TrustRadius
Confluence is a collaboration and content sharing platform used primarily by customers who are already using Atlassian's Jira project tracking product. The product appeals particularly to IT users.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/qW/eX/U73JLJED2UUG.JPEGConfluence does a lot, but needs to be more user friendlyWe use Confluence across our organization. We all work remotely so it is a place where we can collaborate on projects, we post our meeting agendas, we post tutorials, training, etc. Any content that employees need to access to do their jobs we put on Confluence. For example, we can put processes on how to complete certain tasks on confluence and we also task each other to complete certain items.,Organizing content so that people can find what they are looking for. Putting restrictions on certain pages so that it can be seen/edited by appropriate employees Letting people collaborate on documents simultaneously notifying when a page has been updated combining content with tasks so that things get done,The tables feature is horrible. Really hard to edit, and make look nice. I end of just posting screen shots of excel. It can be confusing and overwhelming for new users. I would not say it is intuitive.,7,Overall, I think the impact of Confluence has been positive. As a remote team, it simplifies process and communication for us. Confluence streamlines group work and tasks to make it clear who is doing what they should be doing Some of my employees do complain that confluence is hard to use and that they can't navigate around very well.,PandaDoc, Slack, HubSpotThe best thing for documentation.After getting comfortable with Confluence, it is very efficient and easy to do documentation.It allows to import and export the information stored in any format.It allows for the other team members to have joint access to the information.It helps in optimizing any work for a company.It is compatible with every Atlassian product.Apart from advantages, it has some cons as well. It sometimes faces performance lack.Some integration features are difficult to figure out and take time to get comfortable.Takes the huge amount of space, as a result, takes time to load as well.,It allows to import and export the information stored in any format. It allows for the other team members to have joint access to the information. It helps in optimizing any work for a company. It is compatible with every Atlassian product.,It sometimes faces performance lack. Takes the huge amount of space, as a result, takes time to load as well. Some integration features are difficult to figure out and take time to get comfortable.,9,Compared with many developments, project management and collaboration tools with the same richness of features, and especially for the improved communications and optimization brought back to the organization that really uses them. Atlassian tools are not expensive. It makes good collaboration with other Atlassian products and because of which makes itself better than for that price.,Nuclino,JIRA Software, IntelliJ WebStorm, TrelloConfluence - A good task management and decision tracking toolConfluence is being used at my organization to track action items, high level requirements, and decisions that are made in meetings.,It's easy to tag other Confluence users on questions and action items - which generates alerts to them The formatting of pages in Confluence is fairly easy to control and change to meet the needs of a particular page The tool set, in general, is fairly approachable and intuitive,Most of the tools my organization uses are controlled with a "single sign-on". Confluence, unfortunately, is not, but to be honest that might not be due to a limitation of Confluence. I don't know enough about the inner workings and available features to know for sure.,6,Confluence has given us a new way to collaborate between teams and offices,OneNote and MS SharePointBig and complicated but will get the job doneConfluence is used by the whole company as a repository for managing and storing business information. It is a central repository for information that we all use on a daily basis to record ideas, communicate and coordinate product releases and manage business requirements for our development process. We also use Confluence as a way for the tech team to communicate with the business and marketing departments in the company.,Full featured Secure Jira integration,Confusing interface Cumbersome workflow Difficult to orientate yourself when creating pages,3,It has helped with communication in a positive way Due to its confusing interface it can be hard for non-technical members of the team to adopt and contribute It is a great central repository of information that the company can refer to whenever requirements need to specc'ed or discussed,Trello, JIRA Software, Aha!Confluence a nice addition to JIRA softwareWe use Confluence as a place to document all our I & O help articles and processes. We also build web pages for developers to use a quick reference point to look at test data and test environments. Also starting to build project requirements into these sites for IT and business teams to view and use.,Easy to set up pages Collaboration is easy and has version history Interacts well with JIRA software,More macros for customizing pages Licensing is expensive is you want people to have edit privliges Team Calendar plug in does not work well,9,Could lead us to get off SharePoint at some date Adaption has been really high and saved time with cross team communications Web pages are easy to build and update,MS SharePoint
Windows, Linux, Mac
Atlassian Confluence
699 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

Confluence Reviews

Confluence
699 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 699 vetted Confluence reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 51)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 03, 2018

