications, etc.
Plangrid is well suited for plan accessibility and Punch walks.
Plangrid is less suited when you would like to share a specific detail or plan sheet.
Read Bryan Musgrove's full review
Holly Hudson profile photo
August 24, 2017

User Review: "PlanGrid is the bomb!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plangrid is used for construction projects across the construction planning and design department within facilities. It is also used to note deficiencies during different inspections. It addresses being able to use it on the fly to note items that are deficient.
  • You can use the default buttons to note deficiencies or you have the option to make your own buttons.
  • It's easy to load and sync dwgs.
  • The reports that PlanGrid makes are very well suited to what I use it for.
  • It lacks the ability to delete buttons in one action. If I have a sheet that has multiple buttons on it but things have been resolved and I want a fresh sheet, I have to individually delete all of the buttons. Time consuming task.

PlanGrid is well suited for sharing of projects between team members as well as using it to make notation for inspections.

I don't know any scenarios where it would be less appropriate.

Read Holly Hudson's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (53)
9.4
Plan markups & sharing (53)
9.3
Issue tracking & punchlists (48)
9.4
Photo documentation (46)
8.3
Jobsite reports (34)
7.9
Document sharing (52)
8.5
RFI tools (36)
8.4
Collaboration & approvals (40)
8.8
As-built drawings (39)
9.5
Mobile app (51)
9.2

About PlanGrid

PlanGrid is construction productivity software used on more than 500,000 projects around the world. The company provides contractors and owners in all construction verticals the tools to collaborate effectively and collect and manage project information throughout the project’s construction and operations lifespan.

PlanGrid aims to increase team productivity by: streamlining document management and control, providing collaborators with easy access to all project information from any device, and enabling seamless collaboration. This leads to building the most comprehensive record set for the entire construction and operations lifecycle and consistently delivering on time and on budget.

Categories:  Construction

PlanGrid Features

Construction Productivity Features
Has featurePlan distribution & viewing
Has featurePlan markups & sharing
Has featureDocument sharing
Has featureIssue tracking & punchlists
Has featurePhoto documentation
Has featureJobsite reports
Has featureRFI tools
Has featureCollaboration & approvals
Has featureAs-built drawings
Has featureMobile app
Does not have featureSubmittal design and management
Estimating Features
Does not have featureTakeoff tools
Does not have featureJob costing
Does not have featureCost databases
Does not have featureCost calculator
Does not have featureBid creation

PlanGrid Screenshots

PlanGrid Integrations

Box, CMiC Project Management, Dropbox, Egnyte, eSUB Construction Software, Google Drive, EarthCam, Kahua, Pavia Systems, RedTeam Software, Drononomy

PlanGrid Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Nailgun$39user per month
Dozer$59user per month
Crane$119user per month

PlanGrid Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

PlanGrid Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Finnish, Hungarian, Italian, Chinese, Korean, Polish, Swedish