Planview ChangePoint

Planview ChangePoint

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.0 out of 100
Planview ChangePoint

Overview

Recent Reviews

Changepoint software review

6 out of 10
March 24, 2022
Used for financials, to track resource allocation by project and reporting. The business problem it addresses is primarily time …
Continue reading

Changepoint needs a facelift

1 out of 10
December 17, 2018
We use Changepoint for project financials, time and expense reporting. We have 6000 employees and have Changepoint integrated to …
Continue reading

Not great!

3 out of 10
April 17, 2018
We are a UK-based consulting organization that provides IT services to some 90 pharma companies across the globe. Changepoint solution is …
Continue reading

Changepoint Review

5 out of 10
March 07, 2015
Change point was reviewed and purchased as a common portfolio management and project management centralized point of data for both IT and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Planview ChangePoint, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Planview ChangePoint?

Planview Changepoint is a platform that marries professional services automation (PSA), project portfolio management (PPM) and business analytics to provide managers broad operational visibility and control over their strategic business portfolios.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is ConnectWise Manage?

ConnectWise Manage is a business management platform for companies that sell, service, and support technology. The platform is cloud-based and integrates automation, help desk and customer service, sales, marketing, project management, and business analytics. It is the hub of the ConnectWise suite.

What is Teamwork?

Teamwork is a project management platform built specifically for client work. It helps users deliver work on time and on budget, eliminate client chaos, and understand profitability, in one platform. Teamwork’s customers track and manage their projects with a suite of integrated solutions such as…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Why Changepoint?
00:56
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Planview ChangePoint?

Planview ChangePoint is an end-to-end Professional Services Automation (PSA) software application designed to power the entire engagement lifecycle. From identifying services opportunities, to contract financial governance and project management, to invoicing and revenue recognition, ChangePoint drives efficient orchestration of engagements, projects, and resources for informed business planning, improved financial control, and accelerated revenue growth.

  • Planning – gain early visibility into services opportunities to ensure more accurate forecasted demand/capacity for services delivery success.
  • Project and Work Management – enable repeatable delivery success and profitability by taking control of customer projects and work.
  • Resource Management – maximize resource allocation and utilization with discipline, reducing cost overruns and delays.
  • Team Delivery – Orchestrate and delivery work flexibly, in multiple ways for profitable and successful engagements.
  • Financial Visibility – build a financial foundation across the lifecycle capturing hours, billing, revenue, and margin, to impact business financials.
  • Analytics and Reporting – Analyze services delivery data without relying on reporting teams.

With the recent addition of ChangePoint PLUS, Planview combines the work management capabilities of ProjectPlace with the financial governance of ChangePoint so users can execute client work collaboratively and flexibly from traditional to agile, while maintaining accurate work details to report financials.

Planview ChangePoint Features

  • Supported: Pipeline and Backlog Tracking
  • Supported: Contract Financial Governance
  • Supported: Capacity and Resource Management
  • Supported: Project Templates and Configurable Workflows
  • Supported: Services Resources Matching
  • Supported: Real-time Utilization Tracking
  • Supported: Billing and Rate Management
  • Supported: Revenue Forecasting and Recognition
  • Supported: Time and Expense Tracking
  • Supported: Flexible Billing Structures
  • Supported: Interactive Dashboards
  • Supported: ProjectPlace Work Management Integration

Planview ChangePoint Screenshots

Screenshot of End-to-end view to drive financially successful customer-facing projects.Screenshot of A flexible approach to tracking elaborate contractual terms and conditions.Screenshot of Quote-to-cash success with structured processes.Screenshot of Build project rigor and standardization for services delivery.Screenshot of Improve resource utilization on the work that best meets the needs of customers.Screenshot of Ensure process adherence to drive financial success.Screenshot of Improving cash-flow at every step.Screenshot of Greater visibility across portfolios with embedded business analytics.

Planview ChangePoint Video

Why Changepoint?

Planview ChangePoint Competitors

Planview ChangePoint Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Planview Changepoint is a platform that marries professional services automation (PSA), project portfolio management (PPM) and business analytics to provide managers broad operational visibility and control over their strategic business portfolios.

OpenAir PSA, Zoho Projects, and Kantata Cloud are common alternatives for Planview ChangePoint.

The most common users of Planview ChangePoint are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (21)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-16 of 16)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Camilla jane | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Helps us to knowing our key customers.
  • Excellent opportunity management tool.
  • Best resource management and analytic tool.
  • Nothing Missing. Complete product with contract management capabilities.
  • Easy financial management functionalities.
  • Excellent dashboard that monitors multiple operations.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Resource allocation.
  • Reporting on time / expenses.
  • Scalable across different projects.
  • Some non user friendly features.
  • Can be slow at times.
  • Not all project management related processes are available.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It handles resource time reporting very efficiently.
  • It handles expense reporting in a very fluid manner.
  • Overall, easy to work with.
  • Changepoint will time out every now and then. You may not realize it, but your data entry has not been saved and then you close out of the application and come back in and your work is gone.
  • Changepoint will remember / store previous projects that have been billed to. Once the project closes, it still brings back the project so over time, your screen gets crowded.
  • Changepoint requires a VPN from remote locations which can pose a problem for frequent travelers. Few, if any, hotels offer a secure wifi and thus connecting to Changepoint can have its challenges
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • When Changepoint was created, it was a good comprehensive tool. It has not aged well
  • The user interface is clunky, not intuitive and confusing. Memorization is the only way to learn the tools as the clues on the screen are not helpful. Trial and error is a common step in learning how to enter time and expenses.
  • There is no mobile app nor a mobile-optimized experience.
  • The data model and reporting process is extremely confusing.
April 17, 2018

Not great!

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Changepoint provides flexibility in terms of the workflow process, allowing a good degree of customization
  • The actions are time-stamped, and whilst Changepoint does not alert the users when things are about to expire, it does provide a timeline
  • It is flexible in regards to the type of information we look to capture on each request
  • Changepoint can be rather buggy and 'clunky'
  • If the system is idle, it logs out the users far too quickly, resulting in wasted time as well as duplication of efforts
  • It is not the most intuitive or user-friendly solution
March 07, 2015

Changepoint Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Project management functionality is solid. The PM can navigate in this tool relatively easily and gain access to reporting fairly easily.
  • The reporting overall is good. Dashboards were well received by our mgmt at the time
  • The training and support team for us was second to none from a knowledge/timeliness and "guidance" perspective
  • There were whole sections of the tool at the time that were not very intuitive. Simpler is better and your screen designs should reflect that
  • Design your reporting interfaces for your key audience members- IT executives, IT Project Mgmt Leaders, Project Team members, Key stakeholders, etc. and design the dashboards and reports with those teams in mind
  • Be crystal clear on what Changepoint does better than the competition, and if it isn't perceived as better, communicate the plan to get there and a realistic timeframe.
Edric McNeary | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The reporting capabilities are what really draw me to this program. It allows for fairly customizable reporting for end users and mid level managers.
  • The search functionality is good but could definitely use some tweaking. My experience has been if you do not type in exactly what you are looking for it will not allow you to find it. Especially for items that over a year old.
  • It's almost impossible to navigate the tool without instructor lead participation. I had to teach myself how to develop reports. The "in-app" help guides were of minimal assistance. It took many hours of trial and error for me to understand the logic behind how to develop effective reporting. This most recent upgrade added some videos which are an improvement. I believe more can be done in future upgrades.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Changepoint has significant reporting capabilities, though of course, the data that comes out is only as good as the data that goes in. I enjoy being able to use the standard reports to understand exactly how much a project has cost us and to compare it to how much we are charging. This allows us to more accurately set our prices. Though we have not used the report designer capability, I understand that custom reports can be designed with relative ease.
  • Changepoint has a versioning capability for changes made to user profiles in the system manager, which I find particularly helpful. As a non-power user, it is valuable to be able to see what changes I have made to various profiles so that I can troubleshoot a problem down the line.
  • Changepoint has significant functionality well beyond the features that we are currently using, and for this reason, I think it is affordable and a good deal. Particularly if your organization is interested in dedicating the time and resources into using all of the features around project planning, resource allocation, etc., the price is well worth the value.
  • The usability of Changepoint leaves something to be desired, at least as far as basic features are concerned. It has significant functionality, but our users find basic tasks--like creating expense reports--needlessly complicated and not user-friendly.
  • The user interface is clunky, outdated, and difficult for a basic user to navigate. The locations of items are not always intuitive and it is annoying to have to go to different views in order to see information that should be grouped together. For example, in order to view task information, you have to go to the projects tab. You cannot drill down from the project or engagement level.
  • I don't believe Changepoint has any video training for basic functionality, but this is an important addition to standard help files. When my users have problems with the software, myself or another administrator must sit down with them and show them how to accomplish their goal. Videos showing how to use basic functionality would be very helpful.
  • Browser support is minimal. In v2010, only IE is supported, which is ridiculous. We are upgrading to V2012, which will greatly improve the array of browsers that our users can use, but even then certain features do not work with Firefox. In 2014, robust browser compatibility should be a basic feature.
Ron Beck; MS MBA CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The ability to configure our own user designed fields help to support our project and portfolio governance process.
  • The integration of the Intelledox tool enabled us to develop e-Forms within Changepoint. This provides standardized project documentation like project contracts, project change requests, closure reports, etc.
  • The Changepoint database is easy to configure in order to aggregate and export data to our Global IS Scorecard.
  • A single instance of Changepoint provides an opportunity to manage our projects on a global basis.
  • We use Changepoint to manage the IS organization. I would like to see more advancement in order to do benefits management.
  • I would like to see a capability where a project manager can build a very detailed work breakdown structure, but only require project resources to charge time and provide a task status at a higher level.
January 17, 2014

Change point of view

Lindsey Thibodeau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Changepoint is for the most part easy to access the information your looking for as long as you know how to look for it.
  • It makes billing the customer easier when everything is stored in Changepoint
  • logging time for myself or others is easy and I can make changes if need be
  • Some time Changepoint runs very slowly or times out it makes it difficult to do things in a timely manner
Meloni Mockerman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • CP allows you to run many various reports on the information you enter.
  • CP allows you to specify which users are allowed access to different areas of the program. So not every employee can access all the information.
  • There are so many areas you can utilize in CP. Sales, Resources, Projects, Companies, Expenses, Timesheets
  • Changepoint could be more user friendly. Sometimes you have to tab from field to field instead of using the enter key like you would with most programs.
  • Some fields you can't access just by clicking on them.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Tracking employee's time toward different projects.
  • Assign task and calculate man hours and $ value.
  • Integrates with HP automation tools.
  • Tracking bugs through the SDLC.
  • We had to write code in order to integrate Changepoint with HP QC. Compuware can provide an add-on for QC to integrate both tools
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • There are lots of reporting options. Once you figure out how to work the parameters of a report, the system is able to provide detailed and accurate compilations of data. There are also many custom reports than can be setup, as well. In my experience, we have told Changepoint PSA administrators what kind of report we were needed and they set it up for us, available in a 'custom reports' folder.
  • You can have several things open at once -- 'portals'. These are up at the top of the screen, much like how Google Chrome has tabs at the top. This is useful.
  • In general, I've found the product to be very slow. Our company has done everything possible with connections and server space to accommodate. However, the product takes about 5 seconds to save a screen. It takes about 7 seconds to open up a worksheet. It takes about 5 seconds to initialize a change on a worksheet. All those seconds really add up, especially when you know exactly what you need changed and you're just waiting on the system to process. This slowness has been apparent and cumbersome from the start and will continue to be a major disappointment.
  • Entering expenses (travel expenses, reimbursements) in the system is okay. It's not incredibly user-friendly, but it's doable. However, the part that is not intuitive is when you have a rejected expense, or when an expense is waiting for approval, or when you need to redo an expense -- it's pretty much a free-for-all with how you need to handle those. There's not a good flow or step by step process for expenses that are rejected, approved, in limbo, or entered-expenses ready to be turned into an expense report. This is frustrating.
  • I use PSA for Project Management tracking. I think Changepoint PSA is a huge system that can encompass a lot as far as wearing many hats for a company's business needs. However, it's not a good solution for either task management or Project Management. It does not track tasks intuitively nor does it make my Project Management any faster. Also, is a lot of tracking in my PM world where I need to enter notes on reports or update the status with a notation -- that cannot be done in PSA (at least with how we have it setup right now). I work very quickly, with many small ever-changing tasks, through my projects and being consistently slowed down by entering data or waiting on data to change is a major sore spot.
January 07, 2014

Review of Changepoint

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The breakdown of project tasks and details is easy to navigate.
  • The user interface is not complicated.
  • Rarely have any issues with the software.
  • Streamline how projects are setup - if possible, reduce the number of mouse clicks to get to a section for data entry for example.
  • Make the contrast better between background graphics and font.
  • Are there keyboard shortcuts?
Robert Goodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The web interface made it easy to manage professional services projects and break them down by logical phases.
  • My former company enjoyed the Microsoft Project integration. Project plans could be uploaded directly to the web interface. Team members could then log their time directly to these activities for tracking.
  • The site could become slow with high volumes of traffic. This may have been due to the way that our infrastructure was setup.
  • Analytic reporting was not available in the version that we used. We created external reports to slice and dice the data and view it as the business demanded.
Return to navigation