TrustRadius
TeamViewer, from the German company of the same name, provides software for both remote support and administration and online meetings.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/5v/PN/4ZAW7KOFDJ2B.JPEGTeamViewer is fast, powerful and secure, but business licenses can be prohibitively expensive.There are three main features of TeamViewer that are used by myself and across the clients I manage. Specifically, TeamViewer can be used as remote access for tech support. Once TeamViewer is installed on a client's system, it can be used as an on-demand remote access tool allowing for screen sharing and file sharing. Once the tech support session is done, TeamViewer is closed and the computer is no longer accessible remotely. The other main use is for a client to remotely access his or her work computer remotely. TeamViewer is set to open automatically at startup, and set with a custom password that can be used every time.,Sharing a screen via TeamViewer is generally very responsive, even if the internet connection (on either the client or host side) isn't great. TeamViewer seems to use an adaptive compression algorithm, that will sacrifice some screen clarity for a more responsive and pleasurable experience. TeamViewer includes a built-in file sharing mechanism that allows for the easy and secure transfer of files from host to client (or vice versa). During the initial install of TeamViewer, you can set it up to "run-only." As in, it will not actually install itself on the computer but will allow for a one-time use remote session. This is ideal for a quick tech support session where the client doesn't want to, or can't, fully install TeamViewer. TeamViewer is a very secure platform, providing multiple layers of security. First, the only way to connect to a client is by knowing the client's machine id - a 9 or 10 digit randomly generated number created on install. In addition, for one-time connection, a randomly generated pin is created on each use. This pin can be set as a simple 4 digit pin, up to a 10 digit strong password including uppercase, lowercase, number and non-alphanumeric characters. In addition, TeamViewer is initially set NOT to open upon login - meaning the computer is not accessible until TeamViewer is manually opened on the client computer. TeamViewer can be used as both an on-demand screen sharing platform - wherein a client only opens TeamViewer when someone needs to get on remotely, and promptly closes it afterward - as well as an always-on screen sharing system. TeamViewer can be set to open automatically at login, and run in the background. A "personal password" can then be created for unattended access - this password can be as strong or as weak as you choose. One the password is set, you can connect to your computer remotely via TeamViewer at any time by knowing the machine ID and the personal password. Initial setup of TeamViewer is a fairly simple procedure, especially useful when talking a client on how to install it over the phone. While screen sharing is TeamViewer's bread and butter, it also includes a plethora of other features including file sharing as well as both video and audio sharing (great for remote tech support). With a TeamViewer account, multiple computers can be logged in via the account and easily accessible within an instance of TeamViewer. TeamViewer is truly cross-platform, with version for Mac, Windows and Linux, as well as for mobile OSs such as iOS and Android. A personal license is free.,Perhaps the biggest con of TeamViewer is it's pricing and licensing system. While a personal license is free, any form of commercial or business license is a minimum of $50/month. There used to be a one-time fee which was also quite expensive ($600+ depending on the license), but it was perpetual. Now, in order to use TeamViewer on a business level, you must pay the minimum $50/month. For occasional use, this fee is simply too high when there are other, less expensive options out there. During install, you are asked if TeamViewer is being used on for personal or business use. When you select personal, all features of TeamViewer are available, but with a personal license. When you select business use, all the features are again present, but on a trial basis until a license is purchased. Unfortunately, if you accidentally install TeamViewer with a business license instead of a personal license, it is extremely difficult, if not near impossible to change the license. You cannot change the license on your own, you must contact TeamViewer with your machine ID for their support to change the license. However, TeamViewer doesn't guarantee that they will be able to change the license, and they quote you around 30 days to actually change the license, when the free trial itself is only 7 days. Once the business trial runs up, TeamViewer is effectively useless. Continuing along the lines of licensing terms, if you install the personal version of TeamViewer, but TeamViewer detects that you may be using it on a business level, your license will automatically change from personal to business. TeamViewer detects this by monitoring how many client computers you connect to - if that number exceeds a certain value over a certain period of time (both are nebulous), the license is changed. This is an issue if you are using TeamViewer on a personal basis to provide FREE tech support to friends or family. If this occurs, you again have to contact TeamViewer and hope that they will respond to your request and change the license back to personal. On a more technical note, TeamViewer cannot relay certain key commands to a remote machine such as cmd-tab (Mac) or ctrl-tab (Windows) to quickly tab through open applications, ctrl-alt-delete (though there is at least a menu item allowing that key command to be sent), and other interface-related items. Typically, the key commands that cannot be sent are related to deep system integration. While TeamViewer, as a remote access viewer, can be easily installed on iOS or Android - to use it for screen sharing functionality (wherein a user can share the screen of an iOS device) you must be using a business license.,7,Before TeamViewer went to a subscription model, its initial high cost paid off over time. While the initial investment was high, the return on it paid off over the course of a couple of years. With the subscription-based model, for a small business, the high cost may not be worth with the investment. For a large business, or a business who relies heavily on remote tech support, the high subscription cost may be worth it. Because TeamViewer is subscription based, a business must calculate how much money it will make on remote support vs. how much TeamViewer actually costs. In my personal business, I have moved to a competing platform as a result of TeamViewer's shift to a subscription - the investment was no longer cost-effective.,LogMeIn Central, LogMeIn Pro and LogMeIn Rescue,Altaro Hyper-V Backup, QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions, Adobe PhotoshopGreat and effective remote access toolTeamviewer is used by our department to facilitate our school application with our students and professor. It is a great remote access desktop that allows us to troubleshoot and solve problems remotely in a faster and a convenient way. Also, it helps us to improve our communication between our IT department and the other department in a safe and effective way.,Easy to use software. Simple installation and fast to use. Doesn't consume a lot of data. Very safe and secured.,Mobile application needs to be enhanced. During network fluctuation or internet breaks, we have to restart the software and start again.,9,Very convenient platform for us and for our staff members and students. Saves a lot of time and effort.,Canva, Adobe Illustrator CC, Google Drive, TrelloHow TeamViewer saves us time and builds customer loyaltyWe actively use TeamViewer for supporting our users. It is also used as remote access on our own computers when traveling. We use it from our Linux PCs to help our users and subscribers using Windows, Linux, and Mac without any problem. It saves us most of the necessary travel that would be required without it. We are able to solve most technical support problems and satisfy our customers remotely.,It is multiplatform and supports all desktop and mobile platforms. You can easily transfer files with a simple drag and drop. Provides a quick connection. Allows a secure connection.,Sometimes the screen gets blocked. In some cases, it requires a user present at the other end.,9,Helps us avoid a lot of travel. Clients get helped or repaired very quickly. Clients are often impressed by the efficiency.,VNC ConnectTeamViewer gets the (remote) job done with customizable configuration to match your environment.We actively use TeamViewer for supporting our users (5000+ user base) remotely without having to know what their IP address is. So even if they are outside of the company networks, we can still get to them without issue. It is very handy and the users can demonstrate the issue they are experiencing which will allow us to attempt to resolve it.,It keeps track of remote hosts well, letting me know once they are online after a reboot for example. The security is customizable so you can lock it down pretty well. The speed of the remote display is very good and is also customizable if you are connecting to a slower link.,Would be good if logs were kept in a centralized location so it can be determined quickly who remoted into what computer. A native Linux application would be good to have as right now you need to run it through Wine. Wish it would support a little older Android mobile device versions.,9,While up front, TeamViewer isn't the most inexpensive tool out there. You don't have to worry about ongoing maintenance costs as you own that version outright. TeamViewer allows the techs to remotely and immediately diagnose end-user issues without having the computer brought to them. Saves time! TeamViewer's easy configuration and connection initiation allow the most inexperienced computer users to request remote help quickly.,Splashtop Business Access and LogMeIn Pro,Splashtop Business Access, Wireshark, LibreOfficeEssential in an IT technical support environmentToday, I am no longer part of the company, but when I was there, I used it a lot for support of users, services, and equipment. There is a company branch in another city and Team Viewer was the right tool for most technical actions. Helped with managing time, incidents, and SLAs.,Practicality: it is a very practical tool, easy to use, and intuitive. By mobile or web application, fast access to customers. Availability: anywhere, on the mobile or via the web we can use the tool in a satisfactory way. Adaptable: The tool adapts to the internet connection, allowing remote access to be possible. Features: I use it to transfer files, screenshots for presentations and meetings a lot, always satisfactorily.,My experience has always been satisfactory, no complaints. But with regard to the commercial version, I believe it could improve the plans/values, it was difficult to convince the company to buy, but in the end, it worked.,9,Reduced costs: With remote support, you almost did not have to send staff to the site, especially at the branch office, generating fuel savings, over time. Time management: fast support, avoiding loss of SLA, and team embezzlement.,,Skype, Fortinet FortiGate, Microsoft Visio
Unspecified
TeamViewer
1201 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TeamViewer Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TeamViewer
1201 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1201 vetted TeamViewer reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 173)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Aaron Pinsker profile photo
February 09, 2019

