TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/M1/My/PIVU6BETBT1N.pngTIBCO Jaspersoft: Reporting made easy!We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s) We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting Other,TIBCO Jaspersoft does really well in GUI layout. It has been relatively quick and easy to get used to the layout and produce a report, sub report, add an image, connect databases, and so on. The layout and organization of the software is simple enough that you could figure it out yourself if you needed to. TIBCO Jaspersoft releases, licensing, products are available in a timely manner. I am able to login to my account and download the latest updates without a problem. Information is available for me when I need it. TIBCO Jaspersoft application and web interface allows for complete control of the report that is being given to users. Management is easy. Duplication of a report is also easy. Overall, my experience has been pleasant with how quick I can start and finish a report. A simple report shouldn't take more than 5 minutes.,I have a hard time getting my font embedded into the Jasper Report for it to successfully be present in a downloaded PDF. There have been at least two ways I've found that have had both successful and unsuccessful results. There are a few times where the errors were not descriptive enough for me to know what was wrong.,8,TIBCO Jaspersoft has helped us to reduce our carbon footprint by 50% or more just by making the information available on demand in a queried report. Users are happy that information is being delivered instantaneously and with restricted permissions. It takes about 1/4th the time it used to take to create a report AND have it available within a good time frame. We are eliminating/lessening printer needs and are very happy with the return we are seeing on this investment. The negative impact that I can see right now is that users now see how easy and quick it is to get the information they need and therefore, keep requesting more and more. If a report is well written it should meet most of the needs of the individual. However, there are specific cases where you'll need to tailor a few reports that don't fit the "majority" of requests.,It is extremely important to us that TIBCO Jaspersoft works across a range of types. We currently use this to our advantage. We will inevitably, always have multiple types of architecture in our company and being able to present, retrieve, or access data from any of them is important for a reporting tool. Even if those platforms change, the report structure will only need a few tweaks in order to be up and running in no time. It is important that there is no down time. It would be a bad investment on our part if we only used it to report from one source.,Built-in multi-tenancy is important since we have at least 15 individuals who may want to access the same information at any given time. However, I don't think we've used this capability to its full advantage. We have used TIBCO Jaspersoft within third-party applications but not with individual user credentials.Good for embedded or distributed reporting, but Jaspersoft Studio learning curve is steep.We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,If you need a pixel-perfect report, Jaspersoft Studio makes that available in various formats. I can make a report and be confident that looks exactly as I want it. Jaspersoft makes it easy to publish and schedule reports for distribution to users via email.,Jaspersoft Studio originates from an open source project, and it still has that feeling. The learning curve can be very steep. Making graphs is quite painful and not at all intuitive. I need to know about things like Java data types, casting of those data types. Sometimes the errors I see are just Java stack trace, which I don't expect from a licensed enterprise tool. Sometimes I encounter quirky issues that take hours to resolve. The licensing structure does not work well for us. We need a licensing option that acknowledges where we are at in our company development. The starting price is way too high. We need a licensing structure that gives us an entry point for an early-stage company such as us, that is just starting to gain traction with customers. As a consequence, we use the lowest licensing level, that does not give us access to the web-based ad-hoc dashboard designer. I have used that in the past, and it is so much easier to deal with than Studio, but the hike in price is too much for us to swallow.,5,It takes me way longer to develop reports in Jaspersoft Studio than it would in other tools (Tableau etc., or even Excel). For this reason, we are considering replacement options.,It is important that our reporting tool can support in-house reporting, and reporting delivered on AWS in a multi-tenant SAAS product. It is also important that we can deliver reports that fit seamlessly within our own applications.,We have moved to a multi-tenant SAAS model, so being able to deliver multi-tenant reporting is vital. However, there are multiple ways to do that, and we haven't settled on a solution. The multi-tenant capability is important, but I can't say how important until we have that solution.,Tableau Desktop, Qlik Sense and YellowfinAd Hoc capability in TICO JaspersoftWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s),The Ad Hoc component of the TICO Jaspersoft applications encapsulates the complexity of our database models and allows users to query their data visually from any web browsers. TICO Jaspersoft not only hides the complexity of the data models but also the technical requirements to write a properly formed query to access their data Once users have queried the data they need, TCO Jaspersoft allows them to export the data to a variety of popular formats such as PDF, CVS, Excel, etc.,There are some well-hidden bugs in the Ad Hoc Editor that we have identified and for which we opened cases with Jaspersoft but they are still unresolved after a year. Users may not always be able to cancel their long-running queries in their reports. Performance really suffers when using the Ad Hoc Editor on a huge data set.,7,Positive impact: * Ad Hoc query capability * Fast turn-around time to develop a report * Easy of maintenance * Competitively priced Negative impact: * Ad Hoc editor can be slow when dealing with a large dataset * No versioning of reports,It is important as we need to be able to embed TICO Jaspersoft in our in-house applications with minimal coding. Also, we need to be able to access our data in Oracle and SQL Server.,It is very important since we have many different organizations within the university. The multi-tenancy allows us to create an organization structure within the applications that closely resemble our own organizations within the university. Each organization has their own customizations and reporting needs. This makes managing the TICO Jaspersoft possible from a hierarchical structure standpoint.,Satisfied Jaspersoft customerWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,Embedding within the applications Ease of use of API interaction Robust security features to enable access control,Better charting and dashboarding capabilities More flexible report designer, specially around being able to merge data from different domains Faster performance,7,Self-taught,Jaspersoft has had an overall positive impact on our objective on allowing our users easy access to their data. User have been able to slice and dice data as per their needs, without having to wait for engineering teams to get involved.,Platform support was a major reason we went ahead with Jaspersoft. We wanted to have a seamless UI experience for our users. This also includes backend integration with our platform.,Our transactional application is multi-tenant and without having a multi-tenant reporting solution, we would have been in a continuous challenge of managing single instance solutions.,MicroStrategy Analytics and Tableau OnlineSwitch to TIBCO JaspersoftWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,Interactive reports (sort, format, ... by users) Interactive Charts Custom reports Scalability,Requires programming skills To formulate database queries or to create more complex reports with scripts Multiple data sources cannot be defined for a report Basic Java programming skills are necessary,8,With TIBCO Jaspersoft, we can offer our customers modern evaluations with a high degree of flexibility. The effort to convert existing reports, which are still based on older technologies, is initially very high, but gradually decreases with the progress of the learning curve, leading ultimately to significantly reduced effort when creating new reports.,The requirements for BI are growing at a fast pace. Platform-wide technologies enable high efficiency in development as well as high usability. Customers can be addressed in a more appropriate way, the customer satisfaction can be increased and the customer base can be enlarged.,The multi-tenancy played a major role in the choice of TIBCO Jaspersoft as a report solution for our SaaS. This is the only way to efficiently benefit from centralized installation and maintenance, as well as the lower memory requirements for data, since cross-client data and objects need to be held only once per installed system and not even per client.,SAP Crystal ReportsPros and Cons. Overall great!We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,Easy to link data sources,It takes quite a number of clicks to get to where you want to go. The upgrade process is not quick and simple, especially when using a TIBCO AMI. You would expect the upgrade to be easier.,7,It seems the reporting server runs slow. We have it running on the recommended Amazon EC2 instance. Performance could be improved without having to spend a lot of money on upgrading the instance.,It works & does the job.We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,Good enterprise features, like detailed role and permission management. Lot of flexibility possible with JasperReports. Works.,Sometimes the software (from an engineering PoV) feels "patched" together and not consistent. Huge complexity, for users and developers. Dashboard features very expensive (almost impossible) to customize.,2,Currently unclear.,As long as running on latest MySQL/Oracle databases, Java versions and Linux OS, not important.,For enterprises could be useful, though still rather tricky as it requires filtering on datasources too.,KibanaEmbedded BIWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,PIxel Perfect design Very robust Lots of customization options and allows us to make customized stuff,Slow and clunky UI. (Both Jasperserver and Studio) Has bugs in new releases Can be intimidating to newer users,7,Clients are happy with the reports that we built and we have built lot of reports in a small amount of time. The quality of reports and the time to make them have been a bit plus on our productivity. We are in a place where we can train our clients on how to use Jaspersoft.,It is very important because we need to eventually shift our application to use different architectures. We want to eventually move to more of a service oriented architecture and keeping it broad helps us do that.,It isn't as important to us because we could control the multi tenancy stuff externally but its useful to use since we have many clients and every client has their own database that they connect to. This becomes a maintenance nightmare and having tools to help with that would be very helpful.,TableauReview of JasperReports ServerWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s) We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Enables users to query databases without the knowledge of SQL Provides the ability for users to customize their data Enables scheduling of reports to run at future times while offline,Jaspersoft needs the ability to perform simple date math. (ie Sep 1, 2017 + 180 = Feb 28, 2018) I would like the ability to tab reports/views. Much like you can in Excel. If I need to quickly switch between two reports, it would make it more functional to click a tab at the bottom. I realize that I can create a dashboard, but it's not the same. I can only fit so much on the screen in the dashboard. The main area of concern I've had with Jaspersoft is performance. There's a lot that goes into this, but SQL optimization would be helpful, or if the software could provide recommendations on SQL optimization in the admin area,8,We've had a massive negative impact on our ROI. Our users are currently hindered and unable to use Jaspersoft most of the time. They are forced to work overtime, adjust their schedules to come in at night or early to run their queries. Our customer base was a test base for other USAF systems to move to Jaspersoft, but have since looked elsewhere after witnessing our experience with the lack of support and lack of knowledge with how business enterprise systems are managed in the USAF. We are working towards a solution, but are considering other options.,It is important for us as security is constantly changing. Our integrator and performance teams are constantly working on ways to improve software performance on DoD networks, which means there might be changes to our deployment procedures and technologies. Also, because we rely heavily on Oracle.,Question is beyond my scope.,Business Intelligence DiscovererCapable, Flexible and Cost Effective BI Solution - Truly AwesomeWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,Competition is brutal and this requires us to offer the lowest price possible to the client. Jaspersoft's price - feature value proposition along with the high adoption by various companies was the leading factor which influenced our decision. Support has been good. The response of Jasper team to various tickets has been good so far and we got solutions for most of our problems. It is quite user-friendly and easy to learn. HTML 5 charts have quite good features which helped in making UI look promising. We were able to achieve sorting and formatting on columns with the help of icons on top of the column which is quite a good feature. Though we faced some issues while creating a dashboard but somehow managed to create a nice report using this feature.,Sometimes we face random behaviour of Jasper reports which gives unexplained errors. Jasper documentation is not easily available and there are very less solutions available to problems. Responsive design is not feasible in Jasper (as in report should adjust size when opened on mobile phone or IPad). Rendering Jasper reports on salesforce takes some time using visualise.js.,9,The impact on our business has been very positive. I would not be able to allocate a ROI number as there are multiple aspects to be considered in the ROI but we are very happy with our decision to go with Jaspersoft. I don't see any reduction in client readiness because it is priced so cheaply.,This is very important to us - in fact, the most important factor in our decision to use Jaspersoft. We had to work with multiple data sources like SFDC, SQL DB, Informatica and Oracle DB. We have embedded this in our SFDC platform application and connects to SFDC as well as a SQL DB. Hence this feature is very important to us.,This is very important. Currently, our application is not designed for multi-tenancy but the next release in six months will have multi-tenancy. Hence this feature is very important to us. Jaspersoft's ability to handle multi-tenancy will be useful for us and this feature will be tested thoroughly by us as well.,Jasper Server ReviewWe use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,It is very easy to use even for a beginner Very simple for scheduling reports Very good support,I am mainly the administrator and it really lacks the ability to create a user group being able to do basic administration like exporting and importing reports. I hope this is being addressed in the newer versions so a non-super user can do this.,10,Like I mentioned earlier, I am an admin of Jaspersoft and my developers and business are happy with it. I am mainly happy since it is easy, is stable, and easy to maintain with great support from the Jaspersoft team.,We have used Jasper on Tomcat, WebLogic, and Derby, Oracle databases and it also supports many other platforms which give us wide range of choice and it is very easy to migrate as well.,We have never tried this and didn't have the need for it yet. But we do plan to tie Jasper with the WebCenter portal sometime in the future.,Jaspersoft Experience ReviewWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,Reports are very easy to build using Jaspersoft Studio Easy Maintenance Seamless integration,Performance - reports take time to display Few limitations - geochart gradient,7,Analytics are very important for our solution and represent one of the critical selling points. We did spend a lot of time building that part using Jaspersoft and did face many issues related to Jaspersoft limitations.,We do use Jaspersoft with 2 of our products. The seamless integration was one of the selection criteria in addition to the extraction of data from different data sources. Therefore, these 2 points were and are still very important for us.,For our case, we have purchased 1 Jaspersoft license that we are sharing between 2 products and hence making use of the multi-tenancy. It is working just fine and happy with it for the moment.,Jaspersoft Studio and Server reviewWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s) We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Professional reports can be created quickly through JasperSoft Studio, and requires very little training to get started. The license cost is particularly low compared with its competitors, with a good support associated. There is a large community of users to help solve issues. Deploying the reports on multiple environments is fairly simple.,Working with specific fonts in Jaspersoft Studio could really be improved. If you are not using the standard font, the layout will change on the server, and the PDF files will revert back to some default fonts. A lot of steps and expertise are required to deploy a new font on the server. Moving reports from an environment to another, by updating the existing reports, but without updating the datasource requires some manual tips. Same thing to export a group of reports, but not the entire content of a folder.,8,It does take us less time to develop reports, and for a lesser cost than what we were previously using.,We have not pushed it yet, but were interested in the ability to multi-source the reports from various databases running on different technologies.,We are not using the capability of Jaspersoft, as we manage our own authentication system, and only have a service account configured on the Jaspersoft server.,SAP Crystal Reports and Business Objects SRCA designer view on Jaspersoft product.We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,Nice looking charts, using HTML5 (and not only Flash technology). A great REST API. Rich documentation. Support is fast and efficient.,Not enough login methods available. No samples provided or out-of-date samples. Documentation is confusing sometimes (or wrong) and REST API is not fully documented.,7,It takes less time and people to develop reports than our previous method, with a greater range of charts. Also, the update process is pretty quick when a customer needs some changes on a dashboard.,Broad platform support is important because we have a wide range of customers with many types of operating systems & databases. So it's not a hassle to integrate our product to the customer architecture.,Multi-tenancy is a big help in the workflow, as customers can easily customize every report with their needs. Also, it's secure, with access rights and restrictions for each user.,Business ObjectsJaspersoft needs to catch-up big-time, otherwise it will be too late.We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s),Excellent customer support. Fairly easy to customize the product to meet company internal standards.,Get rid of the banding layout of reports. Reports should be easy to design in a way that you just need to drag-and-drop items and not worry about bands. It is extremely difficult to build charts in Jaspersoft when compared with other competitor tools. Building a dynamic report is still a big challenge. Creating copies of same reports with minor changes between them is very cumbersome.,5,Self-taught,Competitor tools are forging way-ahead of Jaspersoft every passing year.,Not really important.,Gotta agree that this was a stand-out feature in Jaspersoft.,Quite good, but need to accelerate the roadmap and enhanced the stabilityWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,User interface Dashboarding,Stability Working with complex domains (multiple fact tables) Advanced formatting for charts (without entering parameters with the keyboard) Freezing topic saved with ad-hoc view. If topic is updated, the ad-hoc view doesn't get the updates because the topic is frozen with it,4,Deployment is quite quick, but developing reports on Jaspersoft Studio requires professional skills with Java and Javascript.,As a software company, we have Jaspersoft Server embedded. Consequently, it's vital to have the ability to plug the product into our own architectures.,We have multiple clients on the same architecture. We need the built-in multi-tenancy.,IBM Cognos, QlikView and Business Objects SRCOne of the best reporting toolsWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s),As a reporting tool and connecting to data sources like Hive, mySQL, etc. To prepare dashboards with plots and charts. Multiple output formats like CSV, PDF, etc. Custom changes in UI and UX.,Interactive plots and charts. Increase the forum and community for quick response to question or doubt.,8,We had positive impact, we can easily create dasboards with less time and also prepare reports. We can share the reports and can give access according to the roles. We are able to change the templates according to our project.,Jaspersoft at customized banking applicationsWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Was very strong in customize the reports based on customer need. Verity of viz templates. Sophisticated layout to build custom formulas and report layouts.,Performance. We tested JS in our lab and it failed to quickly respond while handling big data sets. Internal memory management and garbage collection. Inbuild analytics functions.,8,Positive: reusability, less time to migrate.Negative: does not support click and merge, heavy coding involved while merging with other apps.,It proved a seamless integrated / embedded architecture to customize the product as per customer wish.,For us it is very important, since our product is heavily customized for Africa and golf countries.,TIBCO JasperReports ServerOther,Easy to use (Jasperserver) Fully customizable,Drill-down functionalities (Jasperserver) Ease of Administration (it is often necessary to make adjustments to JavaScript),7,Too early to tell, because we are still in a development Phase of our application.,Very important, because we need to serve decentralized users, and we need to integrate various data sources.,n/a,Jaspersoft ReviewWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s),Most of our reports use tables - which is a great structure. Especially the formatting Export to different formats is so easy and out of box Parameterization of Reports,Dashboard - We had lot of issues in using the dashboard from a performance and technology perspective. It has significant improvements in 6.4 but we still feel dashboard integration with the application ( especially if we want to show on home page)is not that smooth) Ad-hoc drill-down charts - HTML5 charts with easy drill-down would be great,8,Quick turnaround time on developing reports is really helpful and ad-hoc views are used a lot.,We are a SaaS solution so, for us, all these features in addition to being multi-tenant is very important.,Very important - We are complete Saas solution - so one server with multiple organizations completely meet our needs.Jaspersoft, Great product, Poor after sales supportOther,Great tool for data visualization and report generation once it is setup and configured with your data sources.,Poor support even after purchasing a commercial license, they try and force you to buy additional deployment and configuration support from their partners.,5,Not worth the high pricing for just one additional useful feature and absolutely no support with the integration.,Very important, Technology adoption is constantly changing for my clients, entire data sources get moved from one platform to another due to performance issues, it is important to have software that can scale and adapt quickly with little configuration required,Multi-tenancy is not for everybody. If the application already has a multi-tenant architecture then this feature is an absolute necessity.,PentahoLimited use for batch reporting / report bursting,We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s),In our limited use case, I can't specifically comment on its strengths. It was a tool we needed, and we use it for a limited purpose.,Self tuning. In our use case we have to programmatically control submissions to the engine, it does not throttle itself. We are using the engine via APIs, and limited use by end users. We had to create an exponential back-off algorithm that watches threads to make sure the Jaspersoft engine does not abnormally terminate.,5,We have a limited use case to burst reports. It works with some tweaks for that purpose. Since we use Tableau for BI, Jaspesoft use is marginal outside of that specific use case.,It's helpful, but again, we have a limited use case. In our work we don't find often see that a specific vendor lacks support for a mainstream architecture so I am not sure it is a differentiation for Tibco.,Not important at the moment for our use case, however an excellent feature.,Tableau DesktopAdding reporting capabilities with Jasper Server, a success storyWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting Other,Relatively easy to embed into other applications plus the ability to extend with new reports created by end users. Jasper Studio is powerful and allows the creation of quite complex reports. Support for multiple data sources and the ability to use SQL as well as Java to populate reports at runtime. Availability of a large variety of charts for data analysis.,Upgrade process, especially when going to a major release, it is not straightforward and the process is definitely not tailored for companies that embed Jasper server into their applications. Support cases are answered quickly but many times no solution or workaround is provided, we had to create our own workarounds. Localization can be improved in the Jasper server UI. For example report names and descriptions are stored as text in the Jasper database, for companies that support different languages it is quite a challenge to release versions to support each language.,9,We are able to deliver complex reports in shorter time which translates into faster delivery to our clients. Our end users are also taking advantage of the ability to add their own reports which means our development groups can concentrate on the tasks that are more relevant for them.,Multiple platform support is critical now and in the future as more and more non SQL data sources are available. So far all data we use for reporting comes from SQL data bases (Oracle and SQL Server) but we do expect to see other sources in the near future.,We did not take advantage of multi-tenancy,Microsoft SQL ServerJasper A GoGoWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s) We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Multitude of single sign-on options with custom data sources based on sign on attributes Support is quick Pricing in line with market position and capability,On the fly report bursting capabilities (ability to generate a single report and have it export as multiple PDFs in a single zip file downloaded to the client's browser) Installation and Deployment (could provide a significantly improved installation, deployment, and upgrade path) - Current path is cumbersome and prone to errors based on customization such as single sign-on implementation Design environment is not as refined as it could be, frequently errors on REST calls to report server, has issues with display on high-resolution screens (fields scrunched together or unreadable), does not support multiple monitors (ability to drag tabs outside of main IDE into other windows/monitors),7,The application we sell is more competitive than our competition, report development times are fairly quick, but the ability to copy reports for modification are very limited.,Not very, we are primarily .NET with HTML5, CSS3 and Angular 1.6 backed to Microsoft Database. In future broad platform support may become more valuable.,Will become more advantageous in the future as we deploy the ability for multi-tenancy to our users (ability to create customized reports/dashboards using data warehouse models) Currently not in use in our environment.,This is a simple review of TIBCO JaspersoftWe use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,TIBCO Jaspersoft allows for attention to minute details that make these reports look very professional with the audience requires. Yet it is also a perfect quick and easy tool to make raw data easier to process. It is flexible enough to make different charts, graphs, tables to keep your reports from looking bland. It is really easy to learn to use.,Accepting a copied list of values that it can use in an SQL query. Sometimes the pixel perfect approach requires a lot of trial and error of little adjustments to make sure you get it just right.,10,No concrete proof but we have had to have saved hours designing reports in TIBCO Jaspersoft than in Microsoft Excel or Access. Not to mention it's a lot easier to manage and distribute data out of Jaspersoft than it is any of the other options.,We've only began using it along with Oracle Apex but it has been seamless so far. We've had a small learning curve but the more we learn the more it makes sense.,
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Jaspersoft
242 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Jaspersoft Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Jaspersoft
242 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 242 vetted TIBCO Jaspersoft reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (51-75 of 102)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
August 18, 2017

Review: "TIBCO Jaspersoft: Reporting made easy!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • Other
We use TIBCO Jaspersoft to provide internal reports that can be viewed or printed on demand for almost all information within our company. We also use it for quick analysis and timely reporting. Ultimately, our goal was to allow users more capability to view information when they needed it and reduce our carbon footprint.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft does really well in GUI layout. It has been relatively quick and easy to get used to the layout and produce a report, sub report, add an image, connect databases, and so on. The layout and organization of the software is simple enough that you could figure it out yourself if you needed to.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft releases, licensing, products are available in a timely manner. I am able to login to my account and download the latest updates without a problem. Information is available for me when I need it.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft application and web interface allows for complete control of the report that is being given to users. Management is easy. Duplication of a report is also easy. Overall, my experience has been pleasant with how quick I can start and finish a report. A simple report shouldn't take more than 5 minutes.
  • I have a hard time getting my font embedded into the Jasper Report for it to successfully be present in a downloaded PDF. There have been at least two ways I've found that have had both successful and unsuccessful results.
  • There are a few times where the errors were not descriptive enough for me to know what was wrong.
I would recommend TIBCO Jaspersoft to a colleague if they needed to allow a user to access data on demand and with different parameters for the same set of information. It is a great query tool that allows many different individuals, with different needs to be able to access the same data set and retrieve the unique information they each need. It is great for creating company tailored documents. It may not be great for documents that would constantly change style or graphics. I'd recommend it for reports/queries that will be a standard in your company for a while.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 04, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Good for embedded or distributed reporting, but Jaspersoft Studio learning curve is steep."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
Jaspersoft is our reporting platform that we use to provide reporting to our customers in our products.
  • If you need a pixel-perfect report, Jaspersoft Studio makes that available in various formats. I can make a report and be confident that looks exactly as I want it.
  • Jaspersoft makes it easy to publish and schedule reports for distribution to users via email.
  • Jaspersoft Studio originates from an open source project, and it still has that feeling. The learning curve can be very steep. Making graphs is quite painful and not at all intuitive. I need to know about things like Java data types, casting of those data types. Sometimes the errors I see are just Java stack trace, which I don't expect from a licensed enterprise tool. Sometimes I encounter quirky issues that take hours to resolve.
  • The licensing structure does not work well for us. We need a licensing option that acknowledges where we are at in our company development. The starting price is way too high. We need a licensing structure that gives us an entry point for an early-stage company such as us, that is just starting to gain traction with customers. As a consequence, we use the lowest licensing level, that does not give us access to the web-based ad-hoc dashboard designer. I have used that in the past, and it is so much easier to deal with than Studio, but the hike in price is too much for us to swallow.
For pixel-perfect reporting, distributed by email to a large number of users, it works very well if you can get to grips with Jaspersoft Studio. The Jaspersoft ad-hoc dashboard designer is good for making simple dashboards, especially if they are going to be embedded in another application.

Jaspersoft Studio is completely unusable for regular business (non-IT) users.

Jaspersoft is not well-suited for ad-hoc data exploration.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 28, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Ad Hoc capability in TICO Jaspersoft"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft in our in-house reporting systems for its ad hoc query capability as a reporting tool that allows our users to access their data when our large collection of reports does not adequately meet their needs. We chose TICO Jaspersoft because of its competitive pricing and its ease of use for our users.
  • The Ad Hoc component of the TICO Jaspersoft applications encapsulates the complexity of our database models and allows users to query their data visually from any web browsers.
  • TICO Jaspersoft not only hides the complexity of the data models but also the technical requirements to write a properly formed query to access their data
  • Once users have queried the data they need, TCO Jaspersoft allows them to export the data to a variety of popular formats such as PDF, CVS, Excel, etc.
  • There are some well-hidden bugs in the Ad Hoc Editor that we have identified and for which we opened cases with Jaspersoft but they are still unresolved after a year.
  • Users may not always be able to cancel their long-running queries in their reports.
  • Performance really suffers when using the Ad Hoc Editor on a huge data set.
TIBCO Jaspersoft is well suited to ad hoc queries, which allow users to access their data for reporting in a very customized matter.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 03, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Satisfied Jaspersoft customer"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
Enable visual reporting on the transaction application - The transactional application captures all the media data that is user and external provider generated. To be able to combine and report on the effectiveness of media campaigns.
  • Embedding within the applications
  • Ease of use of API interaction
  • Robust security features to enable access control
  • Better charting and dashboarding capabilities
  • More flexible report designer, specially around being able to merge data from different domains
  • Faster performance
Jaspersoft is well suited for applications that want to expose a reporting framework as an embedded feature. It allows a very seamless experience for the end users.

It is still not at par with the likes of Tableau or MicroStrategy in terms of visuals and the speed and ease with which the other platforms allow users to view data
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 05, 2017

User Review: "Switch to TIBCO Jaspersoft"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
TIBCO Jaspersoft is currently implementing Jaspersoft in our financial services software solution. Our software solution is offered as SaaS.

Data from complex business processes are collected and processed in a suitable form for further processing. TIBCO Jaspersoft is used for the evaluation and visualization of complex database queries with the advantages of an interactive, dynamic and user-defined report engine.
  • Interactive reports (sort, format, ... by users)
  • Interactive Charts
  • Custom reports
  • Scalability
  • Requires programming skills
  • To formulate database queries or to create more complex reports with scripts
  • Multiple data sources cannot be defined for a report
  • Basic Java programming skills are necessary
Creation of interactive charts whose chart types can be changed and stored by the user at runtime. User-defined formatting and filter possibilities for an individual representation of the data as well as export possibilities in different formats.
Numerous data formats, including XML, can be used as a data source. The reports can also be opened and edited directly by the designer as an XML view.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 29, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Pros and Cons. Overall great!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We integrated Jaspersoft Reports into our enterprise platform to generate reports on the fly as well as scheduled reports.
  • Easy to link data sources
  • It takes quite a number of clicks to get to where you want to go.
  • The upgrade process is not quick and simple, especially when using a TIBCO AMI. You would expect the upgrade to be easier.
If you need a quick and easy reporting implementation, I would recommend Jaspersoft. I have not used any other Jaspersoft applications.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 15, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "It works & does the job."

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
Using TIBCO Jaspersoft as a business user friendly interface to visualize our data generated by our other products in a web interface. Building new reports is still rather painful and time-consuming.
  • Good enterprise features, like detailed role and permission management.
  • Lot of flexibility possible with JasperReports.
  • Works.
  • Sometimes the software (from an engineering PoV) feels "patched" together and not consistent.
  • Huge complexity, for users and developers.
  • Dashboard features very expensive (almost impossible) to customize.
For lots of custom (PDF) reports that serve a custom business case.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 15, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Embedded BI"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
We build reports for customers that we then embed into our systems for clients to consume. The reports are dynamic and change based on the input controls that they selected. Clients need a nice way to visualize data and we need a quick way to build reports without using too many developer resources. TIBCO Jasper allows us to hire people that know SQL and quickly build out reports that our clients need.
  • PIxel Perfect design
  • Very robust
  • Lots of customization options and allows us to make customized stuff
  • Slow and clunky UI. (Both Jasperserver and Studio)
  • Has bugs in new releases
  • Can be intimidating to newer users
If using Jaspersoft as an internal tool I would recommend it because of how easy it is to get up and running. Embedding I would recommend too but depending on how they would want to embed the system. Visualize is a great tool but it could use a little more work to add more features.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 08, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Review of JasperReports Server"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • Enables users to query databases without the knowledge of SQL
  • Provides the ability for users to customize their data
  • Enables scheduling of reports to run at future times while offline
  • Jaspersoft needs the ability to perform simple date math. (ie Sep 1, 2017 + 180 = Feb 28, 2018)
  • I would like the ability to tab reports/views. Much like you can in Excel. If I need to quickly switch between two reports, it would make it more functional to click a tab at the bottom. I realize that I can create a dashboard, but it's not the same. I can only fit so much on the screen in the dashboard.
  • The main area of concern I've had with Jaspersoft is performance. There's a lot that goes into this, but SQL optimization would be helpful, or if the software could provide recommendations on SQL optimization in the admin area
Jaspersoft is great for those who do not know SQL, but has not functioned well for our user base due to performance issues. Some of this is our fault, but it would have been better if Jaspersoft provided more support. If we have issues with Oracle, they have DBAs that will come to us to support us as a part of their premium support. Jaspersoft took months to finally get us to a "premium support" representative even with our purchase of said "premium support."
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 25, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Capable, Flexible and Cost Effective BI Solution - Truly Awesome"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We provide professional services to major pharmaceutical companies across the globe for measuring the performance of each and every member of their sales team. Based on the sales performance, we then calculate the sales incentive that each sales professional is entitled to. The reporting of these performance numbers and the resultant sales incentive is done through TIBCO which is embedded into our SFDC based platform.
  • Competition is brutal and this requires us to offer the lowest price possible to the client. Jaspersoft's price - feature value proposition along with the high adoption by various companies was the leading factor which influenced our decision.
  • Support has been good. The response of Jasper team to various tickets has been good so far and we got solutions for most of our problems. It is quite user-friendly and easy to learn.
  • HTML 5 charts have quite good features which helped in making UI look promising.
  • We were able to achieve sorting and formatting on columns with the help of icons on top of the column which is quite a good feature. Though we faced some issues while creating a dashboard but somehow managed to create a nice report using this feature.
  • Sometimes we face random behaviour of Jasper reports which gives unexplained errors. Jasper documentation is not easily available and there are very less solutions available to problems.
  • Responsive design is not feasible in Jasper (as in report should adjust size when opened on mobile phone or IPad).
  • Rendering Jasper reports on salesforce takes some time using visualise.js.
Jaspersoft is very cost effective and flexible. We can create reports on Jaspersoft and embed the same in our applications. They are easy to learn and quick to deploy. The ease with which we are able to create new reports and deploy it in our applications is unmatched at the price which it is offered. Of course, there is paid software like Tableau, MSTR etc., but they are very expensive as compared to Jaspersoft.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jasper Server Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • It is very easy to use even for a beginner
  • Very simple for scheduling reports
  • Very good support
  • I am mainly the administrator and it really lacks the ability to create a user group being able to do basic administration like exporting and importing reports. I hope this is being addressed in the newer versions so a non-super user can do this.
This can be used by a beginner to return a simple query and build a report to running complex queries. This really suited our organization as this is a go to for everyone.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 07, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jaspersoft Experience Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We use Visualize.js to seamlessly integrate KPIs built using Jaspersoft technology.
  • Reports are very easy to build using Jaspersoft Studio
  • Easy Maintenance
  • Seamless integration
  • Performance - reports take time to display
  • Few limitations - geochart gradient
If the aim is to build simple reports that won't be based on a complicated query then I would highly recommend the use of Jaspersoft. Thanks to Jaspersoft Studio, anyone can be self-trained and start building reports in few days. Tabular reports represent the strength of Jaspersoft, they offer default filtering options per column.

The only big deception with Jaspersoft is related to performance and the fact that users have to wait for a long time before reports are displayed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 25, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jaspersoft Studio and Server review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting

We use TIBCO JasperSoft to generate our official documents such as invoices, customs documents, traceability labels, production contracts, production sheets, as well as operational reporting to monitor our operations in real time.

Depending on the use case, we will display the report directly in HTML to be displayed on screens, exported as Excel sheets or directly printed from PDF files.

  • Professional reports can be created quickly through JasperSoft Studio, and requires very little training to get started.
  • The license cost is particularly low compared with its competitors, with a good support associated.
  • There is a large community of users to help solve issues.
  • Deploying the reports on multiple environments is fairly simple.
  • Working with specific fonts in Jaspersoft Studio could really be improved. If you are not using the standard font, the layout will change on the server, and the PDF files will revert back to some default fonts. A lot of steps and expertise are required to deploy a new font on the server.
  • Moving reports from an environment to another, by updating the existing reports, but without updating the datasource requires some manual tips. Same thing to export a group of reports, but not the entire content of a folder.

Jaspersoft is well suited to create some nice looking professional reports, that can be easily integrated into another web application.

It is also well suited to enable users to do some dynamic data analysis directly from the server.

It is however not possible to create nice looking reports and let the users customize them (requires some development).

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 17, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "A designer view on Jaspersoft product."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We needed to create nice looking charts for multiple customer related dashboards, using a well-known API (like REST or SOAP).
  • Nice looking charts, using HTML5 (and not only Flash technology).
  • A great REST API.
  • Rich documentation.
  • Support is fast and efficient.
  • Not enough login methods available.
  • No samples provided or out-of-date samples.
  • Documentation is confusing sometimes (or wrong) and REST API is not fully documented.
Jaspersoft is a nice way to integrate charts in an existing product. It's a powerful tool but it can be tricky to get the goal design in a short period of time.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 03, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft needs to catch-up big-time, otherwise it will be too late."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • Excellent customer support.
  • Fairly easy to customize the product to meet company internal standards.
  • Get rid of the banding layout of reports. Reports should be easy to design in a way that you just need to drag-and-drop items and not worry about bands.
  • It is extremely difficult to build charts in Jaspersoft when compared with other competitor tools.
  • Building a dynamic report is still a big challenge.
  • Creating copies of same reports with minor changes between them is very cumbersome.
Jaspersoft is fairly suitable for standalone reporting applications.
It is less-suitable for embedded reporting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Quite good, but need to accelerate the roadmap and enhanced the stability"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We have an analytics tool plugged into our software
  • User interface
  • Dashboarding
  • Stability
  • Working with complex domains (multiple fact tables)
  • Advanced formatting for charts (without entering parameters with the keyboard)
  • Freezing topic saved with ad-hoc view. If topic is updated, the ad-hoc view doesn't get the updates because the topic is frozen with it
Simple ad-hoc reporting with small amount of data is good.
Data visualization with specific chart types is not its strength.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "One of the best reporting tools"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
We use Jaspersoft as reporting tool, to connect to mySQL database and expose to end users.
We develop plots and charts using TIBCO Jaspersoft using the AWS enterprise version and prepare dashboards using the data available in mySQL.
  • As a reporting tool and connecting to data sources like Hive, mySQL, etc.
  • To prepare dashboards with plots and charts.
  • Multiple output formats like CSV, PDF, etc.
  • Custom changes in UI and UX.
  • Interactive plots and charts.
  • Increase the forum and community for quick response to question or doubt.
To prepare dashboards. Used as reporting tool and can connect many data sources.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 25, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft at customized banking applications"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting

We do reporting and data analytics and use Jaspersoft as our reporting tool to viz the results. We also used Jaspersoft as an embedded reporting tool for our banking analytical solutions.


The business problem addressed are related to prospect identification to step up as a customer.

  • Was very strong in customize the reports based on customer need.
  • Verity of viz templates.
  • Sophisticated layout to build custom formulas and report layouts.
  • Performance. We tested JS in our lab and it failed to quickly respond while handling big data sets.
  • Internal memory management and garbage collection.
  • Inbuild analytics functions.

Suitable: in-build with any Java products as reporting tool. Jasper reports are very effective in this case. Stand alone as a corporate reporting tool.

Less suitable: in the area of analytics reporting. Real time or near real time analytics solutions, end user driven reporting.


Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 16, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "TIBCO JasperReports Server"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Other

Publishing Dashboards on Jasperserver

Self Service BI

  • Easy to use (Jasperserver)
  • Fully customizable
  • Drill-down functionalities (Jasperserver)
  • Ease of Administration (it is often necessary to make adjustments to JavaScript)
Well suited in Scenarios with low budget and relatively simple analytical requirements. Also in cases with very specific requirements regarding the design of reports (if you are using Jaspersoft Report Studio).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 25, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jaspersoft Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)

We use Jaspersoft in different areas:

- Generate Reports which are submitted to FDA

- Adhoc Reports

- Out of box reports using jasper studio

- analytics - Create Charts and Dashboard

All these are integrated in our application using iFrames and we are considering visualization.



  • Most of our reports use tables - which is a great structure. Especially the formatting
  • Export to different formats is so easy and out of box
  • Parameterization of Reports
  • Dashboard - We had lot of issues in using the dashboard from a performance and technology perspective. It has significant improvements in 6.4 but we still feel dashboard integration with the application ( especially if we want to show on home page)is not that smooth)
  • Ad-hoc drill-down charts - HTML5 charts with easy drill-down would be great
Good for reporting - but not truly for analytics
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft, Great product, Poor after sales support"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Other
We purchased and reviewed Jaspersoft server for a commercial integration.
  • Great tool for data visualization and report generation once it is setup and configured with your data sources.
  • Poor support even after purchasing a commercial license, they try and force you to buy additional deployment and configuration support from their partners.
Perfect for multi-tenancy architecture integrations, stick with the community edition if you do not need the multi-tenancy login feature.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 28, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Limited use for batch reporting / report bursting,"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
The product is used for batch reporting (report bursting) for month end reporting. These are per patient reports for 1..n clients. We use other products (Tableau) for BI.
  • In our limited use case, I can't specifically comment on its strengths. It was a tool we needed, and we use it for a limited purpose.
  • Self tuning. In our use case we have to programmatically control submissions to the engine, it does not throttle itself. We are using the engine via APIs, and limited use by end users. We had to create an exponential back-off algorithm that watches threads to make sure the Jaspersoft engine does not abnormally terminate.
We have a specific use case of report bursting which is a very limited use case so I can't specifically comment on its suitability to purpose for a wide range of possible applications.
Read this authenticated review
Oscar Palmar profile photo
July 14, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Adding reporting capabilities with Jasper Server, a success story"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • Other
We need a flexible and extensible mechanism to add reports to our application. By embedding JasperReports Server our clients were able to get the reports they need plus they have the ability to create their own.
  • Relatively easy to embed into other applications plus the ability to extend with new reports created by end users.
  • Jasper Studio is powerful and allows the creation of quite complex reports.
  • Support for multiple data sources and the ability to use SQL as well as Java to populate reports at runtime.
  • Availability of a large variety of charts for data analysis.
  • Upgrade process, especially when going to a major release, it is not straightforward and the process is definitely not tailored for companies that embed Jasper server into their applications.
  • Support cases are answered quickly but many times no solution or workaround is provided, we had to create our own workarounds.
  • Localization can be improved in the Jasper server UI. For example report names and descriptions are stored as text in the Jasper database, for companies that support different languages it is quite a challenge to release versions to support each language.
Well suited for pixel perfect reporting, if there is a need to allow end users to extend the reporting capabilities of an application or if analytic capabilities are required.
Read Oscar Palmar's full review
Christopher Horvat profile photo
July 12, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jasper A GoGo"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
[It's] Primarily used for canned embedded reports for our commercial applications that we use internally and sell to customers.
  • Multitude of single sign-on options with custom data sources based on sign on attributes
  • Support is quick
  • Pricing in line with market position and capability
  • On the fly report bursting capabilities (ability to generate a single report and have it export as multiple PDFs in a single zip file downloaded to the client's browser)
  • Installation and Deployment (could provide a significantly improved installation, deployment, and upgrade path) - Current path is cumbersome and prone to errors based on customization such as single sign-on implementation
  • Design environment is not as refined as it could be, frequently errors on REST calls to report server, has issues with display on high-resolution screens (fields scrunched together or unreadable), does not support multiple monitors (ability to drag tabs outside of main IDE into other windows/monitors)
  • Suited well for smaller budget environments looking to build their own reporting environment for use with applications they resell.
  • Not well suited for mature enterprises/large budget environments looking to implement BI in and ERP or on an enterprise scale.
Read Christopher Horvat's full review
Christopher M Lute profile photo
June 26, 2017

"This is a simple review of TIBCO Jaspersoft"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting

We use TIBCO Jaspersoft to create reports so users can log in and access and run themselves with little training or we use it to create large scale reports that have to be pixel perfect and are displayed on monitors throughout our different facilities. We are starting to use TIBCO Jaspersoft embedded into our Oracle Apex applications through Visulize.js.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft allows for attention to minute details that make these reports look very professional with the audience requires. Yet it is also a perfect quick and easy tool to make raw data easier to process.
  • It is flexible enough to make different charts, graphs, tables to keep your reports from looking bland.
  • It is really easy to learn to use.
  • Accepting a copied list of values that it can use in an SQL query.
  • Sometimes the pixel perfect approach requires a lot of trial and error of little adjustments to make sure you get it just right.
  • Well suited for BI tools, elaborate charts, and multiple sources of data.
  • Less suited for simple and fast charts or single source data collection.
Read Christopher M Lute's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (72)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (72)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (69)
7.7
Drill-down analysis (75)
7.1
Formatting capabilities (81)
7.1
Report sharing and collaboration (66)
7.3
Publish to Web (63)
7.8
Publish to PDF (83)
8.5
Report Versioning (47)
6.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (67)
7.7
Delivery to Remote Servers (50)
7.7
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (60)
7.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (45)
6.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (79)
7.9
Role-Based Security Model (77)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (73)
8.0
Single Sign-On (SSO) (61)
7.8
Responsive Design for Web Access (48)
7.3
Dedicated iOS Application (26)
7.0
Dedicated Android Application (24)
6.9
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (35)
6.7
REST API (68)
7.7
Javascript API (53)
7.6
iFrames (45)
7.4
Java API (45)
7.1
Themeable User Interface (UI) (46)
7.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (49)
7.7

About TIBCO Jaspersoft

Jaspersoft is a Business Intelligence suite that brings users worldwide more timely, actionable data inside their apps and business processes, through an embeddable reporting and analytics. The vendor says Jaspersoft is a cost-effective platform, and its goal is to help users make better decisions faster.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Does not have featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Does not have featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-tenancy
Has featureAudit Logging

TIBCO Jaspersoft Screenshots

TIBCO Jaspersoft Video

TIBCO Jaspersoft Product Overview

TIBCO Jaspersoft Downloadables

TIBCO Jaspersoft Integrations

Amazon Web Services, Docker, Oracle VM VirtualBox, Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP), Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP)

TIBCO Jaspersoft Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Jaspersoft offers flexible pricing for ISVs and SaaS per customer or by CPU core.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

TIBCO Jaspersoft Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Chinese, Japanese, plus the ability to add additional languages