SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
190 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 99)

Emmanuel Bradley | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Great for general monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Database Performance Analyzer is being used to monitor for issues with our SQL Servers by our organization. We use it to provide a baseline and display opportunities for improvement. The tuning feature helps us find bottlenecks and provide index suggestions. Our software development department uses the tool to show how the code has affected database performance. The network operations department monitors the data to find areas that may need upgraded hardware or configuration changes.
  • Displaying baselines helps to show management how a change has affected performance positively or negatively.
  • The tuning feature is helpful in showing areas that could be improved with an index or code updates.
  • Wait statistics information is very helpful to diagnose database bottlenecks.
  • Naming the hash takes more steps then it did in the past.
  • It would be nice if there was a way to group the wait statistics by procedure.
  • I search feature would be helpful.
Solarwinds Database Performance Analyzer is well suited for general monitoring. If you are interested in overall trends and issues that have a significant affect on performance, then this tool works well. It is less appropriate for deep dives into specific issues. When trying to monitor new changes, the impact must be big enough to display a difference in the charts.
A new procedure was introduced to make things more efficient. After it was deployed, the performance got worse. Solarwinds Database Performance Analyzer showed that a new index was needed and it would improve performance. After utilizing the advice, we realized the efficiencies with the new procedure.
Read Emmanuel Bradley's full review
Mike Saedi | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2020

SolarWinds DPA is an Excellent Performance Monitoring Tool for SQL Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant, I recommend and use SolarWinds across multiple clients currently at Nortek/Broan-Nutone, BlastMotion, and Hansen and Adkins. I use this on a daily basis to assist me with monitoring SQL servers and assisting me with troubleshooting performance issues as they arise. I have also used SolarWinds DPA to set up alerts for issues like low drive space and query plan changes.
  • Excellent for trending SQL Performance over time.
  • Excellent for monitoring deadlocks and blocking.
  • Good for trending SQL query changes over time.
  • It would be nice to have more built-in alerting capabilities.
  • Indexing recommendations are also somewhat unclear. I have seen areas that say you could improve performance on a table for example but not giving any additional details beyond that.
  • More in-depth recommendations, other tools like Idera Diagnostic Manager I feel are stronger in this area.
I like the fact that I can visually see what my SQL server is doing over time and drill into top queries.
Alerting and notifications are not as strong as some other tools I have used.
Blocking and deadlocking features/analysis could be improved also.
We had an issue recently where we experienced poor performance of a query due to a plan change. DPA pointed this out and I adjusted how often I updated my statistics, which helped this query. I would have a hard time knowing that the query plan change was the root cause of the issue had DPA not told me.
One thing that might be helpful though would be if DPA saw this plan change and then told me I should update my statistics, since I had to figure this out and do this separately on my own.
Read Mike Saedi's full review
Pat Groce | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

DPA in Govenment

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The database team uses DPA to manage up to 50 licenses. Only 5 team members who are DBAs actively use the tool. All SQL performance problems from large PeopleSoft DBS to Cots applications (500+) are covered. Performance problems can come from all directions so this tool is extremely useful because it's a catch-all.
  • Peoplesoft DBs: we often use it to recommend indexes or find queries that need tuning.
  • Availability group monitors and alerts so we know when there are problems.
  • Trends over time: like blocking, deadlocks or stuck queries DPA helps pinpoint the cause.
  • Bug with fantom availability group.
I find the number of databases we support is high compared to the staff DBAs available. The DPA product is a good product here. If you had just a couple of databases it wouldn't be necessary.
Read Pat Groce's full review
Aruna Bandara | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2020

Keep an eye on your databases using Solarwinds DPA

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A database should be more optimized to run faster and efficiently. SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is one of the best applications which is used as a management and performance monitoring solution for any database. This software is straightforward to use and configure. And it is user-friendly. In our organization, we are using SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer to manage database performance issues such as errors, long-running queries and more.
  • The interface of the SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is straightforward. And it is easy to understand also.
  • SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer helps to immediately identify the performance problems of SQL Databases such as errors, long-running queries or issues that are blocking the system.
  • It provides real-time analysis and support. Also, it can review issues from a historical point of view.
  • Many databases are supported.
  • The cost of acquiring this software is bit expensive. But it's absolutely worth.
  • It takes considerable time to load.
  • The reporting feature should be improved.
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer can smoothly work with different databases such as MS SQL Server, Oracle database and more. Also, it supports physical, virtual, cloud, etc.
We had some issues related to databases such as slow queries and data losses. Using SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer, we were able to identify problems related to our databases, and now they are running without problems.
Read Aruna Bandara's full review
Kiran Yakkala | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2020

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer as a whole

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Database Performance Analyzer is really helpful in our organization to find DB issues. It does in-depth database performance monitoring and provides a lot of valuable data to us.
  • Database Performance Analyzer module helped us capture database response times and other info.
  • Database Performance Analyzer is really good at capturing in depth DB data that is not really possible from multiple other modules.
  • Investigating everything is manual in SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer.
  • We will need to manually figure out what the issues are using SolarWinds.
Database Performance Analyzer is really helpful for capturing DB procs and other info. However, it was not able to capture the data we needed like the application jobs running on the database, etc.
We had an issue where databases were going to a hinge state, and using Database Performance Analyzer we were able to find the jobs that were responsible for that.
Read Kiran Yakkala's full review
Steven Pangilinan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Real ROI that added a 9 to our uptime.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business lines span many industries and have a vast array of projects in production. Many of the environments we have must be segregated, and SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer offers us a clear, detailed view of these environments through a single pane. Our DBAs can more quickly address issues and quickly settle the "hardware versus software" debate between engineers and developers.
  • Alerts us of current issues affecting system performance
  • Alerts us of potential issues that will affect system performance
  • The licensing timeline needs improvement. Adding new instances becomes cost-prohibitive at some times of the year due to the locked-down renewal period.
In an environment where many developers and DBAs are often working separately from each other on some projects and together on others, it gets difficult to see where the lines are between applications and databases. SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer allows me as a manager to pinpoint issues and to get our developers or DBAs involved as appropriate to resolve issues that happen, and address issues that haven't happened yet. SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is worth a whole 9 of uptime in and of itself.
One instance where SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer saves us is cost savings. We are able to see what inefficient stored procedures do to the resources we pay monthly for. We saw the need to pull a couple of developers off a project and have them concentrate on optimization and indexes, and we were able to reduce resource consumption enough to hire more developers.
Read Steven Pangilinan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer - Recommended

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It allows us to keep a close eye on our database. In the event we run into slowdowns, we can easily identify the issue using SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer before larger issues pop up. Since we've implemented it, we are able to proactively keep our system running smoother with fewer service interruptions.
  • Automatically emails me weekly reports so I can keep an eye on our database performance.
  • Easily identify problem queries.
  • Helps us optimized our code.
  • The initial learning curve is a little steep.
  • A better explanation of the features would be nice.
  • Navigation is sometimes a little tough.
It's very helpful to have the robust reporting features available when you have a mission-critical database. We need to be aware of what is happening on our server and be able to tune and adjust as required to keep things running fast and smooth. SolarWinds DPA allows us to do this.
We recently released a new build of our in-house software. We were experiencing very high utilization on our database server which essentially stopped all critical usage in our database. Using SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer, we were quickly able to figure out exactly what query was causing the issue and resolve the problem much faster then we would have been able to without SolarWinds.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds DPA is a great product to visually see the health of the databases and make a proactive monitoring and root cause analysis

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we use SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer for proactive performance monitoring and anomaly detection in database overall health. This product gives us a first look at the big picture of the database performance. We configured some alerts and mail notifications, which saves us a lot of time. Our most common use case is to react to changed execution plans and take appropriate actions before end users of the systems start to complain about performance problem and response times.
  • Anomaly detection powered by machine learning - new in version 12, greatly love that statistical analysis
  • Compare workload versus past on daily basis and total, it really helps us to see big picture of growth and make capacity considerations
  • Intuitive performance analysis - easyly examine the problems and find the root cause
  • In the last two versions 12.0 and 12.1 SolarWinds has made great enhancements. I do not have a thing that I currently want to be changed. There are some cosmetics in the user interface but do not think that they are problems.
I think it is well suited for mission-critical databases where every percent performance is a must. Maybe it would do great work in a data warehouse too, especially in detecting performance loss in ETL jobs. Actually, I think it is well-suited in all the use cases, if you have enough licenses :).
I cannot share an example due to regulatory restriction.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Try it out if you want happy customers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across our department to monitor our database landscape. We have different flavors of databases across our landscape, and SolarWinds for years has been an important part of the strategy for our monitoring solutions for the database tier across the landscape. It is very intuitive and quite easy to implement.
  • Immediate bottlenecks on the database tier.
  • Performance tuning.
  • Historical reports.
  • More details around the specific alerts which are raised on the console should be considered.
  • More information from a host layer monitoring could be handy as well.
  • A single layout for the report for all the different instances of DPA would be really handy. It is just tedious to go granular for all the instances across the landscape.
Very intuitive and easy for operations organizations to ensure that any symptoms which could lead to performance concerns on the database tier can be easily identified and looked at.
To ensure these issues can be given highest priority as and when any performance bottlenecks arise, the simple layout provided with the tool is really effective.
We had some customer promotions going on and the database was suffering from blocking sessions a lot during these promotions. DPA helped to pick these quickly and these were raised with the concerned teams to ensure that this can be handled well in time to ensure minimal impact to the business.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2020

SolarWinds DPA - perfect for query performance analysis.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DPA is currently used by our development and support team to monitor our core database to keep an eye on performance day to day to avoid any rogue queries or new application causing issues for our business as a whole. In the early days of our business platform it was used to refine our queries to provide a better user experience.
  • Highlights abnormal query performance
  • Provides historical base line
  • Gives detailed insight and these days recommendations on how to improve performance
  • Not be written in JAVA and run on Apache
  • Upgrades are always a problem for us
The historical record aspect to view performance over time is invaluable, to be able to go back and see when things change which can then be related to application changes is great. Additionally, the live reporting current detail is brilliant for out of the blue and immediate issues that have to be dealt with.
We have a windows service that calls the DB for an action. If the action wasn't to be performed it was supposed to go to sleep and wait for a few minutes before trying again. However with a mistake in the code the procedure it called ended up being called every tick which lead to 1000s of executions per minute. DPA wait time status highlighted this within no time which lead immediately to the root cause, including snippets of the SQL text, allowing this to be resolved within minutes of becoming aware of it (and more importantly before any complaints that the system was running "slow")!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

DPA Pros and Cons

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this product to diagnose and maintain the good performance of SQL Servers. We find degradation or lag, and it also helps issues with queries to be addressed.
  • Query Analyzer
  • HA Status
  • DAG HA Analyzer
  • Custom Time Windows for history
Very good at query help and resource information. Not so good at DAG HA designs. We have a DAG setup and SolarWinds DPA can not even see the local HA if this is setup. That is kind of a bummer since we need the HA information and DAG is an older tech.
When root cause performance hits through the resources tool, we then correlate that to the queries that were blocking or had waits. It is very useful to have specific times and details to find underlying issues. Then we can use the query help tool that offers suggestions to tune the queries that may help avoid this in the future.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Top of Class Database Performance Monitoring and Tuning Advisor!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DPA for database monitoring across the enter enterprise, dev/QA and production. We connect it to Oracle, SQL and MySQL Database Servers. We use DPA as a single source of monitoring for database performance issues. The historical and real-time query monitoring allows us to troubleshoot and quickly identify the root cause of a poorly performing server.
  • Database performance monitoring.
  • Database performance root cause analysis.
  • Server performance monitoring.
  • Licensing Model can be expensive on a per-instance basis, consider a per-host-based option.
  • Limited ability to combine monitoring results for similar groups of servers.
  • Different license types for different types of servers (Oracle Enterprise vs Standard).
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) is great for monitoring Oracle and SQL databases for performance anomalies. When a user calls and says "It's slow" we have one [place] to go to review the data, zero on the problematic query and take action to resolve. In addition to being a great troubleshooting tool DPA also provides query tuning advice based on captured long-term analysis to spot inefficient patterns.
We have a web based application running on Oracle that began experiencing daily performance issues every morning. We were able to quickly review query historical Top SQL Statements from the impacted time periods and identify a problematic query. As a short term fix we disabled the job running the query. Using tuning advice also provided in DPA we were able to improve the query causing the issue for a permanent fix.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Key to knowing true DB performance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in IT to monitor database performance and to assist with troubleshooting when there are performance issues with key applications. It is primarily used by our Database Administrators and has assisted in maintaining key performance metrics. It has allowed us to be proactive in our approach to performance monitoring and being able to resolve problems before they affect users.
  • Monitoring DB performance
  • Insight into hard hitting queries or jobs
  • Visual representation
  • Can be better in presentation of issues
  • Would be good if it could provide possible causes or solutions
Recommended overall for database operations and management. The tool is key and has played a good role in providing key information for troubleshooting. It can, at times, present information in a way that can be confusing. But, the application is also very useful for maintaining application-specific metrics that can be used in SLAs and performance metrics.
In troubleshooting a key application, it was able to highlight a query that had a heavy impact and cost on the performance that significantly affected users' ability to utilize the application. It allowed us to rebuild the query and schedule it for a different time where it was less impactful on user performance. This resulted in significant improvement in user surveys regarding performance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it at the data warehousing and analytics group to monitor the load and set up alerts on the data warehouse server. We have set up alerts on long-running queries, blocking other queries, deadlocks, instance availability, unused indexes, etc. Some of them are very useful, but the deadlocks alert can be improved to show what queries were in the deadlock, so we can improve our solution.
  • We have set up alerts on long-running queries, blocking other queries, deadlocks, instance availability, unused indexes, etc.
  • The status summary is useful to see the load on the server.
  • Deadlocks alert can be improved to show what queries were in the deadlock, so we can improve our solution.
  • Deadlocks alert can be improved to show what queries were in the deadlock, so we can improve our solution.
  • We never got to setup https using the documentation provided by solar winds. We still keep getting https error when we access our DPA site.
  • A better technical customer service would help.
It is good to set up alerts on the database server. some of the alerts described in previous answers can be improved. Help on setup can be improved. As described earlier, we still do not have our DPA site set up with the security certificate and customer service did not help much.
It helps us balance the load and find queries that need optimization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer helps you become the best DBA you can be.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an organization that relies on data and databases, it is important that we have the right tools in place to ensure our data is always accessible. The technology team has set up SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer to monitor all of the critical databases on our network to ensure 100% uptime. SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer allows our technology team to focus on other issues and only deal with the SQL servers when SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer alerts the team to any potential issue.
  • Analyzes performance trends with all of the databases
  • Analyzes memory, CPU, and disk space on the SQL servers and alerts on any potential issues
  • Provides stats on wait times by database
  • Offers tuning suggestions on how to improve the performance of under-performing databases and queries
  • query and index suggestions are not straight forward. you need to understand sql in order to interpret and use the suggestions properly
  • if you have a lot of databases, the price could inhibit the implementation
  • not all reported issues have suggested fixes
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is great for any company that uses some form of SQL server in their environment. Whether it's Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle, Sybase, etc, SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer provides insight into your environment's health.
In order to fully utilize and appreciate SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer, I do recommend you have some experience with SQL queries and databases, as some of the suggestions and issues that could arise needs to be fully understood prior to implementing the suggested fixes.
Our organization relies on data and databases for most of our applications. We had one application that always took a long time to do specific reports and queries. When we put in SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer, we set up some of our most critical databases first. After a few days, SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer reported severe wait times on the one database we were having issues with. SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer recommended some new indexes, and, after we verified and created the recommended indexes, the application and database performance significantly increased.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2020

SolarWinds DPA is a great tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds is used by our department to identify performance issues with our system using a Sybase database.
  • Measures wait times of queries performed on our Sybase database
  • Displays the current queries being performed on the database
  • Displays, in a user friendly display, the status of the database
  • Searching for specific users
  • Examining which processor is running which query at the time
DPA is really good at displaying real time performance issues.
DPA helped us demonstrate to our vendor that the majority of a wait time for a query was due to a badly formed SQL statement.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

DPA: The Advance DBA Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our SQL server performance monitoring is done by using DPA SolarWinds. It's used in our department only.
  • Details query capture with the plan and resource utilization.
  • DPA backend is an SQL server that you can control by performing some operations from the backend like change in retention, etc.
  • Supports latest SQL features like AG.
  • Report features are very good
  • License management. DPA is not able to sync licenses and needs you to manually reconcile every time.
Well suited as an SQL server execution plan analyzer. Also, provides advice on the tunning part.

Alerting and reporting is also good features.
In multiple performances issues logical reads , execution count and execution plan helps in tuning queries and comparing results after tuning. Before and after query performance details on same graph is very usey
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

SolarWinds DPA review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The SolarWinds DPA module is used mainly to monitor our MSSQL instances for performance. We had lots of issues related to DB performance and we were not sure about the root cause before implementing DPA. Now, we are getting proactive alerts when there is a deviation from the performance baseline configured in the tool and we are very happy with it.
  • Easy to configure
  • Real time data
  • Notification email templates need improvement
  • Needs a little training to go over/work with dashboards
Best suited in a three-tiered environment where there is a web application, middleware, and a DB in the backend. Not suited in stand-alone DB environment like backend DB for a static website. DPA is also very well suited when troubleshooting the application performance related issue. It gives a clear picture of the issue.
We had an issue where the application performance very slow. After troubleshooting and looking at DPA analytics we identified that SQL query was running slow and after tuning it the issue got resolved. This tool also helped us to create a performance base line and as soon as the query response time varies from the base line we get a proactive alert.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, our DBOps and SysOps teams use SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer. Both teams use it to analyze our database clusters and individual databases.
  • Shows performance issues
  • Displays blocking
  • NA
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is well suited for monitoring and providing information for our internal and customer databases.
It's shown blocking that has occurred and allowed us to fix these issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is used by our database and applications team to ensure the application code is working as expected, as well as to monitor database performance.
  • Reliability
  • Accuracy
  • NA
  • NA
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer is well suited for production and testing environments.
When a developer modified code, it caused application performance to slow down to a crawl. SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer helped isolate the issue.
Read this authenticated review
Dave Cheng | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Stop buying hardware to improve your SQL server performance. Try DPA first!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Discovering data performance issues. Creating an index based on the suggestions by DPA. It can be accessed by all developers to review their query or performance-related issues.
  • Suggest indexes.
  • Indicate the wait time for all processes, so you rank the issues and fix them by priority.
  • You can send URL/ links to other to show them the exact point of problem. Easy for collaboration.
  • Bookmark of problem, so we can revisit the issue and compare it before and after the changes.
  • More details on deadlocks/blocking, etc.
  • Notification, kind of monitoring, if wait time exceeds some threshold.. or review the wait time of specific bookmarks or issues.
We may have navigation issues ... The back button is not very consistent on all pages. Sometimes we have to go back to the home page and start over on the server again.

Some queries, which only run very rare, but require a lot of waiting time whenever they do run (all queries that take longer than 60secs).
Read Dave Cheng's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Just works!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using the database analyzer to monitor any changes that have occurred or any issues currently prompting. It has helped when looking at the trends around the flow of information and possible connection issues. We use it on a regular basis within two of the main departments. It is a great product.
  • Analyzing data flows.
  • Connection issues clarified.
  • Would love a bolder UI font.
We have used the product in more than one situation. One time we were analyzing an SQL database and had issues connecting. We used the software to see how we could correct any issues by the attempts it made to connect and to determine if there were any conflicts and how to work with the results.
Our database crashed based on our customer records. We had a backup that we monitor on a regular basis. The tool helped when monitoring the newly uploaded database to see what caused the crash or if it was randomly occurring. It appeared it was a server issue and not the software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

One of the BEST at-a-glance database monitoring tools out there.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to monitor all production instances for the whole organization.
  • Provides meaningful status at a glance.
  • Highly configurable alerts (less spam/noise).
  • Could allow better tuning for summary page information. Sometimes data is a bit stale.
  • Could use better database level summary information in addition to server/instance level.
DPA works best for administrators that have some control or input to the queries that are being issued. If queries come from purchased applications, the best admins can do is play with indexes and resource tuning. DPA is really great for all administrators to monitor the overall status of servers.
Due to inefficiently written applications, DPA is instrumental in identifying blocked sessions. This allows the admins to evaluate and possibly kill the blocking session and keep end-users productive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Invaluable, Trusted Performance Diagnostics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DPA is an essential part of performance monitoring our hybrid Demand Management Solution for hosted customers, and select on-premise customers. Automation is essential considering the number of customers, the schema comprising approaching 3,000 tables and over 5,000 code artifacts. Daily summaries of the last 3 days of Top SQL resource consumers give us ongoing snapshots by which to spot trends and anomalies that DPA's functionality enables us to investigate to query and table level.
  • Automated Collection into a queryable repository - Hands-off, detailed collection assures us that the bulk of any performance issues are noted, so that their data can be presented on-demand in a readily consumable form. Drill-into features enable detailed analysis.
  • Performance Trend Analysis - Monthly top-consumers visualized in meaningful stacked-charts, with anomaly highlights and per-query, per-day detail enables hot-spot drill-down analysis.
  • Resource Utilization Warnings - Best-practice warning and critical measure applied to all facets, visualized in real-time are essential features that trigger troubleshooting.
  • Usability within the Trends and Current pages need improvement - Version 11 introduced a new Tuning feature, and changed the way one could quickly name a query and chose whether it would be of further interest, or is more infrastructure-oriented such that exclusion is warranted. Usability took a downward slide.
  • Resource Utilization has preset periods which, for longer durations, overly smooth charts. Custom periods are much needed via the UI, rather than repository-querying.
  • Storage analysis, similar to resource usage, needs custom periods and far greater ability to delineate between drives and files than v11 currently offers. (One rarely uses the Storage I/O tab)
Having used DPA for a multi-tenant, single DB server, SaaS, solution, and currently monitoring over 30 productions and QA DB servers, on a server-per-customer basis, SaaS solution, both are entirely appropriate DPA targets. Wherever lower spend due to optimized DB performance is considered, DPA is one of the best tools to meet that kind of objective.
There are far too many to isolate a single, detailed, case. Suffice it to say that hour-long queries, down to many-per-second queries have been identified by DPA as top consumers. The mix of code-pinpointing and index usage (or the lack thereof) has enabled multiple hours of elapsed and CPU time to be cut for very high volume customers (row-counts over 10 Billion in a 1.2TB Database), such that very narrow SLA windows are conformed-to.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 24, 2019

Would be lost without it

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to monitor production database performance and identify areas for tuning.
  • Allows instant identification of highest impact performance issues
  • Provides visibility of database load across the application
  • Easy to configure and use
  • It's a great product. I really can't identify any cons.
It's useful for DBAs as well as application developers, by providing visibility of performance issues in an easy to understand graphical format. It then allows you to drill into the issue and identify how to resolve.
Read this authenticated review

About SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) enables deep visibility into database performance and expert advice for performance optimization and tuning.

What can you monitor with DPA?
  • Oracle
  • Oracle Exadata
  • Oracle EBS
  • Microsoft SQL Server
  • Azure SQL Database
  • Azure SQL Database Managed Instance
  • MySQL
  • DB2
  • SAP ASE
  • Aurora
  • MariaDB
DPA monitors physical, virtual, and cloud-based databases (including Microsoft Azure and Amazon RDS)

What makes DPA stand out:

  • Quick, easy, and reliable performance troubleshooting available in real time and historically

  • Machine learning anomaly analysis to bring intelligence to go beyond traditional threshold based analysis
  • Find inefficient workloads, aggregated by table, for indexing opportunities—an “X marks the spot” tuning analysis
  • Cross-platform database support for a single-pane-of-glass view into your environment
  • Blocking analysis: what is blocking and a hierarchy of what is being blocked, plus overall impact
  • PerfStack™ integration with other SolarWinds products for more complete visibility (applications, servers, storage, hypervisor, network, and more)
  • Agent-less architecture with the ability to scale from a few instances to thousands, low 1% average overhead

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Features

Has featureDatabase monitoring
Has featureTuning advisors for queries, workload, and indexes aggregated at the table level
Has featureCorrelated resource metrics for easy diagnosis of hardware constraint impacts on end-users
Has featureDetailed blocking analysis for contention bottlenecks
Has featureI/O activity tracking at the drive/mount and file level
Has featureAlerts and reports
Has featureDPA Central to manage large and/or distributed environments
Has featureAlways On Availability Group and RAC insights

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Screenshots

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Videos (2)

Azure Database Support Overview

Watch Product Overview

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Downloadables

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Integrations

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, AWS Marketplace app
Mobile Application:No