1Password Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
81 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 37)

Jose F. Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

The One Password You Need

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use 1Password to manage all usernames and passwords for our departments and projects. One key issue that we solve by using 1Password, is security. By having 1Password create a new password, we take the burden of choosing a new secure password from the user and make it safer by leveraging the 1Password feature that alerts when a site has been breached and the password should be changed.

Also, some passwords/user sessions need to be generic (for instance for a per role account) and 1Password helps a lot in that field because it lets us share usernames/passwords and even credit card information with teams.
  • Managing passwords: Create truly secure passwords or pass-phrases.
  • Sharing credit card information with appointed team members.
  • 1Password is so secure, that it lacks a self-managed "forget your password" functionality which means that as a manager, I have to approve password resets which may slow down some users.
  • On Chrome, the extension sometimes stops working when the browser is updated.
  • When having to memorize passwords, 1Password gets rid of this by just leveraging a single Password (thus the name) and then letting it decide the password/passphrase to use. It integrates well into sign up flows so that there's no excuse not to use it always to generate new passwords.
  • When I want to share credit card information so that other people from my teams can use it to make online purchases.
  • When having a single seat/account that needs to be shared across people due to heavy rotation.
  • When the sign-up process has very complex password rules.
Read Jose F. Gomez's full review
José Escudero | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

1Password - a must for online security

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1Password was initially recommended by senior members of the team to manage our personal and work credentials. It is just recommended, not enforced. It is used to save information such as login information, SSH keys, cryptographical keypairs, and general documents. It is in general a bad idea to have a single password for everything or save information in plain text. 1Password allows us to generate a random password for each used service and save information in a secure way.
  • Random password generation.
  • Browser auto-fill forms.
  • Allow text fields to have more than one line (You can use notes for that but you can have a single note per item as of now).
  • More formats by default (SSH keys, Blockchain keypairs, etc).
I honestly can't see myself without 1Password anymore. Prior to using it, I only had like 3 passwords for everything, I had to remember them, and suffered the risk of having many accounts attacked if a single password was stolen.

1Password is perfect if you care about security online and want a great tool to help you with that.
It will help you generate random passwords, fill browser forms automatically, save secure notes, etc.
Read José Escudero's full review
Gary Gray | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

1Password is the game-changer app you've been waiting for

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Hands down 1Password is the single most indispensable applications/services use. As an IT consultant, I have 3,700 passwords/software licenses/credit cards stored in my 1Password database - and without a similarly secure way to manage that data, I'd be utterly unable to do my work efficiently. I've turned countless clients onto 1Password, and it's become an equally vital part of their daily workflow as well.
  • I use 1Password to securely store the assorted data I designed to store and sync it across all my devices (Macs, iPads, iPhones) as well as share 1Password databases with select clients. 1Password will generate unique secure passwords, populate password entry fields on websites, and securely manage it all.
  • Secure. 1Password is a secure encrypted repository for my passwords and other vital information (credit card and banking data, software licenses, etc.).
  • Simple. Once it's setup 1Password just works as you want it to and think it should.
  • Multi-field password entry. It still seems clunky if I have a three-field login where some piece of data beyond a user name and password are needed.
  • Migration from earlier versions of 1Password has been a mixed bag of work necessary to make them work on the newer platform.
  • It's 2020, we all have passwords to manage - so everybody is a potential user. The ability to generate unique and strong passwords, and then enter them with a simple keystroke is incredibly useful and far more intuitive than Apple's Mac Keychain app. That it handles other types of data as well, from secure notes to attached files, it can handle whatever you throw at it in an easily searchable database. If you're a member of a team of family, it's effortless to deploy shared vaults that contain only whatever passwords or data are relevant to that specific person.
  • Can't think of any scenario where it wouldn't be useful unless you're not online, don't engage in consumer activities, and it was somehow fifty years ago.
Read Gary Gray's full review
Aaron Pinsker | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

1Password is a powerful and comprehensive password management solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1Password is being used by myself for both personal and business use, as well as by a number of other clients for both personal and business use. The main problem being solved is simple, keep track of the plethora of passwords that are used across applications, websites, computers and other devices. There are two major business problems that 1Password solves - security and forgotten passwords.
  • 1Password does a phenomenal job of keeping track of all your passwords!
  • 1Password allows you to auto generate passwords with varying complexity. Since you don't have to remember these passwords, you can use 1Password's password generator to create extremely complex passwords.
  • 1Password's overall interface can be a bit overwhelming at first - with a plethora of options and categories to choose from.
  • Getting used to allowing 1Password to manage all your passwords - to the point you don't have to remember them, or even know what they are - takes a fair amount of getting used to.
Despite its subscription model, 1Password is one of the most comprehensive password management programs out there. It seamlessly integrates with all major web browsers (Firefox, Chrome, and Safari), has both an iOS and Android counterpart to allow you to sync passwords b/w devices, and allows you to store more than just passwords. If used to its fullest, 1Password can act as a one stop repository for all your important information - such as passport information, bank account and credit card information, software registration, and much more - and not just logins/passwords.
Read Aaron Pinsker's full review
Craig West | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2019

1Password continues to impress!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1Password is used by our organization to maintain passwords to websites, iPhone apps, databases, retaining account information, and software notes and licensing keys. It allows everyone to have access at their own computers while also maintaining encrypted and sensitive information. Our IT department, HR, Office Staff and CEO and other Senior staff utilize 1password and require multiple vaults.
  • 1Password does well with the encryption level.
  • The app and design of the user interface are friendly and easy to use.
  • Inexpensive family and business plans.
  • Multiple vaults and permissions available.
  • The price point for businesses could be adjusted.
  • Sync options may be limited. It allows for iCloud, dropbox and other folders, but does not have the ability to access Google drive.
  • It is a licensing service rather than a standalone.
The price point for 1Password for personal and family use is fairly reasonable. It is suited for those individuals who have a lot of passwords to keep track of. If you only have a few passwords (i.e. 20 or less), there might be other options for you that are free (e.g., KeePass). If you utilize passwords for logins on the web, entering identifying information, saving passwords for the multi-apps that a user might have on their phone, then 1Password would be an ideal solution.

For businesses, the ability to create 2-factor authentication protection, have an admin control to view and manage permissions, and have unlimited shared faults, will be useful for those organizations or businesses with multi-users.
Read Craig West's full review
Prathamesh Muzumdar | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

1Password, excellent solution to secure username and passwords

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1Password is all in one solution for maintaining and safekeeping of usernames and passwords. We use it across departments and different verticals. It is used to maintain passwords and usernames to websites, desktop applications, smartphone applications, database applications, ERP account information and licensing keys to different software. All employees can have access at their own laptops while maintaining encrypted and secured information. The biggest business problem it solves is that of security. The features provided by 1Password are great especially the one where you are alerted by when a site has been breached and when you are required to change the password. It allows the user to quickly generate and use safe generic passwords for all the logins. It is compliant with most regulations, HIPAA being one of them. Password reuse and password sharing through the secure channel are other great features of 1Password.
  • The encryption levels provided by 1Password are great. It’s a multi-tier encryption.
  • The graphical user interface of the application is very user friendly. The design is made for better and effective user navigation.
  • There is no option to reset your password manually for the user, someone authorized for the account has to approve the request for a new password.
  • The extension for most browsers stops working after the browser is updated. This results in uninstalling and installing again which is time-consuming.
1Password is well suited for organizations that are larger and which require a tool to assist them in the username and password management. 1Password does an excellent job in this department, not only does it provide assistance, but also it provides security. 1Password is not suitable for scenarios where you have a few people managing 1Password. Manual authorization is a big challenge for 1Password and somebody has to take the authority to do it manually. Also, synchronizing is a big challenge with 1Password, most sync takes a lot of time especially with Google apps.
Read Prathamesh Muzumdar's full review
Adam O'Connor | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Simple and Secure Password Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use 1Password as a central password management utility across different departments. We keep all of our vaults synced up so that when someone needs to change a password it's nearly instantly available to all users in the company. Further, whenever we need to update all passwords it's centralized and easy to manage. Before doing this we found some employees were simply keeping a spreadsheet or post-it notes on their desks! Now we use saved passwords that are much harder to break.
  • Vault management
  • Elegant UI
  • Maybe a free version so that more people can try it.
1Password is well suited for personal use as well as business use. For businesses, it's great because you can keep ensuring password formulas are enforced, create shared vaults, sync changes across vaults as well as create vaults for different levels of security. Overall, it really fosters a more secure environment because users don't mind using it.
Read Adam O'Connor's full review
Bryan Hume | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Centralized Power & Efficiency

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1Password offers efficiency, simplicity, and centralization for my company. From credit cards to website logins, having important data secured through an accessible tool has made operations run much smoother. It is being used across the entire organization. It helps solves the problem of password and data security while making our business run much quicker due to the ease of finding the information we need.
  • Security: AES 256-bit encryption keeps your data extremely safe.
  • Design: The tool is easy and enjoyable to use due to an aesthetically pleasing UI.
  • Pricing: 1Password used to be a one-and-done price, but has since moved to subscription-based model.
  • Glitches: 1Password Mini, the browser extension, occasionally stops working out of the blue.
Although there are plenty of password managers available, 1Password is the top tier. It is suitable for any small business or large organization—I have used it for companies across the board in terms of scale. Having a reliable password manager in place that isn't overwhelming to use on a regular basis will help you focus on projects that matter. It's an essential tool for productivity and business operations.
Read Bryan Hume's full review
John Readwin | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2020

Great full featured password manager

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm an independent Mac/Apple consultant and use 1Password for all my sensitive data. (passwords, Credit Cards, passport details, etc.) I use 1Password across all my devices ( Mac Pro, iPhone, MacBook Pro).
It allows me to quickly generate and use secure unique passwords for all my logins.
  • Password Autofill , easy to use and quick.
  • Password Generation, flexible password generation, allows you to omit ambiguous characters (io, l, etc.)
  • Password Generation could allow "easy to remember passwords," but with special characters, capitals, numbers added ( which some sites require), This currently has to happen manually.
  • New password generation and updating for existing logins, the current process can be a little cumbersome.
  • I currently recommend 1Password to all my clients. It works great for a single user, family, or business team.
  • It allows the user to easily store and access their passwords, credit card details across all popular browsers and devices.
  • If you do a lot of traveling, it has a great feature that allows you to hide your passwords from prying eyes (like homeland security !)
Read John Readwin's full review
Jeffrey Schneider | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Secure your team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1Password is required to be used by the entire organization. We are a HIPAA compliant company and security is extremely important across the entire company. With so much software being used by different departments, the threat of having passwords stolen should be a huge priority in any organization. It helps keep us protected as well as compliant with HIPAA guidelines.
  • Security.
  • Encrypted secure password generator.
  • If you do not remember your core password, it can be very difficult to recover your account.
  • Interface can always use improvement
I have used a few different password managers and 1Password handles all our company's needs. It is fairly easy to manage across the organization for each user. It can be easily deactivated should an employee be terminated. Overall, it is a very good all in one solution as a password manager.
Read Jeffrey Schneider's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Using 1Password will keep you safe on the internet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using 1Password has really helped us to manage the ever increasing amount of passwords that the internet requires these days. It is also more than just a password manager. Secure notes and things like server details, wi-fi passwords, identity storage, and secure document storage make 1Password a fully featured password manager.
  • Autofill of usernames and passwords including one-time passwords.
  • Password warnings for compromised websites, re-used passwords.
  • Safari extension can be somewhat buggy.
  • It can be confusing when updating a password and hard to know if the password you created will be saved to the correct record.
1Password is a fantastic password manager. I highly recommend it for individuals and organizations (1Password for Teams) to manage the ever increasing amount of passwords that are required in today's internet. Websites are being compromised at an increasing pace, and the most effective way to limit your exposure is to not re-use passwords. 1Password is the best way I've found to keep track of unique passwords.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

1Password - Same Features, More Money, Less Support

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team and I used 1Password to manage shared passwords across our development resources in order to ensure we were conforming to best practice regarding password reuse and to facilitate sharing of complex passwords. Several of us were already using 1Password personally, so getting a team license made sense as our users were already familiar and comfortable with using 1Password. Outside of the direct business use, as a personal user, I've enjoyed its Watchtower service which helps me monitor security breaches containing my credentials.
  • 1Password's Watchtower service is a real value add - 1Password monitors the security news for evidence of security breaches containing your credentials and alerts you if you have been impacted. That is a huge value as it enables you to get out in front of a security breach and be proactive in protecting yourself.
  • 1Password's core strength is that it makes it easy to practice good security hygiene by using strong, unique passwords for each site you interact with. This is something that all password managers do now, but offering an easy experience is key.
  • 1Password's password sharing features makes it easy to share team credentials with other team members, and to decide who amongst the team gets access to the designated credentials.
  • Pricing. 1Password's chief competitor, LastPass beats it on pricing, especially at volume. While both applications offer very similar functionality with a great user experience, your organization may be likely to switch to the least expensive option, as we did.
  • Website Autofill can fail to work at times. This can be really frustrating when you're pressing the autofill keyboard shortcut and nothing is happening. I'm not sure that this is the fault of 1Password - it seems to coincide with changes to website structure, but it makes for a frustrating and inconsistent user experience.
  • 1Password's Windows application has always lagged behind the MacOS version. It has always felt like a second class citizen. Having said that, the MacOS version is really, really good. It's frustrating never to have parity across platforms.
As I mentioned earlier, 1Password is well suited to environments where you want your users to exercise good security hygiene and have a friendly user experience to do so. 1Password offers that. It also makes for a good experience where you want to share common credentials amongst your team, offering you a secure method of doing so, while also offering you the ability to restrict to whom you share your credentials. 1Password is not well suited in environments where cost is a factor. It's competitive with LastPass across various tiers, but ultimately comes out more expensive at scale/features.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2020

All For 1Password and 1Password For All

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used 1Password across the entire company as a way to store login info, both personally and professionally. 1Password made it easy for teams to quickly access and update shared login info, while also generating very secure passwords. We were able to keep inter-office details secure while keeping them easy to find.
  • The password generator is a wonderful tool.
  • The different types of info you can store. i.e. Credit card info, addresses, logins, etc...
  • I'm not sure if it exists already, but a prompt asking if 1Password would like a new login saved would be great. I did not have it installed on my browser, so maybe this was how it functioned if it did this.
  • It would be great if it could randomly update passwords for you on specific dates, so that you're always staying secure.
We used to update our WiFi info regularly and having it available and constantly updated on 1Password made it really simple for everyone to have the right info across our global organization.
I used 1Password for credit card number management, since my role required me to purchase various things from various team budgets and it was a big time saver to have the details already saved in my vault, so I didn't have to always reach into my purse. It also allowed me to store the physical cards in secure locations so that I didn't need to be carrying cards with corporate sized maximums on me.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

1Password gets the job done.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using it to manage my work passwords in one vault, personal passwords in another and shared family passwords in another vault. I am investigating a shared vault for admin accounts for the team. It allows me to quickly and easily set up unique, complex passwords for every individual sign-in.
  • Encourages better security by not re-using passwords.
  • Allows easy entry of complex passwords.
  • Cost can be a little high for personal use.
  • Mac integration is still better than Windows.
It's the best of the many password managers out there for multi-platform integration. I have access to my passwords from my phone, tablet, Windows desktop and Mac laptop. If you were interested in only a single platform or didn't want integration then you could probably get away with using one of the free alternatives.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Secure and elaborate service that provides a necessary layer of protection

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a fintech company so security is incredibly important to us and we make sure to use products that assist us in that security internally as well as externally. We are using 1Password across the whole organization for everything that requires a password. It is a part of our onboarding of the new employees to get them set up with 1Password.
  • Secure system and software.
  • Available on mobile.
  • Keeps all passwords in one place.
  • A pain to reset if you forgot your login.
  • Difficulty finding the Master Password if needed.
It is a great product for companies that want to make sure to set their systems up securely for their internal needs and have a way to regulate that from one place. We can share passwords through 1Password so we don't need to put it in email or Slack which is great.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Not the prettiest, but works well for our purposes

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization uses 1Password to keep track of passwords.
  • Siloing passwords
  • Security
  • Design
  • User experience
1Password great for teams that need to store passwords, though it does require people to update and be engaged with it (management).
Read this authenticated review
Nate Dillon | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

1Password is an excellent way to keep your logins secure

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use 1Password to manage all my passwords, bank account/credit card information, software licenses, and many other things. 1Password in currently only being used at a personal level (several of my other co-workers use LastPass). As I have increasingly more and more login information from various sites, 1Password has become an essential tool for me to stay organized and to keep my accounts safe.
  • Organizes and stores all my login information
  • Generates random passwords with a lot of control over options
  • Integrates well with all major web browsers to allow login autofill
  • Well designed apps
  • Works very well on Macs
  • Good synchronization options
  • Ability to share logins with others
  • Audits login information for problems and alerts you to passwords that should be changed
  • Can store way more than just login information
  • The Windows apps and integration aren't as good as on the Mac
  • Occasional glitches with the browser integration
  • Moving away from the one-time app purchase model and toward subscriptions (which is somewhat understandable at this point)
1Password should be used to store any information securely, including logins/passwords, credit card and bank information, drivers licenses, software licenses, notes and documents, and many other things. You shouldn't really use the same password for multiple sites, and 1Password is great for generating random passwords, storing them, and making them easy to retrieve. The group plans work great for sharing information between people as well. It really works best on a Mac. I've used 1Password on Windows a bit, and it works just fine, but it doesn't seem to work as well as on the Mac.
Read Nate Dillon's full review
Benjamin Plotkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2019

1Password...to Rule Them All

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1Password is used by some of our staff in our department, in a hybrid manner -- being used for both business and personal account credentials management. As applies to our business use cases, 1Password helps staff to ensure they use the strongest possible passwords across the many dozens of servers, service accounts, and web applications we rely on to deliver value to our university, without duplication of credentials. Because 1Password securely stores our information and allows us to retrieve it effortlessly, this tool helps our department maintain very high standards of security.
  • 1Password works very well across all popular platforms, including desktop and mobile apps, as well as various web browser integrations, providing a convenient and consistent method to access your logins and passwords no matter what device you're currently using.
  • 1Password provides a powerful, yet straightforward, mechanism for the creation of strong passwords of varying lengths and criteria: if you normally use 24-character passwords but your latest account can only support 16-character lengths, just tweak the password length slider. If your latest account forces you to use special characters, just toggle the checkbox to ensure that need is met.
  • 1Password supports Apple Touch ID on iOS and MacOS, and Face ID on iOS, allowing authorized users secure, but easy, access to their credentials, and obviating the need for frequent typing out of long passphrases.
  • 1Password continues to provide iterative updates to their products which ensure ever-improving auto-fill integrations with website logins and mobile app logins.
  • Not every website or web app login page is automatically recognized by 1Password; because the product works so well in most use cases, it can be jarring when it fails to properly populate a form.
  • Because 1Password provides so many ways to interact with your secure vault of credentials, the slight differences in the various interfaces can sometimes be confusing -- the desktop version is slightly different from the web browser extension version, for example, and occasionally I find myself searching for the "generate password" button in the desktop interface because it's not where I expect it to be, given its placement in the browser extension version.
  • Sometimes 1Password is too eager to assist me; from time to time it has tried to autosave unnecessary form inputs as new login accounts. However, this is preferable to its "missing" new accounts upon their creation!
1Password is a well-regarded, very secure credentials management platform that I believe is suitable for all use cases, whether personal or professional. If you are a user who is security-conscious, and who also has a very large number of active accounts to manage, 1Password is a great tool for you!

If you do not have a large number of accounts to manage, or you find the subscription pricing model of 1Password not to your liking, free alternatives provided by Apple and others may be a better fit for your needs.
Read Benjamin Plotkin's full review
Jared Lyda | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

Stop resetting your account because you forgot your password

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1Password is amazing. In our work, we have dozens of websites that we have to use on a frequent basis. All of these websites have different password requirements. Some have length requirements. Some require a special character. Some require that you DON'T use a special character. Some websites make you change your password every 6 months. With 1Password, you only have to remember one password - your Master Password. Everything else is auto-filled.
  • The mobile app and iPhone autofill are great.
  • The password generator is super helpful.
  • The browser extensions are awesome.
  • I can't think of anything.
1Password is well suited for anyone who needs to remember a lot of passwords. It is easy to use, secure, and super helpful. It does what it advertises to do and it does it well. It's great for personal use as well as company use. You can have access to the company-wide vault with all of the company passwords, as well as your own personal vault with access to your personal info.
Read Jared Lyda's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2019

One Password to Rule them All

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We all use 1Password, to manage personal accounts and logins to websites we all use with one login - for example, we have master logins to our own websites, that anyone can access, and it is an easy way to share access, or if we have a trial account for a new site, we can share the access and collaborate easily without risking any sensitive data.
Having all our personal logins stored safely, instead of copying them to a spreadsheet, or using a generic/personal password is very professional - the password generation function is also really lovely, especially because it offers more security than Chrome, that stores all the sensitive data in plain text.
  • Sharing login details safely within the organization, with no plain text version exposed anywhere.
  • Having my own login details pop up after typing in a secure master password - I only have to remember one complicated and good password.
  • Generating secure passwords when I register to a new website.
  • The automatic name generation for a saved login is sometimes redundant, if the site's title is improperly written
  • Sometimes random logins pop up and I have to choose manually, which is tedious sometimes.
  • I would love to be able to pin or star frequently used logins, when I have multiple logins to a site.
I use it for all my work logins, every single one of them! We manage content providers and advertiser accounts, for some sites, there are 20 logins. There are also services we only use occasionally, remembering the login details for those, or looking them up in an unsafe spreadsheet would be a nightmare.
I even contemplated using it for my private logins and all my family accounts - despite having Google store them all, because Google stores them in plain text and I don't really like that.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

1Password is a no brainer for any business or organization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use 1Password internally for each of our employees to have a secure and managed password storage solution. The primary reason we purchased it, and its strongest use for us, is as a way to securely share passwords among employees, as well as securely storing client secure information (various logins, api keys, etc.).
  • Top-notch security trusted by Apple and others.
  • Easy management of people and teams.
  • Easy to create 'vaults' with different levels of access for different people.
  • Reasonably priced.
  • Great native apps on all platforms we work on.
  • More often than we'd like, the autofill doesn't work on some websites (Marriott on desktop and American Airlines on mobile are two super common and annoying ones). However, most of the time it does work perfectly.
1Password is a fantastic solution and every individual and company should be using it or something like it (we've heard great things about a few of the other top password managers, but felt the security and history of 1P made it the most trustworthy solution).
The only situation where maybe it wouldn't be a good fit is at extremely large organizations, but I am not sure if they have some different interface for those. The interface seems perfect for 100 or fewer users. I think that at or over 100, it may not be as easy to keep organized.
Read this authenticated review
Jennifer Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Offers security & time savings, but I'd like a few more organizational/usability features.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use 1Password with both my internal team members (contractors) and with select clients.

For internal purposes, my team members have access to a main vault containing key credentials for apps & systems, as well as securely stored credentials for client systems. I also have a separate vault where I house my operational credentials (e.g., not to be viewed by the team).

With clients, 1Password offers a way to securely share sensitive data & credentials, and stay up-to-date on any changes they (or their team) might make to those assets. This helps avoid situations like password-protected spreadsheets or email sharing of credentials.
  • Securely stores passwords & sensitive data
  • Integration with iPhone's password solution (ability to utilize 1Password info rather than Apple keychain items)
  • Integration with Mac Touch ID
  • Ability to access multiple accounts within a single interface (and search them all -- or not -- as needed)
  • If a certain login needs to be placed in two vaults (e.g., for two different teams), any updates must be applied to both instances which creates a bit of a management hurdle. We could create a 'special' vault for those types of items, but that could lead to a lot of extraneous vaults. This is particularly relevant when using the "Guest" feature, as many of the credentials have to be duplicated, and then they won't sync to the Guest vault if they're updated in the Team vault.
  • When using the 1Password iPhone app, the search field takes *forever* to populate results, making the search function essentially unusable. Instead, I typically use the alpha-scrolling and then manually navigate to the item I'm looking for.
  • If I view a specific vault within the desktop app, the next time I use the browser extension the results are also restricted to that vault. In order to get it to look at all vaults again, I have to open the desktop app and change it back to "all vaults" there — there's no way to select the vault within the browser extension.
  • The system walks you through the initial setup steps fairly well, but then setting up the apps can be a bit daunting. I'm planning to get my family members onto a personal plan, but the set up is so complicated that I have to wait until we're together so that I can help them through it. This also creates some difficulty when on-boarding new users for my business, as it takes a lot of effort to be sure they have access to all of the right areas (and then use / save that info in order to log in to the apps).
  • Seems like the business plan should have more options to accommodate organizing credentials for many different clients. Right now, we just rely on consistent naming conventions to allow like items to group together (e.g., Client Name — Website Title), but it's not very elegant and can get lengthy. I know that tags are available for use, but I'm not sure that would achieve the desired result. Initially, I had considered using individual vaults for each client, but there are just too many to merit individual vaults.
  • When using the browser extension, there's no preview of the username, so if you have two records with the same title (e.g., United Mileage Plus), you have to view it before filling to ensure it's the right one. This means that all records must have a unique name / identifier, which can lead to very lengthy titles. This is particularly relevant when you have access to client accounts, since you can't be renaming their items to match your own naming conventions.
1Password is ideal for securely storing credentials and sharing within a team. Also, having a secure resource for storing sensitive client data (logins, payment methods) is important for mitigating liability. The setup process is a bit complex, but once everything is established, the system is fairly easy to use. The browser extensions are really helpful in saving a step (even if you have to view the record before filing when multiple matches exist). The password generator functionality also allows for the creation of secure passwords without being cumbersome to use on a daily basis.
Read Jennifer Hess's full review
Matt Heerema | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Secure password storage is a requirement in our day, 1Password is the best app for it.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1Password is used by my whole team to securely store and share passwords to our various online accounts, as well as capture secure information that we need to share across the company. It is also used to help transfer and communicate credentials to online accounts to and from our clients. This allows us to have unique and strong passwords for all our accounts (approximately 3000 different credentials), without having to keep hard copies, and ensuring that they are in a secure location.
  • Create strong passwords: with a single click, 1password can create, store, and auto-fill password fields when new accounts are created. You can customize character options for those useless "security measures" put in place by some programmers that require (or alternatively, do not allow) capital letters, numerals, and special characters.
  • Securely sharing passwords: through encrypted sharing methods or inviting to a team vault, you can easily share one or many credentials with clients and team members.
  • Securely storing payment info: using the same secure encryption methods, you can also store an autofill payment methods (credit cards, etc) for one-click use on ecommerce sites.
  • Price: 1Password is the best app in the industry for this functionality, and as such, the price tag is also among the highest.
  • Browser extensions: this may be more of a function of constantly shifting browser technology, but at times the auto-fill functionality can feel glitchy, leading to confusion
Unique, strong passwords are a requirement in this era of ubiquitous and automated hacking. You should never use a password fewer than 12 characters that you can remember, and never use passwords that contain any remotely personal information. I see weak passwords from clients constantly, primarily because of the problem of remembering all your passwords. 1Password eliminates this issue. Create a single, strong, memorable password for the app, and the app does the job of creating unique and impossible-to-guess passwords for all your online accounts. Everyone needs an app like 1Password.
Read Matt Heerema's full review
Adam Moreschi | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2019

1Password: Simple and Effective Cloud Security

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1Password was used to store customer login credentials and shared system login credentials in the organization. It was a very helpful tool that was used across Engineering, Sales, and Operations. It addressed both the need for a more secure and encrypted method to store sensitive cloud-based system passwords, as well as simplify the accessibility of those for people who are logging in and out of several accounts per day, often on the same computer.
  • 1Password's "Autofill" feature makes it easy on most website login portals to quickly search and select your username and password while not compromising security, whether you need to screen-share in-person or online.
  • 1Password's Vaults feature provides a simple way to separate various personal and professional segments of password organization, such that if you need to delete passwords related to a project or professional experience, you can do so quickly and easily.
  • 1Password's Watchtower feature is a great way to quickly and objectively analyze the strength of the security provided by each login you store in a Vault, and provides quick buckets from which to update these passwords.
  • 1Password's Autofill feature could use some improvement, as it does not come up on desktop or mobile in some situations, and thus is not as sleek of a tool as it could be.
  • 1Password's Chrome Extension is another area where things could improve. In some recent weeks, it has minimized the window from which you can easily search, find logins, and switch between Vaults, which is much easier on its desktop client.
  • 1Password's Watchtower feature only currently works one Vault at a time. This does limit some of the improvements that people will tend to make to password security strength. It would be nice to see an enhancement where you can run the feature across all Vaults, and then see which passwords' strengths are excellent, good, fair, poor, etc. per-Vault.
1Password can be used both in a personal (single or family) and business environment, and it is very easy to set up. What is nice about 1Password is that it can organically update as you continue to log into various sites, as it will prompt you to either Update Existing passwords or Create New passwords, right then and there as a pop-up (...one of the few pop-up's that is truly valuable!).

I would say that there may be solutions out there which are more affordable and may provide a very similar service, and ones where the Password Scorecard features and the Autofill and Chrome Extension features are better designed.
Read Adam Moreschi's full review
Tim Noetzel | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2018

1Password is a Must-Buy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several of our team members use 1Password to manage both business and personal accounts. 1Password makes it extremely easy to generate random, secure logins and save them in a secure way. It's an indispensable tool for making sure our online accounts stay secure. The integrations with Chrome, Safari, Firefox, and other browsers are fantastic.
  • Generates random passwords
  • Securely stores passwords
  • Integrates with all major browsers
  • Excellent mobile app
  • 1Password is starting to move to a services-model. I'm not a huge fan...
  • 1Password's syncing options could use some work
  • Would love to see better software license support in the app
1Password is a fantastic tool for managing passwords for individual team members in small teams. It's got excellent options for generating passwords and storing them securely, either locally or on 1Password's servers. It's not necessarily the best tool for larger teams, and its enterprise features won't scale well beyond about 50 people.
Read Tim Noetzel's full review

About 1Password

1Password is a scalable password manager solution. 1Password is designed to make it easy for businesses' employees to stay safe online.

1Password Advanced Protection is now available with 1Password Business. Set Master Password policies, enforce two-factor authentication team-wide, restrict access with firewall rules, review sign-in attempts and require your team to use the latest version of 1Password.

According to the vendor, once 1Password is part of workflows, good security habits will become second nature. It also comes with mobile app versions that are available for Mac, iOS, Windows, and Android. 1Password syncs seamlessly across devices, so employees always have access to their passwords. 1Password is optimized for organization-wide adoption, to increase overall security.

1Password Competitors

1Password Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No