TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/IF/d3/J11VGJP0KOJV.PNGAcquia, an enterprise grade Drupal hosting companyWe used Acquia for our client's Drupal hosting needs. It was recommended to clients by our sales team, and used by our production team in conjunction with the client's technical team as well. Acquia Cloud does a great job simplifying the knowledge of Drupal hosting and provides a series of industry standard tools and development practices to implement with your site.,Provides a dev, test, and live environment for deployment Varnish cache available to all levels of service Easy to manage team roles and users Cloud API for additional deployment hooks and processes,Account support is limited on the Cloud Professional plan and requires you to purchase support tickets for the smallest issues, whereas other providers usually provide basic support free of charge. Acquia is very expensive, so unless you're an enterprise level partner, then it is likely out of your budget. The online documentation could use a refresh in design and can be frustrating to search through for answers.,8,Allowed our clients to create scalable infrastructure for multi-site architecture Allowed our clients to manage multiple vendor access using team roles and permissions Reduced the support available to our clients that are limited by product tier,Pantheon and Rackspace,Google Drive, Google Domains, CloudFlare,Developer,1,000-10,000 pagesAcquia - the only answer for a Drupal websiteWe currently use the Acquia platform to manage the hosting for our own Drupal website, as well as for our several of our client sites. Our agency and our clients use a variety of Acquia's suite of products including Acquia Cloud, Acquia Lift, Acquia BLT, and Acquia Lightning. Our agency is a Preferred Partner of Acquia and we work with several of their sales reps, account managers, and technical architects to manage our client projects. Acquia's offerings are top notch for Drupal websites and provide the best platform, uptime, and performance for our site and our client's sites. Using Acquia allows us to get our client's sites up running much quicker and smoother, allowing us to focus on the more custom implementation for a project, without the worries around having a secure, scalable platform to support our work.,Acquia has a variety of products and services that serve a variety of clients that span across many industries. The wide variety of use cases, supported by hundreds of case studies, make selling Acquia to our customers very easy. Acquia's platform is secure, scalable, and designed specifically for Drupal allowing us to get projects started much smoother and quicker. Acquia is always innovating and providing new products for their entire suite. Acquia's LIFT product is a game changing platform that is starting to provide a personalization solution meant for any size client and project website.,Acquia's pricing is sporadic across each product offering and for each industry vertical. Making pricing more standard across the board would help alleviate some of the doubt from our clients when they go to Acquia's site to see different products. Acquia's BLT is a new and innovative product, but still lacks a lot of use cases. This comes with more implementation examples which will definitely come with time. There is sometimes an inconsistency among different Acquia sales people and account managers. This results in a vastly different experience when bringing clients to Acquia. Mixed with Acquia's strange salesperson geographic/industry allocation, this has caused confusion for us and our clients. We'd love to see Acquia reps be more consistent across the board.,9,Acquia has a positive impact on our internal ROI for our own website. Most of our clients also see a positive impact on ROI when using Acquia for their web platform. This does change based on the cost of the Acquia instance. Acquia allows us to save time and money on client projects, allowing us to increase our margins.,Pantheon,Drupal, Salesforce App Cloud, Pardot, SharpSpring, Leadfeeder, Data.com, Winmo, LinkedIn Sales Navigator,Content Author / Administrator,1,000-10,000 pagesAcquia Cloud Hosting in my own wordsMy team and I use and recommend Acquia Cloud Hosting for each of our client sites that are either self-hosted, or are using generic hosting solutions like DreamHost or DigitalOcean. Not that we have anything against either of those hosting companies; many of us have side-projects and freelance sites hosted there. But for enterprise-level site and repository management, client ease-of-use, basic to advanced levels of Drupal support, and a 99.95% infrastructure uptime SLA, Acquia stands far above their closest competition. My organization sells its own software solutions that do not compete in any way with Acquia. In-fact, the company's business model is solely geared towards cloud-hosting higher-ed CRM solutions; from a basic, simple implementation of one of our entry-level solutions, all the way up to a managed solution with on-site support staff for the duration of the contract. Web Services, the team I belong to, is normally an add-on item in the contract to provide website support and maintenance. Many of the schools we works with, like having a single company help them manage all of their Information Technology solutions. As a result, we are just a team of developers. no dedicated dev-ops or network infrastructure billets.,The Acquia Cloud Hosting (enterprise) provides a three-server solution. You have a Development, Staging (or UAT), and Production servers with a clear path of deployment straight up the chain. You may use Acquia's own Cloud Hooks, or their web admin UI interface to deploy to any or all of the servers. Git is one of the foundation services built-in to the management of the website codebase. Allowing a developer, or well-trained end user (university employee) to easily deploy a tag or branch to any one of the servers, makes it very easy for us to offload the server / account management to the school, while we focus on improving their site. Not only does Acquia Cloud provide a multi-datacenter failover disaster recovery solution, but they also maintain a multi-region failover as well, which allows for a fully redundant enviroment to be maintained in two geographic regions. No fear of losing any database changes or form submissions from students. Lastly, the onboarding process is constantly being improved, and as I have been a third-party vendor involved in many of our hosting negotiations, I have seen it firsthand. Each enterprise client is assigned a small team of engineers, technical