Sisense Reviews

103 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 56)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sisense is our system of record for integrating a number of different data feeds (Google Analytics, SalesForce, Call Tracking, Internal Systems). It is used across all of our sales and marketing organization and is used in a variety of ways by different teams. The portability, ability to build data cubes in the tool, and the low learning curve have made it a major gain for the group after transitioning from Looker.
  • Ease of Use
  • Accessability
  • Better graphing tools
  • Better alerting systems
Sisense is a great cost-effective middleware and frontend for any organization that has multiple data feeds and is looking for a large amount of usage without a ton of cost. While it doesn't have every feature of far more expensive enterprise tools for a cost/benefit analysis, it has been one of the best tool values we have. I would not use it if you are still in a Google Analytics phase, nor if you are overly reliant on attribution, but for daily use and combining data systems, especially for a multi-touch call center or lead generation organization it is a great cost-effective way to get the data out without huge development costs.
Read this authenticated review
October 07, 2019
Mitch Siwy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sisense is used in our organization as an OEM/white-labeled BI platform. We leverage external customer facing users and internal employee users. Each department and user has their own/department dashboards that illustrate KPIs, metrics in real/near-real time. It solves many business problems that deal with Supply Chain. All areas from receiving, production and fulfillment have high-level to granularity data insights at the touch of their fingers for analyze.
  • Customer service is fast, accurate and helpful
  • 4 major Sisense version updates every year
  • Web-based JavaScript scripts allow for endless customization
  • Appending data delta updates only to the elasticube
  • Left joins
  • Richer widgets and web elements
  • pulse alerts on live-data sources
In our VDI environment this lightweight web application is great for end users. Our end users can easily interact, drill down /into data like never before. It's excel on steroids for them!
Read Mitch Siwy's full review
October 02, 2019
Gudrun Bonte | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sisense is used across the whole organization, both looking at internal data from our accounting software as well as looking at the aggregate data collected from our software solutions deployed worldwide. For our internal executive and sales team, it addresses visibility into sales numbers and trends. For our product managers, it provides insight into usage of our software and needs that may arise. For external purposes, we provide reporting to our customer base on their personal usage of the system.
  • Combining data from different sources
  • Cleaning up and modeling data
  • Dashboard creation
  • Cubes get very slow once your data starts to grow big.
  • Admins currently cannot edit each others' dashboards. This gets very cumbersome once admins change - it takes duplicating and republishing dashboards to let them take over.
  • Maps can be done better. The ability to compare to some standard benchmarks such as population density, demographics, GDP, etc., would be very useful.
Sisense is well suited for many applications as long as the data does not get too big. We use it to analyze sales, active vs. canceled subscriptions, usage of features in our software, etc. For big data it becomes a problem. Our software is deployed to several hundred thousand users worldwide - and continually reports back. This means the data grows exponentially.
Read Gudrun Bonte's full review
October 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sisense as part of our EMR platform to provide our customers and internal development team statistics and analytics on how to improve patient care. Being able to compile data into an easy to understand format enables us to see what patient treatments are working and what treatments aren't working.
  • Technical support has been great and the on-boarding process has been straightforward.
  • Great customization with a vast array of plugins and API integration capabilities.
  • Sisense is constantly adding new features and being innovative.
  • They need to get the Linux version out of beta. Having to run a Windows Server is not too big of a deal but it does require more resources if you devops team only develops in Linux.
  • Management of Cubes is a pain and requires high system resources.
  • Random stability issues.
If your company produces tons of data and you need to analyze a vast amount of data then Sisense is great for compiling easy to see and understand statistics. If your data keeps growing Sisense will start to bog down. In enterprise environment this could become any issue since it's not very easy to scale up.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the whole organization. It serves us as our BI self-service and business insights discovery tool of choice. We have several business users exploring data on their own as well as a set of business reports produced and maintained by the central data team. We also use it for KPI alerting and ad hoc visualization and plugins we build on top of Sisense and run on the WebApp.
  • Very intuitive UI, minimal learning curve even for non-technical users.
  • Solid backend architecture, very high-performance platform.
  • Cubes of data are segregated from original data sources and stored on disk, ensuring data on source databases are not impacted by querying activity.
  • Very helpful and quick support provided.
  • Cube management logic is growing old. It needs a revamp, more languages supported, and a more advanced fault-tolerant incremental build mechanism.
  • Out of the box visualizations and reporting features are a bit too basic compared to the market leaders (Tableau, Qlik, etc.).
  • Concurrent cube scalability is an issue, as even on high memory availability servers it does not manage to build more than 3 cubes at a time.
Perfect BI solution on top of big data platform architecture to process and pre-aggregate data. Minimal supervision and database understanding is required. Also, perfect for businesses without big data, as it avoids additional headcount to package and present the data in a digestible format. Not as great when highly complex visualizations are required with a high level of customization. UI is not as enticing as Tableau.
Read this authenticated review
July 09, 2019
Andrew Goss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sisense is being used for two primary purposes - internal analytics across all business units as well as embedded client-facing reports.
  • Customization - lots of supported and community plugins available. Users can also adjust the look and feel through JavaScript.
  • Innovation - Sisense is continuing to push the envelope by developing new features through Sisense Labs.
  • Customer support - the commitment to excellent customer service and ensuring organizations get the most out of their investment.
  • Permissions are a pain at times - only the owner of folders and dashboards can publish any changes.
  • Ease of use - there's a bit of a learning curve in using Sisense, but the same can be said of any BI tool.
  • Windows servers are required for Sisense installation, but a new and improved Linux architecture has been introduced (currently in beta).
Sisense is excellent for data modeling through ElastiCubes. It's easy to visualize the joins between objects, preview data, and identify data types.
Read Andrew Goss's full review
February 04, 2019
Jonathan Ganucheau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being implemented to replace our organization-wide data warehouse and BI reporting platform. We've initially completed the data migration, and we are starting the build out of all of our organization reports as Sisense dashboards. Secondarily, we are utilizing their API capabilities to serve data to new websites we've recently launched.
  • Visual ETL and UI for data relationships and modeling within ETL.
  • Drill down and interactive reports with varying levels of filters for each dashboard.
  • Data alterations and updates are fast.
  • Their technical support has no option for immediate phone support in the event of a disaster or emergency. Their support staff is mainly located in Israel, so a ticketing system is relied on no matter what the urgency.
  • Their tech support also doesn't easily remote into your instance if you're hosting yourself to be able to quickly diagnose issues.
  • We've still been experiencing many random issues with Sisense like corrupt files and unexplained failures in production which seems very buggy.
  • Anytime deeply advanced SQL is used in the ETL section (Elasticube Manager) Sisense kind of falls apart. It needs any complex queries to be broken down into multiple, separate queries at the simplest denominator.
Well suited
You don't need an actual data warehouse with historical and live data
You don't need separate solutions for ETL, DW and Reporting
You need all your data available via API's automatically

