SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) Reviews

220 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Not your Grandmother's Spreadsheet

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) is being used as part of a larger project integrating several different databases. The end goal is to get the data from some proprietary systems into a format that will line up with SAP and allow timely forecasts and accurate reporting of past sales, billing, etc. It's a useful tool for this type of consolidation, especially when the end goal is SAP.
  • Integrates with Excel.
  • Has APIs that can connect to all different types of databases.
  • The refresh time for our spreadsheets is maddeningly slow.
  • It is not an intuitive product. I had to be taught how to unhide a tab in Excel because it doesn't let you unhide in the traditional way.
If you are trying to consolidate finances and get information standardized across platforms, SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) is an excellent tool. Its mapping features allow you to normalize data. The programming is not simple - you will need an experienced developer (or two) to get the reports you need. A Data Entry clerk will need more training than they already have, so plan for that as well.
The project started as a blend of employees and independent contractors. Eventually, we used a consulting firm that specializes in IT for Entertainment. They are called OnPrem. The knowledge the consultants bring to this highly specialized line of business is invaluable. They have the best and brightest entertainment IT professionals.
Read this authenticated review
Juan Carlos Crespo | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

SAP BPC, the SAP product made easy for financial users

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we use both functionalities of SAP BPC: Planning and Consolidation.
  • Planning: With BPC we manage the financial budget across all the business units of the Company. We configured standard interfaces with the GL of our ERP (SAP R3) so we can easily measure the actuals vs. the annual plan. With the use of the EPM add-in for Excel, the financial users can create, consume and share reports.
  • Consolidation: With the interfaces from the General Ledger to BPC it is easy to acquire information (balances) for reporting purposes. Also, we have configured business rules such as inter-company eliminations, adjustments or journals, so by executing a package from the EPM add in for Excel the consolidation team has been empowered and there is no IT involvement in the process.
  • User friendly, with the use of the EPM add-in for Excel, business users can work in a familiar environment.
  • SAP Analytics Cloud easy and native integration for dashboarding purposes.
  • Can manage several business scenarios (versions): actuals, plan, forecast, etc.
  • For Consolidation, there is a required dimension for auditing purposes (audit trail) so it is useful for internal and external audits.
  • EPM add-in is only available for the Microsoft Windows Operating System.
  • In order to open or refresh an inform, it is required to have the EPM add-in for MS Office already installed.
  • Difficult to configure, ex. Script logic for ad-hoc adjustments.
In a traditional company that uses SAP ERP it is well suited. You can also acquire data from non-SAP data sources but it requires some technical skills to achieve this. It is great for reporting within Excel, can create local members (KPI) within reports, and has the advantage of all the functionalities that MS Office provides.
Must need a solid and experienced partner, must need the following specialist to deploy:
  • Basis
  • BW
  • Depending on the objectives or goals, you will need a BPC specialist on Planning scenarios or a high financial BPC expert for Consolidation.
Read Juan Carlos Crespo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2019

SAP BPC Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BPC is used by our entire organization to do budgeting for the year. A BI team loads the data using custom SSIS components and a custom scripting language created by SAP. It addressed the problem of not being able to properly plan and consolidate financial information from disparate sources across the organization.
  • The Finance team loves it.
  • Custom reporting.
  • Custom SSIS components.
  • Custom scripting language.
BPC is good for what it says in its name. For planning your business and consolidating financial information and data across various disparate sources in your small or large enterprise. It really is geared towards larger organizations. If you were a small organization, you would be better using more basic software.
I can not divulge who our professional services partner is. However, their work was very professional, direct, and quick. They were very easy to work with.
Read this authenticated review
Małgorzata Nitecka-Kubicka | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

