Bonita Platform

Bonita Platform

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.2 out of 100
Top Rated
Bonita Platform

Overview

Recent Reviews

BonitaSoft review

5 out of 10
May 17, 2022
Building a solution to modelize client processes and use Bonita API to link our Bonita model with our custom micro-services.
Continue reading

review

9 out of 10
May 17, 2022
Bonita Platform is a process manager and process orchestrator that is used to control the business process and create an organized …
Continue reading

Amazing BPM suite

8 out of 10
April 25, 2022
Bonita platform defines the processes within the organization. It also helps in identifying the types of existing processes and merging …
Continue reading

Bonita at a glance

7 out of 10
December 29, 2021
For workflow automation to save time and cost, which will be an ongoing process and change based on business requirements. We are …
Continue reading

Bonitasoft your best partner

10 out of 10
December 15, 2021
We implement Bonitasoft on different organizations, Educational, Insurance, Invoice delivery. It has a core based on services [that] helps …
Continue reading

Bonita BPM Developer Review

10 out of 10
November 23, 2021
Bonitasoft BPM is our go to platform for all automation requests. It is easy to build and develop custom applications with BPM studio. We …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022

Popular Features

View all 13 features

Process designer (48)

8.9
89%

Form builder (44)

7.9
79%

Business rules engine (39)

7.9
79%

Model execution (43)

7.7
77%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Bonita Platform, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Bonita Platform?

Bonita is an open-source business process and workflow management platform created by the French National Institute for Research in Computer Science. It is available as a free community edition or as a commercial subscription product.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://forms.gle/B723Xrj6BPthKasDA

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

5 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is PowerApps?

PowerApps is a low code / rapid application development product from Microsoft that allows users to quickly build apps.

What is Pega Platform?

Pega Platform is a combined business process management and robotic process automation (RPA) platform with advanced workforce analytics from Pegasystems.

Features Scorecard

Reporting & Analytics

7.5
75%

Process Engine

7.9
79%

Collaboration

8.4
84%

Content Management Capabilties

6.1
61%

Product Details

What is Bonita Platform?

Bonitasoft supports digital operations and modernization of information systems with Bonita, an open-source and extensible platform for automation and optimization of business processes.

Presented as easy to handle and integrate into heterogeneous information systems, Bonita accelerates development and deployment of process automation projects, service orchestration and application development. This is made possible by its low code capabilities, reusable components, and unified deployment on-premise and on the cloud.

CIOs can confront both short-term challenges (often from requests from business teams who wish to support their business development), and the long-term challenge of modernizing IT to deliver on business needs and customer expectations.

Open-source, extensible and integrated, Bonita is based on an architecture that clearly separates the process, data and user interface layers. All project team members can collaborate effectively to develop, deploy and maintain sustainable processes in line with the expectations of business users. Project governance, specific to each company, is respected by a clear separation between visual programming and coding capabilities. Each project team member can leverage their specific know-how and skills to add value. The technologies used do not require learning new languages ​​or methods, but instead rely on commonly used components such as Java, enterprise services such as SSO and LDAP, continuous delivery, and the ability to develop in SDKs. These capabilities avoid the need for additional resources.

The use of BPMN, reusable components, numerous extension points, deployment on premise or in the cloud all help guarantee rapid and agile developments.

Even the most complex business processes gain visibility thanks to centralized monitoring. Traceability, execution control and reduced risk of errors allow teams to focus on optimizing and improving operational efficiency on an ongoing basis.

Bonita Platform Features

Process Engine Features

  • Supported: Process designer
  • Supported: Business rules engine
  • Supported: SOA support
  • Supported: Support for modeling languages
  • Supported: Form builder
  • Supported: Model execution

Collaboration Features

  • Supported: Social collaboration tools

Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Dashboards
  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Custom reports

Content Management Capabilties Features

  • Supported: Content management

Bonita Platform Screenshots

Process designed in Bonita BPM StudioBonita BPM project overviewFully customized end user interfaceBonita BPM Admin App

Bonita Platform Videos

Bonita, open-source and extensible platform for business process automation and optimization.
Bonita 2021.2 overview in 5 minutes

Bonita Platform Competitors

Bonita Platform Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationMobile Web
Supported CountriesWorldwide
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, Spanish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Bonita Platform?

