OutSystems Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
170 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (51-75 of 121)

Luis Filipe Oliveira profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use outsystems to develop our applications. Right now we have several teams developing the applications. Outsystems is only used by the developer team. It is helping us develop fast code, in a small sprint (2 weeks). Thanks to Outsystems we can have this low time frame, develop a lot of code, including bug fixing and new features.
  • Fast code
  • Working with big teams (merging the code)
  • Fast deployment
  • Doesn't have a Mac application, only Windows
  • The licensing could be lower, for small projects/clients
Outsystems could fit small projects, but due to the licensing prices it could be expensive (this is the only cons I could see). We can have outsystems under Windows and Linux, and we are saving the information in Microsoft SQL Server or in a DB Oracle. How fast we can develop an application, is fantastic. We can develop applications in a couple of minutes
Read Luis Filipe Oliveira's full review
Stefan Piskorski profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rapid build and ease of deploy of mobile stock control and BI apps, integrating with ERP and used internationally.
  • Rapid build
  • Ease of deploy
  • Intuitive flow based IDE
  • Can get Base level of dev skills quickly
  • Expert support required (supplied as part of the purchase)
  • Requires considered cost-benefit analysis before purchase
  • The platform has vast capabilities, requires external expertise to get up to speed
Suited to rapid mobile dev, dashboard style BI apps. Not so suited to flexible complex data filtering.
Read Stefan Piskorski's full review
João Inácio profile photo
September 28, 2017

Beyond High Level Languages

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The platform is being used to solve complex and simple projects, across different departments in the organisation. Basically, we are addressing all types of problems that come across. Whether the need is web or mobile.
  • Complex logic that is easy to read
  • Code easy to debug and mantain
  • Fun to use and easy to learn
  • One of the aspects that have been evolving and I think where there is still much to be done, are improvements related to developing and maintaining CSS classes. It is not possible to merge CSS files, some styles are not well interpreted by the IDE; even the creation of new CSS classes could be improved.
  • Another aspect I would like to see improve is lifetime performance, and also more features like new analytics performance and adoption metrics.
If your business is needing new applications to be delivered fast, whether they are web or mobile, the Outsystems platform is the best choice for low code. The scenarios where it is less appropriate are the ones with low budgets since the licensing prices are not appealing.
Read João Inácio's full review
Erik Molendijk profile photo
September 20, 2017

The OutSystems Way

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As a partner, we implement and deliver projects on the OutSystems Platform. It helps our customers to change and digitize their business quickly. The low code platform makes it easy to build, integrate and change functionality in a visual way. This includes the high capacity mobile apps that can also be created with the platform.
  • Low code makes it really fast and visual.
  • Version and deployment management out of the box.
  • Great patterns and solutions available to be re-used and adapted to the [business] needs.
  • Mobility is done by using Cordova. It has great functionality, but sometimes you need to have more interaction with the device
Well suited for both small size implementations and enterprises.
Read Erik Molendijk's full review
Alexandra Bento profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For the project I am currently working on, Outsystems will be used for more than one department. The base idea is to migrate old applications into Outsystems and modernize all the business concepts.
  • End user's API is developed more quickly in Outsystems.
  • Business processes are well handled by Outsystems.
  • Agile concept.
  • Timers may be handled in another way. Sometimes when there are problems, it seems that the timer is still running but actually it's not. The Service Center should be improved to give more options and feedback about the times when it is still running or allow users to stop timers.
  • It would be an improvement if I could set up a timer to run more than 3 times from the service center.
  • The entities are accessed directly from the web screens, it should have another concept that abstracts it. Instead of entities, another technical element like 'view' should automatically be created. With this new technical element, only 'view' is used in he web screen preparation.
I recommend to build websites or mobile applications.
Read Alexandra Bento's full review
Gonçalo Varela profile photo
September 19, 2017

OutSystems got me!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Outsystems is one of the major platforms used by my company and it's used to provide benefits to our customers through application development in all areas focusing majorly in pharma and healthcare.
  • Ease of integration.
  • Fast development and generation of apps.
  • Eye-appealing widgets.
  • Very good support and community.
  • Debugging in mobile
  • Massive assignments mapping deletion
Outsystems is very well suited not only for web but also for mobile applications, and also integrating with other systems.
Read Gonçalo Varela's full review
Niel Malan profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As an OutSystems partner, we also use the software to optimise internal business activities. We've found the agility and flexibility truly transformative in the way it allows us to adapt the business and help customers adapt their businesses.
  • Single platform for Web, IOS and Android development.
  • The platform allowed us to give analysts the ability to develop the solution directly.
  • Application lifecycle management no longer requires dedicated people.
  • The pricing and metrics around which the platform is priced is expensive and not suitable for all project types.
  • The development interface does not work on MacOS, and requires you to run a Windows Virtual Machine.
  • Installing the on-premise software is relatively complex.
OutSystems is best suited to enterprise customers, where it can solve business problems that have a substantial value associated and would require 3+ developers to solve, as well as ongoing maintenance, evolution, and support.
Read Niel Malan's full review
Vasco Mendes profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work in a banking organization where we use Outsystems in the credit branch. It integrates with the core systems of the bank, taking care of heavy duty information processes, and managing customer credit accounts, using the great user interface.
  • Great user interface, accessible via mobile and web applications.
  • Easy communication with other core systems, making it a really good option to interact with older systems. This gives them a great lift up with the Outsystems user interface.
  • It is very easy to transform business cases in technology.
  • Great database management.
  • Strong community where problems can be addressed
  • In mobile applications, it should be more easy to integrate with existing browser capabilities.
  • It should be easier to move entities and business processes across different applications.
  • Should provide more testing capabilities, like, an easy way test business actions without having to publish.
Scenarios where business is very important and where the final customer wants to be involved in the development. Also very good for fast sprints delivery, where the customer can quickly interact with the application. Errors can be very fast to correct in production, without impacting other applications in the customer's infrastructure.
Read Vasco Mendes's full review
Vitor Cosme profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Deloitte, we provide consulting services to other companies and, for some of them, we use OutSystems as our main implementation technology. We have projects that focus [not] only on front ends, but also, projects that use OutSystems functionalities to integrate with core and legacy applications. It is used by several departments inside the organization.
  • The out-of-the-box functionality that processes a SOAP endpoint is very useful.
  • The functionality of using one application as a dependency of others.
  • The low code functionalities.
  • Projects that use native cordova plugins sometimes have lots of conflicts generating native mobile apps.
  • The merging system when working with other developers.
  • The customization system has to be more extendable to other non out-of-the-box features.
In my opinion, OutSystems is a major advantage when integrating with legacy systems inside organizations. Using the 4LC approach and micro services, it kind of gets really easy to work with integration. When customization is the word, OutSystems can be kind of a drawback when "time" is the major word of the project.
Read Vitor Cosme's full review
Bruno Fonte profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I have helped several organizations, both as an inside resource and as a consultant, changing their development approach to low-code. I've addressed both simple enterprise apps and complex systems with integrations. All with success and unbeatable time to market.
  • Unbeatable speed, with a special focus on deployment (not just on coding), DevOps and response to change requests.
  • Unbreakable. Really, you'll have to put in a big effort to get it to break.
  • Happy, motivated team that always says "Yes!" when something new comes up!
  • Integration Studio (one of the IDE components) needs a revamp.
  • The platform is too server centric, should evolve to containers so it could go more easily to private cloud.
  • The licensing model is a bit overwhelming for some smaller companies that need to get their use cases really valuable.
Any case, really! From B2B, B2C portals and apps, mission critical systems, legacy update, ... just give it a try!...
Read Bruno Fonte's full review
aravind vendelly profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Outsystems to migrate Lotus Notes applications. So far we are using it for our projects, billing and finance apps. We are also working on extending it to other departments. It is being used by an entity of our company (4000 users).
  • Very good user experience and UI
  • Faster to develop
  • Enterprise grade full-stack system
  • Integration with other products
  • Releasing updates faster
  • Very well suited for web and mobile apps
  • Not a good document management system
Read aravind vendelly's full review
Amal Raj profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
OutSystems is being used to develop internal applications for HR & Appraisals. We are also developing software for our customers in the energy sector. The problem we are trying to address is to migrate applications in older technologies to enterprise web apps and mobile apps using the OutSystems low code platform.
  • Extremely fast to prototype ideas.
  • Develop beautiful user experiences with very little efforts.
  • Integrate very well with legacy applications.
  • The licensing model is complicated.
  • Developer community in our region is limited.
  • More UI widgets for mobile.
More appropriate for enterprise web & mobile apps with offline capabilities and also integrating to third-party systems like SAP, Salesforce, Dynamics CRM etc. Applications that have frequent changes from the business are also best suited to be modeled using OutSystems platform.

OutSystems platform is not that well suited for gaming kinds of applications, augmented reality apps, or intensive 3D Graphics kinds of apps.
Read Amal Raj's full review
Tiago de Freitas Leal profile photo
September 18, 2017

Easy and Simple

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is used across the company but mainly in manufacturing area. It gives support to the business in Angola and Portugal.
  • Usability
  • Simple to configure
  • Ability to solve problems
  • Change management is improved with OutSystems
  • OutSystems is a bit challenging for new users.
It can be used successfully by non-technical personnel as is quite easy to use on a daily basis. It takes about one year of experience before users can crated more complex programs.
Read Tiago de Freitas Leal's full review
Debasis Sahoo profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used this tool for developing and managing the business needs of the automotive industry across the US and Canada. This is an awesome tool being perfect in the sense of usability. Graphical programming is easy to use and implement. As the category suggests, it is a low code platform, so can be very effective in terms of quick development and delivery. In short, it’s the perfect tool if you are following the agile methodology.
  • Very easy to create and use tables (we are using Oracle on the backend).
  • Creating and using web services is very effective (doesn't matter if you are exposing or consuming web services).
  • Creating a mobile application is so easy and fast.
  • License costing is a bit high, but again value for money.
  • Solution deployment time is a bit high.
[It's] very effective for web applications that require an immediate solution.
Read Debasis Sahoo's full review
Nuno Reis profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my previous organization, it was used by almost the entire company with several different websites, each having from ten or twenty to hundreds of users. Some of the sites were made for convenience, some were business critical. I was the sole internal OutSystems developer at the company and only the OutSystems Platform allowed the speed and flexibility needed to keep up with the business requirements.

On a personal level, I developed a survey-like Facebook app for my master degree thesis because it was fast, easy and I was familiar and comfortable with the technology.
  • Integration with external systems like SAP and REST webservices. Data is easy to read, edit, delete...
  • Web development is really fast and the starting point alone saves a week of work with sessions, logins, acess management...
  • App development is now cross-platform (iOS and Android only).
  • There is a single community of OutSystems' experts online, so support is much faster than finding the right site to ask. You just need to search for the right topic in the forum.
  • You can connect to several database technologies, generate code in .Net or Java, and there is no lock-in.
  • It is so much faster (officially 6 to 10 times, but it feels more).
  • There is a list of improvements suggested by the community on the site.
  • Native apps to Windows Phone are missing.
OutSystems is the best platform for the development of products that are subject to frequent changes and that don't fit into to existing landscape. It is also a flexible tool where you can build a new architecture while keeping the former software.

It is not recommended when only small adjustments are needed to existing sites/apps because the 6 to 10 times faster time to build new apps would probably be worse than the adjustment to something that is almost ready.
Read Nuno Reis's full review
João Réquio profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
My company uses OutSystems technology in other to implement faster and better applications for our customers.
  • Integration with other systems
  • Business processes
  • Responsive layouts
  • Mobile applications is still an area that is new for OutSystems, and some improvements are still needed here.
OutSystems is well suited to building integrations with other applications like SAP, and Salesforce.
Read João Réquio's full review
Diogo Mota profile photo
September 21, 2017

OutSystems review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my company we develop OutSystems solutions for our clients, implementing B2B and B2C portals with integrations to multiple external sources. We currently face the challenge of bringing digital transformation to our clients. With OutSystems we are able to rapidly implement valuable applications in order to improve our client experience.
  • Rapid development
  • Work with teams
  • Integrations
  • Low code
  • Mobile apps debug
  • Publishing time
B2B and B2C portals and overall enterprise applications.
Read Diogo Mota's full review
João Santos profile photo
September 21, 2017

Outsystems today

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using OutSystems as a platform to develop mobile and web apps in our two industries, Financial Services and PSUR. We use it to develop B2B and B2B products. OutSystems addresses the difficulties our clients experience in getting multi-platform apps developed quickly.
  • SAP integration since it's easy to implement methods.
  • SOAP and REST for the same reasons as SAP
  • Low Code
  • OutSystems takes too long to deploy solutions across environments.
  • Mobile patterns
  • Mobile plugins
OutSystems is well suited to develop apps that integrate with ERP or CRM, especially SAP. Is well suited for apps that function as core business. It's a bit more difficult to use OutSystems for B2C mobile apps.
Read João Santos's full review
Nuno Miguel Jorge profile photo
September 21, 2017

Outsystems review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The OutSystems platform is used across the company and addresses all the major departments and business lines. I has been implemented to reduce .NET implementations because it is more agile, it reduces time to market, and also reduces the number of developers required to deliver all the projects in which we are involved.
  • Agile implementation with less code
  • Short time to market
  • Complex implementation and architeture made easy
  • Easiest css and style guide
  • More assets for mobile
  • Better scripting for BD
Is well suited for scenarios where the complexity is significant, such as the insurance business. But i think that in scenarios with "big data" this is not an appropriate to process the large amounts of data needed by some kinds of business.
Read Nuno Miguel Jorge's full review
Miguel Correia profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our department to build applications that the entire organization uses to cover our retail stores in sales. It's also used for the life of our product since it is designed to production; for SAP integration, to book flights, serve the POS, and some other utilities that cover company needs.
  • Simplicity
  • Agility
  • Ease to Learn
  • Interoperability
  • Customization
  • Quickness in the app
[It's well suited] To big companies, that need quick results. It is good if you need to have your team of programmers without needing a lot of time to learn the app. It's easy to learn and very intuitive. I don't think it suits the needs of small companies with low capital power due to its price.
Read Miguel Correia's full review
Jose Miguel Dias Fernandes profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use outsystems for an app to track medical assets (human resources, medicines, etc). Thanks to the easy charts we also use it to create reports.
  • Very fast app development
  • WebServices abstraction
  • No need to maintain BD
  • Very limited UI. If you want something that doesn't already exist in OutSystems it's very hard to implement
  • Apps that don't require controls other than those from outsystems.
  • It's also a good choice to quickly develop prototypes.
Read Jose Miguel Dias Fernandes's full review
Siya Ul Haqu profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are developing internal applications and automating business workflows.
  • Visual development
  • Faster development
  • Integration with legacy systems
  • Licensing needs more transparency
  • There is a lack of available skills in our region
  • It is well suited for business applications.
  • Not very well fit for scenarios where complex 3-D algorithms on the UI are required or for AR applications.
Read Siya Ul Haqu's full review
Pedro Paiva profile photo
September 19, 2017

OutSystems delivers faster.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deliver Outsystems solutions for our customers to increase the value of the solutions. We deliver web and mobile applications for financial services, insurance, and Portuguese services.
  • We deliver faster than with traditional technologies.
  • We publish once for all devices.
  • Great applications with great user experience.
  • On the client side it should have some improvements. Javascript for example.
  • Should have a test action to easily test the logic in the actions.
  • Increase the webservices functionality as ws-a. ws-i.
  • Well suited for mobile and web applications. Also for applications with several integrations.
  • Less suited for a human resources portal or a CRM.
Read Pedro Paiva's full review
Ana Sousa profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OutSystems is a company-wide development application, it is used for developing applications across the entire company. Many applications such as windows applications VS, to web applications, are being upgraded to OutSystems. New applications are already being build in this platform. These applications are for the various departments across the company.
  • Easy and fast way to implement apps
  • Ability to do incremental development
  • Positioning objects on the page (textbox,etc)
  • Reduce the deployment time
  • BPT improvement
I think OutSystems is well suited for almost every scenario. For example, a company that sells a product and wants to put it on the internet to initiate online sales but doesn't have a lot of developers, and the ones that do exist are working on a different product. It is an easy-to-use development tool, and a good way to build a website faster.
Read Ana Sousa's full review
Miguel Figueiredo profile photo
September 19, 2017

OutSystems Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using outsystems for rapid application development and reacting quickly to business changes. And also being able to cope with the competition.
  • Better UX
  • Short development lifecycle
  • Simple external services integration
  • Absence of a visual database manager
  • Uncontrolled forge modules
  • Rapid application development
  • Rich user interface
Read Miguel Figueiredo's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (41)
8.0
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (41)
8.1
Platform Security (40)
7.8
Platform User Management (39)
7.5
Reusability (43)
7.9
Platform Scalability (40)
8.1

About OutSystems

OutSystems is designed to help users build enterprise-grade apps incredibly fast. The vendor says their low-code platform is ranked number one by Forrester. This solution lets users visually develop their entire application, easily integrate with existing systems, and add their own custom code when they need it.

OutSystems Features

Has featureVisual development environment, extensible with your custom code
Has featureIntegrate any existing system and database
Has featureDeploy to any device
Has featureNo technology lock-in
Has featureModel complex offline behavior
Has featureIntegrate native device capabilities (GPS, barcode, etc.)

OutSystems Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

OutSystems Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

OutSystems Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Web-based, Android, iPhone-iPad, Windows Phone, Mobile Web App
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Asia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Europe, Germany, India, Japan, Latin America, Mexico, Middle-East and Africa, United Kingdom, United States
Supported Languages: Arabic, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Taiwanese, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian