Amazon CloudWatch Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
86 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

Jose Adan Ortiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

A cloud service offering monitoring with integration features for cost and scalability

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now we are using Amazon CloudWatch to monitor some AWS instances that we are running with different technology services. We are using its built-in monitoring capabilities for AWS service to visualize resources consumption and behavior and to keep an eye over AWS instances contracted to reduce billing each month.
  • Monitor physical resources for EC2 instances.
  • You can integrate AWS Cloud Watch with EC2 Autoscaling service to create new instances.
  • You can notify any anomaly detected via Amazon SNS.
  • AWS can include User Experience monitoring for applications hosted on AWS.
  • AWS can include code-level traceability for transactions on monitored technologies.
  • CloudWatch could be deployable to other on-premise services from customers.
AWS CloudWatch is perfectly suited for deployments where there are a lot of EC2 instances you need to control and where you need to scale in new EC2 instances depending on users or network load, you can take advantage of multiple integrations AWS CloudWatch have to improve your application platform performance.
Read Jose Adan Ortiz's full review
Diego Turcios Lara | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

You will enjoy using AWS CloudWatch

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Amazon CloudWatch in our company for capturing the logs of our applications. We decided to use this AWS service as all of our infrastructure is based in Amazon. We saw a high impact in using it. We really like that we can export our docker logs to AWS, which is great for developers, this way they can check any issue they encounter in CloudWatch.
  • Easy to use
  • Alarms available
  • A little bit expensive
Amazon CloudWatch is great. If you're using AWS consider using it. You can set up alarms in case there's an error in your application. Basically all AWS infrastructure turns around AWS, so it will be really easy to use and configure. It helps you to monitor your services and keeps you updated on the status of it, if it's well configured.
Read Diego Turcios Lara's full review
Gedson Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 06, 2020

Metrics made easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using CloudWatch for gathering all our key metrics, from business data to IoT sensors data. CloudWatch makes it very easy and convenient to set-up threshold-based alarms and it also integrates natively with AWS Lambda and SNS, so we receive both email and SMS notifications when something's off-balance.
  • Collects metrics from multiple sources.
  • Integration with SNS and Lambda.
  • Dashboard chart types could be broadened.
If you need to collect and act on metrics, which you should no matter what it is that you do, then CloudWatch will make a great fit. If you're after fancy analysis and charts, then there are better alternatives out there.
Read Gedson Silva's full review
Nestor Mendoza | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

A must-have!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS to sync a lot of files that all the users need. It's a very good tool to keep track of everything, including notifications and we're learning how to use Lambda. I'm very excited whit this acquisition. Dashboard code can be exported, so you can look at the same dashboard in a different AWS account if you need this.
  • The rules section is just awesome. You can schedule events with CRON schedules.
  • You can keep on track all your AWS services in just one program. The ability to create all types of dashboards for your services is great.
  • Very easy to use, set alarms so easily and quick, one of the best things since anyone can create these without having so much advanced IT knowledge.
  • To be honest, in my case, there's not too many things that I would need this program to improve since we can do everything we need so far.
CloudWatch is one of the best services provided by AWS. With the help of CloudWatch, we can monitor all of our active features hired to AWS. CloudWatch checks EC2 instances, Custom Dashboards for our files as many other instances. Made our workflow way better and faster. Planning to acquire more services from Amazon.
Read Nestor Mendoza's full review
Xialin Zhu | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Review of AWS CloudWatch

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Some of our AWS deployed apps are using CloudWatch. It's only used by a few engineering teams, but the scope is expanding now.
  • CloudWatch provides a pretty thorough set of metrics to monitor
  • Supplemental features offered by CloudWatch are also easy to use and helpful
  • The reliability of the metrics is better than other cloud platforms
  • Some aggregation functions we want to leverage are missing
  • The overall UI experience also has room to improve
  • Some complicated alerting logic is not supported today
Basically, any monitoring needs for an application would be a good fit for using CloudWatch.
Read Xialin Zhu's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2020

CloudWatch provides the basics, but you may need more.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Amazon CloudWatch to monitor specific events in the AWS cloud. Out of the box CloudWatch provides events to monitor, but it also allows you configure other specific events through a UI selection screen. We created a group of events to monitor autoscaling events such as launches, terminations and changes. Also setup to monitor API calls to monitor thresholds, volumes and usage. This monitoring allowed us to determine if the application was up/down/stressed so that we could take action or cause activities to occur like launching additional instances.
  • Monitoring application state - up/down/stressed.
  • View of API calls - threshold, volumes, response times.
  • Rules-based functionality to allow for automatic triggering of Lambda functionality.
  • CloudWatch doesn't monitor things outside of the cloud, it's not what it is intended for.
  • Billing is confusing as it bills on Dashboard, metrics called, custom metrics, etc. Hard to forecast the charge.
  • Paradigm is confusing sometimes and difficult to learn.
It does very well for monitoring internal metrics of AWS. For instance monitoring API calls, instance starts/stops, and resource usage. Other third-party tools that sit on top of AWS are often better than CloudWatch when you are trying to analyze results. The system doesn't provide automatic analysis to guide you through the process or point out things you aren't monitoring for.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

AWS CloudWatch is the foundation for your AWS Security Automation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the first stages of migrating to the AWS cloud. Beginning one of AWS's own offerings, CloudWatch is being used as the foundation for our security and performance monitoring. Together with CloudWatch Events, we are being alerted on stuff we didn't even know was happening
  • It collects a lot of logs if you want it to. As always in the cloud, money is the primary bottleneck. :-)
  • CloudWatch Events is a very effective way to automate responses and any shape or form.
  • No real issues. It's a basic service, but that also means you can expand from the basics yourself.
Starting with AWS Cloud, you should always incorporate CloudWatch, together with CloudTrail. The two together gives you a lot of insight into your cloud environment and allow you to create (security) automation scenarios.
Read this authenticated review
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

As with most other Amazon services, Amazon CloudWatch is user-friendly and learned with relative ease, but consider alternatives

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon CloudWatch is used by Econometric Studios to develop systems for viewing how programs and apps are performing. It is used by certain individuals within the organization. The program is helpful in that it allows a single place for IT professionals to monitor activity.
  • Perhaps the most useful aspect of CloudWatch is its all-in-one user interface. Makes it easier to manage.
  • CloudWatch also appears to never have downtime.
  • The third advantage of CloudWatch is that it integrates nicely with other Amazon products.
  • The data collection could be made easier to access and manipulate.
  • Although the program is made for professional IT managers, the program could be made more useful for other analysts.
  • The logs data is cool but requires some effort for taking action.
Amazon CloudWatch is well-suited for companies with a large enough user base to require monitoring of apps/access in a single user-centric interface. The tool works well when you're concerned about latency and need to ensure that resources are optimized.
Read Thomas Young's full review
David Tanner | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2019

CloudWatch for the win

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon CloudWatch across IT to trigger alerts, handle scaling, and for logging.
  • We are able to capture all of our Lambda logs through CloudWatch and ship them off to another provider for analysis.
  • The alerting features allow us to scale certain services when needed so we don't have to do it manually, or over provision.
  • Monitoring resource utilization allows us to see what is going on in our RDS services, so we can test optimizations and fixes.
  • The auto refresh feature could use some work so that it doesn't kick you back to the main dashboard.
  • The search features aren't as well developed as other areas in the AWS console.
  • It would be nice to be able to create a custom dashboard of multiple widgets like resource stats and alarms on one page.
Amazon CloudWatch allows us to scale our Fargate instances when utilization goes high. This allows us to provision a minimal amount of servers, then when traffic gets high we know that we won't be throttled.

Amazon CloudWatch logs allowed us to stream massive amounts of logs off of devices without hitting any throttling, and then to stream those into S3 or ELK as needed for analysis.
Read David Tanner's full review
Kevin Van Heusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2019

Capable logging of AWS metrics and events

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Cloudwatch has been useful for aggregating metrics around our Amazon server environment, as well as a way to set up alerts based on various criteria for those environments. In addition to alerting and metrics, Cloudwatch has a logging facility to aggregate logs from various Amazon sources. It has given us a good view of our AWS infrastructure.
  • Solid support for posting data from a variety of AWS services to CloudWatch logs.
  • Can setup alarms alert teams when certain resources hit a particular metric threshold.
  • CloudWatch Metric view allows for custom graphs based on whatever AWS criteria you would need.
  • Alerting could be beefed up, the options in terms of notification of alerts are pretty slim.
  • The usability of the Metric graph view could be improved, it can be tricky to find the metrics of interest and setup graphs.
  • The CloudWatch log view is pretty basic, the search options could stand to be more fleshed out.
CloudWatch is useful when you need to aggregate information/logs from various AWS resources. If you are interested in application logs, it is less suited for that. For basic alerting and display of AWS metrics over time, the metric graphs are suitable. Overall, if you are looking to track a handful of metrics or log options, it can be a decent solution.
Read Kevin Van Heusen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2019

Easy to implement & cost effective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Cloudwatch is used specifically for our AWS workloads (providing detailed monitoring of multiple services from EC2, Application Load Balancers, RDS, Elasticsearch As a Service, etc). Cloudwatch API allows us to visualize the monitoring with free open source solutions such as Grafana, which are then used within our NOC across the business. The ease of use and implementation of CloudWatch metrics reduces the implementation time of monitoring and is also very cost effective, as you only pay for what you use.
  • CloudWatch API allows integration into multiple monitoring solutions, such as SolarWinds Orion, Site24x7, and Grafana just to name a few we use.
  • It's cost-effective and you only pay for what you use.
  • Easy implementation, just a few lines which you can rinse and repeat when provisioning workloads from code or a few tick boxes when doing ad-hoc.
  • Memory metrics on EC2 are not available on CloudWatch. Depending on workloads if we need visibility on memory metrics we use Solarwinds Orion with the agent installed. For scalable workloads, this involves customization of images being used.
  • Visualization out of the box. But this can easily be addressed with other solutions such as Grafana.
  • By design, this is only used for AWS workloads so depending on your environment cannot be used as an all in one solution for your monitoring.
Ideal for monitoring AWS services and workloads. We have several of our websites entirely hosted on AWS and we're able to get a Grafana dashboard of all the relevant metrics from CloudFront, S3, EC2, RDS, and Elastic Beanstalk. This can be set up within the hour or templated on your code for infrastructure (we do this with terraform & cloud formation). By design, it isn't suited for non-AWS workloads.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2019

Great Monitoring Tool for AWS Applications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon CloudWatch is now used by our whole department of enterprise architecture. It provides a solution for monitoring, alerting, and auditing our services on AWS. It solves problems such as not being informed of unhealthy services so we can take action as quickly as possible. The dashboard is a great tool to have to monitor all the resources you have.
  • Real-time monitoring.
  • Unhealthy resources reports and alerts.
  • Clear dashboard.
  • Only used with AWS resources
  • Not cloud agnostic
  • Have to pay much for detailed report.
If your company has lots of AWS services or uses part of the AWS services, you should also set up CloudWatch. It is a great tool to monitor your resources' health status. It provides specific details about your resources' status. It can alert you when some of the services go down.

For companies who do not use AWS, CloudWatch is less appropriate to use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2019

CloudWatch by a Simple Engineer

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A few years back we migrated all of our local VM's to AWS. This includes robust VM's that host our Oracle, Mysql, Jenkins, and other development boxes. We also host our web-services which our customers use to receive our data. CloudWatch helps us monitor and alert our dev-ops and development team of any health concerns on those ec2 instances. We also can tell when we need to scale up an instance or even scale down, saving money in the process.
  • Gives a well-reported status on your system health, usages, and traffic.
  • The ability to place monitors on any or all of our instances while triggering alarms on certain events.
  • Easy to set up and create alarms.
  • The interface is really well designed.
  • Its limitation on only Amazon resources.
  • Cost is higher.
  • Lack of ability to create graphs on distinct counts and histograms which can make it hard quickly identify specific IP addresses that have a high request volume in a certain period. We have worked around this but a feature on the dashboard would be nice.
CloudWatch is highly recommended for monitoring EC2 services. It provides easy setup, straight forward alarm creation, easy to read monitoring.
It is great for scalability/cost. We know when to increase an EC2 instance or when it can be scaled down. I do have a concern on the documentation. I would say it is not for AWS beginners and to actually talk to support can be costly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 04, 2019

AWS CloudWatch Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Amazon CloudWatch to monitor our AWS infrastructure. This includes networking flow logs to application logs. Using the Events feature in Amazon CloudWatch allows us to trigger auto-scaling rules for our auto-scaling groups, to spin up and spin down hosts. This provides us a dynamic infrastructure that can adjust for the requests coming in.
  • Events.
  • Flowlogs.
  • Monitoring.
  • The price is too high for stored logs.
  • Not everything is integrated into Cloud Watch.
  • Different interfaces per region.
Amazon CloudWatch is best for monitoring your AWS infrastructure. When using other services, such as Lambda, you rely on Cloud Watch to provide all of the logging functionality for the functions. Other than writing custom Lambda functions to trigger autoscaling rules, using CloudWatch Events to trigger scaling policies is amazing.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

Best monitoring application offered by Amazon

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my previous position at a public university, we had various applications that were deployed on the Amazon cloud infrastructure. The student portal and course registration applications were the most widely accessed websites in our portfolio. They were also the most critical in terms of business continuity for the university. We started using Amazon Cloudwatch to aggregate all our application logs for performance monitoring and security alerts. It was used by the product development department mainly.
  • Amazon Cloudwatch integrates with all the Amazon deployment infrastructure and provides monitoring capabilities at each step of the pipeline.
  • Individual dashboards can be configured to do performance monitoring.
  • Alerts can be configured for different performance indicators that can be very useful for event mitigation.
  • Presently the application expects scripting experience in order to configure individual scripts for handling performance monitoring and alerts.
  • The documentation is not at par for an enterprise offering and hence it makes the learning curve even steeper.
If most of the applications are cloud hosted on the Amazon infrastructure, then using CloudWatch will aide a lot in terms of actively monitoring performance. We had been experiencing a severe bottleneck with our student portal application under high loads. With using Amazon CloudWatch we were able to identify the problem areas and make tweaks accordingly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2019

Change CronJob with CloudWatch

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CloudWatch on a couple of projects. Usually for changing CronJob functions, for watch logs and to debug AWS Lambda functions. It is easy to set up CloudWatch to call some AWS Lambda functions.
  • Filter and Search can be better from the site.
You can easily set up rules to call AWS lambda on time. It's good for notification on time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 04, 2019

CloudWatch is a useful tool for monitoring AWS infrastructure

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Cloudwatch has been useful for aggregating metrics around our cloud environment, as well as a way to set up alerts based on various criteria for those environments. In addition to alerting and metrics, Cloudwatch has a logging facility to aggregate logs from various Amazon sources. It has given us a good view of our AWS infrastructure.
  • Set up alarms to alert teams and is a useful monitoring tool.
  • Integration into other products.
  • Dashboards.
  • It takes time to get a hang of the tool.
  • The graph metrics and view could be improved.
To monitor all cloud environments. To integrate with other monitoring platforms such as SolarWinds and Nagios.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2019

Amazon CloudWatch Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have multiple web applications running in production and we were looking for the right tool to monitor them. Since most of our applications run in AWS, we considered Amazon CloudWatch to monitor our web applications and know the performance and optimize resource utilization. Logs and metrics are very useful to review.
  • Logs
  • Metrics
  • Alerts
  • The dashboard needs some improvements to read.
Amazon CloudWatch is well suited to monitor applications and helps you know the resource utilization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

CloudWatch is an excellent tool for an AWS hosted infrastructure

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CloudWatch across the entire organization to monitor the performance of our infrastructure as well as alerts on issues and problems.
  • CloudWatch integrates flawlessly with any AWS object like load balancers, EC2 instances, target groups, etc.
  • CloudWatch is extremely easy to create graphs and charts with.
  • Creating Dashboards on CloudWatch is as simple as dragging and dropping selected charts.
  • It is not always easy to understand what metric type one should use with CloudWatch metrics. Averages, sums, min, max, etc. are not always readily apparent and CloudWatch does not stop you from creating useless metrics.
  • CloudWatch cannot show milliseconds, it will instead show numbers in 'e' notation.
  • Many of the standard metrics provided by AWS into cloudwatch cannot see below 1 minute intervals.
Anyone using AWS to host any of their infrastructure should be leveraging CloudWatch for notifications, alerts, alarms, auto-scaling, metrics gathering and historical lookback, and performance analysis.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

Excellent Monitoring!!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CloudWatch to monitor logs of cloud services and other infrastructure. Mostly being used by our development and engineering departments. It gives us a good idea about the health of infrastructure and helps us prioritize maintenance activities.
  • Easy integration with other services.
  • Seamless Configuration.
  • Variety of matrix, graphs and dashboards.
  • Support to third party libraries.
  • User Interface can be improved.
  • High cost of implementation.
  • No Phone notifications.
It is a great tool for infrastructure monitoring. Very beneficial to monitor any web or cloud services.
Read this authenticated review
Rob Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2019

Amazon CloudWatch - Perfect when melded with other monitoring platforms

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CloudWatch to monitor all of our cloud estates. We also integrate Cloudwatch into our main monitoring platform (SolarWinds) which allows us to pull the CloudWatch metrics down into SolarWinds. This is used specifically by our IT department, and our devs tend to use the native dashboard with CloudWatch. Overall it gives us visibility into our instances running in AWS and also provides us with alerting, which we also integrate into Slack.
  • Allows integration into non-native products (SolarWinds, Nagios, etc).
  • Proactive monitoring and recommendations.
  • Alerting and dashboards.
  • There is only a limited amount of credits available each month when pulling metrics into other applications. We have had to use larger polling intervals as a result.
  • Unable to export alert data into 3rd party data warehouses for record keeping.
  • Learning curve is slightly steep and there isn't much automation in terms of setting alerts up.
If you have a large cloud estate and need proactive monitoring, dashboards, and alerting then it makes sense to use CloudWatch as its obviously native to AWS. CloudWatch is well suited to anyone that wants to see into their data, their traffic, or their system health. It's the eyes and ears of AWS. It really is best for any scenario where you are hosting infrastructure with AWS and want to keep an eye on it.
Read Rob Bates's full review
Kyle Reichelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2018

Don't Skip Proactive Server(less)-side Monitoring

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Cloudwatch in a variety of ways, from monitoring the performance and validation success/failures of our ETL (extract, transform, and load) processes, our Lambda Services, our EC2 instances, our RDS instances, as well as our Redshift instance. Certainly we're using Amazon Cloudwatch to monitor day-to-day server-side activities, but the really impressive capabilities lie in its ability to both diagnose issue, as well as to trigger automated remediation.
  • Lambda process monitoring, particularly useful when you're relying on third-party services.
  • Active monitoring RDS (set thresholds so we know before a database runs out of space)
  • Auto-requisitioning of additional resources
Well suited if:
  • Your organization is married to the AWS ecosystem
  • You tech stack is reliant on third-party services
  • You use Splunk as your log aggregator (integrates well)
  • You prefer to be proactive about health of your tech stack
Not particularly suited if:
  • You don't use AWS
  • You like to fly by the seat of your pants
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

AWS CloudWatch: a must for your cloud AWS infrastructure

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of my organization's cloud platform runs on AWS. So as part of that, we use CloudWatch for collecting and monitoring logs for the infrastructure. CloudWatch helps collects monitoring data in the form of logs and events and provides one unified view of AWS resources and services that run on AWS. We use it for monitoring logs and events, raising alarms if any part of our infrastructure has any issues and also ingests CloudWatch logs into ELK system for detailed log analysis and monitoring.
  • We use CloudWatch for collecting and monitoring logs for the AWS infrastructure.
  • CloudWatch events and alarms are configured for all our infrastructure running on AWS. Like Ec2, ECS, AWS Lambda, RDS. We can track auto-scaling at the service level (ECS) and instance level (EC2 and ECS).
  • CloudWatch helps collects monitoring data in the form of logs and events and provides one unified view of AWS resources and services that run on AWS.
  • We use it for monitoring logs and events, raising alarms if our infrastructure has any issues and also CloudWatch logs into ELK system for detailed log analysis and monitoring.
  • AWS Lambda's cold and warm boot times can also be registered using it.
  • CloudWatch could provide better log analytics using a better log parsing and log indexing. Like what is provided in ELK or Splunk.
  • Better dashboarding can be provided. Currently the dashboarding is very rudimentary.
  • No good customizable log indexing is available.
Nothing better than AWS CloudWatch on AWS for event recording and alarms. It can also be used for cost monitoring. Logs can be retained for long terms. Logs can be ingested into ELK or Splunk using a Lambda or some other mean, then dashboards can be generated. These are very useful features if your organization has 100s of APIs or microservices where they need a unified view, monitoring, and analytics.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2018

Simple Log Aggregation and Metrics Out-of-the-Box

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our engineering team uses CloudWatch to collect logs and monitor our back-end infrastructure and services. We use AWS ECS, Lambda, API Gateway, SageMaker and Step Functions; CloudWatch collects logs for these products out-of-the-box. It is easy to configure log retention policies; e.g., after three months, we can move logs to S3 infrequent-access or Glacier to save money. CloudWatch's log search in the console lacks many of the search features you would find in PaperTrail or Log.ly, but I find it is serviceable. Searching JSON-lines logs in the console might be an unpleasant experience. Similarly, CloudWatch metrics are provided out-of-the-box for all of the AWS products we use; it is easy to create alarms for these metrics and integrate them with PagerDuty.
  • Integration with other AWS products is CloudWatch's greatest feature. CloudWatch logs and metrics are provided out-of-the-box for ECS, Lambda, Sagemaker, and most other AWS products. Log aggregation and instrumentation are difficult to configure and manage; it is great to defer that work to AWS.
  • Configuring log retention policies is simple with AWS. If your business is required to retain logs for years, being able to automatically move old logs to S3 IA or Glacier with a few clicks is convenient.
  • Configuring alerts from metrics is simple, and it is easy to integrate alerts with PagerDuty or email.
  • The console's log search lacks many of the features you would find in PaperTrail or Log.ly. Regex search is either not supported, or very difficult to find.
  • It can be difficult to understand how the CloudWatch bill breaks down by log group.
  • The date/time picker in the console could be easier to use.
If you are using other AWS products, including EC2, ECS, or Lambda, using CloudWatch is an easy decision. You will get log aggregation and instrumentation out-of-the-box. The lack of log search features may be a sticking point, though your organization does not have to use CloudWatch exclusively. If your platform does not rely on AWS products, CloudWatch should not be considered.
Read this authenticated review
Brian Dentino | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2018

CloudWatch - Flexible Log Management At A Great Price Point

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon CloudWatch to aggregate and retain logs across all of the different services that make up our infrastructure. It is primarily used across our engineering and dev ops departments. Using CloudWatch logs allows us to address compliance issues associated with log retention because it is very easy to configure an expiration (if any) for log files. We also use CloudWatch metrics to monitor important KPIs and performance metrics for our business.
  • Managing log retention periods is very simple with CloudWatch, and can be configured on a per-group basis.
  • Monitoring host performance is very easy when coupled with the CloudWatch Agent on an EC2 instance. A simple installation and configuration replaces an entire 3rd-party host monitoring stack.
  • CloudWatch is flexible enough for not just host monitoring, but application monitoring as well. It's easy to pipe local logs up to CloudWatch and extract structured data in order to monitor and set alerts on custom app metrics.
  • Unfortunately, the CloudWatch dashboard does not provide the ability to create histograms of discrete counts. This makes it difficult to, for instance, use CloudWatch to quickly identify specific IP addresses that have a high request volume in a certain period.
  • The UX for creating a custom metric from a CloudWatch log group is somewhat confusing. Every time I need to create a new metric I find myself fumbling around the interface for a few minutes while I try to remember how to do it.
  • The alerting options for CloudWatch are not as extensive as are available with some 3rd-party services.
It is well suited for organizations already using a number of Amazon services, as most of these will integrate very nicely with CloudWatch. If you have detailed log retention requirements, it's quite nice as well since they make it easy to configure retention and export data to S3. The tooling for metric filters and dashboards are very customizable and sufficient for general monitoring but the UX is not the most friendly. If your organization spends a lot of time on business intelligence and performance tracking, you may want to consider a more targeted 3rd-party service.
Read Brian Dentino's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Cloud Management Security (5)
8.4
Automation and Orchestration (5)
8.4
Cost Management (6)
7.7
Cloud Management Performance Monitoring (6)
8.8
Governance and Compliance (6)
7.0
Resource Management (6)
8.5
Systems Integration (6)
8.0

About Amazon CloudWatch

Amazon CloudWatch is a native AWS monitoring tool designed for AWS resources and applications. CloudWatch centralized monitoring data onto one platform and formats it into automated log files for easy AWS monitoring. It provides a variety of metrics, including bandwidth, CPU utilization, etc. It can also automate error notifications and scale some resource allocations when various thresholds are crossed. It also possesses root cause analysis capabilities for diagnosing issues and bottlenecks. It is priced in a pay-for-what-you-use structure.

Amazon CloudWatch Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No