Splunk Enterprise

Overview

Recent Reviews

Real-time smart meters

9 out of 10
August 17, 2021
Splunk is being using to track the status of electric utility smart meters which record customer energy usage. Smart meters send power …
Continue reading

Great for almost anything

9 out of 10
July 19, 2021
We use this across our different departments for security, app performance monitoring, host monitoring, data intelligence, correlation, …
Continue reading

Splunk leads the pack

9 out of 10
April 14, 2020
Splunk is our one stop shop for all log data. We send logs from everything from servers, routers, firewalls, switches, sans and …
Continue reading

Splunk Enterprise review

7 out of 10
March 06, 2020
Currently our bank has different departments with their own Splunk infrastructure. We are currently building a larger infrastructure to …
Continue reading

Won't you take me to Splunkytown

9 out of 10
February 29, 2020
We're using Splunk Enterprise to assist us with IT Operations and IT Security. We came to look at Splunk because when I entered the …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019

Popular Features

View all 13 features

Custom dashboards and workspaces (100)

9.8
98%

Correlation (49)

9.8
98%

Event and log normalization/management (98)

9.6
96%

Centralized event and log data collection (50)

9.4
94%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Splunk Enterprise, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Splunk Enterprise?

Splunk is software for searching, monitoring, and analyzing machine-generated big data, via a web-style interface. It captures, indexes and correlates real-time data in a searchable repository from which it can generate graphs, reports, alerts, dashboards and visualizations.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

11 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is AlienVault USM?

AlienVault® Unified Security Management® (USM) delivers threat detection, incident response, and compliance management in one unified platform. It is designed to combine all the essential security capabilities needed for effective security monitoring across cloud and on-premises environments,…

What is SolarWinds Kiwi Syslog Server?

Solarwinds® Kiwi Syslog® Server is a syslog management tool for network and systems engineers. It receives syslog messages and SNMP traps from network devices (routers, switches, firewalls, etc.), and Linux®/Unix® hosts. Users can filter and view these messages based on time, hostname, severity,…

Features Scorecard

Security Information and Event Management (SIEM)

9.0
90%

Product Details

What is Splunk Enterprise?

Splunk Enterprise enables users to find out what is happening in a business and take meaningful action. It automates the collection, indexing and alerting of machine data that's critical to operations, so that users can uncover the actionable insights from data — no matter the source or format. Leverage artificial intelligence and machine learning for predictive and proactive business decisions.

Splunk Enterprise Integrations

Splunk Enterprise Competitors

Splunk Enterprise Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Splunk Enterprise?

Splunk is software for searching, monitoring, and analyzing machine-generated big data, via a web-style interface. It captures, indexes and correlates real-time data in a searchable repository from which it can generate graphs, reports, alerts, dashboards and visualizations.

What is Splunk Enterprise's best feature?

Reviewers rate Correlation and Custom dashboards and workspaces highest, with a score of 9.8.

Who uses Splunk Enterprise?

The most common users of Splunk Enterprise are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 67)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
August 17, 2021

Real-time smart meters

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is being using to track the status of electric utility smart meters which record customer energy usage. Smart meters send power outage & restoration notifications which we track in real-time with splunk. This capability is very important for enhancing our situational awareness to help ensure we deliver safe and reliable electricity to our customers.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise is the basis for our log correlation and analysis. We're using it primarily for IT Security, and occasionally to assist with operations was helpful. It is the basis of our SIEM, Splunk Enterprise security. We pull in events from a wide variety of data sources. The ability of Splunk to ingest and normalize just about any sort of data is one of its strongest points.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise is used by our Infrastructure and Enterprise Monitoring Team and Security Teams to monitor our infrastructure. Monitoring is enabled for the overall health of our systems. Data is collected from multiple data sources. Logs are analyzed and converted to meaningful metrics for the team to proactive monitor and take corrective actions.

Splunk has the ability to correlate data from disparate data sources and provide root cause hence reducing MTTR and improving our SLA's with our customers. The events logged in Splunk help our IT Analyst and Security Analyst take proactive action before impacting the services which our customer uses. The Event Correlation helps us find RCA and improve MTTD and MTTR.
April 14, 2020

Splunk leads the pack

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is our one stop shop for all log data. We send logs from everything from servers, routers, firewalls, switches, sans and applications there to be analyzed and reviewed by different teams. This solves a critical issue by ensuring all teams are working from the same information. Prior to consolidating onto Splunk a number of different sources of truth leading different teams to work with different information.
Ahmet Fatih IRKLI | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise is used across the whole department in our organization for Security information and event management. It improves our security aspect of the assets by collecting logs. Splunk offers log collection from all types of assets in the environment varying from vulnerability scanning tools to network devices. Centralizing all these logs and managing them from one place is the real deal. It manages huge amounts of log data with a robust operation. Every day our environment creates dozens of logs and Splunk enables us to see anomalies with alarms.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently our bank has different departments with their own Splunk infrastructure. We are currently building a larger infrastructure to incorporate all departments to join this centralized infrastructure with Splunk Enterprise. As Splunk is used for log analyzing, it is used for reports on different metrics built from logs collected from different servers. We try to consolidate the logs and put results onto a more centralized data center set as well.
Fraser Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk was initially purchased to be our replacement for our syslog server, but it has grown into much much more and this is because of how easy it is to get logs into Splunk and the flexibility of what can be done with those logs.
We are now using it as a security tool, ingesting logs from lots of different sources and even our cloud platforms.
Currently it is just our IT team that use Splunk.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Splunk Enterprise to assist us with IT Operations and IT Security. We came to look at Splunk because when I entered the company I found over 500 devices with no centralized logging in any way, no ability to pinpoint problems across the whole organization whether historic or predictable and things like this. Splunk is helping us deliver a predictable, robust operation of our infrastructure instead of reacting to problems and working to find just what was affected and when.

We believe we can apply Splunk to other data, in time, specifically aiding the company with analyzing financial information, but this is not yet an active project.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise has been used by our Cybersecurity Department for almost five years to be the single dashboard for our Security Incident and Event Monitoring. On top of that, we are also using the Enterprise Security, and it helps us to focus on the most notable events that need to be followed up asap.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise is used as a repository for all our server and network infrastructure logs. This allows us to go to one place to review logs and potentially find a relationship between different systems with specific issues. For example, seeing failed login attempts to our switches and learning that a server was using old credentials.
Johanes Siregar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Light is being used by our Operational and Maintenance team for transaction logging and event monitoring. It was the right solution for our organization since our IT internal policy stipulates that any solution which interacts with our subscriber's activity data must be deployed on-premise. Moreover, since we only have a handful of O&M team, Splunk Light is a lot more convenient to deploy and manage.
ShuYun Du | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Splunk to integrate all the logs for each of the applications. Building dashboards and alerts base on the logs by the Application team's requirement. The Application team will be able to search through their log from one centralized place rather than logging into multiple servers to try to define the issue manually. With the Splunk search language, it is very easy to look for possible errors within a certain time frame. Our organization also use Splunk for fraud investigation purpose. We have more than 100 application teams using Splunk today and most of them are using it for troubleshooting purposes when there is an issue that has occurred.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise has been used across University of Minnesota as one of our IT monitoring and alerting tools. This has been a big help for our user base to provide timed email alerts as well as monitoring all of the threshold parameters we set up. We have a dedicated admin to make sure the Splunk agents have been deployed and configured across all the client tools.
November 20, 2019

Splunk: The log expert

Kuntal Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise is a brilliant tool that we use in the University of Colorado, Denver to analyze logs obtained from various sources. Our team is responsible for maintaining the security of our campus and the University of Colorado, Anschutz medical campus.

The log sources are typically firewall logs, email logs, logs from the Intrusion detection system (IDS), logs of different services running on the google cloud, etc. It offers a very easy interface and a query language. We can build our own alarm rule and UI within it for visualization. The rules will run at a time defined by the user and will send metrics to the email. It helped in automating blacklisting as now we can get the most troublesome IP addresses and block them in a minute. It also helped us in tracing a list of most vulnerable on the campus. The most powerful feature is the correlation of log sources. Correlation of log sources is a very taxing process for any software. Splunk handles this gracefully. By correlating firewall traffic, wireless and IDS traffic we once spotted a machine that had a trojan in it and was trying to spread itself laterally through open SMB ports.
Johann Davila | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is used by our Engineering Department. Splunk has been a valuable and useful tool for our company to monitor errors occurring at all times. We love the real-time monitoring system that helps us detect errors and get the right people to handle them when needed to get things back up and running.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise tool is being used across our Digital department. Using this tool we are able to search and analyze event logs of our customer sessions. We can see the error trends of our Digital Services. Set up alerts for multiple KPIs and create dashboards for monitoring the health of our Digital products.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is being used by the entire organization for searching and reporting and to analyze the logs and entire organization’s data. Splunk is a great tool to work on. It helps in finding various threats inside and outside the organization. Five stars.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We installed Splunk Light to get our feet wet with centralized log management. The primary use was in our network and security department. Splunk Light allowed us to quickly and easily search across all of our device logs, as well as gave us the ability to correlate log entries between machines. It also helped us satisfy our compliance requirements for logging.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is an excellent logging platform, allowing for short and long term log storage with top tier indexing and searching capabilities. We have deployed Splunk to aggregate all logs and act as a central logging platform throughout the company. This helps us solve operational issues by providing a centralized log monitoring platform to be used by our operations group. It also helps solve regulatory issues by being the central logging platform with strict access controls as well as tiered storage and archiving capabilities.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise is used to monitor both Prod as well as all our lower environments. It is used for analyzing logs and tracing transactions. We write Splunk queries and create dashboards for monitoring several Key Performance Indicators. We first analyze metrics over a particular period of them to understand the trend and then set up alerts on these metrics for threshold violations.
Rounak Jangir | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is not used across my organization. It is being used by some of us and for some specific task. And yes, it is also used by other departments as well but according to their need. Specifically, we are using this tool for monitoring the application logs and doing some analysis over it. Splunk provides a very easy way to search your logs and perform some basic analysis.
Matt Judice | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Splunk to catalog all incoming quote requests, booking requests and booking responses (effectively we catalog all successful transactions and errors). My team uses these logs to troubleshoot connections with our partners. We also use this to analyze the behavior of our customers to make sure they are operating as we expect them to. I use this tool every day, for several hours per day, to do my job.