Microsoft Visio Reviews

91 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 20, 2020
Simisara Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Visio to build UML diagrams that are used to prepare Business Requirement Document as well as to prepare flowcharts. It is used within the Project Management and Development teams to help identify the minute details of software development. It helps to finalise the development model and helps in providing a macro-level picture to the clients.
  • Flowcharts can be prepared very easily as it has stencils that can be used.
  • Use case diagrams can be prepared by use of predefined template.
  • Point connectors are suggested during the build of the models that make it easier to work in the canvas.
  • Ability to export to different formats supported by Design tools like Adobe XD, etc.
  • If more aesthetic suggestions can be provided inbuilt that may enhance the user experience.
It is suited to build UML diagrams or any diagrams that can be used in a variety of scenarios. It is an ideal tool for the software development planning and analysis phase, especially when accompanied by any mockups tool. Most change request documents/requirement documents will have at least some diagrammatic representation of as-is/to-be systems where the tool can be used for rendering the proposed solution diagrammatically.
I havent used the support service for Visio.
Read Simisara Johnson's full review
May 02, 2020
John Mota | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it is used for the creation of org charts, network diagrams, software project diagrams, etc. The ability to import other manufacturer's design and equipment detail for inclusion in our drawings makes this software valuable. We are able to re-use diagrams to implement upgrades to equipment and find Visio valuable for keeping track of inventory on this equipment.
  • Automated linking of diagram objects based on rules.
  • Vast array of diagram objects.
  • Easiest software to use for organizational charts.
  • Remove the block for click-to-run installation when used in conjunction with Office 365.
  • Reduce pricing for the on-line version of Visio if this is going to be the wave of the future.
  • Have better definition and detail requirements for objects provided by third parties for import into Visio.
One way I've used Visio is to map the current state of a network. Beginning with actual design objects from OEMs, you are able to import a lot of equipment details and enter serial numbers, service IDs, MAC addresses, etc. Visio objects are defined at various manufacturer websites including Cisco, EMC, Dell, HP, etc. You then can link and organize your network "on paper" to keep an inventory of your devices, their software version levels, and other information. When you replace a device, it's easy to delete and add the new device, keeping your documentation up to date.
Overall, I feel that Microsoft's support is weak. They are now such a behemoth that their model of putting documentation online for their users to sift through is totally outgrown. Given the amount of money you pay for these licenses, Microsoft should provide easy one-on-one support for their products via email or chat. The idea of paying their rates for support incidents is ridiculous. If you have an enormous amount of time on your hands, use their support websites and you will eventually find a solution most of the time.
Read John Mota's full review
March 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio was used before we switched to Lucidchart for mapping and flow creations. It is used primarily to easily create flowcharts and tracking progress. It comes as a part of the Microsoft suite, which is nice. It is easy to use for the most part and suitable for basic operations and templates. The templates available make it a great beginner product.
  • Easy to use templates and UI.
  • Ability to work offline and one cloud support.
  • Infinite canvas and printing options makes it suitable for everyone to create and print.
  • The installer tool is clunky, rigid and uninviting.
  • The preloaded shapes and icons are limited in comparison to Lucidchart.
  • The user experience is not straightforward unless you take some basic tutorials.
Visio is really a basic tool to create product strategy roadmaps, flowcharts and even simple artworks for immediate printing. While it does its basic functions well, it is limited to those basic functions.
Never visited customer support. There are not many helpful resources on the web, as far as I understand.
Read this authenticated review
January 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is used to create process maps in my organization. It is used in whole organization, across pretty much all engineering and business departments. I used it during analyzing the production process, carrying out change analysis by inspecting a before-after situation. It is frequently used in production process mapping but it is also used in business process mapping, too. That shows how business is carried out across various departments. This becomes a must when an organization is huge.
  • Process mapping
  • Intuitive interface
  • Reporting
  • Node connection facilities
Visio is great for process mapping, whether it is production or business process across departments, with its ease of use, and intuitive interface that comes from Microsoft Office and options of nodes that can be searched in the bar on the left. Even a fresh intern can start drawing immediately. However if one needs detailed process mapping, with many kinds of connections and a standard library, as well as detailed data-mining kind of reporting, Visio will not be sufficient.
