MS SharePoint / SQL Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
838 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 70)

Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

MS Sharepoint is the one collaboration tool you need.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS Sharepoint / SQL Server is used as an enterprise solution to allow our teams to collaborate and share information and files. As the enterprise solution, I have used this for several very large programs that I have been in charge of the technical side. One was a massive database retooling for our application suite. The second large program was for a very large divestiture to make sure all data belonging to the divested team is identified and transmitted to the purchasing organization. We have team SharePoint sites set up for both programs and within the various work streams, each workstream had its own site.
  • Collaboration and sharing of information.
  • Security, allowing access to only those individuals with a need to know.
  • It can be a little hard to master so you need to take time to read the various primers available to know how to configure and deploy SharePoint. Do you use Foundation, 365 or Server?
We have used it successfully as mentioned on two large programs, but again it is an enterprise tool so I am only speaking from the standpoint of my team. Hundreds of teams across our enterprise use this every day. We keep our decision tracker out there as well as important program documents required by our SDLC process like requirements, etc. We also publish test results for the team to see. We use SharePoint to share test data across the organization as we can not just email files back and forth. We can rely on the security settings of SharePoint to allow access to only those team members that need to see the test data. And even though our test data is masked, we still control access to it. I would recommend that any team can benefit from using SharePoint and it gives a good place to store program/project files. It becomes the source of the truth and you just keep putting the most current versions and save them to SharePoint.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Adriana Paez | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

My MS SharePoint / SQL Review as an end-user

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint / SQL is being used by my organization for sharing, collaboration, and content management. It is used across the whole organization as far as I know. It allows for collaboration and it address the issue of physical distances between team members, allowing them to work collaboratively, sharing reports and project status updates and tasks.
  • Project collaboration with large teams.
  • Information sharing, exchange of reports and documents.
  • Control over security, who has access to which documents, and what kind of access will be allowed (edit, view only, etc.).
  • MS SharePoint / SQL has a steep learning curve; not very intuitive and people can feel frustrated.
  • The platform could use some update to make it less frustrating from a usability standpoint; users struggle to learn basic features.
  • The more customized it is the harder it becomes to troubleshoot.
It is well suited for storing and archiving files, and it keeps old versions for future comparison, which is perfect if users want to undo steps or trace the history of how the team arrived to a certain point in the project. SharePoint works with document libraries, lists, columns and data types, which is similar to the structure of a database.

SharePoint is not as well suited to support complex relationships between its records, columns and tables.
Read Adriana Paez's full review
Matt Varney | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

MS SharePoint / SQL - an on-premise option for SMBs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used this as a platform for "point solutions" - where we can specifically address distinct and unrelated data needs while still having a similar underlying technical base. For instance, our communications department wanted to manage news, so we leveraged and extended the SharePoint list feature, breaking down each announcement into data elements such as title, body copy, author, and topic. That data was then used to push out an email digest of the news, as well as be published on the internal SharePoint news page. Other examples included a budget planning solution for all departments.
  • If you are an existing and extensive Microsoft customer, the platform will fit in your application ecosystem nicely.
  • For SMBs or departments within larger organizations, the solution can be created with "foundation" versions of the products, which can provide plenty of power at a reasonable (often already included) price.
  • If you are a LAMP stack developer or shop, there is a learning curve.
  • From a general usability standpoint, it can be a less than pleasant experience. The interface is blocky and the concepts are not straightforward. It feels dated.
The solution is a great option for SMBs to be able to securely manage content (particularly documents from the Office platform) while still being able to share them with anyone in the world. The built in solutions for approval workflows and content life cycle controls are basic and broad enough to get most organizations started.

If your organization needs to do anything beyond the included basics, or do them in different ways, customizations will be necessary, which will add to the initial expense as well as ongoing maintenance concerns.
Read Matt Varney's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2020

Wanna host your internal website in a couple of hours? Use Sharepoint!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to share everything, all our internal sites are hosted via SharePoint. Basically, from onboarding to the latest news, to the stock market, everything internal is updated via SharePoint.
  • Integration with Office.
  • Easy to launch.
  • Support of Microsoft.
  • Complicated
  • Sometimes very slow
If you are a solo business owner I believe it just makes sense to start up an MS Sharepoint since you can easily find tutorials on the internet. In about 2 hours you can get a basic site up and ready to roll.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

Look no further for document and knowledge sharing portal

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint was used for internal knowledge sharing for employees, education and storing employees data and mainly for keeping agents up to date with internal company news. SharePoint is easy to manage and maintain, accessible like any internal portal and secured. Having a SQL data base comes in very handy when storing data internally.
  • Integrates so well with all of Microsoft's other products like Skype and Outlook.
  • Easy to learn and manage by admins.
  • Less coding required.
  • Better access to the date base, more direct access would be nice as using API requires more technical skills.
  • The search functionality.
  • You still need a separate data base for example for data warehouse. SharePoint sits on top of SQL Server, which is a relational database management system.
I love SharePoint for document management and collaboration. It is really good for internal use for example making your own internal company knowledge available to agents and keeping everyone up to date. SharePoint is secured and easy to manage, there is a very nice learning curve and admins will love it as it will make their life easier.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

SharePoint/SQL - Great for teams and collaboration.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SharePoint/SQL throughout the organisation to address multiple business problems. SharePoint is used as an Intranet, as well as a storage for our knowledge base and SQL is used as a back end to all of our business systems (ERP, OMS, ticketing system, etc.). I have been using both since version 2003 of SharePoint and SQL 2000 and the products, although they have changed, had remained very consistent and reliable.
  • Organise large repositories of files in an easy to use and navigate structure.
  • User-friendly presentation of content.
  • Ability to handle large amount of data.
  • SharePoint's back-end can be a bit better (more admin-friendly).
  • SQL has its number of bugs and issues and you have to keep on top of it all the time.
  • Mapping a SharePoint site to a user's computer can be a chore.
Both products are really good at what they do. There are plenty of trained specialists on both, so it is easy for an organisation to find someone to support both. SharePoint has a potential for unlimited customisation, however, requires a specialist developer.
SQL can handle almost anything you throw at it (in terms of database size), however, also has its limitations.
SharePoint is great to present files/blogs/any information to the end user and using themes you can have it look unique.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

MS SharePoint / SQL is easy to set up, with a robust feature set

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft SQL Server as a database backend for many different applications in our company. It is used for SAP, cash management applications, file transfer software, Symantec antivirus, and employee data storage. We find it to be easy to set up and maintain and easy to grow if needed. Once you set up your maintenance plan on it, you can leave it alone for years without intervention if it's set up correctly.
  • Easy to install
  • Great front end to look at and manipulate data
  • More widely used than other databases so more support available when needed
  • Licensing can be confusing
  • Like Windows, you have to upgrade/migrate to newer versions over time as older ones become unsupported
MS SharePoint / SQL can be cheap depending on what you are using it for, and there is even a free Express version if your application requirements are small. In that regard, MS SharePoint / SQL can be used in any business large or small, and many programs may even come with the free version as well depending on the application.
Read this authenticated review
Ted Cook | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

SharePoint\SQL is a great for any organization to utilize

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Sharepoint SQL throughout our entire organization. Sharepoint is used as a central file repository for all departments and teams. This enables our employees to access files from any location worldwide. We also use Sharepoint as a notification bulletin board system to enable posting of company wide notification collaboration tools.
  • Internal intranet for our company to enable users a central location for file storage, company wide notification and collaboration tools
  • Enables a central file depository for teams and departments
  • Great search functions
  • Customizable user permissions
  • Integration with 3rd party providers since Sharepoint has been around for years
  • On-boarding can take some time with new hires on how to use SharePoint
  • One issue we noticed is SharePoint One Drive sync issues creep occasionally
  • Cache issues with certain browsers that cause issues and required the browser Cache to be cleared out
  • It can become complex quickly with customization and difficult to fix when problems do arise.
MS SharePoint/SQL is great for companies that have nationwide deployments that require different locations to collaborate and share files and cross communicate. Sharepoint is a great collaboration tool for any company to utilize and is included in your Office 365 subscription.
Read Ted Cook's full review
Joel Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2019

MS SharePoint/SQL Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used SharePoint while working remotely. It was a great tool to have within our company when we have so many different departments located all around the U.S.
  • Remote access.
  • Instant update/upload of files.
  • Multiple users.
  • I do not find any areas where SharePoint needed to improve on.
SharePoint is well suited for companies of any size where they have multiple departments not within the same office. I used SP while working from home. Our company had offices located in 17 different States, so all employees were able to access.
Read Joel Williams's full review
Dinesh Selvachandra | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Very convenient document management system.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SharePoint to store our documents so that each department can collaborate. It was very easy as we had to manage multiple documents from tenders and requirements spanning different timelines.
  • Good integration with the Microsoft ecosystem. Active directory security is an advantage.
  • Remotely accessible and the files are up to date. We can link to local storage.
  • Version control.
  • The search function is confusing.
  • Navigation can be annoying.
When you use Windows OS, MS SharePoint can be very convenient to use and manage documents.
Read Dinesh Selvachandra's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

SharePoint just works

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was being used at Starbucks and is being used at LendingTree to share information between individuals, teams, and organizations. We use it both for sharing business processes and information as well as training material. Some of the SQL that it generates is not tremendously performant, but the sites serve thousands of people very well.
  • We're using it here at LendingTree as a centralized document storage location broken up by teams and content so it's easy to find what you're looking for in a centralized location.
  • At Starbucks, we used it to pass along information to the tens of thousands of baristas located all over the world.
  • Some of the SQL it generates is, or at least was, pretty horrible. It could do a better job of taking advantage of the performance possibilities within SQL Server.
  • It is pretty easy for one user to change settings for an entire team, in an unintended manner. But perhaps that's just because we aren't provisioning users as well as we could be.
As mentioned earlier, if you want a centralized documentation repository, it's pretty hard to beat.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Organize your documents

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is a service that provides storing files within the company for us. Another advantage is being easy to use for users. They can easily access the images we deploy for our company website from SharePoint and also they can download those pictures to their computers as well.
  • Solid service for company intranet.
  • It organizes the company documents in one place.
  • Easy to access documents.
  • The user interface could be more simplified.
  • Accessing outside of the company network should be easier.
  • The implementation can be more smooth as it is a little challenging process.
We can share company documents within the company network easily, instead of sharing them via the file server and struggling with the share permissions. It also stores the files in one place, and this way it makes our management of the documents much easier. And as it is a Microsoft product, getting information on the internet is much easier according to other products.
Read this authenticated review
Laura Stein | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2019

Developer Tenancy is free for one year!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SharePoint Online and SQL in Azure. It keeps our data safe and available, and eliminates the need for backups and costly infrastructure. We are building apps with forms and workflows to replace the apps in Lotus Notes. It also provides threat management and data loss prevention. Collaboration between departments is also very easy with SharePoint Teams.
  • SharePoint: Data Management of documents, and turning spreadsheets into lists.
  • SharePoint Online: Continuous improvements, and the ability to preview the improvements before general release.
  • SQL: Excellent Database platform. Easy to connect to, and less expensive than Oracle for both implementation and management. I don't believe in using open source (i.e. MySQL) in a corporate environment.
  • SharePoint: 5,000 item view limit.
  • SharePoint: User groups should default to Contribute, not Edit. Edit is too much permission for end-users; it allows the users to change the table structure or even delete the whole list or library.
  • If using either SharePoint or SQL on-premise, backups and patches approach nightmare level.
Well-suited for most businesses. Any limitations can be overcome with proper configuration and/or add-ons. Particularly well-suited for the two opposite ends of Power Users and Newbies. Power Users can be given permission to design pages, etc. while less technical users can be limited to Contribute or Read access to whatever. Excellent permission management in both products.
Read Laura Stein's full review
Ben Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

I'm not sure how we lived without it!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SharePoint to share install walkthroughs, configuration files, PMR's, PDR'S, and lots of other department specific files. We use SharePoint to ensure that our team always has the relevant information that they need to do their job, no matter where they are. We use SQL specifically as a reporting tool on the back of our Datacap tool. The error handling, monitoring, and data extracted all gets output to the data tables.
  • Allow users to access documents no matter where they are.
  • It's secure.
  • It is end-user friendly. Our team members can use it quickly and efficiently.
  • It is efficient in managing large amounts of data.
  • Allows us to monitor and track data from our OCR tool.
  • It can be a little difficult to get it set up. There are very few walkthroughs in it on how to set up.
  • The search functionality needs improvement. It's currently nonexistent.
  • It's difficult to lock down files to ensure that users who can access them don't delete them.
It is useful to store and keep track of all our documents that we need access to throughout the day. This means users can access key files, review them, and amend them without concern. And we can access this without using drive space, which is at a premium within the business. The SQL allows us to track and monitor the data that our OCR applications regularly output, which is large amounts of data. It is less appropriate with smaller data samples, when access might suit better.
Read Ben Williams's full review
Jeet Sohpal | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

SharePoint through a IT support view

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is being used globally across our company. SharePoint allows for better collaboration and file and folder sharing through OneDrive and Teams.
  • OneDrive is the front end for our users. The back end of OneDrive is SharePoint which allows storing of files and folders and it also allows our users to share those files and folders with other users globally, internally and externally.
  • As SharePoint is also the back of end of MS Teams it allows for much better many to many collaboration. It also allows for conversations in teams to be had globally between different teams within the same organization.
  • Yammer is also another app which has a SharePoint backend that is now being utilized more within our company. You can join and create groups within Yammer where you can discuss work-related projects or non-work related subjects such as sharing photos and information about your pet(s).
  • Within SharePoint itself, you can create document Libraries which can double up as repositories which can be used in applications such as Repstor which is a 3rd party tool that plugs into Outlook and in doing so brings SharePoint into Outlook. By doing this, you can create folders within Repstor which then sync back to the SharePoint document library. You can then file emails into these folders and make this information shareable with other users by allowing them access to the repository.
  • SharePoint also allows you to set up email content types which extract the metadata from emails filed into SharePoint so that they are filed with the correct field names and those fields are populated. Doing this allows for much more efficient storage and searching.
  • The technical/configuration side of it is not as intuitive as I would like it to be.
  • Can be clunky and temperamental at times in that you could be working on setting up a SharePoint site and it could all just seize up. This could, however, be down to the infrastructure in our company.
  • Easier and better differentiation for users so that they can easily understand the differences between SharePoint and OneDrive (my.sharepoint).
Since a lot of companies are looking to have more of a global presence there is a need for more collaborative working between different teams and departments across the globe. SharePoint brings together MS Teams, OneDrive, Yammer and Delve in order to make collaborative working possible and that much easier. I would only really recommend using SharePoint for large organizations or companies that are looking to work more closely with their counterparts in other countries within the same company. Collaboration should be the biggest incentive for using SharePoint.
Read Jeet Sohpal's full review
Mohamad CHAABAN | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Ms SharePoint: tried it and I'm satisfied

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used within our bank to store all the documents for all the departments (HR, IT, the Cards Team, etc.) It is used to share any new documents or updated when a document is modified.
  • Easy to configure
  • Easy way to share your documents
  • Makes transparency easy
  • None, as I didn't work with any thing other than MS SharePoint
Well suited for big companies where you need to be transparent and up to date on documents to make sure your personnel is always up to date to the company’s vision.
Read Mohamad CHAABAN's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

Good for central location storage

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SharePoint is being used across our organization on a per project basis to manage and share documents. We also share information with our clients using Microsoft SharePoint. The controls within SharePoint make it easy to control who has access to certain documents so only those who need access to a certain project have access.
  • Microsoft SharePoint provides controlled access to information.
  • Microsoft SharePoint allows users to access information remotely.
  • Microsoft SharePoint allows collaborative work.
  • The user interface for SharePoint is not exactly intuitive.
  • To get the software set up correctly and to your liking, you have to have a lot of knowledge and time to customize the software.
  • Basic functions and navigation seem difficult.
I think MS SharePoint is well suited for larger organizations, but not as much so for smaller organizations. The amount of customization and setup time may be a time suck for smaller organizations. I suggest that any companies that consider using SharePoint have a robust IT department to set up and administer the software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2019

SharePoint Service Desk solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SharePoint as a service desk solution, including ticketing, asset inventory, purchase requisition, and project tracking. We also support several departments using SharePoint as a intranet solution. We went with SharePoint as a solution for the flexibility it provided us, while there are some drawbacks for the most part we can mold it into whatever we would like. This does require staff able to spend the time to configure and manage SharePoint though.
  • Flexible - able to make any changes we would like vs traditional service desk system.
  • ROI - We were already using SharePoint for internal intranet, so we are simply getting more use out of licensing we had already committed to.
  • Easy to use for end users.
  • Staff time - flexibility is great but in order to benefit you do need to have staff able to configure and manage SharePoint.
  • Reporting - reporting leaves something to be desired both directly within sharepoint and with SQL reporting services.
If you have staff resources to dedicate to building out SharePoint it is worth looking into, however if you don't have staff you should consider finding a vendor who can build out your environment to suit your needs. Vendor / consultant might make this less attractive over turnkey solution for intranet / service desk though.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2019

SharePoint allows a team to work together easily to achieve shared goals.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use MS Sharepoint/SQL across the enterprise with a number of SharePoint farms supporting different customers who have different needs. It allows a single place for all users to collaborate on work and projects. The ability to easily share information with other users with a familiar interface allows us to address communication issues.
  • Easy to share information with colleagues or partners within or outside of the organization.
  • Easy to learn quickly, people are used to the interface.
  • Everyone likes talking about themselves, SharePoint gives users a place to do that if they so wish.
  • Setting up an external facing SharePoint site securely can be a challenge.
  • Permissions can be difficult for users to set up and maintain.
  • Setup can be intimidating as it can require many servers if you split all the roles out.
SharePoint is a good fit in organizations where the users are vocal and enjoy sharing information in a social media-type style. It is easy to pick up and use for most people. SharePoint pages can be easily customized.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2019

MS SharePoint - CMS done right

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our marketing firm, we have been heavy consumers of Microsoft products. As our company started to expand globally and due to the presence of many remote employees, we felt the need of using a proper content management system to improve interdepartmental collaboration. MS SharePoint was the natural choice for us mainly due to our existing alliance with Microsoft.
  • Access and sharing through users is role-based and very familiar to the regular Microsoft Office suite.
  • Document versioning and backups is a breeze.
  • Microsoft SharePoint is one of the best tools for sharing and collaborating on internal documentation.
  • Exposing websites outside the intranet can be really challenging.
  • Customizations to provide the same look and feel to make it compliant with other company resources can be daunting as well.
Sharepoint backed with MS SQL was the right tool for us in managing our business content for projects and business deadlines. It allows us to safely host content and allow real-time collaboration on documents.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Haberkern | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL ... Too much of a good thing?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint was the cornerstone of the business' collaboration. It was used and browsed daily by hundreds of employees, searching anything from new employees, to employee of the month, from days-off calendar to weekly-meetings. This thing was used and used well. Our business had such a demand that we had a dedicated SharePoint Engineer to develop workflows for processing documents and spreadsheets, etc...
  • Workflows
  • As a team collaboration tool
  • As a documentation datastore
  • A repository of knowledge, like a wiki page
  • It can get extremely complex, outside the knowledge of a system admin
  • Will eventually take a dedicated backend engineer
  • Can sometimes need too much work
MS SharePoint works well when a business wants to get rid of their antiquated intranet and upgrade to a robust experience like SharePoint. With so many workflows and options, it can get extremely complex, so be weary that once all the departments know of this product, they are going to want to have it for their department collaboration and workflow service
Read Michael Haberkern's full review
Sirish Vadala | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2019

Perfect Data Integration Tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sharepoint is used across all the departments in the organization. Sharepoint enables us to monitor, collect, and analyze critical business data from desktops, smartphones, or any Internet-enabled devices, in order to achieve an accurate view of business operations.
  • Extremely convenient to collaborate effectively by setting up websites for sharing information related to projects.
  • Enables users to manage documents with interactive dashboards and graphs to analyze organizational needs.
  • Easy to customize, providing options to edit components and create your own custom applications to suit your organization.
  • Excessive features can sometimes be overwhelming and difficult to locate. Also, configuring security is slightly complicated unless you are a SharePoint developer.
  • Sometimes the application freezes and locks up. However, this could be due to the network configuration from my organization's end.
  • Loading the calendars is sometimes slow and freezes.
Extremely well suited when interacting with a large audience. Also integrates seamlessly with MS office products like MS Word and MS Excel. Easy to build a portal and customize for each set of users. Not well suited when speed is of the essence. Sometimes loading the calendars and data is pretty slow for huge datasets.
Read Sirish Vadala's full review
Tim Slater | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Great Collaboration Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used in our organization to facilitate collaboration on the production of technical reports that will be made available to the public. It is a very effective tool for our technical report preparation and allows various teams to seamlessly contribute by marking up the documents from any platform. Office Online Server is used in conjunction with SharePoint naming the overall package a winner.
  • The collaboration of Technical Reports.
  • Has a good search feature.
  • Ease of posting content.
  • Updates can be tricky to apply.
  • Implementation is difficult.
  • It is hard to find good SharePoint consultants at reasonable rates.
Collaboration among teams is a good use case. This is the primary usage within our organization. It is easy for the teams of varied skill levels to make edits to ongoing technical reports easily. With the integration of Office Online Server, it allows any platform to support the Office Suite of products to make edits on the documents posted to SharePoint. A use case that is less compelling involves the records management. While the basics are provided, in order to facilitate the disposition and destruction of company records third-party software is required. This adds another layer of complexity.
Read Tim Slater's full review
Stephen Swan | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

SharePoint Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our university uses SharePoint as our intranet portal. Each department created content for their areas and keeps it up to date. A governance committee works with IT to make larger changes to the main page and other areas as needed. SharePoint allows a fully collaborative environment so that IT is not the sole source of support. A large portion of our content is stored in this platform as well as being a launchpad for other web applications.
  • Collaboration. Our entire university is involved in making SharePoint a success.
  • Integration. As we are primarily a Microsoft shop, integration with Office and other Microsoft products is key for us.
  • Performance/Design. Microsoft has designed their systems to scale for any environment.
  • Learning Curve. SharePoint has a steep curve to figure out what it is and is not and what is required to get everything working together for complete functionality.
  • Sprawl. The number of servers required can be daunting.
  • SharePoint is only a basis for eventual use. Even functional items like consistent backups, workflows, and forms really require other products to perform.
MS SharePoint / SQL is well suited for the Intranet portal. Development and customization is a little difficult. SharePoint has definite limits on how it can look. As a result, it is a poor choice for most customer facing web pages where dynamic content is a necessity. It is based upon structural consistency. Otherwise, it is very flexible.
Read Stephen Swan's full review
Florence Birgen | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2018

MS SharePoint / SQL product review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MS SharePoint / SQL in our IT department. It’s a good collaborative and project management tool. It also allows us collect, share and generate meaningful reports in our company. MS SharePoint / SQL being cloud hosted it allows access from anywhere, internally and externally. It's also easily customizable and easy to use. If you are talking about third-party integration it still scores some good points.
  • File version. This helps users stay informed of file version they are using and what changes have been done.
  • SharePoint is a great document management solution. Allows you publish and share information within an organization.
  • Collaborative capabilities. This maximizes the organization’s productivity.
  • The price is high. It could be a good thing if they ever consider bringing its cost slightly down.
  • Integration. Sometime integrating other applications and customization can be difficult especially after every update
MS SharePoint is basic and would come in handy when trying to centralize departmental data. It will help you collaborate and generate necessary reports. It will also keep users informed of the current file version they are on and what changes have been made. I feel like when dealing with a bigger organization there are better tools out there to use. Those that can handle huge and complex data.
Read Florence Birgen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (35)
7.8
Customizable dashboards (50)
8.4
Report Formatting Templates (43)
7.7
Drill-down analysis (39)
7.8
Formatting capabilities (48)
8.2
Integration with R or other statistical packages (29)
8.1
Report sharing and collaboration (46)
8.5
Publish to Web (49)
8.9
Publish to PDF (45)
8.5
Report Versioning (42)
9.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (39)
8.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (31)
8.1
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (32)
7.7
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (31)
7.7
Predictive Analytics (27)
7.1
Multi-User Support (named login) (55)
9.1
Role-Based Security Model (58)
8.9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (61)
9.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (50)
9.1
Responsive Design for Web Access (51)
8.3
Dedicated iOS Application (31)
8.5
Dedicated Android Application (28)
8.3
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (36)
8.0
REST API (25)
8.8
Javascript API (24)
8.4
iFrames (25)
8.3
Java API (24)
8.2
Themeable User Interface (UI) (30)
8.3
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (20)
7.2

About MS SharePoint / SQL

MS SharePoint / SQL refers to Microsoft Sharepoint, a web-based collaborative platform, being used in tandem with Microsoft SQL Server to provide business intelligence analytics and reporting. They can provide BI content such as data connections, reports, scorecards, dashboards, and more.

MS SharePoint / SQL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No