TrustRadius
TeamViewer, from the German company of the same name, provides software for both remote support and administration and online meetings.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/5v/PN/4ZAW7KOFDJ2B.JPEGTeamViewer is fast, powerful and secure, but business licenses can be prohibitively expensive.There are three main features of TeamViewer that are used by myself and across the clients I manage. Specifically, TeamViewer can be used as remote access for tech support. Once TeamViewer is installed on a client's system, it can be used as an on-demand remote access tool allowing for screen sharing and file sharing. Once the tech support session is done, TeamViewer is closed and the computer is no longer accessible remotely. The other main use is for a client to remotely access his or her work computer remotely. TeamViewer is set to open automatically at startup, and set with a custom password that can be used every time.,Sharing a screen via TeamViewer is generally very responsive, even if the internet connection (on either the client or host side) isn't great. TeamViewer seems to use an adaptive compression algorithm, that will sacrifice some screen clarity for a more responsive and pleasurable experience. TeamViewer includes a built-in file sharing mechanism that allows for the easy and secure transfer of files from host to client (or vice versa). During the initial install of TeamViewer, you can set it up to "run-only." As in, it will not actually install itself on the computer but will allow for a one-time use remote session. This is ideal for a quick tech support session where the client doesn't want to, or can't, fully install TeamViewer. TeamViewer is a very secure platform, providing multiple layers of security. First, the only way to connect to a client is by knowing the client's machine id - a 9 or 10 digit randomly generated number created on install. In addition, for one-time connection, a randomly generated pin is created on each use. This pin can be set as a simple 4 digit pin, up to a 10 digit strong password including uppercase, lowercase, number and non-alphanumeric characters. In addition, TeamViewer is initially set NOT to open upon login - meaning the computer is not accessible until TeamViewer is manually opened on the client computer. TeamViewer can be used as both an on-demand screen sharing platform - wherein a client only opens TeamViewer when someone needs to get on remotely, and promptly closes it afterward - as well as an always-on screen sharing system. TeamViewer can be set to open automatically at login, and run in the background. A "personal password" can then be created for unattended access - this password can be as strong or as weak as you choose. One the password is set, you can connect to your computer remotely via TeamViewer at any time by knowing the machine ID and the personal password. Initial setup of TeamViewer is a fairly simple procedure, especially useful when talking a client on how to install it over the phone. While screen sharing is TeamViewer's bread and butter, it also includes a plethora of other features including file sharing as well as both video and audio sharing (great for remote tech support). With a TeamViewer account, multiple computers can be logged in via the account and easily accessible within an instance of TeamViewer. TeamViewer is truly cross-platform, with version for Mac, Windows and Linux, as well as for mobile OSs such as iOS and Android. A personal license is free.,Perhaps the biggest con of TeamViewer is it's pricing and licensing system. While a personal license is free, any form of commercial or business license is a minimum of $50/month. There used to be a one-time fee which was also quite expensive ($600+ depending on the license), but it was perpetual. Now, in order to use TeamViewer on a business level, you must pay the minimum $50/month. For occasional use, this fee is simply too high when there are other, less expensive options out there. During install, you are asked if TeamViewer is being used on for personal or business use. When you select personal, all features of TeamViewer are available, but with a personal license. When you select business use, all the features are again present, but on a trial basis until a license is purchased. Unfortunately, if you accidentally install TeamViewer with a business license instead of a personal license, it is extremely difficult, if not near impossible to change the license. You cannot change the license on your own, you must contact TeamViewer with your machine ID for their support to change the license. However, TeamViewer doesn't guarantee that they will be able to change the license, and they quote you around 30 days to actually change the license, when the free trial itself is only 7 days. Once the business trial runs up, TeamViewer is effectively useless. Continuing along the lines of licensing terms, if you install the personal version of TeamViewer, but TeamViewer detects that you may be using it on a business level, your license will automatically change from personal to business. TeamViewer detects this by monitoring how many client computers you connect to - if that number exceeds a certain value over a certain period of time (both are nebulous), the license is changed. This is an issue if you are using TeamViewer on a personal basis to provide FREE tech support to friends or family. If this occurs, you again have to contact TeamViewer and hope that they will respond to your request and change the license back to personal. On a more technical note, TeamViewer cannot relay certain key commands to a remote machine such as cmd-tab (Mac) or ctrl-tab (Windows) to quickly tab through open applications, ctrl-alt-delete (though there is at least a menu item allowing that key command to be sent), and other interface-related items. Typically, the key commands that cannot be sent are related to deep system integration. While TeamViewer, as a remote access viewer, can be easily installed on iOS or Android - to use it for screen sharing functionality (wherein a user can share the screen of an iOS device) you must be using a business license.,7,Before TeamViewer went to a subscription model, its initial high cost paid off over time. While the initial investment was high, the return on it paid off over the course of a couple of years. With the subscription-based model, for a small business, the high cost may not be worth with the investment. For a large business, or a business who relies heavily on remote tech support, the high subscription cost may be worth it. Because TeamViewer is subscription based, a business must calculate how much money it will make on remote support vs. how much TeamViewer actually costs. In my personal business, I have moved to a competing platform as a result of TeamViewer's shift to a subscription - the investment was no longer cost-effective.,LogMeIn Central, LogMeIn Pro and LogMeIn Rescue,Altaro Hyper-V Backup, QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions, Adobe PhotoshopTeamViewer enables me to deploy my Software to any computer from any Location.TeamViewer is used across my whole organization. Across all departments the software is utilized specifically to solve the problem of project collaboration. With teamviewer we are able to collaborate with colleagues across different departments to ensure we deliver projects in good time and to make sure we are in unison during collaborating on a project.,Teamview has a very intuitive and friendly user interface. This makes it time saving since no need to go through any form of training. Teamview also transmits both sound and image signals and I can therefore listen to sound notifications from a PC I am connected to. It is also provided for free and this means my organization saves on finances instead of purchasing other software. Updates are also made frequently to cover the latest aspects as well and this helps in resolving previous version issues.,The bandwidth consumption is quite hefty. This is an area they can improve for better customer experience If guest login is not set, then TeamView requires a user present on the other end to accept a connection request.,10,TeamViewer has saved my company a great deal of time, my team members and I are able to deploy our solutions to our overseas customers without having to travel there. TeamViewer has also saved my company good amount of finances, other PC sharing software are mostly premium and require payment to take advantage of all the features, TeamViewer is free yet has excellent service delivery. TeamViewer has generally improved our organization's relationship with our clients.,Oracle Database, MySQL, Google AnalyticsSolution for your admin to take vacation.It works as our backup remote support agent whenever ConnectWise is acting up.,Stable. Veritable Compression Options. Easy for Clients to use.,Pricing. Licensing. Properly Detecting Personal Use From Business Use.,8,I use it to supplement when I cannot get on ScreenConnect, so the ROI for me is in personal DR use.,,ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect), GoToMyPC, LogMeIn RescueTeamViewer is a must have in your Technology Tool Kit!We used TeamViewer for our Remote users for support. We had issues in supporting the remote users and trying to access with Remote Desktop with VPN. TeamViewer made that process easy! I have had many instances of users either working from different states, at conferences, etc. They have needed immediate help with issues. TeamViewer was my only option and first choice for support. This product does exactly what it is built to do.,Remote access from anywhere as long as you have an internet connection. File Sharing is simple and easy Ease of Use for any users and is not dependent on experience or technology knowledge. Chat is a great feature when both users are limited in telephone or cellular access.,None that I have noticed.,10,No negative impact only positive. This has made my remote support seamless.,UserZoom and GoToMyPC,Apple Remote Desktop, Bomgar Remote Support Software, Remote Desktop Services,10,2,Out of state Users Remote/Work From Home Users IT Department Members,None,We use it at the capacity our organization is setup.,10,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product,No.,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,None,10,Self-taught,Easy as pie! Yes for those with knowledge of desktop remote access.,10,No,10,No,The support ID for my desktop app was not working. I received and error that my machine was using a duplicate ID. I was not able to reset it, so the Support team pointed me to a KB Article. The article helped me resolve the issue quickly. The support to having the knowledge of what KB would help was essential to my success in resolving.,Remote desktop function is simple and easy to use. Just provide or receive the ID and Password and off you go. Sharing screen and switching between users was simple as a click of the button. Remote desktop into systems is easy.,I do not use all the functions of the product so nothing that I use is difficult.,Yes,10Money Well SpentTeamViewer is used throughout the organization for remote connectivity. It's a very convenient remote administration software that can resolve various different technical support issues, keeping our customers happy. It also provides mobile device support making it an ideal platform for resolving issues. It is extremely convenient to upgrade when a new version is released.,TeamViewer has got both remote access as well as online meeting features without the need for two separate products. TeamViewer is platform independent, supporting all desktop and mobile platforms. TeamViewer is well designed with multi-monitor support and is built extremely secure.,Security features are difficult to configure. We have experienced connectivity problems with TeamViewer after upgrading the operating system to Windows 10. The firewall needs to be reconfigured when TeamViewer is upgraded.,9,TeamViewer has a very positive impact on the overall business especially to resolve technical support issues. TeamViewer is worth the value of money spent for all of the security features available.,GoToMeeting and LogMeIn Pro,Apache OpenOffice, Apache Lucene, Google Hangouts, Parallels Desktop
Unspecified
TeamViewer
1126 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TeamViewer Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TeamViewer
1126 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1126 vetted TeamViewer reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 161)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Aaron Pinsker profile photo
February 09, 2019

