TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/pS/gi/BCQ32GLX7WMA.PNGFireMon - Worth it.FireMon is used by firewall administrators and security analysts on a regular basis. Administrators analyze proposed changes and existing rules base. Security analysts use it to audit.,Fast analysis of flaws in the rules set Dynamic mapping Normalize varied platforms into a standard appearance Quickly find unused rules and objects Useful canned reports,While you can evaluate potential changes to firewall rules, you can not implement the rules from FireMon. The GUI is easy to navigate, but learning where to go for the useful features takes a little practice. While the base product has reports for analyzing vulnerabilities, a separate license is required to get the full benefit.,10,10,The primary benefit has been reducing the labor of analysis of rules in both audit and administration. Tasks that took hours now take minutes.,AlgoSec and RedSeal,10,2,Business control: mapping requests for change, authorization for change, and the change that was made. Best Practice review: overly permissive rules, shadowed rules, use of "any", etc... Change/impact analysis: changes can be review in FireMon prior to production implementation,The ability to add reports monitoring for specific rules that are no longer approved was unexpected, but useful.,We may add the module to allow pivot analysis of vulnerability data.,10,Rsam GRC, McAfee Enterprise Security Manager, Rapid7 NeXpose, ManageEngine Password Manager Pro, PhishMe, RSA Security Analytics, FireEye, Cisco IronPort Web Security Appliance,No,Product Features Product Usability Analyst Reports Third-party Reviews,No changes.,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,Had to work with FireMon support and another vendor to figure out the configuration on one tool to send data.,10,No,The local FireMon Sales Engineer who supports a different industry is always quick to help and back up support. He's the closest to us. He has just as much ownership for our problems as our assigned staff. Great team work.,Once configured, the pre-made reports provide immediate value. The data from the reports are informative and offer insight into remediation of problems.,Configuring systems to send data to FireMon may take some effort and troubleshooting. At least one system required co-ordination between support from both vendors.,9Great tool for check and balancesThis is a great tool to keep an eye on our network engineers to make sure that all changes done are under our existing change control process.,Notification of changes to firewalls Mapping capabilities Reporting on existing rules Help in firewall rules review,Provide capability to view software defined networks (private cloud infrastructure),8,10,8,Checks and balances for our network team Help with compliance reporting,cisco and palo altoFireMon – Bringing the heat!!FireMon is actively being used by our security team to enforce oversight and compliance standards for our firewall environment. Additional business units are also leveraging the solution to help with reporting. Change management will use the tool to identify rogue changes or changes that may have been implemented outside of our internal change management guidelines. Firewall admins will use the solution to improve the quality of the rules that they generate and to assist with the review and approval workflow. Compliance leverages the solution to help prioritize which devices may need more assistance or a greater amount of overhead needed to remediate.The main benefit at this time is that it helps us help ourselves and reduce the amount of calories we burn each month or quarter in identifying what issues we need to address in our environment. Getting ready for audit, or quarterly reviews of devices is exponentially easier. Having the ability to automate many of our controls into our workflow on an ongoing basis also reduces the amount of time spent in each of those scheduled reviews/clean up efforts.,BU Reporting - Concerned about role segmentation? Want other business units to peek into how things are going on your devices but without having to give everyone under the sun admin credentials for those devices? Firemon accomplishes that for us. I'm able to take this solution to various business units and shop it around...and increase its ROI by getting additional processes or procedures built around its functionality. Remediation Reporting - A flexible interface allows for very granular information to be generated, exported, and manipulated. Want to export a list of expired rules, done. Rules that allow traffic but don't have logging enabled, done. Find a change that took place outside of your change window and identify who's manager to speak to - done. Support - Although this isn't a "Security Manager" specific example its worth emphasizing that with such a flexible and vestal tool there are multiple ways of doing things. Usually there is the way that I can find to fit my needs right now - but the support staff have been amazing as offering improvement suggestions for the way that I use the tool to accomplish the tasks I have to complete. Quick turnaround on tickets, and no micro-managing of prerequisites before offering a to schedule a webex or best guess first step.,More granular documentation - A flexible tool is great, but with flexibility comes gaps in documentation. Nothing serious, but I have found myself asking questions to support on more than one occasion because I couldn't independently find the solution in the default documentation. "How can I generate a query that uses this argument rather than this one..." kinda stuff. More granular ability to "whitelist" specific rules - If security teams had perfect security, the business wouldn't be allowed to operate. That being the case there will always be compromises. Although I may care about a specific control as far as my environment is concerned, I will find myself with a laundry list of rules that will take an extended effort to clean up, or there is no good way around. Being able to acknowledge these and then circle back to them at regular intervals for review would be good - as opposed to having to make sure I filter those specific rules out of larger exports that I may dump into a ticket for remediation.,10,10,Extremely Positive - Recent efforts that have hinged on Firemon reporting ability have greatly matured our security posture. Administration Culture - Admins fight a balance of efficiency and due diligence - just as security teams fight a battle of risk vs. business needs. Having Firemon in house as a solution has helped shape the due diligence and expectations from our administrators, clearly allowing us to draw a line in the sand as far as acceptable risk, or acceptable documentation - and enforce that. Over time findings go down, technical debt from years past is lowered, and were promoting that security minded mentality into future vendor and device selections based off of in house practices and priorities.,Streamlined Change Management proceduresWe adopted the PP module as an alternative to very resource intensive, manual legacy procedures we used to check for rule compliance in the past. Even though implementation is being championed by our NetSec department, we have integrated it with an End-to-End overarching process which allows us to reconcile and match information from rules, their 'owners' or requestors, and their intended use. Primarily, it eases and streamlines our change management procedures while giving us instant visibility into 'who' requested 'what' and 'why' it has been configured that way.,Streamlined change management procedures. Great automation capabilities. Built-in reporting capabilities. Extensibility (customizations).,Perhaps the ability to add and customize dashboards (e.g. by power users) would be desirable. The workflows are still somewhat not that 'intuitive'.,9,No hard dollar figures yet in my case (that will come later on as we collect more info), but it certainly has a positive impact in terms of 'productivity loss' (man-hours released, now dedicated to higher value initiatives). Additionally, it has become a key factor in terms of overall visibility into our infrastructure, which allows us to take better, informed decisions with potentially high impact. Also proves to be very useful if your organization is undertaking major 'house keeping' efforts in order to consolidate and rationalize network infrastructure A negative impact is the fact that today we are not able to automate the deployment of rules in our specific infrastructure, so analysts are in a way 'duplicating' efforts by entering the changes in PP first, yet having to resort to other tool so as to input the actual commands (e.g. CLI, proprietary tools, etc.),Cisco ASA, Juniper SRXFireMon Excellence!FireMon Security Manager is currently utilized for change management across all of our firewall systems. The reporting and assessment facilities also provide essential information to assist us with ensuring our firewall environment is at its most efficient. FireMon is utilized by the security and network management teams in our organization.,Security Manager provides a graphical map of your infrastructure and allows you to do a path analysis through the firewall infrastructure. Security Manager allows you to view every change made on the specified device. This includes the day, date, time, and user who made the change. You can drill down to detailed information concerning exactly what the change was. Security Manager allows you to view all firewall policies including Security Rules, Objects, NAT Rules and more.,While FireMon provides great reports, the reports that we utilize often can not be edited. We would like to see the reports in an editable format allowing us to remove content that is not relevant or add relevant content to the report for presentation to management. A recent change was made in a update to Security Manager that caused problems with the LDAP authentication of users. This change was not adequately communicated to us before the update and took several sessions with Technical Support to correct. A better job of updating the customer of major changes is required.,9,10,We have nearly eliminated any unauthorized or unnecessary changes on the firewall platforms through implementation of a sound change management strategy that uses FireMon as the auditing platform. We are cleaning up our firewalls through the elimination of redundant and shadow rules along with unused rules. We have experienced a significant reduction in man hours required to monitor our firewall platforms, provide reporting, and assess each platform for compliance.,Tufin
Web based browser UI
FireMon
32 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
TRScore

