Astera Centerprise

Astera Centerprise

Customer Verified
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Astera Centerprise

Overview

Recent Reviews

Centerprise-10/10

9 out of 10
November 08, 2021
We use it in part of our automation process to extract data from PDF's and deliver to our clients. It allows us to utilize time we …
Continue reading

Loving Cenerprise

9 out of 10
November 01, 2021
We are currently using Centerprise to transform incoming files from vendors. The files are transformed and uploaded into our homegrown …
Continue reading

Astera: ETL in the cloud

9 out of 10
May 01, 2020
Astera streamlines our data integration process by doing all the work through a workflow. It enables our analysts to connect to virtually …
Continue reading

Astera Review

10 out of 10
April 30, 2020
It helps us in the massive storage of data and the resolution of intelligence problems of our business. It simplifies complex …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Customer Support 2021
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020

Popular Features

View all 10 features

Simple transformations (25)

8.6
86%

Connect to traditional data sources (25)

8.6
86%

Business rules and workflow (23)

8.4
84%

Complex transformations (23)

7.9
79%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Astera Centerprise, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Centerprise Enterprise

Contact rep

On Premise
Lifetime License per Seat

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttp://www.astera.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Data Source Connection

7.9
79%

Data Transformations

8.3
83%

Data Modeling

7.5
75%

Data Governance

8.2
82%

Product Details

What is Astera Centerprise?

Astera Centerprise is a complete data integration solution that includes data integration, data transformation, data quality, and data profiling capabilities in a code-free environment, and promises to enable business users to handle data with minimal IT support. Centerprise enables users to exchange data with a wide range of supported applications, databases, and formats.

Astera Centerprise Features

Data Source Connection Features

  • Supported: Connect to traditional data sources

Data Transformations Features

  • Supported: Simple transformations
  • Supported: Complex transformations

Data Modeling Features

  • Supported: Data model creation
  • Supported: Business rules and workflow
  • Supported: Testing and debugging

Additional Features

  • Supported: Integrated development environment
  • Supported: Data quality and profiling
  • Supported: Job flow, scheduling, and execution
  • Supported: Extensibility and openness
  • Supported: Performance and scalability
  • Supported: Ease of use for business users

Astera Centerprise Screenshots

Centerprise features a highly intuitive UI that is designed to enable business users to work with data easily.Our ever-expanding library of Centerprise Connectors is preconfigured to provide a plethora of integration options.Centerprise's  data profiling feature ensures that you deliver only quality data to your en users.Choose from a variety of write strategies for your workflows.Easily define how you data moves and behaves with the workflow component

Astera Centerprise Video

Astera Centerprise Integrations

Astera Centerprise Competitors

  • Informatica
  • Adeptia
  • Talend

Astera Centerprise Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)11%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)47%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)42%

Astera Centerprise Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesUSA
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Astera Centerprise?

Centerprise Data Integrator is an integration platform that includes tools for data integration, data transformation, data quality, and data profiling.

What is Astera Centerprise's best feature?

Reviewers rate Connect to traditional data sources and Simple transformations and Data model creation highest, with a score of 8.6.

Who uses Astera Centerprise?

The most common users of Astera Centerprise are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Insurance industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (45)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 38)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easily create and map to many incoming data sources
  • Centerprise had an array of connectors
  • Transforming data is very graphical UI based and requires little if any programming
  • We’d love to see a share point connector.
  • I’m not sure if a users group exists but would join if so.
November 08, 2021

Centerprise-10/10

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Versatile
  • Scalable
  • Outstanding Customer Service
  • Continued improvement/updating on Reportminer documentation
  • Window management on smaller screens can be very difficult. I often have to rescale the the tool windows to use.
  • Sometimes the data preview will glitch out and not display anything but I'm able to generate a .csv.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Astera support team is very knowledgeable, helpful and very prompt to answer any question.
  • Their product is very simple to use.
  • Astera Centerprise Help documentation/training videos are very detailed.
  • Astera Centerprise rolled out new version 8 recently. During our conversion from version 7 to version 8, we encountered couple of issues with new Astera version. Once notified, they fixed the issue and sent us the patch within days.
  • I think Centerprise Server register feature in version 7 was much simpler than version 8.
November 04, 2021

Astera Centerprise Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • API integrations vis REST Web Service transformation
  • Stored Procedure integration via SQL statement Lookup transformation
  • Bulk imports and exports to and from tables
  • Data dumps from SQL tables to excel, csv, text files etc...
  • I would say Server Monitor is not very user-friendly. Astera [Centerprise] can add sorting features on different columns to make it more intuitive
  • The search box in server monitor doesn't display the the way I expect.
November 02, 2021

Astera Software

Hassan Gorgani, CEng | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Designing report models and dataflow diagrams are very simple and understandable for users.
  • Various type of output could be generated from the Astera package.
  • Process thousands of files in a few second.
  • Very supportive team from Astera which are ready to help our users
  • We already communicated those issues which we believe could be useful for future development with your support team.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Makes designing ETL jobs quick
  • Able to include business users in the design
  • Centralized job management
  • Job management interface could use some work
  • Some procedural functionality would help in certain situations
  • It would be nice for the complied package to detect the environment in which it's running; Prod, Test, Development, and use those parameters accordingly.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Of the six mid-tier ETL/DI tools I studied, Centerprise is the most intuitive to use.
  • Customer support is email-centric, but nonetheless solid. Astera happily does conference calls when the need arises.
  • Wide range of features.
  • Expression transformation uses SQL-ish (as opposed to Java-ish or MS-ish) commands. Simple to use, and select/paste helps.
  • Love the PowerCenter-style expression transformation.
  • Documentation explanations are in video and text format. While most explanations are relatively clear (or even very clear), in my opinion, the documentation is a bit haphazardly-organized. It takes me longer than I'd like to find something, although I usually do.
  • Look-ups transformation certainly works, but it could be more robust. (There are ways around that.)
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Handles large volumes of data well!
  • Centralizes and simplifies data management loading!
  • Provides insight into data anomalies and patterns that weren't previously visible!
  • Like any tool, it has a learning curve and is somewhat proprietary in how they approach things.
  • It can be clunky to train others who aren't familiar with such tools or concepts, not so intuitive that it can be picked up by any engineer.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Supports numerous data sources.
  • Integration with AWS services.
  • Individual statistics per record.
  • Visualization intended for debugging.
  • Attractive user interface.
  • Streaming facilities.
  • There is no reusable JDBC configuration.
  • Processor configuration changes require stopping all data flow.
April 30, 2020

Astera Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ease of managing large volumes of data.
  • Good integration with Mainframe platforms.
  • The Data Stream Programming Concept is straightforward.
  • Good integration with Data Provenance and auditing.
  • Possibility of handling binary data.
  • Simple user interface.
  • Lack of statistics per processed record.
  • High resource consumption.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Astera allows us to use connectors that support any type of data (structured, unstructured and complex), any pattern (between batches, ETL, ELT, real-time, Big Data processing, APIs, events and transmissions) and advanced functions such as optimization pushdown, data change capture, advanced search, partitioning and error handling.
  • We create very simple and complex data integration loads in a mapping designer with time-consuming advanced data integration as standard.
  • The software is available at all times and from virtually anywhere.
  • Using the built-in task wizards to replicate and synchronize batch data at scale we occasionally encounter design flaws.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Centerprise simplifies data modeling and workflow creation. The product has a very user-friendly UI, business users with no technical background need very little training.
  • Extracting data from a PDF and other proprietary formats.
  • The Centerprise product is very scalable and can handle robust volumes.
  • I would like to have integrated source control and better change management tools. Often workflows and data models are updated or modified and the history or original files are not tracked or easy to follow in the history.
  • Licensing a new instance can be difficult.
April 29, 2020

Worth it!

Amanda Moede | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Astera's customer service and help team are quick to respond and have always found solutions to my questions or problems. They also follow up after completing a support request to make sure everything was working correctly. If it's not something the current version allows, as far as functionality, they develop a solution for the next version because they assume if one company has that need that others will as well.
  • I've never lost touch with our sales representative. She checks in at least twice a year, if not more, to make sure that we are happy with their product and to see if we need anything. I've rarely needed anything, but when I did she made sure to have the correct person contact me regarding what I asked for and she followed up to make sure the request was resolved.
  • EDI is a very complex language and making any changes can cause errors in other areas that you aren't aware of. Astera Centerprise creates an environment that is much easier to understand than looking at a raw data file. The functionality allows us to make changes to each transaction within a file in under a minute with no errors created. Making these changes before we had Astera Centerprise took a week for one file. We can now get to more files to create clean data for the state and have reached 97% acceptance.
  • Centerprise's functionality can be applied at any level. It can be a broad change to an entire segment, or it can be a single digit that is changed. You can program the system to look for specific items within a file and change only the records that need to be changed. It can sequence items, it can remove items and it can add items when specifically programmed to. And if you run into a wall creating the program, Astera's help desk will help you get past it. And the program language used is easy to understand as well. If you understand functions in Microsoft Excel or SQL statements, you will be able to use this product.
  • When purchasing Astera Centerprise you are given options on how you would like to be trained and each option comes with a different price tag. We chose to be trained using online meetings over several days. The training went too fast and it was not always easy to understand until I started using the product.
  • I am a person that wants to learn how and why something works so that I can use the knowledge in the future. When contacting the support team they take the problem, create a solution for you and send it back. The solutions always work, but when I get the solution I have to review every field and function to understand how it works so that I can re-create it for another solution I need. I would much rather have the support team explain what I had done incorrectly and what they changed or I would like to find a solution with them instead of having it handed to me.
  • Astera uses license keys to allow their customers rights to only the functionality that was purchased. Each user and server has its own key and each key is only good for one year. There have been 2 different times that we received keys that had less functionality that we purchased. It wasn't until it created problems that we noticed and had to request new keys. This year our sales representative made sure she was available when we updated our keys so that if there was a problem she could fix it right away; however, there were not issues this year. I believe this is something they pay closer attention to now.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It has a wide range of platforms, including Oracle, SQL Server, MySQL, PostgreSQL, and more.
  • Efficient workflow.
  • Granular coverage for each database platform.
  • Advanced SQL optimization.
  • Test of performance.
  • Real-time performance diagnostics.
  • Detection and protection of our confidential data.
  • Backing up the database takes a long time.
  • Testing backups to make sure the database can be recovered is difficult.
  • Recovering lost data in the event of an incident is time consuming.
April 29, 2020

Astera rocks!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Very simple installation and configuration.
  • Easy to learn.
  • User Interface (UI) is very intuitive.
  • Simple licensing.
  • Expert product support services.
  • Performance with large dataset (50 million+ rows) can cause some issues. But there are ways to work around that.
  • Generating XML using CSV source - adding additional header elements in the XML was not available in the product. Needed to do some post processing. Should be included in the product feature.
  • Data Accuracy - 38 decimal places (i.e NUMBER data type in Oracle type) not supported by Astera in the version we used. Newer version may have addressed this issue
  • Needs more pre-built connectors for well-known cloud apps (Dynamics, SFDC etc.).
April 27, 2020

My Astera experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It is easy to use. Does not required too much technical background to learn.
  • It can quickly transfer the data across different data sources as it supports the multi-thread processes.
  • It supports many different data sources.
  • Better support for SQLite, as it is only partially support it.
  • Supporting the spatial functions. For example, connection SDE or geo databases.
  • More user-friendly error message reporting.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It offers simplicity in building simple to medium integrations really fast.
  • The integration flows are mostly easy to read and hence can be shown to and understood by many non-technical people.
  • Any kind of feasible built-in security framework was something that was badly missing up till version 8. And even in version 8 it is still doing just the first baby steps. More effort should be invested from Astera to build a secure framework ideally with Active Directory integration.
  • Better debugging options are needed. Sometimes the flows are failing and it is hard to trace the problem. Ideally we could have a debugger that step by step highlights the elements in the flow and thus shows where the data is currently being transformed in that step (just like when you debug source code).
May 24, 2018

Great data tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Slick drag and drop UI is easy to learn and get started with
  • Customer service is friendly and responsed quickly
  • Large array of built in functions makes data manipulation easy
  • Sometimes when previewing the data output or even running complex dataflows it can take a long time.
  • Occasionally crashes after long use
  • Could use some more functions like row number
Andre Beaumont | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The user friendly interface to develop integration packages means that you don't need to be highly trained in SQL code.
  • There is a huge variety of out-of-box functions, translations, and connectors. This means you can get up and running with using these different components right away.
  • Centerprise Data Integrator can mine data from unstructured and semi-structured data sources like pdf files and csv's. It means that virtually anything you have can be moved into a SQL database or fed into other systems.
  • Centerprise Support has been excellent and responsive to our needs.
  • We had some issues in getting the software running with their licensing model on our Citrix Desktop. They were very helpful in working with us on this issue.
  • With any product that creates SQL code in the background, I am skeptical of how optimized that will be for our specific environment. We have not yet had problems related to this, but customers may want to monitor closely.
  • They do not yet seem to have a large customer base and robust user community.