TrustRadius
The OutSystems Platform is a Platform-as-a-Service solution for rapid delivery of responsive web and mobile applications. It includes functionalities required to develop, deploy, manage and change web and mobile applications. It is targeted at the delivery of enterprise applications that require integration with backend systems, complex business rules and logic, usable interfaces and flexibility to change. It can be deployed in the cloud, on-premises or in hybrid environments.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ks/IF/SN525CFRJHL3.PNGEnterprise ready rapid application development for web and mobileOutSystems is being used as the mainstream development environment for our new product ranges of both web and mobile applications. We have a head count of between 15 and 20 developers and designers at any one time made up of both internal and external resources. Currently we are undergoing a project to rewrite a legacy product that was developed over a 30 year period.,Deployment management – OutSystems has a built in robust, multi-environment deployment system that helps ensures the clean and error free deployment of applications through the development, testing and production product lifecycle Rapid application development – Through the low code, graphical development environment you can develop applications far quicker than with more traditional development environments Cross platform mobile development – OutSystems handle the development and building of mobile application for both iOS and Android in a simple streamlined way that removes 90% of the problems normally associated with multi platform development,Price – The licensing model of OutSystems is very expensive and not suitable for small scale developments. This is offset by the time to develop and stability for larger scale developments Flexibility on PaaS version – The PaaS hosted version of OutSystems limits your flexibility to access the front end and backend database systems which can significantly restrict your options on high data volume developments or where anything requiring slightly out of the ordinary access is required Same price for PaaS and self-hosted system. Licensing model dictates that you pay the same price even when you host the system on your own hardware which effectively means you pay more to manage the infrastructure yourself,8,Significantly reduced time to market for both Mobile and Web applications Ability to upskill developers far quicker than with most development environments Enterprise grade infrastructure and hosting out of the box,JIRA Software, Atlassian Confluence, Skype for Business (formerly Lync)Outsystems - The future is hereOutSystems is being used in our company as a fast software delivery tool. With all the benefits of low code, we can develop enterprise, well designed and efficient apps that can respond to clients necessities. We can change and modify all that is needed as fast as the business grows. Overall, OutSystems fills the gap that always existed between the speed that companies evolve and the speed needed to develop software.,Development speed. Abstraction. Focus on business. Easy to modify and change. Great support and community.,OutSystems covers 99.99% of all necessities in enterprise and mobile development. That 0.01% we always can look up outside.,10,With OutSystems, all clients have a fast return on investment. You can have smaller development teams, work twice faster than in another web/mobile language. You can change and modify something needed by the business tree to four times faster than with other languages. Clients can have more accurate and precise app tools, with better User Interfaces and Users Experiences.,,Oracle Java SEBuild beautifull apps to do anything on any device fast, secure and leanOutSystems is used to do innovations and enable access to the massive outdated unsupported monolith system made in Oracle. 4-5 teams are working on this for over a year now.,Simply develop fast and deliver apps so you benefit with extreme short time to market. Maintainablility is even better compared to traditional development tools. Work on the same module simultaneously without losing code by useful compare and merge options. Well working staging / development tooling available in the form of Lifetime. Fast learning curve, especially for experienced developers bu also for complete newbies.,Come up with a license model for SME. Now only medium and large companies are in focus. The basic license is just too expensive. Introduce reporting tooling.,9,Like stated before until today there has been a huge boost delivering apps with little effort, but the benefits are declining if you just look at the financial side of it because of the ever-rising license costs. Apart from that The ROI is about 6 to 12 months in average.,Mendix and Betty BlocksBecoming a real application engineer thanks to OutSystemsWe've recently created a scrum team to create a new "client following system" using OutSystems. So for now it's just one department using OutSystems. Our old, legacy system does not serve our needs anymore and is not flexible at all. So with OutSystems we are building a new one from scratch. Two of us are new to OutSystems (and IT) and learned to use it in a few months. We hired three external experts to build and teach the juniors, so we could start building and delivering value immediately.,Being low-code, even people without any experience can start building with OutSystems immediately. OutSystems has a great and very helpful community, giving advice and pre-build features to beginning engineers. OutSystems is very flexible and easy to use; it enables us to build something useful within minutes.,Being relatively new in the IT world, I could use some kind of quick reference guide inside OutSystems (instead of going to the website or forum) Filtering aggregates could perhaps be done in an easier way. I struggle with them, sometimes. I'd like more pre-made layouts.,9,OutSystems helps us becoming agile. With OutSystems we can deliver value every two weeks instead of having to wait months for a new update.Fast developer with higher qualityIn our company we have a factory team that develops all types of applications for our customers. Our applications/customers are from all types of business so we don't have a specific business problem.,When we present a MVP to our customers most of the product is almost done. With the tool we can make a very fast product and with a very good quality. The development of and application web or mobile is very intuitive and very easy to implement. One example is our survey application: on the web part is the back-office to create the survey and the mobile is only to reply to that specific survey.,Sometimes we face some problems to integrate external applications in our outsystems product. A more specific problem I face as a developer is sometimes using custom javascript to be used in the product. One example is to simulate some actions in specific buttons can be tricky because how the action is built in the OutSystems flow.,8,Microsoft SQL Server
Windows, Linux, Mac, Web-based, Android, iPhone-iPad, Windows Phone, Mobile Web App
OutSystems
125 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

OutSystems Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
OutSystems
125 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 125 vetted OutSystems reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 80)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
John Williams profile photo
November 14, 2018

OutSystems Review: "Enterprise ready rapid application development for web and mobile"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is being used as the mainstream development environment for our new product ranges of both web and mobile applications. We have a head count of between 15 and 20 developers and designers at any one time made up of both internal and external resources. Currently we are undergoing a project to rewrite a legacy product that was developed over a 30 year period.
  • Deployment management – OutSystems has a built in robust, multi-environment deployment system that helps ensures the clean and error free deployment of applications through the development, testing and production product lifecycle
  • Rapid application development – Through the low code, graphical development environment you can develop applications far quicker than with more traditional development environments
  • Cross platform mobile development – OutSystems handle the development and building of mobile application for both iOS and Android in a simple streamlined way that removes 90% of the problems normally associated with multi platform development
  • Price – The licensing model of OutSystems is very expensive and not suitable for small scale developments. This is offset by the time to develop and stability for larger scale developments
  • Flexibility on PaaS version – The PaaS hosted version of OutSystems limits your flexibility to access the front end and backend database systems which can significantly restrict your options on high data volume developments or where anything requiring slightly out of the ordinary access is required
  • Same price for PaaS and self-hosted system. Licensing model dictates that you pay the same price even when you host the system on your own hardware which effectively means you pay more to manage the infrastructure yourself

OutSystems is extremely well suited where you require a fast time to market combined with a robust deployment process. It also provides enterprise grade redundancy and vertical scalability with SLA’s approaching those available with any other tier 1 application.

OutSystems is not well suited for small scale or “cheap” application due to it’s high “per object” licensing costs and minimum license fees.

Read John Williams's full review
Ricardo Pereira profile photo
December 22, 2018

User Review: "Outsystems - The future is here"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is being used in our company as a fast software delivery tool. With all the benefits of low code, we can develop enterprise, well designed and efficient apps that can respond to clients necessities. We can change and modify all that is needed as fast as the business grows. Overall, OutSystems fills the gap that always existed between the speed that companies evolve and the speed needed to develop software.
  • Development speed.
  • Abstraction. Focus on business.
  • Easy to modify and change.
  • Great support and community.
  • OutSystems covers 99.99% of all necessities in enterprise and mobile development. That 0.01% we always can look up outside.
OutSystems suits all medium to big enterprise businesses. Fast delivery, well-designed software and a focus on business.

