TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/gY/BN/3X0N7O5FG2BQ.PNGDrawing Storage & Mobile Solution ReviewOur company uses PlanGrid for a mobile plan and specification sharing platform. It has been the easiest to use for storing plans, updating them with current drawings and being able to share them via the mobile app with our field staff.,Their upload process is fast. The takeoff and markup tools work very well. The mobile application works very well.,The price point for sharing between employees is missing a level I feel...between the free and the next level version. More integrations with other project management platforms would be great.,7,8,Saved cost and time of printing plans. Organized location for updating drawings which reduces time spent manually confirming drawings Increased communication.,ProcorePlanGrid for subcontractorsWe have been using plangrid company wide for about 2 years now as a solution to document distribution issues. We offer access to the plangrid software to anyone willing to use it, it is our best resource for ensuring our entire team is up to date with the latest drawings available.,Plangrid is still the quickest PDF reader on the market. It's the only app that keeps pace with our industry. The unlimited storage of attachments means that on projects where the number of RFIs can often reach into the hundreds, we never have to make a decision regarding which documents to share with the field. The simple to use tools, such as quick document mark-up and photo capture have made generating RFIs simpler than ever before.,It'd be nice to have access to upload and edit documents from the app. Only for certain users. A small business billing option that addresses multiple users of a single account would make managing access simpler. Being able to load unlimited sheets, but only access a specific limit on your team's devices. Allow users to integrate their own RFI templates into the app, so RFIs can be generated in your own format right from the field, immediately ready to ship.,10,10,Implementing plangrid throughout our operation has drastically reduced construction errors due to working with out of date plans. Plangrid has allowed me personally as a PM responsible for multiple projects to easily stay on top of and in touch with all of them. The ability to have full project documentation at my fingertips wherever I am, even when I don't have excellent cell service, is invaluable. Plangrid has reduced the time spent printing and delivering new drawings to job sites by 80% throughout our firm.,Procore and DropboxGreat resource for hospital facilities staff; perfect way to access & verify Life Safety drawings & features in the field!We use PlanGrid in the hospital facilities maintenance world regularly to view our life safety drawings and confirm the integrity of fire and smoke barriers, etc., during environmental rounds, and to note any life safety deficiencies found during weekly rounds or unscheduled inspections. We are also able to check the size of suites and smoke compartments while in the field, and to capture any changes in life safety features (due to remodels., etc) so our LS plans are updated accordingly.We used PlanGrid on an iPad while walking portions of our 6m S.F. academic health center campus during our most recent joint commission survey, and the LS code surveyor loved it! Carrying one iPad where we had everything he might ask for at our fingertips sure beat carrying around 4 or 5 sets of LS drawings, some of which have up to 40 pages!Now that joint commission engineers (LS surveyors) are being forced into the digital age and utilizing tech more, I expect more of them will expect to see hospital facility managers utilizing mobile access to their building floor plans during the survey, and PlanGrid is perfect for this.,Accessing drawings on the fly. By having the PDFs readily available, you don't have to worry about internet connection issues or lagging issues by going to your plans on a website. Being able to measure suite sizes, mark issues etc right on the iPad while out in field, instead of carrying a note pad.,PlanGrid has been focused on design & construction; I'd like to see more focus on user-friendly features (and marketing) to those of use MAINTAINING those facilities once they are built. We met with rep from PlanGrid last summer here in our office and listed some features we'd like to see included eventually. We were told she would take these notes home to the development team, but no one ever followed up with us for more details or to give us an update. PlanGrid missed a huge opportunity to market itself to healthcare facilities (where the need for such a product is increasing constantly) by not having a booth or presence at the national ASHE (Healthcare Engineering) conference. Many companies with similar technology were there; I was disappointed PlanGrid was not.,9,9,It helped us "wow" a joint commission survey in 2016 and have a successful survey because he loved how we could access plans on an iPad, check suite sizes, and didn't have to carry around huge, heavy sets of life safety plans.PlanGrid