SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Reviews

113 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 55)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 17, 2020
Michael Star | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We wanted to use one place for monitoring. Single pane of glass.
So instead of using VROPS and basic vCenter monitoring we using VMAN inside SolarWinds [Virtualization Manager (VMAN)] to achieve this task.
  • VM sprawl management
  • Manage across on-premises, hybrid, and cloud
  • Visibility across the entire application stack
  • Virtual environment reclamation and waste
  • Deleting snapshots and zombie files
[SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN)] gives us recommendations to either increase or decrease the number of CPUs and memory based on a virtual machine's performance.
Read Michael Star's full review
November 30, 2020
Nikhil Kumar Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds VMAN to monitor virtualization environment such as VMWare, Hyper-V, Nuatanix environment. Our infrastructure teams used to follow their separate native tools to do monitoring or rely on email alerts to know about the issue, but that was all reactive not proactive, and hence SolarWinds VMAN came in and filled that gap.
  • Hierarchal representation of the assets such as DC, Cluster, Host and VMs
  • Sprawling Features
  • Datastore Monitoring
  • Nuatanix Environment needs more parameters
  • Capacity Reporting and integration with Storage
  • Include more vendor support
Solarwinds VMAN is best suited for VMWare and Hyper-V Hosts environment monitoring from hardware perspective and VM Guest Perspective. However Solarwinds has introduced support for Nuatanix environment monitoring that still need more enhancements, and hence its a good start by Solarwinds - but too early to say perfect solution. Sprawling is also another feature which makes it more usable.
Since SolarWinds VMAN helps to monitor Virtualized environment monitoring 24*7 for VMWare, Hyper-Vs, etc. and by having VMAN monitoring in our infra, we were always alerted via Service Now incidents or email alerts whenever any of the asset was degraded. In fact, we got problem-indicating alerts, which allowed to fix the issue even before it deteriorated further.
As mentioned in earlier reviews SolarWinds VMAN has helped us in following ways -
1. Proactive monitoring of issues within in the Hardware infrastructure.
2. Sprawling
3. Easy Reporting
4. Customized Dashboards
5. Simple integration with Service Now, Splunk etc
6. Multi-Vendor Support etc


Above mentioned reasons makes SolarWinds VMAN a fit solution for any hardware/virtualized infra monitoring.
Read Nikhil Kumar Sharma's full review
September 02, 2020
Jeremy Mayfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is used by the enterprise IT [department] to manage the VMWare environment daily. It gives deep insight beyond what vSphere can and also ties back to storage and hardware giving me a single pane of glass view.

  • Recommendations. Those are wonderful. You build out your environment based on a set of criteria from a vendor or others, only to find your resources are poorly used. The VMAN product allows you to make adjustments based on its recommendations and it automates the process for you.
  • Pinpoints guests with problems. It provides a graphical and then drills down details to the virtual guests with issues you need to address immediately.
  • Capacity planning and sprawl. VMAN gives you all the tools you need to prvent sprawl and plan for the future.
  • Licensing. One of the most glaring elements to SolarWinds is the way they license. I feel they could improve this a bit. It a easy process just costly.
  • They tell you about orphaned VMDK but don't tell you where it might be used. It says it might be, I feel it should check.
It's integrated with the SolarWinds Orion platform of tools, it has great insight, and works well. It has saved me staff by helping me be more automated and efficient. The automated alerting is very valuable and when combined with the other tools in Orion and offerings from SolarWinds gives you and complete solution for everyday use.
VMAN saves time and man power. I can do the work of two or three with the product at my disposal. I fin it to be very helpful and an asset to the organization. VMAN has given insight, save time and money, as well as become a standard for skills required to have now going forward.
SolarWinds gives good support. I have never had a time when i was working through a support case where I did not get the support I needed for the required issues to be resolved. I have always had resolutions from SolarWinds support. They are top notch. Issues once had are no more.
Read Jeremy Mayfield's full review
December 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[SolarWinds] Virtualization Manager [(VMAN)] is a module (agent) that we use inside Orion, that actually we use as a whole system to monitor our entire infrastructure.
Specifically, VMAN is used by the System team and the NOC team in different continents and allows us to perform monitoring and remediation for our on-prem and servers in the cloud.


  • Central management
  • Identify and reclaim resources
  • Speed up problem resolution
  • Slow due to the huge database
  • Cost
This SolarWinds [Virtualization Manager (VMAN)] product, let you easily monitor your physical servers as well as your virtual. Depending on your environment, that can be a huge advantage.
One interesting feature is the possibility to consolidate the data generated from our multi vendor infrastructure.
The map feature gives you a better understanding with the possibility to visualize host applications.
A proactive feature is always something we look for every environment and with the [SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN)] we can find new ways to supports workloads, so the capacity planning is going to be easier as well as the trouble shooting.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to monitor our Vmware environment. It gives a clear view of the overall status of our 350+ virtualized servers allow us to see when we need to add more capacity of CPU, storage or IO.
  • It helps us determine where problems are and helps us determine what is a good cloud candidate.
  • Better performance.
It works good in a large environment.
It showed us when one of our hosts CPUs were not working properly.
We get the support we need.
Read this authenticated review
July 23, 2020
Swathi Aljala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is great to have auto-monitoring from SolarWind's virtualization tool. We use this tool in our department. It is great if we want quick and fast results and solutions. It provides an accurate status of the system. I also like the way it can be used for monitoring troubleshooting and optimising; it's very simple to use. We use it for cleaning up data.
  • It provides information alerts and allows us to have the accurate status of the system.
  • Helps in problem solving before anything serious can arise.
  • Increases the uptime by optimising the provisions of the resources.
  • Simple to install and easy to use.
  • Gives graphical presentation by showing where the problem is shown.
  • performance monitoring, VM sprawl control, configuration management, and chargeback automation; all in one awesomely affordable product that’s easy to download, deploy, and use. Simply download and install the software and take a break while Virtualization Manager auto-discovers the virtual machines in your environment.
  • It's a bit expensive.
  • A license is hard to get.
  • Better if it could be allowed to have a lot more automation.
Though it does not allow for a lot of automation, it's very easy to set up and grant access to an account. Very simple to use. For quick and accurate results, it's very unsuitable.
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager has been utilized since we started having a large percentage of our servers move from physical to virtual. It helps us manage the servers and get important statistics from them. A lot of our server team also use it for troubleshooting and capacity planning.

Just its a wonderful tools ,very easy to access can jump into many several different systems. can be viewed the status of all at same place.Able to log in one portal and could monitor multiple data centers. Its an amazing application.
from setup and install to troubleshooting, alerting and reporting. Learn how to monitor the entire stack from SAM Application Monitors, through the VMs, hosts, clusters, down to data store IOPS all in one tab. It's a SWIS-filled, heartwarming story of SAM meets VMan, .Net meets Java, Windows meets Linux and they all live happily ever after.

snce its cloud based and can monitor the stats of different apps at one place.
Read Swathi Aljala's full review
June 29, 2020
Kewyn Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds it is a great tool, used during the last 10 years, by different teams inside IT Operations to detail, monitor, and notify thousands of different infrastructure and network devices that are physical and virtualized, on-premise and in the cloud and run in different environments and are going from simple to very specific monitoring configurations.
  • Easy to add devices to the SolarWinds console
  • A great visual Dashboard and console
  • A wide range of devices to monitor
  • Really good and customizable options for notifications
  • It could add more detail specifically for Unix servers.
  • Integrate more cloud services to monitor using the SolarWinds console
Based on my experience during the past years, SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is the best tool available in the market for server monitoring. It has a very intuitive interface with a lot of options to map the server running in the different company networks. Probably it will be great if you can integrate the monitoring alerts with some automated task to fix several of the common server issues.
Absolutely right--disc alerts, high ram consumption, or high CPU are very useful at the time of generating reports to prepare a budget and make sure to have resources ready to increase capacity in a proactive manner instead of receiving business calls requesting better performance for applications that are critical for operations.
Read Kewyn Medina's full review
April 25, 2020
Dinesh Rana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. Proactive monitoring gives false alerts. For example, when monitoring snapshots. When we call support, we get answers that this feature is not available, etc.
  • Auto discovery via VMAN.
  • Proactive monitoring of guest disk/ virtual disk.
  • It does predictions based on usage of VM resources.
  • Proactive VM status monitoring.
  • Snapshot monitoring is not good.
  • SolarWinds support assistance for customization is not good.
Proactive monitoring is what we do and this product saves us a lot of time, especially when monitoring the data store, etc.
Read Dinesh Rana's full review
July 17, 2020
Neil Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds is our go to platform for monitoring all live/dev and test systems. VM is a critical tool in keeping tabs on performance and planning
  • Optimisation of resources used
  • Forward capacity planning
  • Problem resolution
  • Improved graphical displays
  • Analyses of groups of servers
Ensuring you have space to grow is easily monitored with SVM
Highlighting over provisioned servers
SVM enables us to keep a low head count on engineers needed to fix issues and concentrate on project work and so speed up deployment of business critical needs
Read Neil Taylor's full review
April 23, 2020
Brian Ambarita | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is reliable when you have many virtualizations in your infrastructure. It helps you to maintain how effective & efficient you manage the virtualization with VMAN forecasting. Some customers have the problem where they can't manage multi hyper-converged into a single-pane dashboard, and VMAN makes it easier and faster.
  • VM capacity planning
  • VM forecasting
  • VM monitor multi hyperconverged
  • VM capacity advisor
  • More vendor could be covered
It will be useful if you have a large hyper-converged infrastructure.
The impact is more in how you are able to make your VM efficient.
Read Brian Ambarita's full review
May 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is used by the IT department at our organization. VMAN is utilized by the department to run health checks and metrics. VMAN allows us to properly compare workload numbers from multiple days, weeks, months, and years. These comparisons let us determine when and how we need to add or remove resources from our virtual environment, both on-prem and cloud-based.
  • VMAN allows for workload monitoring in virtualized on-prem and cloud-based resources.
  • VMAN allows for easy views of how individual applications/databases/etc are tied to other resources.
  • VMAN allows for easy views into expected growth patterns within our platforms.
  • Some of the issues I have with VMAN come from how agents and the systems integrate together with the console.
  • Background services required to run VMAN have to be adjusted frequently for optimal performance of the service.
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is a product that works very well for my organization. The program is very strong in reports including under and oversizing of VMs and related resources within our on-prem deployment. The reporting tools for AWS-based resources is not as strong as the options within VMware, however, these capabilities are getting better.
SolarWinds VMAN has provided us with increased uptime as we have been able to see issues as they start happening, such as a service spiking in resources used, underperforming hardware, or resources being over-allocated to a specific virtual machine. The reporting has provided more of a proactive response to issues within our deployments as opposed to reactive. No longer being reactive allows us to get ahead of user issues, and more frequently before users know there are issues.
Read this authenticated review
July 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is vital to our full stack monitoring solution. Spanning global datacentres and branch offices SW VM provides full coverage of our virtual estate. It's main benefit is resource both in human and technical sense. As an engineer allowing me to diagnose and resolve outages in a significantly quicker timeframe. Benefitting both end users for internal systems but also our customers.

Its in depth coverage also allows us to identify wasteful resources and maximise our efficiency bringing real savings to infrastructure on premise costs.
  • In depth VM and Host coverage, particularly metrics such as CPU ready time, no more calculations working out % based on ms latency - its all available at glance of a chart.
  • Coverage of both SAN and VM environments compliments eachother really well allowing us to diagnose any bottle necks within 15 minutes compared to an hour prior to using SW VM.
  • Custom dashboards allows all our engineers to customise their NOC views allowing the umbrella departments to quicker respond or be able to proactively work with other departments to avoid downtime.
  • AWS coverage, not had major chance to research but seems to lack native compatibility for AWS specific services - such as ECS / Cloudfront metrics etc.
  • Some container technologies such as Docker, again not had much time to research but upon first investigations doesn't seem as native to implement monitoring compared to say VMware.
  • AD deep dive monitoring - replication times etc.
It would appear more mature with regards to on premise workloads in comparison to cloud workloads - but I would like to imagine this is all being handled in the roadmap.

Also as per previous point with regards to container workloads. Not sure if agent of some form is being developed we could include in container images relatively easily?

Downtime is money. Product is its website so being able to proactive monitor the entire estate allows us to minimise downtime and keep on top of all the BAU whilst spending more time on project work further improving the infrastructure.

Also massive improvement for our internal systems which benefits our end users maximising productivity.
Read this authenticated review
July 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Virtual Manager is being used for monitoring our vSAN clusters and accompanying VMs. We use it to bring alerting and performance analysis under one pane of glass.
  • It monitors alerts and configuration issues in real-time and notifies relevant personnel.
  • It provides summary pages that allow you to see all of your systems in one place.
  • It recommends options for dealing with issues and allows you to address them from within the VMM program itself.
  • The only thing I can think of is that many alert messages are redundant and it takes a while to go through and filter the extra alerts and cut down on the number of event messages.
It works very well for organizations that have a large and diverse VM environment.
It has definitely increased the speed and effectiveness of our response to problems.
Read this authenticated review
May 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage our VMware servers. We use it to monitor and help manages these servers and address issues as they arise. It gives us the ability to plan for future growth with measuring CPU utilization, memory and HDD space.
  • The proactive monitoring.
  • Ability to troubleshoot issues.
  • Reporting on usage.
  • Future planning for HDD space.
  • Very costly.
  • Resource utilization on the server it resides.
  • Lack of reporting on EtherChannel.
Well suited for our VMware environment. Was able to show us where the bottlenecks were. Was able to reclaim virtual resources by controlling VM sprawl.
Has moved our focus from troubleshooting to projects. The ability to switch on/off VMs, manage VM snapshots, and change CPU memory/resources and VM migration.
Read this authenticated review
May 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, segments of the company are using SolarWinds Virtualization Manager. This is the primary monitoring tool.
  • Monitoring of our devices
  • Quick access to all info on status
  • Repository for historical status
  • Maybe more info on discovery failures on what failed rather than coded info
  • A phone app if it's not already available
  • Multi-view home screen to view selected devices as a group and flip between--Tshoot tool
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is well suited for monitoring less appropriate for MAC-level work on individual devices. It's easier to use the CLI for these tasks.
I'm not sure we use all the features this has to offer but it's been nice to have a central source for all the data networks generate.
Read this authenticated review
May 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds Virtualization Manager to help manage our VMWare environment. We have reports that indicate what VMs have snapshots, whether there are systems with memory ballooning, etc.
  • VM snapshot reports.
  • Managing various clusters we have.
  • Flexibility on setting the reporting piece.
  • Overall, setup of the appliance was fairly straight forward.
  • Upgrading the appliance can be a pain at times.
We love the snapshot reports we setup. It helps us determine when a vm has a snapshot and how long it has it. It allows us to keep our storage usage in check and prevents runway snapshots. We use the information to get let the app owners know we need to delete their snapshots.
It provides us great information on if systems have been sized correctly and when to adjust the virtual machine accordingly. The ability to see which VMs have a snapshot helps us keep them to a minimum to prevent issues from a storage perspective. When VMs have large snapshots, it can cause problems with virtual machines.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it within my department as it does not provide any value to the other departments. It is currently used with all of our other SolarWinds products that provide a fantastic monitoring environment that helps us find/resolve issues quickly.
  • Monitoring virtualization environments.
  • Identifying asset locations within the virtualization environment.
  • Identifying possible causes of problems within our entire environment.
  • Orion environment can at times be slow to load.
This paired with the other SolarWinds suite of tools is a great all-encompassing monitoring environment. By itself it does a great job, but with everything else it's a complete solution for an entire environment.
It consolidates the view of our virtual environments into one portal and in those views makes it easy to find details on different aspects of the environment. This has allowed us to better keep an eye on what is happening in the environment and quickly track down cause and provide a resolution to the problem.
Read this authenticated review
July 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager has been utilized since we started having a large percentage of our servers move from physical to virtual. It helps us manage the servers and get important statistics from them. A lot of our server team also use it for troubleshooting and capacity planning.
  • The capacity planning tools have been very helpful to see where we stand, and to prepare for new workloads and growth
  • The virtualization alerts are pretty helpful in responding to issues and assisting with troubleshooting
  • The Virtualization manager tools are a nice way for our IT managers to see everything at a glance, and get some detailed information
  • I would like more options of things that can be displayed or tracked on the dashboard
  • The reports are a little clunky or confusing to setup, especially custom reports
  • Overall it does what we need, I really don't use it as much as other staff here
It provides a good deal of information in a relatively concise format, which allows for easier management and a quick view of the entire infrastructure
I am pretty sure that most people here that use it will attest to the fact that it does save them time, both in everyday activities and in troubleshooting issues when they arise. I feel that it has saved us a lot of time since we started using it.
Read this authenticated review
February 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor all the network devices in our organization. It is used by IT and some other business units to monitor their critical devices. IT has been a great help for us in checking the bandwidth utilization and health of network devices in our environment.
  • Network management.
  • Monitor wifi devices.
  • Sometimes when we upgrade the software we lose device access and have to restart it.
  • Wish there was more training.
We use SolarWindsVM and so far good, it's been very good. We can add devices on this and it is very easy to add the new device when needed. Larger companies may want to have a physical appliance though.
Read this authenticated review
February 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds for server monitoring and alerts.
  • Detail performance stats.
  • Good alert system.
  • RAM management poor.
  • Capacity planning could be wider, not server specific.
We were hoping for more management based reporting and capacity management across the entire platform.
Sometimes overall service outages give a bad impression to all users.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Before I get started, you should know that I'm intentionally running v7.1, and all answers to this survey will be referring to that version. That's because future versions DO NOT deliver the information in the same way and the product has lost much of its value as a result. Support was NOT helpful in finding a solution or getting their "new" product to behave the same way. That said, to answer your question, I'm the only person in the company who uses VMAN daily, or at all, really. It gives me a "coffee-cup-view" each morning of how our hosts and VMs have been performing (Memory, CPU, IOPS, Network) and it is one of the first places I check when I get calls about performance.
  • Up through v7.1, a quick view of server (host and VM) performance and trends.
  • Through v7.1, it was everything we needed. Since then, the graphs that would harvest performance figures (network, memory, CPU, IOPS), would never display the same way, and would not refresh with the frequency to make the data digestible.
I can really only speak to v7.1 because future versions DO NOT deliver the information in the same way and the product had lost much of its value as a result. Support was NOT helpful in finding a solution or getting their "new" product to behave the same way. The reason I wouldn't recommend it to a colleague is that its new ("supported") versions don't do what I want them to or what the old version did. The old version would clearly identify how servers (physical and virtual) were performing currently, as well as how they've performed historically, and I could see right away if things are "normal" or need attention. We tried subsequent versions, but the data refresh was not frequent enough to give the same easily understandable graphs.
With v7.1, I could see how a VM or host was performing currently, as well as what the historical performance of the server was to identify abnormalities. This would give me a place to start diagnosing issues or making environmental changes to remediate. While I knew the capability existed to have VMAN initiate changes to our virtual environment (and even make them proactively, if we configured it to do so) I prefer to make the changes myself through the normal virtual interface than to have a 3rd party app do that blindly. Call me a control freak, but.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is being used by the VMware team. It addresses the problem of not being able to easily see the health of the VMware environment. It gives the engineers the ability to see everything on a single pane of glass. You can see which VMs need more memory/resources and which have too much, in which resources can be reclaimed.
  • Single pane of glass
  • To be able to see VMware health/predictions of what is coming down the pike
  • Recommendations to improve the virtual environment
  • Sometimes there are glitches when updating the software
  • Free training videos
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is well suited for quickly viewing or revealing what is really going on in your VMware environment. You can customize your dashboards to see what you need or want to see. SolarWinds is well suited if you are limited in VMware resources, to reclaim resources from VMs that are over provisioned.
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager has been designed to reduce downtime and fix issues faster. This is crucial in preventing down time. This helps with retaining your job/position. The reporting feature is extremely helpful when requesting new resources/storage.
Read this authenticated review
October 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had a member of the team on long term medical leave and we needed something that could help other members of the team monitor the VMWare infrastructure. This was the best option that we could afford. We found it fairly easy to configure and we tied it into the rest of our SolarWinds environment.
  • Overall view of hosts, VMs and Storage
  • Monitoring
  • Multi platform
  • It can be a little slow
  • Alerts could be more comprehensive
Our long-time virtual infrastructure manager had to go on medical leave and we were not sure if it would be short or long term. This tool allowed us to manage the short term while preparing for long term options.
We have not had to utilize this feature but knowing its there is comforting.
Read this authenticated review
January 30, 2019
Rob Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Virtualization Manager is being used by the IT department to manage and monitor our relatively large, global VMware environment. We have issues with virtual machines being over provisoned, snapshots not consolidated or removed, VMware tools not kept up to date, hardware issues with ESXi hosts. Virtualization Manager was purchased after a successful POC to cover the entire estate and reduce the aforementioned problems.
  • The volume of data available from Virtualization Manager out of the box is huge. We were shocked at the amount of issues we had that Virtualization Manager highlighted within the first few days.
  • The ability to add additional widgets into seperate screens giving valuable VM and host insight.
  • The recommending/reporting element is fantastic and we use it daily to keep track of whats changing in our VM environment.
  • We did have issues during the setup, with successfully connecting to some of our hosts and vCenters and we found support were just sending us back to articles we had already read, it was also taking long periods before getting a response. The issue is still ongoing, in fact.
Virtualization Manager is well suited to any enterprise organisation where the VM sprawl is getting out of hand or if you have hosts in different locations with different staff managing the inventory. It gives control back to you and a deep dive into whats actually happening on the hosts.
We have regained control of our extensive VM environment, we're spotting host and VM issues far quicker than we ever have done in the past. We can manage VMs direct through the Orion console too, which gives a quick turn around if an issue needs addressing.
We've had a few issues including one issue which is still on going. I've had to explain the issue multiple times and seem to end up having a different support member respond each time, which isnt great. I would prefer to have one engineer working on the same case. I've also had to escalate the issue through our account manager as it has dragged on and as a new customer, I feel more attention should be given at this stage.
Yes - Yes we have installed new versions since purchase. Process was smooth with very little downtime. No issues from the experience and we had backups available, just in case.
Read Rob Bates's full review
November 16, 2018
Timothy Sawah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is used by the IT systems engineer. This tool enabled us to monitor all the virtual servers in the environment. It works across different platforms like VMware and Hyper-V. The system helped to detect virtual server problems before they occur and perform proactive maintenance. SolarWinds VMAN has advanced reporting capabilities and a customizable dashboard. We used this application to forecast the virtual environment growth and accordingly estimate annual budget.
  • I created custom dashboards, to view the different elements of the virtual environment. For example, you can view the number of online VMs and those off, or disconnected. You can also choose to see the status of every virtual cluster, the storage disk usage on every VM, the RAM usage, CPU usage.
  • I used this application to see the growth of virtual memory in each cluster and accordingly do forecasting for future growth. A capacity planner included in this application would help in doing accurate estimations and setting a future upgrade budget.
  • Another powerful tool was the customized reports, where i could generate reports on any element of the VM or cluster. Reports can be exported to Excel or PDF and are very useful for sharing information with colleagues and management.
  • Alerts can be customized. For example, you can set a rule to get an email alert if any virtual server RAM usage exceeds 85% and send a text message if RAM usage exceeds 90% for more than 10 minutes.
  • Generating a new license key upon renewal and then installing the new key is not a straightforward process. I think license renewal should be handled using easier methods
  • Solarwinds VMAN is a VM itself, so in case the cluster or ESX/host where it resides fails, there won't be a way to get alerted.
  • There account managers are really annoying, every year they start calling and sending emails 3 month before renewal.
  • It is perfectly suited for environments with 100+ virtual servers. It is essential in environments with several clusters and 500+ virtual servers.
  • It would be optimal for hybrid environments with Hyper-V and VMware.
  • It can be expensive for small businesses.
  • It is not recommended in case most of the environment is on physical servers or cloud platforms
Most of the common issues with VMs are RAM overload, not enough processing power, or virtual disk full. These minor issues can hardly be detected by checking on every virtual server OS. With SolarWinds VMAN these issues are detected and shown on the dashboard. With custom alerts on certain thresholds, emails or text messages will be sent out to control the issue before the service/application goes down.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review

What is SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN)?

SolarWinds® Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is an intuitive tool for monitoring, performance management, capacity planning and optimization.

Complete visibility into your environment

Manage both VMware and Microsoft environments - on-premises or in the cloud - with a single tool. VMAN also visualizes how your virtualization connects to application, server, and storage infrastructure for faster troubleshooting.

Clear path to maximize performance

Get insight into the performance, capacity, configuration, and usage of your virtualized infrastructure, including hosts, VMs, clusters and datastores. VMAN delivers recommendations to address active or potential performance issues.

Address virtualization issues efficiently

VMAN can execute a variety of management actions, including power on/off, suspend, reboot a VM, or take and delete snapshots. You can migrate VMs to a different host, and VM disks to a different data store.

Reclaim resources for improved performance

Reclaim virtual resources instantly with VM sprawl alerts and recommendations. VMAN can automatically find idle, stale, and zombie VMs as well as orphaned VMDKs to free up storage space. VMAN can guide you in right-sizing your VMs to recapture CPU and memory resources for further savings.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Features

Has featureHypervisor specific active alerting
Has featureVirtual machine resource planning
Has featureActionable recommendations for remediation of active and predicted VM performance
Has featureVisibility into VM Sprawl reclaims resources
Has featureRemediate issues without having to log in to a hypervisor
Has featureIntuitive dashboards that highlight the most important issues

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Screenshots

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Video

View an overview of SolarWinds Virtualization Manager and some of its key features including dashboards, alerts, performance monitoring, capacity planning, and VM sprawl.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Downloadables

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer, SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA), SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM)

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Competitors

Dynatrace, Nutanix AOS, Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo), VMware vROps

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN)?

SolarWinds® Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is a tool for monitoring, performance management, capacity planning and optimization for on-premises or cloud-based virtual environments. It also integrates with other SolarWinds products.

What is SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN)?

The most common users of SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.