TrustRadius
Esri in Redlands, California offers ArcGIS, a geographic information system.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/GQ/Bv/T9CFA0QMFZ8L.pngArcGIS- Jack of all trades but still master of all!ArcGIS is an extremely powerful tool for many industries, but in my current geophysical surveying company we use it frequently to create site maps, overlay data, plan surveys, and figures for final reports. It is mostly used by employees who process data and finalize reports. ArcGIS allows us to make extremely detailed and accurate images with geologic features, spatial references, and pretty much anything else applicable to that project! It is incredible. Though creating images is one of many tools available, ArcGIS can also do analyses on points in an area, density, it really does anything you could want.,Figures- from scales and legends to excellent graphic quality, ArcGIS is the best way to create detailed figures for reports and presentations Spatial Analysis- for my line of work, being able to calculate densities and relationships between geologic and geographic features is very useful. ArcGIS does a great job of this. Navigation- for such a high powered program, ArcGIS is surprisingly easy to navigate as a beginner. Though there are semester-year long classes available for learning more of the ins and outs, it is possible to teach yourself basic tasks in ArcGIS.,Better tutorials available. While the basic functions are pretty straightforward, it would be awesome to have more resources available online to figure out specific tasks Saving work. The first thing they taught us about ArcGIS was to ALWAYS SAVE your project. Constantly saving it. It would be incredible if they could make ArcGIS save projects automatically while you're working on them. Fewer tears may be shed if they do so.,10,The figures we can make using ArcGIS look professional and have everything a map is supposed to. They're also highly customizable (color scales, legends, etc) and really take a presentation or report from average to excellent. As a new company, it is extremely important to have quality reports and give our best to current and potential clients. Once you have learned the methods for data analysis you use regularly, it can save loads of time compared to previous methods outside of ArcGIS. The total time needed to really get comfortable with ArcGIS varies for people. Some get it quickly and some don't. It's a powerful program with lots of capabilities and it can be difficult to figure out without some sort of training (though some people do fine without). It depends on your employees, but for us it has been a great benefit despite training time because it improves our productivity and output much more.,Microsoft 365 Business, Google Drive, WordPress, Apple iCloud, TIBCO Spotfire, TIBCO Spotfire Data Science (previously Alpine Data)Geographical information system for the planning, analysis, evaluation and development of the territory.The program is used by the planning and development direction of the company. Thanks to ArcGIS, it has managed to solve problems of location of services and jobs by means of data vectoring, geo-referencing of polygons and superposition of data. It has been an excellent tool for planning the territory in order to promote organized development. This program has helped in the visualization, administration, edition, calculation, analysis of entities and geo-referenced attributes in different works. I also managed to solve the difficulties in the elaboration of cartography with thematic layers previously identified by a characteristic indicated when starting to work in ArcGIS.,Geo-referencing of data for the exact location of an object for the planning and development of the territory. Is a program with excellent work tools for visualization, administration, editing, calculation, analysis of entities and attributes geo-referenced in different jobs. Contains multiple work tools that allow the elaboration of cartography with thematic layers previously identified by a characteristic indicated when starting to work in ArcGIS.,I consider it difficult to use, it has an interface that needs to be studied to offer the user the use of the applications in a simpler and simpler way. It is an expensive program that requires the investment of a large sum of money, which can be used to modify other work areas. Is a program that requires a greater installed capacity of the computer so that the tools work correctly, being a disadvantage that can generate a delay in the delivery of the work.,8,The use of the ArcGIS tools has allowed a detailed planning and evaluation of the territory represented a saving for the organization because we are more efficient in the use of resources. The geo-referencing of data in databases and represented in maps has provided the possibility of having fundamental information for decisions that translate into better profits, and benefits for the company and workers. Thanks to ArcGIS the organization is more efficient in the use of resources considering that it plans better the activities and decisions.,QGIS,Odoo, Adobe Acrobat DC, Skype for BusinessThe best and safest investment of this kind of software is only with ArcGISWe are a department of the University that works with more than 300 offices throughout the national territory, and each of them handles a large amount of information that should be centralized in the capital. Our organization works with the metadata generated by these offices. In general, we analyze vector and raster data with geoprocessing tools to create a map composition with a good design that includes an optimal location of the graphic elements, and we publish that cartography online.,It has the biggest user community to find answers. It provides tutorials with sample data for you to get hands-on experience. Also has a very elaborate documentation on how to use the tools, with examples included, which helps a better understanding, both in the desktop and in the development. It would otherwise be very difficult for someone from your organization who doesn't learn quickly. It has a large number of supported formats. It's got solid and extensive geoprocessing tools, from the most complex to the most basic: the overlays, the algebra map, the approximation surface, the analysis of networks, among others. Constantly updated and improved by the ESRI team. This tool grows with your organization.,Although ESRI has the most popular tools on the market, prices are often a limitation, and many users opt for "software with an eyepatch." Though, it is worth mentioning that because they're a large company, they keep pace with technology trends. Despite its cost, it is preferable to make an investment. ESRI’ѕ comprehensive GIS solutions offer an easier ѕоlutіоn scenario for complex environments (including mobile, web and desktop workflowѕ). ArcGIS forces you to connect to a license to perform certain geoprocessing operations. Therefore, although it has a good geoprocessing