Tableau Desktop Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1532 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 115)

Ron Rothstain | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Tableau Desktop - The nuts and bolts of it.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Connecting to various data sources like Oracle, Snowflake and fetching data has been very easy. Data modelling is a breeze too. Publishing to Tableau Online or Tableau Public is very easy and is available from the Tableau Desktop menu. Publishing dashboards and data sources to the server is a smooth experience.
Read Ron Rothstain's full review
Simol Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Data management and visual precedence!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Easily the merging of disparate or different file extension sources have a significant impact on my overall review for the product. However, a majority of it falls onto the comparison of other well-known products that have substantiated a lot of what data sources conflict and how this software manages to absolve a lot of it.
Read Simol Shah's full review
Pusshpendar Kumaarr | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Tableau Desktop Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Tableau is flexible enough to provide data source connection with any kind of data source. Like you can connect with flat file, .csv, JSON files, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft SQL, Oracle SQL, DB2, all could-based data sources like Salesforce, AWS, Azure, and many more. You name it, and Tableau Desktop has it.
Read Pusshpendar Kumaarr's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Great for Data-Viz-Wizzes, Painful for Others

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

6
It's possible to collect data from a large array of sources, but it's not easy to figure out how to merge it on more than a one-to-one basis, at least for the layperson. I do appreciate the web data connectors that allow for importation of data from sources such as Qualtrics, but I wish it was more robust (aka able to update automatically).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Good for a lone wolf

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

6
Tableau Desktop won't integrate with live data. It has to be extracted from data sources. At least that was the case when I was using it. The process of integrating a database was not in the 'instruction manual', so I was at a loss of how to do it. When I asked questions in forums, the answer I got was that I needed to know a lot more about APIs to be able to accomplish my goals. I ended up sticking to the old ETL method.
Read this authenticated review
Clinton Shields | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Visualization made simple, and complex!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Tableau Desktop does a great job of connecting to many different data sources and works well with Alteryx which is what we use for data prep and is very good at connecting multiple data sources together. I will say that the data prep software that comes along with Tableau Desktop, Tableau Prep, is not quite up to snuff, but again that doesn't really reflect on Tableau Desktop itself as Tableau Desktop is not really a data prep software.
Read Clinton Shields's full review
Benjamin Plotkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

Turn Tables Into Vistas of Visualization with Tableau Desktop

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Tableau Desktop makes it very easy to connect to and join, a wide range of data sources, in real-time. The application interface provides a good visualization of the number and types of joins you are making to your data sources, and if you re-use data sources, it's very straightforward to do so via a saved workbook file.
Read Benjamin Plotkin's full review
John Rome | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Tableau Desktop still is my go-to product in a crowded BI tool market

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Tableau supports a lot of the various data sources that my company uses including Oracle, Redshift, SQL Server, Google Analytics, Sybase, MS-Access Excel just to name a few. And it has nice API into tools like Google Gsuite, Dropbox, etc. However, it doesn't do a great job parsing web pages and/or JSON files that well.
Read John Rome's full review
Rahul Malik | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Tableau is the market leader when it comes to Interactive Data Analysis and Visualization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
With Tableau Desktop, it is really easy to connect to majority to databases including SQL Server, MS Excel and it also connects to the legacy systems which a huge benefit for us because we have a lot of data stored on the legacy systems. It can fetch real time data from these sources and create beautiful and interactive dashboards based on the inputs. It can also integrate that much easily to the cloud infrastructure as it does to any other back-end.
Read Rahul Malik's full review
Akshaya Bhardwaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

No tool is better than this for data visualization. A must have.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
If the data is not huge, but from the multiple sources like (PDF, TXT, etc.), then it works fine. But if the data is big and it is from multiple sources then there will be some problems for a couple of minutes. For merging the data i.e columns, it is very easy. We just need to drag and drop the columns.
Read Akshaya Bhardwaj's full review
Jason Xiao | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 30, 2019

Tableau Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Support real-time connections or a scheduled data refresh. Can handle a large amount of data—in my experience, it can handle 1GB of extracted data. However, not flexible on setting a refresh schedule.
Read Jason Xiao's full review
Tim Ryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Easy to use and share reports

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Excellent and connects very well to our SQL database, we are a Microsoft shop and this tool connects very well. Also, we have a few other databases which are easy to connect with as well. Data pulling is very easy and doesn't take a lot of time to set up once you get going.
Read Tim Ryan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

The best tool for visualization and storytelling

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Being a part of the Data Science world, I am always working with different kinds of data sources ranging from SQL databases, excel sheets to Hadoop storages. Tableau really allows for some seamless integration and quick analysis of the data at hand unlike other tools where I have to figure out ways of merging and then importing. I am not saying they do not allow but not that I am aware of.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

The Dominant Tool, But Will It Stay That Way?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

6
CSV/Spreadsheet data is the easiest connection with Tableau. Connecting to other data sources remains complex and usually needs help from I.T. When errors happen, they are not always easy to clear. Any connectivity issues complicate things for end users and make them frustrated, and therefore less willing to use the tools in the first place. Tableau needs to do something (fix its ecosystem?) to make data source connectivity better and easier.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2019

Best solution for BI (features + price)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
There are many data sources compatible with Tableau Desktop, and they are very easy to use. Also, it is very easy to use data among the data sources, independent of what they are. It enables complex scenarios and has superb performance. I have never had an issue with no data source being available. They were always there to be used. In my case, I have many non-standard databases like Informix, and new standards like Redshift, and Tableau works great.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2019

Great data tool if you know how to use it

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
Tableau is a great self serve data analysis tool capable of many different types of visualizations, but it can be very difficult to use and keep updated. If you plan on using this product, make sure there is a seasoned expert on your team to get the full benefit of this platform.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (101)
8.3
Customizable dashboards (120)
9.2
Report Formatting Templates (104)
7.9
Drill-down analysis (115)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (118)
8.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (84)
7.8
Report sharing and collaboration (113)
8.2
Publish to Web (104)
8.7
Publish to PDF (106)
8.9
Report Versioning (76)
8.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (79)
8.7
Delivery to Remote Servers (34)
8.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (109)
8.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (108)
8.6
Predictive Analytics (84)
7.9
Multi-User Support (named login) (97)
8.5
Role-Based Security Model (79)
8.4
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (86)
8.5
Single Sign-On (SSO) (36)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (85)
8.4
Dedicated iOS Application (61)
7.9
Dedicated Android Application (54)
7.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (78)
8.4
REST API (28)
8.1
Javascript API (27)
8.0
iFrames (25)
7.3
Java API (24)
7.8
Themeable User Interface (UI) (26)
8.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (22)
7.6

About Tableau Desktop

Tableau Desktop aims to allow people to make data-driven decisions with confidence, by helping them answer questions more quickly, solve harder problems more easily, and uncover new insights more frequently.

The vendor says that with a couple of clicks, Tableau Desktop connects directly to hundreds of data sources, both on-premises or in the cloud, with the goal of making it easier to start analysis. Interactive dashboards, drag and drop functionality, and natural language queries help users of all skill levels quickly discover actionable insights, all from an intuitive and visual interface. Users can ask deeper questions by quickly building powerful calculations, adding trend lines and seeing statistical summaries, or clustering data to see relationships.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that is strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.


Tableau Desktop Competitors

IBM Cognos, SAP Lumira Discovery, Qlik Sense, Microsoft Power BI, MicroStrategy Analytics, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Free trials are available for both editions.

Tableau Desktop Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No