SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
204 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 101)

Philipp Beisiegel | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2020

4+ year user loves the product for specific tasks, but has accepted some fairly major flaws as reality

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NCM is being used within our department as well as the department responsible for the design of the network. NCM is being used to push mass changes to all of our network gear and to enforce configuration standards. It is also being used as a recon tool by running show (recon) commands on gear to have a quick but detailed look across the organization.
  • Configuration Standardization
  • Quick and Mass Configuration Changes
  • A better implementation of using variables in jobs would be awesome.
  • Being able to take the output of a command and feed it into a second command.
NCM is great at pushing a generic script to multiple (100+) devices quickly. If you need to change your DNS servers on every Cisco Switch, it's super slick. But, if you need to change every access port in VLAN 5 to VLAN 55, NCM struggles really hard to interpret the output and be able to use that data efficiently.
We had a security vulnerability and a software bug start to affect our service on roughly 3000 switches. Being able to say run the upgrade command on 3000 devices and reload them saved months of our worker's time and condensed the work to about 4 nights. We only made it 4 nights in case there were problems. We didn't want to affect all the switches, but no problems arose, and in less than a week we had done 3000 IOS upgrades which is a major money and time saver. We run a complete Cisco shop so we have not experienced any multi-vendor situations.
Yes - Yes, Solarwinds has implemented a upgrade process built right into the website portion of NCM. This allows you to click through the prompts fairly quickly and provides updates on the status of the upgrade. If you are not using HA pairs, the server will be down for the upgrade but only once he needs to power down the processes in able to upgrade them. There was no negitive impacts to the upgrade and we were given a nice new feature sets with each release
Read Philipp Beisiegel's full review
James Harrison, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Solarwinds NCM saved my job (and my network)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gone are the days of looking for that most recent configuration of your firewall, router or network switch. As an engineer, I can do so many things with SolarWinds NCM, without having to worry if the configuration backup is currently being archived, and when or where it has been stored. As a company subjected to audits, I have the ability to verify that changes were made correctly, and by whom. This makes management very happy. It also provides a "rollback" point should a change be made that causes things to break.
  • Automated change manager. I can build my configuration change, schedule it for dark-30.
  • I will be notified of any change in real-time. I also see the before/after view of the change, and track failed commands.
  • I can snapshot my configuration, and later run a before/after report to ensure the correct change was deployed.
  • The configuration module could use some additional canned reports.
  • The configuration comparison between two devices is not working for me. The previous versions were on the server, but since moving to a WebUI, some of that functionality is more difficult to use.
  • More training videos are always beneficial.
SolarWinds NCM is beneficial if there are more than a few network devices needing configuration management, archiving and restoration. It would not be much help if there are only one or two devices to manage. I have managed networks in excess of 250 devices and without this tool, I would not be able to perform blank changes, run "down to the blade" hardware and version inventories on the fly or scheduled.
We have automated our configuration and asset change backups to run nightly, before the change window. That provides a fail back point for those manual changes, where the tech connects directly to a system to implement a change.

When assessing a new technology, we use NCM to validate the hardware and OS will support the new environment. An example is this.
Running Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE v1.x), we wanted to move to 2.x. After running the inventory, we discovered that our switch IOS version would need to be updated PRIOR to the upgrade to 2.x. This saved many hours of troubleshooting for a preventable cause.
Read James Harrison, CISSP's full review
Bill Kaufman | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

NCM Worth a Try

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Primarily as a config backup and change comparison tool. We do not use the automation scripts as much out of fear of automated changed to network equipment.
  • Change identification
  • Backup
  • Visibility to authorized users
  • Licensing. Bought a 500 node license to manage a US only deployment. However that 500 node/device license only allows 500 ports/items to be monitored. That seems a bit restricted. I understand you need to make money but if I want to buy 500 nodes, at least allow me to monitor 5x ports, etc.
  • Expensive remote worker servers. I already paid for an unlimited deployment, let me have the remote servers so performance statistics are measured close to the source. We have 80+ global locations but we have to measure everything from our data center server. Not useful to our remote site technicians trying to measure or monitor local performance.
Other than the licensing issues it does the job well. The interface is intuitive.
We rarely use the automated changes out of fear of automated changes to network equipment. We do use it to gather information but not change information. This is more of a fear factor of making a mistake that disconnects a network where we do not have support.
Read Bill Kaufman's full review
Nick Darnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

Network performance monitor Usage in a medium scale environment.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using NPM to monitor 121 Cisco witches distributed throughout our environment. It helps us to immediately determine if a switch has failed in a data closet or if a power outage has occurred. We also use the statistical data captured by NPM to determine capacity planning and gather current usage statistics.
  • Capacity Planning
  • Outage Reporting
  • Config Backups
  • Creating the reporting for port security violations is difficult.
In a large scale environment, NPM is extremely useful for monitoring your switches to determine if they are functional or not. We have very frequent power outages, and NPM has quite often informed us and we are onsite before employees have the chance to report an outage.
Regular config backups saves us the time used to access each of the switches manually.
Read Nick Darnell's full review
Randy Langer | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

SolarWinds NCM is an excellent configuration manager for our Cisco switches and more.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have deployed SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager across the entire organization. We monitor the availability of our Cisco switches and routers and our Windows servers. We also backup the Cisco configs and use SolarWinds NCM as a syslog server.
  • Cisco switch backup config--easy to compare and restore
  • Syslog server--aggregate log messages
  • Sometimes slow to log in and needs to be restarted
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is well suited to network admins who need to monitor configurations and restore from time to time, and who need a syslog server to aggregate the log messages. It's less appropriate for performance monitoring or digging deep into network problems.
Yes. We have benefitted from bringing all configuration management and syslog events into a single console.
Read Randy Langer's full review
Nandini pallipamu | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

NCM - Network automation made easy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our organization Unified communications & Enterprise Engineering groups use this tool on a daily basis. It is great tool with multiple use cases such as managing, maintaining Network configurations. It also features Script Automation and Config Change management.
  • Script management. The ability to save scripts & script results in this tool is a great.
  • Change management. The feature to compare old and new configurations which gives us a good graphical glimpse of what changed with respect to configurations.
  • This tool comes really handy if an engineer wants to SWARM config. changes.
  • Configuration comparison.
  • Configuration display.
  • Color coding change comparison.
Well suited for Engineers with Network/ system configuration experience. Less suited for NOC.
Yes. The ability to run scripts on multiple devices saves us time.
Read Nandini pallipamu's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

NCM has been a excellent solution for Configuration Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT group uses SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager to maintain backups of the configurations of all our networking equipment. SolarWinds has made it extremely easy to be able to go back and audit changes and verify everything after the fact. The built-in ability to run jobs to make bulk changes or create reports makes it so even our employees with zero programming/scripting experience can quickly get changes done.
  • Back up and maintain a database of configurations for CLI based equipment.
  • Analyze and audit any changes done to a config.
  • Make it easy to run bulk changes and create reports by using simple jobs and schedules.
  • Would like to see some more advanced options in terms of pulling the data from a job that has run.
  • The new software upgrade feature is nice but still seems just a little bit clunky to use.
  • I would like to see an easier way of creating custom compliance jobs.
SolarWinds NCM works great as a tool for managing configuration backups from routers, switches, and other CLI driven equipment. It isn't a complete backup solution, of course, as it has no way of managing any WebGUI based equipment. The jobs you can create and the canned compliance reports are very helpful as well.
SolarWinds NCM has greatly helped us reduce time by enabling us to create jobs to make changes to our configs in a mass update to hundreds of pieces equipment with just one scheduled job. Originally, someone would have had to log into every single device and paste in a string of config hundreds of times inviting the chance of error due to the repetitiveness.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Easy to use and offers benefits that extend beyond just backups

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to back up all of our network configurations, approve and deploy changes via scripts, track versioning and generate device reports. NCM is used across the organization as it represents a comprehensive solution to our network configuration needs.
  • Automated Backups. It makes backing up network devices simple to do and easy to manage
  • Change approval. When implemented correctly, it can provide an extra layer of assurance to network-related changes as they will have to be approved by someone else. This ensures that changes are not made in a bubble and at least two sets of eyes have reviewed it.
  • Creating an easy to read device version report, with custom fields is relatively simple to do and can give project managers a greater understanding of the time it may take to perform a task, such as ensuring SNMPv3 or updating code levels due to bugs.
  • Automate the creation of new hierarchy's within devices according to the year for backs.
  • Allow scripts to be assigned to certain groups so that when users log in, they only see the scripts that they are allowed to use.
I have a hard time thinking of when SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is less appropriate. Due to NCM's nature, it is well suited for all businesses regardless of size. However, for smaller businesses, that are simply looking for a configuration backup tool, there may be ones that are less expensive and without all the "bells and whistles."
As stated previously, we have several tasks that are simple in nature, but require time and effort. Normally these tasks are handled by our network engineering staff. NCM has allowed us to create a script and an accompanying standard operating procedure document that allows us to take those repetitive tasks and offload them back on the group that is asking for them. With NCM we have them log into Solarwinds change the data fields and then submit the changes. The changes are then sent to the network team where we review them to ensure they are correct and then approve. This has allowed us to focus on larger changes without having to worry about whether or not simple changes were completed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

NCM is Kinda Cool!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to maintain CIP-governed assets environment and non-CIP ones. It allows us to monitor our many assets connected on our network. We can deploy agents via Orion and monitor them all in one dashboard. It is used only in our department while Corporate IT uses another tool.
  • NCM grants admins easy to use dashboard for all facets of monitoring.
  • It has many built-in templates that can implemented easily for polling.
  • Offers users canned reports and alerts.
  • Some reports were created in old proprietary software that is now obsolete.
  • Is somewhat of a bear to set up.
  • Has many different modules that can be used but may require additional licensing.
SolarWinds NCM is well-suited for most small to large sized companies. It could help technicians and admins monitor the network at their organizations. There is some efficiency in the deployment of the agents to all connected endpoints which makes it great for medium to large networks. For networks with less than 25 endpoints, it would be overkill. Time to setup, implement, and maintain would take away from all other tasks during the day for a single admin or tech.
Using NCM has significantly cut down on time needed to monitor the status of assets. Admins and technicians could access the dashboard and quickly find out whether the assets are up and functioning or down. When audited, the tools provided via NCM allowed our team to acquire, compile, and submit the required data in a timely manner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2020

NCM: lost possibilities

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially purchased for Network Switch management, but only used for configuration backups. It does not address configuration management as we've hoped it would because of SolarWinds inability to support the mainstream HP/Aruba devices by this product's device templates.
  • Configuration Backups
  • Support of mainstream network hardware manufacturers
  • Intelligent approach to NCM reporting logic (NCM stack in 15-25 years ago approach)
It is OK for scheduled configuration backups, but unusable with non-CISCO products when it comes to configuration management. Since less and less companies use CISCO LAN/WLAN devices due to exorbitant pricing, HP/Aruba had to be supported, but did not happen. THWACK is full of unanswered questions (2+ year old) about SolarWinds not supporting HP/Aruba devices config management. SolarWinds customers have to rely on the 3rd party-created templates and/or re-use many templates. Essentially SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager does not fulfill its "Configuration Manager" part of the name.
It has for a limited number of CISCO device models, excluding everything else due to lack of the device management template (for years and ongoing). We were only able to benefit from network device config backups.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Net Admin Tools

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds NCM to take daily backups of our network devices. We have it set up to send us daily emails that explain which devices were backed up. We also have NCM send us daily configuration change management emails which inform us of the changes that were made on the network devices the previous day. Our entire organization uses Solarwinds in some shape or form to help them monitor devices. It seems to do everything we need it to do at the moment.
  • Perform daily configuration backups.
  • Perform massive wide configuration changes.
It is well suited in a backup scenario. If we ever lose one of our network devices to some type of failure we have a daily backup available to get a new one up and running with less downtime.
Automated tasks with email verifications are performed daily to help each of our jobs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Amazing technology, and it is essential to our daily jobs!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this tool to manage our network devices from a single application, allowing us to push changes/updates, grab inventory, run reports, etc.
  • It allows for remotely managing a plethora of devices with one console.
  • It allows for running reports.
  • Great ease of modifying multiple devices at once.
  • Not too much that I can think of.
SolarWinds is well suited when you have a large environment and you need to push out config changes to a myriad of devices, and then you can do that from a central location as opposed to having to log in to each device.
Yes, we benefited heavily from having to log in to multiple devices and copy/paste the same commands. We really don't have a hybrid environment mixed with multiple vendors, so that doesn't apply to us.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 23, 2020

Backups and so much more!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NCM on the infrastructure side of the house. We use it as our Cisco device configuration backup (which we run nightly), our security compliance audit tool, and for making broad changes to the network automatically or with the click of a button. The compliance check helps us create checks based on our specific requirements, and allows remediation to get very granular.
  • Configuration Backup
  • Security Audit
  • Device Inventory
  • Firmware upgrades
  • Mass configuration changes
  • If then statements allowed on config compliance reports
If you have Cisco equipment, then this product is a must have. It is very intuitive, and provides several options to network management teams. I have yet to use it on non-cisco gear, but if it has a CLI, you can pull data from it.
We have just implemented Cisco ISE which requires a lot of repetitive configuration changes on edge devices. Utilizing NCM, we have automated the license upgrade process, and have push button interface config changes for multiple offices. This has freed our engineers to focus on the configuration of the devices, as opposed to spending hours doing basic config changes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Evaluation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Network Configuration Monitor is currently being utilized and deployed within our company as a replacement for RANCID. NCM is currently only being utilized by a small department of the IT team with the expectations that it will be expanded. NCM is being used to build a solution that is not only capable of backing up all of our network devices regardless of vendor but also to allow multiple teams across the organization access to the configuration files in an easy to utilize and controlled manner.
  • SolarWinds NCM is able to backup all our network devices, regardless of vendor.
  • SolarWinds NCM gives us a powerful tool to search configuration files.
  • SolarWinds NCM allows us to verify and enforce network standards on a daily basis.
  • More search options and abilities; Being able to utilize regex easily would be a huge plus
  • A more intuitive wizard to build your own scripts for pulling configuration files
SolarWinds Network Configuration Monitor is a great product for backing up and restoring configuration files. It provides a plethora of options and support, which enables you to backup anything with a CLI. I can't really think of a scenario where it is less appropriate as it is capable of doing everything I have required it to do at this time.
Our organization is fairly single-vendor, and we are not able to answer this question with a full understanding and utilization of the feature.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Learning new features everyday

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using NCM to manage our network across the state. We are using it to backup up switches, find when they are down, update and maintain them.
  • Backups up configs of different switches.
  • Easily scripts changes.
  • Run reports to find version/config setups.
  • The GUI has a lot going on and can be overwhelming.
It has been great to back up our devices and mass deploy changes.
I have saved a lot of time managing all of our switches in one central location.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Automation and maintenance made easy.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It helps us manage our network devices. We can deploy our configurations across different platforms and groups. This solution is ideal for mass configurations deployment across the network.
  • Mass configuration deployment across different platforms.
  • The automated process of taking the backup configuration of your devices.
  • Complete config audit of all the devices.
  • Save troubleshooting commands that can be executed in case of a triggered event.
  • Creating audit reports in PDF form.
It is well suited for large scale deployments and automated backups.
We have benefitted from this a lot. It saves time and effort while deploying a configuration across multi-vendor networks
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Quick take on NCM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Backup and restoration of network configurations on a daily schedule. It also audits changes between configurations. This allows us a quick reference if we experience a network issue. If the issue is found to be caused by such change, it can easily be reverted. It also backups up both running and startup configs. This is helpful if a network change is made but is not actually persistent.
  • Automated backup and restore of network configs.
  • Device connection templates made tool setup faster.
  • Not sure if it can be standalone but we are running it on the Orion platform.
If you don’t have backups or config management of network devices, this would be a very good place to start. Perhaps for an org that already has configs in VCS and a mechanism to push configs, it would not be as needed.
Creating templates in a mixed vendor environment so that configurations are all backed up and restored the same as the NCM interface.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Really good at capturing network configurations.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager module to backup network device configurations across our environments. We get emails daily on whether the backup happened or not. The good part is SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager provides info on what has changed and when, along with the config backups. It is used across our entire infrastructure.
  • SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager backs up network device configurations across our environments, like firewalls and other devices.
  • It provides info on what has changed and when.
  • We can add/edit SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager in add nodes. If we could configure just SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager separately, without adding the node to mandatory monitoring, it would be helpful.
  • Too much manual configuration is required.
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager module is used to backup network device configurations across our environments like firewalls and other devices. It is sometimes a hassle to configure backups manually. We need to have admin access to the entire machine.
Haven't used this to update devices.
Read this authenticated review
Graham Clarkson | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2019

Don't Fix What Wasn't Broken

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NCM is being used to:

1. Back up configurations.
2. Check that they meet our security requirements.
3. Make sure no one has made unauthorized changes.
  • Works with a variety of vendor products.
  • Allows us to tailor the config comparisons.
  • SolarWinds completely broke the baseline function. It no longer meets our needs.
  • Can no longer baseline an entire network in one step.
With the deletion of the ability to baseline an entire network, NCM is no longer of any use to our organization. We recently ran an NCM job that changed the NTP servers used by 800 of our network assets. We will now need to spend up to 80 hours manually applying a baseline for all 800 assets individually. This isn't going to happen and we are actively looking for a different solution. We certainly won't be paying for any further support contracts.
We definitely benefited in the past, especially when applying a script to make broad, network-wide changes. A script can be applied to hundreds of assets in a single job. We are required to perform annual local account password changes, and NCM makes this a trivial task by automating the change. The job log file provides the audit evidence we need to prove that the changes were made.

We also use NCM to gather NERC/CIP audit evidence from network assets. NCM allows us to collect the contents of ARP tables from all our assets with one simple scripted job. The job log file is then compared against our other NERC/CIP documentation to ensure we don't have any unauthorized assets within critical networks.
Read Graham Clarkson's full review
Preston King | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

NCM Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it to back up configuration from various layer 2 network switches across the state. Until now there has never been an easy way to accomplish device backups. We have been working with their staff to resolve an issue with uploading a config to a device that we have in our lab. The issue is still pending, but to date, they have been very helpful with trying to find a solution.
  • DOT has devices all over the state with no easy way to back up the device configuration. NCM allows us to perform those tasks.
  • I am still learning the product, so some of the issues may be due to not fully understanding the product functionality.
We are still learning the product but at this time, being able to back up several critical devices has been a great help.
We are still setting up and configuring all of the various model devices that we have. We may be able to provide more detailed information about this at a later date.
Read Preston King's full review
hoang nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Powerful, but Slow

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Network Configuration to monitor all of our virtual machines. We monitor usage resources such as memory, cpu, disk usage, and bandwidth. SolarWinds is being used across the organization. The product saves time on research and helps to quickly determine what host is causing issues.
  • At-a-glance overview of hosts alongside performance metrics.
  • Allows for granular details of a host down to a service process if needed.
  • Allows for backup of config files for the host.
  • Great support from SolarWinds.
  • I wish the navigation was a lot quicker. Once the database of SolarWinds gets used, it slows down a lot. Loading and navigation are frustrating.
  • The wizard to set up a host is too complicated. There's so much to choose from, and it's not easy to set one up.
  • Most of the time when setting up a host to monitor, you need support to be on the phone.

SolarWinds is not an exact time monitoring product. It gives you a window for reporting and a view for performance, but it is not in real-time. You will have to look at the host for real-time. In addition to using SolarWinds, we have also used vCenter to set up rules for CPU, Disks, Memory, and Bandwidth usage. The reports from vCenter are more accurate to real time.

I would recommend SolarWinds if you are looking to save time in monitoring a lot of nodes. You get email reports when each node reaches a spike so you can act on it. The support is awesome. They are extremely helpful.

SolarWinds does save you a lot of time in troubleshooting why nodes are spiking. It can also save you time as it backs up logs for the hosts. If you are in need of a time-saving product, SolarWinds is your best bet.
Read hoang nguyen's full review
Emilia Marchetti | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

SolarWinds saves the day!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in the IT department to backup configuration files of all our switches in the company. It is very critical to have backups of all the networking equipment, because if one of the switches crashes we will have a backup to bring a new switch back online without issues. Since it takes a backup of the configs every day, I know that any changes that are being made of time are being captured and I don't have to worry. It has saved us in the past in a very major way when our core switch failed in our datacenter. It has a very complex configuration and if it would have needed to be built up from scratch it would have been a disaster. With NCM we were able to bring the replacement switch back online relatively easy.
  • Making backups of our networking equipment.
  • Takes backups on a daily basis and retains those backups. Both the frequency and retention can be customized to our needs.
  • It automated backups on a daily basis, I don't need to worry when I make changes to my equipment as I know all my changes are being backed up.
  • If it would notify be when backups stop working on a node. I have encountered looking at NCM and discovered that backups were not being taken for weeks or months on a switch and I had no notification that this was the case.
SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager is well suited for an environment where you have networking equipment. These are critical to the operation of the company and having those backups in an emergency is important.
Without NCM taking backups of our equipment would be a manual process. Doing a manual backup of any piece of equipment anytime a change would be made would be prohibitive.
Read Emilia Marchetti's full review
Eric Engardio | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

Elegance and Efficiency In a Single Pane-of-Glass

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a multi-site, multi-customer infrastructure and the centralized deployment capabilities of Network Configuration Manager have helped us tremendously. The fact that we can frequently push custom configurations to all of our customers from a centralized location has revolutionized the way we manage all of our customers. Thank you NCM team!
  • Centralized custom package deployment
  • Builds on WSUS' capabilities
  • Improves WSUS' limitations
  • The time it takes to do inventory patches is a little much.
  • The amount of system resources required is a little much.
  • Device inventory setup isn't very intuitive
Pros:
1. If you have a large multi-site IT infrastructure deployment, Solarwinds Patch Manager is great for centralized update management and takes a lot of the headache out of the process.
2. If you deploy a lot of custom-developed app packages, Patch Manager can push them out.

Cons:
1. If your infrastructure is smaller, it's not worth the cost.
This is the exact situation that we're in and why we decided to go ahead and purchase Solarwinds Network Configuration Manager. We have around 16 customer sites along with 4 corporate sites and they are all isolated and require individual VPN connections to manage. With NCM we can push everything to our customer sites over one VPN connection and one-way Windows AD trusts
Read Eric Engardio's full review
Daniel Dabrieo | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

NCM does what we need without having to buy a suite

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used within our department. We manage a subset of the network infrastructure for the organization. It helps us adhere to configuration and compliance standards on the hundreds of devices we manage.
  • Stores historical configuration information.
  • The compliance checking allows us to ensure our configurations are standard across the board.
  • It allows us to easily automate and schedule configuration changes across our environment.
  • The configuration comparison tool is just clunky. I ended up using the compliance tools instead because the comparison tool became easily confused when the configurations weren't identical. No two switches are alike in terms of ports or configured networks.
  • The concept of GROUPS is disconnected from the settings other tools use to manage groups of switches. Groups and departments should not be separate.
  • Some screens can multi-select nodes conveniently and some look as if they were created by an entirely different group because they do not use the same metaphor. If you have multi-select for nodes when applying something, it should be the same screen universally.
The unique thing about NCM is that you do not have to acquire the rest of the suite to use these functions. We already had tools for ticketing and managing DNS, etc. But NCM allows us to kick out very useful reports that satisfy auditors. Having our own people create that in an existing system would take years. Buying an integrated CIM would cost lots of money and would require a retrofit. So if you just want to slice off the configuration monitoring, management, and the ability to automate without having to learn Python, then this is a good tool.
We made a major change to the list of devices that would be running SNMP queries against managed network infrastructure devices. With NCM it only took a few minutes to create and schedule that job. That made what would otherwise have been a daunting configuration change task into a very simple one.
Read Daniel Dabrieo's full review
Jeff Daub | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Great product for network Configuration

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We set up the tool as a proactive monitoring solution to verify the up status of our network devices. The tool helps us maintain our Service Level Agreements, Operational Level Agreements and Under Pinning Contracts with our vendors and customers are maintained at the agreed-upon service levels. The tools are also used for maintaining the inventory of our network devices.
  • Discovery of the network devices.
  • Monitoring of the network devices.
  • Performance reporting.
  • Upgrading can be difficult.
  • Speed of the upgrades.
  • Configuration of the discovery component.
SolarWinds NCM is a great configuration management product that I have used. With this product you can log in and make changes to almost any type of device (even the ones with number based menus). It has made things easy and saved time for us on a number of tasks. From password change on thousands of devices to tracking down an STP issue, NCM has helped us trace problems quickly and efficiently.
It has made things easy and saved time for us on a number of tasks. From password change on thousands of devices to tracking down an STP issue, NCM has helped us trace problems quickly and efficiently. Configuration Change Templates is another thing that is very powerful and has helped us automate many repeatable tasks. Lastly, compliance monitoring is another thing that is very customized and allows you to ensure compliance on a variety of devices.
Read Jeff Daub's full review

About SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM)

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) can help save time and improve network reliability and security by managing configurations, changes, and compliance for routers, switches, and other network devices.

Network Configuration Manager enables IT Pros with:
  • Out-of-the-box support for major network device vendors, including Cisco®, Juniper®, HP®, Huawei®, F5®, Avaya®, Ruckus®, and more.
  • Automated bulk deployment of standardized device configs.
  • Automatic backups of device configurations, and rollback to the last-known good configurations, if necessary.
  • Identifying IOS® devices with potential vulnerabilities, utilizing the NIST CVE repository service, and even provides the tools to manage the investigation, remediation, or waiver of each vulnerability.
  • Auditing device configs for NIST FISMA, DISA STIG, and DSS PCI compliance.
  • Built on the Orion® Platform, NCM provides the ability to purchase and fully integrate with additional network monitoring modules (network performance monitoring, NetFlow traffic analysis, WAN management, VoIP, device tracking, and IP address management), as well as systems, storage, and virtualization management, all in a single web console.

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Features

Has featureConfiguration Change Automation
Has featureConfiguration Backup and Restore
Has featureChange Monitoring
Has featureChange Management - Roles & Approval
Has featureBaselines and Configuration Drift Monitoring
Has featureIOS Vulnerability Scanning
Has featureCompliance Assessment and Enforcement
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco Nexus
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco ASA

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Screenshots

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Video

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager Overview

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Downloadables

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Integrations

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Competitors

ManageEngine OpManager, Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution, DX Spectrum (formerly CA Spectrum), RANCID

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Windows Server
Mobile Application:No