Microsoft Visio Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
84 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Simisara Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Powerful and versatile Diagramming tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Visio to build UML diagrams that are used to prepare Business Requirement Document as well as to prepare flowcharts. It is used within the Project Management and Development teams to help identify the minute details of software development. It helps to finalise the development model and helps in providing a macro-level picture to the clients.
  • Flowcharts can be prepared very easily as it has stencils that can be used.
  • Use case diagrams can be prepared by use of predefined template.
  • Point connectors are suggested during the build of the models that make it easier to work in the canvas.
  • Ability to export to different formats supported by Design tools like Adobe XD, etc.
  • If more aesthetic suggestions can be provided inbuilt that may enhance the user experience.
It is suited to build UML diagrams or any diagrams that can be used in a variety of scenarios. It is an ideal tool for the software development planning and analysis phase, especially when accompanied by any mockups tool. Most change request documents/requirement documents will have at least some diagrammatic representation of as-is/to-be systems where the tool can be used for rendering the proposed solution diagrammatically.
Read Simisara Johnson's full review
John Mota | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2020

Use Visio for ALL your diagram creation tasks. Great overall infrastructure design program.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it is used for the creation of org charts, network diagrams, software project diagrams, etc. The ability to import other manufacturer's design and equipment detail for inclusion in our drawings makes this software valuable. We are able to re-use diagrams to implement upgrades to equipment and find Visio valuable for keeping track of inventory on this equipment.
  • Automated linking of diagram objects based on rules.
  • Vast array of diagram objects.
  • Easiest software to use for organizational charts.
  • Remove the block for click-to-run installation when used in conjunction with Office 365.
  • Reduce pricing for the on-line version of Visio if this is going to be the wave of the future.
  • Have better definition and detail requirements for objects provided by third parties for import into Visio.
One way I've used Visio is to map the current state of a network. Beginning with actual design objects from OEMs, you are able to import a lot of equipment details and enter serial numbers, service IDs, MAC addresses, etc. Visio objects are defined at various manufacturer websites including Cisco, EMC, Dell, HP, etc. You then can link and organize your network "on paper" to keep an inventory of your devices, their software version levels, and other information. When you replace a device, it's easy to delete and add the new device, keeping your documentation up to date.
Read John Mota's full review
Rina Falkovich | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2019

A versatile multi-discipline tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is being used across the organization. Our Network and Security teams use it for network diagrams, analysts to depict the process flow diagrams, architecture for system context and data flow diagrams, operations to draw ITIL processes
  • Easy to find shapes and stencils.
  • Built-in templates.
  • The software is not intuitive.
  • It is quite expensive.
Microsoft Visio is great for a variety of diagrams. It' has a number of templates for data/process flow diagrams, network diagrams, and floor plans. The convenience of drag and drop feature makes it fast to build visually appealing diagrams which serve as a great communication tool. Its ability to export to PDF is also very handy.
Read Rina Falkovich's full review
Bryan Goodyear, PMP, CSM | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2019

Microsoft Visio Helps Create Powerful Visualizations

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is used by individual users throughout the organization; it is not widely used but can be requested by users anywhere in the organization. Microsoft Visio is used to document processes or diagrams of networks, solutions, and more. Visio enables efficient and effective documentation of these processes and diagrams, improving overall documentation and communication within the organization. This helps avoid issues and cost of poor quality.
  • Powerful and clean visualizations.
  • Large library of industry-recognized shapes to leverage in your visualizations.
  • Sharing your diagram is not easy; printing or publishing is unfortunately not as easy as it could be.
  • Keeping shapes aligned could be easier. You have to have a good eye for spatial design to keep complicated diagrams easy-on-the-eyes.
Whenever a diagram or process needs to be documented, Microsoft Visio is a good option. Microsoft Visio is especially helpful when showing relationships between multiple items. Diagrams that primarily display information can be created leveraging other tools like Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Microsoft Publisher, or others, but Microsoft Visio can still be used in these situations.
Read Bryan Goodyear, PMP, CSM's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Good tool for basic functions and needs