Bonita is an open-source business process and workflow management platform created by the French National Institute for Research in Computer Science. It is available as a free community edition or as a commercial subscription product.

What is Bonita Platform's best feature?

Reviewers rate Process designer highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses Bonita Platform?

The most common users of Bonita Platform are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 48)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
May 17, 2022

BonitaSoft review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Building a solution to modelize client processes and use Bonita API to link our Bonita model with our custom micro-services.
  • Clear and easy modelization
  • sometimes difficult to use Bonita API and to get bonita datas in our process (many deprecated methods with no replacement)
In my point of view it was hard to get matches between our process and the datas we need to get from Bonita process because the API is complex and gets many methods deprecated.
Api difficult to use. Get to build some custom mapping wit our java application.
i wasn't very involved on this part of the process.
It was sometimes difficult to get support on Bonita API.
May 17, 2022

review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bonita Platform is a process manager and process orchestrator that is used to control the business process and create an organized sequence that is easily modifiable and allows an agile correction of errors and easy process definition.
  • easly process definition
  • easly modification of process flow
  • compatibility whit anothers external tecnologies
  • grafic interface optimization
  • BonitaStudio optimization on open workspaces
Define easily with a complex process/administrate easily data information and his flow
Bonita Platform generates a simple use for the collaborators that manage the different phases of the process
BonitaSoft alows a easly integration of diferents services and another tecnologies
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the platform to allow the FDJ core domain team, the ability to develop and create business workflow without technical skills. We developed all the tooling around the Bonita Platform to interact with the rest of the FDJ software platform.
  • Change the business logic without redeploy
  • Licencing - ability to share keys and account
  • Premium users website area - there are serveral bugs
Difficulties to implement Bonita platform in custom Kubernetes chart Difficulties to manage licensing file into docker images -> No minor or native volume management Jar implemented in Platform API
A good application generally, but needs some improvement to fit the market IMO. Need some improvement and tooling to implement the platform in a complex system.
Difficult, some team's responsibilities issues, Need more segregation parts
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using the Bonita Platform to automate some HR processes that are country-specific and very difficult to find OTS available software.
  • Multiple integration points (emails, storage systems, databases, etc.)
  • BPMN used to model the process
  • Low-code development
  • Updates to the Business Data Model are not as smooth as they could be
It is a great tool to automate from the simplest to the most difficult processes inside an organization Anonymous user support is quite limited and complicates the interaction with users refusing to register with the company
Very simple integration with digital signature platforms, even for non-expert developers
Managed to deploy it in less than a day in Production
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Bonita Platform for process automation in a wide range of solutions, from simple process automation to complex projects, implementing orchestration and choreography of processes using Bonita BPM. As our developers have a Java background, we don´t face problems implementing solutions based on the Bonita Platform, but this is also due to the fact that we made the Bonita courses for developers and administrators.
  • BPMN modeling
  • Implementation of business logic
  • Integration with external systems
  • Layer division: database, business/process logic and front-end
  • widgets
Well-suited scenarios: quick development of process-based solutions, orchestration of Robots (RPA), complex projects (after the design of the architecture), and applications where integration with different external systems is needed. Not suited: I really believe that any kind of application could be designed and implemented on a process-based solution.
Concerning usability, Bonita performs very well, but you still need extra configuration and work to personalize the solution. This is bad but also good, as it allows you to personalize the solution you are working on with total control.
Bonita provides a lot of connectors with the most commonly used external systems, and the possibility to develop your own connectors.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We developed a solution based on the Bonita Platform to allow users to subscribe to services and automate the validation of those subscriptions. The workflow controls the eligibility of the user to subscribe, call multiple micro-services, and respond with the list of services available. If anything fails, depending on the type of error, the main workflow is automatically retried using an error handling workflow or ended with the detailed error saved.
  • Automation of the steps in the workflow
  • Configuration allows the workflow to be independent of the environment in which it is deployed
  • The detailed case for the users to follow and manage the status and the synthesis of the case
  • Easier and more opened integration in K8s environment
  • Missing debugging mode during development phase
In our use case, Bonita was well-suited enough. But there as been some difficulties to implement a cron-based process to clean up or retry the cases in error state or not updated for a long time for example. I can't say how the product will be suited for a more complex use case, but I'm sure that the support of Bonitasoft will help a lot, as has been the case for us.
It is pretty simple to duplicate a process to implement a different use case. The feature for saving a connector configuration is also great as it saves time for the developer to use it on another step of the process for example.
The development phase has not been easy because you can't use breakpoints to debug. But you can use loggers to trace information about the manipulated data so the debugging is hard, but not impossible. The integration to a cloud-based environment was not easy because we had some requirements that weren't available at the time. But the support helped us weel providing us with a new feature to answer our needs.
Edison Jovanny | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as the process engine of the organization, where the bank's core processes are implemented, it is used as a backend and also as a front used by offices, sales forces, and from the website. The digital transformation of the business has been supported by this tool as it is the engine that orchestrates the asset contracting processes. As problems in the tool, problems have been seen in the queries of cases and in the performance of the portal due to the queries and work events that the tool handles and does not manage so quickly
  • Compatibility and integration with other tools and platforms
  • Rapid evolution and problem solving in its versions, it has evolved a lot since Bonita 5
  • It supports open source and the development tools it provides are good like UI designer.
  • There is a lack of a robust native BAM monitoring module for performance variables of the developed applications
  • more robust cron or timer event task management without leaving tasks open in the tool
The platform is recommended for any company and even more for those who want to carry out or advance in digital transformation, due to its easy integration with the applications of the same company and third parties, allowing the organization of the key business processes of a company.
visually it is a good experience for the user and the developer
It has been easily integrated with the other platforms
April 25, 2022

Amazing BPM suite

Tanika Chhabra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bonita platform defines the processes within the organization. It also helps in identifying the types of existing processes and merging the org-structure of your company. Automation of the processes is of great help as it helps in standardizing the logical structure of the processes and helps the organization. This allows for a reduction of the time in the processes and improves labor efficiency and effectiveness within the organization.
  • For our requirements, the tool enriches the automation processes with many available connectors
  • It provides unique design and run time features for businesses
  • Offers a complete package of simplicity and amazing features
  • For some complex projects, it has lesser details available in the document
  • For the front-end it is bit basic
  • For the Front-end programmers the tools can give a lot to be desired
It is a very interesting and an easy to use the tool. It is well suited for use in the part of the database architecture. The elaboration of the STORED PROCEDURES is also much used as the tool allows the insertion of it easily.
There is a lot to improve and provide amazing features which can make the tool a complete package in itself. Eagerly waiting for new updates with the desired features and would continue using this amazing tool.
It is very easy to install and integrate with the IT systems and easy to use as well. The support service is also far beyond expectation
December 29, 2021

Bonita at a glance

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For workflow automation to save time and cost, which will be an ongoing process and change based on business requirements. We are targetting the workload that currently has to be done by individual staff users, which could be automated and has repeated workload and the organization is looking for a proper solution and we are doing POC and testing with a few different products.
  • Support workflow
  • Support process model
  • Good UI
  • Prebuilt integration support
  • Process as code
  • Detailed doco

It seems to be working well in our testing for small and straightforward workflow processing, but we haven't really built any complicated ones for a production, such as to engage mutiple stakeholders, talking to different backend or a long runner etc. so can't really say much from that perspective.
Easy to learn and build the capability within the existing team. Performs well in small and straightforward processes. Reasonable pricing; could do better for integration support for Cloud-based platform feature
We have quite a few legacy systems from different technical stack and venders, which it doesn't support very well
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We started using Bonita in 2008 for some automation projects when it was part of the Bull group in France with versions 3.x and 4. After Bonitasoft was formed we signed on as partners in late 2009 and are probably one of the older ones at this time, having worked with Bonita 5.0 onwards. Since 2008 we've implemented the Bonita platform in the community and subscription versions for several customers in different industries (government, industry, technology, pharma) in Brazil, Argentina, and Uruguay. The Bonita Platform helps our customers organize their work and have visibility of the status of their process instances. One very important aspect is the integration with ECM software (Alfresco in our case) so that the platform is used as an ECM/BPM solution. Integration is seamless through built-in connectors and we can also create specific customer connectors, apply scripting in Groovy and develop custom REST APIs. Some customers are also currently migrating to the Bonita UI designer for their solution needs.
  • Integration
  • Low code customisation.
  • Rapid UI browser based design.
  • MVC separation of data, process and front-end.
  • DevOps support with Bonita Continuous Delivery module.
  • Multi-platform as a Java solution (customers on Linux and Windows).
  • Modern technology stack support including Docker images.
  • Bonita BPM Studio should have a web based alternative.
  • Complete support for all BPMN v2 artifacts, although the missing element(s) is/are trivial and not frequently needed.
  • DMN modelling support not just DMN rule support.
The Bonita platform is available in a Community edition with no licensing costs, a subscription model, and a PaaS alternative in the Bonita Cloud. This lets a potential customer experiment by himself before deciding on the platform. The Community edition is not a toy and is fully functional for a vast majority of requirements. Bonitasoft has very good publicly available documentation that helps you get started, an area for contributions where you can find different connectors, widgets, and examples, and a good forum for questions and answers.

Any company wanting to automate business projects will have a very positive experience with the Bonita platform.
Automating an application requires managing different parts of the entire solution which don't always have the same way of working so that some previous experience is required to be productive. Apart from that validating the solution, error handling, and the usability of the final solution (automated process) are very good. From the end-user point of view, usability is excellent, he would not know that he's using a process baes application.
Excelent support for the tools used in IT.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement Bonitasoft on different organizations, Educational, Insurance, Invoice delivery. It has a core based on services [that] helps companies with a dynamic integration, Bonitasoft is not married with a particular type of Organization and this makes the process development on this platform can be configurated in all aspects.
  • Dynamic integration
  • High level of configuration
  • Drag and Drop way
  • Simulation of process
Bonitasoft is well suited to dynamic integration with legacy systems Bonitasoft is less appropriate with process simulation.
It does not matter what kind of process you need to automate, Bonitasoft it is the option.
SOA-oriented and multiple connectors preload.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bonitasoft BPM is our go to platform for all automation requests. It is easy to build and develop custom applications with BPM studio. We have automated a large part of our sales activity and budget tracking with BPM. It's very easy to create responsive UI pages and our end users love the experience. BPM Platform is also very stable and allows us to generate a lot of cases without any noticeable dip in performance. We hardly have to perform any housekeeping and system monitoring. Based on excellent user reviews, we plan to improve our processes even further. We are motivated to upgrade to the latest version of Bonita as our management team is very happy with the platform.
  • Automated all sales activity.
  • Budget tracking for sales process.
  • Automated any process that require approval.
  • All visa processes updated.
  • Require more help with reporting. Didn't find much information on reporting.
  • Need more help on using AngularJS and jQuery. Need more responsive applications.
  • Could improve document repository options.
Bonita is a low code platform. It is very easy to build custom applications on Bonita. Anyone with limited knowledge can start working with Bonita BPM. This platform has extensive usage and can be molded and used with other applications. Bonita comes with a host of REST API that can be used and it makes Data CRUD operations very easy.
As a developer, I am very satisfied with Bonita Platform. It's easy to learn and use. I have tried to learn other tools as well but have not received as much success as I did with Bonita. All the new developers can start using Bonita for their internal evaluation. There is a good amount of learning material available and I feel excited to try out the new features with latest version of Bonita BPM.
We have not yet integrated Bonita with other systems. We only use the LDAP/AD authentication and email connector. We have not faced an issue with these two integrations . We plan to try out other system integrations as well.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the whole organization to facilitate the management of various business processes.
  • Customizable UI.
  • Powerful lightweight process engine.
  • Extensible REST API.
  • Setup of integration with Okta is complicated.
  • Active/active load balancing setup across different data centers does not work very well.
Bonita is well-suited where business processes depend on integration with other software systems. Bonita is less well-suited for document management-heavy business processes.
Business users are happy with the UI.
We extensively integrated Bonita with other systems using REST API.
Antoine Chami | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We can easily implement new ways of working for companies. We help organizations have a better quality of work by implementing BPM solutions using Bonita. We can easily discuss with stakeholder on a BPMN basis then work with IT teams on the integration with IT ecosystem. Bonita is a marvelous tool to discuss with a large portion of [the] non-IT population and help them industrialize low value added tasks.
  • Modelization.
  • Task distribution.
  • Workflow.
  • The number of columns in basket.
  • Database writing of buffered information.
A good scenario for Bonita is for example office changes process where we need to connect with AD and be sure to update specific IT tools used by a large portion of company workers.

A less appropriate scenario would be to implement lots of specific rules with various webpages that would deliver a huge number of ending scenarios.
First onboarding was very quick and easy. The community is a real strength as we can have a lot of interactions in the forum and easily get help. Non software teams can implement BPMN scenarios and experiment complexity of having all ending possibilities to address an efficient workflow. I enjoy very much the web designer even if non IT teams are only concerned by design.
API implementation presents some issues due to specifications interpretation. Not easy to have specific queries with M3 for example. It is not always easy to discuss with different sources of data connection and interfaces. Databases are more sensitive as we can encounter some freezing behavior due to internal motor mechanism. Meanwhile major software are already ready to be interfaced with Bonita.
William Wolf | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Bonita Platform to automate administrative processes that are either new processes or are ones that have been done manually in the past.
  • Efficient and fast prototyping: a process can be modeled and tried out quickly and with low investment.
  • Full stack prototyping for development and implementation allows the process to be developed and implemented as an application from the prototype. It's not just drawings and wire frames that are tossed over the wall to developers.
  • Data modeling is integral from the beginning of the prototype which is appropriate for the stakeholders in the beginning.
  • There is a learning curve beyond the boot camps that needs to be addressed with more structured curriculum.
  • The full stack technologies are industry standard, but these [are] challenging to learn and could use a learning path and orientation. There's probably opportunity for third-parties here to help with learning and adoption.
Bonita Platform functionality is very broad and cost effective, but it still takes considerable expertise. Bonita Platform is either the free community edition or the subscription for enterprises, and partner implementations don't seem very well advertised or available. So a smaller organization that wants to automate processes needs to think about finding a consultant to support the effort. Medium and large organizations probably have the expertise in-house to really make Bonita work for their processes.
The development platform is very solid, I have had zero glitches. The production runtime has not thrown any errors either. There is an elegant design and the developer and end user have been well taken care of in the Bonita Platform design.
So far we have integrated it with email and with SQL server.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Bonita Platform is being used as the basis for a research project and as a BPMS in undergraduate disciplines. The research project is being validated with the implementation of a Process Automation Office, having already implemented five internal processes at the UFSC Institution (HEI). The following criteria were defined for mapping and selecting processes: in cycle #1, they should preferably be primary processes for the CTC sponsor, especially those that are common to other academic units at HEI; cycle #2 should be shorter, in order to adjust the BPAO model; in cycle #3, the BPAO lifecycle method of process automation should be reapplied with another institutional instance, external to the CTC, and higher hierarchically in HEI.
  • Phases of process automation.
  • Process modeling.
  • Handling.
  • Organization structure.
  • Usability of automated processes.
  • Processes documentation.
Bonita Platform is better suited for organizations with well-defined structure. Bonita is also very efficient in both simple and complex processes, allowing for easy integration with legacy systems. Bonita Platform faces difficulties with information technology sectors focusing on classic methodologies for developing software solutions.
As I mentioned in another answer to this research, the non-functional usability requirement is one of the weaknesses of Bonita, especially with the mechanisms for generating interfaces, but also in the development environment.
Integration with legacy systems is very efficient through connectors and web services.
Armando Miguel Brito Criado | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
A demo is being implemented for a customer's sales area.
  • Good process engine.
  • Groovy is ideal for developing business rules.
  • Excellent API.
  • IU designer and Form.
  • More documentation on the use of APIs and external forms.
  • More examples of use of the [functions], only examples of the basic functionalities are found.
It is a great BPM tool, with an excellent DB engine and language for developing business rules. The form designer should be better, it is very basic and takes a long time to build forms that meet real user requirements.
You must improve the form designer.
Excellent integration features.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We optimize business processes thanks to Bonita. The various business lines of the company are affected, from the management of customer files to support services, including mail management. The Bonita solution allows the company to automate some of the low value-added tasks, but it also helps users in more complex processes through request forms and an intelligent task allocation system that considers assignments and the skills of each employee.
  • Automation of business processes.
  • Managing task assignment.
  • Use by non-technical trades.
Bonita is trained for the automation of business processes by a development team. The solution is less suitable for the realization of complex interfaces.
Compared to other BPM solutions on the market, Bonita is simpler and more intuitive. This does not prevent the use of advanced scripts, allowing a multitude of possibilities.
The Bonita BPM solution natively offers in its paid version many connectors to other solutions on the market: CRM, database, API, EDM, etc. It is also possible to develop your own "homemade" connectors to connect all types of systems.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Bonita Platform to address our BPM-related requirements. Currently, we are in the process of migrating our Pega-BPM application to the Bonita platform considering the user license freedom as well as open-source flexibility. We are also looking for an opportunity to explore their party OCR tool integration to serve our invoice automation business.
  • Easy work flow configuration.
  • Integration service design.
  • UI component design.
  • Micro services integration.
  • OOTB UI component.
  • Industry specific pre-build framework.
  • OOTB reusable component.
Well Suited: In the case of workflow requirements it will be the best fit, like claim process, leave management, Ticketing solution, etc.

Less appropriate: If you have a design complex process that involves dynamic UI and RPA involvement along with extensive OOTB data management, then I think Bonita Platform will not be the best fit.
I think, if you build a reusable component, then you can inherit that component creating jar/war, and deploy it in the process.
For some integration, I think the process was simple where we had API calls.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bonita BPM is the principal tool we are currently using to automate our processes. So far, the experience has been excellent. We have deployed two processes with Bonita BPM to manage employee travel requests and vendor payment. We have also deployed our credit approval process on the platform and so far, we have seen great improvement in the credit approval process.
  • Task assignment
  • Process monitoring
  • Process analysis
  • A document management function needs to be added
  • Process analytics needs to be improved
Bonita BPM will work well for any organization, big or small. It is simple to use and robust at the same time.
Support from Bonita has not been as good as we would want it to be
It is so simple to use that sometimes we don't have to train people on how to use our processes or navigate the platform.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bonita BPM is in my opinion the best BPM solution currently in the market. I developed my master's degree final assessment evaluating this technology along side with YAWL and jBPM, resulting in Bonita being the best of the three for small to big companies and environments.
In my organization I implemented the registry of non-conformance to allow users to submit company-related complaints and this was a complete success based on the extended capabilities of Bonita BPM from UI design to reporting.
  • UI design
  • Workflow using BPMN
  • Use of Java code
  • Integration using connectors
  • I can only think of database connection, it could be improved for a better and shorter experience connecting the data since this is a low-code technology.
Bonita BPM is well suited for:
  • UI design and experience in general.
  • Connectors: Data Base connectors with almost every DB suite.
  • BPMN language and standard: Very good instantiation of Business Process Management Notation.
  • Sub-process.
  • Roles and automation of business process.
  • Great business rule engine.
  • Perfect integration using Java code, which is easy to maintain and improve.
  • Great reporting tools.
Pranshu Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We on-boarded Bonita BPM to solve a basic organization-wide workflow management. Right now there are more than 20 processes implemented. IT has tremendously brought down the number of emails exchanged and paper-based approvals. Simple activities like having an escalation mechanism were implemented in workflows which enabled high productivity and SLA based tracking.

The best part is that this tool gave the business the cool swim-lane process views before they sign it off to be implemented into the system.
  • Configuration over customization.
  • Excellent process views.
  • Mobile-friendly.
  • Zero downtime deployment for new workflows.
  • Online configuration tool instead of offline IDE.
  • Support for deployment on enterprise-grade application servers like Oracle WebLogic, IBM, etc.
Well Suited- For any manual process replacement.
Not suited - For any enterprise level order management requirements.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We have had successful Bonita BPM installations in verticals such as telecommunications, manufacturing and the public sector. With Bonita BPM we have solved problems in project management and customer service.
  • Connection to other legacy systems, ERP, CRM.
  • Easy UI development
  • Fast time to market
  • Bonita needs to improve its low code development
  • It needs a BRMS functionality
  • It needs a Document Records functionality
If you need a complete BPM Suite, easy to use and with rich UI development tools, Bonita BPM is the only way to go
Maciej Michalak | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Bonita BPM to a small extent, because we are small organisation. Bonita BPM is used mainly for supporting contracts management. Our experience is built on deploying the platform to our clients.
  • It is a very low cost platform. You can start with open-source edition which is free and with the application number growth upgrade to subscription editions for more features and support. Subscription editions are still not expensive compared to bigger players platforms.
  • It offers a great UI designer tool for rapid building process forms and web applications.
  • It gives a lot of flexibility and extensibility. It comes with features like built-in connectors, convenient API, and a web portal. You can add your own connectors, extend the API and customize the portal for your own needs.
  • There is only one business data model. Even if deploying new processes does not require stopping the platform, the BDM update requires it.
  • During the platform evolution often new bugs were introduced so it was risky to deploy the platform in the low minor version. For example, there were memory leaks from 7.2.0 to 7.2.3.
  • The administrator portal could be improved. It is hard to look at subprocess data, for example and it is sometimes better to investigate with SQL queries. I don't like new (7.3) task list either.
It is well suited for well defined workflows. It could be tricky if the process and its subprocesses work on the same data. Dynamic case management is not supported.
Bonita BPM has an efficient engine which can be tuned and clustered. Although I came across a case when the engine did not manage to handle a great number of event handlers and the process required redesign.
richard gay | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

BONITA has been used for 2 kinds of automation processes:

  • Dynamic interfacing between IT applications including human interaction. The interface has been dynamically adapted according to the various events managed by the BPM process. It's used at the company level to enable communication with the Customer Services team using CRM Salesforce cases, and with R&D team using Clearquest as a bug management tool. The Bonita BPM process is the basis for dialog between Customer Services and R&D teams.
  • Automating the HR process for employees changing their job within the company (change of manager, location, cost center, position in the HR org in the ERP, IT tools)
  • Mixing interactions between several IT applications with human interaction through automatic email receipt and response
  • Offering several formats for comminicating with IT applications: web services, email, files
  • Provides an effective form editor, including fields where values entered by humans drive the next actions of the business process
  • Not easy to delpoy new releases
  • License key management has to be renewed too frequently, even with a commercial contract in place
  • Adding more standard interfaces to common IT applications such as ERP systems
  • Change the culture from a technical / engineering culture to a customer-focused culture - this is already underway with the arrival of BONITA Customer success

It is well suited to mixing IT applications and human interactions in numerous dynamic combinations.

It is less suited for mass data transfer with few case management combinations, where an ETL tool would be more efficient.

Respect of BPMN standard over the long term.

Good enhancements by Bonitasoft for new use cases, for example the introduction of a real form editor even if it has been technically difficult to manage. Once done though, we have far greater possibility of human interaction.