TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0r/nX/KIIZMUXR2TEL.PNGArmor is your one stop shop for a secure fully compliant solution no matter what your security needs.We are using Armor to secure our production servers and security appliances. It is being used across the whole company for production and staging resources. Our needs are very security oriented as we provide a fully HIPAA compliant software solution used by several major healthcare providers as well as numerous small healthcare clinics.,Security - we have requirements met right out of the box and the implementation of new resources is done with security in mind. Speed - We can scale resources easy and the infrastructure is fast and efficient. Responsiveness - Support tickets are handled very fast with almost immediate solutions.,More scalable cloud type services.,9,Absolutely - We are already several steps ahead on HITRUST certification.,We did some of it ourselves and contracted several needs out from third party security consultants. Armor has allowed us to bring all the needs and solutions under one umbrella.,The assistance Armor has given with requests for new resources or modification of existing resources has been awesome. I would rate Armor a 9.5 on a scale of 1 to 10.,10Protection at all pointsWe host a high-security web application used by our clients to security communicate with users outside their organizations. We chose Armor (FireHost) because of the high-security emphasis they provide. Out clients are concerned about the visibility, accessibility, and privacy of their data. Armor provides the solution and the peace-of-mind that we need to provide to our clients.,Armor gives us assurance through regular third-party security audits and the various certifications they maintain. Armor also provides us with the tools we need to secure our content (encryption, web-application firewalls, and many others). Armor is a full network operations center, giving us a single point of contact in the event of any issues with the managed infrastructure solution.,We would like to see some more granular pricing options for data storage. All of Armor's storage is high-speed and high-availability. While some of our content requires this, much of our content does not. Paying a premium for storage capabilities we do not need is a problem.,9,Armor's infrastructure provided much of the security we needed. Their partnership with Vormetric (encryption-at-rest) provided the remaining pieces we needed for our application. In the future, we look forward to investing into more specific security certifications such as HIPAA and PCI.,We used another major hosting provider. They provided the majority of the features and security we needed, but as encryption-at-rest became a pressing concern for our client, that hosting provide was unable to provide any reasonable solution.,I would rate Armor at between an 8 and a 10. Some of the responses to security concerns had to be escalated to upper management (security management), and we did not receive a timely response (multiple requests and escalations were necessary). But for the most part armor technicians have done a remarkable job.,8Go GreenerWe run our Dev/QA environment for one of our main systems out of Armor. We also run all our content management for marketing there as well.,Alerting is excellent Interaction with Armor personnel when an issue arises is at a high-level as well.,Would like to hear more from our reps on things we can do better and such.,8,Well, I think we have gained benefit from Armor in this area. Having two-factor authentication available and measures for DDOS attacks has helped us immensely.,I would rate it between an eight and nine. I think Armor incorporates and stays on top of the latest trends when it comes to security. The items we have at our disposal have been extremely helpful.,8Armor Complete ReviewWe use Armor Complete on our hosted platform for external customers,Robust set of tools for hosted environments Reporting,Scanning of platform for vulnerabilities Communication to customers,8,I believe we have gotten good security functions out of Armor Complete. From the standpoint of providing this in a flexible and ever-changing environment, I think Armor Complete has certainly provided us a level that we are happy with.,Before Armor Complete we were with a different hosting platform. Armor Complete was the reason we chose to move our customers with the most stringent security requirements from the other company.,At this point we have not had any contact from the SOC in regards to any incidents. I am skeptical that we have not had any attempts that would warrant escalation, but am not sure.,9Armor has been a great peace of mind, and a welcome break from the SysAdmin norm.Our core infrastructure is hosted with Armor Complete. It gave us piece of mind versus in-house hardware and it freed up management resources to focus on other, more important subjects.,Security - Constantly monitoring for threats, eliminating most before they are even realized. Management - Staff is constantly monitoring the hardware and software for any potential issues.,The self-management of firewall rules was missing at first, but that is now available in their new portal.,10,We maintained our own server HW at a COLO facility providing redundant power and cooling. Took a lot of management time from a systems admin prospective.,They are usually quick to assist with any and all issues we've come across. I'd rate a 9.5.,10
Unspecified
Armor
25 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Armor Reviews

Armor
25 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 25 vetted Armor reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
LJ Wilson profile photo
March 29, 2017

Review: "Armor is your one stop shop for a secure fully compliant solution no matter what your security needs."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Armor to secure our production servers and security appliances. It is being used across the whole company for production and staging resources. Our needs are very security oriented as we provide a fully HIPAA compliant software solution used by several major healthcare providers as well as numerous small healthcare clinics.
  • Security - we have requirements met right out of the box and the implementation of new resources is done with security in mind.
  • Speed - We can scale resources easy and the infrastructure is fast and efficient.
  • Responsiveness - Support tickets are handled very fast with almost immediate solutions.
  • More scalable cloud type services.
For managed security hosting, Armor can hardly be beat. Expensive but worth it.
Read LJ Wilson's full review
Michael Noland profile photo
February 17, 2017

Armor Review: "Protection at all points"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We host a high-security web application used by our clients to security communicate with users outside their organizations. We chose Armor (FireHost) because of the high-security emphasis they provide. Out clients are concerned about the visibility, accessibility, and privacy of their data. Armor provides the solution and the peace-of-mind that we need to provide to our clients.
  • Armor gives us assurance through regular third-party security audits and the various certifications they maintain.
  • Armor also provides us with the tools we need to secure our content (encryption, web-application firewalls, and many others).
  • Armor is a full network operations center, giving us a single point of contact in the event of any issues with the managed infrastructure solution.
  • We would like to see some more granular pricing options for data storage. All of Armor's storage is high-speed and high-availability. While some of our content requires this, much of our content does not. Paying a premium for storage capabilities we do not need is a problem.
Any place where security is a major concern, and the need for a responsive staff to address any issues that arise. We have found that unlike commodity services (AWS, Azure) Armor provides the peace of mind that we have immediate personnel to reach out to in the event of an issue or emergency.
Read Michael Noland's full review
Phillip A. Lee, PMP, CBIP, OCP profile photo
March 01, 2017

Armor Review: "Go Greener"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We run our Dev/QA environment for one of our main systems out of Armor. We also run all our content management for marketing there as well.
  • Alerting is excellent
  • Interaction with Armor personnel when an issue arises is at a high-level as well.
  • Would like to hear more from our reps on things we can do better and such.
For building an off-site environment that will be well-managed, contain the latest security features, high-level personnel and a portal that is easy to use, Armor is great. I am not sold yet on whether I would house everything there yet.
Read Phillip A. Lee, PMP, CBIP, OCP's full review
Mike Wampler CISM profile photo
February 28, 2017

"Armor Complete Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Armor Complete on our hosted platform for external customers
  • Robust set of tools for hosted environments
  • Reporting
  • Scanning of platform for vulnerabilities
  • Communication to customers
Armor complete does a good job ensuring our hosted platforms function well and our secure. Would like to see more granular options as well as the ability to better time certain events.
Read Mike Wampler CISM's full review
Chris Haney profile photo
February 24, 2017

Review: "Armor has been a great peace of mind, and a welcome break from the SysAdmin norm."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our core infrastructure is hosted with Armor Complete. It gave us piece of mind versus in-house hardware and it freed up management resources to focus on other, more important subjects.
  • Security - Constantly monitoring for threats, eliminating most before they are even realized.
  • Management - Staff is constantly monitoring the hardware and software for any potential issues.
  • The self-management of firewall rules was missing at first, but that is now available in their new portal.
[Armor Complete is well suited for] Mid to large companies looking to free up sysadmin resources for more important tasks (projects, network infrastructure, etc) and wanting better peace of mind without having to fork out tons of money on redundant network, server, and power.
It might be too costly for smaller start up companies.
Read Chris Haney's full review
Chris Mechsner profile photo
February 16, 2017

Armor Review: "Mid-sized business partnering with the best hosting provider for security"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a consulting firm that builds customized fundraising tools for our customers. Armor hosts all of our solutions for our customers.
  • Security is no longer a concern since moving to Armor.
  • Reliability and uptime have been fantastic.
  • Availability of support agents has been fairly good.
  • The cost structure of Armor seems to be extremely high, which has led us to investigate other solutions.
  • Invoicing has not been very reliable. We've had to review our invoices and ask for several credits.
[It's] best for full control of servers where security is an extremely high value. You pay for the security. If you just need a place to host corporate sites, I'd recommend another cloud solution provider.
Read Chris Mechsner's full review
Jeff Schwartz profile photo
May 10, 2017

"Armor Service Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is our production hosting vendor for our platform. [It] supplies the secure hosting environment for our applications.
  • Hosting
  • Support and configuration
  • Responsiveness to service and configuration requests
  • Pricing
  • On-line self service configuration
Secure HIPAA and PHI based applications that require 24/7 support and flexible deployment options
Read Jeff Schwartz's full review
Keith Moore profile photo
February 24, 2017

Armor Review: "Great solution, a bit pricey."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organization. It addressed the high security requirements we are held to in Healthcare.
  • They make it easy to scale up or down.
  • They have resources for aother related areas like HITRUST Assessments.
  • The solution is very secure.
  • Their pricing is high compared to AWS and other competition.
If you need a very secure solution, they work well. If not, you can find less expensive alternatives.
Read Keith Moore's full review
No photo available
February 28, 2017

Armor: "An honest review from an experienced sysadmin"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it to build and secure a client's network that hosts a high volume website used by a large network of association members daily. This configuration puts the infrastructure and application fully within our control and we are able to provide granular access to specific portions as required.
  • They do a great job on base security concepts by only allowing direct access to servers through a VPN which prevents most unauthorized access. All ports are initially blocked off and can only be opened by request through ticketing and a digitally signed waiver.
  • They help tremendously in the design and implementation of the network during the onboarding phase. They also make an engineer personally responsible for all technical issues during the onboarding phase to ensure that somebody who fully understands the project is always available to handle requests, answer questions, or assist with any issues.
  • The systems are fully managed and stay security patched as patches are made available for your chosen platform. They monitor 24/7 for high CPU/memory issues and other potential issues with the server. They open tickets on these issues proactively and work to resolve them for you immediately.
  • It would be great if the server dashboard was more stable. Where we seem to have most of our issues is when adding/removing servers and manual scales.
  • I would like a view into my firewalls so I can actually see what is open/closed even if I can't specifically configure it from there.
  • I would prefer my new account managers introduce themselves instead of just appearing out of nowhere when I've emailed our old account manager for something.
Armor gives you what you need to be successful regardless of technical ability. If you can maintain the systems yourself, you are definitely ahead of the game with their service. If you're not prepared to configure and maintain the systems, they do a pretty good job of getting it set up during the onboarding process so that you don't need to dig into the technical guts too much. If you find yourself in over your head, their support staff can handle it for you in most cases.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 20, 2017

Armor Review: "Best of breed hosting solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use armor complete to service and manage our SaaS based infrastructure. It allows us to rapidly upscale servers, spin down unnecessary boxes, and generally respond to market demand far quicker and more cost effectively than we could with our own physical kit. We use Armor WAF and SSAE-16 services to secure our client data to a standard that we could not meet independently.
  • 24/7 response via ticketing system gives us peace of mind that we can get the expert eyes we need when we need them.
  • Monitoring of server and resource utilisation allows us to spot and respond to requirements quickly.
  • Threat detection and monitoring of connections prior to connection means our servers are not spinning to meet malicious requests.
  • Authentication and access against the secure messaging portal is overkill when the response I'm logging in to see merely says, "yes, we have your message. An agent will respond shortly". There should be an option to receive updates like this through email.
  • The online portal that allows us to clone servers is very slow to respond. More than once I've spun up an additional server due to the lack of visual feedback on the initial request.
  • The web application firewall does not seem to be sophisticated enough to differentiate between logged in administrators and end users. We use a CMS system which allows admins to create scripts. These often get barred by the WAF even though they are not malicious.
If you need a low cost, high availability, secure and reliable infrastructure, Armor Complete is the way to go. For smaller companies, knowing that you have a dedicated team monitoring and standing by to address any hosting issues is a god send. Round the clock support means that even the smallest of units can be assured that someone will be eyes on. This literally lets us sleep at night.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 31, 2017

User Review: "Armor is definitely there to protect"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Armor Anywhere to provide Information Security across our organization in order to maintain PCI compliance. There are several key areas of Info Sec for PCI that Armor fills in where a small business like ours doesn't have the manpower to accomplish in-house.
  • Constant innovation is one key strength. We have been a client for less than a year and the product features that we receive has widened significantly since we started using Armor.
  • With Armor, actual humans are involved in keeping our systems secure. Other products/services on the market merely install a product and you are left to maintain the product yourself.
  • Communication is a definite strength. We continually receive alerts from the Armor staff on threats and are always informed of product changes.
  • Turn around time is amazing. When we submit a ticket, we always hear back right away. It might not be with a final resolution, but they overcommunicate during the process. Which is a good thing when it comes to security.
  • Honestly, most of the issues that I have had with the Armor Anywhere product when we first started using it have been addressed with the many improvements that have been made to the product since we started. They really pay attention to the user interface for the tools.
If you are looking to fill gaps in your Info Sec plan for PCI compliance, this service really fits the bill for a one-stop shop.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 24, 2017

Armor: "An Honest Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by a client I have worked with for the last 2 years. The client chose Armor on our recommendation, based primarily on the built-in security aspect and the support SLAs. At the time, our contact on the client side was very concerned about security implications. Armor is currently hosting their production environments, as well as development, quality assurance, and user acceptance testing environments.
  • The main upside of the Armor solution in my opinion is the support team. It is easy to get a person on the phone if an outage is occurring and they are generally fairly responsive and knowledgeable.
  • The dashboard data available in the online portal is not refreshed often enough for it to be useful when trying to diagnose ongoing issues. We have needed to use external services to do real-time monitoring and gathering of information during production issue type events.
  • Any time my clients have experienced a production outage, the response to portal-submitted tickets is not fast enough. I always end up needing to call to get someone's attention in a timely manner.
  • Following production outages caused by changes made by resources at Armor (I can think of 2 occasions), we did not receive satisfactory explanations for the source of the issue. If someone makes a mistake, I'd rather they just admit the mistake and try to make up for the problem, rather than providing explanations that do not make sense given the empirical evidence we had from multiple systems.
  • Armor is very expensive as compared to using another cloud-based solution (such as AWS + an add-on security product). Our client currently using Armor has been discussing migrating to a less expensive solution, as the value add of support resources doesn't really provide enough to make the cost worth it for them.
For small companies with no IT departments and a limited number of servers needed, a solution like Armor would make sense. It is well-suited to less technical users. For large-scale companies with many servers, in-house IT departments, and teams of developers, a service like Armor makes less sense. Most of my clients fall into the latter category, but we do have the occasional client who falls into the former category. Those smaller clients generally balk at the cost of Armor and choose someone like Rackspace instead.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 17, 2017

Armor Review: "A satisfied customer; just fix the portal"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Armor to host our HIPAA privacy/security application for our healthcare clients.
  • Security features
  • Reliability, limited downtime
  • Awareness of HIPAA compliance and willing to sign BAA
  • I constantly get emails from their customer portal. However, all the email tells me is that something happened and I have to login to their customer portal to find out what it is about. Most of the time it is nothing important, so I have wasted my time. I wish they could push out the information from their customer portal into the notification email itself.
Applications with a strong focus on security and compliance
Read this authenticated review

About Armor

Armor is a cloud and mobile security solution. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution was purpose-built to deliver the highest level of defense and control for an organization’s critical data, no matter where it’s hosted.

The vendor says they are so confident in the ability of their solution to protect an organization’s data that they back it with their Cyber Warranty Guarantee.

Armor Features

Has feature24x7 Security Monitoring
Has featureIntrusion Detection
Has featureIPRM
Has featureWAF
Has featureNIDS
Has featureMalware Protection
Has featureFile Integrity Monitoring
Has featureLog Management & SIEM
Has featureVulnerability Scans
Has featurePatch Management

Armor Competitors

ClearDATA, Alert Logic, Cloud Passage

Armor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Armor Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No