Because it is part of Microsoft Office's applications, it has a vast community and documentation. For any problem you come across, there is already a question asked in community forums, hubs, and official website. Even if there is not, fast response is provided by the community immediately. There is a Frequently Asked Questions section in the original website, too. Therefore Visio has very high support rate.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio enables us to create complicated diagrams in an easy way. It offers a wide variety of built-in shapes, objects, and stencils. In our organization whole departments are using Visio especially to create process design documents.
  • Easy to create process flow/map.
  • Enhanced and in large number of icons or symbols for workflows.
  • License cost might be high for small businesses.
For organization charts, complicated process-flow diagrams and hierarchical charts, it is well suited.
It is a very useful tool in order to handle the complicated diagrams and engineering process design. It has a very user-friendly interface and is easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
December 27, 2019
Rina Falkovich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is being used across the organization. Our Network and Security teams use it for network diagrams, analysts to depict the process flow diagrams, architecture for system context and data flow diagrams, operations to draw ITIL processes
  • Easy to find shapes and stencils.
  • Built-in templates.
  • The software is not intuitive.
  • It is quite expensive.
Microsoft Visio is great for a variety of diagrams. It' has a number of templates for data/process flow diagrams, network diagrams, and floor plans. The convenience of drag and drop feature makes it fast to build visually appealing diagrams which serve as a great communication tool. Its ability to export to PDF is also very handy.
I have never had to contact support, however, there are lots of stencils that can be downloaded or purchased built by the community.
Read Rina Falkovich's full review
December 27, 2019
Bryan Goodyear, PMP, CSM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is used by individual users throughout the organization; it is not widely used but can be requested by users anywhere in the organization. Microsoft Visio is used to document processes or diagrams of networks, solutions, and more. Visio enables efficient and effective documentation of these processes and diagrams, improving overall documentation and communication within the organization. This helps avoid issues and cost of poor quality.
  • Powerful and clean visualizations.
  • Large library of industry-recognized shapes to leverage in your visualizations.
  • Sharing your diagram is not easy; printing or publishing is unfortunately not as easy as it could be.
  • Keeping shapes aligned could be easier. You have to have a good eye for spatial design to keep complicated diagrams easy-on-the-eyes.
Whenever a diagram or process needs to be documented, Microsoft Visio is a good option. Microsoft Visio is especially helpful when showing relationships between multiple items. Diagrams that primarily display information can be created leveraging other tools like Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Microsoft Publisher, or others, but Microsoft Visio can still be used in these situations.
I gave a rating of 7. I would give Microsoft Visio features a 6, but its affiliation with Microsoft provides additional familiarity and comparability with other products gives it an additional point. At the end of the day, I'd recommend the product to a user (especially a trained user) for diagrams (especially when showing relationships).
Read Bryan Goodyear, PMP, CSM's full review
November 18, 2019
Nandini pallipamu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is very well suited for creating flowcharts, network diagrams, site plans, & site surveys. Microsoft Visio is also excellent for IT diagrams on the whole, server diagrams, data center architecture, etc. It is an excellent tool for network documentation!
  • Flow charts
  • Network diagrams
  • Network logs, documentation
  • Microsoft Visio Viewer
  • GUI needs improvement
  • More shapes & figures need to be added esp in the network diagrams segment.
As a network engineer, I have to create and edit network diagrams daily. Microsoft Visio is quite a time saver.
The support for Microsoft Visio is satisfactory.
Read Nandini pallipamu's full review
November 11, 2019
Aaron Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is being used at Duquesne Light Company as our process flow mapping tool. It is used to illustrate processes, dependencies, data flow, network diagrams, etc., in our organization. I personally use it more for process flows when designing new solutions for my internal customers. It allows users a way to visually depict how processes flow.
  • Visio is integrated with other Office suite products which is nice.
  • It is user-friendly. It doesn't take long to figure out how to get up and running while also providing advanced users options to add the bells and whistles they want.
  • The variety of standard templates is large and there are lots more custom templates you can download too.
  • It is an expensive license. I believe it's $500/person.
  • Not available for Mac/Linux users
  • Can't publish to certain web applications easily.
Visio is well suited to any medium to large organization where you can negotiate a good price for the licenses. It is well suited to any organization with users familiar with the MS Office Suite and who need a process flow designer tool. Overall, it's easy to use and very helpful for visual learners.
The product doesn't seem to be updated very often. I'm sure there are lots of enhancement requests that could/should be implemented but I don't use it as frequently as others in my organization. The product doesn't give me any noticeable issues and I've never had to report an issue to Microsoft about Visio.
Read Aaron Baker's full review
October 30, 2019
Amy Sternin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our company, we use this within the product development group (part of the technology team). We use Visio to produce various swimlane type diagrams, workflows and flow charts, which in turn are presented to management and business teams, as well as used to generate user stories for development. We have also used Visio for org charts.
  • Visio provides a number of templates and a good selection of symbols and shapes to use.
  • The number of features and functionality is pretty robust, so you are not restricted in your ability to create with Visio how you visualize you want the results to be.
  • It is a commonly used product, so sharing with others is easy, plus since it integrates with other Microsoft products, that is helpful as well.
  • I find it not very intuitive, and that is after using it for a number of years.
  • I have difficulty formatting to a page for printing or even viewing in a presentation.
  • The ability to switch between text and textboxes and lines seems like it could be done easier. It seems like I am always in the wrong area.
  • It would be great if there was an easier way to find the correct symbol or icon you want. Often I can never find what I am looking for and need to improvise.
We like the swimlane diagramming and the flow charts. With a bit of effort, we can make them efficient for use within our team, or add bells and whistles of formatting for executive review. They do translate well to pdf when sharing with non-Visio users. I would not recommend for people that are novices and don't have the need to create 'fancy' diagrams. For simply typing things, they can just easily use Excel. And I actually sometimes do that when I am in a hurry.
I don't really use any support for this product. I don't have issues with it, so from that standpoint, it seems ok, and at this point is a very mature product. I haven't seen too many changes over the years.
Read Amy Sternin's full review
September 19, 2019
Jerome Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visio is used quite a bit by our company. We use it mainly to describe workflows and Diagrams, which in the I.T. environment is a critical tool when explaining workflows for programs, department processes and potential changes to these processes. The tool helps me quite a bit when explaining these processes to non-I.T. employees.
  • Very easy to use with multiple diagram tools
  • Lots of built-in options and templates and it allows you to import many more.
  • Reliable program - I've used it Visio for many years and it gets easier to use with each revision.
  • Would like to see more animated tools that could be used in workflows
  • As its a Microsoft program - cost is always an issue.
Works very well with Workflows.
I haven't had to use support for this product so my rating would be n/a
Read Jerome Pierce's full review
November 08, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently being used by specific individuals and teams based on their responsibilities but generally by those required to design high-level diagrams and schematics for projects. As a product it significantly simplifies the process in creating professional diagrams/process flows and architectural flows for upcoming and current projects.
  • The templates for basic flowcharting are simple to use and cover most of the basic functions and touch points in a diagram.
  • The variety of included icons and connectors means it's very easy to create floor plans and/or network diagrams.
  • The ease at which you can customise connectors with different colours/thickness makes it very effective in overall presentation of a diagram.
  • For me personally I cannot highlight anything specific that has any bearing on how I use the product. Everything is very straightforward and clearly signposted including template desgins and categories. The layout is easy to navigate and as it's part of the MS Office ecosystem means there is less to learn as I'm used to a lot of the cross product functionality.
Microsoft Visio is very good for process flow diagrams, high-level architectural VC/Telephony diagrams, and building/room floor plans. It is less appropriate for detailed project plans (use MS Project for that instead).
The product has improved over the years and certainly since Microsoft acquired it and personalised it into a branded product.
Read this authenticated review
November 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Visio to draw process diagrams and database information flow. The process flows can be also drawn by using Excel, Word, or Powerpoint. However, Visio speeds things up. The diagrams are easy to draw with predefined library items. The chart elements can be auto arranged. Furthermore, the library of icons is big enough so that users do not need to google down icons.
  • The library of icons and elements are big enough.
  • The predefined templates for projects are useful.
  • It makes the work fast and efficient.
  • It's easy to learn.
  • Sometimes auto-arrange does not correctly align the project diagrams.
  • Licence fees are expensive.
  • If you are doing projects for clients, your clients will not be able to change the process diagram if they do not have a Visio license.
If you are working within an organization that will use the process diagrams for its needs, then you can use Visio, as your organization will have the license to make changes in the future. But if you are working at a consultancy firm which creates process diagrams, then think twice. Your clients may not have Visio licenses to change the diagrams that you had drawn for them.
I never needed to use the support of Microsoft for Visio. The tool is easy to install, uninstall, and to use. One can learn from available internet sources or by just spending some time with the tool itself. There is also monthly licensing available when Office 365 is used. I do not know if there is a compabillity problem with different versions.

Read this authenticated review
November 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is being used by software/firmware engineers for software design. I think its being used across the whole organization. Visio is easy to use and develop the Flowchart, UML, diagrams, etc.
  • Flowcharts.
  • UML diagrams.
  • Ease of use.
  • Tons of supported design diagram templates.
  • Could be faster.
  • Could take less time to load.
  • Could make a online version of the tool.
Microsoft Visio is well suited for all company needs. If you are a project manager or a software developer you could use the Visio to develop class diagrams, flowcharts or create a block diagram of a system to explain it. For me, it is a very effective tool. In addition, even with all the options, its easy to use.
In the past year, I never had any issues with Visio. This is what the user would expect from a well-established company and market leader like Microsoft. It's been fantastic.
Read this authenticated review
July 02, 2019
Richard Perroset | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visio to easily and intuitively create flowcharts, diagrams, org charts, and more, using modern shapes and templates with the familiar Office experience. We are a process oriented company so flowcharts are a great way for us to communicate to others the steps involved in each process and which part of the process pertains to them.
  • Work together on Visio flowcharts to include insights from all stakeholders.
  • With Office 365*, multiple team members can work on diagrams at the same time.
  • Connect your flowcharts and diagrams to real-time data.
  • Applied shape formatting automatically updates your flowcharts to reflect changes in the underlying data, either in Visio or through Office 365*.
  • Its inability to delve deeply into micro information successfully.
  • It is a paid software which comes after paying a Microsoft licensing fee.
  • The cost is high and the integration of the stencil library is unnecessarily fragmented.
  • The more you use it, the faster and more effective you will get.
Ease of use, it has many stencils supporting system architecture and IDEF system behavior diagrams. I have also utilized it as a system conops design tool. Excellent flexibility. Powerful program for drawing plans and structural charts, is easy to use and contains a wide range of design tools that facilitates the development of flow charts for users with little experience.
Read Richard Perroset's full review
May 15, 2019
Steven Carmean | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visio to make block diagrams for various project plans. Specifically, I have used it for making AV diagrams to show stakeholders what it will take in order to make a conference room perform the tasks asked by them. The complexity levels within Visio can be helpful in updating floorplans on occasion as well, but I would prefer making something in Bluebeam for that specifically.
  • Block diagrams
  • Flowcharts and UML plans
  • Floorplan updates
  • Org Charts
  • Better Office 365 view
  • Image detection and integration into floor plan pieces
  • Manually moving connectors could be easier
Visio will work really well for someone using it to make some flow charts, org charts, and universal markup language charts.
I don't see it being the easiest when working on floor plans because importing the plans doesn't work out too well and requires you to make pointers for connections if you brought in one big picture rather than individualized pieces.
Read Steven Carmean's full review
February 14, 2019
Alexander Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visio is used for all flowcharts in projects in the UK at Fujitsu. As the industry standard in diagramming it's virtually impossible to use anything else. I mainly deal with solution architects who create process flows in Visio to send to myself and fellow developers.
  • For users who have been using it since the early versions, the changes between the years have been incremental and easy to pick up. It's an easy learning curve for longtime users.
  • A huge amount of different diagram options for every conceivable possibility. There isn't another tool with this much diagram versatility while maintaining a professional feel.
  • It's often bunched in with Office 365 Professional meaning that companies don't have to shell out too much.
  • It is not very user-friendly for first-time users, such as myself back in 2016. If you haven't had training in the area you will find producing professional diagrams difficult with Visio.
  • There are open source alternatives that are catching up with Visio's functionality for free. It may not be long until forking out for Visio may not be worth it.
  • Switching between open source software and Visio can cause compatibility issues, and diagrams may be ruined in the conversion.
In practically every corporate scenario, Visio will be used. However, if a simple diagram needs to be made the user experience is too poor to be efficient. I've seen users resort to PowerPoint rather than messing with Visio. However, if professionalism is paramount, there is no alternative to Visio.