Review: "TeamViewer is fast, powerful and secure, but business licenses can be prohibitively expensive."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There are three main features of TeamViewer that are used by myself and across the clients I manage. Specifically, TeamViewer can be used as remote access for tech support. Once TeamViewer is installed on a client's system, it can be used as an on-demand remote access tool allowing for screen sharing and file sharing. Once the tech support session is done, TeamViewer is closed and the computer is no longer accessible remotely. The other main use is for a client to remotely access his or her work computer remotely. TeamViewer is set to open automatically at startup, and set with a custom password that can be used every time.
  • Sharing a screen via TeamViewer is generally very responsive, even if the internet connection (on either the client or host side) isn't great. TeamViewer seems to use an adaptive compression algorithm, that will sacrifice some screen clarity for a more responsive and pleasurable experience.
  • TeamViewer includes a built-in file sharing mechanism that allows for the easy and secure transfer of files from host to client (or vice versa).
  • During the initial install of TeamViewer, you can set it up to "run-only." As in, it will not actually install itself on the computer but will allow for a one-time use remote session. This is ideal for a quick tech support session where the client doesn't want to, or can't, fully install TeamViewer.
  • TeamViewer is a very secure platform, providing multiple layers of security. First, the only way to connect to a client is by knowing the client's machine id - a 9 or 10 digit randomly generated number created on install. In addition, for one-time connection, a randomly generated pin is created on each use. This pin can be set as a simple 4 digit pin, up to a 10 digit strong password including uppercase, lowercase, number and non-alphanumeric characters. In addition, TeamViewer is initially set NOT to open upon login - meaning the computer is not accessible until TeamViewer is manually opened on the client computer.
  • TeamViewer can be used as both an on-demand screen sharing platform - wherein a client only opens TeamViewer when someone needs to get on remotely, and promptly closes it afterward - as well as an always-on screen sharing system. TeamViewer can be set to open automatically at login, and run in the background. A "personal password" can then be created for unattended access - this password can be as strong or as weak as you choose. One the password is set, you can connect to your computer remotely via TeamViewer at any time by knowing the machine ID and the personal password.
  • Initial setup of TeamViewer is a fairly simple procedure, especially useful when talking a client on how to install it over the phone.
  • While screen sharing is TeamViewer's bread and butter, it also includes a plethora of other features including file sharing as well as both video and audio sharing (great for remote tech support).
  • With a TeamViewer account, multiple computers can be logged in via the account and easily accessible within an instance of TeamViewer.
  • TeamViewer is truly cross-platform, with version for Mac, Windows and Linux, as well as for mobile OSs such as iOS and Android.
  • A personal license is free.
  • Perhaps the biggest con of TeamViewer is it's pricing and licensing system. While a personal license is free, any form of commercial or business license is a minimum of $50/month. There used to be a one-time fee which was also quite expensive ($600+ depending on the license), but it was perpetual. Now, in order to use TeamViewer on a business level, you must pay the minimum $50/month. For occasional use, this fee is simply too high when there are other, less expensive options out there.
  • During install, you are asked if TeamViewer is being used on for personal or business use. When you select personal, all features of TeamViewer are available, but with a personal license. When you select business use, all the features are again present, but on a trial basis until a license is purchased. Unfortunately, if you accidentally install TeamViewer with a business license instead of a personal license, it is extremely difficult, if not near impossible to change the license. You cannot change the license on your own, you must contact TeamViewer with your machine ID for their support to change the license. However, TeamViewer doesn't guarantee that they will be able to change the license, and they quote you around 30 days to actually change the license, when the free trial itself is only 7 days. Once the business trial runs up, TeamViewer is effectively useless.
  • Continuing along the lines of licensing terms, if you install the personal version of TeamViewer, but TeamViewer detects that you may be using it on a business level, your license will automatically change from personal to business. TeamViewer detects this by monitoring how many client computers you connect to - if that number exceeds a certain value over a certain period of time (both are nebulous), the license is changed. This is an issue if you are using TeamViewer on a personal basis to provide FREE tech support to friends or family. If this occurs, you again have to contact TeamViewer and hope that they will respond to your request and change the license back to personal.
  • On a more technical note, TeamViewer cannot relay certain key commands to a remote machine such as cmd-tab (Mac) or ctrl-tab (Windows) to quickly tab through open applications, ctrl-alt-delete (though there is at least a menu item allowing that key command to be sent), and other interface-related items. Typically, the key commands that cannot be sent are related to deep system integration.
  • While TeamViewer, as a remote access viewer, can be easily installed on iOS or Android - to use it for screen sharing functionality (wherein a user can share the screen of an iOS device) you must be using a business license.
In general, as a piece of software, TeamViewer is excellent. It is fairly easy to both set up and to use, while also being quite feature-rich. Screen sharing is generally both high quality and responsive and adjusts to bandwidth demands and requirements on the fly and effectively. In addition, because TeamViewer can be used as both an on-demand type system (mainly for tech support sessions) as well as an always-on type system, TeamViewer can be used as a one-stop shop for remote access, screen sharing, and tech support.

Unfortunately, TeamViewer's licensing system is borderline awful. Not only is the base price ($50/month) extremely high, making it out of the reach for many small businesses, it is nearly impossible to switch from a business license to a personal license if that is needed. To make matters worse, TeamViewer support is generally unresponsive when it comes to licensing requests.
Read Aaron Pinsker's full review
Darren Megginson profile photo
April 27, 2019

TeamViewer Review: "Great and effective remote access tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Teamviewer is used by our department to facilitate our school application with our students and professor. It is a great remote access desktop that allows us to troubleshoot and solve problems remotely in a faster and a convenient way. Also, it helps us to improve our communication between our IT department and the other department in a safe and effective way.
  • Easy to use software.
  • Simple installation and fast to use.
  • Doesn't consume a lot of data.
  • Very safe and secured.
  • Mobile application needs to be enhanced.
  • During network fluctuation or internet breaks, we have to restart the software and start again.
Great to install software products to our faculty members and students remotely without making them come to our department. Great tool for troubleshooting and issues and for remote access.
Read Darren Megginson's full review
Gregory Pecqueur profile photo
April 27, 2019

Review: "How TeamViewer saves us time and builds customer loyalty"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We actively use TeamViewer for supporting our users. It is also used as remote access on our own computers when traveling. We use it from our Linux PCs to help our users and subscribers using Windows, Linux, and Mac without any problem. It saves us most of the necessary travel that would be required without it. We are able to solve most technical support problems and satisfy our customers remotely.
  • It is multiplatform and supports all desktop and mobile platforms.
  • You can easily transfer files with a simple drag and drop.
  • Provides a quick connection.
  • Allows a secure connection.
  • Sometimes the screen gets blocked.
  • In some cases, it requires a user present at the other end.
I systematically recommend it to my clients, without obliging them. This solution helps customers in real-time and speeds up training on our applications. It also allows a faster return of ergonomic and logical problems.
Read Gregory Pecqueur's full review
Roger Mialkowski profile photo
April 25, 2019

Review: "TeamViewer gets the (remote) job done with customizable configuration to match your environment."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We actively use TeamViewer for supporting our users (5000+ user base) remotely without having to know what their IP address is. So even if they are outside of the company networks, we can still get to them without issue. It is very handy and the users can demonstrate the issue they are experiencing which will allow us to attempt to resolve it.
  • It keeps track of remote hosts well, letting me know once they are online after a reboot for example.
  • The security is customizable so you can lock it down pretty well.
  • The speed of the remote display is very good and is also customizable if you are connecting to a slower link.
  • Would be good if logs were kept in a centralized location so it can be determined quickly who remoted into what computer.
  • A native Linux application would be good to have as right now you need to run it through Wine.
  • Wish it would support a little older Android mobile device versions.
If you have to support Windows, MacOS, and even Linux, then TeamViewer is a great one-stop shop. Your computer list window can show all of the different OS hosts under a single list so you don't have to use different programs to remotely support the different OSs. TeamViewer is a great use case for remote workers that need remote support.
Read Roger Mialkowski's full review
Gledson Rodrigues profile photo
April 20, 2019

TeamViewer Review: "Essential in an IT technical support environment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Today, I am no longer part of the company, but when I was there, I used it a lot for support of users, services, and equipment. There is a company branch in another city and Team Viewer was the right tool for most technical actions. Helped with managing time, incidents, and SLAs.
  • Practicality: it is a very practical tool, easy to use, and intuitive. By mobile or web application, fast access to customers.
  • Availability: anywhere, on the mobile or via the web we can use the tool in a satisfactory way.
  • Adaptable: The tool adapts to the internet connection, allowing remote access to be possible.
  • Features: I use it to transfer files, screenshots for presentations and meetings a lot, always satisfactorily.
  • My experience has always been satisfactory, no complaints. But with regard to the commercial version, I believe it could improve the plans/values, it was difficult to convince the company to buy, but in the end, it worked.
Suitable for mid-sized IT environments where large-scale support is required for lots of users and equipment, but there is no fast on-site availability of staff. In smaller environments, with little support, I do not see need it much, but it is a welcomed tool.
Read Gledson Rodrigues's full review
Madelen Romero profile photo
February 28, 2019

TeamViewer Review: "The best remote connection software in the market."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of our company uses TeamViewer to solve some problems with other computers by entering a computer remotely. It also has tools to share files. The best part is that we can do this remote assistance from another computer without installation. It solves many problems since we can chat in real time from another place and can provide support assistance.
  • To be able to provide technical support to a PC without needing to look for a technician, in a simpler and easier way.
  • With TeamViewer you can transfer files to other computers with high security.
  • It is an economical software, with an impeccable interface, well designed for each job it performs.
  • The video calls that we have made with this software and its desktop application have always ended satisfactorily.
  • The application can only be used if you have access to the internet. Another disadvantage that I did not like at all is not being able to format the PC to which I am providing remote assistance.
  • Although I've been working with TeamViewer for some time I've always wanted to be able to connect with two more computers at the same time.
There are times when we need to transfer files to our colleagues in a safe, fast and effective way, this application has always left us satisfied, even in those moments in which an update occurs and it is easier for us to do it remotely. TeamViewer is also an excellent option when it comes to a virus.
Read Madelen Romero's full review
Ammar Aldaffaie profile photo
February 27, 2019

TeamViewer Review: "Team Viewer is a life saver and your IT department will love you"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TeamViewer for troubleshooting customer's and agent's internet connection and network issues. We also use it for screen sharing and to gain remote control access to other computers. It is perfect for me as a developer to fix an issue at another site remotely.
  • Have you ever spent hours trying to get someone to do something that would only take 5 minutes if you did it yourself? Well, TeamViewer is a life saver for that. You can remotely log in and do it yourself. It will save you a lot of time.
  • Secure, but yet effective, and easy to use.
  • The user can easily see what you are doing. They can easily tell when you are connected or disconnected since the background changes.
  • Simple installation and easy key and password sharing.
  • Requires a good internet connection.
  • You can do phone calls, but it is a little further behind in that feature when compared to Skype, for example.
  • Not a light software. It requires more resources when compared to Zoom, for example.
I think it is perfect for screen sharing and allowing remote control access if you are looking for a software to troubleshoot issues remotely, especially if you have a none techie agent with a single IT guy running around all day. Team Viewer is your best option and your IT guy will love you so much, but he/she might get fat from sitting around all day (lol that was a joke).
Read Ammar Aldaffaie's full review
Daniel Cauley profile photo
February 12, 2019

TeamViewer Review: "Solution for your admin to take vacation."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It works as our backup remote support agent whenever ConnectWise is acting up.
  • Stable.
  • Veritable Compression Options.
  • Easy for Clients to use.
  • Pricing.
  • Licensing.
  • Properly Detecting Personal Use From Business Use.
Suited for business owners or employees working remotely or on vacation. Also suited for remote support and server maintenance.
Read Daniel Cauley's full review
Brian Sossamon profile photo
February 11, 2019

Review: "TeamViewer is a must have in your Technology Tool Kit!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used TeamViewer for our Remote users for support. We had issues in supporting the remote users and trying to access with Remote Desktop with VPN. TeamViewer made that process easy! I have had many instances of users either working from different states, at conferences, etc. They have needed immediate help with issues. TeamViewer was my only option and first choice for support. This product does exactly what it is built to do.
  • Remote access from anywhere as long as you have an internet connection.
  • File Sharing is simple and easy
  • Ease of Use for any users and is not dependent on experience or technology knowledge.
  • Chat is a great feature when both users are limited in telephone or cellular access.
  • None that I have noticed.
I believe this product is well suited for any organization with remote users. I have talked about using it as our go-to remote desktop app for the organization.
I believe using it in a small organization with minimal remote access needs would be best.
Read Brian Sossamon's full review
Sirish Vadala profile photo
January 30, 2019

TeamViewer Review: "Money Well Spent"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamViewer is used throughout the organization for remote connectivity. It's a very convenient remote administration software that can resolve various different technical support issues, keeping our customers happy. It also provides mobile device support making it an ideal platform for resolving issues. It is extremely convenient to upgrade when a new version is released.
  • TeamViewer has got both remote access as well as online meeting features without the need for two separate products.
  • TeamViewer is platform independent, supporting all desktop and mobile platforms.
  • TeamViewer is well designed with multi-monitor support and is built extremely secure.
  • Security features are difficult to configure.
  • We have experienced connectivity problems with TeamViewer after upgrading the operating system to Windows 10.
  • The firewall needs to be reconfigured when TeamViewer is upgraded.
TeamViewer is extremely well suited for technical product support where the specialist can connect to the remote system and fix any configuration issues faced by customers. It is also convenient to organize team meetings from a simple interface with users connecting from different operating systems. TeamViewer is not well suited if the job requires an extremely quick turn around time as sometimes it might be down and facing connectivity issues.
Read Sirish Vadala's full review
Marisol Cheng profile photo
January 22, 2019

Review: "TeamViewer is the perfect software for remote assistance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is fundamentally based on the development of online software and TeamViewer has been a very important tool because we are a team made up of many programmers who work remotely from different countries. TeamViewer has allowed the communication between our staff at the time of seeing the progress of a certain project and to make meetings between all the participants of the project and to see in real time the code of a project. It has allowed us to interact and discuss the solutions among the whole team.
  • You can easily transfer files with just drag and drop.
  • It allows meetings in conferences.
  • In addition to sharing the desktop, you can also make audio and video calls.
  • It is ideal for online technical support.
  • The price is not so cheap, especially in the corporate version. But in most cases, the free version is more than enough.
  • File transfer can be slow when the size of the files exceeds 10MB.
  • Licenses should be compatible with each new version that appears.
It is very appropriate to provide advice and perform software installations remotely. It is also perfect for lecturing at conferences with several participants. I do not see it as appropriate in slow internet connection since apparently, it consumes a lot of bandwidth and the connection can be interrupted.
Read Marisol Cheng's full review
Michael Haberkern profile photo
January 04, 2019

User Review: "TeamViewer is preferred"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamViewer is currently being used for two of our big vendors, their use is so they can gain access into their servers and applications in our environment. For security reasons, we do not install directly on the infrastructure, but rather have a dedicated computer that it runs on and the local IT team is required to RDP into the appliance and servers
  • TeamViewer is very good at allowing the local install to stay "alive". When I say that I mean, the access ID doesn't change, so the vendor doesn't have to type in the access code every time they want access. The only thing they need to enter is the password, so its ease of use is good
  • TeamViewer has a local FTP\SFTP\File transfer agent so it can send files to the local install, which is very helpful
  • The install and runtime takes up very little CPU and Memory
  • Its launch time can take longer than other remote access apps.
  • There are times the app doesn't launch when clicked and you need to kill the services in task manager to get it to work
We like that the client install can stay live and the vendor has the access code. This can be helpful for vendors that don't have direct or VPN access into their appliance(s) and/or servers. This is a very easy workaround and I think it works well. Local IT has very little work to do to get access for the vendor, the only thing they need to do is pass along the password. However, if the app hasn't died or is always running, the passcode will stay the same, so the vendor can remotely work many times throughout the day without local IT assistance.
Read Michael Haberkern's full review
Kenyata Garner profile photo
January 01, 2019

Review: "TeamViewer is definitely worth the try for businesses."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Team viewer is a software that allows for remote access/help when needed, which is much more reliable and easier to deal with when overseeing dozens of agents who may or may not need assistance. It also cuts down on time used to resolve issues whether big or small. You can also go remote regardless of where you are which is amazing and a much-needed perk.
  • Team viewer provides a fast connection time which is amazing in my opinion. With the world always on the go, we really don't have time to sit and wait for a proper connection. It's instant, it's fast, and it's reliable.
  • Competing assignments and workloads from anywhere. There are times when of course you need to take your work with you. Team viewer allows you to get the job done regardless of where you are, granting access to important data, files, etc in a secure dependable fashion.
  • Allowance for team members to access your info. This is important because at times you need to have to ability to grant access to certain things to your team members, this program allows you to do so.
  • Certain security aspects can be done away with. You don't really want to be tussling or going back and forth with so many security measures. Yes, security is great but at times it can be counterproductive.
  • The pricing can be a bit much if you plan on having a lot of users.
The customer service aspect of businesses across various industries are well suited for this program. Especially, those running a business that requires 60 to 70% of the workload to be done via computer i.e files, file sharing, data input, entry, etc. Smaller companies may not necessarily need the program but that depends on the type of business being run.

Read Kenyata Garner's full review
Andrea Janda profile photo
December 30, 2018

Review: "TeamViewer for remote work and tech support with your team"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use TeamViewer to access co-workers' machines for troubleshooting VPN connectivity and remote access to work files. It enables a live environment for tech support while speaking on the phone, which is easier to instruct than by phone alone.
  • It allows for access and control of remote machines for troubleshooting computer problems.
  • It's great for teaching coworkers when they are working from home and need to access files how to set up and connect a VPN.
  • TeamViewer is a really quick way to connect to a work computer from home to access files and folders.
  • TeamViewer is an invaluable resource when it comes to remote instruction and enables a direct, immediate connection and control of another person's machine to walk them through program use or computer maintenance.
  • It would be nicer if the viewing area for the remote machine were a little larger or could be more easily resized. Sometimes, the remote computer's taskbar is difficult to see or access.
TeamViewer is a quick, simple, and secure way to initiate a remote access instance to another machine for instructional and tech support of all kinds, including program installation and usage, adjusting browser settings, and setting up VPN access to telecommuters. It is especially effective when used in tandem with a phone call so the user can see what you're doing as you explain, rather than just trying to explain where settings are without seeing their environment.
Read Andrea Janda's full review
Florence Birgen profile photo
December 29, 2018

User Review: "Why I am sticking with TeamViewer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

TeamViewer is used across the company. Our support team uses it to solve and troubleshoot IT issues through screen sharing and remote control. I use TeamViewer to connect to my office computer while out of the office. At our company, we also use other TeamViewer capabilities/functionalities to promote efficiency at work. We use it as a tool for collaboration, file sharing, project management, web conferencing and meeting.

  • It’s easy to use and set up.
  • Allows remote access from any location to any client computer.
  • Supported across different operating systems.
  • Bandwidth consumption is high.
  • Subscription model works fine but it could add more value to us if we could still have a permanent option.
  • It sometimes hangs up and becomes difficult to navigate on phones.
Our company has offices in different locations. TeamViewer makes it easy for our support team to troubleshoot and work on user’s computers without leaving their current location. That saves time and logistics costs, hence increases production and efficiency. TeamViewer is not the best tool to use if the 2 devices that need to be connected are not connected to a reliable internet connection.
Read Florence Birgen's full review
Ajwinderjit Singh profile photo
December 20, 2018

User Review: "TeamViewer - Life Saver!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamViewer is normally used to connect with our other locations in order to solve a wide variety of problems. Our organization is developing and we face new challenges every day. TeamViewer helps us to solve these challenges remotely and effectively. Currently most of the staff is using it to learn new softwares which are being introduced.
  • Best thing about TeamViewer is that is comes free of cost, as we use it in high volume.
  • TeamViewer is easy to use and quick to learn which saves a lot of time. Its efficiency is amazing, along with its great features.
  • Remote access to other computers and laptops is truly a life-saving feature for me.
  • Sometimes we experience lags during a connection and it breaks the ongoing training.
  • Video quality can be improved.
TeamViewer comes handy if one of our other locations hires a new employee and he/she connects with my team to learn how to use our software and generate certain reports. There have also been times when our staff needs technical support with our computers/laptops, and we seek the help of our network technicians through TeamViewer.
Read Ajwinderjit Singh's full review
Will Smith profile photo
December 19, 2018

TeamViewer Review: "Essential indispensability for remote connection."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Teamviewer is used in many ways, to transfer remote files using your file manager, remote connection for technical support, database updates and backups, VPN connection, sharing resources. Its use is almost mandatory and should never be missing. The best thing is that you can install it on different devices and have connections between them. We are very satisfied with the results.
  • Easy to install and configure.
  • Allows remote connection to different devices to share and control their resources.
  • You can perform remote updates between clients.
  • It allows you to create VPN networks in a few clicks.
  • You can configure the image transfer quality to improve the experience.
  • It does not allow connection between new and old versions.
  • The VPN always needs human intervention to reconnect if it loses connection.
Teamviewer is particularly useful in the cases where we manage many servers and cannot be in different places at the same time, it does not allow us to connect in a professional way to interact with them and solve logical problems quickly. The VPN service is not for massive or critical use.
Read Will Smith's full review
Tim Slater profile photo
January 15, 2019

User Review: "TeamViewer is a star performer!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamViewer is being used for the IT department. It facilitates the remote control of laptops and desktops regardless of whether the computers are inside or outside of our firewall.
  • Remote connection to any laptop, desktop or iPhone /iPad.
  • Works well on bandwidth limited connections.
  • Easy and secure to use.
  • The GUI for the latest version seems less intuitive than previous versions.
TeamViewer is ideal for the remote control of desktops, laptops, and iPhones/iPads for IT support.
Read Tim Slater's full review
Mohammad Aminul Islam profile photo
December 20, 2018

Review: "TeamViewer: Easy remote access to computer from anywhere"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using TeamViewer to remotely access my office computer. Also during online meetings TeamViewer is also useful. Multiple people can work at the same time in the same project. File transfer is also easy. TeamViewer gives remote access from anywhere in the world to my office and laboratory computers.
  • Remote accessibility to personal and office computers.
  • Multiple people can access the same computer remotely at the same time.
  • Easy to use. Only ID and password are required to access the computer. And customized ID and password can be set.
  • Different versions need to be compatible with each other.
  • Sometimes screen gets hung-up.
  • File transfer functionality is a little bit difficult to use. It can be improved further.
TeamViewer is well suited to remotely access personal and office computers and work from anywhere. Every time I visited my country Bangladesh, I always remotely access my office computer here in the USA. But for that, my office computer needs to be turned on all the time. So, I also need help from people here. Sometimes when restarting the PC, TeamViewer won't turn on. So the access will be lost. Internet connection is necessary.
Read Mohammad Aminul Islam's full review
Leonardo Barbosa Corrêa profile photo
December 18, 2018

TeamViewer Review: "It helps a lot in daily tasks."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It helps a lot in daily tasks. I work in the downtown office and often need to access files on my home computer. TeamViewer is an indispensable tool in my day-to-day operation of my professional activities. It also helps a lot when I need to guide a customer from a distance.
  • Very useful if you need to use computers from different places with agility.
  • Incredibly simple installation.
  • Simple interface.
  • Very dependent on the quality of the connection.
  • Many times the delay gets in the way a bit.
Remotely access files on your home computer while in the office and vice versa. It greatly streamlines my professional activities.
Read Leonardo Barbosa Corrêa's full review
No photo available
February 26, 2019

TeamViewer Review: "Not Free But Worth It!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being an engineering consulting company means we have a lot of clients that we need to support remotely because most of our clients are not within driving distance but also need 24/7 support. We use TeamViewer to quickly log into client computers to do troubleshooting or test software with hardware that is only available at the customer site. It cuts down on travel costs and greatly improves our response time.
  • Ability to keep a list of multiple computers across a lot of sites. The organization and grouping is nice.
  • I can use it on my PC, Mac, or iPhone and it works great on any platform.
  • It supports multiple screens very well.
  • It’s version specific so if a client has a newer version installed then I have to pay to upgrade.
  • They swapped to a subscription model instead of a one-time purchase.
  • If the network connection is poor I have to try multiple times in order to connect to the computer.
  • It’s not extremely reliable when it comes to being able to connect to remote computers every time.
If you need to quickly do a remote session with a client and see what they are seeing on their end for troubleshooting or need to do a Remote Desktop connection without being on the same network then it’s fantastic. It’s also good for transferring files and copy-paste is also supported across your computer and the remote one. If the file is really large then the transfer can take a long time, though. Because of the reliability issues I have experienced I wouldn’t recommend it for critical applications.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 13, 2019

TeamViewer Review: "Secure and effective remote connection between two systems."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This software is being used by our technical team mostly, but sometimes our sales and marketing teams also use this software for file transfer purposes and to use their system from outside the office. I personally use this software when I am away from the office and I need to access my computer system. It helps me to access my system from anywhere outside my office, and it increases my productivity.
  • It has an amazing interface, which allows users to navigate it easily.
  • It allows users to transfer system to system files effectively.
  • It offers a mobile application also, which allows users to access any system from their mobile devices.
  • Sometimes it doesn’t give seamless connectivity in screen sharing.
  • It doesn’t auto connect when the other system went into sleep mode. Users have to connect it manually.
  • It requires high-speed internet.
It is very well suited for the system-to-system transfer of heavy files without using Bluetooth. It also helps in presentations by accessing your system remotely. And the major part this software plays is in the repairing of systems remotely. IT people use this software to do so. Whenever we require system related support from our IT team, they usually help us by accessing our system with the help of this software.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 08, 2018

TeamViewer Review: "High quality remote access tool you can depend on."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I often travel for work and a consistent challenge I would face (if not for TeamViewer) is that my work and productivity would be split between multiple computers when I worked off site or from home. TeamViewer gives me a very acceptable solution to that problem. I have this running on both my work computer and my MacBook which I use when I travel. There are times when I absolutely need access to my work PC when I am travelling and I love that I can reliably depend on having access to it thanks to TeamViewer. All I have to do is to launch the application and select my PC and I am immediately connected to it with full access letting me use my local files and software that only work on our Intranet.
  • It works without needing someone to be there to connect you to the PC.
  • It works across platforms. I use it on a MacBook and a Windows PC and it works between both absolutely flawlessly.
  • It is very high quality and I can't remember the last time I had a problem with it.
  • It also launches automatically so even if one of my computers get restarted, I can still count on it being active to get me access.
  • It can be a little difficult to use if I am working off a slow internet connection (doesn't work so well with Starbucks Wifi).
You can install it and leave it running and you will always have access to that computer as long as you make sure that it doesn't go to sleep or shuts down. So if you travel a lot or work from different locations then this is really good to have.

However if your office IT strictly controls the traffic you may have problems getting this to run properly. I had to get my IT team to set it up specially.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 30, 2019

TeamViewer Review: "Best in class remote assistance software."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This software is being used by multiple departments in my organization. My colleagues from other departments use this software for sharing files across systems. In my department, I frequently use this software to access my computer system remotely. It helps me to increase my productivity by connecting me with my system where I store all my work.
  • It is very good at sharing heavy files from one system to another.
  • It can establish cross-platform(between Mac OS and Windows) connections as well.
  • Its user interface is easy to understand.
  • This software depends on internet connection. Without the internet it doesn't work.
  • Chat functionality doesn't work very well. It should be well integrated.
  • Sometimes It gets disconnected automatically and one user has to call the other user to restart this application again for re-connection.
This software is very useful when I need to share heavy files with my colleagues without connecting any physical drive to my computer system. By connecting to my colleague's system via this software, I easily transfer multiple files to my colleague's system. And any time I go outside of our station for office work and I require system access, I prefer to connect my office system from my current location via Team Viewer.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 25, 2019

User Review: "Teamviewer is great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's good for connecting with customers to help troubleshoot and walk users through solving a technical issue. This is a great tool because it allows both the users and tech to see the same screen so everything that's happening during the troubleshooting is seen by users from both sides. TeamViewer can also be used for upgrading servers without needing to set up a VPN, etc.
  • Fast and reliable.
  • I really like the ability to prioritize the speed or quality of the image.
  • I also like that you can set a static password so that you do not need to use the auto-generated passwords each time.
  • Maybe include a chat feature like Zoom Meeting, etc.
  • Also, the ability for multiple people to connect to one machine.
  • Ultimately, if Teamviewer can enhance video sharing so that it isn't jumpy that would be excellent
It is best suited for troubleshooting purposes between an end user and a tech. In addition, a personalized, hands-on training can also benefit greatly as one person can give direction and watch as the other person performs the work. I also like to use it particularly to access resources from anywhere without having the need to create a VPN. It's probably less useful for situations that require the viewer to see the graphics intense display.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Screen sharing (133)
9.2
File transfer (125)
8.7
Instant message (117)
8.2
Secure remote access with Smart Card authentication (46)
8.4
Access to sleeping/powered-off computers (75)
7.2
Over-the-Internet remote session (129)
9.2
Initiate remote control from mobile (106)
8.7
Remote management of servers & workstations (106)
8.8
Remote Active Directory® management (55)
8.6
Centralized management dashboard (75)
7.7
Session record (77)
8.3
Annotations (62)
7.6
Monitoring and Alerts (68)
7.6
Multi-platform remote control (101)
8.9

About TeamViewer

TeamViewer aims to empower users to connect anything, anywhere, anytime. The company says its solution offers secure remote access, support, control and collaboration capabilities for online endpoints of any kind. The vendor says TeamViewer has been activated on more than 1.7 billion devices and serves at least 40 million concurrent connections at any time. Founded in 2005, the company employs more than 700 people in offices across Germany, the United States, Japan and Australia.

TeamViewer Integrations

TeamViewer Competitors

TeamViewer Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No