TrustRadius
HootSuite Enterprise provides a centralized platform for managing streams from different social media channels and posting/ engaging across channels simultaneously. It also has strong team / workflow features and good mobile apps.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/vG/FW/82VTWIZC8WTT.JPEGHoot-bitter-Sweet: It's Great, When it WorksWe have used Hootsuite Pro primarily in our social media and marketing departments. Ostensibly, Hootsuite Pro addresses the cumbersome process of cross-posting content to our various social media platforms and managing the scheduling of those posts. It helps with post creation, post scheduling, and management of comments, etc., on existing posts.,When it works, the ability to write ONE post and apply it to multiple platforms is great. Huge timesaver, and ensures consistency of content across your platforms. The customizability of streams is a cool feature. You can really dial in a dashboard that fits your unique needs, instead of trying to adapt yourself to a default vanilla setup. Whichever content streams (both existing and scheduled) are important to you can be placed front and center and edited as needed.,Retaining connection to social accounts has been quite unreliable for us, particularly our Facebook Business account. When this connection breaks, Hootsuite essentially becomes useless until the connection is repaired, which often requires an arduous manual removal and re-adding of permissions. Comment management is in some stage of depreciation, and it's not clear to what degree we can expect that functionality to work going forward. As a new user, streams are not well-explained by a tutorial and aren't particularly intuitive to figure out on one's own. They're a great tool once you know how they work, but it would be nice to have a little more exposition provided by Hootsuite right off the bat.,6,3,Honestly, Hootsuite has been pretty close to a wash for us. The frequency with which we've had to wrestle with our Facebook Business connection has caused us to repeatedly put Hootsuite on the shelf and opt for manual posting to both FB and Instagram. During the times it functioned properly, Hootsuite probably saved us around an hour of work per day, if you factor in both time required to post to various platforms and potential time spent ensuring/editing consistency between posts.,Sublime TextHootsuite is efficient, effective, and relatively affordableIt is being used by our Marketing department, specifically our social media team. The problem that it addresses is that in today's age of constant information overload, we as a company do not want to be drowned out of the social media picture, but we don't want to have to employ someone to constantly be posting and/or monitoring. Hootsuite specifically allows us to develop a strategy for the day, week or month, including holiday messages and other posts that can be planned in advance. We then develop and prepare the posts and let Hootsuite do the actual posting at appropriate times so that our team members can move along to something else. We know that the post will show in our company feeds at the predetermined time, sometimes, for example, on holidays when no one is working, which is, in fact, the origin of our Hootsuite usage.,Schedules social media posts - it is easy and efficient and once you have completed you can walk away knowing it will be done properly. Links easily to social accounts - this is important for the tool to be effective, if it was a challenge or had to be updated every time, it would take the ease of use out of the product. Communicates - If there are problems, they are communicated quickly so that they can be addressed prior to anything "not being posted" on your behalf.,I cannot think of anything that comes to mind that would really improve functionality. I would love to see a redesign that was easier to "look at" but that is simply a design preference on my part.,10,2,It has allowed our marketing team to be more efficient and effective at a relatively low cost,TweetDeck,Procore, Adobe Acrobat DC, Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Advertising Cloud, Adobe Illustrator CCHootsuite Free helped us to get our social media back on trackWe use Hootsuite to automate our social media posts across Facebook, Instagram and Twitter for our entire organization. We also use it as a convenient platform to monitor engagement with our target audience of interior designers. Having our social platforms accessible in one place is a real time saver for us since our marketing team is lean and responsible for many functions.,Consolidated platform for multiple social media properties Ability to preview & schedule posts Planner view to see easily what's going out and when,Can't post multiple images on an Instagram post. That's a real pain!,8,1,We were struggling to keep up our social media engagement working with individual properties, so Hootsuite has helped us manage them much more efficiently. In combination with hiring a Marketing Coordinator, Hootsuite has also become an effective lead generation tool since we have capacity to post and respond to potential customer engagement.,Buffer,NetSuite, Bronto Marketing PlatformScalable social media management dashboardHootsuite is used as a social media dashboard at our agency. We use Hootsuite both on behalf of our client teams where we oversee social media buying & planning, as well as with content curation and oversight. The primary social channel that team members collaborate on within Hootsuite is Twitter, in addition to support within Facebook & Instagram.,Create one-stop dashboard for social media collaboration & management Specific strengths include monitoring, scheduling posts and assigning team members specific roles within each account Hootsuite's built in analytics suite provides a high level overview of campaign performance across networks managed via Hootsuite,Hootsuite's training tool can be overwhelming Hootsuite is very much a user-generated experience and sometimes the lack of an account person can slow down the customer service process Hootsuite's pricing model can escalate quickly depending on how many team members & accounts you're working across,7,4,Low cost for small team deployment Builds efficiencies by having more content live in the dashboard than in separate communication chains/emails Decrease time spent on monitoring and scheduling social media content since more can be automated/done in advance,TweetDeck,Pardot, NetSuite, MS SharePointGreat Tool for Improving Marketing EfficiencyIt allows me to easily manage the social media accounts of multiple clients from one portal. This is a huge time saver for me as a marketing agency executive. It allows me to add multiple team members to my social media teams and coordinate their activities from one dashboard. I appreciate the ability to set up custom streams and track very granular keywords, geo-targeted comments, etc. For my local business clients, this kind of targeted tracking is essential,I would like to see Hootsuite create a better user interface for adding scheduled updates to the queue. The current system of uploading an spreadsheet is time consuming and awkward.,We've definitely seen benefits in terms of increased employee efficiency, particularly after putting our employees through Hootsuite University. There have also been improvements in terms of engagement for our clients on their social media channels.,9,8
Unspecified
Hootsuite
362 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Hootsuite Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Hootsuite
362 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 362 vetted Hootsuite reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 134)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Brock Ross profile photo
January 30, 2019

