TrustRadius
Confluence is a collaboration and content sharing platform used primarily by customers who are already using Atlassian's Jira project tracking product. The product appeals particularly to IT users.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/qW/eX/U73JLJED2UUG.JPEGA Good Collaboration and Information Management ToolWe use Confluence across our organization, but only for those collaborating on projects. In our case, we are designing a new business platform that requires extensive information gathering, sharing, and planning. We use Confluence to organize that project into teams, track to do items, share information, record meeting minutes, etc.,Collaboration. Confluence allows our entire organization to collaborate together. Instead of storing files and documents in folders, Confluence stores the files including versions, allows comments and context to be added, assigns permissions, and tracks workflows all in one place. Organization. Confluence is great at keeping everything organized. Assuming you set up your structure properly, it is easy to find your place in Confluence. Furthermore, the search engine allows you to search the entire instance for information. Notification. Confluence sends email notifications when you are referenced by someone else, assigned a duty, or any change is made to a page or group that you are subscribed to.,Search. The search functionality of Confluence is not that great. When typing a search there are often dozens or hundreds of irrelevant pages and you can't see enough in the search results to know which page you are looking for so it can sometimes be hard to find information you are looking for. Over-notification. If you subscribe to an active group, you will get a notification every time something changes. This means that if someone is actively updating during a meeting (taking minutes), you could receive several notification for the same set of changes.,8,I can't quantify this with dollars, but having all information in one place and having one place to collaborate on projects has definitely been more productive than without using Confluence.,Asana,Citrix NetScaler, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), NetSuiteJust amazing tool for documentationFor me, Atlassian Confluence is a one stop solution for all kinds of documentation. I use it whenever I need to write or document about my project. which includes flow diagram as well. This tool has been used by lots of us here and most of us use this for documentation and writing some other design as well.,First and foremost, if you need to maintain the documentation of your project, Atlassian Confluence is the best option for this. It has lots of plugins available which makes it very much useful, like gliffy, through which you can design flow diagrams very easily. Document collaboration with team member is also very good with this. You will get notified if someone from your team has changed something. It has wiki like syntax for markup and lots of other shortcuts which make development faster,The search feature could be improved. Search result are not always what we are looking for. It could be more flexible, just after adding few docs it starts becoming very clustered. It is costly to use it for personal use. I would like if it had free version with some limited version-- at least we could have basic features.,9,There are lots of positive impact of this tool, it has made the documentation task very easy. It has integration with other Atlassian tools like JIRA and Bitbucket which makes it very much useful and helps in tracking things I can't say much of negative impact but it is a bit costly.,,Visual Studio IDE, Jenkins, BambooSimple, but feature rich within the Atlassian ecosystemWe use Confluence across our entire organization. We purchased Confluence with JIRA as a file management and communication tool. We still rely heavily on Google Enterprise applications (GDocs/GDrive) but we needed something which could be closely connected to our JIRA project and development pipeline management use case. Confluence allows us to create different content, like cover pages, and long-text details which are linked to JIRA Issues, but aren't necessarily appropriate for custom fields in that JIRA Issue.,Easy management of documentation and files In-line linking to Users, Issues, and other Atlassian artifacts Ability to create Action Points from Confluence documents which email/interact with the user connected with the Action Point Excellent built-in Macros which can be used to tailor content (e.g. Code Blocks with user-defined styling and UX, Table of Content and Children page listings),Searching is a challenge in Confluence. If you know the Space (we group our functional areas into 'Spaces' in Confluence), then searching is straight-forward, but if you don't know the Space, the searching becomes a bit hit and miss. Organizing child pages under a parent is tedious. Rather than allowing a drag-and-drop interface, you have to go into Space Tools, then navigate through to the parent page and manually re-sort pages. Once in the Tools area, the feature set is good, but it would be nice to have fewer clicks or some sort of toggle to Edit Mode which allowed these features while still on the Confluence Page. When presenting Tables of JIRA Issues meeting specific criterion, the refresh/load time can get very slow. If there were an option to either prioritize the load order or the option to run synchronously/asynchronously, it would be a better UX. Adding Security to Pages/Spaces can be a challenge. The UI for this feature often simply tells you that the permissions are inherited, and you have to navigate up a level or three to find those specific 'inherited permissions'. Each page should have its own listing of permissions with some indication of whether they are inherited or not, with an option to edit on the page (not in the parent or grandparent, etc.). In working with the underlying database content, there are some major drawbacks... First, the underlying data for the pages is a long string of html, so any sort of searching is impossible. The option (or a built-in mechanism) to segment out sections of a page in the database would help in this effort tremendously. Second, the underlying database has no easy way to apply the same security placed on the pages (see two points above for Security UI issues). Because we cannot reliably determine access/permissions to the pages from the DB, we have locked down all DB tables to ensure that no sensitive information is viewable by unauthorized users.,8,Confluence has allowed us to centralize our technical documentation while allowing us to ensure access/PHI compliance with auditors,Google Drive,JIRA Software, Logi Analytics, Talend Open Studio, MariaDBA software developer's day using confluence.We use Confluence to document our engineering practices. From documenting releases and server updates to storing coding guidelines for developers. We've basically replaced MS Office documents and Sharepoint with Confluence. Confluences make for a more user-friendly way to store documentation that is searchable, flexible and far easier to maintain.,It is really easy to make document templates with Atlassian Confluence. If you don't like how you've organized your documents in Atlassian Confluence, you can easily rearrange your documents into a structure that better fits your business. Building a linked document structure is really easy within Atlassian Confluence. Atlassian Confluence is extensible with macros and extensions. There are integrations with other platforms for Atlassian Confluence.,I was perusing the developer documentation and I found it to be poorly organized. It just felt unapproachable. We get too many status updates from Atlassian cloud. I think they are trying to be transparent, but it feels more like oversharing. Sometimes I feel like their lines drawn with other Atlassian apps could be less hard. While there is substantial integration with Jira, for instance, it seems like you have to really look for ways to use the two together.,7,We spend less time looking for documentation. Our documentation for audits is much more complete and less cumbersome. We are able to move more information into the cloud and reduce local server maintenance load.,MS SharePoint and Team Foundation Server,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Visual Studio IDE, JIRA Software, Project Insight, Box, Zoom, Microsoft Office 365, Azure Active Directory, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Access, Remote Desktop ServicesThe best thing for documentation.After getting comfortable with Confluence, it is very efficient and easy to do documentation.It allows to import and export the information stored in any format.It allows for the other team members to have joint access to the information.It helps in optimizing any work for a company.It is compatible with every Atlassian product.Apart from advantages, it has some cons as well. It sometimes faces performance lack.Some integration features are difficult to figure out and take time to get comfortable.Takes the huge amount of space, as a result, takes time to load as well.,It allows to import and export the information stored in any format. It allows for the other team members to have joint access to the information. It helps in optimizing any work for a company. It is compatible with every Atlassian product.,It sometimes faces performance lack. Takes the huge amount of space, as a result, takes time to load as well. Some integration features are difficult to figure out and take time to get comfortable.,9,Compared with many developments, project management and collaboration tools with the same richness of features, and especially for the improved communications and optimization brought back to the organization that really uses them. Atlassian tools are not expensive. It makes good collaboration with other Atlassian products and because of which makes itself better than for that price.,Nuclino,JIRA Software, IntelliJ WebStorm, Trello
Windows, Linux, Mac
Atlassian Confluence
749 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Confluence Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Confluence
749 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 749 vetted Confluence reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 61)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Chris Snelling, CFA profile photo
December 08, 2018

Confluence Review: "A Good Collaboration and Information Management Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Confluence across our organization, but only for those collaborating on projects. In our case, we are designing a new business platform that requires extensive information gathering, sharing, and planning. We use Confluence to organize that project into teams, track to do items, share information, record meeting minutes, etc.
  • Collaboration. Confluence allows our entire organization to collaborate together. Instead of storing files and documents in folders, Confluence stores the files including versions, allows comments and context to be added, assigns permissions, and tracks workflows all in one place.
  • Organization. Confluence is great at keeping everything organized. Assuming you set up your structure properly, it is easy to find your place in Confluence. Furthermore, the search engine allows you to search the entire instance for information.
  • Notification. Confluence sends email notifications when you are referenced by someone else, assigned a duty, or any change is made to a page or group that you are subscribed to.
  • Search. The search functionality of Confluence is not that great. When typing a search there are often dozens or hundreds of irrelevant pages and you can't see enough in the search results to know which page you are looking for so it can sometimes be hard to find information you are looking for.
  • Over-notification. If you subscribe to an active group, you will get a notification every time something changes. This means that if someone is actively updating during a meeting (taking minutes), you could receive several notification for the same set of changes.
Confluence works well in a system where a lot of people are collaborating. It keeps everything organized and is located in one easy to access location. It is ideal for working on projects together. Especially projects that require information sharing. Compared to email communication, Confluence holds the information from all users. This is compared to using traditional file folders and email, whereby there are access issues and not all information is shared or searchable.
Read Chris Snelling, CFA's full review
Rounak Jangir profile photo
December 14, 2018

Confluence Review: "Just amazing tool for documentation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For me, Atlassian Confluence is a one stop solution for all kinds of documentation. I use it whenever I need to write or document about my project. which includes flow diagram as well. This tool has been used by lots of us here and most of us use this for documentation and writing some other design as well.
  • First and foremost, if you need to maintain the documentation of your project, Atlassian Confluence is the best option for this.
  • It has lots of plugins available which makes it very much useful, like gliffy, through which you can design flow diagrams very easily.
  • Document collaboration with team member is also very good with this. You will get notified if someone from your team has changed something.
  • It has wiki like syntax for markup and lots of other shortcuts which make development faster
  • The search feature could be improved. Search result are not always what we are looking for.
  • It could be more flexible, just after adding few docs it starts becoming very clustered.
  • It is costly to use it for personal use. I would like if it had free version with some limited version-- at least we could have basic features.
If you want to write something down-- it may be design flow, project document or something else-- Atlassian Confluence is just the best option to use. It has lots of plugins available like Gliffy and Codeblock, which makes your doc more clean. Outside this scenario, I think it is not well-suited. One more thing-- it is too costly to use it on your own.
Read Rounak Jangir's full review
Johnny Stevens profile photo
December 12, 2018

Confluence Review: "Simple, but feature rich within the Atlassian ecosystem"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Confluence across our entire organization. We purchased Confluence with JIRA as a file management and communication tool. We still rely heavily on Google Enterprise applications (GDocs/GDrive) but we needed something which could be closely connected to our JIRA project and development pipeline management use case. Confluence allows us to create different content, like cover pages, and long-text details which are linked to JIRA Issues, but aren't necessarily appropriate for custom fields in that JIRA Issue.
  • Easy management of documentation and files
  • In-line linking to Users, Issues, and other Atlassian artifacts
  • Ability to create Action Points from Confluence documents which email/interact with the user connected with the Action Point
  • Excellent built-in Macros which can be used to tailor content (e.g. Code Blocks with user-defined styling and UX, Table of Content and Children page listings)
  • Searching is a challenge in Confluence. If you know the Space (we group our functional areas into 'Spaces' in Confluence), then searching is straight-forward, but if you don't know the Space, the searching becomes a bit hit and miss.
  • Organizing child pages under a parent is tedious. Rather than allowing a drag-and-drop interface, you have to go into Space Tools, then navigate through to the parent page and manually re-sort pages. Once in the Tools area, the feature set is good, but it would be nice to have fewer clicks or some sort of toggle to Edit Mode which allowed these features while still on the Confluence Page.
  • When presenting Tables of JIRA Issues meeting specific criterion, the refresh/load time can get very slow. If there were an option to either prioritize the load order or the option to run synchronously/asynchronously, it would be a better UX.
  • Adding Security to Pages/Spaces can be a challenge. The UI for this feature often simply tells you that the permissions are inherited, and you have to navigate up a level or three to find those specific 'inherited permissions'. Each page should have its own listing of permissions with some indication of whether they are inherited or not, with an option to edit on the page (not in the parent or grandparent, etc.).
  • In working with the underlying database content, there are some major drawbacks... First, the underlying data for the pages is a long string of html, so any sort of searching is impossible. The option (or a built-in mechanism) to segment out sections of a page in the database would help in this effort tremendously.
  • Second, the underlying database has no easy way to apply the same security placed on the pages (see two points above for Security UI issues). Because we cannot reliably determine access/permissions to the pages from the DB, we have locked down all DB tables to ensure that no sensitive information is viewable by unauthorized users.
If you are looking for a CMS-style, text to web document system, and you don't have access to Google, then Confluence is a viable option. Its tight integration to JIRA makes it more useful than Google in our scenario, although I often wonder if we would do ourselves a favor and write some Google Scripts to tighten that end of the integration and drop Confluence.
Read Johnny Stevens's full review
Clay Horste profile photo
December 11, 2018

Review: "A software developer's day using confluence."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Confluence to document our engineering practices. From documenting releases and server updates to storing coding guidelines for developers. We've basically replaced MS Office documents and Sharepoint with Confluence. Confluences make for a more user-friendly way to store documentation that is searchable, flexible and far easier to maintain.
  • It is really easy to make document templates with Atlassian Confluence.
  • If you don't like how you've organized your documents in Atlassian Confluence, you can easily rearrange your documents into a structure that better fits your business.
  • Building a linked document structure is really easy within Atlassian Confluence.
  • Atlassian Confluence is extensible with macros and extensions.
  • There are integrations with other platforms for Atlassian Confluence.
  • I was perusing the developer documentation and I found it to be poorly organized. It just felt unapproachable.
  • We get too many status updates from Atlassian cloud. I think they are trying to be transparent, but it feels more like oversharing.
  • Sometimes I feel like their lines drawn with other Atlassian apps could be less hard. While there is substantial integration with JIRA, for instance, it seems like you have to really look for ways to use the two together.
We use Atlassian Confluence to organize our software development and IS teams. We use it for meeting agendas, documenting software releases, documenting server updates, policies, procedures. We don't, however, use it for documenting software development requirements or for documenting QA test cases. Confluence feels like it could go the extra steps and provide a good place for documenting the actual creation of software, but we still end up going to other vendors for those items.
Read Clay Horste's full review
Jayant Rana profile photo
September 06, 2018

Confluence Review: "The best thing for documentation."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  1. After getting comfortable with Confluence, it is very efficient and easy to do documentation.
  2. It allows to import and export the information stored in any format.
  3. It allows for the other team members to have joint access to the information.
  4. It helps in optimizing any work for a company.
  5. It is compatible with every Atlassian product.
  6. Apart from advantages, it has some cons as well. It sometimes faces performance lack.
  7. Some integration features are difficult to figure out and take time to get comfortable.
  8. Takes the huge amount of space, as a result, takes time to load as well.
  • It allows to import and export the information stored in any format.
  • It allows for the other team members to have joint access to the information.
  • It helps in optimizing any work for a company.
  • It is compatible with every Atlassian product.
  • It sometimes faces performance lack.
  • Takes the huge amount of space, as a result, takes time to load as well.
  • Some integration features are difficult to figure out and take time to get comfortable.
We are allowed to use Confluence to write anything and can write too much about the product. Team members can access the same information and make changes. No more wasted time trying to find feedback trapped in your email or chat thread. It uses a structured hierarchy and a powerful search engine to find work quickly and easily.
Read Jayant Rana's full review
Ben Williams profile photo
December 11, 2018

Confluence: "Helps great teams to collaborate efficiently"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is used to hold documents that are important to various software programs. These include install documents, patch notes, and update information. We use it company-wide and it ensures all information for software is held centrally.
  • It accurately displays documents and information well.
  • It is easy to upload external files, which is key for installation walk-throughs.
  • It is easy to allow manage users and groups to have access to specific areas only.
  • I feel the biggest area that is missing is support for more languages for source code.
  • Also does not allow you to go through revision history.
  • In-line comments for easier modifying would be nice.
  • Easier integration with other applications would be nice.
It's great for engineering and software teams who need quick access to software notes and details. It is even better if you use other Atlassian products as the idea integration is through other tools by Atlassian.
Read Ben Williams's full review
Ammar Aldaffaie profile photo
December 10, 2018

Review: "Atlassian Confluence - a great choice for knowledge-based management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are mostly using it to document best practices, create software documentations, and store training materials and team calibrations. It is being used across the whole company but mostly by developers and trainers to provide documentation for agents. It is helping us to make the process of documenting and sharing knowledge as easy as possible while maintaining up-to-date information at all times.
  • Very user-friendly and easy to use by anyone.
  • Easy to implement and does not require time to go from zero to live.
  • Easy to integrate with other systems.
  • Web-based, anyone with a browser can use it.
  • The user interface can use some improvements.
  • I would like to see improvement to the way it handles document editing when 2 users are editing the same document at the same time. I still think it is good as is but it can use some improvements.
  • The integration with other systems needs more work and can be more user-friendly.
If you ever need a site where you can share knowledge and maintain documentation, this is one of the best options. You might have heard of SharePoint, which is similar in a lot of ways. Confluence is very modern and flexible. This is great if you have a team of developers who need to document their process and use of the software or provide documentation to agents.
Read Ammar Aldaffaie's full review
No photo available
December 13, 2018

Review: "Confluence content creation is easy, and why that's good and bad"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Atlassian Confluence company-wide as our internal wiki platform. Confluence has moved a formerly silo'd company culture into a more collaborative and visible one. We use the platform to share knowledge, create new content, and manage projects and activities
  • Confluence provides the ability to any employee to create content as they see fit, democratizing the content creation process
  • The parent and child relationships between pages makes organizing your content much easier.
  • If you're also using JIRA as your task management software, the native integration allows you to work in both systems and share content and data between the two, seamlessly.
  • The lack of a defined workflow in Confluence is problematic as it could create a wild west for content creation and management
  • Confluence does not play well with Microsoft generated documents like word and excel
  • The lack of true page print functionality is a glaring gap in the product. Printing through your browser loses most of the beautiful formatting that is native to Confluence.
Confluence is great at democratizing content creation, managing short projects or activities, and distributing content to a large audience. It falls down due to the lack of a content creation work flow, content findability, and viewing/editing Word/Excel documents within the platform.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 15, 2018

Confluence Review: "A solid intranet - but you might be able to do better!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Atlassian Confluence as our internal intranet company-wide. It addressed the need to have a shared repository of information where people could go to access information. There are very specific permission sets that can be applied so that each department can have control over editing their own pages, decentralizing management of the intranet.
  • Ample permission sets let you set granular controls
  • Integration with JIRA is one of the main reasons a technology company can benefit from Atlassian
  • If your company point of contact leaves without transitioning ownership/billing, Atlassian is very unhelpful in resolving this and will turn off your functionality without reaching out in advance if a bill is not paid. This will induce a state of panic until resolved.
  • The design of Atlassian leaves something to be desired. Employees didn't like using it and as a result, the team regularly neglected the content, making it out of date.
If you use JIRA and need a basic documentation/intranet, Atlassian could be a natural choice.

If you want a really flashy or dynamic intranet, you might want to choose something with better graphics/interaction, etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 11, 2018

"Collaborating Confluence"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Confluence to share documents, procedures, and other essential files for more efficient collaboration between departments within the business and also between the business and its service suppliers. The features I like most are creating live tables and simultaneous editing of their information along with file attachment capability.
  • Confluence enables simultaneous idea/information sharing from multiple sources on the same topic in an almost-live manner with "reload" notifications.
  • Making previews of postings available would be very helpful to users to ensure content is intended prior to posting it.
  • Notifying editors of the same data field is critical to prevent loss of data.
We have a new product design with many features that needs input from multiple departments in terms of its appearance, user friendliness, safety concerns, engineering design concepts, and manufacturing inputs for each feature. Having a table listing all features that allows simultaneous multi-department editing enables more efficient design review and shorter development cycle.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 10, 2018

User Review: "Confluence for a software company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization uses it for storing internal information (almost like an encyclopedia of the company). Each department handles their own space within Confluence.
  • Macros! There are a lot of macros which give you creativity to how you want to make a page.
  • Plugins: The JIRA macro/plug in lets us display stats for project in various ways.
  • Formatting: I have trouble with formatting pages to look perfect. For example, I have issues with making a table.
  • Searching: Sometimes the search results confuse me based on what I inputted.
It is great for documenting how your product works, keeping a historical record of releases, and having pages for project updates.
Read this authenticated review
Holly Wallace Nielsen profile photo
July 03, 2018

Review: "Confluence does a lot, but needs to be more user friendly"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Confluence across our organization. We all work remotely so it is a place where we can collaborate on projects, we post our meeting agendas, we post tutorials, training, etc. Any content that employees need to access to do their jobs we put on Confluence. For example, we can put processes on how to complete certain tasks on confluence and we also task each other to complete certain items.
  • Organizing content so that people can find what they are looking for.
  • Putting restrictions on certain pages so that it can be seen/edited by appropriate employees
  • Letting people collaborate on documents simultaneously
  • notifying when a page has been updated
  • combining content with tasks so that things get done
  • The tables feature is horrible. Really hard to edit, and make look nice. I end of just posting screen shots of excel.
  • It can be confusing and overwhelming for new users. I would not say it is intuitive.
It works well for remote teams that need to communicate and keep track of many projects happening all at once. It keeps everything all in one place so that everyone can find things and we all know where stuff should go. If you are tracking KPIs using complicated formulas in excel, you will find it annoying to try and replicate that in confluence.
Read Holly Wallace Nielsen's full review
Jarod Bonino profile photo
May 24, 2018

Review: "Confluence - A good task management and decision tracking tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is being used at my organization to track action items, high level requirements, and decisions that are made in meetings.
  • It's easy to tag other Confluence users on questions and action items - which generates alerts to them
  • The formatting of pages in Confluence is fairly easy to control and change to meet the needs of a particular page
  • The tool set, in general, is fairly approachable and intuitive
  • Most of the tools my organization uses are controlled with a "single sign-on". Confluence, unfortunately, is not, but to be honest that might not be due to a limitation of Confluence. I don't know enough about the inner workings and available features to know for sure.
It's a decent generic tool for keeping track of group decisions and action items. I don't know that it is any better or worse than other similarly purposed tools that I've used though - such as OneNote.
Read Jarod Bonino's full review
Alexandria Alvarez Gerbasi profile photo
January 23, 2018

"Atlassian Confluence Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Atlassian Confluence is being used as a knowledge base for our entire organization. The software enables our staff to share knowledge easily, across our different offices around the world. We have created different sections of the knowledge base, so each department has their own "area" if you will on the platform, where staff from each department can post relevant information company-wide. This avoids the redundancy of emails and creates a database of company information, as well as shared knowledge.
  • Atlassian Confluence organizes documents well. This is a strength in my opinion as our staff can search for documentation easily.
  • Atlassian Confluence also allows for various people to edit the same document. This helps with collaboration.
  • Atlassian Confluence has many products that can plug into the Confluence platform. We have various products that all work together and enable different functionality for our users.
  • Atlassian is not intuitive for the user. Several of our staff who have not received training on the platform find that it is not user-friendly.
  • Posting on Atlassian can also take more time than expected due to the plethora of options available.
  • Atlassian Confluence does not always look the same in different internet browsers. In talking with a co-worker, he told me it works best on Chrome. My computer has IE and Chrome, so I have to be sure I am using Chrome when I log into Confluence.
Atlassian Confluence is well suited for a knowledge base, where an organization can post their important documents and allow for collaboration among colleagues. It is also very good for storing documentation and disseminating information. The platform might be less appropriate to store generic company documents or anything that is not proprietary.
Read Alexandria Alvarez Gerbasi's full review
Michael Gaylord profile photo
May 18, 2018

Confluence Review: "Big and complicated but will get the job done"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is used by the whole company as a repository for managing and storing business information. It is a central repository for information that we all use on a daily basis to record ideas, communicate and coordinate product releases and manage business requirements for our development process. We also use Confluence as a way for the tech team to communicate with the business and marketing departments in the company.
  • Full featured
  • Secure
  • JIRA integration
  • Confusing interface
  • Cumbersome workflow
  • Difficult to orientate yourself when creating pages
Confluence is well suited to large to medium-sized, fragmented companies that are working on multiple complex projects. Less optimal for small teams that have smaller projects because of the amount of bloat. It is also more suited for teams that require a large level of inter-team communication around technical requirements.
Read Michael Gaylord's full review
John Doyle profile photo
February 01, 2018

Review: "Confluence seems to be very good early on"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Up until recently, my only interaction with Confluence was through clients that used it. I would typically access designs or mock ups within Confluence. Internally, we have used Jira for a long time, but always used other tools for project asset organization/reference. We made the move to Confluence within the last couple of months in order to make things easier to between project management and asset organization as Confluence and Jira work directly with one another.
  • Organizes and stores project assets, especially development/stage/build credentials across many different projects
  • Links with Jira quite seamlessly
  • So far it has ben relatively easy to find different types of assets across different projects as compared to our previous tools
  • Onboarding was not very intuitive
  • I am still unsure how to use the calendar feature
  • The "popular" feature doesn't fit my needs as I am consistently jumping across projects and really don't care what is popular.
Confluence is ideal if your organization already uses Jira as the two work seamlessly together, although I am still new to cross over and haven't figured out all the linking capabilities yet. Confluence seems to fit well within organizations that need to share numerous assets, and thoughts around those assets, across large project teams in order to streamline project management.
Read John Doyle's full review
No photo available
July 14, 2018

Review: "Confluence a nice addition to JIRA software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Confluence as a place to document all our I & O help articles and processes. We also build web pages for developers to use a quick reference point to look at test data and test environments. Also starting to build project requirements into these sites for IT and business teams to view and use.
  • Easy to set up pages
  • Collaboration is easy and has version history
  • Interacts well with JIRA software
  • More macros for customizing pages
  • Licensing is expensive is you want people to have edit privliges
  • Team Calendar plug in does not work well
Highly likely to recommend especially if IT organization is using JIRA. They work well together and it can be a good replacement for SharePoint if you are using that for housing requirements on IT projects. Easy to work with support team when issues do come up, create a ticket and response time is very good.
Read this authenticated review
Sean Scott profile photo
January 12, 2018

Review: "Confluence, solid document management tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Confluence to support internal documentation needs. It provides a version controlled, access manageable, configurable repository of knowledge and documentation for the company. It facilitates indexing and search of the document database for quick access to information. We use it globally in the organization as a clearinghouse of information on everything from technical procedures to organization charting.
  • WYSIWYG editing of content
  • Rich text formatting capabilities
  • Search and indexing of content
  • Sometimes search is overly inclusive or doesn't appear to be contextual, eg I may search for a keyword used frequently in a particular document, yet it appears lower in search results than others that use it less often.
  • Limiting searches, for example by business unit or time, can be clumsy or awkward to use.
  • Performance/speed.
Confluence makes it relatively easy to produce richly formatted documents for an organization. By making it easy, Confluence takes away many of the barriers individuals might find for not documenting procedures, etc. The key to success with Confluence is to configure an organizational structure efficiently from the outset. It becomes more difficult to change or reorganize once something is established, and can lead to poor search results of a fragmented document store.
Read Sean Scott's full review
Brian Taylor profile photo
January 12, 2018

Confluence Review: "Fantastic wiki and document management system"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For years, our organization was using a mix of Word documents on a file server and files in SharePoint, none of which were synchronized, most were out of date and nobody knew where to look for any one document. Enter Confluence. We were able to migrate all of our old documentation to Confluence where it's easily managed, searched, and updated. The live-edit feature is especially great as we're building system documentation or pulling together meeting minutes. We started with a pilot program of one department to see how efficiently it works but have since rolled it out the enterprise as our standardized documentation tool. Every department and project can now easily update, review, and publish documentation in a securely, and centrally accessible tool. It's the perfect combination of a document repository and wiki site.
  • Live-editing. This was a key component for us as some of our teams were used to using Google Docs specifically for this feature.
  • Site-wide searching. The search tool is fantastic and does search document contents so it's not just metadata that is being queried.
  • Tie-in with other Atlassian products. We use JIRA for task and project management and being able to link Confluence pages to JIRA tickets or have JIRA Service Desk use Confluence as a Help Desk Knowledge Base for simple Tier 0 support was a key selling point for us.
  • Out-of-the-box templates. While you can definitely define your own templates for pages, the OOTB templates provided are sufficient for 90% of what we need. Meaning that documentation is standardized and simple for our users to create new pages or content.
  • Pricing. As with all Atlassian products, the demo pricing of $10 is great. However, the hop to the next pricing tier can be hard to justify without a strong business case.
  • No folder support. Unlike SharePoint, there are no folders to organize documents under. This is a feature as the hierarchy is meant to be flexible, similar to a wiki site. Migrating from SharePoint or a file server on the other hand is a bit laborious.
  • Consistency across Atlassian Suite. Each Atlassian product has their own version of the system settings, which as an administrator of multiple products, makes it a bit of a headache to remember where Confluence keeps their SMTP settings, versus where JIRA keeps theirs, etc. Thankfully we have a Confluence page to document the differences.
  • OOTB features. Counterintuitive to my pluses, there are some major features that are lacking out-of-the-box. There is a marketplace to find add-ons, and using the RestAPI you can easily build your own if you have the time and expertise in-house, but it would be great if some features, like a reporting dashboard for JIRA, were built-in OOTB.
As a collaborative, wiki style tool, it excels above most other products I've tried. The live-editing feature, plus the simple page-level security settings, document preview support, and a number of other features really make it an awesome tool for the job. Where it doesn't quite excel is if you need a strict document repository. Due to the licensing and pricing, you'd be better off using SharePoint or another lower-cost-per-user tool. Confluence's strength is with the understanding that these documents and pages are live and regularly updated. Not static documents that are updated once a year or so.
Read Brian Taylor's full review
Daniel Blazquez profile photo
January 16, 2018

Confluence Review: "Complex project workhorse"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my current company different teams have some freedom to choose organizational tools as they see fit. I have used Confluence for the most part of the year, as part of a new product development engagement in the software engineering department of one of our consumer brands. In this particular project it is used as an agile communication and collaborative documentation tool.
  • Larger teams working in complex projects
  • Cross functional communication with multiple departments
  • General usability
  • Smaller projects might suffer from a large overhead due to the particularities of the tool
  • It was not easy for me to liberate the data (export it to my computer)
Based on what I have seen, large teams (10+ people) working on complex projects (100s of requirements) with many types of "media" files (renders, engineering schemes, drawings, etc) will benefit the most from Confluence. I was impressed by the powerful tools to manipulate "non-text" files, and to adapt the content to different screens and devices. On the other hand, smaller projects will experience a significant "tool overhead" due to the (relative) complexity of the tool. A significant factor will be how handy are the team admins, as they might become bottlenecks to run the sites (configure flows, create sub-sites, etc).
Read Daniel Blazquez's full review
Gil Lopez CTS ING profile photo
January 15, 2018

Confluence Review: "Knowledge Sharing and Process Management - The easy(ier) way"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Atlassian Confluence has been instrumental in documenting the evolution in our business practice in a wide variety of topics. We use it to disseminate information ranging from HR, to technical knowledge sharing, to procedural administration. Associates of all levels use it to share, learn, publish and research as well. The front end is easy to use and the customization abilities allow for a professional look that is appealing to readers and contributes to a positive user experience (UX).
  • Searching for subjects or topics is easy and yield accurate and relevant results that can be tracked to their origin. This is important when researching a subject back to its origin.
  • Authoring capabilities are comprehensive, allowing users to produce from single scripts to full-fledged manuals with graphics and active content.
  • Integration with other tools is very useful to maintain a unified platform, consistent throughout the enterprise.
  • Customization features allow for branding and personal touches.
  • The ability to add reminders or expiration dates to topics would be a welcome feature. It is easy to forget about temporary items that stay in the system forever.
  • A quick-start tutorial in the form of video would be nice for those that want to jump into producing quickly.
  • An auto-start feature when logging in to the workstation would be a nice feature to get users quickly on board.
Confluence is great for documenting internal processes that are part of the on-boarding process of new hires. The document is used by the trainer and can be accessed by the trainee at a later date to refresh their knowledge on the subject. The same process is very useful to observe the evolution of a training program and edit as needed for improvements or lessons learned.
Read Gil Lopez CTS ING's full review
Bobbejo Kohler profile photo
September 27, 2017

User Review: "Confluence for Collaboration"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company was always ok at documenting, but not consistent and we did not have a place to collaborate and share. This meant that documents were being created multiple times and in silos. With Confluence we have become better at documentation and sharing information. We also took time to plan out how we wanted our spaces to flow and what information belong where. For example, instead of every department having their own set of documents we found that having a client space and a landing page per client gave us a streamlined approach to organize.
  • If you use JIRA then having Confluence is a no brainier. The out of the box integration is worth the money!
  • There is no need to check in / check out documents. Live editing makes collaboration easy.
  • Reduces the need to email meeting notes and have multiple people save copies locally.
  • Confluence table functions could be improved.
  • The email notifications that are sent when a watched page is changed could be improved to highlight the changes better.
  • There is no easy way to see all comments in a view.
Confluence is perfect for meeting notes, design documents, lessons learned, policies and procedures.
I would not use Confluence for items that need to be tracked through a workflow or where time needs to be captured.
Read Bobbejo Kohler's full review
No photo available
January 17, 2018

"Atlassian Confluence - basic user review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We (stake managers who write stories for the development team) use it for creating the backlog for the development team and the development team uses it for managing sprints. The interface is very intuitive, so even users with no experience or knowledge of the process can easily understand it. Confluence helps us prioritize different development tasks from the business and revenue standpoint and we can also track how successful our dev team was in each sprint, which makes estimation of the following sprits easier.
  • Dashboard with backlog of dev tasks. Prioritization becomes just a matter of drugging items in the list and assigning points to each task. Super easy.
  • Sprint reports are also very helpful, they allow us to estimate how successful was our last sprint and what should be changed to successfully finish next sprint on time.
  • Cards for writing user stories are very intuitive and even people from production department, with no technical knowledge whatsoever can write a story.
  • Integrations with major calendars (Google, Apple, Outlook etc.) would be a good idea.
  • No other issues.
I think it's great for any project, as it helps to structure and streamline the process. Maybe the only scenario where it wouldn't be as appropriate would be a big art team with a lot of images and other art assets that they would need to collaborate on.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 16, 2018

Confluence Review: "Good, simple tool for collaboration"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is used as a wiki in our backend when multiple users need to see information or [to] update pages.
  • Links right in from Jira
  • Easy to update pages and add information
  • Contacts you when others have made changes to certain pages
  • Feels like you're in Jira but it actually leaves Jira. Would be nice if you could move back and forth easily instead of using the browser back button
  • It's simplistic and I think they should keep it that way instead of complicating things
Good team board for text functionality and sharing of information. Maybe not so much for creating a good looking knowledge base or team board.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 15, 2018

"Confluence Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is being used as a source of documentation across many areas of our company. I am in the technology department, so I use it mostly with our technology products. It helps share documentation easily across our company.
  • Documentation
  • Integrations of different charts
  • Permissions
  • I think the user experience is not the best. It is not the easiest product to use and doesn't have a great look and feel
I think confluence is good enough at documentation, but I think the user experience can improve. I use it specifically for documenting our technology products and sharing them with different people across the organization. I think it suits well for that purpose.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (39)
7.3
Gantt Charts (12)
7.3
Scheduling (21)
7.1
Workflow Automation (27)
7.6
Mobile Access (33)
7.0
Search (46)
7.2
Visual planning tools (38)
7.6
Chat (15)
6.5
Notifications (47)
7.9
Discussions (44)
8.2
Surveys (15)
7.3
Internal knowledgebase (42)
8.9
Integrates with GoToMeeting (3)
6.0
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (7)
8.5
Integrates with Outlook (10)
9.0
Versioning (39)
9.1
Video files (26)
7.4
Audio files (23)
8.1
Document collaboration (44)
8.3
Access control (42)
8.3
Advanced security features (30)
8.1
Integrates with Google Drive (12)
7.6
Device sync (16)
8.3

About Confluence

Confluence aims to give you the power to create anything and everything, from meeting notes, project plans, product requirements, and more. Include multimedia, dynamic content, and make your work come to life.

Share PDFs, Office docs, images, and more in Confluence. Automatic versioning, instant previews, full-text search, and pinned comments make it easy to manage your files.

Confluence Features

Project Management Features
Has featureTask Management
Does not have featureGantt Charts
Does not have featureScheduling
Has featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureFile tracking
Has featureTagging
Has featureSearch
Has featureIntegrates with other Project Management Tools
Has featureVisual planning tools
Communication Features
Does not have featureChat
Has featureStatus updates and activity feed
Has featureNotifications
Has featureComments and feedback
Has featureDiscussions
Has featureUser directory and online status
Has featureSharing and privacy
Does not have featureSurveys
Has featureInternal knowledgebase
Does not have featureIntegrates with Skype
Does not have featureIntegrates with GoToMeeting
Does not have featureIntegrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts
Does not have featureIntegrates with Outlook
File Sharing & Management Features
Has featureVersioning
Has featureDocument files
Has featureImage files
Has featureVideo files
Has featureAudio files
Has featureDocument collaboration
Has featureShared folders
Has featureAccess control
Has featureAdvanced security features
Has featureIntegrates with Google Drive
Does not have featureIntegrates with SharePoint
Has featureDevice sync
Has featureWeb interface
Has featureFile change notifications
Has featureSimultaneous editing

Confluence Integrations

Confluence Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Confluence Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Confluence Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No