TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Um/fq/KH16WVORPPAO.JPEGPlanview Projectplace as File-sharing and Collaboration.We are using Planview Projectplace as a file sharing and collaboration site. It helps us share information between companies in on place. It is designed to be used for our project team and the customer. To my knowledge, the only language being used is English.,Planview provides many different ways to share information. Planview is customizable to the project. Planview is easy to use.,Plan view allows any type of naming convention allowing for everyone to upload things This can cause disorganization. It can be difficult to find things if the plan rooms have all been set up in different spots.,3,Traditional structured projects (Gantt) Action items and tasks Delegate work assignments Share and review documents,11 to 50,It provided a platform to communicate with the customer in a way that was easy for them.,MS SharePointProjectplace, one of the more unique project management tools on the marketI'm actually a contractor for Planview Projectplace in addition to my full-time role at Amazing.com. The main business problem Projectplace addresses on the marketing and content teams is version control. You know the document in Projectplace is the most updated one. It is being used by the whole organization, even though my main function with it currently is the marketing team. Multiple countries and locations are involved and English is the language that is mainly being used to communicate.,I really the like version control aspect There are a lot of document storage capabilities in an order that flows and makes sense Love the flow of the Kanban board set up,Sometimes when you look at the Kanban board set up, it almost appears too busy, compared to competitor products like Basecamp I've had issues in the past where when I add a new document it replaces an old one with it instead of keeping the old and the new files.,8,Agile Action items and tasks Prioritize resources and workloads Delegate work assignments Share and review documents,With its email integration, Projectplace makes it easy to collaborate with people on your team internally and externally.,101 to 500,increased media clippings increased blog post views,Slack, Basecamp, Trello, JIRA Software and WrikeProjectplace - What you need for a matrix organisation and resource utilisationProjectplace is a good application to manage resources that are involved in multiple projects. It allows for clear tracking of information requests, files shared and defect management.,Assigning tasks to resources across multiple projects Upload, review and share files for multiple projects and across organisational boundaries - a one-stop solution,Issue functionality is cumbersome to use, not always easy to filter for open issues or use multiple filters.,8,Traditional structured projects (Gantt) Roadmaps Action items and tasks Prioritize resources and workloads Delegate work assignments Share and review documents,Projectplace works well in a multi-stakeholder environment where companies need to collaborate on a project - setup of users was easy and allow sharing of tasks and files across company/ country boundaries.,11 to 50,Projectplace enable us to get projects back on track by allowing us to manage all open tasks on the project.,TodoistProjectPlace ReviewWe use ProjectPlace across our enterprise in English only. Good project management software.,Organizing plans Detailed timeline Communication Options (Weekly, daily, etc),Copying multiple cards at once and pasting them to a different area Combining multiple templates Better web conferencing tool Calendar tool (have cards update on calendar when edits are made in ProjectPlace),8,Traditional structured projects (Gantt) Action items and tasks Prioritize resources and workloads Delegate work assignments Share and review documents,It has leveraged our communication with internal and external stakeholders via the various communication tools.,More than 500,Positive- Engagement Positive- Communication Positive - Reaching strategic goals,First impressions of ProjectplaceMy company uses Projectplace as the tool for managing projects, portfolios and other development. We use it in Swedish.,It's easy to invite people to take part in projects or share documents without them knowing fully how to use Projectplace. Good functionality for conversations between team members. You can easily follow a discussion and you don't need to use email.,The plan is not very easy to work with. It's too easy to make mistakes when moving activities and sub-activities.,7,Traditional structured projects (Gantt) Action items and tasks Share and review documents,Haven´t used it that much, just for working toghether with Consultants. That has worked very well.,11 to 50,Can't really say,Microsoft Project
Unspecified
Planview Projectplace
239 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
TRScore

Planview Projectplace Reviews

Planview Projectplace
239 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 239 vetted Planview Projectplace reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 85)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
June 25, 2018

Review: "Planview Projectplace as File-sharing and Collaboration."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Planview Projectplace as a file sharing and collaboration site. It helps us share information between companies in on place. It is designed to be used for our project team and the customer. To my knowledge, the only language being used is English.
  • Planview provides many different ways to share information.
  • Planview is customizable to the project.
  • Planview is easy to use.
  • Plan view allows any type of naming convention allowing for everyone to upload things This can cause disorganization.
  • It can be difficult to find things if the plan rooms have all been set up in different spots.
I believe it is well suited for construction, and file sharing. However, it can feel clunky when it comes to uploading items and organizing things. It is helpful that you are able to upload so much information to one site, but it seems that things could potentially get lost easily if an organization is not set up well from the get-go.
Read Rachel Robinson's full review
June 19, 2018

Planview Projectplace Review: "Projectplace, one of the more unique project management tools on the market"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm actually a contractor for Planview Projectplace in addition to my full-time role at Amazing.com. The main business problem Projectplace addresses on the marketing and content teams is version control. You know the document in Projectplace is the most updated one. It is being used by the whole organization, even though my main function with it currently is the marketing team. Multiple countries and locations are involved and English is the language that is mainly being used to communicate.
  • I really the like version control aspect
  • There are a lot of document storage capabilities in an order that flows and makes sense
  • Love the flow of the Kanban board set up
  • Sometimes when you look at the Kanban board set up, it almost appears too busy, compared to competitor products like Basecamp
  • I've had issues in the past where when I add a new document it replaces an old one with it instead of keeping the old and the new files.
Version control and document storage
With its email integration, Projectplace makes it easy to collaborate with people on your team internally and externally.
Read Lauri Zachry Truong's full review
June 18, 2018

Planview Projectplace Review: "Projectplace - What you need for a matrix organisation and resource utilisation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projectplace is a good application to manage resources that are involved in multiple projects. It allows for clear tracking of information requests, files shared and defect management.
  • Assigning tasks to resources across multiple projects
  • Upload, review and share files for multiple projects and across organisational boundaries - a one-stop solution
  • Issue functionality is cumbersome to use, not always easy to filter for open issues or use multiple filters.
Well suited for vendors that have resources working across multiple projects, planning, resourcing and delivering projects in a matrix environment.
Projectplace works well in a multi-stakeholder environment where companies need to collaborate on a project - setup of users was easy and allow sharing of tasks and files across company/ country boundaries.
Read John Marais's full review
June 22, 2018

Planview Projectplace: "ProjectPlace Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ProjectPlace across our enterprise in English only. Good project management software.
  • Organizing plans
  • Detailed timeline
  • Communication Options (Weekly, daily, etc)
  • Copying multiple cards at once and pasting them to a different area
  • Combining multiple templates
  • Better web conferencing tool
  • Calendar tool (have cards update on calendar when edits are made in ProjectPlace)
I think it's a good, basic project management tool.
It has leveraged our communication with internal and external stakeholders via the various communication tools.
Read Elizabeth Farsolas, MBA's full review
January 22, 2018

Planview Projectplace Review: "First impressions of Projectplace"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Projectplace as the tool for managing projects, portfolios and other development. We use it in Swedish.
  • It's easy to invite people to take part in projects or share documents without them knowing fully how to use Projectplace.
  • Good functionality for conversations between team members. You can easily follow a discussion and you don't need to use email.
  • The plan is not very easy to work with. It's too easy to make mistakes when moving activities and sub-activities.
Well suited for planning and getting a good overview. Good for communicating within a project.
Haven´t used it that much, just for working toghether with Consultants. That has worked very well.
Read Agneta Nyrén's full review
June 18, 2018

