SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
102 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 52)

Swathi Aljala | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2020

Can handle it in a single glass pane

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is great to have auto-monitoring from SolarWind's virtualization tool. We use this tool in our department. It is great if we want quick and fast results and solutions. It provides an accurate status of the system. I also like the way it can be used for monitoring troubleshooting and optimising; it's very simple to use. We use it for cleaning up data.
  • It provides information alerts and allows us to have the accurate status of the system.
  • Helps in problem solving before anything serious can arise.
  • Increases the uptime by optimising the provisions of the resources.
  • Simple to install and easy to use.
  • Gives graphical presentation by showing where the problem is shown.
  • performance monitoring, VM sprawl control, configuration management, and chargeback automation; all in one awesomely affordable product that’s easy to download, deploy, and use. Simply download and install the software and take a break while Virtualization Manager auto-discovers the virtual machines in your environment.
  • It's a bit expensive.
  • A license is hard to get.
  • Better if it could be allowed to have a lot more automation.
Though it does not allow for a lot of automation, it's very easy to set up and grant access to an account. Very simple to use. For quick and accurate results, it's very unsuitable.
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager has been utilized since we started having a large percentage of our servers move from physical to virtual. It helps us manage the servers and get important statistics from them. A lot of our server team also use it for troubleshooting and capacity planning.

Just its a wonderful tools ,very easy to access can jump into many several different systems. can be viewed the status of all at same place.Able to log in one portal and could monitor multiple data centers. Its an amazing application.
from setup and install to troubleshooting, alerting and reporting. Learn how to monitor the entire stack from SAM Application Monitors, through the VMs, hosts, clusters, down to data store IOPS all in one tab. It's a SWIS-filled, heartwarming story of SAM meets VMan, .Net meets Java, Windows meets Linux and they all live happily ever after.

Read Swathi Aljala's full review
Kewyn Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2020

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds it is a great tool, used during the last 10 years, by different teams inside IT Operations to detail, monitor, and notify thousands of different infrastructure and network devices that are physical and virtualized, on-premise and in the cloud and run in different environments and are going from simple to very specific monitoring configurations.
  • Easy to add devices to the SolarWinds console
  • A great visual Dashboard and console
  • A wide range of devices to monitor
  • Really good and customizable options for notifications
  • It could add more detail specifically for Unix servers.
  • Integrate more cloud services to monitor using the SolarWinds console
Based on my experience during the past years, SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is the best tool available in the market for server monitoring. It has a very intuitive interface with a lot of options to map the server running in the different company networks. Probably it will be great if you can integrate the monitoring alerts with some automated task to fix several of the common server issues.
Absolutely right--disc alerts, high ram consumption, or high CPU are very useful at the time of generating reports to prepare a budget and make sure to have resources ready to increase capacity in a proactive manner instead of receiving business calls requesting better performance for applications that are critical for operations.
Read Kewyn Medina's full review
Dinesh Rana | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2020

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. Proactive monitoring gives false alerts. For example, when monitoring snapshots. When we call support, we get answers that this feature is not available, etc.
  • Auto discovery via VMAN.
  • Proactive monitoring of guest disk/ virtual disk.
  • It does predictions based on usage of VM resources.
  • Proactive VM status monitoring.
  • Snapshot monitoring is not good.
  • SolarWinds support assistance for customization is not good.
Proactive monitoring is what we do and this product saves us a lot of time, especially when monitoring the data store, etc.
Read Dinesh Rana's full review
Neil Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Home for the SysAdmin

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds is our go to platform for monitoring all live/dev and test systems. VM is a critical tool in keeping tabs on performance and planning
  • Optimisation of resources used
  • Forward capacity planning
  • Problem resolution
  • Improved graphical displays
  • Analyses of groups of servers
Ensuring you have space to grow is easily monitored with SVM
Highlighting over provisioned servers
SVM enables us to keep a low head count on engineers needed to fix issues and concentrate on project work and so speed up deployment of business critical needs
Read Neil Taylor's full review
Brian Ambarita | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

