TrustRadius
Crazy Egg is a heat map web analytics product.My view on Crazy EggIn a process of understanding user journey on the website - we have thought of seeking a help of a tool which gives complete information on heatmaps, clicks and also gives user recordings. We have tried a few tools earlier but to some point, we are not happy with the outcomes and finally, we have preferred Crazy Egg. We tested and we got it. It is used by me (marketing team) where I generate meaningful insights and deliver to sr.managers and stakeholders about how the user is performing with clear numbers. Crazy Egg addresses business issues in web marketing. The information says what are the do don'ts or what can be done better for that web page in order to engage the audience,Heatmap and scroll maps are definitely the biggest asset for Crazy Egg and this helps every marketer/business user to think a lot about the website and of course! this is the selling point for them too Confetti feature is the 2nd and yes more important feature for someone who loves to compare user data with visits on the website. One need not go web analytics tools for other information as Confetti feature does most things happen Overlay feature lets the user see clicks on every segment of the page with overall visits and LIVE visits.,Funnel analysis is definitely a missing feature and has to be initiated as users journey across pages is more important to understand and detailed view of conversion rate is important to analyze for any business user. As we live in the world of conversion rate,8,Definitely the best pick for users who would like to understand the website from the user's perspective. ROI for this tool is directly dependent on how you use the tool as there is a lot of data can be grabbed. Please don't assume that the less highlighted areas in web section are of no use or least bothered. At times even a click might convert. So understand the tool before using it and this tool is always a good ROI if used by analyst mindset,Lucky Orange and Hotjar,Google Analytics, Screaming Frog SEO Spider,7,NoCrazyEgg ReviewCrazy Egg is used by analytics and optimization department within Marketing.,Easy implementation High level, visual reports Low cost,Not enough detail in reporting. Does not have aggregate reports that are usable in decision making. Interface issues and slow updates.,7,More insight into page structure effect on user behavior. We made optimizations based on findings that affected the website conversion rate. Realized the importance of investing in a more detailed tool that provides customer feedback.,,BrowserStack, Google Analytics, OptimizelyGo crazy without getting egg in your faceWe use Crazy Egg to help direct UI and UX strategy.,I love the scroll mapping. It's a great way to gauge how visitors are interacting with our content. We use this after on page changes to look for new behavior patterns.,I'd like to see integrated A/B testing capability.,8,The low cost of Crazy Egg has proven itself worth it many times over.,TableauCrazy Egg is crazy easyCrazy Egg was used throughout our departments. From developing ongoing user engagement strategy, to initial research and discovery for overall user experience, Crazy Egg is a platform that we would use with almost every client. It's a simple platform with a low cost that can actually provide huge value for a project. The number one thing Crazy Egg allows us to do is provide quantitative data for user engagement, which previously would require qualitative feedback.,Tracking page scroll, e.g. how far users are willing to scroll down the page. Click tracking with visual heat mapping of results, identifying the most clicked on aspects of a site. Mouse tracking, to determine which aspects users may be hovering over but not clicking, or aspects that users are having a hard time finding.,The free version only allows you track a limited number of pages. Gathering statistical significance takes 30+ days, so to get actionable results you may have to run tracking software for multiple months. The data doesn't always contain context. While the data is quantitative, sometimes you have to makes assumptions about user intent. Does have the ability to slow down page load time, which is really only an issue if your site is already experiences page load speed issues.,10,Increased click through rate Better time on page Improved pages per session,Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, BrightEdgeVery powerfulCrazy Egg is a powerful suite of tools to explore users' in-page interactions. It shows clicks and scrolling activity by heatmaps and other charts. I especially enjoyed the opportunity to analyze data by segmentation: many competitors do not offer this key feature. It could be expanded with other tools like form analysis and screen recording.,data segmentation list report link analytics in Overlay report,Would like to see: form analysis, screen recording, and surveys,7,It has been useful for improving UX in clients' websites,Hotjar, Mixpanel and Kissmetrics,Hotjar, Google Analytics
Unspecified
Crazy Egg
95 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
TRScore

Crazy Egg Reviews

Crazy Egg
95 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 95 vetted Crazy Egg reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-23 of 23)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
May 24, 2018

User Review: "My view on Crazy Egg"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In a process of understanding user journey on the website - we have thought of seeking a help of a tool which gives complete information on heatmaps, clicks and also gives user recordings. We have tried a few tools earlier but to some point, we are not happy with the outcomes and finally, we have preferred Crazy Egg. We tested and we got it.

It is used by me (marketing team) where I generate meaningful insights and deliver to sr.managers and stakeholders about how the user is performing with clear numbers. Crazy Egg addresses business issues in web marketing. The information says what are the do don'ts or what can be done better for that web page in order to engage the audience
  • Heatmap and scroll maps are definitely the biggest asset for Crazy Egg and this helps every marketer/business user to think a lot about the website and of course! this is the selling point for them too
  • Confetti feature is the 2nd and yes more important feature for someone who loves to compare user data with visits on the website. One need not go web analytics tools for other information as Confetti feature does most things happen
  • Overlay feature lets the user see clicks on every segment of the page with overall visits and LIVE visits.
  • Funnel analysis is definitely a missing feature and has to be initiated as users journey across pages is more important to understand and detailed view of conversion rate is important to analyze for any business user. As we live in the world of conversion rate
+ I strongly believe that this tool helps when a firm has good user count (depends on business model) as most of these tools are data friends. More data - more valuable insights
+ Best fit if someone who is looking for deeper insights of individual page
- Not suggested for very fewer visits of a website. Suggested to improve better visit count
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 25, 2018

Crazy Egg: "CrazyEgg Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crazy Egg is used by analytics and optimization department within Marketing.
  • Easy implementation
  • High level, visual reports
  • Low cost
  • Not enough detail in reporting.
  • Does not have aggregate reports that are usable in decision making.
  • Interface issues and slow updates.
[Crazy Egg is well suited] to view user behavior on a website, such as scrolling, clicking etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 20, 2017

Crazy Egg Review: "Go crazy without getting egg in your face"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crazy Egg to help direct UI and UX strategy.
  • I love the scroll mapping. It's a great way to gauge how visitors are interacting with our content.
  • We use this after on page changes to look for new behavior patterns.
  • I'd like to see integrated A/B testing capability.
This provides high level data on visitor interactions with your website. We use this to help determine placement for our most important content, and to monitor page design changes.
Read this authenticated review
Kyle Brice profile photo
June 01, 2016

User Review: "Crazy Egg is crazy easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crazy Egg was used throughout our departments. From developing ongoing user engagement strategy, to initial research and discovery for overall user experience, Crazy Egg is a platform that we would use with almost every client. It's a simple platform with a low cost that can actually provide huge value for a project. The number one thing Crazy Egg allows us to do is provide quantitative data for user engagement, which previously would require qualitative feedback.
  • Tracking page scroll, e.g. how far users are willing to scroll down the page.
  • Click tracking with visual heat mapping of results, identifying the most clicked on aspects of a site.
  • Mouse tracking, to determine which aspects users may be hovering over but not clicking, or aspects that users are having a hard time finding.
  • The free version only allows you track a limited number of pages.
  • Gathering statistical significance takes 30+ days, so to get actionable results you may have to run tracking software for multiple months.
  • The data doesn't always contain context. While the data is quantitative, sometimes you have to makes assumptions about user intent.
  • Does have the ability to slow down page load time, which is really only an issue if your site is already experiences page load speed issues.
Crazy Egg is a great product for basically any site. Obviously you'll want to tailor your use to match your site goals, and align with level of traffic. Crazy Egg really is transparent about what the platform can and cannot do. The only negative factor you may run into is a delay in page load time, resulting in milliseconds of additional load time.
Read Kyle Brice's full review
Christian Capuani profile photo
September 23, 2016

Crazy Egg Review: "Very powerful"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crazy Egg is a powerful suite of tools to explore users' in-page interactions. It shows clicks and scrolling activity by heatmaps and other charts. I especially enjoyed the opportunity to analyze data by segmentation: many competitors do not offer this key feature. It could be expanded with other tools like form analysis and screen recording.
  • data segmentation
  • list report
  • link analytics in Overlay report
  • Would like to see: form analysis, screen recording, and surveys
It can be very useful for analyzing users' behaviour at your website and optimizing the page layout. It offers a lot of data and heatmaps.
Read Christian Capuani's full review
Gitai Ben-Ammi profile photo
March 16, 2016

Crazy Egg Review: "Your A/B Testing Team Will Thank You"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The primary use of Crazy Egg is heat mapping so we can determine whether a design is effective. It is also used for placement of material, and finding areas to test. A good example is we recently launched a page with a very large hero image that was not actually a clickable element. We found numerous clicks on it, which indicated that visitors believed it to be a banner. We're now testing adding CTAs to that hero image. In other instances, we've been able to determine that certain content was simply seen by no one and we were able to scrap it, leading to quicker load times and more concentrated content. Even more important has been finding material below the fold that was being viewed frequently, which let us know which content was truly important.
  • Click Mapping - it is valuable to know where visitors are clicking and Crazy Egg does this.
  • Scroll Mapping - I think this may actually be even more valuable. There's often a bias toward very long pages and being able to clearly show how this is damaging the ability to have a visitor receive the message has really helped our designers reorient expectations.
  • Segmentation - In addition to mapping clicks, Crazy Egg does a good job of differentiating who has been clicking where based on technology, new/return visitors, and other visitor properties.
  • Single Page Applications - if you have a single page application, it's difficult to get the click mapping to work for anything beyond the first view of that page. You need to be able to add very specific code, which detracts from the otherwise easy use of the tool.
  • Exports - Exports take a really long time and are necessary as your ability to have teammates log in is extremely constrained by the pricing model.
  • Responsive Pages - I recognize this is a big ask, but I'd like to be able to see how things are clicked when the page is in a different configuration. It's not served in the same manner on a phone as on a desktop, so seeing the snapshot reflect that configuration and the appropriate clicks would be great.
I think Crazy Egg is a pretty good tool for static pages where there's little interactivity. You'll get a really good grasp at what's being looked at and clicked on, but unless you've got some dev resources, if you have a site that's heavy on single page applications, you're not going to get nearly as much value out of it.
Read Gitai Ben-Ammi's full review
Chris Grant profile photo
April 16, 2015

Crazy Egg Review: "Sometimes it's exactly what you need, sometimes not. Great for the price."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our information architects and IA's who are employed by our clients use it, to analyze behavior and make page design decisions. Senior managers are another audience when we are trying to discuss or persuade.

Other TrustRadius reviews give excellent summaries of how it can be used as an analytics tool.
  • Shows where people click
  • For some reports, allows segmentation of visitors --- by browser, time of day, referrer, etc.
  • Shows how far down people scroll
  • Has numeric output (the List report) as well as a visual heat map
  • In our testing, it's become clear that CE doesn't capture all clicks. Not sure why some are missed. This may not be a huge problem since you really want to get a few thousand visits before doing any analysis, and since the missed clicks seem to be random, I think the end result will be perfectly all right.
  • I'd like to see just the visitor's FIRST click on a given page, as one of the alternative views.
  • Better and more detailed documentation on how the tracking actually works. There is some confusion about whether the screen coordinates of the click are tracked, or the element being clicked on. The former method seems to be used in the Heat and Confetti views and can get thrown off significantly by different screen aspect ratios and resolutions. The Overlay and List views seem to be based on the element being clicked on, and these views disregard clicks that don't happen in a hot area. A detailed explanation, with implications for different site technologies (responsive, tabs, other dynamic elements) would be really helpful for a minority of customers to whom this is critical.
  • Scroll map is nice but not really useful because it doesn't take into account where the fold is for the individual visitor. At least, I don't think it does (see previous comment about technical documentation). Great additions would be seeing the average fold line for all viewers, AND being able to segment like the Confetti View does. Also, it's not clear whether the scroll is measuring the middle point or the bottom of what's on their screen.
Crazy Egg is perfect for HTML pages with no tabs, expanding elements, or responsive implementation. It is questionable for anything else ... but better than nothing and worth the price.
Read Chris Grant's full review
Ishaan Bazaz profile photo
August 13, 2015

Review: "Crazy Egg- Understanding the user by their own eyes"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crazy Egg is an awesome tool for heat-mapping, by far the best in the market. The confetti tool is something that I didn't find in other vendors. However, Crazy Egg should start implementing Session Replay also as heat-mapping and Session Replay go hand in hand. Otherwise the product is worth a rating of 5/5.
  • Heat-Mapping
  • Confetti Tool
  • Session replay
  • Filters
Crazy Egg is best for heat-mapping - especially with the use of confetti tools. I would like to see Crazy Egg implement session replay as well.
Read Ishaan Bazaz's full review
Duncan Lawrence profile photo
February 25, 2015

Review: "Crazy Egg is crazy good for digital marketing agencies"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our digital marketing agency, Crazy Egg is used when we are testing how users are experiencing specific pages on our websites. We do this for both completely new website designs, and individual page redesigns (both content and organization of the page design). While the digital marketing team is typically the team responsible for looking at the data and reporting it in a meaningful way, the reports are used by the designers, developers, and clients in order to better analyze if users are acting as anticipated. This data is typically correlated with Google Analytics data in order to gain a more-full picture.
  • Simple set-up
  • Easy-to-understand reports
  • It has both heatmaps and click tracking
  • Slowly creeping prices
  • Subscription may quickly be expended depending on how popular the page is that is being tracked
  • Limited number of snapshots can run simultaneously
If you have websites with moderate traffic, and are looking to see if your page design is working as intended, Crazy Egg will give you an idea of how those users are interacting with your page, and whether there may be changes that could be used to optimize that experience. If you have a website with a significant amount of traffic, your subscription will quickly buckle under the load.
Read Duncan Lawrence's full review
Amber Steinert profile photo
May 13, 2014

User Review: "Crazy Awesome Crazy Egg"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the marketing team along with other optimizing tools to understand the users needs on the variety of websites we have. This tool allows us to see the different user patterns for each website as each target a different customer base. It also allows us to see what items are popular and what items are not or if people think they can click in a particular spot where we do not provide a link. This disconnects is then communicated to the web team and can be fixed.
  • Crazy Egg allows you to see where people clicked from whatever source they came from. Whether it is organic or a referral site, these specific clicks can be measured in that particular page being tracked.
  • The scroll down tracker is an effective and efficient tool to understand how your users operate. Some demographics do not scroll at all, while others will scroll to the bottom of the page no matter how long it is. This information can them be applied to formatting the website to best accommodate your target viewer.
  • Crazy Egg gives a company, at least this one, plenty of views for the entire month! I can't remember the exact amount off the top of my head, but I believe it's 200,000 views. When tracking views on a specific site, you can also specify how many views you would like. For example: If I would like to track a website homepage for one week and it receives 200,000 visitors in one week, obviously I do not want to track them all. I can cut it off at 10,00 views and Crazy Egg will automatically stop the tracking for me.
  • I would say overall Crazy Egg is a great tool, but one additional thing I would like made is an archive tool. Archiving Crazy Egg by hand, which was my job, is quite the tedious task, but once it is done, we have those records forever. We can look back and see how our holiday campaign did the last few years with what worked and what didn't, but I wish I was able to archive these on the website. Maybe not even necessarily on the website, but be able to have an archive tool so I would not have to download each page being tracked one by one. I guess what I am trying to get at is some form of excel documentation that would download in the same form every time. This way it could be copied and pasted into a general excel spreadsheet if people desired to archive their findings.
  • Being able to track over 200,000 visits would be nice with just the basic Crazy Egg. You are able to upgrade for more space, but that costs more as well. Although I completely understand why it is limited. But the pricing is quite the bargain considering all that you receive!
  • The tech support is great! But it seems like they are understaffed. I haven't had many issues with it and the company seems to respond quickly even if they are short staffed. They have treated the company very well.
Over time Crazy Egg definitely shows a pattern Looking at it over and over again, you begin to notice patterns and understand the user with more depth. At this point in time, some of the tracking you started out with seems unnecessary.
When you start, you want to track everything under the sun, so the questions to ask yourself to narrow down the selection process would consist of:
- What pages do we want people to convert?
- What pages provide the most ROI? (if known)
- What pages seem to have high bounce rates?
- If you have recently added a new "tool" on the website you believe people will use, track the click rate on that. Are people using it as much as you thought?
- Many more questions that relate to your business can be used to narrow down the search process.

Once problems are solved on these pages, you can always tackle the more minor pages to improve usability. Also, after several months, tracking becomes easy because you fall into a rhythmic pattern: the same pages are tracked every week, during the holidays specific pages are tracked, and hopefully you will see an improvement of the websites' usability.
Read Amber Steinert's full review
Amro Naddy profile photo
June 30, 2014

Review: "Crazy Egg: Understanding users better to increase site performance"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the media-buying start-up where I used to work, each of us was involved in optimization and performance analysis. For that reason, every member of the team became fluent in Crazy Egg -- it adds color and nuance to a click-based understanding of how users interacts with a website.
  • Visualize user experience
  • Track user engagement
  • Understand what features or designs are going "unseen"
  • Multiple account management (e.g. for pro-users with hundreds of sites)
In addition to Google Analytics and Omnigraffle, Crazy Egg is an absolutely necessary tool for anyone interested in user experience and conversion. It's heat-mapping tools provide a 10,000-foot perspective on what users engage with the most about a website. If a web-page has anywhere between two and two hundred buttons on it, this is a super-useful tool in tracking what users prioritize.
Read Amro Naddy's full review
Ben Alvord profile photo
March 06, 2014

Crazy Egg Review: "Verify and Improve Your User Experience"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Crazy Egg on a regular basis at my current position. We regularly roll out updates designs for key pages on our website, and every time I launch one of these updates, I initiate a new Crazy Egg 'snapshot'. The information that Crazy Egg delivers is vital in understanding how users interact with our website.

We also consult Crazy Egg clickmaps and scrollmaps of previous versions of page designs before embarking on redesigns of those same pages. The clickmap might show us that a high volume of visitors click on a focus area that occupies a key spot on the page - so when redesigning that page, we would want to make sure that our highest value CTA is placed within that focus area spot (as an example). Or the scrollmap might show that only 25% of visitors actually view the content which is further than 800 pixels down the page, so let's make sure that all key content is above that 'fold' in our new design.
  • Shows us exactly where users click on a page. Literally, the exact spot. This is useful in many different ways. You can see what links/buttons are clicked the most. You can see if a key CTA on the page IS NOT clicked - maybe you need a new design or the placement of that CTA is poor.
  • You can see if users are clicking a spot on the page that is not actually actionable. Maybe your treatment of some text or an image makes it appear that an item is linked, but it is not actually linked. You can see that people are clicking on that item, and either go ahead and link it, or else change the design to look less 'clickable'.
  • You can see what percentage of users actually view the different areas within your page. This is very useful when you run into a key stakeholder that demands certain content be above 'the fold'. Trying to explain to a non-technical person that 'the fold' is entirely dependent upon the user's screen size and resolution can be frustrating for both the stakeholder and yourself. Instead, using Crazy Egg's scrollmap feature, you can visually show that stakeholder that, for instance, 80% of users view the content that appears within the top 600 pixels of page height.
  • The design of both the heatmaps and scrollmaps is fantastic.
  • The 'page camera' software they offer works very well once you get the hang of it. This allows you to run tests on pages that include dynamic content (like a shopping cart product category page).
  • Lacks cross domain tracking. The 'confetti map' that Crazy Egg offers allows you to see a heatmap of clicks for visitors from a specific traffic source. If your website presence includes the use of subdomains or multiple top level domains, though, this feature is rendered basically useless (as the majority of your traffic sources will be self referrals).
  • A/B testing would be an amazing added feature, if integrated well.
  • This is very specific to myself, but if I was able to set a location for a test, would be useful to me. i.e. only run this test for users who reside in the United States.
  • I have no idea how this would even work, but the heatmaps do not allow for responsive design interfaces.
When doing freelance work, I actually have recommended Crazy Egg to probably about 10 different clients. If someone has a shopping cart with a 'leaky funnel', Crazy Egg is an ideal piece of diagnosing the problem. Or if a final checkout page has a low conversion rate, again, a Crazy Egg heatmap is a great way to look into possible issues.
Read Ben Alvord's full review
Leann Manning profile photo
May 19, 2014

Crazy Egg Review: "A great tool for the user experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crazy Egg specifically for the user experience. Running user tests on certain areas of the site is difficult because of restrictions we have with contacting users. Crazy Egg allows us to see where users are struggling in the application in a clear, easy to understand way. Since it is very visual it is easier to show issues to stakeholders rather than having to explain a list of data on a spreadsheet.
  • Creates an easy to understand visual of user data.
  • Provides the option to test areas of a site that would normally be difficult to obtain data for.
  • Easily shows stakeholders issues without a lot of documentation.
  • The PageCamera application is a bit difficult to use.
  • PageCamera does not wait for javascript to load on the page which often means ares of the site are missing in screenshots
Crazy Egg works well for us because we are unable to run usability tests with certain users. This allows us to gather data without needing to talk to customers.
Read Leann Manning's full review
Albert Wavering profile photo
February 21, 2014

User Review: "Crazy Egg is Crazy Good"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crazy Egg to understand how people interact with on-page elements and content on our sites. It answers questions that other analytics tools can't, like which navigational elements are most used on a site, or what non-link elements users are clicking on. Provides an easy-to interpret heatmap that clients love, and offers good integration with Optimizely to visualize how design changes impact behavior.
  • Creates beautiful, easy-to-share heatmaps.
  • Easy setup with sensible defaults. Advanced targeting for power users.
  • Implementation checker makes it easy to verify that you have it set up correctly.
  • Scheduling lets you launch heatmaps immediately or at a later time.
  • Sorting and batch processing of multiple heatmaps can be difficult.
  • Doesn't show data for a few hours.
  • Advanced targeting can be confusing.
Crazy Egg is great as a heatmapping tool - If you want an affordable way to see click, scroll, and positioning data for real visitors on your website, Crazy Egg is a good option. It can't compare with tools like Google Analytics, but that's not how it is designed to be used.
Read Albert Wavering's full review
No photo available
March 07, 2016

Review: "Crazy Egg - easy and reliable heatmapping (and not much more)"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CrazyEgg to do heatmaps and scrollmaps for different devices across a variety of websites. The heatmaps allow us to see the elements of a page that users interact with on desktop and mobile devices, and the scrollmaps enable us to see which content people see as the navigate the page.
  • Provides heatmaps that shows you the elements on your site that are and aren't performing well.
  • Provides scrollmaps so you can see how far down a page users are scrolling and which content never gets seen.
  • Screenshots show you how your website looks across a variety of different devices.
  • Provides a type of clickmap called confetti that enables you visualise clicks by segments - device, new/returning visitors, campaigns and other metrics.
  • Visualisations are limited - CrazyEgg doesn't offer attention maps or mousemove maps like some products.
  • Screenshots can take the better part of a day to generate. If you've got large traffic and want quick insights, CrazyEgg isn't the right tool.
  • No automation - if you want to run a set of heatmaps regularly to keep track of frequently changing content, this needs to be done manually.
  • No integrations with A/B testing tools, which would be very helpful.
  • Customer support experiences haven't been great. All requests seem to be managed by one person, who isn't interested in helping fix bugs and is generally unhelpful.
Crazy Egg is great if you have static content and want to be able to easily set up heatmaps and scrollmaps to see how people interact with your webpages across different devices types. Straightforward and reliable.

In circumstances when you want fast turnarounds, Crazy Egg isn't the right tool as the visualisations often take the better part of a day to generate. It also doesn't perform well if your site has dynamic content - either AJAX-driven or dynamically expanding.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 25, 2016

Crazy Egg Review: "In a nutshell, you may be missing an opportunity to capture user interaction"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crazy Egg is being used by e-commerce department to track user engagement with our site. We can pinpoint a page on our site and monitor the interaction using Crazy Egg's heatmap, scrollmap and confetti (clicks).
  • Easy integration. When we first started Crazy Egg, I was able to quickly and easily add it to our tag manager.
  • Quick setup and live URL testing to make sure test is properly working. There's no guessword; I plug in the URL and it does the work!
  • It's a simple software to use for quick information about how user's are interacting with our site. I don't have to jump through a lot of hoops to get to the data.
  • The largest thing we've struggled with is the Optimizely integration. I've contacted customer service a few times to get it properly setup. Customer Service is always friendly and helpful; they provide clear steps to get it setup. Unfortunately despite clear instructions, they are tedious, and if not completed in the correct order, the integration with Optimizely does not work. My success rate with the integration is less than 55%.
Crazy Egg is well suited for measuring user engagement on your page. In the last 12 months, we used the software to gather baseline data for future updates. Recently, we've tested the product page engagement after an important release that improved product page layout. We've also used Crazy Egg to answer the question: Are customers seeing buttons that fall below the fold in our cart?
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 26, 2016

Crazy Egg Review: "A great place to start your optimization!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crazy egg is being used by the analytics department as well as the marketing department. along with other solutions it is used to give a comprehensive idea on how people are using our pages and what can we do to optimize these pages, or what A/B tests to suggest. The analytics team use it to monitor new projects along with other analytics solutions and broadly oversee the performance of online marketing campaigns while the marketing team use it to optimize landing pages for campaigns.
  • Crazy Egg does a good job in helping us visualize users' page activity.
  • Helps us see how a user views a page.
  • Saves snapshots and results of pages so we can compare results and export them.
  • Easy to add to pages using WordPress.
  • The interface is confusing sometimes, especially if you have a lot of snap shots of pages running or stopped. It takes time to find the snapshot you need.
  • Results should be taken with a grain of salt and use other solutions to back it up.
  • It would be nice if they had more feature that suggests improvements to your page.
Crazy egg gives you a good idea of how users are seeing your site and how they use it. It's a great tool to have when launching new sites or new pages. But by no means is this is a standalone solution. Always backup your results with numbers from analytics and other solutions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 11, 2015

Crazy Egg Review: "Big Value and Small Headaches!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crazy Egg is an important tool for our PPC and SEO campaigns. We use it to engage in CRO opportunities and help clients get a better conversion rate out of their traffic. We use it in paid search for landing page development.
  • Shows hot spots of content
  • Adds extra value to client's campaigns
  • Provides data driven recommendations for CRO
  • The export of the snapshot link is time sensitive and not that easy to present to clients
  • I wish it could be integrated into other dashboards
  • The plans are kind of expensive
I find it best for content placement onsite, CRO campaigns, and landing page development. I use it more than any other CRO or heat mapping software. I am limited to only a certain amount of clients I can use it on and the snapshot constraints and plan make it not suitable for all my roster.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 30, 2015

Review: "Get Crazy Egg. Great price. Easy to Use. Convert More Customers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to get Heat and scroll mapping analytics. It is being used to Demand Generation. It helps us assess how customers are interacting with our website pages.
  • Heat mapping
  • Scroll mapping
  • Mobile / Desktop comparisons
  • Easy set up
  • Storing older tests - You must download and store them.
  • Allow easier upgrading to allow for more Snapshots
Crazy Egg is great for smaller to medium size businesses to get heat map data on their websites. The price is very reasonable. It has an easy set-up. It will help them identify and correct website problem areas. Larger companies will need it for snapshots. Ask how many snapshots are needed for your size of company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 19, 2015

Crazy Egg Review: "Prove to your clients that change is good... see your audience in action"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently Running around 90 snapshots. We use Crazy Egg to to measure traffic flow for our customers homepages and main landing pages. We use Crazy Egg reports to discuss ways to the client to improve there website and create A/B testing plans from this data.
  • Using Crazy Egg on homepages help show our clients what visitors are clicking on or NOT clicking on. The detailed Reports that Crazy Egg gives make our jobs easier when convincing a client to change layout or design or content and maybe try an A/B test in the future.
  • We Use Crazy Egg on internal Landing pages as well to see how visitors are reacting to them. Again, The detailed Reports that Crazy Egg gives make our jobs easier when convincing a client to change layout or design or content and maybe try an A/B test in the future.
  • Downloading the reports is very easy today and easy to view with the client. Also the new user interface to set up test is very easy to use.
  • The Overlay feature is very cool but hard to read sometimes and hard to share with clients using screen shots.
It helps prove that content, color or layout can affect a visitors path.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 20, 2014

Review: "Give Crazy Egg a Try and You Won't Regret it"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Crazy Egg to create heat maps across our web domains. It is only being using in our department, across various teams, such as Product, Design, etc.
  • Easy to create heat maps
  • Reporting tool allows you to see different metrics
  • Offers segmentation of visitors
  • Users should be able to create custom segmentation
  • Improve the number of visitors to be in the heat map
How easy is it to implement? How quickly can I start using the product?
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 20, 2014

Crazy Egg Review: "Specialized analytics for tracking user engagement; not all-purpose but a great tool to have in the tool belt."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crazy Egg analytics on our main web site to tell us how users are interacting with our designs and content. This allows us to see, very visually, where users are spending most of their time and what content draws the most attention, allowing us to hone in on and focus our efforts in areas that matter the most.
  • It allowed us to see that users were hovering around particular images and were attempting to click, but because of our lack of links on the images, they were taken nowhere. With that information, we added links to the images which caused us to see a noticeable increase in signups.
  • Crazy Egg also allowed us to see that a lot of user attention was being focused on a very small portion of the content on our website. By expanding that content and enlarging the space that it occupied, we were able to provide a more pleasant experience for our users.
  • Finally, Crazy Egg showed us that some content was just in the wrong place because users were not interested in it whatsoever in relation to other content on the page. We were able to move this content to better locations which increased user participation and viewership.
  • For the given problem that Crazy Egg is trying to provide, it did an excellent job.
  • It would be nice to see information consolidated with Google Analytics so that we can have a one-stop dashboard of website analytics for our site. However, this would require substantial integration with Google Analytics and is understandable that it is not yet available.
  • It would be good to see general trends of movement rather than just hot spot highlights. In other words, allow me to see the mouse trace for one particular user across the page as a series of lines and curves to different areas. This would allow us to easily spot how attention flows throughout the page.
Crazy Egg is great for seeing user viewing habits on your site; in particular, it shows, very clearly, what content is drawing the most attention from your viewers. In this niche, it excels. However, it is not a one-stop analytics solution... you'll still need a variety of other analytics to really draw the full picture of how users are engaging with your site. Regardless, it is a valuable tool in the online presence and marketing arsenal.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 13, 2014

Crazy Egg Review: "A marketer-friendly tech product: you're crazy NOT to try CrazyEgg."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CrazyEgg to track how customers are using pages on our site. The pages we track are either very important or very new. This tool is only used by the marketing department to inform website design and UX decisions regarding our e-commerce site. Since we are in a niche market, we use it as a proxy for focus groups and UX studies.
  • It's helpful to present data to the VPs in a visual manner. It's a lot easier to get their buy-in on the success (or not) of site design.
  • Playing around with the confetti filter is fascinating -- it's insightful to learn how different segments behave differently.
  • My favorite part is reviewing where on a page customers expect hyperlinks. Sometimes, it's not where you'd think. This is an easy problem to fix, but without CrazyEgg we wouldn't know it WAS a problem.
  • The program claims to be click tracking but it appears to over-report click-throughs if links are more than once on a page. I want to know who is clicking on the link on the TOP of the page vs. the BOTTOM of the page.
  • CrazyEgg struggles to report on pages that have tabs or drop-downs. (Or maybe I just don't set it up correctly). If you want to know information about what they clicked on when they went to re-sort information (by title? by price?) this tool isn't as good to tell you that.
  • I get frustrated when my snapshot runs out of views. I can't really complain, though, for the $20 a month I spend. If I could spend a small amount more to upgrade just one snapshot (ie our homepage) I would do it, but at this point it's not worth the jump in the price from one package to the next.
  • I wish that I could resort some of the filter selections on the confetti map (for example, it would be interesting to view "time to click" as it relates to seconds vs. just which segment was most popular).
This is a very easy tool to use for the uninitiated. It's much easier to navigate (and more trustworthy) than GA's in-page analytics. When I worked in academia the UX professional I worked with loved to investigate this tool for the validity of her designs. I also found it very helpful for the non-technical decision maker to buy into what the designers and marketing analysts were proposing.
Read this authenticated review

About Crazy Egg

Crazy Egg is a heat map web analytics product.

Crazy Egg Integrations

Crazy Egg Competitors

Crazy Egg Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No