Make a better decision with SAP BPC

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The software is used mainly by the financial department across the organization. I support the implementation and work on further improvements mainly around RPA. SAP BPC allows us to plan, budget and forecast using one tool which is fantastic and helps us to better understand the connections between single pieces of data. To add to this, these financial subjects are captured in a unified system which significantly improves data collection.
  • Front-end of SAP BPC is Excel-based, so drag and drop functionalities can be enabled to easily analyze figures
  • We can load data from different source systems
  • This software has helped to simplify, streamline and automate the whole budgeting process
  • Simplify data aggregation
  • Comply with changing local and international accounting standards
  • Protection on data could be better, since creating restrictions based on multiple combinations is quite difficult
  • The license is expensive
  • Performance when using dimensions with many massive data records could be improved
If you want your organization to analyze and transform all the data relevant for taking financial and managerial decisions, then SAP BPC will help a lot. you can easily create dashboards which allow one to better understand trends and results. However, one must keep in mind this is not a cheap system, but it is well worth the investment.
We mainly used our resources, however, there was/is support from an external company.
Read Małgorzata Nitecka-Kubicka's full review
Pradeep Bele | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2019

Report consolidation via SAP BPC

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BPC is being used in reporting and financial departments at the customer end. We were also able to do financial consolidation with different parties through SAP BPC.
  • We have implemented SAP BPC 10 with one of our customers to achieve consolidation with their different vendors and to generate the budgetary reports and fetch the same data within different departments. With the help of SAP BPC, our upper management and financial team are confident with the reports, helping them make business decisions.
  • So far we have not seen any area where we are stuck or needed improvement, except where the data fetched over the intranet from different sourcing had failed to consolidate on the reports. The data should be fetched from any sourcing without any network leak to avoid missing data.
SAP BPC is well suited when you have many financial and managerial departments who make business decisions and need the same data consolidated. Ultimately, SAP BPC helps organisations consolidate large amounts of data. It is not well suited if the data being fetched is a small amount or has low leverages for the business, and/or it is not feasible to consolidate.
I have worked with SAP itself to deploy BPC components to achieve the business goals for our US client. It was very easy, friendly and without any hurdles. We were able to configure and setup the functionality and we have generated the finaicial reports to broadcast the data for the internal department of our customer.
Read Pradeep Bele's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2019

An excellent system for planning budgets and goals

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The use of BPCs within the organization of one of my clients has been fundamental to allowing highly skilled users in the area of business intelligence (professionals or very practical users in the BI sector) go into detail regarding well-defined processes of cost saving, reorganization of the company budget, and the restructuring and optimization of resources.
  • Perfect integration with SAP
  • The data, once made available and imported in the SAP environment, allows all users to use them immediately without having to implement any process of ETL or data manipulation
  • Is optimized for SAP S/4HANA , so the finance department has a complete suite available to manage projects at best in a single software that speaks with the same business terms
  • Working with extremely complex workbooks can have repercussions in terms of performance
  • While certainly suitable for personnel already skilled in using and knowing the whole Sap environment, the documentation regarding the potentialities and above all the functionalities of the product could be slightly improved.
  • Integration with SAP NetWeaver or Microsoft Excel requires good expertise for the implementation
If you are considering the use of SAP BPC you can be sure that you will be able to make appropriate business decisions, have a level of data processing in collaboration with your colleagues, make budgets based on precise predictive analysis, and you can follow different strategic objectives looking for the most appropriate planning.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2019

Comprehensive Features

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The user interface is similar. It uses MS Excel so it is very adaptable. Internal and external reporting has been made super easy.
  • Very useful in analyzing the data. We are using it to compare historical performances month by month to current months.
  • Great customer service.
  • The program is very easy to learn due to its Excel UI.
  • It brings several business units under one system and therefore data presented at the enterprise level is really solid.
  • Well integrated with HANA.
  • Implementation is very tricky. Make sure you know what you are looking for and what you will be using it for in the long run to be able to get best out of the software.
  • EPM Limitations.
  • Expensive for small and medium-sized companies.
Well suited for reporting and analyzing data.
SAP. Great to work with.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2018

SAP BPC

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BPC is used as Reporting tool of consolidation. It is used for monthly reporting (short Financial Statements) and quarterly reporting, including Intercompany reconciliation. We use also it to retrieve historical data based on different variants: i.e. IFRS/LOCAL GAAP/US GAAP, Local amount, Consolidated amount... etc.
  • Legal consolidation
  • Detailed reporting package
  • Retrieval of historical data
  • It's not user friendly
  • Depending on how it is implemented it is not as flexible as it should be, in case of changes in consolidation rules
It's well suited in the case of high skilled users. If I would need to use and share information through it with lower skilled person, it would be more difficult. For instance, it's used only by finance people even it contains a lot of operational information, because the operations managers are not able to understand it
In the past I sused PwC consultant, very good high professionality
Read this authenticated review
Jeffrey Suk | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2018

Benefits of BPC

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses SAP BPC for forecasting and analysis and is now currently undergoing implementation for consolidation. It's currently used by finance departments, and once it's implemented for consolidation will be used by Corporate Reporting and Corporate Accounting. One of the benefits of SAP BPC is that two finance teams (Financial Planning & Analysis and Corporate Reporting and Corporate Accounting) will now be using the same tool for internal and external reporting. This will eliminate the need for reconciling systems, which is currently a manual and many times frustrating task. Like many other companies before SAP BPC, my company currently heavily utilizes Excel for consolidation, which has its flaws including not being able to have multiple users edit the workbook and slow performance. On the Financial Planning & Analysis side, SAP BPC has been instrumental in collaborative work between all business segments and Corporate. It has increased performance and allowed for faster quarter closes.
  • SAP BPC is real time data. You can send information into the system and see it reflected in your reports immediately. Other systems may require a manual push into a reporting system.
  • SAP BPC is a shared reporting tool, so multiple users can be working in a model/environment at the same time, real time. This is especially helpful if your workbooks incorporated multiple processes requiring multiple users to get into the same model.
  • SAP BPC is a powerful tool designed to help all facets of the company, from cash flow to capital expenditures to headcount management to financial planning to consolidation.
  • An easily accessible resource page for quick how-to's and tips, as well as things to avoid (maybe a YouTube page).
  • In 10.1, one thing that was removed was the ability to go into the dimension and select multiple members/parents and copy-paste those into your workbook. Please bring this back.
  • When I have a BPC workbook open and a non-BPC workbook open, it slows down performance because whenever I'm toggling between the two workbooks as it's constantly bringing in the EPM context pane into the non-BPC workbook. Is there any way to disable this easily?
For a large company trying to bring processes and functions together with one tool, SAP BPC is a great solution. It requires hours of effort to implement and configure, which would not be appropriate for smaller companies. SAP BPC also requires dedicated resources to maintain the system on a day to day basis, as well as an administrator type personnel who can troubleshoot slow performance or issues with the system. You also need users who are willing and exciting to use this system and actually trust that this is a solution.
My company partnered with Column 5 to help deploy SAP BPC for financial planning many years ago, and they helped us upgrade from BPC 7.5 to BPC 10.1 this past year. Now they are helping us deploy SAP BPC for consolidation. My company has had a long relationship with Column 5, which is a testament to their professionalism and good work.
Read Jeffrey Suk's full review
Anthony DePasquale | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2018

SAP BPC reviewed by a heavy user, but that is new to financial systems

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it within our department of Financial Planning and Analysis only. It was initially used solely for its consolidation capabilities in order to better report and analyze data, both actuals and budget, with the budget being done in a separate application and loaded in. We have now implemented the planning cubes and use it to develop or annual budget and an annual reforecast with actuals still being loaded in at the end of each month.
  • Allows for full integration of data to be analyzed in real time. Although we still load actuals on a delayed basis (2 business days after month end), when developing the budget, we not longer have to do a full loading process from a different application into BPC prior to being able to report and analyze the current budget status to prior budget versions or actuals.
  • It is easy to learn basic report building. The hardest part is learning the available dimensions and the different possible combinations and their results, but that will also vary from company to company depending on the complexity of the industry.
  • Being from a law firm, the system needed a lot of custom tailoring in order to fit our full needs (although many companies could say the same thing). Although the ability to highly customize the system to the company's needs is a positive, it frequently results in the system responding in unexplainable and unrepeatable ways which negatively impacts and slows the budget process. Because of the sporadic nature and variety of the issues, we are unable to repeat them on cue and therefore cannot nail down a solution.
SAP BPC would be an ideal system for a company that handles budgeting and actuals for any of the expense, revenue, human capital, or capital expenditures areas, and is great for a company needing all of these areas in one place with full integration between them. One downfall that I see is that it can be difficult to start with the consolidation only (like many do) and then years later implement the planning cubes. Due to changes in the system over time, turnover in consultants and personnel between implementations, and evolving needs of a company it can sometimes be difficult to get the planning side to line up perfectly with the originally implemented consolidation cube which, although may not limit capabilities, can cause confusion when talking between different models.
Column 5 was used for both implementations (consolidation and planning). Based on my understanding of the initial implementation of consolidation, everything went well and the process was smooth. The development of the planning cubes was a little more difficult as there was a different consultant from C5 than the original implantation, and halfway through the development, the consultant left and had to be replaced. This caused some set backs and confusion as every consultant has their own technique and the new consultant couldn't always follow the rationale of what the original had done. The final consultant was great to work with and knowledgeable, but the turnover caused for some issues and could potentially be (just guessing) the reason for some issues we have experienced post-rollout.
Read Anthony DePasquale's full review
Rebecca T Barber, MBA, PHD | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2018

