SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
143 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 50)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 31, 2021
Fraser Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Netflow to monitor network performance and traffic. The IT department controls the product and monitors the entire infrastructure with it. We primarily use it to monitor link usage and to keep an eye on bandwidth issues etc. It allows us to alert on when a link is being over utilised or we see any problems occuring.
  • Easy to configure and roll out.
  • Great history available, I can see detailed history on a link which helps with troubleshooting.
  • Graphs available are great, excellent for management.
  • SolarWinds as a whole is extremely resource hungry.
  • General user interface issues, some things are not intuitive.
  • Price is fairly high.
SolarWinds is great for large environments where you need detailed information as to what is flowing through your network, so if you require a deep dive into your network traffic and estate I would definitely recommend it. In situations where there is the time to put into another but perhaps more complex to configure product I would recommend that.
SolarWinds support is surprisingly good, I've never had an issue with any of the people I've talked to in support. They always respond quickly and usually with a resolution. The upgrade paths can be quite complex but this has recently been improved, it used to be support would always have to be involved during upgrades but not anymore.
Read Fraser Clark's full review
April 07, 2021
Sneha Puri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) heavily to analyze traffic flows for different use cases. We have flows from all our devices, including private WAN, sending data to the SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) module. It is being used by IT to understand what applications are using our bandwidth and the type of traffic on our links. SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) has helped multiple times to narrow down high-usage applications that cause high utilization on our links.
It also works well with IPAM and UDT to understand who that IP belongs to.
  • Flow information
  • Connectivity for Flow traffic for differenet devices
  • Easy-to-read application information with port data
  • Historical view based on storage
  • Custom applications
  • QoS
  • The GUI is clunky
  • Some of the graphs can be better
In an environment with hundreds of network devices connected over different links, SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) can help understand application utilization. SolarWinds RBAC is neat to allow access to only SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) for any troubleshooting by Help Desk Users. Additionally, alerts can be customized for NetFlow-based traffic along with utilization.
SolarWinds support in general isn't the best. It usually takes a while to get someone to help out. However they do have Thwack, which is a pretty awesome resource for any information.
Read Sneha Puri's full review
May 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monitoring network traffic and flows, monitoring bandwidth to determine offenders/abusers of the network or to find the source of a problem.
  • Performance baseline for network traffic analysis
  • GUI is interactive allowing drag and drop metrics on the dashboard
  • Alerting via email of sudden bandwidth/traffic
  • Graphs and mapping could use some improvement
  • Application monitoring is not always helpful
While there are free alternatives for smaller networks, if you have a medium to larger scale network this is worth the cost for the reporting, monitoring, alerting, and helping you find problems before the phone calls start coming in.
I gave it a 10 - while I think it could use some small improvements, overall this is a very efficient product and the company provides good support when needed.
Read this authenticated review
April 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) is being used to monitor bandwidth usage. We have many network ethernet connections that require monitoring to make sure applications flow smoothly throughout the network. SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) helps us be proactive on issues like network latency and overload. The reporting feature comes in handy for a quick status of the network.
  • Bandwidth monitoring
  • Application alerting
  • Performance analysis dashboard
  • Needing support for layer 3 Netwflow traffic
  • Dashboard could be simplified further
  • Application monitoring could be more detailed
SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) is well suited for troubleshooting network latency. Problem areas are easily identified via dashboard or automated alerting. You are able to see the specific utilization of certain applications, which can make it easier to determine if the issue lies in the application itself or the server sourcing the application.

NTA is not suited for packet capture analysis.
Support is good but could use improvement with regard to response times.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2020
Susan Geye | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this product to monitor our bandwidth and packet traffic. It also allows us to see what devices access our other devices in our network and websites visited. I use a monitor to see traffic flow so that I can be prepared for any problems that might arise and respond in a timely manner. Being proactive is always better than being reactive.
The ability to watch my network flow and our devices with high bandwidth allow me to mitigate any issues that might arise. Often times I am able to resolve a problem before my departments and end users even knew there was a problem.
The time it takes to hear back from tech support is too long. Often times the support help doesn't really answer my question which creates frustration and a loss of time. I generally end up trouble shooting the issue myself. I would like to see some improvement in this area.
Read Susan Geye's full review
November 13, 2020
Steve Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The instance I use [of SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA)] is used by our department only. There are other installations across the organization. When we have network issues at a site, it helps determine what the issue is ( bandwidth flooding, undesirable traffic, improper traffic, etc) and helps identify what devices are the bad actors. We can see conversations per device and the utilization for each conversation. Protocols are also identified.
[SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA)] does well for bandwidth utilization tracking from endpoint to endpoint, as well as what protocols are being utilized in the conversations. However, if you need a deeper dive, a product like Wireshark would need to be utilized. I have not seen the capability to store individual conversations and analyze them.
SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) support in general is pretty good. However, it may take them 24 hours to get back to you in some cases.
Read Steve Adams's full review
November 30, 2020
Nikhil Kumar Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer is being used along with npm and NCM. As npm covers fault monitoring and NCM provides Network Devices Configuration details and compliance checks done, the only left item was to audit and analyse who is eating the bandwidth and how - that's where NTA fits in. NetFlow Traffic Analyzer is being used to analyse Network traffic and who is consuming the bandwidth for better planning and [to] ensure security.
If you are using SolarWinds npm, then I would definitely recommend to use NTA module along with, as without NTA Network team will miss one important piece of Bandwidth utilization. Without NTA you cannot plan Bandwidth usage in a better way. NTA is also important for security regulation, as it tells you what traffic is being generated by the endpoints, and whether its a security violation or not such as DdoS attacks.
I rate SolarWinds NTA 10 out of 10 because of the following reasons -

1. Ease of Use
2. Easy to deploy and Maintain
3. Full feature set to monitor almost every version and type of flow from various vendors such as Cisco, Juniper etc.
4. Easy Reporting/Dashboards available.
These are just few reasons to name however NTA use with npm makes it very effective when to say Complete Network Monitoring.

Read Nikhil Kumar Sharma's full review
October 02, 2020
Jacob Garrett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NTA to see what are users are up to. We use it to make sure users are using our internet for work and if they are we use it to find out the percentage of traffic that is O365 and then we can budget for faster internet connections.
  • Allows us visibility in to website/application usage.
  • We can see if our guest networks are being abused.
  • We can see what users are pushing the network to the limit.
  • NTA receives data from a specific port from the router/switch/ firewall. But you may not always monitor that port with npm. This causes errors or you have to spend more money to monitor more ports.
  • The graphs and charts can be hard to read and hard to navigate.
When you want to find out what users are using the most internet. If you need to update your budgeting for internet upgrades. You can see that traffic over your network and in some cases it can help you find ways to segment the traffic better, this is good for things like iSCSI.
Easy to set up and if there is a problem the tech support usually can walk you through it.
Read Jacob Garrett's full review
September 02, 2020
Justin Benner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a service provider, we need to monitor for various scenarios. Have set up custom SWQL alerts to monitor for denial of service attacks on our customers. SolarWinds NTA also facilitates bandwidth monitoring for billing purposes for usage and overage charges.
  • Running down DOS attacks over the network
  • Helping Customer Support assist customers with slow internet complaints
  • Tracking usage for billing
  • Creating high-level usage reports for upper management
  • Needing to understand SQWL for most advanced reporting
  • Some of the automated reports are not very user friendly
SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer works very well in tracking usage for individual endpoints on your network either for troubleshooting or for billing purposes. It allows you to deep dive into the traffic and determine if it's legitimate or malicious. Another feature we regular use is allowing our Customer Support Personal to run reports on customer usage which allows them to help people out who are having slow internet issues to determine where the slowdowns are coming from.
Haven't had the need to open any trouble tickets with SolarWinds for NTA yet. We have been able to solve any of our issues that have arisen using the online resources from SolarWinds in their Customer Portal or on the THWACK user community. THWACK has a better following than any other product we currently use with lots of people more than willing to help with your questions.
  • Online training
Read Justin Benner's full review
August 24, 2020
Andrew Yudin, MBA/CCNP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to extract flows from all of our routers and analyze traffic.
  • Integrates well with Network Performance Monitor (NPM) and other SolarWinds tools
  • Combines multiple data streams into a single user-friendly graph format.
  • Provides complete visibility into the network traffic flows.
  • Requires a good amount of DB resources in order to function smoothly.
  • Web interface needs to be refreshed to include more interactive charts and graphs.
  • Lack of troubleshooting methods
Solarwinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer is well suited in a small, medium, or large network environments. It is capable of monitoring multiple flow data types such as Netflow, Sflow, JFlow, NetStream, or IPFIX. It is a very powerful tool, which helped my organization to track down and troubleshoot a number of issues.
Read Andrew Yudin, MBA/CCNP's full review
July 14, 2020
Thomas Osborne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NTA is being used in our internal IT department to monitor all of our VM's as well as networking devices such as switches, ASA's, routers, etc. The problem that NTA addresses is real-time visibility into our network. Being able to see what devices are up and what traffic is passing through is crucial for business.
  • Traffic passing.
  • Isolate user data.
  • Integration.
It is well suited to those who would like to gather more statistics on what kind of traffic your network is passing. There are many applications that NTA could come in and provide help with. We enjoy being able to see quickly and accurately what our networking devices are doing with the traffic in our organization.
I've never needed to get support for this myself, but from those who I've worked with who reached out to support, I've heard nothing but good things. SolarWinds has an amazing THWACK community that answers all questions needed and that is on top of their phone support that they offer.
Read Thomas Osborne's full review
October 28, 2020
Eduardo Ramirez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer is being used for the IT department to analyze traffic engineering for issues/troubleshooting or capacity planning. Personally, I think is one of the best tools to get Netflow information in real-time to analyze. It is simple and friendly to read compared with others even for non-technical people or decision-makers.

  • Easy to deploy
  • Easy to read and make reports
  • Real-time traffic
  • Upgrade decision in terms of bandwidth
  • Reports and Alerts
Something that we really like and enjoy about SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer is how easy you can get the information that we need on the dashboards.
SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer is exactly what we need to analyze our netflow. We are pretty happy with it.
Read Eduardo Ramirez's full review
November 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the entire organization. Really helps troubleshooting bandwidth related issues and helps us keep an eye on if it's legitimate traffic and if we really need to upgrade our MPLS links.
If you already have other SolarWinds modules then it fits in nicely and gives a better consolidated view.
It's a mixed bag. I have had good responses then some where they just hand you a bunch of documentation and the responses make you feel like they don't have time to help you.
Read this authenticated review
October 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have contracts with many different companies. When setting up a new customer, the customer insisted the connection to our product was being blocked by our firewall and was impeding them from using our product. After weeks of working with their IT group and trying to prove to them it was not our facility but their own which was causing the impedance. After setting up the SolarWinds NTA we were able to prove where the breakdown was in the traffic flow. They contacted their firewall team and fixed the block and opened the application up to their use. This block was something which could have cost us a very large contract and took the blame off our company. More than that we were able to know exactly where the problem was in the communication. In 20+ years of IT work, I have never been able to confidently prove where a breakdown was occurring outside of our own company. Thanks to the NTA from Solarwinds.
  • Provides information about where traffic is being blocked.
  • Provides bandwidth information about the traffic.
  • Can show where slow downs are occuring.
  • It could be a little easier for the common user to setup a connection between point A and point B to display the traffic information.
Great for showing a problem in communication between you and a client.
I would have rated it higher, but it did take some getting setup with it and there was very little to no help from the service staff when we attempted to contact them. However, the online documentation is fantastic and did get us up and running.
Read this authenticated review
September 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds NTA has helped tremendously. As we are in the healthcare industry, all of our hardware, software, and others are very important to run with a very limited amount of disruptions. When things go wrong our teams need to see why, when, and how to improve so it does not happen next time. This is where SolarWinds NTA comes in.
  • Monitor interface's network bandwith
  • Traffic patterns
  • Enhance bandwidth before outages occur
  • Bring down the price
  • Tighten up CBQoS
  • Enable Linux equipment
SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer is best suited for a company that is very dependent on fewer outages because it costs them a lot while an outage happens. It would not be the best for a small company that doesn't handle high bandwidth needs.
When I call SolarWinds, we don't always get the best help when it comes to certain issues we may be experiencing.
Read this authenticated review
July 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We searched for a Netflow analyzer to help operations to understand how data are going through network.
As we already use SolarEWnds (NPM, NCM, ...), NTA was a logical solution as it reuses all polled devices.
  • Good integration with other SolarWinds modules (NPM, NCM, IPAM, etc.).
  • Easy to install and use.
  • Auto discover of interfaces.
  • Troubleshooting is not easy in cases of NTA problems.
  • Static interface.
  • Not easy to cross data between nodes.
It's the natural solution if you already have SolarWinds modules as it's requiring NPM.
Even if it's not really user-friendly you can add alerts for traffic, QoS support must be increased to be useful.