It's the Holy Grail of enterprise software. Everything can be more dynamic, business and development are closer, and everything is much faster. Overall the final user experience it's much better. With this product, companies can save money, time, and have better results, thanks to better software solutions.
Read Ricardo Pereira's full review
Eric De Bruin profile photo
October 16, 2018

OutSystems Review: "Build beautifull apps to do anything on any device fast, secure and lean"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is used to do innovations and enable access to the massive outdated unsupported monolith system made in Oracle. 4-5 teams are working on this for over a year now.
  • Simply develop fast and deliver apps so you benefit with extreme short time to market.
  • Maintainablility is even better compared to traditional development tools.
  • Work on the same module simultaneously without losing code by useful compare and merge options.
  • Well working staging / development tooling available in the form of Lifetime.
  • Fast learning curve, especially for experienced developers bu also for complete newbies.
  • Come up with a license model for SME. Now only medium and large companies are in focus. The basic license is just too expensive.
  • Introduce reporting tooling.
If vendor software really suites your needs, it can be that you do not need OutSystems, but this is almost never the case. So almost always you can benefit from OS. And of course OS has to be careful not to make the platform too expensive, because then you are only working hard to compete and the great advantages no longer exist.
Read Eric De Bruin's full review
Erik Hagen profile photo
October 09, 2018

Review: "Becoming a real application engineer thanks to OutSystems"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've recently created a scrum team to create a new "client following system" using OutSystems. So for now it's just one department using OutSystems. Our old, legacy system does not serve our needs anymore and is not flexible at all. So with OutSystems we are building a new one from scratch. Two of us are new to OutSystems (and IT) and learned to use it in a few months. We hired three external experts to build and teach the juniors, so we could start building and delivering value immediately.
  • Being low-code, even people without any experience can start building with OutSystems immediately.
  • OutSystems has a great and very helpful community, giving advice and pre-build features to beginning engineers.
  • OutSystems is very flexible and easy to use; it enables us to build something useful within minutes.
  • Being relatively new in the IT world, I could use some kind of quick reference guide inside OutSystems (instead of going to the website or forum)
  • Filtering aggregates could perhaps be done in an easier way. I struggle with them, sometimes.
  • I'd like more pre-made layouts.
I think OutSystems is the ideal program to use when you want to work in a lean and agile way (and who doesn't want that?). OutSystems is easy to learn, flexible and highly intuitive. Even without any former IT experience, I was able to build and develop quality features for our new "client following system" within a few months, thanks to OutSystems being low-code.
Read Erik Hagen's full review
Sérgio Duarte profile photo
November 13, 2018

OutSystems Review: "Fast developer with higher quality"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we have a factory team that develops all types of applications for our customers.
Our applications/customers are from all types of business so we don't have a specific business problem.
  • When we present a MVP to our customers most of the product is almost done. With the tool we can make a very fast product and with a very good quality.
  • The development of and application web or mobile is very intuitive and very easy to implement. One example is our survey application: on the web part is the back-office to create the survey and the mobile is only to reply to that specific survey.
  • Sometimes we face some problems to integrate external applications in our outsystems product.
  • A more specific problem I face as a developer is sometimes using custom javascript to be used in the product. One example is to simulate some actions in specific buttons can be tricky because how the action is built in the OutSystems flow.
I think OutSystems can be applied to every scenario, everything depends how the business wants the product.
Read Sérgio Duarte's full review
No photo available
September 25, 2018

User Review: "OutSystems ROCKS OUT LOUD!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

OutSystems has become the core platform for two different start-ups that I did in the past 3 years. At first, we needed a revolutionary way to create new innovative solutions & products at a speed never seen before. These new products needed to go from idea to market in weeks not months.
Enhancements need to rollout in days not weeks. Specifically, the products and services we created are B2C and B2B for Dental & Vision financial products and healthcare provider customers.

As we had amazing success creating products & services for our B2B2C customers, we then decided to forego SaaS-based Sales, Service, and B2B On-boarding and we built it ourselves using the pre-build sales & cases apps (from OutSytems) and the BPM capability in OutSystems for B2B On-boarding.

In short - at the startup that I did, we are using OutSystems as the core for the entire business and integrating it with 3rd party services like Office 365, Google G-Suite, RingCentral, etc.

  • Skip prototyping phase - we create very quick designs that actually use our brand standard experiences and connect to real or stub services directly in OutSystems. We've found we co-create in OutSystems. The result is our "prototypes" are really 1st release candidates.
  • SWAGGER 2.0 - AWESOME! If you have access to swagger APIs, integration is so very simple, fast, and robust. Click click click - done! Then the swagger API looks just like any other module that your app needs to access.
  • Web, Mobile-Web, and Native all in ONE platform. We all have heard the dream and promise of "write once, run everywhere." OutSystems is the closest I have ever seen us come to that vision in almost 30 years in software. We truly have ONE module for Web & Mobile web (all responsive out of the box with SilkUI). We truly have ONE module for both Android and iOS thanks to the ReactJS-based solution from OutSystems.
  • LOW-CODE Heaven: No longer to we spend our life slinging code. Now, the OutSystems "robots" generate all the code for us. I will say it's super clean too. I tried to hand-build code that runs faster... I couldn't. On average, OutSystems generated code was 40% faster than mine both on the .NET and SQL side.
  • This is a hard one - I'd say continue to expand support and integration of micro-services. It's come a long way and certainly works - but keep on pouring the gas on micro-services as it's a huge part of our ecosystems.

It's excellent as a "swiss army knife" for creating everything from high-end native mobile apps to responsive web apps and even headless API services.

The built-in BPM is a good general purpose solution if you need it embedded in your apps. However, if you have extremely complex and large-scale BPM needs that span large organizations, you may want to consider a specialized BPM and have OutSystems create the user experience and connect into the 3rd-party BPM.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

OutSystems Review: "Let`s make things simpler and keep the journey"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OutSystems in one of our 3 Business Units. We now have quickly reached 25 Apps built and deployed. We have a couple of hundred users and interface with SAP and several other legacy systems. We also switched from our Waterfall mindset to Agile and started building an internal offshore team of developers. So far we believe we have a good start in our Digital Transformation Journey.
  • Rapid Development
  • Flexibility
  • Excellent UI and UX
  • Good DEVOPS tools
  • SDLC and SSDLC clear alignment would be good
  • Containers
  • Gold client capabilities
OutSystems can be very useful in making UI and UX better through current ERP processes ... Also fast and easy to maintain and use throughout several platforms. Also we can get the internal team really quickly up to speed thru OutSystems training program (and for free.) However, I would not recommend OutSystems to be used on a large systems with several process included
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

OutSystems Review: "Easy to start, hard to master, but better than most RAD tools."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for building one of our product's module, where we changed the provider a few years ago and rebuilt it using Outsystems.
  • Time to market
  • Fast to integrate with other softwares
  • API enabled allowing you to expand the software
  • Easier than code
  • Managing the Database. Sometimes it crashes when you remove a populated column (what it should) but it should also try to truncate it first and then remove it. Same happens when you change a column type or name.
  • The BPM sometimes takes time to start and you don't know what's is hanging there.
OutSystems is well suited for RAD (Rapid Application Development) where you'll need to integrate with legacy systems and build screens. It's less suited when you have a streaming data flow or when you are talking about Hadoop connections or Kafka, where there is no straightforward way of connecting into these. Also the performance should be considered for Big Data flows.
Read this authenticated review
Lee Penning profile photo
April 19, 2018

Review: "OutSystems, easy to use and yet very powerful."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Collabworks has developed a SaaS product (Framework) using the OutSystems software. The Framework product was created to help companies to maximize the use of their worker's talent. The framework has been used by companies with offices around the world. The OutSystems product allows Collabworks to use the agile development process to reduce development time.
  • They allow their customers to share information about issues and fixes to reduce downtime and obtain a wider view of the capabilities of the products through a customer posting section on the OutSystems website.
  • OutSystems also holds conferences during the year at different locations making it easier for customers to interact and openly discuss what they have learned and how they have used the product.
  • OutSystems also has resources that can be contracted to help a company get started using their products very quickly.
  • Because OutSystems is growing so quickly it can be hard to get business questions, (contract issues, availability date), answered quickly.
  • It is sometimes difficult to find employees with OutSystems product experience.
Quick development of applications that can make information flow faster. This means using data collected by existing products and presenting the data in a different format. It can also be used to create easier ways to input data into older existing systems for processing. Exporting from an existing system and formatted that data into Excel spreadsheets are some of the basics.
Read Lee Penning's full review
Stefan Piskorski profile photo
May 17, 2018

OutSystems Review: "Rapid build and painless deploy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rapid build and ease of deploy of mobile stock control and BI apps, integrating with ERP and used internationally.
  • Rapid build
  • Ease of deploy
  • Intuitive flow based IDE
  • Can get Base level of dev skills quickly
  • Expert support required (supplied as part of the purchase)
  • Requires considered cost-benefit analysis before purchase
  • The platform has vast capabilities, requires external expertise to get up to speed
Suited to rapid mobile dev, dashboard style BI apps. Not so suited to flexible complex data filtering.
Read Stefan Piskorski's full review
Luis Filipe Oliveira profile photo
January 31, 2018

OutSystems Review: "One of the best software to build fast applications"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use outsystems to develop our applications. Right now we have several teams developing the applications. Outsystems is only used by the developer team. It is helping us develop fast code, in a small sprint (2 weeks). Thanks to Outsystems we can have this low time frame, develop a lot of code, including bug fixing and new features.
  • Fast code
  • Working with big teams (merging the code)
  • Fast deployment
  • Doesn't have a Mac application, only Windows
  • The licensing could be lower, for small projects/clients
Outsystems could fit small projects, but due to the licensing prices it could be expensive (this is the only cons I could see). We can have outsystems under Windows and Linux, and we are saving the information in Microsoft SQL Server or in a DB Oracle. How fast we can develop an application, is fantastic. We can develop applications in a couple of minutes
Read Luis Filipe Oliveira's full review
João Inácio profile photo
September 28, 2017

OutSystems Review: "Beyond High Level Languages"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The platform is being used to solve complex and simple projects, across different departments in the organisation. Basically, we are addressing all types of problems that come across. Whether the need is web or mobile.
  • Complex logic that is easy to read
  • Code easy to debug and mantain
  • Fun to use and easy to learn
  • One of the aspects that have been evolving and I think where there is still much to be done, are improvements related to developing and maintaining CSS classes. It is not possible to merge CSS files, some styles are not well interpreted by the IDE; even the creation of new CSS classes could be improved.
  • Another aspect I would like to see improve is lifetime performance, and also more features like new analytics performance and adoption metrics.
If your business is needing new applications to be delivered fast, whether they are web or mobile, the Outsystems platform is the best choice for low code. The scenarios where it is less appropriate are the ones with low budgets since the licensing prices are not appealing.
Read João Inácio's full review
João Réquio profile photo
September 21, 2017

Review: "OutSystems is expensive but is Worth every cent."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
My company uses OutSystems technology in other to implement faster and better applications for our customers.
  • Integration with other systems
  • Business processes
  • Responsive layouts
  • Mobile applications is still an area that is new for OutSystems, and some improvements are still needed here.
OutSystems is well suited to building integrations with other applications like SAP, and Salesforce.
Read João Réquio's full review
Diogo Mota profile photo
September 21, 2017

"OutSystems review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my company we develop OutSystems solutions for our clients, implementing B2B and B2C portals with integrations to multiple external sources. We currently face the challenge of bringing digital transformation to our clients. With OutSystems we are able to rapidly implement valuable applications in order to improve our client experience.
  • Rapid development
  • Work with teams
  • Integrations
  • Low code
  • Mobile apps debug
  • Publishing time
B2B and B2C portals and overall enterprise applications.
Read Diogo Mota's full review
João Santos profile photo
September 21, 2017

User Review: "Outsystems today"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using OutSystems as a platform to develop mobile and web apps in our two industries, Financial Services and PSUR. We use it to develop B2B and B2B products. OutSystems addresses the difficulties our clients experience in getting multi-platform apps developed quickly.
  • SAP integration since it's easy to implement methods.
  • SOAP and REST for the same reasons as SAP
  • Low Code
  • OutSystems takes too long to deploy solutions across environments.
  • Mobile patterns
  • Mobile plugins
OutSystems is well suited to develop apps that integrate with ERP or CRM, especially SAP. Is well suited for apps that function as core business. It's a bit more difficult to use OutSystems for B2C mobile apps.
Read João Santos's full review
Nuno Miguel Jorge profile photo
September 21, 2017

