SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
225 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 107)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
October 02, 2020
Wyant Niswonger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Network Configuration Manager is used by the IT department to manage all network devices in the organization. It was put in to address inconsistent patching levels and to give a better view into the network as a whole. Since the department is small, it is a valuable tool.
  • NCM Maintains a DB of the devices and their current configuration.
  • Automated backups of configs.
  • Notification of changes to configs outside of maintenance windows.
  • I would like to see the initial seeding of the DB more tightly integrated with NPM.
  • Better integration with vendors for patch management.
To date, I have not found a situation where NCM is not appropriate. It is easier to use than similar products from the vendors and since it is vendor agnostic, it works well with just about anything. The only scenario where I think it would be less useful would be in some Software Defined Networking situations that are fluid in their configurations.
We have used the NCM to keep hands on changes to a minimum for the devices that we have standardized on. We are a small organization so this is not as apparent as it would be in an organization that has dozens or hundreds of similar devices. But for our purposes, NCM is a very valuable tool.
To be fair, I have not had to involve Support in a number of years, but when I did, I was greeted with enthusiastic engineers who wanted to understand and solve the issue. It was a fairly complex scenario and I have discovered in my most recent implementation that engineering included that option as a standard now.
Read Wyant Niswonger's full review
December 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT Infrastructure team uses NCM to automate backups of all of our network devices. We also use this for keeping up to date on firmware versions, and for configuration change logging.
  • Automated Backups.
  • Change Logging & Rollback.
  • Firmware version vulnerability information.
  • Cisco IOS Updates directly from the NCM console.
  • Multi device config information, like scripting.
  • Non Cisco device information is not as detailed.
If you have a lot of network hardware from a large manufacturer, especially Cisco I would definitely recommend NCM. The ability to log any changes and compare configurations from multiple days is a life saver. Have NCM running on it's own and backing up all of our devices, gives us one more layer of redundancy for our configs.
We have cut down on the manual process of managing device backups via SFPT/SCP. We no longer have to manage a shared location and delete backups after a certain amount of time, NCM does it for us.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to maintain CIP-governed assets environment and non-CIP ones. It allows us to monitor our many assets connected on our network. We can deploy agents via Orion and monitor them all in one dashboard. It is used only in our department while Corporate IT uses another tool.
  • NCM grants admins easy to use dashboard for all facets of monitoring.
  • It has many built-in templates that can implemented easily for polling.
  • Offers users canned reports and alerts.
  • Some reports were created in old proprietary software that is now obsolete.
  • Is somewhat of a bear to set up.
  • Has many different modules that can be used but may require additional licensing.
SolarWinds NCM is well-suited for most small to large sized companies. It could help technicians and admins monitor the network at their organizations. There is some efficiency in the deployment of the agents to all connected endpoints which makes it great for medium to large networks. For networks with less than 25 endpoints, it would be overkill. Time to setup, implement, and maintain would take away from all other tasks during the day for a single admin or tech.
Using NCM has significantly cut down on time needed to monitor the status of assets. Admins and technicians could access the dashboard and quickly find out whether the assets are up and functioning or down. When audited, the tools provided via NCM allowed our team to acquire, compile, and submit the required data in a timely manner.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NCM is being used within our department as well as the department responsible for the design of the network. NCM is being used to push mass changes to all of our network gear and to enforce configuration standards. It is also being used as a recon tool by running show (recon) commands on gear to have a quick but detailed look across the organization.
  • Configuration Standardization
  • Quick and Mass Configuration Changes
  • A better implementation of using variables in jobs would be awesome.
  • Being able to take the output of a command and feed it into a second command.
NCM is great at pushing a generic script to multiple (100+) devices quickly. If you need to change your DNS servers on every Cisco Switch, it's super slick. But, if you need to change every access port in VLAN 5 to VLAN 55, NCM struggles really hard to interpret the output and be able to use that data efficiently.
We had a security vulnerability and a software bug start to affect our service on roughly 3000 switches. Being able to say run the upgrade command on 3000 devices and reload them saved months of our worker's time and condensed the work to about 4 nights. We only made it 4 nights in case there were problems. We didn't want to affect all the switches, but no problems arose, and in less than a week we had done 3000 IOS upgrades which is a major money and time saver. We run a complete Cisco shop so we have not experienced any multi-vendor situations.
Yes - Yes, Solarwinds has implemented a upgrade process built right into the website portion of NCM. This allows you to click through the prompts fairly quickly and provides updates on the status of the upgrade. If you are not using HA pairs, the server will be down for the upgrade but only once he needs to power down the processes in able to upgrade them. There was no negitive impacts to the upgrade and we were given a nice new feature sets with each release
Read this authenticated review
December 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is being used in all IT organizations, especially for Cisco Devices. It is helping to identify End-of-Life devices and code standardization that was hidden before.
  • Running configuration vs startup configuration reports
  • End-of-life report
  • Policy violation report
  • Inventory & firmware management
  • Integration with other vendors (e.g. Aruba, HP, Palo Alto, etc.)
I really recommend using SolarWinds NCM to manage a Cisco environment. It's a great tool that helps with security & compliance management. Also, it is a great tool for coding & inventory management.
We are taking advantage of numerous ways to automate jobs for upgrading codes, inventory reports, and configurations on a large scale. For a Cisco environment, SolarWinds NCM is a brilliant tool but still missing the full integration with other vendors like Aruba, HP, Palo Alto, etc. (For instance just today, NCM had some problems managing Aruba switches 2930M and 8320s.)
I rate this a 10 for Cisco Devices, but there is still a gap in the integration with other vendors. Sometimes, it requires a special setup in order to work properly for vendors like Aruba, HP, Palo Alto, etc.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Network Configuration Manager primarily to automate configuration backup, though we intend to use it for change tracking, etc down the line.
  • Once a device is connected, the regular config backups are super reliable.
  • Like most SolarWinds products, the customizable dashboard works great.
  • Change and policy reports are easy to find and read, and are automatically generated.
  • NCM (and the thwack community) has great templates for a lot of the network equipment out there.
  • We have a multi-context ASA that requires some fidgeting to get into NCM properly. Considering this is a pretty popular product (and one of the main reasons we purchased NCM), I would think this would be something SolarWinds could make more turnkey.
  • On initial setup, the separation between adding something to Orion and allowing it to be managed by NCM was a little muddy. Now that I've been using it longer, this is obviously less of an issue, but it seems worth mentioning.
  • I wish the Network Discovery worked a little better.
SolarWinds NCM is great for managing configs on switches. It feels a little incomplete for automating tasks on our multi-context ASA.
We're in the fledgling stages of implementation, and it's already given us some peace of mind and time savings from the ease of config backups.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Network Configuration Manager is being used by the information technology department every day. The software provides a single pane of glass for our network infrastructure. We use it for our network switches, our firewall and other pieces of equipment. Network Configuration Manager allows us to update our critical infrastructure without intervention. It also backs up all of our configurations for the same to your critical infrastructure.
  • Config backup.
  • Vulnerability scanning.
  • Network integrations.
  • Monitoring.
  • Usability.
  • User interface.
  • Reporting.
We are in the beginning stages of implementation after three years. This should be a sign of how robust the software is, but also how convoluted the interface is. It has done a good job of improving network uptime. It allows us to spot issues before they become problematic for our company.
We manage a very diverse infrastructure across a few different families of products. Network Configuration Manager shows the ability to work with all of the major players. It does integrate to the Orion platform and provides an exponential amount of information In a single spot. It acts like an additional FTE for our department.
The support from SolarWinds has always been great. They work with you when you need them to work with you. They are always well spoken and well-versed in their products. When they are unable to answer questions they always are able to escalate to others who can. It has been one of my favorite vendors to work with.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is used to manage Cisco network equipment across the council's sites. It allows us to be able to keep multiple versions of our configurations and restore them if necessary.
  • We can check compliance of equipment configurations across the campus.
  • Monitoring of hardware health
  • Review events/SNMP traps or syslogs to know what is happening across the network
  • I have not found any issues to mention.
To be able to review any changes and have them flagged is very helpful, especially when there has been an issue with a particular device that is causing network issues. To easily refer to the last configuration and see what changes there have been and then revert if required is a feature I would not want to be without.
We have not used this feature very often because we are quite a small network, but the advantages are plain to see. It will save time and reduce mistakes that can creep in if tasks are done manually.
Read this authenticated review
November 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) is being used by our IT department, both in Israel and the US. It helps mange configuration changes of our network equipment worldwide, mainly for Cisco firewalls, load balancers, switches, and other network equipment. SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) helps us prevent issues with unwanted, accidentally entered configurations and meet compliance requirements.
  • It is very good for managing configuration changes.
  • Helps protect from unwanted changes.
  • Very good with compliance.
  • User interface can be more user friendly.
  • Reporting has room for improvement, as is key in such software.
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) is very good at helping with error prevention by allowing us to have a standard set for relevant network equipment. This helps prevent downtime due to human error and helps us quickly roll back any configuration made by mistake. Compliance is also a strong point. Our security department is very happy with SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), which helps us meet PCI needs and helps with security as each change is reported.
As most our equipment is Cisco, so this feature is not used much.
The support we got from SolarWinds has always been very good--very professional, quick to respond, and flexible when needed. Even when we had a specific requirement, support was ready to help us. I did not specifically work with SolarWinds support on SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM). No major issues, so in general they are very good.
Read this authenticated review
July 17, 2020
James Harrison, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gone are the days of looking for that most recent configuration of your firewall, router or network switch. As an engineer, I can do so many things with SolarWinds NCM, without having to worry if the configuration backup is currently being archived, and when or where it has been stored. As a company subjected to audits, I have the ability to verify that changes were made correctly, and by whom. This makes management very happy. It also provides a "rollback" point should a change be made that causes things to break.
  • Automated change manager. I can build my configuration change, schedule it for dark-30.
  • I will be notified of any change in real-time. I also see the before/after view of the change, and track failed commands.
  • I can snapshot my configuration, and later run a before/after report to ensure the correct change was deployed.
  • The configuration module could use some additional canned reports.
  • The configuration comparison between two devices is not working for me. The previous versions were on the server, but since moving to a WebUI, some of that functionality is more difficult to use.
  • More training videos are always beneficial.
SolarWinds NCM is beneficial if there are more than a few network devices needing configuration management, archiving and restoration. It would not be much help if there are only one or two devices to manage. I have managed networks in excess of 250 devices and without this tool, I would not be able to perform blank changes, run "down to the blade" hardware and version inventories on the fly or scheduled.
We have automated our configuration and asset change backups to run nightly, before the change window. That provides a fail back point for those manual changes, where the tech connects directly to a system to implement a change.

When assessing a new technology, we use NCM to validate the hardware and OS will support the new environment. An example is this.
Running Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE v1.x), we wanted to move to 2.x. After running the inventory, we discovered that our switch IOS version would need to be updated PRIOR to the upgrade to 2.x. This saved many hours of troubleshooting for a preventable cause.
Read James Harrison, CISSP's full review
July 15, 2020
Bill Kaufman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Primarily as a config backup and change comparison tool. We do not use the automation scripts as much out of fear of automated changed to network equipment.
  • Change identification
  • Backup
  • Visibility to authorized users
  • Licensing. Bought a 500 node license to manage a US only deployment. However that 500 node/device license only allows 500 ports/items to be monitored. That seems a bit restricted. I understand you need to make money but if I want to buy 500 nodes, at least allow me to monitor 5x ports, etc.
  • Expensive remote worker servers. I already paid for an unlimited deployment, let me have the remote servers so performance statistics are measured close to the source. We have 80+ global locations but we have to measure everything from our data center server. Not useful to our remote site technicians trying to measure or monitor local performance.
Other than the licensing issues it does the job well. The interface is intuitive.
We rarely use the automated changes out of fear of automated changes to network equipment. We do use it to gather information but not change information. This is more of a fear factor of making a mistake that disconnects a network where we do not have support.
Read Bill Kaufman's full review
April 07, 2020
Nick Darnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using NPM to monitor 121 Cisco witches distributed throughout our environment. It helps us to immediately determine if a switch has failed in a data closet or if a power outage has occurred. We also use the statistical data captured by NPM to determine capacity planning and gather current usage statistics.
  • Capacity Planning
  • Outage Reporting
  • Config Backups
  • Creating the reporting for port security violations is difficult.
In a large scale environment, NPM is extremely useful for monitoring your switches to determine if they are functional or not. We have very frequent power outages, and NPM has quite often informed us and we are onsite before employees have the chance to report an outage.
Regular config backups saves us the time used to access each of the switches manually.
Read Nick Darnell's full review
July 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT group uses SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager to maintain backups of the configurations of all our networking equipment. SolarWinds has made it extremely easy to be able to go back and audit changes and verify everything after the fact. The built-in ability to run jobs to make bulk changes or create reports makes it so even our employees with zero programming/scripting experience can quickly get changes done.
  • Back up and maintain a database of configurations for CLI based equipment.
  • Analyze and audit any changes done to a config.
  • Make it easy to run bulk changes and create reports by using simple jobs and schedules.
  • Would like to see some more advanced options in terms of pulling the data from a job that has run.
  • The new software upgrade feature is nice but still seems just a little bit clunky to use.
  • I would like to see an easier way of creating custom compliance jobs.
SolarWinds NCM works great as a tool for managing configuration backups from routers, switches, and other CLI driven equipment. It isn't a complete backup solution, of course, as it has no way of managing any WebGUI based equipment. The jobs you can create and the canned compliance reports are very helpful as well.
SolarWinds NCM has greatly helped us reduce time by enabling us to create jobs to make changes to our configs in a mass update to hundreds of pieces equipment with just one scheduled job. Originally, someone would have had to log into every single device and paste in a string of config hundreds of times inviting the chance of error due to the repetitiveness.
Read this authenticated review
July 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to back up all of our network configurations, approve and deploy changes via scripts, track versioning and generate device reports. NCM is used across the organization as it represents a comprehensive solution to our network configuration needs.
  • Automated Backups. It makes backing up network devices simple to do and easy to manage
  • Change approval. When implemented correctly, it can provide an extra layer of assurance to network-related changes as they will have to be approved by someone else. This ensures that changes are not made in a bubble and at least two sets of eyes have reviewed it.
  • Creating an easy to read device version report, with custom fields is relatively simple to do and can give project managers a greater understanding of the time it may take to perform a task, such as ensuring SNMPv3 or updating code levels due to bugs.
  • Automate the creation of new hierarchy's within devices according to the year for backs.
  • Allow scripts to be assigned to certain groups so that when users log in, they only see the scripts that they are allowed to use.
I have a hard time thinking of when SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is less appropriate. Due to NCM's nature, it is well suited for all businesses regardless of size. However, for smaller businesses, that are simply looking for a configuration backup tool, there may be ones that are less expensive and without all the "bells and whistles."
As stated previously, we have several tasks that are simple in nature, but require time and effort. Normally these tasks are handled by our network engineering staff. NCM has allowed us to create a script and an accompanying standard operating procedure document that allows us to take those repetitive tasks and offload them back on the group that is asking for them. With NCM we have them log into Solarwinds change the data fields and then submit the changes. The changes are then sent to the network team where we review them to ensure they are correct and then approve. This has allowed us to focus on larger changes without having to worry about whether or not simple changes were completed.
Read this authenticated review
July 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially purchased for Network Switch management, but only used for configuration backups. It does not address configuration management as we've hoped it would because of SolarWinds inability to support the mainstream HP/Aruba devices by this product's device templates.
  • Configuration Backups
  • Support of mainstream network hardware manufacturers
  • Intelligent approach to NCM reporting logic (NCM stack in 15-25 years ago approach)
It is OK for scheduled configuration backups, but unusable with non-CISCO products when it comes to configuration management. Since less and less companies use CISCO LAN/WLAN devices due to exorbitant pricing, HP/Aruba had to be supported, but did not happen. THWACK is full of unanswered questions (2+ year old) about SolarWinds not supporting HP/Aruba devices config management. SolarWinds customers have to rely on the 3rd party-created templates and/or re-use many templates. Essentially SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager does not fulfill its "Configuration Manager" part of the name.
It has for a limited number of CISCO device models, excluding everything else due to lack of the device management template (for years and ongoing). We were only able to benefit from network device config backups.

No different VS any other SolarWinds products we have to deal with. Support is not well trained and seem to be internally discouraged from escalating even if they do not know what to do.
Read this authenticated review
July 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds NCM to take daily backups of our network devices. We have it set up to send us daily emails that explain which devices were backed up. We also have NCM send us daily configuration change management emails which inform us of the changes that were made on the network devices the previous day. Our entire organization uses Solarwinds in some shape or form to help them monitor devices. It seems to do everything we need it to do at the moment.
  • Perform daily configuration backups.
  • Perform massive wide configuration changes.
It is well suited in a backup scenario. If we ever lose one of our network devices to some type of failure we have a daily backup available to get a new one up and running with less downtime.
Automated tasks with email verifications are performed daily to help each of our jobs.
Read this authenticated review
July 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this tool to manage our network devices from a single application, allowing us to push changes/updates, grab inventory, run reports, etc.
  • It allows for remotely managing a plethora of devices with one console.
  • It allows for running reports.
  • Great ease of modifying multiple devices at once.
  • Not too much that I can think of.
SolarWinds is well suited when you have a large environment and you need to push out config changes to a myriad of devices, and then you can do that from a central location as opposed to having to log in to each device.
Yes, we benefited heavily from having to log in to multiple devices and copy/paste the same commands. We really don't have a hybrid environment mixed with multiple vendors, so that doesn't apply to us.
Read this authenticated review
June 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NCM on the infrastructure side of the house. We use it as our Cisco device configuration backup (which we run nightly), our security compliance audit tool, and for making broad changes to the network automatically or with the click of a button. The compliance check helps us create checks based on our specific requirements, and allows remediation to get very granular.
  • Configuration Backup
  • Security Audit
  • Device Inventory
  • Firmware upgrades
  • Mass configuration changes
  • If then statements allowed on config compliance reports
If you have Cisco equipment, then this product is a must have. It is very intuitive, and provides several options to network management teams. I have yet to use it on non-cisco gear, but if it has a CLI, you can pull data from it.
We have just implemented Cisco ISE which requires a lot of repetitive configuration changes on edge devices. Utilizing NCM, we have automated the license upgrade process, and have push button interface config changes for multiple offices. This has freed our engineers to focus on the configuration of the devices, as opposed to spending hours doing basic config changes.
Read this authenticated review
June 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Configuration Monitor is currently being utilized and deployed within our company as a replacement for RANCID. NCM is currently only being utilized by a small department of the IT team with the expectations that it will be expanded. NCM is being used to build a solution that is not only capable of backing up all of our network devices regardless of vendor but also to allow multiple teams across the organization access to the configuration files in an easy to utilize and controlled manner.
  • SolarWinds NCM is able to backup all our network devices, regardless of vendor.
  • SolarWinds NCM gives us a powerful tool to search configuration files.
  • SolarWinds NCM allows us to verify and enforce network standards on a daily basis.
  • More search options and abilities; Being able to utilize regex easily would be a huge plus
  • A more intuitive wizard to build your own scripts for pulling configuration files
SolarWinds Network Configuration Monitor is a great product for backing up and restoring configuration files. It provides a plethora of options and support, which enables you to backup anything with a CLI. I can't really think of a scenario where it is less appropriate as it is capable of doing everything I have required it to do at this time.
Our organization is fairly single-vendor, and we are not able to answer this question with a full understanding and utilization of the feature.
Read this authenticated review
July 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using NCM to manage our network across the state. We are using it to backup up switches, find when they are down, update and maintain them.
  • Backups up configs of different switches.
  • Easily scripts changes.
  • Run reports to find version/config setups.
  • The GUI has a lot going on and can be overwhelming.
It has been great to back up our devices and mass deploy changes.
I have saved a lot of time managing all of our switches in one central location.
Read this authenticated review
July 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It helps us manage our network devices. We can deploy our configurations across different platforms and groups. This solution is ideal for mass configurations deployment across the network.
  • Mass configuration deployment across different platforms.
  • The automated process of taking the backup configuration of your devices.
  • Complete config audit of all the devices.
  • Save troubleshooting commands that can be executed in case of a triggered event.
  • Creating audit reports in PDF form.
It is well suited for large scale deployments and automated backups.
We have benefitted from this a lot. It saves time and effort while deploying a configuration across multi-vendor networks
Read this authenticated review
December 28, 2019
Graham Clarkson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NCM is being used to:

1. Back up configurations.
2. Check that they meet our security requirements.
3. Make sure no one has made unauthorized changes.
  • Works with a variety of vendor products.
  • Allows us to tailor the config comparisons.
  • SolarWinds completely broke the baseline function. It no longer meets our needs.
  • Can no longer baseline an entire network in one step.
With the deletion of the ability to baseline an entire network, NCM is no longer of any use to our organization. We recently ran an NCM job that changed the NTP servers used by 800 of our network assets. We will now need to spend up to 80 hours manually applying a baseline for all 800 assets individually. This isn't going to happen and we are actively looking for a different solution. We certainly won't be paying for any further support contracts.
We definitely benefited in the past, especially when applying a script to make broad, network-wide changes. A script can be applied to hundreds of assets in a single job. We are required to perform annual local account password changes, and NCM makes this a trivial task by automating the change. The job log file provides the audit evidence we need to prove that the changes were made.

We also use NCM to gather NERC/CIP audit evidence from network assets. NCM allows us to collect the contents of ARP tables from all our assets with one simple scripted job. The job log file is then compared against our other NERC/CIP documentation to ensure we don't have any unauthorized assets within critical networks.
Read Graham Clarkson's full review
February 27, 2020
Randy Langer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have deployed SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager across the entire organization. We monitor the availability of our Cisco switches and routers and our Windows servers. We also backup the Cisco configs and use SolarWinds NCM as a syslog server.
  • Cisco switch backup config--easy to compare and restore
  • Syslog server--aggregate log messages
  • Sometimes slow to log in and needs to be restarted
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is well suited to network admins who need to monitor configurations and restore from time to time, and who need a syslog server to aggregate the log messages. It's less appropriate for performance monitoring or digging deep into network problems.
Yes. We have benefitted from bringing all configuration management and syslog events into a single console.
Read Randy Langer's full review
December 23, 2019
Preston King | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it to back up configuration from various layer 2 network switches across the state. Until now there has never been an easy way to accomplish device backups. We have been working with their staff to resolve an issue with uploading a config to a device that we have in our lab. The issue is still pending, but to date, they have been very helpful with trying to find a solution.
  • DOT has devices all over the state with no easy way to back up the device configuration. NCM allows us to perform those tasks.
  • I am still learning the product, so some of the issues may be due to not fully understanding the product functionality.
We are still learning the product but at this time, being able to back up several critical devices has been a great help.
We are still setting up and configuring all of the various model devices that we have. We may be able to provide more detailed information about this at a later date.
Read Preston King's full review
December 05, 2019
hoang nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Network Configuration to monitor all of our virtual machines. We monitor usage resources such as memory, cpu, disk usage, and bandwidth. SolarWinds is being used across the organization. The product saves time on research and helps to quickly determine what host is causing issues.
  • At-a-glance overview of hosts alongside performance metrics.
  • Allows for granular details of a host down to a service process if needed.
  • Allows for backup of config files for the host.
  • Great support from SolarWinds.
  • I wish the navigation was a lot quicker. Once the database of SolarWinds gets used, it slows down a lot. Loading and navigation are frustrating.
  • The wizard to set up a host is too complicated. There's so much to choose from, and it's not easy to set one up.
  • Most of the time when setting up a host to monitor, you need support to be on the phone.

SolarWinds is not an exact time monitoring product. It gives you a window for reporting and a view for performance, but it is not in real-time. You will have to look at the host for real-time. In addition to using SolarWinds, we have also used vCenter to set up rules for CPU, Disks, Memory, and Bandwidth usage. The reports from vCenter are more accurate to real time.

I would recommend SolarWinds if you are looking to save time in monitoring a lot of nodes. You get email reports when each node reaches a spike so you can act on it. The support is awesome. They are extremely helpful.

SolarWinds does save you a lot of time in troubleshooting why nodes are spiking. It can also save you time as it backs up logs for the hosts. If you are in need of a time-saving product, SolarWinds is your best bet.
Read hoang nguyen's full review

What is SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM)?

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) can help save time and improve network reliability and security by managing configurations, changes, and compliance for routers, switches, and other network devices.

Network Configuration Manager enables IT Pros with:
  • Out-of-the-box support for major network device vendors, including Cisco®, Juniper®, HP®, Huawei®, F5®, Avaya®, Ruckus®, and more.
  • Automated bulk deployment of standardized device configs.
  • Automatic backups of device configurations, and rollback to the last-known good configurations, if necessary.
  • Identifying IOS® devices with potential vulnerabilities, utilizing the NIST CVE repository service, and even provides the tools to manage the investigation, remediation, or waiver of each vulnerability.
  • Auditing device configs for NIST FISMA, DISA STIG, and DSS PCI compliance.
  • Built on the Orion® Platform, NCM provides the ability to purchase and fully integrate with additional network monitoring modules (network performance monitoring, NetFlow traffic analysis, WAN management, VoIP, device tracking, and IP address management), as well as systems, storage, and virtualization management, all in a single web console.

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Features

Has featureConfiguration Change Automation
Has featureConfiguration Backup and Restore
Has featureChange Monitoring
Has featureChange Management - Roles & Approval
Has featureBaselines and Configuration Drift Monitoring
Has featureIOS Vulnerability Scanning
Has featureCompliance Assessment and Enforcement
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco Nexus
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco ASA

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Screenshots

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Video

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Overview

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Downloadables

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer, SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA), SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM), SolarWinds VoIP & Network Quality Manager (VNQM), SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds User Device Tracker

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Competitors

ManageEngine OpManager, Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution, DX Spectrum (formerly CA Spectrum), RANCID

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Windows Server
Mobile Application:No