TrustRadius
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is network diagnostics and troubleshooting technology, from Austin-based SolarWinds.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Gg/Bs/30TTDLE7H0PW.JPEGSolarwinds Network Configuration Manager from a user's perspectiveNCM is being used to keep track of the running configurations of our network devices.The network engineers use NCM to keep the configuration for PCI auditing across our network. This helps us to track network device configuration changes. This help us find the cause of down times when a configuration change affect network performance.,Easy to track configuration changes Allows us to manage our network device configurarations The interface is very easy to use,When going to edit a node I often click on the node which brings up the details page then I have to hit edit node. I like the new drop down menu that allows a direct route to the edit node function. I don't like the new manage entities page, I prefer the old manage nodes interface.,8,NCM saves a lot of time by tracking our configurations online versus our old system of manually tracking them NCM allows us to easily audit our system,NCM has saved a tremendous amount of time by allowing us to due mass configuration changes.,This capability has allowed us to meet PCI compliance requirements.,IBM Tivoli Monitoring,IBM Tivoli MonitoringNCM - Remove the manual and tedious element to Multi-Vendor networks.We had no central repository for our network equipment in terms of configurations and backups that were being done ad-hoc. We also had no view of compliance in terms of the configs themselves. When changes were being made we would often not be able to see who had changed what and when. As we're a global operation, with multiple sites internationally, including multiple IT staff with access, we needed to find a way to gain control of this.,Central repository for multi-vendor configurations. Automated backups of configurations. Configuration Compliance. Firmware Vulnerability. Device Lifecycles. Integration into the Core Orion platform. Central pane of glass.,It's hard to fault the module. It's a must-have for any organization with a plethora of network devices. Our only gripe would be SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) sonar discovery places server nodes into NCM sometimes.,10,Central location for all backups. Automation of scheduled backups saving time. Keeping configs up to date on compliance assisting in ISO certs.,We have mostly Cisco and Dell network equipment and with the out of the box templates, it's completely removed any manual work required (apart from the initial setup). The backups run frequently throughout the day with very little intervention required. Previously this would be a manual task. Now we can view a config for a network device and even re-use it against a new device.,We cannot track any erroneous changes to network devices, which happened frequently. We're able to spot any changes with the alerting aspects very quickly and if it does cause an issue, we can then roll the config back very quickly. We also now have visibility of warranty information whereas a spreadsheet was used before. Firmware issues and fixes can be deployed as a result.,,Druva inSync, SolarWinds Access Rights Manager, SolarWinds ipMonitorNetwork Configuration Manager experienceWe use SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager in order to keep configuration backups of our 1000+ Network devices and to perform config change audits. Config change audits are useful when troubleshooting issues that are a result of a change implemented by someone else, this way you can identify what was changed. Also useful for automated backups jobs.,Automated backups configuration jobs. Automated config change audits. Compatibility with several platforms.,Bug fixing Do things simpler for the user GUI. Simpler procedures for the jobs creation.,10,Time-saving on configuration backups procedures. Time-saving on configuration audit procedures. Time-saving on restoring an RMA device with our configuration backups.,My customer has a multi-vendor environment and also a big network infrastructure. SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager has absolutely helped us reduce the required time to keep configuration backups and to perform config audit changes as well as restoring RMA devices. Adding a new device to your network and having it backed up with SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is a pretty straight forward procedure.,My customer has absolutely benefited from SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) due to its automated process performing configuration backups on our more than 1000 network devices. When you add a new device to your network all you need to do in NCM is a few clicks in order to have it backed up and audited.,Extremely Satisfied with SolarWinds Network Compliance ManagerWe use SolarWinds NCM to ensure configuration policy compliance, for configuration backup and restoration, for quick syslog search, and for problem identification and alerting. This allows us to use an automated system for backing up device configurations, a single interface to ensure configuration policy compliance, and allows us to easily generate an inventory.,Automated equipment configuration backup -- This frees up tons of time for us in an environment where the configurations change frequently. Compliance checking [- This catches all the little things you may overlook when deploying a new device into your environment, especially when you are in a time crunch. Change comparison -- This is always a help when you can see side by side what changes have been made. Syslog -- The syslog server in this software is beyond compare when you need to search for specific events.,More vendor specific equipment profiles would be a great benefit.,10,This allows for my small staff to manage a large and complex network. This has reduced the need for additional headcount.,Yes, our network consists of Arista, Cisco, PaloAlto networking equipment. Once again, backups and configuration restores are made easy.,Yes, we use the provided policy compliance templates and have implemented our own policies for compliance as well. This allows us to easily identify configurations issues.,,Zenoss CloudSolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is a multi-vendor, multi-tool must have for all network administrators.We use SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager primarily to support our network infrastructure. We run daily backups of all of our network hardware every night. SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager stores these for us and we can go back in time to restore a backup should we need it. It is very helpful and comforting to know that we have that available at our fingertips.,Runs daily backups and stores them. Allows configuration jobs to be run against a subset of network devices. Provides reports of network devices that may be end-of-support or end-of-life.,Interface for the configuration change jobs is a little clunky. Some of the information on the end-of-support device report is inaccurate.,9,Reduced the need for additional backup software. Brings together the monitoring of devices with the backups, so that all can be seen in one place. Reduces the amount of time to recover from a failure.,Our organization has network equipment from three different vendors - Cisco, Palo Alto Networks and Aruba Networks. We use the SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager to backup up the configs on all three. This is much easier than before we had Network Configuration Manager, having multiple ways to perform configuration backups and restores.,We don't use any of the compliance features in SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager.,,SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor, Aruba ClearPass, Infoblox IPAM
Windows, Windows Server
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager
62 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager
62 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 62 vetted SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-23 of 23)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Art Mehlman profile photo
February 12, 2019

Review: "Solarwinds Network Configuration Manager from a user's perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NCM is being used to keep track of the running configurations of our network devices.The network engineers use NCM to keep the configuration for PCI auditing across our network. This helps us to track network device configuration changes. This help us find the cause of down times when a configuration change affect network performance.
  • Easy to track configuration changes
  • Allows us to manage our network device configurarations
  • The interface is very easy to use
  • When going to edit a node I often click on the node which brings up the details page then I have to hit edit node. I like the new drop down menu that allows a direct route to the edit node function.
  • I don't like the new manage entities page, I prefer the old manage nodes interface.
We use NCM almost every day to add new nodes to our system. But if the devices have a lot of interfaces it is time consuming to unclick the interfaces to monitor. A way to automatically pre-select only the interfaces we are interested in would save us time. At this time we don't have many custom properties, but as the number of properties increases it may take a while to find the property we want to change.A searchable list of properties would be good.
Read Art Mehlman's full review
Rob Bates profile photo
February 04, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "NCM - Remove the manual and tedious element to Multi-Vendor networks."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had no central repository for our network equipment in terms of configurations and backups that were being done ad-hoc. We also had no view of compliance in terms of the configs themselves. When changes were being made we would often not be able to see who had changed what and when. As we're a global operation, with multiple sites internationally, including multiple IT staff with access, we needed to find a way to gain control of this.
  • Central repository for multi-vendor configurations.
  • Automated backups of configurations.
  • Configuration Compliance.
  • Firmware Vulnerability.
  • Device Lifecycles.
  • Integration into the Core Orion platform. Central pane of glass.
  • It's hard to fault the module. It's a must-have for any organization with a plethora of network devices.
  • Our only gripe would be SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) sonar discovery places server nodes into NCM sometimes.
Being able to view snapshots of configs and being able to see what has changed since the last snapshot is a priceless feature. Especially if you have employees with multiple access. In the case of a device failure, being able to retrieve the config backup from SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is another feature that cannot be underestimated.
Read Rob Bates's full review
Alexandro del Angel Escobar profile photo
February 01, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Network Configuration Manager experience"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager in order to keep configuration backups of our 1000+ Network devices and to perform config change audits. Config change audits are useful when troubleshooting issues that are a result of a change implemented by someone else, this way you can identify what was changed. Also useful for automated backups jobs.
  • Automated backups configuration jobs.
  • Automated config change audits.
  • Compatibility with several platforms.
  • Bug fixing
  • Do things simpler for the user GUI.
  • Simpler procedures for the jobs creation.
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is well-suited in environments where you have a big network infrastructure and configuration backups cannot happen manually. Also for strict security environments where configuration change audits are performed and reviewed on a daily basis. Having configuration backups ready for any emergency is a basic required tool for any network admin.
Read Alexandro del Angel Escobar's full review
Corey Gallatin profile photo
January 25, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Extremely Satisfied with SolarWinds Network Compliance Manager"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds NCM to ensure configuration policy compliance, for configuration backup and restoration, for quick syslog search, and for problem identification and alerting. This allows us to use an automated system for backing up device configurations, a single interface to ensure configuration policy compliance, and allows us to easily generate an inventory.
  • Automated equipment configuration backup -- This frees up tons of time for us in an environment where the configurations change frequently.
  • Compliance checking [- This catches all the little things you may overlook when deploying a new device into your environment, especially when you are in a time crunch.
  • Change comparison -- This is always a help when you can see side by side what changes have been made.
  • Syslog -- The syslog server in this software is beyond compare when you need to search for specific events.
  • More vendor specific equipment profiles would be a great benefit.
Best deployed where networking equipment configurations change frequently and need to be compliant with specific regulations, or in large networking environments where there are many devices to manage and keep track of.

Less appropriate for very small networks where things are very static.
Read Corey Gallatin's full review
Chris Brizzell profile photo
January 23, 2019

Review: "SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is a multi-vendor, multi-tool must have for all network administrators."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager primarily to support our network infrastructure. We run daily backups of all of our network hardware every night. SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager stores these for us and we can go back in time to restore a backup should we need it. It is very helpful and comforting to know that we have that available at our fingertips.
  • Runs daily backups and stores them.
  • Allows configuration jobs to be run against a subset of network devices.
  • Provides reports of network devices that may be end-of-support or end-of-life.
  • Interface for the configuration change jobs is a little clunky.
  • Some of the information on the end-of-support device report is inaccurate.
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is well-suited in an environment where there are many network devices. In our specific scenario, we have devices from several different vendors that have their configurations backed up by Network Configuration Manager. We have a total of 195 network devices. Without Network Configuration Manager it would be very difficult to manage all of the backups of those devices.
Read Chris Brizzell's full review
Jason Scobbie profile photo
January 23, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "NCM is the Wind beneath my Solar Wings"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager internally for management of all infrastructure. Manages and monitors hardware across our global WAN. NCM performs config maintenance and mgmt for over 300 devices.
  • Automate config changes.
  • Config Backup.
  • Differential comparison on backups.
  • Better alerting for missed backups.
  • More canned config templates.
  • Easier to read documentation on config template creation.
Requires a Windows server and the cost would be my only negatives.
Read Jason Scobbie's full review
Jon Liedtke profile photo
September 03, 2018

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Config Management Clarity"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an MSP we utilize NCM within my department to backup network configurations and provide change control for customers globally. NCM provides checks and balances for configuration changes as well as historical information on who implemented what configuration change and whether they saved the changes to the startup config.
  • NCM provides backups of all network configs. which are easily accessible in the event of a disaster.
  • NCM provides historical details on config. changes and who performed the change (assuming RADIUS/TACACS is being used).
  • NCM provides detailed reports on config. backups as well as whether running configs were saved to the startup config.
  • NCM provides a central console to deploy standard config. changes across hundreds of devices easily.
  • The configuration of exclusions for which configs. are compared is often finicky. Example is the crypto keys and null lines cause comparison issues where NCM will constantly flag the running config. as not saved to the startup config. when in fact it is.
  • NCM does not provide any warning prior to pushing configuration changes out. The same caution should be used as if you are directly connected to the switch as you can disconnect yourself and/or brick the end device.
NCM is best suited for enterprise environments where config. backup and management of numerous devices is needed. In our environment we have 500+ devices in NCM.
Read Jon Liedtke's full review
No photo available
February 12, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager: "Review of Solarwinds NCM"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using NCM to backup all our devices and review configuration changes. This solves the problem of losing configurations within our organization when devices fail. It is very helpful to have the configurations backed and able to see historical configurations so we can track changes within our organization and restore from backups if needed.
  • Backup configurations
  • Search configurations for IP Addresses
  • Alert to changes on devices
  • Would be good to alert better when devices are not being backed up.
  • The interface for viewing the configurations could be a little quicker to find things.
  • It would be great if it could do realtime backups instead of on jobs.
It works well for small to medium organizations. Larger organizations I ran into issues maintaining the devices.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 25, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "SolarWinds is an affordable and capable Network Configuration management solution."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Network Configuration Manager primarily to automate configuration backup, though we intend to use it for change tracking, etc down the line.
  • Once a device is connected, the regular config backups are super reliable.
  • Like most SolarWinds products, the customizable dashboard works great.
  • Change and policy reports are easy to find and read, and are automatically generated.
  • NCM (and the thwack community) has great templates for a lot of the network equipment out there.
  • We have a multi-context ASA that requires some fidgeting to get into NCM properly. Considering this is a pretty popular product (and one of the main reasons we purchased NCM), I would think this would be something SolarWinds could make more turnkey.
  • On initial setup, the separation between adding something to Orion and allowing it to be managed by NCM was a little muddy. Now that I've been using it longer, this is obviously less of an issue, but it seems worth mentioning.
  • I wish the Network Discovery worked a little better.
SolarWinds NCM is great for managing configs on switches. It feels a little incomplete for automating tasks on our multi-context ASA.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 24, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "NCM Easy Back-ups"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager to backup our configuration and look for any changes. Being able to have backups and quickly restore a switch to the previous configuration has worked out well using NCM. I set up an approval system, so I can manage the changes on the switches. I can just monitor changes on the switch or have certain users need approval to make changes. I also looked at NCM to find any commands that previous users did not configure the switch for security purposes as most equipment was configured before my arrival.
  • Backups, Backups, Backups, NCM saves and deploys your configuration quickly.
  • Management of allowing users to make changes.
  • Identifying missing commands needed for security of your device.
  • Setting up graphs/charts
  • Configuring or displaying the devices using their network mapping tool
  • I would like to see an easier setup to integrate all devices/nodes managed by NCM
  • Upgrading the software can be painful if you don't pay attention
NCM is well suited for mid-to-large size companies. If you mange many devices that you would to backup automatically, work with a small IT team that has plenty of tasks to do, and wants to verify the integrity of the current configuration. I do not have to spend hours looking at the configuration on a device to see what changed. NCM highlights the difference between the backup configuration to the running configuration and I take it from there.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 23, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "A great solution for getting all your network device configurations in one place for analysis and change management."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is used by the IT Department to maintain backups of the configurations of all of our switches. We have had switches go down, had unauthorized changes made to them, or had allegations that changes were made to them. Network Configuration Manager has helped us resolve all of these issues. The ability to compare configurations at different times on the same switch helps us to see when changes are being made to our network topology over time and gives us valuable historical information. It also gives us peace of mind that if a change is made, we always have a recent backup of the configuration to revert to, if necessary.
  • Automatic backups of network switch configuration.
  • Configuration comparison between switches or between time points on the same switch.
  • Show mismatches between startup and running configurations on switches.
  • Provides a repository of backups going back as long as desired.
  • For larger configurations, loading the config for viewing can take significant time.
  • Comparisons between configs can be slow to bring up.

Honestly, I doubt we use it to the extent that others do. If you are in need of a software that maintains a repository of network switch configurations over time, this software is perfect. If you're looking to baseline your configuration to aid in change management, this software is perfect. If you're looking to do comparisons between switches or between configurations of different ages on the same switch, this software is perfect.

I don't know what it wouldn't be good for. SolarWinds is always improving, and if you go on THWACK (SolarWinds user community) and make the request and if others like it, they may end up adding it. I've seen it happen more than once, and their responsiveness as a company is one reason I stay with them.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 23, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Maintain your network in bulk."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager to manage Cisco device configuration changes, configuration backups, and firmware upgrades. We also used it to monitor any configuration changes detected across our network and for basic compliance reports.
  • Easy backup/archiving of running and startup configurations.
  • Distribute broad configuration changes throughout the network with config change templated.
  • Easily compare existing configuration between versions and devices.
  • Firmware upgrade templates for most Cisco devices.
  • UX can be clunky at times.
  • Firmware upgrade feature- it's useful but very cumbersome to work deploy upgrades to multiple nodes.
Makes bulk management of devices from well-established vendors such as Cisco very easy. If your environment is primarily lesser known devices/vendors then you might have to do extra work to get the most out of all of the features.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "SolarWinds NCM saves us a significant amount of time"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The primary use of Network configuration manager is to backup config for all of our Cisco routers and switches. In addition, we monitor changes to those configurations as well.
  • Back up network device configurations.
  • Monitor changes to the network device configuration.
  • Deploy firmware updates across multiple network devices via scripting.
  • IOS vulnerability scanning not as up to date as our Tenable vulnerability findings.
  • CLI Scripting lacks the ability to interrogate variables.
When managing dozens of varieties of switch models, the product handles the variety well. In addition, when multiple sites are involved the product works well at pushing updates.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 25, 2019

"SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use it to backup configs, restore configs if needed, and take a backup before making changes. We currently use it in one division but plan to use it in the rest in the future.
  • It backs up the config files of our network equipment. It saves us from having to manually go to each device and do it.
  • It helps us restore the configs if we ever have the need to.
  • If we are getting ready to make a change, we can quickly have it grab a backup.
  • The interface can be a little clunky at times, but we are also on an older version until we can upgrade our SQL database.
It is well suited for grabbing backups of your network equipment, saving you from hitting each device manually.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 23, 2019

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Automation and maintenance made easy."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It helps us manage our network devices. We can deploy our configurations across different platforms and groups. This solution is ideal for mass configurations deployment across the network.
  • Mass configuration deployment across different platforms.
  • The automated process of taking the backup configuration of your devices.
  • Complete config audit of all the devices.
  • Save troubleshooting commands that can be executed in case of a triggered event.
  • Creating audit reports in PDF form.
It is well suited for large scale deployments and automated backups.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 07, 2018

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Solarwinds Keeps Our Network on Base!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NCM / Orion to manage backup configurations and baseline tracking of our infrastructure switches and firewalls. Configuration reviews are periodically undertaken and updates are easily managed through NCM. We also have visibility to suggested vulnerabilities that are reported against our respective devices.
  • Backup of Configurations - these are taken automatically on a regular schedule
  • SNMPv3 Access to devices is easily managed.
  • Visibility to current state of the device along with port mapping.
  • Reporting hostnames of connected devices takes some configuring to get it to report well
  • First load of the web server (Orion) can be time consuming, but is very responsive once loaded.
Suited for any distributed network where visibility to your infrastructure and configurations is important.
Read this authenticated review
Samuel Fershteyn profile photo
March 03, 2018

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Solarwinds Netwok Configuration Manager Module"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The NCM used in collaboration with other Orion Modules. Utilized within the Technology unit. Helps gaining visibility and enhance change control & management processes.
  • helps streamlining configuration and logs, collecting in real time.
  • simple to use, can be utilized as RSYSlog at some degree
  • has ability to scale, and provides automation to Network Engineers.
  • so far product can be integrated with many devices/vendors/etc..
  • no comments on improvement yet
  • to come
well suited for small to large environments, helps controlling QA and configuration reliability
Read Samuel Fershteyn's full review
No photo available
June 25, 2018

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "NCM - Great right now but would be better with firmware repository correction"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use NCM (Network Configuration Manager) as our main configuration manager for our Networking department. We also use compliance reporting extensively and have recently been attempting to implement the firmware upgrade feature which is new (for us). We are currently having a problem getting it configured, due to the requirement of NCM being installed and reachable on ALL polling engines. This is not possible for us due to PCI compliance. At this time I'm only docking one star from my review for this reason, but I hope that support will help us overcome this obstacle.
  • Automated configuration backups.
  • Repository of configuration for referencing.
  • Compliance reports, with remediation capability.
  • Firmware repository needs to allow for polling engines to be ignored.
  • The interface could stand to be improved
  • config backups tend to take a while to download in large environments like mine.
We use NCM extensively daily for our config management. Finding ACL and security vulnerabilities via compliance reporting allows us to quickly locate and correct vulnerabilities via remediation script. It's hard to name a specific scenario, as it's somewhat regular activity for us. Last week we were able to locate and update 137 firewalls that were missing statements in the configuration.
Read this authenticated review
James Harrison, CISSP profile photo
November 27, 2017

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Solarwinds NCM saved my job (and my network)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gone are the days of looking for that most recent configuration of your firewall, router or network switch. As an engineer, I can do so many things with SolarWinds NCM, without having to worry if the configuration backup is currently being archived, and when or where it has been stored. As a company subjected to audits, I have the ability to verify that changes were made correctly, and by whom. This makes management very happy. It also provides a "rollback" point should a change be made that causes things to break.
  • Automated change manager. I can build my configuration change, schedule it for dark-30.
  • I will be notified of any change in real-time. I also see the before/after view of the change,
  • I can snapshot my configuration, and later run a before/after report to ensure the correct change was deployed.
  • The configuration module could use some additional canned reports.
  • The configuration comparison between two devices is not working for me. The previous versions were on the server, but since moving to a WebUI, some of that functionality is more difficult to use.
  • More training videos are always beneficial.
SolarWinds NCM is beneficial if there are more than a few network devices needing configuration management, archiving and restoration. It would not be much help if there are only one or two devices to manage.
Read James Harrison, CISSP's full review
Larry Scott profile photo
September 09, 2016

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Solarwinds NCM for rockstar configuration management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NCM is used to manage and report on the configuration of all network switches and routers across the organization. It was used to assure consistent configuration and for remediation if a device was misconfigured. It was also used to update configurations across all devices when required.
  • Backup of current running configuration
  • Reporting any change to configuration and who made the change
  • Searching and reporting specific configuration issues
  • Creating and verifying new config scripts
  • Web interface to hundreds of devices can sometimes be challenging
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) is very good at creating backups of current running configurations, daily reporting changes to configurations and who made the change, reporting best practice configurations and any deviations from best practices, and remediating configuration across multiple devices for the same issue. NCM was extremely helpful in preparing reports for PCI compliance, for both current configurations and historical configurations during the previous reporting period.
Read Larry Scott's full review
Dan Lepinski profile photo
August 30, 2016

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "Backup your Network Devices!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Solarwinds Network Configuration Manager to backup the network configurations on all of our Cisco devices. Once backed up, this allows us to review a device's configuration within SolarWinds, download it, compare it to a previous version of the config, or back it up to another location for disaster recovery. It can be a great fail safe if for some reason you accidentally copy a bad running config to start up.
  • Scheduled backups of your network devices.
  • Side-by-side comparisons of your configs.
  • Highlights changes in configs.
  • The interface is messy and can be confusing because of it.
  • It can be hard to find what you're looking for. They could create better titles or something.
  • Comparing configs the first time can be confusing. Again, this could be because of the messy interface and confusing titles.
  • You are no longer able to use a tool on your server to manage your configs. This was removed in recent versions. I preferred it over working with the web interface.
I've only used SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) to back up Cisco configurations. It works really well at doing this once you get everything set up and working. The user community is pretty strong. There's generally a wealth of information out there to help accomplish tasks within any SolarWinds product. If you need to back up network configs, this works great. You can access a nice text output of the config as well if you need to. It just takes some time and patience in getting everything working and understanding it. We're starting to use some Ubiquiti hardware now. I don't see us using NCM with that hardware.
Read Dan Lepinski's full review
Eric Moore profile photo
September 02, 2016

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "SolarWinds NCM for the Win"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to manage all of my network devices that I can across the organization. It is a great safety net and auditing tool.
  • Allows me to write changes offline in a safe environment
  • Allows me to compare configs
  • Allows me to verify compliance
  • Automatically backs up both my running and startup configs daily
  • Wireless Cisco Devices
  • Cisco CUE
  • Cisco CME
[SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is well suited] Anywhere you have Cisco devices that need to be managed in a safe and reliable way.
Read Eric Moore's full review
No photo available
August 30, 2016

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Review: "NCM - Great Config and Compliance Management Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NCM is being used by the IT department to backup most network devices and parse through some of them to detect potential compliance issues - but not yet to auto remediate.
  • Backups 95% of the devices I need it to.
  • The compliance reporting is great.
  • Being able to diff two configs is amazingly valuable.
  • Main issue with NCM it it relies on its NPM underpinnings. The UI is kludgy - although this is reportedly fixed in a newer release
  • The pre-built compliance rules are very Cisco centric.
Anywhere Rancid is used or being considered, I would recommend SolarWinds Network Configuration (NCM) as a better product. It can do everything Rancid can, plus the support for auto-remediation and the point and click integration with other Orion tools makes its it very easy to spot when a config change was done and why it maybe screwed something up. It's a great tool if you are vendor neutral in your network infra; however if you tend to veer towards one vendor or another, its likely that the given vendor may have a better toolset - e.g. Cisco Prime.

Read this authenticated review

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Scorecard Summary

About SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) can help save time and improve network reliability and security by managing configurations, changes, and compliance for routers, switches, and other network devices.

Network Configuration Manager enables IT Pros with:
  • Out-of-the-box support for major network device vendors, including Cisco®, Juniper®, HP®, Huawei®, F5®, Avaya®, Ruckus®, and more.
  • Automated bulk deployment of standardized device configs.
  • Automatic backups of device configurations, and rollback to the last-known good configurations, if necessary.
  • Identifying IOS® devices with potential vulnerabilities, utilizing the NIST CVE repository service, and even provides the tools to manage the investigation, remediation, or waiver of each vulnerability.
  • Auditing device configs for NIST FISMA, DISA STIG, and DSS PCI compliance.
  • Built on the Orion® Platform, NCM provides the ability to purchase and fully integrate with additional network monitoring modules (network performance monitoring, NetFlow traffic analysis, WAN management, VoIP, device tracking, and IP address management), as well as systems, storage, and virtualization management, all in a single web console.

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Features

Has featureConfiguration Change Automation
Has featureConfiguration Backup and Restore
Has featureChange Monitoring
Has featureChange Management - Roles & Approval
Has featureBaselines and Configuration Drift Monitoring
Has featureIOS Vulnerability Scanning
Has featureCompliance Assessment and Enforcement
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco Nexus
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco ASA

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Screenshots

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Video

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Overview

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Downloadables

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Integrations

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Windows Server
Mobile Application:No