is a No-Brainer for Construction ProductivityWe use PlanGrid in our construction division - mostly Project Managers, Project Engineers and Foreman. We use it to update drawings to the field to ensure they have the latest plans. The biggest issue it addresses in making sure the field has the latest drawings, easily referencing past drawings, and a tool for communication between the office and the field. Prior to PlanGrid, there were many instances where architectural or owner updates were not communicated to field efficiently and a lot of time was spent either slip-sheeting or updating paper binders of changes, resulting in re-work and lost time/money.,Organize plans and reference past drawing sets. Communicate with the field. Make sure the field has the latest plans. Link architectural or owner changes (by way of attachments) on the drawings so the field has the latest changes (vs previous paper model where RFI's were stuck in a binder somewhere and stuff got missed). Post submittals and schedules so the field has everything they need in one place.,We are an electrical firm. I would love to specify which drawings to view first in a whole set of drawings. Currently I label E1.0 to "_E1.0" so it will be up top, but update the drawings with the latest set means I need to manually add the "_" in front which is a pain. Quick count. Turn off specific markups, organized by date. I think you can do this on web but haven't been able to do on iPad. Send an email summary of changes to the team so the field (who often does not refresh PlanGrid on a regular basis) knows that there has been an update.,10,10,Save paper but more importantly time. I can upload the latest drawings and don't have to send it out to the printer, only to find out weeks later the plans never got delivered and they are still building off of the old set. A quick way to mark up changes to the drawings and "push to master" so whole team can view and track The field adoption has been quick. There are still a few old-school Foreman who don't want to use it but most love it. The cost of equipment can pay for itself by reducing paper and by reducing re-work due to design changes.,Procore and Bluebeam RevuIncreased production and profitability with minimal effortPlanGrid is currently being used within our company to deliver up to date plans, specifications, and addendum between our office an supervisors in the field. We currently have three subscriptions of PlanGrid. One large subscription (5000 pages) for the main office to upload all documents for ongoing projects, and two smaller subscriptions (500 pages) that are utilized by our in field staff. The in field staff manages their downloads based on the projects they will be on over the next few weeks. PlanGrid has greatly reduced the time it takes to get accurate information from our estimating/project management staff out to our field staff, and eliminated costly errors generated from working off old project documents. In addition it helps keep the office staff aware of any issues on site during the course of our daily operations. The foreman is able to send RFI's, document damaged or incorrect work, and provide daily as built markups so adjustments to scheduling can be made as required.,PlanGrid gives us the ability to maintain the most current set of drawings for a project. When plans change the user still has the ability to review the old version to determine where and why something has changed. PlanGrid lets the user include PDF documents for the project without using up the number of sheets in the subsctiption. This allows us to provide the field staff with specifications, addendum write-ups, and other internal documents our company uses to make sure things are done correctly the first time. PlanGrid allows our users in the field to submit RFI's, document issues, scale drawings, and provide daily markups of the work completed. This keeps our office staff informed of what is going on in the field and make adjustments to increase productivity and profitability.,PlanGrid lacks in the scaling/measuring of plans. We would like to see an improvement in setting up the scale for a sheet and make it easier to measure in ways other than a straight line. I would like to see PlanGrids sheet recognition improve when uploading plan sheets. Sometimes it picks up the plan number and title, but not consistently.,10,10,The use of PlanGrid has cut down on our printing cost for plan documents. We can now upload the most current set of plans and instantly have it distributed to our entire team without needing several paper copies. With the ability to upload blueprints, specifications, and other project documents on PlanGrid we not longer have to worry about everyone within our company having the most up to date documents. The ability to document issues and submit RFI's via the app has cut down on our turnaround time for submitting pricing adjustments. Plus the general contractor is always happy to see supporting documentation for these requested pricing adjustments.,
Unspecified
PlanGrid
108 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
TRScore

