Amazon Web Services Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
422 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

My AWS experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Web Services offers a comprehensive range of cloud services, which we can utilise at a cost-effective price as well as offering the flexibility and scalability to fast-track deployment of server and storage infrastructure for our clients. We are also able to set up test / Dev environments for testing applications quickly as well as setting up secure cloud disaster recovery (DR) sites with minimal costs.
  • Innovation. Since AWS is a world leader, we are able to benefit from running on the latest technologies being deployed using best practices and industry standards that typically comes standard from these leading cloud service providers.
  • Scalability. There is basically no limitation in expanding system resources when using AWS. The advantage of this is that we can increase resources for business systems and projects at a click of a button.
  • Implementation. Migrating to AWS is somewhat complex and adequate training is required. However, this can be mitigated using an accredited AWS provider.
  • Support Costs. AWS has various support options which includes Developer, Business and Enterprise support. Depending on the business requirement, the support costs can increase significantly since the basic support option may not meet the requirement of certain businesses.
Amazon Web Services is well suited for startup organisations that can benefit from immediate deployment of the virtual infrastructure and applications on a cloud platform. It's also cost-effective since you do not have to lay out a huge capital investment especially for small start-up businesses. AWS is also useful for organisations who need to rapidly deploy infrastructure to test applications and for those short-term projects that do not require permanent infrastructure. AWS can also be cost effective for running your disaster recovery environment on Cloud platform.
Read Zakarieya Abderoef's full review
Allan Staker | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

I've been overcharged for over a year... and I'm surprised to find that AWS isn't helping to make things right.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using AWS primarily for web hosting.
  • The technology is great. I've never had technical issues.
  • They have been incredibly slow to respond to a billing dispute. Over a year ago, we erroneously signed up for a service that we never used. It was a total 'gotcha,' and it added $800/mo to our monthly invoices. Shortly thereafter we noticed the huge credit card bill and asked them to remove the service. We're a small education company, and we're spread pretty thin- and I'm embarrassed to admit that when I asked them to turn it off, I naively believed that they would do so. When we noticed last month that they were still auto-billing us $800/mo for the entire past year, we were stunned. I again asked for them to honor our original, well-documented request, and this time we asked them to help make things right for us. We've corresponded 2-3 times/week over the last 30 days and I still can't get a response from their Finance department. I'm surprised and disappointed - I was expecting AWS to be much more responsive and helpful than this. I still trust that they'll make things right - but as of now they're still billing us for this.
I might revise this based on the outcome of this dispute. I love them technically - but this has been very frustrating customer service.
Read Allan Staker's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

AWS delivers the solid, stellar performance you would expect it to

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Web Services as the backbone of our software-as-a-service product. We use it to host media files for streaming, downloading, etc with our client app. Our product involves a wide range of media files: images, audio files, video files, documents, etc and some of them are quite large, so we store it all using AWS.
  • The interface is pretty easy to use.
  • It's very reliable and there almost never seems to be an interruption in service.
  • It's pretty pervasive so when working with other companies, partners, etc, it is a piece of technology that nearly everyone is familiar with.
  • Occasionally I've had issues uploading many files at once, and have to resort to one-at-a-time to ensure successful upload. Not often, but it's happened.
I'm not sure where it wouldn't be appropriate unless someone was just starting out and maybe was super budget-conscious. I imagine there are some less expensive alternatives out there but honestly, the barrier to entry is pretty low.
Read this authenticated review
Patrick Plaisance | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

The biggest name in cloud services, for a good reason

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Both within our organization and for clients, we implement several different Amazon Web Services. We mostly make use of EC2 for hosting private cloud servers/applications, Simple Storage Service (S3) for hosting data in the cloud, both for active use and backup, and S3 Glacier for archiving low-touch data to the cloud. All of these AWS services allow us to provide on-demand, infinitely expandable cloud services as needed.
  • Easy to deploy. It's trivial to create a new S3 bucket, or spin up a new EC2 VM.
  • AWS console is relatively easy to navigate/administrate services. It used to not be the case, but it has improved quite a bit over the years.
  • Cost Explorer service makes it somewhat easier to plan/budget and track/manage AWS cost.
  • Tons of software, services, etc that integrate directly with AWS services -- example, CloudBerry Backup that integrates with S3, Glacier, etc.
  • Cost - Because of the many variables involved in AWS pricing, it can be difficult to budget for AWS costs. For small deployments, this isn't too big of a problem, but when you start using multiple AWS services, even with Cost Explorer, planning can be time-consuming.
  • Some of the terminologies are unnecessary. Too much input from marketing types. They should just say what the service does and note waste time with cutesy names.
  • On the flip side of the thriving AWS ecosystem, the lack of Amazon-created apps to interface with their services is a bit of a bummer. Sometimes you just want a good, documented, first-party backup app, for example.
AWS services are well-suited for organizations of all sizes. Using a backup app like CloudBerry Backup plus AWS S3 or Glacier would be great for a small office/home office media consultant, for example, backing up large quantities of multimedia data to the cloud. S3 buckets can (and should!) also be used to host website content for any size business.It is well-suited for small to medium-sized businesses who need to spin up a server for a specific application and can easily deploy EC2 instances. And of course, as we all know, the biggest enterprise businesses in tech use AWS services to host their cloud.

Who isn't AWS for? Well, there is something to be said about putting all your eggs in one basket. For those who are hesitant to move their businesses to the cloud entirely, I would obviously recommend against using multiple AWS services. Also, for organizations who have strict IT budgets, estimating AWS costs can be tough and might be frowned upon by their finance departments.
Read Patrick Plaisance's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2019

Leading IAAS. Customizable and broad offering. Solidly reliable.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've chosen AWS as our infrastructure-as-a-service (IAAS) solution across the whole organization for all our development environments, i.e. dev, staging, and production. We build custom-coded apps (full-stack). We specifically use it as our cloud solution for compute, storage and content delivery.
  • Great levels of service, with strong infrastructure maturity.
  • Lots of cloud service options, third-party programs, and APIs available.
  • Highly flexible and customizable.
  • Pricing is a bit complicated and can be slightly opaque in the outset, but AWS has pricing calculators to help out.
  • The vast array of options available can be a challenge to navigate and figure out at first.
We find it a highly reliable IAAS offering. The large breadth of options and customizability is great. It's also highly mature as a cloud offering and comes with good support. We find it fully satisfactory for both the compute and storage use cases that we have.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

AWS is highly recommended for mid-to-large scale companies having global operations.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS as the infrastructure provider for our entire global operations. From DNS down to database systems, we are using services powered by AWS.
  • Automated server provisioning.
  • Load balancing.
  • Hassle-free OS updates.
  • Hard to get support (even you pay extra for paid support services).
  • Expensive compared to the competition.
  • Regional outages may occur.
AWS is well-suited for mid-to-large scale operations. I do not recommend them for small companies with local operations, as it may be expensive and hard to setup/provision. Companies using AWS may need extra DevOps people to manage AWS resources in order to have the right resource with the rigth price. Mid-to-large scale companies can manage AWS more effectively and leverage their services efficiently.
Read this authenticated review
Nathan Sichilongo | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

