TrustRadius
Axure RP is a software prototyping tool used by UX designers, from Axure Software Solutions in San Diego.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/vv/ET/JATJMFFERCG9.JPEGAxure Is Great For Our Use Case!The product positioning team uses Axure to build out controlled static demos that replicate our live site for our sales organization to use in demos. Axure allows us to build a narrative with a click path for our team too quickly and efficiently go through a demo. By giving our sales team a method of quickly showing a pixel perfect view of our software solution we're able to showcase our offering quickly and accurately.,Design tools for creating interactive mockups. Online sharing of the finished project files. Third-Party widgets and Sketch Integration.,The tool can be somewhat complex when starting out. A more clearly defined and shared roadmap of updates. Copying from the Sketch plug is wonderful but there are still some random bugs that occur.,9,Axure allows for us to quickly get the entire sales team trained on a specific narrative and gives them a fool proof click path for them to use in the demo. Axure is relatively inexpensive and allows for purchasing the software without having to pay a monthly subscription (although they do have that option). The Sketch integration has allowed for a 10 fold increase in productivity by taking designs already created in another program and quickly adding them to Axure.,InVisionAxure is great for smaller prototypesWe use Axure RP to concept and prototype new product and features or enhance current product or features. We also use Axure generated prototypes for early usability testing of prototypes with users. It is used by just our department. It allows us to create rapidly build concepts of our products and share those with our users and allow us to analyze the validity of the feature or product.,Provides tools to build an interactive wireframe/prototype of a small product of feature. Generate a package of the interactive wireframe that can be deployed to a remote location for sharing. Create a reusable library of patterns/components that could be reused in other prototypes Notes and documentation can be embedded and displayed along with the interactive wire and connected to the components.,Sharing and versioning of the prototypes when working with multiple designers. It uses Subversion to checkout pages and components while they are being worked on, but issues and errors occur frequently. The functions that allow interactions can be basic and cumbersome so when it comes to complex animations or transitions, Axure could really use improvements. . Collision can happen with interactions causing unintended results. Workarounds have to be made to create a complex interaction to describe how the interaction should function. Too many interactions or a large prototype can cause slow performance. So its better to keep the prototype small. However, a larger project would need a different solution or approach to manage features. Can be difficult when aiming for consistency within the interactive wire.,8,When understanding the minimal needs to describe multiple dimensions of UX using this tool, a designer can very quickly create a prototype using this tool and can help reduce the time needed to assess very usability requirements and business validity for an application. The generated files source code absolutely cannot be used in the application code. Measures should be taken to ensure the code is not used in the application code or else you risk rework in development/implementation.,iRise, InVision, Origami, Adobe XD and Sketch,Adobe XD, Sketch, InVisionGreat for detailed, robust prototyping, but clunky with a high learning curve.Axure is used to create very robust, hi-fi interactive UX/UI prototypes, more so that can be achieved with competitive software. I primarily use it when demonstrating design concepts to other designers, since there is no straightforward sharing functionality, though it seems to be considered industry-standard by some when it comes to prototyping.,Useful for creating UI prototypes with hi-fidelity screens. Can edit screen elements in the program, as well as importing from other software. Detailed interaction design.,VERY steep learning curve, the interface is not very intuitive. Difficult to make even small changes to interactions, especially elements such as dynamic panels. No straightforward keyboard shortcuts, which slows down design process. Tends to crash more than other software, as it's so large, but not so frequently that it's a great annoyance. The interface generally feels outdated.,6,Can slow down design process, prototypes take more time to build out. Clients are typically impressed by the very detailed prototyping, giving more positive feedback on the overall design.,Balsamiq, InVision, Proto.io and Marvel,Balsamiq, Proto.io, InVisionChoose Axure for life-like PrototypesAxure is used by business analysts at our company to create mockups of our various web properties before they are coded by developers. Some of our business analysts create these mockups in the context of agile scrum teams. Creating these mockups helps to provide a visual guide for developers before they start coding as well as give something to stakeholders so they have an idea of what to expect in the end product.,High fidelity prototypes: Axure is excellent for creating prototypes that are visually indistinguishable from the real product. You do not need advanced Photoshop or other image editing software skills to create mockups that look real with Axure. If you do have Photoshop skills though it definitely can help as you can easily bring in edited images into Axure from it. Realistic interactions: On top of creating prototypes that look real, you can also easily make them interact like a real site would. This is useful for not only showing developers and stakeholders but for user testing as well. Sharing prototypes: Sharing Axure prototypes with others is easy, even if they don't have the Axure software. You can either upload your file to Axshare, Azure's free hosting service or host it on your own servers and share the link with viewers. The link allows users to interact with the site as though it were real as well as easily switch between pages with a collapsible site map.,Collaboration: Axure doesn't make it particularly easy for multiple people to work on the same design file. Users have to keep multiple files and then manually update content from one file to the other. Version control: There are no built in features for managing version control which can cause problems when parties request design changes and then later want to revert to a previous design. Feedback collection: unlike other prototyping tools, Axure is lacking a good system for collecting feedback from others who review the design. It would benefit from social functionality to easily comment on changes or features and to have a record of back and forth discussion.,9,Putting designs to paper makes it easier for those on the business side to evaluate the cost of the project beyond just looking at written requirements. Axure licenses are very expensive and may not be well suited for small businesses or individuals. Axure licenses are permanent rather than being subscription based which saves money in the long run.,Microsoft Power BIAxure the wireframe and prototyping solution for a windows userAxure is currently only used in the marketing department. It allows the development team to put together mocks and wireframes much faster for department pages within the college. This type of organizational design was previously done in Balsamic, however, Axure has more tools. Axure does have a higher learning curve. Axure is also useful for higher fidelity prototyping. I would like to see the tools for prototyping expanded however right now this is the best program outside of Sketch (Sketch is only available on Mac).,Wireframing Ability to layout the UI Basic prototyping,Prototyping Artboard management stepping through the process in an organized view for the designer Micro-interactions are hard to show,8,Cut time spent creating wireframes Allows the development team to spend less time on redesigns,Balsamiq
Unspecified
Axure RP
54 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Axure RP Reviews

Axure RP
54 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 54 vetted Axure RP reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-18 of 18)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Michael Al-Megdad profile photo
November 29, 2018

Axure RP Review: "Axure Is Great For Our Use Case!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product positioning team uses Axure to build out controlled static demos that replicate our live site for our sales organization to use in demos. Axure allows us to build a narrative with a click path for our team too quickly and efficiently go through a demo. By giving our sales team a method of quickly showing a pixel perfect view of our software solution we're able to showcase our offering quickly and accurately.
  • Design tools for creating interactive mockups.
  • Online sharing of the finished project files.
  • Third-Party widgets and Sketch Integration.
  • The tool can be somewhat complex when starting out.
  • A more clearly defined and shared roadmap of updates.
  • Copying from the Sketch plug is wonderful but there are still some random bugs that occur.
Axure is create for creating full scale mockups with complex interactions. I'd say it is overkill for just creating mockup that don't require live complex interactions.
Read Michael Al-Megdad's full review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

Axure RP Review: "Axure is great for smaller prototypes"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Axure RP to concept and prototype new product and features or enhance current product or features. We also use Axure generated prototypes for early usability testing of prototypes with users. It is used by just our department. It allows us to create rapidly build concepts of our products and share those with our users and allow us to analyze the validity of the feature or product.
  • Provides tools to build an interactive wireframe/prototype of a small product of feature.
  • Generate a package of the interactive wireframe that can be deployed to a remote location for sharing.
  • Create a reusable library of patterns/components that could be reused in other prototypes
  • Notes and documentation can be embedded and displayed along with the interactive wire and connected to the components.
  • Sharing and versioning of the prototypes when working with multiple designers. It uses Subversion to checkout pages and components while they are being worked on, but issues and errors occur frequently.
  • The functions that allow interactions can be basic and cumbersome so when it comes to complex animations or transitions, Axure could really use improvements. . Collision can happen with interactions causing unintended results. Workarounds have to be made to create a complex interaction to describe how the interaction should function.
  • Too many interactions or a large prototype can cause slow performance. So its better to keep the prototype small. However, a larger project would need a different solution or approach to manage features. Can be difficult when aiming for consistency within the interactive wire.
Well for small suited for prototyping features within an application, rather than the entire application itself. However, can be suited for a limited range mobile application.

Not well suited for large desktop applications, unless special care is made to manage multiple Axure files by feature.

Not well suited if the application's usability requires a complex animation or transition.
Read this authenticated review
Stephanie Martin profile photo
April 09, 2018

Axure RP Review: "Great for detailed, robust prototyping, but clunky with a high learning curve."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Axure is used to create very robust, hi-fi interactive UX/UI prototypes, more so that can be achieved with competitive software. I primarily use it when demonstrating design concepts to other designers, since there is no straightforward sharing functionality, though it seems to be considered industry-standard by some when it comes to prototyping.
  • Useful for creating UI prototypes with hi-fidelity screens.
  • Can edit screen elements in the program, as well as importing from other software.
  • Detailed interaction design.
  • VERY steep learning curve, the interface is not very intuitive.
  • Difficult to make even small changes to interactions, especially elements such as dynamic panels.
  • No straightforward keyboard shortcuts, which slows down design process.
  • Tends to crash more than other software, as it's so large, but not so frequently that it's a great annoyance.
  • The interface generally feels outdated.
I find myself rarely reaching for Axure anymore. While it's great for very detailed, realistic prototypes, the unintuitive and clunky interfaces slows down my design process greatly. It's also quite a bit more software than I need for simply sending a mockup to a client for them to get a feel for how a user would interact with their product. The one time where it really is a step above other software is when I am not the one building the website, and need to send a prototype directly to a developer.
Read Stephanie Martin's full review
Samantha Bollmann profile photo
August 01, 2017

Axure RP Review: "Choose Axure for life-like Prototypes"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Axure is used by business analysts at our company to create mockups of our various web properties before they are coded by developers. Some of our business analysts create these mockups in the context of agile scrum teams. Creating these mockups helps to provide a visual guide for developers before they start coding as well as give something to stakeholders so they have an idea of what to expect in the end product.
  • High fidelity prototypes: Axure is excellent for creating prototypes that are visually indistinguishable from the real product. You do not need advanced Photoshop or other image editing software skills to create mockups that look real with Axure. If you do have Photoshop skills though it definitely can help as you can easily bring in edited images into Axure from it.
  • Realistic interactions: On top of creating prototypes that look real, you can also easily make them interact like a real site would. This is useful for not only showing developers and stakeholders but for user testing as well.
  • Sharing prototypes: Sharing Axure prototypes with others is easy, even if they don't have the Axure software. You can either upload your file to Axshare, Azure's free hosting service or host it on your own servers and share the link with viewers. The link allows users to interact with the site as though it were real as well as easily switch between pages with a collapsible site map.
  • Collaboration: Axure doesn't make it particularly easy for multiple people to work on the same design file. Users have to keep multiple files and then manually update content from one file to the other.
  • Version control: There are no built in features for managing version control which can cause problems when parties request design changes and then later want to revert to a previous design.
  • Feedback collection: unlike other prototyping tools, Axure is lacking a good system for collecting feedback from others who review the design. It would benefit from social functionality to easily comment on changes or features and to have a record of back and forth discussion.
Axure is excellent for creating prototypes that are indistinguishable from the original without requiring coding or graphic design (Photoshop) skills. It is perhaps less well suited for low fidelity prototypes than tools that are suited specifically for that purpose. It is also not great for projects where multiple designers are working on the same product concurrently.
Read Samantha Bollmann's full review
Deionna Adams profile photo
October 27, 2017

Axure RP Review: "Axure the wireframe and prototyping solution for a windows user"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Axure is currently only used in the marketing department. It allows the development team to put together mocks and wireframes much faster for department pages within the college. This type of organizational design was previously done in Balsamic, however, Axure has more tools. Axure does have a higher learning curve.

Axure is also useful for higher fidelity prototyping. I would like to see the tools for prototyping expanded however right now this is the best program outside of Sketch (Sketch is only available on Mac).
  • Wireframing
  • Ability to layout the UI
  • Basic prototyping
  • Prototyping
  • Artboard management stepping through the process in an organized view for the designer
  • Micro-interactions are hard to show
Axure is great if you are looking for a more than basic wireframing/prototyping tool. This is, in my opinion, the best current option for Windows users. If you are looking to create wireframes for websites of a simple mobile application this software will be great for you. If you are looking to design HI-FI prototypes of complex systems look for Adobe XD to leave beta soon.
Read Deionna Adams's full review
Doug Raymond profile photo
September 19, 2017

Axure RP Review: "Axure remains the top wireframing tool for UI/UX design"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Useagility's four interaction designers and visual designers use Axure every day to illustrate and visualize findings from direct user research. Weekly design studio meetings allow each designer to present current work and receive collaborative feedback from each other. A Slack channel is used to share insights, ideas, plugin recommendations, and best practices for improved productivity with Axure.
  • Axure allows designers to build wireframes and mock-ups across the full range of fidelity from low-fi sketches to high-fi prototypes. This allows designers to respond to user feedback throughout the project and ensure that the design tracks with real research results.
  • Almost any interaction workflow or widget is doable in Axure, including the use of variable data for complex applications. This not only allows end users to better understand the experience, but helps developers give input and provide critique on feasibility and potential technical issues.
  • The large and helpful user base is a great source of ideas and inspiration to increase skills and effectiveness with the tool. The numerous free and paid widget libraries are an invaluable resource for improving productivity and saving time.
  • Because so much is possible with Axure, there is often a temptation to build more complex wireframes than may be needed, especially at the early stages of a project. Building a highly interactive prototype may undermine the goal of simply understanding the user's mental model and approach to how they get work done.
  • While much has improved to accommodate responsive design, the adaptive views feature is often confusing and difficult to maintain as changes are made through the design process. In some cases it is easier to use shared masters with dynamic panels to illustrate different viewport layouts.
  • Sharing designs through Axshare is a powerful and critical component, but I'd love to see more interactive and social features to facilitate better discussion and feedback.
A primary strength of Axure is that it is an ideal tool on both ends of the fidelity scale. Simple wireframes can be designed, generated, and shared in minutes, while highly complex enterprise applications can be prototyped and demonstrated to stakeholders and users alike.
Read Doug Raymond's full review
Jakub Wilk profile photo
November 03, 2017

Axure RP Review: "Axure - you have my recommendation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One picture is worth more than 1000 words, Enovatio is a producer of software and is much cheaper for us to prepare prototype of application that develop this, on top it help us very much in communication between programmer and customer.
  • Design screens, mock-ups
  • Translate user requirements to programmer
  • Reduce number of questions from programmer to the customer/business
  • Workflow - I would like to have the possibility to draw workflow in bpmn notation
  • Import existing css files and use it within wireframes
  • Enable to make annotations for customer
Most important for us in mockup wireframes and here Axure is very well suited, maybe would be worth it to receive html output base on bootstrap framework, but just an initial HTML, not final, because at the end of a day programmer has to correct this HTML, there is also requirements for this workflow possibility, because sometimes user would like to see how the process will work.
Read Jakub Wilk's full review
Pooja Sawant profile photo
March 27, 2017

"Axure RP Review: One of the best prototyping tools."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Axure for making wireframes, low and high-fidelity prototypes for mobile, tablet and websites. We use Axure for creating UI screens as well, and when we want to integrate vector elements.
  • Gives better interactivity than other tools for complex websites
  • Easier to share HTML code with developers
  • Axure community and support
  • Easy to share and give demos to clients
  • Create your own UI library for future uses
  • You might have go through tutorials and has a learning curve
  • Importing svg could be better
  • License is expensive
I think for now Axure is one of the best prototyping tools available. This is best suited for creating complex web/mobile prototypes with interactivity. If you are just creating wireframes and/or towards importing ai/psd to prototypes, then this fine but there are different tools that are easier to use.
Read Pooja Sawant's full review
Vishakha Chetan profile photo
November 21, 2016

Axure RP Review: "Really, truly, rapid."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for prototyping ideas in great detail- it is far superior than other tools for doing more complicated interactions.
  • Executing if/else interactions
  • Creating complex patters
  • UX flow
  • Intuitiveness is lacking (ironically)
  • Lack of tutorials
  • Complicated in-software language
Axure is better for developing complex prototypes. For example, executing parallax and complicated modal appearance, dialogues and conditional fields can be done with ease on Axure. That being said, I don't think Axure qualifies as a "rapid prototyping" tool per se. For example, I could write out functionalities using HTML and CSS faster than trying to figure out Axure's complicated jargon and trying to understand how to make it work.
Read Vishakha Chetan's full review
Richard Crane profile photo
April 04, 2016

Axure RP Review: "Axure - perfect for any project"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Axure to provide high-fidelity, click-through wire frames for in-house application builds. These begin at a very low-fidelity level to verify requirements and then increase in fidelity until we have a working prototype, which our developers use to code. Once development is complete, testers use the Axure prototype to test against production, and change requests, bugs, and issues are first completed in Axure, verified by stake holders, and then sent for development. Axure makes everything in the software development life cycle much easier, from requirements to deployment.
  • Axure takes the guess work out of static wire frames by providing an interactive experience for users and testers.
  • Axure is really easy to use. After a few hours of work, I was able to produce a simple interactive prototype for an app and present it to stake holders to verify requirements.
  • Axure's price point is incredible. Depending on whether you go Standard or Pro, you get a lifetime license for less than $300 or $600, respectively. No additional costs or hidden fees.
  • Axure prototypes are easy to generate and share, unlike other similar software which require additional software downloads to view prototypes.
  • Axure doesn't do data validation well. Carrying data from one screen to the next is a little tricky. It can be done, but if showing how data moves from one screen to the next is important, Axure won't be a good tool.
  • Axure prototypes can't be used to create a working converted solution like other similar tools can do. However, those other solutions typically involved detailed processes in order to make the conversion better, and even then there's work to be done after the conversion occurs.
  • The Axure discussion piece is a nice option, but would be better if it was less ambiguous on which widget is being discussed instead of labeling each widget and including the discussion below. Sometimes multiple topics are created around the same widget issue.
Axure is best for conceptual design, requirements validation, and user experience. I love using Axure for projects where the business and stake holders don't have a clear defined idea of what exactly they want. It allows me to show concepts and requirements visually and make changes on the fly based on input. Axure won't be much help if the application or solution discussed doesn't have a user interface, or if the ability to see data flow within the application is critical in the conceptual design.
Read Richard Crane's full review
Lucas Roe profile photo
March 08, 2016

Axure RP Review: "Fast, useful, and extensible."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Axure for quick proofs of concept. The biggest benefits we find from it are that it is easily shared with a link, so we can validate ideas quickly with our team. While the prototypes that we create in it don't produce usable code for our application, that freedom allows us to test things that may otherwise not be possible or easily implemented in the full product. Axure is currently only used by 2 members of our organization, but the two of us are the UX experts in the organization.
  • Quick and simple clickthrough mockups. Axure hits a fidelity sweet spot that's somewhere between a basic sketch and a full working prototype that allows you to communicate the meat of an experience without getting too hung up on the minutiae
  • Axure's masters system allows you to create highly inherited design patterns. Working inside of a design system like a pattern library, this inheritance helps insure that you aren't reinventing the wheel for each new interface, and instead are relying more heavily on your systemic design.
  • Axure's publishing system, Axure Share, is a fantastic way to send the prototypes to others. It's tightly integrated with the desktop application, making sharing a specific page or an enormous prototype both simple and fast. It also allows extensibility, letting you write your own HTML/CSS/JS to extend the prototype in some way.
  • The output of Axure is some bizarre hybrid of a web page and something else. Although it lives in a browser and technically uses HTML, its method of building the pages is highly inflexible and violates the DOM standards of browsers. This makes the prototypes very rigid, and greatly limits the space of what they're useful for.
  • Axure can have a steep learning curve. If you don't have experience with Javascript or Actionscript, you may find the method of adding interactivity to be very arcane and confusing. There are some other bizarre bugs that only come about through a lot of experience.
  • Axure currently only allows very basic design and structuring, as well as an extraordinarily limited outputs. Consequentially, it isn't suited for visual design or highly polished designs.
Axure is best suited when you are working in a distributed environment on cross platform tools. There are other tools that are more appropriate for mobile specific work. If you already have a robust process with a different graphics program (like Photoshop or Sketch) it may be more appropriate for you to find a prototyping tool that is better equipped to work with that existing process (For instance, a Hotspotting tool like Marvel or InVision)
Read Lucas Roe's full review
Rhoni Rakos profile photo
March 21, 2016

Axure RP: "Axure Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Axure to turn my sketches and ideas into functional designs through wireframes, which stakeholders can review and developers can work from.
  • High fidelity - they look almost like mock ups.
  • Interactive - people can see almost exactly what effect an action can have.
  • Easy for developers to use and follow.
  • It takes a little bit of a ramp up to understand how to create dependancies and interactions.
  • It's not easy to share wireframes between team mates who all need to work collaboratively.
  • It's hard to notate when you're recording feedback. It would be nice if people could "mark up" your wireframe without committing changes instead of just adding comments in the general discussion section.
Axure is a great tool, but it's sometimes too heavy or high fidelity for quick ideation. I usually use paper sketches first.
Read Rhoni Rakos's full review
No photo available
November 10, 2016

Axure RP Review: "Axure - a powerful prototyping tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Axure RP in our user experience design projects for our clients to create interactive prototypes (low - high fidelity). We use it to show concept animations in the product to full fledged pages.
  • Axure is a great tool if you want to create interactive prototypes using real data. You can import data and use it as working prototype.
  • With Axure's new release, it's easier to work with your design team. Axure's team feature makes it easy for teams to collaborate on the same project.
  • Axure has a great community support and tutorials for any newbies. They are pretty good with responding to any request and/or issues with your files.
  • It's easy to share the prototype with Axshare - and every time you make changes to the prototype, you are still using the same link. So this means, you can create a unique link and share it with the clients. After any changes that are made to the file, just save the same link and clients will be able to see the changes.
  • Another nice feature of Axure is you can package all the prototype into HTML and hand it over to dev team. The code sometimes gets wonky though.
  • Built-in libraries as well as easy way to import libraries makes it easier to create user flow diagrams, animations and build pages
  • Apart from all the above great features that my team frequently uses, Axure's Preview feature is a good way to see your work in progress prototype on a browser.
  • Even though you can package the prototype into HTML, it sometimes creates wonky code which can't be completely used (especially if your prototype is a detailed one).
  • If the prototype is a high-fidelity one with complex data like charts and diagrams, you may encounter bugs while loading the pages in browser.
  • Axure can improve on its stylizing feature by including typographic elements.
Axure is great if you are creating low-fidelity prototypes and want to take the same into high-fidelity ones. This means you can use real data, create animations, add hotspots and have a robust experience. Axure is not suitable if you want to add more UI elements like emphasis on typography, color, create vectors, posters and other graphic elements. I look at it not as a design based tool (like Illustrator or Sketch) but more as a development based design tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 10, 2016

Axure RP Review: "Axure = Interactions and a happy client!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Axure is one of the tools we use here at our company to build wire frames and prototypes for our clients. We publish prototypes so that when we present to our clients, they can have a clear understanding of the direction and flow of the product we are working on for them.
  • Interactions! Axure does a great job of letting UX designers build interactions so that the client, as well as other departments can visually see how particular elements of the product will function.
  • Axure also allows the user to add notes to any element, this is great because it allows the client to have a working copy and filter through the notes themselves.
  • A live prototype allows the product to be responsive based on predetermined break points that you assign to the individual pages. This is a great representation of what the end product can look like.
  • Axure can get really complicated for the average user when they are trying to build interactions. There needs to be a simpler way to perform an action for an element. Sometimes, depending on the desired outcome, a lot of time is wasted trying to figure out how to execute the action on Axure.
  • Axure does not give an easy way to measure the distance between objects. This would be a great add, as it would make it easier to align elements on a page instead of selecting the objects and clicking a separate button to align.
  • Axure could also benefit from more options for assets/templates. There needs to be a bigger library of icons I can use and easily add to the page and manipulate to create a prototype.
Interactions!!! Axure still leads other wire frame platforms when it comes to interactions and building functional prototypes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 26, 2016

Axure RP Review: "Axure Fan Club"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Axure for wireframing concepts and creating user experience solutions within the design team. Axure is great because we can share the link amongst the entire team for everyone to review. It's also great for replicating real scenarios and websites without having to know code. I also like that teammates can add annotations to the wireframes. When you hit "Preview" a true to life picture of what you create appears with those annotations listed for the entire document. It's great for conveying usability, ideas and concepts to large teams!
  • Group projects allow your entire team to contribute to a wireframe without losing changes made by other teammates. You can instantly update and publish changes for a group.
  • Notes allows teammates to annotate or comment on what you created. Hitting preview allows you to see a site map along with group comments/notes for the wireframe.
  • Axure replicates real websites very well. You don't have to know how to code, but you can create complex components and interactions to make your demo look and feel like a finished product.
  • Dynamic panels can get very complicated when you're creating panels within panels. Axure should provide a better way to see and organize those panels so you don't get lost in the structure of the wireframe.
  • Some of the interactions that you can create are complicated. I feel there needs to be templates that users can drag into the space to reuse over and over. For example - a photo carousel template where all you need to do is select the style of the carousel from a template menu and drop in your own photos.
Axure is well suited for creating and demoing prototypes to large groups. It's very easy to share prototypes using the unique link generated while publishing a file. Axure is great for replicating real-like websites and apps due to the deep level of interactions that it can create.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 14, 2016

Axure RP Review: "Axure is powerful and the best ROI is Time"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used in our department.
The business clients (Line of business) ask our team to design a new "Excel" importation portal. I used Axure to simulate a 20-25 page wireframe.
They loved it and at some point they even thought the application was complete and i told them it was just a simulation.
If you get creative there is a lot more to be done with Axure!
In a few words we used it to create a solution for business clients
  • I used it to wireframe a whole Excel Importation Portal. Very easy to show the clients what you are imagining.
  • In axure you can paste a image and make it look like an icon then make it a button
  • I used it to demonstrate a new premium allocation module for insurance at WF
  • The fields were amazing to type into and make it look so real.
  • I used it to demostrate different types of reports and their filters (including sorting and column filters).
  • I created hover in the report - to show how to filter a column
  • I think the copying and pasting of images from external locations show be easier. just like paint..
  • There is an application call snip it (or snag it) - Axure should have that functionality so that i can take snipit from other screens and paste them into axure.
  • I want to able to export to a web format so people can view it without the need to have axure on their laptop
Well suited for:
Demonstrating a design that involves many pages.
Demonstrating a completely NEW design - it is hard for the LOB to imagine your vision of the design when you tell them in words. When you use Axure you can show it to them. I love it because it saves a lot of time explaining them
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 12, 2016

Axure RP Review: "Learning Axure is the best investment of your UX/UI career"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I learned Axure at school and used it in my last 3 companies. I am still using Axure every day, and I strongly believe after all these years and with so many new prototyping tools around, Axure is still the best of all. Every single company that I been with, purchased Axure after seeing my first prototype. The learning curve of application is a little deep, and always I was the solo prototyper in the organization.
  • Mobile and tablet application Prototyping
  • Responsive Design Prototyping
  • Hi-Fidelity Prototyping
  • Interactive, Clickable prototypes with multi-states situation
  • Wireframing
  • Flow charts
  • Some more micro-interactions in different commands. Recently flip added to ver8, but still some more features are missing such as bouncing and pixelating.
  • Switching states at the time of dragging or scrolling.
  • Now there is and option for drag in X or Y axis. I couldn't find any solution to drag diagonally or in a specific path or curve.
  • There are some techniques to removing a browser status bar at the time of presenting a prototype on Android smartphones, but these techniques are not very convenient and you should have to use third party applications. I wish to have a solution from Axure.
  • Running Prototype offline on mobile device. Again, now there are some solutions for this issue but all are third party applications. I wish to see something from Axure.
Axure is well suited to prototyping for desktop applications, websites, web application, apps for smartphones and tablets, but I would like to have some options to do prototyping for smartwatches, wearables and streaming devices such as Apple TV as well.
Also, I wish to have stronger features and functionality for better flow charting and retire my OmniGraffle.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 11, 2016

Axure RP Review: "The BEST wireframe tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Axure tool has been a great asset in defining functional requirements. The tool has allowed me to streamline the document and provide a visual representation of how the screens will look. The tool is currently being used just in our department.
  • Axure allows me to organize the requirements in detail. The footnotes is a great feature to describe actions of each field and also add interactions. The prototype gives a visual representation of how the end product will look that allows stakeholders to understand their needs and wants.
  • Users of Axure would definitely benefit if the tool allowed users to format the text that they enter. Currently, the tool allows users to Bold, Italicize, and Underline. However, it doesn't allow the user to bullet. Features from MS Word to format text would be greatly beneficial.
Axure works very well for me. It is the best suited tool my project can use.
Read this authenticated review

About Axure RP

Axure RP is a software prototyping tool used by UX designers, from Axure Software Solutions in San Diego.
Categories:  Prototyping,  Wireframing

Axure RP Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No