Read Alexander Cooper's full review
February 08, 2019
Mathieu Gaouette | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visio is extremely versatile and probably used in almost all groups where people document processes or systems. In my group, it is used mostly by solution architects to describe solutions and systems. I've seen it used to describe support processes as well. Words can't describe everything in an efficient manner. Sometimes, a drawing really helps understand. In these cases, Visio is great as it allows you to quickly make a visual representation.
  • Visio contains a very large collection of objects that you can add to your drawing. They are regrouped in themes which makes it more easy to select. It also allows for some standards in the drawings created.
  • Office integration is really awesome. You can integrate a Visio drawing in a Word document and people without Visio can still see it. Also, the users of Visio can edit the drawing from within Word which makes it very convenient.
  • Visio allows us to add new anchors to objects (to attach arrows and lines). This is really convenient as sometimes the default position of anchors on an object doesn't fit your needs.
  • If you can't find the object that fits your need, you can import pictures and put anchors on them. This helps you achieve the desired effect.
  • Often, I have the feeling that I'm using overly complex ways of doing some things that are basic. The tool is really easy to use and loaded with options so you can easily get lost in it. Looking for some training on the tool is probably a good idea if you want to use it fully.
  • When you are moving objects around, very often, your connectors will also move and won't arrange nicely.
  • For example, if three connectors leave an object to go to three different objects, I would like to see these three connectors joined (or overlapped) for as long as possible on the graph. Or if you manually change the path of a connector to go under an object, as soon as you move one of the two objects linked with that connector, this will usually revert the path of the connector to the original one. For people with OCD, this is triggering.
Visio is really good with technical drawings. It is not our domain so I can't vouch for it but I know it also makes an electric schema. It would be great for decision trees and process flows in general. I would not use the software for advance detailed drawings (like a building floor map) though. I probably would work but not the best thing. Also, if you need a precise object size, you will struggle a bit to get the desired result with Visio.
Read Mathieu Gaouette's full review
April 30, 2019
Glen Tylee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Visio to design all our processes and present it in a clear and concise format for both internal and external stakeholders. This tool is incredibly useful and definitely worth more than the cost.
  • Visio is very easy to use for people of all skill levels
  • The ability to build and present complicated diagrams in a simplified format
  • Cost effective with little to no comparative competition in this space
  • More options for shapes and colours
  • Collaboration could be easier
  • Better FAQ and training documents would be better
Well suited to building processes and displaying ideas clearly. Less ideal in a presentation environment but thats just a small detail.
Read Glen Tylee's full review
July 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My entire organization adopted Microsoft Visio as a part of our shift to using the new suite of Office 365 applications exclusively. Microsoft Viso has proven to be an excellent tool to create everything from basic diagrams, timelines and organizational charts to advanced cross-functional flow diagrams, Gantt charts and brainstorming diagrams that require detailed layouts.
  • I like the built-in capabilities which make it easier to connect diagrams to data sources and display data graphically.
  • I like the different templates and layouts you can leverage within Visio from basic to advanced.
  • Visio is very user-friendly, making it easy to use and collaborate with other users around shared diagrams etc.
  • While Visio is easy to use overall, it does have some quirks and can be a little limiting in what you can do within the tool itself and collaboration can sometimes be limited as a result.
Visio is an excellent tool to use when creating diagrams, flowcharts, and layouts. We have associates that work at several locations across the globe so Visio serves an important function in being able to convey complex workflow graphically and allowing remote users to collaborate on the same document. Microsoft Visio is thus well-suited to allow teams or different groups of stakeholders to collaborate around shared workflows and processes.
Read this authenticated review
June 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it within our own company when we're developing business processes for our clients. It helps the organization to understand how their business processes flows from start to end and who in the organization is involved in executing every step in the process. It is an easier way for the client to see how their process flows because it is visual.
  • BPMN for creating process work flows, Visio does a great job at integrating this notation.
  • The availability of many different shapes that can be utilized to create different types of diagrams.
  • Easy to use, user-friendly.
  • I have nothing to suggest at this time.
An excellent tool for developing business process workflows.
Read this authenticated review
April 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is a powerful tool that helps business analysts, scrum masters and project managers in our company. It is used across our whole company to create process flow diagrams, flow charts, and Gantt charts, etc. Best thing I have experienced in it is that we can get rid of the traditional way of drawing flow charts using rectangles and diamond shapes as this allows you to insert pictures so that you can represent the flow in a graphically appealing way.
  • Graphical representation of processes through inserting a picture is one of the best things I experienced in Visio.
  • Very easy to work with the models given.
  • Visio gives templates in every aspect that a business analyst or a project manager needs in terms of process flow drawings or projects plannings.
  • The only difficulty I face when I'm using this is its size layout. It is difficult to get everything we put into a single A4 size layout.
It is well suited to design process flow diagrams and represents them graphically, but it doesn't mean that we can design graphical interfaces with this software.
Read this authenticated review
March 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Visio across the whole organization. It is used to draw business processes, as is processes, solution processes, workflows, flow diagrams, etc. This caters to every requirement of a business analyst when it comes to the process of diagram creation. Without being restrained to a single business process, this can cater to any business process.
  • It gives you the ability to design every business analyzing diagram like process flow diagrams, workflows, activity, sequence, etc.
  • It helps the project managers to design project management documents like grant charts, etc.
  • Diagrams can be designed so that they are readable and pleasant. Can insert pictures instead of rectangles shapes to represent processes.
  • The only issue I find in working with Visio is the size layouts. It's very hard sometimes to design processes so that it fits the size of an A4.
Visio is not capable of UI designing. It is well suited to design process flows and project management diagrams.
Read this authenticated review
March 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Visio as a way to document both engineering hardware and software systems. We then provide these Visio documents either to customers as part of our deliverable or we save them as documentation for past or current projects so that other developers can quickly learn about the system. We mainly use it to simplify the documentation of complex software data flows, which can be difficult to see in the source code because the project may utilize thousands of subfunctions and third party programs.
  • There are a lot of templates that are built into the shipping version but there are also a lot more available online.
  • Easy to export into a PDF or other type of document.
  • There are a lot of various icons that you can use instead of just the simple flow-chart look.
  • Connecting/wiring the different blocks is not intuitive and can be frustrating.
  • The connections between blocks are auto-routed and it's really difficult to change them to look the way you want.
  • Searching for all the various icons is not readily available at all times. It seems like it's grouped by which project type you choose.
If you have a scenario that fits really well within a pre-defined template then it's a fantastic software to use and luckily there are a lot of templates available. I run into issues when I try to make something from scratch that I think will be really simple, like a data flow diagram. There are times it does not seem very intuitive, and it seems like I am spending more time trying to fix or make the diagram look the way I want than actually creating the content that I started out to create.
Read this authenticated review
March 02, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used across multiple departments to develop process flows for training and business documentation. Specifically use it to outline technical steps as well as steps users will take to follow the business path.
  • Process flows
  • Business analysis
  • Project planning
  • Easier to develop multi department flows, when you're outlining the flow, currently if you need to shift where swimlanes are located it completely alters your diagram (when boxes are connected with arrows) and you have to basically restart it.
  • This is the most nit picky thing ever, BUT, while working through a process flow if you realize you need to change the basic standard flow shapes to another shape you have to go back and redo the whole thing. If there was a way to change the shape by right clicking on the box instead to instant switch instead of copy/paste/realign/reconnect to switch out the shape I would personally be forever grateful. I once did a workflow in all start/end process circles, so dumb, but I had to go back through and rewrite the whole thing into the process boxes. It was a super large workflow. It was such a pain in the ass.
  • I didn't realize that Visio could be used for Gantt charts and project management until this review. To make those features more user-friendly or as a separate tab would allow users to track business process flows AND if kicking off a project - link the project timeline to certain steps.
Well Suited:
Project management, business documentation, process flows. Great for kick off meetings to document customer expectations or technical projects to pinpoint integration points/sub processes.
Super easy to navigate and helpful support forum which answers most of my questions!
Read this authenticated review

What is Microsoft Visio?

Microsoft offers Visio, a diagramming tool for building flowcharts, diagrams (e.g. network diagrams), org charts and floor plans, available online as a subscription and also in enterprise level packages (e.g. Visio Professional).
Categories:  Org Chart,  Diagramming

Microsoft Visio Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Plan 1$5.00Per User Per Month
Plan 2$15.00Per User Per Month
Standard$280.00
Professional$530.00

Microsoft Visio Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No