Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Mad Mimi

Mad Mimi

Overview

What is Mad Mimi?

Mad Mimi is an email marketing solution targeted at SMBs, designed to be intuitive and straightforward. It was acquired by GoDaddy in August 2014 to expand their small business support offerings.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Mad Mimi is a versatile email marketing platform that caters to a wide range of users and businesses. It has been widely embraced by …
Continue reading

Mad Mimi Rocks!

10 out of 10
April 25, 2018
Incentivized
I use Mad Mimi for my weekly newsletters, and repeat emails to individual clients. I am a sole proprietor. I utilize a virtual assistance …
Continue reading

Mad for Mad Mimi!

10 out of 10
May 01, 2014
Mad Mimi was used for email marketing to gather new readers to my previous employers website and maintain current readers by announcing …
Continue reading

Mad Mimi Review

7 out of 10
April 26, 2014
We use it for promotional emails to our clients. I personally use this for marketing and it's not used throughout the organization. Mad …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Popular Features

View all 15 features
  • Standard reports (8)
    10.0
    100%
  • List management (9)
    10.0
    100%
  • WYSIWYG email editor (8)
    9.9
    99%
  • Email deliverability reporting (9)
    9.0
    90%
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Basic

$10.00

Cloud
per month

Pro

$42.00

Cloud
per month

Silver

$199.00

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $10 per month
Return to navigation

Features

Email & Online Marketing

Using software to manage lists, send emails, automate email campaigns, and track results.

8.2
Avg 8.2

Reporting & Analytics

Users can report on and analyze usage, performance, ROI, and/or other metrics of success.

10
Avg 7.9

Pre-Send Testing

This set of features allows marketers to test out and preview various elements of their emails before sending out email campaigns. URL validation, inbox display, and email review are some of the activities included in pre-send testing.

7.7
Avg 8.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Mad Mimi?

Mad Mimi is an email marketing solution targeted at SMBs, designed to be intuitive and straightforward. It was acquired by GoDaddy in August 2014 to expand their small business support offerings. Despite its design being suitable for small business, Mad Mimi can also be scaled to support larger organizations.

Mad Mimi is broken up into Basic, Pro, Silver, and Gold plans which differ based not only on their pricing, but number of contacts served, email send speed, number of emails you can send, and storage.

Basic Plan (for individuals)
  • Ranges from $10/mo to $27/mo
  • Up to 5,000 Contacts
  • "Normal" speed
  • Unlimited Emails
  • Unlimited Storage
Pro Plan (intermediate)
  • Ranges from $42/mo to $139/mo
  • Up to 35,000 contacts
  • 2x speed
  • Unlimited emails
  • Unlimited storage
Silver Plan (business)
  • Ranges from $199/mo to $749/mo
  • Up to 250,000 contacts
  • 3x peed
  • 2,500,000 emails
  • Unlimited storage
Gold (enterprise)
  • Ranges from $1,049/mo to $1,499/mo
  • Up to 500,000 contacts
  • 4x speed
  • 5,000,000 emails
  • Unlimited storage

Mad Mimi Video

Email Newsletters are a great way to keep in touch with subscribers, fans, and customers. Email is still a booming industry, and its reach far outweighs social media. It doesn't have to be complicated to harness the power of this awesome tool! Mad Mimi helps you create, send, ...
 Show More

Mad Mimi Competitors

Mad Mimi Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Mad Mimi is an email marketing solution targeted at SMBs, designed to be intuitive and straightforward. It was acquired by GoDaddy in August 2014 to expand their small business support offerings.

Mad Mimi starts at $10.

AWeber are common alternatives for Mad Mimi.

Reviewers rate List management and Dashboards and Standard reports highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of Mad Mimi are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(18)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Mad Mimi is a versatile email marketing platform that caters to a wide range of users and businesses. It has been widely embraced by various departments within companies, enabling them to send and track newsletters and marketing emails efficiently. By utilizing Mad Mimi, businesses have witnessed increased customer conversion rates through their marketing emails, reducing overhead on traditional marketing channels.

For solopreneurs and small businesses, Mad Mimi provides an effective solution for promoting their marketing workshops and blog posts through newsletters. The platform's embeddable form automates the collection of email addresses on websites, allowing users to choose which emails they want to receive. This feature has proven to be invaluable for reaching a larger audience and maintaining effective communication with subscribers.

Marketing managers, virtual assistants, and social media companies also rely on Mad Mimi to streamline their email campaigns and manage their target audience. With its user-friendly interface, it serves as a convenient tool for creating engaging content, uploading weekly newsletters, and enhancing the deliverability of the campaigns. Additionally, Mad Mimi assists in educating clients on email marketing best practices and optimizing their strategies towards specific business goals.

Mad Mimi's functionality extends beyond the realm of business. In schools, it facilitates seamless communication with parents by sending informative newsletters that include pictures, highlights, links, and flyers. Non-profit organizations utilize Mad Mimi to keep supporters up to date on activities through regular monthly or quarterly emails. Moreover, membership-based organizations find value in utilizing this platform as it enables them to send newsletters effectively to their members.

Overall, Mad Mimi is regarded as a powerful email marketing tool that improves communication efficiency across numerous industries. Its superior editor function allows users to create captivating blog posts without the hassle of separate revisions. This product has successfully demonstrated its effectiveness in gathering new readership for websites and nurturing existing readers through targeted promotional campaigns.

User-Friendly Interface: Many users have found Mad Mimi's interface to be super simple, allowing them to quickly design emails without spending a lot of time. The drag and drop feature has been particularly appreciated, making it easy for users to customize their email layouts according to their preferences.

Variety of Design Options: Several reviewers have liked the wide range of design options available in Mad Mimi. With over 30 color themes and more than 3 dozen social media buttons, users can easily create visually appealing emails that align with their brand. This variety allows for greater flexibility in designing engaging email campaigns.

Efficient Contact Management: Users have valued Mad Mimi's efficient contact management capabilities. They have found it easy to upload new contacts in batches or one at a time, streamlining the process of adding subscribers. Additionally, managing subscribers who are on multiple lists has been convenient for targeted email marketing strategies.

Negative sentiment in user reviews for Mad Mimi can be summarized as follows: Limited customization options: Some users have expressed dissatisfaction with the limited customization options available in Mad Mimi's email interface, finding it lacking fluidity and suggesting that improvements should be made to make it more user-friendly. Lack of advanced features: Several reviewers have mentioned that Mad Mimi lacks certain advanced features found in other email service providers. These include the ability to set up drip campaigns with integration to e-commerce platforms, resending emails to unopened recipients, and more sophisticated list segmenting options. Limited templates and design capabilities: Users have commented on the limited selection of templates provided by Mad Mimi, desiring more variety and customization options. Additionally, some reviewers with advanced skills in graphic design and coding have found Mad Mimi's design tools restrictive for their visual ambitions. Overall, while there are positive aspects of Mad Mimi mentioned by users, such as its functionality and ease of use, these common cons highlight areas where improvements could enhance the user experience and meet the expectations of a wider range of customers.

Users have made several recommendations for Mad Mimi based on their experiences. The most common recommendations can be summarized as follows:

Mad Mimi is recommended for beginners, as it is considered easy to use and offers a simple way to create an email campaign. Users also suggest that it is suitable for small or private companies with simple email communication needs, as it is perceived as an affordable solution that does not require much IT staff involvement. Additionally, users recommend utilizing the support and pre-made templates provided by Mad Mimi, as they find the support to be fast and helpful in navigating the platform and creating email campaigns.

Overall, users appreciate the affordability and ease of use provided by Mad Mimi, making it a recommended option for beginners and small companies with basic email marketing needs.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-13 of 13)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
July 27, 2022

Love Mad Mimi!

Alise Gold | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Mad Mimi to send out our weekly newsletter to parents in the school. It allows us to include pictures and highlights as well as links and flyers! We can also see who is reading and opening our newsletters.
  • Newsletter templates
  • Tracking reading and engagement
  • Graphics and ease of use
  • Allow more than one person to edit at a time, like google docs
  • More templates
  • Allow to link a video and show the video in the newsletter
It is well suited for school newsletters, flyers, announcements and less so for regular emails or communication.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to send newsletters to our membership. I send them DAILY. My Leaders in different cities send them once every two weeks. It's a fantastic way to reach our membership, better than anything we do on social media.
  • Setting up and scheduling an email is really easy.
  • Customer support is outstanding (so quick!).
  • Love how it's built for people who really don't know much about tech.
  • Would like to see more notification possibilities.
  • I don't love having to pay an extra $10 per month for a simple add-on.
  • Drip campaign setup is a bit of a pain, bulky and less intuitive than other areas.
I always recommend it to everyone I know. I wish there was a referral program!
deba omoluru | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Mad Mimi basically to send out and track newsletter and marketing emails. It is used across the whole company by all departments. It has helped us increase customer conversion through marketing emails thus reducing our overheard on ordinary marketing. Mad Mimi has helped us reach more people than we were able to reach before we started using it for marketing purposes.
  • Mad Mimi can help you store email contacts on their server in different categories which makes it easy to send targeted emails to a particular category or group as the case may be.
  • The Autoresponders from Mad Mimi are very effective and can be personalized to have the feel of your company and are very easily automated. The DRIP messages are pretty straight forward for anyone to prepare.
  • Mad Mimi gives you good analytics (which can be integrated with google analytics) so that you know how well your marketing emails are converting. It allows you to do follow up on those who might not have read the emails you sent to them.
  • They have already made templates for emails which means you can easily prepare, edit and send out any type of emails in minimal time. I like the ability to use the drag and drop method to prepare my own email.
  • It is cheap with very great customer support.
  • Mad Mimi can improve their marketing automation as their present autoresponder limits us to send emails only on certain time intervals and special dates.
  • Mad Mimi needs to work on customization of the interface for preparing email because it is not very fluid. They should make it possible for the user to be able to adjust the spaces between their segmentation so that their final emails can look more professional.
  • They should allow the contact storage to be unlimited because email Contact does not take much space.
  • The number of emails that can be scheduled should be made unlimited.
  • They should include the option of embedding a short video.
Mad Mimi is perfect for scheduling remainder emails. For instance, if you need to remind a client about a pending order next week, you can schedule the remainder email today and it will be sent exactly the date and time you want it to even if you are out of office. If you need to contact thousands of people at a time, Mad Mimi can be used to send the emails all at once to all of them, especially for marketing purposes and newsletter purposes.
Jackie Bassett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Mad Mimi for our millennial marketing campaigns, currently only for our Marketing Dept. But I can definitely see its use in other departments too, as a tremendously effective communication tool.

The business problem we needed to solve was to have a tool that was truly simple to use, effective at capturing the audience we needed to engage and that had readily understood metrics capture that would gives us great real-time insights on what was or was not working with the content we were testing.

That's a very tall order, but that's exactly what Mad Mimi delivered!
  • Easily understood, real-time audience metrics capture: We quickly knew exactly who/what/when/where and why each piece of content in each campaign was resonating with our target audience.
  • Super agile system lets us do a lot of testing without a lot of extra work.
  • Expertise of the entire Mad Mimi Team, was behind every campaign! Far beyond this great software, we benefited greatly from the expertise their team readily offered. All of that expertise was at no charge! Everyone at MadMimi really wants every customer to have great results!
  • We are raving fans of Mad Mimi. Being creative ourselves, we were always offering new ideas and they were great about listening. We never found any missing functionality.
It's ideal for the new to email campaign/SMB user as they take great pains to ensure your campaign is ready for success. It's also ideal for those who are used to using the 'Goliaths' of email campaigns as the difference is night and day, in my opinion. Mad Mimi does exactly what we needed done to engage just the right audience with proven, scalable results.

It's great software, but it's also the value of the team at Mad Mimi that one gets as a customer.
Lincoln Stoller, PhD, CHt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Creating blog posts is a central element of my marketing as it allows me to create a library of material addressing pertinent issues. I broadcast these ideas for general interest, and I draw on these ideas as further elaboration in conversation. I use the blog compendium as an organic source of FAQs for my therapy business. Mad Mimi provided a superior editor for simple text and formatting, along with a mail management system. It has several notable features including something close to WYSIWYG, at least close enough. It also allowed me to make corrections to published pieces so that the piece stored with Mad Mimi was always the latest version. Mad Mimi did not require that I create separate revisions.
  • WYSIWYG-like editor
  • Editing and correction after publication
  • Good interface
  • Free version was too limited in the size of the mail list it supported.
  • Free version was too limited in the number of images that could be stored in the image library.
  • At the time I was last using it, they did not have a full-featured link to enable people to sign up for different mail lists, or different profile indicators for a single mail list (such as field of interest, or location).
I used it for email broadcast. I saved the posts I created in PDF form in my own library, and used my own CMS to list past items. I believe the trend in mail systems is to provide public access to archived posts, at least MailChimp is doing this, but this seems unattractive. Mad Mimi may be doing this also. This might be useful in some circumstance. Also, mail list features are migrating into CMS platforms, but this appears to be better handled in the mail systems, like Mad Mimi.
Robbin Block | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I'm a solopreneur, and I use Mad Mimi about once a month to send newsletters promoting my marketing workshops and blog posts. I also use their embeddable form to automate the collection of email addresses on my website. It enables me to segment my list and lets users select which emails they would like to receive.
  • I've been on the free plan for years and it has suited me very well. It's reliable and has all the core features I need at the moment. Considering how all the online tools can add up, this is right for my business.
  • Mad Mimi has a super-simple interface, and it's drag and drop, so I don't have to spend a lot of time designing each email. Although you can customize with your logo and colors.
  • There are several free add-ons, which allow for a limited amount of automation. I would recommend taking advantage of the RSS feed, webform, and drip campaign features.
  • You can segment your list into as many groups as you like, which makes for more effective email marketing.
  • Although you can customize your newsletter with logo and colors, there's basically only one format. That's good and bad. On one hand, it keeps things very simple. On the other hand, it isn't that flexible if you want a different design.
  • Other tools have built-in templates for various types of emails -- news, sales, etc. Would be nice to have those on MM.
  • Other tools make it easier to set up drip campaigns.
  • Other tools have more sophisticated features, like integration with an e-commerce platform to remarket to visitors who have left.
  • It's difficult to resend an email to unopened ones.
Mad Mimi is great for someone who wants a very simple user interface for sending out basic, yet professional, emails. Perfect for the beginning business owner. It's full-featured, yet easy to use. It's free for a good number of contacts. There are free and low-cost features that enhance the functionality. Plus, when you go beyond the free plan, it's one of the lowest cost pro plans around. On the downside, there are other email tools that are more sophisticated with built-in templates.
John Notgrass | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I used MadMimi for several years in my educational publishing business, and then I used it for a nonprofit trade association. I've used it to send out mailings to an entire list and to schedule drip campaigns for specific subscribers.
  • Mad Mimi makes it easy to manage subscribers who are on multiple lists.
  • Mad Mimi has a good email editor/designer.
  • Mad Mimi's drip campaigns are easy to set up and manage.
  • Mad Mimi does not have a lot of list segmenting options.
  • Mad Mimi does not have integrations with as many other SaaS products as other email providers.
Mad Mimi is a good product, but in 2018, it seems to have mediocre features at a mediocre price. If you have a relatively small list, MailChimp has a more generous free plan and some more advanced features and available integrations. If your business is growing, Mad Mimi will not be able to provide the functionality you need.
April 25, 2018

Mad Mimi Rocks!

Debbie Baumoel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Mad Mimi for my weekly newsletters, and repeat emails to individual clients. I am a sole proprietor. I utilize a virtual assistance and a social media company to help me and they both have access to my Mad Mimi account. It's great for my weekly newsletters. The content is uploaded by my social media company. My virtual assistant helps me manage the audience and inputs new clients and contacts as needed. The newsletter is for client support and also for marketing for contacts who are interested in my program or are interested in being strategic partners.

I also have new clients all the time. I send them each the same emails at the same points throughout their experience and I have these emails set up in Mad Mimi so I don't have to repeat the same emails over and over.
  • Very easy to upload pictures and drop them into an email I am creating.
  • Easy to create links within emails to web hosted documents or websites or videos.
  • Easy to see who has read what, who has engaged with what emails, who has unsubscribed, so I know exactly how to follow up with people.
  • Easy to upload new contacts, in a batch or one at a time.
  • I would like to see a list of all people who have opened and clicked on items in emails by email. I can look by person but I would like to look by each email.
Perfect for weekly newsletters. Perfect for re-occuring emails.
April 11, 2017

Mad about Mad Mimi

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I am current using Mad Mimi in my non-profit organization as a tool to keep our supporters up to date on the activities of the organization. We are happy with the ease of use. Monthly/Quarterly emails are sent to supporters with both details of activities and pictures to keep the supporters involved in the organization.
  • Ease of Design
  • Ease of Contact Management
  • Great for sending out informational email with pictures.
  • None, we are happy with all the functionality.
In our use, we have used it for lower end number of contacts. It is very well suited for smaller organizations with limited staff and time. I have not used the larger organization options so I cannot comment on those.
February 25, 2015

We Are Mad for Mad Mimi

Ehren Muhammad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
In late 2012, I started using MadMimi due to the majority of my newly contracted clients having very little knowledge of how to start and operate an e-mail marketing campaign.My firm specializes in working with entrepreneurs; sole-proprietors, and small business owners. Many of who have never really “marketed” their businesses beyond the very limited traditional methods i.e. passing out business cards and listing in the local newspaper.

Our goal at EMPro, Ltd is not help our clients through our project management and marketing expertise but also educate them as well.Their learning curve was incredibly high; a lot of our clients didn’t know the difference between an “Opt-Out or Opt-In” or even how social media outlets related to their business. We knew our biggest challenge would be getting them comfortable with the application we decided to use and teaching them how to optimize it toward their business goals.
  • Easy to set-up: One thing I noticed quickly is that if you want to start your campaign that same day, you can with MadMimi’s very easy follow step-by-step process that goes based on your pace and extent of your knowledge.
  • Lots of design options that are easy to use. MadMimi has 30+ color themes and more than 3 dozen social media buttons. Other tools include web-forms, drip campaigns, Salesforce, Batchbook, Highrise and Google Analytics for the more advance user.
  • Full tracking and monitoring is quickly accessed. You can make sure your marketing targeted and effective through its interactive charts, summary reports, and effectiveness of any promotions.
  • Really the only drawback is that the design tools are simple, so if you have extensive design plans, this application may be restrictive. Those advanced in graphic designing, marketing & advertisement tools and web-coding will find MadMimi limited based on their skill level and visual ambitions.
Actually, in almost every instance MadMimi was better for our client’s needs than that of its competitors based on the amount of options we had to help promote their brand, as well as how easy it was for our clients to use the tools themselves.

They had more confidence in that their business, their BRAND was in the right hands working with us because we directed them to a tool they could understand and trust.
May 01, 2014

Mad for Mad Mimi!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Mad Mimi was used for email marketing to gather new readers to my previous employers website and maintain current readers by announcing new articles and product giveaways.
  • Allow for total control of email layouts.
  • Easy importing of email contacts.
  • Great customer service and quick answers to any problems.
  • Easier way to update forms of payment.
  • More customized templates for lower price package.
  • More editing capabilities for uploaded photos.
Mad Mimi is a great tool for email marketing. It is especially useful for companies looking for an affordable and simple alternative to hiring a marketing agency.
April 26, 2014

Mad Mimi Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it for promotional emails to our clients. I personally use this for marketing and it's not used throughout the organization. Mad Mimi is great for educating our customers and turning them into buyers. From the data collected by our campaigns I can use this to inform our sales team on who is currently interested in a certain product.
  • Their drag and drop interface is very easy to use.
  • They automatically cycle out bad emails to reduce your bounce rates.
  • Their customer service is amazing. I'm taken care of in minutes.
  • The reporting features are pretty basic. I often feel like I need to switch email providers in order to excel ahead of competition.
  • The drag and drop tool is easy to use but very limited. It's really difficult to be creative with columns and content.
  • The entire tool itself is pretty basic. Not wow'd by any features.
This is a very good and cheap tool for a small business. If you're going to get into serious link tracking and analytics I would go with another tool. It's quick, simple, easy to use and has great customer support. If you're a larger small business with a dedicated sales staff I would look towards another tool with better reporting features and database management.
Tyler Hanlon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We used Mad Mimi as one of our email marketing mediums. It was primarily used by me, as the email marketing manager. Mad Mimi is a great and easy way for most anyone to create an email campaign for their subscribers, and is a great email service provider (ESP) by way of deliverability in comparison to some of it's competitors.

In terms of business problems that it addresses, I used several ESPs in my time as an email marketing manager, but Mad Mimi consistently reached more inboxes, and had better deliverability than other ESPs that I utilized. This is probably the most valuable thing an ESP can provide, so I can't give them any higher praise than that.
  • Mad Mimi is a leader in terms of Deliverability. Getting those emails in the consumer inboxes is what the game is all about.
  • Setting up email campaigns within Mad Mimi is extremely easy. It opens up a whole new opportunity for businesses of any size.
  • Customer Service and the policing of compliance is top notch. They watch everything in terms of deliverability, or lack there of, should there be bounces, or spam complaints. In the lower tiers of their payment options, having a sound set of rules in terms of compliance helps everyone, as you share an IP Address with several users. If one user is not towing the line, it affects everyone on that IP Address.
  • The ease on adding links, such as unsubscribe links, is not as easy as it is with other email service providers. Creating simple tags that take the place of a link could help a lot, especially for those not as familiar with HTML.
  • Perhaps a way of archiving old emails, or hiding them from the past emails area. It can look a bit cluttered, and can be confusing in some circumstances.
  • Providing some learning material, or at least a more thorough overview of email marketing, and the user interface would be of great use to beginners.
As I have mentioned, deliverability is the name of the game in email marketing. Mad Mimi exceeded the capabilities of other email service providers. However, it does seem to lack as much learning material for those that are new to email marketing, or for those not familiar with the user interface, compared to other ESPs. It may not be the best option for those that plan on having a large campaign, as the options and capabilities may not be as robust as you would need them to be. But for a small to medium sized operation, it would do just fine.
Return to navigation