PostgreSQL Reviews

217 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Javier Blanque | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

PostgreSQL - The database that fits all

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SQL Server is an excellent product from Microsoft, it is a derivative from Sybase which originally developed the SQL Server form Unix and Linux, and Microsoft purchased it to migrate the DBMS to Windows Server. But the cycle comes full circle, and now Microsoft recommends its use in Linux. The problem with SQL Server is its pricing scheme. Before 2012 it was sold by CPU, but after that, it was priced with licenses for 2 cores each, and its cost is in around USD 4K for the standard version and USD 15K for the Enterprise version. A sound recommendation for Microsoft, go back to your previous licensing scheme if you do not want your user base eroded by open source products like MariaDB or PostgreSQL.
SQL Server has better performance per core than PostgreSQL, when all other variables are equal (sometimes). But if you use all the available resources of your server for PostgreSQL and limit the cores you use for SQL Server (i.e.: to 1/4 of the cores), PostgreSQL runs circles around SQL Server.
In comparison to MariaDB, PostgreSQL adheres better to the standards and has a richer set of primary data types, among other advantages.
MariaDB is a derivative of MySQL, which gives you more freedom (given its license) that could give you Oracle, the actual owner and maintainer of MySQL.
Read Javier Blanque's full review
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

A robust, free, and high quality DB

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's a viable alternative, with a rich feature set and a reliable system. PostgreSQL is one of the best RDBMS's currently on the market in 2020, it serves just as well as a starter, PoC DB for any software idea as a final, highly valuable database solution for big systems.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Battle-tested-never-data-loss alternative to MySQL

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MySQL: As I mentioned before, MySQL has superior write performance. However, Postgres has super read performance and safer ACID transactions, i.e. less potential data loss.
Elasticsearch: we use Elasticsearch to store free-form customer data, but that's a different use-case. Sometimes you'll want to use both, like us.
Read this authenticated review
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

PostgreSQL is a Well Poised for the Future, Venerable, More Than a Database Solution for Many

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL beats every other RDBMS offering for being truly Open Source. Since it does not belong to a specific company it is poised to remain as such for a long time to come. PostgreSQL has a huge user base and active community. The releases are coming out often with substantial improvements and the backward compatibility is first-class. The multi-paradigm programmability model is awesome - almost no limit, most diverse developers can work together, and it has more extensions than any of the RDBMS on the market.
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

PostgreSQL is great for data analytics and engineering work.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL is the proper tool when data consistency matters and other BASE or document-based databases are simply improper. I think PostgreSQL has a fantastic system of slony replication, triggers, and other data maintenance functionality that other databases generally don't have. The themes of postgres are also varied, but postgres was selected because of it's massively parallel processing functionality and data consistency.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

PostgreSQL has rich feature sets and it's completely free!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL is rich in features and free to use which is perfect for our organization. PostgreSQL is our goto RDBMS if we want to create an application or services backend with the database if there's no specific requirement.
For example for the most important and largest database, we use SQL Server since we trust SQL Server and we might need dedicated support if things go wrong. Or if we are using third-party software that's only compatible with MySQL we are using MySQL, other than that we always use PostgreSQL by default.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2019

PostgreSQL - Data Warehousing Technology

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL works better than MySQL for analytics workflows where a massively parallel processing database architecture is necessary. We used PostgreSQL because it allows better scalability for querying and data analysis compared to the transactional database MySQL that we use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

A Great General Purpose DBMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL has more features than MySQL, and it has better documentation.
Microsoft SQL Server is more complicated to set up and administer, and its syntax is not as easy to write as PLPGSQL. Moreover, the built-in functions in PostgreSQL are better than what's on offer from MS SQL.
Oracle Database would be the best competitor with PostgreSQL. What it lacks in easy to reference documentation, it makes up for in enterprise support. If you don't need the enterprise support, then PostgreSQL is the way to go.
Read this authenticated review
Aaron Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

PostgreSQL is making a comeback!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL is very similar to both MySQL and Microsoft's SQL Server. With no licensing costs, it's clearly a win against SQL Server, plus it can be run on either Linux or Windows. MySQL and PostgreSQL also have many similarities, however, PostgreSQL offers many more options for clustering and scalability.
Read Aaron Smith's full review
Richard Rout | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2018

An amazing free option for an enterprise level database tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

They each have their pros and cons. MySQL is probably the other popular "free" alternative in this space, but it's not as popular or have as much community support as PostgreSQL.
Microsoft SQL Server is amazing in the microsoft tech stack, but it's pretty useless and provides little benefit over postgres if you're developing outside of the Microsoft tech stack.
Read Richard Rout's full review
Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2018

A great database manager without platform distinction the best relational option

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Despite being all open source options, what ended up making us choose PostgreSQL was the robustness of its core, which allows the great workflow that can support timely and efficient response to the demand and demand for resources. In the case of MongoDB, it is a non-relational handler, and the other options showed a lower performance than that offered by PostgreSQL.
Read Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett's full review
Venkateswar Reddy Thatikonda | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

Postgresql - OpenSource and objecr relation database with NOSQL(JSON type) support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used MS SQL and MySQL. Microsoft SQL Server is a good option for small applications in the commercial space. PostgreSQL can be more compared with Oracle in the feature set.
Read Venkateswar Reddy Thatikonda's full review
Bhargav Nanekalva | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2017

The "best" open source ORDBMS out there.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As I've stated before PostgreSQL is an enterprise level database which means a company of any size can adopt and enjoy all the benefits and many more than what's provided by other expensive databases like Oracle and MS SQL, who are the major players in enterprise databases market. We've selected PostgreSQL mainly because of the price and excellent community, documentation and support. No product can claim that ;-)
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
Louis Marceau | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2017

PostgreSQL - A great database at a great price.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The features between these database are quite comparable - except for possibly MongoDB. MongoDB being a different type of database and geared towards big data - I don't compare it to PostgreSQL. The other two I have used and would say PostgreSQL does fairly well when compared with them. Again, the feature set being similar and the cost $0 does give PostgreSQL an advantage. Unless I have a specific integration need for Oracle or MSQL - I will generally always consider PostgreSQL.
Read Louis Marceau's full review
Anatoly Geyfman | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2017

PostgreSQL, especially with PostGIS is a standout among open source databases

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We evaluated MySQL, Postgres, MSSQL Server and a few other hosted options. We loved the fact that PG is both a GIS system and a traditional RDBMS. The mindshare around PG is high -- thousands of answers on StackOverflow, very active developer community and a punctual release schedule. PG is a standout open source product.
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
Eric Mann | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2017

The best of both Relational and Document DB paradigms

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL provides both the traditional relational DB setup of MySQL and a more document-driven model like that of DynamoDB. As some of our data is relational and some is document-based, it was more efficient to select the tool that did both than run two, separate databases. PostgreSQL offers all of the features we need.
Read Eric Mann's full review
Josh Stapp | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 15, 2017

PostgreSQL is great for storing large amounts of data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Postgres had faster data retrieval for larger amounts than MySQL. The child tables have been a blessing and a curse at times but postgres seems to have a lot more detail about what is going on than MySQL with all of its user/pg/index tables and query planning. There is obviously an enormous amount of information around any SQL based DB.
Read Josh Stapp's full review
Nitin Pasumarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2016

PostgreSQL, the best research oriented central database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Compared to MySQL, it works well if you need to extend to your use case
Compared to Spark, it works better w.r.t development time in a central database setting
Like Redis, it cannot be used for caching and quick access of non-structured data
Read Nitin Pasumarthy's full review
Nikhil Karkare | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2017

A great RDBMS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I found PostgreSQL better than MySQL and Microsoft SQL Server but Redshift steals the show as I am a BI guy who sees everything from an analytics point of view. PostgreSQL is great if you have less data for analytics or if you are using it to store the operational data.
Read Nikhil Karkare's full review
David McCann | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2016

PostgreSQL - the last database you'll ever need

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  1. MySQL - doesn't have transactional support for schema migrations, and has a more restrictive license
  2. DB2 - not free
  3. SQLite - doesn't have full foreign key constraint support
  4. CouchDB - slightly different use case, however PostgreSQL does offer performant to_json functionality that overlaps with this attractive CouchDB capability
Overall, PostgreSQL is the best default choice for any database-driven web application with a fairly common set of requirements.
Read David McCann's full review
Christopher Weiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2016

PostgreSQL is too often overlooked

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL lacks the scalability of a commercial database such as SQL Server or Oracle. For this reason, it has been a difficult sale for some customers. However, PostgreSQL has more features, including a better programming language than MySQL. It is much more feature rich than embedded databases such as Berkeley DB and SQLLite, which have very limited applications.
Read Christopher Weiss's full review

About PostgreSQL

PostgreSQL (alternately Postgres) is a free and open source object-relational database system boasting over 30 years of active development, reliability, feature robustness, and performance. It supports SQL and is designed to support various workloads flexibly.

PostgreSQL Integrations

PostgreSQL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No