Planview Projectplace Review: "difficult to use across multiple projects"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projectplace is being used to track projects, activities, boards, and development of specific features and bug fixes. We also are using it for time tracking and upper management is using it for strategic planning.
  • We can write cards quickly.
  • We can update cards quickly.
  • We can move cards quickly.
  • The individual dashboard sucks and basically makes this tool so painful that I would not recommend it for the line employee.
  • I work on several projects and there is one dashboard "My overview" that can't be modified. All I get is a list of cards on the right in some random orders from the eight or so project boards in one long list. You MUST implement some "cascading" dashboard that shows a hierarchy of Project > Activity > Board > Card > Status with configurable fields shown, where sections can be collapsed when focusing on one area.
  • The ID for cards can be the same as the ID of a different card on another board. If you move a card to another board the ID changes.
I believe this tool is only appropriate for one simple project at a time.
We are just starting to use the documents and links features. It is ok, but really offers no benefit that I see over a wiki or even Google Drive.
Read this authenticated review
February 07, 2018

Planview Projectplace Review: "Projectplace"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projectplace is being used in English across the development half of the organization to manage R&D project timeline, tasks, resource management, and time tracking. Departments that participate in program use include research and development, quality engineering, program management, product management, and operations/manufacturing.
  • Card for individual task tracking and assignment are useful for small activities
  • Like the homepage as a base summary of all ongoing project assignments
  • Gantt chart functionality is limited. The fact that any small change can move the timeline and cannot be "undone" gets frustrating when the incorrect change is accidentally made.
  • It would be helpful if the time reporting page automatically saved. There have been several instances where I or others have entered time and forgotten to save, since the software I've previously used did it automatically.
  • Being able to assign multiple people to a card would also be helpful. Not necessary, but we have several tasks that get a primary person assigned but involve small input from others, but the tasks themselves aren't large enough to warrant breaking them up into multiple cards.
Well suited for day to day activity management. Being able to break down project activities into individual task cards, including the easy "drag and drop" of these cards into their appropriate status columns, is very helpful in creating a checklist of tasks that need to be completed.

Less suited to high-level project management. The Gantt functionality is limited and does not include all features commonly seen in software like Projectplace. It would be helpful to have the ability to list cards/subtasks, resources, other information on the Gantt page directly, instead of needing to switch between the Gantt and the board's page to compare activities to the timeline.
We use the tool for internal collaboration only. We've used it successfully to communicate project timeline, assign tasks, monitor progress, and collaborate on documentation. The tool has been successful for collaboration during the day to day activities. We have not yet used the tool for any external collaboration activities.
Read this authenticated review
March 07, 2018

Planview Projectplace Review: "Nice concept, but still needs improvements on main topics"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in English.

The entire development department is using it (5 persons). We are trying to use it following the Agile methodology, which is not a piece of cake. We have a lot of different projects, most of the time only one person is working on a project. We put all our projects in a single projectplace's plan (as recommended by thier side).
  • The availability to provide customer services via a conference call is just fantastic.
  • Ability to handle multiple projects which are interacting/blocking each other.
  • Handle ticketing support which is linked to board and plan.
  • We recently decided to terminate our ProjectPlace account and customer service told us it must be terminated 3 months before billing anniversary date at the latest otherwise a new billing cycle is invoiced.
  • For a yearly billing, it is not a great news!
  • So, it is definitely not "customer service oriented".
  • projectplace is certainly most appropriate for very simple/small projects
  • We do have a lot of pain using projectplace with multiple projects, alive at the same time, some of them [are] interacting together
Unfortunately, our internal/external stakeholders are not involved in this tool.

Also, I've noticed that project place KPI are not real KPIs, instead of re-using project place data, it's just text fields encoded by hand.
Read this authenticated review
December 21, 2017

Planview Projectplace: "Projectplace Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projectplace was implemented this year to support project management of promotional display projects. At Bayer, we have a very seasonal portfolio and the volume of annual projects we have to support Promotional display activity and importance drove us to a solution to support that. Although we are still in a learning curve and have ideas of improving how we use Projectplace in the future I'm happy to say it has added value and provided efficiencies in managing the volume of projects we have. The tool is used across multi-disciplined areas within the Consumer Health division at Bayer Canada (English) and other divisions within Bayer are looking at it.
  • Web-based platform easy to use - mobile app is great
  • User feedback to improve Project place and monthly updates is a strength
  • Central repository for internal and external team members is very helpful
  • Reporting and Dashboarding - Initial presentation of the solution had us believing reporting / dashboarding was all set up ready to go when in fact it needs to be set up by the user.
  • Training documentation mainly all video and online - helpful but challenging for users that prefer manual type instruction