FireMon Reviews

FireMon
32 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 32 vetted FireMon reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-23 of 23)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
January 08, 2018

User Review: "FireMon - Worth it."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon is used by firewall administrators and security analysts on a regular basis. Administrators analyze proposed changes and existing rules base. Security analysts use it to audit.
  • Fast analysis of flaws in the rules set
  • Dynamic mapping
  • Normalize varied platforms into a standard appearance
  • Quickly find unused rules and objects
  • Useful canned reports
  • While you can evaluate potential changes to firewall rules, you can not implement the rules from FireMon.
  • The GUI is easy to navigate, but learning where to go for the useful features takes a little practice.
  • While the base product has reports for analyzing vulnerabilities, a separate license is required to get the full benefit.

Our primary use case for FireMon was to aid audits of firewall changes and finding weak rules. The base product meets this need 100%. Implementation is easy. Compatibility for all major vendors is present. Support is great. No regrets.

Regular audits are simple. Changing report criteria is possible, but the built-in reports were effective enough.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 15, 2018

FireMon Review: "Great tool for check and balances"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is a great tool to keep an eye on our network engineers to make sure that all changes done are under our existing change control process.
  • Notification of changes to firewalls
  • Mapping capabilities
  • Reporting on existing rules
  • Help in firewall rules review
  • Provide capability to view software defined networks (private cloud infrastructure)
FireMon is a great tool to have for checks and balances for the network team. [It] currently needs to support VMWare NSX environments.
Read this authenticated review
Daniel James profile photo
October 06, 2017

User Review: "FireMon – Bringing the heat!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

FireMon is actively being used by our security team to enforce oversight and compliance standards for our firewall environment. Additional business units are also leveraging the solution to help with reporting. Change management will use the tool to identify rogue changes or changes that may have been implemented outside of our internal change management guidelines. Firewall admins will use the solution to improve the quality of the rules that they generate and to assist with the review and approval workflow. Compliance leverages the solution to help prioritize which devices may need more assistance or a greater amount of overhead needed to remediate.

The main benefit at this time is that it helps us help ourselves and reduce the amount of calories we burn each month or quarter in identifying what issues we need to address in our environment. Getting ready for audit, or quarterly reviews of devices is exponentially easier. Having the ability to automate many of our controls into our workflow on an ongoing basis also reduces the amount of time spent in each of those scheduled reviews/clean up efforts.

  • BU Reporting - Concerned about role segmentation? Want other business units to peek into how things are going on your devices but without having to give everyone under the sun admin credentials for those devices? Firemon accomplishes that for us. I'm able to take this solution to various business units and shop it around...and increase its ROI by getting additional processes or procedures built around its functionality.
  • Remediation Reporting - A flexible interface allows for very granular information to be generated, exported, and manipulated. Want to export a list of expired rules, done. Rules that allow traffic but don't have logging enabled, done. Find a change that took place outside of your change window and identify who's manager to speak to - done.
  • Support - Although this isn't a "Security Manager" specific example its worth emphasizing that with such a flexible and vestal tool there are multiple ways of doing things. Usually there is the way that I can find to fit my needs right now - but the support staff have been amazing as offering improvement suggestions for the way that I use the tool to accomplish the tasks I have to complete. Quick turnaround on tickets, and no micro-managing of prerequisites before offering a to schedule a webex or best guess first step.
  • More granular documentation - A flexible tool is great, but with flexibility comes gaps in documentation. Nothing serious, but I have found myself asking questions to support on more than one occasion because I couldn't independently find the solution in the default documentation. "How can I generate a query that uses this argument rather than this one..." kinda stuff.
  • More granular ability to "whitelist" specific rules - If security teams had perfect security, the business wouldn't be allowed to operate. That being the case there will always be compromises. Although I may care about a specific control as far as my environment is concerned, I will find myself with a laundry list of rules that will take an extended effort to clean up, or there is no good way around. Being able to acknowledge these and then circle back to them at regular intervals for review would be good - as opposed to having to make sure I filter those specific rules out of larger exports that I may dump into a ticket for remediation.