Hootsuite Review: "Hoot-bitter-Sweet: It's Great, When it Works"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Hootsuite Pro primarily in our social media and marketing departments. Ostensibly, Hootsuite Pro addresses the cumbersome process of cross-posting content to our various social media platforms and managing the scheduling of those posts. It helps with post creation, post scheduling, and management of comments, etc., on existing posts.
  • When it works, the ability to write ONE post and apply it to multiple platforms is great. Huge timesaver, and ensures consistency of content across your platforms.
  • The customizability of streams is a cool feature. You can really dial in a dashboard that fits your unique needs, instead of trying to adapt yourself to a default vanilla setup. Whichever content streams (both existing and scheduled) are important to you can be placed front and center and edited as needed.
  • Retaining connection to social accounts has been quite unreliable for us, particularly our Facebook Business account. When this connection breaks, Hootsuite essentially becomes useless until the connection is repaired, which often requires an arduous manual removal and re-adding of permissions.
  • Comment management is in some stage of depreciation, and it's not clear to what degree we can expect that functionality to work going forward.
  • As a new user, streams are not well-explained by a tutorial and aren't particularly intuitive to figure out on one's own. They're a great tool once you know how they work, but it would be nice to have a little more exposition provided by Hootsuite right off the bat.
I definitely would not recommend paying for Pro until you've test driven Standard's features for a few weeks and ensured it will both fit your needs, and perform reliably enough for your business. If you are a moderately sized business whose social media presence is a key component of your success, the net time and energy you save by using Hootsuite Pro may make it a worthwhile investment, even given its unreliability. I'm not entirely clear on all the variables at play when Hootsuite breaks, so it may be that your particular configuration is less troublesome than ours. Testing in Standard mode for a while is a great way to ascertain this yourself without incurring any expense.
Read Brock Ross's full review
Che Odom profile photo
April 23, 2019

Review: "Hootsuite is efficient, effective, and relatively affordable"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our Marketing department, specifically our social media team. The problem that it addresses is that in today's age of constant information overload, we as a company do not want to be drowned out of the social media picture, but we don't want to have to employ someone to constantly be posting and/or monitoring.

Hootsuite specifically allows us to develop a strategy for the day, week or month, including holiday messages and other posts that can be planned in advance. We then develop and prepare the posts and let Hootsuite do the actual posting at appropriate times so that our team members can move along to something else. We know that the post will show in our company feeds at the predetermined time, sometimes, for example, on holidays when no one is working, which is, in fact, the origin of our Hootsuite usage.
  • Schedules social media posts - it is easy and efficient and once you have completed you can walk away knowing it will be done properly.
  • Links easily to social accounts - this is important for the tool to be effective, if it was a challenge or had to be updated every time, it would take the ease of use out of the product.
  • Communicates - If there are problems, they are communicated quickly so that they can be addressed prior to anything "not being posted" on your behalf.
  • I cannot think of anything that comes to mind that would really improve functionality. I would love to see a redesign that was easier to "look at" but that is simply a design preference on my part.
I think it is really well suited to businesses that are developing a social media strategy. I also think that it is likely well suited for small business owners or individuals with an eye on becoming a social media "influencer." The tool allows you to develop a post and schedule it, and then you can walk away and get on with your day. You can spend a certain time focusing on this important marketing tool, and then move on with your day, but appear to your "viewers" or "followers" to be constantly in their feed.
Read Che Odom's full review
Ed Hart profile photo
December 17, 2018

Review: "Hootsuite Free helped us to get our social media back on track"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hootsuite to automate our social media posts across Facebook, Instagram and Twitter for our entire organization. We also use it as a convenient platform to monitor engagement with our target audience of interior designers. Having our social platforms accessible in one place is a real time saver for us since our marketing team is lean and responsible for many functions.
  • Consolidated platform for multiple social media properties
  • Ability to preview & schedule posts
  • Planner view to see easily what's going out and when
  • Can't post multiple images on an Instagram post. That's a real pain!
Hootsuite Free is a great choice for businesses that either are just getting into social media as a way of validating ROI before investing more or small businesses with limited social media needs. The free platform definitely has its limits, but for the features and post scheduling visibility, it is a really good way to get started.
Read Ed Hart's full review
Dan Lobring profile photo
December 11, 2018

Hootsuite Review: "Scalable social media management dashboard"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hootsuite is used as a social media dashboard at our agency. We use Hootsuite both on behalf of our client teams where we oversee social media buying & planning, as well as with content curation and oversight. The primary social channel that team members collaborate on within Hootsuite is Twitter, in addition to support within Facebook & Instagram.
  • Create one-stop dashboard for social media collaboration & management
  • Specific strengths include monitoring, scheduling posts and assigning team members specific roles within each account
  • Hootsuite's built in analytics suite provides a high level overview of campaign performance across networks managed via Hootsuite
  • Hootsuite's training tool can be overwhelming
  • Hootsuite is very much a user-generated experience and sometimes the lack of an account person can slow down the customer service process
  • Hootsuite's pricing model can escalate quickly depending on how many team members & accounts you're working across
Hootsuite has a long-standing history within the social media dashboard landscape and is easy to use. It is well suited for those smaller social media management teams and/or to use among teams that are only a handful key people who oversee social media trafficking, i.e., posting, scheduling, responding to customer service queries on social media, etc.
Read Dan Lobring's full review
Kathleen Slattery Booth profile photo
April 04, 2019

Hootsuite Review: "Great Tool for Improving Marketing Efficiency"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It allows me to easily manage the social media accounts of multiple clients from one portal. This is a huge time saver for me as a marketing agency executive.
  • It allows me to add multiple team members to my social media teams and coordinate their activities from one dashboard.
  • I appreciate the ability to set up custom streams and track very granular keywords, geo-targeted comments, etc. For my local business clients, this kind of targeted tracking is essential
  • I would like to see Hootsuite create a better user interface for adding scheduled updates to the queue. The current system of uploading an spreadsheet is time consuming and awkward.
I would definitely recommend this product and would strongly encourage anyone signing up for it to go through Hootsuite University training and get Hootsuite certified.
Read Kathleen Slattery Booth's full review
Sylvia Flores profile photo
January 30, 2019

Hootsuite Review: "Awesomely Accessible Platform for Newbies"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hootsuite is a wonderful product for Social Media scheduling, monitoring activity and engagement, and competitor research. The community with Hootsuite is quite large and useful for determining how others are using the tool. I find it to have a very user-friendly interface, therefore, it is simple to get a new user on the system and immediately executing use within minutes. For managers or editors, it is easy to pop in and see only what you want to see without wasting a lot of time.
  • Scheduling Social Media posts - for my clients, typically they schedule the majority of their activity on a Monday and for the week.
  • Ease of use - you can be on and publishing immediately without a learning curve.
  • Value for the money - it's very accessible for small budgets.
  • Customer support - their customer service is exceptional.
  • It is very Twitter-oriented and does not offer as much robustness for other platforms such as LinkedIn.
  • I wish it could detect whether social interaction is a bot versus a real person.
  • Like them all, if you wish to schedule a post with multiple images, you have to schedule it directly on Facebook or on Tweetdeck for Twitter. That creates additional redundancies - unfortunately, I don't believe there is anything Hootsuite can do about that, as this is an issue with other competitor platforms.
  • I would love to see more robust reporting features - I often have to take the time to extract the data I am looking for to create the reports I want, which is inefficient.
If you are an agency, it is pricey to manage multiple clients. Having Hootsuite Pro installed on the client side is preferable from a cost perspective. It's an excellent tool for small budgets - but it will likely not be the holy grail, all-in-one solution. You will likely need to layer additional options. It's great to analyze content over time as far as what is working and what is not, which may inform other marketing communication decisions.
Read Sylvia Flores's full review
Chris Lesner profile photo
January 08, 2019

Review: "Hootsuite is a great company with a quality product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hootsuite Pro allows us to schedule out over 2 months of posts ahead of the dates we actually have them post. They help us keep full track of what is going on with all of our social accounts by providing great insights (data) on what the outcome of each post is and our social account as a whole.
  • Scheduling content.
  • Posting content remotely.
  • Collaborating with team members.
  • Shows great stats.
  • Helps us keep track of conversations using keywords we care about.
  • Makes it easier to post random content we find online on other websites.
  • Instagram data is limited.
  • Cannot post directly to Instagram through Hootsuite Pro.
  • There is no automation at all for following/unfollowing/responding to people.
Where it works well: If you manage multiple (or dozens) of channels and need content posted to lots of channels fast without having to sign in and out of the channels, while also getting good data on each account all in one centralized place.

Less: If you need to grow your followers significantly, or unfollow mass amounts of people. Also, it doesn't work well with DM's.
Read Chris Lesner's full review
Jared Hansen profile photo
December 11, 2018

Hootsuite Review: "Great tool for social media management!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Hootsuite in our social media class to manage the online presence of one of our local clients. We tracked their engagement, monitored key words, and scheduled their posts. Hootsuite is one of the most popular social media management tools, especially in the advertising realm, so our class decided to use it in our campaign for our local client.
  • Integrates with all popular social media platforms (Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, Pinterest, and YouTube)
  • Has a free plan! And it actually works well for individuals
  • Great team features that make collaboration and teamwork efficient
  • Mobile apps that aren't broken
  • The points system is confusing and leads to expensive reports
  • Forced to use their proprietary URL shorteners, which are also expensive
  • Gets expensive for teams
Hootsuite is great for solo-preneurs or micro-business owners (less than 5 people businesses). The free plan or professional plan ($348 a year) are great for your basic needs. However, once you get into the small business realm, as a start-up or something, then it gets pretty pricey and doesn't scale very well until you are a mid-range or larger business.
Read Jared Hansen's full review
María Barreto profile photo
December 08, 2018

Hootsuite Review: "A very useful tool that will make it much easier to manage several social networks at the same time."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is very useful for our company when it comes to keeping all our social networks up to date. Everything is managed from a single platform and allows us to see the statistics and schedule a post quickly and without complications. Currently it is the most important tool of our company when it comes to promoting our products.
  • The best thing about Hootsuite is the panel system with all the social networks at the same time.
  • Automatic publication programming is very easy to use.
  • The reports are very detailed and help monitor trends and measure growth.
  • Campaign tracking is very simple and efficient.
  • Create custom analysis control panels, or use our templates, to get more information about how your followers interact with your content.
  • When scheduling Facebook posts with several photos attached, Hootsuite publishes each photo separately but with the same description, instead of a single post with several photos.
  • If you manage the social networks of a company, sooner or later you will need to pay for the business version since it has more essential functions to boost the publications.
  • The free version is only limited to 3 social profiles.
It is very appropriate to manage personal social networks, since the free version only supports 3 social profiles. For a company I recommend paying for one of the plans, especially the business plan that supports 5 users and manages 35 social profiles. In general this tool is one of the best I have tried and used personally.
Read María Barreto's full review
No photo available
December 10, 2018

User Review: "Hootsuite Enterprise Experience"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Hootsuite for our non-profit organization. It was only being used by our chapter, not the whole organization. This was a really useful tool in order to manage our social media accounts. It saved us time and energy by posting regularly without having to take time out to post to three individual social media accounts. In addition, it was a great tool to measure the effectiveness of our work. We used Hootsuite to increase the awareness of our organization.
  • Being able to schedule the posts
  • User-friendly interface
  • It has a free version
  • Facebook API fails sometimes
  • Only one person can edit social media postings with one email address
  • The navigation bar on the left is not easy to use on mobile devices
If you have one social media account that you manage, then Hootsuite Enterprise might not be the software to use. But if you are managing several social media accounts and if you want your posts to be scheduled, then Hootsuite Enterprise is one of the best softwares to use.
Read this authenticated review
Jarad Matula, MBA profile photo
July 03, 2018

Hootsuite Review: "Fast, Easy, Affordable, but with Limitations"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hootsuite is being used by both my organization as well as a few of my clients for scheduling, reviewing and approving social media posts. Internally, it is only being used by the Media Department. Externally, a few of our immediate stakeholders at client companies are using it. The business problem that is solved is the need to be at a computer at a certain time to post on social channels for a client and am able to schedule large quantities of posts so that i spend less time posting and more time engaging. It also addresses having a formalized review process for clients once we create and upload social media posts, rather than screenshots or some other archaic option.
  • Setup, including connecting your social media accounts, is easy and intuitive.
  • Scheduling posts is quick and easy once you get the hang of it.
  • I love being able to create different streams of content to monitor, this feature of the dashboard is great for keeping an eye on multiple campaigns and types of accounts at once.
  • Inability to tag companies or people on LinkedIn is a huge annoyance. Due to time constraints, we've had to eliminate the use of tags for LinkedIn since HootSuite can't do it, and we don't have time to go into the platform, tag, and post at the exact right time.
  • Random errors and temporary ceasing of posting/scheduling function happens at least once a week.
  • Slow to incorporate newer features, such as the lag between Twitter increasing the character limit and Hootsuite recognizing that fact in its post creation.
If you're just wading into the world of social monitoring and scheduling and don't want a large investment of time or money, this is a great tool. I consider it a "my first social media management tool." For simple posting, scheduling, monitoring, and reporting, this is a great, inexpensive option.

If you're an advanced user and care about analytics being baked in and not piecemeal per report you pay for, then you might be better served looking elsewhere. The cost structure of reporting here by a number of reports and by the number of things you want to measure isn't ideal. I'd rather pay for analytics as a whole and pull whatever I want.
Read Jarad Matula, MBA's full review
Pam Renovato profile photo
June 28, 2018

Hootsuite Review: "Engage and interact successfully with a social marketing tool that actually plays well with others."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Hootsuite Pro for engaging with customers, growing awareness, building relationships, social listening, and content scheduling and management across 40 networks and 6 different brands. It's used by every member of my team. Hootsuite allows us to schedule ever green content far into the future while still consistently adding time sensitive content whenever its needed. With the scheduling feature, my team is allowed to manage most social network tasks in minimal time- all at glance.
  • Hootsuite Pro excels with their dashboard organization. For our purposes we do very well with the 20 tabs with ten streams in each tab. This allows us to create different dashboards for specific purposes- its easily customize-able to suit our needs. We are able to group streams by network and/or by brand. Further, it's a snap to monitor influences and track keywords and hashtags as well. Other social media management tools don't allow near as much flexibility.
  • Unlike other social tools, Hootsuite Pro has an extensive app directory that allows brands to include tumblr, blogger, sound cloud, stumble upon, Pinterest via Tailwind in their dashboard. Past that, their app directory includes an impressive number of services for further dashboard capabilities and increases productivity options. Popular services such as Trello, Slack, Reddit, Pocket, Flipboard, Dropbox, Evernote, SugarCRM and many, many other services are integrated into the dashboard via apps. Hootsuite Pro can handle a large portion your marketing needs.
  • While Hootsuite offers several packages, marketing bundles, services, and add-ons, to accommodate larger companies at an enterprise level also- - the Pro package is perfect for small to mid-level companies with many features and capabilities at a price that beats the cost of most social media marketing tools available.
  • When I first began using Hotsuite Pro, the allowed social accounts were unlimited. As their offerings increased, the number of social accounts available to Pro account users dropped to 50. Granted, 50 social networks is more than sufficient for most small companies the number is too small for companies managing multiple brands with multiple profiles. It's perfectly acceptable to offer a package with a 50 profile allotment- most social management tools have limits also. However, those that signed up for the Pro account with unlimited profiles felt a sting when the number was dropped, without warning, to 50. As for us, managing six brands, each with multiple social profiles, and a few of those brands have multiple profiles on the same network to address customer service, sales, and/or vetch. support. For a time, we thought we would need to purchase add-ons to meet our needs. While we love the services, technically the service offers less that what it did when I signed up.
  • Hootsuite Pro only offers one advanced analytics report each month. You can purchase additional reports or build custom reports. However, what's offered isn't sufficient for the allowed social profiles. The analytic capabilities exist in Hootsuite, but the Pro package doesn't offer enough reports to handle extensive analytic reporting needed for future planning. Yes, these are available as add-ons- but the Pro package will never be a stand alone social media marketing tool until more reports are available.
  • In the past, Hootsuite Pro included Linked In Company Pages, and groups as well as individual profiles. Pages and groups are no longer included so.
  • LinkedIn is not covered as well as it once was.
Hootsuite Pro is great for scheduling content, engaging with your audience, and building awareness. However, the reporting is minimal so you'll need another tool for analytics and monitoring. The search capabilities are useful but it cannot operate as a true social listening tool with this lack of reporting available in the Pro package.
Read Pam Renovato's full review
Stefanie Cash profile photo
August 31, 2018

Review: "Hootsuite is a solid choice for social media planning"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hootsuite Pro allows for easy scheduling of multiple social media accounts. It is used solely by the Marketing Department and was brought on to allow for proper time management and easy planning. The ability to schedule a month+ of social posts throughout numerous networks enables us to focus on other areas for business development.
  • Scheduling
  • Management
  • Analytics
  • UI Enhancements
  • Get rid of the point system for reports
  • Enhanced reporting/insight
While Hootsuite does allow for easy scheduling and management of multiple social media account, the UI makes it a bit difficult to navigate as compared to other social media tools. With that, a learning curve is presented. However, once it is overcome, Hootsuite is a valuable tool.
Read Stefanie Cash's full review
Emily Hammell profile photo
August 29, 2018

Hootsuite Review: "Great Value"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the marketing and social media coordinator and I use Hootsuite nearly every day to schedule social media across platforms. It saves me a ton of time and energy while being able to produce consistent content for all of our brands.
  • Scheduling social media - it helps me control when things are published and can even predict when a good time to publish would be.
  • User-friendly interface - the interface is very easy to use and nearly anyone could use it!
  • Convenient tools - it's nice to be able to scroll through different feeds and interact with posts from one tab.
  • Formatting issues - I have to save images and PDFs in different formats and sizes in order to share on different platforms.
  • Sizes - The max image size you can upload is 5 gb which means I'm having to resize my professional images before uploading them
  • Instagram integration - this could really use some help. I manage 5+ Instagram pages and it does not integrate well with that many accounts. I'm constantly getting error messages.
Hootsuite is great for small marketing departments or a department of one. It's very useful and handy to be able to schedule all my social media on one tool. It's also great because you can get a ton of scheduling done all at one time and it will predict the best time to send out your messages as well.
Read Emily Hammell's full review
Alison Rivera profile photo
July 24, 2018

Hootsuite Review: "The Industry Standard in Social Media!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hootsuite is used by our Marketing Department to schedule our content across all our social media profiles. This helps streamline our Social Media marketing practices into much easier tasks.
  • Schedule Postings at Optimal Times to increase reach and visibility of posts.
  • Streams are useful when wanting to track if people are talking about the brand online.
  • Content sources, like UpContent, are great when need inspiration for what to post.
  • I wish the Instagram Scheduling had a grid preview where you could see how the posts will look on the profile. A lot of other schedulers are already doing this.
  • The reporting isn't always correct, sometimes the numbers are inflated.
  • I wish you could schedule at Optimal Times across multiple days instead of just on the same day.
Hootsuite has quickly become the industry standard when working with Social Media Marketing. I'm excited to try their new "Boost" feature that tells you the best posts on Facebook to add money to and increase reach. Especially in the world of digital marketing today, you need to be familiar with HootSuite since many competitors have similar layouts.
Read Alison Rivera's full review
Greg Dungan profile photo
June 21, 2018

Review: "Hootsuite Pro: The Social Media Manager's Friend"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use HootSuite Pro on behalf of my clients to post to their various social media outlets. It allows me to generate multiple posts in one location. It also allows me to effectively pre-schedule social media posts days, weeks, or even months ahead of time. It also allows me to monitor their social media feeds and keep up with other employees who made me posting on their behalf.
  • HootSuite pro allowed me to post to multiple social media platforms from one location.
  • HootSuite bro allows me to pre-schedule multiple posts days, weeks, or even months ahead of time.
  • It would be nice if HootSuite bro added more networks such as Pinterest and Snap Chat.
  • It would be really great if HootSuite pro integrated with Facebook messenger.
  • It would be very helpful if Sweet bro integrated with local search Platforms such as Yelp.
HootSuite Pro is well-suited to the busy social media manager who needs to post multiple things in multiple places from one platform.
Read Greg Dungan's full review
Matthew Veil profile photo
January 15, 2018

Hootsuite Review: "Hoostuite Free - A Must for Start Ups and Small Businesses"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Hoostsuite Free when we first started the business. We needed a low cost solution, free is definitely low cost, I heard about Hootsuite from online blogs I follow, and searched on the web more about it. The main functions I wanted to use were to schedule social media posts on Facebook, LinkedIn, and Google+ so I didn't have to manually do it. I know Facebook has the option to schedule it for later but logging onto 3 different platforms and copying pasting over was a lot more time consuming. Still at the time the other social platforms didn't allow to schedule the post for later. It was easy to get started with and freed up our time in scheduling social media posts. Initially it was just myself, and now I have others using the upgraded version of it. I meet with a lot of smaller businesses who don't have a large budget for marketing and I recommend Hoostuite free to them all the time. We have since upgraded to the version where you can have more social profiles and are still happy with it. Pricing is hard to beat, and the time savings is very helpful.
  • For small or startup businesses, time is scarce, and being able to schedule up to 30 messages at one time means you sit down once per month and you are done. Spending one to two hours focussed on content relieves the stress of remembering to log on multiple times per week when other things get in the way.
  • I also like the analytics, you can log into each social site and look at it, but again that is time that could be spent doing something else. I like seeing how each post is performing over different channels, especially because each channel will vary in the way content is consumed. Very helpful for planning future content and posts.
  • When I was starting up it was nice to have a trusted source of information helping me determine what and how to post to social media, Hootsuite provides some online free courses to help a small startup business get off the ground with what to post. Helping with information on specific social media platforms, optimizing your social media profiles and pages to get more out of social media. Some people tend to think it's just creating a profile and posting, it's way more than that and Hootsuite provides a lot of information for non experts to become proficient for their own business.
  • They have the Hootlet owl that can be used to schedule posts on the fly for Chrome and Firefox browsers. Very helpful, I have noticed it can be quite buggy at times, so I generally don't even use install it or use it. I'd like to see it work better because a small part of posting is done on the fly. But considering it is a free resource I don't complain.
  • I'd love to see a keyword report or hashtag report which is currently not available on the free version, but considering it's free, again I wouldn't complain. When I used the free plan the main goal was to just post content and show more presence that was consistent on multiple channels.
  • When I first signed up there wasn't a lot of information in regards to how the dashboard worked and the functions of streams but I believe they have added more information, for non techy people that may seem a bit confusing at first, but they have added more information in explaining that and the publishing stream.
I would recommend Hoostuite Free for small businesses, start-ups, and people willing to put some time into creating their own social content and not wanting to outsource social media posting. I'd also recommend it for companies needing to learn social media basics as well. Larger companies who have more than three social media profiles and have a budget to run contests and ad campaigns I would recommend upgrading to a pro version and looking to hire a part-time/ full-time social media manager.
Small businesses need to understand that social media posts alone typically won't generate a lot of return on investment by posting alone, unless they have a campaign to go along with it, but also needing to just have regular social posting that shows you are still in business and are relevant to seasonal content will greatly benefit from Hoostuite Free.
Read Matthew Veil's full review
Gustavo Flores Flores Rojo profile photo
April 12, 2018

User Review: "Hootsuite Free a favorable experience"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Hootsuite in the department where I work, when tracking different topics of interest at the Twitter level, such as the different updates on minimum wages and the different regularizations and decrees issued by different countries, it is important at the moment to follow up on news.
  • It is useful at the moment to follow up on informative topics, that is, to follow up on media.
  • Customize Hootsuite to your liking and work wherever you want, the interface is very flexible and you have a great freedom to visualize the data in different ways, create lists of themes or media, adapting it to your way of working.
  • Have all the information you need a click away....
  • With the monitoring of social networks you can get key information about your competitors. This kind of intelligence will allow you to create strategic business decisions that will keep you above them. For example, you can create search channels in Hootsuite to monitor keywords within the industry and see the mentions of the names and products of your competitors. With the monitoring of social networks you can obtain key information about your competitors. This kind of intelligence will allow you to create strategic business decisions that will keep you above them. For example, you can create search channels in Hootsuite to monitor keywords within the industry and see the mentions made to the names and products of your competitors.
  • With Hootsuite, you can manage up to 100 different social networks.
  • You can disseminate several advertising campaigns at the same time.
  • You can promote your company, product or services.
  • You can achieve direct assistance to customers.
Pros:
  • First of all, it's free. You can add up to 5 accounts from different social networks, additionally you can display at the same time on the screen, all the information that you would have to see on twitter, for example, going to the "Connect" tab, mentions, retweets. With 5 columns you can control everything, see your timeline, sent tweets, retweets, etc.
  • You can schedule the tweets. We all know how useful it can be to schedule a tweet when you're on vacation or just out of the office.

Cons:
  • When you select the profile from which you are going to tweet, that action subtracts characters from your tweet. Although it is logical that you encode information and subtract tweets, in 140 characters that we have to express, many times that you take two of them you can disrupt a bit your tweet.
  • You can not see the trending topics, so you have to have an open twitter profile next to you to know which are the trending topics of the moment and study the possibility of publishing a retweet using some of them that could be related to your topic and give more follow up on your tweet.
Read Gustavo Flores Flores Rojo's full review
Daniela Belevan profile photo
February 01, 2018

Hootsuite Review: "Great social media managing tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our agency has been using HootSuite Pro for about 4 years. The whole organization uses it but mainly my digital marketing team and me.

We have issues posting with Instagram through Hootsuite. To do so, you have to download the Hootsuite app on your phone and then post to Instagram through the app. It's complicated and I wish we could do so from a desktop browser.
  • With HootSuite you can schedule posts ahead of time. It's hard to keep up with social media nowadays, especially if you post a lot for a client (or for yourself) on all different platforms.HootSuite is a great option for people who manage multiple accounts.
  • We're all busy nowadays. You can improve your productivity with Hootsuite which leaves you with time to do other important things for your company and deal with more important matters.
  • FREE for the basic account. The premium account is $19 a month for the basic account for 10 profiles. You can try out premium FREE for a month.
  • Outdated interface on the website. Old look and feel of the website. It needs to be updated to a more modern look. It's outdated and it gets boring to look at.
  • Some reports cost extra, around $50
  • Expensive if you have a bigger team
HootSuite is perfect if you manage more than 1 social media account for your own business or if you manage for other clients. It keeps your social media accounts organized, and it's easy to post and attach image or videos. It may not be suitable for a small business to pay the premium price.
Read Daniela Belevan's full review
Justina Rimkeviciute profile photo
January 23, 2018

Hootsuite Review: "Can be a pain, but there is nothing better!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hootsuite Free to plan out our social media. We are a small start-up business, so a free version is more than enough for the time being.

In particular, we plan out Twitter and LinkedIn campaigns currently, however, I've used this software before for all of the other traditional social media types.

Overall, Hootsuite, helps me plan social media calendar, publishes everything for me, and helps to keep up with all of the hashtags in one place, so it makes social interaction very easy. Also, there is quite useful chrome extension that allows me to publish valuable curated content fast.
  • Publishing social media posts
  • Keeping up to date with hashtags and people we follow/would like to follow/ we are interested in
  • Amending link thumbnails and updating their descriptions, it works great for a bit of variety
  • Instagram automated posts are quite painful. There are better programs that do that.
  • The free version has recently implemented a credit system in addition to 3 accounts only. So you get 30 posts and for 3 accounts.
  • Reporting features are a little useless. They are easily available everywhere else, and the number of 'twitter followers' isn't really a report..
Great for scheduling posts on Facebook, LinkedIn, and Twitter, great for keeping up with the hashtags and great for doing all of the small tasks on the social media side of things.
Read Justina Rimkeviciute's full review
Benjamin Hale profile photo
January 19, 2018

Hootsuite Review: "Limited features, dated interface...but hey, it's Free."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization used Hootsuite Free to manage social media channels for our clients. In our case, we had a few different clients that used Hootsuite, but most of my experience is was with one particular client. This was used to help keep track of social posts and social trends for this client.
  • The best strength of Hootsuite is the price. Free is a great price.
  • Built in URL shortener is nice.
  • Support is solid, with real people to speak with.
  • Being a free version, you are limited to just three services.
  • The interface is a bit clunky and feels dated. It feels like it is more for viewing social media than creating posts.
  • It is glitchy at times, and this can be frustrating.
  • The draft mode should have some section to leave notes, but it does not, and requires secondary communication if collaborating.
Hootsuite, being free, is a good choice for someone who is running on a limited budget or testing the waters on a certain brand or product. It allows someone to "get their feet wet" in the social arena. It is less appropriate for a serious social marketer or for those who have the desire to expand beyond the three services that are offered.
Read Benjamin Hale's full review
Michelle Green Arnson profile photo
January 19, 2018

User Review: "Hootsuite Free? Owl pass."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Hootsuite Free to schedule posts across social media platforms, namely Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn (it doesn't work with Instagram, which was always irritating, but, as I understand it, not entirely Hootsuite's fault/problem). As a marketing department of one, I was the only user. It certainly saved time if the only alternative was crafting each post one at a time per social media platform (which is not the case, in reality) and it offered something in the way of analytics.
  • Scheduling across up to three platforms
  • Basic monitoring across up to three platforms
  • Basic analytics
  • Make friends with Instagram!
  • Not a big fan of the user interface
  • Could improve entry-level reporting
Hootsuite Free is really pretty basic. I never liked it enough to spend money on the upgraded versions, and instead moved to Buffer for scheduling across platforms. If all I wanted to do was monitor social media conversations and schedule a post here and there, Hootsuite Free would work just fine. As it is, other tools work better for what I need to do on a day-to-day basis.
Read Michelle Green Arnson's full review
Claudia Sheridan profile photo
January 18, 2018

"Hootsuite Pro Review From A Consultant's POV"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hootsuite Pro is used daily by my team to ensure that posts are made on time and responded to as well. We utilize Hootsuite Pro to follow conversations, manage mentions and provide overall customer service for our clients' accounts.
  • Schedule posts to go out, making this process a little less hectic.
  • We manage multiple social media accounts and logging into everyone every time is a bit of a hassle. Hootsuite Pro allows us a central point of contact for our client's social media accounts
  • Overall Hootsuite Pro has been a huge time-saver.
  • The calendar layout is a bit "clunky". It would be great to be able to customize the Calendar view so that more of the social media post is visible.
  • It would be amazing if Hootsuite Pro could pull content from a local database or spreadsheet, without having to upload the content. This would really help with evergreen content.
Well suited for consultants who manage multiple clients. I don't think that small business owners really understand how to use Hootsuite Pro effectively. To get the most benefit, it's important to also understand the social media landscape and take the time to post to each channel.
Read Claudia Sheridan's full review
Stephanie MacMillan profile photo
January 17, 2018

User Review: "Hootsuite Free Not for Me"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We no longer use Hootsuite Free. The reason behind this is because we found it to be a non-user friendly platform. In addition, I was limited to how many platforms I could integrate before I was forced to purchase. I liked that other sites allowed a try before you buy option which made it easy to switch from Hootsuite Free to our new platform. It was difficult to navigate without much how-to or direction. I could not use it without getting frustrated.
  • It does have a litany of add-ins which is nice when you know how to use them and when to use them.
  • It has a multitude of options to choose from to add to your dashboards and you can add many of them.
  • It is simple to sign up and get started.
  • It is hard to navigate.
  • I had a hard time with its user interface because I did not like having to scroll from side to side to see information in addition to scrolling up and down.
  • It needs to be more streamlined and easier on the eyes.
I think Hootsuite Free would be great for someone only trying to maintain 1-2 social profiles. I don't find it useful for a business like mine with 6 unique profiles. I might suggest someone to at least try it as a starting point for social management. They can upgrade from there should they have the need to.
Read Stephanie MacMillan's full review
Brian Nizinsky profile photo
January 17, 2018

Hootsuite Review: "When it loads it works but..."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used the free version of Hootsuite for both personal and professional reasons. On the professional side it was used as a collaboration tool for multiple people to post to social channels at the same time and provide visibility to what was in the queue. It solves the issue of managing multiple social accounts across both people and channels.
  • Easy to use browser and apps to allow for posting.
  • Easy to understand the queue of posts
  • Post once and share across multiple social networks.
  • I would say Hootsuite failed to load about 80% of the time. Not sure what was going on but it was very frustrating.
  • Sometimes if you were sharing an image the image would not show up in the feed (especially on Facebook).
If you are at a small company then give it a try but its not suitable for a large scale enterprise for managing social media. Since there is a free version you can give it a try before investing but I encourage you to test it for stability and consistency before investing in the paid version.
Read Brian Nizinsky's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Boolean keyword searches (51)
7.7
Filtering out noise/spam (52)
6.7
Sentiment analysis (44)
7.2
Broad channel coverage (60)
8.0
Content planning and scheduling (78)
8.9
Audience targeting (58)
7.2
Content optimization (61)
7.5
Workflow management (66)
7.7
Automated routing and prioritization (46)
7.7
Customer interaction histories (53)
7.4
Bulk actions (60)
7.7
Lead generation (37)
7.4
Content marketing (59)
7.7
Paid media management (34)
7.1
Campaigns and promotions (51)
7.9
Twitter (77)
9.3
Facebook (77)
8.6
LinkedIn (67)
8.1
Google+ (51)
8.7
Instagram (63)
8.0
Pinterest (37)
8.3
YouTube (34)
8.1
Campaign success analytics (64)
6.7
Real-time tracking (63)
7.8
Competitor analysis (44)
6.6
Role-based user permissions & privileges (65)
8.6
Mobile access (72)
8.4

About Hootsuite

HootSuite Enterprise provides a centralized platform for managing streams from different social media channels and posting/ engaging across channels simultaneously. It also has strong team / workflow features and good mobile apps.

Hootsuite Integrations

Google Analytics, Allocadia, Brandwatch, 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm)

Hootsuite Competitors

Adobe Social, Conversocial, Sysomos Expion, Falcon.io, Oracle Social Cloud, Radian6, Sprout Social, Viralheat, MavSocial, ThoughtBuzz, Khoros Care (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium), Khoros Marketing (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium), Sprinklr Social + Messaging Suite

Hootsuite Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No