TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/pS/gi/BCQ32GLX7WMA.PNGAll in one firewall compliance and reporting that really works!As the complexity of our environment has increased, we found it difficult to audit our firewalls and keep track of changes. Most importantly was the compliance aspect. Traditionally this has been done with a manual review, but as we have added firewalls and from different vendors, this had become a time-consuming process that was unsustainable. With FireMon we are able to continually audit our firewalls and flag any issues that would cause a problem with a security audit. The initial remediation was difficult, but we are now able to quickly identify any issues and get them remediated quickly. It also gives us the ability to supply reports to our auditors to address any questions they may have about the security of our network.,From Cisco to Palo Alto and AWS Security Groups, we are able to pull in all of this information into a centralized location. From the list of supported vendors, we feel like we are not limited to any one firewall vendor. This is very important to us as we are always looking into the best technology to support our ongoing growth. The ability to create custom reports or to use the pre-built templates was a very nice feature for us, we want to make sure that our baseline is in line with the compliance standards we are audited against and go the extra mile in some cases to make sure that we are always safe. We are always confident that we are compliant across the organization with the reporting that Firemon provides. As we have matured as a company we have adopted a security first policy when it comes to firewall rules. In the past firewall rules were approved and implemented without much thought given to process and tracking. With Policy Planner we are able to track those changes pre-implementation and post implementation to ensure that no changes are made without authorization and they are correctly implemented.,Upgrades almost always require support intervention if you're going more than a few releases newer, and even then the upgrade process could use improving. Luckily it really doesn't have to be done often if you're happy with your implementation. For us, the only reason to upgrade would be to address security with the product itself. It can be a little overwhelming the first time you start to get reporting, especially if the environment has been around awhile. We had difficulty at first because we were overwhelmed by the amount of information we were seeing and we needed pro services to train our staff to use Firemon effectively. We found that even with this assistance it still took time before we were able to wrap our heads around getting everything remediated. Some of the built-in templates for things such as PCI remediation are locked from changes and prevented from duplicating, we had to make our own using those standards so that we could begin reporting with it. This took a little time to do and we feel that we should be able to work with it out of the box. It wasn't a big problem but something to look out for.,10,10,On the positive we were able to reduce the amount of man hours needed to remediate and get reporting to our auditors, this was very important to us as we moved to ongoing remediation versus quarterly. On the downside we spent a lot of time training, configuring and remediating to get everything the way we needed it. This was the biggest pain point we had and it caused some stress to the organization. In the long run it made life easier though.,We required the ability to manage firewalls from any vendor or cloud provider, as we did not want to become dependent on any one firewall solution. It was also important because we would be using FireMon for a very long time and we did not want to change solutions for monitoring and compliance. FireMon has been great in that aspect and we are now able to automatically add new firewalls to FireMon as they are deployed to the environment.,We went from the pain of Firewall compliance audits being seen as a bad thing to being in a place that we are always compliant. The ability to stay on top of this has relived a lot of stress in the organization and especially with the network engineers in charge of the remediation. We are no longer in crunch time and we have found that we are able to roll out new rules that are compliant from the beginning.,AlgoSecFireMon - Great Enterprise ToolFireMon is being leveraged across several IT Departments, including IT Security, Risk Management, Engineering, and Architecture teams. For us, it helps across many of our business models. We are in a highly regulated industry, SOX, MICS (gaming), and PCI, to name a few. For security best practices, we leverage integrated reports to help identify unused rules and objects. From an engineering and architectural approach, we leverage anything from policy creation and optimization, to ping path analysts to make sure the correct firewalls and policies are submitted the first time. With close to 100 firewalls, this helps streamline the process.,Built-in compliance and security reporting - By scheduling reports, we automate the information gathered and get it to the correct department for remediation, freeing up resources for other tasks. Ping Path Analysts - this plays a big help in our environment. With over 300 IT personnel, communication is sometimes lost. Changes to architecture happen frequently with our dynamic and worldwide presence, including cloud. It is important to get it right the first time, in a secure and efficient manner. Security Manager - Organization, optimization, and metrics that can easily be tracked and help make future decisions on the appropriate coarse of action. For example, I've taken multiple firewalls which had high CPU and memory utilization, reprioritized the policies, and cut those metrics in half.,Licensing is a nightmare - Depending on the 'size' of your firewall, there are different scu's. There are also costs associated with adding router/switches, as well as centralized management. System status and health - while there are ways to display the metrics, you have to go to a different URL and to each appliance. It would be nice if the manager had a health check for all of the collectors associated with it on it dashboard. MFA / SSO /SAML2.0 integration - It would be valuable to integrate the before mentioned integrations for secure access and flexibility.,8,6,Positive - flexibility and use of the product. This enables non-firewall savvy people to gather enough information to make an intelligent, firewall policy request. Automation of reporting frees up a ton of resources by sending the appropriate information to the different teams. Compliance is a huge benefactor of these reports, as we are in one form of an audit every other month Negative - High price tag. Difficult Licensing model. Scalability and stability has been a problem for us. Integration to our ticketing system will cost to much, so this is still an area that I would like to integrate some day.,Yes, we have benefited from the multiple vendor, multiple environments quite well. Using tools such as ping path analysts, we can traverse multiple vendor and infrastructures, to gather information to correctly secure and create policy before ever touching a firewall or router. We can create accurate change control and execute right the first time. This is HUGE, as we are hybrid across multiple cloud vendors around the world to our properties.,Yes.,A Life with FireMon.We are a product distributor of Firemon, we were able to sell Firemon to some of our customers, from telecoms, banks and call centers. I am the one providing the walkthrough and guide the customers on how to integrate the FireMon security manager to the Firewall devices. FireMon addresses a lot of difficulties that the firewall administrator faces, a lot of firewall devices are not optimized. FireMon can help a lot on this department. Though FireMon has other add on modules from the security manager. I did not see an aggressive positioning of the other modules.,Configuration changes, it can monitor and alerts any change on the firewall through email alerts. Optimised firewall rules , FireMon easily identify the unused firewall rules, duplicate rules, shadowed rules. Traffic Flow Analysis help a lot to further discover, tightening rules such as ANY rules configured on the firewall.,Needs more supported devices and firewall supported vendors. Needs to push other add on modules to show the full capability of the FireMon Security Manager. eg policy planner, policy optimiser, risk analysis. Needs aggressive marketing in the Philippine Market. A lot of customers are not aware that there is a solution for firewall optimization and management. A lot of add on features are not introduced or not being used by the customer.,9,9,As a product distributor, we would like to introduce the add on module to the customers. In return it will help the customer a lot on optimising firewall rules and creating firewall rules to harden the firewall perimeter.,Our FireMon deployment inculdes public and private firewalls, So far ithelpsp the customer to manage, monitor and do the firewall clean up. It's a disappointment since the other great features are not used greatly eg policy planner, policy optimizer and risk analysis.,With FireMon the firewall administrators will be able to save a lot of time to do firewall clean up and optimized firewall rules. Without FireMon it would be next to impossible to manage thousand of firewall rules, find unused rules, duplicated rules and shadow rules.,FireMon is excellent, but review my commentsWell, we are using FireMon in our IT department only. I would like to share my latest concern about it. Since the last major upgrade of FireMon, I am facing a major problem where all my devices are showing the Critical button. While some are having serious issues, others are not but it keeps showing up as Critical. In the last versions, we had three icons and we could directly identify and prioritize the criticality of each. This is my major concern with the update. FireMon also does not recognize Source Object group difference and thus makes my reports unreliable and I have to double check! Otherwise, I love working with FireMon.,Redundancy checks Cleaning rules Keep consistency on your firewalls Tracking problems Compliance check,For redundant rules, adding source object group check,9,9,Positive impact on decreasing our firewall performance while keeping unwanted rules away.,We use FireMon in our private environment so I cannot say about different cloud behavior.,I did not try this feature yet,,10,1,Clean up rules Flow tracking,None,Policy planner Risk management,10,Business Process Monitor (formerly HP Business Process Monitor), Real User Monitoring (formerly HP Real User Monitoring), Micro Focus Service Manager, Network Node Manager i (formerly HP Network Node Manager)FireMon, great tools for managing cyber security devices!We have used FireMon for our MSS clients, including managed firewalls from a different vendor. It's mainly used to manage firewalls, policy review and integrate into the CAB approval process, it went well and provided an easy solution for us and accurate report to clients. Friendly user interfaces are easy to use and system was stable all the time.,Automate validation of compliance feature saved us time for auditing. It will generate report so we can provide to auditor for further review. Traffic flow analysis is one of the feature we used on daily basis, especially when there is a new request for adding policy for a complex environment, this feature provided accurate information on which security device is passing the traffic. Firewall cleanup recommendations helped us to improve firewall efficiency and avoid unnecessary changes. We scheduled to using this feature every 6 months to clean up zero hit rules and firewalls performance have been improved since.,We had an issue when FireMon takes a long time to process the logs from over a dozen chatty firewalls. I understand when there are huge data sending to FireMon it needs time to process it, but FireMon might need to optimize how the data is handled.,10,10,We are managing larger number of client's security devices using FireMon and it reduced our backlog for routine changes. By using FireMon's well-designed UI and great features like traffic analysis, removable rules report and compliance auditing etc, we are able to archive our goals in one central console, it saved manpower and reduced human errors.,We using FireMon to provide quarterly compliance reports to our clients. The report can be scheduled and sent to client directly. You can create custom assessments or use the pre-built ones, like PCI and NIST we used on different clients to meet different needs.,
Web based browser UI
FireMon
44 Ratings
Score 9.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

FireMon Reviews

FireMon
44 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 44 vetted FireMon reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 29)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Howard Wall profile photo
January 25, 2019

FireMon Review: "All in one firewall compliance and reporting that really works!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As the complexity of our environment has increased, we found it difficult to audit our firewalls and keep track of changes. Most importantly was the compliance aspect. Traditionally this has been done with a manual review, but as we have added firewalls and from different vendors, this had become a time-consuming process that was unsustainable. With FireMon we are able to continually audit our firewalls and flag any issues that would cause a problem with a security audit. The initial remediation was difficult, but we are now able to quickly identify any issues and get them remediated quickly. It also gives us the ability to supply reports to our auditors to address any questions they may have about the security of our network.
  • From Cisco to Palo Alto and AWS Security Groups, we are able to pull in all of this information into a centralized location. From the list of supported vendors, we feel like we are not limited to any one firewall vendor. This is very important to us as we are always looking into the best technology to support our ongoing growth.
  • The ability to create custom reports or to use the pre-built templates was a very nice feature for us, we want to make sure that our baseline is in line with the compliance standards we are audited against and go the extra mile in some cases to make sure that we are always safe. We are always confident that we are compliant across the organization with the reporting that Firemon provides.
  • As we have matured as a company we have adopted a security first policy when it comes to firewall rules. In the past firewall rules were approved and implemented without much thought given to process and tracking. With Policy Planner we are able to track those changes pre-implementation and post implementation to ensure that no changes are made without authorization and they are correctly implemented.
  • Upgrades almost always require support intervention if you're going more than a few releases newer, and even then the upgrade process could use improving. Luckily it really doesn't have to be done often if you're happy with your implementation. For us, the only reason to upgrade would be to address security with the product itself.
  • It can be a little overwhelming the first time you start to get reporting, especially if the environment has been around awhile. We had difficulty at first because we were overwhelmed by the amount of information we were seeing and we needed pro services to train our staff to use Firemon effectively. We found that even with this assistance it still took time before we were able to wrap our heads around getting everything remediated.
  • Some of the built-in templates for things such as PCI remediation are locked from changes and prevented from duplicating, we had to make our own using those standards so that we could begin reporting with it. This took a little time to do and we feel that we should be able to work with it out of the box. It wasn't a big problem but something to look out for.
You might be able to get away without using a solution like this in a smaller environment, but as you grow you will find it far more difficult to go back and remediate as we did. FireMon is best suited for an environment that has strict requirements for reporting and auditing, such as the financial sector, but really wouldn't be suitable for a small office or an industry that does not have these requirements.
Read Howard Wall's full review
Robert Bollinger profile photo
January 16, 2019

User Review: "FireMon - Great Enterprise Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon is being leveraged across several IT Departments, including IT Security, Risk Management, Engineering, and Architecture teams. For us, it helps across many of our business models. We are in a highly regulated industry, SOX, MICS (gaming), and PCI, to name a few. For security best practices, we leverage integrated reports to help identify unused rules and objects. From an engineering and architectural approach, we leverage anything from policy creation and optimization, to ping path analysts to make sure the correct firewalls and policies are submitted the first time. With close to 100 firewalls, this helps streamline the process.
  • Built-in compliance and security reporting - By scheduling reports, we automate the information gathered and get it to the correct department for remediation, freeing up resources for other tasks.
  • Ping Path Analysts - this plays a big help in our environment. With over 300 IT personnel, communication is sometimes lost. Changes to architecture happen frequently with our dynamic and worldwide presence, including cloud. It is important to get it right the first time, in a secure and efficient manner.
  • Security Manager - Organization, optimization, and metrics that can easily be tracked and help make future decisions on the appropriate coarse of action. For example, I've taken multiple firewalls which had high CPU and memory utilization, reprioritized the policies, and cut those metrics in half.
  • Licensing is a nightmare - Depending on the 'size' of your firewall, there are different scu's. There are also costs associated with adding router/switches, as well as centralized management.
  • System status and health - while there are ways to display the metrics, you have to go to a different URL and to each appliance. It would be nice if the manager had a health check for all of the collectors associated with it on it dashboard.
  • MFA / SSO /SAML2.0 integration - It would be valuable to integrate the before mentioned integrations for secure access and flexibility.
I think the product is well suited for an environment with multiple, complex firewall deployments. Environments that are highly regulated and a have need for automation and reporting, would gain value. However, if you are a small company, or the deployment/environment is cookie cutter, then I don't think you would be able to justify the cost.... it's not cheap!
Read Robert Bollinger's full review
Johnson Ditching profile photo
January 23, 2019

User Review: "A Life with FireMon."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a product distributor of Firemon, we were able to sell Firemon to some of our customers, from telecoms, banks and call centers. I am the one providing the walkthrough and guide the customers on how to integrate the FireMon security manager to the Firewall devices. FireMon addresses a lot of difficulties that the firewall administrator faces, a lot of firewall devices are not optimized. FireMon can help a lot on this department. Though FireMon has other add on modules from the security manager. I did not see an aggressive positioning of the other modules.
  • Configuration changes, it can monitor and alerts any change on the firewall through email alerts.
  • Optimised firewall rules , FireMon easily identify the unused firewall rules, duplicate rules, shadowed rules.
  • Traffic Flow Analysis help a lot to further discover, tightening rules such as ANY rules configured on the firewall.
  • Needs more supported devices and firewall supported vendors.
  • Needs to push other add on modules to show the full capability of the FireMon Security Manager. eg policy planner, policy optimiser, risk analysis.
  • Needs aggressive marketing in the Philippine Market. A lot of customers are not aware that there is a solution for firewall optimization and management.
  • A lot of add on features are not introduced or not being used by the customer.
Firewall rules clean up and optimisation.
Read Johnson Ditching's full review
Mohamad CHAABAN profile photo
January 24, 2019

"FireMon is excellent, but review my comments"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Well, we are using FireMon in our IT department only. I would like to share my latest concern about it. Since the last major upgrade of FireMon, I am facing a major problem where all my devices are showing the Critical button. While some are having serious issues, others are not but it keeps showing up as Critical. In the last versions, we had three icons and we could directly identify and prioritize the criticality of each. This is my major concern with the update. FireMon also does not recognize Source Object group difference and thus makes my reports unreliable and I have to double check! Otherwise, I love working with FireMon.

  • Redundancy checks
  • Cleaning rules
  • Keep consistency on your firewalls
  • Tracking problems
  • Compliance check
  • For redundant rules, adding source object group check
Well suited to review the health check page of devices.
Read Mohamad CHAABAN's full review
No photo available
January 22, 2019

Review: "FireMon, great tools for managing cyber security devices!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used FireMon for our MSS clients, including managed firewalls from a different vendor. It's mainly used to manage firewalls, policy review and integrate into the CAB approval process, it went well and provided an easy solution for us and accurate report to clients. Friendly user interfaces are easy to use and system was stable all the time.
  • Automate validation of compliance feature saved us time for auditing. It will generate report so we can provide to auditor for further review.
  • Traffic flow analysis is one of the feature we used on daily basis, especially when there is a new request for adding policy for a complex environment, this feature provided accurate information on which security device is passing the traffic.
  • Firewall cleanup recommendations helped us to improve firewall efficiency and avoid unnecessary changes. We scheduled to using this feature every 6 months to clean up zero hit rules and firewalls performance have been improved since.
  • We had an issue when FireMon takes a long time to process the logs from over a dozen chatty firewalls. I understand when there are huge data sending to FireMon it needs time to process it, but FireMon might need to optimize how the data is handled.
Friendly user interfaces, supports API. Plus, FireMon provided best technical support for any issue we had. We also benefitted from training by FireMon which helped us fully using the feature it provided to better manage our clients.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2019

Review: "FireMon - Great tool for a clean environment"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, FireMon is used as an auditing tool to track all changes. Also, we use it for quarterly reviews to do rule cleanup on firewall rules. It is only being used by our IT Security Team for our firewall assets. This tool is required for record retention.
  • Tracking all changes that occur on assets.
  • Able to quickly identify duplicate or unused rules.
  • Automation and workflow.
  • Network maps have a lot of room for improvement
  • How FireMon is updated; not able to pull updates directly from the system.
FireMon is great when used with IT Security and Risk Management. It is a great tool to help quickly identify duplicate rules, rules that allow too much access, and rules that are rarely used.
Read this authenticated review
Daniel James profile photo
October 06, 2017

User Review: "FireMon – Bringing the heat!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

FireMon is actively being used by our security team to enforce oversight and compliance standards for our firewall environment. Additional business units are also leveraging the solution to help with reporting. Change management will use the tool to identify rogue changes or changes that may have been implemented outside of our internal change management guidelines. Firewall admins will use the solution to improve the quality of the rules that they generate and to assist with the review and approval workflow. Compliance leverages the solution to help prioritize which devices may need more assistance or a greater amount of overhead needed to remediate.

The main benefit at this time is that it helps us help ourselves and reduce the amount of calories we burn each month or quarter in identifying what issues we need to address in our environment. Getting ready for audit, or quarterly reviews of devices is exponentially easier. Having the ability to automate many of our controls into our workflow on an ongoing basis also reduces the amount of time spent in each of those scheduled reviews/clean up efforts.

  • BU Reporting - Concerned about role segmentation? Want other business units to peek into how things are going on your devices but without having to give everyone under the sun admin credentials for those devices? Firemon accomplishes that for us. I'm able to take this solution to various business units and shop it around...and increase its ROI by getting additional processes or procedures built around its functionality.
  • Remediation Reporting - A flexible interface allows for very granular information to be generated, exported, and manipulated. Want to export a list of expired rules, done. Rules that allow traffic but don't have logging enabled, done. Find a change that took place outside of your change window and identify who's manager to speak to - done.
  • Support - Although this isn't a "Security Manager" specific example its worth emphasizing that with such a flexible and vestal tool there are multiple ways of doing things. Usually there is the way that I can find to fit my needs right now - but the support staff have been amazing as offering improvement suggestions for the way that I use the tool to accomplish the tasks I have to complete. Quick turnaround on tickets, and no micro-managing of prerequisites before offering a to schedule a webex or best guess first step.
  • More granular documentation - A flexible tool is great, but with flexibility comes gaps in documentation. Nothing serious, but I have found myself asking questions to support on more than one occasion because I couldn't independently find the solution in the default documentation. "How can I generate a query that uses this argument rather than this one..." kinda stuff.
  • More granular ability to "whitelist" specific rules - If security teams had perfect security, the business wouldn't be allowed to operate. That being the case there will always be compromises. Although I may care about a specific control as far as my environment is concerned, I will find myself with a laundry list of rules that will take an extended effort to clean up, or there is no good way around. Being able to acknowledge these and then circle back to them at regular intervals for review would be good - as opposed to having to make sure I filter those specific rules out of larger exports that I may dump into a ticket for remediation.

Very well suited for reporting, and identifying control failures. I can single handedly do the analysis work of an entire remediation team - validate my findings - export the information in a format that is friendly to pass along to my admins - track remediation efforts - and update documentation in one interface.

There are some areas in the reporting that could be tweaked a bit to provide more nimble output. FireMon has a wide variety of pre-generated reports that have a lot of value over the query based reporting. Many of those reports you can run against your entire enterprise, but some you can't....meaning you might have to duplicate the report for a handful of devices depending on your need.

Read Daniel James's full review
No photo available
January 08, 2018

User Review: "FireMon - Worth it."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon is used by firewall administrators and security analysts on a regular basis. Administrators analyze proposed changes and existing rules base. Security analysts use it to audit.
  • Fast analysis of flaws in the rules set
  • Dynamic mapping
  • Normalize varied platforms into a standard appearance
  • Quickly find unused rules and objects
  • Useful canned reports
  • While you can evaluate potential changes to firewall rules, you can not implement the rules from FireMon.
  • The GUI is easy to navigate, but learning where to go for the useful features takes a little practice.
  • While the base product has reports for analyzing vulnerabilities, a separate license is required to get the full benefit.

Our primary use case for FireMon was to aid audits of firewall changes and finding weak rules. The base product meets this need 100%. Implementation is easy. Compatibility for all major vendors is present. Support is great. No regrets.

Regular audits are simple. Changing report criteria is possible, but the built-in reports were effective enough.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 19, 2017

FireMon Review: "Streamlined Change Management procedures"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We adopted the PP module as an alternative to very resource intensive, manual legacy procedures we used to check for rule compliance in the past. Even though implementation is being championed by our NetSec department, we have integrated it with an End-to-End overarching process which allows us to reconcile and match information from rules, their 'owners' or requestors, and their intended use. Primarily, it eases and streamlines our change management procedures while giving us instant visibility into 'who' requested 'what' and 'why' it has been configured that way.
  • Streamlined change management procedures.
  • Great automation capabilities.
  • Built-in reporting capabilities.
  • Extensibility (customizations).
  • Perhaps the ability to add and customize dashboards (e.g. by power users) would be desirable.
  • The workflows are still somewhat not that 'intuitive'.

PP is a great tool to keep Change Management procedures 'under control' in large network infrastructures and/or in scenarios where modifications to infrastructure are deemed critical. It is also very useful as an auditing tool.

On the other hand, it might not be that necessary for SMB type of infrastructures.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 15, 2018

FireMon Review: "Great tool for check and balances"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is a great tool to keep an eye on our network engineers to make sure that all changes done are under our existing change control process.
  • Notification of changes to firewalls
  • Mapping capabilities
  • Reporting on existing rules
  • Help in firewall rules review
  • Provide capability to view software defined networks (private cloud infrastructure)
FireMon is a great tool to have for checks and balances for the network team. [It] currently needs to support VMWare NSX environments.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Garcia profile photo
January 20, 2017

User Review: "FireMon Excellence!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon Security Manager is currently utilized for change management across all of our firewall systems. The reporting and assessment facilities also provide essential information to assist us with ensuring our firewall environment is at its most efficient. FireMon is utilized by the security and network management teams in our organization.
  • Security Manager provides a graphical map of your infrastructure and allows you to do a path analysis through the firewall infrastructure.
  • Security Manager allows you to view every change made on the specified device. This includes the day, date, time, and user who made the change. You can drill down to detailed information concerning exactly what the change was.
  • Security Manager allows you to view all firewall policies including Security Rules, Objects, NAT Rules and more.
  • While FireMon provides great reports, the reports that we utilize often can not be edited. We would like to see the reports in an editable format allowing us to remove content that is not relevant or add relevant content to the report for presentation to management.
  • A recent change was made in a update to Security Manager that caused problems with the LDAP authentication of users. This change was not adequately communicated to us before the update and took several sessions with Technical Support to correct. A better job of updating the customer of major changes is required.
We utilize this tool primarily for change management, configuration management, and compliance. FireMon does not make changes to the firewalls themselves so if you are looking for a tool to push changes perhaps another tool would be more suitable.
Read Eric Garcia's full review
Jackie Duarte profile photo
January 09, 2017

FireMon Review: "Reliable IT Security Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon Security Manager is being used within my organization for several purposes. I specifically utilize FireMon 8 in order to gain long-term information about the traffic hitting the firewalls within the network. The reports that I'm able to run using FireMon 8 give allow me to better analyze the firewalls in order to remediate rules within the firewalls.
  • Provides well organized, easy to read reports such as rule usage and object usage.
  • Provides ability to quickly run a query to identify where particular objects are being used.
  • Logging of firewalls over time gives long-term status on rule use on the firewalls.
  • Learning how to write syntax to query information was difficult.
  • Difficult to rely solely on the results from queries run in FireMon. I have seen different results from FireMon and what is on the firewall using another tool and FireMon was inaccurate.
  • Logging stops or malfunctions on FireMon.
FireMon Security Manager is well suited for anyone who is working within security, remediation, or architecture for their company's network. FireMon's report library enables the user to run reports in order to analyse, change, check compliance and health check, and usage for environment. It quickly identifies rules that can be/need to be cleaned up within the environment, particularly rules that are disabled or need description.
Read Jackie Duarte's full review
Jamie Hudson profile photo
January 17, 2017

FireMon: "Comprehensive firewall management tool review."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon Security Manager is used to monitor our internal firewall usage, daily firewall changes, and is also used for firewall report creation. It is currently used just by the information technology department, although it is used by various users including technicians, administrators, and analysts. FireMon Security Manager helps the business comply with payment card industry data security standard compliance.
  • Real-Time email alerting for firewall changes and the availability to review the new configuration and the previous one side by side is one of FireMon Security Manager’s strengths.
  • Easy to read Overview Dashboard provides at a glance report charts of the Top 5 devices including control failures, firewall rule complexity and rules available for removal.
  • The interactive network topology device mapping feature clearly shows network segments, firewall locations and external access points with the ability to access firewall rules with one click.
  • The out of the box reporting is a nice feature, but the ability to build customized report with a report "wizard" would be an added benefit.
FireMon security manager is well suited for a dynamic environment that includes firewalls from multiple types of manufacturers with a large amount of firewall changes. It has the ability to monitor Check Point, Cisco, Fortinet, Palo Alto and many more firewalls. It would be less suited for small networks that have very few firewalls and do not have many rule changes.
Read Jamie Hudson's full review
Ryan Bast profile photo
January 13, 2017

"FireMon Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our IT department to audit existing firewall configurations. It is helpful in finding redundant or unused rules in the configuration. We also find the traffic flow analysis tool extremely helpful. When creating new rules for new applications we find a lot of required ports are not properly documented and the flow analysis provides a great way to audit the rules traffic and narrow down the exact ports required for an application.
  • Traffic Flow Analysis is an invaluable tool.
  • The ability to run reports on PCI audits has been very useful.
  • The logged connections history is great for showing management metrics.
  • AD integration was a little difficult to set up.
  • Upgrading was tricky but FireMon support did a great job working with us to complete an upgrade.
FireMon is a great tool for any organization looking to audit their firewalls. At a glance, it can be difficult to tell where rules may be redundant or even unnecessary but FireMon does a great job picking these out and showing them on the dashboard. The revision history is also great if multiple users make changes to your firewalls to see what might have changed and for troubleshooting.
Read Ryan Bast's full review
Larissa Cui profile photo
January 05, 2017

FireMon Review: "Going beyond the simplicity"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FireMon to monitor any changes that are made to our network. We reference the changes against our change management to make sure that the change was authorized and nothing was added or subtracted without prior approval.
  • I love the insight into what is being done on the network. I can make sure that our network team is doing what they say they are doing. It also gives us the security controls to see what the network team keeps from us.
  • The GUI is easy to use.
  • I would like to be able to update certain fields, for example the reference field for tickets.
Our ASA failed over and we wanted to know the cause. FireMon allowed us to see the time sequence and what caused the failover.
Read Larissa Cui's full review
David Yu profile photo
January 13, 2017

User Review: "Quick and dirty on FireMon"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon Security Manager is used for audit archival and compliance. The software allows us to log changes in firewall policies and track who and when. When configurations are audited, the software allows us to compare changes made over a specific time period.
  • Logging policy changes.
  • Providing insight into change process.
  • Expansion to other products.
  • Interface is very cluttered, could use streamlining.
Well suited: checkpoint environment.
Less appropriate: if you lack time to learn the product interface.
Read David Yu's full review
Chris Goodrich profile photo
January 13, 2017

FireMon: "PCI review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used to monitor our firewalls for changes and keep track of the requests for new changes. It's primarily just for the IT security department. The primary problem it addresses is PCI compliance.
  • Tracks all changes made to the firewalls.
  • Fairly easy to use ticket request system (policy planner).
  • Need to be able to support more types of firewalls (for example the new FTD code for the Cisco ASA's and the NSX firewalls).
  • Need better integration between data submitted in policy planner tickets to the security manager (not all the data from those tickets are saved in the security manager).
  • Need more customization options on policy planner (require certain fields to be filled out).
Well suited to provide compliance for programs like PCI.
Read Chris Goodrich's full review
Angel Bachman profile photo
January 10, 2017

Review: "If you're looking for insight, FireMon is the tool for you"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon is a big help in our efforts to clean up our ruleset. The ability to see exactly what ports and services are being allowed versus what is being used is extremely helpful.
  • Reporting
  • Visibility
  • Centralized network security monitoring
  • The reporting takes a long time to load.
If you are looking to clean up your ruleset, FireMon will give you the insight you need to get rid of outdated rules and unused IPs, applications, and services. Its visibility also goes back far beyond what the firewall itself can hold.
Read Angel Bachman's full review
Bharath Cherukuri profile photo
January 10, 2017

User Review: "FireMon is Best but can improve"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Firemon security Manager to maintain all the Cisco based firewalls across our organization. It is used to check the daily reports updates and changes on each and every firewall.

Mainly we use FireMon to get the audit reports on the firewalls.
  • Audit Reports
  • Control Failures
  • Policy Planner
  • Policy Planner needs to be updated as per the organization
  • More Detailed Reports for Auditing
FireMon is the best tool to manage all devices on a single platform.
Read Bharath Cherukuri's full review
No photo available
January 13, 2017

Review: "Streamline Firewall Management with Firemon"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon is very useful for reporting any changes made to firewall policies in real-time. It sends an email of who, what, and when the change was made. Very using for alerting other network admins. Reports also show which firewall rules may be too open. Firewall rule cleanup is important to keep up with. FireMon makes it easier.

Another feature I like is the API. Checkpoint doesn't have an easy way to search for NATed IP addresses associated with host objects. In v7 we use a PHP script to compile the real IP address, NAT IP address, name, and comment data to be easily searchable to help find available NAT addresses to use. Unfortunately, v8 doesn't pull the NAT data from Checkpoint at this time. Support said they are working on it.
  • The API is very useful for extracting data.
  • The reporting feature is very usful for finding weaknesses in the firewall rule base.
  • Notification of firewall changes to keep administrators abreast of what was changed including rule, objects, etc.
  • v8 doesn't import the translated NAT address from Checkpoint like v7 does. This needs to be added back.
Any one running multiple firewall brands and load balancers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 13, 2017

"Firemon Security Manager Higher Education Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're utilizing this only within IT. We track changes to the firewall with it as well as using it to track access list usage and current openings. We're using the product to make the auditing of firewall openings much easier. Rather than having to track need for openings manually, we're able to identify whether an opening is being used and how much it is used.
  • It does a good job of tracking usage of firewall openings. This gives us much better reporting than traditional firewall logs.
  • It does a good job of tracking firewall changes. We are able to determine when changes were made and by whom.
  • The interface makes it easier to determine which openings are currently present.
  • We've occasionally had issues where the product stops receiving and recording access control list hits.
  • Sometimes we have issues with comments populating correctly into the Firemon config.
  • We've run into a few issues when the system became unavailable.
The software works well for us because we do not have direct access to the firewall configuration. This allows us to audit the configuration without needing direct access. If you do not have a need for that, it might be easier to do some of the configuration with provided tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 13, 2017

FireMon Review: "Best in class!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are using FireMon to monitor firewall changes as well as to improve the rule base.

It is a really efficient tool, which helps us by having a slimmer and more responsive firewall, which is not cluttered by redundant rules.

  • Firewall Optimization
  • Audit
  • Tracing traffic
  • The install on column from firewall is not filtered, making it a bit difficult to analyze some rules

FireMon is really for us useful when needing to streamline the rule base as well as to have an audit of all the changes made to the firewall, as it is sending emails for every change as well as weekly reports.

Our team is using it daily and we are really happy with its functionality.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 11, 2017

FireMon Review: "Add a new new engineer to the team without all the costs of a new engineer."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a network security engineer for a large ISP and we recently implemented FireMon in our network to help manage our firewalls. We are a growing company and this product helps us consolidate our firewalls to give us a better understanding of how they are being used and how often.
  • FireMon gives a great overview of all firewalls on the network.
  • FireMon tells us what rules are and aren't being used to help us keep our policies manageable.
  • FireMon gives us a better understanding of what areas might need more security.
  • It's great that it can tell us what rules are redundant but it doesn't lay out the rules side by side.
  • Could provide more online training like videos and documentation, to maximize our use of FireMon.
We were getting to migrate from one firewall to another and so we went in and removed all the unused rules and redundant rules. By doing this, it made the migration period much shorter and we knew that the rules that we migrating were accurate.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 11, 2017

FireMon Review: "Great Resource and a Reasonable Cost"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT Perimeter Security Team uses Firemon to clean up unused Rules and ports not being used by the Firewalls along with running compliance checks against the firewalls to insure they are in line with best practices.
  • Tracks Firewall rule usage.
  • Tracks and documents all Firewall changes.
  • Holds all Firewall ACLs in one centralized location.
  • Compatibility to see VPN tunnel ACLs.
  • Reports could be easier to customize.
  • Single licensing Enterprise option. Added other firewalls and needed another license - cumbersome.
Firemon Security Manager allows for a centralized point to understand all rules and ACLs for multiple different Vendors. Many different Departments within and outside of IT can take advantage of the different functions of Firemon, and access can be limited per user. Reports can be scheduled to be forwarded to each area where needed for a quick reference of the items needed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 10, 2017

FireMon Review: "Overall very satisfying"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Firemon Security Manager is being used across the whole organization. It is used to keep track of every firewall policy and what each one does. With more than 23,000 employees, there are a lot of firewalls used on our network.
  • FireMon Security Manager does a great job in validating firewall policies against regulatory requirements and in the utility business there is a lot of regulation to comply to. I think this is a strength because it's getting harder and harder to follow up on all regulation that applies.
  • FireMon Security Manager does a pretty good analysis of all the firewall configurations and it helps to identify rules that are hidden, too permissive or shadowed. It helps keep the firewall configurations clean at all time.
Very helpful when audit are taking place.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Policy planning and rule management (5)
8.7
Automated Policy Orchestration (2)
9.1
Device Discovery (4)
7.5
Policy Compliance Auditing (6)
8.6
Attack Path Simulation Testing (2)
7.7
Firewall Rule Cleanup (6)
8.8

About FireMon

FireMon's Network Security Policy Management (NSPM) platform gives security and operations teams automated visibility and analysis for network security devices. FireMon's web-based UI allows users to dissect their network security policies, locate compliance failures, and assess security vulnerabilities. The vendor says the platform proactively delivers intelligence around IT security and compliance so organizations can make better decisions about their network security.

The FireMon platform offers:

  • Real-time monitoring for security and network operations to see details in complex IT and security systems. With granular, sub-second views into the network infrastructure, FireMon provides automated analysis to improve security posture, maintain compliance and detect advanced threats.
  • Automated Security Configuration Assessments (SCA) for continuous compliance, automated rule and cleanup recommendations, and risk-based simulation for policy changes. Users can create "what if" scenarios for analysis and model the impact of potential changes. This reduces time and gives greater assurance that firewall changes provide appropriate security and accessibility to IT assets.
  • Continuous assessment of all security device configurations in real-time, complying to regulatory and internal standards. Audits are automated with sub-second analysis and documentation across the security infrastructure.

FireMon Features

Has featureKPI Dashboards: See your network at a glance with analysis, trending and key performance indicator widgets on a customizable dashboard.
Has featureTraffic Flow Analysis: Monitor network traffic behavior – down to the application level – to isolate overly permissive configurations.
Has featureAccess Path Analysis: Trace every available access path across the network and visualize relationships between network devices to identify risk access points.
Has featureNetwork Mapping: Visualize and interact with highly complex network security environments or segmentations.
Has featureChange Detection & Reporting: Isolate, document and alert on every ongoing change implemented throughout your existing firewall policies.
Has featureAssessments & Controls: Define and employ unique security controls for customized, repeatable analysis and reporting on your firewall policies.

FireMon Videos (2)

FireMon Downloadables

FireMon Integrations

Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series, Palo Alto Networks URL Filtering PAN-DB, Palo Alto Networks Virtualized Next-Generation Firewalls - VM Series, VMware NSX, VMware ESXi, Check Point Next Generation Firewall, Check Point Security Management, AhnLab Trusguard, Check Point FireWall-1 / SmartCenter / VPN-1 Edge including VSX, Cisco ASA / PIX / FWSM / ASA Context, Dell SonicWall, F5 AFM, Fortinet Fortigate / VDOM, Huawei USG / Eduemon, Hillstone SG-6000 series, IBM Proventia MFS, Juniper Netscreen / SRX / ScreenOS / VSYS, Secui NXG / MF2, Stonesoft Management Center and detected firewalls, Topsec Firewall, WeGuardia FW

FireMon Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

FireMon Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
8%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
15%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
77%

FireMon Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

FireMon Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Web based browser UI
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All countries except North Korea, Iran, Sudan, Syria and Cuba
Supported Languages: English