Review: "TeamViewer is fast, powerful and secure, but business licenses can be prohibitively expensive."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There are three main features of TeamViewer that are used by myself and across the clients I manage. Specifically, TeamViewer can be used as remote access for tech support. Once TeamViewer is installed on a client's system, it can be used as an on-demand remote access tool allowing for screen sharing and file sharing. Once the tech support session is done, TeamViewer is closed and the computer is no longer accessible remotely. The other main use is for a client to remotely access his or her work computer remotely. TeamViewer is set to open automatically at startup, and set with a custom password that can be used every time.
  • Sharing a screen via TeamViewer is generally very responsive, even if the internet connection (on either the client or host side) isn't great. TeamViewer seems to use an adaptive compression algorithm, that will sacrifice some screen clarity for a more responsive and pleasurable experience.
  • TeamViewer includes a built-in file sharing mechanism that allows for the easy and secure transfer of files from host to client (or vice versa).
  • During the initial install of TeamViewer, you can set it up to "run-only." As in, it will not actually install itself on the computer but will allow for a one-time use remote session. This is ideal for a quick tech support session where the client doesn't want to, or can't, fully install TeamViewer.
  • TeamViewer is a very secure platform, providing multiple layers of security. First, the only way to connect to a client is by knowing the client's machine id - a 9 or 10 digit randomly generated number created on install. In addition, for one-time connection, a randomly generated pin is created on each use. This pin can be set as a simple 4 digit pin, up to a 10 digit strong password including uppercase, lowercase, number and non-alphanumeric characters. In addition, TeamViewer is initially set NOT to open upon login - meaning the computer is not accessible until TeamViewer is manually opened on the client computer.
  • TeamViewer can be used as both an on-demand screen sharing platform - wherein a client only opens TeamViewer when someone needs to get on remotely, and promptly closes it afterward - as well as an always-on screen sharing system. TeamViewer can be set to open automatically at login, and run in the background. A "personal password" can then be created for unattended access - this password can be as strong or as weak as you choose. One the password is set, you can connect to your computer remotely via TeamViewer at any time by knowing the machine ID and the personal password.
  • Initial setup of TeamViewer is a fairly simple procedure, especially useful when talking a client on how to install it over the phone.
  • While screen sharing is TeamViewer's bread and butter, it also includes a plethora of other features including file sharing as well as both video and audio sharing (great for remote tech support).
  • With a TeamViewer account, multiple computers can be logged in via the account and easily accessible within an instance of TeamViewer.
  • TeamViewer is truly cross-platform, with version for Mac, Windows and Linux, as well as for mobile OSs such as iOS and Android.
  • A personal license is free.
  • Perhaps the biggest con of TeamViewer is it's pricing and licensing system. While a personal license is free, any form of commercial or business license is a minimum of $50/month. There used to be a one-time fee which was also quite expensive ($600+ depending on the license), but it was perpetual. Now, in order to use TeamViewer on a business level, you must pay the minimum $50/month. For occasional use, this fee is simply too high when there are other, less expensive options out there.
  • During install, you are asked if TeamViewer is being used on for personal or business use. When you select personal, all features of TeamViewer are available, but with a personal license. When you select business use, all the features are again present, but on a trial basis until a license is purchased. Unfortunately, if you accidentally install TeamViewer with a business license instead of a personal license, it is extremely difficult, if not near impossible to change the license. You cannot change the license on your own, you must contact TeamViewer with your machine ID for their support to change the license. However, TeamViewer doesn't guarantee that they will be able to change the license, and they quote you around 30 days to actually change the license, when the free trial itself is only 7 days. Once the business trial runs up, TeamViewer is effectively useless.
  • Continuing along the lines of licensing terms, if you install the personal version of TeamViewer, but TeamViewer detects that you may be using it on a business level, your license will automatically change from personal to business. TeamViewer detects this by monitoring how many client computers you connect to - if that number exceeds a certain value over a certain period of time (both are nebulous), the license is changed. This is an issue if you are using TeamViewer on a personal basis to provide FREE tech support to friends or family. If this occurs, you again have to contact TeamViewer and hope that they will respond to your request and change the license back to personal.
  • On a more technical note, TeamViewer cannot relay certain key commands to a remote machine such as cmd-tab (Mac) or ctrl-tab (Windows) to quickly tab through open applications, ctrl-alt-delete (though there is at least a menu item allowing that key command to be sent), and other interface-related items. Typically, the key commands that cannot be sent are related to deep system integration.
  • While TeamViewer, as a remote access viewer, can be easily installed on iOS or Android - to use it for screen sharing functionality (wherein a user can share the screen of an iOS device) you must be using a business license.
In general, as a piece of software, TeamViewer is excellent. It is fairly easy to both set up and to use, while also being quite feature-rich. Screen sharing is generally both high quality and responsive and adjusts to bandwidth demands and requirements on the fly and effectively. In addition, because TeamViewer can be used as both an on-demand type system (mainly for tech support sessions) as well as an always-on type system, TeamViewer can be used as a one-stop shop for remote access, screen sharing, and tech support.