Very well suited for reporting, and identifying control failures. I can single handedly do the analysis work of an entire remediation team - validate my findings - export the information in a format that is friendly to pass along to my admins - track remediation efforts - and update documentation in one interface.

There are some areas in the reporting that could be tweaked a bit to provide more nimble output. FireMon has a wide variety of pre-generated reports that have a lot of value over the query based reporting. Many of those reports you can run against your entire enterprise, but some you can't....meaning you might have to duplicate the report for a handful of devices depending on your need.

Read Daniel James's full review
No photo available
October 19, 2017

FireMon Review: "Streamlined Change Management procedures"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We adopted the PP module as an alternative to very resource intensive, manual legacy procedures we used to check for rule compliance in the past. Even though implementation is being championed by our NetSec department, we have integrated it with an End-to-End overarching process which allows us to reconcile and match information from rules, their 'owners' or requestors, and their intended use. Primarily, it eases and streamlines our change management procedures while giving us instant visibility into 'who' requested 'what' and 'why' it has been configured that way.
  • Streamlined change management procedures.
  • Great automation capabilities.
  • Built-in reporting capabilities.
  • Extensibility (customizations).
  • Perhaps the ability to add and customize dashboards (e.g. by power users) would be desirable.
  • The workflows are still somewhat not that 'intuitive'.

PP is a great tool to keep Change Management procedures 'under control' in large network infrastructures and/or in scenarios where modifications to infrastructure are deemed critical. It is also very useful as an auditing tool.

On the other hand, it might not be that necessary for SMB type of infrastructures.

Read this authenticated review
Eric Garcia profile photo
January 20, 2017

User Review: "FireMon Excellence!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon Security Manager is currently utilized for change management across all of our firewall systems. The reporting and assessment facilities also provide essential information to assist us with ensuring our firewall environment is at its most efficient. FireMon is utilized by the security and network management teams in our organization.
  • Security Manager provides a graphical map of your infrastructure and allows you to do a path analysis through the firewall infrastructure.
  • Security Manager allows you to view every change made on the specified device. This includes the day, date, time, and user who made the change. You can drill down to detailed information concerning exactly what the change was.
  • Security Manager allows you to view all firewall policies including Security Rules, Objects, NAT Rules and more.
  • While FireMon provides great reports, the reports that we utilize often can not be edited. We would like to see the reports in an editable format allowing us to remove content that is not relevant or add relevant content to the report for presentation to management.
  • A recent change was made in a update to Security Manager that caused problems with the LDAP authentication of users. This change was not adequately communicated to us before the update and took several sessions with Technical Support to correct. A better job of updating the customer of major changes is required.
We utilize this tool primarily for change management, configuration management, and compliance. FireMon does not make changes to the firewalls themselves so if you are looking for a tool to push changes perhaps another tool would be more suitable.
Read Eric Garcia's full review
Jackie Duarte profile photo
January 09, 2017

FireMon Review: "Reliable IT Security Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon Security Manager is being used within my organization for several purposes. I specifically utilize FireMon 8 in order to gain long-term information about the traffic hitting the firewalls within the network. The reports that I'm able to run using FireMon 8 give allow me to better analyze the firewalls in order to remediate rules within the firewalls.
  • Provides well organized, easy to read reports such as rule usage and object usage.
  • Provides ability to quickly run a query to identify where particular objects are being used.
  • Logging of firewalls over time gives long-term status on rule use on the firewalls.
  • Learning how to write syntax to query information was difficult.
  • Difficult to rely solely on the results from queries run in FireMon. I have seen different results from FireMon and what is on the firewall using another tool and FireMon was inaccurate.
  • Logging stops or malfunctions on FireMon.
FireMon Security Manager is well suited for anyone who is working within security, remediation, or architecture for their company's network. FireMon's report library enables the user to run reports in order to analyse, change, check compliance and health check, and usage for environment. It quickly identifies rules that can be/need to be cleaned up within the environment, particularly rules that are disabled or need description.
Read Jackie Duarte's full review
Jamie Hudson profile photo
January 17, 2017

FireMon: "Comprehensive firewall management tool review."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon Security Manager is used to monitor our internal firewall usage, daily firewall changes, and is also used for firewall report creation. It is currently used just by the information technology department, although it is used by various users including technicians, administrators, and analysts. FireMon Security Manager helps the business comply with payment card industry data security standard compliance.
  • Real-Time email alerting for firewall changes and the availability to review the new configuration and the previous one side by side is one of FireMon Security Manager’s strengths.
  • Easy to read Overview Dashboard provides at a glance report charts of the Top 5 devices including control failures, firewall rule complexity and rules available for removal.
  • The interactive network topology device mapping feature clearly shows network segments, firewall locations and external access points with the ability to access firewall rules with one click.
  • The out of the box reporting is a nice feature, but the ability to build customized report with a report "wizard" would be an added benefit.
FireMon security manager is well suited for a dynamic environment that includes firewalls from multiple types of manufacturers with a large amount of firewall changes. It has the ability to monitor Check Point, Cisco, Fortinet, Palo Alto and many more firewalls. It would be less suited for small networks that have very few firewalls and do not have many rule changes.
Read Jamie Hudson's full review
Ryan Bast profile photo
January 13, 2017

"FireMon Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our IT department to audit existing firewall configurations. It is helpful in finding redundant or unused rules in the configuration. We also find the traffic flow analysis tool extremely helpful. When creating new rules for new applications we find a lot of required ports are not properly documented and the flow analysis provides a great way to audit the rules traffic and narrow down the exact ports required for an application.
  • Traffic Flow Analysis is an invaluable tool.
  • The ability to run reports on PCI audits has been very useful.
  • The logged connections history is great for showing management metrics.
  • AD integration was a little difficult to set up.
  • Upgrading was tricky but FireMon support did a great job working with us to complete an upgrade.
FireMon is a great tool for any organization looking to audit their firewalls. At a glance, it can be difficult to tell where rules may be redundant or even unnecessary but FireMon does a great job picking these out and showing them on the dashboard. The revision history is also great if multiple users make changes to your firewalls to see what might have changed and for troubleshooting.
Read Ryan Bast's full review
Larissa Cui profile photo
January 05, 2017

FireMon Review: "Going beyond the simplicity"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FireMon to monitor any changes that are made to our network. We reference the changes against our change management to make sure that the change was authorized and nothing was added or subtracted without prior approval.
  • I love the insight into what is being done on the network. I can make sure that our network team is doing what they say they are doing. It also gives us the security controls to see what the network team keeps from us.
  • The GUI is easy to use.
  • I would like to be able to update certain fields, for example the reference field for tickets.
Our ASA failed over and we wanted to know the cause. FireMon allowed us to see the time sequence and what caused the failover.
Read Larissa Cui's full review
David Yu profile photo
January 13, 2017

User Review: "Quick and dirty on FireMon"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon Security Manager is used for audit archival and compliance. The software allows us to log changes in firewall policies and track who and when. When configurations are audited, the software allows us to compare changes made over a specific time period.
  • Logging policy changes.
  • Providing insight into change process.
  • Expansion to other products.
  • Interface is very cluttered, could use streamlining.
Well suited: checkpoint environment.
Less appropriate: if you lack time to learn the product interface.
Read David Yu's full review
Chris Goodrich profile photo
January 13, 2017

FireMon: "PCI review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used to monitor our firewalls for changes and keep track of the requests for new changes. It's primarily just for the IT security department. The primary problem it addresses is PCI compliance.
  • Tracks all changes made to the firewalls.
  • Fairly easy to use ticket request system (policy planner).
  • Need to be able to support more types of firewalls (for example the new FTD code for the Cisco ASA's and the NSX firewalls).
  • Need better integration between data submitted in policy planner tickets to the security manager (not all the data from those tickets are saved in the security manager).
  • Need more customization options on policy planner (require certain fields to be filled out).
Well suited to provide compliance for programs like PCI.
Read Chris Goodrich's full review
Angel Bachman profile photo
January 10, 2017

Review: "If you're looking for insight, FireMon is the tool for you"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon is a big help in our efforts to clean up our ruleset. The ability to see exactly what ports and services are being allowed versus what is being used is extremely helpful.
  • Reporting
  • Visibility
  • Centralized network security monitoring
  • The reporting takes a long time to load.
If you are looking to clean up your ruleset, FireMon will give you the insight you need to get rid of outdated rules and unused IPs, applications, and services. Its visibility also goes back far beyond what the firewall itself can hold.
Read Angel Bachman's full review
Bharath Cherukuri profile photo
January 10, 2017

User Review: "FireMon is Best but can improve"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Firemon security Manager to maintain all the Cisco based firewalls across our organization. It is used to check the daily reports updates and changes on each and every firewall.

Mainly we use FireMon to get the audit reports on the firewalls.
  • Audit Reports
  • Control Failures
  • Policy Planner
  • Policy Planner needs to be updated as per the organization
  • More Detailed Reports for Auditing
FireMon is the best tool to manage all devices on a single platform.
Read Bharath Cherukuri's full review
No photo available
January 13, 2017

Review: "Streamline Firewall Management with Firemon"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon is very useful for reporting any changes made to firewall policies in real-time. It sends an email of who, what, and when the change was made. Very using for alerting other network admins. Reports also show which firewall rules may be too open. Firewall rule cleanup is important to keep up with. FireMon makes it easier.

Another feature I like is the API. Checkpoint doesn't have an easy way to search for NATed IP addresses associated with host objects. In v7 we use a PHP script to compile the real IP address, NAT IP address, name, and comment data to be easily searchable to help find available NAT addresses to use. Unfortunately, v8 doesn't pull the NAT data from Checkpoint at this time. Support said they are working on it.
  • The API is very useful for extracting data.
  • The reporting feature is very usful for finding weaknesses in the firewall rule base.
  • Notification of firewall changes to keep administrators abreast of what was changed including rule, objects, etc.
  • v8 doesn't import the translated NAT address from Checkpoint like v7 does. This needs to be added back.
Any one running multiple firewall brands and load balancers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 13, 2017

"Firemon Security Manager Higher Education Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're utilizing this only within IT. We track changes to the firewall with it as well as using it to track access list usage and current openings. We're using the product to make the auditing of firewall openings much easier. Rather than having to track need for openings manually, we're able to identify whether an opening is being used and how much it is used.
  • It does a good job of tracking usage of firewall openings. This gives us much better reporting than traditional firewall logs.
  • It does a good job of tracking firewall changes. We are able to determine when changes were made and by whom.
  • The interface makes it easier to determine which openings are currently present.
  • We've occasionally had issues where the product stops receiving and recording access control list hits.
  • Sometimes we have issues with comments populating correctly into the Firemon config.
  • We've run into a few issues when the system became unavailable.
The software works well for us because we do not have direct access to the firewall configuration. This allows us to audit the configuration without needing direct access. If you do not have a need for that, it might be easier to do some of the configuration with provided tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 13, 2017

FireMon Review: "Best in class!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are using FireMon to monitor firewall changes as well as to improve the rule base.

It is a really efficient tool, which helps us by having a slimmer and more responsive firewall, which is not cluttered by redundant rules.

  • Firewall Optimization
  • Audit
  • Tracing traffic
  • The install on column from firewall is not filtered, making it a bit difficult to analyze some rules

FireMon is really for us useful when needing to streamline the rule base as well as to have an audit of all the changes made to the firewall, as it is sending emails for every change as well as weekly reports.

Our team is using it daily and we are really happy with its functionality.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 11, 2017

FireMon Review: "Add a new new engineer to the team without all the costs of a new engineer."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a network security engineer for a large ISP and we recently implemented FireMon in our network to help manage our firewalls. We are a growing company and this product helps us consolidate our firewalls to give us a better understanding of how they are being used and how often.
  • FireMon gives a great overview of all firewalls on the network.
  • FireMon tells us what rules are and aren't being used to help us keep our policies manageable.
  • FireMon gives us a better understanding of what areas might need more security.
  • It's great that it can tell us what rules are redundant but it doesn't lay out the rules side by side.
  • Could provide more online training like videos and documentation, to maximize our use of FireMon.
We were getting to migrate from one firewall to another and so we went in and removed all the unused rules and redundant rules. By doing this, it made the migration period much shorter and we knew that the rules that we migrating were accurate.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 11, 2017

FireMon Review: "Great Resource and a Reasonable Cost"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT Perimeter Security Team uses Firemon to clean up unused Rules and ports not being used by the Firewalls along with running compliance checks against the firewalls to insure they are in line with best practices.
  • Tracks Firewall rule usage.
  • Tracks and documents all Firewall changes.
  • Holds all Firewall ACLs in one centralized location.
  • Compatibility to see VPN tunnel ACLs.
  • Reports could be easier to customize.
  • Single licensing Enterprise option. Added other firewalls and needed another license - cumbersome.
Firemon Security Manager allows for a centralized point to understand all rules and ACLs for multiple different Vendors. Many different Departments within and outside of IT can take advantage of the different functions of Firemon, and access can be limited per user. Reports can be scheduled to be forwarded to each area where needed for a quick reference of the items needed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 10, 2017

FireMon Review: "Overall very satisfying"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Firemon Security Manager is being used across the whole organization. It is used to keep track of every firewall policy and what each one does. With more than 23,000 employees, there are a lot of firewalls used on our network.
  • FireMon Security Manager does a great job in validating firewall policies against regulatory requirements and in the utility business there is a lot of regulation to comply to. I think this is a strength because it's getting harder and harder to follow up on all regulation that applies.
  • FireMon Security Manager does a pretty good analysis of all the firewall configurations and it helps to identify rules that are hidden, too permissive or shadowed. It helps keep the firewall configurations clean at all time.
Very helpful when audit are taking place.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 13, 2017

Review: "FireMon Security Manager - An Awesome Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have customers that have this product and we help them with the installation. For one of them we have a managed service, and it means we manage the tool with tasks like doing firmware upgrades, adding/deleting devices and helping them with reports and other configurations. It is also used for training the customer’s users to and understand the reports and other features FireMon Security Manager has.
  • Custom compliance assessments. Even [though] FireMon Security Manager has a complete suite of compliance assessments, it's a strength that we are able to build custom compliance assessments to review the status of the network based on our internal policies.
  • Rule Search. Is an awesome tool because we can verify before creating a new firewall policy in the network if there is any other policy that is already created that fulfills the request. It lets you keep your firewalls clean.
  • Building the maps is still a complex task to complete. It requires a lot of time to do it and it's not too intuitive.
Appropriate:
- Within complex networks with devices from different vendors
- Companies merging with other companies
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 10, 2017

"FireMon Security Manager Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon Security Manager is being used by the security operations team to audit firewall configurations and determine access for firewall change requests. The network team uses it for configuration and reporting.
  • Auditing of configurations
  • Policy planning for firewall change requests
  • Reporting
  • AD authentication setup is somewhat challenging
  • Licensing model is confusing
Firewall and router/switch configuration reporting and auditing
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 10, 2017

FireMon Review: "Not bad"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FireMon is only being used for firewall configuration monitoring purposes. In other words, any changes on the firewall we would check on FireMon.
  • FireMon does a great job at monitoring any changes on the firewall rules
  • Monitor any user accounts that perform the changes on the firewall
  • Easy to set up
  • Collecting logs of logs usage on the firewall from a SIEM device would be useful
  • A report to generate all firewall rule changes within the last year
FireMon is decent in response to troubleshooting. They did an excellent job with assisting with any upgrade of the device from certain versions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2016

Review: "FireMon is a Great Network Monitoring Tool for Non-engineers as well as Engineers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize FireMon to monitor the changes to our critical firewalls within the Company. We also use it to perform our bi-annual firewall review to show us easily and readily what objects and ACL's are not being used within a certain timeframe. It also allows us to document in detail who the owner of the rule is as well as document the change number associated with the rule/change.
  • Monitor changes
  • Provides easy review of the configuration
  • Shows if there are duplicate rules
  • The way it is licensed. It is licensed by device type and IP address.
  • Process to upgrade to major versions. Right now you have to reimage the appliance or VM and it is not always just an update.
It helps organizations achieve and maintain various compliance requirements such as ones within the PCI DSS. It also provides an easy to review and reference for users who are not firewall engineers. It breaks the configuration down nicely to show how the rules flow and what they do.
Read this authenticated review

About FireMon

FireMon's Network Security Policy Management (NSPM) platform gives security and operations teams automated visibility and analysis for network security devices. FireMon's web-based UI allows users to dissect their network security policies, locate compliance failures, and assess security vulnerabilities. The vendor says the platform proactively delivers intelligence around IT security and compliance so organizations can make better decisions about their network security.

The FireMon platform offers:

  • Real-time monitoring for security and network operations to see details in complex IT and security systems. With granular, sub-second views into the network infrastructure, FireMon provides automated analysis to improve security posture, maintain compliance and detect advanced threats.
  • Automated Security Configuration Assessments (SCA) for continuous compliance, automated rule and cleanup recommendations, and risk-based simulation for policy changes. Users can create "what if" scenarios for analysis and model the impact of potential changes. This reduces time and gives greater assurance that firewall changes provide appropriate security and accessibility to IT assets.
  • Continuous assessment of all security device configurations in real-time, complying to regulatory and internal standards. Audits are automated with sub-second analysis and documentation across the security infrastructure.

FireMon Features

Has featureKPI Dashboards: See your network at a glance with analysis, trending and key performance indicator widgets on a customizable dashboard.
Has featureTraffic Flow Analysis: Monitor network traffic behavior – down to the application level – to isolate overly permissive configurations.
Has featureAccess Path Analysis: Trace every available access path across the network and visualize relationships between network devices to identify risk access points.
Has featureNetwork Mapping: Visualize and interact with highly complex network security environments or segmentations.
Has featureChange Detection & Reporting: Isolate, document and alert on every ongoing change implemented throughout your existing firewall policies.
Has featureAssessments & Controls: Define and employ unique security controls for customized, repeatable analysis and reporting on your firewall policies.

FireMon Videos (2)

FireMon Downloadables

FireMon Integrations

Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series, Palo Alto Networks URL Filtering PAN-DB, Palo Alto Networks Virtualized Next-Generation Firewalls - VM Series, VMware NSX, VMware ESXi, Check Point Next Generation Firewall, Check Point Security Management, AhnLab Trusguard, Check Point FireWall-1 / SmartCenter / VPN-1 Edge including VSX, Cisco ASA / PIX / FWSM / ASA Context, Dell SonicWall, F5 AFM, Fortinet Fortigate / VDOM, Huawei USG / Eduemon, Hillstone SG-6000 series, IBM Proventia MFS, Juniper Netscreen / SRX / ScreenOS / VSYS, Secui NXG / MF2, Stonesoft Management Center and detected firewalls, Topsec Firewall, WeGuardia FW

FireMon Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

FireMon Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
8%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
15%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
77%

FireMon Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

FireMon Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Web based browser UI
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All countries except North Korea, Iran, Sudan, Syria and Cuba
Supported Languages: English