TrustRadius
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is network diagnostics and troubleshooting technology, from Austin-based SolarWinds.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Gg/Bs/30TTDLE7H0PW.JPEGI don't like Windows servers, but SolarWinds NCM makes it worth runningWe mostly use NCM as version control for our network device configurations. It also integrates into Network Performance Monitor and can display complete ACLs from Cisco devices and VPC information from our Nexus devices. This has been very useful for us, as we don't have to log into the device in order to get an overview of what is happening on it. I've used it many times to review old configs, or even to plan changes. It's much easier to search through the full config in a browser than on the CLI. There are a few of features in NCM that we don't currently use, such as config baselines or pushing configs to devices, but that's mostly because we haven't taken the time to delve into those features.,Full configuration version control. Depending on how often you set it to check for config changes, you can see every change made, and review old configs very easily. You can run diffs against any two versions of config very easily in their interface. Searching through a full config with Ctrl+f in a browser is so much better than searching through a running-config with the CLI. Firmware vulnerability alerting. NCM integrates with NIST vulnerability tracking and can give you a full list in your device config summary page of which vulnerabilities are applicable to a given device. There's an out of the box alert for firmware vulnerabilities discovered for your systems, so you'll know right away when new ones are discovered for your devices. It does require manual verification and remediation, though. When you first set it up, you're going to have a lot of CVEs to manually go through, but once you've done that, it's great. It's especially useful for any kind of audits that require remediation within a certain window of discovery. The manual remediation steps will give you a very clear audit trail to provide as evidence for compliance. Compliance reporting in NCM is very impressive. Out of the box, NCM comes with a number of best-practice reports to run against your configurations. There are reports for multiple vendors, and certifications (such as PCI). You will see how each of your device configurations fare against the recommended best practices. For each non-compliant device, you have the option to run a pre-configured remediation script to bring the device into compliance. One of the best features is that you can create your own reports to verify that your devices meet your own companies configuration policies. You can export these reports and provide them as evidence of compliance to auditors.,Running exclusively on Windows servers is a PITA. This is an Orion platform complaint and not NCM-specific. If you're a Windows shop this won't be a big deal for you, but we're a Linux shop. The only Windows servers we run are AD servers and these two SolarWinds servers (one web server and one database server). We don't have any MSSQL DBAs, so I'm pretty much on my own if anything goes wrong. Every single one of our production tools requires some extra configuration to work on these Windows servers. The entire Orion platform stopped support on Server 2012 this year and even though the new version of NPM had some features I really wanted, I still procrastinated upgrading for 6 months because I dreaded migrating everything to new servers (Full disclosure: it actually wasn't that difficult to migrate and everything worked great). Again, if you have Windows Server sysadmins and DBAs on staff, this won't be as big an issue for you. No native Git support. This is a minor quibble, but we use Git for version control of our server configurations, and it would be incredibly useful for us to be able to store our network configs in Git as well. We have multiple tools that work with our Git repository that would require considerable customization to work with the SolarWinds API. I do love that SolarWinds provides a REST API, but our tools just don't work with it. We could write scripts to grab the configs from SolarWinds and then commit them to our repo, but it would be very nice if that were a built-in feature. Features for non-Cisco devices are lacking. The basic features of NCM work on non-Cisco devices just fine. We have a few old Quanta switches in a low-priority environment that no other configuration management system can pull configs from, so pulling configs with NCM is perfect. The issue is that there were new features for Cisco ASA and Nexus switches introduced that still aren't available for other vendors. We've been moving to Palo Altos from ASAs (bye bye Java!) and don't use NCM for them at all because the features just aren't there yet.,8,NCM saves me a lot of time logging into network devices and manually searching through configuration files. It's much easier for me to find exactly what I'm looking for and to see the overall context of configurations. I'm able to diff config versions in the same window. It's so much faster for me to parse configs in NCM than in the CLI. I'm able to correlate network changes with issues in real-time. We saw a dramatic increase in response time one morning, and I had just received an email from NCM about a config change on our load balancer. That change turned out to be the issue and that email saved us at least 30 minutes of troubleshooting. We have to manually configure tools to work with Windows and SolarWinds. We're not a Windows shop, so we have to do extra customization on our production tools to get them to work with Windows and SolarWinds.,We have a moderate-sized network, so we don't currently push configs or firmware upgrades from NCM. We're getting to the point where I want to start using it because manual upgrades are taking up more and more of my time. We mainly see the time benefits in parsing configurations, CVE notifications, and not having to maintain a custom network configuration management system. I can definitely see the potential time savings if we implemented all of NCMs features, it's just building that knowledge and trust that I'm not going to accidentally push out a bad config to every device because I don't understand the tool. For those with large networks, NCM is going to be a huge time saver.,The reporting in NCM has been great for us in our annual audits. I can easily show when vulnerabilities were discovered and how they were remediated. I can show that our configs are in compliance with standards such as PCI by running a single report. I can run a single security report against every Cisco device and see which devices are missing critical security configurations and then run a remediation script to fix them. It's been very easy to monitor and ensure compliance using NCM.,SolarWinds Network Device Monitor SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor SolarWinds IP Address Manager SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer,Palo Alto PanoramaSolarWinds Network Configuration Manager ReviewSolarwinds Network Configuration Manager is used on a daily basis at Midwest Energy & Communications. This network support product from Solarwinds is used to back up our Cisco network switches on a weekly basis. It is used as a network configuration change management approval and tracking system. It is used as a running and startup comparison tool. We use it as a compliance verification resources. We use it as a safety net when making network changes. Finally, you can use it to perform upgrades on multiple switches in a scheduled process.,Solarwinds Network Configuration Manager is an automated configuration backup system that archives configurations for your managed network devices. The backup process is very easy to set up and backups are fully automated. You can make the backup task reoccur, which lets you set up a schedule and target devices. NCM uses secure credentials to access each device and store the configs in a central database. If a backup fails, it will alert you immediately so you can correct the problem. With NCM's change management in place, you can avoid bad or invalid configuration changes before being deployment using a change approval process. Adhering to security policies is a difficult part of configuration management and change control. SolarWinds Configuration Manager includes vulnerability scanning, compliance assessment reports, and real-time configuration change monitoring to help you meet security policy requirements. NCM makes bulk switch config and router changes saving time and reducing errors when compared to manual updates by automating bulk configuration changes to wired and wireless devices. We save time by using change management to push approved and standardized config changes to devices in minutes across our entire network.,It lakes the out-of-box integration with some of the lower end product lines on the market and focuses on the more high end and expensive switching and routing products. As with most of Solarwinds product line, it is now requiring the Windows Server 2016 operating system to run. Due to the price point, they should make it available to run on open source Linux platforms.,9,Midwest Energy & Communications had a situation were a bad configuration was found with the change management process that stops a major outage from occurring. We are an ISP and provide Internet and phone line communications to our customers. If we would have placed a configuration that would have had us down for an extended time we would be fined by the FCC. That alone made the product pay for itself. Handling information and financial data occur here daily. The peace of mind that NCM finds the holes that would violate PCI-DSS is fantastic. To even be shut down for a single day due to a compliance violation would cripple the payment process for our customers. The life-cycle monitor and inventory control piece allows for us to see reports of the EOL for or equipment allowing us to stay ahead of old equipment.,Recently, we were able to update thirty-five Cisco network switches in the middle of the night while everyone was sleeping. Gone are the days of the lost work cycles of sleeping in the daytime and missing work to stay awake all night repetitively upgrade thirty-five network switches. The same process was accomplished by no one automatically in a shorter period of time and required no human intervention. This is a win-win when I can rest and use my time more wisely on other more important projects.,We have leveraged the out-of-the-box compliance assessments and reports for critical security standard PCI DSS and the automated remediation scripts to correct any violations. We will be using the HIPAA compliance checks in the near future as we start hosting medical facilities in our new Data Center. NCM has automatically identified IOS® devices with potential vulnerabilities, utilizing the NIST CVE repository service and have been able to complete the remediation in a much faster time.,,Raritan Power IQ, SolarWinds IP Address Manager, SolarWinds Network Performance MonitorSolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is a huge time saver!NCM is being used as our central device change tracking application. It is used to centralize and control our internal processes related to network device configuration change management. The application helps us know who can and does make changes to network devices. It also plays a central role with internal auditing of device configurations policies. The chief advantage of NCM is in the ability to schedule configuration backups jobs and track device configuration changes. Being able to execute a policy audit report related to DISA STIG, PCI, SOX, or other rule sets is also a huge time saver.,Archiving of device configurations. This is the most basic of features for NCM and provides an easy way to maintain startup and running configurations for all network devices. NCM can execute scripts. Any task that is typically done by a technician from the command line is handled by NCM. This includes the ability to schedule script execution jobs against a single device or multiple devices. NCM provides several types of reports out of the box. These include configuration change reports and inventory reports as the best examples. One can easily perform a "stare and compare" of two device configurations so as to quickly and easily determine where changes have occurred.,For those people who may not be proficient at using regular expressions, NCM needs to evolve to provide more direct contextual help in this regard. The job logs that NCM provides are very utilitarian and do not lend themselves to viewing and searching well at all.,9,The impact of NCM has been huge and quantifiable. I would conservatively estimate that it consistently reduces the man-hours spent on our typical management tasks by more than 50%. The savings in time spent on policy auditing tasks alone are worth the price paid for NCM.,As an example, the simple but time-consuming task of finding a change in a running configuration could take hours. That job now takes seconds. Similarly, running change reports over a time period is quick and easy and allows IT staff to complete device managements tasks in a fraction of the time, freeing them up to get to other tasks in their day.,Automation has benefited our organization with policy auditing in particular. We run policy reports that consist of several sub-policies, that in turn are constructed of hundreds of rules. Each of those rules has an associated remediation script that will correct the deficiency when found in a configuration file. In many cases, we allow NCM to automatically run those remediation scripts, thereby bringing a configuration that has violations into compliance. That saves even more human time.,ManageEngine OpManager and Spiceworks,SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor, SolarWinds IP Address Manager, SolarWinds Server & Application MonitorSolarWinds Network Configuration Manager -- Recommend!NCM is used strictly by the IT dept as the primary platform for network configuration management. Along with NPM, SAM and VMM, we use NCM to manage network component configuration changes, backups and recovery. Our company deployed the Orion platform with the above tools in order for them to monitor and manage their IT systems from a single platform.,Network device management -- It's a great tool to review changes over time for troubleshooting purposes with the ability to easily compare configs from the same device from different time periods. Backup and Restore -- Its ability to easily backup and restore Cisco device configs has saved us a few times from bad configuration changes that needed to be quickly reverted, and with recovery from major hardware failures.,Device Support -- Determining what types of devices can be managed by NCM can be frustrating when you go outside of basic devices such as Cisco.,9,We're managing a smaller shop, so the main benefit has been in saved troubleshooting time and faster recovery for hardware failures.,It definitely saves us time building new switches, managing switch configs over time with troubleshooting configs, and restoring to new hardware.,We don't use the compliance policies, but the ability for the tool to be able to detect and point out security issues has definitely helped us in maintaining a secure switching environment.,SolarWinds Log & Event Manager, SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor, SolarWinds Virtualization ManagerEasy to use and great support team in the US!We use NCM by SolarWinds to back up our configurations, inventory hardware, and create change reports to watch for unauthorized changes and/or in troubleshooting to help find things that recently changed if an outage occurs.,Regular Configuration Backups. Configuration Change Reports. Hardware and Health Inventory.,Updated GUI. Better integration with third parties such as Cisco -- they're working on it, but it's not quite ready.,8,NCM has eliminated homemade scripts for the backup of device configurations. Policy reports allow for finding areas to improve our configuration settings for hardening images.,We do not leverage this enough, but we have plans to soon. It's a great tool for making changes across all devices under your management. One great example is changing the SNMP community name. A simple change, but it is time-consuming if you do it in one device at a time. With NCM I was able to accomplish this in 15 minutes!,Setting baselines allows us to monitor the configuration of our devices to make sure they are consistently applied across the organization.,
Windows, Windows Server
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager
89 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager
89 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 89 vetted SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 41)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Kevin Lambert profile photo
May 15, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "I don't like Windows servers, but SolarWinds NCM makes it worth running"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mostly use NCM as version control for our network device configurations. It also integrates into Network Performance Monitor and can display complete ACLs from Cisco devices and VPC information from our Nexus devices. This has been very useful for us, as we don't have to log into the device in order to get an overview of what is happening on it. I've used it many times to review old configs, or even to plan changes. It's much easier to search through the full config in a browser than on the CLI. There are a few of features in NCM that we don't currently use, such as config baselines or pushing configs to devices, but that's mostly because we haven't taken the time to delve into those features.
  • Full configuration version control. Depending on how often you set it to check for config changes, you can see every change made, and review old configs very easily. You can run diffs against any two versions of config very easily in their interface. Searching through a full config with Ctrl+f in a browser is so much better than searching through a running-config with the CLI.
  • Firmware vulnerability alerting. NCM integrates with NIST vulnerability tracking and can give you a full list in your device config summary page of which vulnerabilities are applicable to a given device. There's an out of the box alert for firmware vulnerabilities discovered for your systems, so you'll know right away when new ones are discovered for your devices. It does require manual verification and remediation, though. When you first set it up, you're going to have a lot of CVEs to manually go through, but once you've done that, it's great. It's especially useful for any kind of audits that require remediation within a certain window of discovery. The manual remediation steps will give you a very clear audit trail to provide as evidence for compliance.
  • Compliance reporting in NCM is very impressive. Out of the box, NCM comes with a number of best-practice reports to run against your configurations. There are reports for multiple vendors, and certifications (such as PCI). You will see how each of your device configurations fare against the recommended best practices. For each non-compliant device, you have the option to run a pre-configured remediation script to bring the device into compliance. One of the best features is that you can create your own reports to verify that your devices meet your own companies configuration policies. You can export these reports and provide them as evidence of compliance to auditors.
  • Running exclusively on Windows servers is a PITA. This is an Orion platform complaint and not NCM-specific. If you're a Windows shop this won't be a big deal for you, but we're a Linux shop. The only Windows servers we run are AD servers and these two SolarWinds servers (one web server and one database server). We don't have any MSSQL DBAs, so I'm pretty much on my own if anything goes wrong. Every single one of our production tools requires some extra configuration to work on these Windows servers. The entire Orion platform stopped support on Server 2012 this year and even though the new version of NPM had some features I really wanted, I still procrastinated upgrading for 6 months because I dreaded migrating everything to new servers (Full disclosure: it actually wasn't that difficult to migrate and everything worked great). Again, if you have Windows Server sysadmins and DBAs on staff, this won't be as big an issue for you.
  • No native Git support. This is a minor quibble, but we use Git for version control of our server configurations, and it would be incredibly useful for us to be able to store our network configs in Git as well. We have multiple tools that work with our Git repository that would require considerable customization to work with the SolarWinds API. I do love that SolarWinds provides a REST API, but our tools just don't work with it. We could write scripts to grab the configs from SolarWinds and then commit them to our repo, but it would be very nice if that were a built-in feature.
  • Features for non-Cisco devices are lacking. The basic features of NCM work on non-Cisco devices just fine. We have a few old Quanta switches in a low-priority environment that no other configuration management system can pull configs from, so pulling configs with NCM is perfect. The issue is that there were new features for Cisco ASA and Nexus switches introduced that still aren't available for other vendors. We've been moving to Palo Altos from ASAs (bye bye Java!) and don't use NCM for them at all because the features just aren't there yet.
If you're already using Network Performance Monitor or considering getting it, then I can 100% recommend adding NCM. If you're using any other SolarWinds Orion products, then I would highly recommend NCM. Basically, if you're already on the platform, adding NCM is a no-brainer. It's going to be easy to add and make your life easier. This is especially true if you don't already have a network configuration management system.
Now, if you're not on the Orion platform at all, you need to decide how much extra work it's going to be to maintain one or two Windows servers. If you're a Windows shop, then that's not an issue and any of the SolarWinds products are going to be easy for you to get running. If you're mainly a Linux shop, you should think hard about this one. There are a lot of configuration management systems out there that work fine on Linux. We used Rancid for years, and have played around with Oxidized and liked both of them. They aren't as feature-rich out of the box, but we can automate them better than we can with SolarWinds. If you want something that relatively easy to set up and learn, and that doesn't require much upkeep other than Windows maintenance, then NCM is a great product.
Read Kevin Lambert's full review
David Eckert profile photo
March 09, 2019

"SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Network Configuration Manager is used on a daily basis at Midwest Energy & Communications. This network support product from Solarwinds is used to back up our Cisco network switches on a weekly basis. It is used as a network configuration change management approval and tracking system. It is used as a running and startup comparison tool. We use it as a compliance verification resources. We use it as a safety net when making network changes. Finally, you can use it to perform upgrades on multiple switches in a scheduled process.
  • Solarwinds Network Configuration Manager is an automated configuration backup system that archives configurations for your managed network devices. The backup process is very easy to set up and backups are fully automated. You can make the backup task reoccur, which lets you set up a schedule and target devices. NCM uses secure credentials to access each device and store the configs in a central database. If a backup fails, it will alert you immediately so you can correct the problem.
  • With NCM's change management in place, you can avoid bad or invalid configuration changes before being deployment using a change approval process. Adhering to security policies is a difficult part of configuration management and change control. SolarWinds Configuration Manager includes vulnerability scanning, compliance assessment reports, and real-time configuration change monitoring to help you meet security policy requirements.
  • NCM makes bulk switch config and router changes saving time and reducing errors when compared to manual updates by automating bulk configuration changes to wired and wireless devices. We save time by using change management to push approved and standardized config changes to devices in minutes across our entire network.
  • It lakes the out-of-box integration with some of the lower end product lines on the market and focuses on the more high end and expensive switching and routing products.
  • As with most of Solarwinds product line, it is now requiring the Windows Server 2016 operating system to run. Due to the price point, they should make it available to run on open source Linux platforms.
We have had a couple of instances where we have had a crashed switch and it has made the restoration process very fast. Grab a new switch fire up the basics, and apply the currently archived backup and you are done. This is comforting to not have to worry about a down switch or router.
Read David Eckert's full review
Brett Organ profile photo
February 22, 2019

Review: "SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is a huge time saver!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
NCM is being used as our central device change tracking application. It is used to centralize and control our internal processes related to network device configuration change management. The application helps us know who can and does make changes to network devices. It also plays a central role with internal auditing of device configurations policies. The chief advantage of NCM is in the ability to schedule configuration backups jobs and track device configuration changes. Being able to execute a policy audit report related to DISA STIG, PCI, SOX, or other rule sets is also a huge time saver.
  • Archiving of device configurations. This is the most basic of features for NCM and provides an easy way to maintain startup and running configurations for all network devices.
  • NCM can execute scripts. Any task that is typically done by a technician from the command line is handled by NCM. This includes the ability to schedule script execution jobs against a single device or multiple devices.
  • NCM provides several types of reports out of the box. These include configuration change reports and inventory reports as the best examples.
  • One can easily perform a "stare and compare" of two device configurations so as to quickly and easily determine where changes have occurred.
  • For those people who may not be proficient at using regular expressions, NCM needs to evolve to provide more direct contextual help in this regard.
  • The job logs that NCM provides are very utilitarian and do not lend themselves to viewing and searching well at all.
Network Configuration Manager really is well suited to any environment regardless of size or vendor mix. It has out-of-the-box support for a large and growing list of network vendors, and provides a user-friendly tool to adjust the tool to work with the occasional device that cannot be recognized by default. NCM would be of particular value to the small IT shop where only a few busy IT staff are responsible for a large number of network devices. The time that is saved by being able to centrally manage configuration management and reporting tasks is huge.
Read Brett Organ's full review
Brian James profile photo
March 01, 2019

Review: "SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager -- Recommend!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
NCM is used strictly by the IT dept as the primary platform for network configuration management. Along with NPM, SAM and VMM, we use NCM to manage network component configuration changes, backups and recovery. Our company deployed the Orion platform with the above tools in order for them to monitor and manage their IT systems from a single platform.
  • Network device management -- It's a great tool to review changes over time for troubleshooting purposes with the ability to easily compare configs from the same device from different time periods.
  • Backup and Restore -- Its ability to easily backup and restore Cisco device configs has saved us a few times from bad configuration changes that needed to be quickly reverted, and with recovery from major hardware failures.
  • Device Support -- Determining what types of devices can be managed by NCM can be frustrating when you go outside of basic devices such as Cisco.
Very good for Cisco/Dell network device configuration management. Not as powerful, that I can tell, for devices outside the mainstream.
Read Brian James's full review
Joe Slitzker profile photo
February 26, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Easy to use and great support team in the US!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NCM by SolarWinds to back up our configurations, inventory hardware, and create change reports to watch for unauthorized changes and/or in troubleshooting to help find things that recently changed if an outage occurs.
  • Regular Configuration Backups.
  • Configuration Change Reports.
  • Hardware and Health Inventory.
  • Updated GUI.
  • Better integration with third parties such as Cisco -- they're working on it, but it's not quite ready.
I highly recommend NCM if you don't have a way to centrally manage your networking environment, or if you need a way to keep track of changes made to your device configs.
Read Joe Slitzker's full review
Jeffrey Thoenen profile photo
February 22, 2019

