Ion, by Rock Content

Ion, by Rock Content

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.8 out of 100
Ion, by Rock Content

Overview

Recent Reviews

An absolute must!

10 out of 10
July 26, 2021
ion interactive may be the most underrated marketing tool in existence. If you run an online business, you owe it to yourself to use this …
Continue reading

Easy To Use

8 out of 10
September 11, 2019
Ion Interactive is being used to support our journals and Sales department.
Continue reading

ION - Landing Page Solution

7 out of 10
July 23, 2019
ion is being used as our primary landing page development and publishing tool. ion addressed the need for a turnkey solution requiring few …
Continue reading

Great content marketing tool

8 out of 10
July 23, 2019
We use Ion Interactive to create personalized, interactive landing pages for marketing and demand generation. Since adopting ion, we have …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 12 features

Embedded CTAs (108)

10.0
100%

Forms / Gated content (107)

9.9
99%

Content performance analytics (116)

9.8
98%

Campaign optimization dashboard (107)

9.8
98%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Ion, by Rock Content, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Managed Services + SaaS

Custom

Cloud
per year

Entry-level set up fee?

  • $5,500 per customerOptional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://ion.rockcontent.com/platform/pr…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Content Creation

7.5
75%

Content Publishing

8.6
86%

Content Reporting & Analytics

8.4
84%

Product Details

What is Ion, by Rock Content?

Ion is an enterprise-grade content experience platform that empowers modern marketers and designers to create no-code interactive content experiences integrated with their CRM or marketing automation tools. Ion helps enterprises to build brand awareness and increase conversions and lead generation enriching their contact database with declared, high intent data. Ion helps brands launch quizzes, ROI calculators, assessments, interactive infographics, and other interactive formats in just a few hours.

Marketers can start from a blank canvas, use fully-responsive Quick Start templates, or leverage Rock Content's professional services team to plan, create, and launch their own branded content experiences.

Interactive content increases brand awareness by encouraging users to actively engage with the content. Each engagement provides insights into audience behavior by collecting rich, first-party data from interactions and effectively driving users through the buyer journey.

CONTENT FORMATS

• Assessments
• Calculators
• Interactive White Papers
• Landing Pages & Microsites
• Lookbooks & Tours
• Interactive eBooks
• Interactive Infographics
• Solution Finders
• Resource Libraries
• Configurators
• Quizzes
• Fully Responsive Quick Start Templates

Ion, by Rock Content Features

Content Creation Features

  • Supported: Ideation
  • Supported: Content collaboration

Content Publishing Features

  • Supported: Content hub
  • Supported: Forms / Gated content
  • Supported: Embedded CTAs
  • Supported: Content distribution
  • Supported: Content promotion
  • Supported: Content automation

Content Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Audience profiling and targeting
  • Supported: Closed-loop tracking and reporting
  • Supported: Content performance analytics
  • Supported: Campaign optimization dashboard
  • Supported: Page-level engagement analytics

Additional Features

  • Supported: A/B Testing

Ion, by Rock Content Screenshots

ion empowers your other marketing technologies to deliver higher fidelity, data-driven scoring, targeting, segmentation and personalization.The types of interactive experiences the ion platform can create is near-endless. These are the most common types used by our customers: Assessments, Calculators, eBooks, Interactive Infographics, Interactive White Papers, Landing Pages, Lookbooks, Quizzes, Resource Library, Solution Finder.See what our customers are saying about our platform and services!Starting at $2,000 per month, you get an unlimited, scalable interactive content platform with our full feature set. Including: Unlimited experiences, unlimited use of Quick Starts, Unlimited Seats/Users, Unlimited A/B/n Testing, Unlimited Sell-Side Experiences, Unlimited Phone, email & chat support, unlimited analytics... PLUS a FREE custom-branded theme that can be applied to all of your experiences.You have the option to start from a template or entirely from scratch. Our Quick Start template library includes more than 100 fully tested, responsive and flexible interactive experiences you can brand, customize and launch.ion is the only interactive content platform that provides the scalable foundation to grow from one interactive experience to one thousand interactive experiences. With ion, interactive content development complexity, long timelines, high costs and maintenance problems are replaced with freedom and agility.ion provides a full range of services to expand your bandwidth and get you the results you need without blowing your budget, calendar or hours in the day. Our award-winning work takes full advantage of our platform and experience.ion interactive enables digital marketers to generate real business results from their content. Using ion's agile, developer-free platform and services programs, hundreds of leading brands generate, qualify and deeply profile more leads with interactive content. Data-driven experiences like calculators, assessments, report cards, quizzes, interactive infographics, lookbooks, interactive white papers, configurators and more — are all created, launched and tested without development resources.

Ion, by Rock Content Videos

Ion, by Rock Content Downloadables

Ion, by Rock Content Integrations

Ion, by Rock Content Competitors

Ion, by Rock Content Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)40%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)60%

Ion, by Rock Content Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Ion, by Rock Content's best feature?

Reviewers rate Embedded CTAs highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Ion, by Rock Content?

The most common users of Ion, by Rock Content are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Marketing & Advertising industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 135)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
July 26, 2021

An absolute must!

Kelly Saux | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ion interactive may be the most underrated marketing tool in existence. If you run an online business, you owe it to yourself to use this tool. ion interactive is the most flexible page builder and A/B testing platform. We operate our e-commerce in a best in class platform (Demandware), but when it comes to quickly launching A/B tests, ion interactive is the place we do all our testing. It's an advanced platform, which is fully responsive and allows us to easily iterate without any developer support. It's a tool any tech-savvy marketer can take advantage of to create complex experiences with conditional logic, dynamic substitutions, cohesive branding, widgets, data flow to your analytical tools or ESP, etc. If there was only one tool I could purchase to grow my business, ion interactive is the one I would choose without blinking.
  • Flexibility, Analytics, Always improving the platform
  • integrated heat mapping tool
Direct response and content marketing testing puts ion interactive at its best! It's really geared towards marketers and can easily be managed without developers. Make sure to create a solid response theme that can be applied across experiences so that you can have consistent branding.
Support has always been outstanding with Ion Interactive. I love the new chat feature for quick questions when you are working in the console building a page. The widget launches as on overlay and connects you immediately to one of Ion support team members. Very efficient. I often deal with the same support member that I've had a relationship with for 5+ years.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Two departments in the company currently use the product. We use it to design landing pages for our clients.
  • Not too difficult to use
  • Able to design landing pages through a template
  • UI is difficult to understand and not very easy to navigate through.
  • Reporting is hard to understand as well.
ION is well suited with our current needs in terms of being able to design landing pages quickly. However in cases where we want more complicated landing pages and reporting, it is not a tool that we would use.
Crystal Willett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ion is used by our marketing department to create interactive content for our prospects to engage with us on a more personal level. We want our content to stand out from the crowd and be more engaging than static marketing content.
  • The pre-loaded templates are easy to use and can get content up and active very easily.
  • The training is easy to follow online at your own pace.
  • The online chat with a live person for personal help is very useful for trouble-shooting.
  • It can be difficult to create custom content that is above and beyond the standard templates.
  • Some of the coding is not very user-intuitive to make changes to easily for formatting.
  • The content blocks can be difficult to work with when trying to copy and paste additional content. There are too many layers and it is difficult to know which layers to select.
  • The advanced features take a lot of additional training.
It's easy to create very basic content. But if you want something more custom, it can be difficult to create and takes much more advanced training. You often run into problems that need trouble shooting. The ion team is happy to help with the trouble shooting, but this is not something you can easily learn in a few hours. To make your content look good on all screen sizes and work in many complex situations can be very tricky.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The marketing department uses Ion new content creation. We use Ion to measure engagement with our content, make our content more dynamic and targeted, and improve the content we offer through A/B testing. It can be tricky to measure how well a piece of content meets our audience's needs, switching from static PDFs to Ion has been very helpful in this respect.
  • The online chat support is very well done. Every time I've had a question or hit a roadblock, the chat has answered my question quickly
  • The quick start templates are extremely helpful, especially as a starting point which are then customized.
  • I wish it was easier to access the training videos. A lot of the "how-to" information is in those videos rather than the support documents, but you have to request access to the training videos which are then only accessible within a specific timeframe.
  • Version control (which I believe is coming) and/or locking a creative would be very helpful, especially as more than 1 person edits a creative during the content creation process.
If you want to choose a quick start template and fill in the fields with your content, Ion will be fantastic for you. We've done this with whitepapers and quizzes and it's been great and extremely easy to use.

If you have an exact idea of what you want, and a background in web development, you may get frustrated. Ion has some quirks that make it tricky to fully customize - everyone once in a while I really just want to go into the HTML and make some changes, but can't.

If you are looking to reuse a piece of content for specific targeting (industry or account-specific), Ion is great. The dynamic substitutions are great and very helpful.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ion interactive is being used by a few individuals to create interactive graphics to accompany website articles.
  • Creates HTML without having to know coding
  • Animations that add interest to the static page
  • A bit confusing when laying out the page. It's sometimes hard to see where you are in the layout.
  • The interface could be improved by allowing the movement of elements in the list view, instead of just in the edit view.
ion is good for smaller projects where interactivity is desired to help drive viewers to content. It's more of a marketing tool aimed at consumers, than something that our audience of medical professionals might want to view (unless the interactivity is kept to a minimum).
September 11, 2019

Easy To Use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ion Interactive is being used to support our journals and Sales department.
  • Ease of use and flexibility.
  • Lots of support and information. Templates are a huge help.
  • It can sometimes be buggy and not consistent. You have to step away and then come back to it and the problem is gone.
The program is great as a sales tool and to generate leads. It doesn't work well as a stand-alone publishing tool if you have long content.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use ion interactive to supplement our own digital efforts. From creating sales enablement tools to interactive lead generation forms, ion's creatives have given us a lot of insights into client behavior, and generated new leads for our sales team to follow.
  • We love the thorough and thoughtful approach to new projects. The ion team can take a simple idea and turn it into a clever and efficient creative concept.
  • When projects are underway, the team is very organized and clearly lay out expectations, TAT, and requirements for things they need us to provide.
  • The creatives are able to capture a lot of data, which helps to inform choices for the next iteration.
  • The turnaround times are a little long.
  • ion has so many different types of creatives, and then so many different variations within that creative. We sometimes get decision paralysis trying to figure out which one is the best option to use.
My team handles marketing and our digital presence. Sometimes we'll have an idea for an email blast or something that we want to promote on our website. Should those promotions need to happen on a short timeframe, we may recognize that ion would have a great tool we could use, but it wouldn't be feasible.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it within our Research/Content department. We publish original content sourced from our research by way of infographics and interactive whitepapers. It is another way to engage our members and collect more information on them.
  • User-friendly
  • Engaging
  • Highly customizable
  • Create an 'undo' button on the backend
  • Create standard charts (e.g., bar, pie charts) that can be easily inserted and customized.
  • More images in the library or best practices on image sizing, etc.
Where it makes sense - using custom research to generate leads.
Where it does not make sense - when we do not have custom research or marketing support.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ion is used throughout our company to create, test, and fine-tune landing pages for dozens of clients in different verticals. Everyone uses it in some capacity. The developers focus on building pages, reviewing performance, and implementing change while the media team prefers to use it for reporting to track our performance in paid media campaigns. The largest weakness tends to be the often cumbersome reporting, but we're generally able to pull all the data we need to tell a full story.
  • Robust landing page building tool with reporting capabilities.
  • Streamlined organization when using multiple clients and campaigns.
  • Flexible build tools to make exactly what you need.
  • Cumbersome reporting.
  • Limitations with some popular CMSs (Shopify comes to mind).
  • The UI could be more user-friendly.
Large marketing agencies should absolutely be using ion. Generally speaking, any company that runs a lot of paid advertising and has campaign-specific landing pages should try ion. Not only will you be able to create high-quality landing pages quickly, but you will also be able to track performance and make changes to improve that performance.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team currently uses ion interactive to create and manage marketing landing pages for a few of our clients in support of their digital marketing campaigns. We are a team of developers who use the off-the-shelf components as well as incorporate custom solutions within ion.
  • Robust out of the box functionality.
  • The ability to customize via code.
  • Secure transfer of respondent data.
  • We've seen the loss of historical traffic data once respondent data has been cleared out of the system.
  • The limitations of the lookup tables being constrained to one lookup key value.
  • The lack of a staging or development environments to safely do testing outside of the production environment.
It's a strong solution for landing pages or small micro-sites because it has a lot of built-in functionality that is powerful. But for things like complex web applications or large corporate content websites, I don't think it's the best solution.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ion interactive is being used for the creation of interactive content to get more engagement with potential customers. The primary focus at this moment is to create white papers to inform our target group of our product. It is being used by the Marketing department to make sure the target audience will be engaged within the strategy.
  • User friendly - the software is easy to learn, understand and manage. Within a few hours you can make a complete, professional interactive page for your company.
  • Great support - usually answers within 1 working day with just the information you need.
  • Responsive design - The interactive content works on all devices, so if you would like to show it to a client on the go, you can simply pick your tablet and show the content.
  • Wide range of possibilities - The possibilities are endless. You are free to create anything imaginable within the CMS.
  • Professional look - The end product looks very presentable and professional which could fit a large organisation.
  • No 'undo'-button - this is especially a bummer if you accidentaly delete a column. You have to be on guard the entire session to avoid major mistakes you can't undo. This should definitely be implemented.
  • Sometimes the wide range of possibilities is a bit overwhelming. While the software is easy to learn, all the possibilities are devided in 5 groups that each have different content with syle, micro themes, actions, etc. It would be great to have some pre-defined settings for easier implementation.
  • Occasionally it's hard to keep the overview. Especially with complex pages, even with the 'toggle page targets' it's not that easy to easily see what you have done without previewing after every change.
If you would like more engagement with potential clients, this is the software to use. Since passive content can be dull, interactive content keeps the mind awake and is sure to keep the visitor interested. It's the next level of publishing white papers to get more engagement with your target group.
Josh Howe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ion is being used to create interactive media for our website, quizzes for the web and informative interactive eBooks to educate potential clients. It provides an easy and fast way to translate ideas in an engaging way. We love how easy it is to build and publish projects in a matter of days with this platform. This is primarily used by the marketing team to create scalable interactive products. You really don't have to worry on whether or not it will work in a specific browser - because it just works!
  • The training and support are the most important resources. If you have any questions and problems - Ion support is always there during business hours.
  • Analytics. Ion provides the ability to track everything directly in the platform so you know exactly where the user is going.
  • Ease of use. Once you complete the training, you can start right off the bat and dive right into the platform to produce new material.
  • I think that the platform could be a little more intuitive. I don't think you can jump in without the training - some areas need an explanation.
  • I can't believe that they do not have a back button! If you accidentally move something, want to try something new really quick. You can only undo if you delete something.
  • Personally, I think the interface is a little dated looking.
With the built-in quick starts - you are never far from completing a project. The micro themes make it really simple to come up with an idea and publish that idea later that afternoon. The ability to have everything templated and ready to go makes this a huge competitive advantage.
Benjamin Hale | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ion Interactive for all our landing pages. This is mainly used for the marketing department and it helps us create landing page tests and collect data to create informed decisions on what is working and what is not. The Ion Interactive tools and ability to pull in additional data from our UTMs helps us track a potential students path from click to enrollment.
  • Ion Interactive works well for data collection and management.
  • We like how this product helps us quickly duplicate landing pages and make changes on the fly.
  • We like how Ion Interactive makes it simple for both experienced and inexperienced web developers to make changes to our landing pages.
  • We wish there was an easier way to make changes without it being always on a live site, as this has caused issues with typos or mistakes.
  • Some of the landing page creation tools seem a bit dated.
  • Dashboard visuals could be updated.
Ion Interactive is well suited for making landing pages with accurate record keeping and the ability to connect to different APIs, and it can be up and running quickly. It is also great for managing and maintaining these pages to help keep track of what is working and what is not working.
Starting a live chat get's things started for our team, and they create a ticket and follow up on any issues or questions we may have. We have found that the support staff works hard to get our issues resolved. They ask good questions to make sure we are on the same page, and they seem to be informed enough on their systems to help us diagnose issues quickly. We are a big fan of their support staff.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ion is being used as our primary landing page development and publishing tool. ion addressed the need for a turnkey solution requiring few resources to develop landing pages for multiple campaign channels.
  • ion integrates with many different CRMs and other advertising tools.
  • Chat support at ion is top notch.
  • Software is relatively easy to use once you get the hang of it.
  • ion could benefit greatly from the addition of a "back" or "undo" button.
  • The ability to publish to less commonly used platforms would be great.
ion is well suited for companies that need to build out landing pages without having dedicated web developers.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ion Interactive to create personalized, interactive landing pages for marketing and demand generation. Since adopting ion, we have seen greater engagements and conversions.
  • Creating a more personalized, interactive experience for our prospects and clients
  • Helps make our content a lot more digestible and fun to read
  • Higher engagements and conversions
  • The UI makes it extremely difficult to navigate the platform.
  • No real version control option in place - if you want to make changes but need to keep older versions, I'd suggest users to clone the page and make the changes on the cloned page.
  • ion's training program only takes you so far - to become a better, more comfortable user, you need to go in and create some test pages from scratch.
ion is great for teams big and small, but because there are so many different ways you can personalize a landing page, you need time or possibly outsource design help if you do not have the bandwidth to set it up yourself.
Most issues I had were user error because of the complicated UI experience. However, no matter the support question, the team was quick to respond with support guides or a resolution.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ScibbleLive to create interactive content for our digital demand campaigns. We purchased the platform as we thought we would be able to produce the content ourselves, but the platform has proved to be more challenging for the average user. You really need to have training and some design background to build your own content. So we are not as enabled as we had hoped, however the content itself has greatly contributed to our larger content strategy. Being able to support our regional leads with cloning experiences and translating copy has also been huge, as localizing content is a big pain point for us.
  • Content options, from eBooks, quizes, microsites. Lots of options!
  • Unique tracking links and metrics to understand performance
  • Good support and training
  • Helping with setting benchmarks to understand content performance when just getting started.
  • Better on boarding and training so that teams are enabled to build their own content experiences, right now it's too complex for the average user and we need to pay Scribble to build them, which negates a key selling point for us
Perfect for a global team responsible for content at scale. This platform allows that, at a reasonable cost.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ion is being used across multiple business units in our company. A few years ago, I was the only one in the company using it. But as other marketers saw what I was able to do, quickly and inexpensively, they started hopping on board. Now our internal design department has two people devoted to creating with the ion platform. We use it for product selectors, calculators, a sales tool library, trade show lead capture, and dozens of fun social media posts that boost our SEO. It’s been a game changer for us.
  • Quick Starts make it so easy to get started.
  • Real-time updates are awesome and save a ton of wasteful process.
  • The combination of user friendliness for simple things and the flexibility to do more complex things is great.
  • Chat support is excellent and deeper-dive support has been super helpful.
  • The ability to use these tools in the cloud or embedded has given us tactic flexibility.
  • Would like to be able to copy rules and paste them in other places (pages, creatives)
  • Better advanced level training (re-watchable webcasts)
  • Ability to upload multiple fulfillments
  • Extended help hours (we're on the West coast)
I don't give 9 ratings easily. Anyone wanting greater user engagement would benefit from ion interactive. I can slap together a simple interactive tool for a social post easily. I also have a plan selector with complex logic built in that would have cost me $50k to build without ion. Now I'm able to duplicate it and make adjustments to use it for various other applications. We've created a couple dozen fun interactive tools for social posts and now we simply re-purpose them easily to create new ones frequently. I just created a new page for our website that we'll want to be fluid; so the site developers suggested we simply embed an ion tool to give us real-time flexibility. Marketers in other divisions are jealous when they see all the fun stuff we're doing--they're gradually becoming ion converts.
Maria Carver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Very useful and powerful to create online experiences such as online content, quizzes, surveys and what not. The best part is it does not require programming skills - that saves a lot of time and effort. Training material is very well documented and customer support is very helpful and has a quick turnaround.
  • Very helpful customer support.
  • No programming skills required.
  • Intuitive and interactive online experiences.
  • The undo button should be more sophisticated and visible.
  • Should be able to see the code behind things.
  • Will need time and experience to get used to the platform.
Very well suited for projects which demand interactive content, surveys, quizzes, dashboards for the management. Can be created really quick without much hassle. Templates are also very helpful to make work easy. Management really is engrossed with having such demonstrations.
Natalia Ransom | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ION Interactive was used at a company I worked for about a year ago. It was used to build interactive experiences for a number of different clients. It was utilized by the Creative Marketing department but the experiences were built for company-wide use.
  • Consistent visuals based on style guides and templates.
  • No need to involve developers.
  • Someone without a dev background can develop the interactive experience.
  • Steep learning curve.
  • Limited to what is available through templates.
  • Time consuming to create wire frames and low fidelity prototypes.
I would recommend it if there is a dedicated person on a team who can devote enough time to learn ION and stay focused on it being their primary responsibility. Implementation doesn't require a developer, but a dedicated person would suit best.
Jonathan Hodak | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Ion Interactive LiveBall in 3 different companies, all with slightly different implementations. But in the end, LiveBall excels at rapidly creating landing pages with highly dynamic content and flexibility. It is a very unique platform for creating landing pages that honestly I have yet to see another platform that can be used to create content like you can on LiveBall as quickly or easily. So all of the companies that I have worked with used LiveBall to rapidly prototype and deploy landing pages for multiple domains, multiple marketing campaigns, for reporting and analytics of those campaigns, and to keep it all in one spot.
  • Ion Interactive allows you to rapidly prototype landing pages for multiple domains and keep your marketing campaigns organized.
  • This tool allows for a lot of customization and flexibility. You can create forms for your landing pages. And do you need to connect to an API? Yep it is quick and easy. Do you need to have the submitted forms email to someone in your company? No problem. Do you need to create custom thank you pages for your campaign? It does that too. Do you need your landing page to show different content to different users based on different parameters? Once you get the hang of it, this is a breeze. Do you need to do all of these things together? It does that quickly and easily too.
  • Do you want to code sets of templates that can be re-used with just minor tweaks? This platform can take a very basic base template, and allow you to rapidly edit this template (think child themes), to be customized for each campaign and then be re-used whenever necessary.
  • The learning curve in Ion Interactive is a bit tough for some people. The support team is great and whether you are a developer or a marketer and wanting to use this platform, they will have several one on one sessions with you to get you in and get you moving. However the learning curve is a bit tough since this does work quite differently than most web platforms.
  • If you do not have a developer to create your custom themes and custom frameworks, the graphic user interface is good, but with any non-custom solution, sometimes it can limit things a little bit.
If your company has multiple domains, tons of marketing campaigns, and the desire to have highly customized content, then it is probably a very good choice. Also if your company needs for landing pages to be extremely flexible in how they function and utilize dynamic content, then this tool is definitely a strong candidate.

If you simply want to build a website, this tool really is not for that. This tool is a bit expensive, they market this only to enterprise clients for a reason!
June 27, 2018

Ion Gets It Done.

Taylor Bornstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We wanted a platform that would enable us to create bespoke interactive content in-house. While we are new customers to Ion the first round of gamified and interactive content we've crafted has been well received both internally and with our customers.

There's a lot to learn in the platform - the user interface isn't necessarily intuitive, but once you learn the ropes it all starts to come together. I also have to say, support for the Ion side has been top notch since the word go. They are always available and willing to work with us to troubleshoot any problem - from complex data migration to advice on what template would work best for a new concept.

I'm excited to see how much of an impact with can make with Ion going forward.
  • The Ion support team - both during implementation and as we've been building experiences - has been exemplary. They are always available, engaged and enthusiastic.
  • One aspect of the platform that we've loved from the beginning is the customized design template that is built into the platform. Our in-house designer particularly loves this feature as it saves her hours of time when it comes to designing individual assets. She can go in and add polish and style without having to start from scratch every time.
  • The metrics are also incredible. You can really examine and analyze them from several different angles. Automation, Content and our business lines each view the metrics from a different perspective so this has been an especially helpful feature.
  • Ion University, while stacked with a wealth of information, is difficult to navigate from a troubleshooting perspective. The tutorial videos are all very helpful, but they are also very long. Sometimes I would want to search for how to address a particular issue I was struggling with and it would be a two-minute segment buried in a 45-minute video.
  • Again, getting back the self-guidance side of things. I think a lot of the tutorials are set up in a way that makes sense to Ion, but not as much to the end user.
  • I think the controls admins use when creating new users could be a bit more straightforward.
Ion is great when you want to create an experience for your customers that is a bit more creative and hands-on. Their quizzes and assessments are particularly interesting, as the many formats make it possible for you to target different audiences with a type of content that will appeal to them.

That said, if you're looking for something very simple - say a survey to push through social channels - I might recommend something more basic that you can get done quick and dirty.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ion interactive to create fantastic landing pages that we leverage for lead generation. Through the use of its simple interface, we are able to create landing pages for our campaigns that guarantee the highest ROI possible.
  • Create landing pages fast
  • WYSIWYG Editor that allows you to add visual elements easily
  • Responsive pages for different types of devices
  • SVG's can be difficult to work with
  • Unable to export a web page HTML for use in other platforms
  • Tutorials are a bit basic to create truly stunning landing pages
Ion Interactive is very well suited for creating Landing Pages for your Paid or Social campaigns. It can also be used to create interactive infographics with relative ease and flexibility. The best way is to plan out a page as you would normally do so with wireframes, and then once it's built adding in the interactive elements that take your landing page to the next level.

It is not well suited for creating entire web pages (although it is possible).
Aubyn Scolnick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, our marketing department is using ion interactive to stand up interactive landing pages to support our lead gen campaigns. This is a great and scalable solution for us to link to different kinds of dynamic content we've produced around each campaign and organize it in a way that makes sense to the consumer.
  • I love that ion interactive autosaves. So many of these platforms leave me terrified of disconnection or closing my laptop.
  • This WYSIWYG actually works. I've yet to have a translation or code glitch.
  • Fast load times are a huge bonus, as well as mobile-optimized display.
  • The organization of the catalog leaves something to be desired. It's not very straight forward and it looks dated.
  • The editing tool can sometimes be wonky, zooming instead of opening an edit box.
  • Matching styles requires a paste to match style. From what I can tell there's not a direct button or a global style push.
As a former digital marketing manager, figuring out how to put together a landing page quickly and scalably that doesn't interfere with your website or SEO is critical. This solves that issue, allowing for ungating content for only the right audience, and having a reference point for future campaigns.
May 23, 2018

Fun with ION

Emily Pierson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses ION to up level static content into interactive experiences that drive users downloads and conversions. We find that our customers appreciate and respond better to content they can interact with. Our company designs these experiences directly on the ION platform and works with ION developers to implement a design.
  • Easy templates for our design team to work in, templates gallery to share with prospective clients.
  • A responsive and supportive team at ION.
  • Customization beyond the standard template to enhance design and responsiveness.
  • It is not obvious how or where to upload pictures and images within the template.
ION is ideal for taking static e-Books and transforming them into an interactive and engaging experience. The analytics provided by ION are what really set this platform apart from others. I would not use ION templates if the experience needs to be highly customizable or have elaborate features requiring additional development.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ion is used as our landing page and form development tool for our organization. We like this tool for its ease of use and expandability.
  • Offers templates allow us to utilize a single template to copy from and change it up with ease
  • Support is responsive with helping out to determine what we can do to expand our offering.
  • Although many times we have to pay for support to implement our changes they are very well suited to do the job.
  • The ability to copy page rules would be a nice expansion on their offerings.
  • Sometimes the small details take a long time to fix because the tool does not let you copy page rules.
  • Some of the help features are basic in nature and could be more in depth to help the individual solve their own issues.
ion is very well suited for an organization that needs to build a lot, fast by using the templates. However, changing back-end configurations is sometimes more challenging and requires you to pay support for project work.