Project management - smaller repeatable projects - well suited

Project management - larger type projects not as useful

instant messaging function is great for collaborative team work internal and externally
Read Cathy Lumsden SCMP's full review
December 18, 2017

Planview Projectplace: "Projectplace review from the view of a designer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Projectplace as a project managing tool for our design and PR team here at RaceChip. It helps with tracking current tasks for each team member and also improves our workflow between different teams. We're using the tool in German and for one location in Stuttgart, Germany.
  • The card system of project place works really good. It's very easy to create new cards, assigning them to team members and linking them to projects.
  • The "plan" view is really helpful to keep track of your recent activities.
  • It's useful to connect activities with others to know if something has to be finished before another activity.
  • The whole structure is currently very much made for companies with big projects with a lot of different activities. However, for smaller teams like ours it's simply too big in scale and therefore, we only use one "project" for all of our actual projects, which then are "activities" in Projectplace.
  • Sometimes a card struggles to update itself after you changed something in it (e.g. the label or assignee).
  • It's not really easy to move cards to some kind of archive. I created a new board especially for this but when moving cards there, they're automatically marked as "ToDo" again.
Very good for easy project management without too many details and administration work. In comparison to e.g. JIRA, it's much less complicated which can be a big advantage for e.g. a design team like mine but of course, it can also be a disadvantage for complex IT projects. This is why we're using both in our company.
We're using Projectplace only for internal project management and not for collaboration with external stake holders. However, it's really useful for collaboration between different teams inside the company.
Read Fabian Kuhn's full review
November 06, 2017

Planview Projectplace Review: "Gotta love Projectplace!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used ProjectPlace to manage our Planview Enterprise upgrade to version 14. We had multiple team members in different geographic locations and departments. There were many tasks including updating documentation. We were able to utilize the Kanban boards to track tasks and who was working on them. The Document Review and Signoff functionality allowed me to ensure the documentation that needed to be updated was done. All users were in the US and used English.
  • Kanban boards for tracking assignments
  • Document review and Signoff
  • Collaboration/Discussion
  • I created a Checklist for items that had to be completed after the upgrade. I often times found myself looking for it as I forgot where I created it.
  • I also think the linking/publishing between tasks and cards could be improved and it was also difficult to see the value in that task.
  • There was no MS Project export option which would have been helpful.
  • Users had some trouble downloading documents using certain browsers (can't remember what the issue was though).
It is well suited for diverse and matrixed project teams especially those that are geographically dispersed. [It's also well suited] If you have a large number of documents that need to be approved and need to track that approval. It is also nice that team members (like a client) do not have to purchase a license to use Projectplace.

ProjectPlace is not well suited if you have to do any sort of resource scheduling or forecasting, or if you need that to drive the project schedule. I wasn't thrilled with the WBS management functionality so if you need to have a robust WBS you might consider a different tool.
We did not leverage this outside our organization but would like to in the future.
Read Katherine (Zaleski) Olsen's full review
September 25, 2017

Planview Projectplace Review: "One of a kind project management and collaboration SaaS solution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ProjectPlace for filesharing with external collaborators. The main users are in two departments. All material is in English. The business problem addressed is that our SharePoint platform that is used for collaboration internally has had problems in the past when it comes to inclusion of external collaborators. This is addressed by ProjectPlace.
  • Project planning
  • Project monitoring
  • Document sharing
  • User-friendly
  • Combining projects into programmes and portfolios is possible, but not as easy.
  • Simultaneous editing as supported by many other products is not possible.
  • The synch functionality can be a bit buggy or at least lacks user-friendliness, making it possible for documents to come out of synch and into multiple copies.
  • The pricing model and the management of the user count is cumbersome. Which users can be deleted? The model is developed around organisations locking into set packages.
It is great as collaboration tool around projects where resource and task management are key. The project manager and contributors can start without much training or preparation. Although functionality exists, it is not optimal for managing large complex projects, programmes or portfolios. The tool is not suited if the task is pure file sharing or merely document collaboration.
The reason we have Projectplace today is its strength to include external collaborators on an ad hoc basis. But we predominantly use the document sharing and versioning functionality within that scope. Across the organisation and outside the departments that currently use Projectplace, we still have a flora of applications doing all or parts of what Projectplace provides.
Read Daniel Eriksson's full review
September 22, 2017

Planview Projectplace Review: "System Implementation with ease"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Projectplace in several departments in our company. As an IT & T manager, I use Projectplace to track and manage upgrades and improvements to our systems. Besides this, I am currently using it to project manage the implementation of a new stock control and warehouse management system. We are working with a systems company and it allows members from both teams to collaborate on tasks.
  • It allows larger objectives to be split up into smaller tasks which can be assigned to individual team members. This helps in getting one big task done in a more streamlined way.
  • I really like the task scheduling option which sends you an email each morning outlining the tasks you have to do that day.
  • The schedule overview is also very helpful. This shows the main tasks you have to do from a more bird's eye view to see which overlap. Helps with resource planning.
  • I sometimes find it difficult to decide whether a task should be put as a main or subsidiary item.
I find it fantastic for managing my current new system implementation. It helps me to keep on top of daily and weekly tasks and allows me to assign tasks to other colleagues to keep the project running to schedule.

My colleagues in marketing also used it for tracking our new website build. It proved very useful for the duration. Subsequent glitches are also recorded within Projetplace and it is used to ensure they are actioned in a timely manner.
I make use of the collaboration features to enrol the assistance of technicians from our software provider who we're working with to implement a new system. This allows me to keep track of questions and answers all in one place.

Our marketing department uses the collaboration tools when working with outside marketing company and website designers.
Read Dale Simpson's full review
December 13, 2017

Planview Projectplace: "Projectplace Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Projectplace for the IT PMO. We've pushed it out to other areas of our business and users love it. I believe it could be improved, and look forward to where Planview is going with the idea of Projectplace.
  • Easy to learn
  • Road map
  • Track to-do list within the card
  • Can be quickly over complicated
  • Would like it to connect with other Planview software
Projectplace works well for smaller teams, including analysts and developers - this tool will be helpful. Also good for processes and that it can be connected to Microsoft Outlook so that the due dates on your cards also reflect on our Microsoft Outlook calendar. I do not see it working well for larger teams, because it can become over complicated.
We leverage Projectplace's collaboration features to communicate interally. We will send follow-ups to one another via the commenting on a card feature. We also use hashtags to flag items that require attention at a weekly stand up, or even accomplishments that are worthy of being called out to the rest of the team.
Read Rebecca Coffman's full review
November 17, 2017

Planview Projectplace Review: "ProjectPlace is your tool for collaboration!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Far as I know, it is used all across the business, with multiple teams, countries, and languages.
  • Great board tool gives visibility and helps prioritizing the tasks.
  • Perfect for collaboration with geographically spread team.
  • Not able to move cards to different projects.
  • Report generation is limited.
Perfect for geographically spread team, or whenever collaboration is needed.
Great for agile teams, not as much for traditional waterfall teams; it does have a GANTT, but it is limited compared to tools like MS Project.
Increased communication; clear visibility on tasks and priorities; easy to see who is doing what and to initiate conversations in real time. This greatly improves productivity and makes it easier to follow up on tasks.
Read Bruno Amaral's full review
July 19, 2017

Planview Projectplace: "My Project Place Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to outline, assign, and track progress of tasks within larger team objectives. By breaking up large scale objectives into cards, individual cards help track the work currently being done by everyone on the team. It has been a great tool to keep track of assigned work and to be able to see what things are being done on specific projects.
  • Helps keep track of your assigned work
  • Helps to see what other members of your team are working on
  • It helps to understand objectives and timelines for accomplishing objectives.
  • The GUI could use some colorfulness.
Project place is well suited for situations that involve objectives that can be broken up into subtasks and organized in such a way that these individual assignments can be assigned to people. Its great when trying to develop new software. It would probably not be necessary for small applications and small organizations.
It helps to facilitate items internally. It allows you to see who is tasked with what items, what items have been finished, and what items have not been worked on. We do not use project place to facilitate collaboration with outside stakeholders. It is our primary internal task management tool.
Read Alan Tillman's full review
October 13, 2017

Planview Projectplace: "small vision review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
My company participates in European Union multidisciplinary projects for which Projectplace the common tool. In a specific project for public administration we are only a reseller. Different kinds of users, usually from the department of engineering, project developers and research and development. English is common language because of the European Union nature of the projects for which Projectplace is used.
  • Ability to customize interface
  • Intuitive interface
  • Tag management is a great success
  • Document management is not convincing
  • Projectplace file editing we do not like
  • The videoconferencing system is poor
Well suited: program management, many stakeholders need to be informed about general information, progress or where to find documentation, chat conversations and everything related to information and communication in general is a very appropriate tool.
Less appropriate: just one project based on Gantt, timetable, cost and benefit, Earned Value Analysis and other kinds of financial necessity.
It is the best tool that we have found so far for virtual work teams.
Read Manuel Campomanes's full review
October 11, 2017

Planview Projectplace: "Projectplace Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projectplace is used for submitting and tracking marketing collateral. The marketing and legal departments currently use Projectplace.
  • Tracking projects
  • Submitting projects for review
  • Identifying what steps or actions need to be taken next for the project
  • Confirm review by departments as needed
  • I have no issues with Projectplace as I currently use it
Projectplace is good for submitting and tracking projects. It is also good for identifying what steps the project is in, what reviews are needed, and when the review is complete.
Projectplace is used by the marketing and legal departments for marketing collateral submission, reviewing, and tracking.
Read Laura Lamb's full review
October 05, 2017

Planview Projectplace Review: "Projectplace in extensive use.."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Projectplace mainly in technical projects, although the plan is to be able and use it more extensively throughout the whole organization. This includes implementation of new systems/procedures, change control, process development as well as the technical projects we use it for today. By using Projectplace we have identified many possibilities for improvements in efficiency, communication, reporting etc.

Projectplace is already used by many different geographically spread departments/teams. Keeping good communication in place even if people are located in different cities is also a strength when using Projectplace.
  • Easy access/transparency of information to team and stakeholders. With the tools in Projectplace you have easy access and transparency to information. If well-structured you do not need to spend hours on looking for information.
  • Efficient communication. By using the possibilities to comment on activities, cards, documents etc. you can improve your communication within the teams. Short messages are often enough since you have all the history and related information already linked.
  • Remove unnecessary administration. Using the workspace and portfolio tools can enable the organization to "automate" processes and reporting. Spend less time on repetitive activities and more on important issues/deviations.
  • Workspace templates. If you want to use Projectplace in many different processes (projects, process development, change control etc.) there are some lack of flexibility. It would be good if there were possibilities to use more templates on different levels.
  • Project Requests. To be able and use Projectplace in different types of “projects” there must be more possibilities to customize the request forms/tools.
  • Automate processes. Projectplace has many possibilities to improve existing tools to help organizations automating processes.
Projectplace is well suited when you plan and manage single workspaces but less when you look at a complete cycle from approval to follow up and close out. It seems that most of the research and development focused on the single workspace functionality.
Internal stakeholder management and collaboration have improved by using the portfolio tools in Projectplace. Regarding partners and suppliers it is sometimes an advantage to invite them to the workspaces. This has improved the efficiency and collaboration in between us, but you must be careful with the access to tools and documents.

Customers you usually do not want to invite to a workspace since the information is all too detailed and confidential. There is often an information management plan to follow which do not approve this. We have sometimes used the “Project Site” functionality, which has been highly appreciated by customers. It is possible to publish information on the project site although it is inflexible and has a non-modern layout, which is a disadvantage.
Read Kim Kautto's full review
October 04, 2017

Planview Projectplace Review: "ProjectPlace as secure companion doing business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ProjectPlace is used as secure project-management platform with our clients as well as the workspace to manage our virtual team of experts across the globe. While we're not yet using the full functionality of ProjectPlace, the document management and versioning and online meetings are the two functionalities ranked highly on our current use of ProjectPlace
  • Document management and reporting on changes in document working space
  • Easy integration with various applications particularly MS-Office suite
  • Access rights to workspaces, folders, ... easily managed
  • Online meeting functionality to be extended with videoconferencing
  • A MS-Office add-on functionality as additional menu with main ProjectPlace links/functionalities added in particularly outlook
Secured platform with a professional set of functionalities with ease-of-use for people with various levels of experience with IT/MS-Office.
Within our expert cabinet virtual team environment and particularly with respect to our customer interactions, our customers very much appreciate the ProjectPlace environment, allowing them to retrieve project documents/information and clear project actions follow-up, while allowing to retrieve/access the information at their own timing. Next to being a secured 256-bit encrypted environment for secured information exchange.
Read Luc Van Den Durpel's full review
October 02, 2017

Planview Projectplace Review: "Project Place - Project Management Done Right"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Project Place as a collaborative PM tool that was at the right detail-level for our IT team. We use the Kanban boards extensively to manage action registers and project level status. Since the IT implementation we have had other departments approach us about the using the tool and we now have three departments making use of our account. Overall it is an excellent fit for our needs.
  • Kanban boards are fantastic for task level tracking and assigning tasks to team members.
  • Portfolio view allows me to get a 10,000 foot view of all projects in our technology division.
  • Being a cloud-based product allows us to easily scale and collaborate with teams instead of over-using email.
  • The interface for editing projects has a little bit of a learning curve but once you have it down it's fine.
Suited for teams, department heads, projects. Less useful for enterprise budgeting but that's what Inotas' PPM tool is for.
We have been able to collaborate with contractors and consultants easily and use the collaboration tools for project communications as opposed to email when possible.
Read John Wyatt's full review
August 29, 2017

Planview Projectplace Review: "A great tool with a great variety and many possibilities to run projects"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projectplace offers a borderless company wide communication and project management tool to plan, review and make a documentation more thoroughly. It helps to manage business projects in a central documentation platform. Furthermore, with its mail delivery system you can be always up to date in all issues about your projects.
  • Versions of documents - you have always the possibiilty to read old versions of your documents and can upload new ones and have it checked by other coworkers
  • Planning tools - create WP with deadlines and have an overview of your projects aims and milestones
  • Comment section and being up to date with notification and to do lists
  • Possibilty to use projectplace in a mobile web view instead of using native app of projectplace
  • Copying WP to other boards or projects
  • Archiving possibility of WPs
In big projects with a high scale of WPs and teams it fits for companies. For rather small projects with only maybe 2 or 3 participants the documentation and tools are not approriate. The tool needs furthermore a good administrator to view and manage the own projects. In a wide range of project numbers, it can happen that you get lost in your project work, if you don't set the project in your priority work.
It helped to have a documentation for long term periods and to manage the documentation more thoroughly. Nowadays the orientation of documentation should grow in its importance. With other stakeholders it is possible to keep up in this documentation and to be up to date around the projects. Nevertheless it still depends on the people working with the tool and its possiblities.
Read Benedict Opferkuch's full review
December 22, 2017