PlanGrid Reviews

PlanGrid
108 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 108 vetted PlanGrid reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 51)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 13, 2018

PlanGrid: "Drawing Storage & Mobile Solution Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses PlanGrid for a mobile plan and specification sharing platform. It has been the easiest to use for storing plans, updating them with current drawings and being able to share them via the mobile app with our field staff.
  • Their upload process is fast.
  • The takeoff and markup tools work very well.
  • The mobile application works very well.
  • The price point for sharing between employees is missing a level I feel...between the free and the next level version.
  • More integrations with other project management platforms would be great.
Smaller companies it may not be good for simply due to the cost of it. Otherwise, a company that has multiple teams of project managers, engineers, and foreman. this is a great platform for.
Read this authenticated review
August 24, 2017

User Review: "PlanGrid for subcontractors"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using plangrid company wide for about 2 years now as a solution to document distribution issues. We offer access to the plangrid software to anyone willing to use it, it is our best resource for ensuring our entire team is up to date with the latest drawings available.
  • Plangrid is still the quickest PDF reader on the market. It's the only app that keeps pace with our industry.
  • The unlimited storage of attachments means that on projects where the number of RFIs can often reach into the hundreds, we never have to make a decision regarding which documents to share with the field.
  • The simple to use tools, such as quick document mark-up and photo capture have made generating RFIs simpler than ever before.
  • It'd be nice to have access to upload and edit documents from the app. Only for certain users.
  • A small business billing option that addresses multiple users of a single account would make managing access simpler. Being able to load unlimited sheets, but only access a specific limit on your team's devices.
  • Allow users to integrate their own RFI templates into the app, so RFIs can be generated in your own format right from the field, immediately ready to ship.
Plangrid is an excellent document sharing software within your internal team, but it does not serve as a full document management software similar to Procore. It is top notch for viewing and working with drawings, but is no use for distributing drawings for bidding or other purposes.
Read James Nolan's full review
August 18, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Great resource for hospital facilities staff; perfect way to access & verify Life Safety drawings & features in the field!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use PlanGrid in the hospital facilities maintenance world regularly to view our life safety drawings and confirm the integrity of fire and smoke barriers, etc., during environmental rounds, and to note any life safety deficiencies found during weekly rounds or unscheduled inspections. We are also able to check the size of suites and smoke compartments while in the field, and to capture any changes in life safety features (due to remodels., etc) so our LS plans are updated accordingly.

We used PlanGrid on an iPad while walking portions of our 6m S.F. academic health center campus during our most recent joint commission survey, and the LS code surveyor loved it! Carrying one iPad where we had everything he might ask for at our fingertips sure beat carrying around 4 or 5 sets of LS drawings, some of which have up to 40 pages!

Now that joint commission engineers (LS surveyors) are being forced into the digital age and utilizing tech more, I expect more of them will expect to see hospital facility managers utilizing mobile access to their building floor plans during the survey, and PlanGrid is perfect for this.

  • Accessing drawings on the fly. By having the PDFs readily available, you don't have to worry about internet connection issues or lagging issues by going to your plans on a website.
  • Being able to measure suite sizes, mark issues etc right on the iPad while out in field, instead of carrying a note pad.
  • PlanGrid has been focused on design & construction; I'd like to see more focus on user-friendly features (and marketing) to those of use MAINTAINING those facilities once they are built.
  • We met with rep from PlanGrid last summer here in our office and listed some features we'd like to see included eventually. We were told she would take these notes home to the development team, but no one ever followed up with us for more details or to give us an update.
  • PlanGrid missed a huge opportunity to market itself to healthcare facilities (where the need for such a product is increasing constantly) by not having a booth or presence at the national ASHE (Healthcare Engineering) conference. Many companies with similar technology were there; I was disappointed PlanGrid was not.
Great for hospital facilities team members who need to access Life Safety (LS) drawings - and document deficiencies - in the field!
Read Melissa McCain's full review
August 16, 2017

