SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
497 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 176)

Tim Kovars | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

My Opinion on SolarWinds SAM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

We don't have the full stack installed so we don't have full insight. None of our issues (luckily) have been the type that insight between SAM and network have helped resolve them.
Read Tim Kovars's full review
Callen Gilmartin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds makes your life easier and your network more efficient.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

The program can perform in-depth analysis of server and application performance and using long term data, IT teams can plan and predict what needs to be done to enhance the performance and reliability of any part of a network. SolarWinds is vital to the health of our network and always will be.
Read Callen Gilmartin's full review
Bret Brutlag | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

be prepared to roll up your sleeves

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

If you take the time to create custom views you can make some functional
application specific dashboards. Being able to tie in the heath of our
Cloud products side by side with our on-prem servers. Application owner
get useful dashboards regardless of where the assets sit in the world. When we add maps we can narrow down where the problem lies. It may not be perfect in identifying root causes on the fly, but it does a great job of eliminating everything that isn't part of the problem. The data captured combined with PerfStack resports are one of my main sources when providing actual RCA
Read Bret Brutlag's full review
Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Works well to see performance and generate alerts

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

In order to get the root cause you will need another SolarWinds suite, because with SAM you will only get general information, you can't get information of databases, storage, network traffic or virtual environments. Is not true that form SAM you can see the root cause. For example, if you have an Oracle database, you will need to have detailed information from network switches to see the traffic, and with SAM iit s not possible so you will need a Traffic analyzer, that is another suite and is not free. Them, you have to see more detailed information from your database, like queries running Datafiles disk space, etc so for that you will need SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer. So resuming if you need SAM to see route cause will not work at least you buy the complete suite.
Read Alejandro Pineda's full review
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

A cost-effective solution for your small or enterprise business needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

Solarwinds is our first stop for application performance troubleshooting. We have synthetics running against our member-facing application so Solarwinds will alert us to any potential issue with our Tier 1 application and we can also get alerts if core services go down or if a server is running out of resources as well.
Read Mark McCully's full review
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Easy to set-up with solid performance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

It is a feature that is nice to have, and will likely be more useful over time. The tracking and notification aspects were the most immediately valuable. Certainly, a feature that will gain more use and value over time.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Ramoan Seymour | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2020

Satisfied with SolarWinds SAM?? I AM!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor benefit our company by pinpointing the areas that are having issues. Instead of wondering if a root cause of a problem is the server, network, hardware, or application, SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor allows us to show with proof to the different areas of the company where the problem lies.
Read Ramoan Seymour's full review
Nick Darnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

SolarWinds SAM review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

We primarily use to determine whether or not the server is up and automate alerts, the rest we use manual methods of detecting issues and errors within servers.
Read Nick Darnell's full review
Derek Benson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

A slightly recommended product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

It allows us to know in near-real-time when switches or firewalls are experiencing problems or b/w issues so that we can become proactive in our strategy rather than reactive.
Read Derek Benson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

Just starting . .

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

I haven't truly seen this capability in action so I can not give a good or bad review.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

SolarWinds makes sure we're in control!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

Our implementation of SolarWinds has certainly provided us the full IT stack visibility and the 'single pane of glass' monitoring that we were after. In terms of identifying problems, this tool is also very powerful. The predictive features could benefit from some improvement, but all with all, with SolarWinds continuous investment in the development of the tools I'm sure this will only improve over time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

SolarWinds SAM - one stop shop for monitoring your enterprise

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

Chaining alerts is crucial for us when determining the root cause of an issue. For example if a VM goes down we don't want to receive an alert for every application on that VM, we simply need to know that the server for those applications is unavailable - SolarWinds accomplishes that.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Mission Critical, we can't live without Server and Application Manager.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

I have yet to get anyone to utilize the full stack capabilities in Orion. Our internal IT groups tend to live in silos and not communicate very well. I keep looking for opportunities to highlight this capability, but it's hard to get people to be proactive if the responsibilities don't fall clearly in their swim lanes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

I am a new user with great power in his hands.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

We have benefited from this functionnality because our homemade application are calling multiple side-application and when there's an issue at the end of the process, we can see exactly where the problem is by looking at the status of each application. In some specific case, we also have return code or error message that are catched and help us know the exact issue.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

Overall Satisfaction

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

One of the biggest benefits from SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is that the tool enables you to dig into the issue deeply and figure out the problem with response time and performance problem. The detailed timestamp also helps a lot for you to navigate to the root cause shortly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor: a must have tool for IT departments everywhere.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Root Cause Analysis

Our organization did have an issue with a vendor-supported application. We began experiencing complaints of the application running slow at random times of the day. We utilized SAM and other Orion tools to gain more insight into the performance of the application and found issues with it that the vendor had to address. It helped prove it was not 'the network'. So many times, the IT shop is guilty until proven innocent.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (233)
8.7
Database monitoring (201)
8.0
Threshold alerts (236)
8.6
Predictive capabilities (188)
7.8
Application performance management console (209)
8.1
Collaboration tools (123)
7.1
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (221)
7.9
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (187)
7.8
Virtualization monitoring (203)
8.4
Server availability and performance monitoring (235)
9.2
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (216)
8.5
IT Asset Discovery (170)
8.4

About SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, Microsoft System Center, DX Application Performance Management (formerly CA APM), SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English