framework, solid and broad, its license level determines which tools can be used in ArcGIS. The installation of ArcGIS is a more extensive process in time, together with the fact that you will also need to install different extensions and make the software authorization from ArcGIS Administrator.,9,Raster data management is surpassed by ArcGIS. Although the market offers battle, there is always something that ArcGIS makes it easier; if not for added values, due to the difficulty of compatibility of plugins with respect to recent versions. The world of GIS plugins is currently wide. Although free software is very broad in this, where there are plugins for almost everything, the difficult thing is what ArcGIS Marektplace makes easy, because there are solutions for everything with a specialization approach easier to find. Of course, you have to pay. In ArcGIS, we talk about an add-in instead of a plugin. It is a customization, such as a collection of tools in the toolbar, that connects to an ArcGIS for Desktop application to provide supplementary functionality to perform certain tasks. These add-ons are created using .NET, Java or Python. There are paid (and free) solutions for almost any spatial problem you can imagine. ArcGIS has a very powerful default symbology (transport, roots, soils, climate, etc.), it is ideal for point, line and polygon styles. In short, the existing symbology in ArcMap is useful and abundant. More orderly work environment. Through its interface, ArcMap includes several map views as Data Frame in the Table of Contents, the composition of map or layout, models or ModelBuilder. In ArcGIS Pro all these elements have been ordered through tabs in the project, in this way, we can quickly navigate through the different Frame that make up a layout without having to activate or deactivate one or the other, etc ... In addition, ArcGIS Pro allows us to create several layouts in the same project and insert 3D scenes. It has an advanced labeling that allows to establish the location of the label and the dependence of the scale. Curved and parallel labeling is easy in ArcGIS. It's smart. The drawing toolbar is how annotation groups are controlled in ArcGIS. It is not intuitive. But with a little practice you can control which annotation the label groups belong to.,QGIS,QGIS, Pentaho, Google Maps API, Oracle Database 12c, Oracle Cloud Platform, Oracle Sales Cloud, Slack, Blackboard,Yes,Product Reputation Vendor Reputation Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor Third-party Reviews,Negative.ArcGIS changes the way we make images!We use ArcGIS on a daily basis across the whole department. Users range from professors, professionals, graduate students, undergraduates, and even some high school students. It is an awesome tool that we use to manage, display, and manipulate the often large quantity of data that we deal with. No other software stands up to it.,Data display and customization Editing data files such as merging, joining, and separating them Data sharing with other programs such as Google Earth,Uses an insane amount of RAM Constantly needs internet access to use a license, which can be a problem when working in the field Confusing use of different generations of files,10,Faster and more efficient sharing of data Quicker output of quality images and data displays More attractive to potential collaborators,MATLAB, Adobe Illustrator CC, QGIS, Pythagoras CAD + GIS, MapInfo Pro, AutoCAD and AutoCAD 360,MATLAB, Adobe Illustrator CC, QGIS, Pythagoras CAD + GIS, MapInfo Pro, AutoCAD, AutoCAD 360Arcgis is a program for the planning and analysis of the territory.Arcgis is being used by the engineering department for the geographic location of all the company's commercial offices, it is an excellent tool that has allowed working with very large databases, systematized by maps or ideal tables for analysis and decision making. Using ArcGIS the company addresses the way to be more efficient in the delivery of materials, equipment, and personnel that the company decides to mobilize throughout the national territory, in order to reduce cost and maximize profits.,It allows the work with JPG image to vectorize data, georeferencing of polygons and superposition of data. It is a very important tools to plan the territory in order to promote the organized development. It has a set of tools that facilitates the visualization, management, editing, calculation, analysis of georeferenced entities and attributes in different jobs. It has an option for professional quality work of cartographies. It offers the possibility of working by thematic layer previously identified, being ideal for the planning of the territory and the design of the cartographies that we need for the work.,It is a program that in general is very difficult to use. I do not like the interface, I think they should carry out a usability study to improve the work process, with the purpose that it is easier to use. It is a program that requires updated computer equipment so that the functions of ArcGIS can work correctly. I consider that there is little variety offered by ArcGIS for the design of cartography. It is an expensive program that requires an investment that small companies can not cover.,8,It has been an excellent investment in the use of ArcGIS for the planning of the work because it was able to be more efficient in the accomplishment of the work, a situation that maximized the profits. In the beginning, the contracting of the ArcGIS service represented a negative aspect for the company because it had to pay for the service, such as hiring some people trained for the purpose of dictating a course to the staff, being an element that had not been contemplated. Now the organization uses it as a tool for distribution of personnel according to demographic analysis, and population density, represented a tool that helps the company to be more efficient in the performance of their work, actions that result in better performance and profits.,QGIS,Microsoft Project, Microsoft Project Server, WordPress, Adobe Acrobat DC, IBM SPSS,Yes,Product Features Prior Experience with the Product Analyst Reports,If I have the task to carry out the process of selecting a program of geographic information system considering the new programs and the updates of the existing programs offered by the market, I would stay with arcgis because during the time of use they have made updates that they adjust to the demands of my objectives, and because there is no such complete and excellent program in the market as arcgis, because each of the tools contains characteristics that confirm their professional quality, since it allows creative and innovative designs to be made.,Georeferencing of cities, or towns. Vectorization of hydrographic basins. Overlay of geographic images.,Design of cartographies. Export documents. Insert documents or images to arcgis.,Yes, but I don't use it,6
Unspecified
ArcGIS
68 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
TRScore

ArcGIS Reviews

ArcGIS
68 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 68 vetted ArcGIS reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-21 of 21)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Abigail Bowden profile photo
November 05, 2018

Review: "ArcGIS- Jack of all trades but still master of all!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ArcGIS is an extremely powerful tool for many industries, but in my current geophysical surveying company we use it frequently to create site maps, overlay data, plan surveys, and figures for final reports. It is mostly used by employees who process data and finalize reports. ArcGIS allows us to make extremely detailed and accurate images with geologic features, spatial references, and pretty much anything else applicable to that project! It is incredible. Though creating images is one of many tools available, ArcGIS can also do analyses on points in an area, density, it really does anything you could want.
  • Figures- from scales and legends to excellent graphic quality, ArcGIS is the best way to create detailed figures for reports and presentations
  • Spatial Analysis- for my line of work, being able to calculate densities and relationships between geologic and geographic features is very useful. ArcGIS does a great job of this.
  • Navigation- for such a high powered program, ArcGIS is surprisingly easy to navigate as a beginner. Though there are semester-year long classes available for learning more of the ins and outs, it is possible to teach yourself basic tasks in ArcGIS.
  • Better tutorials available. While the basic functions are pretty straightforward, it would be awesome to have more resources available online to figure out specific tasks
  • Saving work. The first thing they taught us about ArcGIS was to ALWAYS SAVE your project. Constantly saving it. It would be incredible if they could make ArcGIS save projects automatically while you're working on them. Fewer tears may be shed if they do so.
ArcGIS is pretty much well suited for any spatial analysis needs you may have. It is not good if you are doing extremely simple tasks or just need a basic figure, because the time necessary for preparing things in ArcGIS will be too much. ArcGIS is great for complex data analysis where there are multiple factors over a large area.
Read Abigail Bowden's full review
FRANCO PIÑERO profile photo
November 05, 2018

ArcGIS Review: "Geographical information system for the planning, analysis, evaluation and development of the territory."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The program is used by the planning and development direction of the company. Thanks to ArcGIS, it has managed to solve problems of location of services and jobs by means of data vectoring, geo-referencing of polygons and superposition of data. It has been an excellent tool for planning the territory in order to promote organized development. This program has helped in the visualization, administration, edition, calculation, analysis of entities and geo-referenced attributes in different works. I also managed to solve the difficulties in the elaboration of cartography with thematic layers previously identified by a characteristic indicated when starting to work in ArcGIS.
  • Geo-referencing of data for the exact location of an object for the planning and development of the territory.
  • Is a program with excellent work tools for visualization, administration, editing, calculation, analysis of entities and attributes geo-referenced in different jobs.
  • Contains multiple work tools that allow the elaboration of cartography with thematic layers previously identified by a characteristic indicated when starting to work in ArcGIS.
  • I consider it difficult to use, it has an interface that needs to be studied to offer the user the use of the applications in a simpler and simpler way.
  • It is an expensive program that requires the investment of a large sum of money, which can be used to modify other work areas.
  • Is a program that requires a greater installed capacity of the computer so that the tools work correctly, being a disadvantage that can generate a delay in the delivery of the work.
ArcGIS is suitable for working on complex projects or activities that require high professional quality and detail. ArcGIS is ideal for the vectorization of hydrographic basins and mountainous reliefs because it contains the options of point, polygon and line that facilitate the identification of the things that we want to highlight. ArcGIS is ideal for the superposition of maps in order to analyze and evaluate the territory. ArcGIS is not ideal for simple activities or easy to solve because it is a difficult program to work and learn.
Read FRANCO PIÑERO's full review
Eduardo Guillén profile photo
August 31, 2018

