Planview Projectplace Reviews

288 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 105)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have tried out Projectplace for a subset of projects in our company and find it very useful for project and portfolio management. It makes it easy to define and follow up projects, both within a single project and with a portfolio view. We have tried it for different types of projects (R&D, IT, HR, and more) and used it all across our organization and locations. It supports the Norwegian language.
  • Share documents with access groups and control.
  • Providing project templates and document templates.
  • Customization of status reports and portfolio reports.
  • The desktop plug-in might cause some trouble for new users.
It's easy to set up and get running, it's easy to customize and we can grow with the solution. We have started with the basic functions for a project and will extend the use as we get more complex projects over time.
The support works well when needed.
For our purpose, it works well.
Read this authenticated review
June 03, 2020
Brittany Alloway | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a single company using the product, but our team is all over the United States. We currently use Projectplace to manage the workflow of our publications across the editorial and the design departments. The cards and boards in Projectplace help us stay organized, on track, and gives us a great visual to see where each department and feature stands throughout the production process. The ability to assign cards to different users, leave notes, and start brainstorming conversations in each workspace is extremely beneficial and no other project management interface compares to that visual organizational aspect.
  • The boards are great for organizational purposes- and the visual aspect and drag and drop functionality is easy and efficient.
  • Creating different workspaces within our organization is a huge benefit of using Projectplace since we are a two-sided company (publishing and marketing/branding).
  • The card system is brilliant and makes moving along magazine elements from editorial to design departments flawless.
  • Some of the different views/stats seem a little cumbersome and overcrowd the dash
  • In a recent update the ability to drag and reorganize cards in the My Overview setting went away. The Group by dropdown is helpful, but I wish I was still able to rearrange the cards within each workspace/due date/etc.
  • With how I use Projectplace there aren't really a lot of cons!
It is well suited for inter-department communication and organization. Whether for handing off pieces of a project (in my company's case magazine departments/features from editorial to design) or seeing the full scope of what is at which stage (using the bards).
  • Action items, tasks, and issues management
  • Prioritize resources and workloads
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents
  • Collaboration features
I don't think I can stress enough the benefit of the boards and cards in Projectplace. The visual aspect alone is a huge benefit over other project management systems.
With my company, the collaboration happening within Projectplace is strictly inside-team only. But being able to manage tasks between our departments has made our communication and collaboration efforts effective and strong. Being a fully remote company, I don't think we would be able to thrive as much as we do with Projectplace.
Read Brittany Alloway's full review
June 02, 2020
Rachel Robinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Planview Projectplace as a file sharing and collaboration site. It helps us share information between companies in on place. It is designed to be used for our project team and the customer. To my knowledge, the only language being used is English.
  • Planview provides many different ways to share information.
  • Planview is customizable to the project.
  • Planview is easy to use.
  • Plan view allows any type of naming convention allowing for everyone to upload things This can cause disorganization.
  • It can be difficult to find things if the plan rooms have all been set up in different spots.
I believe it is well suited for construction, and file sharing. However, it can feel clunky when it comes to uploading items and organizing things. It is helpful that you are able to upload so much information to one site, but it seems that things could potentially get lost easily if an organization is not set up well from the get-go.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Action items, tasks, and issues management
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents
  • Collaboration features
They can be a little clunky and can quickly become unorganized. This product was recommended to us by the owner of a project and they requested we work on it with them. Due to lack of initial structure it seems to not be the most efficient software to use for sharing documents and collaborating.
With the filesharing feature we are able to collaborate with the customer relatively easy. It is also easy to send messages and collaborate in a quick way !
Read Rachel Robinson's full review
February 03, 2020
Wouter Teerlinck | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Projectplace as a platform for project management (development of large rad infrastructure) and general support for collaboration within our organization. It is used by 80+ project managers and 800+ employees and dozens of teams in 30+ locations.
  • Collaboration.
  • Project management.
  • Document management.
  • Large organizations.
It is very suitable for project management and team collaboration, and less suitable for collaboration as the platform is complex for project teams or collaboration environments without a proper plan-driven agenda.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Roadmaps
  • Action items and tasks
  • Delegate work assignments
The integration between Gantt charts and Kanban boards is a great feature in comparison with MS Project. Another great feature is the link with Plainview Enterprise One for portfolio management, resource management, and reporting.
The current implementation of some features (team working and dependencies between Kanban boards) isn't compatible with a safe and controlled collaboration between internal and external stakeholders. It really limits a broad implementation at the moment.
It is a bit more difficult to fluently use in large scale implementations.
Read Wouter Teerlinck's full review
June 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Presently we are using ProjectPlace to manage our most strategic initiative along with exploring for day to day project use. We have also begun to look at the platform for idea management in addition to product management.
  • Communications
  • Easy to use
  • Priced Right
  • Dates being in EU format
  • Report outputs
Not likely the best tool for enterprise organizations looking for a full PPM system
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Roadmaps
  • Agile methodology
  • Action items, tasks, and issues management
  • Prioritize resources and workloads
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents
  • Track time spent on activities
  • Collaboration features
It fit pretty well but now it is about platform so those applications which can exist on a larger platform are key
We will be opening up ProjectPlace to our key vendor partners to enhance our collaboration and communications.
Read this authenticated review
June 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are just using the Gantt calendar. Is useful to share with the team and upper management. Every team can interact with its own projects and the management people can have a global view.
  • Is web-based so you don't need to install anything.
  • It's very easy to manage it. It has no complex functionalities, straight to the point.
  • You can choose to use just one part of its many functions: Gantt or boards but you can use more available functionalities as you need to.
  • Simplified/compact view of Gantt diagram.
  • Is a little bit fragile: one click and you are moving a task or dates. It could be useful to have an edit view and a read-only view, or at least a rollback changes option.
  • A task view of the Gantt with the comments. The comments are a little bit buried inside the Gantt.
Well suited: light usage (vs. tools such as MS Project), not very big teams or very long projects.
Less suited: If you need to integrate with corporate tools such as time tracking.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Roadmaps
Is easy to use, low learning curve, it has a lot of potential but you don't need to battle with all the functionalities at the same time, so you can learn how to use it piece by piece.
I am using it only to feed upper management with a simplified Gantt of several projects with roadmaps 2-6 months long. I am using other tools like Trello or Confluence to complement my daily work.
Read this authenticated review
February 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projectplace is a great tool for team collaboration. First we tried to use the tool within one department to see how it works. For other departments we used another tool. Now we are integrating Projectplace in the other departments as well as for communication and collaboration between our multiple offices, because we like how it works.
  • Gantt chart functionality is awesome.
  • Very user friendly.
  • Pricing options are not flexible.
  • Reports are not as visual as I'd like them to be.
Planview Projectplace is well suited for both small and big organizations who would like to improve the efficiency of internal and external team collaboration processes. Not very well suited for those who need lot of clear and visual reports, because the reporting system of Planview Projectplace needs to be improved a bit.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Roadmaps
  • Agile
  • Action items and tasks
  • Prioritize resources and workloads
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents
  • Track time spent on activities
Comparing to other tools we have used in the past and the other similar tools we are still using currently, Planview Projectplace seems more modern and advanced in terms of features and UI/UX.
We use Projectplace more for internal collaboration currently, but plan to extend it for external use as well to improve productiveness of our communication with partners and customers.
Read this authenticated review
October 18, 2019
Shadi Mirza | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a Project Management tool to supplement our existing team of project managers. While we used to use it to track hours, currently it's only being used as a place to store creative briefs and the documents the creative team produces to execute on those briefs. It is an integral part of the creative process.
  • It allows easy sharing of documents.
  • Has a robust commenting system.
  • I enjoy that it has a Scrum board.
  • It's a little difficult to follow some conversations. The threading could be better.
  • Downloading documents isn't intuitive
It is well suited for internal and external creative agencies where quick access to PDFs and Word docs is required. It makes collaboration between creatives and the stakeholders they serve super easy and all that jazz. It's really amazing, and I hope my organization doesn't attempt to switch to another software.
  • Agile
  • Action items and tasks
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents
ProjectPlace is better than other software we've used in the past in that it seems to be made for creatives. Previously, we used JIRA, which is really meant for software development. It was super cumbersome to share word docs and stuff through JIRA. ProjectPlace isn't perfect, but it is well suited for what I do as a copywriter.
ProjectPlace has been totally integral to collaboration in that it eliminates the need to go hunting for files or conversations in Outlook. It's a centralized place for creative briefs, PDFs, documents and feedback. I can't imagine trying to get work done without it.
Read Shadi Mirza's full review
October 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projectplace is used across the IT department for plan and control projects through Gantt charts. Notes added by Project Owners is spread out across all team members through useful notifications. POs also store some ideas before grooming for new features.
  • Gantt chart is very usuful and easy to use
  • Control and communications
  • Data storage
  • Undo functionality is missed
  • The mobile has limited features than WEB
Planning is very good scenario and works amazingly for this application. Using Boards is complicated, UI is complex.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
It's easy to understand the main milestones while you're looking on Gantt charts
It helps to facilitate points internally. We don't use it with outside stakeholders.
Read this authenticated review
April 05, 2019
João Almeida | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Projectplace as a coordination and management tool among the different partners of a European project, both from industry and academia. Here, at Instituto de Telecomunicações, Projectplace is being by our group only in the context of this international project, and we only use English as the official language.
  • A set of different tools to manage meetings, documents, members, Gantt charts, etc. all integrated into the same framework.
  • Document version control.
  • Desktop application to locally store and update files.
  • A meeting platform functionality, such as GoToMeeting or Skype for Business, would be very valuable.
  • The possibility to integrate with other platforms, like software development tools or repositories (GitLab), would be nice.
  • Maybe a collaboration hub similar to Slack would be useful.
It's a very great tool for project management, especially in an international scope. Maybe for small scale local projects it's not the most appropriate tool, but maybe I am wrong, since I've never used for that scenario. In any case, for project management and collaboration with other international partners, Planview Projectplace is a fantastic framework.
  • Action items and tasks
  • Share and review documents
  • Track time spent on activities
Projectplace workspaces fits very well into the work we are performing in the scope of international projects, and it clearly is an evolution on the previous tools, since many more functionalities are present and can be used by our team and other partners in order to share documentation, tasks, actions points, messages, etc.
Projectplace is very nice to facilitate collaboration, especially with stakeholders outside our organization, such as international partners. It eases the task of communicating, sharing documentation, and coordinating and managing the entire project, allowing us to be more productive, enrolled with each others' work, and to more closely follow the track of all ongoing tasks and activities.
Read João Almeida's full review
April 04, 2019
Bruno Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projectplace is being used by my team and other colleges in my department and company to organise and manage a European project - 5G Mobix. In the context of this European project, teams from all around Europe participate and the main language used is English.
  • Organize meetings and chats.
  • Edit files and documents cooperatively.
  • Document storage and organization
  • Operating systems compatibility
  • Support for more browsers
  • Offline cache
Planview is great for big teams when they are not working in close contact. It is great to organise information and manage projects.
  • Roadmaps
  • Action items and tasks
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents
It is useful and it's a great improvement for the team in terms of organisation tasks and resources at the same place.
It is easy to manage who has access and permissions to a specific resource.
Read Bruno Silva's full review
March 14, 2019
Antonio Priscan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it in a test run scenario in numerous office locations spanning multiple countries. The business problems we needed to resolve were mainly communication issues caused by e-mail (hard to track, team members missing in threads etc.). We were looking for a single channel for project team communication, combining with PPM Pro and on-prem instances of Jira.
  • Simple management and administration.
  • Task management.
  • Document management.
  • I cannot think of any items that are worth mentioning to be improved.
The fact that it is cloud-based is great for our multi-country virtual teams. This reduces the burden of installation, network, and FW setup... and it is faster to start with. Compared with SharePoint, which we used before, this was really a step forward for the tasks we had to cover. Not to mention the TCO, which is very good.
  • Share and review documents
The setup is much faster than in traditional on-premise cases. Also, the TCO is lower. Much less administration is required than for SharePoint. We are planning to expand further use of Projectplace, just need to resolve some integration steps with other tools in use (Jira, PPM Pro).
So far the pilot has shown us great potential. Due to our available time set aside for the pilot, we are not fully aware of all the possibilities ahead of us, but what was seen is very, very promising. The next step is to include external members of the project team, including subcontractors and customers.
Read Antonio Priscan's full review
April 05, 2019
Magdalena Welander | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's a tool we are evaluating in the department. It addresses the full view of ongoing projects across business areas and resource availability. The product is used in other parts of the company at different levels. We use only the Swedish language but our company has multiple European sites.
  • Planning
  • Task allocation
  • Portfolio management
  • Project status report, one pager sort with stats.
  • The excel export of the plan is really ugly looking and often contains more information than needed.
It is a very good tool for overall project management.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Action items and tasks
  • Delegate work assignments
Has many tools in one place, everything related to one activity or project can be found in one place.
I have collaborated with distributed teams before but I am not doing that in this particular organization.
Read Magdalena Welander's full review
April 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for cooperation with outside consultants. It's used companywide at a single location, in both Dutch and English.
  • Document management, managing different versions, and there's no more emailing documents.
  • Task management through cards.
  • Overview of tasks on different projects.
  • Notification management, there's no need for standard emails when someone likes a comment.
Suited to larger projects with a lot of different participants, such as consultants from outside companies. It's extremely flexible, so different types of project approaches are possible. It's not as good for smaller projects with fewer participants as it's quite expensive. Companies with lots of different projects will benefit from Projectplace as a tool.
Read this authenticated review
April 02, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the process of configuring and implementing Planview Enterprise One, and Projectplace is being used as the main project management tool for this project. We are still in a learning curve, and the tool is being used now with a few users in multi-countries, but it has brought us some interesting new concepts and productivity. Once Enterprise One is implemented, the idea is to have them both linked and syncing so that Projectplace can be used for agile projects and also project document storage, as well as a preferred communication tool.
  • It shows the tasks in a time schedule view, allowing the user to switch between the agile interface of cards and an overview of the tasks and its correlations.
  • The possibility of having a dedicated document storage area with easy access gives a friendly way of finding what you need.
  • The mobile app is a good tool and an easy way to get on track with your projects.
  • Importing cards to the board could be simpler and easier, like copy and paste.
  • The name of the columns could be customized, allowing more flexibility to the organization of the board.
  • Additional information for the cards such as cost (money) would be desirable.
It is well suited for project management and as a communication tool. It helps to organize and prioritize tasks, and also puts a good perspective on the scope to be delivered. The ability to use agile methodology with an overview of the project is interesting for follow up, and this together with the possibility to integrate with a time schedule makes the tool powerful in managing control.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Agile
  • Action items and tasks
It is a powerful tool for project management with agile methodology, including a document storage solution and time schedule that fits well the needs of the project manager. It's a more complete tool compared to other planners like Trello or Microsoft Planner, but it could have more flexibility on importing cards and customizing the columns in comparison. Also, there is still room to know all its potentialities, as we are new users.
It helps the project managers and stakeholders to track all tasks, as well as to communicate easily within the group. We still want to explore all the possibilities when using the tool together with Enterprise One, as it's an interesting integration.
Read this authenticated review
March 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are extensively a use-project place to manage tickets system. We strictly follow this to resolve whatever issues customers have faced. The customer creates cards, and according to skills or competency, it then gets assigned to a particular engineer so it becomes easy to track the tickets according to the status. We can move it to parked, testable, working on, or verified. We can also make any comments on the card.
  • UI is very user-friendly and easy to make groups by options according to the status of a card.
  • We can have the option to follow the cards so that if any action is done, by any user on that card, we can get updates.
  • For a Project Manager, it becomes easy to track the status of cards.
  • User must have the option to see the reports according to action he took on any particular card.
  • Reporting needs to be detailed so that we know which action should be taken on which card and by whom.
It is a very useful tool to manage the tickets system of software. It's easy to track the status of the tickets. We get an email if any action taken by any user on the card which we are following or the card which is assigned to a person. The UI is very strong and responsive.
  • Agile
  • Action items and tasks
  • Prioritize resources and workloads
  • Delegate work assignments
Projectplace fits our requirements when we are working on a ticket-kind of a system. It helps the Project Managers and Engineers work with tickets from customers.
Any user with an email id can have an account on Projectplace so it becomes very easy to have everyone on the boat so they can communicate easily and sync with each other.
Read this authenticated review
March 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, one department is using Projectplace -- the department for Efficiency Audit. We use it as a project tool for projects we have in various municipalities, but only use it internally as a cooperation tool, and for reviewing reports etc. We are mainly situated in one office and one country, but also do some work at our client's locations and our home office.
  • Document management and reviewing.
  • Project planning.
  • Cooperation.
  • Cross-project overview and task management.
  • Storage.
Projectplace is good for working on, and following up on, projects, both for myself and as a team. I find it less suited for day-to-day follow up on specific tasks. It's missing the possibility for filtering tasks by labels, specific projects etc.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Action items and tasks
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents
We find that Projectplace fits pretty well with the way we work. The main factor singling Projectplace out from other beings beeing considered was the document management functionality. On the other hand, I find that other systems are better on task management.
Projectplace helps communication internally in the team, as well as in documenting our work. We have not used it in collaborating with external stakeholders (clients), but this is a possible scenario.
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2018
Lauri Zachry Truong | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm actually a contractor for Planview Projectplace in addition to my full-time role at Amazing.com. The main business problem Projectplace addresses on the marketing and content teams is version control. You know the document in Projectplace is the most updated one. It is being used by the whole organization, even though my main function with it currently is the marketing team. Multiple countries and locations are involved and English is the language that is mainly being used to communicate.
  • I really the like version control aspect
  • There are a lot of document storage capabilities in an order that flows and makes sense
  • Love the flow of the Kanban board set up
  • Sometimes when you look at the Kanban board set up, it almost appears too busy, compared to competitor products like Basecamp
  • I've had issues in the past where when I add a new document it replaces an old one with it instead of keeping the old and the new files.
Version control and document storage
  • Agile
  • Action items and tasks
  • Prioritize resources and workloads
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents
Projectplace's look and functionality is the best of other products I have used in the past, such as Wrike, Basecamp, Trello, JIRA and Slack.
With its email integration, Projectplace makes it easy to collaborate with people on your team internally and externally.
Read Lauri Zachry Truong's full review
June 18, 2018
John Marais | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projectplace is a good application to manage resources that are involved in multiple projects. It allows for clear tracking of information requests, files shared and defect management.
  • Assigning tasks to resources across multiple projects
  • Upload, review and share files for multiple projects and across organisational boundaries - a one-stop solution
  • Issue functionality is cumbersome to use, not always easy to filter for open issues or use multiple filters.
Well suited for vendors that have resources working across multiple projects, planning, resourcing and delivering projects in a matrix environment.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Roadmaps
  • Action items and tasks
  • Prioritize resources and workloads
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents
Projectplace take some time to get used to but works well in a matrix environment
Projectplace works well in a multi-stakeholder environment where companies need to collaborate on a project - setup of users was easy and allow sharing of tasks and files across company/ country boundaries.
Read John Marais's full review
October 08, 2018
Jeffrey Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the PMO and contributing members. As it's leveraged by the PMO, multiple participating teams are leveraging it, but it's still in it's infancy.
  • Boards view is fantastic for contributors to create, assign, and track tasks.
  • My Work view is good for at-a-glance information but could use some work.
  • Dependencies for board items are a bit unclear. I have completed tasks in the My Work view that show as overdue, presumably because other portions of the tool aren't configured or scheduled appropriately. Dependencies could and should drive do this then that type activities, but there doesn't appear to be any direct workflow or linkage between them other than at a superficial level.
  • File collaboration requiring an agent is cumbersome. Why isn't there integration to Sharepoint or another more seamless document repository? This platform creates another competing source of truth for documents which is a problem.
  • I believe the reporting interface could be improved - our PMO is currently experimenting with yet another solution to create better at a glance reports from a burndown perspective. Planview has all the raw data so this is re-work.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Action items and tasks
  • Delegate work assignments
Definitely use embedded comments and tags to bring items to people's attention.
Read Jeffrey Thompson's full review
October 05, 2018
Karla Chacon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by several departments in multiple locations. I've only seen it in English.
  • Copy Kanbans in Kanbanboard.
  • Is great to Forward an email and Kanban automatically appears.
  • There is a lot I can add to each, emails, charts, images, documents, check lists and comments.
  • Is a great way to capture my time work, and specify each activity.
  • I would like to delete Kanbans, alternatively I edit them with another info.
  • In time sheets I can copy all activities from last week, but It would be great to choose which ones when I need to copy and/or delete some of them. A delete option is specially needed when adding activities, I often choose a wrong one.
I think this is the best work planner I've ever worked with. Just need a delete option for small mistakes.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Action items and tasks
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents
  • Track time spent on activities
It works perfectly with my work. Other tools I have used were very slow and a lot of windows just to register one activity. Now I can upload documents for each one.
It helps to communicate with my team and organize my time and which activity must be done more urgently than another.
Read Karla Chacon's full review
December 21, 2017
Cathy Lumsden SCMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projectplace was implemented this year to support project management of promotional display projects. At Bayer, we have a very seasonal portfolio and the volume of annual projects we have to support Promotional display activity and importance drove us to a solution to support that. Although we are still in a learning curve and have ideas of improving how we use Projectplace in the future I'm happy to say it has added value and provided efficiencies in managing the volume of projects we have. The tool is used across multi-disciplined areas within the Consumer Health division at Bayer Canada (English) and other divisions within Bayer are looking at it.
  • Web-based platform easy to use - mobile app is great
  • User feedback to improve Project place and monthly updates is a strength
  • Central repository for internal and external team members is very helpful
  • Reporting and Dashboarding - Initial presentation of the solution had us believing reporting / dashboarding was all set up ready to go when in fact it needs to be set up by the user.
  • Training documentation mainly all video and online - helpful but challenging for users that prefer manual type instruction

Project management - smaller repeatable projects - well suited

Project management - larger type projects not as useful

  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents

The mobile app allows for flexible updating of projects on the go - great tool, mobile very similar to web-based. Projectplace is much more user-friendly than a tool I've used in past for the same thing - AtTask


instant messaging function is great for collaborative team work internal and externally
Read Cathy Lumsden SCMP's full review
December 18, 2017
Fabian Kuhn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Projectplace as a project managing tool for our design and PR team here at RaceChip. It helps with tracking current tasks for each team member and also improves our workflow between different teams. We're using the tool in German and for one location in Stuttgart, Germany.
  • The card system of project place works really good. It's very easy to create new cards, assigning them to team members and linking them to projects.
  • The "plan" view is really helpful to keep track of your recent activities.
  • It's useful to connect activities with others to know if something has to be finished before another activity.
  • The whole structure is currently very much made for companies with big projects with a lot of different activities. However, for smaller teams like ours it's simply too big in scale and therefore, we only use one "project" for all of our actual projects, which then are "activities" in Projectplace.
  • Sometimes a card struggles to update itself after you changed something in it (e.g. the label or assignee).
  • It's not really easy to move cards to some kind of archive. I created a new board especially for this but when moving cards there, they're automatically marked as "ToDo" again.
Very good for easy project management without too many details and administration work. In comparison to e.g. JIRA, it's much less complicated which can be a big advantage for e.g. a design team like mine but of course, it can also be a disadvantage for complex IT projects. This is why we're using both in our company.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Prioritize resources and workloads
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents
We're using Projectplace only for internal project management and not for collaboration with external stake holders. However, it's really useful for collaboration between different teams inside the company.
Read Fabian Kuhn's full review
November 06, 2017
Katherine (Zaleski) Olsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used ProjectPlace to manage our Planview Enterprise upgrade to version 14. We had multiple team members in different geographic locations and departments. There were many tasks including updating documentation. We were able to utilize the Kanban boards to track tasks and who was working on them. The Document Review and Signoff functionality allowed me to ensure the documentation that needed to be updated was done. All users were in the US and used English.
  • Kanban boards for tracking assignments
  • Document review and Signoff
  • Collaboration/Discussion
  • I created a Checklist for items that had to be completed after the upgrade. I often times found myself looking for it as I forgot where I created it.
  • I also think the linking/publishing between tasks and cards could be improved and it was also difficult to see the value in that task.
  • There was no MS Project export option which would have been helpful.
  • Users had some trouble downloading documents using certain browsers (can't remember what the issue was though).
It is well suited for diverse and matrixed project teams especially those that are geographically dispersed. [It's also well suited] If you have a large number of documents that need to be approved and need to track that approval. It is also nice that team members (like a client) do not have to purchase a license to use Projectplace.

ProjectPlace is not well suited if you have to do any sort of resource scheduling or forecasting, or if you need that to drive the project schedule. I wasn't thrilled with the WBS management functionality so if you need to have a robust WBS you might consider a different tool.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Action items and tasks
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents
There are times when we have small short projects where we just need to track tasks and activities and deliverables. Projectplace allows us to get up and running quickly with minimal effort. We can collaborate on tasks and drive discussions within the tool so it makes it harder to lose track of things (like you can easily do with email).
We did not leverage this outside our organization but would like to in the future.
Read Katherine (Zaleski) Olsen's full review
June 22, 2018
Elizabeth Farsolas, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ProjectPlace across our enterprise in English only. Good project management software.
  • Organizing plans
  • Detailed timeline
  • Communication Options (Weekly, daily, etc)
  • Copying multiple cards at once and pasting them to a different area
  • Combining multiple templates
  • Better web conferencing tool
  • Calendar tool (have cards update on calendar when edits are made in ProjectPlace)
I think it's a good, basic project management tool.
  • Traditional structured projects (Gantt)
  • Action items and tasks
  • Prioritize resources and workloads
  • Delegate work assignments
  • Share and review documents
ProjectPlace works well. Haven't used a different Project Management tool.
It has leveraged our communication with internal and external stakeholders via the various communication tools.
Read Elizabeth Farsolas, MBA's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (98)
6.2
Resource Management (73)
7.0
Gantt Charts (82)
8.5
Scheduling (83)
8.5
Team Collaboration (100)
7.3
Support for Agile Methodology (67)
6.0
Support for Waterfall Methodology (61)
7.2
Document Management (93)
7.7
Email integration (79)
8.0
Mobile Access (77)
7.3
Timesheet Tracking (59)
7.0

What is Planview Projectplace?

Projectplace is the collaborative work management solution from Planview that brings teams together to get work done. Whether a team is down the hall or on the other side of the globe, Projectplace aims to provide everything needed to set direction, communicate, execute tasks, track progress, and ultimately achieve goals. A key value proposition is to be one tool designed to work together rather than a collection of point solutions.

The vendor says the the product is built with teams of all size and complexity in mind, from virtual teams of five to entire global enterprises with tens of thousands of active users. Projectplace is intuitive and makes it easy to get started in just minutes and scale as new team members join. Since work types vary, Projectplace is uniquely flexible to fit the job at hand – traditional projects, roadmaps or unstructured work where groups just need to “get stuff done”.

For more information, visit Projectplace.com

Planview Projectplace Features

Project Management Features

Has featureTask Management
Has featureResource Management
Has featureGantt Charts
Has featureScheduling
Has featureTeam Collaboration
Has featureSupport for Agile Methodology
Has featureSupport for Waterfall Methodology
Has featureDocument Management
Has featureEmail integration
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureTimesheet Tracking
Additional Features
Has featureKanban Boards
Has featureRoadmaps

Planview Projectplace Videos (2)

Planview Projectplace Downloadables

Planview Projectplace Integrations

Planview Projectplace Competitors

Planview Projectplace Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Projectplace Enterprise$29.00per seat

Planview Projectplace Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Planview Projectplace Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, Dutch, French, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish