TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/rd/k5/4H8W00AXNR7H.JPEGCanva - User Friendly and Easy to LearnOur department uses Canva to create social media marketing across over various online platforms. We use it to customize our posts and it is a standard product that we all use and we train our graduate students to use. We often submit requests for content to our communications department but this takes time and we have little to no creative say in the design process. Canva allows us to be creative!,User friendly. Great templates for marketing, promotion, and design. Anyone can learn to use it quickly.,More free content. More fonts, we follow a style guide and need specific fonts for dept promotions. More tools for words, curves would be nice!,10,Helps us turn projects around quickly. Helps us promote and have more reach. Helps us better reach out target audience.,Venngage,Venngage, PreziCanva: the perfect solution for social media shares.I run a small online 3D printing service. Canva is used by only me. It solves my start-up's social media campaign design problems. Canva is an easy online tool to use. You can create leaflets, posters, business cards, banners, and other cool things with Canva. It is then very easy to share them online social media platforms. Or you could save them on your device. Canva has ready stencils or designs which are useful for projects.,Quick to produce social media content You can use it on the cloud. No need for downloading software. Canva has the ability to create content for different social media platforms. For example, you could create posts just fit for Instagram in square format. You could write an e-book with Canva.,Canva's mobile app has more design restrictions than the browser app. It is a little bit hard to use on mobile devices. Templates section could be broadened to other new business areas, like 3D printing. Direct social media sharing options within Canva are limited to Facebook and Twitter. There should be other media options such as Pinterest, Instagram, LinkedIn, etc.,10,Using Canva on social media posts has a big effect on its visibility. Canva's fancy design features attract peoples attention. I use Canva's free version. My business benefited from even this free version of Canva. No cost at all. I'm sure that without Canva, there would be fewer followers on social media, like Twitter or Instagram, for my business.,A Small Business Owner's Thoughts on Canva - An honest reviewWe use Canva for quick on the fly designs, when we need to test a new idea or draw inspiration. We have found that while it is not a full-fledged design tool, everyone from professionals to beginners can use it and it is cost effective. It is mainly used by our marketing department and allows us to effectively design consistent branding images for our various platforms including print and online media.,The ability to save designs online automatically and share those designs with other team members is invaluable to us The drag and drop functionality is very useful for quickly adding images or elements to a design that are not already available in the Canva platform The mobile apps for various platforms allow us to see designs on the go and edit or change any designs The branding option is great because we can use our own custom font and colors for different designs. Being able to duplicate and add our branding to different designs is a lifesaver,There are more templates and search functionality on the mobile apps than on the website. This is rather odd and makes the product a bit confusing to use. We sometimes have to find a design idea on the app then save it and use it on the web app. Would be easier if the ability to find designs was just baked into both web and mobile apps. While it is a versatile design tool, Canva does not allow you to import just any fonts. Our team has had to find other workarounds to use the library of fonts we have as they cannot be imported into Canva, despite the functionality being advertised. Being unable to import or export vectors or design files lets Canva down. As a tool that can be used by almost anyone, it needs some advanced features for professional designers. If we could export designs with layers or import them it would really make our workflow much easier.,7,Canva has allowed us to increase our productivity by 30%, we are now able to turn around designs and marketing campaigns in a shorter time as we can quickly access designs and ideas across the team in Canva. Customers love the design language approach we have taken and we are in the process of adding more users to our Canva accounts. We have been able to find a uniform design language that everyone agrees with and is used for all our marketing and communication. This in itself has helped us position our brand better in the marketplace. Our initial goal with Canva was to have an alternative tool to Adobe's suite and Canva has been that for us, albeit with some adjustments. We have been able to save a significant amount of money on the monthly costs, $13 a month per user vs almost $55 a month for other tools,Adobe Photoshop,Adobe Illustrator CC, Zendesk, Adobe PhotoshopEasy-to-use design tool for social media pros & non-designersI use Canva myself for smaller design projects, mostly for social media applications. We're a small team, so efficiencies are key. I'm able to quickly create graphics that don't require elaborate work in InDesign from our expert designers. It is also a great tool for cropping images to the right dimensions for social media, and laying in our logo for branding purposes.,Canva's templates can be a huge time saver for creating graphics. I especially find these helpful when creating motivational quotes or holiday-themed images for social media. Canva offers several export options, so whether you need a PNG or a PDF, for digital or for print, you've got it available. Included with Canva is a library of stock photos and graphics that are free to use, and additional images that can be purchased. It's a mixed bag, but it's nice to have some assets easily available. Canva allows you to save your brand's colors for easy application on future projects!,Canva has a lot of preset sizes for different applications, but I think they could do a better job of implementing all the proper social media sizes (though who can keep up with them?!) A lot of features require a paid plan. Perfectly fine, but may not always fit for all users. This is hardly a criticism, but just something to be aware of based upon your needs.,10,The key impact Canva has had is creating efficiencies by enabling me to create many of my own graphics, saving time and energy. Most of my needs can be handled immediately within the platform. It not only saves me time (and eliminates wait time), but also saves our designers time.,AgoraPulse, Slack, TrelloStart Designing TodayCanva is being used by our marketing department. Our marketing department uses Canva to create our weekly newsletter, promotional flyers, and company proposals. Canva allows our marketing team to develop marketing materials quickly and with a professional design. Because of its ease of use, our marketing team is able to push out content at a much faster pace.,Canva is very intuitive and easy to use. Canva offers a wide range of pre-loaded design templates that can easily be customized to fit your organization or provide inspiration for your own designs. Canva does not require any graphic design skills or knowledge of design programs.,For graphic designers, Canva cannot replace Photoshop or InDesign. In fact, most graphic designers would probably find Canva too basic. Now that our team has used the program so much, I can always tell when materials have been designed in Canva. They seem to have a pretty similar look and design. It would be nice if more design templates were constantly being uploaded.,8,Canva allows our sales staff to create quick promotional materials that fit their specific needs instead of having to submit a request to our marketing team. Canva allows our organization to create and publish more content. For example, we now publish a weekly newsletter instead of a monthly newletter. Canva also helps our professional graphic designers spend more time on their designs because they do not have to spend as much time working on basic design materials.,Adobe Photoshop,QuickBooks Online, Insightly, Periscope Data
Unspecified
Canva
147 Ratings
Score 9.1 out of 101
TRScore

Canva Reviews

Canva
147 Ratings
Score 9.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 148 vetted Canva reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 59)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Sami Sonkowsky M.S.Ed profile photo
August 06, 2018

Review: "Canva - User Friendly and Easy to Learn"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our department uses Canva to create social media marketing across over various online platforms. We use it to customize our posts and it is a standard product that we all use and we train our graduate students to use. We often submit requests for content to our communications department but this takes time and we have little to no creative say in the design process. Canva allows us to be creative!
  • User friendly.
  • Great templates for marketing, promotion, and design.
  • Anyone can learn to use it quickly.
  • More free content.
  • More fonts, we follow a style guide and need specific fonts for dept promotions.
  • More tools for words, curves would be nice!
Perfect for self-starters and those who want an easy outlet to be creative! Great for quick, professional-looking turn around for marketing, promotion, print, and digital media.
Read Sami Sonkowsky M.S.Ed's full review
Oral Tosun profile photo
November 12, 2018

Review: "Canva: the perfect solution for social media shares."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I run a small online 3D printing service. Canva is used by only me. It solves my start-up's social media campaign design problems. Canva is an easy online tool to use. You can create leaflets, posters, business cards, banners, and other cool things with Canva. It is then very easy to share them online social media platforms. Or you could save them on your device. Canva has ready stencils or designs which are useful for projects.
  • Quick to produce social media content
  • You can use it on the cloud. No need for downloading software.
  • Canva has the ability to create content for different social media platforms. For example, you could create posts just fit for Instagram in square format.
  • You could write an e-book with Canva.
  • Canva's mobile app has more design restrictions than the browser app. It is a little bit hard to use on mobile devices.
  • Templates section could be broadened to other new business areas, like 3D printing.
  • Direct social media sharing options within Canva are limited to Facebook and Twitter. There should be other media options such as Pinterest, Instagram, LinkedIn, etc.
Canva is ideal for all kind of businesses. But it fits perfectly for a new start-up company. I love that it's free. Of course, Canva has paid areas but for a first-time user, there's no need to pay. Canva has a developing interface. There have been a number of feature additions to it within the last year. Canva has limited photo editing tools, though. Thus, you might need another software to edit your photos.
Read Oral Tosun's full review
Nathan Sichilongo profile photo
June 28, 2018

"A Small Business Owner's Thoughts on Canva - An honest review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canva for quick on the fly designs, when we need to test a new idea or draw inspiration. We have found that while it is not a full-fledged design tool, everyone from professionals to beginners can use it and it is cost effective. It is mainly used by our marketing department and allows us to effectively design consistent branding images for our various platforms including print and online media.
  • The ability to save designs online automatically and share those designs with other team members is invaluable to us
  • The drag and drop functionality is very useful for quickly adding images or elements to a design that are not already available in the Canva platform
  • The mobile apps for various platforms allow us to see designs on the go and edit or change any designs
  • The branding option is great because we can use our own custom font and colors for different designs. Being able to duplicate and add our branding to different designs is a lifesaver
  • There are more templates and search functionality on the mobile apps than on the website. This is rather odd and makes the product a bit confusing to use. We sometimes have to find a design idea on the app then save it and use it on the web app. Would be easier if the ability to find designs was just baked into both web and mobile apps.
  • While it is a versatile design tool, Canva does not allow you to import just any fonts. Our team has had to find other workarounds to use the library of fonts we have as they cannot be imported into Canva, despite the functionality being advertised.
  • Being unable to import or export vectors or design files lets Canva down. As a tool that can be used by almost anyone, it needs some advanced features for professional designers. If we could export designs with layers or import them it would really make our workflow much easier.
Canva is best suited for anyone looking for a quick online design tool. Social media managers and web designers can benefit a lot from it. As well as small business owners who may not have money to hire a designer. For medium-size business and Enterprises, there are more advanced tools that can fill in the gap. We have found that Canva is a good alternative tool to Adobe's suite of products for quick design and also cost. However, for teams larger than 10 users, you may want to consider other alternatives.
Read Nathan Sichilongo's full review
Jason Glogau profile photo
October 18, 2018

Canva Review: "Easy-to-use design tool for social media pros & non-designers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Canva myself for smaller design projects, mostly for social media applications. We're a small team, so efficiencies are key. I'm able to quickly create graphics that don't require elaborate work in InDesign from our expert designers. It is also a great tool for cropping images to the right dimensions for social media, and laying in our logo for branding purposes.
  • Canva's templates can be a huge time saver for creating graphics. I especially find these helpful when creating motivational quotes or holiday-themed images for social media.
  • Canva offers several export options, so whether you need a PNG or a PDF, for digital or for print, you've got it available.
  • Included with Canva is a library of stock photos and graphics that are free to use, and additional images that can be purchased. It's a mixed bag, but it's nice to have some assets easily available.
  • Canva allows you to save your brand's colors for easy application on future projects!
  • Canva has a lot of preset sizes for different applications, but I think they could do a better job of implementing all the proper social media sizes (though who can keep up with them?!)
  • A lot of features require a paid plan. Perfectly fine, but may not always fit for all users. This is hardly a criticism, but just something to be aware of based upon your needs.
Canva is an incredible tool for anyone who needs to create graphics, but don't need elaborate work done in the Adobe Creative Suite. Social media graphics, posters, blog images, etc. -- great application, especially if you aren't a graphic designer by day!

I don't think I'd use Canva for making multi-page brochures/booklets and really high-end products, but it wouldn't surprise me if Canva could handle that, too.
Read Jason Glogau's full review
Adam Montgomery profile photo
October 18, 2018

Canva Review: "Start Designing Today"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canva is being used by our marketing department. Our marketing department uses Canva to create our weekly newsletter, promotional flyers, and company proposals. Canva allows our marketing team to develop marketing materials quickly and with a professional design. Because of its ease of use, our marketing team is able to push out content at a much faster pace.
  • Canva is very intuitive and easy to use.
  • Canva offers a wide range of pre-loaded design templates that can easily be customized to fit your organization or provide inspiration for your own designs.
  • Canva does not require any graphic design skills or knowledge of design programs.
  • For graphic designers, Canva cannot replace Photoshop or InDesign. In fact, most graphic designers would probably find Canva too basic.
  • Now that our team has used the program so much, I can always tell when materials have been designed in Canva. They seem to have a pretty similar look and design.
  • It would be nice if more design templates were constantly being uploaded.
Canva is perfect for those who want to create infographics, charts, marketing materials, etc but do not have any experience with graphic design. The program is designed to help create materials and content quickly. For that purpose, it does a great job, but the program cannot replace a true graphic designer. When my team really needs a truly professional designed item, we will turn to our graphic designer first.
Read Adam Montgomery's full review
Ben Rubenstein profile photo
August 30, 2018

Canva Review: "A time-saving tool for design novices"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canva to create quick graphics for social media - both as a replacement tool for more intensive design in Photoshop, and also as a testing ground for images to see what will work in the various formats. It's helpful in saving time going back and forth with design, and saves some of the learning curve of more complicated design tools.
  • Custom templates that enable you to lock down elements of an image (such as a logo placement) to ensure that images remain consistent.
  • Consistently updated image sizes to keep you in compliance with changing social media standards.
  • Quick and easy creation and download process.
  • Template/image sharing can be a bit clunky - I've run into issues where another user was unable to edit what I'd shared.
  • It'd be nice if I could integrate it more with my social media calendar to bring images from creation to sharing even more quickly.
  • Pricing for some of the designs is a little expensive.
Canva is great if you don't have a dedicated designer on your team, or need to create images quickly outside of a typical design process. It's also useful for organizations that have many users that need to create brand-compliant images. It doesn't take much training to get up and running.
Read Ben Rubenstein's full review
William Laurienti profile photo
August 28, 2018

Review: "Canva: Pretty pretty and pretty simple."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Canva to build infographics and to put together a case study packet for a client. I don't use it all the time-- it lends itself to specific types of project. I use it like you might use MS Publisher (only Canva's learning curve is easier on my back).
  • Canva makes it very easy to change your mind about what goes where.
  • Canva's chart/graph tool is decent for basic data representation.
  • Cava's palette tool is useful for replicating brand colors around a document. You just take the hex code from your brand documents and drop them in to create a palette.
  • Canva, as a tool that seems to lend itself to information representation, doesn't have any means for managing and representing more complex data relationships. I found myself making charts in Google Sheets, exporting the charts as .png files, and uploading them to Canva.
Canva is great for presenting graphic information. It has tons and tons of templates and access to free and paid graphics. It's also great for making hero images for social posts. It makes beautiful images, and it's super easy to use.
Read William Laurienti's full review
Lisbeth Tanz profile photo
August 22, 2018

Review: "Canva Gives Professional Results at a Fraction of the Cost!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Canva to create headers for social media, posters for bands, logos from products, thank you cards for clients, and an ebook. For me, Canva offers simplicity when designing pieces like this. I'm not a graphic designer and I can't afford to hire one when the need arises most of the time. Canva provides drop-dead easy solutions to my designing problems.
  • If you're a monthly subscriber, you have access to TONS of images, photographs, and fonts. They usually have something that works for whatever you're designing.
  • They also provide a large number of predesigned templates. All you have to do is erase the wording you don't want and put in what you do want. It couldn't be easier!
  • Canva also allows for cross-team functionality. I didn't need this, but I can see how it would reduce turnaround time for a project.
  • A negative is a monthly cost. As a solopreneur, $12.95 per month is a steep cost for something I don't use every month. I wish they had something else between $0 and $12.95.
  • I had a hard time keeping track of the money I paid upfront for images. (For example, I paid $10 upfront to take care of the $1 image cost for premium images.) I wasn't always sure I was getting credit because it seemed like I was paying anyway.
Canva is well-suited for any situation that needs a well-designed, professional result. I used Canva to create logos for products I was marketing, which was a lot simpler than finding a designer. I also created an ebook using an ebook template. It looked professional and was very easy to use. I also liked that I could get a transparent background on my images, although I believe that's only with the paid version.
Read Lisbeth Tanz's full review
Desirée zambrano profile photo
November 12, 2018

Canva Review: "Great results and user friendly"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canva to design the images of the different products we produce, and the presentations for these products--from enhancing the look of the product, to designing the label, even to posts on Instagram or other websites. It's used just in our department, since we're in charge of the promotion and marketing of these products.
  • It's very easy to use, so if you want to get beautiful results but find other design tools too complicated, Canva is perfect. You can design almost anything on Canva in a few easy steps
  • You can get beautiful designs using the free version
  • It allows you to upload images of your preference
  • It has a lot of different resources for different types of content
  • While its monthly subscription isn't overly expensive, some of the content is overpriced (images, icons, and such.)
  • Getting the design size right can be very time-consuming.
  • A lot of paid template options appear, and finding the free templates takes some searching.
If you're starting to work on Digital Marketing but are not an expert in Photoshop, Canva is the perfect choice. You get beautiful results without too much hassle. If you need to do an amazing design but are short on time, Canva can help you with that. Canva is a perfect tool to use for people who have few design skills, but if you're looking to get super professional results, Canva is not for you.
Read Desirée zambrano's full review
Enio García profile photo
July 03, 2018

Canva Review: "Essential for quick and easy designs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this platform in the graphic design department and it allows us to create and publish a diversity of beautiful and elegant free designs without using tools like Photoshop or Illustrator. It is special to make concrete and simple designs. It has been very useful for my company.
  • You can create personalized restaurant menus, flyers, flyers, business cards, gift vouchers and even labels.
  • Create headlines for our social networks like Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.
  • It allows you to create designs for events, ceremonies and special occasions such as future weddings, communions, baptisms or birthdays.
  • It lacks advanced options. That is, it only serves for simple designs without many effects.
  • The use of the internet is mandatory to use this platform.
This program stands out in social networks. For a community manager it is essential to be able to make designs quickly and in a short time, something that Canvas does very well. It is not recommended for complex designs such as publications for magazines, etc.
Read Enio García's full review
Phoebe Ann Lopez profile photo
June 22, 2018

Canva Review: "This is one of the best for beginners and experts to be creative"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I personally use the Canva for some specific type of events sometimes in our parties in companies or birthdays. It is very easy to use and there are a lot of features to choose from. You can be creative and give much of theme or background images that help you to make a project or picture perfect. I do multi task by doing my task as a virtual assistant in the credit department and admin staff in our recreational activity. That is why I was looking for a software where I can do a lot of creativity and designing. Canva is been the best one so far.
  • Even in the free registry it will still give you good features to help you to be creative.
  • Can easily upload images and there is a lot of variation for the sample text that gives more pattern for design.
  • It saves my project history and there are different sizes for projects that you might need.
  • I wish you could add a feature where you could remove a background of an image.
  • For sample text to have a larger font size.
Canva is well suited for doing logos or front design for invitations. It has been a great help for our recreational activities for themed events. For the less appropriate maybe add a feature that can remove a background of an image to have much more creativity in a project.
Read Phoebe Ann Lopez's full review
Will Harmon profile photo
June 05, 2018

Review: "Canva empowers designers of all skill levels"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canva allows marketers of every level to be self sufficient with designing quality marketing collateral. I have little to no background in design, and before I signed up for Canva I would often find myself heavily depending on design teams to deliver marketing assets.

Canva is empowering marketers to operate autonomously in the workplace by producing sleek and engaging designs.
  • Gives users simple tools to create effective graphics
  • Easy to use interface with a wide variety of templates
  • Good repository of deign-ready images
  • I'd like to have more control over cropping and layering
  • It is sometimes difficult to find the right template for your project
I use Canva to create quick graphics for presentations and social media. I also use it in conjunction with other sites to create some infographics. I wouldn't use Canva for more detailed or rigorous campaigns unless you were using a paid version.
Read Will Harmon's full review
Deven Bhagwandin profile photo
May 22, 2018

Review: "Canva Helps Content Creators with Limited Graphics Experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Canva when I need to resize and edit photos for my client's websites. I also use Canva to edit and resize photos for my client's social media profiles. Last, I use Canva for images to include in various marketing materials. Canva solves a number of problems for me. One is that I use a Chromebook, so image editing software is limited. Also, I have very little graphic design skills, so the templates, layouts, fonts, and elements are extremely useful to me.
  • I like that I can use filters and alter colors to match any brand that I'm working on.
  • I like that I can upload any of my images and edit from within Canva.
  • I like that I can download my edited images in a number of formats (.PNG, .JPEG, PDF)
  • Within the Elements> Grids, I'd like to see more options for grid layouts.
  • It would be nice to be able to create your own "illustrations" so that you're not limited to the ones Canva provides.
  • Possibly update the frames section, too. Some of them are outdated and a bit cheesy.
Canva is well suited for amateur graphic designers, small business owners who need to create their own graphics, for kids & schools. It is not well suited for creating custom, high-quality graphics. Overall, it's a great product and I feel it's the best on the web right now (for amateurs).
Read Deven Bhagwandin's full review
Emily Hammell profile photo
May 18, 2018

Canva Review: "Great Product!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it when designing posts for social media and flyers for promotions and events. It's very easy to use and has a TON of beautiful templates that help me expedite the design process. It's also very easy to customize elements - you can upload your own fonts, create branding guidelines, etc.
  • Functional and beautiful pre-made templates
  • Easy-to-use interface that's very simplistic
  • Different formats and designs for different needs - flyers, cards, social media posts
  • Only allows a certain amount of additional fonts to be uploaded
  • Many of the photos from the library cost additional, which can be frustrating
  • Organizing a large number of files/designs can be very tricky
It's very good for quick creation of social media posts and flyers, but wouldn't be practical for an in-depth design, like a detailed brochure or multi-page document. It's also very good at creating custom cards or stationary for day-to-day use.
Read Emily Hammell's full review
Anthony Burke profile photo
May 18, 2018

Review: "Canva is a great resource for our content marketing team"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a digital marketing agency that offers content marketing services, we have great use for creating graphic and visual components to our written content. Our writers and social media people all use Canva as an easy way to create header images and infographics. Words are more compelling when accompanied by visuals, and Canva is one of the programs we use to create those.
  • Creating visuals that combine text and graphic elements.
  • Is full-featured enough to work for a number of projects while being much simpler to use than PhotoShop.
  • I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to graphic design, but Canva makes me feel more capable than I probably am.
  • Canva is well organized and makes it easy to store revised and original versions.
  • Canva has many project templates available which make it easy to tailor a graphic to Facebook, Instagram, Blogs, etc.
  • For better and worse, Canva is simpler than Photoshop/InDesign. Canva is less powerful and stripped down in comparison, which means, occasionally, you might have projects that require a more sophisticated program.
  • The selection of stock elements available for free is not always tremendous, which occasionally means paying a small premium for some elements.
We write a lot of blog posts, for our company and for clients. Canva is one of our go-to programs for creating header images to accompany the blogs that display well within WordPress sites. With its many templates, it also works well for creating social media posts, reports, booklets, and even infographics. Good graphic designers can do amazing things with Canva, and mediocre graphic designers (like myself) can do very good things. Some more detailed projects that require the utmost attention paid to the most minute of details will be better off designed in PhotoShop of InDesign.
Read Anthony Burke's full review
Bailey Taunt profile photo
May 16, 2018

Canva Review: "Let your creativity flow- especially for Marketers!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Canva very frequently for marketing content for our department. We use it to create ads, infographics, eBooks, pamphlets, and whitepapers. Occasionally, I use it for personal use for blogging and creating cards. Canva is easy to use and we especially like the grid option which allows you to drag and drop a picture that ends up filling the whole space. My boss and I share the links and can edit the collateral and it shows the changes you make. We use the images for the Twitter size post and put them in every blog piece that we have. The infographic templates are very helpful as well because they provide you with some layouts that you can adjust and change the colors and the orientation. Additionally, the photo grid is a really cool element because you can essentially put a picture inside a laptop screen. Canva allows you to use your creativity and also provides free illustrations and pictures to use for your design.
  • Photo Grid: dragging and dropping images into a grid that fills the whole screen of the picture
  • Shareability: being able to download, copy, and share the links with your team members is very helpful
  • Creativity: Design elements like shapes, illustrations, and free photos are very helpful in creating a design.
  • Variety of templates: the various templates allow you to customize and adjust your design
  • Recommendations: Make it easier to understand teams and have the teams collaborate without the design changes that only change for one person
  • Recommendation: bug fixes, often times the site is down when we need to use it
  • Recommendations: offer more folder options for free users
Canva is well suited for marketing: social media, flyers, infographics, eBooks, Twitter posts, invitations, etc. We use Canva for Twitter images on our blog. We have created different variations of infographics which is nice because then we can choose several different types. We recently discovered that square infographics are trending and so we are planning to make more of them besides just the rectangular infographics.
Read Bailey Taunt's full review
No photo available
October 18, 2018

Review: "My experience with Canva both professionally and on a personal level"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Canva for both my professional and personal projects. I use it to design social media posts, cover photos, report pages, and cover and even for my printables. When working with multiple clients, Canva allows us to create templates and reuse them without the need to have Photoshop installed, and since it's on the cloud, it was easy to work from different stations, collaborate with other team members and best of all, make changes from my living room when the client decides to send feedback at 9 pm on the weekend.

I also used Canva to create reports and report covers for both management and clients. I can't tell you how impressed they were with the how elegant and clean the designs looked.

On a personal level, I created a few ebooks easily with Canva. After watching a few tutorials on Youtube and trying it out, I realized how easy and simple it was and got hooked ever since. I've also created my personal C.V. and a few of my family's and friends' C.V.s through Canva. The wide variety of elegantly designed resumes allowed me to turn those old word boring C.V.s into vibrant looking ones, allowing those potential candidates to look professional.
  • Ease of use
  • A wide variety of templates (both free and paid)
  • Can be used to execute many different jobs (social media post design, cover design, ebooks creation, reports drafting, and much more)
  • Saves brand colors and templates for reuse
  • Good for light work, but doesn't replace Photoshop and Illustrator for complex jobs
  • The platform is fully online, so working on a weak internet connection can be tiring (if the connection is lost, Canva doesn't save your work)
  • Working on long reports or ebooks can cause the tab to eat a lot of RAM or even glitch.
Good for:
  • Light jobs when you want to create quick social media posts.
  • Book or report covers
  • I've created full small ebooks with it (up to 20 pages)
  • C.V.s and resumes are also some of my favorite things to create on Canva
If you do a lot of simple design work and change stations, Canva is the perfect platform for you. I did pay for some of Canva's premium images and designs to add spice and to make sure I stand out from some of my competitors, some of whom I realized are stealing/copying my social media post designs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

Canva Review: "Great Software For Quick and Easy Designs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Canva across the marketing department. The social media person didn't always have time to wait on a graphic from me so she was able to use Canva to actually create quick little social media graphics for the Twitter and Facebook feeds. I was able to use Canva to create super quick flyers if I had an insane time deadline and just needed something quick and decent looking.
  • I love all of the templates that are readily available and you can work from fast. If you need a layout for a flyer, you hit the button for flyer and then there are 100 options that you can select from and use. They have it so you can narrow down by focus like real estate or food, etc.
  • It's extremely easy to upload your own graphics into the system for use. Literally, you can drag them straight into the design and it will automatically start uploading them for you or you can hit the plus button in the elements area.
  • I have also used Canva on the professional side and actual set up a brand through their software. I was able to create palettes and upload the correct colors using hex codes as well as upload my fonts. This made it easy to keep brand consistancy when working on different projects within Canva.
  • One of the major flaws is when you go to select multiple items that are layered to move or work with. They have an odd way of grouping them. Also, it is very difficult to select an object on a sub layer to move without moving everything on top of it.
  • Second issue has to do with printing the pdf files. I have had my alignment in the piece go completely wonky when it printed and there was not an easy way to fix the issue.
  • The templates that list a monetary number are confusing - it seems like you would have to pay to use the template but in reality the cost is actually for the stock photo they are using in the template. If you replace the stock photo, the template is free.
I think it's great for marketing teams in general that have a need for different people to be able to create graphics quickly. The amount of templates is staggering and the usability ease is fantastic. Add to that the cost was very low for what they are providing. It would be less appropriate if you need to create more complex graphics. For instance a booklet, a wall wrap, or a presentation. For those types of things, you need actual graphics programs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 27, 2018

Review: "Canva: Quickly create professional looking designs with little to no experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canva across our development/fundraising department to quickly and easily design cards and invitations to special events. The platform allows a variety of users with any level of design experience to quickly create professional looking event collateral. There is very little training needed, and the software guides users through the design process with on-screen tips, guidelines, and tons of great looking templates. This allows us to create our design materials in-house without hiring additional graphic design staff or costly consultants.
  • Design professional-looking postcards and flyers using a wide selection of adaptable templates.
  • Create print-ready brochures, flyers, and presentations with high quality graphics with little or no graphic design experience.
  • On-screen tips guide you through the design process, so literally anyone can log onto the system and initiate or complete a design.
  • There is very little I would do to improve Canva, as the platform seems to regularly update itself with new content and features. My primary area of improvement would be the the pricing model, which is subscription-based. I understand this is the new way that most software is moving, and it makes sense given the regular updates and new content being added; nevertheless, from a business standpoint (and this isn't necessarily a problem unique to Canva!), while monthly subscriptions make software affordable from a cash basis, over the long run it feels like you pay just as much as you would to buy a professional software off the shelf.
Well suited: We use this platform most frequently to quickly design electronic invitation cards to a monthly cocktails event. The files export easily, allowing us to import into PaperlessPost for our event emailing and RSVP tracking. This is a very powerful combo if you host a lot of special events on a regular basis.

Not so well-suited: For text heavy designs you may consider another platform, as copy/pasting text and maintaining or universally changing text format can be challenging. Think of this as a graphic design program with some text features, mostly to design sales collateral and you will be very happy; just don't try to use it to create a book or a very long, text-heavy annual report.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

"Canva Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canva is being used to create advertisements for upcoming events. For example, if we want to post flyers up Canva is a great way to get your creativity out there. Another good feature that Canva has is being able to send out the work you've created. An example of this could be not wanting to waste paper, and spreading the word to a large number of people. In my personal experience Canva is being used within a department. It solves the business problems of creativity, and getting the word out in a unique and eco-friendly way.
  • Organization - Canva is super user-friendly. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to navigate through it and it allows for easy use from the customer. It's definitely a strength because similar products will be more complex and require you to have a better understanding of design techniques.
  • Variety - Canva has an extensive selection of different templates to use, as well as objects to create templates that are great for whatever you need.
  • Options - Canva gives you options for what you are looking to do. For example, it is not only a great site to create ads or advertisements for. It is also useful for other things such as photo editing.
  • Collaboration - There is not a way that you can collaborate with others from within. It would be cool if they created a feature to do that.
  • Price vs. quality - What you pay for is what you get. If you are using the free version there are some limitations that can't let you get as creative as you want to.
  • A good idea could be a have a likes and dislikes system where people can either like what you're doing, and maybe have a place to leave notes.
From personal experience, Canva is greatly suited for scenarios where you have to make some sort of advertisement or get the word out. For example, let's say there is a speaker coming to your job site and you want to have a big turn out, Canva can help create a cool and attractive flyer for you to send out. A less appropriate scenario would be to get RSVPs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 14, 2018

Canva Review: "Easily creating graphics for all social media"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
By and large, we've possessed the capacity to streamline and center our plan spending plan - coordinating the heft of our financial plan toward "enormous detonation" things that require a planner and having the capacity to diminish the sum spent on everyday little outline needs that surface all the time.

Also, the turnaround time to get promotion pieces out via web-based networking media has been abbreviated. Canva has empowered our Communications Coordinator to make brisk designs when required, as we in some cases need to react to current occasions via web-based networking media with an erratic and fast turnaround time. What's more, it has empowered other staff (such as myself) to make pictures for our promotion needs to then pass on to our Communications Coordinator which abbreviates the work process also.


  • In a couple of snaps, you can plan a huge number of illustrations for use in promoting/publicizing through web-based social networking or print.
  • You are not constrained by the pictures provided - you can transfer your own to control.
  • I utilize the expert variant (paid) which likewise furnishes me with sharing abilities, marking, transfer your own particular text styles and different advantages.
  • I adore having the capacity to make an outline and resize it for various web-based social networking stages.
  • Simple to utilize formats and change or make your own particular plans.
  • Bunches of textual styles.
  • Great instructional exercises on the best way to utilize distinctive highlights
  • That a portion of the photograph correcting instruments is restricted.
  • A few assets are paid, despite the fact that they are not costly.
  • Furthermore, there are no lines or aides that enable us to know with conviction that our plan is focused and balanced with whatever remains of the undertaking.
Before you begin influencing a plan, have a thought of what you need. Now and then you could go in and tumble to the suasions of its delightful formats. Try not to be hesitant to blend and match components from different formats either. Make a point to have a decent eye for shading, Canva encourages you some in such manner yet not all that much, so you require stylish taste yourself.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 03, 2018

User Review: "Canva for Marketing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Canva on a weekly basis to easily create strong graphic images and promotional material. I'm a book author with a following on social media, which is where I primarily use this material. Canva makes it easy to create images such as Twitter of Facebook headers, or graphic images I can use on apps such as Instagram. It's often used as a way to get information out, instead of relying on text alone.
  • Helps to easily create graphic images
  • Is able to be used widely across different social media.
  • Allows you to incorporate stock or personalized images
  • Some of the image integration can be difficult, and can mess up color schemes
  • The search function is weak
  • I'd like to see it more cleanly separated in different social media forms. Making it searchable to find templates for each one
Canva is a great program for people like me, who often have information they need to share via social media. Rather than spending many hours on programs such as photoshop, Canva provides ready-made templates that I'm able to personalize. This save so much time. If you're a great artist and want something completely personalized, it might not be the best program. But to save time and create material quickly, there's no beating it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 28, 2018

Canva Review: "Get your designs done!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canva makes design and marketing accessible to people of all experience levels. The online software makes design, for any purpose whether it is for mass mailing or social media posting, easy.
  • Canva has great prepopulated templates!
  • Canva has numerous options for document sizing that directly correlate to stipulations of various social media sites or email headers.
  • Canva does not offer organization of your designs until you upgrade to the paid version. This upgrade is definitely worth.
  • Canva has limited free options for images and illustrations.
Canva has reduced the time we need for marketing purposes and we are able to make cohesive branding decisions now. I love how easy Canva makes it to create invitations, social media posts, email headers, cards, newsletters, and many more!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 26, 2018

User Review: "Canva is great for small businesses!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to create professional graphics for use in social media and email marketing campaigns. It is used primarily by our digital department but also other teams use it as well. Helps professionalize our marketing programs to our target audiences, and looks really good without being too expensive or difficult to use. Great!
  • Ease of Use
  • Creativity
  • Cost
  • Some more expanded graphic design functionality
  • Not as glitchy
  • Less nickel and dime type charges
Canva is great for businesses across the spectrum - B2B, B2C, etc. Particularly small businesses with smaller marketing budgets. It is particularly useful for creating a great graphic to support your marketing initiatives. Couldn't be happier with what Canva provides! Great service and a great tool for your use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 21, 2018

Canva Review: "Great tool,user friendly product with very good outcomes"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is helping our businesses and certainly myself to look and deliver a much more professional image for the organization. There is always a place for a great designer, but sometimes you need a professional piece of work quickly and within a 'zero' budget, this fantastic set of tools allows anyone to produce amazing work! Help us in brochures and posters. Great and responsive social media posts.
  • The software is very simple to use and anyone can be a designer
  • Very cost effective there is also a Free option which allows you to do so much
  • Cloud-based allowing me to use anytime, anywhere with a good internet connection is needed
  • Innovation - There are always new tools or templates to try
  • In my opinion, I'm more on the Illustration and Logo Side and I would love to have more options and logos on Canva.
  • it was very hard to find a tool to create a simple line.
  • You also cannot change the dimensions of basic shapes (i.e. make a square into a rectangle without having to delete the shape and find another).
  • Overal there isn't that much to dislike, especially for the price!
I love that Canva is so reasonably priced while not really scrimping on functionality! This is great for small organizations and non-profits!
Read this authenticated review

About Canva

Canva is a popular, simple online graphic design tool. Users can import images, use templates to design banners and logos, or pay to use Canva's premium stock images/paid templates (elements starting at $1).
Categories:  Content Marketing,  Graphics

Canva Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No