VMAN, hyperconverged utilization/performance monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is reliable when you have many virtualizations in your infrastructure. It helps you to maintain how effective & efficient you manage the virtualization with VMAN forecasting. Some customers have the problem where they can't manage multi hyper-converged into a single-pane dashboard, and VMAN makes it easier and faster.
  • VM capacity planning
  • VM forecasting
  • VM monitor multi hyperconverged
  • VM capacity advisor
  • More vendor could be covered
It will be useful if you have a large hyper-converged infrastructure.
The impact is more in how you are able to make your VM efficient.
Read Brian Ambarita's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2020

Get a better picture with SolarWinds Virtualization Manager

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is used by the IT department at our organization. VMAN is utilized by the department to run health checks and metrics. VMAN allows us to properly compare workload numbers from multiple days, weeks, months, and years. These comparisons let us determine when and how we need to add or remove resources from our virtual environment, both on-prem and cloud-based.
  • VMAN allows for workload monitoring in virtualized on-prem and cloud-based resources.
  • VMAN allows for easy views of how individual applications/databases/etc are tied to other resources.
  • VMAN allows for easy views into expected growth patterns within our platforms.
  • Some of the issues I have with VMAN come from how agents and the systems integrate together with the console.
  • Background services required to run VMAN have to be adjusted frequently for optimal performance of the service.
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is a product that works very well for my organization. The program is very strong in reports including under and oversizing of VMs and related resources within our on-prem deployment. The reporting tools for AWS-based resources is not as strong as the options within VMware, however, these capabilities are getting better.
SolarWinds VMAN has provided us with increased uptime as we have been able to see issues as they start happening, such as a service spiking in resources used, underperforming hardware, or resources being over-allocated to a specific virtual machine. The reporting has provided more of a proactive response to issues within our deployments as opposed to reactive. No longer being reactive allows us to get ahead of user issues, and more frequently before users know there are issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2020

Look forward to using long term

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is vital to our full stack monitoring solution. Spanning global datacentres and branch offices SW VM provides full coverage of our virtual estate. It's main benefit is resource both in human and technical sense. As an engineer allowing me to diagnose and resolve outages in a significantly quicker timeframe. Benefitting both end users for internal systems but also our customers.

Its in depth coverage also allows us to identify wasteful resources and maximise our efficiency bringing real savings to infrastructure on premise costs.
  • In depth VM and Host coverage, particularly metrics such as CPU ready time, no more calculations working out % based on ms latency - its all available at glance of a chart.
  • Coverage of both SAN and VM environments compliments eachother really well allowing us to diagnose any bottle necks within 15 minutes compared to an hour prior to using SW VM.
  • Custom dashboards allows all our engineers to customise their NOC views allowing the umbrella departments to quicker respond or be able to proactively work with other departments to avoid downtime.
  • AWS coverage, not had major chance to research but seems to lack native compatibility for AWS specific services - such as ECS / Cloudfront metrics etc.
  • Some container technologies such as Docker, again not had much time to research but upon first investigations doesn't seem as native to implement monitoring compared to say VMware.
  • AD deep dive monitoring - replication times etc.
It would appear more mature with regards to on premise workloads in comparison to cloud workloads - but I would like to imagine this is all being handled in the roadmap.

Also as per previous point with regards to container workloads. Not sure if agent of some form is being developed we could include in container images relatively easily?

Downtime is money. Product is its website so being able to proactive monitor the entire estate allows us to minimise downtime and keep on top of all the BAU whilst spending more time on project work further improving the infrastructure.

Also massive improvement for our internal systems which benefits our end users maximising productivity.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Awesome product!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Virtual Manager is being used for monitoring our vSAN clusters and accompanying VMs. We use it to bring alerting and performance analysis under one pane of glass.
  • It monitors alerts and configuration issues in real-time and notifies relevant personnel.
  • It provides summary pages that allow you to see all of your systems in one place.
  • It recommends options for dealing with issues and allows you to address them from within the VMM program itself.
  • The only thing I can think of is that many alert messages are redundant and it takes a while to go through and filter the extra alerts and cut down on the number of event messages.
It works very well for organizations that have a large and diverse VM environment.
It has definitely increased the speed and effectiveness of our response to problems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

Brief but to the point

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage our VMware servers. We use it to monitor and help manages these servers and address issues as they arise. It gives us the ability to plan for future growth with measuring CPU utilization, memory and HDD space.
  • The proactive monitoring.
  • Ability to troubleshoot issues.
  • Reporting on usage.
  • Future planning for HDD space.
  • Very costly.
  • Resource utilization on the server it resides.
  • Lack of reporting on EtherChannel.
Well suited for our VMware environment. Was able to show us where the bottlenecks were. Was able to reclaim virtual resources by controlling VM sprawl.
Has moved our focus from troubleshooting to projects. The ability to switch on/off VMs, manage VM snapshots, and change CPU memory/resources and VM migration.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2020

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, segments of the company are using SolarWinds Virtualization Manager. This is the primary monitoring tool.
  • Monitoring of our devices
  • Quick access to all info on status
  • Repository for historical status
  • Maybe more info on discovery failures on what failed rather than coded info
  • A phone app if it's not already available
  • Multi-view home screen to view selected devices as a group and flip between--Tshoot tool
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is well suited for monitoring less appropriate for MAC-level work on individual devices. It's easier to use the CLI for these tasks.
I'm not sure we use all the features this has to offer but it's been nice to have a central source for all the data networks generate.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2020

SolarWinds Virtualization manager: a flexible way to manage your virtual environment.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds Virtualization Manager to help manage our VMWare environment. We have reports that indicate what VMs have snapshots, whether there are systems with memory ballooning, etc.
  • VM snapshot reports.
  • Managing various clusters we have.
  • Flexibility on setting the reporting piece.
  • Overall, setup of the appliance was fairly straight forward.
  • Upgrading the appliance can be a pain at times.
We love the snapshot reports we setup. It helps us determine when a vm has a snapshot and how long it has it. It allows us to keep our storage usage in check and prevents runway snapshots. We use the information to get let the app owners know we need to delete their snapshots.
It provides us great information on if systems have been sized correctly and when to adjust the virtual machine accordingly. The ability to see which VMs have a snapshot helps us keep them to a minimum to prevent issues from a storage perspective. When VMs have large snapshots, it can cause problems with virtual machines.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

Virtualization Manager consolidates the views of many environments into one easy-to-use solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it within my department as it does not provide any value to the other departments. It is currently used with all of our other SolarWinds products that provide a fantastic monitoring environment that helps us find/resolve issues quickly.
  • Monitoring virtualization environments.
  • Identifying asset locations within the virtualization environment.
  • Identifying possible causes of problems within our entire environment.
  • Orion environment can at times be slow to load.
This paired with the other SolarWinds suite of tools is a great all-encompassing monitoring environment. By itself it does a great job, but with everything else it's a complete solution for an entire environment.
It consolidates the view of our virtual environments into one portal and in those views makes it easy to find details on different aspects of the environment. This has allowed us to better keep an eye on what is happening in the environment and quickly track down cause and provide a resolution to the problem.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager feedback from a novice user

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager has been utilized since we started having a large percentage of our servers move from physical to virtual. It helps us manage the servers and get important statistics from them. A lot of our server team also use it for troubleshooting and capacity planning.
  • The capacity planning tools have been very helpful to see where we stand, and to prepare for new workloads and growth
  • The virtualization alerts are pretty helpful in responding to issues and assisting with troubleshooting
  • The Virtualization manager tools are a nice way for our IT managers to see everything at a glance, and get some detailed information
  • I would like more options of things that can be displayed or tracked on the dashboard
  • The reports are a little clunky or confusing to setup, especially custom reports
  • Overall it does what we need, I really don't use it as much as other staff here
It provides a good deal of information in a relatively concise format, which allows for easier management and a quick view of the entire infrastructure
I am pretty sure that most people here that use it will attest to the fact that it does save them time, both in everyday activities and in troubleshooting issues when they arise. I feel that it has saved us a lot of time since we started using it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2020

SolarWinds VM Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor all the network devices in our organization. It is used by IT and some other business units to monitor their critical devices. IT has been a great help for us in checking the bandwidth utilization and health of network devices in our environment.
  • Network management.
  • Monitor wifi devices.
  • Sometimes when we upgrade the software we lose device access and have to restart it.
  • Wish there was more training.
We use SolarWindsVM and so far good, it's been very good. We can add devices on this and it is very easy to add the new device when needed. Larger companies may want to have a physical appliance though.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Current version isn't what it used to be!

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Before I get started, you should know that I'm intentionally running v7.1, and all answers to this survey will be referring to that version. That's because future versions DO NOT deliver the information in the same way and the product has lost much of its value as a result. Support was NOT helpful in finding a solution or getting their "new" product to behave the same way. That said, to answer your question, I'm the only person in the company who uses VMAN daily, or at all, really. It gives me a "coffee-cup-view" each morning of how our hosts and VMs have been performing (Memory, CPU, IOPS, Network) and it is one of the first places I check when I get calls about performance.
  • Up through v7.1, a quick view of server (host and VM) performance and trends.
  • Through v7.1, it was everything we needed. Since then, the graphs that would harvest performance figures (network, memory, CPU, IOPS), would never display the same way, and would not refresh with the frequency to make the data digestible.
I can really only speak to v7.1 because future versions DO NOT deliver the information in the same way and the product had lost much of its value as a result. Support was NOT helpful in finding a solution or getting their "new" product to behave the same way. The reason I wouldn't recommend it to a colleague is that its new ("supported") versions don't do what I want them to or what the old version did. The old version would clearly identify how servers (physical and virtual) were performing currently, as well as how they've performed historically, and I could see right away if things are "normal" or need attention. We tried subsequent versions, but the data refresh was not frequent enough to give the same easily understandable graphs.
With v7.1, I could see how a VM or host was performing currently, as well as what the historical performance of the server was to identify abnormalities. This would give me a place to start diagnosing issues or making environmental changes to remediate. While I knew the capability existed to have VMAN initiate changes to our virtual environment (and even make them proactively, if we configured it to do so) I prefer to make the changes myself through the normal virtual interface than to have a 3rd party app do that blindly. Call me a control freak, but.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2019

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is being used by the VMware team. It addresses the problem of not being able to easily see the health of the VMware environment. It gives the engineers the ability to see everything on a single pane of glass. You can see which VMs need more memory/resources and which have too much, in which resources can be reclaimed.
  • Single pane of glass
  • To be able to see VMware health/predictions of what is coming down the pike
  • Recommendations to improve the virtual environment
  • Sometimes there are glitches when updating the software
  • Free training videos
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is well suited for quickly viewing or revealing what is really going on in your VMware environment. You can customize your dashboards to see what you need or want to see. SolarWinds is well suited if you are limited in VMware resources, to reclaim resources from VMs that are over provisioned.
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager has been designed to reduce downtime and fix issues faster. This is crucial in preventing down time. This helps with retaining your job/position. The reporting feature is extremely helpful when requesting new resources/storage.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

SolarWinds is a great tool for monitoring software

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds for server monitoring and alerts.
  • Detail performance stats.
  • Good alert system.
  • RAM management poor.
  • Capacity planning could be wider, not server specific.
We were hoping for more management based reporting and capacity management across the entire platform.
Sometimes overall service outages give a bad impression to all users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had a member of the team on long term medical leave and we needed something that could help other members of the team monitor the VMWare infrastructure. This was the best option that we could afford. We found it fairly easy to configure and we tied it into the rest of our SolarWinds environment.
  • Overall view of hosts, VMs and Storage
  • Monitoring
  • Multi platform
  • It can be a little slow
  • Alerts could be more comprehensive
Our long-time virtual infrastructure manager had to go on medical leave and we were not sure if it would be short or long term. This tool allowed us to manage the short term while preparing for long term options.
We have not had to utilize this feature but knowing its there is comforting.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2019

