SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
118 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 55)

Ted Sadler | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2020

SolarWinds IP Address Manager - the best tool there is for keeping your network organized!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IPAM to manage our extremely large network of statically assigned subnets, VLANs, and addresses. The network we manage is carrier-scale and stretches over a thousand square miles, with each device on the network having its address manually assigned. Without being able to rely on DHCP pools, we are left to manage our addressing scheme and assignments by hand, which was previously done by spreadsheet. Now, with IPAM, we can easily track what devices have what IPs, what subnets are available for assignment/expansion, and what addresses can be retired or recycled without needing to manage a large, unruly Excel file.
  • Organizing networks, subnets, and addresses logically using intuitive folders and hierarchical structure.
  • Tracking and displaying statistics for subnet allocation usage, available space, and exceeded capacity.
  • Providing details necessary for future network expansion.
  • Making it easy to associate an occupied address with the assigned device in npm.
  • The interface is DHCP-heavy, so if you don't use that feature it can be annoying.
  • The interface assumes that full = bad, so if you have well-utilized subnets with lots of assigned devices, you'll also have lots of warning icons, which can be annoying.
  • If your network is SNMP-heavy, having to manage SNMP credentials in both npm and IPAM can be irritating.
IPAM is great for seeing where you are in your subnet assignments. If you have a DHCP pool that you suspect is getting too full, IPAM will tell you. If you're manually assigning devices and need to see if another subnet needs to be created, IPAM will tell you.

However, the scanning feature is not the kind of thing you'd want to use for full device discovery. Those kinds of functions are best performed by SolarWinds NPM.
The SolarWinds team (and thwack community) is always helpful and willing to lend a hand. With that said, IPAM's interface is intuitive enough that we haven't really needed any help with it!
Read Ted Sadler's full review
Arnab Mukherjee | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2020

Easy to Use and Robust IP Address Management Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM) is used by our Infrastructure Team for reserving and assigning IP addresses when a new device is added to the network. It is used for Automated IP address tracking, Integrated DHCP, DNS, and IP address management. It is extensively used by our Network Team for VLAN management and helps with their daily tasks.
  • Organize IP Space
  • It has a Request Fulfillment Form for reserving IP addresses
  • Integrates very will with the SolarWinds Platform
  • Better DNS Management
It provides detailed real-time IP address status reports to ensure IP's are correctly assigned. It runs automated scans to ensure the Monitoring Tool has the latest and updated information for all devices in the network. You can use the IPAM interface to search across all your subnets, a group of subnets, or within a specific subnetwork.
Support is good. Sometimes if we run into issues, Support recommends to repair the module which is kind of frustrating.
Read Arnab Mukherjee's full review
Mike Mozola | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Game Changer.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We specialize in Intelligent Transportation Systems and have been utilizing IPAM within the Orion Platform to replace the traditional spreadsheet trackers of IP assignments. With static IP assignments for thousands of devices throughout multiple private LAN's, it becomes challenging to manage and audit. SolarWinds IP Address Manager helped make it a more manageable task.
  • Ease of managing static IP assignments.
  • Utilization tracking.
  • Identify IP conflicts.
  • Importing custom properties prior to discovery and losing data afterwards.
  • Maintaining custom property history.
I have had the opportunity to use it within the Orion Platform with additional management tools and it has proven to be an asset. I have not used as a standalone product where it might make sense for smaller networks that can't justify the cost of the Orion Platform and use it as a monitoring tool.
I haven't required support for IPAM but SolarWinds Support and the Thwack Community has never let me down in the 10+ years of working with SolarWinds products.
Read Mike Mozola's full review
Jose Fiallos | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2020

SolarWinds IPAM Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM) to discover all our IP addresses in various subnets and manage IP address space. It's used by the IT Department, specifically by the NOC and Networking departments, but also we manage our entire corporate network. We have a lot of network equipment and use IPAM is the best of the best.
  • Quick and easy reference
  • Database of IPs Addresses
  • DHCP scope
  • IP conflict prevention
  • Really nothing at this time
I can describe a lot of scenarios, but the most important for me is that SolarWinds IPAM is suitable when you have IP address duplication problems or events, or if you need a complete scan of your entire network, also if you need to automatize alerts or make reports.
Because when we need updates or maintenance, it is very easy to contact support and very attentive to provide the service.
Read Jose Fiallos's full review
David McGregor | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2020

SolarWinds IPAM - easy-to-use IP address management!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using it within the IT department. It's used to manage IP ranges, typically to find free IP addresses when needed. It's used to show the ranges currently owned by my company, and what addresses within them are used. In particular, we use it to find devices that may not be in DNS.
  • Manages IP address ranges.
  • Shows free IP addresses.
  • Shows devices not in DNS.
  • Could do with better automation and mapping. We are using an older version, though.
  • Needs a bit of experience to use.
  • Reporting could be better.
It's great if you're managing a large number of IP ranges and frequently need to find free IP addresses, or to find devices using an IP address that aren't in DNS. It would be somewhat useful if you have a small number of IP ranges of limited scope, or if your network environment is very static and well documented.
SolarWinds support is generally quite good, in particular if you are doing a large implementation or upgrade project with a lot of moving parts. They can really help with a lot of advice from someone senior who really gets your environment and what's needed to resolve whatever problems may come up.
Read David McGregor's full review
Sneha Puri | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2020

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IPAM in IT to manage IP addressing across all our offices and job sites. We use it for alerting on DHCP scope and have it integrated with UDT. We had no way to track IP addresses for all the job sites and used to manage the office IP addresses on an Excel sheet.
  • Alerting on DHCP scope
  • UDT integration
  • Find out IPs in use and available
  • Easier overall view - for example: show me all subnets and their names instead of drop downs.
SolarWinds IP Address Manager is best for small- to mid-sized IP address usage. We have over 90 job sites across the country that we manage. To keep track of it all on an Excel was cumbersome. We also use it for devices that get added/removed constantly. It's easy to run a scan and see what IPs are available and what are not. Additionally, we use it to track IP addresses in our cloud environments--some don't have an offering that shows you available IPs.
Between thwack and support, it's been good. Thwack is an amazing resource for gaining more knowledge and getting questions answered.
Read Sneha Puri's full review
Ryhlen Schoeberl | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

SolarWinds IP Address Manager: The last IP management tool you will ever need

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds IP Address Manager to track all IP addresses used in our organization. It allows us to scan our network for IP ranges and manually put in IP ranges and descriptions for those ranges. It also lets us set different status on an IP if it is used reserved or open etc. We also put descriptions on IP addresses that we have used.
  • It will scan network and find used IPs and put them in transient status if it was used and now is not reachable
  • Allows you to manually create ranges and scan network for IP ranges
  • Able to setup descriptions on IP addresses if they are used
  • I cannot think of a way to make this better off the top of my head.
I use SolarWinds IP Address Manager daily to track IP addresses that are used throughout the organization. We are able to do a scan to update the list too as well then you do not have to worry about overlap when you are adding a new device to your network that uses a static IP.
I have never needed support for SolarWinds IP Address Manager but have gotten support for other products that SolarWinds has and I have never had any issues with getting support or the information I need. They also have a community site where you can search for threads for an issue you may be having that you need assistance with.
Read Ryhlen Schoeberl's full review
Armando Alvarado | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds IP Address Manager to keep track of our IP management since that can be a job in itself. Keeping tabs on IP address spaces is vital to keep a network running smoothly. While SolarWinds free IP Address Tracker is not as powerful as the paid IPAM, it keeps IP addressing organized. And it is simple to use and very friendly.
  • IP Address Tracker will allow you to scan multiple subnets
  • Display if those addresses are used, available, or reserved
  • Also, the fact you can export to Excel for spreadsheets and such awesome features are a plus
  • Very simple and easy to use
  • The web console needs a little work
  • Uses too many resources for database
  • Some compatibility issues with SQL Server
  • Not user-friendly unless you work on it or if that was your only job.
SolarWinds IPAM is best suited for adding IP Addresses & Subnets, and also for the automatic IP address lookups and maintaining status constantly. I would not recommend this for a small network due to the complexity, and set up is not for beginners. It will take some time to get this up and running and understand all the functionality that goes with it. But overall it is a good product once you use it quite often.
Even though the product does have a few flaws, it is still the best one out there for everything it does. You get your money's worth. It has a lot of features and reporting capabilities: exporting, user-management, DHCP, lots of items to choose from. It's a great product but it will take some time to learn everything. Once you do, you will not regret it.
Read Armando Alvarado's full review
Cullen Stevens | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

Simple and easy IP address manager with many more useful features under the surface

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across our entire organization as we have almost over 300 networked devices including PCs, printers, servers, etc. and our main subnet is quickly reaching capacity so we use this application to manage what little IPs we have left available.
  • Up-to-date list of available and used IPs.
  • Easy to access, read, and manage.
  • Highlight the other features of the application.
In a high volume network environment where you might just be using a 24-bit subnet or in environments where more subnets are being used, this is the perfect tool to make sure you know exactly what is being used and by who or what.
We have not had to use any customer support, as the setup process was fairly straightforward and easy. We have not encountered any issues with the program since launch.
Read Cullen Stevens's full review
Teddy Tseng | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2020

Must have tool for your data center

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I like to use the Solarwind IP Address Manager to discover all our IP addresses in different subnets, including AWS and Azure, even in an on-premise data center. The only challenge I found is that it's hard to move the existing group to another group. Other than that, I find it a good tool to have.
  • Easy to use
  • Centralize management of your IP inventory
  • IP Address Inventory
  • Moving existing group is a little bit of a challenge.
Will recommend this tool for a company with different data centers and subnets. Using IP address Manager will prevent duplicated ip addresses occurred during deployment of VMs. it will also give us the overview how we can manage data center deployment process. The Solarwinds IP address manager also provide us the subnets design and layout.
Overall, SolarWinds support is not that great.
Read Teddy Tseng's full review
Mark Hannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2020

Good value for the price.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the IT department and several sub-departments. It resolves the issues that can arise when utilizing addresses within a range and virtual IPs versus defined ones.
  • Tracking
  • Reference of utilization
  • Term
  • Reporting
  • Data extraction
It is well suited to an area that is building, maintaining or decommissioning systems that use IP addresses including desktops and mobile devices, servers, platforms and applications.
Support is generally available and the team has not found any significant issues with the response times or the information provided. The deployment of the solution was very good.
Read Mark Hannon's full review
Bevan-Leigh Hussey | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2020

SolarWinds IPAM Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds IP Address Manager to manage our entire corporate network. It's incredibly useful in seeing what is on our network as well as identifying conflicts.
  • IP address conflicts--instantly identifies conflicts on the network
  • Managing our various scopes
  • Setting up reservations for various devices
  • One portal to view all the devices along with easy to read descriptions of what the devices are
  • I can't really complain about the current implementation. It just works brilliantly.
SolarWinds IP Address Manager provides a single portal to manage the entire network, whether that's DHCP scopes, reservations, or just having an overview of what's on our network.
Always great support from Solarwinds, whenever we've had any technical issues. They are quick to respond and always resolve the issue fast.
Read Bevan-Leigh Hussey's full review
steve morgan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

IP Manager and why

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It currently is being used by ITS Department but looking to use globally in future. We use it to track IP addresses, assignments, and help prevent duplication issues.
  • They track any range of subnets that you may need.
  • Helps prevent duplication by keeping track of what is used and available.
  • There is an option where a user can request an IP address from the administrator, this also helps keep track of our IP ranges.
  • I do not have any items at this time.
This is a great tool to manage subnets, especially with a combination of using DHCP and static IPs from same subnets.
Always had great experience with SolarWinds support in past.
Read steve morgan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2020

I can IPAM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use IPAM across our IT department. It has replaced the usual excel spreadsheet and team "memory" for tracking IP ranges. As our physical and virtual footprint has grown, network management has become more of a challenge. We would have occasional downtime due to IP conflicts, statically set IPs in a DHCP range and delays/uncertainty in finding open IPs for new systems. We can now streamline adding new branch office/store networks and have avoided office and warehouse downtime due to IP conflicts.
  • Integrate with DHCP servers.
  • Track in-use IPs even if not assigned.
  • Templatize branch office network IP schemes.
  • The user experience is not as intuitive as other products. We have to be more restrictive around level 1 help desk access compared to NCM or npm in SolarWinds.
  • Making and enforcing changes, not just monitoring, has been hit or miss in some instances.
IPAM is a great tool for small to medium-sized networks (1000 to roughly 25,000 devices). If you lack a large dedicated network team, this is a great replacement for the spreadsheet of IPs. Having it auto-update and the integrations with DHCP servers has saved us a lot of time and headaches.
I could see how large networks may struggle to use the interface of IPAM, but not impossible. It, like all your network management tools, would take dedicated "care and feeding".
Have not had to contact support, but there is a user community and documentation that answered all our questions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Good fit for a medium-sized business wanting to organize their IP Network Information.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds IPAM in a production environment to document all of our customer-facing SaaS environment ip addressing. There is some work being done using the GUI and other work has been automated using the API. The long-term goal is to use the API for more automation, as currently our traditional environment is not using this automation.
  • The Solarwinds IPAM supports creating custom fields, which simplifies automation scripting.
  • The Solarwinds IPAM supports bulk importing from a variety of flat file formats, which is great for initial seeding, if the API is not being used.
  • The API is straightforward, and can be leveraged by novice scripting programmers.
  • It needs to support searching on custom fields.
  • Moving objects around between folders should be more free-form, currently there are esoteric restrictions.
  • Multi-select for network objects should be supported - IE for drop/drag into folders.
It is well suited for a small/medium simple IT environment where simple subnetting is used and few networks are in place. It is not well-suited, and we have challenges, for a larger environment where extensive subnetting and network isolation is being used. It would be great if the folder structure were more flexible and different views could be easily configured for different team needs.
I have not contacted customer support and therefore have no experience in this area. I know we have some issues with our VAR support at this time for Orion, but I don't know if the IPAM falls into the same support structure. Perhaps others in the organization may know more regarding the support area.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 23, 2020

IPAM dynamically tracks all the IP info globally for us.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IPAM as our authoritative IP address collector for the entire firm. This eliminates all the different spreadsheets that need to be tracked and constantly updated. This also allows a one-stop-shop for requesting an IP address, and the ability to see what is currently in production.
  • IP tracking
  • DHCP scope check and alerts
  • IP conflict prevention
  • Generating quick reports for subnet usage
  • It could pull data from the other modules to prevent entering data at multiple places.
  • Allow for public IP redundancy.
IPAM is designed for allocating and managing IP addresses. We have several branch offices, each with its own network. We use IPAM to track each IP in use. We have also set up alerts to notify the engineers when the DHCP pools are 80% full, which prevents issues before they occur.
SolarWinds Tech support is usually very good. They get in touch in a reasonable amount of time and generally point you in the right direction.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2020

IPAM great value, easy to deploy and use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is deployed for the whole company. We use it to track IP addresses across our corporate and retail locations. It allows us to centrally assign and view address info across all of IT in a searchable DB with history.
  • Shares info easily across departments in user-friendly UI.
  • Auto discovers and updates IP info through regular scans.
  • Provides history for DHCP addresses (useful for forensics).
  • Good single pane of glass UI integration with other SolarWinds products.
  • Only have 3 tiers of licensing small/medium/unlimited - we are just north of medium so had to buy unlimited.
  • Sometimes overwrites manually entered data even though told not to.
Anyone that is using spreadsheets to manage IP addresses should consider IPAM.
A real time snmp/wmi compliant scan can reveal a lot of detail about the connected IP vs just used or free.
My experience long ago with spreadsheets was unless you had a single keeper the data was never accurate.
I regularly open SolarWinds support tickets but have not had to do so on IPAM in a long time. It just works very well!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2020

Best value for the money

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds IPAM to manage our entire IP address space. We've defined granular role-based access policies to allow local administrators to manage their local IP address Space. Windows DHCP integration allows creating DHCP reservations directly from SolarWinds IPAM console, eliminating the need to grant access to DHCP servers to local admins or power users. Finally, we got rid of the spreadsheets, which were always out of date and not synchronized with our DHCP and DNS.
  • DHCP integration
  • Automatic device discovery
  • Granular role-based administration
  • L2 discovery using local agents
  • Reporting
  • Public IP Address space management
SolarWinds IP Address Manager has very good integration with Windows DNS and DHCP services. If you're using DNS and DHCP different from Windows, then the integration might not be seamless.
Finally, if you need detailed reporting or if you need to implement an IP address request workflow you may evaluate alternate solutions.
SolarWinds has good pre-sales and post-sales technical support, and a very efficient and effective sales team. You can easily open a ticket and support representatives provide effective suggestions and solutions. Finally, in the Solarwinds Community you can find a lot of useful suggestions and content to achieve your needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

Using for Basic IPAM, it meets my needs.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize IPAM today across our Infrastructure and Operations teams. We use it for static IP assignments, DHCP monitoring. No DNS. We have recently been using API calls via an Ansible script to assign IP addresses to new servers.
  • It easily maintains my IP addresses.
  • Export of IP information to a CSV.
  • Scanning of subnets to look for stale/transient assigned IP addresses.
  • It meets my needs.
I think for a basic IP address management tool, it meets the needs. We haven't really stretched the implementation to integrate with our DHCP scope provisioning or DNS registrations. We use the native Windows tools for this.
I found SW support staff to be responsive to requests, but they will typically point to a document rather than guide you through a fix or process.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

SolarWinds IPAM

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use IPAM to manage the VLAN for over 40 sites. We utilize the tool with servers, users, and VOIP VLANs.
  • Automatically updates subnet usage.
  • Integration with DNS.
  • Integration with other products could be simpler but isn't bad.
SolarWinds IP Address Manager is the best product I've used to manage IP addresses. It really simplifies IP control. IPAM has a very intuitive interface and is easy to use. IPAM easily intergrades with DHCP and DNS. My team is able to scan subnets to help eliminate conflicts and troubleshoot problems within the environment. IPAM has become a very relied on tool for my team.
Like most of SolarWinds products, there is a delay in turning in a support ticket and get a call or email back from support. The back and forth with email support can take some time as well. Most of the time we only received one reply per day. Support is average with other vendors.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

SolarWinds IP Address Manager Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT personnel use SolarWinds IP Address Manager to scan the local subnet of a site to determine where devices are located that are either not responding to ping because of DNS or are on a static IP and may not have a name that resolves. We can use the information returned by IPAM to determine if DNS is responding, how long ago a device was last seen, quickly launch a browser for that IP, etc.
  • Specific IP alerting
  • IP address tracking
  • Easily find and resolve IP conflicts and determine which devices are conflicting
  • If DNS isn't working particularly well, IPAM doesn't work particularly well
  • IPs seem to get "stuck" and will show as present when they're not
When a user plugs a laptop in onsite, since I am in another location, sometimes DNS isn't quick enough for me to be able to find their laptop. I use SolarWinds IPAM to scan their subnet and find the device so I can share a remote session (with Dameware) by IP. Best scenario for me. This software has loads of features, and if you don't use them all or most of them, it's definitely overkill. IP tracking is nice and conflict resolution while rare can be a big help, but since I deal mostly with one server and users, the features are too much for me.
SolarWinds support in general is very good. I haven't had to use it for this product, but based on others' experience with their support, I cannot imagine this would be any less.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

SolarWinds IPAM: You need it

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use IPAM to verify systems active on the network. Mostly servers and network-attached devices. This allows us to keep track of IP space and what is not set up properly for monitoring. So if you cannot ping it, is it there? Like the tree in the forest, did it make a sound? It also helps with the reservations of devices that need static IPs. Are my devices in DNS properly? IPAM helps me determine reverse looks ups for hosts in DNS. These items and some others were the determining factors for purchasing this software.
  • Keeps track of IPs using scheduled scans.
  • I can run reports to tell me what my subnet usage is and provide the data to back it up.
  • It's web-based. I don't need a thick client and no Java/Flash needed.
  • Nothing to see here. We are happy with the product.
  • Great community support, not really a bad thing.
How do you keep track of your IP subnets? Is there an automated process for IP address requests? IPAM can help you with that and more. Want a web-based tool you just need to view things quickly? I can customize what is critical and have a NOC view for my support team(s). The community is awesome. You get input from all those using Solarwinds on what works well, how to improve monitoring, or an example of how to monitor something more efficiently. There are many different aspects that make this product well suited for IT environments.
The engineers they employ are technical and easy to understand. Many times I place requests with issues regarding the software and the engineer is aware and knowledgeable about my request. Critical issues get escalated quickly and the resolution is fast. I can also research my problem in the community to see if there's a quick fix that someone else has experienced/resolved. My account manager also provides help when running into issues that need more urgent attention. Other team members have noticed the quick response of the support provided by the company. Lastly, the application is reliable enough that I hardly open tickets for it. Always a good thing!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

Highly Customizable and Resilient IP Address Management Solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds IPAM is currently being used across several IT departments to manage the IP address/subnet allocation process across the enterprise. It is mainly used to allocate subnets and track subnet usage in our WAN location and datacenters. We have also added a few custom search capabilities that leverage the API and SQL database behind the product (search by subnet address, description, audit changes by username, etc.).
  • Highly customizable by making use of the API and SolarWinds' capability to add custom HTML code to views.
  • Presents a very efficient and user-friendly interface for viewing and managing subnets/IP Addresses
  • Integrates with NTA (starting w/ v2020.2).
  • IP Address allocation requests are easy to use.
  • Search capabilities (by subnet address, description, custom fields, etc.).
  • Better integration with other Orion platform modules.
  • Improved reporting capabilities.
  • Subnet allocation process (searching for free space in a set of subnets/supernets).
Suitable:
  • Managing DNS/DHCP reservations (integrates with major vendors of DNS/DHCP solutions).
  • Allocation of subnets/IPs.
  • IP address data visualization (Manage Subnets view, summary views).
  • Importing subnet data from a spreadsheet while maintaining structure (very useful when migrating from a different solution).
Less suitable:
  • Customized reporting.
  • Customized searching (currently only search by IP address and partial IP address are possible).
The product has proved very resilient so far since we have not had any support cases opened for it in approximately 4 years. Therefore the decision to migrate has been a very successful one from this aspect.
Regarding SolarWinds support in general, I can say that the quality of the solutions provided and SLAs are very high. Experienced support technicians are always available and will assist you with whatever issues that you might encounter.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

Great idea but not fully developed

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds IP Address Manager is an interesting program that we reviewed at my company. It would have been used by the entire Networking and NOC departments. It integrates with Infoblox DDI and allows the organization to see that data within Orion. In the goal of moving toward a "single pane of glass," this was an exciting program.
  • Integrates with Orion
  • Works well with Orion UDT
  • Allows for easy visualization of IP usage
  • Wish the scans of Infoblox went faster
  • Better support
  • Bug identification and correction
We evaluated SW IPAM for one reason and that was to monitor our Infoblox environment. Integration with Infoblox was one of the company's selling points, however, there is a serious bug that causes the DHCP scopes to be incorrectly measured. This bug and the absence of any timeline to resolve the issue lead to our organization looking another way.
SolarWinds seems to be far more interested in selling this product rather than supporting with bug fixes and improving it. Honestly, this disregard would be fine if the product was sold at a price that reflects the focus. I would suggest pricing similar to the legacy products that they sell, then this would be acceptable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2020

SolarWinds IPAM: a good tool for tracking your network inventory.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to inventory and identify devices on our network, especially non windows devices that don't normally show up in other applications.
  • I like its discovery process for identifying IP addresses.
  • The interface is fairly straightforward.
  • It isn't always clear how the software tracks devices over time. For example the difference between something that is gone vs. not currently online.
We have a large network with loose central control, the feature I like the best is the discovery and cataloging of both listed devices and discovered devices.
I haven't worked directly with SolarWinds customer support.
Read this authenticated review

About SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM)

IP address management software designed to save time and prevent costly errors

  • Automated IP address tracking
  • Integrated DHCP, DNS, and IP address management
  • IP address alerting, troubleshooting, and reporting
  • Multi-vendor on-prem and cloud DHCP and DNS support
  • IP Request Wizard for streamlining and automating IP address requests
  • API support with CRUD operations for two-way integration with third-party software

SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM) Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds professional support is included to help customers on active maintenance 7 days a week, 365 days a year. We can help you get back up and running when issues occur to keep your systems meeting your needs. Learn more about SolarWinds Premier Support offerings here: https://support.solarwinds.com/SuccessCenter/s/support-options

SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No