Review: "PlanGrid is a No-Brainer for Construction Productivity"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PlanGrid in our construction division - mostly Project Managers, Project Engineers and Foreman. We use it to update drawings to the field to ensure they have the latest plans. The biggest issue it addresses in making sure the field has the latest drawings, easily referencing past drawings, and a tool for communication between the office and the field. Prior to PlanGrid, there were many instances where architectural or owner updates were not communicated to field efficiently and a lot of time was spent either slip-sheeting or updating paper binders of changes, resulting in re-work and lost time/money.
  • Organize plans and reference past drawing sets.
  • Communicate with the field.
  • Make sure the field has the latest plans.
  • Link architectural or owner changes (by way of attachments) on the drawings so the field has the latest changes (vs previous paper model where RFI's were stuck in a binder somewhere and stuff got missed).
  • Post submittals and schedules so the field has everything they need in one place.
  • We are an electrical firm. I would love to specify which drawings to view first in a whole set of drawings. Currently I label E1.0 to "_E1.0" so it will be up top, but update the drawings with the latest set means I need to manually add the "_" in front which is a pain.
  • Quick count.
  • Turn off specific markups, organized by date. I think you can do this on web but haven't been able to do on iPad.
  • Send an email summary of changes to the team so the field (who often does not refresh PlanGrid on a regular basis) knows that there has been an update.
I am always able to tell the field "update your plangrid" to make sure they are viewing the latest. This is critical so they are building the correct thing. Fixing mistakes is a waste of time and money. I believe one paper full-sized set is useful on the jobsite at the start for coordination and planning, then the iPad can be used for capturing changes or zeroing in on particular issues. I have found it incredibly useful when walking the jobsite and coordination questions come up from other trades. I am able to view their drawings and resolve the issue right there. The "big picture" is still hard to get using PlanGrid on a standard iPad. Perhaps the iPad Pro would help but not sure this is necessary in most cases. We have also gotten Apple TV's for the trailer and it is incredibly useful for viewing plans on the big screen from your iPad for coordination.
Read Kara Hermann, PE, LEED AP's full review
August 16, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Increased production and profitability with minimal effort"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is currently being used within our company to deliver up to date plans, specifications, and addendum between our office an supervisors in the field. We currently have three subscriptions of PlanGrid. One large subscription (5000 pages) for the main office to upload all documents for ongoing projects, and two smaller subscriptions (500 pages) that are utilized by our in field staff. The in field staff manages their downloads based on the projects they will be on over the next few weeks. PlanGrid has greatly reduced the time it takes to get accurate information from our estimating/project management staff out to our field staff, and eliminated costly errors generated from working off old project documents. In addition it helps keep the office staff aware of any issues on site during the course of our daily operations. The foreman is able to send RFI's, document damaged or incorrect work, and provide daily as built markups so adjustments to scheduling can be made as required.
  • PlanGrid gives us the ability to maintain the most current set of drawings for a project. When plans change the user still has the ability to review the old version to determine where and why something has changed.
  • PlanGrid lets the user include PDF documents for the project without using up the number of sheets in the subsctiption. This allows us to provide the field staff with specifications, addendum write-ups, and other internal documents our company uses to make sure things are done correctly the first time.
  • PlanGrid allows our users in the field to submit RFI's, document issues, scale drawings, and provide daily markups of the work completed. This keeps our office staff informed of what is going on in the field and make adjustments to increase productivity and profitability.
  • PlanGrid lacks in the scaling/measuring of plans. We would like to see an improvement in setting up the scale for a sheet and make it easier to measure in ways other than a straight line.
  • I would like to see PlanGrids sheet recognition improve when uploading plan sheets. Sometimes it picks up the plan number and title, but not consistently.
PlanGrid is a useful tool for contractors both small and large. It is easy to use and helps with production and profitability.
Read Brandon Zahrt's full review
August 16, 2017

Review: "PlanGrid: The best tool in a Superintendent's Tool Bag."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Our company is using PlanGrid nation-wide.

We use it on our iPads to document changes, show RFI's, do existing conditions reports, and help subcontractors with layout.

We keep all the submittals as attachments so you always have everything you need right in your hand at any time. It makes it so much easier to cross reference drawing and items such as Millwork shop drawings or Appliance Submittals to verify clearances. It's one of the best tools we have in the field.

  • It's great for Layout because you can get measurements with the scaling tool then have Architects verify on Layout approval.
  • Using it to store all the submittals and ASK's from everyone is really useful when you're walking around and want to be able to verify that something is going to fit or make sure needed clearances are being meet.
  • Best tool for doing existing conditions report because you can mark right on the drawings where there is a problem and even take pictures to prove the existing damage and its all kept together.
  • Overall it make my day a lot easier.
  • I would like to be able to save a page as an update without having to keep everything on the original plan.
Overall it's the best tool we have in the field. It saves time and makes it easier to show subcontractors where there may be problems that needs to be addressed without fumbling through a lot of drawings and submittals.
Read Rick Crouch's full review
August 25, 2017

User Review: "A PM's take on PlanGrid"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize PlanGrid to streamline the punch list process. PlanGrid allows multiple users to contribute to the punch list without a lengthy process to compile the results. Being able to take a picture of the issue and have it instantly attached to the note regarding the issue is helpful. As the contractor completes the items the list is updated and a current report can be issued at any time to update the team of the progress.
  • Compile punch list items from multiple team members.
  • Create reports on the current status.
  • Visual documentation of the issues.
  • Easily group like issues in order to distribute to sub-contractors.
  • Filtering
  • Moving items to different sheets after the fact
  • Options to condense reports
  • When there is a team working on a project.
  • The ability to have 5 people add items at 5 different times, and still be able to create a report without having to collate 5 different reports is great.
Read Chip Stadnyck, AIA's full review
August 25, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "More bang for the buck"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this in project management, field supervision and estimating. This addresses real-time information gathering, such as built drawings, photo records, the RFI process, to name a few. We are able to review previous changes to drawings and compare these to current. We can take photos of issues and email them directly to the engineer, architect, owner, and construction manager, for quicker response.
  • Real-time, cloud based project data - keeps everyone on the same page
  • Photo history allowing issues, concerns and documentation of conditions for owner
  • Easy to navigate site, able to be used on multiple platforms from mobile (IOS or Android), desktop or web based
  • RFI format
  • Adding a pricing request log
  • More detail on punch list
It's great for the mobile QC individual. He can use an iPad for instant access for all projects; not having to unroll and carry 20 to 30 sets of drawings and spec books. Keeps everyone working off the same set of drawings and easy to update. Photos of existing conditions and problems can be quickly documented and emailed out.
Read Les Yager's full review
August 24, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Solid Product, Wouldn't Manage a job Without it"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plangrid is being used on a project-by-project basis. We use it as our primary document control protocol, for rolling completion lists, punchlists, owner update reports, QC and sub coordination.
  • Plan sheet organization, renderings speed and image quality in the field are all great.
  • UI is simple, attractive and easy for users of most experience levels.
  • Slipsheeting, updating or changing drawings is easy and effective.
  • Photo quality in printed reports is low. If markups or dimensions are made on an image within the system it's oftentimes difficult to see once printed.
  • Clouding and markups sometimes obstruct you from seeing the actual drawing. Clouds for instance, grow and shrink when zooming. This makes sense, but sometimes on sheets with a large number of markups, when you zoom out it's just a mess of illegible bulky clouds/bubbles.
I've yet to manage a project and not used plangrid (in the last 5/6 years).
Read Brett Thompson's full review
August 24, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Top notch construction document organization program"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plangrid is strictly used by the development department, in connection with our architect, and general contractor. We upload everything from the plans and plan revisions to RFIs and schedules. It is extremely convenient and makes everything readily accessible on the tablet or phone while on the job site. It is great for punch walks as you to dictate detailed notes along with photos of the exact location. Then once you are complete you hit print and the list is ready to send. There is no delay in waiting for a punch list to be transposed. Subs are able to mobilize immediately to complete their tasks.
  • Convenience- Gone are the days when you had to take the time to walk back to the job site trailer before being able to review the plans. Now every plan in detail is available on your tablet or right in your pocket on your phone.
  • Construction documents- All construction documents can be stored on plan grid making it easier than in the past when you had to haul around a set of plans and a binder full of all changes and RFIs.
  • All notes, needed corrections, and issues can be documented directly on PlanGrid and seen by everyone with access.
  • Not extremely user-friendly. At times it is difficult to figure out how to print, access certain applications, etc.
Plangrid is well suited for plan accessibility and Punch walks.
Plangrid is less suited when you would like to share a specific detail or plan sheet.
Read Bryan Musgrove's full review
August 24, 2017

User Review: "PlanGrid is the bomb!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plangrid is used for construction projects across the construction planning and design department within facilities. It is also used to note deficiencies during different inspections. It addresses being able to use it on the fly to note items that are deficient.
  • You can use the default buttons to note deficiencies or you have the option to make your own buttons.
  • It's easy to load and sync dwgs.
  • The reports that PlanGrid makes are very well suited to what I use it for.
  • It lacks the ability to delete buttons in one action. If I have a sheet that has multiple buttons on it but things have been resolved and I want a fresh sheet, I have to individually delete all of the buttons. Time consuming task.

PlanGrid is well suited for sharing of projects between team members as well as using it to make notation for inspections.

I don't know any scenarios where it would be less appropriate.

Read Holly Hudson's full review
August 24, 2017

User Review: "Best Package for Project, PlanGrid."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using PlanGrid for all of our large projects that we are running in our service/special projects department. The biggest item addressed by PlanGrid for us is that we can instantly download the drawings to PlanGrid and our foreman have at their finger tips the most up to date set of drawings without us ever having to print out a set and have the foreman run to our office to pick up these drawings wasting time and money. We will have the set of paper drawings sitting in our offices until the foreman need to make a specific trip to our office then we can turn over to them.
  • Foreman have access to drawings on their iPads or laptops instantly.
  • As drawings are updated the most current drawing is always the first drawing foreman see.
  • Keeps us GREEN since we don't need to print out large sets of drawings.
  • Love it as it is currently so anything you do to make it better only makes it better for us.
If general you are working with us on PlanGrid then every time a new drawing or RFI is uploaded we are notified of these changes through PlanGrid's site.
Read Ron Glunt's full review
August 17, 2017

Review: "PlanGrid is the Michael Jordan of Construction Apps. It's simply the best."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PlanGrid for organizing our projects as they are constructed. We keep all drawings, RFI responses, Shop Drawings, and other documents in PlanGrid for easy access while at the jobsite. The ability to have all of these documents in one place makes things so much easier and more efficient compared to the old days of lugging around rolls of drawings and books full of paperwork. We also use PlanGrid for generating punch lists and tracking their completion.
  • Punchlists. I have not found another product that is as simple to use for punchlists.
  • Drawings, including updated versions of sheets. It's great to be able to simply swipe down on a sheet and see the older version(s) of the sheets.
  • Sheet comparisons are good and getting better. It's nice to be able to simply overlay different versions of sheets and clearly see what has changed.
  • More customization for punchlists would be appreciated. The ability to add the company logo and creating lists were nice additions to help the process. However it would be nice to be able to select items created by more than one person in the filters.
PlanGrid is great for punchlists. We also use it for generating reports of existing conditions on renovation projects. Its not really tailored to that type of use but is flexible enough that we have made it work. There is another product that we also use for documenting existing conditions that works better in the field, but the reports are not as good.
Read Tad Rivenbark's full review
August 16, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Best drawing handler!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We began using Plangrid 3 years ago, when we did work for Deangelis Diamond. It was a great tool to access drawings and make notes on the drawings. However, six months ago our company decided to move to Procore, which is the platform we are using now.
  • Fast opening drawings
  • Compare sheets
  • Better annotations tools
  • Drawing tools similar to autocad
  • Better OCR for uploading sheets (titles)
Plangrid is a great tool, a must have. You have your drawings with you at all times and can collaborate from anywhere.
Read Alexis Hernandez, BSME, PE's full review
August 16, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Save time and communication in comprehending construction drawings."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PlanGrid to estimate projects. PlanGrid allows us to quickly review the drawings for a quicker and accurate understanding of the scope of work. We also use it for project management once we have a contract on a project. This allows for communication within our company, RFI's with the engineer, owner and pertinent information in the field.
  • One of the best features is being able to hyperlink from a section drawing to a specific detail on another sheet. This is done by clicking on the detail and hyper linking to the specific detail.
  • We are able to keep records of all revised drawings on a project to track changes based on changes to a specific drawing.
  • While setting up the drawings, we can only use the drawings pertinent to our trade so the field can effortless look at information only viable to them for effective understanding of the scope.
  • PlanGrid would be more helpful if it had additional places to store documents related to the project but not just related to the drawings allowing a more complete management tool.
PlanGrid is most suited for anyone that requires quick evaluation of a set of drawings. PlanGrid will speed up the review time allowing more time spent on comprehending the drawings versus scrolling from page to page.
Read Courtney Masters's full review
August 16, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Must-have app for construction professionals"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Plangrid mostly on-site for review construction process and prepare reports, across all the company departments. It allows to coordinate between disciplines and different plan versions easily and with access to the current project info
  • Prepare punch-list reports
  • Administrate and compare different plan versions
  • Document the project photographically in relation to plans
  • Annotate and draw on plans, include undo option and add a note layer
  • Allow users to generate reports from iPad app
  • The annotate photo option should be made easier, part of the photo taking process and not as an additional step.
Easy accessibility of plans on-site. There's a clear identification of the different versions of the plans and the tool to compare the differences between versions is greatly implemented and easy to interpret. The generation of the reports is easy and the report format is very clear, but improvements should be made in the web app to avoid jumping between punch-list review and punch-list list. You should be able to generate punch-list reports from iPad app. The annotate on plan options should be improved, it's difficult to draw directly on plan to clarify a detail or to make a modification.
Read Alvaro Flores's full review
August 16, 2017

