TrustRadius
VMAN is the ManVirtualization Manager is being used by the IT department to manage and monitor our relatively large, global VMware environment. We have issues with virtual machines being over provisoned, snapshots not consolidated or removed, VMware tools not kept up to date, hardware issues with ESXi hosts. Virtualization Manager was purchased after a successful POC to cover the entire estate and reduce the aforementioned problems.,The volume of data available from Virtualization Manager out of the box is huge. We were shocked at the amount of issues we had that Virtualization Manager highlighted within the first few days. The ability to add additional widgets into seperate screens giving valuable VM and host insight. The recommending/reporting element is fantastic and we use it daily to keep track of whats changing in our VM environment.,We did have issues during the setup, with successfully connecting to some of our hosts and vCenters and we found support were just sending us back to articles we had already read, it was also taking long periods before getting a response. The issue is still ongoing, in fact.,8,We have certainly stopped some outages, particulary where delta files from abandoned VMs have been left to grow. In the past this would have caused an outage with the VM going offline. We have reduced resources being consumed by using the over provisoning reporting.,We have regained control of our extensive VM environment, we're spotting host and VM issues far quicker than we ever have done in the past. We can manage VMs direct through the Orion console too, which gives a quick turn around if an issue needs addressing.,We have used capacity planning scenarios against several of our production hosts to gauge how long the current resource will last. We have some expansions coming up in our production environment and VMAN has been fantastic in giving us an insight into just how much of a resource will be needed based on the current configuration and inventory.,We're yet to use this feature in full, it would be unfair to give a positive or negative reflection until we have used the product.,Veeam ONE,SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor, SolarWinds IPAM, SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer, SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager, SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, Solarwinds Database Performance Analyzer for SQL Server,30,12,Gaining visibility of how our ESXi hosts and Clusters behave. Visibility of VM issues, such as bad out of date VMware tools, snapshots , storage issues. Over provisioning of VM resources and being able to claw back said resources. Reporting and recommendations on future expansions in our ESXi environments.,We were unaware of just how much over provisioning was happening with VMs which VMAN highlighed in the first few days.,We intend on using VMAN to predict future expansions using the reporting elements.,10,Yes,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor Analyst Reports Third-party Reviews,We reviewed multiple vendors before making a decision, and we also went through several proof of concepts. There isnt alot we would change as we believe we selected the correct solution for our requirements and everyone has been very impressed when using the platform.,Implemented in-house,Yes,Change management was minimal,We had issues polling some of our vCenters and ESXi hosts, in particular the hardware elements of the chassis, we discovered this was due to a proxy issue in the end, in our environment. However it meant hardware monitoring was unavailable.,9,Self-taught,Yes, very easy to learn without training, especially for engineers with key skills in VMware and Storage. If the latter is missing, then on boarding training and training classes would be a good idea.,7,Try to seperate your ESXi hosts, VM and, Networking and Storage data on seperate tabs for ease of identifying issues.,Some - we have done small customizations to the interface,No - we have not done any custom code,None.,5,No,During our proof of concept, support were excellent in responding to questions and giving us guidance.,Creating custom tabs with predefined metric data. This allows metrics for a node to be spread across multiple pages. Viewing vital VM stats and loading additional metrics into the page. Performing capacity recommendation reporting. Configuring alerts. Configuring view and dashboards within VMAN.,We dont really have any complaints or issues with any of the functionality.,Yes, but I don't use it,9,10,9,7,We have integrated our entire VMware estate,Not at this time.,Javascript widgets,9,Ensure the staff responsible have knowledge of planning and deployment of products of a similar nature. Also ensure they have key skills in VMware and Storage.,9,9,As we were purchasing multiple modules, we were able to negotiate a large discount which allowed us to be in a position to afford the paltform.,Be polite and easy to work with!,Yes,There were bug fixes in the recent upgrades, but nothing significant.,We're not aware of any major benefits or changes at this point.,No,NoSolarWinds VMAN Review - A service provider perspective.As the Founder of Silverback Systems Services Ltd, an IT consultancy specialising in providing professional services to both end users and resellers of SolarWinds products, I find myself working with many different businesses who have a need to monitor their virtualisation infrastructure. Virtualisation Manager, or VMAN for short, is the best-in-class, vendor agnostic, tool which does that job in spades. Whether an organisation uses VMware vSphere, Microsoft Hyper-V, or a combination of both, VMAN provides all the details an organisation could want on their hypervisor estate. When integrated with other Orion modules, such as Server and Application Manager (SAM) and Network Performance Monitor (NPM), you get visibility across the whole estate, using Orion's AppStack™ environment views. In my experience, once a business takes up an evaluation of VMAN, they quickly find it a key part of their infrastructure team's toolset.,VMAN's powerful sprawl analyses allows businesses to see where their hypervisor estate can be made more efficient. Coupled with powerful capacity management, the efficiency gains allow the product to quickly start returning on it's investment, allowing businesses to do more with what they already have. The recommendations provided by VNMAN allows administrators to schedule changes in compute, storage assignment, and host/guest balance. These changes can be automated to take place on a schedule to suit, with VMAN making the changes at the appropriate time, allowing businesses to potentially save on expensive out of hours administration. It's not only on-premise! With VMAN you can monitor your cloud-based guests on Amazon EC2 and Microsoft Azure.,Whilst VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V are the two big hitters in the hypervisor estate, VMAN lacks support for other popular solutions, such as Citrix XenServer, Oracle VM.,10,Every business I have worked with who have adopted VMAN has seen an efficiency improvement. This means that they are able to run more guests on the same hardware, leading to an increased time before requiring further CAPEX for additional capacity. Performance benefits, via heeding the recommendations within VMAN, are not to be underestimated. Once VMAN has enough metrics on your estate, it can quickly advise you which guests need more compute, but more importantly which ones are over-provisioined, and can have CPU/memory reduced! This leads to increased capacity.,If your host to guest ratios are not balanced, you could have a lopsided provision. This could lead to hardware failures, as one host is heavily utilised, whilst others are not. VMAN considers this, and will recommend moving guests between hosts accordingly, leading to longer service life for your host servers. With VMAN you can schedule the movement of guests between hosts, and have the software action the move itself, without the need to have an engineer action this change. Whilst it's clearly sensible to have an engineer check the move was successful after the fact, you can rely on VMAN to get this job done.,Part of VMAN's powerful capacity planning is the ability to simulate how your current estate will cope with projected load. Using the capacity reports, you can see how many additional hosts (with similar specifications to hosts already monitored) you will need to cope with your projected increased guest population. As all the metrics used by capacity planning are real ones gathered from your own estate, the reports are accurate, allowing you to commit to further CAPEX on additional hardware with confidence.,The core of SolarWinds Orion is it's flexibility. PerfStack is a perfect example. You can construct your own graphs of related metrics, and have a view of exactly what you want to see. From the VMAN perspective, you can drag host, guest, and application metrics together to paint a picture of application performance over time, quickly and simply, and share this dashboard with other Orion users. This is not only a fantastic troubleshooting tool, but also allows users to create views of what is important to them, without the need to click between multiple different pages to get the different metrics.,SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor, SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Network Configuration ManagerSolarWinds Virtualization Manager helps buisness go forwardSolarWinds Virtualization Manager is used by the enterprise IT [department] to manage the VMWare environment daily. Its gives deep insight beyond what vSphere can and also ties back to storage and hardware giving me a single pane of glass view.,Recommendations. Those are wonderful. You build out your environment based on a set of criteria from a vendor or others, only to find your resources are poorly used. The VMAN product allows you to make adjustments based on its recommendations and it automates the process for you. Pinpoints guests with problems. It provides a graphical and then drills down details to the virtual guests with issues you need to address immediately. Capacity planning and sprawl. VMAN gives you all the tools you need to prvent sprawl and plan for the future.,Licensing. One of the most glaring elements to SolarWinds is the way they license. I feel they could improve this a bit. It a easy process just costly. They tell you about orphaned VMDK but don't tell you where it might be used. It says it might be, I feel it should check.,10,This product will pay for itself. It's expensive to license but then pays for it self when you see it work every day.,VMAN saves time and man power. I can do the work of two or three with the product at my disposal. I fin it to be very helpful and an asset to the organization. VMAN has given insight, save time and money, as well as become a standard for skills required to have now going forward.,This is a very important tool as its helps in areas where expensive SAN storage is capitalized for the virtual environment. Its saves processor and ram over utilization and has helped us expand the life of the hardware between refresh. We will continue to leverage it as we plan our virtual roll-outs in the future.,this is something that really lets you dive in to the environment and look at how you are performing, where trouble exists, how you should plan for the future, and what is the real cause of issues. We were so excited to see this feature as it performs well and is a key part in our success.,vSphere,SolarWinds Log & Event Manager, SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager, SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor, SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer,2,1,Overview of Virtual Infrastructure Recommendations for changes to environment Planning and forecasting,Sprawl, keeping it controlled Capacity planning for future proofing the network,Budgeting for future years Hardware justification automation of recommendation processes,10,No,Product Features Prior Experience with the Product Existing Relationship with the Vendor,I don't know that o would change anything. I would still have chosen it since it is the best thing on the market.,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,Understanding how to configure the product becoming familiar with the interface ensuring all the items were configured to perform properly.,10,No,10,No,Case in point, I could not see the recommendations and they were able to resolve it. The process took several days but they technicians never stopped working on it. Each day we would work together to resolve the issue. this sometimes meant that we found other things needing fixed too and they were.,Recommendations Sprawl Capacity Planning,Reporting Storage,No,10Great starting tool but not not the best for automationWe currently use Virtualization Manager for maintenance and some basic levels of automation. On the maintenance side we use it to clean up old snapshots and send Slack notifications to our channels of impending removal. We just implemented checks for the VMs in vCenter, specifically our DHCP servers, and it will automatically reboot the VM if it detects issues. This also sends Slack notifications and escalates before paging our IT team if the simple reboot doesn't fix the issue.,Snapshot Management - It was extremely easy to implement and set up this piece, it is nice to have an automated tool for cleaning up snapshots because this is often forgotten in the day to day. Basic Automation - it has the capability to restart VMs or make additional changes automatically on the fly, although we have only just started using this piece I see potential in its future use. Easy integration - Was very easy to setup, the service account gets access to vcenter and then you login, it only takes a few minutes without a lot of in depth knowledge of either platform.,Application Monitoring with Virtualization Manager - It isn't very simple to implement a specific application and tie it to a multitude of servers, you can set it up on a one to one basis but you would have to do it individually per vm. Virtualization Manager & Nodes - Nodes and VMs are treated differently in Solarwinds, even if you add a VM as a node, while it gives you different options for each, there is not a lot of cross over and we find that even when muting VMs/Nodes alerts still go through or get triggered Weird Objects - there are some random objects that have appeared over time in our virtualization manager page, hosts, vms, that don't exist. There doesn't seem to be an easy way of removing them and I dont know where they came from. It is more of an annoyance than an actual issue but it flags false positives,6,Snapshot Management - It is nice to have an automated tool for cleaning up snapshots because this is often forgotten in the day to day. One of those things that no one wants to do themselves VM Management - we are still getting started with this but we keep finding it coming up a little short on exactly what we need, it will do most of the job we need but still requires some manual intervention.,It has helped identify issues and resolve some things. One of the more major drawbacks is its inability to identify specifically what the issue is. I.E. if you want a notification if one of your esxi hosts enters a warning state. You will get an alert if someone enables SSH on the host to do maintenance. It would be great if it identified the actual cause of the alert instead of "Red" or "Yellow" for its status. Granted you could mute the host but even if you don't its nice to know the actual issue before you login to vcenter otherwise its just hey there is a problem but i dont know what it is.,This is a nice feature to have but in our environment it doesn't really come into play. Usually we have done our own capacity planning and base that on historical data from Solarwinds itself. We have a lot of these notifications disabled because it tends to just become noise.,We do not currently use this feature.,,ThousandEyes, New Relic InfrastructureOur VManWe are using Virtualization Manager to get a complete view of our virtualized environment, VMware and HyperV in a single pane. Its use is focused in out IT infrastructure area. One benefit is the integration with other SolarWinds products such as Server Application Monitoring (SAM). This allows us to monitor the entire virtualization structure from performance at the guest level and how it impacts hosts performance.,Integration with VMware Virtual Center and Hypervisor hosts. Since we have a mixed virtual infrastructure VMan allows the administrators to quickly identify potential issues and conflicts across our virtual environment, without relying on separate tools for each technology. The integration with other Solarwinds products allows for the ability to drill down into the other modules for a clearer view of detail associated with a process or event.,There were some issues migrating from the previous version to the latest version. Screen displays didn't always function as expected. Due to licensing constraints, the ability to easily filter which devices to monitor and which to skip over in order to stay within the license limits. The ability to set thresholds based on the guest or host's role in the virtualized environment. Databases might have a different threshold requirement than web servers.,8,The cost of managing the mixed virtual environment is greatly reduced by presenting a single solution. Using the features included with the other SolarWinds modules, such as reporting and issue alerting have had an impact on the management of the infrastructure The self service capability of the VMan dashboard allows the information to be easily shared with other IT and management resources.,We recently went through an effort to further integrate Hypervisor into our existing VMware environment. VMan allowed for the smooth planning of necessary resources that were required to migrate from one technology to the other, There are no specialized skill sets required for an administrator to work within both virtual spaces. The information is clearly displayed and the issues on either are clearly identified.,In the planning of the migration between some of our VMware environments and Hypervisor environments the capacity prediction was a great help in sizing the newer environments. We also use the capacity planning to look at areas of potential resource constraints in the near future and further out.,The ability to customize dashboards by drag and drop is a valuable feature across all SolarWinds products. We are able to create custom views which display only the information relevant to the specific viewer(s). The dashboards are clean and easy to navigate for the average viewers.,VMware vCenter Server and Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager,SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor, SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer
Windows
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager
68 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
TRScore

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Reviews

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager
68 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 69 vetted SolarWinds Virtualization Manager reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 33)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
October 19, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "VMAN is the Man"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Virtualization Manager is being used by the IT department to manage and monitor our relatively large, global VMware environment. We have issues with virtual machines being over provisoned, snapshots not consolidated or removed, VMware tools not kept up to date, hardware issues with ESXi hosts. Virtualization Manager was purchased after a successful POC to cover the entire estate and reduce the aforementioned problems.
  • The volume of data available from Virtualization Manager out of the box is huge. We were shocked at the amount of issues we had that Virtualization Manager highlighted within the first few days.
  • The ability to add additional widgets into seperate screens giving valuable VM and host insight.
  • The recommending/reporting element is fantastic and we use it daily to keep track of whats changing in our VM environment.
  • We did have issues during the setup, with successfully connecting to some of our hosts and vCenters and we found support were just sending us back to articles we had already read, it was also taking long periods before getting a response. The issue is still ongoing, in fact.
Virtualization Manager is well suited to any enterprise organisation where the VM sprawl is getting out of hand or if you have hosts in different locations with different staff managing the inventory. It gives control back to you and a deep dive into whats actually happening on the hosts.
Read Rob Bates's full review
October 19, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager: "SolarWinds VMAN Review - A service provider perspective."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As the Founder of Silverback Systems Services Ltd, an IT consultancy specialising in providing professional services to both end users and resellers of SolarWinds products, I find myself working with many different businesses who have a need to monitor their virtualisation infrastructure. Virtualisation Manager, or VMAN for short, is the best-in-class, vendor agnostic, tool which does that job in spades. Whether an organisation uses VMware vSphere, Microsoft Hyper-V, or a combination of both, VMAN provides all the details an organisation could want on their hypervisor estate. When integrated with other Orion modules, such as Server and Application Manager (SAM) and Network Performance Monitor (NPM), you get visibility across the whole estate, using Orion's AppStack™ environment views. In my experience, once a business takes up an evaluation of VMAN, they quickly find it a key part of their infrastructure team's toolset.
  • VMAN's powerful sprawl analyses allows businesses to see where their hypervisor estate can be made more efficient. Coupled with powerful capacity management, the efficiency gains allow the product to quickly start returning on it's investment, allowing businesses to do more with what they already have.
  • The recommendations provided by VNMAN allows administrators to schedule changes in compute, storage assignment, and host/guest balance. These changes can be automated to take place on a schedule to suit, with VMAN making the changes at the appropriate time, allowing businesses to potentially save on expensive out of hours administration.
  • It's not only on-premise! With VMAN you can monitor your cloud-based guests on Amazon EC2 and Microsoft Azure.
  • Whilst VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V are the two big hitters in the hypervisor estate, VMAN lacks support for other popular solutions, such as Citrix XenServer, Oracle VM.
If you have on premise hypervisors, and they happen to be running vSphere or Hyper-V, you should look at picking up VMAN. It really is that simple. The insight it gives into your virtual infrastructure is far too important to ignore. Check out the free online demo via oriondemo.solarwinds.com, and click on "Dashboards>Virtualization" to see what you are missing out on.
Read Jez Marsh's full review
October 09, 2018

Review: "SolarWinds Virtualization Manager helps buisness go forward"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is used by the enterprise IT [department] to manage the VMWare environment daily. Its gives deep insight beyond what vSphere can and also ties back to storage and hardware giving me a single pane of glass view.

  • Recommendations. Those are wonderful. You build out your environment based on a set of criteria from a vendor or others, only to find your resources are poorly used. The VMAN product allows you to make adjustments based on its recommendations and it automates the process for you.
  • Pinpoints guests with problems. It provides a graphical and then drills down details to the virtual guests with issues you need to address immediately.
  • Capacity planning and sprawl. VMAN gives you all the tools you need to prvent sprawl and plan for the future.
  • Licensing. One of the most glaring elements to SolarWinds is the way they license. I feel they could improve this a bit. It a easy process just costly.
  • They tell you about orphaned VMDK but don't tell you where it might be used. It says it might be, I feel it should check.
It's integrated with the SolarWinds Orion platform of tools, it has great insight, and works well. It has saved me staff by helping me be more automated and efficient. The automated alerting is very valuable and when combined with the other tools in Orion and offerings from SolarWinds gives you and complete solution for everyday use.
Read Jeremy Mayfield's full review
September 28, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Great starting tool but not not the best for automation"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Virtualization Manager for maintenance and some basic levels of automation. On the maintenance side we use it to clean up old snapshots and send Slack notifications to our channels of impending removal. We just implemented checks for the VMs in vCenter, specifically our DHCP servers, and it will automatically reboot the VM if it detects issues. This also sends Slack notifications and escalates before paging our IT team if the simple reboot doesn't fix the issue.
  • Snapshot Management - It was extremely easy to implement and set up this piece, it is nice to have an automated tool for cleaning up snapshots because this is often forgotten in the day to day.
  • Basic Automation - it has the capability to restart VMs or make additional changes automatically on the fly, although we have only just started using this piece I see potential in its future use.
  • Easy integration - Was very easy to setup, the service account gets access to vcenter and then you login, it only takes a few minutes without a lot of in depth knowledge of either platform.
  • Application Monitoring with Virtualization Manager - It isn't very simple to implement a specific application and tie it to a multitude of servers, you can set it up on a one to one basis but you would have to do it individually per vm.
  • Virtualization Manager & Nodes - Nodes and VMs are treated differently in Solarwinds, even if you add a VM as a node, while it gives you different options for each, there is not a lot of cross over and we find that even when muting VMs/Nodes alerts still go through or get triggered
  • Weird Objects - there are some random objects that have appeared over time in our virtualization manager page, hosts, vms, that don't exist. There doesn't seem to be an easy way of removing them and I dont know where they came from. It is more of an annoyance than an actual issue but it flags false positives
It is great if you need a quick and fast solution, it is more of a Swiss Army Knife of monitoring tools, it does a lot of things, but if you really want to go in depth on something or get a certain amount of details it can be cumbersome. Sometimes the level of effort can be really low but it could also be really high; snapshot management was a big win and was very easy to implement. Management groups of VMs or nodes get more complicated even if it is a fleet of similar VMs that provide the same function, you are limited to the capabilities of Virtualization Manager. It doesn't allow for a lot of automation that we are looking to implement, we are looking to rebuild our VMs on the fly, utilize containerization, etc and this doesn't have enough functionality for this need.
Read Austin Nickens's full review
September 26, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Our VMan"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Virtualization Manager to get a complete view of our virtualized environment, VMware and HyperV in a single pane. Its use is focused in out IT infrastructure area. One benefit is the integration with other SolarWinds products such as Server Application Monitoring (SAM). This allows us to monitor the entire virtualization structure from performance at the guest level and how it impacts hosts performance.
  • Integration with VMware Virtual Center and Hypervisor hosts. Since we have a mixed virtual infrastructure VMan allows the administrators to quickly identify potential issues and conflicts across our virtual environment, without relying on separate tools for each technology.
  • The integration with other Solarwinds products allows for the ability to drill down into the other modules for a clearer view of detail associated with a process or event.
  • There were some issues migrating from the previous version to the latest version. Screen displays didn't always function as expected.
  • Due to licensing constraints, the ability to easily filter which devices to monitor and which to skip over in order to stay within the license limits.
  • The ability to set thresholds based on the guest or host's role in the virtualized environment. Databases might have a different threshold requirement than web servers.
VMan is best suited in an integrated SolarWinds monitoring environment where its interaction with the other modules increases its versatility. For organizations that are using mixed virtualization solutions, VMan offers a single pane of glass approach to monitoring those environments. If an organization is utilizing a single solution virtualization approach to that vendor's solution, VCenter for example, might suffice.


Read Turnor Wootton's full review
September 26, 2018

Review: "SolarWinds Virtualization Manager - Good to GO - Go NOW!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We utilize SolarWinds Virtualization Manager on a daily basis to monitor 2 sites, 3 Clusters. I utilize virtualization manager along with other tools to ensure that we are proactive rather than reactive. The main dashboard is displayed on a wall monitor to ensure that the team has full visibility to the environment.

The tool tells you if you have VM ware tools out of day, attached media to the virtual machine, data store over allocation, host running low on disk space, VMs rebooted, VM Phantom Snapshot Files, ... the list goes on and on. You have great visibility into resource allocation across the whole environment. CPU Utilization, CPU Ready, Memory Utilization, Data store I/O latency. I can't appreciate this tool enough; you get more out of this tool simply by asking Virtualization manager to discover your environment.

  • Set up and installation is unbelievably easy. Integration to Orion can be done with a point and a click after you have VM up and running.
  • Details across the environment are so very valuable ; they are color coded as to the severity of attention necessary to resolve any issue.
  • Capacity Planning is a must during budget processing and when users come to ask for additional resources to run an unplanned application.
  • I would love the ability to acknowledge that an image of a machine does not require VM Ware tools, therefore it should not trigger a condition to load the tools. We have images of servers and computers used to spin up machines; vm ware tools is loaded after the server or computer is provisioned for production.
  • When integrated with Orion, I would love not to loose my place in Virtualization Manager when I add additional resources to a resource map. Each time I add a resource to the map, I have to add what was previously there ... this is only when you integrate with Orion. Stand Alone, you can add, edit, delete resources to show on a map.
  • I am having a hard time coming up with additional room for improvement, as I do need to upgrade my current version when time permits. This is such a valuable tool that is used every day, multiple times a day!
So very well suited when your environment is totally virtualized. The details continue to push my team attend to the environment. I would hate to think about bringing up a virtual environment without SolarWinds Virtualization Manager. The CPU ready and data store I/O are great gauges to watch during the day and a quick glance or two over the weekend. You can tell if something is out of character right away.
Read Jennifer Aguilar's full review
October 19, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "SVM customisation and API benefits"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SVM to monitor our networking devices from their hardware utilization to monitoring business networks critical links, syslog messages, netflow and performace as a whole. Currently SolarWinds is being used by our IT department which has different roles within. The entire platform has been separated for two types of users: Service desk and Infrastructure team.

Service desk is able to monitor all our devices and would be alerted in a prompt manner if any issues would appear. This is very useful for escalation process within the business in scenarios where critical business services are down. They are restricted to certain uses of the platform though.

Infrastructure team is administrating all of the devices added to the platform, we are actively using SolarWinds API for our internal processes which are expanding rapidly with the ease use of the API.
  • API intergration. Ease to integrate SolarWinds API to internal processes.
  • Syslog alerts are clear and easily read.
  • Ease to add Cisco devices to SVM.
  • Customisation choices.
  • SVM can be slow at times, e.g to view 2000 syslog messages of a device might take up to 30s to load.
  • Poor integration of Meraki devices and wireless data output in general.
Well suited for syslog, netflow data. API integration benefits.

Slow in some scenarios.
Read Andrius Labanavicius's full review
October 17, 2018

Review: "SolarWinds Virtualization Manager great for monitoring your Virtual Environment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds in our IT department to manage our virtual server deployment it helps us with predictions on growth. It also helps us optimize our VMs in our virtual environment across all of our hosts. It also will let us know if there is unused CPU and RAM on specific VMs so we can take resources and apply those to other systems.
  • Recommends migration of VMs across hosts to even out workload
  • Alerts us on unused resources and suggests what can be taken away from which systems
  • Predicts growth so you can plan for expansion
  • some times we get false reports of Zombie VMs but that is not often at all
It is great to use in an environment where you have quite a few virtual machines and more than one host. We use it in our environment with 4 hosts. I would see that it would not be used to its fullest potential if you only have one host machine in your environment.
Read Ryhlen Schoeberl's full review
October 15, 2018

Review: "SolarWinds Virtualization Manager- saves time and money"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a small group of systems administrators who use VMAN to send email notifications when problems arise with our VMWare Vcenter systems, as well as a quick dashboard that is always displayed giving us a list of potential problems in real-time.
  • Customizable dashboard, giving you only the information you want to see (of course, it's only as useful as the time you put into configuring it.)
  • Customizable email notifications (once again- you have to know what you want to report on, and specify that explicitly.)
  • It also provides capacity management, but this has never been an issue for us, so I haven't really utilized this feature.
  • I would like to see a little more intelligence built into the application. More out of the box reports, notifications and displays that are useful without needing built by the customer. It seems that most Sys Admins are all looking for the same information and notifications- why not have a few build a very useful dashboard, and have that be the default- and then still allow for further customization?
It has a much simpler and easier to use interface than VMWare's product line for monitoring- however, if you're a VMWare shop, and you want to go all VMWare- this could be a redundant product.
Read Dathon Stokes's full review
September 28, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Works will with our monitoring products."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in our IT department for quick access from dashboards we currently use with other SolarWinds products. It shows the various health statuses and information of our VMs and centralizes our alerting and troubleshooting across all our virtualization, server hardware, and network switching. It is very useful for capacity planning and creating cases for upgrades/replacements.
  • Gives me useful detail on every object and the ability to drill into more detailed data is great.
  • The ability to predict when resources will become constrained.
  • Emailed alerts that and the ability to customize them.
  • Licensing. Difficult- expensive- constant sales cycle
If you are using other SolarWinds products it integrates well and is easy to learn.
Read Roland Biggerstaff's full review
September 28, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Resource Recovery"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used solely by the IT operations team. We use it primarily to watch for over and under-resourced virtual machines and those that have been shut down for an extended period time.
  • Reporting on resources allocated versus utilized\needed.
  • Memory ballooning and restrictions
  • CPU ready and wait times
  • None at this time
It gives us solid evidence to support removing resources for VMs that have been over allocated saving us costs by not needing to purchase additional computer resources and licensing.
Read James Davis's full review
September 27, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Great Virtualization Monitoring/Optimization Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is being used in our organization to help maximize our physical assets in which our virtual platform resides on. It gives us recommendations to either increase or decrease the number of CPUs and memory based on a virtual machine's performance. It also, lets us know when we have "unbalanced" hosts in our ESX cluster. It solves performance issues as well as help us get the maximum benefit from our physical assets.
  • Recommendations - CPU/Memory utilization
  • Storage space monitoring
  • Give us a good "At a glance" picture of our overall virtual network.
  • What-if Scenarios
  • Not really a feature issue, but licensing can get pretty expensive.
  • I really don't find any of the current features difficult to use. It's a relatively simple product.
For us, it's not very well suited for our VDI environment. We use it for our main production (server) environment.
Read Mike Ramsey's full review
September 25, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Happy I chose Virtualization Manager"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Some of the daily uses are looking for over-allocation of resources. Developers love to ask for the huge amount of RAM and CPU yet by using Virtualization Manager we can prove there was never a need for such a waste of resources.
  • Show over the allocation of resources.
  • Find forgotten snapshots
  • Datastore monitoring.
  • Management. Currently, instead of being a member of a group to use recommendations, a user must be added on his own.
The larger the enterprise the more one will see on their return on investment.
Read Francisco Manuel Marrero's full review
October 11, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Home for the SysAdmin"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds is our go to platform for monitoring all live/dev and test systems. VM is a critical tool in keeping tabs on performance and planning
  • Optimisation of resources used
  • Forward capacity planning
  • Problem resolution
  • Improved graphical displays
  • Analyses of groups of servers
Ensuring you have space to grow is easily monitored with SVM
Highlighting over provisioned servers
Read Neil Taylor's full review
October 05, 2018

Review: "Honest Opinion of SolarWinds Virtualization Manager"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our department to monitor the basic layer of our virtualization environment which happens be VMware.
  • Basic summary of VM environment (Total VM's, status of VM's, and any critical alerts).
  • Suggest recommendations about CPU or memory usage.
  • Displays a clean and simple interface for the admin to look at.
  • Perhaps more integration on apply recommendations from the console.
  • Provide more of an insight as to where a storage performance issue is at.
If you are looking to gather basic information about the VM environment but are not looking for any detail or ways to apply fixes then this would be a good product.
Read Chris Gomez's full review
September 27, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Solar style"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole of IT uses it in some capacity. This group of tools makes us much more in tune with our vast infrastructure and how any alerting areas can affect other things.
  • Insightful detail on every object and the ability to drill into more detailed data is great.
  • Ability to manage virtually every setting and affect parameters right through the GUI makes it a one stop shopping tool.
  • Alerting on a plethora of aspects and allowing us to customize that to send texts and or change the on-call person for each piece is great.
  • It works well for us!
  • It has a great ROI for us, as we can all be plugged into all aspects of our operations and not have to mess around with 20 other tools to do that.
I need data about all aspects of the VM health and this platform gives it!!
Read Jad Flewelling's full review
October 05, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Virtualization Manager, virtually awesome"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Managed Services Provider, providing Cloud Services to multiple customers. We started using Virtualization Manager to monitor our own servers, and then branched out to monitor our customers' servers as well. This provides an added ROI to our customers, in that we can often locate and remediate a downed server before the customer is even aware of the outage.
  • We like the ease of adding our virtual environment to be managed. After a simple wizard, the Virtualization Manager imports the entire content of the vCenter and starts monitoring it.
  • Once machines have been detected, it's a snap to create alerts based on VM stats
  • Although machines can be added easily, these are seen from the hypervisor side, which means that it's not possible to monitor based on guest stats (Services, etc)
It is very well suited for large environments where a significant number of VMs need to get monitored and/or detailed statistics aren't a requirement. This also holds true in environments where VMs are added and removed on a regular basis. In smaller environments, it may be more effective to add the individual servers as Nodes directly to SolarWinds Orion.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Overseeing the virtualizing of my life."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Virtualization manager is used to support core infrastructure. It supports multiple server clusters and provides feedback for both support technicians and NOC users. It helps a smaller number of people keep on top of and manage a large number of servers. We also use it for smaller hosts in locations outside the core as they normally receive little attention. This allows us to monitor our entire virtualization infrastructure from a single pane of glass.

Virtualization manager especially provides us with at-a-glance monitoring of cluster and host loads. With multiple host operating systems and topologies this saves a lot of logging into individual systems to check performance and errors.
  • At-a-glance views of current problems and potential future problems.
  • The recommendations feature is fantastic. This helps us balance loads and look for soon to be problems on multiple devices in a single place. There are very few false positives.
  • Easy to set up and maintain. Out of the box the system connects to major vendors and begins monitoring with minimal hassle. There's no manual set up of agents, monitoring points or set up of the monitoring console.
  • With the SolarWinds Orion support you can easily add virtualization features to NOC screens and servers node pages. Alerts are tied in as well to reduce hassle of multiple alert managers.
  • Server trending could be stronger. A server which sits at the same resource usage day in and day out can be normal operation while Virtualization manager may report it as an issue.
  • Orion in general can be painful to change a node page with the desired screens and widgets
Any time you use virtualized infrastructure with multiple hosts. Especially where you may have multiple vendors. A single place to look for issues and having the capability to drill down into those issues (with other Orion products) can vastly decrease time-to-resolution. The Orion suite allowing for quick set up and able to go as in-depth as the technician would like is a fantastic feature.

If you're working with a small environment it may be more costly than the value provides. It really shines with larger environments.
Read this authenticated review
October 22, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Look forward to using long term"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is vital to our full stack monitoring solution. Spanning global datacentres and branch offices SW VM provides full coverage of our virtual estate. It's main benefit is resource both in human and technical sense. As an engineer allowing me to diagnose and resolve outages in a significantly quicker timeframe. Benefitting both end users for internal systems but also our customers.

Its in depth coverage also allows us to identify wasteful resources and maximise our efficiency bringing real savings to infrastructure on premise costs.
  • In depth VM and Host coverage, particularly metrics such as CPU ready time, no more calculations working out % based on ms latency - its all available at glance of a chart.
  • Coverage of both SAN and VM environments compliments eachother really well allowing us to diagnose any bottle necks within 15 minutes compared to an hour prior to using SW VM.
  • Custom dashboards allows all our engineers to customise their NOC views allowing the umbrella departments to quicker respond or be able to proactively work with other departments to avoid downtime.
  • AWS coverage, not had major chance to research but seems to lack native compatibility for AWS specific services - such as ECS / Cloudfront metrics etc.
  • Some container technologies such as Docker, again not had much time to research but upon first investigations doesn't seem as native to implement monitoring compared to say VMware.
  • AD deep dive monitoring - replication times etc.
It would appear more mature with regards to on premise workloads in comparison to cloud workloads - but I would like to imagine this is all being handled in the roadmap.

Also as per previous point with regards to container workloads. Not sure if agent of some form is being developed we could include in container images relatively easily?

Read this authenticated review
October 19, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Solarwinds VMAN, doing the job no other module can"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use VMAN to monitor VMware and Hyper-V managed services environments for a number of companies. It allows for a great breadth of visibility across all of our virtual hosts that no other module of SolarWinds allows. It is an integral and fundamental part of the monitoring solution that our clients purchase.
  • Capacity planning in storage.
  • Recommendations to improve environments.
  • Separate VMWare and Hyper V specific tools.
It is suited to monitor VM host environments, but without SAM and NPM does not have the specifics to monitor the VMs inside the environments. Not that it should have this, those products handle that very well, but for information's sake, it stops at the generality of Hosts and their needs.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2018

"SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review - Out of this World for the Enterprise"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are using Solarwinds VMan to monitor our entire virtualisation estate including Hyper-V and VMware.

We use it to address estate capacity, load balancing, alerting and troubleshooting.

  • Capacity planning is excellent for planning ahead for new projects and future expansion.
  • Finding bottlenecks within the estate and quickly rectifying lack of CPU, RAM and storage.
  • Virtualisation recommendations is particularly good for load balancing resources across the estate.
  • Incorporating VMan back into Orion is a step back, we find performance is better having the standalone appliance.
  • Orion occasionally loses configuration of the connection to the VMan appliance.
  • SSL configuration is complicated to enable - gui setup would be preferred.

I find planning ahead using the capacity planning tab one of the most helpful parts of VMan, we often get projects that have not had storage considerations discussed and we have to quickly find available capacity or charge for additional resources to be purchased.

I feel the environment map could be improved along the lines of other type 'network' style maps.

Read this authenticated review
October 12, 2018

Review: "SolarWinds Virtualization Manager has it's Pros and Cons"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We're using the product for a consolidated view of our VMware and Hyper-V environments in the UK. We integrate VMAN into our current Orion solution for detailed information on our servers and storage. We also make use of out of the box alerts and recommendations to maintain the platforms.



  • Detailed server / storage information and performance statistics.
  • Alerts.
  • Recommendations, particularly on right sizing.
  • Single pane of glass for virtualized environments.
  • Dashboard widgets - Sorting lists by column headings is not available in all views.
  • Hyper-V needs more attention in general. But being able to group servers by Clouds, Host Groups, Replication status, Mainenence mode, host status etc. need to be added.
  • Capacity management could do with the ability to report on entire enviroment and not just a single cluster.
  • Hyper-V Recommendations – Memory – There should be a clear distinction between static and dynamic RAM. And actions should not mention or perform reboot if dynamic and not required.
Well suited to VMware, less so to Hyper-V at present.
Read this authenticated review
October 11, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Another excellent offering from SolarWinds!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VMan is being used within our department to monitor and manage the multiple virtual environments that we have. It is an easy way to see what the health of the environment is, and if there are any potential issues arising which need attention.
  • Easy to setup - you just need to give it credentials in order to discover your environment, and has many pre-programmed views which give you granular detail
  • Intuitive - fairly easy to play with and understand everything, however when needed there is very good documentation and support
  • Automation - you can set VMan to increase/decrease resources to VMs, based on their historical workload, and also move them to different hosts based on alerts from the rest of the Orion suite
  • Cost - it is fairly expensive, but has more features than comparable products
  • Cloud Support - would be nice to have the same granularity with Azure/AWS based VMs
It is great if you have at least 4 hosts - at this level is where you start needing insights around your environment which this provides. It scales quite nicely and allows you to view high-level through to low-level detail, so using it to explain issues or business needs is easy.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "VMAN is getting better but not an end all solution"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Everyone in the department has access to SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) but I am the primary stakeholder and use it to get info from my vCenter environment. It slightly assists in placing VMs on the various hosts and attempts to show where resources can be reclaimed.
  • I like that I can delete snapshots from the Orion console
  • I like that I can get info/alerts on virtual guests that are not even added to Orion yet as long as the host is part of the vCenter I am monitoring
  • Like a single pain of glass where I can see all my metrics
  • The reporting needs a ton of work!!! RVTOOLS does and reports on everything in vCenter. I want all the info from the vCenter to be able to report on....like annotations.
  • I need cost analysis for moving my workload into AWS and Azure, ASAP!!!
VMAN is a decent product but needs some work. I guess if you have nothing else, VMAN would work in a pinch.
Read this authenticated review
September 05, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review: "Virtualization Manager predicts the future"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is being used across the enterprise. This includes all remote locations. We monitor resources in order to make decisions on upgrades and keep an eye on performance issues.
  • Monitors resources and makes recommendations on changes and upgrades.
  • Predicts when resources will become constrained.
  • Reports on underutilized resources so that they can be allocated elsewhere.
  • Sometimes VM seems to over report on issues. An example would be that we have allocated memory to the VMs to a point at the monitored threshold. Instead of it understanding that was allocated and basing memory utilization on the host based on its available memory (for the host OS), it reports warnings that it is low on memory resources. This should be an option.
  • The View ID for the NOC view changes when a change is made to the view. This makes keeping a NOC display computer difficult to manage as you have to update the URL on to get the updated NOC view.

I feel it is very well suited for companies with distributed servers as well as large numbers of VMs and VM Hosts.

I don't see a big value in a company with on a few servers.

Read this authenticated review

About SolarWinds Virtualization Manager

SolarWinds® Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is an intuitive tool for monitoring, performance management, capacity planning and optimization.

Complete visibility into your environment

Manage both VMware and Microsoft environments - on-premises or in the cloud - with a single tool. VMAN also visualizes how your virtualization connects to application, server, and storage infrastructure for faster troubleshooting.

Clear path to maximize performance

Get insight into the performance, capacity, configuration, and usage of your virtualized infrastructure, including hosts, VMs, clusters and datastores. VMAN delivers recommendations to address active or potential performance issues.

Address virtualization issues efficiently

VMAN can execute a variety of management actions, including power on/off, suspend, reboot a VM, or take and delete snapshots. You can migrate VMs to a different host, and VM disks to a different data store.

Reclaim resources for improved performance

Reclaim virtual resources instantly with VM sprawl alerts and recommendations. VMAN can automatically find idle, stale, and zombie VMs as well as orphaned VMDKs to free up storage space. VMAN can guide you in right-sizing your VMs to recapture CPU and memory resources for further savings.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Features

Has featureHypervisor specific active alerting
Has featureVirtual machine resource planning
Has featureActionable recommendations for remediation of active and predicted VM performance
Has featureVisibility into VM Sprawl reclaims resources
Has featureRemediate issues without having to log in to a hypervisor
Has featureIntuitive dashboards that highlight the most important issues

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Video

View an overview of SolarWinds Virtualization Manager and some of its key features including dashboards, alerts, performance monitoring, capacity planning, and VM sprawl.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Downloadables

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Integrations

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Competitors

Dynatrace, Nutanix, Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo), VMware vROps

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No