WordPress Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
2436 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 93)

Pawan Regmi | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2020

Website Creation and Design Made Simple.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple and UI friendly, easy to understand, not complicated.
  • Features like plugins, widgets help to get off your hands without tons of coding.
  • Website designing is really easy with the help of Themes included in WordPress.
  • Detailed Analytics and Statistics about website are presented very simply also with GUI interface.
  • Plugins to connects web FTP to Google Cloud aka Drive.
  • More option on Themes, like more areas to edit.
  • It's little bit expensive for rural countries like Nepal.
Read Pawan Regmi's full review
Ann M. Frank | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

WordPress makes creating sites easy, even for amateurs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to learn and train on - very intuitive.
  • Easy to create easy to navigate and professional-looking sites.
  • It can be shared easily internally and externally.
  • I found it challenging to find support documents while I was in the training process on how to create a site.
  • Save and publish can be confusing to some users.
Read Ann M. Frank's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

WordPress is excellent for business websites

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very user-friendly--you don't need to be a coding expert to create a website
  • Lots of features--Just about any kind of functionality you can imagine there is a plugin for that
  • It can be tough to sift through the various plugins, and not all are regularly updated
  • Finding support can also be difficult. There is a free message board, but it's hit or miss.
Read this authenticated review
Xavier Knight | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2019

WordPress for Website Growth

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organization - we are able to keep our website easily organized as well as all the analytical features organized through the WordPress interface.
  • As mentioned above, the WordPress interface is extremely organized - this makes it extremely user friendly.
  • WordPress is definitely ahead of its time, staying up to date with the newest technology and always updating to accommodate to technological advancement.
  • A better way to integrate third party plugins - a lot of times our plugins glitch and I end up having to dig around to see why things have adjusted in ways I don't want.
  • Better tutorials so that I don't have to walk new employees through the program step by step, but instead can assign a tutorial for their education of the program.
Read Xavier Knight's full review
Kate Knight | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

WordPress for Medical Blog

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organization and user friendly - The entire site is user friendly making it very easy to navigate.
  • Once or twice there has been a glitch in our programming and the contact for support was GREAT at helping us figure out the problem.
  • Another thing we have enjoyed while using WordPress is that it is so easily compatible with our other services we utilize.
  • At times I feel there is a bit much on one screen, small font and tons of information. It can be a bit overwhelming. Perhaps more menu options would cut down on this.
  • Although we did receive help with our glitch, it did take awhile to respond, leaving us unable to post for almost a week.
  • Perhaps a better tutorial would be helpful to learn the software. We utilized YouTube tutorials done by independent people.
Read Kate Knight's full review
James Hicks | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

WordPress For The Win!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexibility - allows contributors to easily customize the content they are creating.
  • Functionality - the ability to load various plugins within the environment bring about much-appreciated functionality (i.e adding contact forms, e-commerce front-ends, photo/video galleries, etc.).
  • Security - WordPress as a platform runs more than 1/3 of the world's internet sites - with that in mind the community is laser-focused on maintaining high-security standards and ensuring that the platform is properly patched against security vulnerabilities.
  • Better controls around the inclusion of 3rd party written plugins within the Plugin Directory - search functionality and classification hasn't changed much in the past few years.
Read James Hicks's full review
Dinesh Selvachandra | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Best website development platform out there,

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Free
  • Easy to use and tons of plugins
  • Well implemented content management
  • PHP based, so it's faster
  • Can create a mock website in minutes
  • Rich templates available for integration
  • Plugins may have bugs
  • Easy to spam
  • Constant target for hack bots
Read Dinesh Selvachandra's full review
Richard Peterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

WordPress is my go-to tool for quick micro-sites

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The use of widgets to build page elements is so much faster than coding an entire page.
  • The library of existing tools makes the design and page loading process very fast.
  • The fact that I do not need to bring in my expensive digital agency is a very big plus in these times of tight budgets.
  • I have issues at times with the number of people that I can add to my admin account. I do not like sharing UNs and PWs so the more admins I can add the better.
  • The updates are not automatic and some that I clicked on broke the site. Need a better process of sending software updates for the package you buy.
  • I would like if comments could be filtered from spammers.
Read Richard Peterson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Powerful Software Offers Lots of Customization at a Price

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • WordPress offers an intimidating array of customization features almost to the point of being overwhelming.
  • LOTS of integration support.
  • The UI can get quite complex at times, doesn't always feel intuitive to use.
  • Poor support for copy-pasting in text from other software (such as Google Docs or Word), doesn't play well with others in this capacity.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