Unfortunately, TeamViewer's licensing system is borderline awful. Not only is the base price ($50/month) extremely high, making it out of the reach for many small businesses, it is nearly impossible to switch from a business license to a personal license if that is needed. To make matters worse, TeamViewer support is generally unresponsive when it comes to licensing requests.
Read Aaron Pinsker's full review
Majute shivugu profile photo
November 05, 2018

Review: "TeamViewer enables me to deploy my Software to any computer from any Location."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamViewer is used across my whole organization. Across all departments the software is utilized specifically to solve the problem of project collaboration. With teamviewer we are able to collaborate with colleagues across different departments to ensure we deliver projects in good time and to make sure we are in unison during collaborating on a project.
  • Teamview has a very intuitive and friendly user interface. This makes it time saving since no need to go through any form of training.
  • Teamview also transmits both sound and image signals and I can therefore listen to sound notifications from a PC I am connected to.
  • It is also provided for free and this means my organization saves on finances instead of purchasing other software.
  • Updates are also made frequently to cover the latest aspects as well and this helps in resolving previous version issues.
  • The bandwidth consumption is quite hefty. This is an area they can improve for better customer experience
  • If guest login is not set, then TeamView requires a user present on the other end to accept a connection request.
I specialize in Android development specifically. I am the team lead for mobile development in my organization. Most times I have new members in my team who require help working with the Android studio platform, and in order to save my time and energy in movement, I simply connect to their PC's view with TeamViewer and guide them on development models more efficiently.
Read Majute shivugu's full review
Daniel Cauley profile photo
February 12, 2019

TeamViewer Review: "Solution for your admin to take vacation."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It works as our backup remote support agent whenever ConnectWise is acting up.
  • Stable.
  • Veritable Compression Options.
  • Easy for Clients to use.
  • Pricing.
  • Licensing.
  • Properly Detecting Personal Use From Business Use.
Suited for business owners or employees working remotely or on vacation. Also suited for remote support and server maintenance.
Read Daniel Cauley's full review
Brian Sossamon profile photo
February 11, 2019

Review: "TeamViewer is a must have in your Technology Tool Kit!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used TeamViewer for our Remote users for support. We had issues in supporting the remote users and trying to access with Remote Desktop with VPN. TeamViewer made that process easy! I have had many instances of users either working from different states, at conferences, etc. They have needed immediate help with issues. TeamViewer was my only option and first choice for support. This product does exactly what it is built to do.
  • Remote access from anywhere as long as you have an internet connection.
  • File Sharing is simple and easy
  • Ease of Use for any users and is not dependent on experience or technology knowledge.
  • Chat is a great feature when both users are limited in telephone or cellular access.
  • None that I have noticed.
I believe this product is well suited for any organization with remote users. I have talked about using it as our go-to remote desktop app for the organization.
I believe using it in a small organization with minimal remote access needs would be best.
Read Brian Sossamon's full review
Sirish Vadala profile photo
January 30, 2019

TeamViewer Review: "Money Well Spent"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamViewer is used throughout the organization for remote connectivity. It's a very convenient remote administration software that can resolve various different technical support issues, keeping our customers happy. It also provides mobile device support making it an ideal platform for resolving issues. It is extremely convenient to upgrade when a new version is released.
  • TeamViewer has got both remote access as well as online meeting features without the need for two separate products.
  • TeamViewer is platform independent, supporting all desktop and mobile platforms.
  • TeamViewer is well designed with multi-monitor support and is built extremely secure.
  • Security features are difficult to configure.
  • We have experienced connectivity problems with TeamViewer after upgrading the operating system to Windows 10.
  • The firewall needs to be reconfigured when TeamViewer is upgraded.
TeamViewer is extremely well suited for technical product support where the specialist can connect to the remote system and fix any configuration issues faced by customers. It is also convenient to organize team meetings from a simple interface with users connecting from different operating systems. TeamViewer is not well suited if the job requires an extremely quick turn around time as sometimes it might be down and facing connectivity issues.
Read Sirish Vadala's full review
Marisol Cheng profile photo
January 22, 2019

Review: "TeamViewer is the perfect software for remote assistance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is fundamentally based on the development of online software and TeamViewer has been a very important tool because we are a team made up of many programmers who work remotely from different countries. TeamViewer has allowed the communication between our staff at the time of seeing the progress of a certain project and to make meetings between all the participants of the project and to see in real time the code of a project. It has allowed us to interact and discuss the solutions among the whole team.
  • You can easily transfer files with just drag and drop.
  • It allows meetings in conferences.
  • In addition to sharing the desktop, you can also make audio and video calls.
  • It is ideal for online technical support.
  • The price is not so cheap, especially in the corporate version. But in most cases, the free version is more than enough.
  • File transfer can be slow when the size of the files exceeds 10MB.
  • Licenses should be compatible with each new version that appears.
It is very appropriate to provide advice and perform software installations remotely. It is also perfect for lecturing at conferences with several participants. I do not see it as appropriate in slow internet connection since apparently, it consumes a lot of bandwidth and the connection can be interrupted.
Read Marisol Cheng's full review
Rafael Becemberg profile photo
September 17, 2018

TeamViewer Review: "How it helped me, when I needed it the most!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the organization, this software has been and is used as a remote connection tool. Particularly in my country (Venezuela) every time, due to the current economic and social circumstances, it takes more time and it is more difficult to move from home to the workplace.

This software is particularly useful in these cases because it allows the user to remotely access the company's local server, take the information he needs, process it and work it from his home and place it back into the company's hard drive, taking advantage of the level of security associated with the use of the software.

Less frequently it is used as a tool to support and solve problems to users through shared screens.

Personally, after suffering a serious accident that required a hip operation and prevented me from moving for 10 weeks, I was able to continue practically working on all the projects in which I was involved, using this software, through which I accessed the information, which once processed, forwarded to the company's servers.
  • The software itself is a powerful support and control tool, extremely easy to install, configure and use, so with a minimum induction, practically any user with internet service and the respective access permits, can connect from their house with the office server.
  • Not only allowed access to people who were in remote locations with the server of the central office, but also constituted an additional way to offer technical assistance to these people, in case they require it, being constituted together with the use of the whataspp tool is fundamental to the daily life of some of our workers who normally do field work.
  • - A difficulty that we have experienced in the company and that has been detected with each stumble that has been had, is the fact that the different versions are not compatible with each other, so if some user accidentally updates his version (very normal fact ), compatibility problems are generated that have caused our support department to have to communicate with each user who is under that condition to ask him to delete the new version, and then reinstall the correct version.
  • Although it really does not have to be a limitation, the software does not have the functionality to work through proxy servers, which could become a limiting factor of some relevance for those who want to take care of "their presence" when working in an open network.
Read Rafael Becemberg's full review
Michael Haberkern profile photo
January 04, 2019

User Review: "TeamViewer is preferred"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamViewer is currently being used for two of our big vendors, their use is so they can gain access into their servers and applications in our environment. For security reasons, we do not install directly on the infrastructure, but rather have a dedicated computer that it runs on and the local IT team is required to RDP into the appliance and servers
  • TeamViewer is very good at allowing the local install to stay "alive". When I say that I mean, the access ID doesn't change, so the vendor doesn't have to type in the access code every time they want access. The only thing they need to enter is the password, so its ease of use is good
  • TeamViewer has a local FTP\SFTP\File transfer agent so it can send files to the local install, which is very helpful
  • The install and runtime takes up very little CPU and Memory
  • Its launch time can take longer than other remote access apps.
  • There are times the app doesn't launch when clicked and you need to kill the services in task manager to get it to work
We like that the client install can stay live and the vendor has the access code. This can be helpful for vendors that don't have direct or VPN access into their appliance(s) and/or servers. This is a very easy workaround and I think it works well. Local IT has very little work to do to get access for the vendor, the only thing they need to do is pass along the password. However, if the app hasn't died or is always running, the passcode will stay the same, so the vendor can remotely work many times throughout the day without local IT assistance.
Read Michael Haberkern's full review
Kristopher Kauth profile photo
September 10, 2018

Review: "TeamViewer has capabilities that the competition didn't even consider."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mainly used by the support team, to help troubleshoot users through screen sharing and remote control. We sometimes use it for ad hoc meetings with our IT team, and a small amount of remote access to our computers when we are away. We have also been known to help our family and friends with their PC issues via TeamViewer.
  • Concurrent user licenses (called Channels). This was probably the most important factor for us. No wasted cost for Named User licences who rarely used the product. Only need to budget for how many licenses may be needed at the same time. We may have 20 supervisors that need to use TeamViewer, but never more than 3 would ever need it at the same time, so 3 licenses is all they need instead of 20.
  • When we purchased, there was the option for "permanent" licenses, so we paid more up front, but don't have to pay an ongoing fee. This would require another large cost to upgrade to a new version, but our use case has not required the new features, so our costs have been low. This was a large deciding factor when we purchased.
  • Fast remote control of user computers. Has been less laggy than other remote control options we have used. I know there are many options and updates over the years, but TeamViewer was better back when we got it, and it has not let us down yet.
  • The ability to have remote access to the Login screen, so we can still gain access after a computer reboots and has not been logged into yet.
  • Number One: No ability to have blended audio conference with VoIP and Phone on the same bridge. This is/was the only thing holding us back from dropping our other meeting service/software and moving all meetings onto TeamViewer.
  • I don't think they have a "permanent" license option anymore. I understand a subscription model is good for most companies, but some get way more value out of a permanent option, depending on their use case. Even if we could keep our few permanent licenses of an old version, and subscribe to more licenses of the new version, but the way it is now, we have to upgrade/lose the old licenses to get any of the new ones, or have to get the new licenses on a separate company/contract.
  • The versions are not compatible with each other. If a user accidentally updates their version (which they are constantly prompted to do), then when Support tries to connect, it says the versions don't match, and we have to talk the user through removing the new version, end task the process, and use the correct version.
TeamViewer is best suited for remote control, remote access, collaboration where participants can point on the screen to help direct the conversation, and company internal meetings, where everyone can use VoIP.

It is not well suited for meetings with external parties who likely need the option of VoIP/Phone, and may not be able to use the option that others on the call have chosen.
Read Kristopher Kauth's full review
Kenyata Garner profile photo
January 01, 2019

Review: "TeamViewer is definitely worth the try for businesses."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Team viewer is a software that allows for remote access/help when needed, which is much more reliable and easier to deal with when overseeing dozens of agents who may or may not need assistance. It also cuts down on time used to resolve issues whether big or small. You can also go remote regardless of where you are which is amazing and a much-needed perk.
  • Team viewer provides a fast connection time which is amazing in my opinion. With the world always on the go, we really don't have time to sit and wait for a proper connection. It's instant, it's fast, and it's reliable.
  • Competing assignments and workloads from anywhere. There are times when of course you need to take your work with you. Team viewer allows you to get the job done regardless of where you are, granting access to important data, files, etc in a secure dependable fashion.
  • Allowance for team members to access your info. This is important because at times you need to have to ability to grant access to certain things to your team members, this program allows you to do so.
  • Certain security aspects can be done away with. You don't really want to be tussling or going back and forth with so many security measures. Yes, security is great but at times it can be counterproductive.
  • The pricing can be a bit much if you plan on having a lot of users.
The customer service aspect of businesses across various industries are well suited for this program. Especially, those running a business that requires 60 to 70% of the workload to be done via computer i.e files, file sharing, data input, entry, etc. Smaller companies may not necessarily need the program but that depends on the type of business being run.

Read Kenyata Garner's full review
Andrea Janda profile photo
December 30, 2018

Review: "TeamViewer for remote work and tech support with your team"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use TeamViewer to access co-workers' machines for troubleshooting VPN connectivity and remote access to work files. It enables a live environment for tech support while speaking on the phone, which is easier to instruct than by phone alone.
  • It allows for access and control of remote machines for troubleshooting computer problems.
  • It's great for teaching coworkers when they are working from home and need to access files how to set up and connect a VPN.
  • TeamViewer is a really quick way to connect to a work computer from home to access files and folders.
  • TeamViewer is an invaluable resource when it comes to remote instruction and enables a direct, immediate connection and control of another person's machine to walk them through program use or computer maintenance.
  • It would be nicer if the viewing area for the remote machine were a little larger or could be more easily resized. Sometimes, the remote computer's taskbar is difficult to see or access.
TeamViewer is a quick, simple, and secure way to initiate a remote access instance to another machine for instructional and tech support of all kinds, including program installation and usage, adjusting browser settings, and setting up VPN access to telecommuters. It is especially effective when used in tandem with a phone call so the user can see what you're doing as you explain, rather than just trying to explain where settings are without seeing their environment.
Read Andrea Janda's full review
Florence Birgen profile photo
December 29, 2018

User Review: "Why I am sticking with TeamViewer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

TeamViewer is used across the company. Our support team uses it to solve and troubleshoot IT issues through screen sharing and remote control. I use TeamViewer to connect to my office computer while out of the office. At our company, we also use other TeamViewer capabilities/functionalities to promote efficiency at work. We use it as a tool for collaboration, file sharing, project management, web conferencing and meeting.

  • It’s easy to use and set up.
  • Allows remote access from any location to any client computer.
  • Supported across different operating systems.
  • Bandwidth consumption is high.
  • Subscription model works fine but it could add more value to us if we could still have a permanent option.
  • It sometimes hangs up and becomes difficult to navigate on phones.
Our company has offices in different locations. TeamViewer makes it easy for our support team to troubleshoot and work on user’s computers without leaving their current location. That saves time and logistics costs, hence increases production and efficiency. TeamViewer is not the best tool to use if the 2 devices that need to be connected are not connected to a reliable internet connection.
Read Florence Birgen's full review
Ajwinderjit Singh profile photo
December 20, 2018

User Review: "TeamViewer - Life Saver!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamViewer is normally used to connect with our other locations in order to solve a wide variety of problems. Our organization is developing and we face new challenges every day. TeamViewer helps us to solve these challenges remotely and effectively. Currently most of the staff is using it to learn new softwares which are being introduced.
  • Best thing about TeamViewer is that is comes free of cost, as we use it in high volume.
  • TeamViewer is easy to use and quick to learn which saves a lot of time. Its efficiency is amazing, along with its great features.
  • Remote access to other computers and laptops is truly a life-saving feature for me.
  • Sometimes we experience lags during a connection and it breaks the ongoing training.
  • Video quality can be improved.
TeamViewer comes handy if one of our other locations hires a new employee and he/she connects with my team to learn how to use our software and generate certain reports. There have also been times when our staff needs technical support with our computers/laptops, and we seek the help of our network technicians through TeamViewer.
Read Ajwinderjit Singh's full review
Will Smith profile photo
December 19, 2018

TeamViewer Review: "Essential indispensability for remote connection."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Teamviewer is used in many ways, to transfer remote files using your file manager, remote connection for technical support, database updates and backups, VPN connection, sharing resources. Its use is almost mandatory and should never be missing. The best thing is that you can install it on different devices and have connections between them. We are very satisfied with the results.
  • Easy to install and configure.
  • Allows remote connection to different devices to share and control their resources.
  • You can perform remote updates between clients.
  • It allows you to create VPN networks in a few clicks.
  • You can configure the image transfer quality to improve the experience.
  • It does not allow connection between new and old versions.
  • The VPN always needs human intervention to reconnect if it loses connection.
Teamviewer is particularly useful in the cases where we manage many servers and cannot be in different places at the same time, it does not allow us to connect in a professional way to interact with them and solve logical problems quickly. The VPN service is not for massive or critical use.
Read Will Smith's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton profile photo
August 17, 2018

Review: "TeamViewer is a brilliant solution for enterprise or personal remote desktop management when native services (e.g. Microsoft RDP) aren't an option"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used this program to access servers remotely from off-site. This was primarily useful for employees who had to travel between our university campuses and needed to access their machines at the other campus. TeamViewer was highly accessible and usable even by employees with less robust IT experience and capability, which made it easy for them to use and easy for us to support.
  • TeamViewer performs surprisingly fast, particularly on enterprise-grade internet connections, especially when compared to other options (e.g. Chrome Remote Desktop which I also love).
  • TeamViewer is very secure, although you do have to set it up to be that way.
  • TeamViewer is very easy for even less tech-savvy people to use. Open it up and click on the remote machine.
  • The default settings aren't particularly secure or easy for people to remember.
  • It can be a bit tricky to walk remote users through downloading and installing it the first time.
  • Like many other remote access programs, it doesn't always update the display of some programs since it's essentially mimicking a monitor and not every program will update its interface unless a real display is viewing it (e.g. Handbrake).
TeamViewer is great for even casual users to remotely access phones, computers, servers, etc. from offsite. It's also great for IT professionals looking to offer remote support to users. Plus, once a user installs it, they can use it to remotely access their stuff, and you can use it to support them.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
MUKESHI RANI MALIK profile photo
September 27, 2018

TeamViewer Review: "Perfect utility for remote work."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I often have to work remotely and this was the tool I used to ensure that I could still get into my system when working from offsite, a remote location or from home. I leave TeamViewer running on the host machine and then remote in when required. The primary concern was reliability as I needed something that wouldnt crash or shut down since that would significantly impact my work. In all the time I used this, I never ran into that issue.
  • Being able to reboot and still connect back to the host machine is a life saver. There might be times when your PC locks up or an update causes the system to reboot. In those scenarios you want something that will reconnect and get you back in.
  • It is super reliable. I counted heavily on it to not crash or close itself when needed and it never let me down. Nothing worse than think you can remote into your PC and finding out your remote tool wasnt running. Never had this issues with TeamViewer.
  • Speed was also really good. Working from Hotels etc means I am not always on blazing fast internet so I needed something that would work well even on low bandwidth. This performed admirably.
  • The mobile version is a little difficult to navigate. I understand part of that is because you are using it on a smaller screen and controlling a different OS but it can still do better in that scenario.
Perfect if you need to leave a machine running that you can remote in for later. I imagine it would also be great if you are providing software support since its really easy to install, configure and run. Its also great for personal use since its free and still contains all features.

I wouldnt use it for transferring or sharing large file sizes. I dont think the tool is designed for that.

Read MUKESHI RANI MALIK's full review
Tim Slater profile photo
January 15, 2019

User Review: "TeamViewer is a star performer!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamViewer is being used for the IT department. It facilitates the remote control of laptops and desktops regardless of whether the computers are inside or outside of our firewall.
  • Remote connection to any laptop, desktop or iPhone /iPad.
  • Works well on bandwidth limited connections.
  • Easy and secure to use.
  • The GUI for the latest version seems less intuitive than previous versions.
TeamViewer is ideal for the remote control of desktops, laptops, and iPhones/iPads for IT support.
Read Tim Slater's full review
Sundeepthi Namana profile photo
September 11, 2018

TeamViewer Review: "The Best Remote Connections"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mainly used by the support team, to help troubleshoot users through screen sharing and remote control. We sometimes use it for ad hoc meetings with our IT team, and a small amount of remote access to our computers when we are away. We have also been known to help our family and friends with their PC issues via TeamViewer
  • TeamViewer performs surprisingly fast, particularly on enterprise-grade internet connections, especially when compared to other options
  • TeamViewer is very secure, although you do have to set it up to be that way
  • Remote access to stationary workstations
  • Flexibility. You can control your remote client from virtually any device, be it a desktop, laptop, server or even iOS/Android mobile devices. And the communication is established via secure UDP connection, with the option of configuring a dedicated VPN tunnel if required.
  • Scheduling meetings with video and phone support
  • Ability to view two remote computers at once
  • TeamViewer can monitor the software of some type installed within its program to detect when commercial use is suspected, as it requires the license to be purchased for the commercial use.
  • It can not share the huge files and it lags from time to time.
In my experience years working with IT systems and any kinds of users, sometimes even if you have a very detailed manual, the user does not understand the steps to do a process. Even if you are in a phone call for 30 mins, it can't be done, and for me, sometimes my end user is in another country. This makes TeamViewer the perfect tool, because I can take control, and do the repairs, or explain how to do it, so then now, visually, the user understands how to do it quickly.
Read Sundeepthi Namana's full review
Kris Lambert profile photo
August 28, 2018

Review: "TeamViewer is a remote worker's friend!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT Department utilizes TeamViewer to assist our distributed team to install and maintain new and existing software. TeamViewer allows our remote team access to our IT department no matter their location. This tool lets our team troubleshoot software issues while setting the correct security settings for our staff who are not technically inclined. We have used the tool in teaching staff how to use new software also. The convenience of being able to remote into another system also makes this tool valuable as it can provide remote access to a workstation that is in a fixed location when needed. TeamViewer is simple to use and powerful at the same time.
  • Remote assistance installing new software.
  • Remote troubleshooting for system issues.
  • Remote access to stationary workstations.
  • I would like to have an option for sessions to terminate after designated idle periods.
  • Better performance when working with fine detail programs such as photoshop.
  • Better navigation in the Android App.
Great for remote IT access and maintenance. Great for remote access to stationary workstations. However, mobile app access is still a bit clunky and not prioritized for touch.
Read Kris Lambert's full review
Mohammad Aminul Islam profile photo
December 20, 2018

Review: "TeamViewer: Easy remote access to computer from anywhere"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using TeamViewer to remotely access my office computer. Also during online meetings TeamViewer is also useful. Multiple people can work at the same time in the same project. File transfer is also easy. TeamViewer gives remote access from anywhere in the world to my office and laboratory computers.
  • Remote accessibility to personal and office computers.
  • Multiple people can access the same computer remotely at the same time.
  • Easy to use. Only ID and password are required to access the computer. And customized ID and password can be set.
  • Different versions need to be compatible with each other.
  • Sometimes screen gets hung-up.
  • File transfer functionality is a little bit difficult to use. It can be improved further.
TeamViewer is well suited to remotely access personal and office computers and work from anywhere. Every time I visited my country Bangladesh, I always remotely access my office computer here in the USA. But for that, my office computer needs to be turned on all the time. So, I also need help from people here. Sometimes when restarting the PC, TeamViewer won't turn on. So the access will be lost. Internet connection is necessary.
Read Mohammad Aminul Islam's full review
Leonardo Barbosa Corrêa profile photo
December 18, 2018

TeamViewer Review: "It helps a lot in daily tasks."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It helps a lot in daily tasks. I work in the downtown office and often need to access files on my home computer. TeamViewer is an indispensable tool in my day-to-day operation of my professional activities. It also helps a lot when I need to guide a customer from a distance.
  • Very useful if you need to use computers from different places with agility.
  • Incredibly simple installation.
  • Simple interface.
  • Very dependent on the quality of the connection.
  • Many times the delay gets in the way a bit.
Remotely access files on your home computer while in the office and vice versa. It greatly streamlines my professional activities.
Read Leonardo Barbosa Corrêa's full review
Jose Raul Faria profile photo
November 16, 2018

TeamViewer Review: "A remote relationship for attention and solution of events or certain problems."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've had questions while working remotely which one of my collaborators does not immediately resolve, but with this application I can find the solution more directly, since I can access the computer remotely and resolve the situation from wherever.
  • Helps solve issues I encounter while working remotely
  • I would like to see a wider menu of options to avoid the loss of options; right now it is visual only.
  • Can't think of others. I like how the actions and management facilitate me.
The uses for this application maintain a high degree of service for me, so I think that if they improve the options and additional services, maybe VPN would be very good. On the other hand the form of access is adequate and with the networks I am not sure if there are many other options. I would like to have something that explains or expands this option since it is super necessary to manage networks that complement this service.
Read Jose Raul Faria's full review
Himmy Roscal profile photo
September 28, 2018

TeamViewer Review: "The best tool for access and remote control"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamViewer is one of those rare tools that you want to take with you everywhere once you start using it. It has improved response times for the company, since we can access the servers remotely or provide support to users from anywhere, since TeamViewer is compatible with the different operating systems and mobile devices on the market.
  • Remote connection to any fixed or mobile device.
  • Very fluid remote access, also allows you to configure the quality of it to take advantage of your connection and improve the experience
  • Sometimes the updates make the versions obsolete in the client, preventing us from connecting.
  • We would like to see a more native version in Linux
TeamViewer has been growing and adding new functionalities by the day, and in my opinion it is the best tool for remote access. We love being able to use in different scenes, as well as to support our users, clients, or our PC at home. An option that works well, but could be improved, is the connection via VPN. Allowing an automatic connection would make it more practical for daily use.
Read Himmy Roscal's full review
Dave King profile photo
September 27, 2018

User Review: "Remote access using TeamViewer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TeamViewer for remote support for our users. We also use TeamViewer for new employee training. We install software and trouble shoot any issues that arise. We can also transfer software and files to the remote computer as needed.
  • Remote control
  • File transfers
  • Remote training
  • Automatic screen sizing
  • Staying connected through system reboot
  • Copying large files
Remote training is a great use. Remote support and guiding users through issues is very convenient. Addding users to my personal list so I can easily find them to remote control works great as well.
Read Dave King's full review
Stefan Trbojevic profile photo
September 03, 2018

TeamViewer Review: "It is all about remote connection."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamViewer is being used across my organization as a partially main remote desktop tool for remote connecting. It is used to connect to our clients' File Servers and perform our technical work. It is a well secured connection and it has two-factor authentication level security, which can leave a great feeling of security to your customers.
  • Invitation for one-time-only sessions.
  • You can just share credentials for one session to the other user, and you don't have to worry that they will connect to your computer without your approval in the future.
  • Set up unattended access
  • Great solution for permanent connection to the end PC.
  • Meetings, phone and video calls
  • Team Viewer does not work through the proxy servers, which is a great minus for anyone that wants to be cautious about their presence on the open network.
TeamViewer can be a really helpful tool if used right. It can help you maintain a large-scale network of computers as well as your friends' and family's computers. You can use it to remote into your personal computer to quickly take a look or transfer some project that you forgot, and you can connect to your friend's PC and help them with installing some drivers.
Read Stefan Trbojevic's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Screen sharing (121)
9.2
File transfer (113)
8.6
Instant message (107)
8.1
Secure remote access with Smart Card authentication (43)
8.3
Access to sleeping/powered-off computers (70)
7.2
Over-the-Internet remote session (118)
9.3
Initiate remote control from mobile (95)
8.7
Remote management of servers & workstations (96)
8.7
Remote Active Directory® management (51)
8.5
Centralized management dashboard (66)
7.6
Session record (67)
8.1
Annotations (56)
7.5
Monitoring and Alerts (61)
7.5
Multi-platform remote control (90)
8.9

About TeamViewer

TeamViewer aims to empower users to connect anything, anywhere, anytime. The company says its solution offers secure remote access, support, control and collaboration capabilities for online endpoints of any kind. The vendor says TeamViewer has been activated on more than 1.7 billion devices and serves at least 40 million concurrent connections at any time. Founded in 2005, the company employs more than 700 people in offices across Germany, the United States, Japan and Australia.

TeamViewer Integrations

TeamViewer Competitors

TeamViewer Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No