A Product Managers Perspective on AWS and Cloud Computing by Amazon

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our goal as a company is to ensure that our services are efficient and fast to load. After years of using traditional web hosts, we finally made the switch to Amazon Web Services and we have not looked back. Our biggest issues with traditional web hosting was the inability to store large amounts of data and the lack of scalability for our different applications. AWS allows us to run our services more efficiently and without absorbing the high cost of owning servers. For our business it's really about solving 3 problems:
  1. Scaling - The solution should be able to allow us to scale effectively without the hassles of setting up new servers.
  2. Cost effective - The solution should allow us to manage our costs effectively so that none of our clients have to pay more for our services.
  3. Integration - The solution should integrate well into our development teams coding and not slow them down.
Amazon Web Services has done these for us.
  • AWS (Amazon Web Services) is not the easiest virtual service to set up but once you get the hang of it, it's fairly easy to install new instances (servers) and stop them. This is good for multiple reasons e.g we run multiple tests and live production servers for our different services. When we are done with one we can easily turn it off. The cost of the specifications on our virtual servers is only a fraction of the cost of what we would get locally or even on most traditional web services companies.
  • Amazon Web Services can be relatively cost efficient depending on where you are coming from. For our smaller organization, we felt the cost was worth it as other alternatives were not as affordable. The good thing with AWS is you only pay for what you use. If you want S3 (Simple Storage Service), you can pay for that. If you want to run a compute engine, EC2 can be paid for. At the end of the month, you get one bill based on your usage.
  • Because of our size as a company, AWS was easier to deploy compared to local dedicated solutions. All we had to do was take our development team through a simple 2-day course to get them on board. The ease of deployment means that we do not have to hire a specialist to deploy servers for us.
  • If there is one thing I think AWS needs improvement on, it is the administration dashboard. It can be a nightmare to use especially when trying to access billing. This could be made better, honestly, as there should be a simplified way to access simple admin features.
  • While AWS was fairly easy to integrate into our solutions, it is not as easy to use without some IT knowledge. The dashboards are complicated and designed for someone who is computer savvy. If you are just want to keep track of billing, for example, you may need to take a course or spend a few hours with someone being walked through the admin console.
  • AWS does tend to be slow at times. If you do not have a fast internet connection, it can take time to access services that are hosted on AWS. This is not always the case but we have had clients complain about this if they are trying to access a service from multiple points (IP addresses). The only real fix we found was to make our files cache to another server and only keep current data accessible to clients.
Amazon Web Services is well suited for companies or organizations that need to run specific applications or virtual services on servers. The cost-per-server ratio makes this ideal for testing and live deployment scenarios. It is especially ideal for smaller to medium size IT development teams. If you are looking to just set up a website, for example, AWS may not be ideal unless you are having it custom built.
Read Nathan Sichilongo's full review
Stella Gillham | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2018

AWS has changed our business in a multitude of ways.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS has completely changed our business, 1000%. We used to be tied to a server located in our office. Access was limited and we were constantly crashing, due to software updates or other items. AWS holds our entire database, which includes over 25 years worth of data. While not a direct reason, because we made the switch to AWS, we have been able to move to a smaller office space because we are not longer dependent on a space that includes a server closet. We've saved a considerable amount of money since the switch because we are no longer calling a developer to come in in an emergency situation to fix our server.
  • Data Storage
  • Affordability
  • Easy to use
  • Because we have a large amount of data, constantly uploading and downloading, our monthly fee isn't a set amount, but instead fluctuates up and down each month.
While we are a small company, we have millions of photos of our work, and AWS has been the perfect host. We have access at any time, and are able to archive data as needed. We are also able to access our archive without any trouble. It's a no-brainer, really. I don't see how anyone would want to go anywhere else. Our data is always available and secure.
Read Stella Gillham's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2018

AWS can be easy to use for main products, other difficult to even get started

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS is used because it was an easy-to-deploy infrastructure solution for our core applications as well as any future applications. It is easy to provision different resources, connect those resources, and provide a security to them relatively easily. It addresses the issue of spinning up a quick infrastructure with a customized configuration and still keep early costs very low.
  • Launching a VIrtual Machine quickly, especially from AMI images from verified providers.
  • Launching RDS instances, configuring and managing parameters
  • Managing monthly costs and budget
  • Some resources parameters needed and prerequisites are difficult to understand, even with services that have well-known solutions that are easy to understand. For example, IAM and SSO solutions are more complicated and confusing than other services.
  • Generally, the User Experience is lacking WITHIN services is poor compared to other comparable platforms, however high-level access to the many services in AWS is good - as compared to other platforms.
  • Some services seem fragmented - as interrelated functions withing services don't seem to provide detail weel without some work. The billing area is an example of where getting and reviewing information is difficult.
It is well suited for quickly provisioning a web and application hosting platform that you are able to have greater control over managing additional resources.
It is well suited for databases.
It is well suited for storage.
It is well suited for experimental applications.
It is not as well suited authentication and user management.
Read this authenticated review
Jackie Bassett | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2018

AWS Can't Be Beat for What We All Really Need: Great Service!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS is Infrastructure As A Service for us so we can focus on what our core strengths are. We started with AWS 8 years ago for one of our Strategic Business Units and honestly waited for other competitors to meet or exceed what we received in services from AWS. While we did shop around, early on, largely for pricing reasons as our consumption increased across our entire organization. Then Bezos did what he's best at: he responded to market demand with even more elasticity, even greater service levels (for which he is known to be maniacal) and after all of our shopping around, we made a proactive decision to stay!
  • Customer service: There's no beating AWS for their customer service. They've clearly been trained to lisetn to understand the core issue you've called them for. Our customers satisfaction is in direct correlation to what AWS can deliver, so this is the #1 reason we chose and have stayed with AWS for 8 years.
  • Agility: We have demand cycles that fluctuate, largely without alot of notice. It doesn't take more than 1 phone call to address any increase in bandwidth. In fact, they're more likely to reach out to us with any enhancements we might need or shoul be considering.
  • Performance: We've never experienced a slowdown, nor failure - even when there've been internet-wide issues. They're always innovating based on every customer, and we all benefit from Bezos vision of what infrastructure technology should do for business.
  • It's such a well conceived service, I can't think of anything that's missing in functionality for our HC company. What we ask of AWS is to be so reliable, so customer-focused and so fast that we can just do what we do best, and forget about their job in our success.
  • Healthcare: Since this is our core market, we're very interested in watching this vertical evolve and Amazon's vision for it. We'd value more insights and collaboration with Bezos on what our vision is too.
Infrastructure as a service is what every sized company should be doing these days, so we can all focus on our expertise. We were lucky that we chose AWS in our, and their earliest days as I can't imagine having built out several SBUs and then having to migrate over to them now. Google would prefer to own this space but we found them far less attractive to work with. Google's a search engine that sells ads. Even as Google try to build out fiber, they're never have the level of customer service that businesses relying on infrastructure need. Amazon, is really the only and the best choice!
Read Jackie Bassett's full review
Andy Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2018

Cloud Solutions at a glance: AWS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Web Services allows me to create a virtual machine running Linux so that security, availability, elasticity, reliability, and cost factors are all accounted for. Information Assurance is of top priority, including claims-based authentication, single sign-on, MEAN stack, and secure SSH access with public and private PKI infrastructure to leverage AAA best practices.
  • Cost: AWS's free tier enables developers to try out the service with no commitment. The resiliency of the AWS infrastructure is a great value-add.
  • Ubiquity: AWS networks have the availability and elasticity which not only meet the needs of developers, but also end users.
  • AWS is an E2E solution for deploying, managing, and continuously integrating software development.
  • AWS needs to improve their java-based browser SSH client. Both Azure and Google Cloud Platform far exceed AWS in this regard.
  • AWS lacks the ability to SSH from windows at this time without extensive modifications to the operating system.
  • AWS needs a trial period to demo paid features within a free tier window, not locked out of premium services.
Well suited for development or disaster recovery environments. It is less appropriate for independent developers or remote work due to the lack of integration with VCS solutions such as Azure has.
Read Andy Turner's full review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2016

AWS for all your needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am an independent consultant. As such, I provide software solutions and consulting services to customers with different needs. AWS gives me the tools to cover much of their needs, so it is for me a key tool in the performance of my activities, specifically as application server, databases and files through IaaS go.
  • Performance, Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) allows you to host your resources without worrying about high consumption peaks.
  • Easy to use. The learning curve for its main functions is relatively easy and well documented.
  • Price. The price is very competitive in the market.
  • Variety of tools at your disposal.
  • Account management. If you manage many accounts AWS, management can become somewhat disorganized, as AWS does not offer many tools for internal control.
  • It has many tools at your disposal, but you may not know them all. They could see how to promote and introduce the tools that you use less to display its advantages.
  • It could extend free trial accounts indefinitely in exchange for advertising or something like that. Some users complain when the free trial ends and charge them without notice.
It all depends on the restrictions of your customers. If the customer gives you carte blanche to manage hosting resources, AWS is an excellent alternative for almost any scenario. If on the other hand the customer has its own infrastructure they want to use, AWS is probably not the best alternative. Given the approach that we use IaaS, AWS covers 100% of our needs, and we do not have the budget or resources to maintain physical servers.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
Glen West | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2016

Global reach and scale at bargain prices

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Web Services (AWS) throughout the organization as the delivery mechanism for our Software-as-a-Service product. It hosts our web server, databases, web services, transcoding, and storage for the entire delivery and allows us to leverage the global edge servers for content delivery to our users around the world. It is the platform for our entire product.
  • Consistently available, one small hiccup in 3 years.
  • Globally available. Our customers in Africa and the Australian Outback have extremely limited bandwidth and high latency. The global edge servers help with that.
  • Instantly scalable. We go from a small handful of users to thousands in an instant, serving live streaming video across the globe sourced in different countries.
  • Transcoding expenses (separate but related AWS product) are a tad expensive.
If you don't already have your own infrastructure, why would you ever build it these days? Pay for what you use. The jump to dedicated servers is necessary when you provide a global 24x7 SaaS product, but the price differential when usage is very low is significant. If you need global access to your product/service/data, it comes as standard functionality with AWS.
Read Glen West's full review
Andres Gonzalez | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2015

AWS automated my development and deployment processes of highly available applications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Amazon Web Services in all our new web applications and we are moving all the projects in the company. Amazon Web Service has allowed to automate the infrastructure of our projects, increase the speed of the development, and scale our software easily with reduced down time. Amazon Web Services is fundamental in our array of infrastructure solutions, since we host the applications, backups, static files and databases thinking always as architecture of services. We integrate perfectly our development instances, with a repository, that is connected to Amazon Web Services in order to provide continuous integration and delivery by running automated testings and deploy it to the Amazon Web Services cloud in minutes automatically.
  • Architecture of services
  • Scalability of application
  • Mulitple zones of availability
  • Improvements in the usability of the dashboard. Initially it can be overwhelming.
  • IAM users and roles configurations are complex to configure and understand.
  • Misses predefined architectures of common applications.
Can I increase resources independently?
A difference with other providers is you have enough flexibility with the machines you use, you can configure each machine as you want.
Does it have multiple zones of availability?
It has multiple zones of availability around the world, so you can pick the most convenient for your case.
Does it have good support?
There is plenty of documentation, and a big community supporting it.
Read Andres Gonzalez's full review
Breck LeSueur | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2015

AWS is a great product and well documented.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Web Services is being used by the Software Development department. We use S3 to host videos and thumbnail images for a particular web application. In the past we've used EC3 to host a Node.js server and RDS services to host a MySQL database.
  • I've found AWS easy to setup.
  • I found it easy to upload videos and images to S3 using their GUI.
  • It was also easy to setup security permission on S3 so only a single site could access our videos.
  • When connecting up EC2 and RDS it was a bit difficult, but that was a few years ago so the process may have improved. I think Elastic Beanstalk addresses this issue.
AWS seems to be a great fit for someone on a budget and who plans on the use of their services scaling. But it may not be the best fit for someone who has a simple website and could find cheaper hosting elsewhere.
Read Breck LeSueur's full review
Andrew Meyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2015

AWS: well rounded cloud solution.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SenseAgility uses a 100% cloud based infrastructure based completely within Amazon AWS. From test environments to corporate email, we were able to find solutions for everything within this offerings package.
  • Broad range of offerings
  • Pay by use
  • No required contracts
  • RAM is expensive!
  • Anything outside of T, C, or M class is expensive.
  • Security groups are not as granular as a real firewall.
  • Promotes unsafe practices of universal ssh keys.
This offerings suite is perfect for small to medium sized businesses. If you are big enough to outgrow most of the AWS offerings, you probably have enough money to build your own cloud.
Read Andrew Meyer's full review
Jeremy Snyder | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2014

AWS - a solid platform for building cloud solutions

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS is the platform that we use to deliver secure, highly-available solutions in the cloud. We deploy it for the entire company, as well as for our clients.
  • High-availability; AWS has an amazing capacity for spinning up resources across multiple zones, territories and services.
  • Auto-scaling; This requires some expertise, but a solution with proper architecture can support a virtually infinite user base.
  • Security and compliance, but this takes some expertise and understanding
  • Billing support - Bills are verbose, but difficult to allocate across different projects or software stacks without creating (and then verifying) multiple billing accounts
  • Ease of use: documentation and community are powerful and large, but there is a learning curve to be able to leverage the full power of AWS.
  • Solutions - AWS is still very much infrastructure building blocks. Launching a solution, say scalable SharePoint in the cloud, is not in the AWS repertoire.
Good AWS uses:
Spiky, unpredictable or changing workloads
Large-scale deployments
Startups
Secure cloud solutions
Development, testing and QA environments
Read Jeremy Snyder's full review
Andrew Tabit | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2014

AWS is #1 Hosting Provider from Software Entrepreneur Perspective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We create web based software and we always use Amazon as our primary hosting solution. We deploy to EC2 either using Beanstalk or setting up instances ourselves, host databases on RDB, all our DNS are on Route 53, balance load through AWS balancers, all content on S3, for security seasons for a few clients we used AWS VPC with VPN connection.
  • If you use Route 53 your DNS records can be updated almost instantly
  • EC2 gives you enough control over your instances without any hassle
  • RDB does backups for your data so you don't have to worry about database crashes and losing your data at all
  • Beanstalk allows you to deploy apps to AWS and it scales your apps for you. Amazing!
  • I have a number of AWS accounts and it would be cool if I could switch between them without logging out and logging in.
I would recommend AWS to all my colleagues without a single doubt in all cases in which they need to run a server instance.
Read Andrew Tabit's full review
Brian Lusenhop | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2013

Amazon Web Services (EC2)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • EC2 makes it very quick and efficient to launch specific "builds" of your virtual machine image, if configured.
  • EC2 makes it very easy to find off the shelf "builds" of specific applications and services that might meet the needs of the company.
  • EC2 makes it very easy to understand the status and health of your virtual machines with just a few clicks.
  • While the documentation is robust it is sometimes difficult to get access to an actual person who might be able to help with the design of your application and what Amazon service is most applicable.
Overall, a team looking to implement a cloud-based infrastructure cannot go wrong with the Amazon Web Services product.
Read Brian Lusenhop's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2016

Scale your business with AWS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using AWS S3 for image storage, SNS for push notifications and SQS for background jobs. It is used in the engineering department only. We use S3 for all of our images on our website and iOS applications, SNS for iOS push notification management, and SNS for background jobs for timed mailers.
  • Checking for enabled device tokens on SNS
  • Uploading images on S3 - easy to use
  • Setting up background jobs with SQS - easy setup
  • Resizing images upon upload - should be a built-in feature
  • Automatically making images public by default
  • Disconnect between SNS and Apple - constantly disabling device tokens
I only have experience using Amazon Web Services for image uploading, background jobs and push notifications so I can only speak to those - it makes it very easy to keep everything under the same umbrella (console).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2015

AWS infrastructure with respect to HIPAA

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Web Services houses and helps us manage our development and production level services. Amazon Web Services helps us run production level equipment without having to mange the infrastructure ourselves. We are able to leverage Amazon Web Services in our development and integration life cycles to minimize the cost of equipment and employees, because we don't have to manage the physical hardware. The virtual infrastructure that we set up also allows us to to provide HIPAA level security to our clients.
  • The ability to scale vertically and horizontally easily.
  • The ability to get server notifications
  • Ease of use within the AWS GUI
  • Better user support would be nice. It seems hard to find help when you need something specific from an Amazon employee.
  • Even though the prices are set up for enterprise they do seem high for small to mid level businesses, compared to other alternatives.
  • It would be nice to be able to have some type of DB security built in to the EC2s or as a default.
Amazon Web Services is well suited for companies that don't want to have deal with physical infrastructure and want a high level of security and availability. In most cases Amazon Web Services is a great option for most, but may not be an option if you have met the tipping point of physical cost vs. Amazon Web Services cost. It may end up being a better option in the long run to manage the infrastructure yourself if the cost per hour of Amazon Web Services is greater than what you can provide if your level of availability is equal to or greater than Amazon Web Services.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2016

Beginners view on AWS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by a department and were used for cloud based resources.
  • Provides cloud resources
  • Free resources for POC
  • Good security measure
  • S3 library for java in particular. (Could use some improvements)
  • KMS can be made a bit more easy to use
They are a scalable and secure way to use cloud services
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2016

AWS usually does the trick

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We keep our clients' server instances running on AWS so they can expand their business easily.
  • Helps manage marketplace
  • Expands easily
  • Stores data affordably
  • Can be overly complicated
When we want quick simplicity of management for projects that clients should be able to login and manage on their own if necessary, AWS is too complex.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 10, 2016

Amazon hasn't let me down

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I personally use Amazon Web Services, primarily for database storage. A lot of the services are free or cheap. I feel as if my data is secure and trust that Amazon Web Services isn't trying to make a huge profit off of me as much as they are trying to provide a service.
  • Secure
  • Easy to understand interface
  • Cheap prices
  • Initial set-up takes a long time
  • Options can be overwhelming
Amazon Web Services is a great options when you want to make sure you data is secure. It is also a good option for people on a budget. There are a LOT of different services provided, so if you are only interested in one of them, it might be better to go elsewhere so you aren't overwhelmed
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2015

AWS is awesome. Love working with it.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • AWS provides a very easy way of "pay-as-you-go" for every service they provide. That makes it easy for any company to scale up and down as the business dictates.
  • AWS provides services that inter-operate with each other very well making it them very valuable, like s3 storage being used by hadoop-elastic mapreduce, or being able to notify by email service that a load is done, etc..
  • AWS fees are clear and easy to estimate, absolutely nothing is hidden
  • A lot of functionality is still accessible only with a CLI, they can be exposed to the UI/console
If you want to hear from car-dealer like vendors who promise "best pricing directly from their CFO" then you will miss AWS. AWS pricing is righteous and right!
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (40)
9.2
Dynamic scaling (41)
9.4
Elastic load balancing (37)
9.3
Pre-configured templates (35)
8.2
Monitoring tools (41)
8.3
Pre-defined machine images (36)
8.8
Operating system support (41)
8.9
Security controls (42)
9.2

About Amazon Web Services

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is a subsidiary of Amazon that provides on-demand cloud computing services. With over 165 services offered, AWS services can provide users with a comprehensive suite of infrastructure and computing building blocks and tools. According to Amazon, AWS is suitable for organizations of any size, and helps to efficiently power their infrastructure, become more agile, and lower costs. AWS is also known for its service coverage, with over 69 Availability Zones across the world, allowing for users to experience lower latency and prevent their data centers from failing, which is important for cloud computing services.

AWS product range covers, but is not necessarily limited to, the following categories:

  • Analytics

  • Application Integration

  • AR & VR

  • AWS Cost Management

  • Blockchain

  • Business Applications

  • Compute

  • Customer Engagement

  • Database

  • Developer Tools

  • End User Computing

  • Game Tech

  • Internet of Things

  • Machine Learning

  • Management & Governance

  • Media Services

  • Migration & Transfer

  • Mobile

  • Networking & Content Delivery

  • Robotics

  • Satellite

  • Security, Identity, & Compliance

  • Storage

Pricing varies greatly across their vast scope of products, but AWS does provide an “AWS Free Tier” offering of services. Depending on the product, users can use the product for free indefinitely, a year, or in shorter-term trials.


Amazon Web Services Integrations

Planyo Online Booking System, DataDog OA, Planview PPM Pro (formerly Innotas), Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Amazon Web Services Competitors

Amazon Web Services Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No