WordPress is a worthy CMS and blogging platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Static web pages provide basic functionality that any CMS should.
  • Dynamic content such as blog entries extends this functionality.
  • Plugin security can be difficult as they are supplied by vendors of varying quality.
  • There is a slight learning curve to developing new themes for WordPress.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

A superior blogging tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration is one thing that I love. I am able to integrate WordPress with my social media platforms, and also I am able to integrate widgets into WordPress to organize and better serve my audience.
  • Themes and colors are another way WordPress excels. I use the paid version, but the free version also has great options and themes that cater to your needs.
  • I am very pleased with my ability to customize and organize my page, I would consider customization to be a strength. Again, I am not a web developer, and I am not looking for anything extremely customizable or exchangeable, so for marketing and what I do, WordPress is perfect.
  • Navigating WordPress for a new beginner can be a challenge, as it is not exactly outlined well. I think WordPress should offer free courses and tutorials for when someone is just getting started.
  • WordPress uses different names for features that can be confusing and over-complicated, and I think that is something I would like to see done differently.
  • If you are only looking for the free site, I think that it can be a bit more limited and less customizable. I would not consider WordPress to be the best on the market for free platforms.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

WordPress Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Interface ease of use.
  • Ability to train clients to use the CMS to edit their own content.
  • Endless amounts of themes and plugins available to use for customization.
  • Regulations of who can create themes/plugins. There seems to be many glitchy themes/plugins created.
  • Although there's a huge online community/forums with support, it would be nice to have a chat feature and be able to talk with an actual rep.
  • Security. I seem to hear a lot about being easy to hack.
Read this authenticated review
Martin Aranovitch | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2019

WordPress Can Save You Thousands Of Dollars On Web Development Costs And Put You In The Driver's Seat Of Your Online Vehicle!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • WordPress allows users with no technical knowledge or coding skills to be in complete control of their web presence.
  • WordPress can save business owners thousands of dollars in web development and web design costs.
  • WordPress is a powerful, secure and highly scalable online content publishing platform and business marketing tool that costs almost nothing to run.
  • WordPress can be configured to automate many areas of website management and online marketing, including automatic updates and automatically driving visitors from search engines and social networks to your site whenever new content is published.
  • WordPress is open source software and benefits from the contribution of thousands of community users, including web developers and web designers.
  • WordPress is regularly updated (on average every 3 months) to provide users with new features, bug fixes, and to address security vulnerabilities found in previous versions.
  • WordPress is the most popular and fastest growing content management system in the world
  • I have written a detailed article listing 50 reasons why WordPress is the ideal choice for most website owners here: http://wptrainme.com/wordpress/50-great-reasons-why-you-should-choose-wordpress
  • The biggest challenge I have found with WordPress is training - helping clients and business owners understand just how much they can achieve with WordPress. Even though there is so much great information online about WordPress, most of it is not organized into a logical system, or aimed at technical users. This is why I have years developing a comprehensive WordPress 'A-Z' training system that takes users step-by-step through every aspect of using WordPress.
Read Martin Aranovitch's full review
Mike Toger | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2019

WordPress - A great platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of Setup
  • The extensive library of Plug-ins
  • They have out-of-the-box themes for most site clients
  • It is difficult to use multiple themes on one website
  • The dashboard is a bit dated and unorganized
  • Some themes are difficult to customize
Read Mike Toger's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2019

WordPress for the win (for content)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User experience is fantastic - anyone can pick it up in minutes and it’s a pleasure to use.
  • The amount of plugins and add-ons available are invaluable.
  • Content separated from functionally puts the power of the web in the hands of people that understand users and their behaviors.
  • Speed is always a concern. A perfect implementation of Wordpress is fast, but add-ons and plugins can bog down the page load speed. Making that a priority for future releases would help.
  • Allowing for a simplified UI for people that may be scared to edit a website for the first time (a first-timer option maybe?)
  • Focus on mobile - the current mobile experience for editing content is only ok. Medium does it really well - but they are only focused on content - so maybe an option for content-creation views that are simplified on mobile.
Read this authenticated review
Dave Moll | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2018

WordPress is Built to Impress

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Worpdress is very SEO-friendly. The built in permalink structure, the organization and structure of post types and pages plus the addition of the 'rhymes with toast' SEO plugin gives you a great SEO foundation.
  • Wordpress is a constantly evolving piece of code. Wordpress does a great job of maintaining the core product. As new features are available, as new security issues become known, the WP team keeps you up to date with the latest and greatest version.
  • The Wordpress community is strong! As a developer, this is just fantastic. If I am having trouble implementing a highly custom piece for a client, chances are someone else has already done it! And if not, I can just ask the community, review the Codex or simply Google it. I've never had to say "No, can't do that" when working in Worpdress.
  • Because Wordpress is so popular, it is under constant attack from bots and hackers. New security issues are found and exploited. Our client's websites are at risk of hack or attack.
  • Wordpress is a resource hog. Worpdress sites tend to load slowly, especially if you buy one of those all-in-one themes. You really need to leverage caching and minification to ensure your Wordpress site loads quickly.
  • There are simply too many plugins. Wordpress needs to purge all the abandoned and non-functioning plugins in the repository. I'm always fearful of a client downloading and installing a plugin that crashes the site.
Read Dave Moll's full review
Ben Beck | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2018

A great content management solution/website builder for most businesses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is constantly being improved, with new features added, because of the community code-sourcing aspect.
  • Security vulnerabilities are continually being patched to keep it secure.
  • It has the best plugin repository, by far. So, anytime you have a needed new feature for your website, there is usually a plugin that already exists to allow you to do what you're wanting.
  • Because it is the most-used CMS, there are a lot of hackers targeting it. As such, you need to make sure you're always updating the software and patching plugins to the latest version. Not hard to do, but something you need to be vigilant about.
  • Plugins are hit and miss. If it is a new plugin without many existing users and reviews, it is truly hard to know if the software package is any good.
  • Sometimes there are too many options. For example, there are a dozen or so plugins for any given functionality and so you have to sift through to find the right thing.
Read Ben Beck's full review
Danish Mirza Baig | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2018

The best Content Management System!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • WordPress is an open source software. Open source software provides awesome features which make it easy to use, modify and build upon. You can make your website the way you want it to be
  • There are many Content Management Systems (CMS) available but WordPress is a popular one. It is a free and open source, the large number of developers making it popular.
  • The thing which I like about WordPress is its simplicity and usability you don't have to be an expert to use WordPress everything is already set up you just have to install the plugin and there you go
  • One of the major advantages of WordPress is it is an open source software but sometimes it becomes its disadvantage since it is an open source it is always at the target of hackers especially if the codes have been written by someone else.
  • When you install lots of plugins the website becomes laggy or stutters it takes time to complete the process.
Read Danish Mirza Baig's full review
Fedor Paretsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 26, 2019

Quick, intuitive solution for hosting a blog/site

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Super intuitive, well-designed UI. WordPress is one of the older, more developed CMS products out there, and their UI has gotten very good through the versions.
  • Integrated SEO. This is a really helpful tool. There is no need to export blog/article info and add it to an SEO service, it's mostly done within WordPress.
  • Full customizability. There is an extensive list of plugins, themes, etc. that can be added to WordPress sites, and the general compatibility of software with WordPress is really good.
  • Open-source. WordPress is all open-source, so sites can be more vulnerable generally, but this also makes the process of releasing and integrating updates into WordPress sites super transparent.
  • Speed. There are definitely parts of the UI that are still quite slow and decrease in speed as you increase the amount of content on WordPress sites.
  • HTML/CSS skills are necessary. While WordPress does simplify the process of developing any sort of website, there is still not enough customizability for it to be possible to edit websites without purely without using HTML/CSS. It's necessary to either improve the customizability function of WordPress or have knowledge of HTML/CSS.
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (56)
8.8
API (42)
8.6
Internationalization / multi-language (36)
8.5
WYSIWYG editor (52)
8.5
Code quality / cleanliness (55)
8.2
Admin section (59)
8.3
Page templates (57)
8.6
Library of website themes (57)
9.0
Mobile optimization / responsive design (56)
8.9
Publishing workflow (54)
9.0
Form generator (50)
8.3
Content taxonomy (51)
8.8
SEO support (54)
8.4
Bulk management (42)
8.0
Availability / breadth of extensions (55)
9.3
Community / comment management (54)
8.9

About WordPress

Wordpress is an open-source publishing platform popular with bloggers and a content management system. The appearance of a Wordpress site and many of its functions are managed through themes, and further customizable through altering code, though altering code is not required; templates and plugins to expand its capabilities are plentiful. Wordpress features integrated link management, and a search-engine friendly permalink structure. WordPress now allows multiple blogs to exist within one installation. Websites may host their own blogging communities, controlling and moderating content from a single dashboard.

Wordpress is popular due to its simplicity and modifiability. Furthermore implementing Wordpress costs only time. Two paid versions exist. The $99 premium plan allows a user an ad free custom domain with 13GB of space and advanced customization. The $299 Business plan allows unlimited space and supports eCommerce as well.

Categories:  Blogging,  Content Management

WordPress Integrations

WordPress Competitors

WordPress Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No