TestComplete Reviews

91 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 45)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2020

TestComplete - awesome software for automating software testing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TestComplete has an easy UI so you don't need to be a coder to use it.
  • TestComplete has a lot of functionality to integrate with different software types - web based, desktop based, etc.
  • TestComplete can require some pretty manual steps to update test cases.
  • TestComplete has some bugs that I could not resolve.
Read this authenticated review
Bernhard Rohrbacher | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

TestComplete - Making it easy to save time and money

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Keyword test is really easy to use. Anyone can figure it out in a couple of hours.
  • The support they provide is amazing. Their customer service is top notch and they have a lot of resources for beginners to more advanced users.
  • More advanced features are provided and come in handy.
  • TestComplete can easily integrate with your development workflow.
  • Beta testing for major releases would be nice. In other words it would be nice to see what our tests will do/ won't do for every release.
  • A learning feature that is built into the product. Something like what Postman has done recently to their newest version. This would help up newbies as well as more experienced users.
Read Bernhard Rohrbacher's full review
Kim Mejares | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

TestComplete

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • UI Testing is very efficient and has a detailed report every time the test completes its run.
  • Automation developer has the option to choose which programming language he is comfortable with, TestComplete offers a lot of options.
  • The recording is very fast and easy to convert into real test.
  • Compared to other tools like Microfocus UFT, TestComplete lacks some areas like loading the script library during run time, in TestComplete you need to have more experience using it to suit your need. Not easy to tweak in short.
Read Kim Mejares's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2019

TestComplete review from a user in the workspace

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ObjectSpy tool is the best I've seen for an automation tool. Gives a lot of details on an element to know how to handle it for automation purposes.
  • TestComplete is an easy tool to play around with and learn how to use. Fantastic help from documentation and code examples.
  • SmartBear forum provides great support on questions and issues.
  • Great support of Third party packages used by webpages, windows applications, and browsers.
  • Great control in organizing your code and scripts.
  • I rarely come across anything that I cannot do in TestComplete. SmartBear does a great job in keeping up with the latest in the industry as new releases come out.
  • SmartBear maintains a list of suggested functionality or improvements that they discuss and agree to develop and add to TestComplete per clients likes.
  • Any issues I may come across, the SmartBear forum has many users that provide support back to me. These are users as well as SmartBear employees on this forum.
Read this authenticated review
Jessica Strock | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 21, 2017

Great muti-platform solution for reducing manual test time.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The record and play back works great for our less technical team members. Basic UI validations and some of the happy path functionality can easily be automated.
  • The structure and set up of Project Suites. Easy to organize tests and group into functional tests that can be reused in Test cases.
  • Multiple Types of tests projects can be created. Mobile, Web Page and Web Services. When setting up a new project the wizard guides the user through and allows for the selection of many different options as well as the coding language that is preferred.
  • With some of the applications our company develops it is hard to re-use tests on multiple browsers. There is usually some items that need to be "tweaked" in order for it to run properly on multiple browsers.
  • When adding Environments to the list in Environment Manager the values are not always retained. I try to add a Windows 7 - 64bit with IE 11 and it defaults the values back to Windows 10 or Chrome 50 when I select the alternate values.
  • Our company uses JIRA for defect tracking and TestComplete does not have the option in Issue Tracking to connect to JIRA.
Read Jessica Strock's full review
Peter Anderson BEng MCSA | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2017

TestComplete, medically approved* to relieve tedium. (*i'm not a Doctor so this may not be accurate)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Intuitive - whether writing scripts, or keyword tests, the TestComplete object discovery and mapping engine really helps keep things accessible to the 'driver', for example, i use the object browser to find elements and inspect their members, once mapped, referencing them in scripts and keyword tests is simple.
  • Powerful - day to day, the problems I've had to solve to create tests were aided by TestComplete not hindered. Even if a scripting module is not present by default, it can easily be added/referenced
  • Support network - I've had reason to ask the Smartbear support team for help a few times, and while their answers don't come immediately, they have been absolutely bang on the money with the answers given. In addition to this, the forums answer almost any 'mainstream' question you may have, they are usually my start point if I'm stuck.
  • Repeat ability - the ability to repeat processes as many times as you like is a godsend that keeps tedium and human error to one side.
  • The scripting languages offered while solid, are less than convenient for me. I would love to be able to script tests in C# as i have a room full of C# experts here to assist if required
  • Pressing F5 doesn't run the 'current' test, but the ENTIRE test suite, as my brain is tuned to Microsoft's F5 to 'go' this is a constant user error of mine
Read Peter Anderson BEng MCSA's full review
Clay Watson | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2017

Great Product for the Small to Large Software Development Needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The organization of test suites and test projects is very intuitive. This made it easy to learn and fairly easy to manage. We had a conceptual framework for tests that TestComplete seems to support very well.
  • The blog web site for technical support is very responsive and the people supporting it know the product quite well. This has been essential in helping us to apply the product across a wide variety of testing needs.
  • TestComplete allows one to create very robust automated test procedures. When it comes to testing on a very large scale, the test procedures must themselves be bullet proof. There are quite a few tricks to learn to make this happen, but TestComplete allows us to do this.
  • The reporting features are poor to non-existent. We need to develop our own presentation formats for results and do not want to buy an add-on product (such as QA Complete) to do so. We have had to get creative and embed report meta data generating subroutines into our test procedures so that we can capture the data that we need. This is time consuming and inefficient.
  • There are a couple of files that are particularly vulnerable to corruption if you are not very careful with how you manage your source control. The name mapping file and individual project files can be corrupted easily when more than one person is making changes to those files. Merging capabilities with something like the Git version control tool can be tricky. Remember to back things up frequently and carefully!
  • TestComplete does not provide searching for internal relationships without writing special scripts to do so. For example, it would be nice to find out what TestComplete objects are affected by making a change to javascript function. Getting a list of keyword tests and lines affected would be great. Another example is changing the name of an object. In some cases TestComplete propagates the name changes to the affected related objects and in other cases it does not. How does one understand the impact of changing a shared object if these relationships are not readily at one's finger tips??
Read Clay Watson's full review
Joseph C. Dormelus | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 31, 2017

My experience with TestComplete - Past five years

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The fact that the tool supports multiple scripting languages is great. It supports JScript, JavaScript, and Python to name just three. This makes it easy for me to recruit test automation engineers to do the work.
  • The distributed execution module is great in the sense that it helps us to cut our Test suite execution time by more than half.
  • The TestExecute module is very useful. It's not costly and is light weight. The Command Line Interface makes it flexible for us to write schedule jobs.
  • The Distributed module needs to provide the ability to connect to any host instead of a Physical 1 to 1 mapping. This would allow the automation architect to provide a pool of servers to be used for test execution.
  • The tool should have Java support since a huge majority of applications use Java. The IDE's support for Java will allow Java developers to leverage the tool more.
  • The tool needs to improve the performance of its JavaScript code. This is currently a huge issue.
Read Joseph C. Dormelus's full review
Jonathan Yoquinto | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2017

TestComplete - The Only Automated Testing Suite I've Used

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A very low entry point, with a very high skill ceiling - It doesn't take a lot to get started in Testcomplete and I feel like I'm always learning a new use or function that I hadn't thought of or knew before.
  • Feedback - The live debugging in script creation is very useful and it's very rare that I have a test fail and Testcomplete does not give me a descriptive enough answer to correct the issue.
  • A large tool set - There are a large number of features that can be used to aid in the automation process. Testcomplete has different wizards and object tools that allow me to tailor the creation process to how I want it to be.
  • Occasional crashes - sometimes a recorded test can cause the application to crash if it is too large for the system it's running on.
  • Missing sort/search functionality in some places - There are some places where you can only search one field when there are multiple being displayed. It makes it difficult to find script files when I'm adding them as a test item.
  • High skill ceiling - while I listed this as a positive, it can sometimes be daunting moving into an area that has a ton of options or variables that you can change with very little description next to the options.
Read Jonathan Yoquinto's full review
Srdjan Stupar | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2017

TestComplete in a nutshell

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use for non-programmers, ability to record and playback your test cases.
  • Support for mutliple programming languges, so it can be used by users with programming backgrounds, which in turn provides more solid test coverage and troubleshooting.
  • Very convenient feature for executing recorded or written scripts over multiple machines via TestExecute feature. You can schedule and run your tests simultaneously over a number test machines.
  • Data-driven testing is made a lot easier with TestComplete's ability to pull the data from stored Excel files or even from DB queries that can be run in real-time during test executions by accessing.
  • Ability to analyze objects your test cases are working with, with their full sets of properties, and to decide which property of an object to verify.
  • Reusability of recorded test cases; you can call a recorded test case within another test case.
  • Cross-browser testing; you can run your web scripts over multiple browsers and browser versions.
  • I would like to have the ability to export test results in bulk, from the Project Workspace section; currently, you can only export one test case execution at a time in HTML format.
  • From time to time, I've run into an issue with object recognition, where TestComplete was not able to find some of our custom coded controls due to its multiple layer structure (Infragistics combined with WinForms, etc.). Our application uses a lot of search result grids, which are Infragistics control grids, and by using the keyword test script approach, I am not able to easily read the values and properties of the individual cells of the grid; object spy treats the entire grid as one element, one control.
Read Srdjan Stupar's full review
Yury Vakhatov | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2017

Using TestComplete in a bank

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great object recognition. We can get an access to the most of properties and methods of GUI controls.
  • Support of Python programming language expands native TC functionality with third party libraries.
  • One testing platform for web, mobile and desktop applications.
  • Works relatively slowly during test runtime. Especially with iOS applications.
  • Poor options for log export. Only .mht is supported.
  • Unable to use variables within Objects in Stores.
Read Yury Vakhatov's full review
Suhas Kashyap | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 01, 2017

TestComplete Tool Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Automating different types of applications (web, desktop and mobile apps)
  • Supports multiple scripting languages for coding
  • Features like name mapping, object spy, object browser which are helpful in identifying elements easily and to identify the process running in Windows OS
  • Online support covering the features of TestComplete/assistance from a vast number of users/technical persons
  • Debugging the code by enabling breakpoint
  • Support for multiple browsers
  • Record and playback feature
  • Still more better online assistance/guide (w.r.t TestComplete tool and to the scripting language along with code) from the technical team. Already online guide is available and its vast, but it can be still improved/updated to include all features of TestComplete and syntax/coding standards of scripting language as well
  • Still more detailed explanation about the errors (compile/Run time) which is observed could be provided so that debugging can be easier and tool will be user-friendly
  • Name Mapping feature/object Spy tool could be improved
Read Suhas Kashyap's full review
Annette Levin Dybdahl | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2017

TestComplete is great to use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TestComplete is good at making changes in the QUI visible right at once
  • TestComplete gives more decipline in the development department. The developers need to be aware that changes in object naming have an influence on the automated test
  • We have a lot of manual testing, but we can save time by automating the tests that don't involve direct hardware interaction
  • Namemapping. From time to time TestComplete fails due to object names. Making changes in namemapping is hard to do as well as risky.
  • The help files. All examples are scripts. I would like to see more examples directed for the people that do not script testcases, but record them
Read Annette Levin Dybdahl's full review
Milan Svitlica | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2017

desktop application testing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We are using TestComplete for windows desktop applications and, compared to other tools that we tried, it was most intuitive and easy to use
  • Other than that, since our application is large and consists of lots of different UI controls, TestComplete worked well with most of them, since some other tools didn't work at all
  • TestComplete has integration with Git so we can easily save our tests to a remote Git repository
  • Sometimes is not easy to find the property you would like to use for checkpoint
  • TestComplete for windows could run faster in some scenarios
  • Git integration could be improved (to not only use Tortoise Git)
Read Milan Svitlica's full review
Christophe MOREL | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2017

TC for a web application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TestComplete is easy to use. Code is easy to maintain and update (if developer respects some elementary coding rules, of course).
  • Production of mht log for tests is easy to do, and readability is good (expandable folder, etc.)
  • Execution of a scenario over several browsers.
  • Object spy is efficient.
  • TestComplete Editor for script needs some functionality like highlight mapping object from script, possibility to begin a run from a line in script, etc.
  • Some basics functionalities that have existed for many years in editors like notepad++, eclipse, etc. don't exist in TestComplete.
  • Debug is hard to use.
  • Sometimes automatic mapping of object during recording is bad (for example, for a web application, idStr is not taken as criteria because there is only one object of this type in the page). I prefer doing mapping to control it before recording.
  • Edition of a same shared project by 2 users is too hard. I gave up because we lost some TestComplete code too many times.
  • TestComplete can be blocked by a child process of Application under test, and it's hard to find it, and mainly impossible to stop run without killing TestComplete.
  • Confirmation of object disparition is hard to code. Most of the time, it slows the scenario.
Read Christophe MOREL's full review
Lisa Lindow | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2017

TestComplete is a winner when automating Delphi based apps

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TestComplete is the most effective automation tool for interacting with Delphi based code.
  • TestComplete allows the user to choose from various scripting languages, and provides support for each.
  • TestComplete is continually being updated and improved.
  • TestComplete provides good support, including an extensive forum, plus a short response time for additional issues.
  • If the app under test is not responding, TestComplete cannot always be paused, but requires being shut down.
  • It is not uncommon to have to re-vamp automation scripts that once ran flawlessly, when there have been no changes to the PC, etc.
  • The licensing can be onerous particularly if there are any changes to the hosting PC.
Read Lisa Lindow's full review
Hank Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2017

TestComplete isn't quite complete (for WPF)

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TestComplete allows access to the entire view model of WPF programs, which allows for complex tests to be scripted.
  • TestComplete has a feature called Object Spy, which makes scripting of new tests fairly quick, as users can quickly see the names an attributes of applications elements simply by clicking on parts of the application user interface.
  • TestComplete's text editor is extremely slow for debugging (especially for loading local variables, which can take minutes to load for every step in the debugging process).
  • During our use of TestComplete, we found that it would regularly hang during test runs, requiring a manual restart of the test run.
  • The version of JavaScript used by TestComplete is rather bare bones and could be much improved with features common in modern libraries.
  • TestComplete seemed to have difficulty working with complex WPF programs as we found it necessary to script frequent breaks and refreshes into our automated tests in order to be sure that TestComplete had an accurate version of the view model.
Read Hank Jones's full review
Charles Palanzo | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2017

TestComplete - Good but not perfect

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Basic scripted testing of login pages and basic web operation. Keyword / macro capability easy to program.
  • More involved functional tests with time period testing between events. Good for performance evaluation.
  • The key issues are that TestComplete often has problems running previously created scripts as a browser version update - identifying page objects is problematic.
Read Charles Palanzo's full review
Anil Kumar Moka | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2017

Testing on multiple platforms across different browsers? This is the tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It easily integrates with other tools like Jira, Github, Jenkins and even other test automation frameworks like Selenium. With these features, it makes a perfect case for continuous testing and CI/CD. Also perfect for DevOps style of development.
  • It supports multiple platforms like desktop applications, web applications, and mobile applications. This combination makes a great one as in today's world an app should be functioning in all environments.
  • It has cloud on demand test labs which is excellent for running your test suite in multiple environments without any hassle.
  • Got to say that object recognition is way superior to other tools which is very key for test automation. Also supports codeless automation which is cool.
  • Even though object recognition is their strength, it can still be better. Some times in a dynamic web application, the object recognition fails. Of course there are work arounds but you shouldn't really be using them.
  • Switching to debug mode when an exception pops in is missing. Would be a great add on.
  • There are many open source free tools in the market and license cost is a factor with this tool.
Read Anil Kumar Moka's full review
Deva Veluchamy | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2017

Tool with lot of positive impacts to go with UI automation

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Object spy eases the object identification method.
  • TextObject recognition feature of this product exposes most of the objects to perform the actions.
  • Test items, project variables helps in managing the automation suite and scheduling execution.
  • Jenkins integration to schedule executions.
  • Increased performance with less memory and CPU usage.
  • Support to various/different versions of browsers in web testing.
  • Support for the Windows mobile application.
Read Deva Veluchamy's full review
சங்கர்(Shankar) ரா(R) | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2017

TestComplete does everything you want in Automation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Script Extensions - Scripts can be developed using VBScript and JScript where it can be utilized by other script languages
  • Project(Suite) Variables - These variables can be accessed any where in the project/project-suite and it has different types of data type to perform the actions better
  • Custom Object Mapping - User can map the AUT custom objects into accessible controls where other tool doesn't have much on it
  • Extended Find - This can be used when user based roles and screens for identifying same object in different hierarchy
  • Code Editor - this needs to improved a lot in-order to be great product
  • Performance on Debug - this needs to be optimized when we use large project suite
  • Recovery Scenario
Read சங்கர்(Shankar) ரா(R)'s full review
Dheerendra Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2017

Dp's review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Name mapping is an awesome feature which manages objects very well.
  • Managing architecture for application is made easy.
  • Web application testing experience can be improved.
Read Dheerendra Singh's full review
Abdul Noman Automation Expert | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2017

15 mins to describe automation through TestComplete

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TestComplete does speedy comparison of text files and we can see side by side comparison on text files. It also does the image comparison and we are using it extensively because we have graphical models to compare and TestComplete make it easier for us.
  • We have written our code of comparing databases using VB script. TestComplete also provides the functionality of comparing databases quickly but we needed tolerance in database comparison which TestComplete do not provide.
  • TestComplete can look in an operating system to see what processes are running and can access them to work on them. We can add filters in process to tell TestComplete that look only in a specific process so that TestComplete doesn't have to look into the entire memory.
  • TestComplete has a good coverage of help so you can learn on the go while using and implementing automated testing through TestComplete. Right now we are using TestComplete for only desktop based applications. It is our future goal to add web and mobile applications in automated testing using it.
  • TestComplete does not provide a comparison of Word and Excel files. Some of Bentley's product generate Word reports which we want to be compared through TestComplete but right now it does not have the ability to do it.
  • TestComplete cannot access backstage ribbon which is implemented in Microsoft Office. So we used shortcut keys to figure out a way of doing that. If TestComplete starting accessing backstage ribbon that would help a great deal.
  • TestComplete also needs improvement in performance testing of desktop based applications. I am not sure whether it provides this facility for web and mobile based application but I need performance testing functionality for desktop based applications.
Read Abdul Noman Automation Expert's full review

About TestComplete

TestComplete is designed to help testers and developers easily manage, run, and analyze automated GUI tests across multiple devices, platforms, and environments - enabling teams to improve software quality and speed up time to delivery.

According to the vendor, key business benefits include:
  • Easy-to-use for All Experience Levels: Use the powerful record and playback feature to run tests or choose from multiple programming languages such as Python, VB.NET, or JavaScript to write your own.
  • Instant Access to Real Environments in the Cloud: Get real-time access to the latest devices, resolutions, browsers and operating systems in our cloud lab. Run tests in parallel across more than 1500+ remote environments to improve test speed and coverage.
  • Robust Object Recognition for UI Testing: Automate anything you have seen on the user interface. With TestComplete's robust object identification engine, you can choose from over 50K object properties across more than 500 control types, including all major frameworks and third-party controls.
  • Built for Continuous Testing: Easily integrate TestComplete with test automation framework tools, CI systems such as GIT or Mercurial, or Test Management platforms like Jira or QAComplete.

TestComplete Features

Has featureScriptless Testing
Has featureData-Driven Testing
Has featureCross-Browser Testing
Has featureFunctional Testing
Has featureRegression Testing
Has featureParallel Testing

TestComplete Integrations

TestComplete Competitors

Progress Telerik UI, Sauce Labs, Selenium, Unified Functional Testing (formerly HP UFT), Ranorex

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TestComplete Pro$3,500 / $7000Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Platform$1,000 / $2,500Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Web$999 / $1,998Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Mobile$1,299 / $2,598Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Desktop$999 / $1,998Node-locked / Floating User License

You can buy the TestComplete Pro Bundle or individual TestComplete Modules based on your needs. The TestComplete Pro Bundle comes with the TestComplete Platform, all three modules, (Desktop, Web, and Mobile) as well as the TestExecute add-on. TestComplete also has additional add-ons: -TestExecute -HP Quality Center Connector - Environment Manager

TestComplete Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

TestComplete Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No