TrustRadius
Is Eclipse right for your distributorship?Epicor's Eclipse is the business system for Revere Electric Supply. It is used for the entire business cycle: quote management and order entry, purchasing, receiving, managing inventory, delivery logistics, invoicing, AR, AP, finance, commissions, and reporting. Eclipse ties into several 3rd party products for additional features, such as Avalara for tax calculations, Vantiv for secure credit card processing, Phocas for business intelligence and dashboards, and Innovo for remote data collection and delivery logistics. There are only a few areas of the distribution business that Epicor Eclipse does not have a solution, but for those areas there seem to be several choices of 3rd party vendors and good integration.,The order entry process is very smooth, allowing users to see availability and immediately source unavailable items from vendors or other branches with single keystrokes or clicks. You can choose what columns of information display in order entry to help order writers make decisions. A set of built-in and unlimited user-defined "queues" allow users to be pro-active - always knowing what needs to be taken care of in real time. A "Trouble" queue, for example, shows a user their orders where the available date is further out than the requested date so they can take action. The RF warehouse system directs one or more pickers through the entire process of picking a customer's order and eliminates mistakes through scanning barcodes for both the shelf location and the product. The Carton Packing add-on can be used to verify quantities and products during packing, and product labels that indicate the order shipping information along with the package contents and quantities.,Eclipse does not do cross-docking well. If you have multiple branches and want to effectively move material for specific orders between a stocking branch and a delivering branch, you may want to work partially outside of Eclipse. The system will direct you to pick, pack, and transfer the product. You then have to receive and verify the quantities and material and put it away to make it available to pick, pack, and ship to the customer.,9,As an Electrical Distributorship, Revere benefited from our conversion to Eclipse in 2005 by getting ahead of all our regional competition in terms of capabilities. We have been able to maintain that edge by staying on the most current version of the software. The focus on distribution means the majority of new features integrated into the application have our business in mind.,Yes,Change management was a minor issue with the implementation,We moved away from the integrated web storefront to a 3rd party system that allows us more flexibility, Rockwell Proposal Works integration, and better product catalog drill-downs.,Eclipse initially and continuously allows us to stay ahead of our regional competition in the electrical distribution industry. We can see this impact when comparing our statistics with others in the NAED/BAM where we typically outperform them by one to four percentage points in sales growth year over year.,None,300,3A Total Eclipse for Wholesale DistributionThis company is a wholesale distributor of HVAC products, 70% of which we manufacture. We use Eclipse for AP, AR, GL, Sales, and Purchasing, as well as maintaining a default inventory for all 6 branches. We even use the 'Suggested PO' features for prioritizing our manufacturing processes by the department. The 'Suggested Transfer' feature is used to prioritize loads for the 12+ semi trucks we send out each week from the mother branch IN Wichita, Kansas to our branches in KC, Denver, Omaha, Lincoln and Des Moines. We use another product for 'Labor and Materials' when costing our manufactured product.,Sales Order tracking, even returns are strengths of Epicor Eclipse. It can be set up to match returns to previous orders so that the correct credits are applied. It is capable of setting up contract pricing as well as matrix level pricing according to sales velocity or individual customer buyer programs. Purchasing can be set up to work by full line buys or short buys while still maintaining a balanced inventory level of vendor line product. Vendor Invoices and purchase orders are easily matched up for payment and the diverse reporting features are able to provide multi-faceted views of Product Sales, Items with No Sales, or Sales or Purchasing trends, just to name a few. It is also tracking warehouse operation in both RF and non-RF environments, or a combination of the two.,Epicor Eclipse announced sometime back about an Advanced Cycle Count (ACC) feature that our company has waited some time for. While it does work somewhat and the dashboard board is nice, the reporting feature, while on the drop down menus, is woefully inept. It also lacks the ability to separate trouble queues, such as back orders, wrong locations, and other inventory concerns, from the ACC functionality (which in our company is done by different people). Customer Support is now ported to another country. We don't care who does it but it adds another step in getting needed concerns addressed and, at times, the dialects can be very hard to understand, hence complicating communication of both problems and solutions involved. Time management system is very basic.,8,Eclipse does a good job of tracking inventory in all phases of sales, picking, transfer, purchasing and returns. As a distribution program, it is very good overall.,Yes,Not using at this point,Reporting features allow tracking items trending downward which can glut inventory space and dollars if not adjusted GMROI reports help analyze turn ratios and adjusted dollar values and margins of product lines. Suggested Purchase Order features allowed controlled inventory purchases which avoid lost sales while managing overall dollars invested in an acquired product with the lowest freight costs possible.,Epicor Eclipse ReviewEpicor Eclipse is being used across the entire business. We use it for Purchasing, Sales, Inventory Control and Accounting functions. It addresses the need to keep accurate track of inventory and all other aspects of our business. Since the software was designed for the area of business we operate in, it is a great tool.,It's very easy to use. I have used more complex accounting software and this is so simple. It has some powerful reporting tools. It can be used at a sales counter to handle walk-in customers.,The version we use is a non-windows based version, we chose this due to pricing since we are a small company. Their Tier 1 level tech support leaves a little to be desired. It would be nice to switch between open windows/screens.,8,I believe that we have benefited from these capabilities. The company implemented the system roughly 20 years ago to replace handwritten ledgers, journals, sales and pick tickets and typewritten invoicing. With over 12,000 items in inventory, this had to be a solution that would make it easier to keep track of all areas of our business. If it didn't they wouldn't have even tried.,No,Currently, we do not benefit from eCommerce capability. We have recently begun to investigate an option called Epicor Commerce Connect, which would allow our customers to place orders online and maintain real-time inventory records as well. Since we have never offered online ordering or payments there is some hesitation in pursuing this avenue.,I'm fairly certain the return on investment has been tremendous, having used the system for so long now and it requires less effort than their previous methods. I believe the inventory accuracy has improved significantly as well. I believe that there has also been a positive impact on the customer billing and accounts receivable functions.,SAP and Great Plains,20,1,Probably the most important would be Inventory management. Second would have to be Sales functionality. Third would be the accounting aspect, in this scenario I am including Accounts Receivable and Payable in the same use case.,Our organization hasn't really been innovative in their use of the system. They know how it works and that's how they use it.,One way they could use it in the future would be to add on an E-commerce module. Maybe in the future they can utilize the cycle count features.,10,Price Product Features Third-party Reviews,I personally would have opted for a windows based system. It's easier to use, more customization is available and it is more like what the users see in other applications. This creates a better feeling about the system and less hostility. A few other things I would insist upon is a better support package, so when we bring on new people (which doesn't happen very often at all) they can get the same high-level of training that is provided when the system was installed without the high cost of occasional training sessions provided by Epicor at various times through the year.,Vendor implemented,I don't know I wasn't here when that happened.,5,Online training In-person training Self-taught,10,9,I did a lot of my self teaching just by going into various applications and seeing what the screens looked like, figuring out what went where and how to properly use certain screens. The best thing is that as long as you don't save your work, you can't really mess anything up, Eclipse is goos in that aspect because you can abort almost any process before it can be saved.,5,I really couldn't say, because I don't know what is configurable and what isn't. I guess my only recommendation would be, to make sure you map out what you want from the system, what you need from the system, and what you would like from the system before you implement. That way you can know whether it is for you and your needs or not. You may have to settle or compromise between your wants, needs and likes.,No - we have not done any customization to the interface,No - we have not done any custom code,I really don't have anything else to add on this topic.,6,No,We had an issue with Sell Matrices and nobody here either knew or remembered how they had been set up or how to fix them. The tier 1 support guy was great, it took a little bit longer but he stayed with it and escalated it to get assistance from tier 2 in order to resolve the case.,General ledger journal entries are very easy. Cash applications are very easy vendor and customer ledger review is very easy,Report writer is somewhat difficult to master inventory look ups are not clearly identifiable in the menu,8,5,10,10,none,None,,5,I can't provide any advice or tips on this subject since we didn't opt to integrate anything.,8,9,I wasn't involved in the negotiation of any terms. As far as I know there wasn't any or much negotiation to be had, since we were looking or a system and theirs did exactly what we needed for our industry. It was almost a perfect fit.,I have not tips or advice in regards to effectively dealing with the vendor. I don't think they would be completely unreasonable, if they were they wouldn't have many customers, but I don't know that for sure.,Yes,We had current available processes Any bugs from prior upgrades were worked out,I really don't know what to expect, we just had one in December and there were really no noticeable differences based on our particular set up.,No,NoEclipse is best!Eclipse is our ERP, we use it company wide in all aspects of our company, marketing, purchasing, sales, and inventory to name a few. It allows us to communicate clearly between ourselves and our vendors.,Great for retail sales and it works well with ipads, scanners, credit card machines and was easy to implement. Initial support, setting up Eclipse and ensuring that everything works correctly was a huge benefit. We were off running from the start. Epicor has continuing education on its products and offers alternatives for things they cant do.,Support website is very frustrating to use. If you don't know exactly what they call something when creating a ticket you have to draw from a drop down that usually doesn't have what i'm looking for, so I have to enter bogus info to get help, then I get passed around to someone who is usually too busy to take the time to really help. Support Communication, maybe remote in to resolve issues instead of telling us to fix an issue and get back to them. Email communication is usually better after I complain.,8,Order management is outstanding. We can go back thru the change log and see everything that took place which is a tool that I've never had in a sales tool. This makes training easy being able to have this option.,Yes,Change management was a major issue with the implementation,I have not,Just made things very easy.Let Epicor's Eclipse your competition!We use Epicor's Eclipse software for inventory control, pricing, point of sale, invoicing, receivables and payables, and general ledger. Our lighting and Gear departments uses their Job Management module to bid and track larger jobs. We use their PDW (product data warehouse) module to aid our sales team to increase our catalog of products we can offer. Tracking product as it enters our location to printing shipping labels, manifesting and proof of delivery signatures to the invoices greatly aid in our collections from our credit department.,I feel their customer service is pretty good. When having issues, being able to speak someone in a pinch is great. Adding features and improvements with every point upgrade keeps their software relevant and the value up there. Training modules make training new hires feel more comfortable with our system, and keep existing users "brushed up" on their skills.,All these features don't come cheap. When we merged (both companies on Eclipse) certain functionalities we had on one system were not carried over. When asked about it, they responded"That would require custom custom coding $$$". Wasn't the code was already written? Sometimes more involved service requests get thrown into "Product development" status never to be heard from again...,8,As the business has grown and diversified we have been able to work with Epicor to adapt to our needs. Also working with their preferred companion software providers, we have been able to add sales analytics to help us focus on areas where we can strengthen our position with our clients.,Yes,Change management was a big part of the implementation and was well-handled,Currently we have not implemented Epicor's eCommerce solution's.,One of the main positive ROI impacts has been the constant upgrading and adding of new features to keep the software user friendly, relative, and robust. Our credit manager has said it has made their job easier with daily reports to catch pricing discrepancies and straighten out before they go to invoice makes us look better. With the addition of sale analytics it has given our sales force tools and new approaches to our customer base which has raised profitability.
Unspecified
Epicor Eclipse
28 Ratings
Score 7.3 out of 101
TRScore

Epicor Eclipse Reviews

Epicor Eclipse
28 Ratings
Score 7.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 28 vetted Epicor Eclipse reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-15 of 15)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
May 03, 2018

Epicor Eclipse Review: "Is Eclipse right for your distributorship?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor's Eclipse is the business system for Revere Electric Supply. It is used for the entire business cycle: quote management and order entry, purchasing, receiving, managing inventory, delivery logistics, invoicing, AR, AP, finance, commissions, and reporting. Eclipse ties into several 3rd party products for additional features, such as Avalara for tax calculations, Vantiv for secure credit card processing, Phocas for business intelligence and dashboards, and Innovo for remote data collection and delivery logistics. There are only a few areas of the distribution business that Epicor Eclipse does not have a solution, but for those areas there seem to be several choices of 3rd party vendors and good integration.
  • The order entry process is very smooth, allowing users to see availability and immediately source unavailable items from vendors or other branches with single keystrokes or clicks. You can choose what columns of information display in order entry to help order writers make decisions.
  • A set of built-in and unlimited user-defined "queues" allow users to be pro-active - always knowing what needs to be taken care of in real time. A "Trouble" queue, for example, shows a user their orders where the available date is further out than the requested date so they can take action.
  • The RF warehouse system directs one or more pickers through the entire process of picking a customer's order and eliminates mistakes through scanning barcodes for both the shelf location and the product. The Carton Packing add-on can be used to verify quantities and products during packing, and product labels that indicate the order shipping information along with the package contents and quantities.
  • Eclipse does not do cross-docking well. If you have multiple branches and want to effectively move material for specific orders between a stocking branch and a delivering branch, you may want to work partially outside of Eclipse. The system will direct you to pick, pack, and transfer the product. You then have to receive and verify the quantities and material and put it away to make it available to pick, pack, and ship to the customer.
Eclipse is well suited for quick order entry where the source is a formal purchase order document or a phone call with a known customer. In these scenarios the order entry process is quick, and order processing is smooth even if the customer has a lot of "special" requests like shipping part today and holding the rest or shipping some of the order to other addresses. Eclipse also works well if you have a good database of products, especially in searching for products where only partial information is known or finding existing orders where all you know for sure is the customer. It is not particularly well suited for Point of Sale where a walk-in customer who doesn't have an account wants products for which part numbers are not known, due to the requirements to release an order for a customer with no credit.
Read John Heinzel's full review
April 26, 2018

Epicor Eclipse Review: "A Total Eclipse for Wholesale Distribution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This company is a wholesale distributor of HVAC products, 70% of which we manufacture. We use Eclipse for AP, AR, GL, Sales, and Purchasing, as well as maintaining a default inventory for all 6 branches. We even use the 'Suggested PO' features for prioritizing our manufacturing processes by the department. The 'Suggested Transfer' feature is used to prioritize loads for the 12+ semi trucks we send out each week from the mother branch IN Wichita, Kansas to our branches in KC, Denver, Omaha, Lincoln and Des Moines.

We use another product for 'Labor and Materials' when costing our manufactured product.
  • Sales Order tracking, even returns are strengths of Epicor Eclipse. It can be set up to match returns to previous orders so that the correct credits are applied. It is capable of setting up contract pricing as well as matrix level pricing according to sales velocity or individual customer buyer programs.
  • Purchasing can be set up to work by full line buys or short buys while still maintaining a balanced inventory level of vendor line product.
  • Vendor Invoices and purchase orders are easily matched up for payment and the diverse reporting features are able to provide multi-faceted views of Product Sales, Items with No Sales, or Sales or Purchasing trends, just to name a few.
  • It is also tracking warehouse operation in both RF and non-RF environments, or a combination of the two.
  • Epicor Eclipse announced sometime back about an Advanced Cycle Count (ACC) feature that our company has waited some time for. While it does work somewhat and the dashboard board is nice, the reporting feature, while on the drop down menus, is woefully inept. It also lacks the ability to separate trouble queues, such as back orders, wrong locations, and other inventory concerns, from the ACC functionality (which in our company is done by different people).
  • Customer Support is now ported to another country. We don't care who does it but it adds another step in getting needed concerns addressed and, at times, the dialects can be very hard to understand, hence complicating communication of both problems and solutions involved.
  • Time management system is very basic.
Wholesale distribution or Retail Sales great. Manufacturing less so.
Read Bob McFarland's full review
April 20, 2018

"Epicor Eclipse Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor Eclipse is being used across the entire business. We use it for Purchasing, Sales, Inventory Control and Accounting functions. It addresses the need to keep accurate track of inventory and all other aspects of our business. Since the software was designed for the area of business we operate in, it is a great tool.
  • It's very easy to use. I have used more complex accounting software and this is so simple.
  • It has some powerful reporting tools.
  • It can be used at a sales counter to handle walk-in customers.
  • The version we use is a non-windows based version, we chose this due to pricing since we are a small company.
  • Their Tier 1 level tech support leaves a little to be desired.
  • It would be nice to switch between open windows/screens.
It is well suited for plumbing wholesale business, distributorship, with walk-in sales customers and a large inventory, or a manufacturing environment. I'm not sure how well it would work in a service industry like a mechanic, or consulting type of environment or a financial type industry. I don't think I would try to use it in a really small company either.
Read Erik Hall's full review
March 29, 2018

Epicor Eclipse Review: "Eclipse is best!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is our ERP, we use it company wide in all aspects of our company, marketing, purchasing, sales, and inventory to name a few. It allows us to communicate clearly between ourselves and our vendors.
  • Great for retail sales and it works well with ipads, scanners, credit card machines and was easy to implement.
  • Initial support, setting up Eclipse and ensuring that everything works correctly was a huge benefit. We were off running from the start.
  • Epicor has continuing education on its products and offers alternatives for things they cant do.
  • Support website is very frustrating to use. If you don't know exactly what they call something when creating a ticket you have to draw from a drop down that usually doesn't have what i'm looking for, so I have to enter bogus info to get help, then I get passed around to someone who is usually too busy to take the time to really help.
  • Support Communication, maybe remote in to resolve issues instead of telling us to fix an issue and get back to them.
  • Email communication is usually better after I complain.
Eclipse is great for all aspects of a wholesale or retail environment and I believe it is suited for all sales businesses.
Read Ezery Kennedy's full review
May 04, 2018

Epicor Eclipse Review: "Let Epicor's Eclipse your competition!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Epicor's Eclipse software for inventory control, pricing, point of sale, invoicing, receivables and payables, and general ledger. Our lighting and Gear departments uses their Job Management module to bid and track larger jobs. We use their PDW (product data warehouse) module to aid our sales team to increase our catalog of products we can offer. Tracking product as it enters our location to printing shipping labels, manifesting and proof of delivery signatures to the invoices greatly aid in our collections from our credit department.
  • I feel their customer service is pretty good. When having issues, being able to speak someone in a pinch is great.
  • Adding features and improvements with every point upgrade keeps their software relevant and the value up there.
  • Training modules make training new hires feel more comfortable with our system, and keep existing users "brushed up" on their skills.
  • All these features don't come cheap.
  • When we merged (both companies on Eclipse) certain functionalities we had on one system were not carried over. When asked about it, they responded"That would require custom custom coding $$$". Wasn't the code was already written?
  • Sometimes more involved service requests get thrown into "Product development" status never to be heard from again...
For medium (with growing pains!) organizations, Epicor's Eclipse software would be a great distribution and point of sale software solution and competes well with other software solutions out there. For large distributors Epicor's custom programming has the ability to tailor their software to customers exact need. I feel the cost of the system would be prohibitive to smaller distributors.
Read Glen Ritter's full review
May 04, 2018

Epicor Eclipse Review: "The ERP of Champions!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use both the E-term and Solar clients throughout the company. Solar is primarily used at the corporate level in purchasing and fringe departments. Most all of our sales people use the E-term client daily. We have one salesperson who uses Solar. This ERP is utilized across the company with everything we manage. I manage all of our pricing with support from our product data administrator. We believe that performance is key to looking at how our pricing impacts our clients. I use various performance reports to help create pricing strategy within the company.
  • The ability to look back in history and delve into a customers particular order creates an atmosphere of support.
  • Broad functionality that covers all sections of the wholesale model keeps all participating clients involved and engaged in the day to day operations of the company.
  • Utilizing the ERP to support our clients and offering information based off of the data given to us.
  • I have had limited experience with support but most of my experiences have left me with my questions and concerns not being fulfilled. I have two tickets in the pipeline now that I have had no follow up as to the status of the request. Makes me think that my concerns are not a priority.
  • I would like to see a more updated e-term client as I feel that e-term at the counter level is a much more robust vehicle for a salesperson to work with. The point and click with a mouse at the counter slows things down with the Solar client.
  • Having an improved cut and paste would also make my life easier.
The Eclipse E-term client, in my opinion, is a game changer at the counter and in the sales field. The ability to see numerous parts of the sale is great. Using numerous windows allows one to go back and forth between jobs. The queue and messaging functions create accountability and improve performance. The "call when complete" queue, in my opinion, is a great tool that unfortunately is underutilized by most people as there can be some confusion generated by some of the statuses.
Read Gabriel Llull's full review
April 26, 2018

Epicor Eclipse Review: "Eclipse at a glance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a plumbing distribution company, Eclipse is used in every department, by every employee. It runs our business.
  • Inventory - maintaining products on the shelf without having excess.
  • Order Entry - fast, easy and efficient- allowing us to give great customer service.
  • Accounting - receivables and payables - system gives you all the information to handle problems and give good customer service
  • New Message system needs more work. Still not efficient. Ability to have messages and Job Queues automatically emailed to offsite employees can quickly handle problems.
  • A/P Preview Queue - should be able to enter thru options without having to move my hand to the mouse to update the screen.
  • Emailing options should be a global option -- not just Faxing and Printing -- this is the 21st Century. Email should not be an additional expense, should be just part of the package.
  • Web Order should be enhanced - no improvements in a very long time.
  • To expensive and long wait time to get anything custom done or just a standard project (like move to laser printing in the warehouse) -- everyone has to go to other companies.
It is still the best software package out there (at least that I'm aware of). Obviously, one needs to have the needs for what it offers. AND is willing to put in the time to learn and input reliable data.
Read Charleen Locke's full review
May 04, 2018

Epicor Eclipse Review: "Eclipse works, but only if you're in the right industry."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is used as the primary software of our company. We run sales, purchasing, operations and finance on it. Generally it is one of the better ERP systems available in the electrical distribution space. It has an inherent understanding of how products, projects, orders, and warehouses are setup for our industry. It's greatest strength is probably the ways in which it has setup the product/price line/pricing data to meet our industry's unique needs. There are also some strong drawbacks to using the system, which we try to overcome with either 3rd party add on products that integrate with Eclipse, or custom programming we do in house.
  • Transaction - we are able to rebuild inventory and financial history step by step if there is ever an issue.
  • The pricing engine is fairly robust, and allows us needed control over sells strategies.
  • Parts of the system are editable, and we are able to quickly iterate new solutions for internal customers.
  • Their support has gotten worse over the years. They fired a large portion of staff in favor of cheaper new hires. It is getting slowly better over time as their support people are gaining experience, but decades of institutional knowledge was lost. Response time can vary wildly depending, which is troubling when you have an immediate need. They have made a partial mea culpa, but the situation is not fully remedied.
  • The user interface is clunky. The original interface, E-term, is a terminal based system (think DOS). A few years ago they rebuilt it using Java and called the new interface Solar, which is a more point and click, windows friendly version. Solar is slower, and so has been difficult for us to get the user adoption we've needed. In addition, any customization we do doesn't work in Solar. Now they have announced a new road-map to make it all web-based. Good luck to them, but it seems they spend all their time playing catch-up instead of making deep system improvements.
  • There are significant gaps in what Eclipse is able to do. Sometimes there are third party products (Proof of Delivery, E-commerce, Tax, etc.), and sometimes Epicor offers in house solutions (Job Management, EDI, etc.). In either case, there are a string of products we have to integrate and maintain to make Eclipse functional. Most of them require support contracts, and have varying degrees of support.
If you are an Electrical distributor, with multiple branches or multiple departments, it could be a good choice for you. It is built with a deep knowledge of your industry, which is hard to find elsewhere. To support it, it requires either expensive support contracts or knowledgeable people who have multiple years of working with the platform. For larger businesses there are other ERP's that may scale better, or have more features, but are not likely to have as many industry specific features. Depends on what downsides you can live with.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2018

User Review: "Epicor Eclipse"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Epicor Eclipse across the whole organization. It provides us with a way to track every order processed and what stage it is at. It also integrates with other products that give you more flexibility and versatility.
  • Eclipse gives the ability to utilize real time on hand quantities instead of having to wait til it does a nightly update.
  • I wish there was a better way to do returns for inspections. It is a lengthy process to keep the items tagged on the outgoing for inspection and the incoming once inspection complete.
To fully appreciate Eclipse, you have to understand it's processes. Once you do, all the other pieces fit together!
Read this authenticated review
April 26, 2018

Epicor Eclipse Review: "Just an average Eclipse user's thoughts..."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is used in every department within our company; primarily for purchasing and sales.
  • Very detailed and specific inventory control
  • Enhanced order entry and sales functionality
  • Strong control of purchasing attributes and managing the purchasing process
  • Better and more detailed sales analysis would be a great improvement
Intuitive order entry. Ease of managing sales information, pricing, product maintenance.
Read this authenticated review
April 12, 2018

Epicor Eclipse: "Purchasing Epicor Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor is our primary inventory management software. I use it on a daily basis for inventory management and purchasing. Eclipse provides many useful tools and reports for inventory analysis and control. Our sales force use it for all sales orders and bids. Management uses Eclipse for countless operations and maintenance.
  • Reporting tools are very useful. Numerous system reports are available and are customized for any use.
  • User-defined screens allow for faster and more efficient work.
  • Product maintenance is streamlined and efficient.
  • Help screens are available with a keystroke.
  • Order maintenance and processing are quick and easy with the available widgets.
  • Additional help topics and easier to locate in the index.
  • More customizable work queues.
Epicor meets most if not all of my expectations from a purchasing view.
Read this authenticated review
March 29, 2018

Epicor Eclipse: "Eclipse Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is being used by our entire organization. It has solved the issue of having multiple different WMS at different locations and allowed us to use the same WMS for our accounting software for the most part.
  • Sales order entry is very easy.
  • Solar is much better than e-term if you are going to spend the money to change systems you should go with Solar it more windows based and users are able to find things much easier.
  • Eclipse reports are good, and the ability to create your own reports really helps as well.
  • Eclipse needs to improve their upgrade process. They do a good job of telling us what they are improving but they always break something that was working just fine before and they don't always fix it.
  • The accounting side seems to be after thought, there needs to be more thought put into how it functions as a whole.
For small to medium based companies I think it is a good fit, for larger companies I don't see it being a great fit to many users and to many control files to maintain in order to not allow people to do certain things. If you need them to be able to do one thing it gives them access to many other things. You would have to have a full time employee just overriding things.
Read this authenticated review
March 27, 2018

Epicor Eclipse Review: "Eclipse Evaluator"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor Eclipse is used by our whole organization. We use it for point of sales transactions and ordering of materials for stock as well as the accounting and business management tools. We use the tracker system to stay organized and to communicate about our transactions. It allows for the efficient purchasing and transferring of materials between our 10 branches.
  • Epicore Eclipse manages the inventory including Serial numbers, and Ordering quantity, taking into consideration seasonality.
  • Trackers are an efficient way to keep track of things that need to be taken care of in the future.
  • Custom Queues allow for the customization of work flows to best suit your business needs
  • The database is relatively easy to work with when employing 3rd parties to interact with your data.
  • It is shocking that Epicore Eclipse does not have a bank reconciliation function.
  • Epicore Eclipse has some serious deficiencies in security protocols.
  • We have struggled with the drop in easy to access support that accompanied the purchase of Eclipse by Epicore.
I used to think that Eclipse was a great value for the cost, but I am currently thinking that there might be more value in the more expensive options.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2018

"Epicor Eclipse Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Eclipse across the whole organization. From entering sales, to tracking inventory, to some level of financial reporting.
  • Links between different areas
  • Journal entries
  • Data extraction
  • Financial reporting is fairly weak. No ability to run cash flow statement.
  • Data manipulation
  • Importing journal entries
Well suited for daily activities such as entering sales and inventory tracking. Not well suited for financial reporting.
Read this authenticated review
March 27, 2018

Epicor Eclipse Review: "6 year user"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used across all departments and branches of organization
  • Ability to personalize screens and widgets.
  • Links between related transactions
  • Return goods queue has flaws and bad links
  • Serial numbers hard to fix in Solar
  • Authorization keys can be difficult to understand
Works well for inventory and purchasing.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Direct deposit files (2)
7.7
Salary revision and increment management (1)
7.3
Reimbursement management (2)
6.8
API for custom integration (6)
6.8
Plug-ins (8)
6.6
Single sign-on capability (8)
8.0
Role-based user permissions (12)
7.5
Dashboards (10)
5.9
Standard reports (14)
7.0
Custom reports (14)
7.3
Accounts payable (13)
7.6
Accounts receivable (11)
7.4
Global Financial Support (5)
5.3
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (5)
7.5
Intercompany Accounting (7)
7.4
Localizations (4)
7.5
Journals and Reconciliations (9)
6.9
Enterprise Accounting (4)
7.0
Configurable Accounting (6)
6.8
Centralized Rules Framework (4)
6.8
Standardized Processes (8)
7.5
Inventory tracking (15)
8.1
Automatic reordering (13)
7.8
Location management (15)
7.5
Manufacturing module (6)
5.8
Pricing (15)
7.8
Order entry (15)
8.0
Credit card processing (12)
7.3
Cost of goods sold (14)
7.6
Order Orchestration (11)
7.2
End-to-end order visibility (11)
7.8
Order exception Resolution (10)
7.3
Automated Invoice Processing (9)
7.3
Shared Services Payments (4)
7.3
Billings Management (9)
6.9
Customer Receipt Applications (8)
6.6
Customer Collections (8)
6.9
Revenue Recognition (5)
6.7
Cash Management (6)
7.3
Asset Management (5)
5.8
Travel & Expense Management (5)
6.5
Budgetary Control & Encumbrance Accounting (3)
5.8
Period Close (9)
7.4
Transactions Tax (8)
6.6
Subledger Reconciliations (3)
7.3
3rd Party Accounting Systems (4)
6.1
Budgeting and Forecasting (5)
5.6
Project Costing (5)
5.5
Cost Capture (5)
5.5
Capital Project Management (4)
4.8
Customer Invoicing (8)
7.0
Customer Contract Compliance (4)
6.1
Project Revenue Recognition (3)
5.5
Project Financial Performance Analysis (3)
4.5
Project Financials Dashboard (3)
3.6
Real-time Financial Reporting (7)
6.1
Embedded Business Intelligence (2)
2.7
Project Planning Collaboration (3)
3.3
Project Planning and Scheduling (3)
6.7
Project Manager Dashboard (2)
6.8
Resource Manager Dashboard (2)
6.8
Task Insight for Project Managers (3)
5.8
Project Manager Mobile Functionality (2)
6.4
Team Member Task Collaboration (1)
6.4
Team Member Mobile Functionality (2)
6.4
Real-Time Project Reporting (1)
7.3
Product Lifecycle Management (4)
5.2
Spending Control (1)
7.3
Indirect Cost Management (1)
7.3
Billing (1)
8.2
Sourcing Team Collaboration (5)
6.4
Sourcing Analysis (5)
5.1
Bids Analyzed and Compared (6)
5.3
Catalog Shopping E-Commerce for Employees (4)
6.8
Contract Authoring (2)
6.8
Contract Compliance Management (2)
7.3
Contract History (2)
6.8
Contract Renewal Automation (2)
5.5
Contract Repository (3)
4.8
Contract Standardization and Enforcement (3)
5.2
Electronic Signatures (6)
6.8
Invoice Automated Matching (6)
6.5
Purchasing Risk and Compliance Management (3)
6.1
Requisitions-to-Purchase Orders Integrated (3)
6.7
Spend Compliance Management (1)
6.4
Supplier Assessment (4)
5.5
Supplier Communication and Collaboration (2)
6.8
Supplier Management (4)
6.8
Supplier Portal (2)
6.4
Risk Repository (2)
2.7
Control Management (2)
6.4
Control Mapping (1)
3.6
Control Efficiency Assessments (1)
4.5
Automated Control Assessments (1)
5.5
Assessment Capture (1)
5.5
Issue Detection (2)
4.1
Automatic Notification (3)
4.8
Remediation and Certification (2)
3.6
Transportation Planning and Optimization (6)
4.4
Transportation Sourcing Management (5)
4.9
Transportation Process Integration (4)
4.8
Transportation Execution Management (6)
4.2
Freight Payment Automation (8)
5.6
Trade Management (2)
4.1
Trade Regulatory Compliance Management (1)
6.4
Customs Document Collaboration (1)
1
Fulfillment Management (1)
7.3
Inventory Visibility (8)
7.4
Warehouse Workforce Management (4)
6.4
Production Process Design (2)
4.5
Supply Chain Business Flows (2)
4.1
Production Management (3)
5.8
Contracted Manufacturing Management (2)
4.1
Configuration Management (1)
6.4
Work Definition (3)
4.8
Work Execution (3)
5.5
Advanced Fulfillment (3)
5.2
Manufacturing Costs (3)
4.8
Forecasting (11)
6.6
Inventory Planning (10)
7.0
Multi-tier Supply Chain Planning (5)
6.4
Performance Monitoring (8)
6.5
Ideation Management (5)
6.5
Requirements Management (4)
6.1
Proposal Management (3)
6.1
Innovation Portfolio Management (2)
5.9
Product Master Data Management (3)
6.4
Vendor Portal (3)
6.4
Project Portfolio Management (1)
6.4

About Epicor Eclipse

Epicor Eclipse is an end-to-end business system for wholesale distributors, as well as electrical, HVAC, plumbing and PVF businesses.

Epicor Eclipse Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No