Progress WhatsUp Gold Reviews

49 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
October 04, 2019
John Glenn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased What's Up Gold to monitor our server uptime but quickly realized the potential for monitoring and alerting on more aspects of our servers. We use it to send notifications on low disk space, server uptime, processor, and memory notifcations.
  • Easy to install and manage.
  • While it does require a whole server with IIS and a SQL db it is low impact on resources but still quick to respond.
  • Great for quick notifications about a server going above a configured resource threshold. We don't have to look at every server's resource utilization individually anymore.
  • Quick and easy to setup a service up or down notification.
  • Sales staff can be a bit pushy in terms of selling more product than you need. This is not unique to What's Up but it can be a bit unwelcome once you have already purchased the product.
  • Updates could be a little easier but overall not too bad. Once or twice we have had to start over with a new server when upgrading to a major numbered revision.
  • IIS site can be a bit slow at times. This could just be our setup but I have noticed that it can be slow to respond during high traffic times. It does always respond and work properly but the wait time to move from screen to screen could be lower.
I would definitely recommend the product for monitoring disk, processor, memory, and server availability. It has been very accurate for us and a life saver. We have also left several other products behind now that we can also receive notifications about service availability on a server. I don't believe it is very good at monitoring other hardware that we own. Mostly we have had trouble with getting switches and APs to alert properly.
We have never had an issue with support. It has always been quick and understandable.
Read John Glenn's full review
November 26, 2019
Reggie Pauling | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WUG is used to monitor servers and network devices by our data center operations team.
  • Monitors update/down status of devices.
  • Sends alerts after a designated period of time.
  • It has no real feature set. It is just there to monitor device status up/down.
WhatsUp Gold is not really a good tool in today's world as there are more products on the market that do this simple monitoring and a whole lot more.
Not too much to support as it doesn't do that much.
Read Reggie Pauling's full review
February 01, 2019
Michael Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses WhatsUp Gold for monitoring thousands of network devices across the country for our customers in Managed Enterprise Solutions. We are able to get a better grasp at trends with the help of this NMS. The newer versions also allow a cleaner user experience, which we like.
  • The user experience with the new interface.
  • The ease of setting up active monitoring. Network Discovery.
  • Performance monitor and traffic monitoring.
  • Sometimes it cannot seem to handle the load of many devices on one server.
  • Could use more user support communities.
  • Logging and reporting could be better.
It is definitely suited for people to learn quickly. There aren't as many bells and whistles, but it is reliable. I would recommend it from small shop to large enterprise.
Read Michael Singh's full review
May 01, 2018
Victor Adebayo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WhatsUp Gold is being used to monitor multiple sites owned by the organization across different countries across Africa. It's being used by the Networks Department to holistically manage the network across these various locations. WhatsUp Gold has helped the organization not only to monitor multiple sites but also provides real-time status of every endpoint device at each site. Through SNMP configuration, real-time and periodic well-detailed reports on each device can generate proper analysis and performance of the network in general, which could impact in futuristic strategic planning.
  • Optimal network and endpoint device monitoring.
  • Explicit report generation on the endpoint and network performance.
  • Investigating and troubleshooting of network and endpoint device issue has been made very easy.
  • Navigating the new WhatsUp Gold 2018 is a bit complicated and not user-friendly. The best part about using a software is the user's ability to use it with ease.
  • You cannot click sites being monitored from Map Dashboard View. This feature was previously possible in the older version.
It's best suited for large/multinational organisations with complex networks with limited qualified personnel across every location. However, I wouldn't recommend it for a small organisation with a very simple network architecture.
Read Victor Adebayo's full review
August 15, 2018
Alex Leung | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using WhatsUp Gold to monitor up/down time for our Network Devices, including Cisco Routers, Switches, VPN and Firewall. When any one of the monitored devices go down, it will send me an alert.
  • Easy to deploy and easy to use. Once configured, it doesn't require much attention besides when adding new devices
  • Ability to create maps for end users. Simplifies their monitoring
  • Ability to create custom monitors and alerts based on various polling methods
  • Great customer service and tech support
  • The web-based GUI is very slow and not responsive sometimes
  • Very expensive training classes
  • Most add-on plugins require payment
We use WhatsUp Gold to identify issues quickly and monitor repeated issues to help develop a more complete root cause. Keep in mind you can accomplish all of your inventory needs by using WhatsUp Gold.
Read Alex Leung's full review
March 29, 2018
Jamie Elliott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use WhatsUp Gold for monitoring and maintaining our extended grocery chain infrastructure. This includes the Cisco routers, switches, and wireless APs. The main use is to monitor when a connection drops, switches between our primary connection and secondary connection or any hardware issues that may arise. I do use it a little for NetFlow tracking and Syslogging when needed.
  • Monitoring the connection; performance, switching, and issues. We use a broadband connection for our primary and a cellular backup for the secondary. While we use routing protocols to make this switch and WhatsUp isn't used for Syslog monitoring. it alerts us within seconds.
  • Backup configurations and archiving. WhatsUp does this particularly well. I use it for both Cisco routers and switches.
  • The diagram feature is nice. Though I don't use it as much because of the size of our structure, it does come in handy for mapping routes of all traffic.
  • SNMP scripting would be one. Unless you are very well versed in SNMP trapping, you will do a lot of reading/playing/tuning to get exactly what you want.
  • The all web interface has been a bit of a bummer. They took a lot of the functions from the admin console that made it easy to add/remove certain features quickly.
Currently, the main use for WhatsUp is to monitor our broadband connections and cellular backup swings. We converted from T1's to "a less cost"/"a less reliable" connection but added the cellular to make up that 2% difference. WhatsUp monitors this via SNMP/syslog trapping to alert us when this swing happens. The imports of this we have on a 1 gig cellular limit so getting it swung back is very important. WhatsUp provides us with this quick alert.
Read Jamie Elliott's full review
March 31, 2017
Gary Lamontagne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WhatUp Gold Premium Edition by Ipswitch to monitor our important network devices and services for uptime and notifications via email and text in the event of downtime. It is used by the IT Department, but deployed across the whole organization. We needed to find a software that alerted us to devices and services going down unplanned. WhatsUp Gold solved that problem for us.
  • Monitors services on remote servers
  • Alerts users of missed pings on designated devices
  • Monitors power supplies, temperature, and fans on compatible network switches
  • Canned reports help find trends.
  • Training is needed to use WhatsUp Gold to its full potential.
  • A network inventory would be a nice feature to have without having to pay extra
WhatsUp Gold is perfect for organizations who need to be notified in the event of a system or service going down so that a technician can be dispatched before the phones start ringing from end-users not being able to access whatever might be out of commission. It is an investment of time and money to get up and running, so if you are looking to monitor only a few devices, or aren't looking for many bells and whistles, WhatsUp Gold might not be an appropriate choice.
Read Gary Lamontagne's full review
March 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WhatsUp Gold is used for monitoring network equipment deployed in the company.
  • Network Device health monitoring and status
  • Logging and SNMP traps
  • Network Inventory
  • Device performance
  • Lacks proper graphical representation of the bandwidth utilization.
  • Circuit monitoring and port activity.
  • Configuration manager for large scale deployement.
  • Backup configurations for network equipment.
WhatsUp is suitable for network inventory, device health, and status. However, it is not suitable for large scale configurations/backup configuration features as provided by different vendors. A tabular user interface can be replaced by graphical representation for much better understanding.
Read this authenticated review
March 24, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WhatsUpGold as our server monitoring service across our whole organization. We use it to proactively monitor our servers' uptime.
  • It is very easy to set up the various alerts and objects.
  • The GUI is easy to navigate and intuitive to use.
  • The level of granularity for setting up the objects is very high, which allows for a lot of customizability.
  • Setting up traps for exchange services has led to false positives in the past.
We use it as a basic server monitoring tool, and find it very effective in that capacity. We primary use the space monitor and the ping monitor, and that has alerted us to sudden server failures many times; and with the space monitor it has allowed us to proactively manage the disk space for mission critical servers.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WhatsUp Gold (WUG) to monitor our servers (physical and virtual), as well as our internal network traffic. It allows us to be proactive about our server and network performance, as well as access perfomance history for capacity planning.
  • Perfomance metric monitoring. We are able to specify the performance metrics that are important to us on a per-server basis and set custom alerts when the server exceeds those thresholds.
  • Customization. We were very easily able to design a custom dashboard that shows us the information we need in the way we need it.
  • Historical data. We can drill down on each aspect of a particular server's performance in a time range to assess its load and if changes are needed. This is especially useful in our virtual environment
  • Network monitoring. We use the Flow Monitor module which allows us to see in near real time what data is traversing the network and who the responsible parties are. Now when people say the network is "slow" I can pinpoint the root cause quickly.
  • While it is easy to get up and running, I know I could utilize the software better if I had some formal training on it. There are a wealth of features available, but I don't have time to learn them all in depth.
  • The training classes offered are very expensive. I'd love it if IPSwitch offered some kind of reasonably priced training options.
It works great in our environment, which is highly centralized and has very few cloud-based systems. In a cloud heavy scenario, I don't think it would perform as well without a great deal of additional configuration.
Read this authenticated review

Progress WhatsUp Gold Scorecard Summary

What is Progress WhatsUp Gold?

Progress WhatsUp Gold (WUG) is designed to help network admins find and fix network problems before end users notice. Its web-based interactive mapping interface lets users see up/down availability and performance at-a-glance for everything connected to a network, on premises and in the cloud.

WUG is an on-premises solution designed for IT enterprises and MSPs. The solution helps them to manage their IT infrastructure and network activities. It offers tools for discovering, visualizing and monitoring network devices, displaying connections between devices and monitoring network status.

WhatsUp Gold can automatically discover anything connected to the network, including physical servers, cloud resources, storage devices, VMware and Hyper-V virtual machines as well as wireless devices. It helps IT admins to view, analyze and manage cross-device connections from a single interactive map. Admins can also monitor application performance and network traffic and manage network device configuration and change control processes. Any network activity falling outside of customizable thresholds triggers alerts sent via email, web, SMS or Slack. Alerts can also trigger self-healing actions or PowerShell scripts.

Progress WhatsUp Gold Features

Additional Features
Has featureAutomated Discovery
Has featureNetwork Mapping
Has featureServer Monitoring
Has featureCloud Monitoring
Has featureWireless Monitoring
Has featureApplication Monitoring
Has featureBandwidth Monitoring
Has featureTraffic Monitoring
Has featureVirtualization Management
Has featureConfiguration Management
Has featureDistributed Monitoring
Has featureMSP Monitoring

Progress WhatsUp Gold Screenshots

Progress WhatsUp Gold Video

Watch WhatsUp Gold On-Demand Demo

Progress WhatsUp Gold Downloadables

Progress WhatsUp Gold Competitors

Progress WhatsUp Gold Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Progress WhatsUp Gold Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
25%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
40%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
35%

Progress WhatsUp Gold Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Progress WhatsUp Gold Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, Latin America, EMEA, APAC, APJ
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Russian, Japanese, Korean, Chinese