Review: "The best and safest investment of this kind of software is only with ArcGIS"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a department of the University that works with more than 300 offices throughout the national territory, and each of them handles a large amount of information that should be centralized in the capital. Our organization works with the metadata generated by these offices. In general, we analyze vector and raster data with geoprocessing tools to create a map composition with a good design that includes an optimal location of the graphic elements, and we publish that cartography online.
  • It has the biggest user community to find answers. It provides tutorials with sample data for you to get hands-on experience. Also has a very elaborate documentation on how to use the tools, with examples included, which helps a better understanding, both in the desktop and in the development. It would otherwise be very difficult for someone from your organization who doesn't learn quickly.
  • It has a large number of supported formats. It's got solid and extensive geoprocessing tools, from the most complex to the most basic: the overlays, the algebra map, the approximation surface, the analysis of networks, among others.
  • Constantly updated and improved by the ESRI team.
  • This tool grows with your organization.
  • Although ESRI has the most popular tools on the market, prices are often a limitation, and many users opt for "software with an eyepatch." Though, it is worth mentioning that because they're a large company, they keep pace with technology trends.
  • Despite its cost, it is preferable to make an investment. ESRI’ѕ comprehensive GIS solutions offer an easier ѕоlutіоn scenario for complex environments (including mobile, web and desktop workflowѕ).
  • ArcGIS forces you to connect to a license to perform certain geoprocessing operations. Therefore, although it has a good geoprocessing framework, solid and broad, its license level determines which tools can be used in ArcGIS.
  • The installation of ArcGIS is a more extensive process in time, together with the fact that you will also need to install different extensions and make the software authorization from ArcGIS Administrator.
ArcGIS has the best geoprocessing tools on the market, and the Geostatistics tools also are incomparable; they are the best of their kind. They are not only functional, but educational. The Model Builder is the most intuitive, robust and pragmatic way to automate geoprocessing jobs, as it allows you to chain sets of tools to automate processes, and it gives you the possibility to export your model and share it with others, or export it as a Python script and customize it. The assignment of web pages is easy in ArcGIS, the data is sent to the web through ArcGIS Online, which is where the online maps for ESRI are located. Story Maps are also very interesting, you can take them to tell a story through maps. All these tools have been applied in our work very efficiently and quickly.
Read Eduardo Guillén's full review
Shelby Bowden profile photo
November 02, 2018

User Review: "ArcGIS changes the way we make images!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ArcGIS on a daily basis across the whole department. Users range from professors, professionals, graduate students, undergraduates, and even some high school students. It is an awesome tool that we use to manage, display, and manipulate the often large quantity of data that we deal with. No other software stands up to it.
  • Data display and customization
  • Editing data files such as merging, joining, and separating them
  • Data sharing with other programs such as Google Earth
  • Uses an insane amount of RAM
  • Constantly needs internet access to use a license, which can be a problem when working in the field
  • Confusing use of different generations of files
ArcGIS is extremely well suited for work in geoscience, even if you aren't doing anything statistics or data manipulation related. It is an excellent tool to display almost any type of data, and the images created in ArcGIS are publication-quality without any other editing. Sometimes it can be overkill if you are doing something more simple, and often the job can be done in Google Earth.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
Andres Meza profile photo
June 22, 2018

Review: "Arcgis is a program for the planning and analysis of the territory."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Arcgis is being used by the engineering department for the geographic location of all the company's commercial offices, it is an excellent tool that has allowed working with very large databases, systematized by maps or ideal tables for analysis and decision making. Using ArcGIS the company addresses the way to be more efficient in the delivery of materials, equipment, and personnel that the company decides to mobilize throughout the national territory, in order to reduce cost and maximize profits.
  • It allows the work with JPG image to vectorize data, georeferencing of polygons and superposition of data.
  • It is a very important tools to plan the territory in order to promote the organized development.
  • It has a set of tools that facilitates the visualization, management, editing, calculation, analysis of georeferenced entities and attributes in different jobs.
  • It has an option for professional quality work of cartographies.
  • It offers the possibility of working by thematic layer previously identified, being ideal for the planning of the territory and the design of the cartographies that we need for the work.
  • It is a program that in general is very difficult to use.
  • I do not like the interface, I think they should carry out a usability study to improve the work process, with the purpose that it is easier to use.
  • It is a program that requires updated computer equipment so that the functions of ArcGIS can work correctly.
  • I consider that there is little variety offered by ArcGIS for the design of cartography.
  • It is an expensive program that requires an investment that small companies can not cover.
It is a program that adapts to the following work scenarios:

1. Georeferencing of data (property, furniture, company, industry, schools, health center, sports stadiums).

2. Vectorization of hydrographic basins, and topography plans.

3. Presentation of maps of various themes vegetation, soil, geomorphology, climate, relief.

4. Territory planning tool.

5. Work with areas of large territories.

The scenarios where it is least adapted are the following:

1. Work planes of scales less than 1: 1000.

2. Work with plans of small urban communities.

3. Work with the vectorization of pipes, electrical lines, etc.
Read Andres Meza's full review
Rafael Mejias profile photo
August 01, 2018

User Review: "ArcGIS, Complete and functional"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ArcGIS is used by two departments in my place of work, with this software we approach the elaboration of thematic maps. We also use it to plan the territory and analyze the impact of possible projects on the environment.
  • Analysis of the territory.
  • Advanced functions for maps and plans.
  • Cost of the license.
  • Incompatibility of old formats in the new versions of ArcGIS, for example, work done in ArcGIS 9 many times is not compatible with Arcgis 10.0.
ArcGIS adapts very well in the realization of thematic maps, it gives me a large number of options to represent on the map the study that is to be carried out. I believe that the management of the labels must be improved, often these overlap and the interface is not very intuitive to solve the problem.
Read Rafael Mejias's full review
No photo available
November 05, 2018