Planview Projectplace Review: "Projectplace, best fit for project management"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projectplace is being used by our company for project management activities from R&D, manufacturing to construction. It helps to address detail implementation plan with detail works and milestones to complete all them, support monitor the completion status with feedback of all members, support collaboration in real-time among departments and members who are being in multiple locations.
  • storage data and information in a unique location, easy to reach.
  • support makes the detailed plan and monitor task status
  • remind people to keep tasks done in time
  • chat with other members
  • open to read files on-line (by browser)
It is well suited for enterprise business in project management that requires multiple departments and members to be involved, no matter where they are. However, it should support members better to have a quick message to each other (chat) and also support to open files directly on the browser instead of downloading them into a computer.
We mostly use Projectplace to collaborate with our internal departments.
Read Tam Nguyen's full review
December 19, 2017

Planview Projectplace Review: "Good experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Use to organize the project ad in the advance of the project.
  • Use to check the workload of people and the correct workflow of activity.
  • Use to make conversation with people that work on the same project and collect the information about singular activity in the same place.
  • Use for archive and take the version of documents.
  • version of document
  • facility to use
  • Comunication
  • the plan
  • the contact
Engineering project with people located in various places.
all information on the same place help the project
Read leonardo Milaneschi's full review
December 19, 2017

Planview Projectplace Review: "Good tool that is upgraded each month."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projectplace is used by all the services of my company, product creation, IT development, marketing, planning. We are present in several countries (Spain, Portugal, France, Poland) and we work in several languages. Mainly the first projects are managed by the web development department but the marketing gets started with a product launch procedure also.
  • the gantt schedule is very fluid, visually pleasing
  • notifications are convenient
  • integration with other tools is good too. I happen to interconnect with Zappier mainly.
  • have an undo on moving gantt
  • have more opportunity to add images in tasks, activities (like Trello)
  • as I work in the textile industry, I can feed a repository available in several projects.
  • can easily make links between tasks
  • ability to move activities from one workspace to another
I think it's good for driving computer tasks I think it is perfect for something else like the textile industry.
We have not really used this type of operation so far, to see Later.
Read Olivier Chassing's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (78)
8.3
Resource Management (61)
6.2
Gantt Charts (67)
6.9
Scheduling (67)
7.0
Team Collaboration (80)
8.1
Support for Agile Methodology (53)
8.3
Support for Waterfall Methodology (48)
7.1
Document Management (76)
8.5
Email integration (63)
7.6
Mobile Access (62)
6.9
Timesheet Tracking (47)
7.1

About Planview Projectplace

Projectplace is the collaborative work management solution from Planview that brings teams together to get work done. Whether a team is down the hall or on the other side of the globe, Projectplace aims to provide everything needed to set direction, communicate, execute tasks, track progress, and ultimately achieve goals. A key value proposition is to be one tool designed to work together rather than a collection of point solutions.

The vendor says the the product is built with teams of all size and complexity in mind, from virtual teams of five to entire global enterprises with tens of thousands of active users. Projectplace is intuitive and makes it easy to get started in just minutes and scale as new team members join. Since work types vary, Projectplace is uniquely flexible to fit the job at hand – traditional projects, roadmaps or unstructured work where groups just need to “get stuff done”.

For more information, visit Projectplace.com

Planview Projectplace Features

Project Management Features
Has featureTask Management
Has featureResource Management
Has featureGantt Charts
Has featureScheduling
Does not have featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureTeam Collaboration
Has featureSupport for Agile Methodology
Has featureSupport for Waterfall Methodology
Has featureDocument Management
Has featureEmail integration
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureTimesheet Tracking
Does not have featureChange request and Case Management
Does not have featureBudget and Expense Management
Professional Services Automation Features
Does not have featureQuotes/estimates
Does not have featureInvoicing
Does not have featureProject & financial reporting
Does not have featureIntegration with accounting software
Additional Features
Has featureKanban Boards
Has featureRoadmaps

Planview Projectplace Screenshots

Planview Projectplace Videos (2)

Planview Projectplace Downloadables

Planview Projectplace Integrations

Planview Projectplace Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Projectplace Enterprise$29per seat

Planview Projectplace Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Planview Projectplace Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, Dutch, French, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish