TrustRadius
Solarwinds Database Performance Analyzer presents a database performance and development solution.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Gg/Bs/POP0NKN189DG.JPEGWhy DPA can save your firm money, help developers, and ease DBA job.We run six separate DPA servers covering three different database software vendors. Coverage includes TEST Databases where developers can instantly observe metrics from their most recent changes. Production coverage, of course, is crucial to rapidly identify SQL and VM performance matters and observe changes based on the volume of transactions. This tool is the first place hundreds of developers, admins, and managers use to check app performance.,Top N SQL queries. Outstanding UI for rapid examination and drill down to detail data. Intuitive UI design - better than any other product in its category. Enabled us to immediately shift DB related performance matters first to developers so that our DBA's can focus on more important matters.,Allow alerts to SMS (text message).,10,Total requests to DBA team dropped several hundred percent after the rollout of the tool. Since the tool works so well, developers/managers/admins are requested to FIRST analyze by themselves, and only after their inability to identify or resolve the problem, promote to the DBA team. Ease of implementation and upgrades combined with self serve monitoring, automated reporting, and alerts have all reduced valuable DBA team effort and time, allowing them to focus on more important tasks.,Insights provided by the tool rapidly and continually allow developers to code and modify increasing transaction throughput and reducing transaction time. Personally, I've identified and validated transactions in question. Also, I use this tool to compare new releases of application software against past performance. The top N SQL list is an excellent metric to first investigate after any application upgrade.,Any Tuning advise is worth investigation. Past experience implementing suggestions from Tuning Advisors has significantly increased transnational throughput.,Datadog and DynatraceGreat for general monitoringSolarwinds Database Performance Analyzer is being used to monitor for issues with our SQL Servers by our organization. We use it to provide a baseline and display opportunities for improvement. The tuning feature helps us find bottlenecks and provide index suggestions. Our software development department uses the tool to show how the code has affected database performance. The network operations department monitors the data to find areas that may need upgraded hardware or configuration changes.,Displaying baselines helps to show management how a change has affected performance positively or negatively. The tuning feature is helpful in showing areas that could be improved with an index or code updates. Wait statistics information is very helpful to diagnose database bottlenecks.,Naming the hash takes more steps then it did in the past. It would be nice if there was a way to group the wait statistics by procedure. I search feature would be helpful.,8,The tuning suggestions reduced wait statistics by 80% when a new procedure was introduced without proper indexing. Code has been reverted thanks to the data provided by SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer.,A new procedure was introduced to make things more efficient. After it was deployed, the performance got worse. Solarwinds Database Performance Analyzer showed that a new index was needed and it would improve performance. After utilizing the advice, we realized the efficiencies with the new procedure.,The index suggestions have been helpful. When new procedures have been introduced, the Table Tuning Advisors has made significant improvements.,More than SatisfiedThe ability to monitor, in real time, some new database servers we purchased is key to making them as effective as possible. We also needed visibility into inefficiencies surrounding our existing servers. Having a system with email alerts, AD integration, at-a-glance holistic dashboard views, and resource monitoring were key, but DPA goes over and above with index and query recommendations, and integration with our existing Orion platform. Already having Orion meant the Database Performance Analyzer was sort of a no-brainer, but the features of DPA have proven that it's worth the money.,Customizable Alerts At-A-Glance Categorized Statuses and Wait Time Trending Holistic Server/Application Monitoring using Orion,Availability Group status monitoring could be a little more developed, and sometimes it doesn't report the correct primary replica until the page is refreshed. DPA reports on queries that may benefit from tuning, but it would be great if you could turn off the recommendations for specific databases, such as vendor application databases where procedures are not likely to be touched.,10,DPA is licensed per instance analyzed so, for us, only the higher priority database servers are monitored. DPA is not dependent on Orion, but integrates with it. This means if you don't need all of the cool features of Orion and want to just pay to monitor the database instances then you can install it all by itself.,We're constantly on the lookout for indexes that can be created or made better using DPA. It is so easy when a hyperlink is provided that shows you the exact statement to run (minus the name) that will create the recommended index. DPA shows the information on existing indexes, columns, size, type, unique, and even the fragmentation percentage.,There is so much within Orion that it's hard to know where to begin. You can quickly go from a high-level network map to an individual database and single query within Orion when it's integrated with DPA. Easy to view bar charts within DPA are similarly displayed within Orion for wait times, along with how each query affects different resources on the system.SolarWinds FTW!We are currently using DPA to check the reliability and speed of our databases and use the reporting to streamline our queries. We have had issues in the past due to slow response times from SQL servers and didn't know what was causing the issues. Using DPA allowed us to determine if it was hardware limitations or an issue in the query that was making the responses slow down.,Reporting, the detailed information regarding the issues it is showing. Easy to Use Interface.,A better explanation of how to use the SQL plan should be implemented. Implement recommendations from the console.,9,Not enough time to determine ROI,We have a financial database that is constantly referenced to create accounts for new hires or any moves they make within the district. The queries that run are very complex and run every few hours to make any updates to our AD groups. This has allowed us to streamline those to be more efficient,How could you not? Our Anti-virus database had this exact issue. It was causing abnormally slow response times for client tasks to be performed.,At this point, it has not been integrated into our Orion platform.,SolarWinds Network Device MonitorSolarWinds, Hit after Hit. Keep the great products coming.We use the performance analyzer to check the reliability and speed of our databases. We have had issues in the past due to slow response times from SQL servers and were unaware of the source. Using DPA, we were able to determine if it was hardware or an issue in the query that was making the responses slow down.,Interface is user friendly Extremely detailed reports,Explaining in depth on how to use the SQL and how the plan should be implemented Implement recommendations from the console,8,ROI unknown at this time,We run a database in our district that is constantly referenced to create accounts for new hires or any internal moves during employment. The queries that run are extremely complex and run frequently, updating our AD groups as needed. This has allowed us to stream those functions and clear up some of the overhead.,Our Anti-virus database had this issue. It was causing abnormally slow response times for client tasks to be performed.,
Windows, AWS Marketplace app
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer
72 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer
72 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 72 vetted SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Craig Solinski profile photo
February 15, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "Why DPA can save your firm money, help developers, and ease DBA job."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We run six separate DPA servers covering three different database software vendors. Coverage includes TEST Databases where developers can instantly observe metrics from their most recent changes. Production coverage, of course, is crucial to rapidly identify SQL and VM performance matters and observe changes based on the volume of transactions. This tool is the first place hundreds of developers, admins, and managers use to check app performance.
  • Top N SQL queries.
  • Outstanding UI for rapid examination and drill down to detail data.
  • Intuitive UI design - better than any other product in its category.
  • Enabled us to immediately shift DB related performance matters first to developers so that our DBA's can focus on more important matters.
  • Allow alerts to SMS (text message).
Extremely reliable and bug-free software that can be used over hundreds of databases of various types when run from multiple servers. When monitoring virtual machines, it also reports the VM metrics. Best in class for ease of use and net result value to developer/manager/admin.
Read Craig Solinski's full review
Emmanuel Bradley profile photo
January 29, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "Great for general monitoring"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Database Performance Analyzer is being used to monitor for issues with our SQL Servers by our organization. We use it to provide a baseline and display opportunities for improvement. The tuning feature helps us find bottlenecks and provide index suggestions. Our software development department uses the tool to show how the code has affected database performance. The network operations department monitors the data to find areas that may need upgraded hardware or configuration changes.
  • Displaying baselines helps to show management how a change has affected performance positively or negatively.
  • The tuning feature is helpful in showing areas that could be improved with an index or code updates.
  • Wait statistics information is very helpful to diagnose database bottlenecks.
  • Naming the hash takes more steps then it did in the past.
  • It would be nice if there was a way to group the wait statistics by procedure.
  • I search feature would be helpful.
Solarwinds Database Performance Analyzer is well suited for general monitoring. If you are interested in overall trends and issues that have a significant affect on performance, then this tool works well. It is less appropriate for deep dives into specific issues. When trying to monitor new changes, the impact must be big enough to display a difference in the charts.
Read Emmanuel Bradley's full review
JJ Kroeschel profile photo
January 22, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "More than Satisfied"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The ability to monitor, in real time, some new database servers we purchased is key to making them as effective as possible. We also needed visibility into inefficiencies surrounding our existing servers. Having a system with email alerts, AD integration, at-a-glance holistic dashboard views, and resource monitoring were key, but DPA goes over and above with index and query recommendations, and integration with our existing Orion platform. Already having Orion meant the Database Performance Analyzer was sort of a no-brainer, but the features of DPA have proven that it's worth the money.
  • Customizable Alerts
  • At-A-Glance Categorized Statuses and Wait Time Trending
  • Holistic Server/Application Monitoring using Orion
  • Availability Group status monitoring could be a little more developed, and sometimes it doesn't report the correct primary replica until the page is refreshed.
  • DPA reports on queries that may benefit from tuning, but it would be great if you could turn off the recommendations for specific databases, such as vendor application databases where procedures are not likely to be touched.
DPA is web-based, so when you can't get directly into SQL to see what's going on it gives you all the tools to find performance concerns. DPA gives bar charts that are color-coded to see if there's a particular statement that is causing the most waits, allowing you to focus on queries that may not be performing as expected, long-running queries, excessive blocking, etc. You can immediately see when one or two applications or processes are areas of potential concern.
Read JJ Kroeschel's full review
Jose Parra profile photo
February 05, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "SolarWinds FTW!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using DPA to check the reliability and speed of our databases and use the reporting to streamline our queries. We have had issues in the past due to slow response times from SQL servers and didn't know what was causing the issues. Using DPA allowed us to determine if it was hardware limitations or an issue in the query that was making the responses slow down.
  • Reporting, the detailed information regarding the issues it is showing.
  • Easy to Use Interface.
  • A better explanation of how to use the SQL plan should be implemented.
  • Implement recommendations from the console.
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer has been an excellent way for us to see performance
history and detect current issues within our SQL Databases.
Read Jose Parra's full review
John Gonzalez profile photo
February 01, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "SolarWinds, Hit after Hit. Keep the great products coming."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the performance analyzer to check the reliability and speed of our databases. We have had issues in the past due to slow response times from SQL servers and were unaware of the source. Using DPA, we were able to determine if it was hardware or an issue in the query that was making the responses slow down.
  • Interface is user friendly
  • Extremely detailed reports
  • Explaining in depth on how to use the SQL and how the plan should be implemented
  • Implement recommendations from the console
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer has been a great way for us to see performance history and identify issues in our SQL Databases
Read John Gonzalez's full review
Mike Saedi profile photo
February 01, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "SolarWinds DPA is an Excellent Performance Monitoring Tool for SQL Server"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant, I recommend and use SolarWinds across multiple clients currently at Nortek/Broan-Nutone, BlastMotion, and Hansen and Adkins. I use this on a daily basis to assist me with monitoring SQL servers and assisting me with troubleshooting performance issues as they arise. I have also used SolarWinds DPA to set up alerts for issues like low drive space and query plan changes.
  • Excellent for trending SQL Performance over time.
  • Excellent for monitoring deadlocks and blocking.
  • Good for trending SQL query changes over time.
  • It would be nice to have more built-in alerting capabilities.
  • Indexing recommendations are also somewhat unclear. I have seen areas that say you could improve performance on a table for example but not giving any additional details beyond that.
  • More in-depth recommendations, other tools like Idera Diagnostic Manager I feel are stronger in this area.
I like the fact that I can visually see what my SQL server is doing over time and drill into top queries.
Alerting and notifications are not as strong as some other tools I have used.
Blocking and deadlocking features/analysis could be improved also.
Read Mike Saedi's full review
Jason Brokaw profile photo
February 01, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "Solarwinds from an application standpoint."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is primarily used by the Business Intelligence department and now and then by the IT department. Currently, we use it to monitor our database systems, most especially our EHR system. DPA allows me to monitor day to day operations, the health of the database systems, and any special issues that arise in our EHR vendor's code. As a BETA client for our EHR vendor, I've used it to monitor new code that may be having an increased impact on the database and use DPA's reports to start the conversation with the developers.
  • Real-time monitoring and notification of blocks and deadlocks on the database.
  • Real-time notification of outages, including overnight issues that may arise.
  • Ongoing monitoring, query by query, showing the impact of resources and utilization.
  • Navigation is not always intuitive. Sometimes I need to drill down into 10-minute layers just to access a piece of information that I would have preferred to find at the hour or day level.
It's freed up a lot of time for me and made me less reliant on running SQL Profiler for long periods of time to gather data to investigate an issue. Now I can just go look at the history and work my way forward figuring out where an issue originated and with whom.
Read Jason Brokaw's full review
Natasa Stojsic profile photo
January 29, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "What a tool !"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DPA at Reliance is used within the IT department only. We monitor the performance of SQL queries as well as to see if we have any issues with the resources. I use the information provided by DPA to optimize the worst performing queries. I concentrate on instances with highest wait time and SQL with the highest percentage of instance execution time. We also use DPA to check for blocking and deadlocks.
  • DPA tells you if there are missing indexes.
  • DPA gives you predicate warnings for SQL queries.
  • DPA monitors main resource performance counters for the VM and host and also read and write latencies for data partitions.
  • We DBAs often don't have enough insight into the type of hardware being used. For example I'd like to know if our SAN presents new pages as pre-initialized or the operating system re-initialize the pages.
  • I'd like to be able to see in DPA if our infrastructure performs physical file fragmentation on our SAN.
  • I would like to see IO blocks size that was used for SQL Server and other internals from infrastructure side that we DBAs don't have visibility.
It is easy with SolarWinds DPA to see the database block chains and drill into what is the root blocker process. DPA is less detail oriented when it comes to the infrastructure side of data stores. When infrastructure provisions the SQL server I would like to be able to see for example if the partitions used for transaction log and main data drives are on separate devices/different volumes to reduce IO contention.
Read Natasa Stojsic's full review
Ben Keen profile photo
January 23, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "DPA within my organization."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AEO uses SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer to maintain a better view of how key databases are performing. These databases are key in our overall business success so having the ability to see trends and be more proactive to possible issues has been key in our success.
  • One use case was to use SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) to look at our overall SolarWinds Database as part of a POC. We were able to make changes in the database to increase the response of our SolarWinds system. It was this POC that made it known that we needed this type of tool.
  • We used DPA to further help identify issues in key business databases to help improve the user experience.
  • It would be nice to bring the detailed views we get when we go out to the SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer server within the SolarWinds UI. This would help move us to the unicorn of a "single pane glass" view.
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) is great for organizations of all sizes that use databases in key places within their organization. The view inside the database through DPA can help you make improvements if required and be more proactive to issues rather than waiting for the 10 pm call on a Friday that something is broken.
Read Ben Keen's full review
Francisco Manuel Marrero profile photo
January 23, 2019

Review: "SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer and how it freed us."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) is currently being used by one of the business departments to pinpoint and solve issues on certain client SQL instances.
  • It quickly finds bottlenecks in queries and helps determine why the bottleneck exist.
  • With DPA you can see via graphs the longest queries or the ones taking the most resources.
  • DPA also integrates very well with SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor so it's easy to set up simple or advance alerts.
  • SolarWinds DPA is truly an advanced tool so perhaps more training videos to match all the great documentation.
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is very well suited to find existing problems. With built-in graphs and reports, one can easily find where the trouble is hiding.
Read Francisco Manuel Marrero's full review
Chris Giles profile photo
January 23, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "SolarWinds DPA makes your day more than OK!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is used to identify possible issues related to performance, outages or develop improvements in both our own and vendor-provided solutions with SQL databases. Our internal development and support team can review the findings and recommendations from SolarWinds and report on any issues to staff and management. Our vendor can be provided reports on SQL performance of their product after version upgrades, design implications or outages with easy to read data and recommendations. The content being monitored impacts the entire organization so it is critical to our success that these tools function at their best at all times. We were incredibly fortunate to locate the SolarWinds DPA tool.
  • Deep dive into reports, via logging, graphs and pop up tips from SolarWinds.
  • Easy to install and customize, recommendations on findings are easy to understand.
  • Easy to read interface and layout, little to no training required to become operational.
  • I would like to see more granularity in administrative rights, although this is a very minor issue.
I think SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is better suited for database environments where a critical product is used and you need to either be proactive to resolve issues or have issues currently that are difficult to diagnose. In the absence of a DBA on staff, it would be useful for other IT staff to support vendor-provided products and provide details back on performance or even recommend improvements.
Read Chris Giles's full review
Lazaro Pereira profile photo
February 01, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer: "Technical Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to monitor multiple local and cloud instances, providing us with metrics which are tied into reporting for developers and management.
  • Ability to hook into NPM for the discovery of monitoring targets.
  • Ability to build dashboards from Database performance data.
  • Better looking dashboards.
  • Hooking into NTA or NPM to provide data on latency in reference to DB vs network.
Detailing performance metrics. Providing easy access for database developers to see how changes they have made impact performance to the corporate users.
Read Lazaro Pereira's full review
Chris Ramsey profile photo
February 01, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "Efficient and to the root cause of issues quickly."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) to check for reliability and speed of our databases and use the reporting to streamline our queries. We have had issues in the past due to slow response times from SQL servers and didn't know what was causing the issues. Using DPA allowed us to determine if it was hardware limitations or an issue in the query that was making the responses slow down.
  • Reporting.
  • The detailed information regarding the issues it is showing.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • A better explanation of how to use the SQL plan should be implemented.
  • Implement recommendations from the console.
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer has been an excellent way for us to see performance history and detect current issues within our SQL Databases.
Read Chris Ramsey's full review
John Kaba profile photo
January 25, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "Great product for the price."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize the Trends Analysis to identify the most time intensive queries, as well as to see if we have a pattern of usage that would show us performance issues. We use the Current Tab to show us a real-time analysis of the queries that are currently running so that we can catch problem queries before they impact performance, and then we use the Resources Tab to monitor our Buffer Pool, Package Cache, and Catalog hit ratios as well as our memory and CPU utilization.
  • Enables you to drill down into problem queries and find out what exactly is going on with it.
  • Gives us a nice historical trends analysis display that is useful in finding patterns in usage.
  • Now has tuning advisors to help tune your queries.
  • I would like to see an iPhone app to monitor my database remotely.
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is well suited for notifying DBAs of performance issues when they are happening so that we can take immediate action.
Read John Kaba's full review
Igor Novachuk profile photo
January 25, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "DPA - an esy to use and invaluable tool for a DBA or a software engineer professional."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are actively monitoring our production and staging environment for any potential negative impact of new deployments or a performance impact due to a dramatic data growth.
  • No agent required on a server, which allows us to easily switch a monitoring target.
  • Integration with a VM Hosting software, so a correct decision could be made on sudden resource utilization spikes.
  • Capturing a live execution plan for further analysis.
  • Historical monitoring data is available for an extended time period.
  • Increase a query name file size, so the names could be more meaningful and allow for distinguishing different versions of the same query easier.
  • Would be nice to see captured parameters for a query, when the usual execution plan was changed.
  • On the statistical/historical site: highlight rarely used indexes.
This tool is great for spotting sudden changes, which we periodically have due to an increased data flow from new customers. It is also invaluable for comparing any changes to existing queries, especially in measuring a potential performance impact before a rollout. So far, it has proven to be appropriate for pretty much any scenario with the right use of alerts.