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio was used before we switched to Lucidchart for mapping and flow creations. It is used primarily to easily create flowcharts and tracking progress. It comes as a part of the Microsoft suite, which is nice. It is easy to use for the most part and suitable for basic operations and templates. The templates available make it a great beginner product.
  • Easy to use templates and UI.
  • Ability to work offline and one cloud support.
  • Infinite canvas and printing options makes it suitable for everyone to create and print.
  • The installer tool is clunky, rigid and uninviting.
  • The preloaded shapes and icons are limited in comparison to Lucidchart.
  • The user experience is not straightforward unless you take some basic tutorials.
Visio is really a basic tool to create product strategy roadmaps, flowcharts and even simple artworks for immediate printing. While it does its basic functions well, it is limited to those basic functions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

High ease of use and good functionality with vast options of nodes

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is used to create process maps in my organization. It is used in whole organization, across pretty much all engineering and business departments. I used it during analyzing the production process, carrying out change analysis by inspecting a before-after situation. It is frequently used in production process mapping but it is also used in business process mapping, too. That shows how business is carried out across various departments. This becomes a must when an organization is huge.
  • Process mapping
  • Intuitive interface
  • Reporting
  • Node connection facilities
Visio is great for process mapping, whether it is production or business process across departments, with its ease of use, and intuitive interface that comes from Microsoft Office and options of nodes that can be searched in the bar on the left. Even a fresh intern can start drawing immediately. However if one needs detailed process mapping, with many kinds of connections and a standard library, as well as detailed data-mining kind of reporting, Visio will not be sufficient.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Best way to handle the complicated process flow diagrams especially in engineering

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio enables us to create complicated diagrams in an easy way. It offers a wide variety of built-in shapes, objects, and stencils. In our organization whole departments are using Visio especially to create process design documents.
  • Easy to create process flow/map.
  • Enhanced and in large number of icons or symbols for workflows.
  • License cost might be high for small businesses.
For organization charts, complicated process-flow diagrams and hierarchical charts, it is well suited.
Read this authenticated review
Nandini pallipamu | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Microsoft Visio a great tool for network engineering.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is very well suited for creating flowcharts, network diagrams, site plans, & site surveys. Microsoft Visio is also excellent for IT diagrams on the whole, server diagrams, data center architecture, etc. It is an excellent tool for network documentation!
  • Flow charts
  • Network diagrams
  • Network logs, documentation
  • Microsoft Visio Viewer
  • GUI needs improvement
  • More shapes & figures need to be added esp in the network diagrams segment.
As a network engineer, I have to create and edit network diagrams daily. Microsoft Visio is quite a time saver.
Read Nandini pallipamu's full review
Aaron Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

A good diagramming tool that integrates well with other Microsoft software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is being used at Duquesne Light Company as our process flow mapping tool. It is used to illustrate processes, dependencies, data flow, network diagrams, etc., in our organization. I personally use it more for process flows when designing new solutions for my internal customers. It allows users a way to visually depict how processes flow.
  • Visio is integrated with other Office suite products which is nice.
  • It is user-friendly. It doesn't take long to figure out how to get up and running while also providing advanced users options to add the bells and whistles they want.
  • The variety of standard templates is large and there are lots more custom templates you can download too.
  • It is an expensive license. I believe it's $500/person.
  • Not available for Mac/Linux users
  • Can't publish to certain web applications easily.
Visio is well suited to any medium to large organization where you can negotiate a good price for the licenses. It is well suited to any organization with users familiar with the MS Office Suite and who need a process flow designer tool. Overall, it's easy to use and very helpful for visual learners.
Read Aaron Baker's full review
Amy Sternin | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Decent product, but you really need to get proficient to be productive

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our company, we use this within the product development group (part of the technology team). We use Visio to produce various swimlane type diagrams, workflows and flow charts, which in turn are presented to management and business teams, as well as used to generate user stories for development. We have also used Visio for org charts.
  • Visio provides a number of templates and a good selection of symbols and shapes to use.
  • The number of features and functionality is pretty robust, so you are not restricted in your ability to create with Visio how you visualize you want the results to be.
  • It is a commonly used product, so sharing with others is easy, plus since it integrates with other Microsoft products, that is helpful as well.
  • I find it not very intuitive, and that is after using it for a number of years.
  • I have difficulty formatting to a page for printing or even viewing in a presentation.
  • The ability to switch between text and textboxes and lines seems like it could be done easier. It seems like I am always in the wrong area.
  • It would be great if there was an easier way to find the correct symbol or icon you want. Often I can never find what I am looking for and need to improvise.
We like the swimlane diagramming and the flow charts. With a bit of effort, we can make them efficient for use within our team, or add bells and whistles of formatting for executive review. They do translate well to pdf when sharing with non-Visio users. I would not recommend for people that are novices and don't have the need to create 'fancy' diagrams. For simply typing things, they can just easily use Excel. And I actually sometimes do that when I am in a hurry.
Read Amy Sternin's full review
Richard Perroset | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2019

Microsof Visio - The Diagram to Your Success!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visio to easily and intuitively create flowcharts, diagrams, org charts, and more, using modern shapes and templates with the familiar Office experience. We are a process oriented company so flowcharts are a great way for us to communicate to others the steps involved in each process and which part of the process pertains to them.
  • Work together on Visio flowcharts to include insights from all stakeholders.
  • With Office 365*, multiple team members can work on diagrams at the same time.
  • Connect your flowcharts and diagrams to real-time data.
  • Applied shape formatting automatically updates your flowcharts to reflect changes in the underlying data, either in Visio or through Office 365*.
  • Its inability to delve deeply into micro information successfully.
  • It is a paid software which comes after paying a Microsoft licensing fee.
  • The cost is high and the integration of the stencil library is unnecessarily fragmented.
  • The more you use it, the faster and more effective you will get.
Ease of use, it has many stencils supporting system architecture and IDEF system behavior diagrams. I have also utilized it as a system conops design tool. Excellent flexibility. Powerful program for drawing plans and structural charts, is easy to use and contains a wide range of design tools that facilitates the development of flow charts for users with little experience.
Read Richard Perroset's full review
Jerome Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Microsoft Visio Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visio is used quite a bit by our company. We use it mainly to describe workflows and Diagrams, which in the I.T. environment is a critical tool when explaining workflows for programs, department processes and potential changes to these processes. The tool helps me quite a bit when explaining these processes to non-I.T. employees.
  • Very easy to use with multiple diagram tools
  • Lots of built-in options and templates and it allows you to import many more.
  • Reliable program - I've used it Visio for many years and it gets easier to use with each revision.
  • Would like to see more animated tools that could be used in workflows
  • As its a Microsoft program - cost is always an issue.
Works very well with Workflows.
Read Jerome Pierce's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

A great process mapping toolset.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently being used by specific individuals and teams based on their responsibilities but generally by those required to design high-level diagrams and schematics for projects. As a product it significantly simplifies the process in creating professional diagrams/process flows and architectural flows for upcoming and current projects.
  • The templates for basic flowcharting are simple to use and cover most of the basic functions and touch points in a diagram.
  • The variety of included icons and connectors means it's very easy to create floor plans and/or network diagrams.
  • The ease at which you can customise connectors with different colours/thickness makes it very effective in overall presentation of a diagram.
  • For me personally I cannot highlight anything specific that has any bearing on how I use the product. Everything is very straightforward and clearly signposted including template desgins and categories. The layout is easy to navigate and as it's part of the MS Office ecosystem means there is less to learn as I'm used to a lot of the cross product functionality.
Microsoft Visio is very good for process flow diagrams, high-level architectural VC/Telephony diagrams, and building/room floor plans. It is less appropriate for detailed project plans (use MS Project for that instead).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

A Great tool for creating process diagrams

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Visio to draw process diagrams and database information flow. The process flows can be also drawn by using Excel, Word, or Powerpoint. However, Visio speeds things up. The diagrams are easy to draw with predefined library items. The chart elements can be auto arranged. Furthermore, the library of icons is big enough so that users do not need to google down icons.
  • The library of icons and elements are big enough.
  • The predefined templates for projects are useful.
  • It makes the work fast and efficient.
  • It's easy to learn.
  • Sometimes auto-arrange does not correctly align the project diagrams.
  • Licence fees are expensive.
  • If you are doing projects for clients, your clients will not be able to change the process diagram if they do not have a Visio license.
If you are working within an organization that will use the process diagrams for its needs, then you can use Visio, as your organization will have the license to make changes in the future. But if you are working at a consultancy firm which creates process diagrams, then think twice. Your clients may not have Visio licenses to change the diagrams that you had drawn for them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Visio is an amazing tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is being used by software/firmware engineers for software design. I think its being used across the whole organization. Visio is easy to use and develop the Flowchart, UML, diagrams, etc.
  • Flowcharts.
  • UML diagrams.
  • Ease of use.
  • Tons of supported design diagram templates.
  • Could be faster.
  • Could take less time to load.
  • Could make a online version of the tool.
Microsoft Visio is well suited for all company needs. If you are a project manager or a software developer you could use the Visio to develop class diagrams, flowcharts or create a block diagram of a system to explain it. For me, it is a very effective tool. In addition, even with all the options, its easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2019

Microsoft Visio is the perfect tool for those looking to create advanced diagrams and layouts using pre-built templates.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My entire organization adopted Microsoft Visio as a part of our shift to using the new suite of Office 365 applications exclusively. Microsoft Viso has proven to be an excellent tool to create everything from basic diagrams, timelines and organizational charts to advanced cross-functional flow diagrams, Gantt charts and brainstorming diagrams that require detailed layouts.
  • I like the built-in capabilities which make it easier to connect diagrams to data sources and display data graphically.
  • I like the different templates and layouts you can leverage within Visio from basic to advanced.
  • Visio is very user-friendly, making it easy to use and collaborate with other users around shared diagrams etc.
  • While Visio is easy to use overall, it does have some quirks and can be a little limiting in what you can do within the tool itself and collaboration can sometimes be limited as a result.
Visio is an excellent tool to use when creating diagrams, flowcharts, and layouts. We have associates that work at several locations across the globe so Visio serves an important function in being able to convey complex workflow graphically and allowing remote users to collaborate on the same document. Microsoft Visio is thus well-suited to allow teams or different groups of stakeholders to collaborate around shared workflows and processes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2019

Visio - excellent tool for creating process workflows

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it within our own company when we're developing business processes for our clients. It helps the organization to understand how their business processes flows from start to end and who in the organization is involved in executing every step in the process. It is an easier way for the client to see how their process flows because it is visual.
  • BPMN for creating process work flows, Visio does a great job at integrating this notation.
  • The availability of many different shapes that can be utilized to create different types of diagrams.
  • Easy to use, user-friendly.
  • I have nothing to suggest at this time.
An excellent tool for developing business process workflows.
Read this authenticated review
Steven Carmean | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

Visio - for someone already using Microsoft services

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visio to make block diagrams for various project plans. Specifically, I have used it for making AV diagrams to show stakeholders what it will take in order to make a conference room perform the tasks asked by them. The complexity levels within Visio can be helpful in updating floorplans on occasion as well, but I would prefer making something in Bluebeam for that specifically.
  • Block diagrams
  • Flowcharts and UML plans
  • Floorplan updates
  • Org Charts
  • Better Office 365 view
  • Image detection and integration into floor plan pieces
  • Manually moving connectors could be easier
Visio will work really well for someone using it to make some flow charts, org charts, and universal markup language charts.
I don't see it being the easiest when working on floor plans because importing the plans doesn't work out too well and requires you to make pointers for connections if you brought in one big picture rather than individualized pieces.
Read Steven Carmean's full review
David Currier | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Visio as design solution of choice for call flow documentation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visio as a visual design and documentation solution. It is primarily used by our Operations teams, though others may use it occasionally in the Sales/Marketing process or for consulting engagements. I use it to document communication flows and communication system architecture. It allows me to clearly represent current configuration and plans for future deployments.
  • Visio is a highly flexible design and documentation platform that enables clear representation of systems and solutions
  • Visio is the digital version of a whiteboard that can be used to solidify an idea into a design
  • The ability to export a design to a PDF allows easy sharing with others that do not use Visio
  • Visio falls behind in the real-time collaboration department
  • I have always wished that Visio more easily enabled dynamic complex shapes - for example, a simple shape with menu of choices that would automatically expand/contract as items are added/deleted
Visio is an excellent tool for documenting a call flow design or the architecture and components of a communications system in a visual format and their relationship to each other. It is less helpful for text-based documentation. When a solution needs to be represented visually, it is an excellent choice.
Read David Currier's full review
Richard Crane | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

Visio is Amazing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visio is used throughout my organization. It's the best (and only) go-to product for creating process flows and system diagrams. It simplifies complex processes, makes information manageable and shareable, and improves my documentation.
  • I love that Visio works for any level of user. I can create simplistic, high-level diagrams very quickly, or take my time and create more complex processes and diagrams using Visio's large shapes library. And if the icon or image I need isn't available, I can paste or import it into my diagram.
  • It gives me control to go outside what we'd consider best practices to create diagrams that have specific meaning to stakeholders. For example, some may like a particular color scheme, which I really don't care about, but if they want decisions to be yellow, start to be green, and end to be red, I can easily accommodate those requests.
  • I also love (love!) that it is so easy to use with SharePoint. I can virtually collaborate with my team to refine process flows and diagrams, and go back through my version control to see which changes have been made and by whom.
  • The shapes library can be a little daunting if you're unfamiliar. Unless you know what you're looking for and where to find it, you can spend a lot of time looking for a particular shape or icon. But once you find it, you can add it to your shapes menu for easy access.
  • You can also spend a lot of time selecting your defaults for shapes, arrows, font size, etc. But like the shapes library, once you get it down, it's locked in.
  • Be prepared to spend a few hours playing with Visio before figuring out all the nuances. But if you're a beginner and need to create a process flow or diagram, you can do it very quickly without a lot of effort or training. The fun stuff takes a little longer to master.
Visio is great for creating process flows and system diagrams. The only constraint with Visio is my own skills and creativity in building complex, rich documentation to easily convey information. If you're looking to improve processes, or depict current or future-state processes, you need Visio.
Read Richard Crane's full review
Alexander Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

The king but for how long?

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visio is used for all flowcharts in projects in the UK at Fujitsu. As the industry standard in diagramming it's virtually impossible to use anything else. I mainly deal with solution architects who create process flows in Visio to send to myself and fellow developers.
  • For users who have been using it since the early versions, the changes between the years have been incremental and easy to pick up. It's an easy learning curve for longtime users.
  • A huge amount of different diagram options for every conceivable possibility. There isn't another tool with this much diagram versatility while maintaining a professional feel.
  • It's often bunched in with Office 365 Professional meaning that companies don't have to shell out too much.
  • It is not very user-friendly for first-time users, such as myself back in 2016. If you haven't had training in the area you will find producing professional diagrams difficult with Visio.
  • There are open source alternatives that are catching up with Visio's functionality for free. It may not be long until forking out for Visio may not be worth it.
  • Switching between open source software and Visio can cause compatibility issues, and diagrams may be ruined in the conversion.
In practically every corporate scenario, Visio will be used. However, if a simple diagram needs to be made the user experience is too poor to be efficient. I've seen users resort to PowerPoint rather than messing with Visio. However, if professionalism is paramount, there is no alternative to Visio.
Read Alexander Cooper's full review
Mathieu Gaouette | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2019

Using Visio to help share your vision efficiently

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visio is extremely versatile and probably used in almost all groups where people document processes or systems. In my group, it is used mostly by solution architects to describe solutions and systems. I've seen it used to describe support processes as well. Words can't describe everything in an efficient manner. Sometimes, a drawing really helps understand. In these cases, Visio is great as it allows you to quickly make a visual representation.
  • Visio contains a very large collection of objects that you can add to your drawing. They are regrouped in themes which makes it more easy to select. It also allows for some standards in the drawings created.
  • Office integration is really awesome. You can integrate a Visio drawing in a Word document and people without Visio can still see it. Also, the users of Visio can edit the drawing from within Word which makes it very convenient.
  • Visio allows us to add new anchors to objects (to attach arrows and lines). This is really convenient as sometimes the default position of anchors on an object doesn't fit your needs.
  • If you can't find the object that fits your need, you can import pictures and put anchors on them. This helps you achieve the desired effect.
  • Often, I have the feeling that I'm using overly complex ways of doing some things that are basic. The tool is really easy to use and loaded with options so you can easily get lost in it. Looking for some training on the tool is probably a good idea if you want to use it fully.
  • When you are moving objects around, very often, your connectors will also move and won't arrange nicely.
  • For example, if three connectors leave an object to go to three different objects, I would like to see these three connectors joined (or overlapped) for as long as possible on the graph. Or if you manually change the path of a connector to go under an object, as soon as you move one of the two objects linked with that connector, this will usually revert the path of the connector to the original one. For people with OCD, this is triggering.
Visio is really good with technical drawings. It is not our domain so I can't vouch for it but I know it also makes an electric schema. It would be great for decision trees and process flows in general. I would not use the software for advance detailed drawings (like a building floor map) though. I probably would work but not the best thing. Also, if you need a precise object size, you will struggle a bit to get the desired result with Visio.
Read Mathieu Gaouette's full review
Glen Tylee | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

A massive time saving tool that has shown to be invaluable in short and long term application.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Visio to design all our processes and present it in a clear and concise format for both internal and external stakeholders. This tool is incredibly useful and definitely worth more than the cost.
  • Visio is very easy to use for people of all skill levels
  • The ability to build and present complicated diagrams in a simplified format
  • Cost effective with little to no comparative competition in this space
  • More options for shapes and colours
  • Collaboration could be easier
  • Better FAQ and training documents would be better
Well suited to building processes and displaying ideas clearly. Less ideal in a presentation environment but thats just a small detail.
Read Glen Tylee's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2019

Explore Your Creativity in Designing Graphical Process Flow Diagrams

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visio is a powerful tool that helps business analysts, scrum masters and project managers in our company. It is used across our whole company to create process flow diagrams, flow charts, and Gantt charts, etc. Best thing I have experienced in it is that we can get rid of the traditional way of drawing flow charts using rectangles and diamond shapes as this allows you to insert pictures so that you can represent the flow in a graphically appealing way.
  • Graphical representation of processes through inserting a picture is one of the best things I experienced in Visio.
  • Very easy to work with the models given.
  • Visio gives templates in every aspect that a business analyst or a project manager needs in terms of process flow drawings or projects plannings.
  • The only difficulty I face when I'm using this is its size layout. It is difficult to get everything we put into a single A4 size layout.
It is well suited to design process flow diagrams and represents them graphically, but it doesn't mean that we can design graphical interfaces with this software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2019

Visio to Ease the Life of a Business Analyst

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Visio across the whole organization. It is used to draw business processes, as is processes, solution processes, workflows, flow diagrams, etc. This caters to every requirement of a business analyst when it comes to the process of diagram creation. Without being restrained to a single business process, this can cater to any business process.
  • It gives you the ability to design every business analyzing diagram like process flow diagrams, workflows, activity, sequence, etc.
  • It helps the project managers to design project management documents like grant charts, etc.
  • Diagrams can be designed so that they are readable and pleasant. Can insert pictures instead of rectangles shapes to represent processes.
  • The only issue I find in working with Visio is the size layouts. It's very hard sometimes to design processes so that it fits the size of an A4.
Visio is not capable of UI designing. It is well suited to design process flows and project management diagrams.
Read this authenticated review

About Microsoft Visio

Microsoft offers Visio, a diagramming tool for building flowcharts, diagrams (e.g. network diagrams), org charts and floor plans, available online as a subscription and also in enterprise level packages (e.g. Visio Professional).
Categories:  Diagramming

Microsoft Visio Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No