TrustRadius
Austin-based SolarWinds offers Internet Protocal address management (IPAM) networking service.SolarWinds IPAM - The Ultimate IP/DNS/DCHP Manager. A Must for IT Departments.Being an international organization with multiple subnets across the globe, keeping track of our IP addresses, in particular, had started becoming very challenging. IPs would have been taken up without our knowledge or duplicated, causing issues in the network. We were keeping track with spreadsheets covering multiple subnets across multiple sites. IPAM brings a long needed level of automation and control to all of those subnets and we've now regained control as a result.,Automation of subnets and discovery. Alerting of troublesome IP addresses. Request-based system for an IP address allocation. DHCP and DNS support.,We struggled with permissions when deploying and getting the right level of accounts to talk to our domain controllers. The IP request templates could use some work and adjustments in terms of the way they're handled.,9,Far less time troubleshooting duplicate IP address conflicts. Cumbersome Excel spreadsheets no longer required. Single pane of glass in the IPAM module on Orion. DNS and DHCP changes can be made into nodes within IPAM, cutting the domain controller work out.,Device42 and ManageEngine OpManager,Microsoft Exchange, Dell EqualLogic PS Series, OpenManage Integration for VMware vCenterIPAM, that one tool that does so much it will become the core of your IT resources.Not in just a single role but in a few that blend integrated DHCP, DNS, and IP address management all in one. It's such a core tool that all teams have read access, even the helpdesk which answers and reduces simple but repetitive questions.,IP Address management which is the core yet it does it very well. Integrated DHCP scanning. DNS monitoring and scanning hence reading and writing to AD integrated DNS.,So many details and choices that it's hard to come up with an idea to improve it.,9,ROI can quickly be seen in time savings.,Neustar UltraDNS,SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, Solarwinds Storage Resource Monitor, Microsoft System Center Configuration ManagerSo long IP address spreadsheets!SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM) is used throughout our company as the sole IP address management solution across all our departments. Many of our non-IT staff use it without any issues. Long gone are the days of having massive spreadsheets manually updated on shared network drives to manage IP subnet allocations.,Fluid subnet scanning and alerting. Centralized DHCP and static IP address tracking. Great integration with other SolarWinds Orion products.,The initial learning curve to administer it. The interface can be clunky at times. Without integration with other SolarWinds Orion products, you won't get the most out of IPAM.,9,Improved efficiency by reducing the amount of time needed for documentation. Automates common DHCP tasks, freeing up precious resources. Allows for faster TTR by streamlining common IP address troubleshooting tasks.SolarWinds IPAM -- The Tool for Your NetworkSolarWinds IPAM is used in our IT department for managing VLANs, Subnets, IP addresses assignment, Network traffic monitoring, switch interface monitoring, configuration changes implementations, Network mapping, events report, syslog, etc.,Subnet creation IP assignment Network monitoring,DNS management Config Change Templates Message Center,7,Good ROI for IP network management Well worth for network traffic monitoring Centralize the subnets, IP management and monitoring,Infoblox IPAM,F5 BIG-IP, RSA Authentication Manager, BladeLogic Automation Suite, Blue Coat Encrypted Traffic Management, BMC Remedy Asset ManagementSolarWinds IPAM - Manage your network like a proSolarWinds IPAM is being used across our entire organization to help keep track of all our IP addresses. We use it to manage all our VLANs so that each department has an idea of which IP addresses are in use and which they can use. Very helpful at capturing all the IP address throughout multiple departments.,IP Address Management Easy to use Very easy to lookup devices based on IP Address Gives device information of the device that is connected,Devices need a default gateway to get captured Have to manually enter some device information,9,Less conflicts on network addressing. Gained back man hours. Helps with troubleshooting networking issues.,Microsoft Server,VMware Horizon View, McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator, VMware User Environment Manager, SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer, SolarWinds Virtualization Manager
Unspecified
SolarWinds IP Address Manager
45 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Reviews

SolarWinds IP Address Manager
45 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 45 vetted SolarWinds IP Address Manager reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Rob Bates profile photo
February 04, 2019

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Review: "SolarWinds IPAM - The Ultimate IP/DNS/DCHP Manager. A Must for IT Departments."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being an international organization with multiple subnets across the globe, keeping track of our IP addresses, in particular, had started becoming very challenging. IPs would have been taken up without our knowledge or duplicated, causing issues in the network. We were keeping track with spreadsheets covering multiple subnets across multiple sites. IPAM brings a long needed level of automation and control to all of those subnets and we've now regained control as a result.
  • Automation of subnets and discovery.
  • Alerting of troublesome IP addresses.
  • Request-based system for an IP address allocation.
  • DHCP and DNS support.
  • We struggled with permissions when deploying and getting the right level of accounts to talk to our domain controllers.
  • The IP request templates could use some work and adjustments in terms of the way they're handled.
If you have multiple subnets and feel like you're losing control of said subnets in terms of IP allocation, then IPAM is a perfect fix. It also integrates nicely into the core Orion platform if you have purchased NPM.
Read Rob Bates's full review
Francisco Manuel Marrero profile photo
December 19, 2018

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Review: "IPAM, that one tool that does so much it will become the core of your IT resources."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Not in just a single role but in a few that blend integrated DHCP, DNS, and IP address management all in one. It's such a core tool that all teams have read access, even the helpdesk which answers and reduces simple but repetitive questions.
  • IP Address management which is the core yet it does it very well.
  • Integrated DHCP scanning.
  • DNS monitoring and scanning hence reading and writing to AD integrated DNS.
  • So many details and choices that it's hard to come up with an idea to improve it.
The bigger and more diverse the environment the more IPAM will show it's abilities and how useful it truly it is as a tool. The only scenario where I can see that it may not be needed is if the environment is made up of only one VLAN and just one person/team taking care of all IP needs.
Read Francisco Manuel Marrero's full review
Josh Haberman profile photo
April 24, 2018

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Review: "So long IP address spreadsheets!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM) is used throughout our company as the sole IP address management solution across all our departments. Many of our non-IT staff use it without any issues. Long gone are the days of having massive spreadsheets manually updated on shared network drives to manage IP subnet allocations.
  • Fluid subnet scanning and alerting.
  • Centralized DHCP and static IP address tracking.
  • Great integration with other SolarWinds Orion products.
  • The initial learning curve to administer it.
  • The interface can be clunky at times.
  • Without integration with other SolarWinds Orion products, you won't get the most out of IPAM.
IPAM is great as an Enterprise IP address management suite and allows a company to have a well-integrated product that staff both inside and outside of IT can use. IPAM integrates well into other SolarWinds Orion products allowing you to cross-reference data in powerful ways like tracking what port on a switch a host using a certain IP is connected to with User Device Tracker (UDT).
Read Josh Haberman's full review
Yuan Sun profile photo
September 28, 2017

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Review: "SolarWinds IPAM -- The Tool for Your Network"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds IPAM is used in our IT department for managing VLANs, Subnets, IP addresses assignment, Network traffic monitoring, switch interface monitoring, configuration changes implementations, Network mapping, events report, syslog, etc.
  • Subnet creation
  • IP assignment
  • Network monitoring
  • DNS management
  • Config Change Templates
  • Message Center

The SolarWinds product would be well suited for Vlans, Subnets, and IP addresses management, as well Network summarization.

The DHCP and DNS management, and the Configuration management aspects could be improved.

Read Yuan Sun's full review
No photo available
August 21, 2017

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Review: "SolarWinds IPAM - Manage your network like a pro"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds IPAM is being used across our entire organization to help keep track of all our IP addresses.

We use it to manage all our VLANs so that each department has an idea of which IP addresses are in use and which they can use. Very helpful at capturing all the IP address throughout multiple departments.

  • IP Address Management
  • Easy to use
  • Very easy to lookup devices based on IP Address
  • Gives device information of the device that is connected
  • Devices need a default gateway to get captured
  • Have to manually enter some device information

Very good at managing network IP Addresses across an organization. Really helpful when having separate network segments.

We use it to manage all our different VLANs. It is very helpful in finding out which IP Addresses we can use for our SAN environment.

It is also very insightful in tracking all the IP addresses so that we can tell how many IP addresses are used in a specific subnet.

Read this authenticated review
Chris Short profile photo
April 18, 2017

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Review: "SolarWinds iLike IPAM"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IPAM is being used by my company to allocate and map IP addresses, both public and private, between 10 different network segments. It allows us to easily find next available and to routinely audit our IP space usage to project future needs and to justify IP usage to our carriers when we expand.
  • Adding New IP Ranges
  • Scanning Ranges to verify IP Usage
  • Updating and reserving IPs for documentation and reporting.
  • Better Integration with full Solarwinds suite
  • Alerting
IPAM is well suited for environments that need to document multiple IP spaces, both public and private. If might not be worth the cost if your network consists of a single /24 with a limited public space, but for more complex networks, it helps to keep all documentation in a central place.
Read Chris Short's full review
No photo available
March 30, 2017

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Review: "Solarwinds IPAM - Not just for Network Professionals"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using IPAM so monitor and organize all of our IP addresses. This addresses the issue of IP address organization and VLAN management. It allowed us to delete all of our IP spreadsheets as well as simplify the DNS and DHCP management in our organization. We also use IPAM to ensure we have adequate space for the future.
  • Automated IP address management. We don't have to do a single thing. IPAM automatically records the status of new and existing IP addresses in our organization.
  • DHCP/DNS Management. You can find an open IP and use it all through SW.
  • Records the History of IP addresses so you can see how they have been used.
  • I think the ability to log IP addresses does not need to be addresses because it seems like a complete package.
  • Integration between windows and Cisco devices for DHCP could be a little better.
  • IPAM used to have some issues pulling information from our Cisco supervisor but once we upgraded to a newer version it added support for that style switch.
Solarwinds IPAM is really good at logging all your IP addresses and is most suited for medium-large businesses but small businesses would definitely see a benefit as well. The reason I say this is because managing IP addresses take a lot of effort and with IPAM the process is completely automatic.
Read this authenticated review
Steve Jenovai profile photo
December 18, 2015

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Review: "IPAM - Simple, but very useful"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IPAM both internally and to monitor IP usage for several of our customers. We provide industrial IT solutions to municipalities and other large industries. One of the frequent problems we run into is undocumented devices. IPAM allow us to scan the environment and locate any connected device that has an IP address associated with it. Because IPAM also records the last response, we can also look for devices that may have been removed or gone down since they were scanned.

IPAM also makes it easy to organize subnets via folders and subfolders that contain named ranges. Because we are often dealing with customers that have multiple sites with multiple IP ranges, IPAM has been a good tool to simplify management of these subnets. IPAM also integrates with the rest of the Solarwinds suite, meaning that clicking on an address in IPAM will link to any monitored details.
  • Because of the integration with the Solarwinds suite, IPAM not only scans for devices, but links to any monitored details for that device. This is particularly nice when you have multiple sites and subnets that you are tracking
  • IPAM allows you to populate DNS. Since many of the devices we work with are non-standard non-windows devices, it allows us to update DNS as soon as a device is discovered and identified
  • Provides a great way to manage IP addresses, since IP addresses can be reserved and commented on. We use IPAM as our definitive source for finding available static IP addresses.
  • IPAM alerting is limited. Ideally, I'd like to be able to set up notifications for events such as a reserved IP address becoming active.
IPAM is a good fit for environments with multiple sites and multiple subnets. It is also a useful tool when determining available static IP addresses. At my last company, we replaced cumbersome subnet spreadsheets with IPAM, and suddenly we actually knew if the address was really available. It may not be as sophisticated as the other SolarWinds tools, but it just as useful.
Read Steve Jenovai's full review

About SolarWinds IP Address Manager

IP address management software designed to save time and prevent costly errors

  • Automated IP address tracking
  • Integrated DHCP, DNS, and IP address management
  • IP address alerting, troubleshooting, and reporting
  • Multi-vendor on-prem and cloud DHCP and DNS support
  • IP Request Wizard for streamlining and automating IP address requests
  • API support with CRUD operations for two-way integration with third-party software
Categories:  IP Address Management

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Competitors

Infoblox IPAM, windows server IPAM, ManageEngine OPutils

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No