Read Igor Novachuk's full review
Ben Parker profile photo
January 23, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "DPA worked for us."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is being used by our IT department to monitor and identify any bottlenecks in our database infrastructure.
  • Visualizes the time taken to complete queries.
  • Offers suggestions on how to tune queries.
  • Alerts you when there is a potential issue.
  • The interface could be improved.
  • Make it more user-friendly, reduce the learning curve.
  • Offer definitions for database terms on the page or within a tooltip.
Well suited for any large database distribution with hundreds or thousands of connections. For smaller databases with fewer connections, it would not be as useful.
Read Ben Parker's full review
Jyothsna G profile photo
January 23, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "Try it out for smaller environments."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) in our IT department. We have heavy analytics jobs that query RDS databases. DPA helps us to find queries taking longer execution times.
  • Query issues on each database.
  • Database engine metrics.
  • Detailed status summary.
  • I can't think of any.
Well suited for small environments.
Read Jyothsna G's full review
No photo available
February 01, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "Database Performance Analyzer is a great complement to Oracle Enterprise Manager"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Database Performance Analyzer is used across our organization for performance analysis and alert notification. It provides a very useful supplement to Oracle Enterprise Edition Diagnostics and Tuning Packs. The DBAs use it predominantly for both reactive and proactive performance tuning. The custom alert function is used to notify DBAs of potential issues which require investigation. We use the Reports feature on occasion for presentations and data-sharing with management.
  • Excellent overall view of database performance from the standpoint of SQL wait times. The main page for each database clearly displays the "pain points," if any.
  • Ability to "drill down" to analyze particular problems in detail.
  • Annotations provide a clear marker of changes so that any effect may be clearly seen.
  • No PostgreSQL support.
  • No ability to see a historical listing of annotations. Once annotations roll off the 30-day window, they are no longer accessible.
  • There is no "timezone awareness" for global monitoring. All times are local to the area where DPA is run; this can throw off remote staff. We have sometimes created annotations at the incorrect time.
  • In certain cases, the GUI gets cumbersome. This is especially true in the new (version 12) screen which shows SQL details.
  • The screen presentation often doesn't lend itself to copy-paste for data to go into an email, documentation, etc.
  • No facility for tracking unused or seldom used indexes.
  • No integration with Oracle's Diagnostic and Tuning Pack features.
Database Performance Analyzer is particularly well-suited for two use cases:
1. As a supplement to Oracle's Diagnostic and Tuning Pack features in OEM. It displays database status in a more comprehensive way and from a different angle than OEM. The two tools together provide a particularly powerful ability for DBAs to keep an eye on database performance.
2. Because it is much easier to use than OEM, it is particularly suitable for use by junior helpdesk and DBAs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "Solarwinds DPA: Quickly Identify Production Performance Problems"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) is a powerful database performance analyzer tool that is vital to our business. It is utilized by the organization to monitor hundreds of SQL Server instances that support customer businesses. The graphs and dashboards provided by the tool grant us the quick visibility into potential performance culprits that could be impacting our customers.
  • Solarwinds DPA provides easy to ready graphs to identify database performance problems.
  • Solarwinds DPA displays vital Availability Group health information. This is used to quickly identify the status of SQL Server Availability Groups.
  • Solarwinds DPA provides a drill down capability to see current and recent activity that may be impacting performance. This easy to use interfaces is vital to quickly identifying performance problems for improved up time.
  • Solarwinds DPA does a great job of analyzing commonly executed queries on SQL instances. The one thing it does not do well is gathering metrics and bubbling up ad hoc queries that may only run once and a while, or perhaps queries that supply a variety of parameters. This typically causes DPA to interpret commonly run queries with varying parameters as different queries.
It is well suited for monitoring performance of mission critical business database systems. The tools website provides many easy to navigate pages with a plethora of details about SQL wait times, system resource utilization, such as CPU, memory, and disk, as well as supplying potential missing index information.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 25, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "SolarWinds DPA is a constant companion making sense of database performance"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the alerts to prevent problems. We use the performance data to diagnose and fix problems. We use the dashboard and drill down to know where we are at/know if we're doing well.
  • The product is great at visualizing the data you need for administration and performance tuning, making it understandable in seconds. A database like Oracle has AWR reports - many pages long, all text, hard to read. SQL Server has dynamic management views - good stuff but not so easily accessible. SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) lays it out so it is quickly comprehensible and actionable.
  • DPA tells us what's really going on. Example: the developer says this stored procedure is running super slowly in this RDBMS but runs like lightning on this other one. They've tried to tune it to no avail. So we spend just a few minutes with DPA investigating the situation and we find that the stored proc is running fine. Instead, it is the application's attempt to access the metadata about the proc that is slow. This led to caching the metadata and now the 'slow' proc is running great! Without DPA it would have been a long time before we got to looking at the right code.
  • It's great that we can use the built-in alerts functionality to create custom alerts. The custom alerts can gather information for the databases we are monitoring or from the data DPA collects which go beyond the database and into other relevant pieces like the OS, storage and the network.
  • It's a great product - they do most things right. Maybe I'll say keep working on the UI so I can get to the info I need with even fewer clicks.
The dashboard is great when you have dozens of instances you are administering. The free version is great for even tiny shops. The history it keeps lets you diagnose a problem that happened yesterday or over the weekend or to see a pattern - does it happen at the same time every day or weekly on the same day of the week, etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "DPA, the database admin's friend."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our IT department to watch for database issues on oOraclecle and MSSQL environments. We use the info to determine if changes need to be made in the application code for our developers or support calls to the third party products we use. When issues arise we are able to give them info to find and fix any bugs.
  • We can see any SQLs that are using more resources then they normally do and see if software updates have any issues.
  • It gives us historic information about the server. It shows CPU, memory and individual SQL utilization.
  • It shows us the SQL that is running so we can use that to show developers or support personal what may be causing an issue.
  • It would be nice to be able to pick the window for data related to the CPU utilization, etc. IE, pick the week of Jan 6th through the 12th instead of this week, one month, etc.
  • Most everything else works very well.
I think if you have any database servers that are used for more then one database it would be a must. The ability to make sure that one database is not hogging the entire server and causing slowness for others is a very good thing to have. If you only have only one database it would be useful, but it might not be needed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 25, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "Database Administrator"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) is primarily used to monitor the performance of critical databases in the environment. It has been very helpful in assisting the team in identifying performance bottlenecks and helping our DBAs to be proactive with potential performance issues before it reaches the end-users.
  • Query tuning advisor.
  • Historical performance data collection.
  • Providing query information along with its source system.
  • "Alerts" setup is not intuitive.
  • Lack of support for multi-domain AD/LDAP configuration.
  • No straight forward method to get plan handle number from plan hash value displayed in DPA.
Well-suited scenarios: (1) Collecting historical performance data and monitoring system's health with a minimal overhead or performance impact. (2) When you have no existing DPA tool in the environment or are considering purchasing/switching to a different DPA tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 25, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "Just my view on Solarwinds DPA. Not worth it to me."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) is currently used by the IT Department to monitor select SQL Server instances. It is used to help find and fix issues that affect those instances. Things like high memory, CPU, and blocking transactions are the most frequent use cases. I also use it to help find issues with query performance from in-house ETL, reporting, and ad hoc queries.
  • It can tell you the amount of wait time on the SQL instance.
  • It can help you find poor performing queries (by wait time) and give suggestions on the fix.
  • It has a decent overview/dashboard page that can alert you to issues across all covered instances.
  • It focuses on tracking/reporting the wait time statistic as the core measurement for performance. I think to most DBAs and SQL Developers, wait time is a symptom of an issue, not the root cause. I would prefer this premise be changed to track different issues that get closer to the heart of the issue.
  • "Solutions" to wait time issues that the system suggests is simply canned responses by each wait type. This is incredibly unhelpful when tracking specific issues; for instance, a single query that is not performing well.
  • Navigating the UI is incredibly frustrating. Trying to click a wait bar and navigating to a SQL query by its hash is rather obnoxious as well. Hovering over every hash to find the query you might be looking for is just a pain.
  • Combining multiple search patterns is nearly impossible by any known means. For instance, I want to know information about queries on a database, by user, not by wait type. I have a page for queries against a database and I have a page for queries ran by a specific user. But I need ways to combine these quickly to find things.
  • Completely absent features like tracking SQL Agent jobs and maintenance plans would be a huge help.
  • An easier way to get to and use the "Current->Active Sessions." Currently running (or blocked) transactions are some of the most helpful tools I can have when determining issues. Focusing more on this feature would be a big plus.
  • Reports are halfway useless. It seems like they only give me the options to show what I can view in the UI already, instead of extending functionality. If I need to write every report I want with a SQL Query, then what did I need to buy this tool for in the first place?
  • More high-level information on the dashboard could take up some unused space. Things like: data file size, log size, agent jobs running/failed, etc could all be beneficial to show at a high level instead of a bunch of arbitrary green check marks.
  • One of the other big issues I have is when a blocking transaction goes unnoticed for a while. It takes up so much of the 'wait time' graphs that other bars are basically flat. I know there is a way to make it so that query is ignored in the wait bar graphs, but finding that option is a problem. And, I don't really want to ignore it all the time. I want to ignore the single huge chunk that was being blocked a week ago so I can continue monitoring for issues with it. The other thing is that when a blocking transaction occurs, a bunch of other queries rack up massive wait time too, which just compounds the problem.
If you only care about wait time stats, then SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) is probably the best tool around. For the rest of us, I think other tools do the job of SQL monitoring better across the board. Some might have more complex options and longer set up, but that cost is offset by value added over time. Anything outside of wait time stats is probably not done by this tool as well as its competitors.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2019

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "DPA - Helping to provide that single pane of glass monitoring for all of IT."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer for daily and forensic reporting of our production SQL database performance. It is currently being used by our data services and operations department to report performance and availability to the business. It provides a consistent dashboard that both teams utilize to agree on the same performance impact on our application.
  • Great visualization/timeline representation of events.
  • Consolidated and detail troubleshooting efforts and suggestions for root cause analysis.
  • A solution provided suggestion to increase performance.
  • Reporting of raw data formats for importing to additional BI/Reporting tools.
  • Integration with core SolarWinds products (single-pane).
  • Improve alerting engine and integration into other platforms.
Assisted in troubleshooting after hours for none DBA analysis. Able to have staff monitor and deliver quicker time to resolution even though on-call engineers are not trained in database technologies.
Read this authenticated review
Stephen Swan profile photo
July 21, 2017

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review: "One of a kind"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been looking to implement Solarwinds DPA for some time. It has been the only tool that can find performance issues in SQL code based upon waits. It is well worth the cost for that level of troubleshooting. By combining wait performance with historical execution plans, I can find what impact coding changes are making in the environment.
  • Wait based performance analysis
  • Historical execution plan comparison
  • Integration with other Solarwinds products
  • Minor pain points create difficulties in historical tracking.
Solarwinds DPA is well suited to a DBA looking to improve performance over time. It allows tracking and alerting of queries. It makes finding pain points easy. This tool would not be good for a beginner DBA as it requires looking at execution plans and deciding where the problem has occurred.
Read Stephen Swan's full review

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Scorecard Summary

About SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) will enable you with deep visibility into database performance and expert advice for performance optimization and tuning

What can you monitor with DPA?
  • SQL Server (including Azure SQL DB)
  • Oracle MySQL
  • DB2 (LUW)
  • SAP
  • ASE (formerly Sybase)
  • Aurora
  • MariaDB
DPA monitors physical, virtual, and cloud-based databases (including Microsoft Azure and Amazon RDS)

What makes DPA stand out:
  • Quick, easy, and reliable performance troubleshooting tracked in real time and historically
  • Find inefficient workload, aggregated by table, for indexing opportunities—an “X marks the spot” tuning analysis
  • Multi-vendor relational database support for your database environment in a single tool
  • Blocking analysis: what is blocking and a hierarchy of what is being blocked, plus overall impact
  • Integration with other SolarWinds products for more complete visibility (applications, servers, storage, hypervisor, network, and more)
  • Quick, easy, and low-effort installation, configuration, and administration

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Features

Has featureDatabase monitoring
Has featureTuning advisors for queries, workload, and indexes aggregated at the table level
Has featureCorrelated resource metrics for easy diagnosis of hardware constraint impacts on end-users
Has featureDetailed blocking analysis for contention bottlenecks
Has featureI/O activity tracking at the drive/mount and file level
Has featureAlerts and reports
Has featureDPA Central to manage large and/or distributed environments
Has featureAlways On Availability Group and RAC insights

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Screenshots

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Video

Database Performance Analyzer - Overview

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Downloadables

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Integrations

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, AWS Marketplace app
Mobile Application:No