User Review: "PlanGrid the time saver"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use plangrid many different ways in our office. Our production staff and sales staff use it for meetings. We download the drawings using plangrid and then use it to take notes right on the plans during meetings with clients. Our construction administration staff use plangrid for site observations. The speed at which you can move through the drawings makes it ideal for what we do.
  • The speed at which you can move through the drawings and zoom in and out is amazing.
  • You can customize the punch lists for what your company standards are. This is great for doing observations and making reports standardized through out the company.
  • The sharing of the same job between multiple individuals is great.
  • There is nothing that I would say they need to improve. If I have an idea, they usually try to get it incorporated if multiple individuals request it.
Anytime I go to a job site, I tell them about plangrid if they are not using it. I have about 4 construction companies that started using plangrid after I introduced it to them.
Read Brock Shepard, P.E. (TX)'s full review
August 24, 2017

"PlanGrid review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is being used throughout our department to help manage jobs and projects of varying sizes. It helps us with keep up to date with each project from the management team to the field employees who are installing the work. As-builts are much easier to keep up to date and by saving on paperwork with submittals, etc. it has been a real bonus.
  • Being able to include submittals and any other documentation as an attachment either per sheet or per project on 1 device is a lifesaver.
  • Marking up drawings for review between everyone involved is a very nice feature.
  • Having all of your projects at the touch of a finger through an iPad is awesome. The whole system is a time saver.
  • I would like to see it be better at scaling measurements, I feel there is plenty of room for improvement.
PlanGrid is well suited for being used to manage information between everyone involved with the project.
Read Daniel Young's full review
August 22, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Work Smarter Not Harder"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is currently being used by our organization our department and across the whole organization. It helps with preventing mistakes out in the work field. It helps with communication as well.
  • PlanGrid helps save time and most importantly helps provide quality production.
  • With this tool communication is much better across our organization.
  • PlanGrid is very user-friendly.
  • At the moment, I haven't encountered any areas where PlanGrid has given me difficulties.
PlanGrid helps our organization stay on the same page.
Read Victor Montes's full review
August 18, 2017

User Review: "PlanGrid - A Good Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is being used across the whole organization. We are electrical contractors and PlanGrid is used by all our employees in every project in order to keep track of all the changes made by the architects or other specialties. It is a very useful tool for connecting people from all over the country.
  • Red lines and changes.
  • Attaching pictures showing different existing situations.
  • Attaching change orders to the projects.
  • Copy and paste functions are difficult to use for using Plan Grid on the computer
  • Drawing lines would be a good feature.
  • Changing font text will be nice.
PlanGrid is well-suited for bringing a project in front of the entire team even if they are in totally different places or they use different equipment for using PlanGrid (Computers, Tablets, or Smart Phones). Less suited when multiple people make changes on the same drawings and there are not too many ways to differentiate them.
Read Alex Zotescu, PE, LEED GA's full review
August 18, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Useful Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At KV Workspace, we use PlanGrid when installing our product in the field. It enables our field employees to have immediate access to all of the drawings and communicate quickly and clearly with headquarters. We also use the reports to communicate with the client on status.
  • It is extremely easy to use.
  • Functions are well organized.
  • The ability to pinpoint on the drawing [to] any problems is invaluable.
  • It would be better if I could create my own standards and reuse them for each project.
  • The self-paced instructions are a little hard to use.
This program is very well suited for the furniture industry! I was really shocked at how relevant it really is.
Read Holly Tyrney's full review
August 16, 2017

"PlanGrid Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hello, my name is Marty Verduzco and I'm a Senior Project Manager at Egan Company. We use PlanGrid on a daily basis for our construction projects, which includes plan and spec, design build and even our estimates. We always have most current documents and have access to multiple project at your fingertips either in the office or on the road. PlanGrid is used by our whole company on all types of devices.
  • The compare sheet is amazing. I used to have to use a light table on some projects.
  • Revision control is amazing.
  • Very easy to use for all types of people.
  • The document section of PlanGrid could be easier to use. Sometimes it's difficult to find what you are looking for.
I use PlanGrid for all my construction projects. I cannot think of scenario where you wouldn't use PlanGrid. I highly recommend and will continue to use.
Read Martin Verduzco's full review
August 16, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Construction Bias"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PlanGrid is used throughout our company and provides the latest and updated plans and documents so we can complete tasks in a timely manner without redundancy and confusion as to which direction we are taking.
  • Keeps documentation and plans in one place.
  • Keeps plans updated and shows when they were changed or added.
  • They are continually updated and current.
  • I would like to use as punch list creator but haven't had time to research all aspects.
It is easy to email pages to outside subs or potential subs with a PDF attachment to clarify intent even if they do not have plangrid. I have used plangrid to send details of plans to specialty subcontractors who don't have plans or plangrid, to get quotes or clarify scopes.
Read Laron Livsey's full review
August 16, 2017

