OutSystems Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
171 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 122)

Christopher Fowers | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

First class lowcode experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently have one development team working with OutSystems for various internal and external facing products and we have hired an external team from DoItLean to develop a few of our products as well. All of them centered around payment processing for orthodontists and vets.
  • Developing end user interfaces with ease and speed with a modern look and feel.
  • First class low code development to reduce time to market with visual programming
  • Their technical support team is fast and responsive. We've yet to have any issues they could not resolve.
  • Currently there are few identity providers supported natively and out of the box however through the use of "Forge" plugins there are ways around this limitation.
  • The testing frameworks used by Outsystems are not fully backed by Outsystems. If they are going to champion this they should consider giving it full backing as they do with other community driven projects.
  • Documentation on how to implement CI/CD is rather sparse without requesting it directly from a customer service rep.
OutSystems excels with building web interfaces fast and lends itself to custom integrations written in .Net. Most anything can be brought in given this ability to be extended. One of the drawbacks to the speed of development is that most quality control teams become quickly overwhelmed and may be unable to keep up.
Read Christopher Fowers's full review
Nuno Lima | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Allows you to go fast and steady

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is actually being used across the whole organization. From the very start, we wanted to implement a web application that could support all business needs in our company from the very start (consultation, quotation, etc, all the way to worker reported hours and validation). In the end, we wanted our whole business to go through this application.
  • Scalability.
  • High paced development.
  • Integrated solution.
  • It's not flexible enough.
It allows you to develop an app from scratch in a matter of weeks/months, maintaining the required stability and allowing you to focus on companies' further needs instead of spending all your time in the developing stage.
Read Nuno Lima's full review
Victor van Well | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

OutSystems application management

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OutSystems as an addition to our SAP systems. We especially do web and app development in OutSystems with a connection to our SAP environment. The connection is both ways. The developments we've done have met their goals, and we were able to speed up the arrival and departure of the barge handling (inland waterway) process by about 40%.
The event manager we built in OutSystems was a big success, as we could extend the SAP functionality but also improved the process tremendously.
On other terminals, SAP is not used, but Navision. Our goal is to have our external web sides integrated with SAP in Navision. At this moment it's a big challenge.
  • Very good user interface. Easy and simple to use. We were able to make a website for external users, without giving them training or an explanation.
  • The ability to upload/download documents as transport papers and customs papers.
  • The ease of developing. Development really speeds us up, and is very simple.
  • The possibility to solve defects/do changes in a very short time.
  • We had very much trouble with synchronizing data between an app in the central database. We had to take into account that the app was temporarily not online. Data synchronization gave us a hard time.
  • Changing characteristics of data elements. E.g. if the length/name of a data element has to change, a new data element is created and we need to adjust all software using this data model.
The development of the user interface is possible without a complete backend. Informing business users on how it will work can be done before the complex logic is developed. It gives us a faster ability to discuss the business process.
Read Victor van Well's full review
Ricardo Monteiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Easy to use and maintain what you do

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is being used by Meivcore's IT department to develop an industry solution to modernize and make Meivcore's data and processes digital. Meivcore's core business is industrial maintenance and everything was done in paper. This had a lot of impact on the productivity in the company because they wasted a lot of time filling forms and checking data on paper. With the solution that we developed, we managed to make the workload a lot easier and helped with productivity and general happiness with our employees.
  • It's easy to maintain code.
  • You save a lot of time while using OutSystems.
  • As a developer, I would love to see a native solution for Service Studio in macOS.
OutSystems works great when you have little time and a lot to be done. OutSystems has a great community and has a lot of things already done in the Forge, so you don't have to implement everything yourself.
Read Ricardo Monteiro's full review
Nuno Miguel da C F Verdasca | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

OutSystems - The platform that builds the future today

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Low-Code technology from OutSystems is the main technology used by my organization. With it we help companies from different industries evolve their digital transformation journey, helping to create solutions that enhance the different usability experiences, both B2B and B2C.
  • It can put an application into production in less time than other technologies, ensuring good performance and safety.
  • It is a rapidly growing technology that has always available support to help its partners and customers no matter what the problem.
  • It seeks to innovate with each version, and is always looking for new solutions to everyday problems by adapting new trends and introducing them into their development platform.
  • I think the key point I would like to see improved would really be the issue of versioning. I think you can try to find a better solution to create versioning.
OutSystems is suitable for any web application, reactive or not, or even numerous mobile applications. Solutions can be obtained in a shorter time frame.