User Review: "ArcGIS: consistent and reliable"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ArcGIS is commonly used across the geology department, and it is also used by other departments besides the geography department, and within our research collaborations across the world. It provides a universal system for us to collaborate together and understand different components of our research projects. It is a great tool for connecting different fields of research to resolve issues or unanswered questions.
  • Analysis of large data sets. We can easily transform large data sets.
  • Accessibility with the online communication and collaboration capabilities.
  • Spatial statistics analysis.
  • A creative mode for certain types of abstract projects.
  • Analyzing raw data that has not been statistically analyzed yet.
  • Naming conventions.
ArcGIS is well suited for transferring data to spatial abstracts in my field. However, there are many instances such as using remote sensing techniques where other softwares are obviously more appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
Rafael Becemberg profile photo
March 26, 2018

ArcGIS Review: "Hurricane winds through a GIS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially is was used by me to analyze and characterize the historical trajectories of hurricanes in the Atlantic Ocean.
Its versatility and ability to work phenomena in geographical coordinates and across different time zones allowed me to analyze the behavior of hurricanes since 1851. With other programs such as AutoCAD it would have been impossible to do so. It is currently being used to characterize the rainfall pattern in Venezuela. Different people of the company are being trained in the use of this tool, with the local commercial representative (Esri).


  • It allows to work and analyze phenomena on a large scale.
  • The fact that one is able to work in geographical coordinates makes it much more versatile for these tasks than programs such as AutoCAD or similar, designed to work in smaller domains.
  • The interpolation functions that it has can be extended and improved.
  • The interface with the user can also be improved so that any user who uses it for the first time, can access to understand the program more easily.
It is the most functional program that I have found so far, both because of the variety of georeferencing datums and coordinate systems, allowing to pass from one datum to another with great ease. In global meteorological and oceanographic studies, its value is very high because it allows the complete visualization of the phenomenon that is to be studied, and at the same time it allows sensitivity analysis when turning off or igniting certain variables in certain years or areas.

Its weakness, in my opinion, lies in the methods of interpolation that it has because they can lead to erroneous interpretations, depending on the skill and experience of the user.

Read Rafael Becemberg's full review
Cesar A Siso L profile photo
January 11, 2018

ArcGIS Review: "The best GIS on the market"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Well, ArcGIS has been used in my organization since 2010, when happened de Mayon change in the municipality, with the intention of obtaining real data of the urbanization and people for making them pay taxes. The software is only used in the Catastral Department, not in other locations. The main problem that is the transition from a trial version for one that had been paid, it was very expensive for the organization and limit the number of users.
  • ArcGIS has an excellent core of tools to make possible everything you need in spatial analysis, from analysis of raster data to the conversion of CAD file to shapefile to simplify their use
  • The simple use of the software is its other great virtues, it is very easy to use, very friendly with the user, the localizations of the tools, the intuitive nature of the menus and the facility to open and save the files
  • The exit format of the maps maybe it is other of the great advantages of ArcGIS in comparison with other GIS, you have a big range of formats to save your map images, and that allows you to uses in any way you like
  • The first thing is the cost, it is a very expensive software for countries of the underdeveloped world, so the professionals of GIS who want to use it, sometimes observe a big range of limitations, because we can use only a few tools that the organization pay and our analysis sometimes are limited because of that.
  • For a rookie user, maybe the software can be overwhelming, seeing so many tools and so many options and features maybe can be afraid or do not know where to start, so it is necessary to prepare a big range of tutorials for people that do not know anything about the GIS, because they can be a possible users but maybe they can be afraid of the software
  • The process of installation of a new version in our case bring us a big problem because the software does not want to be uninstalled so we have to contact technical support to make the transition from version 9.3 to 10 and that delay many of our work
ArcGIS can be used possibly in any private or public organization that needs a kind of spatial analysis, the software allows you to use a big range of tools to analyze everything you have in your territory or market, like people, frequency of buying, transit, transportation, pollution, green areas, urbanization, soil use, travelers, etc. All these categories allow us to make plans or organize a budget and generate a better use of information.

On the other hand, maybe ArcGIS can be a threat to politicians because the big quantity of data you allow makes an analysis of everything you want including the behavior of people and what their needs are. Sometimes that is something that politicians do not want the public to know for security reasons.
Read Cesar A Siso L's full review
Dmitry Galkin profile photo
February 19, 2018