Easy to use for network diagnostic or traffic knowledge even without a real-time console.
As usual, SolarWinds is providing very good support. New features are added in nearly every version and we got good support when hitting problems with some devices.
Read this authenticated review
August 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by a Department - Network Monitoring Team.
One of the important use case is it helps us to identify any outage in network, real-time and team responds immediately.
This reduces the business impact, we being a customer service entity.
  • It gives bandwidth information on interfaces basis.
  • Helps in identifying any system if infected and team can isolate that endpoint.
  • Denial-of-service can be identified and stopped. One of the key aspects again.
  • Reporting and integrating with other tools like NAC solution.
  • Can adapt ML/AI going forward.
  • Auditing can be improved and self analysis within tool itself.
SolarWinds can be well suited for industry that caters to customers across the globe and has lots of data to deal with from different customers.
This would help to monitor and prioritize the data to be picked, flag the service provider and reduce the impact on customer. Best suited for service provider who cater to financial sector as they are time bound revert expected and business is highly volatile.
This would not serve the purposes of a small organization where manual resources can handle the load and troubleshoot easily alone.
Easy to use - This reduces the time for anyone to deep dive into product and pick it up easily.
Deep information on logs.
Integrates easily with lot of tools and helps generating reports.
Very strong user community. Helps in troubleshooting and resolving queries, which is key aspect of any product.
Very good tool in helping customer-centric businesses achieve their goals.
Read this authenticated review
July 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer in my company to monitor the whole company network. Our network sometime goes down and the cause could be very tricky. The Traffic Analyzer helps me locate the root cause of the problem. The Analyzer is easy to use.
  • Bandwidth usage analysis.
  • Application analysis.
  • Reports are not enough.
A site internet pipe is fully used. I would like to know what traffic used up the bandwidth.
It's a good tool and helps me troubleshoot network problem.
Read this authenticated review
March 20, 2020
Kiran Yakkala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer is used to analyze the network-related traffic across the organization.
  • SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer gives network packet drops.
  • SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer provides very good stats on routers, firewalls, etc.
  • It helps us analyze the network flow very well.
  • Every thing regarding SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer is manual.
  • We need to put a lot of things together on our own while debugging issues.
SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer monitors our network and discovers traffic patterns that help us figure out issues related to our network. There is a lot of things NTA cannot do. Its scope is limited and can be improved by adding more analysis data.
Support team is good when a Critical priority case is raised. If the case is a low priority one, they will take a lot of time to respond.
Read Kiran Yakkala's full review
February 10, 2020
Julio Morales | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across all our sites to monitor our bandwidth usage.
  • User-friendly dashboard.
  • Metered at a glance statistics.
  • Phone app integration.
  • AD integration for 801.x port utilization.
The product is well suited for multi-site star topology networks where bandwidth is shared. At a single site, it would be less appropriate as you wouldn't need as many resources to monitor your network.
When I initially try to call support it is difficult to open a case if you do not have your SW ID. Being sent to multiple departments just to open a case was really frustrating.
Read Julio Morales's full review
January 27, 2020
Elias Ibero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer has been set up on our core switch to collect all traffic data, and it helps us to see who is using the most bandwidth. It has been used across the whole organization. It addresses the issue of when one user on one our site is creating too much traffic. SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer helps us to find the culprit right way.
  • One day we were having complaints about one of our sites. The internet was very slow. SolarWinds NetFlow helped us to see why it was slow. It was due to a computer that was getting re-imaged.
  • Helps us to find the culprit who is hogging the network bandwidth.
  • It has been hard to set it up to collect autonomous system conversations.
SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer is well suited to find the culprit who is hogging your network traffic.
SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer is a tool that every network engineer must have.
Read Elias Ibero's full review
April 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Bandwidth Analyzer is used by the internal Infrastructure department as our go-to tool for analyzing, tracing, and documenting the network infrastructure. This is also the application we utilize to gather all necessary information and metrics needed to diagram the network infrastructure. This is a piece of software that is utilized on a daily basis for troubleshooting and to ensure adherence to regulatory and compliance requirements.
  • Monitoring & Alerting
  • Documentation
  • Visualization of traffic and executive level reporting
  • Would like to see additional enhancement to the web interface
SolarWinds Network Bandwidth Analyzer would be very well suited for users from the network administration through middle management, up to VP-level users, who are responsible for network and infrastructure operations within the company. SolarWinds Network Bandwidth Analyzer is used as an initial troubleshooting point for the network admin team, as well as M&A for all levels. Middle and VP-level users would benefit from, not only M&A, but the graphical reporting features often requested by upper management.
I have utilized support for implementation, troubleshooting, and best practice configuration. They have been very responsive in not only support and troubleshooting but also from a touchpoint and follow up standpoint. The team at SolarWinds is always responsive to and helpful with our needs.
Read this authenticated review
April 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer for quite some time at our organization for monitoring bandwidth and traffic patterns.
We use it organization-wide to monitor users or applications with high bandwidth utilization. These helps us to maximize the up-time of our network and applications leading to smooth and fast access to the internet and data center applications.

Our overall experience with this tool is very positive and has helped us a lot in keeping our infrastructure lag free.
  • Monitoring Network Bandwidth is the best feature we see in this tool as its detailed insights help us in allocating bandwidth to users correctly.
  • It can be deployed very easily, efficiently and quickly. We deployed it in a few hours at our organization.
  • It is good at finding Hosts or IP addresses that communicate more or frequently in the network.
  • The dashboard is a little complex for a layman to understand. I remember when I was new to this product I had a difficult time in understanding the traffic patterns.
  • Technical Support Assistance is quite complex and difficult to obtain and it has a lot of room for improvement.
  • Training material is not easy to find. More training videos would be appreciated.
SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer is well suited in use cases like:

  1. Bandwidth Monitoring for Internet, MPLS & Point to Point Links.
  2. Realtime performance analysis for networking equipment like switches, routers, firewalls, virtual machines, etc where we can monitor performance of components like CPU, RAM, Storage, etc.
  3. Identifying varied traffic patterns and top talkers in an environment with ease and good accuracy.
Obtaining Technical Support assistance for SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer is a tedious process and it involves a lot of complexity in raising support tickets.
We have often observed long duration of times required for resolutions of simple support tickets.
Technical Support Staff is knowledgeable and constantly followup regarding the issue but overall experience in support is not very good.
Read this authenticated review
January 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer to monitor our traffic across a geographically diverse company. We rely heavily on on our internet facing applications and being able to monitor them is critical to fixing issues. Netflow monitoring has worked well for our organization.
  • Detailed
  • Accurate
  • Database slow to load feed
  • Overly complicated to set up SolarWinds in general
We used SolarWinds to monitor our netflow traffic. The product works good but can be a bit of a pain to set up and floods you with too much info if using the defaults. With a good setup from the start it is a handy product.
Support isn't very good. You can pay quite a bit for additional services but they do not provide a lot of general support or setup help.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer to monitor network traffic, with an emphasis on identifying bottlenecks and remediating those pain points to improve performance. We're also using it as a tool during the incident process, where we can see potential impacts to systems and processes. The primary business problem that we're addressing is performance, and that manifesting itself as slowness in our branches, contact center, or at employee points of interaction with the technical environment.
  • Overall database system health monitoring is a quick check for incident management.
  • Database dashboard view is very helpful for starting detailed issue analysis.
  • The package could do better with actual transaction level monitoring
  • If you are using a mainframe, your options for monitoring are very limited
The single best use case that we've been able to exploit is tuning and monitoring our core databases in an extremely complex technical environment. Our systems are outward facing, with multiple endpoints, and very large traffic volumes with largely unpredictable patterns -- that causes Oracle stress that is difficult to manage and predict, even using the best of the database optimization tools out there. When we've got problems, we can look at the dashboards and easily rule in, or out, that our database is part of any end user experience problem.
We do not regularly leverage support for SolarWinds, however, when we have, we've pretty much gotten what we needed in a reasonable amount of time. In addition to the support from the vendor, there is a robust online and in-person community that we can leverage when we need to do something that we don't readily understand.
Read this authenticated review

What is SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA)?

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) allows the multi-vendor monitoring of network traffic flow records, the discovery of traffic patterns, and avoidance of bandwidth hogs. As an add-on to SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), NTA helps optimize spend on bandwidth by better understanding the who and what of bandwidth consumption boosting your network traffic analysis capabilities. Trace and monitor bandwidth usage of application or protocol patterns over months, days, or minutes by drilling down into any network element supporting a variety of network traffic flow standards (NetFlow, sFlow, J-Flow, IPFIX, and NetStream). Gain real-time deep Network Insights for Cisco, F5, and Palo Alto to identify critical issues quickly all in one easy to use interface.


NTA’s core features include bandwidth monitoring, application traffic monitoring, network traffic analysis, malicious traffic identification, performance analysis, and error root cause identification. The product also offers customizable traffic reports and alerts, including measuring the effectiveness of traffic prioritization policies. It is designed to integrate with other SolarWinds monitoring and management products.

Download a free trial today: https://www.solarwinds.com/netflow-traffic-analyzer/registration


SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Features

Has featureTightly integrates with SolarWinds NPM providing valuable insights into network bandwidth consumption.
Has featureMonitor bandwidth use by application, protocol, and IP address group. Collects and analyzes flow data from multiple vendors, including NetFlow v5 and v9, Juniper® J-Flow™, sFlow®, Huawei® NetStream™, and IPFIX.
Has featureApplication traffic alerting, alerts you if an application traffic suddenly increases, decreases, or disappears completely.
Has featureAnalyze network traffic patterns over months, days, or minutes by drilling down into any network element.
Has featurePerfStack™ cross-stack network data correlation. Accelerate identification of root cause by dragging-and-dropping network performance metrics on a common timeline for immediate visual correlation across all your network data and NetFlow analytics.
Has featureAdvanced application recognition allows you to identify which applications and categories consume the most bandwidth for better network traffic visibility with NBAR2 support.
Has featureCustomizable network traffic reports at your finger tips. Create, schedule, and deliver in-depth network traffic analysis and bandwidth reports with just a few clicks.
Has featureMonitor Wireless LAN Controller traffic to keep tabs on applications and clients utilizing bandwidth on your wireless network.
Has featureCisco Meraki wireless traffic monitoring.
Has featureCBQoS policy optimization measures the effectiveness of pre- and post-policy traffic levels per class map to determine if QoS policies are working as planned.
Has featureMalicious or malformed traffic flow identification with port 0 monitoring.
Has featureNetwork Insight™ for Palo Alto Networks® includes collection of flow from Palo Alto firewalls to show flow through nodes and interfaces

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Videos (2)

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Downloadables

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Integrations

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM), SolarWinds VoIP & Network Quality Manager (VNQM), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds User Device Tracker

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Competitors

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA)?

SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer is a network monitoring tool within the broader SolarWinds ecosystem. It includes core traffic monitoring features, as well as customizable traffic reports and alerts.

What is SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.3.

Who uses SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA)?

The most common users of SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA) are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.