TrustRadius
Buddy Media is a social marketing and promotions tool and was acquired by Salesforce in 2012. Along with Radian6, it is now part of the Salesforce Marketing Cloud. Buddy Media began as a platform for building brand pages on Facebook and grew into a social campaign and promotions building platform. About 500 customer use the platform including major brands and agencies.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/OR/CL/WFZ7ZN33E3X8.pngBuddy Media ReviewBuddy Media is used by our digital department for one of our military clients. We use Buddy Media as a moderation, scheduling and publishing tool. It has allowed us to perform all the necessary tasks to run social for our client within one easy to use platform. Being able to flag and remove Facebook comments through this platform has greatly helped our moderation efforts and allows us to catch any issues early and resolve them quickly.,Flags keywords in social comments and filters them to be approved or removed from your page. Allows for easy scheduling/editing of social content. Setting up admins and granting access is easy and organized.,Salesforce reps are not knowledgeable in regards to this tool. Salesforce has not updated Buddy Media in months. Buddy Media is being phased out by Social Studio.,6,Buddy Media allowed our agency to flag and resolve issues as quickly as they appeared on our social pages. The level of service and knowledge of the reps was not worth the investment. Reps continuously tried to switch us over to their newer, more expensive Social Studio tool.,Social Studio,NetBase, Social Studio, Adobe Social,8,3,Moderation Content Scheduling Social Page Management,Seeding content to local level Facebook pages so they can publish the content on their own page,I don't see any future uses for Buddy Media since they have stopped updating the tool.,4,No,Product Features Product Usability Prior Experience with the Product,Re-evaluate the price versus the necessary capabilities.,Don't know,Integrating all of our clients social pages.,5,4,No,Whenever there was an issue with the product they would always quickly troubleshoot and resolve the problem.,Content Scheduling / Publishing Community Management,Rescheduling content times.,5Buddy Media ReviewI provided marketing consulting services for clients who were looking to implement this product and we used it at our management consulting company, Bluewolf.,Monitors online conversations around brand, industry and/or competitors or any other topic profile that is built. It aggregates the online data and allows users to see the most popular topics, words being used in social. This is a great way to gather online intelligence. You can build integrated campaigns across Facebook, Twitter and YouTube, saving time and ensure campaign consistency.,It really needs the Salesforce.com integration to tie social activity to contacts. This integration would allow customers to show the ROI of this product.,9,Buddy Media is great for sales and product development, lead conversion and customer service.,,8Buddy Media Great ResourceWe have used Buddy Media for several years in our social media department at AXS Television. At AXS we aimed to have deeper conversations with our customers and Buddy Media made it possible to create a relationship with those customers. Our department had 3 Twitter and Facebook pages that we had to maintain everyday and we aimed to post 12 or so times a day, without Buddy Media that would have been near impossible to do. Buddy Media especially became handy during our live concerts that we would live tweet along with our viewers and the band.,Buddy Media was always reliable, especially during the times when we could not have an employee manning out Twitter or FB. We knew we could create engaging posts that would go out on time and gather the attention we needed.,There were a few times when several posts would need to be created and schedule and Buddy Media would scramble them up and not keep them in order. Though the post always went out when needed, it was very hard to keep track of a post if it was scheduled for 9:00am, but fell under an 11:00pm post.,10,The use of Buddy Media has made our numbers increase, our interactions sky rocket and our employee efficiency greater.,,10Apps made easyIt makes creating Facebook applets really easy, it takes away the the hassle of doing all that work on Facebook itself.,Customizing is a pain, or I should say used to be. The support team is great and tried to help me with whatever issue I had but some features were just missing back then,The development time of the Facebook apps we developed had been reduced significantly. Fewer cycles equals less cost.,7Buddy Media Self Serve Review (Social.com)After testing many Facebook self serve APIs, Buddy Media was unparalleled in ease of use, campaign segmentation and creation, creative rotation and swapping, and most of all in optimizing. The campaign creation user flow is one thing varies from tool to tool, however Buddy Media has really nailed it on the head with regards to scalability and granularity for reporting and optimizing. The visual widgets available not only allow for quick, actionable insights, but they also allow for optimizations to be made in real time within these widgets and charts, allowing those actionable insights to be actions immediately. For those familiar with Facebook advertising, you know how important turn around time is when optimizing.,Like with any new product, there were some bugs with some of the ad units getting targeting stripped or creating empty shell ads. The tech team was very proactive in alleviating these issues and getting to the bottom of it. However relative to the volume of ads that we were turning out on a daily basis I would say these issues were minimal, however recurring.,We tested this tool on industry leading CPG & entertainment accounts that were very fast paced and awareness oriented. For many campaigns the scale and efficiency goals were easily reached. in some cases that was a unique reach of Millions of users in a day or back end app engagement to basic old fashioned branding. There are conversions that you can set up as well as CPA bidding and their team is always willing to work on custom solutions.,10,10
Unspecified
Buddy Media
17 Ratings
Score 4.9 out of 101
TRScore

Buddy Media Reviews

Buddy Media
17 Ratings
Score 4.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 17 vetted Buddy Media reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-14 of 14)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
February 26, 2016

"Buddy Media Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Buddy Media is used by our digital department for one of our military clients. We use Buddy Media as a moderation, scheduling and publishing tool. It has allowed us to perform all the necessary tasks to run social for our client within one easy to use platform. Being able to flag and remove Facebook comments through this platform has greatly helped our moderation efforts and allows us to catch any issues early and resolve them quickly.
  • Flags keywords in social comments and filters them to be approved or removed from your page.
  • Allows for easy scheduling/editing of social content.
  • Setting up admins and granting access is easy and organized.
  • Salesforce reps are not knowledgeable in regards to this tool.
  • Salesforce has not updated Buddy Media in months.
  • Buddy Media is being phased out by Social Studio.
Buddy Media is great for moderation purposes and flagging comments automatically for removal, however its publishing capabilities are the same as any other tools.
Read Christopher Perkowski's full review
January 29, 2014

"Buddy Media Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I provided marketing consulting services for clients who were looking to implement this product and we used it at our management consulting company, Bluewolf.
  • Monitors online conversations around brand, industry and/or competitors or any other topic profile that is built.
  • It aggregates the online data and allows users to see the most popular topics, words being used in social. This is a great way to gather online intelligence.
  • You can build integrated campaigns across Facebook, Twitter and YouTube, saving time and ensure campaign consistency.
  • It really needs the Salesforce.com integration to tie social activity to contacts.
  • This integration would allow customers to show the ROI of this product.
It is well suited for global brands that have a high volume of online conversations. It doesn't support SMB's as well.
Read Cynthia Bynum's full review
January 17, 2014

User Review: "Buddy Media Great Resource"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Buddy Media for several years in our social media department at AXS Television. At AXS we aimed to have deeper conversations with our customers and Buddy Media made it possible to create a relationship with those customers. Our department had 3 Twitter and Facebook pages that we had to maintain everyday and we aimed to post 12 or so times a day, without Buddy Media that would have been near impossible to do. Buddy Media especially became handy during our live concerts that we would live tweet along with our viewers and the band.
  • Buddy Media was always reliable, especially during the times when we could not have an employee manning out Twitter or FB. We knew we could create engaging posts that would go out on time and gather the attention we needed.
  • There were a few times when several posts would need to be created and schedule and Buddy Media would scramble them up and not keep them in order. Though the post always went out when needed, it was very hard to keep track of a post if it was scheduled for 9:00am, but fell under an 11:00pm post.
I think Buddy Media is always a useful tool and would recommend it to any vendor. It's great for promoted posts, for conversations, for keeping a good presence on the web and getting your message out in creative and useful ways.
Read Madison Holland's full review
March 31, 2014

Buddy Media Review: "Apps made easy"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It makes creating Facebook applets really easy, it takes away the the hassle of doing all that work on Facebook itself.
  • Customizing is a pain, or I should say used to be. The support team is great and tried to help me with whatever issue I had but some features were just missing back then
Read Paul Theunis's full review
October 09, 2013

"Buddy Media Self Serve Review (Social.com)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • After testing many Facebook self serve APIs, Buddy Media was unparalleled in ease of use, campaign segmentation and creation, creative rotation and swapping, and most of all in optimizing.
  • The campaign creation user flow is one thing varies from tool to tool, however Buddy Media has really nailed it on the head with regards to scalability and granularity for reporting and optimizing.
  • The visual widgets available not only allow for quick, actionable insights, but they also allow for optimizations to be made in real time within these widgets and charts, allowing those actionable insights to be actions immediately. For those familiar with Facebook advertising, you know how important turn around time is when optimizing.
  • Like with any new product, there were some bugs with some of the ad units getting targeting stripped or creating empty shell ads. The tech team was very proactive in alleviating these issues and getting to the bottom of it. However relative to the volume of ads that we were turning out on a daily basis I would say these issues were minimal, however recurring.
Read Christina Mercadante's full review
July 15, 2013

Buddy Media Review: "Buddy used to be a Leader; SalesForce Over Promises Under Delivers"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • If your company needs a complex role-based permission set for seeding social posts, scheduling, work flow, Buddy is pretty good.
  • What used to be leading edge on deploying engagement widgets (aka sapplets) has become too cumbersome for simple deployments, usually requiring help from Buddy to put it together.
  • Since being bought by SalesForce and marketed as a bundle with Radian6, they force you into the bundle when nothing is integrated, not even billing.
  • Buddy along with most platforms in this category are still using number of social accounts as the threshold for increases in costs. When this is taken to scale for large brands like QSR's this is not a feasible or cost effective solution. This puts Buddy in direct conflict with Facebook and G+'s move towards hyper local (which by the way other than reviews I'm against)
Read David Pierpont's full review
October 18, 2013

Buddy Media Review: "Easy To Use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It allows companies to easily publish engaging content on their Facebook page. Whether it was a sweepstakes, poll or photo contest, we were able to turn them around on a dime.
  • The only issue we experienced was during publishing status updates. There were times when it wouldn't publish to the entire public.
Read Jeff Bachmann's full review
October 15, 2013

User Review: "Stay Away from Buddy Media"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Buddy Media is an OK platform if you are managing multiple clients and seeing a bunch of traffic across all channels. It also has supports app development within the suite.
  • Platform is often down, I don't trust it and if we didn't have a contract with them I wouldn't use it. Support is ridiculously slow and it's often a challenge getting my "account manager" to respond to my emails in a timely manner. I feel like no one over there is very educated on the product aside from basic features and it is WAY too expensive for what it offers. Overall, I would never recommend this product to a colleague.
Read Paige Robertson's full review
February 05, 2014

"Buddy Media Review (Before & After Acquisition)"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used to both facilitate and schedule Social Media content across multiple departments within the company. More specifically, between Digital, Editorial, and Marketing functions, this tool allowed for synchronization and efficiency in planning of social content. The analytics features allowed for quick, easy to read top-level insights that could be digested across various levels of expertise.
  • Clear, concise functions and navigation. The ease of use was a strong-selling point.
  • Assigning tasks to different users within your team was simple and hassle-free.
  • Analytics were top level, easily digestible and actionable.
  • Deep analytic capabilities still lacking.
  • Still primarily an engagement platform, only. The added components of analytics, sentiment analysis, and NLP are a far ways away.
  • Salesforce acquisition caused disconnect when it comes to persona/reliable customer service.
For an an engagement and publishing tool that is highly efficient, easy to set up, and simple to manage - Buddy Media excels. For strategic, digitally-advanced, and analytic teams, the social listening needs that Buddy Media offers seem to lack to those of other proficient vendors in the space. Overall, it is an affordable solution for all management and content-driven functions within an organization.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2014

User Review: "Buddy Buddy with Buddy Media"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Buddy Media to track demand and interest generated by our recruiting videos that we post to social media and with minimal display advertising to see the rate of conversion and interest that we get for potential new hires.
  • Its allows for great scheduling, seeding and workflow management for individual users
  • Sapplets are easy to update and they are fed quickly and immediately published to accounts
  • The dashboard that tracks page posts is very easy to identify performance and analyze results
  • The packing and integration of Radian6 is costly and unnecessary for what I use BuddyMedia for
  • The lack of expansion beyond Facebook and Twitter is annoying
  • I am not in love with the frequency that I have to employ Buddy's help in deploying widgets, it can be tedious
How many social media accounts you plan on using and whether full bundling is cost effective for your organization. It seems the price points are running on antiquated model of pay per account that can be quite costly depending on the scale of your organization. Seems to weed out middle size users
Read this authenticated review
January 10, 2014

Buddy Media Review: "Fan Engagement Wizardry"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Buddy Media has a very intuitive user interface, which made it easy to both use and teach others to use.
  • The analytics were really helpful, especially when deciding which campaigns to try again and which to shelve.
  • The ability to customize the look and feel were key to our work with Buddy Media.
  • At the time that I was using it, there was a flaw in the system that allowed scripts to enter contests 1000s of times for users, which threw off the results.
If you have the budget and time to let Buddy Media create campaigns and pages for you, they are great. Otherwise you need to have someone with a working HTML and CSS knowledge to get things customized correctly.
Read this authenticated review
March 31, 2014

Buddy Media Review: "General Feedback"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The workflow is fantastic. It made the process of handling clients/potential clients smooth.
  • Training at initial set-up.
No other information to add. Happy with the product.
Read this authenticated review
November 08, 2013

User Review: "Buddy Media can streamline workflow"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Streamline management of outbound content and approval process.
  • Streamline Custom Tab Development.
  • Real Time Data in Tool.
  • Collect Twitter mentions and Facebook Comments in streams.
  • Customize Dashboards and Overlay Data Points.
  • Multiple Approval Process, comments in approval process for change requests.
  • Solution for Custom Tabs to be viewed on mobile device (recognize this is more than BM).
  • Content calendar organization and creation for community managers.
This depends on the users needs and what the goals are in the social strategy.
Read this authenticated review
January 18, 2014

User Review: "Buddy Media Survey"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Buddy Media was used on two teams; Social Media team and Campus Recruiting team. I managed and used the tool for the campus recruiting team while I worked at my previous company. The goal of the tool was to increase our candidate engagement from a campus perspective. We utilized the tool to showcase employee profiles, business articles, book reviews, pictures, and engagement questions. It was a way for our candidates to see current Alumni, view pictures from their campuses, and view upcoming campus events. Based on this, I utilized the tool to develop metrics for the business on our weekly calls with our vendor and meetings with the business.
  • Able to modify and create a page that caters to the company.
  • Develop metrics to the business for weekly, monthly, and YOY comparisons.
  • Review the metrics to see what works and what does not.
  • Building a better relationship with the company. Response time was slow.
  • Provide training on the tool for the team.
  • The data was not always clear/cut, needed a better understanding of the terms.
I think it is well suited for a candidate engagement piece however, the challenge was branding it to college campuses since we are a "tab" from the main FB page opposed to a true page to search for. Some key questions are: "How can we brand our page as a tab?" How can we drive more traffic to our tab?" "How can utilize this page while we are on campus?"
Read this authenticated review

About Buddy Media

Buddy Media is a social marketing and promotions tool and was acquired by Salesforce in 2012. Along with Radian6, it is now part of the Salesforce Marketing Cloud.

Buddy Media began as a platform for building brand pages on Facebook and grew into a social campaign and promotions building platform. About 500 customer use the platform including major brands and agencies.

Buddy Media Integrations

Buddy Media Competitors