PlanGrid: "Easy Field Review of Plans"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use PlanGrid to view project plans on my iPad Pro at job sites. I often have the only current plans on hand when there are questions. More and more, Project Superintendents have out-of-date paper sets (sometimes Owners won't let Superintendents have the current set because it is not formally permitted yet - but that is what we are building in the field). I'll fault Cities and Counties as much as Owners, because most still require paper sets for permitting and approvals - and probably at job trailers too. Maybe you target municipalities and their massive plan rooms full of giant file drawers (I haven't had a plan file drawer for about 15 years now - and no plotter for about 5 years). Just make sure that PDF is the standard - don't let CAD enter into any municipal requirements. Thanks and good luck.
  • Easy navigation between plan sheets - even while walking a job site with no table.
  • Great zooming for review in the field.
  • Loading and deleting plan sets can be confusing and time-consuming.
  • Deleting plans or plan sets is difficult - I do it infrequently enough that I have a hard time finding what to click on.
Field review of plans in the field is great.

Read Paul Deering's full review
August 16, 2017

PlanGrid Review: "Timesaver"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plangrid is being used across the company. Key elements of PlanGrid for me are ease of use, organization, updates, and the ability to maneuver through the plans from detail to detail. Time savings is addressed very well by implementing PlanGrid subcontractor wide on projects. We are all looking at the same page.
  • User friendly, from a classroom training for PlanGrid to the PlanGrid videos online to help something forgotten or learn something new.
  • However spending time using PlanGrid one can pick up on quite a few "tricks."
  • Punchlist with PlanGrid is great, taking pictures and putting them right on the floor plan is easy, and eliminates wasted time searching what room what picture went with. You can also note that it is a completed item for tracking.
  • PlanGrid is great for running around the job site with an iPad and getting needed information from the plans on the spot, makes answering questions a lot easier and faster during these busy days.
  • PlanGrid is one of 3 apps I have used, I honestly cringe thinking about the other two apps. I think PlanGrid does a great job trying to improve themselves, I don't know what I could add.
Great for all sized projects, great for punchlist tracking. A great app to get all team members on, eliminating the errors caused by looking at non current drawings, or not receiving the updated version via email junk file location errors.
Read Jerry Rasmussen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (39)
8.5
Plan markups & sharing (39)
8.1
Issue tracking & punchlists (35)
8.5
Photo documentation (33)
8.4
Jobsite reports (22)
7.2
Document sharing (38)
8.0
RFI tools (24)
7.6
Collaboration & approvals (28)
7.3
As-built drawings (27)
7.7
Mobile app (38)
8.4

About PlanGrid

PlanGrid is construction productivity software used on more than 500,000 projects around the world. The company provides contractors and owners in all construction verticals the tools to collaborate effectively and collect and manage project information throughout the project’s construction and operations lifespan.

PlanGrid aims to increase team productivity by: streamlining document management and control, providing collaborators with easy access to all project information from any device, and enabling seamless collaboration. This leads to building the most comprehensive record set for the entire construction and operations lifecycle and consistently delivering on time and on budget.

Categories:  Construction

PlanGrid Features

Construction Productivity Features
Has featurePlan distribution & viewing
Has featurePlan markups & sharing
Has featureDocument sharing
Has featureIssue tracking & punchlists
Has featurePhoto documentation
Has featureJobsite reports
Has featureRFI tools
Has featureCollaboration & approvals
Has featureAs-built drawings
Has featureMobile app

PlanGrid Screenshots

PlanGrid Integrations

Box, CMiC Project Management, Dropbox, Egnyte, eSUB Construction Software, Google Drive, EarthCam, Kahua, Pavia Systems, RedTeam Software, Drononomy

PlanGrid Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Nailgun$39user per month
Dozer$59user per month
Crane$119user per month

PlanGrid Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

PlanGrid Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Finnish, Hungarian, Italian, Chinese, Korean, Polish, Swedish