SAP Crystal Reviews

512 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 158)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 06, 2021
Abdul S. Usmani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal is being used for many solutions we use that just require some form of static reporting and batch reporting. It is used by managers and operations personnel to review data and aggregations.
  • Aggregations
  • Output in various formats
  • Multiple data sources
  • Summarizing data
  • Maybe a little bit more easy to drag and drop/WYSIWYG capability
Great for connecting to multiple data sets, great for reports generation and output in multiple different formats, great for emailing reports to users.
Easy and performant! You can also set relationships between data sets easily.
Never needed support.
Read Abdul S. Usmani's full review
May 01, 2021
Akhilesh Arya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool is amazing for reporting. You can generate reports from different types of data sources easily. We are using this tool in the department of computer science and engineering in our organization for research purpose. Generally while working on research projects we have some huge datasets and that too from different sources and in different format we have to prepare meaning full reports out of them in order to use them as research findings.
  • It can connect to different data sources
  • Generates report with attractive charts and tables
  • Very flexible and easily customize-able
  • A little programming related to SQL and .NET is required for the efficient use of the tool
  • Adjusting spaces between multiple rows is a bit difficult task
  • Documentation part should be improved
1. If you are a researcher and you have to review and prepare reports using datasets this is a really helpful tool for you.
2. For a person working in sales; this will help to generate sales reports.
3. It can be use in the finance and accounts departments also for budget sheets, expense sheets etc..
It connect to various data sources easily and effectively. The only area of improvement is the connectivity speed, it should be increased.
This is the area they need to improve.
Read Akhilesh Arya's full review
May 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal is being used by the entire organisation to report on analytics from the board members so that employees can easily see how the business is performing and what the quarterly targets are throughout the year. Although the board are the ones who decide on the information on the dashboard, it is up to the Marketing department to ensure that the reports are fully tailored to the board's needs and is easy for people to understand. The problem it addresses is that when there are company-wide meetings detailing the outcomes of the previous quarter as well as looking at how we can improve on the work we just did, using SAP Crystal, we can show the results to our entire employee base.
  • It helps improve business process outcomes.
  • Cost management reporting.
  • Tailored reporting.
  • Difficult to learn from scratch.
  • Not user friendly.
  • Poor compatibility.
SAP Crystal is handy when you're crunching a lot of numbers from multiple sources and want to display all of it in a singular report which you can present during presentations. Its biggest strength is that we can use multiple data sources to place information together, from Excel being a big plus. SAP Crystal reporting is less appropriate when trying to build a report on the fly as it takes time to put together, and it doesn't seem intuitive or helpful when troubleshooting.
SAP Crystal does have multiple data source connectivities, making it a powerful tool but the way it goes about connecting these sources and merging from other sources means it's not something I personally would rate highly. A lot of the reporting comes from Excel which is very handy and works well, but once you start migrating big chunks of information from not only Excel, but through our expense reporting system too, and our CRM, it does become slow and a little chaotic.
Support for SAP Crystal has been good as it is a powerful tool and therefore, we are always looking for ways to improve on our reporting or even contact the team for troubleshooting. They may take a little time to respond, but their responses are always good and very useful in helping us evolve our reporting skills.
Read this authenticated review
April 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal is being used across the departments among various Strategic Business Units. It is used as a tool to create reports from various data sources. It helps us to create advanced-level reports to drive strategic decisions. It helps to understand the business process and ease gap analysis. It is flexible to create BI reports for internal and external customers.
  • It can create customized reports [for] internal and external customers.
  • It supports requisite printing and distribution taking data from multiple sources.
  • Report creation, distribution and analysis are well managed by SAP Crystal Report
  • Reports are well formatted with clean pagination.
  • Occasional slow performance, could use upgrade.
  • Graphs and tables could use some cosmetic features e.g. formatting numbers and graphs are a little cumbersome.
  • Connections to databases could be little faster.
SAP Crystal is well suited for data analysis, customized report creation, and formatting. It is a pixel perfect reporting system having the ability to create scorecards and helps in data mining. It supports multiple languages which is a breeze for global organizations.

It may prove to a roadblock when the learning curve is fast in the organization having high employee turnover.
It has the capability to connect with multiple data sources, however, it slows down sometimes. Data migration has been be pretty straight forward.
Excellent. Support is available online, in person, and through an online community. Consulting and developer services are readily available; [I have] never been disappointed.
Read this authenticated review
April 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our modern, digital world, data is key to understanding how an organization functions, and serves as both a compass and barometer for an organization to progress further. SAP Crystal provides this functionality through its ease of creating reports and dashboards, making the process of developing visualizations for upper management a breeze. This function is important due to the "text-first" nature of the report, which helps in certain industries as opposed to purely charts or a numbers-driven style of reporting as seen with some other software
  • Quick logins and assimilation with existing SSO
  • WYSIWYG editor makes it clear for users to quickly generate and export reports
  • Good text implementation for write-ups in the report
  • The math/data capabilities of formulas, conditional formatting etc could be improved
  • Learning curve when it comes to creating templates for organizational use
  • Intermittent issues when connecting to data sources
SAP Crystal is useful for text-based reports, especially in organizations where upper management prefer having a PDF document with the key findings being displayed in a more traditional document. As opposed to a management dashboard or a slide deck. This focus on text-based reports can be useful and easier to work with when developing specific reports as opposed to other word processors
SAP Crystal connects well to existing and well-known data sources such as MySQL and MS Excel. The data can be pulled and synthesized from such sources rather easily. However, when data is less formatted or in unstructured form (e.g, from NoSQL databases or json files) there needs to be quite a lot of reconciliation on our end. Perhaps some form of data wrangling could be done
The is presence of user guides and documentation for usage of SAP Crystal, especially when covering common flows and connection to common data sources. However, there were some difficulties encountered when pursuing documentation to create organization-specific templates that had some deviation from the prebuilt templates. Getting direct support from SAP Crystal team was possible, but the lead time was longer
Read this authenticated review
December 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All the divisions where the need of formatted reports was there, i.e. in HR departments to get the complete detail of an employee for all past performances indicators, hikes, travel opportunities, PII data or be it on the floor of manufacturing company. In real time replication of data , details of Sales Order/Purchase Orders or internal material movement order were printed in the highly formatted way using Crystal reports detailing each entity/price or other nuance of the type of report it was. Dynamic text of logged in the system was printed in some cases when movement for item was restricted by only some authorized persons so that Security guards can easily check and catch the unwanted movement of product.
  • Highly formatted reporting capabilities.
  • Pixel oriented perfect reporting for printing.
  • Embedding of dynamic images/logo or barcodes for customized reports.
  • Easy to share with other users.
  • Dragging and dropping the elements into the canvas to fit in pixels is sometime difficult.
  • Exporting the report in Excel looses formatting.
  • Learning curve of Crystal is difficult for consultants as it's a bit tricky for data connections.
If your organization is needing such a data intelligence solutions where in data reported is important but the way it is presented is also highly important, without even thinking one should go for SAP Crystal Reports. This tool is capable of providing pixel perfect formatted reports giving a very crystal (justifying its name) clear insight of the information represented in form of data. The reports can easily contain company logos/dynamic images or text as per reporting requirements.
Only in case where you need row columns based reporting where you can see data in excel like formats you should not go for SAP Crystal Reports.
Though it supports all kind of data source connectivity but establishing connection is a bit tricky in crystal reports. I don't see much need of Crystal Reports need for emerging new data sources as it's mainly meant for formatted reports or reports which are of daily use for easy operations of company. SAP has other tools to text analysis & predictive analysis. This tool is not meant for such kind of reporting at all.
SAP Crystal report is very supportive in daily need of reports or any organization. Basic functionality of operational reports detailing the Sales Order details or PO in a manner which can be used very easily. A readily available solution for delivering any customized need in terms of pixelated reporting can be met easily with the tool.
Read this authenticated review
October 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our main reporting tool as part of our software application for all internal and external reports.
  • Fairly easy to learn the report designer. Even for people without strong database knowledge.
  • Ability to reuse existing report components.
  • Can design reports targeted for printing (can cleanly handle pagination).
  • Can report from multiple data sources without the need for a data warehouse.
  • Better handling of imported images from a database. Need to maintain aspect ratio.
  • Add option to disable grid lines.
  • Changing data source on same server needs a little TLC. Still have to change each table instead of just updating the connection.
  • Pivot Table formatting.
  • Chart formatting.
  • Importing formatted text from MS Word.
  • Support for HTML text formatting.
Very well suited for customer facing reports like invoices, statements and contracts. Great for listings / rosters.
Fun backdoor functionality to be able to execute stored procedures to updated data within the database and provide results without the need to build custom application solutions.

Not very useful for exporting to MS Word for contracts that need further editing. Pivot tables and charting capabilities are very simple when compared to MS Excel and are only used when basic functionality is needed.
Over 20+ years of using Crystal, I have never come across a situation where I have been unable to connect to a data source. As long as the data has adequate foreign keys, everything works great. One of my favorite reports consisted of six different sub reports, each from a different database.
Case response has been good over the years, but fortunately not really needed since the product is very stable.
However, SAP seems to have lost its focus on Crystal and has not made much of an attempt at keeping it competitive with other products. There has been a push to start exploring other options.
Read this authenticated review
April 19, 2020
Mary Wanjiku | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Create reports which are customizable to the needs of our organization. User-friendly and very likely the best for our clients. Intuitive and user-friendly interface. Reliable with financial reporting, which is very accurate and timely. Great with inventory control and stock control
  • Reporting which is timely.
  • Timely with financial management and easy to use.
  • Intuitive user interface and customizable dashboard.
  • Customizable reporting.
  • Cloud based and documentation.
  • Improve on training users.
Great software with reporting which helps to filter by the month. Really easy to integrate with CRM. Reliable with financial management and easy to make decisions.
Good and intuitive user interface. Reliable with accurate reporting. Effective for integration with CRM. Financial management is nice and more accurate.
Read Mary Wanjiku's full review
February 18, 2020
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crystal Reports to generate over 200 standard reports for various data topics from our record-keeping system. These reports can be for the business or for our customers. We generate thousands of reports each week that are then delivered to our clients. Crystal is used within our organization. The enterprise has a variety of reporting tools in use. We have been using Crystal Reports for over 18 years on our team.
  • Complex queries are supported through the use of stored procedures. Because of this, we are able to create very complex reports to satisfy consumer needs.
  • User-friendly formats are supported and we can display these reports online.
  • Running multiple queries without using stored procedures.
  • We need to have developers write SQL code. Drag and drop type report creation can be difficult to accurately create without writing SQL. SQL relationships must be clearly defined for the drag and drop to work. This makes sense, otherwise, how would the tool know what the relationships are?
We have used this as our reporting solution for 18 years. We have reviewed other technologies like Tableau and Jasper Reports. We found Crystal the easiest to use for our environment. We create all of our reports in the same format using a stored procedure to gather the result set. We do this so that we can control the SQL and validate the performance. The downside to this is we can't do the drag and drop reports and have to rely on the assistance of a SQL Developer to code the stored procedure for us. The upside is once the proc is coded and tested, it is tuned for performance so that the reports execute efficiently without causing negative issues on the system for transactional queries.
We are able to connect to 14 different data sources with no issues. We set-up proxy tables in our Sybase server to allow us to join data in a single query across multiple data sources. But Crystal allows us to easily connect to multiple sources. This is just how we have chosen to do this as it makes our SQL easier and gives the illusion that all of the data is on the same server. This is how we do "federation" for our reports when we need data from multiple sources but it doesn't have to be done this way.
Read Gene Baker's full review
February 15, 2020
Yoni Dvorkis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP Crystal to automate and generate a set of reports that are usually exported as PDF files directly to the user's email inboxes. Occasionally users also login to the Business Objects Server to access their reports in that format. We run Business Objects scheduler to schedule the reports to refresh usually once a week.
  • Clean format for PDF is nice
  • Connects to database to refresh queries
  • It's quite clunky setting up a page footer or report footer.
  • Headers are similarly hard to set up
Automated report generation and refresh sent as email is useful for any reports that typically involve manual effort. The typical use case in MS Excel is when reports need to be updated. There generally is a large amount of copying and pasting data into charts. In SAP Crystal, the formatting is done once, and then the automated feature always brings in new data.
Our typical application is connected to the data warehouse and extract a table we're interested in using for reporting. On occasion, we also develop views of the data that are queried directly in SAP Crystal so that no hard copy tables are ever generated in the data warehouse. This lets us free up space on the user's schemas.
Read Yoni Dvorkis's full review
March 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal is being used by my organization to generate all kinds of reports across the entire organization. The company has been using the tool for more than 10 years and is still using it. The feature to automate and generate reports and sent the result to our client via email is outstanding at the time.
  • Clean
  • Connection
  • User-friendly
  • Clunky
  • Hard setup
  • No regular update
SAP Crystal is well suited for a company with upper management who are only used to old school analysis and the analysts are either not familiar with coding or only be able to write SQL queries. In that case, the tool fits the needs of the company well at a lower cost.
SAP Crystal has the ability to connect with a wide range of data sources such as SQL Server, Oracle, and Excel. Generally, it connects well if the data is coming from the same source. However, it does not connect well if the data is coming from a different data source.
Read this authenticated review
February 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used SAP Crystal for report visualization. The graphs in the tool are outstanding with strong information telling ability combining with tables and images. Apart from the graphs, it is designed to be very interactive so you can drag and drop directly to control and tailer the shape of the graph to your needs.
  • Integration
  • Connection
  • Hard initial setup
  • Unstable
SAP Crystal is suitable to connect with a single source of data such as ODBC, XML, Excel, etc. but it has difficulty when you try to connect different sources of data at the same time through this channel. Some other tools might be more usable in that situation such as Qlik that I reviewed before.
It can connect with a large range of data sources as long as not mixing the sources of data together, the tool usually would have reliable performance and successfully integrate the data with different modules. Also, the data doesn’t have to be stored in the database. Any virtual source would work.
Read this authenticated review
January 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP Crystal to generate documents in our ERP system for things such as sales, purchasing, invoice, manufacturing documents, and automated shipping labels. The whole organization uses crystal reports in a way because it links into our ERP system. We no longer need an external company to do our documents, reporting as we now have the ability to do it in house. Crystal Reports allows us to produce highly customizable documents and reports for any business case.
  • Advanced formulas.
  • Producing automated PDF documents.
  • Lining up formulas with database fields.
  • Occasional crashing.
SAP Crystal is well suited for organizations that have a need for automated documents and reports. I'd recommend having a few Crystal Reports writers within a company and Crystal Reports viewer for users who don't need to create them. Even better if your ERP/System supports crystal reports in the browser like Sage whereby no viewer is needed. It wouldn't be suitable for companies not making use of databases or with little knowledge of such.
You can add a large range of data sources to Crystal, for example, ODBC, ABO, Excel, and XML.
The only reason I didn't give Crystal Reports a 10 was the fact it's not very good at merging data from different sources. For that, I'd recommend looking into Qlik. However, what it does well is automating documents and reports that users can run in real-time without issue. Someone with a little table knowledge can link together the data they want and produce complex and powerful reports. It even allows more advanced users to import SQL from a source into a table itself and pull information that way.
Read this authenticated review
January 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crystal is used enterprise-wide for pixel-perfect reporting. We have both on-demand reporting use cases, and scheduled reporting via email or logging in to report inboxes. It is used against multiple source systems for all areas of the business, including clinical, financial, and operational. We generate PDF, Excel, and CSV based outputs.
  • Pixel perfect reporting.
  • Enterprise grade stability.
  • Dated technology.
  • There's a lack of web-based development for Crystal reports (though it exists for WEBI and the like).
Crystal can help manage pixel-perfect based reporting for your enterprise, but unless you are using the entire SAP analytics stack, it is tough to manage governance without a strong data warehouse. Pixel perfect reporting also has its place, but most enterprises are moving to more interactive self-service dashboarding and drill down tools, and that capability is limited in Crystal (albeit, it was not developed for that use case).
While Crystal works against single databases, it hit performance concerns when trying to aggregate data across disparate sources. It is also used to display point in time reports, and while reports can be re-executed, it would not display real-time data automatically. It does have connectivity to most standard databases (SQL Server, Oracle...).
Read this authenticated review
September 17, 2019
Miguel De La Garza Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal reports is naturally embedded into SAP B1, we use it across the organization and have over 100 different reports created at the time, all these fill our departments with crucial information about their KPIs, we use Crystal for lot of different reports from a range of very visual reports with charts and colored graphics thru text/numeric grids filled with information, all are viewable from our SAP client.
  • Excelent integration on SAP B1 client install
  • Very easy for the user to access / export reports data
  • User permissions/controls to enable/disable unwanted users to access the reports
  • If IT department has no previous knowledge of crystal reports they will need training in order to start using it
  • It would be great to have objects integrated on the reports
To have reports on sales / buying side as well as inventory reports, pretty much every data stored in a SQL Database can be pulled to create a crystal report, in the case when used with SAP B1 every SAP module can have at least 1-3 crystal reports to control each module
As told before, Crystal works really well when connecting to SQL DB´s also other connectors available as ODBC, etc, we merge data from different DB and also different sources as from web (Dropbox, Drive) and it works quite good, we also pull info from xls spreadsheet, and from MySql databases.
Read Miguel De La Garza Rodriguez's full review
November 06, 2019
Jesus Chacon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a tool to visualize reports that are generated in our developed applications. It facilitates us to be able to display rich information with images, tables, colors, and graphs. It has an excellent form designer by using drag & drop controls to give the shape we want to each of the reports. The viewer also allows us to print the information or export it to other common formats such as PDF. It integrates very well with Visual Studio IDE.
  • It has many interesting tools and functions when used with Visual Studio IDE. This allows us to integrate many features of the IDE to design each visual element using drag and drop controls to customize reports
  • We have been able to make successful connections to diverse data sources including SQL Server, MySQL, local and in the cloud
  • You can perform complex queries by incorporating SQL statements
  • There are no limits as to the type of data or objects that I can use. I can format the changes, add mathematical and logical functions, also add images configure the color fonts, all in design mode
  • There is no backward compatibility with versions of previous reports. Some updates could cause data loss
  • New versions take a long time to arrive
It is excellent as a solution for reports because it has its own functions to ensure that the information shown is presented in a clear and professional manner. We can format the output of the fields used in the uncovered functions of the Crystal reports.

I do not recommend it for temporary use or small projects.
Allows us to use diverse data sources. For example, we can use hybrid queries from the design using the ODBC connector in two different databases. It integrates very well with Visual Studio which allows us to make connections and use all the power of SQL Server using its views and stored procedures.
Read Jesus Chacon's full review
October 31, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal Reports is used throughout our company. It allows us to present consistent and branded reports to all of our internal and external clients. It also allows us to have standardized cost reporting. Prior to implementing SAP Crystal Reports, we had different sites presenting clients with their own custom cost reports. Many of these were done in Excel and there was no consistency across our organization. SAP Crystal Reports has replaced those and now we provide one consistent and branded report.
  • Crystal Reports allows us to create a consistent template for all of our reports.
  • Crystal Reports and Server allows us to house a repository for all of our reports to make them easy to find and update when necessary.
  • Crystal Reports can connect to a wide variety of data sources.
  • Crystal Reports can be a little daunting when first implementing. There are a lot of nuances in learning how to truly master this software and it can be frustrating at times.
  • There are a lot of features in Crystal Reports that do not always work as expected. You may find yourself searching the Web for how to get the results that you want.
  • Crystal Reports does not provide updates on a regular basis. New concepts and ideas may be a while in implementing.
  • The initial setup can be frustrating. There are times when you need to go outside of the install package to make it work with particular data sources, etc. It is not always a 100% install.
If you want easily controlled and formatted reports to provide a consistent platform across your organization, Crystal Reports is an excellent program. You will need to be willing to put in some effort up front for install and learning the program, but once you are up and running, it does provide a great way to provide standard reporting. It gives you the ability to allow all of your employees access the same data, in the same format at any time.
Crystal does provide access to a lot of data sources. The problem comes in setting up those data sources. You do not always get the correct driver in the install package and will need to go out and find your own drivers and install them. The install process itself is where the issues lie. There are also times when systems may be updated and Crystal Reports drivers are not updated in a consistent manner so it will break your connections. It is generally not too difficult to implement a fix but it is frustrating.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal Reports software is used within the organization for creating reports from several hundred external resources. I would not say it is an easy task to do this through the software. However, the contribution level of the system's ease of use to our research process is really huge and we really don't have any alternative. We are not even searching for one.

All of the reported materials are tweaked, edited, gathered, modified in the system itself. The formatting and the conditional output of the reports are really good and we could find no equal software to this from the perspective of the reporting. All in all, this is a well structured and easy-to-use system with extensive functionalities which can help in crucially reducing work-time by managing some necessary reporting tasks.
  • Easy to use UI. Basically, even a non-technical user can learn to do everything in a week.
  • The speed of compiling the data.
  • Useful templates.
  • Easy interface for integrating the data in the system from external sources.
  • Scheduled reports.
  • There are some specific points in the system which might become buggy or not easy to use, thus, require support.
  • A lot of functionalities to learn for new users.
The system can be used for basically any purpose in any business niche for creating reports. There are no limitations. Thus, if it's business, medicine, logistics, etc.. industry, the system can be extensively used for reporting purposes and highly effectively. The provided templates, as well as the possibility of creating the reports from scratch, can be chosen for reporting. The system can also be used for scheduled reporting which saves a lot of time according to your business needs.
Upgrading to the newer version required us to relink all the tables. However, on the initial stage, after creating and setting up the reports properly with linking, it was possible to refresh and fetch data from as many sources as we wanted from various different sources of the data. The easiest and well-manipulated function is that you can connect a report to as many data sources as you like.
Read this authenticated review
September 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Many custom reports are developed by our IT department to serve our various departments. At this time, it is largely used for legacy reporting and for personalized, highly formatted emails. Many of our older reports are written using Crystal Reports. We are gradually phasing out those reports and moving to SSRS.
  • Page formatting.
  • Query generation.
  • Capturing requests at runtime.
  • Connecting to the database is complex and error-prone.
  • Scripting is done in Visual Basic for Applications, and can be hard to debug.
  • Changing the database underneath it can lead to problems getting back in sync.
It can connect decently to an ODBC data source. If you need to create a highly formatted report, with a lot of graphics and careful field placement, it can do that well. On the other hand, if you are generating a run of the mill business report, you can do better with SQL Server Reporting Server.
It works for me when I have to pull data from SQL server. I do not have experience beyond this. I have not seen any examples of merging data from different data sources. It seems to support ODBC quite well.
Read this authenticated review
September 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal is mainly used by only 2-3 people within my company. It helps me tremendously tweak Viewpoint reports just enough to get them to include all the info we need when we need it. I have used Crystal at least once a day for almost 5 years now. If not every day, then at least once or twice a week. As far as our business problems that it helps address, it has helped us save a ton of money on not having to request custom reports through Viewpoint. We are able to take a canned report out of Viewpoint, add a new data line, or remove or even combine data to show it the way we need it. It has saved me a ton of time, and I would recommend it to anyone. I am excited to learn more about Crystal and how it can continue to help me grow and excel.
  • SAP Crystal is easy to use and easy to learn it makes pulling data out of Viewpoint easy and quick.
  • SAP Crystal has a ton of strengths when comparing weaknesses. One of its strengths is the speed of it. It pulls data super quickly.
  • SAP Crystal has a little room for improvement in combining data tables and making it a little less confusing.
Crystal reports are well suited for pulling information for a SQL database. It is also a platform that helps in the scenario of decision making.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP Crystal reports inside our BI reporting in SAP Business Objects. We have multiple reporting options inside the Analytics, and the usage we give to SAP Crystal reports it is to cover those "fixed" reports which need to have a corporative style to be sent in or out the organization.
  • Predefined Reports.
  • Corporate style guide.
  • Not for user to create the reports is a complex tool which needs IT assistance.
SAP Crystal reports are very well suited for the creation of fixed reports. In the case, your backend is an SAP BW system, and it provides you with standard connectivity to accelerate the report creation.
In our case, the source is SAP BW, which SAP Crystal reports do well. We have no other source, and so, I cannot give further light into the comparison.
Read this authenticated review
June 11, 2019
Frank Hunt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crystal reports help us to pull automatic reports out of various databases directly (without importing into Excel first and running pivot tables) and display relations in the data. As long as there is a common data field (a campaign ID, for example), the reports are done in seconds across all the connected data sources. This exact process used to take at least an hour when done manually.
  • Seamless parsing of data across different data sources.
  • Ability to create sub-records and drill-down feature for granular data analysis.
  • Complex queries or SQl statements are done in seconds.
  • The export of reports to Excel is very cumbersome and the results are difficult to format.
  • The design of reports and the graphical features (e.g. charts) feel quite rigid.
  • The learning curve for a non-programmer is incredibly steep, making Crystal a specialty tool.
Crystal reports is a great Business Intelligence tool for any midsize business that prefers to keep its data in-house instead of in the cloud. The learning curve for parsing data source and creating first reports could be a bit steep at the beginning, but then the cost savings are invaluable. The reports generated by Crystal are easily manipulated according to different requirements and further analyzed by the recipients.
The ability to seamlessly connect to multiple data sources (ODBC/OLE DB, Access, Excel, etc.) is the ultimate strength of Crystal reports. Almost any data source is accessible. Crystal pulls the data across the data sources in a much more meaningful way than is achievable by managing it by a 2-D tool like Excel.
Read Frank Hunt's full review
April 04, 2019
Rohit Narang | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crystal reports in our credit risk reporting function within the IFRS9 accounting standard to pick up specific delinquency reports at a customer level which needs to feed into disclosures on a quarterly basis. The idea is to receive canned reports by monitoring the amortization profile of customers and which goes as a feed to risk managers in creating early warning list by using specific credit utilization behavior.
  • Great visualization for static format & precise tasks: For presentation to senior management /ex-co/vendors where concise decisions need to be made, Crystal is a nice choice to slide data into presentable views.
  • Diverse data source connect: We have used it to write reports using data from DB2, SQL, Progress, Excel spreadsheets, XML data, Access, and Lotus Notes databases. It can also be used to join different database types together in one report.
  • It uses the "recurring bands" structure for page layout which is efficient and fungible for generating different types of reports. Crystal doesn't require that we set up a metadata layer before creating reports and provides direct access to tables and dimensions.
  • It is not very user-friendly for learning as during designs and debugging the error decryption is tedious and hard to figure out.
  • When using sub-reports embedded in the main reports for different views of the same data sourced from multiple tables, this makes the process crazy slow. This is annoying and needs severe improvements.
  • The visual capabilities need to seriously catch up with respect to market competitors. Security is also a concern at times while accessing data.
With department's organizations having precise and periodic (fixed data/views) requirements, it turns out to be a great tool for doing BAU (business as usual) reporting. During agile environments, where bespoke cuts of data are required or frequent changes are the need of the hour, the effort and skills going into designing reports is a serious trade-off since the availability of skilled resources are limited to other market BI tools.
It connects with a wide variety of sources ranging from the Lotus Notes database, OLE DB and also supports Java for integration with various modules. It's versatile in itself.
Read Rohit Narang's full review
February 27, 2019
Jane Kabochi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Crystal reports is an integrated business intelligence platform that allows users to write reports, display KPIs and other metrics from data preserved in your database. SAP Crystal is used by various departments in our organization such as research and development, operations and human resource departments. The software has streamlined our decision making process and it has helped us make meaning out of our preserved data.
  • Customer support is available 24/7 helping new users embrace and learn how to use the software efficiently.
  • The reports generated are usually in many formats from formulas, cross-tabs and sub-reports thereby helping us understand our data.
  • Can generate reports from data obtained from any virtual source
  • The one-time fee paid per user is a bit high and may discourage small and mid-sized companies with many users not to acquire the software.
  • A stable internet connection is required for the software to function well.
  • There is no free trial plan of the software and it ought to be available to help in piloting purposes.
SAP Crystal is a platform that helps in the scenario of decision making, forecasting and strategizing in a company where it will help provide and generate reports, metrics and KPI Insights that will inform and help in basing your decision. It will help ensure that your decision and forecasting solutions are empirical and informed by data and insights.
The reason for giving this rating is the ability of SAP Crystal to connect and collect data from any virtual source and this means that you do not need to have all of your data stored in a database. It may preserved from cloud, phone or even within your systems and SAP Crystal will connect to it and make a meaning from it hence become reliable and intuitive
Read Jane Kabochi's full review
October 16, 2018
Dell Stinnett-Christy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Crystal in a number of ways:
1. I answer a lot of questions about Crystal in online forums - the SAP Community forums as well as a few others.
2. I train our clients in how to use Crystal, not only the standard SAP classes, but also one I've created that walks through the most-asked questions from the forums and what their solutions are.
3. I personally use Crystal for a number of different tasks, including analyzing data when I do security reviews of clients' SAP BI Platform and SAP Crystal Reports Server systems.
  • In addition to linking together tables and views from the database in order to get data into your report, Crystal allows you to write your own SQL queries using an "Command". This feature allows for the use of very complex queries to get data for your reports.
  • Crystal can connect to MANY different types of databases. It has native connections available for a number of them, including Oracle, and will connect to almost anything else using either ODBC or (less common) JDBC.
  • Subreports, when used correctly, are a powerful feature for bringing additional data into a report.
  • There are SDK's available to integrate reporting into either .NET or Java applications and websites.
  • The option to export to Excel is very picky about report format to get a clean export. Once you know the tricks for setting up a report for this export, it's not hard to do, but it can be very tedious if the report has a lot of elements. This is the way it's been for years and SAP has indicated that it's not something that's going to be changed.
  • Crystal requires that a user knows how the data they're reporting on is configured in the database - it's not really suited for a "casual" user, but for someone with at least some technical skills in relation to databases. This is not something that can or should necessarily be changed, but it is something that potential users need to be aware of.
  • Other than new types of database connections, SAP has indicated that they will not be upgrading any functionality in "classic" Crystal. They instead have chosen to focus on upgrades to Crystal for Enterprise. The problem with that is that it requires the SAP BI Platform - either SAP BusinessObjects or SAP Crystal Reports Server.
  • One of the major things that's not being upgraded is the Charting libraries, which were last updated in the early 2000's, before SAP purchased Crystal. So, Crystal doesn't have newer chart types available.
I'm biased because I've used Crystal for so long and there's very little that I've needed to do that I haven't been able to do with it.

I particularly like being able to write my own queries instead of having Crystal write them for me. With this feature, I've been able to do some very complex reports this way. I could have done most of these reports by linking tables together in Crystal and using Crystal's filter and suppression features, but putting the logic in the query means that Crystal is processing less data so the report is faster.

Crystal is less suited for showing graphs, unless you just need very simple line or bar graphs. It's also not really suited to doing ad-hoc reporting for most users because it is more technical than some other reporting tools.
You can connect to almost any type of database that has an ODBC or JDBC connector. This includes real-time data sources.

Crystal is less adept at merging data from disparate data sources when those data sources are large because it will bring all of the data from each source into memory to merge it there which can cause high memory usage and a lot of disk IO as it swaps data into and out of its own temp files.
SAP doesn't actively support SAP Crystal Reports unless you have other SAP software, although good support is available from some SAP employees along with volunteers on the SAP Community site. (I'm one of the people who answer questions there...)
Read Dell Stinnett-Christy's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (112)
8.4
Customizable dashboards (99)
7.7
Report Formatting Templates (117)
8.1
Drill-down analysis (117)
7.5
Formatting capabilities (135)
8.1
Integration with R or other statistical packages (65)
7.3
Report sharing and collaboration (120)
8.2
Publish to Web (91)
8.3
Publish to PDF (133)
9.0
Report Versioning (95)
7.8
Report Delivery Scheduling (97)
8.4
Delivery to Remote Servers (52)
8.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (51)
7.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (76)
7.1
Predictive Analytics (42)
7.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (83)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (81)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (81)
8.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (40)
8.8
Responsive Design for Web Access (64)
7.9
Dedicated iOS Application (46)
7.1
Dedicated Android Application (42)
6.9
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (59)
7.6
REST API (8)
7.4
Javascript API (36)
7.0
iFrames (8)
7.1
Java API (36)
7.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (39)
7.0
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (31)
6.6

What is SAP Crystal?

SAP Crystal Reports and SAP Crystal Server are designed to help users create pixel-perfect, richly formatted, and dynamic reports from virtually any data source – delivered in dozens of export formats, in up to 24 languages. SAP Crystal Reports is a production reporting tool designed to turn almost any data source into interactive, actionable information that can be accessed offline or online, from applications, portals and mobile devices. SAP Crystal Server enables self-service access to reports, dashboards, and data exploration within a secure infrastructure.

SAP Crystal Features

BI Platform Features

Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer

Supported Data Sources Features

Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features

Has featureJavascript API
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

SAP Crystal Screenshots

SAP Crystal Videos (3)

SAP Crystal Downloadables

SAP Crystal Integrations

SAP Crystal Reports for Visual Studio, SAP Crystal Reports for Eclipse

SAP Crystal Competitors

SAP Crystal Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
SAP Crystal Reports 2020 64-Bit$495per single user license
Upgrade Version to SAP Crystal Reports 2020$295per single user license
SAP Crystal Reports 2016 32-Bit$495per single user license
SAP Crystal Server 2020 1 NUL$869per user license + first year maintenance to be added
SAP Crystal Server 2020 5 CAL$8,7445 concurrent users + first year maintenance to be added

* SAP Crystal Reports 2020 Viewer allows you to view static data within a SAP Crystal Reports file. * SAP Crystal Reports 2020 - Full version allows you to create powerful, richly formatted, and dynamic reports from virtually any data source, delivered in dozens of formats, in up to 28 languages. If you already have an older version of Crystal Reports, buy a license for SAP Crystal Reports 2020 - Upgrade at a discounted, upgrade price. * SAP Crystal Server 2020, 1 NUL includes 1 license of: SAP Crystal Reports 2020 - SAP Crystal Server 2020. * As an add-on to SAP Crystal Server 2020 1 NUL, SAP Crystal Server 2020 5 CAL allows you to support a wider, intermittent audience of end users, up to five logged on at the same time.

SAP Crystal Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

SAP Crystal Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Japanese, Spanish, Simplified Chinese, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Korean, Traditional Chinese, Portuguese, Swedish, Polish, Danish, Norwegian, Finnish, Thai, Czech, Hungarian, Slovakian, Turkish, Romanian, Slovenian

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SAP Crystal?

SAP Crystal is an analytics and reporting software solution for SMBs. SAP Crystal comprises Crystal Reports for pixel-perfect reporting, and SAP Crystal Server for automated distribution and self-service access to reports, dashboards and data exploration.

What is SAP Crystal's best feature?

Reviewers rate Publish to PDF highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses SAP Crystal?

The most common users of SAP Crystal are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.