HCSS

HCSS Reviews

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Ratings and Reviews
(1-25 of 34)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
J. Mickey Merguerian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
  • Operations / Project Management
I know for a fact that we've increased the amount of bids put out due to commonalities between jobs that are stored in HeavyBid. For example, consistently using small tools estimating. This is something that can be used for a lot of small contributions to a bid that cut the time on getting the bids out in almost half.

In addition, the man power wasted on trying to keep track of timecards and overseeing their appropriate cost coding used to be a futile effort. With his 2 system check (time entry and cost control) we're able to finally trust our entries and run production analysis off those numbers. Finally!
Olaf Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
  • Operations / Project Management
  • Equipment Management
I can only speak of what I am involved in and that is the Operations and Equipment Management portions of our company. From an operations end, I am able to be more confident in scheduling of multiple major jobs during any specific timeframe. Knowing that I have the resources need or the information that we will need to get rentals during this time frame. With dispatcher the efficiency that I can schedule the equipment and the moves needed to get it where it belongs is a great ROI. GPS is with out a doubt a great ROI. I no longer have to make multiple phone calls to see where something was left by a crew.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
  • Operations / Project Management
2007 - 2010 were our worst years following the downturn in the construction economy in California. I am glad we were already utilizing HeavyBid and HeavyJob when we went through those periods. I believe HeavyJob allowed us to get real-time data that allowed us to make decisions during the progress of construction that helped keep our projects on track to profitability.
January 08, 2018

HCSS is great

James Duncan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Operations / Project Management
  • Equipment Management
We've seen a decrease in time for timecard approval, export, accounting, and billing. We also see improvements in being able to correct job site issues and productivity faster. Our equipment is in better shape and we are seeing smaller issues corrected prior to becoming big issues.
Doyle Potts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
  • Operations / Project Management
  • Equipment Management

The HCSS impact is quickly felt and it also pays dividends for the long haul. With the use of Heavy Bid, you see how the system can save time and effort.

The Operations will quickly be accounted for and give managers a place to document and stay up to date of the financial and practical condition of your job site. Heavy Job is excellent for office personnel and job site managers to see and track job status. Dispatch, Safety, and E360 will assist in crews and equipment. All of which is important to the bottom line of every business.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
  • Operations / Project Management
  • Equipment Management

One of the best functions from an Operations / Project Management standpoint are the overview reports we run. These are higher-level reports in HeavyJob that allow area/project executives to identify any projects that may be trending off production. Identifying any potential areas of concern starts the communication with the project team up and down the chain.

From there, we determine if it is user-error problem, for which we arrange for more training; if it is a production problem, we bring in the right people to review how we can improve our field performance; if it was an estimate problem, we communicate to the estimating department. In the end, the resolution to the "issue" shows resolved one way or another in the project forecast.

Better control of our financials early, allow us to make decisions and plan for the future.

Michael Daughters | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
When we first started using HCSS, there was a feeling within the company that it added a lot of extra cost to every estimate, and we were not winning as many. However, once people understood how the software worked, it quickly became the estimating software of choice. The key is to avoid doubling on indirects and overhead. A lot of companies treat OH&P as a single item, and want it to include a certain level of home office overhead, while also building in home office overhead into the indirect code of accounts. this results in an inflated bid.
Joseph McElwee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
  • Operations / Project Management
  • Equipment Management
Since we bid a lot of similar jobs, we can use the historical information from older Heavy Bid estimates to make our bidder go quicker. We can bid more work with less estimators because of all the historical information we can look up from previously bid work.
January 19, 2018

HCSS Feedback

Mildred Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
  • Operations / Project Management
  • Equipment Management
At this point, we are using E360, HeavyBid, HeavyJob Field and Manager and are just getting started with the Mobile devices. Going by this I would say the products are all working and meet our needs.
January 09, 2018

HCSS product review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
  • Operations / Project Management
Having had Heavybid for so long, we're at a very stable stage with its usage. It does allow us to bid more work, using a library or similar estimates, very quickly, and it allows us to quickly communicate cost/budget information to the field staff during the turnover phase. HeavyJob affords our field staff the ability to look quickly at what-if scenarios, particularly on items that are cost-challenged, and find the most effective means to get the work done as cost-effectively as possible.
Dave Luytjes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
This is a little difficult question as it implies a recent change over. We are a long time user of the product. It does allow our estimators to work very efficiently with out a loss in creativity. It also allows use to balance manpower more effectively. If a particular area is short manpower resources someone can be brought on from another office easily since codes and resources are consistent.
Heather Gunzelmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
  • Operations / Project Management
  • Equipment Management
Heavy Job has allowed us to track production and see up front and daily where we are falling short on production and trucking costs. That gives us a chance to right the ship before it shows in accounting on the WIP. It is an easier system for our foreman in the field to use to enter their time sheets and that saves time and money.

Heavy Bid has forced our estimating team to break the projects down properly and gives full clarity of what is going out to bid.
We are looking forward to having a couple years of history in the systems to see how the estimates match what we are truly able to produce in the field.
December 01, 2017

HCSS - Payroll Processing

Bethanie Larson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
  • Operations / Project Management
  • Equipment Management
I truly use the system for time card records. I review all the data for payroll purposes. HCSS has made the payroll process far more efficient than it was years ago. As we continue to work with HCSS we are slowly eliminating data entry on the payroll administrative side altogether.
November 10, 2017

The HCSS Effect

Matt Snow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
  • Operations / Project Management
We have been able to bid a significantly larger amount of jobs since having Heavybid in the company. HeavyBid is also set up with a great amount of quality control and back-checks that help cover the company from mistakes that can be avoided.

HeavyJob has helped with documentation and daily costs. The daily costs help our company address problems immediately rather than later in the job when costs have already been incurred.
November 06, 2017

Long time satisfied user

Michael Trotta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Heavybid provides accuracy and consistency to the estimating process. Our estimating staff is one of the most productive and effective estimating departments in the industry. Whether measuring by dollar value or number of bids or variability in our markets, Heavybid is essential in maximizing each. Heavybid and the bids that are produced with it set the standards and goals for our project success.
October 25, 2017

Satisfied Customer

Danny Stoppenhagen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
  • Operations / Project Management
We have been able to bid more jobs, and bid jobs in much less time, than before we started with HeavyBid.
HeavyJob has been helpful in recording and distributing project information and photos, as well as eliminating the chore of driving to jobsites to pick up time sheets.
December 12, 2017

Too much

Jack Fink | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Estimating
We are an engineering firm so we use heavy bid for our clients Owners estimates and to help them set construction budgets and the impact has been positive as we track how close our engineers estimates are to both contractor bids and final construction costs.

HCSS Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Construction Project & Field Management (9)
72%
7.2
Plan distribution & viewing (9)
69%
6.9
Plan markups & sharing (6)
60%
6.0
Issue tracking & punchlists (13)
99%
9.9
Photo documentation (25)
100%
10.0
Jobsite reports (30)
87%
8.7
Document sharing (17)
71%
7.1
RFI tools (1)
30%
3.0
Collaboration & approvals (19)
55%
5.5
Mobile app (28)
75%
7.5

What is HCSS?

HCSS is a construction software suite for estimating, operations, project management, safety, and equipment management used by the top contractors in transportation, oil & gas, power, industrial, telecom, and water/wastewater. Contractors use the software suite to win profitable work, keep projects on track and on budget, manage key assets, and then they integrate that information directly into their accounting system.

Suite components include:
  • HeavyBid (estimating)
  • HeavyJob (time cards, job costing, project management)
  • HCSS Safety
  • HCSS Plans
  • Equipment360
  • HCSS Telematics
  • HCSS Dispatcher
  • FuelerPlus
  • HCSS eLogs
  • HCSS Cloud
  • HCSS Skills
  • HCSS Forms

HCSS Features

Construction Project & Field Management Features

  • Supported: Plan distribution & viewing
  • Supported: Plan markups & sharing
  • Supported: Document sharing
  • Supported: Issue tracking & punchlists
  • Supported: Photo documentation
  • Supported: Jobsite reports
  • Supported: Collaboration & approvals
  • Supported: Mobile app

Additional Features

  • Supported: Estimating and bidding
  • Supported: Invitation to bid
  • Supported: Quote management
  • Supported: Timecards
  • Supported: Daily diaries
  • Supported: Production quantities
  • Supported: T&M Reporting
  • Supported: Equipment Maintenance
  • Supported: Equipment Work Orders
  • Supported: Alerts & Notifications

HCSS Screenshots

HeavyBid - build the structure of your estimateHeavyBid - manage sub and material quotesHeavyBid - create professional bid proposalsHeavyJob - manage your job site from your mobile deviceHeavyJob - capture job site photos from any deviceHeavyJob - review, edit, and approve time cards from a mobile deviceHeavyJob - review daily job information and crew performance on a mobile deviceHeavyJob - see how your jobs are performing from your mobile deviceHCSS Safety - lead effective safety meetingsHCSS Safety - keep permanent inspections in one central locationHCSS Safety - capture near misses in the fieldHCSS Safety - capture incident information as soon as it happensHCSS Safety - JHAs/JSAs/AHAs

HCSS Video

Construction Software Development Company - Estimating, Bidding, & More | HCSS

HCSS Integrations

HCSS Competitors

HCSS Pricing

HCSS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)55%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)15%

HCSS Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesUnited States, Canada

Frequently Asked Questions

What is HCSS?

HCSS is a construction software suite. It includes functionality for bidding, time card and project management, safety, planning, scheduling, equipment management, and data warehousing and reporting. Each module can be purchased separately. The suite can be hosted in the cloud.

What is HCSS's best feature?

Reviewers rate Photo documentation highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses HCSS?

The most common users of HCSS are from Mid-size Companies and the Construction industry.