Less appropriate
You want to be to run stored procedure or cursor logic as part of your ETL (not possible in Sisense)

Read Jonathan Ganucheau's full review
March 06, 2019
Surbhi Singhal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Sisense for many years now. Sisense is a data visualization tool, and it is the greatest step and latest in the Business Intelligence market. It provides the in-chip technology for accessing millions of data in the shortest span of seconds and provides the best visual efforts for your business data.
  • Fastest - due to its in chip methodology.
  • Using great visualization, BI becomes easier with Sisense.
  • Millions of data can be loaded in fewer seconds which didn't seem possible with other traditional reporting tools.
  • Robust Architecture and provides Rest APIs to access it externally.
  • Instability of the data cubes, runs and failures.
  • Unknown issues in widgets, dashboard, filters.
  • Republishing of the dashboards for every single change.
  • Variables, parameters cannot be used in the front end.
Well Suited when your company size is small and having billions of records and concurrent users are less.
If data can be stored in form of elasticubes and can be accessed offline. But for large organization, its not appropriate as large number of users required more logins and it leads to costing and maintenance issue.
Also, at times we have observed its instability.
Read Surbhi Singhal's full review
November 01, 2018
Chad Vanscoy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sisense is being used across the whole company. We had issues with data from several sources - Salesforce, Google Analytics, and MS SQL Server. Sisense has allowed us to find the truth in our data.
  • Connects to all data sources.
  • Stylish dashboards.
  • Inbedability.
  • I believe an add-on marketplace for supported add-ons would be nice
  • Sometimes tech support doesn't realize the users are new to this.
  • More widget download options.
Multiple data sets and finding the truth in those data sets is a big help. I can't think of a situation where Sisense wouldn't be a good fit.
Read Chad Vanscoy's full review
October 25, 2018
Joseph R. Sweeney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We made the decision to try out several dashboard type data services with Sisense being one of them a few years ago. We were using it to put together easy to read and accessible dashboards to display high level information for our senior executives. This became an ad hoc type of request and pulled in data from finance, sales, and security.
  • Drag and drop feature for creating a dashboard is very easy to use and intuitive.
  • Easy to share with other users especially if you want them to have a read only file.
  • Depending on the machine you have, it can be very fast and responsive when pooling data together.
  • Mobile system is wonky and not as intuitive as the desktop version. I would recommend against viewing the dashboards on a mobile device as well.
Sisense is well suited for any organizational situation where you want to display data in an aesthetically pleasing and comprehensive way. It provides users with a way of communicating real time data with others in a company without having to constantly send updates or schedule meetings but rather having the data ready to present and accessible anywhere by anyone.
Read Joseph R. Sweeney's full review
November 12, 2018
Victor Arana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sisense across our Business Finance models in the Financial and Accounting departments. We use it to develop and redesign the information stored in our Project Management Software and our ERP systems for the Construction and Real State Field. It gives us the perspective to consolidate everything in a single, easy to manage tool. Sisense reduces the time it takes to obtain complex reports from many different data sources, and controls a variety of formats in one single tool that enhances our BI platform and our internal and external resources delivered to our end clients.
  • Sisense is easy to set up and connect to a wide variety of formats and platforms.
  • Sisense reduces the time it takes to obtain an optimal ROI.
  • Sisense really delivers the instant analysis required to merge financial numbers and statistics with a pretty accurate dashboard landscape.
  • Sisense could work on their management strategy for dashboards that are created by multiple users, reducing the complexity and improving their management options and security premises.
  • The navigation and filtering options could be useful in the mobile version, but Sisense needs to work on the layouts to improve the UX.
  • Sisense is a heavy app so be careful if you deploy this powerful tool in a resource that is under its system requirements--it can drive you crazy waiting for optimal performance.
Sisense is the best choice if your company is seeking a reliable, powerful and very accurate tool that can connect to a wide variety of standard and unconventional databases or data sources. With the proper assessment before its deployment, you can make it a win-win solution to deliver amazing dashboards and business reports that can consolidate different data sources, becoming a useful resource for both your business and your customers. If your company runs data analyses from multiple sources in the under 40 million rows or lower range, Sisense may be out of your league as a data analysis software.
Read Victor Arana's full review
July 10, 2018
David Hertzberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Sisense can be used by every department in the organization. It will help each teams to understand, explore and leverage their data for any of their business decisions.
  • Sisense is amazing when it comes to ingest and mix all your data sources with no advanced IT skills.
  • Sisense is the most efficient tools for data modelling. You build a data set in a snap, ready to be used for your dashboards.
  • Sisense allows anyone to build their own dashboard. The interface is "uber" intuitive, and "uber" efficient : no need to declare filters, data hierarchy or anything. Once your data are loaded, just build dashboards. Once they access a dashboard, users can fully exploit it and interact with the data : drill anywhere, explore the filters, add filters by interacting with the data visualization.
  • The platform do not natively support data set allowing the users to see the table name and field name in multiple language ; but there is an easy to use external plugin
  • It is not possible for a "reader" to create on the fly custom data group
Sisense is extremely powerful for easily connect to data, mash them up and let non-technical users build the dashboard they need. The interface is very intuitive, both for data modelling and dashboarding. The solution is full web from end to end, and can run on premise, in private cloud or in public cloud. It is also extremely easy to manage the server. Even though the upfront investment is not nothing, the global TCO is extremely low as the product does not require specific technical skills. Plus Sisense provides a lots of documentation and self-service trainings.
Read David Hertzberg's full review
May 30, 2018
Glenn Gordon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sisense is being used by a number of areas within our organization.
  • Our board of directors appreciates the ability to present key metrics about our company on a single page. The graphs are easy to understand. The ability to gather information from disparate divisions and present a unified picture saves time and aids decision making.
  • Our division heads use it to get a picture of how their individual divisions are working. The ability to show the data in graphical form with minimal programming allows them to make better decisions for their departments.
  • Our compliance department uses the graphs to quickly find issues within the company. By highlighting outliers from a number of different systems, corrective actions can be taken quickly, eliminating potential legal issues.
  • Sisense can display data in a variety of formats, tabular or graphical, with no programming necessary for the display logic
  • One 'elasticube' or back end data source, can collect data from any number of different systems. Sisense provides connectors to more than 20 different back end technologies, including all of the leading databases and flat file formats. The Elasticube can contain a query that joins together data from disparate data sources.
  • The graphical front end facilitates filtering the back end dataset, both at design time and at run time, allowing the user to see just the necessary data set.
  • Graphical views can be linked, allowing the user to drill down to see more details of any part of the database.
  • My non-IT users are often confounded by the techniques necessary to build beautiful dashboards
  • The web version of the elasticube manager does not do everything that that the desktop application does. With version 7.1, this seems to be getting better. More to follow...
  • Our primary contact person keeps changing, leading to difficulties in continuity of support. On the plus side, it is nice having a dedicated support person.
  • Sisense is a dashboarding tool. It is very appropriate for delivering summary or exception data to the users, presenting it in a fashion that is easy to digest.
  • It is not as good at presenting tabular or raw data, showing the details that support the conclusion. If you need to see reams of data for the application, a reporting tool will be better suited to the job.
Read Glenn Gordon's full review
December 28, 2017
Adi Hecht | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are using Sisense as platform for providing reports and business intelligence for our customers. In essence, we are using the platform as OEMs.

With Sisense, we provide reports and insights for contact center solutions which we implement to our customers.

  • Excellent single-stack BI solution, allowing great flexibility for data-modelling within the Sisense platform itself, with no need to perform the data modelling on a separate platform. The data modelling is implemented using standard SQL which makes anyone familiar with SQL already able to use the system.
  • Virtually unlimited customization options using Java Script, allowing you to modify and enhance existing functionality.
  • Great support from the both customer support and the user community.
  • Some functionality is missing as built-in functionality, and can only be added by using Javascript, which requires technical knowledge of JS from the dashboard designer to implement. So although almost anything is possible to implement, some things which should be basic require high-level skills.
  • Viewers of dashboards have very limited customization options, almost any customization requires the dashboards designer to implement.
  • Particularly, viewers are unable to select conditional formatting, rename fields, change the order of items, etc.

Well suited for almost any BI implementation across any subject matter, and especially where a lot of data modelling must be performed on the data before used in the reports.

Somewhat lacking where the users/viewers of the dashboards need to have customization options of the dashboard per-user, such as when the same report might be used by different customers.

Read Adi Hecht's full review
June 13, 2018
Gal Chen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Sisense both for business and marketing analysis, and for product analysis. Therefore, our challenges vary, from more straightforward financial analysis to very case-specific cases, that require a different approach.
  • Easily answer common business questions
  • Helpful support team
  • Creating new widgets and making changes in the existing ones is fairly easy
  • Charts are limited and important options such as additional data on hover or sorting stacked bar charts by value. Some of these options can be achieved with Javascript though
  • Filtering on dashboard confuses a lot of the users. There is no easy way to filter a specific widget (not by editing it)
  • Drill downs are not very straightforward, and field names cannot be displayed differently on drill down
  • The default color schemes could be better
  • Querying data on the dashboard level is limited, and visually uncomfortable
  • No readymade templates
I believe it's very suitable for simple business cases and for presenting simple data. It's less suitable for more complex data sets, mainly because there's little options of querying raw data and plotting it on the go.
Read Gal Chen's full review
June 06, 2018
Peter Breglio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Sisense is being used to pull data from various systems and sources giving our Financial Planning & Analysis team a one-stop shop for analysis.
  • Ease of use especially when it comes to building widgets
  • Customer Support & Professional Services
  • Implementation Support
  • Accessing NetSuite data through ODBC has been a bit of a challenge if you are not 100% familiar with the data structure
  • Some of the widget labels that need to be updated/maintained via script can be challenging to a novice user (non-technical user)
If you are currently transacting/maintaining multiple systems Sisense "sits" on top of them nicely. the ability to not only link to existing systems but add flat files to the Elasticube directly gives you additional flexibility.
Read Peter Breglio's full review
June 04, 2018
Shahar Beil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially, Sisense was used only by top management but now it's being used by almost all managers in some scale. We use the platform before taking business decisions and to monitor new procedures and projects.
  • Give junior and medium level managers more control over data and take data driven decisions.
  • Take control over large users data and attributes
  • Visualization and aesthetics of dashboards and widgets is top tier
  • No immediate support for extremely urgent issues like system errors/crashes or phone support
  • Viewers option to drill into data is somewhat clumsy and needs adjustments
  • Build time and duration expectancy changes a lot for no apparent reason.
  • There are no proper metrics regarding dashboards/tables use and workload. Effects optimization and schema size
Would highly recommend Sisense for small-medium companies.
Read Shahar Beil's full review
December 14, 2017
Brian Tait | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Real-time Internal visibility to operations for accounts and executive management, also providing similar visibility directly to clients through OEM license of Sisense. We've become dependent on the operational analytics from Sisense for both assessing the success of recent feature updates and prioritizing new features.
  • Data visualization and exploration. It's very easy to create useful widgets and explore data.
  • Extract Transform and Load (ETL). The ETL ability of Sisense should be promoted heavily. Their ability shaved weeks off our implementation compared to other products and continues to make adding/updating datasets simple.
  • The product does not have the ability to view its own operational metrics on a dashboard. We pointed this out during our implementation more than a year ago, and this is still lacking in the product. We've built our own functionality around this since, but it should have come out-of-the-box.
  • The mobile experience also isn't nearly as rich as we'd like. They've grown quite a bit there in the last year but still needs more capabilities.
The speed at which we constructed our original solution, and several solutions since is outstanding. That speaks to the product functionality and performance, and the people at Sisense that have helped us along the way.
Read Brian Tait's full review
November 29, 2017
Wicus Verhoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SiSense is used to distribute data and information inside our organisation such that the right colleagues have access to the right data, ultimately to service our customers better. SiSense's configurable cube-level and row-level security makes this data and information sharing possible in a way that is compliant.
  • From the admin/data engineering perspective: Data preparation is very intuitive - the Elasticube builder interface makes the creation of the data structures (Elasticubes) very straightforward.
  • From the content creator's perspective: Dashboards are easy to create, maintain, copy and backup. Also, there are community-created D3 visualisation add-ins, which extends the standard set of widgets.
  • From users' perspective: Dashboard interaction is intuitive. Downloading the data underpinning graphs and tables (widgets) are easy.
  • From data compliance officers' perspective: setting data access controls are easy; these can be implemented at a dashboard level, Elasticube level and row level.
  • Elasticube builder only works on Windows (set to change in future releases).
  • The smallest possible rollout is to install SiSense Server on a Windows server. There is currently no stand-alone desktop version.
SiSense is great for going from zero to publishing engaging dashboards to a big audience quickly. You can quite easily go from having nothing to publishing sophisticated and beautifully designed dashboards in less than a week. Learning to use the technology is easy, pulling in data is easy and modeling data relationships is easy. Dashboard creation is also very intuitive and the so too is dashboard interaction.

If your use-case involves small installations with few users and/or a need to have offline access to packaged dashboards, SiSense might be a bit big for you: Sisense currently only has a server-based solution. To get to your dashboards you need to either have access to the machine where SiSense Server is installed or have web access to said server. There is currently no lite reader or desktop-only installation. This limitation would not have an impact in instances where the goal is to roll out an enterprise-wide BI solution, though.

SiSense's support ninjas are very knowledgeable and are exceptionally responsive. So far, all of the issues we ran into were resolved within minimum time. My sense of dealing with the support staff at SiSense is that they are very focused on not just answering your immediate question, but also to delve into the cause of the matter.
Read Wicus Verhoef's full review
November 13, 2017
Michael Lattimer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sisense started being used by a single department and has taken off across multiple departments across the company. Our legacy and newer BI tools struggled with speed to develop and mash up different and large data sets - Sisense has bridged that gap and taken off as a result.
  • Ease of Use: Non-technical users can quickly get up to speed and become dashboard developers in a matter of a few days if they have a mind for data
  • Speed: Massive datasets are easily crunched on basic hardware. Ad hoc analysis on hundreds of millions of rows of transactional data is a snap
  • Support: The Sisense team from top to bottom is passionate about their product, and in fact when we log issues, we have a hard time keeping up to their speedy responses
  • Some of the enterprise functions are not fully baked (admins can't see all use and dashboards easily)
  • Missing a few critical connectors (e.g. Teradata)
Very well suited to rapid data mashup for massive datasets and self service BI deployment with a very smooth user experience
Read Michael Lattimer's full review
May 10, 2017
Dan Sparks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sisense to report KPIs to executives and managers. We use dashboards to provide insights and direction. We are currently developing dashboards we will expose to our customers and sales partners. Sisense is our platform for single source of truth and sharing consistent and correct information across the organization.
  • Ingesting and modeling data from multiple sources
  • Responsive web based dashboards that scale to many users
  • Customer obsession, we get quick answers to technical questions and new features almost every month.
  • The web page can be radically customized, but there's not a lot of documentation to help you
  • Some widgets don't work quite as expected or have little bugs
  • A wide variety of plugins exist, it's hard to know what all is out there and what works with your version
We've found Sisense to work well as an EDW, combining many data marts and sources in easy to understand data models. This also makes all your data easily surfaced into visualizations, empowering the curious and data scientists in the organization.
Read Dan Sparks's full review
August 11, 2017
Selenne Berthely | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sisense has been used across multiple businesses within GE, because users enjoy how easy it is to work with it. As part of the SCM main concerns, employee safety and accurate risk and crisis management are the top. We need visual aids to be clear on GED employees and facilities, numbers, locations, and the employees breakdown per function and parent business.
  • Elastic Cubes are easy to build, and make changes to them is easy.
  • Implementing a dashboard is super simple and you just need to have the right data.
  • Implementing new widgets and customizing them is very easy.
  • I was never able to share my dashboards with other users.
  • I couldn't solve setting widgets below each other.
  • The PDF visualization cuts the dashboards even in landscape format.
Well suited when you know what you want to build and show and when you already have a server to deploy your Elasticubes and your dashboards.
Read Selenne Berthely's full review
March 10, 2017
David Wit | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

EXL’s flagship CareRadius® platform integrates data from multiple sources and shares it in real time among health plans, practitioners, and members. It offers a holistic member view that automates identification, stratification and medical management for targeted, individualized interventions to improve health.

We selected Sisense to embed analytics into our product. Using Sisense, CareRadius provides interactive dashboards that communicate to the basic users and managers, results on KPIs by eliminating the need to understand the complex data source and calculations being made. Additionally, we use Sisense to provide ad hoc reporting, with data integrity and governance.

  • Dashboards (user interface) are intuitive resulting in limited implementation training.
  • You can use the simple as is user interface, or for the super user you can write custom scripts to control the behavior.
  • Sisense support, training, and materials make learning the product easy and enjoyable. Their product onboarding team ensures you are ready to go.
  • Hitting the production database is controlled and limited without setting up a data warehouse.
  • More native inclusion of predictive analytic formulas.
  • Expansion of built-in functions list to include items such as geometric mean.
  • Ability to display data results in a "form" type presentation for individual results.
Sisense is ideal for converting users from pouring through detailed reports that were extracted to a spreadsheet, to a big picture that tells the story and allows the user to determine actions required, right down to the specific. [It's also well suited for] building detailed models that stratify a population into actionable categories.
Read David Wit's full review
February 14, 2017
Kirk Dudley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As the premier company for cannabis industry data and insight, delivering fast, accurate, and visually appealing dashboards for our clients is mission critical. Sisense allows us to present data in a visually stunning manner that continually "wows" our clients, with the dashboards seamlessly integrated into our web portal. The ability to add in third party/custom plug ins, as well as community support for the plug-ins makes Sisense very flexible and powerful.
  • Once the data model(s) and formulas are set up, it's easy to get designers up to speed and creating their own dashboards quickly.
  • Excellent integration into web portals and white labeling.
  • The ability to add in third party/custom plug-ins, as well as community support for the plug-ins, makes Sisense very flexible and powerful.
  • Admins can't view all user dashboards - they must be shared by the user first.
  • Some settings can't have their default changed, forcing them to be set manually for each new dashboard.
  • Sorting abilities are limited to what's visible, with no ability to sort one column or labels based on the value in a non-displayed column.
As a market research/data company, Sisense is how we deliver our core product to our customers. Sisense excels at portal integration and white labeling. For experienced data analysts, it's not a great replacement for more traditional OLAP solutions, where drilling and slicing in and out of the data is a full-time position.
Read Kirk Dudley's full review
February 09, 2017
Wesley Ardoin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Beyond simply presenting and extracting data, we have implemented interactive dashboards which visualize, but more importantly, analyze and correlate data to track performance and inform decision making. Sisense is a product that simplifies analytics for complex data by letting us prepare and analyze both big and disparate datasets. Sisense handles data preparation for analysis as well as dashboard visualization.

We are using it primarily to track and inform the performance of our employees across the entire university fundraising group.

  • It really does a great job handling very large data sets and mashes up various sources into a cohesive form.
  • It is very easy to go from raw data to a dashboard in no time flat.
  • The performance for the cost is great.
  • Visualizations could be more flexible especially in regard to labels.
  • Exporting reports continues to evolve and can use some improvements as it relates to exporting spreadsheets in particular.
  • Mobile accessibility is still in the developing stages.
I think it is a great choice for an institution that doesn't want a lot of overhead in regard to IT support or cost, who would prefer to do the work themselves. It does a great job of presenting material simply to a wide audience. It doesn't require that the vendor be available to deal with large data sets either.
Read Wesley Ardoin's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (35)
6.6
Customizable dashboards (45)
9.1
Report Formatting Templates (31)
8.8
Drill-down analysis (45)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (45)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (25)
8.2
Report sharing and collaboration (3)
7.3
Publish to Web (34)
9.3
Publish to PDF (44)
8.6
Report Versioning (22)
8.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (37)
7.8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (43)
8.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (40)
8.4
Predictive Analytics (27)
8.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (43)
9.1
Role-Based Security Model (42)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (43)
7.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (38)
7.9
Dedicated iOS Application (23)
7.1
Dedicated Android Application (19)
8.0
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (32)
6.9

What is Sisense?

Sisense data & analytics platform is designed to make it easy to mashup data from across the entire data landscape and transform it into actionable analytics applications that can be embedded anywhere. The vendor boasts innovative startups and global brands like GE, Nasdaq, and Philips, as well as organizations worldwide are using Sisense to accelerate innovation and drive digital transformation by embedding Sisense into their businesses. Whether data is in the cloud, on-prem, or a mix of both, Sisense gives users everything needed to successfully deliver on analytics application strategy today, allowing you to:

  • Securely connect and ingest data into cloud data warehouses to create a single store for your data
  • Mashup data from dozens of sources for a complete view of your business
  • Leverage a combination of live or cached data models to optimize performance and manage resource utilization
  • Build beautiful visualizations and actionable application components using the robust library of integrated widgets and certified add-ons
  • Develop and white-label with ease using a full suite of APIs and developer toolkits
  • Differentiate products and services with fully integrated, white-label analytics in the office or on mobile devices for users on the go

Sisense Features

BI Platform Features

Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler

Supported Data Sources Features

Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Sisense Screenshots

Sisense Integrations

Splunk Enterprise, Salesforce, Google Adwords & Analytics, SAP & all database servers, Excel & CSV Files

Sisense Competitors

Tableau Public, GoodData, Domo, DbFace, Tableau, Microstrategy

Sisense Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
ModulesPricing DetailsTerms
SAP ConnectorPer User per Month

Sisense Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Sisense Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry
Supported Countries:All