MySQL Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
785 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (51-75 of 102)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is a powerful open source database. We use cloud-hosted instances of this database to host our cloud-based subscription software application. The database is efficient and easy to use from a software developer standpoint. It is the backbone of our mobile and web-application which has been using MySQL for over 10 years.
  • I am able to use the online database interface PHP MyAdmin interface which is open-source, to manage my schema, manage users, and roles.
  • MySQL provides a nice client to manage multiple databases, remote, or local to perform database operations from a clean UI.
  • I am able to script database backup and restore operation very easily using a few simple commands.
  • MySQL integrates nicely with PHP but is also support connectors to Java and many other programming languages.
  • Features have lagged over the past 5 years since Oracle purchased it
  • The open-source community hasn't been able to make improvements to MySQL like a true open source project would permit
  • Upgrading from version-to-version has been a bit difficult
Databases that are hosted on Linux at popular hosting companies.
Open-source projects or databases with simple interfaces or web-services using PHP.
Large databases that host single applications with a reasonable number of concurrent users.
As a back-end for Java or PHP applications.
As a back-end for WordPress or Drupal websites.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2018

MySQL Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MySQL in AWS as a replacement for DynamoDB. We feel MySQL is pretty simple, lightweight and is suitable for our need. It is being used by several teams in the organization. It depends on the teams themselves to decide which database is best to use. It has been great so far.
  • Simple to develop
  • Powerful enough
  • Perfromance Scaling
Pretty good but not sure about performance scaling.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

MySQL open source

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is very helpful for us to manage databases of our project. It makes us easy to maintain the data secured. MySQL features allows us to configure the database server with the best performance.
  • MySQL provides improvements in data integrity, security and developer agility.
  • It has additional features that facilitates high performance.
  • It is an open source database.
  • It has proprietary, close sourced modules.
  • It is easy to use.
  • When dealing with certain functions, it has some stability issues.
  • For using certain features, it depends on applications and add-ons
In my experience, MySQL is very easy to use. For database management, it is a better option for software developers and engineers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have to use our department vice for creating the database, tables, functions etc. We have to store a large amount of data and MySQL provides good data management also.
  • Import and export the databases. It shows relational graphs between the tables.
  • Very use full tool for area development and pilot testing.
  • Handling a huge amount of data and good data management.
  • Entry-relationship model chart.
  • The basic SQL functions and stored procedures.
  • Does not allow data partitions.
  • Works perfectly for small data sets.
  • Lack of documentation for some functions.
  • Difficult time to find the commands and functions.
MySQL server varies from other database servers. Its architectural characteristics are very useful and have a wide range of purposes. MySQL is not perfect but it's close enough to work very well for current situation environment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2018

You get so much for $0.00

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is used by all teams across the organisation. It is the primary tool for database communications. My team primarily uses it to manage database connections, define user access and privilege, and to set up new tools to pull data from our database. It is fairly easy to use, and seems like the obvious choice of tool.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Fairly lightweight.
  • Covers a large spectrum of use cases - from data security to database connectivity to much more.
  • Can be a bit dodgy to use when highly scaled.
  • Offers very few data types to work with.
  • The UI occasionally crashes when trying to kill a complex query (esp with nested queries).
One of the best things about MySQL is that you do not have to worry about the cost! MySQL will work well for use cases across any type of business - small start-up to mammoth enterprise. Covers most use cases for database manipulation. It is just extremely easy to use too!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL allows us to quickly stand up temporary databases for test and non-enterprise solutions. This speed and efficiency allows for quicker Pilot and Proof of Concept trials before moving into full EDW.
  • Quick SQL Database standup
  • PoC Testing outside of EDW
  • Easy to use and implement free standing of our full enterprise environment.
  • None
Great for free standing quick DB standup for Pilot Testing and PoC
Read this authenticated review
benjamin nzoka | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 08, 2018

Great simplicity

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is a great database that is used to store data from the users of our applications. It is very reliable and fast, and does not have any downtime. The software engineering department recommends to use MySQL as it is simple to implement and get started.
  • It is open source and easily available
  • MySQL went from 4 CPU threads to 64 CPU threads, which doubled the number of concurrent connections
  • The simplicity in use and startup is great.
  • MySQL 5.6, split one of the crucial locks in the MySQL Server, the LOCK_open, which improved the top performance.
  • Big users for example Linux are moving to MariaDB which does not look good on MySQL
  • There are no patches being released or public roadmaps provided for it.
  • You may spend a lot of time and effort to get MySQL to do things that other systems do automatically, like create incremental backups.
The new MySQL is great for areas where one requires concurrent database connections from users. It is fast and easy to manipulate.
MySQL cannot be used to store data inside applications that are run on android mobile. Instead they have to use TinyDB or any other alternative in order to not lag the application.
Read benjamin nzoka's full review
Parry Ghuman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using MySQL to store customers' invoices and settlement data. We also store different products' GUI data into the MySQL database. It also keeps track of customers issues.
  • Easy to create dynamic queries and complex procedures.
  • Creating indexes on a large amount of data is very easy as it provides suggestions in the SQL server tool.
  • It always provides best query performance with joins.
  • It takes time to create indexes on the table if we have a large amount of data.
  • Crashing problem when we forcefully cancel the running query.
  • It does not handle the undefined exception even if we have specified try-catch blocks.
Easy to implement and join dynamic queries. It provides a feature to create and retrieve data through different tables with the help of subqueries. Easy to handle a large amount of data with the help of multiple indexes.
Read Parry Ghuman's full review
Nikita kumari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We store customer query data into a MySQL database, as we keep the record of every user into our database so it is easy to check the status of their queries.
  • Easy to add joins on tables.
  • Easy to keep records of every user.
  • Protection from an unauthorised user as we have to provide a valid username and password while logging into SQL DB.
  • It should create indexes automatically if a table has a large amount of data.
  • It should add a feature so that we can restrict access to a particular table from a database.
  • Need improvement in query performance.
If we have complex or dependency data we always prefer to use MySQL as it provides an RDBMS feature. If we have a larger amount of data it does not give a better performance.
Read Nikita kumari's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organisation as it supports multiple platforms. Our employees have all the information they need in front of them in a compiled, organised manner.
  • Perfect for organisation and analysing data
  • Easy to install and use - very user-friendly interface
  • Easily understood documentation and great for having everything arranged in one place.
  • Doesn't support ARRAY and other more detailed data types.
  • It can be quite slow at times if it's processing large amounts of data.
  • The user help guides could be more indepth.
Even though My SQL does have it's cons, it also is the easiest software to use for data organisation and analytics.
Read this authenticated review
Joseph R. Sweeney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL proved to be an extremely useful tool for my previous company when it came to database management and training those employees unfamiliar with it. We were not a database management heavy team, and we were also not integrating all of our database sources properly before introducing MySQL. MySQL provided the means by which we could easily incorporate many of the features that other database management systems use but were also able to test it out with its low cost (aka, free) and flexibility.
  • Ease of use since this is basically a sort of "starter" tool to get database management going.
  • Low cost - Instead of going in semi-blind and spending a lot of money on a BI solution that you are not sure about, you can try the Community version of MySQL and see if it fits your needs.
  • Data tool integration is phenomenal and allows for companies to expand their databases into other programs that provide more robust capabilities as well as handling more data as the company grows.
  • Independently, MySQL can be tough to use with large datasets. It becomes increasingly slower with the more data you are working with. So unless you are using another database management tool, it can take a while.
  • Before the recent upgrades, MySQL took a while to integrate features such as JSON into it. The responsiveness needs to be much quicker to keep up with the increasing demand.
MySQL is fantastic for those who just want to dip their toes in the water, as well as those Olympic style swimmers who are much more advanced. It is extremely flexible and there is a ton of support out there due to its increased popularity as a BI tool. I would definitely recommend using another BI tool that could integrate several MySQL databases together to avoid any lag times with reporting.
Read Joseph R. Sweeney's full review
Willian Molinari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is still the most used database towards my company projects. We use it as the main database for our applications and it's doing well since 2010.
  • It is simple to install and manage
  • It's battle tested, many applications are using it.
  • The problem with its split to MariaDB broke part of its community
  • Some types of data are not consistent, the database does not enforce some kinds of data
  • It lacks some formats, like json for exeple
When you're building a small website or a blog (with Wordpress, for example) it will suit just fine. As a developer, it's pretty easy to keep a version of MySQL running and manage it for many sorts of applications.
Read Willian Molinari's full review
Bhargav Nanekalva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MySQL for all our web applications in our company. We needed a relational database to store persistent user and business data. I have used PostgreSQL in the past and it's great too. Since PHP and MySQL are a more common stack, we have chosen MySQL over other databases. This is particularly useful if one chooses to migrate their infrastructure to a different vendor since a lot of them support MySQL out of the box. MySQL provides much-needed security, scalability and updates that are backed by Oracle.
  • Large number of driver implementations for different languages. Programmer just needs to plug and play.
  • Just like most of other relational databases, it is extremely advanced in terms of performance over complex queries.
  • It's open source and is a cross platform application.
  • It's relational.
  • Inconvenient agile development and deploy because of very slow DDL for large tables.
  • There is some uncertainty in licensing for Oracle's Community Edition. It's free but not free, more like freemium. Oracle needs to treat MySQL like the real open source product it was always intended to be.
  • Query optimization can get a bit tricky if you are running a lot of complex queries, implying a bit of maintenance expenditure.
  • MySQL has grown and has come a long way with its community and developers. Scaling was once an issue but now it's very much possible to scale as big as one wants.
  • MySQL suits for applications of any size, especially data-driven applications.
  • MySQL is known for web applications but it can be used for any kind of application.
  • It is less appropriate if you don't have a need for a large database and complex tables and queries. In this case SQLite is a more suitable option.
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
Andrew Shell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MySQL as the database for all of our products and websites. We have two software as a service (SaaS) products that are set up using master/slave replication and several WordPress sites that also use MySQL as a backend. We're very happy with how easy it is to set up, configure and operate MySQL databases. We use the MySQL Community Edition.
  • It's very dependable. I know how to get it running and keep it running. I don't have to worry about it going down in the middle of the night.
  • For our needs it's fast. Every new version seems to run faster.
  • Easy. MySQL has been around for a long time. There is a ton of documentation and tools to make using it effortless.
  • Setting up replication takes some effort. It's not bad once you've done it, but I still need to reference the documentation every time I need to set up a new slave.
  • Oracle owning MySQL means that they don't put everything into the community edition because they want to sell licenses to their commercial editions.
  • Might not be the best performance at very large scales.
MySQL is my go-to database for all of my PHP applications. I'm not sure how well it's supported in other environments. It would seem a lot of Python apps use PostgreSQL but I found it difficult to configure. If you're deploying a small to medium size app I doubt you could go wrong with MySQL. It's available in most shared hosting environments and all the big open source CMSs support it (WordPress, Drupal, Joomla).
Read Andrew Shell's full review
Christopher Weiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2016

MySQL is tried and true

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use MySQL in a variety of ways both internal to Dewpoint and among our customers:

1. It is the backend utility database for a variety of tools such as Jira, Bugzilla, NoSQL tools, etc.
2. It is an application database for some web based applications.
3. It is a caching database used at local customer sites for larger applications.
4. It is a prototyping database during initial phases of development before deploying on a more expensive RDBMS such as Oracle or SQL Server.

MySQL represents a reliable and simple database that supports standard SQL with good tools and good integration points.
  • It is incredibly simple to implement even across operating systems such as Windows and Linux.
  • It is very easy to configure and manage. Setting parameters and memory profiles is very straightforward, backups are simple, and stopping, starting, and deploying are very easy.
  • The different storage engines represent distinctive features sets and allow for flexible feature rich deployments within the same database.
  • It follows the more extended name space used by products such as SQL Server and Sybase. This namespace is more flexible.
  • MySQL simply doesn't scale as well as commercial databases. It seems to reach a performance plateau where you are then required to shard the data into different instances to get the performance you need.
  • The stored procedure and programming language is too limited compared to TSQL or PL/SQL.
  • Configuring the different storage engines is cumbersome to enable features like spatial queries. It would be helpful if all features could run out of the InnoDB storage engine.
  • It lacks some of the higher end features of commercial databases such as flashback recovery, updateable views, etc.
MySQL works extremely well for small to mid sized web applications using open source stacks like LAMP or Java. The integrations are strong and the administration works out extremely well. MySQL is indispensable as a tools database. You can see this in its consistent usage in this capacity for over 15 years. I would not use MySQL for a large complex enterprise systems with terabyte databases and complex deployments.
Read Christopher Weiss's full review
Patrick Parkhill | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2016

My database - MySQL!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Through an acquisition a company that used MySQL to store their data was added to our line of products. These new products continue to run on MySQL supporting very large data stores with high availability. We also have several third party and in house tools which utilize MySQL. These tools range from our production change tracking application to an Oracle supported 3rd party application with terabytes of data.
  • Cost: MySQL is still available for free. If you have a server, you can set up a MySQL server quickly at no cost.
  • Ease of use: Oracle, SQL Server, Vertica and other large players have a steep learning curve to administer. MySQL is less complex. For a quick and easy database, very little knowledge is needed. MySQL is mature and has a vast knowledge base. With the right people, MySQL can become a very scalable solution for many enterprise applications.
  • Maturity: MySQL is a mature software package. It has been used on countless applications. It is a very popular pick for web applications as well as installed and SaaS applications. MySQL is clearly not a fad. It is a mature database offering.
  • Clustering: MySQL does have some clustering options. None of these compare to RAC from Oracle. Each instance of MySQL requires its own data store, this can become costly. Further, in extremely heavy write environments, the replication between the servers can become backed up, this is a difficult problem to correct, and often severely impacts performance.
  • Features: With money comes features. Big name databases such as Oracle and SQL Server have plan caching, robust partitioning, RAC(Oracle), robust optimization and support. Adding Oracle or even third party support to MySQL can be very expensive. This would put an enterprise in the position to consider Oracle or another solution.
  • Misunderstanding: This is not necessarily a flaw in MySQL, however in my career I have seen a lot of it. MySQL is a complex database solution. It is not to be taken more lightly than other database products. A bad design from an inexperienced engineer can take a low cost start up application to a high cost emergency as it scales. Architecture, proper query writing, thoughtful indexing and design are paramount to the success of any application. MySQL is no different. I have seen many companies make the mistake of starting with inexperienced engineers and rush a product to market. This may be low cost, or in some cases no cost. When the product matures and volumes increase, problems, sometimes big present themselves.
MySQL is a great database for web applications, cloud applications, and really any application. It has a great feature set and is easy to launch and get off the ground. It gives individuals a chance to explore a database at little or no cost. It gives companies that would otherwise not be able to afford Oracle a chance to start. MySQL is a great relational database solution. It is the M in LAMP, which essentially creates an instant web based application.

MySQL can start to struggle with extreme writes. Vertica, Oracle and other platforms seem to handle these somewhat better.
Read Patrick Parkhill's full review
Ajay Akunuri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is used by my team for a dashboard that we created. Our whole organization was using Oracle and db2, but we started using this to create our own dashboard which will be shared with all the teams for monitoring purposes. This is very cheap and we didn't have to spend much on this and it's very easy to install and easy for us to troubleshoot issues.
  • It's very easy to install and use. Once installed, we didn't have any issues and never had to reach out to our IT teams for support. The UI was very easy to use even for the first timer.
  • We have some complex queries for the data in our dashboard and it used to take a lot of time. The dashboard had a lag in showing the data. After migrating to MySQL, data was loading much faster on the UI because of MySQL.
  • There was an issue when using the MySQL UI and as most of the team is used to SQL developer, they pressed control and enter and it executed all the update statements that are there on that page instead of executing just that query, which is very annoying.
This is very useful when we need it for a small project and it's easy to use and manage. This is cheap as well. There are not many options in data manipulations as compared to Oracle. If it is for a big organization, I feel Oracle is better.
Read Ajay Akunuri's full review
Kevin Dimond | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2016

MySQL for the People

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The choice to use MySQL was obvious because it was open source, easily accessible and free. I needed to deliver a web app that would target a small initial audience and scale to a wider audience in a short period of time. I could have chosen other offerings but I needed to deliver this app in a short delivery window. With the help of MySQL, I was able to meet that deadline and scale the app to thousands of users. While it was eventually replaced by another application, it always ran smoothly, and never went down. MySQL will always be my first database love.
  • Quick deployment
  • Ease of use
  • Scalability
  • Performance
  • Full joins are not supported but you can emulate them
  • No check constraints
If you need to provide a working prototype quickly, MySQL is the first database I grab. If you need to build a small and efficient web appilcation, MySQL is the first choice. Further considerations must be made if you have large or epic installations that you are attempting to build. However, with that said, MySQL can handle just about anything you throw at it, if it's configured properly and your deployment is well thought out.
Read Kevin Dimond's full review
Yucheng Liu | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2016

MySQL review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MySQL for our music recommendation engines, zabbix monitoring backend database, batch job management for the QA team and automatic configuration management for OrderPath. MySQL is used by our operations and engineering departments. It is a great relational database choice and is free of license cost.
  • Easy to set up.
  • No heavy tuning needed.
  • Master-slave gives high availability.
  • Auto partitioning would be nice to have!
  • Unified storage engine (so user doesn't need to study different options.).
  • Stats report (similar to AWR in Oracle).
I would say MySQL is good for small companies who can not afford an Oracle license cost. For high transaction and high availability usage, you'll need very sharp mysql dbas and developers - the eventual cost may not be cheap. You get what you paid for. That's all!
Read Yucheng Liu's full review
Ali Ozkabak | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MySQL for one of my projects as a lightweight database to capture and report data from several Excel files.
  • I use sub-select to accomplish a complex query tasks.
  • I also like text searching in MySQL better than Oracle.
  • Updating data directly in the view is very convenient also.
  • In-clause with multiple fields like in Oracle would be helpful.
  • Full joins instead of left and right joins combined.
I prefer to use MySQL in smaller well controlled data sets both insert/update and selecting data for my reports. Works very well for me. However, in cases where there is a transactional data with large volume of data, it seems to cause performance issues for me.
Read Ali Ozkabak's full review
Steve Fan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is used in our software product, along with MongoDB. Our product manages customer's business files and emails. We use MySQL to store relational data. The product is an enterprise software for the Chinese market. The product has been marketed in China for over 3 years.
  • Free.
  • Easy to use.
  • Easy to find professionals to support it.
  • Tools for performance tuning.
  • Support more data volumes.
  • Professional services in Chinese market.
MySQL is an excellent alternative for Oracle database. The architects need to be aware of what to be stored in MySQL. MySQL is not proper for storing un-relational data. However, combining MySQL and NoSQL, creates great solutions for common problems. MySQL needs to be used properly to be effective.
Read Steve Fan's full review
Lyn Liberty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We built a robust content management system with mysql with a web front end, a MAMP stack. Our design approach including writing computation-heavy parts of the application in procedures which worked very well. We used triggers to track changes and states of data points that moved between different languages and therefore had to be treated differently. We got a lot of mileage out of an open source platform. Overall, it performed very well.
  • Shifting computations to the server-side and leveraging the power of the database engine made our application fast.
  • Our mysql databases were stable.
  • They were easy to manage in terms of user privileges, backups, etc.
  • At the time we built the CMS, we banned subqueries because they were so slow, however, their performance has been improved since then.
It really depends on type of project, of course. We had a problem as a team finding contractors to hire who were both familiar with mysql and more advanced database features and data modeling. Since it's open source and free to use, it suffers from being the go-to for very rudimentary application. In addition, I've seen some very idiosyncratic programming with mysql from developers obviously unaware of best practices in ETL and data modeling. With a properly skilled development team, however, you can really get a lot of value from mysql.
Read Lyn Liberty's full review
Ivan Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using MySQL as our transactional DBMS to support our web application. Our entire development organization utilizes the same instance of MySQL 5.6, hosted on AWS. By using MySQL we're able to store data about our users and manage state across our web application. We are currently looking at moving to a hosted version of MySQL in hopes of extracting a bit more performance out of the DB then we are currently getting.
  • quick setup, very easy to get it up and running even in a production environment
  • hugely supported in the web community, very easy to find drivers/interfaces/support for using MySQL
  • Can scale well through sharding, can also be a relatively high performance system with proper allocation and tuning
  • MySQL has poor support for user defined functions and stored procedures
  • windowing and some analytic functions are completely absent from the DBMS, this makes extracting some data much more difficult than it needs to be
  • The query optimizer/planner can be poor at times, often it chooses to neglect indices that could've been used on more complicated queries
MySQL is a great, all-purpose DBMS that most software engineers will probably know how to use. For this reason, it's a great choice for a backend to "hit the ground running", so to speak. Although it lacks some of the extra features you get with something like MSSQL or even PostgreSQL, it's ease of use and wide support has made it a bit of a standard when it comes to supporting a variety of different web applications.
Read Ivan Miller's full review
Carlos Eduardo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're currently using MySQL across the whole organization. MySQL stores all company data from every data source.
  • The facility to integrate to various programming languages. We use many diffrent programming languages to implement our business, so we had to choose a database solution that could support these programming languages, or at least the most of them. MySQL supports all programming languages used on our company and makes the integration very easy.
  • The flexibility. MySQL is very flexible in many ways. As we have a lot of different data types and our service demands fast data processing, with MySQL we were able to configure it to optimize our process, and of course, customized it to do the best for our company according to our needs.
  • With our experience, we felt the lack of a tool to make easier the administration of data in MySQL. The tools provided today are good, but very poor for some features and functions that demand some specificity or complexity.
In our experience, in addition to the traditional use of MySQL, it also very well suited to store and process web and online services data. We demand a lot of data processing from web and from our mobile services. MySQL has the perfect fit to supply our business demands and needs.
Read Carlos Eduardo's full review
Franck Leveneur | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mysql is being used across the while organization. MySQL is able to scale to our company's need, serving 10,000s of transactions per second. By adding slaves, we can quickly scale "reads" ; queries requiring to read only data vs adding data or updating / deleting existing ones.
  • Replication: Setting up Mysql replication is fairly easy. Replication is robust and stable and with Mysql 5.7, new features will allow to take replication to another level. (Multi-source)
  • Configuration: Mysql allows to configure some "variables" live without restarting the server.
  • Scales: Mysql can scale pretty well if properly configured and architected in the application eco-system.
  • Optimizing queries can be challenging. Having a tool to trace some queries could be useful.
  • Roles: Adding support for user role would be useful. Currently done via "proxy" i believe but it seems a little tricky.
Mysql is well suited for large scale transactional environments. A clear example is a recent post from an Uber engineer who switched from Postgres to Mysql. The fact that Facebook uses Mysql speaks for itself.
FullText search is weak on Mysql, this is understandable as the amount of data we deal with today are in the GB.
ES, Sphix, or Solr are better choices for searching text.
Mysql can scale for data warehouse up to a certain limit and certain type of queries.
ColumnStore architecture is the way to go : RedShift, SnowFLake, MemSQL, and MariaDB Beta of ColumnStore are better choices.
Read Franck Leveneur's full review

About MySQL

MySQL is a popular open-source relational and embedded database, now owned by Oracle.

MySQL Integrations

MySQL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No