"Outsystems review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The OutSystems platform is used across the company and addresses all the major departments and business lines. I has been implemented to reduce .NET implementations because it is more agile, it reduces time to market, and also reduces the number of developers required to deliver all the projects in which we are involved.
  • Agile implementation with less code
  • Short time to market
  • Complex implementation and architeture made easy
  • Easiest css and style guide
  • More assets for mobile
  • Better scripting for BD
Is well suited for scenarios where the complexity is significant, such as the insurance business. But i think that in scenarios with "big data" this is not an appropriate to process the large amounts of data needed by some kinds of business.
Read Nuno Miguel Jorge's full review
Miguel Correia profile photo
September 21, 2017

OutSystems Review: "Newbie loving the experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our department to build applications that the entire organization uses to cover our retail stores in sales. It's also used for the life of our product since it is designed to production; for SAP integration, to book flights, serve the POS, and some other utilities that cover company needs.
  • Simplicity
  • Agility
  • Ease to Learn
  • Interoperability
  • Customization
  • Quickness in the app
[It's well suited] To big companies, that need quick results. It is good if you need to have your team of programmers without needing a lot of time to learn the app. It's easy to learn and very intuitive. I don't think it suits the needs of small companies with low capital power due to its price.
Read Miguel Correia's full review
Jose Miguel Dias Fernandes profile photo
September 21, 2017

Review: "OutSystems! One of the best FastAppDevelopment tools"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use outsystems for an app to track medical assets (human resources, medicines, etc). Thanks to the easy charts we also use it to create reports.
  • Very fast app development
  • WebServices abstraction
  • No need to maintain BD
  • Very limited UI. If you want something that doesn't already exist in OutSystems it's very hard to implement
  • Apps that don't require controls other than those from outsystems.
  • It's also a good choice to quickly develop prototypes.
Read Jose Miguel Dias Fernandes's full review
Erik Molendijk profile photo
September 20, 2017

User Review: "The OutSystems Way"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As a partner, we implement and deliver projects on the OutSystems Platform. It helps our customers to change and digitize their business quickly. The low code platform makes it easy to build, integrate and change functionality in a visual way. This includes the high capacity mobile apps that can also be created with the platform.
  • Low code makes it really fast and visual.
  • Version and deployment management out of the box.
  • Great patterns and solutions available to be re-used and adapted to the [business] needs.
  • Mobility is done by using Cordova. It has great functionality, but sometimes you need to have more interaction with the device
Well suited for both small size implementations and enterprises.
Read Erik Molendijk's full review
Alexandra Bento profile photo
September 19, 2017

"OutSystems will accelerate your World"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For the project I am currently working on, Outsystems will be used for more than one department. The base idea is to migrate old applications into Outsystems and modernize all the business concepts.
  • End user's API is developed more quickly in Outsystems.
  • Business processes are well handled by Outsystems.
  • Agile concept.
  • Timers may be handled in another way. Sometimes when there are problems, it seems that the timer is still running but actually it's not. The Service Center should be improved to give more options and feedback about the times when it is still running or allow users to stop timers.
  • It would be an improvement if I could set up a timer to run more than 3 times from the service center.
  • The entities are accessed directly from the web screens, it should have another concept that abstracts it. Instead of entities, another technical element like 'view' should automatically be created. With this new technical element, only 'view' is used in he web screen preparation.
I recommend to build websites or mobile applications.
Read Alexandra Bento's full review
Gonçalo Varela profile photo
September 19, 2017

User Review: "OutSystems got me!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Outsystems is one of the major platforms used by my company and it's used to provide benefits to our customers through application development in all areas focusing majorly in pharma and healthcare.
  • Ease of integration.
  • Fast development and generation of apps.
  • Eye-appealing widgets.
  • Very good support and community.
  • Debugging in mobile
  • Massive assignments mapping deletion
Outsystems is very well suited not only for web but also for mobile applications, and also integrating with other systems.
Read Gonçalo Varela's full review
Niel Malan profile photo
September 19, 2017

OutSystems Review: "Deliver Business Value in Days"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As an OutSystems partner, we also use the software to optimise internal business activities. We've found the agility and flexibility truly transformative in the way it allows us to adapt the business and help customers adapt their businesses.
  • Single platform for Web, IOS and Android development.
  • The platform allowed us to give analysts the ability to develop the solution directly.
  • Application lifecycle management no longer requires dedicated people.
  • The pricing and metrics around which the platform is priced is expensive and not suitable for all project types.
  • The development interface does not work on MacOS, and requires you to run a Windows Virtual Machine.
  • Installing the on-premise software is relatively complex.
OutSystems is best suited to enterprise customers, where it can solve business problems that have a substantial value associated and would require 3+ developers to solve, as well as ongoing maintenance, evolution, and support.
Read Niel Malan's full review
Vasco Mendes profile photo
September 19, 2017

Review: "OutSystems - Easy to deploy with string capabilities"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work in a banking organization where we use Outsystems in the credit branch. It integrates with the core systems of the bank, taking care of heavy duty information processes, and managing customer credit accounts, using the great user interface.
  • Great user interface, accessible via mobile and web applications.
  • Easy communication with other core systems, making it a really good option to interact with older systems. This gives them a great lift up with the Outsystems user interface.
  • It is very easy to transform business cases in technology.
  • Great database management.
  • Strong community where problems can be addressed
  • In mobile applications, it should be more easy to integrate with existing browser capabilities.
  • It should be easier to move entities and business processes across different applications.
  • Should provide more testing capabilities, like, an easy way test business actions without having to publish.
Scenarios where business is very important and where the final customer wants to be involved in the development. Also very good for fast sprints delivery, where the customer can quickly interact with the application. Errors can be very fast to correct in production, without impacting other applications in the customer's infrastructure.
Read Vasco Mendes's full review
Vitor Cosme profile photo
September 18, 2017

User Review: "My Experience with OutSystems"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Deloitte, we provide consulting services to other companies and, for some of them, we use OutSystems as our main implementation technology. We have projects that focus [not] only on front ends, but also, projects that use OutSystems functionalities to integrate with core and legacy applications. It is used by several departments inside the organization.
  • The out-of-the-box functionality that processes a SOAP endpoint is very useful.
  • The functionality of using one application as a dependency of others.
  • The low code functionalities.
  • Projects that use native cordova plugins sometimes have lots of conflicts generating native mobile apps.
  • The merging system when working with other developers.
  • The customization system has to be more extendable to other non out-of-the-box features.
In my opinion, OutSystems is a major advantage when integrating with legacy systems inside organizations. Using the 4LC approach and micro services, it kind of gets really easy to work with integration. When customization is the word, OutSystems can be kind of a drawback when "time" is the major word of the project.
Read Vitor Cosme's full review
Bruno Fonte profile photo
September 18, 2017

Review: "OutSystems, give it a try before your competition does"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I have helped several organizations, both as an inside resource and as a consultant, changing their development approach to low-code. I've addressed both simple enterprise apps and complex systems with integrations. All with success and unbeatable time to market.
  • Unbeatable speed, with a special focus on deployment (not just on coding), DevOps and response to change requests.
  • Unbreakable. Really, you'll have to put in a big effort to get it to break.
  • Happy, motivated team that always says "Yes!" when something new comes up!
  • Integration Studio (one of the IDE components) needs a revamp.
  • The platform is too server centric, should evolve to containers so it could go more easily to private cloud.
  • The licensing model is a bit overwhelming for some smaller companies that need to get their use cases really valuable.
Any case, really! From B2B, B2C portals and apps, mission critical systems, legacy update, ... just give it a try!...
Read Bruno Fonte's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (1)
9.1
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (1)
8.2
Platform Security (1)
9.1
Platform User Management (1)
8.2
Reusability (1)
9.1
Platform Scalability (1)
9.1

About OutSystems

OutSystems is designed to help users build enterprise-grade apps incredibly fast. The vendor says their low-code platform is ranked number one by Forrester. This solution lets users visually develop their entire application, easily integrate with existing systems, and add their own custom code when they need it.

OutSystems Features

Has featureVisual development environment, extensible with your custom code
Has featureIntegrate any existing system and database
Has featureDeploy to any device
Has featureNo technology lock-in
Has featureModel complex offline behavior
Has featureIntegrate native device capabilities (GPS, barcode, etc.)

OutSystems Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

OutSystems Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

OutSystems Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Web-based, Android, iPhone-iPad, Windows Phone, Mobile Web App
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Asia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Europe, Germany, India, Japan, Latin America, Mexico, Middle-East and Africa, United Kingdom, United States
Supported Languages: Arabic, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Taiwanese, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian