SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation)

SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation)

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.5 out of 100
Top Rated
SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation)

Overview

Recent Reviews

SAP BPC

6 out of 10
March 10, 2022
The goal of utilizing SAP BPC (business planning and consolidation) is to be able to better plan and consolidate business.
Continue reading

Easy Business Planner

9 out of 10
February 28, 2022
SAP BPC was used in a previous company I was employed in to aid in the organization of business expenses. Also, it was used in order to …
Continue reading

SAP BPC Review

6 out of 10
December 28, 2019
BPC is used by our entire organization to do budgeting for the year. A BI team loads the data using custom SSIS components and a custom …
Continue reading

Comprehensive Features

10 out of 10
April 11, 2019
The user interface is similar. It uses MS Excel so it is very adaptable. Internal and external reporting has been made super easy.
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019

Popular Features

View all 25 features

Management Reporting (36)

8.3
83%

Excel-based Reporting (36)

7.7
77%

Forecasting (37)

7.5
75%

Management reporting (37)

7.0
70%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation), and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation)?

The SAP BPC software is designed to help users plan and achieve a faster, more accurate close. The SAP BPC software aims to help users spend more time growing their business and less time closing books. The vendor’s value proposition is that their software delivers planning, budgeting,…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

13 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is SAP Analytics Cloud?

The SAP Analytics Cloud solution brings together analytics and planning with integration to SAP applications and access to heterogenous data sources. As the analytics and planning solution within SAP Business Technology Platform, SAP Analytics Cloud supports trusted insights and integrated planning…

What is Oracle Cloud EPM?

Oracle’s complete EPM suite is designed to give users the agility needed to respond to change faster. Combined with the simplicity of the cloud, it enables companies of any size to drive accurate and agile plans across finance and operational lines of business, accelerate financial consolidation…

Features Scorecard

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting

7.5
75%

Consolidation and Close

8.1
81%

Financial Reporting and Compliance

8.2
82%

Analytics and Reporting

8.1
81%

Integration

7.5
75%

Product Details

What is SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation)?

The SAP BPC software is designed to help users plan and achieve a faster, more accurate close. The SAP BPC software aims to help users spend more time growing their business and less time closing books. The vendor’s value proposition is that their software delivers planning, budgeting, forecasting, and financial consolidation capabilities in a single application. This, in turn, enables them to easily adjust plans and forecasts, speed up budget and closing cycles, and ensure compliance with financial reporting standards.

According to the vendor, with SAP BPC users can:
•Make better decisions based on what-if analyses and scenario planning
•Use collaboration tools to improve accountability and planning accuracy
•Shrink cycle times, close the books faster, and align their plans with strategic goals •Get real-time access to data in SAP S/4HANA Finance
•Run on their platform of choice – SAP BW/4HANA, SAP NetWeaver or on Microsoft •Engage in further visualization and predictive analysis leveraging SAP Analytics Cloud in a seamless manner

SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features

  • Supported: Long-term financial planning
  • Supported: Financial budgeting
  • Supported: Forecasting
  • Supported: Scenario modeling
  • Supported: Management reporting

Consolidation and Close Features

  • Supported: Financial data consolidation
  • Supported: Journal entries and reports
  • Supported: Multi-currency management
  • Supported: Intercompany Eliminations
  • Supported: Minority Ownership
  • Supported: Local and consolidated reporting
  • Supported: Detailed Audit Trails

Financial Reporting and Compliance Features

  • Supported: Financial Statement Reporting
  • Supported: Management Reporting
  • Supported: Excel-based Reporting
  • Supported: Automated board and financial reporting

Analytics and Reporting Features

  • Supported: Personalized dashboards
  • Supported: Color-coded scorecards
  • Supported: KPIs
  • Supported: Cost and profitability analysis
  • Supported: Key Performance Indicator setting
  • Supported: Benchmarking with external data

Integration Features

  • Supported: Flat file integration
  • Supported: Excel data integration
  • Supported: Direct links to 3rd-party data sources

SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) Screenshots

SAP BPC Home ScreenSAP BPC Web ClientSAP BPC DashboardSAP BPC Web Report

SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) Video

SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) Integrations

SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) Competitors

SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Multi-currency management and Personalized dashboards highest, with a score of 8.8.

Who uses SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation)?

The most common users of SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 38)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used SAP BPC for annual budgeting, quarterly forecasting, monthly Budvar analysis, and periodic external/internal reporting. We wanted to have an integrated suite of solutions that center around our ERP system, SAP. BPC was used globally throughout the organization.
  • Integration with SAP actual results.
  • Drilldown capabilities.
  • Works well with Excel presentation.
  • User interface not intuitive.
  • Frequent system downtime/issues.
  • No real-time update of entries.
Well suited: integrated ERP system using one instance of SAP; uniform reporting processes. Less appropriate: non-SAP system; complex scenario analysis needs.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
mainly use for change control and change management in product life cycle management and reporting purpose.
  • Detailed tracking at granular level
  • access management
  • traceability
  • reporting
  • user friendliness
  • UI improvement
  • Search capabilities
  • Reporting
it is well suited when detail tracking of many product level changes to happen and less appropriate when you have to get data instantly through reporting and edit those data manually as searching is quite cumbersome.

microsft
March 10, 2022

SAP BPC

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The goal of utilizing SAP BPC (business planning and consolidation) is to be able to better plan and consolidate business.
  • Business
  • Planning
  • Consolidation
  • Corporate
  • Forecasting
  • Divesting
SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) is very well suited for business forecasting and integration. It is not very good for situational divesting or diversification of assets. It integrates well with accounting and financial reporting systems. The SAP B4 Hana system is a prime example of this. It is very good for accountants, finance, and management.
We utilized SAP. They are a relatively well-known provider of software and solutions.
March 10, 2022

BPC made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Forecasting
  • Budgeting
  • Consolidation
  • Most of the utilities of BPC are very good for the netweaver version.
As discussed earlier, here are my thoughts about SAP BPC. We use SAP BPC at our company for the purposes of planning, budgeting, forecasting, and financial consolidation. We have integrated it with our BW system and it works perfectly fine. By using this, we certainly align our Financial and Operational plans and Reduce budget cycle time. SAP BPC has certainly provided more accurate information for less risk management planning and decision making.
PWC
February 28, 2022

Easy Business Planner

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BPC was used in a previous company I was employed in to aid in the organization of business expenses. Also, it was used in order to compensate employees for personal expenses that were used during business hours, such as mileage related to business travel. It is easy to organize, process payments, and have an easy learning curve for all employees that required no external training.
  • Expense organization.
  • Payment processing.
  • Ease of use for all users.
  • No external training needed for employees to understand use of SAP BPC.
  • Better implementation of mobile app.
  • Improvement of UI look, minor gripe.
  • Integrated chat support for quick answers to issues.
SAP BPC has a perfect use scenario for companies who have many different offices or need for organization of business expenses. Categorizing expenses is easy that any end-user is able to understand with no need for extensive training. Also, payment processing for the expenses is an easy and quick turnaround time. Companies or businesses with a small staff or minimal business expenses from multiple sources may not find value from SAP BPC.
I did not personally work closely with a service partner when my company helped deploy SAP BPC; I cannot comment on this.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BPC is a good tool to capture all the routine problems and document the scene for future reference. We supported for implementation of SAP BPC and worked for upgrades. We found this very effective.
  • Provides planning.
  • Provide Budget.
  • Forecast
  • Financial consolidation capabilities.
  • Performance management.
  • Adjust plans and forecasts.
  • Speed up the budget and closing cycles.
This is basically used to support all operational and financial activities and it does help in automating and Streamlining business forecast, planning, and consolidation activities.
We as a support partner implemented the SAP Business Planning and Consolidation to many companies.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BPC for budget planning for the entire organization. It is extensively used by the finance and accounts team to manage the budgets and create workflows that can help complete this exercise in a collaborative manner. All senior leaders are given access to the system and they have to enter their budgets which undergo an approval process and final consolidation at the organization level. The use case is - The central team which manages BPC makes the template for budgets - both capex and overheads at the beginning of every year. Then, they extend the template to all senior leadership and the leadership accesses it via Excel plugin called Analysis for Office. Then the senior leaders input their nos and then submit it. Once submitted, the finance team is able to get the consolidated view of the planned budgets and then they approve or reject it. This also has a workflow where after every step, an approval is needed from the immediate manager.
  • Budget Planning
  • Workflow for approvals
  • The tool can be used in a collaborative manner with different stakeholders
  • Excellent integration with MS Excel
  • The user interface is very bad
  • The software plugin on excel is very slow and it often hangs the entire system
It is well suited for doing a consolidated budget planning exercise across multiple functions and stakeholders. Our use case is - a template is created by finance team which is then extended to all stakeholders ( senior leadership that are responsible for budgeting). They then access it via plugin - Analysis for Office and then submit the budget nos. The software then consolidates it across functions and groups and then finance can review and approve it. The whole exercise is ale to get completed within a week due to the features of the software.
We developed all the workflows inhouse. We didn't take services of SAP team.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Primarily used for Sales planning for the upcoming quarter. The data is then fed to SAP Analytics Cloud for further reporting. Have also used SAP BPC for Master Data Governance, budgeting and forecasting to some extent. During planning cycle, What- if scenarios are discussed and course corrections are made with ease.
  • Data integration and connectivity
  • Hybrid set-up with SAP Analytics Cloud
  • Data Lifecycle Management
  • Forecasting Capabilities
  • Some kind of Top-down approach option for data entry would be appreciated
  • Reporting performance can be improved
Integrated planning capabilities for SAP BW data is great. Connectivity to SAP Analytics Cloud is appreciated and but the liveliness of the data can be improved. Traditional planning capabilities are the best with the advantage of Master Data Governance. Performance has improved a lot with the recent version but business users are not yet satisfied.
Cannot disclose the partner information but the experience was best though costly.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BPC is a well integrated product in SAP portfolio, specially where SAP is the underlying core ERP. This is used for the planning and the consolidation purpose. Planning relates to financial planning elements, like short term working capital and long term liquidity etc. Consolidation is for group reporting purpose for combining financial information of various legal entities.
  • Financial planning
  • Talking with the underlying SAP ERP without duplicating data
  • Group reporting capabilities
  • For complex planning scenarios, where e.g. Anaplan has more intuitive features
  • SAP BPC is more on-premise product and thus shift to cloud based offering of SAC and Group Reporting may be done for cloud first approach
The planning data is fetched real-time from the core ERP system and the update of planned figures are done on the fly, which provides scenario simulation for various use cases. It avoids the need to replicate data to BPC, solving data redundancy issues. The application is also easy to use.
N/A, as we are the consulting partner
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) is being used as part of a larger project integrating several different databases. The end goal is to get the data from some proprietary systems into a format that will line up with SAP and allow timely forecasts and accurate reporting of past sales, billing, etc. It's a useful tool for this type of consolidation, especially when the end goal is SAP.
  • Integrates with Excel.
  • Has APIs that can connect to all different types of databases.
  • Cube architecture allows for very big data
  • The refresh time for our spreadsheets is maddeningly slow.
  • It is not an intuitive product. I had to be taught how to unhide a tab in Excel because it doesn't let you unhide in the traditional way.
  • It's very easy to wipe out mountains of data with a few keystrokes. There's no "undo" feature for this. I haven't done it, but others have. The data is backed up elsewhere, but you still have to reimport it and clean it up.
If you are trying to consolidate finances and get information standardized across platforms, SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) is an excellent tool. Its mapping features allow you to normalize data. The programming is not simple - you will need an experienced developer (or two) to get the reports you need. A Data Entry clerk will need more training than they already have, so plan for that as well.
The project started as a blend of employees and independent contractors. Eventually, we used a consulting firm that specializes in IT for Entertainment. They are called OnPrem. The knowledge the consultants bring to this highly specialized line of business is invaluable. They have the best and brightest entertainment IT professionals.
December 28, 2019

SAP BPC Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BPC is used by our entire organization to do budgeting for the year. A BI team loads the data using custom SSIS components and a custom scripting language created by SAP. It addressed the problem of not being able to properly plan and consolidate financial information from disparate sources across the organization.
  • The Finance team loves it.
  • Custom reporting.
  • Custom SSIS components.
  • Custom scripting language.
BPC is good for what it says in its name. For planning your business and consolidating financial information and data across various disparate sources in your small or large enterprise. It really is geared towards larger organizations. If you were a small organization, you would be better using more basic software.
I can not divulge who our professional services partner is. However, their work was very professional, direct, and quick. They were very easy to work with.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we use both functionalities of SAP BPC: Planning and Consolidation.
  • Planning: With BPC we manage the financial budget across all the business units of the Company. We configured standard interfaces with the GL of our ERP (SAP R3) so we can easily measure the actuals vs. the annual plan. With the use of the EPM add-in for Excel, the financial users can create, consume and share reports.
  • Consolidation: With the interfaces from the General Ledger to BPC it is easy to acquire information (balances) for reporting purposes. Also, we have configured business rules such as inter-company eliminations, adjustments or journals, so by executing a package from the EPM add in for Excel the consolidation team has been empowered and there is no IT involvement in the process.
  • User friendly, with the use of the EPM add-in for Excel, business users can work in a familiar environment.
  • SAP Analytics Cloud easy and native integration for dashboarding purposes.
  • Can manage several business scenarios (versions): actuals, plan, forecast, etc.
  • For Consolidation, there is a required dimension for auditing purposes (audit trail) so it is useful for internal and external audits.
  • EPM add-in is only available for the Microsoft Windows Operating System.
  • In order to open or refresh an inform, it is required to have the EPM add-in for MS Office already installed.
  • Difficult to configure, ex. Script logic for ad-hoc adjustments.
In a traditional company that uses SAP ERP it is well suited. You can also acquire data from non-SAP data sources but it requires some technical skills to achieve this. It is great for reporting within Excel, can create local members (KPI) within reports, and has the advantage of all the functionalities that MS Office provides.
Must need a solid and experienced partner, must need the following specialist to deploy:
  • Basis
  • BW
  • Depending on the objectives or goals, you will need a BPC specialist on Planning scenarios or a high financial BPC expert for Consolidation.
Małgorzata Nitecka-Kubicka | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The software is used mainly by the financial department across the organization. I support the implementation and work on further improvements mainly around RPA. SAP BPC allows us to plan, budget and forecast using one tool which is fantastic and helps us to better understand the connections between single pieces of data. To add to this, these financial subjects are captured in a unified system which significantly improves data collection.
  • Front-end of SAP BPC is Excel-based, so drag and drop functionalities can be enabled to easily analyze figures
  • We can load data from different source systems
  • This software has helped to simplify, streamline and automate the whole budgeting process
  • Simplify data aggregation
  • Comply with changing local and international accounting standards
  • Protection on data could be better, since creating restrictions based on multiple combinations is quite difficult
  • The license is expensive
  • Performance when using dimensions with many massive data records could be improved
If you want your organization to analyze and transform all the data relevant for taking financial and managerial decisions, then SAP BPC will help a lot. you can easily create dashboards which allow one to better understand trends and results. However, one must keep in mind this is not a cheap system, but it is well worth the investment.
We mainly used our resources, however, there was/is support from an external company.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The user interface is similar. It uses MS Excel so it is very adaptable. Internal and external reporting has been made super easy.
  • Very useful in analyzing the data. We are using it to compare historical performances month by month to current months.
  • Great customer service.
  • The program is very easy to learn due to its Excel UI.
  • It brings several business units under one system and therefore data presented at the enterprise level is really solid.
  • Well integrated with HANA.
  • Implementation is very tricky. Make sure you know what you are looking for and what you will be using it for in the long run to be able to get best out of the software.
  • EPM Limitations.
  • Expensive for small and medium-sized companies.
Well suited for reporting and analyzing data.
SAP. Great to work with.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The use of BPCs within the organization of one of my clients has been fundamental to allowing highly skilled users in the area of business intelligence (professionals or very practical users in the BI sector) go into detail regarding well-defined processes of cost saving, reorganization of the company budget, and the restructuring and optimization of resources.
  • Perfect integration with SAP
  • The data, once made available and imported in the SAP environment, allows all users to use them immediately without having to implement any process of ETL or data manipulation
  • Is optimized for SAP S/4HANA , so the finance department has a complete suite available to manage projects at best in a single software that speaks with the same business terms
  • Working with extremely complex workbooks can have repercussions in terms of performance
  • While certainly suitable for personnel already skilled in using and knowing the whole Sap environment, the documentation regarding the potentialities and above all the functionalities of the product could be slightly improved.
  • Integration with SAP NetWeaver or Microsoft Excel requires good expertise for the implementation
If you are considering the use of SAP BPC you can be sure that you will be able to make appropriate business decisions, have a level of data processing in collaboration with your colleagues, make budgets based on precise predictive analysis, and you can follow different strategic objectives looking for the most appropriate planning.
September 26, 2018

SAP BPC

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BPC is used as Reporting tool of consolidation. It is used for monthly reporting (short Financial Statements) and quarterly reporting, including Intercompany reconciliation. We use also it to retrieve historical data based on different variants: i.e. IFRS/LOCAL GAAP/US GAAP, Local amount, Consolidated amount... etc.
  • Legal consolidation
  • Detailed reporting package
  • Retrieval of historical data
  • It's not user friendly
  • Depending on how it is implemented it is not as flexible as it should be, in case of changes in consolidation rules
It's well suited in the case of high skilled users. If I would need to use and share information through it with lower skilled person, it would be more difficult. For instance, it's used only by finance people even it contains a lot of operational information, because the operations managers are not able to understand it
In the past I sused PwC consultant, very good high professionality
May 18, 2018

SAP BPC is Dying

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BPC is used to support financial consolidations by Accounting team and for budgeting & forecasting (Capex, Headcount, Opex, Integrated Financial Planning) by FP&A team. It is used across the whole organization.
  • BPC NW version can use the functionalities of SAP BW for ETL and data warehousing.
  • Complex business requirements and logic can be built using SAP ABAP.
  • Can be scaled and support huge volume of data using SAP HANA capabilities.
  • SAP should focus on delivering one single product for planning, consolidation and budgeting needs rather than providing a large list of options to choose from.
  • The product is not very user-friendly compared to other cloud competitors. There is a heavy dependency on IT teams.
  • SAP BPC should come up a pure cloud option.
SAP BPC is well suited for complex planning and consolidations needs where the underlying transactional system is SAP ECC. It suits well if the organization has separate teams with BPC, ABAP, BW, Basis, Hana skillset.

SAP BPC is less appropriate for organizations using Agile methodology. It is not suitable for organizations in a hyper-growth cycle as the installation and implementation is time-consuming. It will not work for organizations where the planning and budgeting needs keep changing frequently. The UI of SAP BPC is not very intuitive and very difficult to set up a dynamic dashboard for senior executives and officials of CxO.
Column 5 team is very competent and handled the requirements and deliverables very well.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
We need a big support team with various skillset like BPC, ABAP, BW, HANA, FICO etc
Yes
Upgrades are time consuming and laborious.
April 10, 2018

SAP BPC Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses it for budgeting. Departments and offices enter annual expenses. Practice groups use it to track employees with annual billable hours and billable rates. Th finance and accounting department uses it for reporting as well as analyzing variances during the fiscal year. The system also is used for creating and updating revenue and expense forecasts during the year.
  • Allows for tracking of actual vs budgeted expenses. Can have multiple budgets or forecasts for comparison.
  • Can create reports that can be modified to show either department or office views of the data.
  • Allows for budgeting of production hours, billed hours and collections by individual timekeeper.
  • Data is not easily moved between modules. Several steps necessary to accomplish this.
  • Users often overwrite data entered by others. Need better controls for this.
  • Better reporting of changes between versions of a budget. In particular, the user who made the changes and what those changes were.
SAP BPC is helpful when an office, department or combination has multiple measurements to be reported on. The same layout can be leveraged to report on several different statistics. SAP BPC works well on ad-hoc reporting as the data is already summarized and totaled in the model and can be retrieved quickly as the summations are already complete. Reports that require multiple sections with different layouts are difficult to accomplish.
Column5 was the partner used for the design and implementation of the system. They have been very helpful and responsive. They have also held conferences and training sessions which have helped educate the users of the system.
March 27, 2018

BPC MS general reveiw

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BPC in our planning and forecasting for FP&A and consolidation for corporate reporting; as far as I know, we also use it for our international distribution.
  • Running ad-hoc reports
  • Researching on variance explanations
  • Creating standardized reports across the team
  • It'll be helpful to make the ID/description selection change a stand-alone button in the ribbon
  • Add back the option to select and copy ID's from the dimension dropdown
We are heavy BPC users and use it in almost every aspect of our daily job.
A consulting company helped us with our system upgrade. They are resourceful and professional.
March 23, 2018

Benefits of BPC

Jeffrey Suk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses SAP BPC for forecasting and analysis and is now currently undergoing implementation for consolidation. It's currently used by finance departments, and once it's implemented for consolidation will be used by Corporate Reporting and Corporate Accounting. One of the benefits of SAP BPC is that two finance teams (Financial Planning & Analysis and Corporate Reporting and Corporate Accounting) will now be using the same tool for internal and external reporting. This will eliminate the need for reconciling systems, which is currently a manual and many times frustrating task. Like many other companies before SAP BPC, my company currently heavily utilizes Excel for consolidation, which has its flaws including not being able to have multiple users edit the workbook and slow performance. On the Financial Planning & Analysis side, SAP BPC has been instrumental in collaborative work between all business segments and Corporate. It has increased performance and allowed for faster quarter closes.
  • SAP BPC is real time data. You can send information into the system and see it reflected in your reports immediately. Other systems may require a manual push into a reporting system.
  • SAP BPC is a shared reporting tool, so multiple users can be working in a model/environment at the same time, real time. This is especially helpful if your workbooks incorporated multiple processes requiring multiple users to get into the same model.
  • SAP BPC is a powerful tool designed to help all facets of the company, from cash flow to capital expenditures to headcount management to financial planning to consolidation.
  • An easily accessible resource page for quick how-to's and tips, as well as things to avoid (maybe a YouTube page).
  • In 10.1, one thing that was removed was the ability to go into the dimension and select multiple members/parents and copy-paste those into your workbook. Please bring this back.
  • When I have a BPC workbook open and a non-BPC workbook open, it slows down performance because whenever I'm toggling between the two workbooks as it's constantly bringing in the EPM context pane into the non-BPC workbook. Is there any way to disable this easily?
For a large company trying to bring processes and functions together with one tool, SAP BPC is a great solution. It requires hours of effort to implement and configure, which would not be appropriate for smaller companies. SAP BPC also requires dedicated resources to maintain the system on a day to day basis, as well as an administrator type personnel who can troubleshoot slow performance or issues with the system. You also need users who are willing and exciting to use this system and actually trust that this is a solution.
My company partnered with Column 5 to help deploy SAP BPC for financial planning many years ago, and they helped us upgrade from BPC 7.5 to BPC 10.1 this past year. Now they are helping us deploy SAP BPC for consolidation. My company has had a long relationship with Column 5, which is a testament to their professionalism and good work.
Anthony DePasquale | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it within our department of Financial Planning and Analysis only. It was initially used solely for its consolidation capabilities in order to better report and analyze data, both actuals and budget, with the budget being done in a separate application and loaded in. We have now implemented the planning cubes and use it to develop or annual budget and an annual reforecast with actuals still being loaded in at the end of each month.
  • Allows for full integration of data to be analyzed in real time. Although we still load actuals on a delayed basis (2 business days after month end), when developing the budget, we not longer have to do a full loading process from a different application into BPC prior to being able to report and analyze the current budget status to prior budget versions or actuals.
  • It is easy to learn basic report building. The hardest part is learning the available dimensions and the different possible combinations and their results, but that will also vary from company to company depending on the complexity of the industry.
  • Being from a law firm, the system needed a lot of custom tailoring in order to fit our full needs (although many companies could say the same thing). Although the ability to highly customize the system to the company's needs is a positive, it frequently results in the system responding in unexplainable and unrepeatable ways which negatively impacts and slows the budget process. Because of the sporadic nature and variety of the issues, we are unable to repeat them on cue and therefore cannot nail down a solution.
SAP BPC would be an ideal system for a company that handles budgeting and actuals for any of the expense, revenue, human capital, or capital expenditures areas, and is great for a company needing all of these areas in one place with full integration between them. One downfall that I see is that it can be difficult to start with the consolidation only (like many do) and then years later implement the planning cubes. Due to changes in the system over time, turnover in consultants and personnel between implementations, and evolving needs of a company it can sometimes be difficult to get the planning side to line up perfectly with the originally implemented consolidation cube which, although may not limit capabilities, can cause confusion when talking between different models.
Column 5 was used for both implementations (consolidation and planning). Based on my understanding of the initial implementation of consolidation, everything went well and the process was smooth. The development of the planning cubes was a little more difficult as there was a different consultant from C5 than the original implantation, and halfway through the development, the consultant left and had to be replaced. This caused some set backs and confusion as every consultant has their own technique and the new consultant couldn't always follow the rationale of what the original had done. The final consultant was great to work with and knowledgeable, but the turnover caused for some issues and could potentially be (just guessing) the reason for some issues we have experienced post-rollout.
March 21, 2018

SAP BPC, it’s OK

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use BPC as the consolidation and external reporting software. We have a basic planning implementation to support reporting. Data entry is primarily integrated from ECC with some topside entries made by corporate at the business level. Plans are entered at a business level directly into BPC via forms or pulled in from ECC.
  • Use of data sources allows easy identification of data origin. Ex: ECC, manual entry, management adjustment entry, ICC elimination, etc...
  • Reporting is generally fast if best practices are used to avoid performance hits.
  • There are a lot of BPC experts available to implement and provide training.
  • BPC out of the box is a blank slate and requires system development to be implemented. Generally will need to hire consultants to build and train your organization.
  • Many people are not familiar with multidimensional databases like BPC so there is a learning curve.
Well suited for organizational use as a planning tool that is integrated to the consolidated results. Can be implemented in such a way as to leverage driver-based planning methods and predictive analytics. Not well suited to organizations that are not willing to change their planning processes.
We used a combination of IBM and independent consultants in conjunction with SAP support. They were all knowledgeable and helpful.
Atul Rao, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

At the World Bank Group (WBG), SAP Business Planning and Consolidation (BPC) is used as a corporate performance management system to enable financial planning and management and to support the budget processes across IBRD, IFC, and MIGA.

  • BPC acts as the single source for all budget, revenues, expenses, forecast plans and eliminates the need for budget monitoring staff to maintain their own spreadsheets and legacy systems.
  • Results in substantial time and cost savings due to the reduction of manual errors and data redundancy, enhanced data quality, and data governance, and an expedited planning and monitoring cycle for unit level and corporate planners.
  • EPM Menu can be simplified.
  • Compatibility issues with MS Office 365 need to be resolved.
  • Single sign on needs to be implemented.

At The World Bank Group, the implementation of BPC has enabled resource managers, budget planners, HR business partners, and activity planners across the institution to plan for budgets and expenses related to staffing/fixed costs, revenues and expenses across all sources of funds, work program allocations, capital investments, and project-based activity costing, etc.

The BPC system allows senior management to communicate budget ceilings and thresholds for top-down planning while automating real-time aggregation and consolidation of bottom-up plans for consumption by corporate budget units to perform variance analysis.

Tata Consultancy Services (TCS)
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BPC is being used for consolidation purposes. It is being used by Finance Controllers. First all P&L trial balances from all sites are uploaded with a flat file coming from SAP at month-end. Then with input schedules the flows for B/S are being updated. The BPC team analyses if there are no significant variances or changes in mappings and then runs the consolidation process within BPC. A major issue with BPC is that there are still a lot of manual steps done by users and very little script logic is used in BPC to automate month-end process.
  • The Excel EPM functions are really good
  • BPF functionality with a step by step guidance is a plus
  • Intercompany Eliminations within BPC engine is very straightforward and easy to setup
  • When a change is needed in the EPM reports it is not very flexible and needs IT intervention
  • Performance sometimes is an issue when consolidating more then 20 entities specially at quarter end
  • Script logic complex to handle and always needs BPC consultant when changes are requiered even if minimal - has very high costs
SAP BPC is a very good tool for final business users as they can use Excel EPM and predefined templates for reporting and detailed analysis. It is user friendly and everyone is familiar with Excel. It could be better for planning: all the planning is done in BPC but needs to travel back to SAP ECC to compare actuals vs. plan. There is no easy process to export BPC planning figures to ECC. It would be nice to have better integration with SAP Controlling module.
Internal BPC consultants were hired and ex IBM consultants
March 09, 2018

Dynamic Tool - BPC

Alyse Morley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BPC for consolidations and eliminations for SEC filings as well for projections and forecasting. It allows for one source of the truth for month end reporting. Only accounting and finance employees have a BPC license. Financial statements and other reporting is pushed to our field users (GMs, VPs, etc).
  • Accounting and finance users love this tool because reports are built using native Excel. If commands such as EPMCopyRange are utilized it can further the use of native Excel.
  • Compared to BPC 7.5 our elimination and consolidation logic runs in a fraction of the time. Processes that would take multiple days can be accomplished within hours.
  • Powerful and dynamic reports can be built to help business leaders make decisions and see trends.
  • There is missing functionality on the ability to use the dynamic filter on apply a property when using the excluded members tab of the report editor. We are currently running SP30 BPC 10.1 and the ability existed in previous service packs. We now have to manually exclude some dimensions. We use member exclusions on our income statement tabs to help clean up the multiple total lines that appear when having two dimensions in the row running on member and descendants.
  • In SP 30 and some of the later BPC 10.1 service packs, when a user searches for a dimension member, it displays the dimension member the number of times it shows up in another hierarchy. In previous service packs, when searching for a dimension, it would display the dimension member within the first hierarchy it appears in and then if the user clicked next, it would jump down to show the dimension member within the next hierarchy it is a part of.
  • BPC is not able to handle to calculated member formulas in a report. For example, if a calculated profit center and a calculated datasource are used in a column of the report, BPC is not able to correctly compile and display the correct value for both calculated members.
BPC is well suited for reviewing forecast, projection and actual data within one report, for reviewing trends in the data and it helps us quickly pull together reports/data needed for our SEC filings. We have built in the ability to drill into a BEX report from a BPC report for the month to help review the line items that are making a balance.
We used VantagePoint and they were some of the most excellent consultants we have used. They truly passed on in-depth knowledge to our team.