leads, and a pseudo-project-manager to explain the process in layman's terms to the client (university / college for my example), but they also perform a number of code reviews and best-practice analysis of a site prior to launch.,This is a difficult question for me to answer, as I have seen the platform mature over the past few years and they recently, 3-6 months ago revamped their admin UI web interface that addressed some of their previous shortcomings. I don't ever have any difficulty finding what I need, when I need it on the admin UI. My first suggestion would be to review their documentation in some areas, which are still linked to the previous iteration of the web interface. The majority of the services offered by Acquia Cloud Hosting are built on top of Amazon Web Services. As a result, some SSL certificates do not work well, or at all if they originate from Network Soutions (which have never worked), or GeoTrust (Equifax), VeriSign, and DigiCert, which on occasion produce SSL certificates that fail to work on Acquia Cloud. Recently I have found that team management has a couple of limitations when the client is the "Organization administrator," and the role of "Team administrator" is assigned to myself or a member of my team. There are some links and page options that should be available to those of us assigned the role of Team Lead or Senior Developer within the Team Management structure, but we have had to contact support to update our permissions to be granted the appropriate access. It may be a result of their recent upgrade to the site, and regardless, support was able to fix our issue the same day we submitted a request.,10,With Acquia Cloud, I no longer need to implement my own home-grown deployment system and stay up-to-date on the latest LINUX security vulnerabilities or upgrade my web server software, as all of that is managed by Acquia. That in itself can save a single developer 50% of their time when compared to self-hosting. Again, as I recommend the platform, I have no direct involvement in the actual cost of the hosting solution, I still benefit as a developer by using a solid mature software solution that delivers exactly what is promised. My team offers Drupal and Wordpress solutions for Higher-Education institutions. Over the past couple of years, we have put together a list of recommended hosting providers for both Drupal and Wordpress. On the Drupal side, we only recommend Acquia and Pantheon and as-such, we are able to share our knowledge with other team-members using the same vendor. As a result, we have compiled a number of tips and artices we publish on the team's wiki. Put in the perspective of ROI, working with a known entity, the consistency reduces the time-to-market of many of our site builds as we have established relationships with our counterparts at Acquia and we know its strenghts and limitations.,Pantheon,Pantheon, Gitlab, GitHub,Developer,1,000-10,000 pages,5,4,I wish I could put a list of use-cases here, but in my case, there is only one: Any client that has a Drupal site.,Even though many of us have been using Acquia Cloud Hosting for three or four years, we are just now beginning to really take advantage of the Acquia API and including Cloud Hooks in to our development and deployment process. This simple 'refactoring' in the way we deploy and manage sites allows us to continue to streamline our processes and continue to work towards a fully TDD development and deployment workflow. Acquia offers free development account / sites, that we often use for proof-of-concept demos when making a pitch to a new client, as well as an environment we can spin up easily as a sandbox when trying out new Drupal modules or theme frameworks. Many of the members of our team use Acquia's DevDesktop, which is an all-in-one development environment for MacOS, or Windows. It pulls down all of the necessary Git repository branches, databases, and public files, from an existing Acquia Cloud website. For us, as a growing team, it has been very easy to onboard new developers and get them up to speed and working on our client sites in a very short amount of time.,As Acquia Cloud, and Acquia Cloud Free are very specific services, there no other uses for the site aside from its intended purpose.,10Acquia continues to be a solid toolset for Drupal developmentI had previously consulted and maintained a niche news publication site on Acquia. It was used by the marketing department to drive traffic for education equine enthusiasts and advertising products and services of the equine supplement technology company and their partners. The site provided news, educational and research content for the equine industry.,Simplifies installation of Drupal sites with one-click installations. Development, staging, and production environments for a best-practice web development. Access to git repos, databases, and backups that are all managed within the interface.,Continuous integration, code testing. Additional access options.,6,I wasn't in charge of the costs, however, Acquia provides more granular and immediate control of the charges - instead of a flat monthly cost.,Pantheon,Pantheon,Developer,10-100 pagesStrong facilitators to an enterprise grade Drupal siteAcquia provides the managed Drupal hosting for a large suite of our web properties (anything currently using Drupal). The promise of Acquia is that should there be major security vulnerabilities or hardware related outages, that Acquia has significant knowledge of how to mitigate those issues without downtime or service interruption.,Deployment management is user friendly and developer extensible. Rudimentary monitoring and logging is user friendly and accessible. The Acquia team is on top of emerging threats, and where possible, silently mitigates the worst of them.,"Scheduled" maintenance windows are often non-negotiable, vague and too abrupt. The support escalation is slower than would be expected from a provider focused on enterprise availability. The platform is rigidly composed in a way that serves Acquia's need to serve a wide customer base, and is thus sometimes not ideal for your use case.,7,Rapid prototyping and feature development is simpler with Drupal and the Acquia platform is simple to extend for experimental sites. By leveraging the enterprise hosting platform, we could focus on the feature development during the initial build out of the site, deferring the hosting complexities to a time when we would have more bandwidth.,Pantheon,Developer,More than 10,000 pages
Unspecified
Acquia Platform
40 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Acquia Reviews

Acquia
40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 40 vetted Acquia reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-15 of 15)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Kyle Taylor profile photo
April 11, 2018

Review: "Acquia, an enterprise grade Drupal hosting company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Acquia for our client's Drupal hosting needs. It was recommended to clients by our sales team, and used by our production team in conjunction with the client's technical team as well. Acquia Cloud does a great job simplifying the knowledge of Drupal hosting and provides a series of industry standard tools and development practices to implement with your site.
  • Provides a dev, test, and live environment for deployment
  • Varnish cache available to all levels of service
  • Easy to manage team roles and users
  • Cloud API for additional deployment hooks and processes
  • Account support is limited on the Cloud Professional plan and requires you to purchase support tickets for the smallest issues, whereas other providers usually provide basic support free of charge.
  • Acquia is very expensive, so unless you're an enterprise level partner, then it is likely out of your budget.
  • The online documentation could use a refresh in design and can be frustrating to search through for answers.
If your organization requires you to implement a multi-site architecture, Acquia is one of the few cloud hosting options that makes this easy for Drupal websites. You can easily create a new database through their web UI, update your site's files, and add domains to each environment. This process is simplified even further through the use of another product, Acquia Cloud Site Factory.
Read Kyle Taylor's full review
Zach Ettelman profile photo
September 15, 2017

Review: "Acquia - the only answer for a Drupal website"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We currently use the Acquia platform to manage the hosting for our own Drupal website, as well as for our several of our client sites. Our agency and our clients use a variety of Acquia's suite of products including Acquia Cloud, Acquia Lift, Acquia BLT, and Acquia Lightning. Our agency is a Preferred Partner of Acquia and we work with several of their sales reps, account managers, and technical architects to manage our client projects. Acquia's offerings are top notch for Drupal websites and provide the best platform, uptime, and performance for our site and our client's sites. Using Acquia allows us to get our client's sites up running much quicker and smoother, allowing us to focus on the more custom implementation for a project, without the worries around having a secure, scalable platform to support our work.
  • Acquia has a variety of products and services that serve a variety of clients that span across many industries. The wide variety of use cases, supported by hundreds of case studies, make selling Acquia to our customers very easy.
  • Acquia's platform is secure, scalable, and designed specifically for Drupal allowing us to get projects started much smoother and quicker.
  • Acquia is always innovating and providing new products for their entire suite. Acquia's LIFT product is a game changing platform that is starting to provide a personalization solution meant for any size client and project website.
  • Acquia's pricing is sporadic across each product offering and for each industry vertical. Making pricing more standard across the board would help alleviate some of the doubt from our clients when they go to Acquia's site to see different products.
  • Acquia's BLT is a new and innovative product, but still lacks a lot of use cases. This comes with more implementation examples which will definitely come with time.
  • There is sometimes an inconsistency among different Acquia sales people and account managers. This results in a vastly different experience when bringing clients to Acquia. Mixed with Acquia's strange salesperson geographic/industry allocation, this has caused confusion for us and our clients. We'd love to see Acquia reps be more consistent across the board.
Acquia is well-suited for any Drupal web platform. I think it best plays in the enterprise space, either for B2B or nonprofit/higher ed/government. Acquia is a great solution for smaller web platforms, as well, but the price is typically prohibitive in these scenarios.
Read Zach Ettelman's full review
Sean Hanford profile photo
October 17, 2017

User Review: "Acquia Cloud Hosting in my own words"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team and I use and recommend Acquia Cloud Hosting for each of our client sites that are either self-hosted, or are using generic hosting solutions like DreamHost or DigitalOcean. Not that we have anything against either of those hosting companies; many of us have side-projects and freelance sites hosted there. But for enterprise-level site and repository management, client ease-of-use, basic to advanced levels of Drupal support, and a 99.95% infrastructure uptime SLA, Acquia stands far above their closest competition.
My organization sells its own software solutions that do not compete in any way with Acquia. In-fact, the company's business model is solely geared towards cloud-hosting higher-ed CRM solutions; from a basic, simple implementation of one of our entry-level solutions, all the way up to a managed solution with on-site support staff for the duration of the contract.
Web Services, the team I belong to, is normally an add-on item in the contract to provide website support and maintenance. Many of the schools we works with, like having a single company help them manage all of their Information Technology solutions. As a result, we are just a team of developers. no dedicated dev-ops or network infrastructure billets.
  • The Acquia Cloud Hosting (enterprise) provides a three-server solution. You have a Development, Staging (or UAT), and Production servers with a clear path of deployment straight up the chain. You may use Acquia's own Cloud Hooks, or their web admin UI interface to deploy to any or all of the servers.
  • Git is one of the foundation services built-in to the management of the website codebase. Allowing a developer, or well-trained end user (university employee) to easily deploy a tag or branch to any one of the servers, makes it very easy for us to offload the server / account management to the school, while we focus on improving their site.
  • Not only does Acquia Cloud provide a multi-datacenter failover disaster recovery solution, but they also maintain a multi-region failover as well, which allows for a fully redundant enviroment to be maintained in two geographic regions. No fear of losing any database changes or form submissions from students.
  • Lastly, the onboarding process is constantly being improved, and as I have been a third-party vendor involved in many of our hosting negotiations, I have seen it firsthand. Each enterprise client is assigned a small team of engineers, technical leads, and a pseudo-project-manager to explain the process in layman's terms to the client (university / college for my example), but they also perform a number of code reviews and best-practice analysis of a site prior to launch.
  • This is a difficult question for me to answer, as I have seen the platform mature over the past few years and they recently, 3-6 months ago revamped their admin UI web interface that addressed some of their previous shortcomings. I don't ever have any difficulty finding what I need, when I need it on the admin UI. My first suggestion would be to review their documentation in some areas, which are still linked to the previous iteration of the web interface.
  • The majority of the services offered by Acquia Cloud Hosting are built on top of Amazon Web Services. As a result, some SSL certificates do not work well, or at all if they originate from Network Soutions (which have never worked), or GeoTrust (Equifax), VeriSign, and DigiCert, which on occasion produce SSL certificates that fail to work on Acquia Cloud.
  • Recently I have found that team management has a couple of limitations when the client is the "Organization administrator," and the role of "Team administrator" is assigned to myself or a member of my team. There are some links and page options that should be available to those of us assigned the role of Team Lead or Senior Developer within the Team Management structure, but we have had to contact support to update our permissions to be granted the appropriate access. It may be a result of their recent upgrade to the site, and regardless, support was able to fix our issue the same day we submitted a request.
In my experience, if you have a talented team of Drupal developers or even a single Drupal developer who has a firm grasp of Drupal, and you are an enterprise-level business or entity, there is no better solution out there. Although I failed to mention cost previously, which is certainly a consideration. If you are serious about your site and you have thousands or hundreds of thousands of site-visitors, the cost may not be an obstacle. For smaller organizations, or non-profits/NGOs, the cost may be prohibitive and you may want to explore a less expensive vendor, such as my second-choice, Pantheon, or even RackSpace (I live in San Antonio, and a good portion of the San Antonio Drupal User's Group is made up of some extremely talented Drupal developers; so I had to include them in here somewhere).
Read Sean Hanford's full review
No photo available
July 18, 2017

Review: "Acquia continues to be a solid toolset for Drupal development"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I had previously consulted and maintained a niche news publication site on Acquia. It was used by the marketing department to drive traffic for education equine enthusiasts and advertising products and services of the equine supplement technology company and their partners. The site provided news, educational and research content for the equine industry.
  • Simplifies installation of Drupal sites with one-click installations.
  • Development, staging, and production environments for a best-practice web development.
  • Access to git repos, databases, and backups that are all managed within the interface.
  • Continuous integration, code testing.
  • Additional access options.
It is particularly useful for quickly setting up environments that need significant customization and set up for continuous delivery. I would say Acquia is less appropriate for smaller scale sites that wouldn't necessarily need the separated environments.
Read this authenticated review
Jason Smith profile photo
May 27, 2016

Acquia Review: "Strong facilitators to an enterprise grade Drupal site"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Acquia provides the managed Drupal hosting for a large suite of our web properties (anything currently using Drupal). The promise of Acquia is that should there be major security vulnerabilities or hardware related outages, that Acquia has significant knowledge of how to mitigate those issues without downtime or service interruption.
  • Deployment management is user friendly and developer extensible.
  • Rudimentary monitoring and logging is user friendly and accessible.
  • The Acquia team is on top of emerging threats, and where possible, silently mitigates the worst of them.
  • "Scheduled" maintenance windows are often non-negotiable, vague and too abrupt.
  • The support escalation is slower than would be expected from a provider focused on enterprise availability.
  • The platform is rigidly composed in a way that serves Acquia's need to serve a wide customer base, and is thus sometimes not ideal for your use case.
For mid to large companies trying Drupal for the first time, Acquia provides a strong support and educational system to better understand the needs of the platform. Longer term, there can be some strain when comparing on-premise or unmanaged costs with their cost tiers.
Read Jason Smith's full review
Eric Steinborn profile photo
May 15, 2015

Review: "Acquia Cloud, an Enterprise solution for unparalleled Drupal hosting and support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NYS Public Safety has chosen Acquia as our vendor of choice to host our Drupal sites. Many more areas of NYS are picking up the Acquia platform as well. Acquia solved a big problem for us in that we didn't have the expertise of hosting Drupal/PHP/MySQL that was required to provide us with world-class Enterprise support. Acquia has been available time and time again to fix our issues, and help us get our content out to the people of New York State. Without Acquia, we'd still be setting up and tuning servers. With Acquia as our partner, we have already shipped multiple sites, with many more in development.
  • Hosting
  • Support
  • Specially tuned environments
  • Responses from tickets aren't always from the same person, and can vary in effectiveness of solving your problem
  • While documentation is robust, it can be difficult to find exactly what you need
  • Provided forums are not monitored frequently, and are not as useful as they could be
How much money do you have, and how much support do you need?

Those are the biggest questions that you need to ask yourself when determining if you want to procure Acquia services. The cost for us was low compared to paying our own employees to run the type of system provided to us by Acquia. But the cost would be much higher for non-enterprise customers who are just looking to have their sites hosted for them. In the end, you get what you pay for - world-class Drupal hosting backed by highly effective customer support.
Read Eric Steinborn's full review
Tory Trone profile photo
August 12, 2015

User Review: "Choose Acquia"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Acquia's platform to host several of our websites. The web team uses Acquia services to host our global website. Having our sites hosted at Acquia means we get great service. The sites have a high uptime rate. We receive support and guidance for the website served by them. The sites themselves run fast and are stable on the Acquia platform.
  • Great amount of support. We have had problems occur on the site, and the Acquia technicians have us up and running in no time.
  • The hosting service is quick. With access to Varnish and Memcache we have cut down our page load times.
  • Acquia also has great associate services with other companies like New Relic. This is great because we get more than one time of service!
  • The knowledge base has improved over the years, but its ease of use could be better.
  • The backend tool UI needs a new "coat of paint".
  • Having more site environments to work with would be great.
If you are running a very small blog, then Acquia will be overkill for your use.
Read Tory Trone's full review
Chris Hood profile photo
November 10, 2014

User Review: "Acquia Drupal"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Acquia Drupal has transformed how Fox Broadcasting manages content. Implemented across our entire digital eco-system, Acquia has played an integral part in our move to support television everywhere and stream entertainment content across more than 15 platforms.
  • Reduced our internal development timelines and time to market by 80%
  • Decreased overall content management and marketing workflow schedules
  • Improved site performance by more than 110%
  • Not much
  • Send us free candy
  • Continue doing what they are doing
Acquia Drupal can be adapted for most every product, website or company need. Just ask.
Read Chris Hood's full review
Andy Thornton profile photo
December 09, 2014

Acquia Review: "Solid performance from a dependable platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The platform is optimised for Drupal and it leaves the developer to concentrate on the website itself and it's functionality.
  • Stable platform, optimised to Drupal best practices for performance.
Excellent platform, if you use Drupal and need high availability, you should seriously look at Acquia.
Read Andy Thornton's full review
Aj Blosser profile photo
June 03, 2014

User Review: "Acquia Cloud is Rock Solid!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using Drupal for 6 years and Acquia Cloud for 1. Both have changed the way we work. Acquia support is great, I definitely recommend giving them a call!
  • CMS
  • Web applications
  • User security
  • Admin interface could use some work
  • I wish we could host non-Drupal stuff on the cloud
  • Node.js support would be great
Acquia Cloud is great if you're looking for an enterprise level Drupal hosting solution.
Read Aj Blosser's full review
Ivo Radulovski profile photo
January 16, 2014

Review: "Acquia Cloud the goto place for enterprise platforms"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Acquia Cloud is the GOTO platform if you want to develop and maintain a scalable Drupal project. It makes the development workflow very easy as well as the life of your developers. With it's easy to understand interface developers can focus on what they can do best. Develop great products. Also Acquia Cloud can handle great traffic peaks and make sure you stay online.
  • development workflow
  • scaling
  • support
  • not sure
the scenarios are many where Acquia Cloud fits. No matter if you are a community site and want to get a free platform. No matter if you are a single developer who wants to make use of the development workflow for his clients or a multinational enterprise that is handling all it's projects on the cloud.
Read Ivo Radulovski's full review
Lincoln Souza profile photo
September 26, 2013

Acquia Review: "Very straightforward"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The easy-to-use deployment dashboard helps me and my team to deliver projects to client's validation and production environment much faster.
  • New upgraded interface not as easy to use as the previous one.
Read Lincoln Souza's full review
Bret Peters profile photo
September 12, 2013

User Review: "Acquia Rocks!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The Acquia open cloud platform allows us to easily deliver scalability, security, and high performance to our customers as we develop and launch sites.
  • We are able to leverage Acquia's professional services team for architecture consulting as needed for complex projects.
  • Acquia's large partner network provides us with the ability to quickly and easily find resources to support Drupal projects.
  • The Acquia Cloud's increasing functionality means increased complexity.
Free Hello Drupal Training is a great way no-cost way to get started with the Acquia Cloud in just a few hours.
Read Bret Peters's full review
No photo available
August 24, 2015

User Review: "Acquia just works"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was the hosting platform for our main website. It was used only by the internet team, and allowed us to scale our site and develop a continuous integration strategy around Drupal.
  • Drupal expertise
  • Products that have ease of use
  • Solid systems built on AWS
  • It was difficult getting Varnish caches to clear because we used a CDN.
  • Their highest tiers can be quite expensive.
  • They leverage a Drupal multi-site, but a distro-based solution such as the one offered by Pantheon is more enterprise ready.
If their business requires more than just Drupal, for example WordPress, Magento etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 11, 2013

Review: "Acquia – only real option for people serious about Drupal"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • True turnkey solution.
  • Reduces Total Cost of Ownership.
  • Scalability and flexibility – with extensibility.
  • Pricing follows step function so there's a big leap from 'basic' to 'bells and whistles' - would be nice to have something in between.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (7)
8.9
API (7)
9.0
Internationalization / multi-language (6)
8.1
WYSIWYG editor (4)
8.0
Code quality / cleanliness (6)
8.8
Admin section (7)
7.8
Page templates (3)
8.0
Library of website themes (3)
6.0
Mobile optimization / responsive design (3)
7.0
Publishing workflow (5)
7.8
Form generator (3)
6.1
Content taxonomy (4)
8.0
SEO support (5)
9.0
Bulk management (5)
7.7
Availability / breadth of extensions (6)
9.1
Community / comment management (5)
8.5

About Acquia

The vendor says that global organizations use Acquia Platform to unify content, community, and commerce. Additionally, the vendor says that users can deploy and manage one or several sites without compromising brand or creating governance chaos. The vendor’s value proposition is that through its real-time customer analytics and personalization, users can deliver the right experience, at the right time, to the right device.

Acquia Features

Web Content Creation Features
Has featureWYSIWYG editor
Has featureCode quality / cleanliness
Has featureContent versioning
Has featureAdmin section
Has featurePage templates
Has featureLibrary of website themes
Has featureMobile optimization / responsive design
Has featurePublishing workflow
Has featureForm generator
Has featureContent scheduling
Web Content Management Features
Has featureInternal content search
Has featureContent taxonomy
Has featureSEO support
Has featureBrowser compatibility
Has featureBulk management
Has featurePage caching
Has featureAvailability / breadth of extensions
Has featureBuilt-in e-commerce / shopping cart
Has featureE-commerce / shopping cart extension
Has featureCommunity / comment management
Has featureImport / export
Has featureWebsite analytics
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureInternationalization / multi-language
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Has featureVersion history
Has featureSimple roll-back capabilities
CMS programming language or framework Features
Has featurePHP
Does not have featurePython
Does not have featureJava
Does not have feature.NET

Acquia Screenshots

Acquia Integrations

Acquia Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Acquia Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

Acquia Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No