TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/tf/J4/M491ID3L837G.JPEGMS SharePoint / SQL product reviewWe use MS SharePoint / SQL in our IT department. It’s a good collaborative and project management tool. It also allows us collect, share and generate meaningful reports in our company. MS SharePoint / SQL being cloud hosted it allows access from anywhere, internally and externally. It's also easily customizable and easy to use. If you are talking about third-party integration it still scores some good points.,File version. This helps users stay informed of file version they are using and what changes have been done. SharePoint is a great document management solution. Allows you publish and share information within an organization. Collaborative capabilities. This maximizes the organization’s productivity.,The price is high. It could be a good thing if they ever consider bringing its cost slightly down. Integration. Sometime integrating other applications and customization can be difficult especially after every update,8,Google Drive, Workzone and Dropbox,7,9,Google Drive, Dropbox, Google Analytics, TeamViewerSharePoint ReviewWe recently upgraded to MS O365 E3 Solution. This strategic decision was based on the fact that there are many cloud-based applications and features that come with this solution and SharePoint was one of them. We're currently using SharePoint in the IT department. It is being used for Project Management. Its a great tool for sharing content and collaborating.,SharePoint is a great document management solution. Allows collaboration, which it maximizes productivity since all information needed is centralized. Portal has some robust capabilities that allows you to share, publish and interact with others inside your organization.,Overall I'm very pleased with the solution. We're still learning the ins and outs. Perhaps additional training material on "How To" use some of the features would be helpful from Microsoft. I would like to see a dashboard that shows metrics perhaps on some of the data that gets shared or uploaded.,10,,9,10,TeamViewer, Bomgar Privileged Access Management, Symantec Endpoint Protection, Cisco SSL VPNReview of MS SharePoint for Cloud Based CompanyWe use it to collaborate and share data with different depts. and with our user experience consultants. Everyone has a shared dept that we can go in and get the information we need. We like that it is cloud-based and can be accessed anywhere. We work remote half of the time so this helps us complete our tasks and jobs.,Collaborate Access by Cloud,Sometimes can be cumbersome to sign in Had had an issue during an update where we couldn't access SharePoint and had to involve our IT dept to help set up shared drive folders on my computer,7,Dropbox,7,7,DropboxMS SharePoint is the way to go for Documentation Management!Within our organization, we initially started using Microsoft SharePoint to store our documentation but quite quickly, you will discover that it’s a very powerful collaboration tool that makes sharing (and tracking) documents a breeze, and it's also a very useful tool to manage projects. This product also easily integrates with third-party applications. Very simple user interface with lots of other capabilities.,Documentation Storage Collaboration tool Simple user interface,Simple tool to allow end users the ability to create dashboards for reporting purposes,9,7,10Solution for Data That Does Not FitIt is being used right now to store data that does not fit in our ERP. In doing so we are using SQL to mine this data and create useful reports. We also use a battery of other Microsoft software to help leverage the gathering and use of this data. The ability to create custom lists and store information that otherwise does not fit in our ERP is very useful.,Versioning, the way it tracks changes and when they were made and what was changed is amazing Customization of data. The easy way it relates to users to help customize the storing of data Integration of user data and meta data,It isn't granular enough for IT experts The data often times does "play well" with SQL It seems outside vendors do this better then what Microsoft has in place i.e. Layer2,8,Google Drive and Workzone,10,9,Google Analytics, Microsoft Office 365, Azure SQL Database
Unspecified
MS SharePoint / SQL
590 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
TRScore

MS SharePoint / SQL Reviews

MS SharePoint / SQL
590 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 590 vetted MS SharePoint / SQL reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 44)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Florence Birgen profile photo
November 12, 2018

"MS SharePoint / SQL product review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MS SharePoint / SQL in our IT department. It’s a good collaborative and project management tool. It also allows us collect, share and generate meaningful reports in our company. MS SharePoint / SQL being cloud hosted it allows access from anywhere, internally and externally. It's also easily customizable and easy to use. If you are talking about third-party integration it still scores some good points.
  • File version. This helps users stay informed of file version they are using and what changes have been done.
  • SharePoint is a great document management solution. Allows you publish and share information within an organization.
  • Collaborative capabilities. This maximizes the organization’s productivity.
  • The price is high. It could be a good thing if they ever consider bringing its cost slightly down.
  • Integration. Sometime integrating other applications and customization can be difficult especially after every update
MS SharePoint is basic and would come in handy when trying to centralize departmental data. It will help you collaborate and generate necessary reports. It will also keep users informed of the current file version they are on and what changes have been made. I feel like when dealing with a bigger organization there are better tools out there to use. Those that can handle huge and complex data.
Read Florence Birgen's full review
Mauro Carrillo profile photo
June 11, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL: "SharePoint Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We recently upgraded to MS O365 E3 Solution. This strategic decision was based on the fact that there are many cloud-based applications and features that come with this solution and SharePoint was one of them. We're currently using SharePoint in the IT department. It is being used for Project Management. Its a great tool for sharing content and collaborating.
  • SharePoint is a great document management solution.
  • Allows collaboration, which it maximizes productivity since all information needed is centralized.
  • Portal has some robust capabilities that allows you to share, publish and interact with others inside your organization.
  • Overall I'm very pleased with the solution. We're still learning the ins and outs. Perhaps additional training material on "How To" use some of the features would be helpful from Microsoft.
  • I would like to see a dashboard that shows metrics perhaps on some of the data that gets shared or uploaded.
SharePoint is a wonderful solution for sharing, collaborating, document management. I would recommend this for many projects such as Intranets, Project Management, Vendor Management, just to name a few. The possibilities are endless, there is so much functionality and accessibility is great since all of your information is securely stored in the cloud.
Read Mauro Carrillo's full review
James Mcbride profile photo
July 17, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL: "Review of MS SharePoint for Cloud Based Company"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to collaborate and share data with different depts. and with our user experience consultants. Everyone has a shared dept that we can go in and get the information we need. We like that it is cloud-based and can be accessed anywhere. We work remote half of the time so this helps us complete our tasks and jobs.
  • Collaborate
  • Access by Cloud
  • Sometimes can be cumbersome to sign in
  • Had had an issue during an update where we couldn't access SharePoint and had to involve our IT dept to help set up shared drive folders on my computer
Our organization is a unified communications company that values its employees and allows them to work remote. SharePoint allows us to share the information and everyone has access to the information they need to finish their tasks.

This would not be very valuable in a very small business where everyone is centrally located.
Read James Mcbride's full review
Daniel Cure-Boulay profile photo
November 01, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "MS SharePoint is the way to go for Documentation Management!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within our organization, we initially started using Microsoft SharePoint to store our documentation but quite quickly, you will discover that it’s a very powerful collaboration tool that makes sharing (and tracking) documents a breeze, and it's also a very useful tool to manage projects. This product also easily integrates with third-party applications. Very simple user interface with lots of other capabilities.
  • Documentation Storage
  • Collaboration tool
  • Simple user interface
  • Simple tool to allow end users the ability to create dashboards for reporting purposes
This is a great tool for documentation management. This tool can be used to manage projects at a high-level including other task related activities but its not a true management/tracking tool like MS project.
Read Daniel Cure-Boulay's full review
No photo available
September 17, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "Solution for Data That Does Not Fit"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used right now to store data that does not fit in our ERP. In doing so we are using SQL to mine this data and create useful reports. We also use a battery of other Microsoft software to help leverage the gathering and use of this data. The ability to create custom lists and store information that otherwise does not fit in our ERP is very useful.
  • Versioning, the way it tracks changes and when they were made and what was changed is amazing
  • Customization of data. The easy way it relates to users to help customize the storing of data
  • Integration of user data and meta data
  • It isn't granular enough for IT experts
  • The data often times does "play well" with SQL
  • It seems outside vendors do this better then what Microsoft has in place i.e. Layer2
Well suited in cases where a company needs to collect data that isn't included in their ERP. (i.e. document control or safety inspections.) Where it doesn't work is if you need very strict data. SharePoint is not the best with validation in my opinion. So if you need very format-specific data, I would steer away from it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 21, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "Excellent collaborative tool. Essential for enterprise level businesses."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product is being used to provide our company with an internal intranet for the different sub-offices that comprise the company as a whole. It is used for a wide variety of tasks such as calendars, and task assignment. It provides a central location for our offices to manage their day to day activities.
  • Task Management
  • Departmental Calendars
  • E-mail Notification
  • Interface is confusing
  • Not obvious how to set up and use some features
  • Help documentation does not always provide solutions
Large scale enterprise level operations. Not really suited for small businesses.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "MS SharePoint is adequate for intranet and file sharing for small companies"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SharePoint mainly for company announcement and file storage. Every department uses it. Files are easy to access and each department is clearly laid out.
  • File sharing, clear and easy to manage.
  • Easy to set up each department site
  • Collaboration of work, people can access and work simultaneously
  • Not very agile comparing to dedicated agile space like Trello
  • Difficult to customize every aspect. High cost of development.
For small companies of less than 500 employees, SharePoint is great intranet site. Not very user friendly for large organization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 19, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "Microsoft SharePoint - Share information with your users"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MS SharePoint as our Intranet, as well as for Extranet and Internet pages. This is being used across the whole organization for all users. It helps the business problem of communication and providing one spot to go for users to retrieve the information they need.
  • Easy Intranet creation
  • A simple way of collecting documents
  • Revisions of documents
  • Customizing Sharepoint can be a bit of a struggle
  • I feel that some of the options aren't very intuitive
  • Wish there were more "wizards" to help users guide them through what they want to be done instead of relying on me, or me creating documentation
If a company wanted to create an Intranet - SharePoint works very well for that use case.
Read this authenticated review
Viktor Mulac profile photo
March 01, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "Maturing solutions for team work"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MS Sharepoint as a a team collaboration tool, one of the main tools for document sharing within the teams by proposal preparation in international teams, by sharing information and project deliverables with the customers. Also the scheduling and planning functions are very helpful. MS Sharepoint is not the only collaboration and not the best, nevertheless we use it quite frequently, and it is geeting better over time.
  • Very good content management tool
  • Support for team collaboration
  • It is easy to search for information on the whole sharepoint space
  • Good responsiveness
  • Workflow support seems complicated to configure
  • Sometimes the system does not allow to edit files in the local MS Office application for no obvious reason
  • Minor issues: Calender displays limited information, by longer entries, it is necessary to click event by event to find the details. A switch for short / full view would be helpful.
  • Handling the files requires sometimes to go one by one, group functions are not available (moving, deleting, compressing and downloading the whole directory or selected files)
Well suited scenarios:
- use anywhere where there are users with limited IT knowledge, the way for sharing and editing documents is easy to explain
- use anywhere when a realitme access required and the users use heterogeneous devices / formats (PC, MAC, iOS and Android connected via Sharepoint server)

Less appropriate use cases:
- MS SHP / SQL is tricky to configure access rights in a complex organizational environment
- not good for time critical tasks, as an internet based tool its usability depends on connection quality
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Brandon Holbrook profile photo
February 15, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "MS SharePoint great for Medium to Large Businesses"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint/SQL is being used as the back end for our MS Dynamics CRM solution, Great Plains, and document repository. We use it across our entire organization. It solved the problems of having the ability to log into these services with a single logon. It also solves the problem of not having a central repository for our organization's documents. Its integration with Great Plains allows our entire organization to submit expense reports. It manages the workflow of each expense report. MS SQL is the backend for our CRM solution. Support and community forms helped us the most for making this decision.
  • Allowing each department to create their own areas to manage.
  • Allowing us to tag documents and organize them much better than folders on a NAS.
  • MS SQL allows the seamless access to data by multiple different front ends.
  • MS Sharepoint/SQL could improve on not requiring so many hardware resources.
  • MS Sharepoint/SQL could improve on the ease of setup.
  • MS Sharepoint/SQL could improve on the number of servers that are required for their document repository solutions.
MS Sharepoint/SQL is less appropriate for a small business with no full-time SQL staff or IT administrators. The setup may require outside help so those without technical knowledge may need help getting it up and running and to provide monthly/weekly/daily maintenance. MS Sharepoint/SQL is well suited for large businesses with full time IT staff.
Read Brandon Holbrook's full review
Alfred Brock profile photo
February 09, 2018

User Review: "MS SharePoint / SQL Showplace!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint / SQL at this time is being used in various departments across the company. Its most useful role is occurring in shipping and receiving. It has also helped in normalizing data across various databases in a rational manner. It has proven to be more stable and flexible than tools used in the past. The reporting services really stand out for the work being done.
  • Content storage is excellent with a full range of data types being supported and able to organize such as individual documents like files in document libraries as well as lists and web parts
  • I believe these are strengths because the functionality is already built in and we can concentrate on the more complex needs we have rather than building from the ground up
  • I am happy that we can deploy PowerPivot for SharePoint and Reporting Services in the same SharePoint farm
  • Until I have my total automation packages in place it is difficult to handle things when a service or services stops.
  • Intermittent connectivity has occurred but that has been mainly due to differing versions of software but it still seems more difficult than it should to identify the source than it should be with our automated tools
  • Retrieving documents reliably was a difficulty for a while until it was determined, again, that differing versions contributed to the problem
It is well suited for large amounts of data in a single format. Accuracy and execution speed are unparalleled. The querying tools are robust and trustworthy for a wide variety of operations. Difficulty was experienced when offices that had not been upgraded to the correct version were encountered. It was not suitable in an environment where installations had not been properly updated and maintained.
Read Alfred Brock's full review
Brian Munn profile photo
April 26, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "MS SharePoint - Easy to use, create and Share"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MS SharePoint across our entire organization. We have implemented it to include our tuck-in companies along with divisions and regions. SharePoint has allowed us to centralize and standardize on a single intranet platform that can be customized to show company or region-specific information. SharePoint team sites allow our users to share and collaborate on projects internally and externally.
  • Team sites is a great way to keep your users up to date with documents. Users can subscribe to document libraries allowing them to receive notifications when documents are added or changed.
  • File versioning is something that cannot be done with a standard file server. SharePoint allows the users to see what versions of files they have and what changes may have been made.
  • Workflow is a great feature that can be used to automate the process of signatures and internal back office procedures that can otherwise get stuck on someones desk for days or weeks.
  • Customizing beyond the out of box experience can be difficult. There are many bolt on products that can be used with SharePoint but when its time to upgrade SharePoint this can be difficult because any custom coding or bolt on products will need to be verified.
  • Having a more robust integration with custom built applications is needed. In house developed applications using the Microsoft .NET frame work can be difficult to integrate with SharePoint and utilize the features of SharePoint.
  • Cost. SharePoint can be an expensive product to add into your organization. With all the benefits SharePoint can provide it would be nice to see Microsoft bring the price down.
SharePoint is well suited for most businesses. It provides many features companies are looking for but cost is a factor. If you are looking for an out of box product that can be used to share files and provide spaces for users to collaborate SharePoint is well suited for this use.

If you are looking for a more customized solution SharePoint can be used but more than likely you will need to engage a SharePoint consultant to work on the details and changes needed. This can be costly and time consuming.
Read Brian Munn's full review
Olayinka Awoyemi profile photo
April 16, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "My SharePoint Experience"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used throughout the entire company. It serves as the corporate application for document management system. It helps units to set up their own mini website; it helps the project team to set up a mini project website for dissemination of project information. The SQL portion makes the software compatible with other applications, most especially database and information technology infrastructure.
  • Information sharing
  • Document management
  • Mini website development
  • Not affordable for personal use
  • The SQL requires some level of training to use.
  • Only works well with MS products
It is efficient for information sharing. It is also good when it comes to documenting a management system. it is a platform that can be used to access various databases. It is a good software for migrating data and information from various sources to a single location. It is useful when working on projects when the need to develop a mini website arises.
Read Olayinka Awoyemi's full review
Ron Zermeno profile photo
January 23, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "Sharepoint/SQL Effortless Implementation (*Some Assembly Required)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used across the organization as well as with external entities. SharePoint specifically addresses core business needs/problems such as: collaboration, rich search features, online display and edit of office documents, analysis, project tracking, external sharing of data, permission-based access of data/content, shared department/sub-department calendars, reporting, workflow orchestration, organization communication, video/rich media content distribution, version tracking on documents, two-stage recycling bin vs accidental delete within a file share, simultaneous file/ content editing and online presence display within team sites.
  • Continuing along the lines of answer 1: collaboration, rich search features, online display and edit of office documents, analysis, project tracking, external sharing of data, permission-based access of data/content, shared department/sub-department calendars, reporting, workflow orchestration, organization communication, video/rich media content distribution, version tracking on documents, two-stage recycling bin vs accidental delete within a file share, simultaneous file/ content editing and online presence display within team sites.
  • Specifically, SharePoint’s core advantage to an organization is the immediate speed a user can start using without training and structured process. This intuitive ease of use makes the adoption of the platform much more effective at the basic use level of SharePoint. SharePoint obviously integrates extremely well with Office products which are pervasive within any size of company.
  • Webparts from solutions, sandbox solutions and/or apps definitely add to the ability of the platform to extend out core list/library elements to custom code development.
  • One key area which SharePoint lacks would be within the areas of: ease of modification for interface / UI modifications for branding, site specific /library specific usage data reporting and inline content commenting and real-time collaboration (the Yammer promise).
SharePoint is ideal for organizations/enterprises large and small. SharePoint is less than ideal for an internet public presence. SharePoint is good for small and large company environments looking to expand their internal intranet setup and provide additional dashboards to their departments.
Read Ron Zermeno's full review
John Dopson profile photo
April 27, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "Straightforward Microsoft"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by multiple application groups and on infrastructure level. We use SQL as our main windows database engine, and Share Point for collaboration moving to o365 and Sharepoint cloud.
  • SharePoint collaboration and dashboards, visual reporting and easy repository
  • SQL database and maintenance and easy Reporting services.
  • SQL backup wizard for backup and restore could be improved to be more like more modern backup tools, better file management.
  • Easier maintenance planning and job management.
  • Easier UI for being able to create new Sharepoint sites for sharing.
Very good for vanila environment with out a lot of customization where where reporting services can be used for ad hock reporting.
Read John Dopson's full review
Chris Gigliotti profile photo
January 19, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL: "MS SharePoint review (just the basics)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SharePoint as a document repository to replace shared folders. This makes our documents easily accessible from anywhere without needing to use easily saturated VPN connections.
  • Document Storage
  • Ease of access and collaboration
  • Security
  • Complex. Steep learning curve to get the most out of SharePoint.
  • Steep hardware requirements. Office 365 SharePoint is likely the easier option for smaller orgs.
Replacement for shared folders. Replacement for older databases.
Read Chris Gigliotti's full review
No photo available
April 10, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "Great solution that combines the power or two great products (SharePoint and SQL)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used SharePoint/SQL for years. In my previous role I was a consultant and implemented this for customers. Currently, our company uses SharePoint/SQL across the enterprise to help simplify and automate multiple business problems. We use it to provide HR resources to employees, as a full blown PMO solution for our PM group, and for enterprise wide collaboration and reporting.
  • Great platform for document management, versioning and sharing data/reports. The ability to keep history of edits and all previous versions of the file is very valuable.
  • The solution easily allows you to solve unique business problems. The ability to create custom reports, dashboards, lists or workflows without writing code (most of the time) adds a lot of value.
  • Provisioning and permissions are simple and flexible. They can be as global or as granular as you needed. It is very easy to give and remove permissions and there are lots of solutions for automating them.
  • This is a great product but sometimes I find that there are 10 ways to do the same exact function or action. SharePoint has lots of ways to do the same ting, from a different screen or menu. This can be challenging when it comes to end user training.
  • Staying on track with the current version can be a challenge. Microsoft is also notorious for constant patches, updates and hotfixes. A new major version is released every few years and it can be a pain to migrate to the new version if you have customized heavily.
  • Creating intuitive global navigation and menus can sometimes be difficult and require a specific skillset of web designer or similar. SharePoint does great for individual sites/solutions, but it can be confusing sometimes to provide global navigation that makes sense for an end user.
I would recommend this to any business, regardless of size. The great thing about the product is that it can solve business problems for any type of business. It is flexible and allows users to easily create custom solutions, most of the time without writing code. Tool is easy to work with and learn for developers and end users.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 08, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "My personal experience with SharePoint"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use SharePoint with SQL for our intranet. It is used for pulling important data that pertains to clients and employees. It lessens the number of programs and websites we have to use in order to retrieve information. SharePoint for on-premise provides us with a lot of customization, so we can put together our database and have our users use it on a daily basis.
  • Customization of the website
  • Able to pull large amounts of data that we wouldn't want to get someplace else.
  • Provides us with an option already packaged without Office 365 subscriptions.
  • Cloud-based SharePoint should offer more customization for its users.
  • The permissions and user interface of SharePoint can get confusing when trying to manage simple tasks.
SharePoint/SQL has a lot of options for companies looking to expand their internal and external network. I wish it was easier to use, that way we do not have to rely on one or two people to manage it when it is broken. I would like to see better customization for SharePoint on the cloud. There are fewer options to choose from when trying to make SharePoint what you really want it to look like. The third party apps are fantastic, but they limit their functionality if the creator did not implement the appropriate tool to suit your needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "SharePoint through an end-user's perspective - easy as 1-2-3!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SharePoint as an information store in the IT Service Desk. It allows us to manage various documents into sections and categories and manage our day to day work with various information that we need to be aware of on a daily basis along with any upcoming work. It also allows us to make the documents searchable and be able to update the documents with versioning. Checking items in and out when required.
  • Provides a good platform for document versioning. The check-in and check-out functions work particularly well.
  • Allows a clear view of documents uploaded on the system. Good clear layout achievable with little effort.
  • Allows you to manage people in groups. Easy to manage permissions especially in large organizations.
  • The search functionality can be better.
  • Limited themes available.
  • The back end can be quite complicated to manage.
SharePoint is well suited to both large, medium and small sized organizations. It is quite scaleable which is good. The amount of information that can be displayed on the site in a well laid out manner is a strong point and most things are searchable. Depending on who manages the site and how often it is updated, it is quite hard to find certain things. You need to ensure that whoever manages the content and layout is always on the ball with it. Other than this, it is quite a good document management system for some.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 17, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "Microsoft SharePoint"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SharePoint is used across the entire organization. It provides a convenient and quick way for employees across different departments in the organization to stay updated with the latest happenings in the company. It also allows employees to access and share documents that are used for various programs within the company.
  • Provide an internal company website for staying up to date with the latest news
  • Provides an easy place to upload and access shared documents
  • Provides a convenient place for management and HR to post program critical updates
  • Uploaded documents are occasionally difficult to access for employees
Microsoft SharePoint is very well suited for keeping all employees updated with all the happenings of the company. It is also very well suited for document uploading and sharing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 19, 2017

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "SharePoint - Sharing on Point!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using SharePoint since forever now. It has been extremely simple to use and gets the job done well. We use it across the whole organization to share documents used by IT to the HR and everyone between. As from what I've heard it is not too difficult to manage, and they have hit a few road bumps but nothing too bad.
  • Stable.
  • Easy to use.
  • Flexible in terms of integrations.
  • Over the years as their improvements have come along the maintenance teams have seen a few hiccups.
  • As an end user, have seen sync issues in the past.
  • I personally have had troubles uploading/editing files.
Its pros easily outweigh its cons, there are a few troubles, but all in all it's a good application which is scalable, easy to use and very flexible.
I don't see why anybody would have problems deploying it on any scale.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 14, 2017

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "Set-up was difficult. Syncing was an issue. It might be better now."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used SharePoint for file sharing and storage. We set up a team environment. It was used to share files within the team and make changes to the same document without saving multiple versions.
  • Cloud access from anywhere.
  • Syncs across devices.
  • Collaborate on a document.
  • Set up was confusing.
  • Didn't sync properly.
  • Support wasn't easy to find.
If you need to collaborate on documents this may be a good solution for sharing.
Read this authenticated review
Tim Murray profile photo
September 27, 2017

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "SharePoint probably does more than you remember"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used SharePoint (SP) through Office 365 as a primary method of file storage and team collaboration. Using all available apps in SP we tried to maximize feature usage through Planner, Teams, Sway, Flow and others. Some elements were quite valuable, others were lacking in intuitive use. Mostly it was hard to know where things were being stored across apps. If I upload a file in Teams, why couldn't I also easily access it from the Planner page for the same team?
  • Integration with most Office 365 apps.
  • Sharing and group collaboration is MUCH improved from prior iterations.
  • Good experiments with new apps. I like getting to play with things in beta.
  • Better alignment between new apps like Planner and Teams.
  • More variation on question and result types in Forms.
  • Easier sharing with non-SP users or outside enterprise collaboration. Such as vendor access to a specific folder for deliverables, but not the rest of the project.
I think it is potentially an ideal project management tool for small to mid-sized projects. [It's] Far less cumbersome than others and already integrated into the tools used to create many deliverables. [It's] Not as good for dependent specific projects or teams where cross-company collaboration is essential.
Read Tim Murray's full review
Thayer Ramahi profile photo
June 22, 2017

MS SharePoint / SQL Review: "SharePoint is the right tool for business content management and team collaboration"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint Office 365 is used across the organization as a collaboration and data sharing tool. Easy access from anywhere and content management is key to our success of the implementation, plus provided ground to share data securely with external users.
  • Content Management
  • Search ability
  • Team work space
  • Data sharing/collaboration
  • Employee go to for any information
  • Office 365 has limitations, however, easy access and secure access is a key
  • Could be tricky and complex to set up the security permissions, specially on Office 365
  • Setting up workflow could be challenging
SharePoint/SQL setup from previous deployments solved lots of issues such as faster response; search ability is much better and faster, reliable and more secure.
Read Thayer Ramahi's full review
Eddie Brady profile photo
May 15, 2017

MS SharePoint / SQL: "SharePoint Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SharePoint to host our company intranet sites as well as to store our documents, both internal and client documents. We also integrate SharePoint and Dynamics CRM so that we can access client documents that are stored in SharePoint from within the CRM.
  • SharePoint is great for document storage.
  • SharePoint has good security features to secure your documents.
  • SharePoint offers version control of your documents.
  • SharePoint allows you to create multiple intranet websites that can be used for various purposes such as dept. collaboration.
  • Sharing documents with people/companies that are external to the organization can sometimes be a challenge.
SharePoint is a great tool for document management and building intranet websites that can be used organization-wide or for each department. I've seen clients use it as a project management tool as well and while I've seen some functional implementations for this I think there are better tools that can be implemented for project management specific functionality.
Read Eddie Brady's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (22)
6.9
Customizable dashboards (29)
7.7
Report Formatting Templates (24)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (23)
7.5
Formatting capabilities (28)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (15)
6.9
Report sharing and collaboration (28)
7.8
Publish to Web (31)
8.2
Publish to PDF (28)
7.7
Report Versioning (27)
8.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (23)
8.3
Delivery to Remote Servers (15)
7.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (19)
7.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (18)
7.9
Predictive Analytics (16)
7.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (31)
8.8
Role-Based Security Model (33)
8.7
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (35)
8.7
Single Sign-On (SSO) (25)
8.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (30)
8.0
Dedicated iOS Application (20)
8.0
Dedicated Android Application (19)
8.3
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (24)
7.5
REST API (11)
7.5
Javascript API (12)
7.8
iFrames (12)
7.2
Java API (11)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (13)
6.0
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (8)
7.0

About MS SharePoint / SQL

Categories:  Business Intelligence

MS SharePoint / SQL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No