Trying to wrangle your private cloud environment? Never send a child to do the work of a VMAN!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Building a consolidated view of the infrastructure that supports your virtualized environment is hard. App owners blame the OS. The OS admins blame the DBAs. The DBAs always blame storage. Everyone blames the network team. And, when all else fails, they blame virtualization. VMAN stitches together a consolidated view of your environment and let's you do it without investing in additional tools from VMware. Using the SolarWinds Orion authentication, you can even give non-admin users views and access to your environment through a single interface.
  • Beautiful inventory of the guests and hosts running in a cluster, and how they are organized in your environment
  • Own other SolarWinds modules like SRM, APM, etc? AppStack puts everything in a single, lineage view.
  • Automates tasks for non-admins and/or run teams -- vMotion? Yep. Shutdown a VM? Sure.
  • Latest version integrates beautifully with Orion. No more running virtual appliances. Everything is built on the Orion framework!
  • Want to build alert? The Orion alerting engine is easy to use, intuitive, and supports SQL, SWQL, and drag/drop alert logic definition.
  • VMware is the platform that gets top billing. HyperV is supported, but is a 2nd class citizen
  • We encountered duplicate instances of VMware hosts. It was a pain to clean up
  • Credential manager hasn't been updated since -- forever. Investigating authentication issues/managed host issues is an exercise in futility.
Virtualization obfuscates a portion of your infrastructure. Virtualization admins have to know virtualization, Windows/Linux OSes, storage, networking, etc. Virtualization Manager helps break down those barriers of entry to new admins and gives visibility, reporting, and alerting capacity to experienced admins.

Regardless of the size of your environment, from a single cluster with a few hosts, to multiple virtual data centers, housing dozens and dozens of clusters, with thousands of VMs, VMAN can scale to give the insight needed. It did for us!
Everything is virtual, right? Wrong. That host is running on hardware in some data center. VMAN gives you insights into the physical health of your hardware. Failed RAID controller? VMAN can show it to you. Problems with a fan or other hardware? No problem.

VMAN also gives you insights into cluster performance so you can know whether you are stressing the CPU allocation (over-commit is OK, but not too much!) or memory allocated. Storage under duress? You can see IOPS and other performance metrics.

If you need visibility into your virtual environment, VMAN is the way to shed some light on that black box.
Read this authenticated review
Rob Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2019

VMAN is the Man

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Virtualization Manager is being used by the IT department to manage and monitor our relatively large, global VMware environment. We have issues with virtual machines being over provisoned, snapshots not consolidated or removed, VMware tools not kept up to date, hardware issues with ESXi hosts. Virtualization Manager was purchased after a successful POC to cover the entire estate and reduce the aforementioned problems.
  • The volume of data available from Virtualization Manager out of the box is huge. We were shocked at the amount of issues we had that Virtualization Manager highlighted within the first few days.
  • The ability to add additional widgets into seperate screens giving valuable VM and host insight.
  • The recommending/reporting element is fantastic and we use it daily to keep track of whats changing in our VM environment.
  • We did have issues during the setup, with successfully connecting to some of our hosts and vCenters and we found support were just sending us back to articles we had already read, it was also taking long periods before getting a response. The issue is still ongoing, in fact.
Virtualization Manager is well suited to any enterprise organisation where the VM sprawl is getting out of hand or if you have hosts in different locations with different staff managing the inventory. It gives control back to you and a deep dive into whats actually happening on the hosts.
We have regained control of our extensive VM environment, we're spotting host and VM issues far quicker than we ever have done in the past. We can manage VMs direct through the Orion console too, which gives a quick turn around if an issue needs addressing.
Yes - Yes we have installed new versions since purchase. Process was smooth with very little downtime. No issues from the experience and we had backups available, just in case.
Read Rob Bates's full review
Timothy Sawah | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Essential for a solid Virtual environment

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is used by the IT systems engineer. This tool enabled us to monitor all the virtual servers in the environment. It works across different platforms like VMware and Hyper-V. The system helped to detect virtual server problems before they occur and perform proactive maintenance. SolarWinds VMAN has advanced reporting capabilities and a customizable dashboard. We used this application to forecast the virtual environment growth and accordingly estimate annual budget.
  • I created custom dashboards, to view the different elements of the virtual environment. For example, you can view the number of online VMs and those off, or disconnected. You can also choose to see the status of every virtual cluster, the storage disk usage on every VM, the RAM usage, CPU usage.
  • I used this application to see the growth of virtual memory in each cluster and accordingly do forecasting for future growth. A capacity planner included in this application would help in doing accurate estimations and setting a future upgrade budget.
  • Another powerful tool was the customized reports, where i could generate reports on any element of the VM or cluster. Reports can be exported to Excel or PDF and are very useful for sharing information with colleagues and management.
  • Alerts can be customized. For example, you can set a rule to get an email alert if any virtual server RAM usage exceeds 85% and send a text message if RAM usage exceeds 90% for more than 10 minutes.
  • Generating a new license key upon renewal and then installing the new key is not a straightforward process. I think license renewal should be handled using easier methods
  • Solarwinds VMAN is a VM itself, so in case the cluster or ESX/host where it resides fails, there won't be a way to get alerted.
  • There account managers are really annoying, every year they start calling and sending emails 3 month before renewal.
  • It is perfectly suited for environments with 100+ virtual servers. It is essential in environments with several clusters and 500+ virtual servers.
  • It would be optimal for hybrid environments with Hyper-V and VMware.
  • It can be expensive for small businesses.
  • It is not recommended in case most of the environment is on physical servers or cloud platforms
Most of the common issues with VMs are RAM overload, not enough processing power, or virtual disk full. These minor issues can hardly be detected by checking on every virtual server OS. With SolarWinds VMAN these issues are detected and shown on the dashboard. With custom alerts on certain thresholds, emails or text messages will be sent out to control the issue before the service/application goes down.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review
Jez Marsh | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

SolarWinds VMAN Review - A service provider perspective.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
As the Founder of Silverback Systems Services Ltd, an IT consultancy specialising in providing professional services to both end users and resellers of SolarWinds products, I find myself working with many different businesses who have a need to monitor their virtualisation infrastructure. Virtualisation Manager, or VMAN for short, is the best-in-class, vendor agnostic, tool which does that job in spades. Whether an organisation uses VMware vSphere, Microsoft Hyper-V, or a combination of both, VMAN provides all the details an organisation could want on their hypervisor estate. When integrated with other Orion modules, such as Server and Application Manager (SAM) and Network Performance Monitor (NPM), you get visibility across the whole estate, using Orion's AppStack™ environment views. In my experience, once a business takes up an evaluation of VMAN, they quickly find it a key part of their infrastructure team's toolset.
  • VMAN's powerful sprawl analyses allows businesses to see where their hypervisor estate can be made more efficient. Coupled with powerful capacity management, the efficiency gains allow the product to quickly start returning on it's investment, allowing businesses to do more with what they already have.
  • The recommendations provided by VNMAN allows administrators to schedule changes in compute, storage assignment, and host/guest balance. These changes can be automated to take place on a schedule to suit, with VMAN making the changes at the appropriate time, allowing businesses to potentially save on expensive out of hours administration.
  • It's not only on-premise! With VMAN you can monitor your cloud-based guests on Amazon EC2 and Microsoft Azure.
  • Whilst VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V are the two big hitters in the hypervisor estate, VMAN lacks support for other popular solutions, such as Citrix XenServer, Oracle VM.
If you have on premise hypervisors, and they happen to be running vSphere or Hyper-V, you should look at picking up VMAN. It really is that simple. The insight it gives into your virtual infrastructure is far too important to ignore. Check out the free online demo via oriondemo.solarwinds.com, and click on "Dashboards>Virtualization" to see what you are missing out on.
If your host to guest ratios are not balanced, you could have a lopsided provision. This could lead to hardware failures, as one host is heavily utilised, whilst others are not. VMAN considers this, and will recommend moving guests between hosts accordingly, leading to longer service life for your host servers. With VMAN you can schedule the movement of guests between hosts, and have the software action the move itself, without the need to have an engineer action this change.

Whilst it's clearly sensible to have an engineer check the move was successful after the fact, you can rely on VMAN to get this job done.
Read Jez Marsh's full review
Jeremy Mayfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager helps buisness go forward

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Virtualization Manager is used by the enterprise IT [department] to manage the VMWare environment daily. It gives deep insight beyond what vSphere can and also ties back to storage and hardware giving me a single pane of glass view.

  • Recommendations. Those are wonderful. You build out your environment based on a set of criteria from a vendor or others, only to find your resources are poorly used. The VMAN product allows you to make adjustments based on its recommendations and it automates the process for you.
  • Pinpoints guests with problems. It provides a graphical and then drills down details to the virtual guests with issues you need to address immediately.
  • Capacity planning and sprawl. VMAN gives you all the tools you need to prvent sprawl and plan for the future.
  • Licensing. One of the most glaring elements to SolarWinds is the way they license. I feel they could improve this a bit. It a easy process just costly.
  • They tell you about orphaned VMDK but don't tell you where it might be used. It says it might be, I feel it should check.
It's integrated with the SolarWinds Orion platform of tools, it has great insight, and works well. It has saved me staff by helping me be more automated and efficient. The automated alerting is very valuable and when combined with the other tools in Orion and offerings from SolarWinds gives you and complete solution for everyday use.
VMAN saves time and man power. I can do the work of two or three with the product at my disposal. I fin it to be very helpful and an asset to the organization. VMAN has given insight, save time and money, as well as become a standard for skills required to have now going forward.
Read Jeremy Mayfield's full review
Austin Nickens | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Great starting tool but not not the best for automation

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Virtualization Manager for maintenance and some basic levels of automation. On the maintenance side we use it to clean up old snapshots and send Slack notifications to our channels of impending removal. We just implemented checks for the VMs in vCenter, specifically our DHCP servers, and it will automatically reboot the VM if it detects issues. This also sends Slack notifications and escalates before paging our IT team if the simple reboot doesn't fix the issue.
  • Snapshot Management - It was extremely easy to implement and set up this piece, it is nice to have an automated tool for cleaning up snapshots because this is often forgotten in the day to day.
  • Basic Automation - it has the capability to restart VMs or make additional changes automatically on the fly, although we have only just started using this piece I see potential in its future use.
  • Easy integration - Was very easy to setup, the service account gets access to vcenter and then you login, it only takes a few minutes without a lot of in depth knowledge of either platform.
  • Application Monitoring with Virtualization Manager - It isn't very simple to implement a specific application and tie it to a multitude of servers, you can set it up on a one to one basis but you would have to do it individually per vm.
  • Virtualization Manager & Nodes - Nodes and VMs are treated differently in Solarwinds, even if you add a VM as a node, while it gives you different options for each, there is not a lot of cross over and we find that even when muting VMs/Nodes alerts still go through or get triggered
  • Weird Objects - there are some random objects that have appeared over time in our virtualization manager page, hosts, vms, that don't exist. There doesn't seem to be an easy way of removing them and I dont know where they came from. It is more of an annoyance than an actual issue but it flags false positives
It is great if you need a quick and fast solution, it is more of a Swiss Army Knife of monitoring tools, it does a lot of things, but if you really want to go in depth on something or get a certain amount of details it can be cumbersome. Sometimes the level of effort can be really low but it could also be really high; snapshot management was a big win and was very easy to implement. Management groups of VMs or nodes get more complicated even if it is a fleet of similar VMs that provide the same function, you are limited to the capabilities of Virtualization Manager. It doesn't allow for a lot of automation that we are looking to implement, we are looking to rebuild our VMs on the fly, utilize containerization, etc and this doesn't have enough functionality for this need.
It has helped identify issues and resolve some things. One of the more major drawbacks is its inability to identify specifically what the issue is. I.E. if you want a notification if one of your esxi hosts enters a warning state. You will get an alert if someone enables SSH on the host to do maintenance. It would be great if it identified the actual cause of the alert instead of "Red" or "Yellow" for its status. Granted you could mute the host but even if you don't its nice to know the actual issue before you login to vcenter otherwise its just hey there is a problem but i dont know what it is.
Read Austin Nickens's full review
Turnor Wootton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2018

Our VMan

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Virtualization Manager to get a complete view of our virtualized environment, VMware and HyperV in a single pane. Its use is focused in out IT infrastructure area. One benefit is the integration with other SolarWinds products such as Server Application Monitoring (SAM). This allows us to monitor the entire virtualization structure from performance at the guest level and how it impacts hosts performance.
  • Integration with VMware Virtual Center and Hypervisor hosts. Since we have a mixed virtual infrastructure VMan allows the administrators to quickly identify potential issues and conflicts across our virtual environment, without relying on separate tools for each technology.
  • The integration with other Solarwinds products allows for the ability to drill down into the other modules for a clearer view of detail associated with a process or event.
  • There were some issues migrating from the previous version to the latest version. Screen displays didn't always function as expected.
  • Due to licensing constraints, the ability to easily filter which devices to monitor and which to skip over in order to stay within the license limits.
  • The ability to set thresholds based on the guest or host's role in the virtualized environment. Databases might have a different threshold requirement than web servers.
VMan is best suited in an integrated SolarWinds monitoring environment where its interaction with the other modules increases its versatility. For organizations that are using mixed virtualization solutions, VMan offers a single pane of glass approach to monitoring those environments. If an organization is utilizing a single solution virtualization approach to that vendor's solution, VCenter for example, might suffice.


We recently went through an effort to further integrate Hypervisor into our existing VMware environment. VMan allowed for the smooth planning of necessary resources that were required to migrate from one technology to the other, There are no specialized skill sets required for an administrator to work within both virtual spaces. The information is clearly displayed and the issues on either are clearly identified.
Read Turnor Wootton's full review

About SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN)

SolarWinds® Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is an intuitive tool for monitoring, performance management, capacity planning and optimization.

Complete visibility into your environment

Manage both VMware and Microsoft environments - on-premises or in the cloud - with a single tool. VMAN also visualizes how your virtualization connects to application, server, and storage infrastructure for faster troubleshooting.

Clear path to maximize performance

Get insight into the performance, capacity, configuration, and usage of your virtualized infrastructure, including hosts, VMs, clusters and datastores. VMAN delivers recommendations to address active or potential performance issues.

Address virtualization issues efficiently

VMAN can execute a variety of management actions, including power on/off, suspend, reboot a VM, or take and delete snapshots. You can migrate VMs to a different host, and VM disks to a different data store.

Reclaim resources for improved performance

Reclaim virtual resources instantly with VM sprawl alerts and recommendations. VMAN can automatically find idle, stale, and zombie VMs as well as orphaned VMDKs to free up storage space. VMAN can guide you in right-sizing your VMs to recapture CPU and memory resources for further savings.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Features

Has featureHypervisor specific active alerting
Has featureVirtual machine resource planning
Has featureActionable recommendations for remediation of active and predicted VM performance
Has featureVisibility into VM Sprawl reclaims resources
Has featureRemediate issues without having to log in to a hypervisor
Has featureIntuitive dashboards that highlight the most important issues

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Screenshots

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Video

View an overview of SolarWinds Virtualization Manager and some of its key features including dashboards, alerts, performance monitoring, capacity planning, and VM sprawl.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Downloadables

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Integrations

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Competitors

Dynatrace, Nutanix AOS, Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo), VMware vROps

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No