FireMon Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
71 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 42)

Ken Sharp | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2020

FireMon provides a nice view

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FireMon is used for firewall change management from request to implementation and verification. Security Manager is used extensively for policy test, and to enable cleanup and migration.
Read Ken Sharp's full review
Daniel James | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2020

FireMon – Bringing the heat!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FireMon is actively being used by our security team to enforce oversight and compliance standards for our firewall environment. Additional business units are also leveraging the solution to help with reporting. Change management will use the tool to identify rogue changes or changes that may have been implemented outside of our internal change management guidelines. Firewall admins will use the solution to improve the quality of the rules that they generate and to assist with the review and approval workflow. Compliance leverages the solution to help prioritize which devices may need more assistance or a greater amount of overhead needed to remediate.

The main benefit at this time is that it helps us help ourselves and reduce the amount of calories we burn each month or quarter in identifying what issues we need to address in our environment. Getting ready for audit, or quarterly reviews of devices is exponentially easier. Having the ability to automate many of our controls into our workflow on an ongoing basis also reduces the amount of time spent in each of those scheduled reviews/clean up efforts.

Read Daniel James's full review
jeff Reese | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2020

FireMon Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cybersecurity and Network departments use the product, for auditing, keeping track of changes, security, real-time change information, historic log information, dupe rules/object cleanup. and long term trend reports.
Read jeff Reese's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2020

A Review of FireMon

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FireMon is used for firewall governance, including the creation of reports to satisfy PCI requirements, to identify and prioritize remediation of overly permissive rules and rulesets, and as the principal platform for performing firewall policy audits against internal standards.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2020

Firemon Security Manager v7/v8

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Firemon Policy Planner (version 7) is currently being used as our firewall request system across the IT organization. This allows us to have a central location for managing and tracking all firewall change requests. The workflow allows tickets to proceed through various levels of approval prior to implementation. Maintaining audit records of firewall changes is a business requirement, Firemon Security Manager (versions 7 and 8) is currently being used by our security team to satisfy audit requirements through compliance assessments and reports.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

One more step in protecting firewalls

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FireMon is used for tracking and reviewing firewall rules on a regular basis. It is used to save an old process of manually tracking all of the firewall rules.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Firewall change reports help with audits and compliance.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use FireMon for compliance purposes. We use it to generate reports whenever a change is made to the Firewall. We can see who pushed policy in Checkpoint, what Change# it is associated with, and what was actually done compared to what the change ticket stated.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

Innovative approach to firewall operations and compliance

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FireMon is being used for firewall optimization and activity monitoring. It also leverages the firewall operations management supporting daily operations and assisting the firewall security team focusing on the exact activities needed. Audit teams are getting the outputs of firewall operations. It’s an effective tool to be compliant with several regulations and determining which items/rules should be changed or modified to be compliant. Additional controls can be integrated throughout the firewall operations from the very beginning to the last degree. Overall solutions decrease the auditing of firewalls internally as well as externally. Hidden risks are visible through FireMon to the operation team as well as to information security and upper-level management.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Secure through a glass of FireMon

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use FireMon Security Manager, not only for our internal FW administration but also as part of our Managed Services. More specifically, it's part of our offer for managed firewalls service. This allows us to include more task to offer in the service like periodically cleaning firewall policies and other complains repots, i.e PCI reports.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2020

FireMon - Great tool for a clean environment

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, FireMon is used as an auditing tool to track all changes. Also, we use it for quarterly reviews to do rule cleanup on firewall rules. It is only being used by our IT Security Team for our firewall assets. This tool is required for record retention.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

I love FireMon

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FireMon is used to manage the firewalls in the organization. It allows us to view rules and configurations as well as allows us to audit it to see where we can improve the rule sets. It can also create helpful reports with great suggestions or display what you have in a nice organized fashion. Wonderful device!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Another Fire-something, but a good one!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FireMon is a global tool that has been purchased to get a centralized view of our firewalls. This enables us to review our security posture and implement a compliance strategy with our customers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2019

FireMon consolidates well

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Both the networking and security departments utilize FireMon to do configuration and rule reporting across multiple firewall products and vendors. This includes utilizing FireMon to check for changes in firewall policy or troubleshooting if a connection should be allowed/denied through multiple firewalls.
Read this authenticated review
Howard Wall | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2019

All in one firewall compliance and reporting that really works!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As the complexity of our environment has increased, we found it difficult to audit our firewalls and keep track of changes. Most importantly was the compliance aspect. Traditionally this has been done with a manual review, but as we have added firewalls and from different vendors, this had become a time-consuming process that was unsustainable. With FireMon we are able to continually audit our firewalls and flag any issues that would cause a problem with a security audit. The initial remediation was difficult, but we are now able to quickly identify any issues and get them remediated quickly. It also gives us the ability to supply reports to our auditors to address any questions they may have about the security of our network.
Read Howard Wall's full review
Robert Bollinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2019

FireMon - Great Enterprise Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FireMon is being leveraged across several IT Departments, including IT Security, Risk Management, Engineering, and Architecture teams. For us, it helps across many of our business models. We are in a highly regulated industry, SOX, MICS (gaming), and PCI, to name a few. For security best practices, we leverage integrated reports to help identify unused rules and objects. From an engineering and architectural approach, we leverage anything from policy creation and optimization, to ping path analysts to make sure the correct firewalls and policies are submitted the first time. With close to 100 firewalls, this helps streamline the process.
Read Robert Bollinger's full review
Johnson Ditching | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2019

A Life with FireMon.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a product distributor of Firemon, we were able to sell Firemon to some of our customers, from telecoms, banks and call centers. I am the one providing the walkthrough and guide the customers on how to integrate the FireMon security manager to the Firewall devices. FireMon addresses a lot of difficulties that the firewall administrator faces, a lot of firewall devices are not optimized. FireMon can help a lot on this department. Though FireMon has other add on modules from the security manager. I did not see an aggressive positioning of the other modules.
Read Johnson Ditching's full review
Mohamad CHAABAN | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2019

FireMon is excellent, but review my comments

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Well, we are using FireMon in our IT department only. I would like to share my latest concern about it. Since the last major upgrade of FireMon, I am facing a major problem where all my devices are showing the Critical button. While some are having serious issues, others are not but it keeps showing up as Critical. In the last versions, we had three icons and we could directly identify and prioritize the criticality of each. This is my major concern with the update. FireMon also does not recognize Source Object group difference and thus makes my reports unreliable and I have to double check! Otherwise, I love working with FireMon.

Read Mohamad CHAABAN's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2019

FireMon, great tools for managing cyber security devices!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have used FireMon for our MSS clients, including managed firewalls from a different vendor. It's mainly used to manage firewalls, policy review and integrate into the CAB approval process, it went well and provided an easy solution for us and accurate report to clients. Friendly user interfaces are easy to use and system was stable all the time.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Garcia | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2017

FireMon Excellence!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FireMon Security Manager is currently utilized for change management across all of our firewall systems. The reporting and assessment facilities also provide essential information to assist us with ensuring our firewall environment is at its most efficient. FireMon is utilized by the security and network management teams in our organization.
Read Eric Garcia's full review
Jackie Duarte | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2017

Reliable IT Security Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FireMon Security Manager is being used within my organization for several purposes. I specifically utilize FireMon 8 in order to gain long-term information about the traffic hitting the firewalls within the network. The reports that I'm able to run using FireMon 8 give allow me to better analyze the firewalls in order to remediate rules within the firewalls.
Read Jackie Duarte's full review
Jamie Hudson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2017

Comprehensive firewall management tool review.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FireMon Security Manager is used to monitor our internal firewall usage, daily firewall changes, and is also used for firewall report creation. It is currently used just by the information technology department, although it is used by various users including technicians, administrators, and analysts. FireMon Security Manager helps the business comply with payment card industry data security standard compliance.
Read Jamie Hudson's full review
Ryan Bast | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2017

FireMon Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used by our IT department to audit existing firewall configurations. It is helpful in finding redundant or unused rules in the configuration. We also find the traffic flow analysis tool extremely helpful. When creating new rules for new applications we find a lot of required ports are not properly documented and the flow analysis provides a great way to audit the rules traffic and narrow down the exact ports required for an application.
Read Ryan Bast's full review
Larissa Cui | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 05, 2017

Going beyond the simplicity

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use FireMon to monitor any changes that are made to our network. We reference the changes against our change management to make sure that the change was authorized and nothing was added or subtracted without prior approval.
Read Larissa Cui's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Policy planning and rule management (14)
8.3
Automated Policy Orchestration (9)
7.7
Device Discovery (13)
7.3
Policy Compliance Auditing (19)
8.1
Attack Path Simulation Testing (4)
6.4
Anomalous Event or Behavior Deviation (3)
6.8
Vulnerability Scans (2)
6.5
Firewall Rule Cleanup (19)
8.1

About FireMon

FireMon's Network Security Policy Management (NSPM) platform gives security and operations teams automated visibility and analysis for network security devices. FireMon's web-based UI allows users to dissect their network security policies, locate compliance failures, and assess security vulnerabilities. The vendor says the platform proactively delivers intelligence around IT security and compliance so organizations can make better decisions about their network security.

The FireMon platform offers:

  • Real-time monitoring for security and network operations to see details in complex IT and security systems. With granular, sub-second views into the network infrastructure, FireMon provides automated analysis to improve security posture, maintain compliance and detect advanced threats.
  • Automated Security Configuration Assessments (SCA) for continuous compliance, automated rule and cleanup recommendations, and risk-based simulation for policy changes. Users can create "what if" scenarios for analysis and model the impact of potential changes. This reduces time and gives greater assurance that firewall changes provide appropriate security and accessibility to IT assets.
  • Continuous assessment of all security device configurations in real-time, complying to regulatory and internal standards. Audits are automated with sub-second analysis and documentation across the security infrastructure.

FireMon Features

Has featureKPI Dashboards: See your network at a glance with analysis, trending and key performance indicator widgets on a customizable dashboard.
Has featureTraffic Flow Analysis: Monitor network traffic behavior – down to the application level – to isolate overly permissive configurations.
Has featureAccess Path Analysis: Trace every available access path across the network and visualize relationships between network devices to identify risk access points.
Has featureNetwork Mapping: Visualize and interact with highly complex network security environments or segmentations.
Has featureChange Detection & Reporting: Isolate, document and alert on every ongoing change implemented throughout your existing firewall policies.
Has featureAssessments & Controls: Define and employ unique security controls for customized, repeatable analysis and reporting on your firewall policies.

FireMon Videos (2)

FireMon Downloadables

FireMon Integrations

Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series, Palo Alto Networks URL Filtering PAN-DB, Palo Alto Networks Virtualized Next-Generation Firewalls - VM Series, VMware NSX, VMware ESXi, Check Point Next Generation Firewall, Check Point Security Management, AhnLab TrusGuard, Check Point FireWall-1 / SmartCenter / VPN-1 Edge including VSX, Cisco ASA / PIX / FWSM / ASA Context, Dell SonicWall, F5 AFM, Fortinet Fortigate / VDOM, Huawei USG / Eduemon, Hillstone SG-6000 series, IBM Proventia MFS, Juniper Netscreen / SRX / ScreenOS / VSYS, Secui NXG / MF2, Stonesoft Management Center and detected firewalls, Topsec Firewall, WeGuardia FW

FireMon Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

FireMon Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
8%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
15%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
77%

FireMon Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

FireMon Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Web based browser UI
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All countries except North Korea, Iran, Sudan, Syria and Cuba
Supported Languages: English