Review: "SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it mainly as a configuration backup tool for all of our routers, switches, and firewalls. It addresses the issues of being able to provide a replacement device in case of failure.
  • It is a great tool for configuration backup and archive.
  • It can be utilized as a configuration push tool when standard configurations need to be deployed in the enterprise.
  • I do not see any shortfalls at this time, as we use it for its advertised purpose.
We use it when equipment fails and we have to restore a backup to the replacement. It works well for keeping the running config current.
Read Jeffrey Thoenen's full review
Art Mehlman profile photo
February 12, 2019

Review: "Solarwinds Network Configuration Manager from a user's perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NCM is being used to keep track of the running configurations of our network devices.The network engineers use NCM to keep the configuration for PCI auditing across our network. This helps us to track network device configuration changes. This help us find the cause of down times when a configuration change affect network performance.
  • Easy to track configuration changes
  • Allows us to manage our network device configurarations
  • The interface is very easy to use
  • When going to edit a node I often click on the node which brings up the details page then I have to hit edit node. I like the new drop down menu that allows a direct route to the edit node function.
  • I don't like the new manage entities page, I prefer the old manage nodes interface.
We use NCM almost every day to add new nodes to our system. But if the devices have a lot of interfaces it is time consuming to unclick the interfaces to monitor. A way to automatically pre-select only the interfaces we are interested in would save us time. At this time we don't have many custom properties, but as the number of properties increases it may take a while to find the property we want to change.A searchable list of properties would be good.
Read Art Mehlman's full review
Rob Bates profile photo
February 04, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "NCM - Remove the manual and tedious element to Multi-Vendor networks."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had no central repository for our network equipment in terms of configurations and backups that were being done ad-hoc. We also had no view of compliance in terms of the configs themselves. When changes were being made we would often not be able to see who had changed what and when. As we're a global operation, with multiple sites internationally, including multiple IT staff with access, we needed to find a way to gain control of this.
  • Central repository for multi-vendor configurations.
  • Automated backups of configurations.
  • Configuration Compliance.
  • Firmware Vulnerability.
  • Device Lifecycles.
  • Integration into the Core Orion platform. Central pane of glass.
  • It's hard to fault the module. It's a must-have for any organization with a plethora of network devices.
  • Our only gripe would be SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) sonar discovery places server nodes into NCM sometimes.
Being able to view snapshots of configs and being able to see what has changed since the last snapshot is a priceless feature. Especially if you have employees with multiple access. In the case of a device failure, being able to retrieve the config backup from SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is another feature that cannot be underestimated.
Read Rob Bates's full review
Alexandro del Angel Escobar profile photo
February 01, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Network Configuration Manager experience"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager in order to keep configuration backups of our 1000+ Network devices and to perform config change audits. Config change audits are useful when troubleshooting issues that are a result of a change implemented by someone else, this way you can identify what was changed. Also useful for automated backups jobs.
  • Automated backups configuration jobs.
  • Automated config change audits.
  • Compatibility with several platforms.
  • Bug fixing
  • Do things simpler for the user GUI.
  • Simpler procedures for the jobs creation.
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is well-suited in environments where you have a big network infrastructure and configuration backups cannot happen manually. Also for strict security environments where configuration change audits are performed and reviewed on a daily basis. Having configuration backups ready for any emergency is a basic required tool for any network admin.
Read Alexandro del Angel Escobar's full review
Corey Gallatin profile photo
January 25, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Extremely Satisfied with SolarWinds Network Compliance Manager"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds NCM to ensure configuration policy compliance, for configuration backup and restoration, for quick syslog search, and for problem identification and alerting. This allows us to use an automated system for backing up device configurations, a single interface to ensure configuration policy compliance, and allows us to easily generate an inventory.
  • Automated equipment configuration backup -- This frees up tons of time for us in an environment where the configurations change frequently.
  • Compliance checking [- This catches all the little things you may overlook when deploying a new device into your environment, especially when you are in a time crunch.
  • Change comparison -- This is always a help when you can see side by side what changes have been made.
  • Syslog -- The syslog server in this software is beyond compare when you need to search for specific events.
  • More vendor specific equipment profiles would be a great benefit.
Best deployed where networking equipment configurations change frequently and need to be compliant with specific regulations, or in large networking environments where there are many devices to manage and keep track of.

Less appropriate for very small networks where things are very static.
Read Corey Gallatin's full review
Chris Brizzell profile photo
January 23, 2019

Review: "SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is a multi-vendor, multi-tool must have for all network administrators."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager primarily to support our network infrastructure. We run daily backups of all of our network hardware every night. SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager stores these for us and we can go back in time to restore a backup should we need it. It is very helpful and comforting to know that we have that available at our fingertips.
  • Runs daily backups and stores them.
  • Allows configuration jobs to be run against a subset of network devices.
  • Provides reports of network devices that may be end-of-support or end-of-life.
  • Interface for the configuration change jobs is a little clunky.
  • Some of the information on the end-of-support device report is inaccurate.
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is well-suited in an environment where there are many network devices. In our specific scenario, we have devices from several different vendors that have their configurations backed up by Network Configuration Manager. We have a total of 195 network devices. Without Network Configuration Manager it would be very difficult to manage all of the backups of those devices.
Read Chris Brizzell's full review
Jason Scobbie profile photo
January 23, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "NCM is the Wind beneath my Solar Wings"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager internally for management of all infrastructure. Manages and monitors hardware across our global WAN. NCM performs config maintenance and mgmt for over 300 devices.
  • Automate config changes.
  • Config Backup.
  • Differential comparison on backups.
  • Better alerting for missed backups.
  • More canned config templates.
  • Easier to read documentation on config template creation.
Requires a Windows server and the cost would be my only negatives.
Read Jason Scobbie's full review
No photo available
March 09, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "For the systems engineer wanting to step up to learn more networking!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm not a network person by trade, but SolarWinds' tools allow me a great deal of insight into network operations without an overbearing amount of technical requirements. While I keep the systems running, I know NCM is there in the background providing me a backup of configs and, more importantly, an alert if someone makes an unknown change that causes a cascading failure. Within this environment, I can then focus on my day to day goals, while knowing I have NCM covering my back in my department, making things run smoothly and keeping a tighter profile within our organization.
  • Network configuration backups are so minor yet so pivotal for maintaining the trust that in the worst scenarios, we can find our settings and not have to start from scratch
  • Network change alerts keep peace of mind that hackers or even mistaken coworkers aren't putting a whole network segment in jeopardy
  • The integration with SolarWind Orion means I have a single pane of glass, which always sounds not really useful until you realize there is just one location to get all your answers fast, without any wasted effort.
  • Network alerts could use some greater flexibility. I don't need an alert if someone is just correcting a misspelling on a VLAN!
  • When Meraki networks have a change in registered system admins, the old API key fails, and there is no warning that data is no longer being synced. That was a surprise to me when I took over the role.
  • The update pace is good and healthy, but I'd like to see auto-updates within the product.
If I was a CCIE, I feel like I wouldn't need all the tools I use currently, but I bet there'd be a million other facets of the product I would use. However, as a systems engineer, what I can use and can easily understand now helps me do my job and increase my abilities on the networking side. If you don't feel the need to have that, it may be superfluous, but for me, it's a solid value-add.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 08, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "SolarWinds NCM meets our organization's goals for DR of our network configurations"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds NCM in our entire organization of roughly 2000 employees and 8000 students. We have about 800 switches across our entire network that we use NCM in conjunction with. NCM is part of our disaster recovery plan, by providing us a reliable way of backing up switch and router configurations. We use it a lot to look at old configuration backups to compare against current configurations to determine what configuration changes may be causing an issue that we are seeing on the network.
  • Configuration backups. Backups are scheduled and take both the running and startup configurations. Backups are only saved when there is a configuration change between the latest configuration downloaded and the previous version. This works great in our environment.
  • Baseline configurations. These standardize what the configuration of a device should be. If anything changes from that baseline, you have a reference to see what and how it should be configured properly, and can easily see the differences.
  • Reporting. You can easily build reports using a simple GUI to find all devices that have a certain configuration options set-build and inventory reports of devices. You also have an advanced reporting capability of using a true SQL statement to run the report as well if needed.
  • Some additional pointers or documentation on how to build custom reports based around SQL queries for those of us that are not database administrators. Perhaps an examples directory or same reports to show how some of this can all be tied together.
  • Upgrades have been an issue in the past if you get too far out of sync with the most current version. I know a lot has been done to address this recently by moving to a single integrated installer and we have not had any issues since keeping within 2 or 3 versions behind the most current release.
Seems to work well in our environment where we have all the same vendor switches and routers. It should work just as well in a mixed environment of vendors too, as there are pre-built templates for other devices that can be used. You can also create your own template for a device if it is not built-in.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 22, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Easy & flexible"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I manage a team that uses SolarWinds in the NOC. It monitors all of our network switches and access points.
  • Timely reporting on outages.
  • Configurable dashboards.
  • Easy to find alerts.
  • More alerting features.
  • If-then-else logic.
If you take the time, you can get pretty much everything you're looking for from this product.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 18, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Solarwinds configuration manager has worked very well for us"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by the network team to back up the configuration of all net network devices.
  • Daily configuration backups
  • Change comparison
  • Daily report
  • Logging into devices
  • It's hard to manage the number of configs kept and impossible per device or device groups.
  • Slow user interface
Good when backing up configs of multiple network devices.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 14, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "SolarWinds: decent software at so-so prices."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization utilized SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager to maintain our network configurations so we could efficiently monitor and manage our network devices, whilst ensuring proper ACLs and configurations. NCM was used so in the event of any disaster that may come our way, be it weather, hardware failure, or a scrambled configuration, we would be able to quickly return to normal business operations.
  • Finding redundant rules in ACLS.
  • DR/BC readiness with saved configurations.
  • Reporting on our network devices.
  • Pricing
  • Pricing
  • Pricing
NCM is well suited to control the entire network device lifecycle, from onboarding and initial configuration to device retirement. Network discovery works very well. When adding to an existing network, NCM enables you to quickly "catch-up" on getting your devices in compliance with your corporate policies and offers the reporting to back that up.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 08, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Network Configuration Manager making your life simple and easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage this software to monitor, back up, and maintain our environment. Just a few of us in the IT department use this software. It helps us see what changes have been made to find issues and keeps our backups in case of failure of equipment. This has helped us a great deal.
  • Network Configuration Manager works really well for pushing out configurations to newly deployed equipment. It makes it a no-brainer.
  • NCM also takes the guesswork out of misconfiguration changes by allowing you to compare changes to configurations. That makes your job pretty painless in this area.
  • NCM allows you to inventory your equipment for easy inventory. It keeps you from having to have an Excel sheet to maintain it.
  • I really enjoy using Network Configuration Manager. I don't really any cons for it. It's pretty easy to use and configure.
We have had some really old equipment fail in production. Using Network Configuration Manager, we were able to get back up and running within 10 mins. This is a huge asset. When you have a ton of work this is one less thing you have to worry about. If you add other SolarWinds products, they work seamlessly together.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 08, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "NCM just works!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage our network configurations on HP, Cisco, and Palo Alto devices. It's really only used by two individuals to be able to access historical copies of network configuration data. Having historical copies helps us by ensuring that we are able to recover if there is a hardware failure on a device that is not already HA capable.
  • It backups up simple configurations really well.
  • It's really easy to set up.
  • It integrates very well with other SolarWinds products.
  • Backing up XML configurations could be done easier.
  • I don't like how the user accounts are set up and managed. There's just too many options.
  • Being able to use more SNMP options.
It's well suited for environments where you want your configurations of network devices backed up in a simple, efficient manner. It would work best for IT folks that have a lot of things on their plate and just need something simple to use and that doesn't require a lot of upkeep.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 08, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "SolarWinds NCM: Not just a catchy Acronym, but a very useful tool and asset."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Network Configuration Manager is a valuable tool and we currently use it to back up all router, switch, and firewall configurations on our network of over 100 devices. It allows us to recover/replace devices very quickly as well as deploy configuration changes to multiple devices very quickly, saving us hours of labor every year. I highly recommend this product if your environment is Cisco based.
  • Network equipment backup/restore/replace.
  • Report changes to existing equipment with side by side views of previous running configurations.
  • Deploy configuration changes to multiple devices at once using built-in variables.
  • Would like to have a more straightforward workflow.
  • The ability to reset NCM config and pollers to default.
This tool is extremely useful if you have a large number of devices, locations, and network administrators. Especially if there are often changes to these devices by a team of people. It also comes in handy when replacing network equipment upon failure, quickly restoring the last running config to a replacement device.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 22, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "SolarWinds NCM"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NCM to keep an archive of our running and startup configurations for our Cisco network devices. We also have begun to use it to ensure that our switches meet our standard configurations by creating configuration policies that compare our standards to the running configurations of our devices. When we have large-scale changes to make on several switches, we take advantage of the scripting available to run the commands on multiple switches simultaneously. There are several tasks that, without NCM or something like it, would take us hours or days to complete due to the number of network devices that we would have to manually touch.
  • It is a central portal to administer global or site-specific changes.
  • The capability to compare running configurations to standard policies that you can build yourself is very powerful. It does take some initial investment and follow-up on the part of the administrators, as we have found using the auto-remediation features a little bit dangerous.
  • The out-of-the-box templates for industry standard policies are very powerful as well. We have not taken advantage of them, but I can see them being very valuable in highly regulated areas.
  • The user community on THWACK is fantastic.
  • As with all things SolarWinds, many things just seem like they could have a little more of an easy button. SolarWinds has made some great strides with this recently in UI improvements, but I think there is still room to grow. Most functionality you could want is there, it is just a matter of finding how to do it.
I would say Network Configuration Manager is valuable in a network of any moderate size. In a very small network, maybe up to 25 or so network devices, it is probably unnecessary. However, if you have more than 25 devices and you have a security flaw that requires you to add a line of configuration to all of your network devices, you will be glad to have NCM to perform the legwork for you. I have also only used it with Cisco devices. I do not have any experience with non-Cisco gear, except for using it to backup an F5 configuration.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 22, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Network Configuration Manager was Good for me...So good for you"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this specifically within the Information and Communication Technology Department with the Technical Team that supports the Network Infrastructure. Specifically, we use it to backup scripts from our network equipment (switches, etc) as well as review the various OS's on the devices and monitor configuration changes on our equipment. We also use it for assessment of the various OS's we have at present on our network equipment to ensure that we have no vulnerabilities, etc.
  • Script Backups.
  • Assessment of Firmware / OS on network Equipment (re: compliance, vulnerabilities, etc).
  • Ability to Upgrades of Firmware / OS from a central location.
  • Ability to track changes made by staff re: Scripts, etc.
  • Equipment manufacturer vendors that are not popular take some time to be supported.
  • Training for this Product is not as rich as other SolarWinds Products i.e. Orion, NPM, SAM, etc.
Well suited for the backup and monitoring of scripts; this is very helpful for organizations with many devices at different locations. It makes it very easy to monitor, manage and track, especially in environments that need these types of regulatory requirements. The system is also very useful to track vulnerabilities of your devices so that you have them available in a single pane. It's not so good when you do not have the popular equipment i.e. Cisco, etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 12, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager: "Review of Solarwinds NCM"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using NCM to backup all our devices and review configuration changes. This solves the problem of losing configurations within our organization when devices fail. It is very helpful to have the configurations backed and able to see historical configurations so we can track changes within our organization and restore from backups if needed.
  • Backup configurations
  • Search configurations for IP Addresses
  • Alert to changes on devices
  • Would be good to alert better when devices are not being backed up.
  • The interface for viewing the configurations could be a little quicker to find things.
  • It would be great if it could do realtime backups instead of on jobs.
It works well for small to medium organizations. Larger organizations I ran into issues maintaining the devices.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 25, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "SolarWinds is an affordable and capable Network Configuration management solution."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Network Configuration Manager primarily to automate configuration backup, though we intend to use it for change tracking, etc down the line.
  • Once a device is connected, the regular config backups are super reliable.
  • Like most SolarWinds products, the customizable dashboard works great.
  • Change and policy reports are easy to find and read, and are automatically generated.
  • NCM (and the thwack community) has great templates for a lot of the network equipment out there.
  • We have a multi-context ASA that requires some fidgeting to get into NCM properly. Considering this is a pretty popular product (and one of the main reasons we purchased NCM), I would think this would be something SolarWinds could make more turnkey.
  • On initial setup, the separation between adding something to Orion and allowing it to be managed by NCM was a little muddy. Now that I've been using it longer, this is obviously less of an issue, but it seems worth mentioning.
  • I wish the Network Discovery worked a little better.
SolarWinds NCM is great for managing configs on switches. It feels a little incomplete for automating tasks on our multi-context ASA.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 24, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "NCM Easy Back-ups"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager to backup our configuration and look for any changes. Being able to have backups and quickly restore a switch to the previous configuration has worked out well using NCM. I set up an approval system, so I can manage the changes on the switches. I can just monitor changes on the switch or have certain users need approval to make changes. I also looked at NCM to find any commands that previous users did not configure the switch for security purposes as most equipment was configured before my arrival.
  • Backups, Backups, Backups, NCM saves and deploys your configuration quickly.
  • Management of allowing users to make changes.
  • Identifying missing commands needed for security of your device.
  • Setting up graphs/charts
  • Configuring or displaying the devices using their network mapping tool
  • I would like to see an easier setup to integrate all devices/nodes managed by NCM
  • Upgrading the software can be painful if you don't pay attention
NCM is well suited for mid-to-large size companies. If you mange many devices that you would to backup automatically, work with a small IT team that has plenty of tasks to do, and wants to verify the integrity of the current configuration. I do not have to spend hours looking at the configuration on a device to see what changed. NCM highlights the difference between the backup configuration to the running configuration and I take it from there.
Read this authenticated review

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Scorecard Summary

About SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) can help save time and improve network reliability and security by managing configurations, changes, and compliance for routers, switches, and other network devices.

Network Configuration Manager enables IT Pros with:
  • Out-of-the-box support for major network device vendors, including Cisco®, Juniper®, HP®, Huawei®, F5®, Avaya®, Ruckus®, and more.
  • Automated bulk deployment of standardized device configs.
  • Automatic backups of device configurations, and rollback to the last-known good configurations, if necessary.
  • Identifying IOS® devices with potential vulnerabilities, utilizing the NIST CVE repository service, and even provides the tools to manage the investigation, remediation, or waiver of each vulnerability.
  • Auditing device configs for NIST FISMA, DISA STIG, and DSS PCI compliance.
  • Built on the Orion® Platform, NCM provides the ability to purchase and fully integrate with additional network monitoring modules (network performance monitoring, NetFlow traffic analysis, WAN management, VoIP, device tracking, and IP address management), as well as systems, storage, and virtualization management, all in a single web console.

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Features

Has featureConfiguration Change Automation
Has featureConfiguration Backup and Restore
Has featureChange Monitoring
Has featureChange Management - Roles & Approval
Has featureBaselines and Configuration Drift Monitoring
Has featureIOS Vulnerability Scanning
Has featureCompliance Assessment and Enforcement
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco Nexus
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco ASA

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Screenshots

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Video

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Overview

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Downloadables

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Integrations

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Windows Server
Mobile Application:No