Fine if you are already in the SAP ecosystem, otherwise steer clear

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BPC is being used as the system in which we develop our yearly budgets, collect quarterly forecast, and do an analysis of the spending and revenues throughout the organization. The FP&A organization is the heaviest user, with extensive reporting and analysis being done on a daily basis. Over 300 users across campus access it during budget season in order to enter their budgets and half that many enter it quarterly to update forecasts.
  • Dimensional model allows for slicing and dicing of the data in a variety of ways
  • This is a custom tool - it provides an environment but you define what the structures look like, which offers flexibility
  • Updates are not backward compatible - on the server side they require complete reinstalls.
  • While they suggest the tool is unlimited, in practice, there are substantial performance limitations on the Microsoft Platform if you let the cube get too large
  • The Microsoft platform is legacy from the original tool (Outlooksoft) that SAP purchased. The result is that it gets the least effort in development
  • If you aren't using SAP Business Warehouse, the load process is considerably more complex than it otherwise might be.
I would recommend this tool to an SAP shop running SAPs other applications, including Business Warehouse, and only on Netweaver and/or HANA - I would advise AGAINST this product for new customers planning to run on the Microsoft platform. I expect that the Microsoft platform will be discontinued in the future.
Column 5 - They have been very helpful in both implementing and advising us as we have moved through version updates.
Freudenberg IT is our hosting provider and they have been less helpful - if it isn't running on NetWeaver/HANA, they seem confused by the architecture. We've struggled to get things working correctly in that environment and try hard not to make changes that might disrupt a currently working system.
Read Rebecca T Barber, MBA, PHD's full review
William O'Brien | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2018

SAP BPC Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses it for budgeting. Departments and offices enter annual expenses. Practice groups use it to track employees with annual billable hours and billable rates. Th finance and accounting department uses it for reporting as well as analyzing variances during the fiscal year. The system also is used for creating and updating revenue and expense forecasts during the year.
  • Allows for tracking of actual vs budgeted expenses. Can have multiple budgets or forecasts for comparison.
  • Can create reports that can be modified to show either department or office views of the data.
  • Allows for budgeting of production hours, billed hours and collections by individual timekeeper.
  • Data is not easily moved between modules. Several steps necessary to accomplish this.
  • Users often overwrite data entered by others. Need better controls for this.
  • Better reporting of changes between versions of a budget. In particular, the user who made the changes and what those changes were.
SAP BPC is helpful when an office, department or combination has multiple measurements to be reported on. The same layout can be leveraged to report on several different statistics. SAP BPC works well on ad-hoc reporting as the data is already summarized and totaled in the model and can be retrieved quickly as the summations are already complete. Reports that require multiple sections with different layouts are difficult to accomplish.
Column5 was the partner used for the design and implementation of the system. They have been very helpful and responsive. They have also held conferences and training sessions which have helped educate the users of the system.
Read William O'Brien's full review
Atul Rao, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2018

BPC Story - Baby Steps to Success

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

At the World Bank Group (WBG), SAP Business Planning and Consolidation (BPC) is used as a corporate performance management system to enable financial planning and management and to support the budget processes across IBRD, IFC, and MIGA.

  • BPC acts as the single source for all budget, revenues, expenses, forecast plans and eliminates the need for budget monitoring staff to maintain their own spreadsheets and legacy systems.
  • Results in substantial time and cost savings due to the reduction of manual errors and data redundancy, enhanced data quality, and data governance, and an expedited planning and monitoring cycle for unit level and corporate planners.
  • EPM Menu can be simplified.
  • Compatibility issues with MS Office 365 need to be resolved.
  • Single sign on needs to be implemented.

At The World Bank Group, the implementation of BPC has enabled resource managers, budget planners, HR business partners, and activity planners across the institution to plan for budgets and expenses related to staffing/fixed costs, revenues and expenses across all sources of funds, work program allocations, capital investments, and project-based activity costing, etc.

The BPC system allows senior management to communicate budget ceilings and thresholds for top-down planning while automating real-time aggregation and consolidation of bottom-up plans for consumption by corporate budget units to perform variance analysis.

Tata Consultancy Services (TCS)
Read Atul Rao, PMP's full review
Alyse Morley | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2018

Dynamic Tool - BPC

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BPC for consolidations and eliminations for SEC filings as well for projections and forecasting. It allows for one source of the truth for month end reporting. Only accounting and finance employees have a BPC license. Financial statements and other reporting is pushed to our field users (GMs, VPs, etc).
  • Accounting and finance users love this tool because reports are built using native Excel. If commands such as EPMCopyRange are utilized it can further the use of native Excel.
  • Compared to BPC 7.5 our elimination and consolidation logic runs in a fraction of the time. Processes that would take multiple days can be accomplished within hours.
  • Powerful and dynamic reports can be built to help business leaders make decisions and see trends.
  • There is missing functionality on the ability to use the dynamic filter on apply a property when using the excluded members tab of the report editor. We are currently running SP30 BPC 10.1 and the ability existed in previous service packs. We now have to manually exclude some dimensions. We use member exclusions on our income statement tabs to help clean up the multiple total lines that appear when having two dimensions in the row running on member and descendants.
  • In SP 30 and some of the later BPC 10.1 service packs, when a user searches for a dimension member, it displays the dimension member the number of times it shows up in another hierarchy. In previous service packs, when searching for a dimension, it would display the dimension member within the first hierarchy it appears in and then if the user clicked next, it would jump down to show the dimension member within the next hierarchy it is a part of.
  • BPC is not able to handle to calculated member formulas in a report. For example, if a calculated profit center and a calculated datasource are used in a column of the report, BPC is not able to correctly compile and display the correct value for both calculated members.
BPC is well suited for reviewing forecast, projection and actual data within one report, for reviewing trends in the data and it helps us quickly pull together reports/data needed for our SEC filings. We have built in the ability to drill into a BEX report from a BPC report for the month to help review the line items that are making a balance.
We used VantagePoint and they were some of the most excellent consultants we have used. They truly passed on in-depth knowledge to our team.
Read Alyse Morley's full review
Santosh Kambli | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2018

SK SAP BPC Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BPC was used mainly for planning purposes for my previous client. Consolidation implementation started 6 months back where they planned to create a consolidated statement for 20 plus co codes with regions spread across Americas, Europe, Asia, Australia etc. They plan to achieve auto removal of intercompany transactions through this.
  • Detailed planning
  • Intercompany transaction identification
  • Reporting
  • None
Most scenarios are suited
Read Santosh Kambli's full review
Praveen Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2018

BPC

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use BPC for our planning and consolidated financial reports and [we are also] using it for reporting purpose. The biggest challenge is the data integration between the SAP system ECC, BW, and BPC. It's not real-time processing due to the data flow.

If it were a real-time data flow then it would be very useful for all kinds of reporting needs.

  • Real time flow integration between the ECC, BW and BPC systems.
  • Real time integration
  • Always - it's very useful at a reporting level.
  • Integrated planning is required and consolidation is required from ECC to BPC.
Read Praveen Kumar's full review
Travis Lehn | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2017

SAP Business Planning and Consolidation is worth every cent!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Planning and Consolidation (BPC) is being used as both a planning and reporting system at our organization. It allows us to have control over the financials and allows for systematic driven results. Users like the flexibility of the tool and that it's built right into Microsoft Excel. It lowers the risk of reporting errors and increases the quality of our financials. We can work through many scenarios of [our] annual plan and/or monthly forecast to make sure we achieve the results we want in the business.
  • Automation of financial processes using a systematic solution.
  • User-friendly Excel Interface to allow for various reporting requirements.
  • Data Integration with your current SAP ERP solution.
  • The new 10.1 web interface is a little slow when trying to manage a lot of dimensions compared to previous 10.0 web interface.
  • Training tutorials or application demos for various levels of user engagement.
  • Business process flows are really nice to have to organize the flow of a process, but they are more of a maintenance than a help.
If you have a large complex number of businesses that you have to consolidate to total corporate then BPC makes that very easy. You wouldn't want to do this just in Excel with linking all the data together. You need a systematic solution to consolidate with low risk of errors and a very fast turn-around for the users. BPC allows the users to submit each of their respective data and the system will automatically roll-up to the total business level. The ease of use through BPC templates and logic can make this process very easy for the users.
TruQua consulting helped us with our BPC upgrade from BPC 10.0 to BPC 10.1 on HANA. They were excellent to work with and provided top enterprise solutions for our BPC performance. We saw a 95% increase in performance in our reporting and input forms after the upgrade to HANA. They were realistic and provided expectations that were exceeded in the end. I would highly recommend them.
Read Travis Lehn's full review
Mike Harding | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2017

BPC worthy of consideration

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BPC primarily for Planing and Consolidations/financial reporting. In support of Planning, we also have depreciation, resource assignment for projects and Head Count/Cost Center planning models. BPC enables us to group most planing activities within a logical progression. BPC enables us to have the planning detail and financial summary level in one place.
  • Pushes data from one model to another. This is helpful to have detail in one model, and summary level in another model.
  • Reporting flexibility using formatting, filtering and attributes is good. This offers flexible reporting and input templates by selectively choosing which data sets are relevant to the user.
  • Scripting language isn't very robust...it is a proprietary language that isn't as capable as VBA or other languages. Sometime ABAP code is needed to supplement the business requirement.
  • Web Templates don't have the same features as the Excel Ad-in. The use of filters and dimension over-rides don't exist.
Well suited for reporting and moving data from various models. Not well suited for complex logic.
Macrospect helped us implement. They were fantastic. Full of experience and best practice suggestions.
Read Mike Harding's full review
Sharon Chadwick | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 20, 2017

Kinross Advanced Reporting System (KARS) aka SAP-BPC

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used across the whole organization by approximately 150 users at corporate headquarters, mine sites and regional offices.
Used to consolidate actuals and budget for +/- 250 legal entities for quarterly external reporting and monthly internal management reporting.
  • Timeliness of close process i.e. ledgers are closed on work day 5 and consolidated financial statements are issued on work day 10 (non-quarter end months) and work day 15 (quarter end months).
  • Consolidation completes in 12 minutes across 5 entity hierarchies.
  • The Excel front-end report writer is very user friendly so users are able to create adhoc analysis reports quickly.
  • From an administration point of view populating the 'Ownership' model is laborious across 5 Entity hierarchies and setting up data access profiles in Security is also tedious i.e. Security interface needs improvement.
Well suited to most organizations looking for an extremely easy to maintain consolidation & reporting system. Kinross consolidates both financial and operational data, uses the inter-company elimination functionality, and has script logic for the following:
  • Investment elimination
  • Fully automated cash flow
  • Gold equivalent ratio by month, quarter & YTD
  • Conversion of Imperial measurements to metric
Note: The following functionality is not utilized at Kinross:
  • Fx translation
  • Budgeting & forecasting
  • Proportionate sub-consolidations
Performance Analytics Corporation (previously OutlookSoft
Canada) was the only implementation partner back in Feb-07 and therefore the
most knowledgeable on the product at that time. Implementation took 6 months and delivered on budget.
PAC was also involved when we went from Canadian GAAP to IFRS in 2011 but little assistance has been needed since then.

Read Sharon Chadwick's full review
Monalisa Chati | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2017

SAP BPC on HANA

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BPC on HANA is used by the whole finance team for all activities including consolidations, financial planning/forecasting to reporting.
  • Custom BADIs help with complex forecasting calculations
  • EPM Excel add-in enables the use of complex Excel functions with EPM features
  • Non BPC users have problem accessing BPC spreadsheets, offline feature does not work well.
Not as user friendly as other cloud solutions.
Worked with quite a few partners in the early days. Most enhancements were done internally.
Read Monalisa Chati's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2018

SAP BPC is Dying

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BPC is used to support financial consolidations by Accounting team and for budgeting & forecasting (Capex, Headcount, Opex, Integrated Financial Planning) by FP&A team. It is used across the whole organization.
  • BPC NW version can use the functionalities of SAP BW for ETL and data warehousing.
  • Complex business requirements and logic can be built using SAP ABAP.
  • Can be scaled and support huge volume of data using SAP HANA capabilities.
  • SAP should focus on delivering one single product for planning, consolidation and budgeting needs rather than providing a large list of options to choose from.
  • The product is not very user-friendly compared to other cloud competitors. There is a heavy dependency on IT teams.
  • SAP BPC should come up a pure cloud option.
SAP BPC is well suited for complex planning and consolidations needs where the underlying transactional system is SAP ECC. It suits well if the organization has separate teams with BPC, ABAP, BW, Basis, Hana skillset.

SAP BPC is less appropriate for organizations using Agile methodology. It is not suitable for organizations in a hyper-growth cycle as the installation and implementation is time-consuming. It will not work for organizations where the planning and budgeting needs keep changing frequently. The UI of SAP BPC is not very intuitive and very difficult to set up a dynamic dashboard for senior executives and officials of CxO.
Column 5 team is very competent and handled the requirements and deliverables very well.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
Yes - Upgrades are time consuming and laborious.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2018

BPC Planning & Consolidation based on MS Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BPC is being used for consolidation purposes. It is being used by Finance Controllers. First all P&L trial balances from all sites are uploaded with a flat file coming from SAP at month-end. Then with input schedules the flows for B/S are being updated. The BPC team analyses if there are no significant variances or changes in mappings and then runs the consolidation process within BPC. A major issue with BPC is that there are still a lot of manual steps done by users and very little script logic is used in BPC to automate month-end process.
  • The Excel EPM functions are really good
  • BPF functionality with a step by step guidance is a plus
  • Intercompany Eliminations within BPC engine is very straightforward and easy to setup
  • When a change is needed in the EPM reports it is not very flexible and needs IT intervention
  • Performance sometimes is an issue when consolidating more then 20 entities specially at quarter end
  • Script logic complex to handle and always needs BPC consultant when changes are requiered even if minimal - has very high costs
SAP BPC is a very good tool for final business users as they can use Excel EPM and predefined templates for reporting and detailed analysis. It is user friendly and everyone is familiar with Excel. It could be better for planning: all the planning is done in BPC but needs to travel back to SAP ECC to compare actuals vs. plan. There is no easy process to export BPC planning figures to ECC. It would be nice to have better integration with SAP Controlling module.
Internal BPC consultants were hired and ex IBM consultants
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2018

BPC MS general reveiw

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BPC in our planning and forecasting for FP&A and consolidation for corporate reporting; as far as I know, we also use it for our international distribution.
  • Running ad-hoc reports
  • Researching on variance explanations
  • Creating standardized reports across the team
  • It'll be helpful to make the ID/description selection change a stand-alone button in the ribbon
  • Add back the option to select and copy ID's from the dimension dropdown
We are heavy BPC users and use it in almost every aspect of our daily job.
A consulting company helped us with our system upgrade. They are resourceful and professional.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2018

SAP BPC, it’s OK

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use BPC as the consolidation and external reporting software. We have a basic planning implementation to support reporting. Data entry is primarily integrated from ECC with some topside entries made by corporate at the business level. Plans are entered at a business level directly into BPC via forms or pulled in from ECC.
  • Use of data sources allows easy identification of data origin. Ex: ECC, manual entry, management adjustment entry, ICC elimination, etc...
  • Reporting is generally fast if best practices are used to avoid performance hits.
  • There are a lot of BPC experts available to implement and provide training.
  • BPC out of the box is a blank slate and requires system development to be implemented. Generally will need to hire consultants to build and train your organization.
  • Many people are not familiar with multidimensional databases like BPC so there is a learning curve.
Well suited for organizational use as a planning tool that is integrated to the consolidated results. Can be implemented in such a way as to leverage driver-based planning methods and predictive analytics. Not well suited to organizations that are not willing to change their planning processes.
We used a combination of IBM and independent consultants in conjunction with SAP support. They were all knowledgeable and helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2018

SAP BPC answers the mail

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BPC is used by the finance function across the enterprise. It provides a planning solution for finance users for their revenue forecasts for the current year, next year, and five-year planning. BPC allows us to plan, consolidate and report our forecasts internally and externally.
  • SAP BPC leverages Microsoft Excel well and provides an user interface that is easy to use for finance.
  • SAP BPC integrates with our SAP R/3 to provide a holistic look at our project level data.
  • SAP BPC provides flexibility that is needed in the A&D industry. We are able to customize functionalities for our business needs.
  • I'd like to see BPC better handle large volumes of data. Our company plans at the contract level and often find ourselves struggling with data volume in terms of system performance.
  • I'd like to see BPC have real-time data from our SAP R/3 system to facilitate a faster closing at month-end.

SAP BPC is well suited for companies with a large user base. Since BPC has a relatively familiar and easy user interface, it can be implemented across a large user group fairly quickly. The user interface is intuitive which facilitates an easier planning cycle.

Aerospace/Defense companies may need to customize SAP BPC to meet their business and customer needs. It would be ideal if SAP released a version of BPC specifically tailored towards the A&D industry.

Our local IT took the lead in customizing and deploying SAP BPC to the Finance user base. I am unsure if they worked with a professional services partner initially.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Long-term financial planning (27)
8.5
Financial budgeting (27)
8.8
Forecasting (29)
9.0
Scenario modeling (26)
8.3
Management reporting (30)
8.4
Financial data consolidation (27)
8.7
Journal entries and reports (23)
9.2
Multi-currency management (23)
9.5
Intercompany Eliminations (24)
8.2
Minority Ownership (17)
9.1
Local and consolidated reporting (25)
9.0
Detailed Audit Trails (22)
7.7
Financial Statement Reporting (25)
8.8
Management Reporting (28)
8.1
Excel-based Reporting (28)
9.0
Automated board and financial reporting (23)
7.5
Personalized dashboards (18)
7.2
Color-coded scorecards (17)
6.5
KPIs (23)
8.2
Cost and profitability analysis (22)
7.4
Key Performance Indicator setting (18)
7.9
Benchmarking with external data (15)
6.6
Flat file integration (27)
8.5
Excel data integration (29)
9.1
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (18)
7.7

About SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation)

The SAP BPC software is designed to help users plan and achieve a faster, more accurate close. The SAP BPC software aims to help users spend more time growing their business and less time closing books. The vendor’s value proposition is that their software delivers planning, budgeting, forecasting, and financial consolidation capabilities in a single application. This, in turn, enables them to easily adjust plans and forecasts, speed up budget and closing cycles, and ensure compliance with financial reporting standards.

According to the vendor, with SAP BPC users can:
•Make better decisions based on what-if analyses and scenario planning
•Use collaboration tools to improve accountability and planning accuracy
•Shrink cycle times, close the books faster, and align their plans with strategic goals •Get real-time access to data in SAP S/4HANA Finance
•Run on their platform of choice – SAP BW/4HANA, SAP NetWeaver or on Microsoft •Engage in further visualization and predictive analysis leveraging SAP Analytics Cloud in a seamless manner

SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features
Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting
Consolidation and Close Features
Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails
Financial Reporting and Compliance Features
Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Does not have featureXBRL support for regulatory filing
Analytics Features
Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data
Integration Features
Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Does not have featureCustomizable dashboards
Does not have featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Does not have featureDrill-down analysis
Does not have featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Does not have featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Does not have featurePublish to Web
Does not have featurePublish to PDF
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Does not have featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Does not have featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Does not have featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Does not have featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Does not have featureRole-Based Security Model
Does not have featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Does not have featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Does not have featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Does not have featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) Screenshots

SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) Integrations

SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No