Barracuda Email Security Gateway Reviews

40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Timothy Good | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Bang for your buck

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Support
  • Delegated management
  • Domain customizations
  • Support needs to be better, but they knew we were leaving them and that might be why the support suffered.
  • Access to hidden features.
  • Better scanning of large mail messages.
Read Timothy Good's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

The best solution to protect company resources.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I love it because it gives me a lot of security, it is very advanced and it allows me to protect my system.
  • I can also navigate secretly through its platforms that give me security by creating copies of secure and verified links to be in the network always protected under The guardianship of security experts, I can also control or block unwanted pages through the settings that this wonderful system gives me.
  • As well as, I can delete any document or file that I have had for a long time, its login on my computer through its operating systems on my PCs, Macs, Android or iOS is of excellent execution.
  • Once installed on the computer, it starts its perimeter scan to publicize the vulnerabilities that exist in my computers as well as an IP or VPN system that allows me to access blocked pages according to my geographical location.
  • Barracuda is an excellent software but it usually presents perimeter scanner failures since it does not cover adjacent dangers in the network that can also affect or be the victim of hackers of my computers in the long term.
Read this authenticated review
Bear Golightly | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

Barracuda Email Security Service - No-frills email security and attachment sandboxing!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • ESS has a simple interface for both users and administrators.
  • The "Manage Quarantine" button in each email is a direct sign-on link, so users don't have to remember their password to manage their quarantine (this is GOLD, Jerry!).
  • The baseline functionality (catching spam/malware/phishing/malware attachments/malformed PDFs etc) is super-solid, with few false positives and few false negatives.
  • Barracuda's Multi Factor Authentication is terrible, I had to get my MFA removed by support because it would consistently fail to work.
  • The web interface is a bit dated and occasionally does weird things when you click it - it's a unified console for all Barracuda products, not just ESS.
  • Complete lack of geoblocking features. We would love to block countries we don't do business with, but that's not an option.
  • No Outlook plugin for the ESS cloud service; all blacklist/whitelist/etc must be done via the web interface
Read Bear Golightly's full review
Shawn Umansky | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2019

Barracuda Email Security Service Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The rate control feature is very effective at limiting large amounts of spam from ending up in user inboxes.
  • The management console is very intuitive and easy to navigate.
  • Technical support is extremely valuable and wait times are very low.
  • The price point continues to be very competitive.
  • I don't have anything negative to say. It works pretty well.
Read Shawn Umansky's full review
Jackie Ramos | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2019

Barracuda never lets the phishing take you down.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very good at scanning and Stopping bad phishing and spam emails.
  • We are able to control the volume of emails going out and coming into system.
  • We are able to set up reports for the end users on what is getting blocked and then are able to release them.
  • When doing a mass email, it's very restrictive and I could not make the needed changes myself. Had to call and get them to make the needed changes for outbound mail.
  • When a bounce back message hit the users - it makes it seem that the entire mass mailing didn't go out. We always have to explain that it was maybe one or two emails that had an issue.
  • Had an issue where our out external email out of office message was hitting the end user spam.
Read Jackie Ramos's full review
Rick Sherman | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2019

Barracuda Email Security Service

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use and Configure
  • Set it an forget it
  • Initial setup was painless.
  • Interface can improve for navigation.
  • Message log should be a tab in itself.
  • Threats/Viruses detected should be moved up on the ESS dashboard. It should be one of the first things I see on the dashboard.
Read Rick Sherman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

A great email security solution with simple implementation and very cost effective.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The intent analysis has learned what types of messages are malicious and stops most phishing emails.
  • Barracuda is frequently updating and adding new security features.
  • The cloud gateway was recently added a part of the energize updates. This keeps all malicious emails away from our network before sending the emails to our on premise appliance.
  • The appliance has a feature to block all office macros. This is a great feature but only has an on/off setting. I would like to see the additional of allowing exclusions for users who need to receive office macros.
  • The feature for email encryption is great and allows us to not require an additional product or service for this. Unfortunately this is similar to the office macro feature and does not allow exclusions. The setting automatically detects information like credit cards, social security numbers, and other sensitive information. I have a user who works with Japanese companies. Japanese phone numbers apparently trigger the SSN filter. I wish I could put an exclusion in for this recipient or sender.
  • I wish the appliance had an auto firmware update option. Where non major releases would be automatically installed.
Read this authenticated review
Alex Leung | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2018

Barracuda Spam Firewall Fits Our Needs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It helps us eliminate the hundreds of thousands of spam, scams, and malware coming in to our email users.
  • it is easy to find blocked emails and whitelist them.
  • Ease of navigation of UI. Ability to specify message content filter allow actions by subject, header, body, attachments, etc.
  • Great Tech Support. I have always been able to call or email and get a prompt answer from their technician who is understandable and knowledgeable. I have found them willing to answer questions and provide some education at the same time.
  • The annual renewal prices could be better, but for the quality of the product we don't even hesitate to renew it annually.
  • The UI isn't completely Robust, but once you get used to it it's great!
  • Cannot access quarantined email from mobile phone
Read Alex Leung's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

Peace Of Mind For Email Security

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Stops unwanted emails coming through to your inbox, it does this by holding them in a 'quarantine' folder for you to then check and allow or deny.
  • Protects against phishing and ransomware attacks.
  • Stops employees clicking on dangerous links in emails by putting them in a secure place.
  • You need to take time in adding your contacts to a whitelist so that you don't miss an email.
  • I recommend changing the time interval; Barracuda notifies you that you have quarantined emails as we were only getting 1 per day and we missed some urgent emails.
  • The quarantine folder is web based, we'd prefer it to have been an add-in for Outlook.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2018

Barracuda - An excellent layer to your security

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Spam Reduction.
  • Sender and Receiver Filters.
  • Also blocks Virus
  • Message log that includes the whole email.
  • Easier escalation to Level 2 support would be nice. Most problems are resolved by Level 1.
  • It would be nice to be able to search the local virtual appliance message log for all fields like you can the cloud version.
Read Andrew Murphy's full review
Jeff Daniels | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2018

Barracuda ESS - A good low cost alternative for email filtering

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of implementation - Barracuda ESS was amazingly simple to set up. We had it up and running in under a day.
  • Cost effective - Barracuda ESS is very reasonable in terms of price compared to some of the other available options.
  • Good filtering - Barracuda ESS does a good job of filtering out unwanted and/or dangerous email.
  • False positives - While small, use of Barracuda ESS does result in some false positives. Sometimes it is not clear why a particular message was flagged.
  • Configuration - Some of the features of Barracuda ESS are a little obscure in their configuration. Barracuda has made improvements in this since we started using the service.
  • Interface - The interface is a little cluttered.
Read Jeff Daniels's full review
Derek Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2017

Barracuda Email Security - On-premises Appliance or Online Essentials

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Inbound filtering, including attachment and text parsing customization. This allows further customization to quarantine or block based on this criteria as well as customized "spam digest" reports that can be sent once or multiple times a day at custom intervals.
  • Outbound encryption feature includes option to send email securely. The on-premises appliance also has an Outlook add-in that allows a button click to enable encryption for the specific email, while Essentials offers a "tag line" in the subject or body to enable encryption.
  • AntiVirus and Advanced Threat Detection prevent numerous malicious emails from ever entering the email system.
  • The online Essentials flavor does not have the Outlook add-in button to enable outbound email encryption. This feature is very easy to use for end users versus the "tag line" that must be inserted into the subject or body of the email. This is a 2018 feature request that is on their roadmap.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 07, 2018

Email Filtering Made Easy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to setup and implement, we had the solution up and running and filtering our email within two hours
  • Very easy to administer and modify filtering rules - administration interface is very intuitive and allows you easy control over what you do and don't want to come through to your users.
  • Transparent to users - users don't have to worry about quarantine (though you can configure quarantine in Barracuda) - so as far as they know, their spam decreased and we know that our users are better protected.
  • Administrative interface can be a bit laggy at times loading data - sometimes you may have to refresh a page a few times to get the data to show up
  • The filtering system has gone down one time since we've been on it for longer than 4 hours. Having better redundancy or communication with end users during this time would have helped.
Read this authenticated review

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-malware (9)
8.1
Cusomizability (7)
7.0
Data Loss Protection (7)
7.8
Threat Detection (9)
8.6
Sandboxing (7)
8.5
End-to-End Encryption (8)
8.8
Management Tools (9)
8.1

About Barracuda Email Security Gateway

The Barracuda Email Security Gateway is an email security gateway that manages and filters all inbound and outbound email traffic to protect organizations from email-borne threats and data leaks. As a complete email management solution, the Barracuda Email Security Gateway lets organizations encrypt messages and leverage the cloud to spool email if mail servers become unavailable. The Barracuda Email Security Gateway is offered without per-user or per-feature fees, and is also available as a virtual appliance or in a public cloud environment (Amazon Web Services (AWS), or Microsoft Azure).
Categories:  Secure Email Gateway

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Features

Secure Email Gateway Features

Has featureAnti-malware
Has featureCusomizability
Has featureData Loss Protection
Has featureThreat Detection
Has featureSandboxing
Has featureEnd-to-End Encryption
Has featureManagement Tools

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Competitors

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Barracuda Email Security Gateway Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No