TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/bz/pw/AVCVMQ10ZB2S.PNGGreat for Marketing VideosWe use Wistia to host our demo and customer testimonial videos across our website. We use the thumbnail feature to send the videos in emails, the heat map feature for our sales team to know which leads have watched which parts of what videos, the playlist feature on the website, and lead capture feature. We use the Hubspot integration; we selected Wistia because we were looking for a platform that would allow us to integrate our video platform with our website and CRM.,Customizable video formatting - choose the layout, colors, playlist style, etc. - makes it easy to have your videos match the style of your website. Love the Soapbox integration for our sales team. The playlist configurations options and execution are the best I've seen in any platform. The fact that there's a Hubspot integration is huge for us.,The pricing is steep compared to similar platforms. But, I still pay it, because it's better than other platforms. Once you get above a certain threshold, they charge extra for additional videos. If you want to put the same video in multiple projects, it counts as multiple videos for your pricing.,8,Better visibility into how our videos are performing and should be used. More creative ways to use the videos we pay to produce - means we get more bang for our buck on production cost. Helps us capture leads with our videos - we never used to be able to do that, and now with embedded forms in the videos, we actually get demo requests that way.,Vimeo Pro,HubSpot, HubSpot Sales, Vimeo Pro, iContact, GoToMeeting, GoToWebinarVideo hosting and analytics made easyWe use Wistia to host all our videos that we post on our web properties. We do this so we can control the user experience and not have to deal with YouTube's issues with embedded videos. We also get a better set of analytics with Wistia that with any other platform.,It is really easy to upload and manage a video collection. The data we get is great, we can really dig into how people are engaging with our videos. We love how you can gate videos right in the player.,The data presentation can be improved in certain screens. Add in a few more embedding options.,8,Positive impact that we have seen is fast load times for our videos and speed to upload them. Wistia has been reliable in terms of video plays on both desktop and mobile. The only slight negative is that videos hosted on Wistia can only be found on the pages that display them, as opposed to YouTube which gives you a chance of coming up in Google searches.,,Google Ad Manager, WorkfrontGreat for Marketing and Sales VideosWe use Wistia to host our videos that we post on our web properties and share with prospects and clients in our sales strategy. Used by our Marketing and Sales departments.,Exceptional features for lead generation Really easy to use and manage Customization,The pricing,9,Improved our conversion rate we are happy with the ROI vs. the cost,HubSpot, GoToMeeting and Google Analytics,Teamwork Projects, QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions, Hotjar, GoToWebinar, Google Hangouts, Google Drive, Dropbox Business, Slack, Moz,4Great video content hosting platform!It's our main/premier video hosting site. Utilizing it for content marketing and resources hub. Used just by the Marketing dept. Helping us with conversions.,Fairly simple to use Great features for lead gen Baseline reports are useful Seamless HubSpot integration api (PRO level only),Embedding for different mediums can be tricky and challenging at times (may need a developer in some cases) Video embeds can cause a few technical SEO anomalies (script cacheing) Reorganizing existing video folder infrastructures can be a bit tricky,9,Improved our overall content conversion rates Improved our engagement rates (on site) Causes some technical SEO issues,Vimeo Pro and Brightcove,SEMRush, Uberflip, TerminusMost user-friendly video repository you'll findWe use Wistia in our sales and marketing departments, as well as for internal/external training videos. Wistia is an incredibly user-friendly tool that we use both to create one-on-one email videos (a product called Soapbox) as well as have a central repository to store all of our video content that can be shared via Slack and other social channels with a few clicks.,I absolutely love their brand and customer service. One of the best buying and customer journeys I've ever had for a SaaS product or otherwise. The UI and UX is on-point -- it's incredibly easy to use out of the box with zero learning curve. They have a huge library of interesting resources to learn new video-related skills, as well as a comprehensive help library.,Honestly, I can't think of a single complaint. Our whole team loves Wistia.,10,It's allowed us to store all our videos in one place instead of having content siloed on different computers or cloud-based accounts (which also hogged up a lot of space).,Vimeo Pro
Unspecified
Wistia
74 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Wistia Reviews

Wistia
74 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 74 vetted Wistia reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 34)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Maggie Millard profile photo
November 27, 2018

Wistia Review: "Great for Marketing Videos"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wistia to host our demo and customer testimonial videos across our website. We use the thumbnail feature to send the videos in emails, the heat map feature for our sales team to know which leads have watched which parts of what videos, the playlist feature on the website, and lead capture feature. We use the HubSpot integration; we selected Wistia because we were looking for a platform that would allow us to integrate our video platform with our website and CRM.
  • Customizable video formatting - choose the layout, colors, playlist style, etc. - makes it easy to have your videos match the style of your website.
  • Love the Soapbox integration for our sales team.
  • The playlist configurations options and execution are the best I've seen in any platform.
  • The fact that there's a HubSpot integration is huge for us.
  • The pricing is steep compared to similar platforms. But, I still pay it, because it's better than other platforms.
  • Once you get above a certain threshold, they charge extra for additional videos.
  • If you want to put the same video in multiple projects, it counts as multiple videos for your pricing.
Wistia is excellent for connecting your sales and marketing teams with video. It helps us to get a lot more out of the videos that we spend a significant amount of money producing; we can see who watches them, which parts of the videos are popular, and use that data to improve the videos. That's hugely important to us. If you're just looking for a place to host videos, a platform like Vimeo with lower pricing and less-fancy features would be a better fit.
Read Maggie Millard's full review
Brian Nizinsky profile photo
November 16, 2018

Wistia Review: "Video hosting and analytics made easy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wistia to host all our videos that we post on our web properties. We do this so we can control the user experience and not have to deal with YouTube's issues with embedded videos. We also get a better set of analytics with Wistia that with any other platform.
  • It is really easy to upload and manage a video collection.
  • The data we get is great, we can really dig into how people are engaging with our videos.
  • We love how you can gate videos right in the player.
  • The data presentation can be improved in certain screens.
  • Add in a few more embedding options.
I think Wistia is well suited for most organizations which have to have a reliable place to host their videos. I think the biggest issues come in with scale since I don't think that the interface is that well suited for a company that will have a large number of videos over time.
Read Brian Nizinsky's full review
Mirzet Kadric profile photo
November 29, 2018

Wistia Review: "Great for Marketing and Sales Videos"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wistia to host our videos that we post on our web properties and share with prospects and clients in our sales strategy. Used by our Marketing and Sales departments.

  • Exceptional features for lead generation
  • Really easy to use and manage
  • Customization
  • The pricing
Wistia is well suited for organizations which must have a reliable place to host their videos. Wistia is excellent as well for connecting your marketing and sales with new prospects and clients.
Read Mirzet Kadric's full review
Brett Doucette, ABC, MBA profile photo
July 26, 2018

Wistia Review: "Great video content hosting platform!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's our main/premier video hosting site. Utilizing it for content marketing and resources hub. Used just by the Marketing dept. Helping us with conversions.
  • Fairly simple to use
  • Great features for lead gen
  • Baseline reports are useful
  • Seamless HubSpot integration api (PRO level only)
  • Embedding for different mediums can be tricky and challenging at times (may need a developer in some cases)
  • Video embeds can cause a few technical SEO anomalies (script cacheing)
  • Reorganizing existing video folder infrastructures can be a bit tricky
Well suited for most use cases. Great for mobile platforms too.
Read Brett Doucette, ABC, MBA's full review
No photo available
June 19, 2018

Wistia Review: "Most user-friendly video repository you'll find"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wistia in our sales and marketing departments, as well as for internal/external training videos. Wistia is an incredibly user-friendly tool that we use both to create one-on-one email videos (a product called Soapbox) as well as have a central repository to store all of our video content that can be shared via Slack and other social channels with a few clicks.
  • I absolutely love their brand and customer service. One of the best buying and customer journeys I've ever had for a SaaS product or otherwise.
  • The UI and UX is on-point -- it's incredibly easy to use out of the box with zero learning curve.
  • They have a huge library of interesting resources to learn new video-related skills, as well as a comprehensive help library.
  • Honestly, I can't think of a single complaint. Our whole team loves Wistia.
Wistia is well suited for an alternative to a non-branded and less controlled video platform like YouTube. It's also well suited for a free alternative to a platform like Vidyard by downloading Soapbox for free to create one-on-one email videos.
Read this authenticated review
Jared DeLong profile photo
May 15, 2018

User Review: "Get Wistia Now!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wistia is being used throughout our company, mostly by our marketing team and our customer success/support teams. It allows us to store all video content in one place, but the beauty is in the data Wistia allows us to gather to improve our videos that something like Vimeo or YouTube simply doesn't have.
  • Wistia's player is easy to embed and gives a little bit more control/customizations that are handy, such as adding chapters and calls to action.
  • The greatest strength is obviously the level of data we can gather from unique users that watch to heat maps and viewer trends. We can see if viewers are pausing, stopping or leaving our videos completely.
  • Our marketing team loves how Wistia can help them gather emails and cultivate leads.
  • Their cost is rather high. A less expensive version between the free and pro would be great.
  • It'd be nice to see a few more integrations available.
  • We love the idea of Soapbox, but again the price is just a little too high to consider using it.
Honestly, I can't think of a solution where Wistia is not well-suited unless you're wanting something like YouTube that has potential to 'go viral'. Wistia is the perfect tool for making better business decisions based on data. Before, it was so hard to determine if a video was actually successful.
Read Jared DeLong's full review
No photo available
September 11, 2017

Wistia Review: "Great, easy to use product"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wistia is used by our entire organization. What's great about Wistia is it allows any and all departments create and upload videos and content that can be shared across the company. Our company is split between the US and India, so it's crucial for us to have a central database to store the content we have.
  • The videos are easy to share via links. This allows us to send our customers and prospects content that we've created
  • No real cons since my use thus far
Wistia is a great tool to use across the organization. You can see how many times the videos have been used and played. As a company that is split between the US and India, it's extremely helpful to be able to share content regardless of location.
Read this authenticated review
Jeremy Miller profile photo
February 16, 2017

User Review: "Make Selling Smarter With Wistia"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wistia to host videos and track user engagement on our website.
  • Easy to use, manage and administer.
  • First time we've had quality data on how users (including what users) actually engage with our videos.
  • Integration with Pardot. We track the reports constantly and assign prospects to lists and automation rules.
  • The integration with Pardot is limited. The data is great, but it's a manual process to act on it. You cannot run any type of automation rules based on video play or specific actions such as percentage of play. This means creating an automation (i.e. completion action, automation rule, segmentation, etc) is not available.
Transition your videos from YouTube to Wistia. You'll create a better user experience, better branding for your business, and gather useful data. Anyone embedding videos on their site is a good candidate for this software.
Read Jeremy Miller's full review
No photo available
March 02, 2017

Wistia Review: "A great sales tool!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used to send demo videos to clients/prospects. We [previously] couldn't tell who was watching it, when and for how long, or if they did watch it some time later in the sales cycle.
  • Configuring how video is shared
  • Tell the engagement rate
  • Video quality on replay compared to other means of sharing
  • I would like not to have to go through the video to see stats but have engagement consolidated somewhere for all videos
Sharing videos with customer and prospects - wistia is great.
Read this authenticated review
Tim Griffith profile photo
August 18, 2016

Wistia Review: "The Host with the Most!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We (mostly "I") use Wistia as a host for videos that we share internally with our employees. We wanted to have a way to share videos (for training and communication purposes) that would be semi-private; provide some engagement information (e.g. views); provide mobile-friendly viewing, and provide an easy way to interact (comments). The Wistia platform met all of these needs, and has done so consistently. Since using the video hosting platform, I have also received tremendous benefit from the blog, which helps us improve the content that we're hosting.
  • Uploading videos is quick and easy, and it provides a simple, easy, and attractive user interface for the viewers. Getting a video from file to ready-to-share is very quick and easy.
  • Love the usage statistics and comments. Between the comments, views, and engagement info, we're able to get a good idea of how our videos were received.
  • The additional content (blog articles) is great - it helps an amateur like me learn how to create better content.
  • Potentially one area would be more library capabilities. I realize many Wistia users probably don't use Wistia as the actual place they want their users to go, but in my case I'd love if there were a way to share a link to a library of videos on a Wistia page (vs. just a single video). The user could then be taken to a collection of videos (e.g. the project), where the videos would be displayed attractively, and the user could watch one or more from there.
Wistia is a great place to store videos that you'll link to from other places, where you don't want a lot of other junk on the screen (e.g. YouTube).
Read Tim Griffith's full review
Mike Wolpert profile photo
August 12, 2016

Review: "WISTIA means Leads and Leads mean Revenue :)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wistia for a specific and narrow purpose; to turn our video viewers into subscribers. We use it across our entire organization to generate leads from the (fairly expensive) videos we create. Before Wistia we fumbled with a number of quasi solutions, none effective and we were basically showing the video and hoping the viewers would A) like to subscribe B) remember to subscribe and C) figure how to subscribe. We missed out on thousands of leads.
  • Wistia allows us to time our 'ask' for a subscription to the precise second in the video where we are most likely to turn a suspect into a prospect and create a lead.
  • Wistia gives a great customer or consumer experience - it's a natural fit with the flow of the video - or a natural pause in the flow :).
  • The simplicity of the interface has saved countless hours of staff training and frustration.
  • Because my use case is so specific and my needs are so well met, I don't have any brilliant suggestions on improvement - it works!
Wistia is supremely well suited to gate a free video at the precise moment when the viewer realizes that they must have more - it's quick and easy, barely a blip of an interruption in their viewing experience and we capture a self-qualified lead. I am sure there are many excellent uses of Wistia I have even yet to discover.
Read Mike Wolpert's full review
Tammye Michau profile photo
May 19, 2016

User Review: "Wistia is easy to use and affordable"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I worked at a company that needed a place to host their training videos. We were experiencing some issues with the previous host. I researched and found Wistia. I made sure that most users would be able to use the site at their place of employment (was the least site that was blocked by a filter). I found Wistia and we did a trial run. Once we decided that it was the best option for us, it was my responsibility to move the 1100 videos to Wistia. The upload process was a breeze. They provided simple step by step instructions on customizing and personalizing the videos for our branding. It is still used in that company today and the videos are hi-def.
  • Inexperienced people can use the site.
  • Easily walks through customizing videos.
  • Can give limited access to co-workers.
  • Great analytics information.
  • The cost factor for space was unbeatable.
  • Accessing the analytics on the videos is a little tricky.
  • To add another user was difficult to find.
  • Inability to password protect videos so that the person viewing could purchase the videos.
Wistia is not usually blocked by most company filters so you will get more views.
Read Tammye Michau's full review
Matthew Turner profile photo
September 06, 2016

Wistia Review: "Not for everyone - but powerful for the right user."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wistia to host a large variety of videos in tandem with YouTube. We get the most use out of Wistia with our promotional videos that we host on our website. They allow us to make strategic changes to our videos moving forward. The entire marketing team of 4 has access to and knows how to use the platform. They have a lot of great learning modules as well.
  • Analytics
  • Customization
  • Education
  • Seamless embed across multiple platforms (it's possible, but we've run into some issues needing custom coding)
  • Better global dashboard
Wistia is great for drill-down analytics on a per-video basis. If you're looking for insights on why your videos are performing well, this is it. Since it's not a globally searched platform like YouTube, you won't be using Wistia to gather a large audience.
Read Matthew Turner's full review
Catherine Storing profile photo
August 12, 2016

Wistia Review: "Easy to use platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Wistia for the last 4 years for all our product launches and videos we want to look more professional.

The platform is so easy to use and the fact that we can customize the look of our videos to match our brand is a nice added bonus.

The flexibility of link sharing and embedding is another feature that we did not think we would use as much as we do.
  • Ease of platform use.
  • The platform is compatible with all my different websites and plugins.
  • We know the watcher will not be distracted by other videos or logos, they have nothing distracting them from our message.
  • More bandwidth for entry level accounts.
If you have a sales page or landing page where a video will be visited a lot and you want to control what your visitors see or do this platform is the best option.
Read Catherine Storing's full review
Sally Apokedak profile photo
August 12, 2016

User Review: "Winsome Wistia"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now I store my videos there and I also run online classes by embedding my Wistia videos in my website where my students can download them. I love that Wistia allows me to have the video come to the fore while the rest of the screen goes dark and I also love that I am able to use the turnstile if I want.

The problem that it solves for me is that that I can have private videos there that I only let paying people see.
  • It's so easy to use and that is important to me--I'm not techy and I need stuff that I can learn fast.
  • It's got great bells and whistles. The videos look so professional--it's easy to put on a thumbnail and to make the player do what you want.
  • Turnstile is great for capturing email addresses.
  • I haven't really used it enough to have any complaints. I'm not techy, as I already said, so I don't know what Wistia could do better. They are thoroughly likable people. Customer service is good. They've got some great energy going, a good blog, and a product that does everything I've asked it to do. Now, I'm not doing a lot with it so I haven't been too demanding. Others may be able to answer better and tell what the cons are.
I can't really answer too well. It's perfect for me to host my online class lectures. I've never had any trouble with down time or any trouble of any kind.

I suppose it wouldn't be appropriate for playing solitaire on or for cooking a steak. You'd need to buy a solitaire program or a barbecue grill for those things. But when it comes to video hosting, Wistia is reliable, affordable, and easy to use.
Read Sally Apokedak's full review
Rogerio Job profile photo
August 12, 2016

Wistia Review: "Easy to use, reliable service and great features"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Wistia to launch digital products like e-courses and programs, when I send heavy traffic to video presentations. Wistia is a great video hosting for heavy traffic, like product launches and campaigns. Previously, I tried use YouTube but I saw some visitors clicking in the YouTube logo and leaving my site. With Wistia I know that my visitor will stay in my site and watch my entire videos with no distractions.
  • Very easy to use. I don't waste my time trying to figure out how to do it.
  • The Wistia stats let me know accurate statistics about my visitor engagement.
  • Wistia videos were able to play effectively across all devices and browsers.
  • For certain type of situations like a limited timed offer I would like to able to set up some "video speed control" on the video player.
Wistia is great for any type of videos where you need a reliable hosting that runs on any device and operation system.
Read Rogerio Job's full review
Alex Jankila profile photo
August 11, 2016

Review: "Wistia is an easy to use service that will help you make the most of your videos."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Wistia to host our support and tutorial videos that our users access when learning to use our web platform.
  • The video hosting and playback provides a very solid experience for our clients.
  • I really like the viewer stats for projects and individual videos. It's allowed us to see just how effective, or ineffective, our videos have been.
  • In the few instances where we've run into issues with videos not loading, etc., Wistia's customer support has always been extremely quick to reply and a helpful in solving the issue.
  • I really like the ability to add links to the videos during playback, but it would be nice to be able to customize them more (color, font, location, etc.)
  • There have been times we've run into issues with embedding a video in our support portal and having the video not display properly based on some minor changes to how Wistia embeds the video.
  • The stats are great, but it would be nice if it was a bit easier to find stats for specific videos or small groups of videos instead of projects.
I don't have any specifics other than just take a look at what your needs are and comparing what Wistia has to offer. It's not YouTube by any means, but it's a very solid platform for having professional videos to use for your business. They make things very user-friendly; do a great job of staying up to date with the latest trends in technology and style, and continue to make improvements and listen to their clients. And they do a fantastic job of keeping you in the know with the emails and blog posts and helpful tips. I think they really are one of the best service companies I've ever had the pleasure of working with.
Read Alex Jankila's full review
Sydney Roe profile photo
August 11, 2016

Review: "Wistia - the BEST video marketing platform out there! (& the coolest)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wistia in marketing efforts geared towards attracting new clients and our servicing efforts focused on helping current clients understand our product better. We wanted a private video hosting platform that gave us the tools to make our videos convert better - Wistia is exactly that. Not only have their analytics helped us improve how we make video; their learning center is THE BOMB. No one in our organization is a video professional, but every day we feel more empowered and excited to make a video. In a nutshell, our video usage has skyrocketed, our prospects are impressed and our current clients are more connected and much more involved with our product. Thanks, Wistia! You guys rock!
  • Incredibly user-friendly interface
  • Constantly improving everything (even all the little details)
  • Super valuable content in the learning center
  • Integration with Active Campaign!
We've used Wistia for promotional videos, teaser videos for updates/new products, increasing webinar participation, and how-to videos for our product (Wistia has been incredibly helpful here - showing engagement rate and where/if drop-off occurs), etc.
Read Sydney Roe's full review
Lance Wills profile photo
August 12, 2016

Review: "Wistia: Great Product and Great Content to Help You Create Great Videos"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wistia to host all of our videos across our entire company.
  • Ease of use.
  • Marketing tools (lead capture, CTA buttons, etc.).
  • Great instructional videos.
  • No cons. I love Wistia.
Wistia appears to be better for 1-off video submission versus bulk upload.
Read Lance Wills's full review
Sarah Zimmerman profile photo
February 15, 2016

"Generating leads with Wistia is a breeze"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wistia in a variety of purposes from sharing video internally to hosting it for email, social and website embedding. The decision to use Wistia rather than simply posting the video on YouTube was based off of multiple pieces. For instance, our videos on YouTube frequently had suggested videos and ads for competitors that you don't get with Wistia. We are also able to use reporting features and the turnstile helps us collect information from viewers.
  • Reporting for who is watching videos, how long and how many videos.
  • Collecting information such as name and email through the turnstile.
  • An excellent way to organize videos through projects and sections.
  • The learning center is an excellent benefit to help increase the quality of your videos.
  • The community is full of experts that are happy to help with any questions you may have.
  • The support from staff is fantastic.
  • The only con would be that the turnstile does not currently have a phone number option to add.
Wistia is well suited for companies that want to turn videos into a lead collecting machine. Although, it is also a fantastic tool for any businesses that use video (internally or externally). The reporting helps gauge what pieces of videos are capturing the viewers' attention and where you may be losing them. I can't think of any scenarios where someone would not benefit from Wistia.
Read Sarah Zimmerman's full review
Toby Partridge profile photo
February 12, 2016

Review: "You won't be wistful if you choose Wistia"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wistia is used by our Marketing department to host the webinar videos that are provided to our customers and prospects via our website. I don't have any involvement in that aspect of Wistia's usage, so I am unable to comment on the business problem it addresses for Marketing. In the Technical Publications group, we use Wistia to host knowledge transfer and short tutorial videos that we then embed in our online Knowledge Center. Hosting the knowledge transfer videos provides our employees and customers with opportunities to learn more about our software than what they can learn by reading online help topics. The short tutorial videos are for people who learn information better when it is delivered visually with actual software simulation rather than just instructional text.
  • Quick and easy upload of videos. This is helpful because I don't have to go through a bunch of technically complicated steps just to get the videos up on Wistia. It saves time and frustration.
  • Ability to customize the look and feel of the videos so they present well in our online Knowledge Center. This means we can have a different look for the longer knowledge transfer videos versus the very short tutorial videos, and we get to decide those looks.
  • Easy capture of the "embed code." This is helpful in that we don't have to write the embed code ourselves or piece it together from different places. Wistia presents it in one box that is easy to copy and paste into the Knowledge Center. Overall, the process of uploading, customizing, and embedding our videos from Wistia into our Knowledge Center is quick and simple.
  • The area for customizing the look and feel of the videos is not as straightforward as some of the other functionality. Adding a wizard-like interface to this would be ideal.
It is well-suited as a video hosting site when you have situations where the platform where you want to offer the videos for viewing does not provide hosting capabilities.
Read Toby Partridge's full review
Jeannie Krill profile photo
February 10, 2016

Review: "Wistia - the ideal video hosting & marketing platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wistia internally to host all on-demand webinar recordings and any videos that we produce. Since it integrates with HubSpot, it is an extremely valuable tool for us and allows us to learn more about our contacts and further segment them based on their interests and videos of ours that they've watched. We also use it for clients.
  • Each video you upload is fully customizable, from the color of the player to which "share" buttons you'd like to include.
  • The HubSpot integration is key, and so easy to set up.
  • The call-to-action option is great - you can create short copy and a link that appears on the ending frame of your video.
  • When we first started using Wistia, it was very affordable, but has gotten much more expensive for the package that includes the integrations.
  • It would be nice to see stats on how many people watched on a desktop vs. tablet vs. smartphone.
If you're looking to host videos and find out who's watching them, for how long, etc., Wistia is a great option. It's especially nice if you're using HubSpot, Marketo or Pardot, since it integrates with all three platforms and will give you greater insight into your leads' actions.
Read Jeannie Krill's full review
Jaime Kartak Lerner profile photo
September 30, 2015

User Review: "Why Wistia Wows"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wistia is used as the majority video hosting platform for both myself and several clients. Having had experience with multiple video hosting/serving options such as YouTube, Vimeo and Amazon S3, Wistia provided the best cross-platform performance and ease of use, while maintaining cost efficiency.
  • Cross-platform compatibility ~ In world that is focusing more on mobile accessibility, Wistia videos were able to play smoothly and effectively across all browsers and operating systems.
  • Analytics ~ Wistia keeps adding to their "Stats" section, allowing me and my clients to see levels of engagement (minute by minute) as well as where viewers are coming from geographically. This helps us to decide which videos (or versions of the same video) are most effective.
  • Customization ~ I've used the Wistia API to create custom playlists and also to trigger external scripts based on length of time viewing a video. They have many options via their multiple APIs, which (as a developer) is very appealing.
  • Responsive support ~ Any time I've ever had to ask a question regarding the use of the system or in the API in particular, the support team was incredibly quick to respond and went out of their way to solve any issues or find an answer for me. The people who work there are passionate about their product and it shows.
  • Ease of use with WordPress ~ Wistia has a WordPress plugin plus an easy "oEmbed" embed code that doesn't break in WordPress (as many other embed codes do)
  • Works flawlessly with HTTPS ~ Other video platforms fail under https, giving warnings about "insecure content" or completely breaking a site's security.
  • Integrated Social Media ~ Add social media sharing tools as well as download links easily.
  • Being a video related company, Wistia provides much of their documentation as videos. While videos are engaging and can help with illustrating an issue, sometimes I am looking for a quick answer and would prefer if they had the full text of the video alongside it. This would allow me the option of watching or reading.
  • As someone who works with clients who do a lot of online marketing, it would be helpful if Wistia had built-in A/B testing of videos so an outside source wouldn't have to be used for that purpose.
Wistia is a great provider when you are looking for a solid, dependable cross-platform performer. Videos are customizable in look, presentation and options, plus offer a very clean interface and interactivity. For anyone doing online marketing or particularly information marketing, Wistia is a home run.
Read Jaime Kartak Lerner's full review
Drew Franklin profile photo
January 12, 2016

Review: "I dare you to try Wistia! You will not be disappointed."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company and my consulting [practice] utilize Wistia in a couple of different ways. The company I currently work for uses the online video hosting platform for customer testimonials and product overviews. The marketing department is the main part of the company that uses the hosting platform. We use Wistia to send visual information via email marketing campaigns and product pages on the website. Our target market is largely male. Therefore, visual learning or visual retention of information is huge.
  • Excellent playback option.
  • Good controls for embedding video on the web and email marketing platforms.
  • Solid integration with HubSpot and Salesforce.com.
  • Make more learning videos in the "Learning Center" because I really really enjoy learning videos from the professionals.
Wistia is excellent for any type of video user - beginner/bootstrap startup to full on video production marketing company. I can not say enough about the value of the integrations with HubSpot and Salesforce.com which is huge for our reporting set. The marketing team pushes out regular content and it helps us translate ROI more effectively when the video analytics syncs with the rest of our marketing data.
Read Drew Franklin's full review
Noah Wong profile photo
December 29, 2015

Review: "Wistia is a great solution for automated video marketing campaigns"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Wisita for hosting our company videos. It provides us with analytics on our videos that we could not get with video services such as YouTube. It also allows for customization and call-to-actions with our videos which is incredibly useful.
  • Very easy to use.
  • Nice customization capabilities.
  • Excellent analytics.
  • Marketo integration. It's not as easy as some competitors like Vidyard.
  • Missing the ability to block a range of IP addresses. Have to input each individually.
Integration with marketing automation systems is a HUGE reason why you would go with a business video hosting provider. Wisita still has some work to do to catch up with their competitors. It can be done but requires more work, however, it is cheaper so that's the trade off.
Read Noah Wong's full review

About Wistia

Wistia is a video platform that aims to make it easy for businesses to create, host, manage, share, and measure videos. The product includes video hosting as well as Soapbox—a simple video creation tool.

According to the vendor, over 300,000 businesses use Wistia for their video needs. The vendor offers a free trial.
Categories:  Video,  Video Marketing

Wistia Features

Additional Features
Has featureCustomizable Player
Has featureCalls to Action and Email Collectors
Has featureVideo Heatmaps and Viewing Trends
Has featureEngagement Graphs
Has featureIntegrations with Other Software and Services

Wistia Screenshots

Wistia Integrations

Wistia Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free Account$0
Pro Plan$99.00per month
Advanced Plan$399.00per month
Premium Plan$799.00per month

Please see wistia.com/pricing for plan features.

Wistia Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Wistia Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS