Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Planview ProjectPlace

Planview ProjectPlace

Overview

What is Planview ProjectPlace?

Projectplace is a collaborative work management solution. The vendor says the product is built with teams of all sizes and complexity in mind, from virtual teams of five to entire global enterprises with tens of thousands of active users. It…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Project place Review.

8 out of 10
May 16, 2024
Incentivized
We currently use Project Place in connection with PPM Pro to track medium to large IT Projects, ranging from software development to …
Continue reading

ProjectPlace

7 out of 10
September 15, 2023
ProjectPlace is a great solution for our smaller projects. They don't need the level of detail that large corporate projects require. …
Continue reading

ProjectPlace

10 out of 10
September 14, 2023
Very easy to implement and train. Very simplistic project/task management toolset that anyone can use.
Continue reading

ProjectPlace

7 out of 10
September 14, 2023
We use ProjectPlace along with PPM Pro as our project management of all our new product development projects as well as a few other places …
Continue reading

From the eyes of a collaborator

8 out of 10
September 14, 2023
We have used Planview ProjectPlace to help manage Planview implementation across two workstreams. We needed a central place to keep track …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 11 features
  • Team Collaboration (193)
    8.9
    89%
  • Task Management (191)
    8.8
    88%
  • Gantt Charts (171)
    8.0
    80%
  • Document Management (184)
    7.3
    73%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

1 video

Planview Projectplace Review - Project Management Sails with Few Limitations According to One User
02:24
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Projectplace Enterprise

$29.00

Cloud
per seat

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.projectplace.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features

Project Management

Project management software provides capabilities to streamline management of complex projects through task management, team collaboration and workflow automation

8
Avg 7.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Planview ProjectPlace?

ProjectPlace is the collaborative work management solution from Planview that brings teams together to get work done. Whether a team is down the hall or on the other side of the globe, ProjectPlace aims to provide everything needed to set direction, communicate, execute tasks, track progress, and ultimately achieve goals. A key value proposition is to be one tool designed to work together rather than a collection of point solutions.

The vendor says the the product is built with teams of all size and complexity in mind, from virtual teams of five to entire global enterprises with tens of thousands of active users. ProjectPlace can be started in minutes and scales as new team members join. Since work types vary, ProjectPlace is flexible to fit the job at hand – traditional projects, roadmaps or unstructured work where groups just need to “get stuff done”.

Planview ProjectPlace Features

Project Management Features

  • Supported: Task Management
  • Supported: Resource Management
  • Supported: Gantt Charts
  • Supported: Scheduling
  • Supported: Team Collaboration
  • Supported: Support for Agile Methodology
  • Supported: Support for Waterfall Methodology
  • Supported: Document Management
  • Supported: Email integration
  • Supported: Mobile Access
  • Supported: Timesheet Tracking

Planview ProjectPlace Screenshots

Screenshot of Collaborative Workstream: Streamlined interaction between activities, boards and cards. Plan and follow up in the Gantt while your team enjoys executing and collaborating for optimum productivity on the Kanban boards.Screenshot of Document Management: Ensure changes to documents are visible in real-time. Version control ensures that team members see the latest document versions with access to document history.Screenshot of Gantt Charts: Plan and visualize every step of your work and projects with Projectplace Gantt Charts. Track progress to make sure you'll meet your deadlines and know when things are not happening on time.Screenshot of Kanban Boards: Enable your team to execute and collaborate for optimum productivity on Kanban Boards. Get activity notifications, messaging and visualize progress of day-to-day tasks.Screenshot of Workload View: Visualize the workload of members in all workspaces to determine whether a team member is overloaded with work, or has room to do more.Screenshot of Workspace Overview: Get an overview of all your work and tasks that have been assigned to you across all workspaces. Add personal tasks that only you can see to get a complete picture of what's on your plate.

Planview ProjectPlace Videos

This is Projectplace - 45 sec
Planview Projectplace - A Smarter Way to Work

Planview ProjectPlace Integrations

Planview ProjectPlace Competitors

Planview ProjectPlace Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported LanguagesEnglish, Spanish, German, Dutch, French, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish

Planview ProjectPlace Downloadables

Frequently Asked Questions

Projectplace is a collaborative work management solution. The vendor says the product is built with teams of all sizes and complexity in mind, from virtual teams of five to entire global enterprises with tens of thousands of active users. It is also designed to incorporate waterfall and agile workflows.

Smartsheet, Wrike, and Asana are common alternatives for Planview ProjectPlace.

Reviewers rate Team Collaboration highest, with a score of 8.9.

The most common users of Planview ProjectPlace are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(420)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 198)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I have been in my current role for 6 months. Over my career I have used many CRMs and Project Management tools, but this was my first experience with Planview ProjectPlace. I was shocked how easily I was able to get up and running. This tool is quite intuitive and easily facilitates collaboration with my team. We use it to manage all of our projects within one Kanban, as our document repository, and we use the white board for quick and easy brainstorming. I think an area for opportunity for this tool is around automation. It is quite restrictive and for some applications this could be limiting.
  • Collaboration
  • Card creation from an outlook email
  • Simple to use
  • Integrated with other more comprehensive tools, for us, Planview Portfolios
  • Allow for custom automations
  • A community forum that isn't behind a password wall
If you have a large project or many small projects, a single projectplace board would be an easy choice.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Planview ProjectPlace has allowed us to improve our software upgrade process as it makes all of the steps/tasks visual and allows for collaboration. We were able to reduce our process by 3 weeks.
  • Project management
  • Manage tasks via kanban board
  • Allows flexibility for teams to work
  • The project plan can be a little finicky to work with
  • Love they have a checklist for cards on the board, however the text field can be hard to work with
We have found it extremely beneficial for managing our internal upgrade process. Some teams have also found it nice when working with projects where they need a project plan in addition to a kanban board.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using ProjectPlace both as a stand-alone platform and also connected to Portfolios. There are teams of accidental project managers who only need to track their work in simple ways. We use Kanban boards for these users/document repositories and other modules. Our project managers can use this as their project hub while managing their projects in Portfolios.
  • Easy of use. Modules are well define.
  • Navigation: Users can use the tool's search functionality to find what they are looking for easily. The home page is configurable to the users' needs.
  • The knowledge center is a key function to understand the tool capabilities.
  • As portfolios are connected to ProjectPlace, we would like users to be able to report time in the cards and upload this time to the user's Portfolios timesheet for the associated task they are assigned to. This will help with adoption.
  • Financial data needs to be improved.
  • Is there an opportunity to add Roadmaps within this platform?
ProjectPlace is well suited for lite Project Management. Projectplace is a great tool for working with Portfolio for hybrid implementation, using waterfall scheduling and Kanban for sprint planning.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently use Project Place in connection with PPM Pro to track medium to large IT Projects, ranging from software development to infrastructure. Our teams track sprints or milestones, enter their tasks, points, or sizes, and track deadlines and dependencies. We also track in Project Place, related to PPM Pro, the time spent on tasks and team velocity.
  • Document management.
  • Ease of access via web interface.
  • Board visualization.
  • Team sharing of information.
  • Ability to track RAID and integrate with other tools.
  • Boards need additional work (see Agile place boards for reference).
  • Automation of tasks is only for basic tasks.
  • Reporting inside the project place is very basic. Need the ability to customize widgets within the tool.
Planview Project Place is suited for medium projects with smaller teams or participants. It becomes difficult to handle a large number of team members or dependencies. The interface is very intuitive, which allows users to grasp the board interface quickly.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our company uses Planview ProjectPlace to help manage small projects and track daily tasks. ProjectPlace allows us to collaborate as a team and combine it with PPM Pro to get a complete picture of project status, outstanding tasks, etc.
  • Easy to use without requiring in depth training.
  • Tracking overall project status.
  • Easy to see what needs to be worked on/next steps.
  • More advanced reporting capabilities.
  • Better for team use, not as good for project management.
  • Difficulty with multiple projects at once.
Planview ProjectPlace is a great tool for organizations to use to work collaboratively on smaller group projects. It can be difficult to use for larger scale projects and managing multiple projects at once. But, overall, it is very helpful to manage and track team progress.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Using ProjectPlace we are able to have our entire team collaborate on group projects and daily tasks/information. We can follow along in real time and execute our work load in a timely and efficient way. It helps our large group of team members stay connected and has been a very important central application for our team.
  • Staying Connected
  • Collaboration
  • Efficiency
  • Organization
  • Reporting
  • Link to other applications
Project Place is well suited to successfully complete projects on schedule. We know where we are at, how to meet our goals and fill any gaps in real time. This has translated to growth in ROI for us. Being able to collaborate real time with so many team members is a definite plus for us.
September 15, 2023

ProjectPlace

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
ProjectPlace is a great solution for our smaller projects. They don't need the level of detail that large corporate projects require. These smaller projects are usually smaller teams and more collaborative than our larger projects. We loved the kanban board, the agility of the product, and that communication was at the forefront. Notifications, work, files, hours, everything we needed in one place.
  • Collaboration
  • Communication
  • Pleasant Interface
  • Smoother integration with Enterprise One
It is suited for smaller projects or team work when the organization is not comfortable or used to agile/Kanban style tools.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I am the ProjectPlace admin for my organization. It is great for smaller projects and promoting involvement of project teams.
  • Communicate
  • Simple and easy to use
  • Document repository
  • Kanban boards
  • Useful enhancements
  • While it is a great tool some features/updates do not have much value in my opinion
  • Very limited reporting
  • Ability to export comments on a card
Great for project teams to collaborate and for small to medium size projects. However, it is not the best for reporting which forces you to find other ways to achieve your outcome.
September 14, 2023

ProjectPlace

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Very easy to implement and train. Very simplistic project/task management toolset that anyone can use.
  • Easy to implement.
  • Easy to train.
  • Easy to use.
  • Streamlined document management linkage to SharePoint online
  • Out of the box reporting
Suited for 'accidental project manager' where high level project management training is limited.

Not appropriate for full financial tracking of the project expenses.
September 14, 2023

Review of ProjectPlace

Cynthia Spragg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This is a tool I regularly promote for product leaders to help manage their risks, decisions, issues, decisions & milestones. It is easy to use and can be customized to their needs. A benefit is that it also integrated with PPM Pro which is our PMO reporting tool.
  • manage milestones
  • manage risks
  • risks, dependency, issue integration with PPM Pro
well suited for product leaders
September 14, 2023

Great Project Tracking Tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Great tool to help track and present project status, resource assignement and what's upcoming
  • Supports multiple teams and project phases
  • Easy to track status (good or bad)
  • Reporting capabilities
  • it works fine for what I need it do do
It's great on all projects and very helpful for those that don't want to use MS Project, Smartsheet or other reporting tools
September 14, 2023

ProjectPlace

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use ProjectPlace along with PPM Pro as our project management of all our new product development projects as well as a few other places we are starting to use it as well.
  • Provides a place for all team members to collaborate in one place for each project.
  • Provides a good view of team members work that is ready to be worked on
  • Ability to customize each workspace home overview page
  • Ability to add attachments to multiple cards all at the same time
  • On team page be able to view by the new sorting option of with done dependencies
  • When adding teams to a workspace, being able to add more than one at a time
  • Have a pop up if someone completes a card before prior dependencies are complete, asking if sure should be done?
  • Ability to chose and add multiple documents to multiple cards at same time
Like any thing, there are some great things and some things that could be improved upon.
The workspaces are a great way to keep all the project documents, conversations, and tasks visible to all
We have a few issues with some of the interaction between PPM Pro & ProjectPlace, but have seen some improvements in the last 2 years as well.
It would be great to have someone available to answer more questions when come across something that doesn't seem to be working quite right
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have used Planview ProjectPlace to help manage Planview implementation across two workstreams. We needed a central place to keep track of day to day tasks as well as the ability to collaborate real time. Having this as a centralized repository was very helpful as well.
  • centralized repository that's easy to share
  • task cards to assign work
  • tagging to alert team members
  • accessible w/o SW
  • in my opinion, project plan is not very intuitive
  • context search
Planview ProjectPlace was helpful in helping multiple team members stay connected. There are opportunities with the project plan portion, but overall it has been effective serving as a centralized repository allowing the team to collaborate effectively.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use ProjectPlace as our Client Facing Project Management tool for our implementation projects.
  • Communication. Love the ability to message teams and groups
  • Document Sharing
  • Planning & Task Management
  • I would like the ability to create a level of security for the main documents screen. If docs are placed there accidentally, it can be seen by all.
  • I would like the ability to put in an hour's capacity by week for a resource and be able to be flagged when an assignee has maximized their capacity
  • I would love for the plan view to show in a calendar view - not just a gantt chart where we can determine the items being added to the calendar
I love the ease and use of ProjectPlace in communicating with team members and clients. We encourage our users to utilize the messaging features rather than email. Then use search to track down a thread. All in one place rather than searching thru emails when incidents occur, I wish the Roadmap tool was available in ProjectPlace as our organization is moving to Agile. I wish ProjectPlace allowed a few more of the features from AgilePlace or that the two were integrated directly
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Easy to use roadmapping tool that we were quickly able to deploy within our governance, change management, and Agile teams. Extremely user-friendly and intuitive to utilize.
  • Easy to use without detailed training
  • Tracking plans
  • Creating tasks / cards - like a kanban board
  • Ability to delete the activities and cards faster by highlighting item to delete quicker
-Roadmapping
-Project planning
-Sharing project schedule with project stakeholders with a URL
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our organization implemented ProjectPlace with integration into Planview Portfolios. We've used it for project collaboration and document storage. It's ability to be the "home base" for project teams is great, and new features keep appearing that enhance the capabilities. Using PP allows us to keep the information in Portfolios fairly high-level, which eases what can be a big burden in terms of effort to manage projects in there.
  • Document storage
  • Collaboration
  • Kanban boards
  • Notifications
Well-suited for project team collaboration. Less well-suited for operational teams and sharing information that needs to be accessible to a broad audience, due to the need to invite individual users to each workspace.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
ProjectPlace offers a user friendly extremely customizable application to support collaborations among members of a project team. Kanban Boards are my favorite and being able to link my plan to my plan in Portfolios is a great help. Being able to email a board to create a card is a great time saver and so helpful for not losing track of tasks requested of you.
  • Interaction with office products like Outlook and Teams
  • Ability to brainstorm with other team members via white boards
  • activity tracking/planning with Kanban Boards
  • User management could use improvment - I wish there was an option to deactivate a user rather than completely deleting them
  • the ability for users to invite external users to the platform is a concern for our Information Security team, it would be great if that feature could be turned off
  • More reporting options!!!
Projectplace is great for casual projects that don't need all of the financials and reporting options. For our governed projects we use Portfolios or a combination of ProjectPlace and Portfolios
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I am currently using the platform to organize my timeline not only for my own projects , but for the projects my team is working on. It keeps us on track and motivated. I really like the board and cards as a visual checklist of who needs to be accomplishing what. We can all add to the workspace and upload documents, and leave messages about cards created.
  • It is very robust and organized
  • I like the integration with PPM PRO
  • I am still new, but not sure what is missing yet.
It is easy to use with co-workers who have also used ProjectPlace. When someone new joins, it does take a little longer to explain the functionality because it is so robust. But overall, the help functions and help resources are very thorough even if you are not completely tech savvy.
September 13, 2023

One User's View

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
ProjectPlace is our official repository for all project documentation that we use/create as we go through our projects. It is very intuitive and doesn't take a genius to operate.
  • I like using the Reports feature and viewing the milestone report
  • Whiteboard and Templates such as the Retrospective and SWOT Analysis
  • Document Storage / Repository is easy to use and able to break down into hierarchy
  • The Kanban boards and Gantt charts are well done and very useful
  • Better Ad hoc reports
  • Large file transfers are sometimes challenging
  • There is no "undo" button in project plan
Planview is well suited for housing important documents.
Madison Sophia Bennett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Planview Projectplace is used very widely by a large number of teams who seek that planning, management, and budget resources are administered in the best possible way. We obtain very accurate reports on the performance of the projects according to the established schedule based on the specific budget of each project. With Planview Projectplace we have managed to improve our decision-making according to all requirements, we use diagrams to evaluate expenses internally and externally, we believe that it is possible to fully achieve success with this project tool.
  • Good scope in budget management
  • Very easy to use by multiple teams
  • Accurate reports to evaluate each project
  • It is a tool that works without major setbacks, we know perfectly how to use it, we manage projects without problems, the reports are accurate, the budget is controlled without problems, it really does not have aspects that I have to complain about.
Planview Projectplace is a software that allows you to improve projects with very simple functions, it is the perfect tool to manage the budget of each project and according to its schedule. I can also mention that a large number of teams are using this tool and this is because it really performs the best. Recommending it is a very simple thing, I always recommend it.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
ProjectPlace addresses the demands and needs of every project, where resources are precisely managed, and task sharing is done in a very formal way. Again, ProjectPlace ensures close monitoring of various time structures, and this brings suitable results. Again, ProjectPlace ensures there is credible collaboration, which brings all ideas into the company for credible management. Finally, ProjectPlace scales down the aspect of resource misuse, and this ensures results are intensively high.
  • ProjectPlace delivers an excellent schedule.
  • ProjectPlace ensure time is efficiently used.
  • ProjectPlace brings a suitable coordination, and this ensure collaboration is well supported.
  • ProjectPlace has the price tag that is quite demanding.
  • ProjectPlace has a dashboard that is somehow complex.
  • ProjectPlace has the online engagement system that are limited.
ProjectPlace has formats that ensure every project is handled in a friendly manner and that results attained are optimal. Besides, ProjectPlace has an excellent time locating system, where every action is well planned and resources channeled to meet the needs. Further, ProjectPlace has the conventional way of demand planning by learning the market.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Planview ProjectPlace is a streamlined and focused solution that enhances the proper planning of all the resources available, and it creates a fruitful report for accountability and documentation. Further, Planview ProjectPlace monitors time usage by employees, and it gives a smart response based on the task-sharing procedures. Besides, Planview ProjectPlace creates a consistent demand control, where every resource prioritization is done to deliver optimum results. Finally, Planview ProjectPlace is committed to integrating with several programs for smooth execution.
  • Manageable team communications, which brings fruitful integration.
  • Professional resource optimization and planning.
  • Planview ProjectPlace delivers a predictive analysis, which is fruitful and candid resource planning.
  • Planview ProjectPlace has complexity in its operations, more so with the new users.
  • Planview ProjectPlace has a reduced form of business engagement, which limits the performance of the entire workforce.
  • Other operational commands from Planview ProjectPlace are articulate and very assertive.
Planview ProjectPlace is a committed platform with a smooth approach to project development and resource optimization. More so, Planview ProjectPlace creates a visionary demand plan, which makes the market well facilitated in matters of performance. Again, Planview ProjectPlace has the resource and time trackers which foster accuracy in every business operation. Finally, scheduling is a well-stipulated feature from Planview ProjectPlace.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Planview ProjectPlace has enough collaboration that ensures resources and ideas are well laid out and operations conducted in the right manner. Besides, Planview ProjectPlace has the right scheduling, which oversees the prioritization of every activity, and the scores are well-labeled. More so, Planview ProjectPlace has robust documentation, which ensures every activity is fully recorded, and cloud storage facilitated.
  • Planview ProjectPlace has diverse scheduling and planning extensions.
  • Planview ProjectPlace creates realistic documentation through a friendly recording.
  • Planview ProjectPlace has a diverse time manager through solid monitoring.
  • Planview ProjectPlace is a conceptualized tool that requires extra caution and training for new users.
  • Planview ProjectPlace has financial challenges that many subscribers need extra caution to manage them.
  • Planview ProjectPlace has a dashboard that is extensive and very comprehensive.
Planview ProjectPlace is the optimal platform that ensures many operations that suit projects and other product management proceedings are well enhanced. More so, Planview ProjectPlace creates a defined approach that brings substantial prioritization and resource optimization. The growth pattern is also well recorded and activities monitored, and the time used.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Planview ProjectPlace brings credible organization, where tasks are well shared and proper monitoring is conducted to bring substantial and useful results. More so, all activities are well scheduled, and systematic arrangements are implemented to bring team collaboration for accurate results. Further, Planview ProjectPlace ensures every role is well documented and proper referencing is done to bring safety storage. Lastly, Planview ProjectPlace has excellent integration with emails and other project-enhanced solutions.
  • The excellent tracking system, using time sheet.
  • The candid email integration, which is robust and safe.
  • The creative scheduling of every procedure.
  • Planview ProjectPlace lacks IOS access, which is a primary problem.
  • Planview ProjectPlace should accurately harmonize on prices for firms.
  • Planview ProjectPlace needs a constant and frequent online training for new users.
Planview ProjectPlace is a vibrant platform that manages all activities and schedules different roles based on their urgency, importance, and requests. Further, Planview ProjectPlace outlines the need for proper documentation with the aim of accurate referencing. Tasks are credibly shared, and proper reporting is enhanced to transform firms' work environment. ; Lastly, Planview ProjectPlace brings sustainable email integration for enterprises.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Planview ProjectPlace is a visionary, competent and advanced platform that deals with solid mechanisms for streamlining project demands and allowing quality results to be acquired. Further, Planview ProjectPlace is useful in setting the directions on how to share or allocate resources, and every production factor is well monitored. The scheduling of every business process ensures there is accurate collaboration and substantial planning.
  • Advanced or smart task management procedures.
  • Substantial scheduling and authentic resource optimization
  • Credible resource usage and prioritization.
  • Planview ProjectPlace has the price question, where most users fail to acquire the product.
  • Planview ProjectPlace is qualitative, but inflexible in all the features available
  • Planview ProjectPlace is comprehensive and extra instant coordination from the vendor is useful.
Planview ProjectPlace conceptualizes ideas into solid and functional projects, which is a useful way of creating diverse changes. More so, Planview ProjectPlace has a committed monitoring system, which ensures time and resources are credibly enhanced. Besides, Planview ProjectPlace prioritizes or schedule different projects based on the availability of resources and business needs.
Return to navigation