Review: "Confluence does a lot, but needs to be more user friendly"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Confluence across our organization. We all work remotely so it is a place where we can collaborate on projects, we post our meeting agendas, we post tutorials, training, etc. Any content that employees need to access to do their jobs we put on Confluence. For example, we can put processes on how to complete certain tasks on confluence and we also task each other to complete certain items.
  • Organizing content so that people can find what they are looking for.
  • Putting restrictions on certain pages so that it can be seen/edited by appropriate employees
  • Letting people collaborate on documents simultaneously
  • notifying when a page has been updated
  • combining content with tasks so that things get done
  • The tables feature is horrible. Really hard to edit, and make look nice. I end of just posting screen shots of excel.
  • It can be confusing and overwhelming for new users. I would not say it is intuitive.
It works well for remote teams that need to communicate and keep track of many projects happening all at once. It keeps everything all in one place so that everyone can find things and we all know where stuff should go. If you are tracking KPIs using complicated formulas in excel, you will find it annoying to try and replicate that in confluence.
Read Holly Wallace Nielsen's full review
September 06, 2018

Confluence Review: "The best thing for documentation."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  1. After getting comfortable with Confluence, it is very efficient and easy to do documentation.
  2. It allows to import and export the information stored in any format.
  3. It allows for the other team members to have joint access to the information.
  4. It helps in optimizing any work for a company.
  5. It is compatible with every Atlassian product.
  6. Apart from advantages, it has some cons as well. It sometimes faces performance lack.
  7. Some integration features are difficult to figure out and take time to get comfortable.
  8. Takes the huge amount of space, as a result, takes time to load as well.
  • It allows to import and export the information stored in any format.
  • It allows for the other team members to have joint access to the information.
  • It helps in optimizing any work for a company.
  • It is compatible with every Atlassian product.
  • It sometimes faces performance lack.
  • Takes the huge amount of space, as a result, takes time to load as well.
  • Some integration features are difficult to figure out and take time to get comfortable.
We are allowed to use Confluence to write anything and can write too much about the product. Team members can access the same information and make changes. No more wasted time trying to find feedback trapped in your email or chat thread. It uses a structured hierarchy and a powerful search engine to find work quickly and easily.
Read Jayant Rana's full review
May 24, 2018

Review: "Confluence - A good task management and decision tracking tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is being used at my organization to track action items, high level requirements, and decisions that are made in meetings.
  • It's easy to tag other Confluence users on questions and action items - which generates alerts to them
  • The formatting of pages in Confluence is fairly easy to control and change to meet the needs of a particular page
  • The tool set, in general, is fairly approachable and intuitive
  • Most of the tools my organization uses are controlled with a "single sign-on". Confluence, unfortunately, is not, but to be honest that might not be due to a limitation of Confluence. I don't know enough about the inner workings and available features to know for sure.
It's a decent generic tool for keeping track of group decisions and action items. I don't know that it is any better or worse than other similarly purposed tools that I've used though - such as OneNote.
Read Jarod Bonino's full review
May 18, 2018

Confluence Review: "Big and complicated but will get the job done"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is used by the whole company as a repository for managing and storing business information. It is a central repository for information that we all use on a daily basis to record ideas, communicate and coordinate product releases and manage business requirements for our development process. We also use Confluence as a way for the tech team to communicate with the business and marketing departments in the company.
  • Full featured
  • Secure
  • JIRA integration
  • Confusing interface
  • Cumbersome workflow
  • Difficult to orientate yourself when creating pages
Confluence is well suited to large to medium-sized, fragmented companies that are working on multiple complex projects. Less optimal for small teams that have smaller projects because of the amount of bloat. It is also more suited for teams that require a large level of inter-team communication around technical requirements.
Read Michael Gaylord's full review
July 14, 2018

Review: "Confluence a nice addition to JIRA software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Confluence as a place to document all our I & O help articles and processes. We also build web pages for developers to use a quick reference point to look at test data and test environments. Also starting to build project requirements into these sites for IT and business teams to view and use.
  • Easy to set up pages
  • Collaboration is easy and has version history
  • Interacts well with JIRA software
  • More macros for customizing pages
  • Licensing is expensive is you want people to have edit privliges
  • Team Calendar plug in does not work well
Highly likely to recommend especially if IT organization is using JIRA. They work well together and it can be a good replacement for SharePoint if you are using that for housing requirements on IT projects. Easy to work with support team when issues do come up, create a ticket and response time is very good.
Read this authenticated review
January 23, 2018

"Atlassian Confluence Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Atlassian Confluence is being used as a knowledge base for our entire organization. The software enables our staff to share knowledge easily, across our different offices around the world. We have created different sections of the knowledge base, so each department has their own "area" if you will on the platform, where staff from each department can post relevant information company-wide. This avoids the redundancy of emails and creates a database of company information, as well as shared knowledge.
  • Atlassian Confluence organizes documents well. This is a strength in my opinion as our staff can search for documentation easily.
  • Atlassian Confluence also allows for various people to edit the same document. This helps with collaboration.
  • Atlassian Confluence has many products that can plug into the Confluence platform. We have various products that all work together and enable different functionality for our users.
  • Atlassian is not intuitive for the user. Several of our staff who have not received training on the platform find that it is not user-friendly.
  • Posting on Atlassian can also take more time than expected due to the plethora of options available.
  • Atlassian Confluence does not always look the same in different internet browsers. In talking with a co-worker, he told me it works best on Chrome. My computer has IE and Chrome, so I have to be sure I am using Chrome when I log into Confluence.
Atlassian Confluence is well suited for a knowledge base, where an organization can post their important documents and allow for collaboration among colleagues. It is also very good for storing documentation and disseminating information. The platform might be less appropriate to store generic company documents or anything that is not proprietary.
Read Alexandria Alvarez Gerbasi's full review
January 12, 2018

Review: "Confluence, solid document management tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Confluence to support internal documentation needs. It provides a version controlled, access manageable, configurable repository of knowledge and documentation for the company. It facilitates indexing and search of the document database for quick access to information. We use it globally in the organization as a clearinghouse of information on everything from technical procedures to organization charting.
  • WYSIWYG editing of content
  • Rich text formatting capabilities
  • Search and indexing of content
  • Sometimes search is overly inclusive or doesn't appear to be contextual, eg I may search for a keyword used frequently in a particular document, yet it appears lower in search results than others that use it less often.
  • Limiting searches, for example by business unit or time, can be clumsy or awkward to use.
  • Performance/speed.
Confluence makes it relatively easy to produce richly formatted documents for an organization. By making it easy, Confluence takes away many of the barriers individuals might find for not documenting procedures, etc. The key to success with Confluence is to configure an organizational structure efficiently from the outset. It becomes more difficult to change or reorganize once something is established, and can lead to poor search results of a fragmented document store.
Read Sean Scott's full review
January 12, 2018

Confluence Review: "Fantastic wiki and document management system"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For years, our organization was using a mix of Word documents on a file server and files in SharePoint, none of which were synchronized, most were out of date and nobody knew where to look for any one document. Enter Confluence. We were able to migrate all of our old documentation to Confluence where it's easily managed, searched, and updated. The live-edit feature is especially great as we're building system documentation or pulling together meeting minutes. We started with a pilot program of one department to see how efficiently it works but have since rolled it out the enterprise as our standardized documentation tool. Every department and project can now easily update, review, and publish documentation in a securely, and centrally accessible tool. It's the perfect combination of a document repository and wiki site.
  • Live-editing. This was a key component for us as some of our teams were used to using Google Docs specifically for this feature.
  • Site-wide searching. The search tool is fantastic and does search document contents so it's not just metadata that is being queried.
  • Tie-in with other Atlassian products. We use JIRA for task and project management and being able to link Confluence pages to JIRA tickets or have JIRA Service Desk use Confluence as a Help Desk Knowledge Base for simple Tier 0 support was a key selling point for us.
  • Out-of-the-box templates. While you can definitely define your own templates for pages, the OOTB templates provided are sufficient for 90% of what we need. Meaning that documentation is standardized and simple for our users to create new pages or content.
  • Pricing. As with all Atlassian products, the demo pricing of $10 is great. However, the hop to the next pricing tier can be hard to justify without a strong business case.
  • No folder support. Unlike SharePoint, there are no folders to organize documents under. This is a feature as the hierarchy is meant to be flexible, similar to a wiki site. Migrating from SharePoint or a file server on the other hand is a bit laborious.
  • Consistency across Atlassian Suite. Each Atlassian product has their own version of the system settings, which as an administrator of multiple products, makes it a bit of a headache to remember where Confluence keeps their SMTP settings, versus where JIRA keeps theirs, etc. Thankfully we have a Confluence page to document the differences.
  • OOTB features. Counterintuitive to my pluses, there are some major features that are lacking out-of-the-box. There is a marketplace to find add-ons, and using the RestAPI you can easily build your own if you have the time and expertise in-house, but it would be great if some features, like a reporting dashboard for JIRA, were built-in OOTB.
As a collaborative, wiki style tool, it excels above most other products I've tried. The live-editing feature, plus the simple page-level security settings, document preview support, and a number of other features really make it an awesome tool for the job. Where it doesn't quite excel is if you need a strict document repository. Due to the licensing and pricing, you'd be better off using SharePoint or another lower-cost-per-user tool. Confluence's strength is with the understanding that these documents and pages are live and regularly updated. Not static documents that are updated once a year or so.
Read Brian Taylor's full review
February 01, 2018

Review: "Confluence seems to be very good early on"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Up until recently, my only interaction with Confluence was through clients that used it. I would typically access designs or mock ups within Confluence. Internally, we have used Jira for a long time, but always used other tools for project asset organization/reference. We made the move to Confluence within the last couple of months in order to make things easier to between project management and asset organization as Confluence and Jira work directly with one another.
  • Organizes and stores project assets, especially development/stage/build credentials across many different projects
  • Links with Jira quite seamlessly
  • So far it has ben relatively easy to find different types of assets across different projects as compared to our previous tools
  • Onboarding was not very intuitive
  • I am still unsure how to use the calendar feature
  • The "popular" feature doesn't fit my needs as I am consistently jumping across projects and really don't care what is popular.
Confluence is ideal if your organization already uses Jira as the two work seamlessly together, although I am still new to cross over and haven't figured out all the linking capabilities yet. Confluence seems to fit well within organizations that need to share numerous assets, and thoughts around those assets, across large project teams in order to streamline project management.
Read John Doyle's full review
January 16, 2018

Confluence Review: "Complex project workhorse"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my current company different teams have some freedom to choose organizational tools as they see fit. I have used Confluence for the most part of the year, as part of a new product development engagement in the software engineering department of one of our consumer brands. In this particular project it is used as an agile communication and collaborative documentation tool.
  • Larger teams working in complex projects
  • Cross functional communication with multiple departments
  • General usability
  • Smaller projects might suffer from a large overhead due to the particularities of the tool
  • It was not easy for me to liberate the data (export it to my computer)
Based on what I have seen, large teams (10+ people) working on complex projects (100s of requirements) with many types of "media" files (renders, engineering schemes, drawings, etc) will benefit the most from Confluence. I was impressed by the powerful tools to manipulate "non-text" files, and to adapt the content to different screens and devices. On the other hand, smaller projects will experience a significant "tool overhead" due to the (relative) complexity of the tool. A significant factor will be how handy are the team admins, as they might become bottlenecks to run the sites (configure flows, create sub-sites, etc).
Read Daniel Blazquez's full review
January 15, 2018

Confluence Review: "Knowledge Sharing and Process Management - The easy(ier) way"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Atlassian Confluence has been instrumental in documenting the evolution in our business practice in a wide variety of topics. We use it to disseminate information ranging from HR, to technical knowledge sharing, to procedural administration. Associates of all levels use it to share, learn, publish and research as well. The front end is easy to use and the customization abilities allow for a professional look that is appealing to readers and contributes to a positive user experience (UX).
  • Searching for subjects or topics is easy and yield accurate and relevant results that can be tracked to their origin. This is important when researching a subject back to its origin.
  • Authoring capabilities are comprehensive, allowing users to produce from single scripts to full-fledged manuals with graphics and active content.
  • Integration with other tools is very useful to maintain a unified platform, consistent throughout the enterprise.
  • Customization features allow for branding and personal touches.
  • The ability to add reminders or expiration dates to topics would be a welcome feature. It is easy to forget about temporary items that stay in the system forever.
  • A quick-start tutorial in the form of video would be nice for those that want to jump into producing quickly.
  • An auto-start feature when logging in to the workstation would be a nice feature to get users quickly on board.
Confluence is great for documenting internal processes that are part of the on-boarding process of new hires. The document is used by the trainer and can be accessed by the trainee at a later date to refresh their knowledge on the subject. The same process is very useful to observe the evolution of a training program and edit as needed for improvements or lessons learned.
Read Gil Lopez CTS ING's full review
September 27, 2017

User Review: "Confluence for Collaboration"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company was always ok at documenting, but not consistent and we did not have a place to collaborate and share. This meant that documents were being created multiple times and in silos. With Confluence we have become better at documentation and sharing information. We also took time to plan out how we wanted our spaces to flow and what information belong where. For example, instead of every department having their own set of documents we found that having a client space and a landing page per client gave us a streamlined approach to organize.
  • If you use JIRA then having Confluence is a no brainier. The out of the box integration is worth the money!
  • There is no need to check in / check out documents. Live editing makes collaboration easy.
  • Reduces the need to email meeting notes and have multiple people save copies locally.
  • Confluence table functions could be improved.
  • The email notifications that are sent when a watched page is changed could be improved to highlight the changes better.
  • There is no easy way to see all comments in a view.
Confluence is perfect for meeting notes, design documents, lessons learned, policies and procedures.
I would not use Confluence for items that need to be tracked through a workflow or where time needs to be captured.
Read Bobbejo Kohler's full review
January 17, 2018

"Atlassian Confluence - basic user review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We (stake managers who write stories for the development team) use it for creating the backlog for the development team and the development team uses it for managing sprints. The interface is very intuitive, so even users with no experience or knowledge of the process can easily understand it. Confluence helps us prioritize different development tasks from the business and revenue standpoint and we can also track how successful our dev team was in each sprint, which makes estimation of the following sprits easier.
  • Dashboard with backlog of dev tasks. Prioritization becomes just a matter of drugging items in the list and assigning points to each task. Super easy.
  • Sprint reports are also very helpful, they allow us to estimate how successful was our last sprint and what should be changed to successfully finish next sprint on time.
  • Cards for writing user stories are very intuitive and even people from production department, with no technical knowledge whatsoever can write a story.
  • Integrations with major calendars (Google, Apple, Outlook etc.) would be a good idea.
  • No other issues.
I think it's great for any project, as it helps to structure and streamline the process. Maybe the only scenario where it wouldn't be as appropriate would be a big art team with a lot of images and other art assets that they would need to collaborate on.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2018

Confluence Review: "Good, simple tool for collaboration"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is used as a wiki in our backend when multiple users need to see information or [to] update pages.
  • Links right in from Jira
  • Easy to update pages and add information
  • Contacts you when others have made changes to certain pages
  • Feels like you're in Jira but it actually leaves Jira. Would be nice if you could move back and forth easily instead of using the browser back button
  • It's simplistic and I think they should keep it that way instead of complicating things
Good team board for text functionality and sharing of information. Maybe not so much for creating a good looking knowledge base or team board.
Read this authenticated review
January 15, 2018

"Confluence Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is being used as a source of documentation across many areas of our company. I am in the technology department, so I use it mostly with our technology products. It helps share documentation easily across our company.
  • Documentation
  • Integrations of different charts
  • Permissions
  • I think the user experience is not the best. It is not the easiest product to use and doesn't have a great look and feel
I think confluence is good enough at documentation, but I think the user experience can improve. I use it specifically for documenting our technology products and sharing them with different people across the organization. I think it suits well for that purpose.
Read this authenticated review
January 12, 2018

Confluence Review: "Get Work Done Together"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is being used in our organization across marketing, sales, enablement and the executive team. It is currently being used as a data repository for marketing materials and sales enablement materials. It serves as a place where my team members can add in work, comment on documents, and collaborate as a team. When new hires come on board, Confluence provides a history of the projects and the work that has already been done.
  • Collaboration tool - best way for teams to collaborate on upcoming projects or previous projects that have already been done. Great for people that come on board.
  • Shared calendar - lets you see when people have time off scheduled as well as deadlines, and it can all be color coded.
  • Integration - integrates very well with Jira, Google, Slack.
  • Cost - there are tons of add-ons that are costly and not included in the main package when you purchase the software. like the calendar and other tools which should be native functionality.
  • Updates - are very much behind the times. There is a lacking in the product functionality that is very common with other collaboration tools.
  • customization - this can be very hard if multiple departments are using the same instance. typically you have to run with the same customization across the entire organization.
Finding the actual documents you want can be very challenging. This could be the way we have set up Confluence in our instance but it requires a lot of scrolling; [there's]not much of a search ability and is pretty tedious to get documents and files updated.
Read this authenticated review
August 22, 2017

User Review: "Congregate around Confluence"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is being used across our entire organization as an information hub. It creates a shared space that all departments can access. Previously, it was difficult to find one central space to share files, meeting notes, and general information. Additionally, departments were hiding information in places that other departments couldn't necessarily access so it was hard to find information across departments. Now, we have a centralized location where information lives and that the whole company can efficiently access.
  • Connecting to other applications including Google Drive and Slack.
  • Providing macros that allow users to create pages that meet specific design/format criteria.
  • Updating users when other users make changes or mention them on a page.
  • They recently changed the interface and it's not as intuitive or easy to use as the former UI.
  • When issues arise, it's difficult to understand what the issue is or what's wrong. Sometimes it's even difficult to explain the problem to customer support so that they can accurately address the issue.
  • Needs to be a way to limit updates (via email or via Slack) to only be crucial updates.
I don't think Confluence works well with assigning out tasks—not as well as other applications, at least. I also think it could have a better method for actually storing/attaching documents instead of just linking them out to Google Drive or other document sources. Confluence works very well for meeting notes, I must say. Prior to use, we rarely shared meeting notes OR we shared them in a long, confusing string of emails.
Read this authenticated review
March 29, 2017

Confluence Review: "Solid collaboration tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is used throughout the organization. We use it as a documentation repository, for everything from software designs, to customer contact information, to public-facing company documents, to holding the recorded videos of meetings. Confluence allows us to organize the documentation for all of the various groups in the company and to collaborate on designs for our products.
  • Provides tools to quickly and easily author simple documents.
  • Provides inline review tools for documents.
  • Provides @mention capability for people in the organization to draw attention to specific issues
  • Search capability is basic at best
  • There's little to no real ability to make documents look pretty
  • Multi-user collaboration on a single document is primitive. Something more of the order of Google Docs is more appropriate.
Suited:
- Review and comment on documents produced by a single user
- Repository of 'accepted' documents and processes
- Basic documentation

Unsuited
- Multi user collaborative content creation
- Non-basic formatted docs
Read this authenticated review
March 06, 2017

Review: "Confluence - the one-stop-shop for collaboration tool!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is used to collect all knowledge articles, meeting notes, ideas worth sharing and so on. We also use it a lot to generally describe new features, collect feedback and refine the general spec of the feature before taking it into action. It helps a lot, mainly in centralizing all the "scattered" information in the company under one, simple, framework.
  • Very simple and intuitive user interface.
  • Very easy to go ahead and start writing, very low "learning curve", really fun.
  • No need for a different authoring tool, compile and publish cycles. Simply edit and save and voila!
  • It makes documenting stuff a breeze, and really fun!
  • Good import/export functionality to Word, PDF.
  • Editing features are quite simplistic and limited. Would love to see more font styles, color selectors, and themes.
  • It's not clear how to make confluence a public web site documentation tool.
  • No built-in support for placing and showing presentations from the tool. Instead of attaching a PowerPoint presentation, I'd like to prepare pages as slides and show them from the tool. Either an add-on is needed for that, or not supported at all.
[It's] very good for knowledge base articles, how-to stuff, ideas, and feedback. It will dramatically reduce the number of documents running around across the company and centralize intellectual property in one place - which is great.

It is less good when it comes to document management where it lacks functionality - as it aims to be a content management and not document management system.
Read Yaron Lavi's full review
October 05, 2016

Review: "Confluence - A jack of all trades collaboration tool"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence was used by the entire organization to track product development for a team using agile scrum methodology. It was used solely for this purpose, although I've previously used Confluence for Kanban, support ticket tracking, and wiki/documentation.
  • Confluence tries to provide a lot of team collaboration features under one cohesive product, and it succeeds in giving the user an integrated experience throughout its product(s).
  • Confluence is highly configurable to suit different needs and processes a team may have for managing their work.
  • Confluence has a developer API which offers even further customization and automation possibilities.
  • Confluence as a whole is very resource intensive and runs extremely slowly. This was the main reason our team abandoned it as our scrum tracking solution.
  • The number of configuration options can cause the application to be confusing if you're wanting to tweak any of the defaults.
  • The relationship between Kanban, backlog and sprint views could be particularly counter-intuitive.
In a larger organization, performance/responsiveness may not be as big an issue, and may be a cost worth paying for a cohesive product that could be used company-wide. In order to attract smaller businesses, it would have to really optimize performance to feel "lean" enough to be worth using. For support ticket tracking, especially when integrated with HipChat, I found Confluence to be a powerful tool, but for agile/scrum there are better tools out there that are more specialized to accommodate the requirements of the process.
Read David McCann's full review
March 21, 2017

User Review: "Not many cons for Confluence"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is used by our organization to collect process documentation, general knowledge, build notes, WebEx and PowerPoint presentations, programming notes and so on. It's a great way to gather a bunch of loose data under one umbrella. It's also integrated really well with JIRA and makes hopping back and forth simple and efficient.
  • Integration with JIRA
  • Allows for customization
  • Attractive and simple interface
  • Easy to learn and use
  • Large community of users to draw tips from
  • Poor document editing
  • Documents organization is not intuitive
  • The interface is attractive but could allow for more customization of fonts and colors, etc
Great for collecting documentation, less so for organizing and creating documentation. The learning curve is easy to surmount and there's a fair amount of flexibility for layouts but less so for beautification.
Read this authenticated review
August 05, 2016

Review: "Confluence - bringing organization and documentation to an unorganized/undocumented group"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Confluence is primarily used for our Information Technology staff, along with non-IT users that are heavily involved in our programming, development, and design processes. We use it for a few major categories:
  • Internal IT documentation and notes
  • Project/meeting notes, agendas
  • Collaboration between IT and many non-IT areas
A number of staff use the "Personal Space" feature for their less formalized notes, plans, etc.

We use it instead of Sharepoint or some other technologies we have access to as it provides a great and easy to use place to collaborate, keep notes, and keep organized.

Note: we did not use or attempt to use any integrations with Outlook, Google Hangouts, Gotomeeting/webex/etc., so any questions I answer saying Confluence does not have them isn't necessarily accurate (there is just no option on Trust Radius to say "don't know").
  • Confluence is incredibly easy to use - and is simple for both technical and non-technical staff to use. It is easy to create content, and edit existing content.
  • The template system makes it easy for people to keep to a consistent format for some tasks, and creating new templates is pretty easy.
  • The system is easy to update and administer. It requires very little time and resources, especially since the 4.x/5.x versions.
  • It integrates well with our multifactor authentication system (Duo).
  • It is still very annoying that Atlassian does not support MariaDB, the default MySQL database that is used by all major Linux distributions now. This is even more of an annoyance since there has been a case open since 2013 that they have given little or no response to: https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/CONF-29060
  • The mobile site, at least on android isn't that great. Our staff uses it to get info while away from their computers, but never to edit/update content.
  • Some users have issues with navigating the system, primarily when they are more used to a lack of organization (i.e. files dumped in a single network share directory). A tutorial about how to organize content couldn't hurt - though it isn't a major issue.
  • Some functionality which should be (in my opinion) part of the core application is supplied by third-party commercial plugins (like Creately).
There really needs to be someone with a good sense for how content should be laid out and named working in each space. Without an initial content organizer of sorts, things get a bit chaotic.

It isn't just a replacement for a traditional network drive or Dropbox though - and users seeking something like that may have issues shifting culture in that direction.
Read Paul Chauvet's full review
July 20, 2016

Confluence: "A great tool for large distributed agile teams to collaborate, create and maintain business logic and more"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm currently working at Velocity Partners, an off-shore company based in several countries and we provide custom development services to US companies. Our main added value is being agile, and being agile requires the right skills and the right tools. Confluence is for most part the best agile tool I have worked with so far. It provides a way to place documentation in one unique place making it available for large distributed teams. This tool has great integrations with other tools of the same family like Bitbucket and JIRA.
Most importantly, you are not forced to only use the Bitbucket family tools but it provides ways to integrate with different third party platforms. If you are a team manager you can gain access to metrics that allow you to know at every time who's working on what. Assets like documents can have a versioning control.
  • Storing sensitive business logic documentation
  • Control versioning of assets
  • Providing metrics of the activity of every user
  • Advanced search features
  • Custom search filters per user
  • Integration with other Bitbucket family products such as JIRA
  • Integration with source control systems based on git
  • They could provide support for more languages regarding the document where you have to add source code.
  • When you submit a new ticket regarding an improvement it has to reach a minimum amount of votes and sometimes when they do, they are ignored.

Confluence is well suited for companies that work with software. For a mid to big size business, it's a perfect fit. For small companies maybe it won't be such a good fit because of the pricing and if you don't have a big team it isn't worth.

I would say in my opinion that every company that wants to be agile should start using products like Confluence due to all the metrics, source control for documents, document storage, user control and third party integrations it provides.

Read Jean Paul Ruiz Vallejo's full review
July 28, 2016

Review: "Confluence is a dream come true for storing team information digitally"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had been using an tool built in-house that we referred to as the Knowledge base. Each department had their section and pages in there that were constantly used for reference. The problem was it became out-dated quickly and it wasn't very intuitive to use. We were very happy with Atlassian's Jira product, so it was an easy sell because there are so many hidden gems, templates, etc. that they include. We transferred all of our information over. Then we started using it for storing additional team information and then we started using it to share and collaborate on documents. Now we each have our own space and use it quick frequently as a needed resource for all processes.
  • Confluence shows you recently updated documents by other team members.
  • Allows you to build multiple spaces for all your department or client needs.
  • Confluence has a lot of quick templates to add calendars, images, tables, grids, etc. once you figure out how to use it.
  • You can tag team members on a page if you want them to review or be notified if the page has been updated.
  • Confluence has a lot of features and it seems simple at its core, but it can take a while to get up to speed to find how/where all the helpful tools are.
  • Document collaboration is a little better on Google Docs where you can make in-line comments to the author so they know exactly what you are talking about.
  • Google Docs also lets you go back through the revision history so you can see what editor made which change. Confluence does not.
Confluence is great at keeping all of your team needs organized. You can drop in screen shots and create walk throughs for team members. You can drop in code examples. You can create multiple spaces to keep team or project information separate. It really is a superior tool and is the modern wiki for teams.
Read Charlie Chauvin's full review
July 22, 2016

Review: "Confluence - An essential part of the Atlassian Triad"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Confluence across the entire organization as a knowledge base, as well as internal web space for individual teams. We also use JIRA and have integrated the two. This is helpful in that we can link JIRA projects with a wiki, assign tasks, etc.
  • Integration across all Atlassian products is very nice. If you use JIRA, Confluence and HipChat, you have a complete suite of agile project management tools.
  • The plugins available for Confluence make it a great platform for any internal (and possible external) team site and/or wiki. There are plugins for just about anything you can imagine.
  • it's easy to use IF YOU READ THE DOCS. If you don't read the docs, it can be a bit confusing for new users.
  • The interface could be more intuitive. It's not always clear where to find the right button, and the documentation is not always clear.
  • More flexibility in themes would be nice. I can immediately tell if a site is running on Confluence because the themes all look alike.
  • We would like tools that make Confluence more of a CMS for general internal website functionality.
It is particularly good as a wiki. The tagging functionality, linking and JIRA integration are fantastic. If you use JIRA without Confluence you're definitely missing out! If you want a more flexible website tool, Confluence may not be for you. You're pretty locked down in how you can craft the appearance of your pages. But if that isn't important to you it can be a great tool for websites too.
Read Eric Humphrey's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (31)
7.5
Gantt Charts (12)
7.3
Scheduling (21)
7.1
Workflow Automation (21)
7.8
Mobile Access (27)
6.7
Search (37)
7.6
Visual planning tools (29)
7.5
Chat (15)
6.5
Notifications (37)
8.0
Discussions (34)
8.3
Surveys (15)
7.3
Internal knowledgebase (33)
8.9
Integrates with GoToMeeting (3)
5.9
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (7)
8.5
Integrates with Outlook (10)
8.9
Versioning (30)
8.6
Video files (21)
7.8
Audio files (20)
7.9
Document collaboration (35)
8.4
Access control (32)
8.5
Advanced security features (24)
8.1
Integrates with Google Drive (10)
8.4
Device sync (13)
8.2

About Confluence

Confluence aims to give you the power to create anything and everything, from meeting notes, project plans, product requirements, and more. Include multimedia, dynamic content, and make your work come to life.

Share PDFs, Office docs, images, and more in Confluence. Automatic versioning, instant previews, full-text search, and pinned comments make it easy to manage your files.

Confluence Features

Project Management Features
Has featureTask Management
Does not have featureGantt Charts
Does not have featureScheduling
Has featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureFile tracking
Has featureTagging
Has featureSearch
Has featureIntegrates with other Project Management Tools
Has featureVisual planning tools
Communication Features
Does not have featureChat
Has featureStatus updates and activity feed
Has featureNotifications
Has featureComments and feedback
Has featureDiscussions
Has featureUser directory and online status
Has featureSharing and privacy
Does not have featureSurveys
Has featureInternal knowledgebase
Does not have featureIntegrates with Skype
Does not have featureIntegrates with GoToMeeting
Does not have featureIntegrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts
Does not have featureIntegrates with Outlook
File Sharing & Management Features
Has featureVersioning
Has featureDocument files
Has featureImage files
Has featureVideo files
Has featureAudio files
Has featureDocument collaboration
Has featureShared folders
Has featureAccess control
Has featureAdvanced security features
Has featureIntegrates with Google Drive
Does not have featureIntegrates with SharePoint
Has featureDevice sync
Has featureWeb interface
Has featureFile change notifications
Has featureSimultaneous editing

Confluence Integrations

Confluence Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Confluence Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Confluence Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No