Splunk Enterprise Reviews

304 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 60)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 20, 2019
Kuntal Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk Enterprise is a brilliant tool that we use in the University of Colorado, Denver to analyze logs obtained from various sources. Our team is responsible for maintaining the security of our campus and the University of Colorado, Anschutz medical campus.

The log sources are typically firewall logs, email logs, logs from the Intrusion detection system (IDS), logs of different services running on the google cloud, etc. It offers a very easy interface and a query language. We can build our own alarm rule and UI within it for visualization. The rules will run at a time defined by the user and will send metrics to the email. It helped in automating blacklisting as now we can get the most troublesome IP addresses and block them in a minute. It also helped us in tracing a list of most vulnerable on the campus. The most powerful feature is the correlation of log sources. Correlation of log sources is a very taxing process for any software. Splunk handles this gracefully. By correlating firewall traffic, wireless and IDS traffic we once spotted a machine that had a trojan in it and was trying to spread itself laterally through open SMB ports.
Read Kuntal Das's full review
February 29, 2020
Fraser Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk was initially purchased to be our replacement for our syslog server, but it has grown into much much more and this is because of how easy it is to get logs into Splunk and the flexibility of what can be done with those logs.
We are now using it as a security tool, ingesting logs from lots of different sources and even our cloud platforms.
Currently it is just our IT team that use Splunk.
Read Fraser Clark's full review
February 19, 2020
ShuYun Du | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Splunk to integrate all the logs for each of the applications. Building dashboards and alerts base on the logs by the Application team's requirement. The Application team will be able to search through their log from one centralized place rather than logging into multiple servers to try to define the issue manually. With the Splunk search language, it is very easy to look for possible errors within a certain time frame. Our organization also use Splunk for fraud investigation purpose. We have more than 100 application teams using Splunk today and most of them are using it for troubleshooting purposes when there is an issue that has occurred.
Read ShuYun Du's full review
March 12, 2020
Ahmet Fatih IRKLI | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk Enterprise is used across the whole department in our organization for Security information
and event management. It improves our security aspect of the assets by collecting logs. Splunk offers log collection from all types of assets in the environment varying from vulnerability scanning tools to network devices. Centralizing all these logs and managing them from one place is the real deal. It manages huge amounts of log data with a robust operation. Every day our environment creates dozens of logs and Splunk enables us to
see anomalies with alarms.
Read Ahmet Fatih IRKLI's full review
November 05, 2019
PAULIUS BUCINSKAS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk Enterprise tool is being used across our Digital department. Using this tool we are able to search and analyze event logs of our customer sessions. We can see the error trends of our Digital Services. Set up alerts for multiple KPIs and create dashboards for monitoring the health of our Digital products.
Read PAULIUS BUCINSKAS's full review
November 16, 2019
Johann Davila | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk is used by our Engineering Department. Splunk has been a valuable and useful tool for our company to monitor errors occurring at all times. We love the real-time monitoring system that helps us detect errors and get the right people to handle them when needed to get things back up and running.
Read Johann Davila's full review
April 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk is our one stop shop for all log data. We send logs from everything from servers, routers, firewalls, switches, sans and applications there to be analyzed and reviewed by different teams. This solves a critical issue by ensuring all teams are working from the same information. Prior to consolidating onto Splunk a number of different sources of truth leading different teams to work with different information.
Read this authenticated review
March 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently our bank has different departments with their own Splunk infrastructure. We are currently building a larger infrastructure to incorporate all departments to join this centralized infrastructure with Splunk Enterprise. As Splunk is used for log analyzing, it is used for reports on different metrics built from logs collected from different servers. We try to consolidate the logs and put results onto a more centralized data center set as well.
Read this authenticated review
February 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're using Splunk Enterprise to assist us with IT Operations and IT Security. We came to look at Splunk because when I entered the company I found over 500 devices with no centralized logging in any way, no ability to pinpoint problems across the whole organization whether historic or predictable and things like this. Splunk is helping us deliver a predictable, robust operation of our infrastructure instead of reacting to problems and working to find just what was affected and when.

We believe we can apply Splunk to other data, in time, specifically aiding the company with analyzing financial information, but this is not yet an active project.
Read this authenticated review
February 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk Enterprise has been used by our Cybersecurity Department for almost five years to be the single dashboard for our Security Incident and Event Monitoring. On top of that, we are also using the Enterprise Security, and it helps us to focus on the most notable events that need to be followed up asap.
Read this authenticated review
February 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk Enterprise is used as a repository for all our server and network infrastructure logs. This allows us to go to one place to review logs and potentially find a relationship between different systems with specific issues. For example, seeing failed login attempts to our switches and learning that a server was using old credentials.
Read this authenticated review
November 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk Enterprise has been used across University of Minnesota as one of our IT monitoring and alerting tools. This has been a big help for our user base to provide timed email alerts as well as monitoring all of the threshold parameters we set up. We have a dedicated admin to make sure the Splunk agents have been deployed and configured across all the client tools.
Read this authenticated review
May 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk is being used by the entire organization for searching and reporting and to analyze the logs and entire organization’s data. Splunk is a great tool to work on. It helps in finding various threats inside and outside the organization. Five stars.
Read this authenticated review
May 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk Enterprise is used by our Infrastructure and Enterprise Monitoring Team and Security Teams to monitor our infrastructure. Monitoring is enabled for the overall health of our systems. Data is collected from multiple data sources. Logs are analyzed and converted to meaningful metrics for the team to proactive monitor and take corrective actions.

Splunk has the ability to correlate data from disparate data sources and provide root cause hence reducing MTTR and improving our SLA's with our customers. The events logged in Splunk help our IT Analyst and Security Analyst take proactive action before impacting the services which our customer uses. The Event Correlation helps us find RCA and improve MTTD and MTTR.
Read this authenticated review
January 02, 2019
Rounak Jangir | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk is not used across my organization. It is being used by some of us and for some specific task. And yes, it is also used by other departments as well but according to their need. Specifically, we are using this tool for monitoring the application logs and doing some analysis over it. Splunk provides a very easy way to search your logs and perform some basic analysis.
Read Rounak Jangir's full review
December 10, 2018
Dhruba Jyoti Nag | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk Enterprise is used by the organization to primarily analyze data. It looks at data generated by various on-premise systems and provides meaningful insights out of them. Many advanced features like custom reporting are used by business analysts on a regular basis to determine the course of action. Last but not least, it is also used to execute daily support tasks like log analysis.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review
January 02, 2019
Matt Judice | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Splunk to catalog all incoming quote requests, booking requests and booking responses (effectively we catalog all successful transactions and errors). My team uses these logs to troubleshoot connections with our partners. We also use this to analyze the behavior of our customers to make sure they are operating as we expect them to. I use this tool every day, for several hours per day, to do my job.
Read Matt Judice's full review
August 10, 2018
Matt Overton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Splunk Enterprise across the entire company to collect log data that allows us to see up/down times of servers and applications. We have customized Splunk a good bit and it is one of the main tools we rely to monitor our server environment and troubleshoot issues when an app/server is down or having errors.
Read Matt Overton's full review
February 21, 2018
Rahul Shinde | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk is a very powerful analytics tool. As of now, we are using Splunk on an experimental basis in our department but so far the results are pretty great. So we are planning to expand its use on an organizational level. We use Splunk for various things but mainly we use it to monitor and investigate Blackboard system startup issues by analyzing log files. We have written Splunk search strings to list out all the Blackboard system startup errors in a mannerly fashion and later raise it to the concerned department. After starting to use Splunk, it made very easy to find the exact cause of the issue.
Read Rahul Shinde's full review
March 28, 2018
Ryan Stasel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I'm using Splunk to aggregate logs from various servers and devices within my department. While I don't interact with it daily, or even weekly a lot of times, I do use it heavily when faculty or staff come to me asking when users were logged in, when there are any questionable incidents on websites, etc.
Read Ryan Stasel's full review
March 21, 2018
Larry Helms | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk is mainly used to log analysis and alerting of events, both business and technical events
Read Larry Helms's full review
January 30, 2018
Sameer Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Splunk is used across the whole organization and is used for logging. We log all of our web traffic thru Splunk and we use it to monitor what events are taking palce on our site. The business problem we solve for is not having to build an inhouse logging tool.
Read Sameer Gupta's full review
November 13, 2017
Eric Krueger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently have evaluated and are deploying Splunk Enterprise to replace our older SIEM device. This will allow us to monitor our critical systems and allow for scalability as we continue to grow. Using this product has saved us time and money as it is used across our whole company's three locations. The flexibility and tools offered with Splunk make our jobs easier. Also, there are great forums and a cool wiki for best practices using Splunk.
Read Eric Krueger's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Centralized event and log data collection (44)
9.6
Correlation (44)
9.1
Event and log normalization (44)
9.1
Deployment flexibility (40)
8.6
Integration with Identity and Access Management Tools (40)
8.4
Custom dashboards and views (45)
9.1
Host and network-based intrusion detection (28)
8.5

What is Splunk Enterprise?

Splunk is software for searching, monitoring, and analyzing machine-generated big data, via a web-style interface. It captures, indexes and correlates real-time data in a searchable repository from which it can generate graphs, reports, alerts, dashboards and visualizations.

Splunk Enterprise Integrations

Splunk Enterprise Competitors

Splunk Enterprise Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Splunk Enterprise Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Splunk Enterprise?

Splunk is software for searching, monitoring, and analyzing machine-generated big data, via a web-style interface. It captures, indexes and correlates real-time data in a searchable repository from which it can generate graphs, reports, alerts, dashboards and visualizations.

What is Splunk Enterprise's best feature?

Reviewers rate Centralized event and log data collection highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses Splunk Enterprise?

The most common users of Splunk Enterprise are Enterprises from the Information Technology & Services industry.