TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/M1/My/PIVU6BETBT1N.pngAd Hoc capability in TICO JaspersoftWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s),The Ad Hoc component of the TICO Jaspersoft applications encapsulates the complexity of our database models and allows users to query their data visually from any web browsers. TICO Jaspersoft not only hides the complexity of the data models but also the technical requirements to write a properly formed query to access their data Once users have queried the data they need, TCO Jaspersoft allows them to export the data to a variety of popular formats such as PDF, CVS, Excel, etc.,There are some well-hidden bugs in the Ad Hoc Editor that we have identified and for which we opened cases with Jaspersoft but they are still unresolved after a year. Users may not always be able to cancel their long-running queries in their reports. Performance really suffers when using the Ad Hoc Editor on a huge data set.,7,Positive impact: * Ad Hoc query capability * Fast turn-around time to develop a report * Easy of maintenance * Competitively priced Negative impact: * Ad Hoc editor can be slow when dealing with a large dataset * No versioning of reports,It is important as we need to be able to embed TICO Jaspersoft in our in-house applications with minimal coding. Also, we need to be able to access our data in Oracle and SQL Server.,It is very important since we have many different organizations within the university. The multi-tenancy allows us to create an organization structure within the applications that closely resemble our own organizations within the university. Each organization has their own customizations and reporting needs. This makes managing the TICO Jaspersoft possible from a hierarchical structure standpoint.,Satisfied Jaspersoft customerWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,Embedding within the applications Ease of use of API interaction Robust security features to enable access control,Better charting and dashboarding capabilities More flexible report designer, specially around being able to merge data from different domains Faster performance,7,Self-taught,Jaspersoft has had an overall positive impact on our objective on allowing our users easy access to their data. User have been able to slice and dice data as per their needs, without having to wait for engineering teams to get involved.,Platform support was a major reason we went ahead with Jaspersoft. We wanted to have a seamless UI experience for our users. This also includes backend integration with our platform.,Our transactional application is multi-tenant and without having a multi-tenant reporting solution, we would have been in a continuous challenge of managing single instance solutions.,MicroStrategy Analytics and Tableau OnlineSwitch to TIBCO JaspersoftWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,Interactive reports (sort, format, ... by users) Interactive Charts Custom reports Scalability,Requires programming skills To formulate database queries or to create more complex reports with scripts Multiple data sources cannot be defined for a report Basic Java programming skills are necessary,8,With TIBCO Jaspersoft, we can offer our customers modern evaluations with a high degree of flexibility. The effort to convert existing reports, which are still based on older technologies, is initially very high, but gradually decreases with the progress of the learning curve, leading ultimately to significantly reduced effort when creating new reports.,The requirements for BI are growing at a fast pace. Platform-wide technologies enable high efficiency in development as well as high usability. Customers can be addressed in a more appropriate way, the customer satisfaction can be increased and the customer base can be enlarged.,The multi-tenancy played a major role in the choice of TIBCO Jaspersoft as a report solution for our SaaS. This is the only way to efficiently benefit from centralized installation and maintenance, as well as the lower memory requirements for data, since cross-client data and objects need to be held only once per installed system and not even per client.,SAP Crystal ReportsPros and Cons. Overall great!We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,Easy to link data sources,It takes quite a number of clicks to get to where you want to go. The upgrade process is not quick and simple, especially when using a TIBCO AMI. You would expect the upgrade to be easier.,7,It seems the reporting server runs slow. We have it running on the recommended Amazon EC2 instance. Performance could be improved without having to spend a lot of money on upgrading the instance.,It works & does the job.We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,Good enterprise features, like detailed role and permission management. Lot of flexibility possible with JasperReports. Works.,Sometimes the software (from an engineering PoV) feels "patched" together and not consistent. Huge complexity, for users and developers. Dashboard features very expensive (almost impossible) to customize.,2,Currently unclear.,As long as running on latest MySQL/Oracle databases, Java versions and Linux OS, not important.,For enterprises could be useful, though still rather tricky as it requires filtering on datasources too.,Kibana
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Jaspersoft
236 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Jaspersoft Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Jaspersoft
236 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 236 vetted TIBCO Jaspersoft reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (51-75 of 100)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
July 28, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Ad Hoc capability in TICO Jaspersoft"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft in our in-house reporting systems for its ad hoc query capability as a reporting tool that allows our users to access their data when our large collection of reports does not adequately meet their needs. We chose TICO Jaspersoft because of its competitive pricing and its ease of use for our users.
  • The Ad Hoc component of the TICO Jaspersoft applications encapsulates the complexity of our database models and allows users to query their data visually from any web browsers.
  • TICO Jaspersoft not only hides the complexity of the data models but also the technical requirements to write a properly formed query to access their data
  • Once users have queried the data they need, TCO Jaspersoft allows them to export the data to a variety of popular formats such as PDF, CVS, Excel, etc.
  • There are some well-hidden bugs in the Ad Hoc Editor that we have identified and for which we opened cases with Jaspersoft but they are still unresolved after a year.
  • Users may not always be able to cancel their long-running queries in their reports.
  • Performance really suffers when using the Ad Hoc Editor on a huge data set.
TIBCO Jaspersoft is well suited to ad hoc queries, which allow users to access their data for reporting in a very customized matter.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 03, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Satisfied Jaspersoft customer"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
Enable visual reporting on the transaction application - The transactional application captures all the media data that is user and external provider generated. To be able to combine and report on the effectiveness of media campaigns.
  • Embedding within the applications
  • Ease of use of API interaction
  • Robust security features to enable access control
  • Better charting and dashboarding capabilities
  • More flexible report designer, specially around being able to merge data from different domains
  • Faster performance
Jaspersoft is well suited for applications that want to expose a reporting framework as an embedded feature. It allows a very seamless experience for the end users.

It is still not at par with the likes of Tableau or MicroStrategy in terms of visuals and the speed and ease with which the other platforms allow users to view data
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 05, 2017

User Review: "Switch to TIBCO Jaspersoft"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
TIBCO Jaspersoft is currently implementing Jaspersoft in our financial services software solution. Our software solution is offered as SaaS.

Data from complex business processes are collected and processed in a suitable form for further processing. TIBCO Jaspersoft is used for the evaluation and visualization of complex database queries with the advantages of an interactive, dynamic and user-defined report engine.
  • Interactive reports (sort, format, ... by users)
  • Interactive Charts
  • Custom reports
  • Scalability
  • Requires programming skills
  • To formulate database queries or to create more complex reports with scripts
  • Multiple data sources cannot be defined for a report
  • Basic Java programming skills are necessary
Creation of interactive charts whose chart types can be changed and stored by the user at runtime. User-defined formatting and filter possibilities for an individual representation of the data as well as export possibilities in different formats.
Numerous data formats, including XML, can be used as a data source. The reports can also be opened and edited directly by the designer as an XML view.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 29, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Pros and Cons. Overall great!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We integrated Jaspersoft Reports into our enterprise platform to generate reports on the fly as well as scheduled reports.
  • Easy to link data sources
  • It takes quite a number of clicks to get to where you want to go.
  • The upgrade process is not quick and simple, especially when using a TIBCO AMI. You would expect the upgrade to be easier.
If you need a quick and easy reporting implementation, I would recommend Jaspersoft. I have not used any other Jaspersoft applications.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 15, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "It works & does the job."

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
Using TIBCO Jaspersoft as a business user friendly interface to visualize our data generated by our other products in a web interface. Building new reports is still rather painful and time-consuming.
  • Good enterprise features, like detailed role and permission management.
  • Lot of flexibility possible with JasperReports.
  • Works.
  • Sometimes the software (from an engineering PoV) feels "patched" together and not consistent.
  • Huge complexity, for users and developers.
  • Dashboard features very expensive (almost impossible) to customize.
For lots of custom (PDF) reports that serve a custom business case.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 15, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Embedded BI"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
We build reports for customers that we then embed into our systems for clients to consume. The reports are dynamic and change based on the input controls that they selected. Clients need a nice way to visualize data and we need a quick way to build reports without using too many developer resources. TIBCO Jasper allows us to hire people that know SQL and quickly build out reports that our clients need.
  • PIxel Perfect design
  • Very robust
  • Lots of customization options and allows us to make customized stuff
  • Slow and clunky UI. (Both Jasperserver and Studio)
  • Has bugs in new releases
  • Can be intimidating to newer users
If using Jaspersoft as an internal tool I would recommend it because of how easy it is to get up and running. Embedding I would recommend too but depending on how they would want to embed the system. Visualize is a great tool but it could use a little more work to add more features.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 08, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Review of JasperReports Server"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • Enables users to query databases without the knowledge of SQL
  • Provides the ability for users to customize their data
  • Enables scheduling of reports to run at future times while offline
  • Jaspersoft needs the ability to perform simple date math. (ie Sep 1, 2017 + 180 = Feb 28, 2018)
  • I would like the ability to tab reports/views. Much like you can in Excel. If I need to quickly switch between two reports, it would make it more functional to click a tab at the bottom. I realize that I can create a dashboard, but it's not the same. I can only fit so much on the screen in the dashboard.
  • The main area of concern I've had with Jaspersoft is performance. There's a lot that goes into this, but SQL optimization would be helpful, or if the software could provide recommendations on SQL optimization in the admin area
Jaspersoft is great for those who do not know SQL, but has not functioned well for our user base due to performance issues. Some of this is our fault, but it would have been better if Jaspersoft provided more support. If we have issues with Oracle, they have DBAs that will come to us to support us as a part of their premium support. Jaspersoft took months to finally get us to a "premium support" representative even with our purchase of said "premium support."
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 25, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Capable, Flexible and Cost Effective BI Solution - Truly Awesome"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We provide professional services to major pharmaceutical companies across the globe for measuring the performance of each and every member of their sales team. Based on the sales performance, we then calculate the sales incentive that each sales professional is entitled to. The reporting of these performance numbers and the resultant sales incentive is done through TIBCO which is embedded into our SFDC based platform.
  • Competition is brutal and this requires us to offer the lowest price possible to the client. Jaspersoft's price - feature value proposition along with the high adoption by various companies was the leading factor which influenced our decision.
  • Support has been good. The response of Jasper team to various tickets has been good so far and we got solutions for most of our problems. It is quite user-friendly and easy to learn.
  • HTML 5 charts have quite good features which helped in making UI look promising.
  • We were able to achieve sorting and formatting on columns with the help of icons on top of the column which is quite a good feature. Though we faced some issues while creating a dashboard but somehow managed to create a nice report using this feature.
  • Sometimes we face random behaviour of Jasper reports which gives unexplained errors. Jasper documentation is not easily available and there are very less solutions available to problems.
  • Responsive design is not feasible in Jasper (as in report should adjust size when opened on mobile phone or IPad).
  • Rendering Jasper reports on salesforce takes some time using visualise.js.
Jaspersoft is very cost effective and flexible. We can create reports on Jaspersoft and embed the same in our applications. They are easy to learn and quick to deploy. The ease with which we are able to create new reports and deploy it in our applications is unmatched at the price which it is offered. Of course, there is paid software like Tableau, MSTR etc., but they are very expensive as compared to Jaspersoft.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jasper Server Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • It is very easy to use even for a beginner
  • Very simple for scheduling reports
  • Very good support
  • I am mainly the administrator and it really lacks the ability to create a user group being able to do basic administration like exporting and importing reports. I hope this is being addressed in the newer versions so a non-super user can do this.
This can be used by a beginner to return a simple query and build a report to running complex queries. This really suited our organization as this is a go to for everyone.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 07, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jaspersoft Experience Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We use Visualize.js to seamlessly integrate KPIs built using Jaspersoft technology.
  • Reports are very easy to build using Jaspersoft Studio
  • Easy Maintenance
  • Seamless integration
  • Performance - reports take time to display
  • Few limitations - geochart gradient
If the aim is to build simple reports that won't be based on a complicated query then I would highly recommend the use of Jaspersoft. Thanks to Jaspersoft Studio, anyone can be self-trained and start building reports in few days. Tabular reports represent the strength of Jaspersoft, they offer default filtering options per column.

The only big deception with Jaspersoft is related to performance and the fact that users have to wait for a long time before reports are displayed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 25, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jaspersoft Studio and Server review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting

We use TIBCO JasperSoft to generate our official documents such as invoices, customs documents, traceability labels, production contracts, production sheets, as well as operational reporting to monitor our operations in real time.

Depending on the use case, we will display the report directly in HTML to be displayed on screens, exported as Excel sheets or directly printed from PDF files.

  • Professional reports can be created quickly through JasperSoft Studio, and requires very little training to get started.
  • The license cost is particularly low compared with its competitors, with a good support associated.
  • There is a large community of users to help solve issues.
  • Deploying the reports on multiple environments is fairly simple.
  • Working with specific fonts in Jaspersoft Studio could really be improved. If you are not using the standard font, the layout will change on the server, and the PDF files will revert back to some default fonts. A lot of steps and expertise are required to deploy a new font on the server.
  • Moving reports from an environment to another, by updating the existing reports, but without updating the datasource requires some manual tips. Same thing to export a group of reports, but not the entire content of a folder.

Jaspersoft is well suited to create some nice looking professional reports, that can be easily integrated into another web application.

It is also well suited to enable users to do some dynamic data analysis directly from the server.

It is however not possible to create nice looking reports and let the users customize them (requires some development).

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 03, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft needs to catch-up big-time, otherwise it will be too late."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • Excellent customer support.
  • Fairly easy to customize the product to meet company internal standards.
  • Get rid of the banding layout of reports. Reports should be easy to design in a way that you just need to drag-and-drop items and not worry about bands.
  • It is extremely difficult to build charts in Jaspersoft when compared with other competitor tools.
  • Building a dynamic report is still a big challenge.
  • Creating copies of same reports with minor changes between them is very cumbersome.
Jaspersoft is fairly suitable for standalone reporting applications.
It is less-suitable for embedded reporting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Quite good, but need to accelerate the roadmap and enhanced the stability"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We have an analytics tool plugged into our software
  • User interface
  • Dashboarding
  • Stability
  • Working with complex domains (multiple fact tables)
  • Advanced formatting for charts (without entering parameters with the keyboard)
  • Freezing topic saved with ad-hoc view. If topic is updated, the ad-hoc view doesn't get the updates because the topic is frozen with it
Simple ad-hoc reporting with small amount of data is good.
Data visualization with specific chart types is not its strength.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "One of the best reporting tools"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
We use Jaspersoft as reporting tool, to connect to mySQL database and expose to end users.
We develop plots and charts using TIBCO Jaspersoft using the AWS enterprise version and prepare dashboards using the data available in mySQL.
  • As a reporting tool and connecting to data sources like Hive, mySQL, etc.
  • To prepare dashboards with plots and charts.
  • Multiple output formats like CSV, PDF, etc.
  • Custom changes in UI and UX.
  • Interactive plots and charts.
  • Increase the forum and community for quick response to question or doubt.
To prepare dashboards. Used as reporting tool and can connect many data sources.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 25, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft at customized banking applications"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting

We do reporting and data analytics and use Jaspersoft as our reporting tool to viz the results. We also used Jaspersoft as an embedded reporting tool for our banking analytical solutions.


The business problem addressed are related to prospect identification to step up as a customer.

  • Was very strong in customize the reports based on customer need.
  • Verity of viz templates.
  • Sophisticated layout to build custom formulas and report layouts.
  • Performance. We tested JS in our lab and it failed to quickly respond while handling big data sets.
  • Internal memory management and garbage collection.
  • Inbuild analytics functions.

Suitable: in-build with any Java products as reporting tool. Jasper reports are very effective in this case. Stand alone as a corporate reporting tool.

Less suitable: in the area of analytics reporting. Real time or near real time analytics solutions, end user driven reporting.


Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 16, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "TIBCO JasperReports Server"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Other

Publishing Dashboards on Jasperserver

Self Service BI

  • Easy to use (Jasperserver)
  • Fully customizable
  • Drill-down functionalities (Jasperserver)
  • Ease of Administration (it is often necessary to make adjustments to JavaScript)
Well suited in Scenarios with low budget and relatively simple analytical requirements. Also in cases with very specific requirements regarding the design of reports (if you are using Jaspersoft Report Studio).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 25, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jaspersoft Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)

We use Jaspersoft in different areas:

- Generate Reports which are submitted to FDA

- Adhoc Reports

- Out of box reports using jasper studio

- analytics - Create Charts and Dashboard

All these are integrated in our application using iFrames and we are considering visualization.



  • Most of our reports use tables - which is a great structure. Especially the formatting
  • Export to different formats is so easy and out of box
  • Parameterization of Reports
  • Dashboard - We had lot of issues in using the dashboard from a performance and technology perspective. It has significant improvements in 6.4 but we still feel dashboard integration with the application ( especially if we want to show on home page)is not that smooth)
  • Ad-hoc drill-down charts - HTML5 charts with easy drill-down would be great
Good for reporting - but not truly for analytics
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft, Great product, Poor after sales support"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Other
We purchased and reviewed Jaspersoft server for a commercial integration.
  • Great tool for data visualization and report generation once it is setup and configured with your data sources.
  • Poor support even after purchasing a commercial license, they try and force you to buy additional deployment and configuration support from their partners.
Perfect for multi-tenancy architecture integrations, stick with the community edition if you do not need the multi-tenancy login feature.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 28, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Limited use for batch reporting / report bursting,"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
The product is used for batch reporting (report bursting) for month end reporting. These are per patient reports for 1..n clients. We use other products (Tableau) for BI.
  • In our limited use case, I can't specifically comment on its strengths. It was a tool we needed, and we use it for a limited purpose.
  • Self tuning. In our use case we have to programmatically control submissions to the engine, it does not throttle itself. We are using the engine via APIs, and limited use by end users. We had to create an exponential back-off algorithm that watches threads to make sure the Jaspersoft engine does not abnormally terminate.
We have a specific use case of report bursting which is a very limited use case so I can't specifically comment on its suitability to purpose for a wide range of possible applications.
Read this authenticated review
Oscar Palmar profile photo
July 14, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Adding reporting capabilities with Jasper Server, a success story"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • Other
We need a flexible and extensible mechanism to add reports to our application. By embedding JasperReports Server our clients were able to get the reports they need plus they have the ability to create their own.
  • Relatively easy to embed into other applications plus the ability to extend with new reports created by end users.
  • Jasper Studio is powerful and allows the creation of quite complex reports.
  • Support for multiple data sources and the ability to use SQL as well as Java to populate reports at runtime.
  • Availability of a large variety of charts for data analysis.
  • Upgrade process, especially when going to a major release, it is not straightforward and the process is definitely not tailored for companies that embed Jasper server into their applications.
  • Support cases are answered quickly but many times no solution or workaround is provided, we had to create our own workarounds.
  • Localization can be improved in the Jasper server UI. For example report names and descriptions are stored as text in the Jasper database, for companies that support different languages it is quite a challenge to release versions to support each language.
Well suited for pixel perfect reporting, if there is a need to allow end users to extend the reporting capabilities of an application or if analytic capabilities are required.
Read Oscar Palmar's full review
Christopher Horvat profile photo
July 12, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jasper A GoGo"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
[It's] Primarily used for canned embedded reports for our commercial applications that we use internally and sell to customers.
  • Multitude of single sign-on options with custom data sources based on sign on attributes
  • Support is quick
  • Pricing in line with market position and capability
  • On the fly report bursting capabilities (ability to generate a single report and have it export as multiple PDFs in a single zip file downloaded to the client's browser)
  • Installation and Deployment (could provide a significantly improved installation, deployment, and upgrade path) - Current path is cumbersome and prone to errors based on customization such as single sign-on implementation
  • Design environment is not as refined as it could be, frequently errors on REST calls to report server, has issues with display on high-resolution screens (fields scrunched together or unreadable), does not support multiple monitors (ability to drag tabs outside of main IDE into other windows/monitors)
  • Suited well for smaller budget environments looking to build their own reporting environment for use with applications they resell.
  • Not well suited for mature enterprises/large budget environments looking to implement BI in and ERP or on an enterprise scale.
Read Christopher Horvat's full review
Christopher M Lute profile photo
June 26, 2017

"This is a simple review of TIBCO Jaspersoft"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting

We use TIBCO Jaspersoft to create reports so users can log in and access and run themselves with little training or we use it to create large scale reports that have to be pixel perfect and are displayed on monitors throughout our different facilities. We are starting to use TIBCO Jaspersoft embedded into our Oracle Apex applications through Visulize.js.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft allows for attention to minute details that make these reports look very professional with the audience requires. Yet it is also a perfect quick and easy tool to make raw data easier to process.
  • It is flexible enough to make different charts, graphs, tables to keep your reports from looking bland.
  • It is really easy to learn to use.
  • Accepting a copied list of values that it can use in an SQL query.
  • Sometimes the pixel perfect approach requires a lot of trial and error of little adjustments to make sure you get it just right.
  • Well suited for BI tools, elaborate charts, and multiple sources of data.
  • Less suited for simple and fast charts or single source data collection.
Read Christopher M Lute's full review
Fernando Diaz Rivero profile photo
June 19, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft is worth it"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
One of our customers needed to provide reporting and ETL services into their own application to their customers, they charge for the use of the application, so the embedding capabilities of Jaspersoft and the multitenant licensing model, combined with the self-service features and ease of use made Jaspersoft Reports and ETL a perfect fit.
  • Embedding into an application is very easy.
  • The quality of the reports and graphics are beautiful.
  • The scalability, when you test it with a high volume of users is a big differentiator, this combined with a good design is very important as a decision criteria.
  • Jaspersoft ETL documentation should have more information on how to write more efficient ETL processes and have more examples of good ETL design.
It's well suited in almost every scenario, perhaps if I wanted to do more advanced BI, like predictions, and analysis I would complement it with Tibco Spotfire.
Read Fernando Diaz Rivero's full review
Edna Menon profile photo
June 14, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Embedded BI for Mobile Workforce Management and AVL Solutions for Utilities"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
At Clevest, we embed Jasper Software in our product by providing standard (canned) reports on our products with our software. We also provide ad-hoc and custom reporting capabilities through Jasper Server and Jasper Studio to our customers. The limitations we faced with our previous embedded BI solution, SSRS were:

* SSRS is reaching its end-of-life, and is being replaced by Power BI * Both SSRS and PowerBI are limited to Microsoft platform
* Clevest customers with Oracle DB were forced to purchase SQL Server package
* SSRS and Power BI do no support Android or iOS, but ours is a multi-platform application used by utility field users
* Limited support for mobile users with SSRS and Power BI
* Could not support multi-tenancy * Limited ad-hoc reporting capabilities
  • Flexible BI Architecture: Jaspersoft enables Clevest to serve customers using different databases and different mobile platforms. Jaspersoft will aslo support Clevest with our plans for SaaS solutions in the near future.
  • Mobile BI Tools: Jaspersoft provides powerful BI tools for mobile applications, which is very important to Clevest as most of our users are utility field workers.
  • Powerful BI reporting and analytics: With Jaspersoft, Clevest can build powerful reports, dashboards, and summary snapshots with drill-downs for both office and mobile users. Moreover, we can offer our customers' power users the ability to create their own ad hoc or custom reports, using Jasper Server and Jasper Studio.
  • Scalable solution: Jaspersoft allows Clevest to scale as we are a fast-growing company and are adding more and more customers, and adding more solutions, with plans to offer SaaS offerings in the near future.
  • Value for money: We evaluated other BI vendors and found that Jaspersoft provided the highest value for what we plan to use embedded BI for.
  • More flexibility with dashboard design, esp. with color and font.
  • More utility-specific examples in their demos.
Jaspersoft is well suited for any software solution that offers mobile solutions and needs flexible architecture.
Read Edna Menon's full review
Vishwas Math profile photo
June 13, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "JasperServer - A good reporting solution."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • Interactive reporting tool. We can create a tabular format, cross tab, and charts. Studio support to create more colorful reports.
  • Domain support. End users can create their own reports by using domains.
  • User-friendly UI.
  • Features like scheduling, dashboards topics and more.
  • Scalability issues.
  • Performance is comparatively slow in large scale DBs.
  • Can do better in domain designer. Even domain designer gets slow if domain becomes large in scale.
  • Support cases could be addressed more faster with appropriate solutions.
JasperServer is a good fit for enterprise applications where end users are required to use a custom designer to define their own reports to their needs(multi-tenancy features, multi-user support, role and user-based security model).
Read Vishwas Math's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (70)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (70)
7.5
Report Formatting Templates (68)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (73)
7.1
Formatting capabilities (79)
7.0
Report sharing and collaboration (64)
7.2
Publish to Web (61)
7.8
Publish to PDF (81)
8.5
Report Versioning (45)
6.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (65)
7.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (49)
7.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (58)
7.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (43)
6.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (78)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (75)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (71)
8.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (59)
7.8
Responsive Design for Web Access (47)
7.1
Dedicated iOS Application (26)
7.2
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (34)
6.7
REST API (67)
7.7
Javascript API (52)
7.4
iFrames (45)
7.5
Java API (45)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (45)
7.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (48)
7.6

About TIBCO Jaspersoft

Jaspersoft is a Business Intelligence suite that brings users worldwide more timely, actionable data inside their apps and business processes, through an embeddable reporting and analytics. The vendor says Jaspersoft is a cost-effective platform, and its goal is to help users make better decisions faster.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Does not have featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Does not have featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-tenancy
Has featureAudit Logging

TIBCO Jaspersoft Screenshots

TIBCO Jaspersoft Video

TIBCO Jaspersoft Product Overview

TIBCO Jaspersoft Downloadables

TIBCO Jaspersoft Integrations

Amazon Web Services, Docker, Oracle VM VirtualBox, Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP), Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP)

TIBCO Jaspersoft Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Jaspersoft offers flexible pricing for ISVs and SaaS per customer or by CPU core.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

TIBCO Jaspersoft Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Chinese, Japanese, plus the ability to add additional languages