Review: "ArcGIS is great for mapping once the program is learned"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several people throughout our company use ArcGIS to create visual stories through maps. We often work with cities, because of which we need to make maps using parcel data.
  • ArcGIS is very good at allowing one to incorporate data from different sources, for example matching parcel shapefiles to Excel-based data on certain parcels.
  • When used properly, ArcGIS can be good at showing compelling stories visually. This is useful when one needs to convey geographical information quickly.
  • ArcGIS does a good job of maintaining a consistent interface over different updates. This makes it easier for someone, once trained in ArcGIS, to adapt quickly to a new version.
  • ArcGIS can be a difficult interface to get used to for new users. There are many tools at one's fingertips, but it takes a while to learn them. A standard tutorial program may be available, but should be marketed more to companies that use ArcGIS.
  • I'd like to see ArcGIS connect more to publicly available shapefile data that could be accessed and incorporated directly through the program.
  • I think a user forum, with input from administrators, similar to what IMPLAN provides, would be very useful. This could help users ask questions and get answers on tips for using ArcGIS.
  • I don't really like the credit-based subscription system to which ArcGIS transitioned. Perhaps it's more fair overall, as it links usage to cost, but the fact that credits do not carry over seems like a punishment for the subscribers who use ArcGIS moderately.
ArcGIS is very suitable for situations when you need to create detailed maps. It is not suitable if you do not need to create a map and you have limited or no experience in the program already.
Read Dmitry Galkin's full review
yixiang Shan profile photo
December 05, 2017

Review: "ArcGIS, a great Enterprise GIS application/platform"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ArcGIS from the ESRI has become the Fedex corporate standard. We use its Geo-location services, Mapping services, helping operational research, and engineering planning, for optimizing the Fedex express/logistics network. Fedex uses ArgGIS to provide the geospatial
solutions that are extensible to multiple business applications by
providing GIS infrastructure to enable rapid integration of GIS
capabilities into global FedEx business applications.
  • ArcGIS is a great for displaying large amounts of geographic data. The online interactive platform ArcGIS Online is very useful.
  • The documentation of ArcGIS is very helpful and detail.
  • The graphical interface of ArcGis is user friendly.
  • ArcGIS is an powerful suite of applications and tools that all work together seamlessly for a complete desktop, mobile, and web solution.
  • The Python integration and REST API are make it more powerful and flexible, allowing you programmatically to access the data in a variety of ways.
  • The online help/forum changes too frequently.
  • Being the major paid GIS software, there is no real competition. But sometimes random crush will make the user disappointed.
  • Little bit too "black-box", any processes completed, ranging from geocoding to slope interpolations, do not have an exhaustive list of steps taken to reach the specific geo-coordinates, making understanding very difficult.
Very good for the big enterprise to study and improve the logistics network which is related to the GIS domain. Not suitable for the small business or study as the license fee is relatively high.
Read yixiang Shan's full review
Isabel Huamani profile photo
March 16, 2018

ArcGIS Review: "The best GIS tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my performance as a geography professional I have used ArcGis for the regionalization of the territory, the analysis of the regional urban system of different territorial areas, and the construction of topographic and thematic cartography for territorial diagnosis.
  • I think it's easy to use, has a friendly interface and a wide range of geoprocessing tools available.
  • I also like that it has several options to achieve the same result, being able to choose the best one according to the circumstances
  • In addition, the cartographic output is very professional. It is incomparable.
  • It can be very slow. It requires a powerful computer to execute tasks quickly, because It uses a lot of RAM
  • The costs of this software are enormous for the initial purchase price and the subsequent yearly fees for the product.
  • Limited options for incorporating graphics into maps
ArcGis is an excellent tool for spatial analysis. It allows you to reduce response times. Once you invest in training your staff, you will realize the benefits that using ArcGis can bring to your business.
Read Isabel Huamani's full review
Julio A Rivas profile photo
March 01, 2018

User Review: "ArcGIS Multi professional software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, ArcGIS is used with several product options. First are maps for a specific theme; there are maps for hydraulics systems and there are heat maps for population behavior. My company, has two main users; the other three people are field professionals, and they are always are looking for the latest information of some focused theme, like a traffic mobility or flood risk near Caracas.
  • Cartographic output
  • Data process
  • Attribute fields
  • Load field data information
  • Create raster procesed information from basic data
  • Every project occupied lots of computer memory
  • Makes the computer run slow
  • It's a very expensive software
ArcGIS worked the best when our company did a job on roadmaps for Zamora's Mayor Office, with a pump stations risk map and a first response and hospital map, at the end we finished with an all-in one-map. It was very hard to see the problems that the Mayor's Office has to deal with. ArcGIS has a high price for a small business like ours.
Read Julio A Rivas's full review
No photo available
April 13, 2018

"ArcGIS Review - Powerful but Slow and Expensive"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ArcGIS is used by my department in the earth sciences. It allows sophisticated visualization and statistical analysis of geospatial data. It is also used by some other departments (e.g. astronomy and archaeology) for ad-hoc needs.
  • ArcGIS can handle multiple data types natively and usually without error. This mixing allows for more in-depth analysis than with a less robust software suite.
  • ArcGIS has ready-to-use basemaps that save time when doing quick work.
  • ArcGIS often allows multiple solutions to a problem. This user flexibility makes for a more comfortable experience.
  • There are frequently errors when using some tools, and the descriptions on these errors are often vague and unhelpful. This makes troubleshooting very difficult.
  • ArcGIS is slow for many tasks, which makes for an annoying experience - particularly with large datasets.
  • ArcGIS is expensive. Licenses may be out of reach for some researchers or organizations.
ArcGIS is the industry standard for geospatial analysis because nothing else has such a large suite of features. This robustness is the software's greatest strength and is why it's used everywhere from academia to industry. One useful scenario is in performing network traces from thousands of different points - model builder or Python can automate this process.

However, ArcGIS' high cost and memory/slowness issues preclude it for being perfect for all scenarios. Some open source competitors offers 90% of the functionality without the headache.
Read this authenticated review
Nikardi Jallah profile photo
October 30, 2017

User Review: "Use Mapping as a Data Tool on ArcGIS"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ArcMAP/ArcGIS is new for the department that I work with. I, on the other hand, have previous experience working with ArcGIS from my university. I currently use ArcGIS as a way to map prevalence and incidence estimates of several behavioral risk factors in my state. The prevalence and incidence estimates can be entered or uploaded to the attribute table in ArcGIS, where differences are illustrated using symbols (graduated colors or polygons). Spatial mapping is also important for our team. Hotspot analysis, address geocoding, and spatial rate and smoothers are easily done on the ArcGIS system. ArcGIS does a great job mapping X,Y coordinates which you can then spatially join on your map. In addition to spatial analysis, ArcGIS allows you to use python code to run the geo-processing tools that allow you to do the spatial analysis, buffers, joins, and much more!
  • ArcGIS is great at mapping geo-coded data (specifically data with X,Y coordinates like addresses or events in certain places).
  • Using ArcToolbox on GIS allows you to do many different analyses including spatial analysis, spatial statistics, hot-spot analysis, and joins with the many geo-processing tools.
  • ArcGIS is a great application for mapping health-related data, visually. Incidence and prevalence data can easily be visualized by using symbols or colors on your map. The layout view allows you to customize your map by adding a North arrow, legend, and scale bar.
  • ArcGIS can sometimes freeze or perform tasks slowly when too many geo-processing tools have been used on the MAP.
  • ArcGIS could be improved by having a better support page. It is difficult to get the answers you need if you are unsure of how to, for example, perform spatial auto-correlations on your map.
  • ArcGIS is only for data that can be spatially represented, and that is its limitation.
ArcGIS is great for data that can be spatially illustrated, primarily in the health or environment sector. ArcGIS does not do well with data that is better off seen on a graph or table. It is also important that you have X,Y coordinates if you want to correctly plot data on a map.
Read Nikardi Jallah's full review
Flávio Carmo profile photo
October 24, 2017

User Review: "The good old ArcGIS"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our GIS department uses as the main GIS tool, as an individual and collaborative tool. Our use is supported by our clients' needs. We use it to make vectorial databases for cities and states in urban and rural areas. ArcGIS provides to us a full set of tools to make our work organized and productive.
  • Full set of tools
  • Interoperability
  • Collaboration
  • Tools are too bureaucratic
  • Toolbox tools have a slow interface
It is suited for large applications with a complex server side integration, that makes ArcGIS desktop and ArcGIS server a perfect pair, with great collaborative tools for GIS teams.

It falls short when the job is simple, such as making a small vectorial database, when tools like QGIS are more suited or when the client has money issues, because it is a pricey solution.
Read Flávio Carmo's full review
Lance Huntley profile photo
September 11, 2017

"ArcGIS Software Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I can't discuss in any detail how we use ArcGIS to address problems as it would compromise our competitive advantage. Suffice it to say, we are very pleased with the overall performance of the software. Let there be no doubt, we are winning business because of ESRI's ArcGIS. Other than that I am not really at liberty to say. I do hope you understand.
  • Spatial analysis.
  • Mapping.
  • Customer Support is some of the best I have ever received, ever!
  • Secondary data for use with it's products. Good as it is, but add more to it if you could, that would be great.
  • I have used ArcGIS for a long time, it does everything I need it to. In fact it has WAY more features than I will ever use.
  • Add more secondary data.
  • Demonstrate space time boxes... what are they, when are they being used.
Everyone knows where it should be used and where it shouldn't! It's mapping and spatial analytics software, you use it to do that. If you need to map some locational data then ArcGIS can help, if you want to understand socioeconomic characteristics around a particular location, you can do that as well. There are tons of spatial tools, from analysis to creation to joining, whatever you need, spatially, this is the program to get. There are free online add-ons as well, so you can go the cloud route if you want.
Read Lance Huntley's full review
Tiffany Puett, GISP profile photo
April 18, 2017

User Review: "ArcGIS almost does it all"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
ArcGIS provides the tools for both our customers and our team to catalog, visualize, and analyze spatial data. When training, I always ask my class what industry wouldn't benefit from spatial data and it's really a trick question because I believe there isn't one. In other words, being able to add dimension and depth to data that an organization already has from a spatial perspective is invaluable. Let's say you have some addresses of all of your customers in a database. With a flat table, there isn't much more you can do. But with GIS, you can map those addresses and come up with hot spots or areas where most of the customers are concentrated. For retail, it may be beneficial to put new stores in these areas. Further, you could introduce things like household income, age range of population, driving distance, and more that may help you make that decision.
  • ArcGIS has some really strong cartographic aspects. Users can print or export to various formats such as pdf for sharing with decision makers Or they may leverage some of the interactive capabilities of an ArcGIS Online app which can be made public or secured by logins.
  • The current state of ArcGIS Desktop is intuitive and user-friendly. Users can add data, symbolize it and start working with tables in rapid time. In addition, users can easily push their data to a web map with a couple of clicks.
  • My favorite aspect of ArcGIS is being able to quickly query out data based on a certain criteria. Users can also merge the data into another layer based on its location. For example, you may have a bunch of building all over the map that need a situs address. Users can merge the building data with underlying parcel data and grab the situs address. The number of buildings per parcel can then be extracted from the data to see if it matches the tax listing. The buildings that don't match up can then be extracted for field work.
  • It would be nice if more functions from the Desktop application worked on a tablet. I understand that it is a beefy application so this would be dependent on the capabilities of the device.
ArcGIS is well suited to those who need more than just a map as a visual representation of some data. Users will benefit from the vast amount of tools available for modeling and analyzing spatial trends. That said, if you just need a map, then there are many more affordable options out there.
Read Tiffany Puett, GISP's full review
Manik Mitra PE, CFM, CPESC profile photo
April 10, 2017

Review: "I like ArcGIS because of its versatile use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HR Green uses ArcGIS for all kinds preliminary engineering purposes and making exhibits. It is being used across the whole organization for planning, exhibits, design etc.
  • Making plans to prepare exhibits so that the clients can make decisions wisely and efficiently.
  • In terms of shape file editing ArcGIS could add some new features like Civil 3D.
[It's well suited for] making exhibits and planning purposes(data representation, analysis, and other planning). It's less suited for design purposes. You have to depend on other software for design purposes.
Read Manik Mitra PE, CFM, CPESC's full review
No photo available
March 07, 2017

ArcGIS Review: "Powerful, Complex Mapping Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ArcGIS is used across the organization and in many departments. It is a fantastic tool for any kind of georeference.
  • A wealth of options - this is a powerful piece of software.
  • Many ways to display data which is critical in getting your findings across.
  • Easy to share work with others.
  • It can be slow so be prepared to wait if you have complex data/maps.
  • Very expensive. If it was not provided to students many simply have no means to access it.
  • Very large piece of software - an SSD is recommended.
  • It has crashed on occasion - which can be frustrating when working with complex data.
ArcGIS is useful in almost every case where you need to demonstrate something with a map. It is incredibly powerful and can produce amazing analysis. Since these are on maps, they make great tools for presentations or talks. However, using it is not easy and the software is expensive. If you would like to map some data only once or twice it is probably not worth the time or money.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 25, 2016

Review: "ArcGIS. A powerful and intuitive GIS Suite which sets a high bar."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Previously, I used ArcGIS in an educational capacity as a student. For a number of years I learned ArcGIS and used it to complete projects, assignments, and other tasks as required for my classwork.

Currently, I use ArcGIS in a personal/educational capacity as a tool to complete my thesis reseach. ArcGIS has proven to be absolutely critical in my thesis research as it is a fully functional GIS suite that in many regards is the industry standard (analogous to the Adobe Suite in the creative fields). Due to its long legacy, ArcGIS contains a huge suite of varied tools for analysis, display, and sharing of my data and results.

Over the years, ArcGIS has transitioned to being a bit more open in many regards. One of the biggest changes was switching the tools over to Python to ease scripting, updating, and modification of the internal tools and analyses. ArcGIS has also improved its ability to import/export various proprietary and open data formats and sources.
  • Fully-featured and powerful GUI.
  • Large library of integrated tools for analysis and visualization.
  • Large community of experts, novices, and academics to provide tons of examples, help, and guidance for users.
  • Excellent documentation.
  • Industry-wide acceptance and usage means ease of deployment and exchange with others.
  • Fully x64 native client is needed for large/complex datasets, which are not uncommon in GIS.
  • GPU-accelerated analyses is needed as it will reduce analysis times orders of magnitude in most every case.
  • Fully multi-threaded analyses where possible. Currently, analyses are almost exclusively single-threaded on the CPU with ArcGIS' GUI running in a separate thread to prevent lockup.
  • Better interchange capabilities with Open Data formats and sources like OpenStreetMap.
  • Product stability could use some improvement, especially when working on a very large project file.
If you work in the industry, I do not believe you can go wrong with ArcGIS, especially if your company is willing to license it for you. The power of ArcGIS combined with its industry-wide presence means it is the defacto tool in many companies and institutions. It also has an incredibly intuitive (for a GIS suite) GUI, which eases the learning curve when compared to other offerings which historically have had more obtuse GUIs. ArcGIS manages to strike an impressive balance between functionality and intuitiveness.

For home use, I think ArcGIS could potentially be overkill, though recently ESRI has offered a home-use single-seat license for $100 which is an excellent deal. For use-cases like this, I would recommend QGIS from OSGeo as it would be more than sufficient for home or hobbyist uses without carrying any cost for licensing.
Read this authenticated review

About ArcGIS

Esri in Redlands, California offers ArcGIS, a geographic information system.

ArcGIS Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No