I think where I can say that it might be less appropriate, will be in mobile applications where you want very different things, with many effects being intruded. In OutSystems it turns out to be possible, but I think in these cases it is better to develop a native application. But be aware, today with OutSystems, you can develop great, and better, mobile applications.
Read Nuno Miguel da C F Verdasca's full review
Stefan Parijs | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

OutSystems -- a fairy tale that keeps on going

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It started small and now is used more throughout the complete organization, and with our customers and partners. It solves the need in time to market, and adapts to the changing environment. We are currently at the point of deciding to go full speed with OutSystems and build several components covering complete business processes and replacing legacy and technical debt systems.
  • Fast time to market.
  • Flexible.
  • Scalability.
  • A better user experience, and easier to work with.
  • It's easy to understand due to the modeling part.
  • License model.
  • Integrations with ie Kafka streams.
We started to use it to work out POC, then by supporting our entire business processes, and we will start replacing legacy systems (starting with small bits and bites). From my point of view, the complete system is well supported. OutSystems isn't the only system for creating and building POC. Therefore, comparatively, it is too expensive.
Read Stefan Parijs's full review
Dave Lardinois | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

Solid platform, helping companies with their digital ambitions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Driving innovation, building applications and services to address our customer's needs
  • Integration of internal applications
  • ERP modernization
  • Operational efficiency and process automation/improvement
  • Custom applications which replace off-the-shelf solutions with are not extensively used (reduce licensing costs)
We currently use OutSystems company wide, with the ambition to make it the core of our IT landscape. Over time we learned that OutSystems can be used for almost all business problems/questions.
  • Scalable: being a cloud native platform with great usability, scalability is almost unlimited.
  • Innovation, releasing new features: the platform keeps developing, you keep getting more value for your money.
  • Strong, solid technology. Performance has not been an issue so far at all
  • Great usability and easy to manage.
  • Adhering to the latest security standards.
  • Support desk response times. We had several occasions with non-critical issues where we had to wait more than a week to get a proper response.
The first thing to be mentioned is that you must be aware of the costs and know that you can afford it. While the alternatives to get the same outcome might be more expensive, OutSystems should fit the budget in order to maximize gains. It is well suited for companies which desire to innovate fast and are willing to invest (effort, money) in it.
Read Dave Lardinois's full review
Erik de Vos | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Great product

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OutSystems mostly for internal application development. Mostly administrative applications, but also applications that can be accessed from the outside. For example, applications that we use to promote our company at company-drinks and job markets. We use it, especially so that we can put together applications very quickly in an easy manner.
  • Quick development.
  • Great UX.
  • Easy to learn.
  • More ability for workarounds.
  • Easier integration of external components.
OutSystems is great for quick learning and easy implementation. It is not great for extensive and intrinsically difficult applications.
Read Erik de Vos's full review
Richard Ward | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Great for development

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using OutSystems as a rapid development toolset to allow us to fill gaps in our current ERP system. This is allowing us to significantly increase the speed of development and build our customer confidence level while also significantly improving the look and feel of our developments.
  • Rapid development allows developers to clear their backlogs easily.
  • Low code allows for a steep learning curve without the pain. I was fully functional within 2 months.
  • The look and feel of OutSystems applications are impressive. Especially when moving to mobile web apps.
  • The menu should automatically adjust to page rights rather than requiring manual adjustment.
  • Guidance over the integration of C# could be improved. Instructions were not that clear to me.
OutSystems is well suited for most application types where it does not have to interact with a legacy system that does not have API integration. OutSystems is extremely responsive however is not the best in the world for mass data manipulation.
Read Richard Ward's full review
Erik Hagen | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Becoming a real application engineer thanks to OutSystems

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've recently created a scrum team to create a new "client following system" using OutSystems. So for now it's just one department using OutSystems. Our old, legacy system does not serve our needs anymore and is not flexible at all. So with OutSystems we are building a new one from scratch. Two of us are new to OutSystems (and IT) and learned to use it in a few months. We hired three external experts to build and teach the juniors, so we could start building and delivering value immediately.
  • Being low-code, even people without any experience can start building with OutSystems immediately.
  • OutSystems has a great and very helpful community, giving advice and pre-build features to beginning engineers.
  • OutSystems is very flexible and easy to use; it enables us to build something useful within minutes.
  • Being relatively new in the IT world, I could use some kind of quick reference guide inside OutSystems (instead of going to the website or forum)
  • Filtering aggregates could perhaps be done in an easier way. I struggle with them, sometimes.
  • I'd like more pre-made layouts.
I think OutSystems is the ideal program to use when you want to work in a lean and agile way (and who doesn't want that?). OutSystems is easy to learn, flexible and highly intuitive. Even without any former IT experience, I was able to build and develop quality features for our new "client following system" within a few months, thanks to OutSystems being low-code.
Read Erik Hagen's full review
Richard Aviles | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

It's Good but...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The use of OutSystems at the bank is to move the Microsoft database to a more secure environment. Right now, it's used by one department. The problem that I have right now is reports. There is one forge called "Simple Reports" and that is very simple, however, if I want to build complex reports is does not forge correctly.
  • The creation of a web page is only drag and drop, it's amazing.
  • The creation of the database (Core) is very very simple with normalization of DB for better performance.
  • The improvement of the user is incredible.
  • I think they have room for improvement in reports like the "Crystal Report," for example.
I think it's appropriate in most places. Really, at this moment, I don't see where OutSystems it's going wrong. Have the scenarios trusted and the controls for one environment more secure. For our part, OutSystems is well suited for the best performance of our users, clients and people that interact with the system.
Read Richard Aviles's full review
Lennie Sutton | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

OutSystems Review by a satisfied user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the OutSystems platform to convert an existing legacy student system and satisfy a long list of backlog projects associated with that legacy system. It will primarily be used by staff, faculty, and students. It will enable students to register online and pay for registrations online. We are doing all of this with the help of one of OutSystem's partners GrovePath.
  • One can quickly create prototypes for an application and make changes to it. Because it is low code, much of the interaction with the developer is with graphical widgets. The scaffolding wizards are also very helpful.
  • Integrates very easily with both internal and external systems using their Integration Studio.
  • Tools are very intuitive to use and the plethora of training videos help the beginning developer to very quickly become acquainted with the Outsystems methodologies.
  • Some areas that I would have put here that have room for improvement are due to come out in Q1 2020: Things like making the workflow engine easier to use.
  • Being able to see all the modules and dependencies at a high level is also being addressed in Q1 2020. One can see at a glance which applications may be affected by changes to one re-useable module.
  • I would like to see a better and more consistent wizard for the creation of autocomplete fields. e.g. converting a dropdown to autocomplete.
  • I dislike the Active Object constraints with how they relate to pricing. I often feel I am having to sacrifice some of the ease of design to keep under the Active Object cap or be willing to pay the premium.
OutSystems is often promoted as being a system without limits. I admit, that I have had difficulty finding things that this platform cannot do. It is well suited for both big and small organizations with limited IT staff. OutSystems handles integrations well. The platform also accommodates tying in AI elements for both speech and video into your applications. You can save binary objects directly into the database, create complex workflows hiding most of the typical complexity from the citizen developer, easily create multi-lingual aware applications, and connect to external systems via API calls. They also offer on-premise and Saas solutions.
Read Lennie Sutton's full review
Robert Lathrop | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Great platform to help increase application delivery cadence

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use OutSystems for new development and legacy modernization. Helps reduce time to market.
  • Speeds development time
  • Simplifies the DevOps cycle
  • Increases developer productivity
  • Source control specifically branching and merging
  • Deployment options for web applications, specifically containerized deployments.
OutSystems is well suited in mobile and web application development and delivery and increasing delivery cadence. It is less suited as a solution for API management and integrations.
Read Robert Lathrop's full review
Timothy J. Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Convinced me that low-code really works at all the levels of complexity and delivery

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of the first projects that we're using OutSystems for is to accelerate our ability to deliver a modern user experience and retire a legacy system. We're using it in IT and will be building out a reusable framework that complements our security, privacy, performance, and compliance models.
  • Training, support, & ecosystem.
  • Ability to solve complex (not out of the box) problems, by allowing engineers to dig down to the lower level of code.
  • Micro-journey type experiences.
  • The ability for a developer to quickly deliver through the SDLC pipeline.
  • Standard (GIT-like) branching model, including feature-branching, multi-version support.
  • Team source code repository management (I would prefer integration to a proven product, not baked into it).
  • Complex workflow/business process modeling.
I guess you can just read the marketing literature & Gartner Magic Quadrant papers because they deliver on:
  1. Speed to Market
  2. Retiring Legacy Products
Read Timothy J. Morris's full review
Nuno Verdasca | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 31, 2019

OutSystems is on the way to the future

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is being used by most of the company. It is the core technology. OutSystems helps us create in-house solutions as well as solutions tailored to our customers' needs.
  • Development of an application in a short time.
  • Be aware of market needs and converge there.
  • More information and content for seniors.
  • Contents better explained.
OutSystems is well-suited for high-performance scenarios, or high graphic performance scenarios. It is always recommended to use native language.
Read Nuno Verdasca's full review
Steffen zander | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

OutSystems is great to use - even for a non-software developer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now we use it for prototyping. With this prototyping we do user research. We are working on using this product company-wide. The idea is that other departments can use it for app development or for internal communication.
  • Very easy to start using OutSystems.
  • Easy use of external APIs or to use JS
  • Even if your computer is lost or damaged you can continue working with another computer
  • Easy to test your apps
  • Synchronizing from the local storage to the server database
  • Implementation of other Code-snippets like Java or C
  • Debugging Server actions
I think in a real-time and embedded environment it is not appropriate to use OutSystems. For starting with mobile apps it is highly appropriate because it is so easy to get your first app.
Read Steffen zander's full review
Jos Rust | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

OutSystems feels like a warm bath

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using OutSystems as a strategic platform within our organization.

The following processes are managed within this system:
  • Ecommerce / Mobile app
  • Price calculation (sales and purchase)
  • Aftersales
  • Time to market
  • Low cost
  • Easy to use
  • Frontend HTML and CSS
  • Dutch voice support
  • Price of the product
For me personally it is the best system I ever worked with and also the OutSystems roadmap is filling our needs.
Read Jos Rust's full review
Cristina Dragomir | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Easy to use and learn

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is used for internal processes at the moment, using its own development team to design, create and deliver highly interactive and complex web and mobile applications.
  • Reusable nuggets of code and UI.
  • Good support and development community.
  • Easy to create mobile apps without being an expert in native mobile dev languages.
  • CSS styling and customizing of templates.
  • Better preview functionality in the development environment.
OutSystems is well suited for the quick development of medium to complex applications, as well as the quick transfer of knowledge of developers from other programming languages.
Read Cristina Dragomir's full review
Nils Nahooy | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

OutSystems Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using OutSystems to improve on our business processes company-wide. Starting by re-inventing our order portals for our sales partners worldwide and creating a safety portal to report on safety-related incidents. The time working with low-code saves our team can be re-invested into higher quality end-products and allows us to take on more projects while staying on the timeline and within budget.
  • Fast results.
  • Easy to learn, even for non-coding IT staff.
  • The thing that is currently missing, in my opinion, is wireframe and mock-up capabilities.
In our case, we had a fairly big backlog of smaller projects that kept on being ignored because there not being any time and or budget left for them. Thanks to OutSystems we can now finalize these projects within our timelines and budget.
Read Nils Nahooy's full review
Michael Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

A path to success!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is being implemented across the entire organization. It's rapid development capabilities are being utilized to fill gaps in our IT application abilities. We have currently developed applications for both public and internal consumption. It has allowed us to increase efficiencies and save money throughout several departments.
  • Customer Support - OutSystems is responsive and responds rapidly to issues.
  • Efficiency - OutSystems allows teams to accomplish greater amounts of work in a shorter time.
  • Rapid prototyping and bug resolution - Teams are able to adapt to customer demands quickly and respond to bugs in a more efficient manner.
  • Ability to manage the data within the service studio.
  • Ability to organize service studio modules by the project.
OutSystems has the ability to adapt to business customer needs on the fly. Rapid prototyping has allowed our business partners to receive a product that actually fulfills all of their business requirements.
Read Michael Adams's full review
Guillermo Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

OutSystems is a very good option

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is being used by the entire company to manage end-user developed applications.
  • It is very fast.
  • Easy to learn.
  • Very powerful.
  • A reporting tool is needed.
  • Support can be faster.
It works well with a wide range of applications, it depends on the expertise of the developer.
Read Guillermo Hernandez's full review
Armando Peimbert Trocino | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Great Low Code Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to deliver fast applications to our operation and point of sales.
  • Flexibility - great to reduce costs.
  • Scalability - it is very important to ensure support to the operation and business continuity
  • Easy to use, it is very simple and fast to deploy
  • Cost, it is a great tool based on the costs and value to the business
  • Time to market, it helped us to reduce time to deliver apps
  • Ease to use, help ease the administration and monitoring
  • Fast delivery applications, great to increase the user expirience
  • Reduced time to market is great
  • It is a little tricky to integrate legacy applications
Read Armando Peimbert Trocino's full review
Mari Pantoja-Smith, MSN-RN | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

OutSystems Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OS helped us develop a Neonatal Intensive Care Unit documentation tool specific to our providers. It is currently LIVE at an MVP phase to 3 of our sites. We have an old legacy application and OS is helping us modernize the application to ensure provider efficiency, quality and patient safety.
  • Customer experience.
  • Low code.
  • Customer engagement.
  • OS resource knowledge depth.
  • Flexibility in the UI, especially for healthcare documentation module.
  • Architecture design specific to the client.
  • Out of the BOX functionality limitations.
Not sure at this time.
Read Mari Pantoja-Smith, MSN-RN's full review
Daine Salmon Cert.APM | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

OutSystems Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Outsystems is being used as a rapid prototyping platform enabling us to fail quickly and often to determine the best course of action when trying to cater to business needs. It allows us to quickly develop and demo software/proof of concept to business stakeholders to gauge their appetite and make decisions on future implementation.
  • Streamlines processes.
  • Enables quick development.
  • Ease of adoption.
  • Training.
  • Flexibility.
  • Resources.
Outsystems is well suited for database-driven applications and client-facing apps that are required to handle a lot of data. Especially ones that require rapid development. Outsystems is well suited for database-driven applications and client-facing apps that are required to handle a lot of data. Especially ones that require rapid development.
Read Daine Salmon Cert.APM's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

OutSystems, easy and fast

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for specific user groups within our organization. The objective is for it to be used across the entire organization by creating a fully integrated Customer Portal.
At the moment, we use it for our drivers, for maintenance repairs, and for a select group of our customers. We have at the moment a fully functioning OutSystems applications within our company.
  • The rapidity.
  • The fact that you can easily make a good looking application.
  • The flexibility.
  • The vendor lock-in.
  • Maybe integrate better with the Apple store.
OutSystems is suited for any situation as long as the strategy is well thought of. The necessary sponsors within the company also all need to be convinced and aligned. It is very difficult to move forward if the entire team is not convinced by the solution that is being implemented, and the necessary freedom needs to be given to see the whole platform's potential.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (42)
8.0
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (42)
8.0
Platform Security (41)
7.8
Platform User Management (40)
7.4
Reusability (44)
7.9
Platform Scalability (41)
8.0

About OutSystems

OutSystems is designed to help users build enterprise-grade apps incredibly fast. The vendor says their low-code platform is ranked number one by Forrester. This solution lets users visually develop their entire application, easily integrate with existing systems, and add their own custom code when they need it.

OutSystems Features

Has featureVisual development environment, extensible with your custom code
Has featureIntegrate any existing system and database
Has featureDeploy to any device
Has featureNo technology lock-in
Has featureModel complex offline behavior
Has featureIntegrate native device capabilities (GPS, barcode, etc.)

OutSystems Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

OutSystems Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

OutSystems Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Web-based, Android, iPhone-iPad, Windows Phone, Mobile Web App
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Asia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Europe, Germany, India, Japan, Latin America, Mexico, Middle-East and Africa, United Kingdom, United States
Supported Languages: Arabic, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Taiwanese, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian