TestComplete Reviews

91 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Bernhard Rohrbacher | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

TestComplete - Making it easy to save time and money

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

The keyword test is heavily used right now since it allows us to hit multiple applications at once. We are more involved with desktop applications at the moment but one of our products is web-based. So, it's really easy to create a keyword test that is testing our main application and then when it hits our web-based application nothing extra really has to be done. Essentially the keyword test feature keeps the ball rolling and makes the tests cases that we develop very flexible.
Read Bernhard Rohrbacher's full review
Kim Mejares | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

TestComplete

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

Cross browser testing, regression testing for desktop/web and mobile works perfectly in our team.
Read Kim Mejares's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2019

TestComplete review from a user in the workspace

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

I used TestComplete for front end UI testing for windows and web-based applications. And because SmartBear maintains TestComplete against what is out in the market for use (latest browsers, OS, 3rd party web add-ins), I can count on what I need in TestComplete to automate. Open source tools lag behind for support like this. Granted I am paying for a maint. period with TestComplete, but if I encounter an issue I can create an issue report to SmartBear and a support person works with me to supply a patch fix back when appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
Jessica Strock | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 21, 2017

Great muti-platform solution for reducing manual test time.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

Our test efforts have mainly used TestComplete for our web based testing. It was easy to implement for our less technical testers with the record and play. Right off the shelf we were able to automate UI and basic happy path tests. With more in depth usage we were able to create data sets to exercise the many different scenarios that users could encounter with our products. The ability to choose the coding language on project set up is very helpful to allow each tester to choose what is their preferred language, making it easy for the testers to maintain.
Read Jessica Strock's full review
Peter Anderson BEng MCSA | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2017

TestComplete, medically approved* to relieve tedium. (*i'm not a Doctor so this may not be accurate)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

We only use the desktop application test module as we only develop desktop applications. I'm using the Object Browser all of the time to look behind the curtain of a desktop application that i'm testing and building the test based on that information.
Read Peter Anderson BEng MCSA's full review
Clay Watson | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2017

Great Product for the Small to Large Software Development Needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

Windows forms application testing is the biggest area of need. We do not have big need to testing web pages or mobile applications. The support objects out of the box is pretty good. We use QT objects a lot and TestComplete drills right down into those objects with any special add-ons or added expense. We have not tried it yet, but we intend to use the command-line interface to TestComplete quite a bit for our regression testing and our "test on demand" framework that we hope to build.
Read Clay Watson's full review
Joseph C. Dormelus | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 31, 2017

My experience with TestComplete - Past five years

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

We primarily use the tool for end to end UI based regression testing. We use other tools for web/cross browser testing. One of the reasons is that an open source web application provides a lot of flexibility without a license fee. They also are more friendly to regular IDEs like Eclipse and IntelliJ.
Read Joseph C. Dormelus's full review
Jonathan Yoquinto | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2017

TestComplete - The Only Automated Testing Suite I've Used

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

The web and desktop application has been the backbone of our testing suite. Our main product is a desktop application, but there are certain areas of testing that require us to use a browser. Our success with these two areas led to us purchasing a mobile testing license which we are now using to create automated tests for our mobile app.
Read Jonathan Yoquinto's full review
Srdjan Stupar | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2017

TestComplete in a nutshell

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

As I mentioned above, we are using TestComplete mostly for the regression testing purposes. What I like the best is the great "object spy" feature and its ability to identify all object/control properties. It is a very useful feature that give us the freedom and ability to choose how the scripts will perform, based on the selected properties. I also like the combination of key-word and scripting test creation, which give the non-programmers ability to record test cases.
Read Srdjan Stupar's full review
Yury Vakhatov | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2017

Using TestComplete in a bank

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

With the Name Mapping repository we can design testing framework in object-oriented style.
Object Stores give us an opportunity to create a templates for big and complex objects and then use them with Object Checkpoints.
Read Yury Vakhatov's full review
Suhas Kashyap | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 01, 2017

TestComplete Tool Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

The object spy/map object feature is very useful in finding the particular element in the web/desktop application easily without any confusion and adding to this feature even the methods and properties/fields associated with the element are also displayed, which is very helpful. Further, the name mapping feature is also useful in mapping the particular element along with its all properties.

Also, TestComplete supports multiple scripting languages for coding in different languages and supports different browsers. So that it’s easy to do cross browser testing.

Other features like:
i) Object browser, which lists all the active processes in the system is also good, so that, it is easy to identify the process and its properties while automating desktop applications
ii) TestedApps, which is used to add other applications under test
iii) The record and play back, which is used to learn about automation initially (keyword test)

Read Suhas Kashyap's full review
John Jay Sciarra | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2017

Test Complete Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

Keyword Testing for black box GUI testing

Data Driven Loop for loading test data through the GUI in a repeatable line by line fashion

Cross Browser testing to validate that website pages operate as expected across multiple browsers.

Read John Jay Sciarra's full review
Anil Kumar Moka | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2017

Testing on multiple platforms across different browsers? This is the tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

As I covered a lot in the review, their on demand cloud support for running the app on multiple OS, browsers, and different platforms is the one feature we wanted the most and we got from this tool.
Read Anil Kumar Moka's full review
சங்கர்(Shankar) ரா(R) | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2017

TestComplete does everything you want in Automation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

Let's you have a scenario like:
1. Create a member in Desktop APP.
2. Validate the added member in Web APP and trigger a Notification in Mobile APP
3. Verify the notification Mobile APP.

TestComplete [was used] in all three platforms and made it easy to cover the integrated business flow.
TestComplete supports most of the legacy applications which is a very important thing to notice. There are much more features that can be used to validate various type of business scenarios.
Read சங்கர்(Shankar) ரா(R)'s full review
Eric Kabuss | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2017

Availability and Performance: Testcomplete

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

TestComplete is really versatile. I use only a fraction of it (no cross-browser / no regression) but scripting, creating libraries. Libraries helps to reuse the code and concentrate on the business logic of the app I'm testing.
Read Eric Kabuss's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2018

Nice tool for desktop, still lacks support for some mobile app types

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Breadth of Functionality

Most useful is the Support for VCL applications, as I'm writing those. Being able to Name map controls and identify controls with a hair-cross is quite useful. The Editor is ok, but in comparison with Delphi IDE it lacks a few Features (I think identation, and Go to declaration is not always working like I'd like it to work). Some object recognition functionality for mobile testing lacks a resonable timeout.
Read this authenticated review

About TestComplete

TestComplete is designed to help testers and developers easily manage, run, and analyze automated GUI tests across multiple devices, platforms, and environments - enabling teams to improve software quality and speed up time to delivery.

According to the vendor, key business benefits include:
  • Easy-to-use for All Experience Levels: Use the powerful record and playback feature to run tests or choose from multiple programming languages such as Python, VB.NET, or JavaScript to write your own.
  • Instant Access to Real Environments in the Cloud: Get real-time access to the latest devices, resolutions, browsers and operating systems in our cloud lab. Run tests in parallel across more than 1500+ remote environments to improve test speed and coverage.
  • Robust Object Recognition for UI Testing: Automate anything you have seen on the user interface. With TestComplete's robust object identification engine, you can choose from over 50K object properties across more than 500 control types, including all major frameworks and third-party controls.
  • Built for Continuous Testing: Easily integrate TestComplete with test automation framework tools, CI systems such as GIT or Mercurial, or Test Management platforms like Jira or QAComplete.

TestComplete Features

Has featureScriptless Testing
Has featureData-Driven Testing
Has featureCross-Browser Testing
Has featureFunctional Testing
Has featureRegression Testing
Has featureParallel Testing

TestComplete Integrations

TestComplete Competitors

Progress Telerik UI, Sauce Labs, Selenium, Unified Functional Testing (formerly HP UFT), Ranorex

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TestComplete Pro$3,500 / $7000Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Platform$1,000 / $2,500Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Web$999 / $1,998Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Mobile$1,299 / $2,598Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Desktop$999 / $1,998Node-locked / Floating User License

You can buy the TestComplete Pro Bundle or individual TestComplete Modules based on your needs. The TestComplete Pro Bundle comes with the TestComplete Platform, all three modules, (Desktop, Web, and Mobile) as well as the TestExecute add-on. TestComplete also has additional add-ons: -TestExecute -HP Quality Center Connector - Environment Manager

TestComplete Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

TestComplete Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No